Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 5 times today

BTG Wine Bar

4.8
226 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$31 to $50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Wine Bar
Top Tags:
  • Notable Wine List
  • Good for a Date
  • Special Occasion
Welcome to Salt Lake City’s first and only wine bar--BTG Wine Bar! Located in the heart of downtown Salt Lake City, BTG (By The Glass) offers over 75 wines in pours of 2 ounces, 5 ounces, bottles, or flights. We also procure premium and artisanal spirits for our craft cocktails. We offer international & local brewer's beer, a small bites menu, and the full menu from Caffe Molise to complement our libations. The upscale and relaxed atmosphere lends itself to an intimate date or a large party. The close proximity to Abravanel Hall, Capitol Theatre, Energy Solutions Arena, City Creek Center, and the Salt Palace Convention Center make the wine bar a perfect pre or post event venue. The bar is available for private functions, private tastings, and banquets.
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Wine Bar, International, Mediterranean
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - Close, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 1:00am
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(801) 359-2814
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Business Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Fred Moesinger
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
On street parking in front of the bar. Paid parking across the street at City Creek Center. Paid parking in a lot to the East of the bar.
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
City Center TRAX stop is 1/2 block away from the bar.
Additional
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 226 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.8based on recent ratings
4.5
food
4.7
service
4.7
ambience
4.4
value
Noise · Moderate
100% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

This is our go to spot for special occasions, always on our anniversary and often other special dates. The ambiance is amazing and the food cooked by Cafe Molise is amazing. You will be glad you went!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

The wine and food at BTG are outstanding! It is a sensory delight!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 12, 2018

My husband and I went to BTG for a date night due to the extensive wine list and great reviews. We made a reservation on OT and were seated quickly. The table was kind of by where the servers come out of the kitchen so not the best table in the house.

I ordered a Cab wine flight. All delish! My hus ordered another type of wine. Lots to choose from.

The food is pretty good but not stellar.

A good place to meet friends for a drink and small bites.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 8, 2018

Perfect for catching up with an old friend! Waitress was awesome!! I have never been disappointed there!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 5, 2018

Louie is always able to recommend a perfect bottle of wine.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 28, 2018

Very nice place wine selection was excellent

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 22, 2018

We went there for a birthday celebration. We were so impressed with quality and value of food offerings. Our server was just outstanding . It was busy but he kept coming back to refill our wine glasses . Its a fun vibrant bar and we will most definitely go back ..

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 14, 2018

We made reservations and sat in the window booth. It was perfect for 4 couples. The service was excellent, great recommendations. I have always loved their eggplant meatballs and I hope they will always serve them. Delicious!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 6, 2018

Reserved a table for my friend’s birthday. It was a wonderful girls night. Good food, good drinks, awesome waiter that we’ve had 2 years in a row for her birthday. Just absolutely love going to BTG

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 31, 2018

We loved the flight of champagne. Our pork dish with fig sauce was incredible—highly recommend. Great dessert list paired with great digestif options.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 25, 2018

I'd recommend tasting several wines by selecting your favorite flight. Enough of them to accomodate most palates. Pair it up with some bites, like the Baked Chevre, and it is a fun, casual evening.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 24, 2018

Love this place! It’s always awesome service!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 4, 2018

Excellent as always. Food and service!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 3, 2018

Great wine and just a great place to have a glass of wine

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 1, 2018

My husband and I both work in the service industry and are both very patient but also have high expectations as well. The ambience was incredible, the wine was amazing and the food the outstanding. I have worked in steak houses for almost 10 years now all serving USDA prime and unfortunately have to call myself a steak snob. The beef medallion with the mushroom truffle cream sauce had me blown away. I could have eaten ten of them. We absolutely will be back and we will tell friends and we will bring people there with us!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 26, 2018

Great! As always!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 18, 2018

We loved BTG Wine Bar. The food was amazing, the atmosphere was perfect, and our server, GiGi, was spectacular. All around great experience. We will recommend it and can't wait to come back next time we are here.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 17, 2018

Waiter was amazing and knowledgeable. Food on the menu is unique and full of flavor.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 14, 2018

This place was great. Perfect for date night . The staff was very polite and made or experience delightful. Looking forward to going back. The wine selection was incredible can't say enough wonderful things about this place .

