About Brunswick & Hunt

Brunswick & Hunt offers a fresh seasonal approach to Pacific Northwest cuisine in a beautifully crafted intimate setting. A magnificent 1890's Brunswick Bar and impressive early 1900's original northwest landscape painting by RJ Bocense (The Hunt), as well as a completely open exhibition kitchen provide a visual counterpoint to our rustic take on the bounty of the Northwest. A classically inspired cocktail menu, impressive wine offerings (glass and bottle), and house made desserts offered with warmth by a professional staff, invite a leisurely approach to dining. Breakfast is served Saturdays and Sundays, 9am - 3pm. Please visit our website for menu.

1480 NW 70th St
Seattle, WA 98107
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Northwest

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday through Saturday, 5-10pm
Brunch: Saturday and Sunday, 9-3pm
Happy Hour: Tuesday through Friday, 4-6pm

Cross Street:
15th Avenue NW

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, Visa

Phone Number:
(206) 946-1574

Website:
http://www.brunswickandhunt.com/

Parking Details:
Non-metered on street parking.

Public Transit:
We are close to the transit stop located at the intersection of 15th Avenue and NW 70th Street in Ballard.

Executive Chef:
Eric Anderson

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Brunswick & Hunt, Seattle, WA

Report a photo problem

Brunswick & Hunt Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (18)
Fit for Foodies (15)
Handcrafted Cocktails (15)
See All
Good for a Date (12)
Bar Seating (12)
Great for Brunch (11)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Open Kitchen (11)
Local Ingredients (11)
Casual (8)
Cozy (8)
Worth the Drive (8)
Fun (8)
Special Occasion (8)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Good for Anniversaries (6)
Romantic (6)
Authentic (6)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Modern Decor (5)
Comfort Food (4)
Organic (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Historic (3)
Seasonal (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Business Meals (3)
Happy Hour (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Late-night Find (2)
People Watching (2)
Spicy (1)
Fireplace (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Great Beer (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Sort By:
S
200 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great food and atmosphere, and good serv ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 7 days ago

Great food and atmosphere, and good service. Unfortunately about a hour into the dinner, the music was turned up and it was hard to hear the conversations.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great food. Was disappointed by the slo ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Great food. Was disappointed by the slow service. It seems a server must have called in sick. Would have been nice if the waiter would have simply given us a heads up.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

This place is incredible. The service is ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 8, 2017

This place is incredible. The service is always very friendly, helping and on point. The ambience is superb for a date or small group. And the food is absolutely incredible! My husband and I have gone several times and our food is stellar no matter what we order. And they always make a fun mocktail for me with ginger beer! We always find street parking nearby as well since it's not in the heart of Ballard. I highly recommend!!!

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Romantic, Disabled Access, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service: welcoming, gracious, ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Excellent service: welcoming, gracious, helpful, seamless. DELICIOUS food -- every bite was great, and thoughtfully prepared. Had theatre tickets so we didn't have time for dessert, but will definitely be back for that. Brunch menu also looked great.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Great for Brunch, Open Kitchen, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This place is wonderful. Only giving thi ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 1, 2017

This place is wonderful. Only giving this 4 stars because I'm incredibly stingy with my 5's. The atmosphere is upscale but relaxed, food is incredible, bar is great, and the service friendly and personal. This is the kind of neighborhood place where it's easy to become a regular.

Highlights for me are the biscuits and the Vikings Blood Bloody Mary variant on the brunch menu. They're great at classic cocktails and have the kind of inventive bartenders who make tasty inventive signature/seasonal cocktails. If you like hot drinks, try the Anne Bonny and the St. Bernard before they drop off the menu.

They can get full, so it's worth making a reservation for more than two people during peak times.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Open Kitchen, Great for Brunch, Cozy, Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Casual, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

We had an incredible night. Could not ha ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We had an incredible night. Could not have asked for a better ambiance for a lovely girls night with incredible food and impeccable service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We went to Brunswick and Hunt to treat g ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We went to Brunswick and Hunt to treat good friends to a dinner out on New Years Eve, and had a really great time! The strengths of the place were the food (we really liked the diversity of the menu, which included several terrific shared vegetable plates in addition to the entrees and appetizers), the service (our waiter was absolutely great...a perfect combination of attentiveness, conversation, humor, and 'non-rushed' service) and the very funky, interesting space that the restaurant inhabits. We plan to return for sure!

