About BTG Wine Bar

63 West 100 South
Salt Lake City, UT 84101
View Larger Map

Welcome to Salt Lake City’s first and only wine bar--BTG Wine Bar! Located in the heart of downtown Salt Lake City, BTG (By The Glass) offers over 75 wines in pours of 2 ounces, 5 ounces, bottles, or flights. We also procure premium and artisanal spirits for our craft cocktails. We offer international & local brewer's beer, a small bites menu, and the full menu from Caffe Molise to complement our libations. The upscale and relaxed atmosphere lends itself to an intimate date or a large party. The close proximity to Abravanel Hall, Capitol Theatre, Energy Solutions Arena, City Creek Center, and the Salt Palace Convention Center make the wine bar a perfect pre or post event venue. The bar is available for private functions, private tastings, and banquets.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Wine Bar, International, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - Close, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 1:00am

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(801) 359-2814

Website:
http://www.btgwinebar.com/

Parking Details:
On street parking in front of the bar. Paid parking across the street at City Creek Center. Paid parking in a lot to the East of the bar.

Public Transit:
City Center TRAX stop is 1/2 block away from the bar.

Executive Chef:
Fred Moesinger

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

BTG Wine Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.7

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Hot Spot
Utah
Notable Wine List
Utah
Best Overall
Salt Lake City
2 More
Best Ambiance
Salt Lake City
Notable Wine List
Salt Lake City
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

notable wine list (37)
special occasion (24)
romantic (22)
See All
fit for foodies (19)
hot spot (15)
late-night find (15)
good for groups (13)
vibrant bar scene (12)
neighborhood gem (8)
great for outdoor dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
77 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Romantic table for 2

Dined on May 8, 2016

Loved the ambiance and the lasagna was the best I've had. Perfect Romatic spot.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

The Wine Bar has become one of our favor ...

Dined on May 6, 2016

The Wine Bar has become one of our favorite places to escape to. A great experience both times we have been.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fun! Fun!

Dined on May 1, 2016

Enjoyed my visit to the BTG Wine Bar. I would go again. The Mac-n-Cheese IS AMAZING. The service was amazing too.

Tags: hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Atmosphere

Dined on April 30, 2016

I came here to celebrate my friend's college graduation. We had a group of 10 and the table set up was perfect. The cocktails were wonderful. The food was great! Jared was our server. He was very knowledgeable about the menu and cocktail recommendations. Great place for friends to get together. Definitely recommend!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service4

Good food, good service.Great ambiance

vip
Dined on April 27, 2016

Good food, good service.Great ambiance

food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Highly Impressed

Dined on April 10, 2016

The wine flight I tried was thoughtfully put together. The food was excellent and the waitstaff personable. I will definitely be returning.

Tags: fit for foodies, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful wine, excellent service

Dined on April 8, 2016

This was my second time to BTG. The wine list is so extensive and interesting, and I enjoyed our server's suggestions and pairings. BTG has a nice, urban atmosphere, where one does not feel that they are in Utah. The biggest difference? BTG's servers love what they do, are experts, and their customer service skill is notable. The wine paired so well with our food, which was just fabulous.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Can't wait to go back!

Dined on April 1, 2016

While a little on the pricey side, it was totally worth it! Amazing wine list, delicious wines, knowledgeable wait staff, and a great atmosphere!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Pre-Symphony spot

Dined on March 27, 2016

This is a good place for grabbing some appetizers and a glass of wine before symphony or ballet performances downtown. The wine selection meets expectations, and the small plates are a good accompaniment. Last visit included the cheese selection and the mushroom pate...both good, if not particularly noteworthy. Our server was a sommelier-in-training, and demonstrated a very good knowledge of the available wines and their unique stories. Don't hesitate to ask for recommendations...and consider a tasting flight. As is often the case, quality of service noticeably declines as the place fills.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Perfect wine and food pairings!

Dined on March 6, 2016

The in-house sommelier was incredible. He paired four different wines with our menu items and each was perfect. Completely changed and elevated our experience. Amazing!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service3

Ir was ok. Service could me better anywa ...

