About BTG Wine Bar

63 West 100 South
Salt Lake City, UT 84101
View Larger Map

Welcome to Salt Lake City’s first and only wine bar--BTG Wine Bar! Located in the heart of downtown Salt Lake City, BTG (By The Glass) offers over 75 wines in pours of 2 ounces, 5 ounces, bottles, or flights. We also procure premium and artisanal spirits for our craft cocktails. We offer international & local brewer's beer, a small bites menu, and the full menu from Caffe Molise to complement our libations. The upscale and relaxed atmosphere lends itself to an intimate date or a large party. The close proximity to Abravanel Hall, Capitol Theatre, Energy Solutions Arena, City Creek Center, and the Salt Palace Convention Center make the wine bar a perfect pre or post event venue. The bar is available for private functions, private tastings, and banquets.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Wine Bar, International, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - Close, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 1:00am

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(801) 359-2814

Website:
http://www.btgwinebar.com/

Parking Details:
On street parking in front of the bar. Paid parking across the street at City Creek Center. Paid parking in a lot to the East of the bar.

Public Transit:
City Center TRAX stop is 1/2 block away from the bar.

Executive Chef:
Fred Moesinger

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

BTG Wine Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Utah
Best Overall
Salt Lake City
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

Notable Wine List (21)
Special Occasion (15)
Vibrant Bar Scene (13)
See All
Good for Groups (13)
Romantic (12)
Fit for Foodies (11)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Hot Spot (7)
Late-night Find (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Sort By:
Newest
89 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We had a great time the ambiance was per ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined 4 days ago

We had a great time the ambiance was perfect drinks were great and the food was good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Appetizers and entrees were very good, v ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined 4 days ago

Appetizers and entrees were very good, very flavorful and pleasantly presented.

We ordered 4 different meals and enjoyed sharing among our party.

Wines and mixed drinks were well received. Wine flights allowed tasting different labels.

The atmosphere is modern, clean, open and inviting, other diners seemed to be enjoying themselves as much as our table.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Absolutely love this place!!! It's clean ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Absolutely love this place!!! It's clean and the atmosphere is really nice for dates to friends get together!! It's a little on the pricy end but it's still nice

Tags: Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great wine list with knowledgeable staff ...

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Great wine list with knowledgeable staff. Fair pricing & corkage fee/policy was very reasonable.

Bar bites were great & good value. Full menu from Cafe Molise which is next door & same ownership.

Tags: Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We had an excellent night at BTG Wine Ba ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

We had an excellent night at BTG Wine Bar. Our waiter, Jesse, was very attentive and knowledgable. I worried that the food would be secondary to the wine selections but I was pleasantly surprised at the quality of both. A perfectly prepared piece of salmon was paired with spicy noodles and grilled asparagus that we were still talking about the next day. Thank you for a relaxing evening after a long day at the Salt Palace.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Great variety of wines/flights. Unfortun ...

vip
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

Great variety of wines/flights. Unfortunately we didn't get the best service, but the food was great and the wines were tasty.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

First time we frequented BTG and were ve ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

First time we frequented BTG and were very happy we did. I had heard a favorable review on the radio and thought to give it a try for a special occasion. There were 12 in attendance and everyone came away impressed. Full and small plates menu available and everything we ordered was very tasty. Our waiter was extremely attentive. He did a great job in keeping all 12 of us (imbibers and non-drinkers alike) well lubed and kept all the orders straight. The only change I would make is a little more lighting. We were in the back of the wine bar and it was dark; took a while for our eyes to adjust. Regardless, I highly recommend BTG for an intimate date or a special occasion with a larger group.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

I love By the Glass, but I've decided I' ...

vip
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

I love By the Glass, but I've decided I'm over Caffe Molisse food. I visited this past weekend and the Open Table menu and the menu in the restaurant were different; all of the bar bites had been raised by at least $2 each. Eggplant meatballs are great, but the bruschetta was very underwhelming--bread wasn't toasted and it was just blah. Even though the food wasn't a stand out, I'll still be going back because I love the atmosphere.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Absolutely a fantastic experience. We di ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Absolutely a fantastic experience. We did not feel rushed and enjoyed our wines and dinner. Excellent wait staff!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The booths are difficult to navigate for ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

The booths are difficult to navigate for large groups, but the alternative small round tables aren't compatible for combining.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We had 8 for wine drinks and food before ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

We had 8 for wine drinks and food before the "Motown The Musical". BTG is the perfect place before or after events downtown.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our first time going and it was ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

This was our first time going and it was so great!! We are excited to go back! The food was delicious, the wine was as well and our service was wonderful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Romantic table for 2

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Loved the ambiance and the lasagna was the best I've had. Perfect Romatic spot.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

The Wine Bar has become one of our favor ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

The Wine Bar has become one of our favorite places to escape to. A great experience both times we have been.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fun! Fun!

