Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi

About BTG Wine Bar

Welcome to Salt Lake City’s first and only wine bar--BTG Wine Bar! Located in the heart of downtown Salt Lake City, BTG (By The Glass) offers over 75 wines in pours of 2 ounces, 5 ounces, bottles, or flights. We also procure premium and artisanal spirits for our craft cocktails. We offer international & local brewer's beer, a small bites menu, and the full menu from Caffe Molise to complement our libations. The upscale and relaxed atmosphere lends itself to an intimate date or a large party. The close proximity to Abravanel Hall, Capitol Theatre, Energy Solutions Arena, City Creek Center, and the Salt Palace Convention Center make the wine bar a perfect pre or post event venue. The bar is available for private functions, private tastings, and banquets.

63 West 100 South
Salt Lake City, UT 84101
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Wine Bar, International, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - Close, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 1:00am

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(801) 359-2814

Website:
http://www.btgwinebar.com/

Parking Details:
On street parking in front of the bar. Paid parking across the street at City Creek Center. Paid parking in a lot to the East of the bar.

Public Transit:
City Center TRAX stop is 1/2 block away from the bar.

Executive Chef:
Fred Moesinger

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Wheelchair Access, Wine

BTG Wine Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Notable Wine List (18)
Good for a Date (13)
Special Occasion (12)
See All
Romantic (11)
Bar Seating (10)
Tapas (9)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Fun (8)
Cozy (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Good for Anniversaries (7)
Tasting Menu (6)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Quick Bite (6)
Happy Hour (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Casual (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Comfort Food (3)
Authentic (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Healthy (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Business Meals (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Live Music (1)
Great Beer (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Organic (1)
People Watching (1)
Sort By:
S
158 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on July 15, 2017

BTG is always fun! Great flights of wine, delicious small plates and charcuterie board.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Happy Hour, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Food and drink offerings were amazing. Mike was a superb waiter!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Delicious as always! Love the staff because they are super friendly and always helpful.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Quick Bite, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Tapas, Healthy, Fun, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on July 3, 2017

We love the BTG! The food is good and the wine choices are many. On our most recent visit we had a pizza for the first time and it was delicious! We are also big fans of the hummus plate, the mac and cheese, and the cheese board. You can also order from Caffe Molise's dinner menu, so you can choose a larger meal or the smaller bar bites. Something for everyone. The staff members are always friendly, efficient, and helpful.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Late-night Find, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on June 24, 2017

We love the atmosphere here and the food is so great. We travel a lot and this is a favorite!

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 21, 2017

We've been here several times and it's always been great. Lots of wine and the food is anything from small plates to dinner. Great space.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 18, 2017

An attractive wine list; attentive and pleasant service; and casual ambiance are not enough to overcome pedestrian food. The Penne DI Caprino was particularly disappointing (overcooked pasta and an excess of gooey cheese).

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on June 4, 2017

All in all, it was a great visit. Abraham gave us great service and the food was tasty. Unfortunately, we were fans of any of the wineswe tried.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on June 3, 2017

My wife and I were in on June 3rd 2017 to celebrate are anniversary of 11yrs. The place was awesome. Would bring friends. Next time would hope the noise is not as loud. Great place. Thanks

Tags: Late-night Find, Happy Hour, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Cozy, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Worst meal ever on an OpenTable reservation. Microwaved food and ineptly served.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 11, 2017

We enjoyed our meal at BTG. It was nice being able to choose from so many wines, and being able to have small pours, if we wanted.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Tapas, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 6, 2017

We love BTG. Our waiter was very knowledgeable about the wine and had good recommendations about the menu. Everything was delicious!

Tags: Quick Bite, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 28, 2017

I always love coming to BTG and enjoying new wines. We had a great evening celebrating a friend's birthday. The service is always great here. Additionally, the food was delicious as well...although some of the dishes did have a large amount of garlic. Overall, we loved our experience, the wine and the food.

Tags: Fun, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 27, 2017

An all around awesome evening! The service was amazing and the food delicious! Thanks for making it such an incredible evening for all of us!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Food was excellent. Service impeccable. Wine fabulous!! Really a great place. We come here often and it has been great every time!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Such a great spot to try wines and then decided what to order a bottle of :) great bar bites. wonderful place to go to before a show at the Eccles!