Dined on February 25, 2016

Ir was ok. Service could me better anyway.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Wine in downtown SLC

vip
Dined on February 13, 2016

Perfect location for a drink before the symphony, opera or ballet. Great locale, decor, wine and cocktail list. A true gem in downtown SLC.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great wine and great service!

Dined on February 13, 2016

My friend and I went to BTG Wine Bar and it was both our first time there. It has an upscale, dark, urban feel with minimalist decor. I had made us a reservation, which I definitely recommend, as it was full and busy that night. Our server, Mike, was very friendly and very knowledgable about all things wine. The fact that he listened to our preferences was evidenced by his recommendations which did not disappoint. We both also noted that he did not have a 'snooty' attitude that one might expect a wine expert to have, but instead was very kind, professional and friendly. He checked on us just often enough for us to have a wonderful evening of talking, and was able to help us out the door when we were ready. The wine list was huge, and we're glad we had him there to help aid us in our wine selection!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service2
value1

Didn't deliver as a wine bar

Dined on February 7, 2016

I couldn't tell what made this a wine bar as opposed to a regular restaurant. They serve from the Caffe Molise menu which is really awesome, I love that restaurant. The wine list wasn't any more extensive than any other restaurant. The waiter who seated me and provided the menus was very pretentious and rude. The next guy was much better but by no means a sommelier. The atmosphere was great, the food was everything you would expect from Caffe Molise. But the wines were expensive and there was no value-add as a "wine bar". I expected a more of an experience that what I got. I wouldn't go back.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome joint!

Dined on February 6, 2016

My girlfriends and I had the most wonderful evening this past weekend. Our server Jesse was attentive, knowledgable and all around fantastic. Not once did we feel like our needs weren't being met. The sommelier, Louis, was incredible and so helpful. The flights he chose for us were spot on and paired so lovely with our food. The atmosphere was welcoming and I felt my business was greatly appreciated. Thank You BTG for an awesome night.

Tags: notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic Find

Dined on February 1, 2016

A friend invited me out with a group of 6 for ladies night (8 of us total) - the food was AMAZING, the wine list was fantastic, and our server, Mike, was great with helping us choose wines. It's technically a bar - so no chance of children (and their idiot parents) inappropriately ruining an adult evening - BTG gets an A+ for that alone. I've been back two times since with different groups and I've always had an excellent dish, and even more excellent service and wine suggestions from Mike. I'll keep going until they won't let me anymore :)

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Bubbly

Dined on January 31, 2016

I really enjoyed the sparkling wine flight that I had over the weekend. Also, the gnocchi from Caffe Molise is always delicious. Great service!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Beautiful classy place.

Dined on January 17, 2016

The atmosphere is absolutely beautiful. Wine selection exquisite and not over priced. Desert flawless. I'll be back again soon! Think I found my new classy spot.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, notable wine list
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

Too bad.

vip
Dined on January 17, 2016

This was our second time to visit. The first was a wine tasting/pairing. The first time the food was cold but decided to try again since they were serving the entire packed restaurant at one time. This time the apps we had we good but the service was terrible. Our party of six was not all there when the waitress asked if we wanted to hear the specials. I asked if we could wait until everyone was there. When she finally showed up again we ordered our wine. I asked if we could get the specials and was informed there was no reason to tell us since we had made decisions on the wine and those were the only specials. Our 5 oz pours were the same size as the 2 oz flight pours. When questioned if we got the right size we were accused of drinking it when she was gone. The manager gave us an additional pour but made sure we knew he was the honest one. It's a great concept and the food was decent but we were insulted and paid a LOT. We won't be back.

food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Great wine flight!

Dined on January 3, 2016

Overall the experience was very good. We ordered appetizers and a wine flight each. This is one place where you can get a very high quality (with matching price) wine flight. It allows you to experience some very nice wines side by side. We will go back.

Tags: late-night find, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Perfect for date night or girl's night!