P.S. Very nice wine list with great bottles for a very reasonable tariff.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Great Beer, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Happy New Years Eve dinner was fantastic ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Happy New Years Eve dinner was fantastic, loved the black cod, hubby loved the lamb. Oysters & champagne as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had the pork Benedict with the potatoes ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Had the pork Benedict with the potatoes for brunch. Very good excellent hollandaise sauce

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I went here for brunch and loved it. I w ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 22, 2016

I went here for brunch and loved it. I wanted to take my mother for a pre holiday dinner and the service was extremely slow. We ordered and it took forever for the food to arrive, when it did it was actually cold. Cold. Not room temp- cold. I complained to the staff, their response was to want to take my food back away to re-fire it. No thanks I already waited too long to get it. They did not take anything off my check or make it ok in anyway.

The price here is not cheap, unforgivable to me when it's $32 for a sirloin and everything is cold make it ok..... offer a free dessert or take my appetizer off the bill. Nothing was done.

Won't risk it again

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

This was a great neighborhood find! I a ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 18, 2016

This was a great neighborhood find! I am always happy to find a great place a bit off the beaten track. The ambiance and service were impeccable. The pacing was perfect. Our server was very amiable and knowledgable about the menu (and life in general) and we had fun conversing each time he came to the table. The menu is smallish and meat heavy. I had the lamb on the server's recommendation and it was a bit overcooked from my medium-rare request. This made it a bit dry. But everyone else's dishes were great. The food wasn't super inventive, but it was tasty and comforting on a cold, rainy night.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Casual, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Worth the Drive, Historic, Late-night Find, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

It was our son's birthday and we asked w ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 9, 2016

It was our son's birthday and we asked where he would like to celebrate. Brunswick & Hunt was his response. The forecast was snow, it was December 8. During our meal it began to snow which made the evening a bit magical. Upon arrival they welcomed us with smiles and acknowledged our son, sat us in his usual table. Our server was Jones, very attentive, but not to much. We all decided that it would be a good idea to graze. That is our nickname for choosing several items off the menu to share. It was a great idea! Love the chicken. A dessert with birthday candles was delivered at the end of our meal. It was a pleasant surprise and very delicious, enough to share. We highly recommend this restaurant and look forward to enjoying their brunch soon.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Terrific find!

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Terrific find!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

We really enjoyed the food, drink and se ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 26, 2016

We really enjoyed the food, drink and service. Would highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Thanksgiving dinner was awesome!

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Thanksgiving dinner was awesome!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Beautiful, upscale, yet homey space with ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Beautiful, upscale, yet homey space with gorgeous finishes. Stellar service, warm and friendly. Very good wine list. Big thumbs up

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, attractive room, and excelle ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Great food, attractive room, and excellent service. I really like this spot!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Historic, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The service, food and atmosphere are all ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 20, 2016

The service, food and atmosphere are all 5 stars! This is my favorite place to eat in Seattle. Keep up the good work!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

B & H ranges between very good and outst ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 16, 2016

B & H ranges between very good and outstanding; on this visit a B+ not an A.

The staff is exceptionally attentive to special needs of its diners. We have dined here on several occasions and have recommended the restaurant to many other, which probably are the best indicators of how we evaluate the restaurant. This doesn't mean that the restaurant doesn't have its occasional minor shortcomings, but overall it is very worth dining at.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We went to Brunswick and Hunt to celebra ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 5, 2016

We went to Brunswick and Hunt to celebrate a birthday. We were a party of 5 and arrived early, and they had our table ready for us. Everything from the ambiance to the dessert were warm, inviting, and made for a very enjoyable and relaxing evening with family. We couldn't believe we had never been before, but will absolutely be back!

Tags: Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Cozy, Bar Seating, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Cocktails & appetizers were excellent, p ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Cocktails & appetizers were excellent, particularly the corn fritters. Dinners were great (fried chicken) and good (halibut), and dessert was fabulous (apple crumble). The server was excellent, and we had a great time!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Third time dining at Brunswick and Hunt, ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Third time dining at Brunswick and Hunt, and I'm a fan. Great service people, terrific food. Sat at the chef's counter watching the kitchen, which was great fun. Excellent time, and will be back!

Tags: Authentic, Open Kitchen, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food at Sunday brunch was good but n ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 16, 2016

The food at Sunday brunch was good but not fabulous. The atmosphere was very interesting but it was a little loud for conversations. Service was slow but excellent server interaction-he was witty and friendly. The antique wooden bar is fabulous. I will return for another type meal and see how it goes.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, People Watching, Open Kitchen, Fireplace, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

We shared this dining experience with go ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 16, 2016

We shared this dining experience with good friends (of 36 years) who were visiting Seattle--we had not seen them in over 8 years. We appreciated the caring service, wonderful atmosphere (great restored bar!), good food and relatively quiet sound level. We had a great evening. Our vegan friend particularly enjoyed the selections which were available to her.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great place for good food and conversati ...

