Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi

About BTG Wine Bar

Welcome to Salt Lake City’s first and only wine bar--BTG Wine Bar! Located in the heart of downtown Salt Lake City, BTG (By The Glass) offers over 75 wines in pours of 2 ounces, 5 ounces, bottles, or flights. We also procure premium and artisanal spirits for our craft cocktails. We offer international & local brewer's beer, a small bites menu, and the full menu from Caffe Molise to complement our libations. The upscale and relaxed atmosphere lends itself to an intimate date or a large party. The close proximity to Abravanel Hall, Capitol Theatre, Energy Solutions Arena, City Creek Center, and the Salt Palace Convention Center make the wine bar a perfect pre or post event venue. The bar is available for private functions, private tastings, and banquets.

63 West 100 South
Salt Lake City, UT 84101
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Wine Bar, International, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - Close, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 1:00am

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(801) 359-2814

Website:
http://www.btgwinebar.com/

Parking Details:
On street parking in front of the bar. Paid parking across the street at City Creek Center. Paid parking in a lot to the East of the bar.

Public Transit:
City Center TRAX stop is 1/2 block away from the bar.

Executive Chef:
Fred Moesinger

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Wheelchair Access, Wine

BTG Wine Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Notable Wine List (24)
Special Occasion (18)
Good for Anniversaries (17)
See All
Good for a Date (16)
Tasting Menu (14)
Romantic (14)
Pre/post Theatre (11)
Cozy (10)
Tapas (10)
Bar Seating (9)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Quick Bite (6)
Good for Groups (6)
Fun (6)
Modern Decor (6)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Authentic (4)
Local Ingredients (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Casual (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Business Meals (2)
Healthy (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Great for Lunch (1)
Comfort Food (1)
People Watching (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Private Room (1)
Historic (1)
Sort By:
S
134 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined 4 days ago

Consistently good service knowledgeable staff. Menu needs improvement

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on March 21, 2017

Everything was really good! The food was solid, while not inventive, the wine selection is broad, though I'd like to see a more unique lineup of producers, the service was efficient, and the ambience was surprisingly warm, considering the openness of the space.

The Champagne with the Garlic Shrimp is a perfect pairing, as is the Alsatian Riesling with the Asparagus dish!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 16, 2017

I've been here a couple of times and haven't been disappointed. The service is excellent-- we had a reservation for 10 people (ended up being about 8) and our server handled it with ease. He had great suggestions for wines to try, both flights and full glasses. I had a small plate of meatballs and it was delicious and filled me up pretty well too. The one thing that keeps me from coming back frequently is the price. It's a little out of my price range for regular dining. I've also only been here with reservations. I've seen it very busy on weekend evenings and couldn't get in.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Went to the BTG with some friends from work. The wine list was great! The server was awesome and have great suggestions! The food options were very limited, and the food was just okay.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Lovely bar and restaurant ambiance. Excellent food and drinks. They serve yummy cocktails and wine flights. I love the Bourbon Mule and I recently had the staff picks wine flight. Great for a date or friend get together. I visit here every couple of months at least!

Tags: Good for Groups, Tasting Menu, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Fun, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 16, 2017

This experience was excellent. We took full advantage of the shared kitchen (with Caffe Molise). The server was very knowledgeable about the wines offered, and made some recommendations based on our food choices.

Tags: Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Authentic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Absolutely amazing. Loved every part of the experience.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Fun, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 11, 2017

My wife and I have been here a few times and we will keep coming back. The service is incredible and so is the wine and food. I highly recommend.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 23, 2017

We come to BTG Wine Bar regularly and have experienced varying levels of service. Tonight the service was absolutely outstanding. Abraham was great at anticipating our needs, knowing what needed and providing it to us before we even asked. That kind of service will keep us coming back!

Tags: Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Came before a show an

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 19, 2017

This place was just what I needed to unwind. Can't wait to go back. Food and wine so delicious.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Comfort Food, Healthy, Romantic, Tapas, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Modern Decor, Quick Bite, Cozy, Special Occasion, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Local Ingredients, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 18, 2017

Great service, consistently decent food from Cafe Molise next door, good wine list and nice ambiance. Overall, a good choice for a group of friends in search of a relaxing evening.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Our waiter was AWOL most of the time and we had to hunt him down when we needed something.