Dined on January 1, 2016

We LOVE going to BTG!! From date night to girl's night, we are never disappointed!! Do yourselves a HUGE favor and get the macaroni and cheese... It's fabulous! And the chocolate hazelnut cake is divine! Love the decor and truly enjoy the staff. I need to get the name of my favorite waiter next time I'm there... He's SO great!! Funny and witty and all around just delivers awesome service. Yay!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4

Great girl night out

Dined on December 11, 2015

BTG is a great spot for a girl night out or a romantic dinner. It's a quaint spot, with great wine and food.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service4

Great Place - makes you think you are not in Utah

vip
Dined on December 6, 2015

Food is from next door and is excellent service and wine great also. I did appreciate the manager bringing me a bandaide when one I had on kept comming off.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service3

Great wine, ambiance and food!

Dined on November 22, 2015

We had a great time here. The wine list is extensive and we enjoyed the flights they had available. They have a nice "bar eats" menu and you can also order from Caffe Molise next door. The food was wonderful. We did have to wait quite a while for our food to come but it was very busy in there. It was a Saturday night. If you want to go somewhere quick, I don't recommend it. This is more of an eat, drink and enjoy type of place. We will definitely be going back!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything about BTG Wine Bar is fantast ...

Dined on November 13, 2015

Everything about BTG Wine Bar is fantastic. I could tell that a great deal of love and attention to detail went into the design. I felt like I was in a tasting room at a top notch winery. What was even better was that all of that care continued to the stellar service and outstanding wine list. Our server helped us make some excellent choices and made us feel like we were guests, not customers. The sommelier even stopped by our table to check on how we were enjoying the wines. And the wines, wow! I couldn't believe how reasonable eveything was priced for a place of this caliber. There is a wine on the list for every palate and budget. The food was great; fresh seafood, great flavors, great preparation. I will be back often. Thank you BTG. You are a gem in Salt Lake City.

food5
ambience5
service5

Always a pleasure to dine and wine at BT ...

Dined on October 18, 2015

Always a pleasure to dine and wine at BTG. One of our faves!

food5
ambience4
service3

Vibrant and tasty

Dined on September 19, 2015

We went here for a birthday. The food was yummy and the wine selection amazing. I love the option to have different sizes of wine servings so you can sample more varieties. This is a new fav for me.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing, perfect menu, wine list, atmosp ...

Dined on September 18, 2015

Amazing, perfect menu, wine list, atmosphere, and service! Thank you mike!

food4
ambience4
service5

Excellent service and great wine

Dined on September 18, 2015

The staff was fabulous! I will be back simply because the bartender was so friendly (not overly) and gave the best wine suggestions. The food was pretty good too- try the Brussels sprouts and the scallops.

Tags: romantic, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great wine list and such a warm ambiance ...

Dined on September 16, 2015

Great wine list and such a warm ambiance. Food is spectacular.

food4
ambience5
service4

Great find!

vip
Dined on September 13, 2015

Very classy spot in downtown SLC. It has a great vibe, bar and an extensive wine list.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service2

An Oenophile Wonderland

vip
Dined on September 12, 2015

If you're a fan of wine, this is the place to be! Located in the heart of downtown Salt Lake, near the convention center, it is a chic, bustling wine bar. They offer dozens of wines sold by the glass in either 2oz or 5oz pours. You can find everything from inexpensive table wines to excellent special occasion wines. The menu includes options for wine flights based on grape varietal, terroir or tasting style. It is literally a wonderland for oenophiles! The food menu is decent, but unspectacular. Service can be a bit spotty, but the staff is pretty knowledgeable about wine and make good recommendations.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service4

Great wine

Dined on September 4, 2015

What a wonderful wine list! We will come back just to try the variety. Food was nice but I'd go to dinner somewhere else and just come to btg for the wine.

Tags: fit for foodies, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Exquisite Food & Wine! Great Ambiance. E ...

Dined on August 23, 2015

Exquisite Food & Wine! Great Ambiance. Excellent Service. Memorable Experience. Definitely coming back!

food4
ambience5
service5

Enjoyed my first experience. I'll be bac ...

Dined on August 19, 2015

Enjoyed my first experience. I'll be back. A tad disappointed that the dish I came for was not in supply (macaroni bites). Think that the food menu could be a bit more broad, but still enjoyed my bites.