 
 (México)·Dined on October 12, 2016

Great place for good food and conversation. Cocktail w/bourbon, maraschino and absinthe was great. Cornbread was good, though not the best ever. Carrots and poached shrimp were tasty, though needed more chili and salt, respectively. Burger was high-quality, but a bit overpriced for what it was. Plum clafoutis was well made. Overall, a very enjoyable evening with good service.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Seasonal, Comfort Food, Authentic, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Excellent service and food on Saturday n ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Excellent service and food on Saturday night. The cocktails were very interesting and excellent. Although intimate and open beam design the noise level was not too loud. Bar and art were gorgeous as well. Fun place and Jones took great care of us all night.

Tags: Modern Decor, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had an amazing experience at Brunswick & ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 7, 2016

Had an amazing experience at Brunswick & Hunt! Service was exceptional and the staff was very knowledgeable about their food and made the entire experience so awesome. The charcuterie board was one of our favorites we have tried. Will definitely be going back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Creative and diverse Sunday lunch/brunch ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Creative and diverse Sunday lunch/brunch options. Excellent bloody marys.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazing! Everything from the restored ba ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Amazing! Everything from the restored bar and paintings, to the locally-sourced food, to the dynamic staff and creative cuisine made this an delectable dining journey. 3.5 hrs and 6 disheS later, we left very happy. Thanks to Chef Eric and the whole Brunswick crew!

Tags: Organic, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Fun, Spicy, Historic, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Open Kitchen, Wood Oven, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We loved the history behind the name, ar ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 24, 2016

We loved the history behind the name, art, and back bar. The cornbread with honey butter and the crudité platter with the in house smoked ham was delicious. The service was personable, sincere, and attentive. The cocktails were unique and delicious as well.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The restaurant is attractive, the servic ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 21, 2016

The restaurant is attractive, the service competent and gracious, the food is delicious and inventive. The parking in the area is horrible and the restaurant noise level is such, that I would not recommend this particular establishment. My date and I couldn't hear each other, making it an uncomfortable occasion. Too bad, because most everything else about the restaurant would motivate me to recommend it.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value3

Must order the carrots and the fried chi ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Must order the carrots and the fried chicken!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

After passing by this neighborhood resta ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 18, 2016

After passing by this neighborhood restaurant many times, my boyfriend and I finally gave it a try. We started with the charcuterie board with house-made buckwheat crisps -- I love it when your server is attentive enough to give you more crisps to finish the rest of your meat without telling you. Squash cakes made for a nice break as we followed with the fried chicken. I had to sacrifice the space made in my stomach for dessert to make room for the delicious chicken.

Tags: Disabled Access, Comfort Food, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of our favorite Seattle restaurants. ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 4, 2016

One of our favorite Seattle restaurants. The fairly small menu means high quality preparations, in my opinion. Really a fine staff.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Open Kitchen, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous bar. Chelsea does some great co ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 1, 2016

Fabulous bar. Chelsea does some great cocktails. Our server Cuyler provided a transformational experience. Great knowledge of the menu and very friendly style. The menu is inspired. We will become regulars after this first visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We always love B&H. The servers are frie ...

vip
 (Boise)·Dined on August 28, 2016

We always love B&H. The servers are friendly and the food is great. There are new items regularly and all of them are great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great atmosphere, incredibly attentive s ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 27, 2016

Great atmosphere, incredibly attentive service. Scrumptious food. A bit pricey so more of a social occasion than regular neighborhood haunt.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Avery, our server was fantastic and made ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 25, 2016

Avery, our server was fantastic and made the experience one of the best nights out we have had in a long time. The space is beautiful and cozy. Highly recommended!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

We continue to LOVE Brunswick and Hunt. ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 19, 2016

We continue to LOVE Brunswick and Hunt. On this occasion My mother-in-law was in town so we met up with her and my folks. My parents are real foodies and we were all really impressed. Delicious without being fussy. Elegant yet comfortable. It's just all the right mix of everything.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is our favorite go-to restaurant. ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 19, 2016

This is our favorite go-to restaurant. Never a bad meal- consistently delicious with very personalized, friendly service and a cozy atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.