Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Thu, 5/24
Time
8:30 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 13 times today

Brunswick & Hunt

4.6
378 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$31 to $50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
American
Top Tags:
  • Neighborhood Gem
  • Great for Brunch
  • Casual
Brunswick & Hunt offers a fresh seasonal approach to Pacific Northwest cuisine in a beautifully crafted intimate setting. A magnificent 1890's Brunswick Bar and impressive early 1900's original northwest landscape painting by RJ Bocense (The Hunt), as well as a completely open exhibition kitchen provide a visual counterpoint to our rustic take on the bounty of the Northwest. A classically inspired cocktail menu, impressive wine offerings, and house made desserts offered with warmth by a professional staff, invite a leisurely approach to dining. Breakfast is served Saturdays and Sundays, 9am - 3pm. Please visit our website for menu.
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
American, Northwest
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Dinner: Tuesday through Saturday, 5-10pm
Brunch: Saturday and Sunday, 9am -2pm
Happy Hour: Tuesday through Friday, 4-6pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(206) 946-1574
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Brad Walker
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
15th Avenue NW
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Non-metered on street parking.
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
We are close to the transit stop located at the intersection of 15th Avenue and NW 70th Street in Ballard.
Additional
Bar Dining, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 378 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.6based on recent ratings
4.5
food
4.5
service
4.5
ambience
4.2
value
Noise · Moderate
81% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
4.0Dined 2 days ago

This is a small but warm inviting restaurant.
The minute I walked in, I was greeted by "Jones" (as it states on my receipt). She was fantastic and from New Jersey with a great presence.
The menu is small but the food is wonderful.
We started with the bibb salad, I had halibut, husband had pork chop and we finished off with profitaroles. (?)
It was our anniversary and they treated us wonderfully.
My only critique is, the profitaroles are more consistent with light biscuits. I make my own and they are lighter and fluffier. This place is legit. They make so many things homemade. There are things brewing in the kitchen in bubblers. Homemade rocky road ice cream with homemade marshmallows...Omg.
Please give them a try and see all the uniqueness that is Brunswick and Hunt.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 4 days ago

I’ve been going to Brunswick since they opened. They know us all by name and have bonded with my small kids over brunch. They’re just the nicest.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

The food and staff were fantastic! The staff had our favorite booth waiting for us. My Uncle who had never been, loved it and he is hard to please.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Good brunch meal. Steak was great but had one egg over cooked. Not the best for kids as there’s no kid’s menu. Pretty solid for brunch though.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 10, 2018

Parking is a real challenge but worth the trouble for the food.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on May 6, 2018

At 7:30, they had run out of the special and another entree. A simple pasta dish we requested was cooked unevenly. Service was awful - we were practically ignored wile the entire staff acted like they could care less about the diners and spent the majority of their time visiting with each other. This used to be one of my favorite hidden gems. However, this was so disappointing, I’ll never go back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 6, 2018

Food was outstanding and we eat out quite a lot! Highly recommend.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 6, 2018

The cocktails were the best gin & tonics, we've ever had. The food was amazing, and the staff were excellent, attentive but not hovering. The fried chicken and cornbread were outstanding!!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 5, 2018

My wife and I love good food and we go to B & H for a quality meal. The Ambiance is great and it is one of the best restaurant in this neighborhood.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 21, 2018

A crowded hot spot for brunch and well worth the reservation to try out the excellent menu and daily cinnamon donut special. Also a lovely bar menu.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 21, 2018

The food is always different so it’s hard to go back and get a repeat. I’ve had amazing meals there but this time it was just good.

Their cocktail menu is awesome!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 15, 2018

All around great dining experience! This is definitely worth checking out.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 15, 2018

Nice place in Ballard to grab a bite. My first time, my friends have been a few times. Service was great, cocktails great and small plates nice. Here’s the problem. Everyone had a great entree except me. I ordered the duck surrounded by lentils. The lentils were fine but the duck was tasteless, tough and had very little meat on it. I should have sent it back but we were with friends and I just felt like I shouldn’t. Lesson learned.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 14, 2018

Amazing dinner. The pork chop was perfection...juicy and just enough char. Cool atmosphere with the cowboy hipster vibe. Loved the mushrooms and polenta as well.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 8, 2018

Amazing food! Great service! Lovely experience!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 1, 2018

Went for Easter brunch. Great Bloody Mary's and Biscuit with ham and egg! Hip atmosphere too.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 31, 2018

Good, fresh, flavorful food with great service.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 29, 2018

Warm open kitchen environment.
Amazing pork chop with demiglaze and hazelnut topping!
Our server was wonderful and it was no problem to substitute a veg and replace a cocktail that I didn't care for. We felt well taken care of.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 25, 2018

Love this place. They have a fantastic brunch with plenty of options for everyone--but not so many that you can't decide--scrambles, steak & eggs, huge fluffy biscuits. The Fruity Petals cocktail is a favorite brunch beverage. Love that they serve salad as an option to breakfast potatoes.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 18, 2018

Amazing food and service

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 18, 2018

All the workers are wonderful here. Manager TOM is the greatest

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 18, 2018

Second time coming here, but first time for dinner as my first time was happy hour. Dinner was delicious and such a great place to celebrate many things with my husband and friends. Looking forward to come here for brunch next time.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 11, 2018