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

Enjoyed my visit to the BTG Wine Bar. I would go again. The Mac-n-Cheese IS AMAZING. The service was amazing too.

Tags: Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Atmosphere

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

I came here to celebrate my friend's college graduation. We had a group of 10 and the table set up was perfect. The cocktails were wonderful. The food was great! Jared was our server. He was very knowledgeable about the menu and cocktail recommendations. Great place for friends to get together. Definitely recommend!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food, good service.Great ambiance

vip
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on April 27, 2016

Good food, good service.Great ambiance

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Highly Impressed

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on April 10, 2016

The wine flight I tried was thoughtfully put together. The food was excellent and the waitstaff personable. I will definitely be returning.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Wonderful wine, excellent service

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on April 8, 2016

This was my second time to BTG. The wine list is so extensive and interesting, and I enjoyed our server's suggestions and pairings. BTG has a nice, urban atmosphere, where one does not feel that they are in Utah. The biggest difference? BTG's servers love what they do, are experts, and their customer service skill is notable. The wine paired so well with our food, which was just fabulous.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Can't wait to go back!

 
 (New England)
·Dined on April 1, 2016

While a little on the pricey side, it was totally worth it! Amazing wine list, delicious wines, knowledgeable wait staff, and a great atmosphere!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Pre-Symphony spot

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

This is a good place for grabbing some appetizers and a glass of wine before symphony or ballet performances downtown. The wine selection meets expectations, and the small plates are a good accompaniment. Last visit included the cheese selection and the mushroom pate...both good, if not particularly noteworthy. Our server was a sommelier-in-training, and demonstrated a very good knowledge of the available wines and their unique stories. Don't hesitate to ask for recommendations...and consider a tasting flight. As is often the case, quality of service noticeably declines as the place fills.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Perfect wine and food pairings!

vip
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on March 6, 2016

The in-house sommelier was incredible. He paired four different wines with our menu items and each was perfect. Completely changed and elevated our experience. Amazing!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Ir was ok. Service could me better anywa ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on February 25, 2016

Ir was ok. Service could me better anyway.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

Wine in downtown SLC

vip
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

Perfect location for a drink before the symphony, opera or ballet. Great locale, decor, wine and cocktail list. A true gem in downtown SLC.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great wine and great service!

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

My friend and I went to BTG Wine Bar and it was both our first time there. It has an upscale, dark, urban feel with minimalist decor. I had made us a reservation, which I definitely recommend, as it was full and busy that night.

Our server, Mike, was very friendly and very knowledgable about all things wine. The fact that he listened to our preferences was evidenced by his recommendations which did not disappoint. We both also noted that he did not have a 'snooty' attitude that one might expect a wine expert to have, but instead was very kind, professional and friendly.

He checked on us just often enough for us to have a wonderful evening of talking, and was able to help us out the door when we were ready.

The wine list was huge, and we're glad we had him there to help aid us in our wine selection!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Didn't deliver as a wine bar

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on February 7, 2016

I couldn't tell what made this a wine bar as opposed to a regular restaurant. They serve from the Caffe Molise menu which is really awesome, I love that restaurant. The wine list wasn't any more extensive than any other restaurant. The waiter who seated me and provided the menus was very pretentious and rude. The next guy was much better but by no means a sommelier.

The atmosphere was great, the food was everything you would expect from Caffe Molise. But the wines were expensive and there was no value-add as a "wine bar". I expected a more of an experience that what I got. I wouldn't go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value1

Awesome joint!