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 14, 2018

Great service with knowledgeable waiter. Able to get in and out quickly, even though it was valentine's day. Great vio
Ist playing.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 12, 2018

Quiet, low lighting - perfect for intimate conversation. The entree menu wasn’t available (as my reservation was after 9) but the small plates & dessert menu was which more than made up for it. Gigi, our server was spot on with wine pairing recommendations & cocktail selections. Will absolutely return

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 10, 2018

Loved it, we will be back for sure. I am trying to convince my husband to take me monthly for date night

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 10, 2018

Great service, wine selection advice was spot on & food was amazing.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 2, 2018

The wines menu are fair enough besides the fact you have to drink the bubbles in a wine glass.
The food at this second time we weren’t very lucky. The lasagna was cold, the salad very salty but the burrata was still good

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 31, 2018

Great Service - nice menu! SLC sophistication

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 27, 2018

A great choice if you love wine or Italian food! The ambiance was really cool. It had a dimly lit 'trendy' feel. If you have a bigger group, they have a few booths next to the window that would be cool for people watching. We all did flights of wine that let you try 3 different wines. I had the ravioli with eggplant and it was so amazing I wish I had more! I tried some of my friends dishes too - the chicken marsala and some sort of penne, and they both were delicious as well! I would definitely go back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 26, 2018

Excellent food!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 26, 2018

Love this place. The ambiance is amazing and the fact that you can order Café Molise food is really why we come. Candle lit dinner and amazing food. This is our go to for special dates and our anniversary. You will not be disappointed.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 12, 2018

Interesting wine list, with good selection of local and international blends. The food is good, nothing exceptional, but there is a wide selection of small plates that you can pair with wines.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 7, 2018

It's comfortable, clean, and just upscale enough that you don't have to worry about frat boys. I celebrated my birthday there and the staff were very accommodating--I could not have asked for a better experience. Delightful wine, delicious food, and some surprisingly kickass music. Well done, btg

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 5, 2018

The waiter was very knowledgeable about every wine and had great recommendations. The food was delicious!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 30, 2017

This place is superb and so fun!!! The food was awesome and atmosphere so great!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on December 28, 2017

Wines and wine flights 5 stars!!!! Food was average. I would add more food pairings and a wider variety of cheese.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 28, 2017

BTG always has great By-The-Glass wine recommendations, and excellent light fare. We often go there for an appetizer and wine and end up staying for dinner. The service is always excellent. There are dozens of seats at the very comfortable bar, where you can talk wine with the bartenders or meet a new friend. BTG is our Go-To bar suggestion for small business meetings, people dining alone, friends get-togethers, or even a first or second date; you just sit where you feel comfortable for whatever the reason you are there.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 19, 2017

Great Food and Wine - Great place to have dinner and wine before the Symphony.

Josh our waiter was wonderful - timing and knowledge of the food and wine were wonderful.

It truely makes you feel you are not in Utah with the Wine Bar and all.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 19, 2017

Great server named Gabby! Super proactive and our food was excellent

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 16, 2017

Dinner with friends before symphony performance. I made reservations and definitely recommend you do also if there are events downtown since seating availability is limited. We had a group of 3 and were at a small table which accommodated us well, however, the small tables were packed too closely together. This made seating/chair management intrusive and awkward with settling in and accommodating winter coats. Wine selection is marvelous. Service was prompt. Food was delicious!!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 14, 2017

Most tables were filled with groups engaged in fun, vibrant conversations. The food was all very tasty although some plates could have been warmer. Wait staff was friendly and efficient with excellent knowledge of wines and spirits.
This is a good spot before a show or concert. They aren't open late enough for after-hours.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 9, 2017

One of my favorite spots in town. The ambiance, food and wine list are great. Ideal for a date, friend get together and pre/post theater.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 9, 2017

A favorite stop when I am downtown for an event or concert. I always opt for their Small Plate menu, as it offers wonderful variety and caters to any taste. The Garlic Shrimp were excellent on this visit. Their Cheese Board is always changing, and dependably good--with perfect accents like pickled vegetables and very good olives. If you are so inclined, one of their recommended Wine Flights is a nice accompaniment to the menu. I would recommend a reservation on the weekends, and particularly if you are more than two.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
6