Beautiful, small restauant and bar with delicious mixed drinks. The fried chicken was perfectly cooked and crispy but ask them to leave off the pickled pepper drizzle if you don’t like spicy. It was too hot for me.
The small plates were amazing! We shared an Upside-Down Pineapple cake which was not good. Double down on the small plates instead.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 10, 2018

We recently moved to the area and have been exploring local gems. Brunswick did not disappoint. The food, service and ambiance were all top notch. We loved that reservations were available for brunch which made the experience so much easier. We will definitely be back.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 10, 2018

I really enjoyed my cocktail (St. Charles) and the toast that came with my Wagyu Tartare (the toast was perfectly buttered and grilled), but the rest was a disappointment. The beet salad was very ordinary without any special preparation/seasoning, the Wagyu Tartare had a dressing of sorts on it that didn't work well with the meat, and the duck leg I ordered was dry and not very flavorful, and was mostly bone with little meat. The bacon/lentil/spinach that came with the duck leg was Ok but not great, and there were spots that had been heavily over-salted on the spinach.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 9, 2018

Our one dinner in Ballard and we couldn't decide exactly where to eat. Checking OpenTable, Brunswick & Hunt seemed like the perfect cozy, local restaurant. Loved it! highly suggest the corned bread appetizer while you enjoy a craft beer or local recipe cocktail. Small restaurant, 40 seats, and very nice atmosphere. The menu is amazing and the drinks fantastic!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 7, 2018

Outstanding service! Cocktails and food were excellent. A bit hard to find for a first-timer, but well worth the effort.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 4, 2018

Great food drinks and service! We went for the first time and loved it! Highly recommend.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 2, 2018

We have eaten here a few times since April 2016 and the quality has gone down quite a bit from the beginning. What struck us was that there was a new person running the kitchen, he was very loud and disrespectful to the others working in there with him. Twice I overheard him berating other kitchen staff and since they have an open kitchen you can hear everything. Also, my steak was under cooked and the vegetables were overcooked. The vegetables were so overcooked that I couldn't cut them and therefore didn't eat them. The potatoes were also difficult to cut because they were so overcooked. Sadly, it won't be our first choice any longer when we're looking to dine out.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on February 25, 2018

Meal was not good at all, dried out eggs. Toast? They provided 1/4 loaf of huge bread - such a waste and not toasted. Our server never came by to check in, or fill water. Only came by to drop off bill. Could see that I left 90% of my meal and never inquired if I cared for it or not. Would not go back.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 18, 2018

We were a party of 4 for a birthday dinner celebration and had to wait awhile to get seated (20 minutes past our reservation time). Food was great (2 of us ordered their famous fried chicken) but feel the side dishes were overpriced and we were very disappointed by the crab tagliatelle dish @$20 for a very tiny portion which was not creamy at all, but a dry pasta dish. I really should have sent it back, and normally would have but thought it might embarrass my daughter, or her fiancé, whose birthday we were celebrating, so I didn't. Fun evening overall and the service was great! We brought in a cake and they happily brought it and presented it with a lit candle (I forgot my own!). We will go again, and maybe we'll have to try the brunch sometime! Energetic (loud) Saturday night, so not a romantic place for dinner IMHO>

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 18, 2018

True medium rare steak. Great use of local ingredients. Beautiful presentation.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 15, 2018

Last minute for Valentine’s Day because we did not have a reservation. Given the choice I would try something else. It just was not that great especially the main dish and there was not much to choose from on the desert menu. It was ok considering how limited my choices were. At lease we did not dress up for it b

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 14, 2018

The pork chop was phenomenal! The fried chicken with collard greens was spicy and absolutely delicious. Excellent cocktails and small but solid wine list.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 10, 2018

Service and food were excellent, but the joint is LOUD!

Also, the front door curtain does little to shield the room from blasts of cold.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 10, 2018

Be warned about dinner! 2 stars for dinner, 5 stars for breakfast

This restaurant is really two different experiences. If you are going for brunch, I recommend. Everything on the breakfast/brunch menu is good to great.

HOWEVER, if you are going for dinner ... there are two things they need to fix otherwise I would absolutely avoid - there are much better choices nearby. I am uncertain how the reviews are so high for dinner here.

First, while the menu is well done and the ingredients top notch, every entree I've tried here from the dinner menu has been over-cooked to some degree. The steaks are not nearly as tender as you'd expect at this level (never-mind from my kitchen) - even at medium-rare the outside 1/4 inch of the steak is dry and borderline burnt, while the inside is raw, but without any juices. A sign that the kitchen is in a hurry and or doesn't know how to control the heat on their range, or lay out a steak before/after cooking. The duck, which is typically on the greasy/moist side, was so dry I wanted my date to send it back - she had 3 bites and quit. The sides accompanying the entrees were great, but I have found that they consistently overcook the proteins.

Second, there is a really bad draft that makes dining uncomfortable in all but the best weather. My date and I were dressed up for the evening (dress and suit) and she was shivering for a moment anytime the front door was opened ... as great looking as the space is, for finer dining they need to address the comfort.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 8, 2018

Great food, lovely service, beautiful bar.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 4, 2018

Loved it! Great spot, great food. My only complaint is that the wait staff seemed to be hurrying us out of the restaurant - I was asked if they could clear my plate 3 times before I was ready.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 3, 2018

Service was a little slow as the servers were talking to themselves a lot at the bar. That said, the food was great, as usual, and we will still return. :)

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 2, 2018

Every single thing about our evening was perfect. From the warm and gracious staff to the delicious and creative food and drinks, I would highly recommend this place to friends.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
10