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on February 6, 2016

My girlfriends and I had the most wonderful evening this past weekend. Our server Jesse was attentive, knowledgable and all around fantastic. Not once did we feel like our needs weren't being met. The sommelier, Louis, was incredible and so helpful. The flights he chose for us were spot on and paired so lovely with our food. The atmosphere was welcoming and I felt my business was greatly appreciated. Thank You BTG for an awesome night.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic Find

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on February 1, 2016

A friend invited me out with a group of 6 for ladies night (8 of us total) - the food was AMAZING, the wine list was fantastic, and our server, Mike, was great with helping us choose wines. It's technically a bar - so no chance of children (and their idiot parents) inappropriately ruining an adult evening - BTG gets an A+ for that alone.

I've been back two times since with different groups and I've always had an excellent dish, and even more excellent service and wine suggestions from Mike. I'll keep going until they won't let me anymore :)

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Bubbly

 
 (London)
·Dined on January 31, 2016

I really enjoyed the sparkling wine flight that I had over the weekend. Also, the gnocchi from Caffe Molise is always delicious. Great service!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful classy place.

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on January 17, 2016

The atmosphere is absolutely beautiful. Wine selection exquisite and not over priced. Desert flawless. I'll be back again soon! Think I found my new classy spot.

Tags: Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Too bad.

vip
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on January 17, 2016

This was our second time to visit. The first was a wine tasting/pairing. The first time the food was cold but decided to try again since they were serving the entire packed restaurant at one time. This time the apps we had we good but the service was terrible. Our party of six was not all there when the waitress asked if we wanted to hear the specials. I asked if we could wait until everyone was there. When she finally showed up again we ordered our wine. I asked if we could get the specials and was informed there was no reason to tell us since we had made decisions on the wine and those were the only specials. Our 5 oz pours were the same size as the 2 oz flight pours. When questioned if we got the right size we were accused of drinking it when she was gone. The manager gave us an additional pour but made sure we knew he was the honest one. It's a great concept and the food was decent but we were insulted and paid a LOT. We won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

Great wine flight!

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on January 3, 2016

Overall the experience was very good. We ordered appetizers and a wine flight each. This is one place where you can get a very high quality (with matching price) wine flight. It allows you to experience some very nice wines side by side. We will go back.

Tags: Hot Spot, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Perfect for date night or girl's night!

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on January 1, 2016

We LOVE going to BTG!! From date night to girl's night, we are never disappointed!! Do yourselves a HUGE favor and get the macaroni and cheese... It's fabulous! And the chocolate hazelnut cake is divine! Love the decor and truly enjoy the staff. I need to get the name of my favorite waiter next time I'm there... He's SO great!! Funny and witty and all around just delivers awesome service. Yay!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great girl night out

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on December 11, 2015

BTG is a great spot for a girl night out or a romantic dinner. It's a quaint spot, with great wine and food.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Great Place - makes you think you are not in Utah

vip
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on December 6, 2015

Food is from next door and is excellent service and wine great also.

I did appreciate the manager bringing me a bandaide when one I had on kept comming off.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Great wine, ambiance and food!

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on November 22, 2015

We had a great time here. The wine list is extensive and we enjoyed the flights they had available. They have a nice "bar eats" menu and you can also order from Caffe Molise next door. The food was wonderful. We did have to wait quite a while for our food to come but it was very busy in there. It was a Saturday night. If you want to go somewhere quick, I don't recommend it. This is more of an eat, drink and enjoy type of place. We will definitely be going back!

Tags: Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Everything about BTG Wine Bar is fantast ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on November 13, 2015

Everything about BTG Wine Bar is fantastic. I could tell that a great deal of love and attention to detail went into the design. I felt like I was in a tasting room at a top notch winery. What was even better was that all of that care continued to the stellar service and outstanding wine list. Our server helped us make some excellent choices and made us feel like we were guests, not customers. The sommelier even stopped by our table to check on how we were enjoying the wines. And the wines, wow! I couldn't believe how reasonable eveything was priced for a place of this caliber. There is a wine on the list for every palate and budget. The food was great; fresh seafood, great flavors, great preparation. I will be back often. Thank you BTG. You are a gem in Salt Lake City.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always a pleasure to dine and wine at BT ...

vip
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on October 18, 2015

Always a pleasure to dine and wine at BTG. One of our faves!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Vibrant and tasty

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on September 19, 2015

We went here for a birthday. The food was yummy and the wine selection amazing. I love the option to have different sizes of wine servings so you can sample more varieties. This is a new fav for me.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

Amazing, perfect menu, wine list, atmosp ...

vip
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on September 18, 2015

Amazing, perfect menu, wine list, atmosphere, and service! Thank you mike!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.