Tags: notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service1

Don't let them slip you a $100 bottle of wine -

Dined on August 6, 2015

As someone who has always enjoyed dining at this establishment we feel compelled to write this review and explain why we will not go back. There are several reasons, each alone would be enough to question coming back, but together was more than enough reason. We scheduled a reservation for 3 for Wednesday evening via Open Table. When we arrived, we told the hostess that we had a reservation for 3. She lead us to one of the small circular tables that is obviously not adequate for 3 adults to have dinner. When I questioned the her about the size of the table she told me our reservation was for two, implying that it was my fault. When we corrected her, her reply was "that's what happens when you make a late reservation." Again, implying that is was our fault. We informed her that the reservation was made the day before. Keep in mind it's not the table that upset us, it was this young lady's rude and condescending response. We may have been willing to accept the table had it not been for the hostess. She turned us over to Jesse who did a very good job of handling the situation. He initially explained that the small table was all they had available, but made arrangements to move us to have a more reasonable table. Dinner was fine and the service by Mike was adequate. However, later in the meal my wife ordered a simple 25 dollar bottle of wine. Mike recommended a different shiraz, so we went with his choice, only to find out that when the bill came it was a 100 dollar bottle of wine. We felt this was something that we should have been made aware of, clearly. It felt deceitful or at the very least misleading. I understand the difficulty of accommodating diners at a busy time, but it should be done politely and honestly. Again, I would like to give Jesse kudos for his handling of the situation. But due to the behavior of your hostess and second server, we will not be returning and will be sure to recommend that our friends away as well.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service3

The BTG was a huge disappointment. The s ...

vip
Dined on August 5, 2015

The BTG was a huge disappointment. The service was disjointed and disorganized and the food average. It is a very thin menu so you would have thought that what was on the menu would be fabulous. It was not. The apps were very good but the mains underwhelming. We (4 of us) had steak, ravioli and fish. All were virtually tasteless. No depth of flavor whatsoever and all of the steaks were over cooked. The selections of wines by the glass were the saving grace. I would definitely return for a glass of wine and some appetizers but will never have dinner there again.

food4
ambience3
service5

The service was to die for.

Dined on July 11, 2015

My husband and I were there on Friday July 10th. Our server was very informative, and helpful when we were making our wine choices. I think his name was Michael, (he sported a beard and mustache). The food was good. We ordered a cheese platter and the scallops.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Can't wait for my next visit!

Dined on June 12, 2015

I have twice been to BTG. Once at Christmas (we just happened to run across your place while walking around downtown) for a late supper and once right after work for a birthday get-together...both times with the same friend. The ambience at Christmas was beautiful and the food (bistecca, I believe it was called...and a pinot grigio) was amazing...one of the most memorable meals of my life. The second time was summery and sunny. The ambience was different, but was just right for after work. I had one of the pastas this time, with goat cheese, artichokes, sun dried tomatoes. The waiter suggested I add sausage...what a GREAT idea! It was delicious. I'm still partial to the bistecca, but this was again, a memorable and delicious meal. I had a sauvignon blanc this time...didn't care for it much but it's the first time I've tried it. Both times, our waiters were wonderful...this last time, especially so. I wish I remembered his name because he made the whole evening for us! Loved his suggestions and left there feeling like he was someone I would have wanted to be friends with had we met outside of the restaurant. He made us both feel so welcome and I appreciated his very genuine personality! He also treated us to a piece of chocolate cake since we were both celebrating our birthdays. As a single mom for the last 17 years, I haven't gotten out much (do McDonald's Playland or Chuck-E-Cheese count?), so the second visit was an intentional choice on my part because I enjoyed it so much the first time. Can't wait for the next visit!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food2
ambience4
service1

For first time disappointing

vip
Dined on May 20, 2015

We have been there many times and have had great service, food and wine.. This time Service was not good at all and my food was cold.. Will be back as Have HAD GREAT IN PAST.. Just bad server this time.

Tags: fit for foodies, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.