Tags: Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 17, 2017

Abraham was great! Very attentive and personable. Food from Caffe Molise never disappoints. Both BTG and Caffe Molise are amazing at catering to special dietary needs.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 8, 2017

The ONLY thing that has disappointed me at BTG is their arugula salad. It is simply too basic. it is large enough to share but lacks interest (ie, it is boring) and could tolerate/benefit from an interesting add or 2 (and not chicken or shrimp - those get boring too). It is a 'darker' setting - so out come the flashlights to read the menu. Serve staff are knowledgeable -- consider asking for a table near a wall - there is high traffic area between bar/tables and the main route to the ktichen. Large groups may enjoy the booths in the window. Make reservations .

Tags: Tapas, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Great menu that seems very healthy and taste great. Good service too!

Tags: Special Occasion, Organic, Great Beer, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tasting Menu, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 7, 2017

service as excellent! Wines presented well and the food was on point, I will return soon

Tags: Tapas, Romantic, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 5, 2017

Love this place. Service is always professional and friendly, wines are delicious, food is perfect for sharing and always good. Recommend the eggplant meatballs and garlic shrimp.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Quick Bite, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Fabulous wine list, fabulous cocktails, great bites and entrees from next door (Cafe Molise). Professional service. What's not to love?

Tags: Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on March 25, 2017

The food was yummy and the wine selection outstanding! Spent about three hours enjoying drinks and the company of my girlfriends, and never felt pressure from the staff to clear our table for another group. The staff were extremely helpful and attentive. I will absolutely return to BTG. Well worth the drive!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Consistently good service knowledgeable staff. Menu needs improvement

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on March 20, 2017

Everything was really good! The food was solid, while not inventive, the wine selection is broad, though I'd like to see a more unique lineup of producers, the service was efficient, and the ambience was surprisingly warm, considering the openness of the space.

The Champagne with the Garlic Shrimp is a perfect pairing, as is the Alsatian Riesling with the Asparagus dish!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 15, 2017

I've been here a couple of times and haven't been disappointed. The service is excellent-- we had a reservation for 10 people (ended up being about 8) and our server handled it with ease. He had great suggestions for wines to try, both flights and full glasses. I had a small plate of meatballs and it was delicious and filled me up pretty well too. The one thing that keeps me from coming back frequently is the price. It's a little out of my price range for regular dining. I've also only been here with reservations. I've seen it very busy on weekend evenings and couldn't get in.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Went to the BTG with some friends from work. The wine list was great! The server was awesome and have great suggestions! The food options were very limited, and the food was just okay.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Lovely bar and restaurant ambiance. Excellent food and drinks. They serve yummy cocktails and wine flights. I love the Bourbon Mule and I recently had the staff picks wine flight. Great for a date or friend get together. I visit here every couple of months at least!

Tags: Good for Groups, Tasting Menu, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Fun, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 15, 2017

This experience was excellent. We took full advantage of the shared kitchen (with Caffe Molise). The server was very knowledgeable about the wines offered, and made some recommendations based on our food choices.

Tags: Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Authentic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Absolutely amazing. Loved every part of the experience.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Fun, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 10, 2017

My wife and I have been here a few times and we will keep coming back. The service is incredible and so is the wine and food. I highly recommend.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 22, 2017

We come to BTG Wine Bar regularly and have experienced varying levels of service. Tonight the service was absolutely outstanding. Abraham was great at anticipating our needs, knowing what needed and providing it to us before we even asked. That kind of service will keep us coming back!

Tags: Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Came before a show an

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 18, 2017

This place was just what I needed to unwind. Can't wait to go back. Food and wine so delicious.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Comfort Food, Healthy, Romantic, Tapas, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Quick Bite, Cozy, Special Occasion, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Local Ingredients, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 17, 2017

Great service, consistently decent food from Cafe Molise next door, good wine list and nice ambiance. Overall, a good choice for a group of friends in search of a relaxing evening.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Our waiter was AWOL most of the time and we had to hunt him down when we needed something.

I've gotten cheese plate before and it was served with thin crostini. The past 2 times they have served with thick bread slices which is not appropriate given the cheese portions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Abraham is the best server!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 30, 2016

It's a nice place to taste wine, not too expensive but not cheap either. It's an overall good place to bring special someone or good friends to relax with.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Short staffed for season and the waitress forgot several items that we ordered. Forgot a cocktail and had to be reminded and then forgot two small plates that for yet a second reminder. It was overall a fine experience but had we been in a hurry I would have been more angry about the omissions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Great ambiance, but server did not have a lot of personality, and was quite dry.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.