I've gotten cheese plate before and it was served with thin crostini. The past 2 times they have served with thick bread slices which is not appropriate given the cheese portions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Abraham is the best server!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 31, 2016

It's a nice place to taste wine, not too expensive but not cheap either. It's an overall good place to bring special someone or good friends to relax with.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Short staffed for season and the waitress forgot several items that we ordered. Forgot a cocktail and had to be reminded and then forgot two small plates that for yet a second reminder. It was overall a fine experience but had we been in a hurry I would have been more angry about the omissions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Great ambiance, but server did not have a lot of personality, and was quite dry.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 11, 2016

We arrived a bit early and found it odd that all the people dining were swished together in the middle of the restaurant. We ordered appetizers and drinks and waited a good 20 minutes before we were checked on and our order was taken. 1 other couple got up and left upset at the lack of attention and another couple was complaining. The thing is they weren't busy at all. It seemed like something was happening behind the bar that was very captivating. Regardless the food was amazing!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 11, 2016

We had been to BTG numerous times for wine but this was our first time for dinner. The services was outstanding food was great and as always the wine options fabulous. Great spot.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Loved the food and the large wine list. Our server Abraham was great! Couldn't say the same for the hostess who was rude and needed an attitude adjustment. Other than her everything was awesome!

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Tapas, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Romantic, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Excellent food with great service. Loved the fleet of wines and the variety of wines. The lasagne was the best!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 4, 2016

The wine offerings were unique and well worth braving the hustle and bustle of downtown on a Saturday night. However, if you want to have dinner, go elsewhere for that, and then come here for after dinner wine flights. The meatballs (both duck and Italian) were OK, the mac n cheese was dry.

Tags: Cozy, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Most everything was acceptable, nothing really to complain about, with one exception. We made a reservation with the expectation that a table would be held for us, and it was. But there were a couple other tables open, and we were seated at the smallest table right in front of the front door. All night long when people came in or out we were blasted with arctic cold air. I would hope that someone making arrangements well in advance could be accommodated better than we were. As well as everything else went, that alone severely hurts our chances for return.

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 20, 2016

My wife and I went here before going to a show. The food was very good. For starters we had an arugula salad and a cheese board, and we both had Lasagna for the main course. The food menu was more extensive than expected in a wine bar. Wines (a nice selection) were available in 2 and 5 ounce pours as well as by the bottle. Flights of three wines were also available. BTG was a nice find; we will be returning.

Tags: Cozy, Tasting Menu, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Our waiter was very attentive. I NEVER felt like we were ever forgotten. Thanks for the great service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 15, 2016

Great service. Lasagna was some of the best. Red fleet of wine was yummy!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 14, 2016

Great wine list and good options for sharing small plates. Very accommodating with special requests. Definitely going to go back to try some of the wine flights.

Tags: Modern Decor, Bar Seating, Fun, Notable Wine List, Tapas, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Honestly we were not put at a table I had preferred. We were thrown in the corner it was quite stuffy but other than that it was good! I will still return as I love the ambiance there! Good food and great wines!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Service is always good. We have the same server and he recognized us. I am sorry i forgot his name. Food is always and the wine selection. I would recomend this place to people that want a classy/cozy ambience. Thank you and we will defenitely come back in the future.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Could not have had a better time here. A true Gem in the Salt Lake area. The wine flights were spectacular. My wife had the lasagna which was so fresh and had maybe the best sauce I've ever tasted. I had the pizza which was unique and quite tasty. Creme brulee was to die for! Service was spectacular.

Will be going back as often as I can!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Fantastic wine selection. A great find in downtown Salt Lake!

Tags: Tapas, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 18, 2016

Excellent food & service. Was on a business trip, needed to eat alone. Loved the atmosphere and I chose vegetarian option & would highly recommend the vegetarian meatballs with polenta & asparagus. Outstanding!!!!

Tags: Hot Spot, Business Meals, Good Vegetarian Options, Notable Wine List, Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on October 15, 2016

I love the service and the ambience. Cozy and i hardly see young crowd. Which is great. I will definitely comeback in the future.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 10, 2016

Fantastic food and wine. I ordered the mushroom pate and then eggplant meatballs (vegetarian) which was really tasty. The eggplant meatballs entree size was a decent portion so probably wouldn't an appetizer next time. I also really like the wine list and the pinot noir I had was enjoyable. Service was outstanding. Would highly recommend this wine bar to friends or anyone looking for a great little gem in Salt Lake City.

Tags: Cozy, Notable Wine List, Outstanding Value, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 2, 2016

My favorite bar in SLC! Wines by the glass, lovely staff who are always attentive, kind and knowledgable keep me coming back.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Family Style, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Great atmosphere and great food. Couldn't have asked for more for a special birthday date. Thank you, BTG!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Tapas, People Watching, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Five crammed onto a table for four. Very uncomfortable. Wouldn't recommend for large groups. Fun atmosphere and great service from Abraham.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Great nite, great wine, great location

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Often quiet and cozy, this particular night was anything but. Packed, with a wait line, noisy and rushed. Our server, Abraham, was grace under fire. When there is a convention in town avoid this spot, otherwise it is wonderful.

Tags: Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 15, 2016

We shared the pizza of the day and it was so delicious, we had the hummus, the hummus was especially creamy and we had the arugula salad, the salad was very refreshing with the lemon vinaigrette.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.