Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi

About BTG Wine Bar

Welcome to Salt Lake City’s first and only wine bar--BTG Wine Bar! Located in the heart of downtown Salt Lake City, BTG (By The Glass) offers over 75 wines in pours of 2 ounces, 5 ounces, bottles, or flights. We also procure premium and artisanal spirits for our craft cocktails. We offer international & local brewer's beer, a small bites menu, and the full menu from Caffe Molise to complement our libations. The upscale and relaxed atmosphere lends itself to an intimate date or a large party. The close proximity to Abravanel Hall, Capitol Theatre, Energy Solutions Arena, City Creek Center, and the Salt Palace Convention Center make the wine bar a perfect pre or post event venue. The bar is available for private functions, private tastings, and banquets.

63 West 100 South
Salt Lake City, UT 84101
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Wine Bar, International, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - Close, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 1:00am

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(801) 359-2814

Website:
http://www.btgwinebar.com/

Parking Details:
On street parking in front of the bar. Paid parking across the street at City Creek Center. Paid parking in a lot to the East of the bar.

Public Transit:
City Center TRAX stop is 1/2 block away from the bar.

Executive Chef:
Fred Moesinger

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Wheelchair Access, Wine

BTG Wine Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Notable Wine List (17)
Good for a Date (15)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
See All
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Special Occasion (7)
Casual (6)
Romantic (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Good for Anniversaries (6)
Cozy (5)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Tapas (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Authentic (5)
Bar Seating (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Fun (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Healthy (3)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Business Meals (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
People Watching (1)
Seasonal (1)
Sort By:
S
174 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined on October 3, 2017

My girlfriends and I love BTG! We try to get together once a month and BTG is always our first choice because of the food & wine, as well as, the ambiance. My favorite is the Italian Gems wine flight and all of food. You can't go wrong choosing BTG for an after work get-together, a date, or other occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on September 27, 2017

So lovely! Only in town for a few days and so glad we found this place! We were having an early birthday celebration and they were so friendly and gave us a free desert. Will definitely return if we're ever back in Salt Lake City!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on September 24, 2017

Our server was awesome!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on September 23, 2017

Excellent wine selection. Fun bar food in a lively atmosphere.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on September 20, 2017

First time I had been there and was happy to find a quiet place to talk to an old friend for 4 hours. Great service and we could choose from a wide variety of drinks. Food was excellent too. I would go there again for a quiet drink or as a group.

Tags: Casual, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on August 28, 2017

On a Sunday evening it was packed, glad we made reservations. wine and bar snacks were very good, dessert not so much. My wife didn't care for the Tiramisu, and the caramelized sugar on the crème brulee was way too thick. That said, will certainly be back.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Knowledgable staff and excellent wine selections combined with creative cuisine made for a most enjoyable casual dinner. Highly recommend it.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 21, 2017

I had two great red wine flights, Pinot noir and another red wine flight which were great. The eggplant meatballs with polenta was excellent although huge portion. I really enjoyed this wine bar! The service was a bit over attentive and was checking in too frequently before ready to order.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 19, 2017

We had a great time at BTG wine bar. Amazing wine selection with knowledgeable waiter and sommelier. Food looked incredible (we just had wine). Great atmosphere and is not noisy like most bars.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Late-night Find, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Familiar with its sister-restaurant, Caffe Molise-- but, first visit to BTG. Recommended by a friend. Even with performing arts theaters and convention center nearby, not difficult to get a reservation (but necessary at prime dining time, as the restaurant is smaller). A nice place. Food was good. The charcuterie was particularly good--with some house-made treasures. Our server was very good. Interesting, expansive (particularly for Salt Lake) wine list. Liked the wine flight options to try several different ones. Would recommend to management to upgrade the dining chairs (hard wood seat) to a more comfortable option, given the overall ambiance of the restaurant. It would be a nice creature comfort.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 15, 2017

Everyone at BTG is friendly, warm and welcoming. After flying from NY, I was waiting for my daughter to get off work and needed to hang out for a bit. They made me comfortable, recommended a great wine and the Bar Bites were delicious. I went to BTG 3 times during my visit to SLC. I went with my daughter and her boyfriend for dinner before a play and the food was great.

Tags: Good for Groups, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Quick Bite, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 14, 2017

Great service and interesting "bites". Helpful and knowledgeable staff.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 5, 2017

This was a delight! The food was tasty, with some varied options. The servers were friendly and well informed. They have more than 50 wines by the glass and some really good crafted cocktails. The restaurant is small and tightly seated, but the ambiance makes up for it!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Vibrant Bar Scene, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Casual, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Seasonal, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Great food, great wine, and great decor. Will go again.

Tags: Tapas, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 30, 2017

It was a nice experience overall. We tried several different wine flights and our server helped us choose which ones based on our tastes. He was very knowledgeable and had a laid back demeanor which was nice. We did tell our server that we were there for our one year anniversary, but it was hardly recognized which was a bit of a bummer. We didn't stay for food so I can't rate that part fairly, although I left a middle of the road rating since I couldn't skip it.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on July 15, 2017

BTG is always fun! Great flights of wine, delicious small plates and charcuterie board.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Happy Hour, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Food and drink offerings were amazing. Mike was a superb waiter!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Delicious as always! Love the staff because they are super friendly and always helpful.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Quick Bite, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Tapas, Healthy, Fun, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on July 3, 2017

We love the BTG! The food is good and the wine choices are many. On our most recent visit we had a pizza for the first time and it was delicious! We are also big fans of the hummus plate, the mac and cheese, and the cheese board. You can also order from Caffe Molise's dinner menu, so you can choose a larger meal or the smaller bar bites. Something for everyone. The staff members are always friendly, efficient, and helpful.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Late-night Find, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on June 24, 2017

We love the atmosphere here and the food is so great. We travel a lot and this is a favorite!

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 21, 2017

We've been here several times and it's always been great. Lots of wine and the food is anything from small plates to dinner. Great space.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 18, 2017

An attractive wine list; attentive and pleasant service; and casual ambiance are not enough to overcome pedestrian food. The Penne DI Caprino was particularly disappointing (overcooked pasta and an excess of gooey cheese).

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on June 4, 2017

All in all, it was a great visit. Abraham gave us great service and the food was tasty. Unfortunately, we were fans of any of the wineswe tried.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on June 3, 2017

My wife and I were in on June 3rd 2017 to celebrate are anniversary of 11yrs. The place was awesome. Would bring friends. Next time would hope the noise is not as loud. Great place. Thanks

Tags: Late-night Find, Happy Hour, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Cozy, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Worst meal ever on an OpenTable reservation. Microwaved food and ineptly served.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 11, 2017

We enjoyed our meal at BTG. It was nice being able to choose from so many wines, and being able to have small pours, if we wanted.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Tapas, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 6, 2017

We love BTG. Our waiter was very knowledgeable about the wine and had good recommendations about the menu. Everything was delicious!

Tags: Quick Bite, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 28, 2017

I always love coming to BTG and enjoying new wines. We had a great evening celebrating a friend's birthday. The service is always great here. Additionally, the food was delicious as well...although some of the dishes did have a large amount of garlic. Overall, we loved our experience, the wine and the food.

Tags: Fun, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 27, 2017

An all around awesome evening! The service was amazing and the food delicious! Thanks for making it such an incredible evening for all of us!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Food was excellent. Service impeccable. Wine fabulous!! Really a great place. We come here often and it has been great every time!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Such a great spot to try wines and then decided what to order a bottle of :) great bar bites. wonderful place to go to before a show at the Eccles!

Tags: Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 17, 2017

Abraham was great! Very attentive and personable. Food from Caffe Molise never disappoints. Both BTG and Caffe Molise are amazing at catering to special dietary needs.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 8, 2017

The ONLY thing that has disappointed me at BTG is their arugula salad. It is simply too basic. it is large enough to share but lacks interest (ie, it is boring) and could tolerate/benefit from an interesting add or 2 (and not chicken or shrimp - those get boring too). It is a 'darker' setting - so out come the flashlights to read the menu. Serve staff are knowledgeable -- consider asking for a table near a wall - there is high traffic area between bar/tables and the main route to the ktichen. Large groups may enjoy the booths in the window. Make reservations .

Tags: Tapas, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Great menu that seems very healthy and taste great. Good service too!

Tags: Special Occasion, Organic, Great Beer, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tasting Menu, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 7, 2017

service as excellent! Wines presented well and the food was on point, I will return soon

Tags: Tapas, Romantic, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 5, 2017

Love this place. Service is always professional and friendly, wines are delicious, food is perfect for sharing and always good. Recommend the eggplant meatballs and garlic shrimp.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Quick Bite, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Fabulous wine list, fabulous cocktails, great bites and entrees from next door (Cafe Molise). Professional service. What's not to love?

Tags: Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on March 25, 2017

The food was yummy and the wine selection outstanding! Spent about three hours enjoying drinks and the company of my girlfriends, and never felt pressure from the staff to clear our table for another group. The staff were extremely helpful and attentive. I will absolutely return to BTG. Well worth the drive!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Consistently good service knowledgeable staff. Menu needs improvement

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on March 20, 2017

Everything was really good! The food was solid, while not inventive, the wine selection is broad, though I'd like to see a more unique lineup of producers, the service was efficient, and the ambience was surprisingly warm, considering the openness of the space.

The Champagne with the Garlic Shrimp is a perfect pairing, as is the Alsatian Riesling with the Asparagus dish!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.