Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.40mi
  2. Distance: 0.71mi
  3. Distance: 0.97mi
  4. Distance: 1.00mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.40mi
  2. Distance: 0.71mi
  3. Distance: 0.97mi
  4. Distance: 1.00mi

About Brunswick & Hunt

Brunswick & Hunt offers a fresh seasonal approach to Pacific Northwest cuisine in a beautifully crafted intimate setting. A magnificent 1890's Brunswick Bar and impressive early 1900's original northwest landscape painting by RJ Bocense (The Hunt), as well as a completely open exhibition kitchen provide a visual counterpoint to our rustic take on the bounty of the Northwest. A classically inspired cocktail menu, impressive wine offerings (glass and bottle), and house made desserts offered with warmth by a professional staff, invite a leisurely approach to dining. Breakfast is served Saturdays and Sundays, 9am - 3pm. Please visit our website for menu.

1480 NW 70th St
Seattle, WA 98107
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Northwest

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday through Saturday, 5-10pm
Brunch: Saturday and Sunday, 9am -2pm
Happy Hour: Tuesday through Friday, 4-6pm

Cross Street:
15th Avenue NW

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, Visa

Phone Number:
(206) 946-1574

Website:
http://www.brunswickandhunt.com/

Parking Details:
Non-metered on street parking.

Public Transit:
We are close to the transit stop located at the intersection of 15th Avenue and NW 70th Street in Ballard.

Executive Chef:
Eric Anderson

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Brunswick & Hunt Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (22)
Neighborhood Gem (20)
Fit for Foodies (19)
See All
Local Ingredients (18)
Handcrafted Cocktails (18)
Great for Brunch (15)
Special Occasion (15)
Bar Seating (13)
Good for Anniversaries (11)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Authentic (10)
Casual (9)
Sunday Lunch (9)
Fun (9)
Seasonal (9)
Comfort Food (9)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Worth the Drive (7)
Cozy (6)
Romantic (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Historic (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Great for Lunch (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Open Kitchen (4)
Great Beer (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Business Meals (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Organic (2)
People Watching (1)
Family Style (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Scenic View (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Vegan (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Sort By:
S
279 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 6 days ago

Second time visiting and still a huge fan! The food is phenomenal, the servers are super knowledgeable and friendly (Avery helped me both times I've visited and he's delightful), and it's got a wonderful rustic vibe to it!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined 6 days ago

Excellent as always. Thanks for a great dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 22, 2017

This is likely to be my new special occasion 'go-to' place. Exceptional food and servie.

Tags: Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Best meal in Seattle. Great food and drinks. Everything served was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 12, 2017

Don't tell anyone about this place lest they fill up all of the remaining tables! Great and interesting food, and service that made us feel like we were old friends. It's hard to be one of the best in Seattle. These guys made it look easy. ...and did I mention the bar. 5 wows.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 12, 2017

The food is superb every time I go B&H. The wait staff is friendly and fun. They all seem to enjoy working here. Order the steak!!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 8, 2017

It was loud for only a 40 seat restaurant. The menu is very limited and portions were small for the price. The beet salad was perfect, the fava beans were good, but it is not true that you can eat the shells - VERY stringy! Our waiter Avery was attentive and amusing, service was not rushed but not exactly prompt either. There doesn't seem to be a very prominent theme, it says Farm to Table, but there was no emphasis on what farm anything came from, and the offerings were pretty jumbled, so overall, worth it for a special occasion but I am not planning another trip in quite a while.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 7, 2017

We went with another couple and had a great time. Our server was excellent, there when we needed him but didn't hover. The cocktails were on point and the food was tasty!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 7, 2017

The waiter was fabulous. The menu is quite limited and there wasn't an entree that interested me. The appetizer (charcuterie) wasn't that great and was served with crackers because they don't have bread. We had several sides instead of entrees. The carrots were terrific but the fava beans were served in the pods which we were told were edible but that doesn't mean they were pleasant to chew. I would go back for happy hour but not for dinner.

Tags: Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Seasonal, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Trouble handling a rush. Food was okay, but overwhelmed server left us waiting too long for missing condiment and to get our check taken care of. Try them when they are not busy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Another great meal! The food is great but the service from Avery and Tommy is amazing; perhaps some of the best I have experienced. The table next to us was equally impressed. I have visited several times and both the food and service are consistently at a high level. Looking forward to returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Gem of a restaurant located on the edge of Ballard - away from the hustle bustle. Great food, Excellent crafted unique cocktails and awesome service!!! Our server put together a wonderful Charcuterie & Cheese selection for our table.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 18, 2017

We went there for the first time on Father's Day and everything was great...the food, the service, etc. They were very nice about accomodating some special needs that we had.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Brunswick & Hunt is an exceptional restaurant! It has excellent food and wonderful service and just a great vibe. The menu changes and I've never had anything that wasn't fabulous. I highly recommend the fried chicken and they also do spectacular vegetable side dishes. Also very good for brunch. Go! Just make sure you leave a table or a seat at the bar for me.....

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Business Meals, Happy Hour, Great for Brunch, Fun, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Oh my god! Seriously one of the best meals we've had in a while. Be sure to request Avery Jones as your server. He made the night. He's amazing.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Casual, Seasonal, Great Beer, Good for Birthdays, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 11, 2017

I LOVE B and H so much!! We were there for brunch on a Sunday. Loved being able to make reservations through Open Table. That stretch of 70th street gets pretty breakfast/brunch crazy on weekends.
All four in our party had different entrees - all of the scrambles and a biscuit. I had bites of each - 'cause my friends are awesome - and every dish was wonderful! The service is always delightful: attentive but not over bearing. We're so grateful to have B and H in the 'hood!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Swung in because of a recent recommendation and was really glad we did. House cured breakfast meats, great bloody Mary's, terrific service made for a great brunch. Will return and I recommend you do so too!

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 1, 2017

Perfect night to celebrate two birthdays. The food and service were superb.

Tags: Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 31, 2017

We devoured the charcuterie and cheese plate--so good we almost ordered another. But better we didn't. Kudos for the succulent and delicious fried chicken, and a solid thumbs up for the halibut. A very pleasant evening. We'll be back to sample some of the enticing farm to table vegetable offerings.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Wow, what a great dinner. Food was fantastic, and the pricing was a bargain. Would for sure go back again and again. Does not look like much from outside, but was pretty good vibe inside. Our server was super excellent at what he does. But, every thing we ordered was a home run, we were a party of four. Presentation and imagination of the dishes was outstanding. Did I mention the value? This is now in the rotation!!! (and I drove from the Bellevue area...)

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 27, 2017

This place has quickly become my favorite brunch spot in Seattle. The environment is awesome, fun, but not so loud you can't hear conversations. All the servers and bartenders I've interacted with there are amazing and very accommodating. Last but certainly not least, all the food is phenomenal. Even the James and hot sauces are memorably great.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 24, 2017

The food and cocktails were fantastic, everything was unique and delicious.

The real standout was the service. We ended up changing some of our order based on suggestions from our waiter, he was friendly and super knowledgeable about the menu.

Highly recommend!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Our server was knowledgeable and service was great. Be aware that the menu is seasonal - items listed on the sample menu online might not be available. We were disappointed by the limited options for vegetables, salads, and fish, but that's what you get when you are eating locally-sourced food this time of year! The burger was very good!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Fantastic as always. This was probably our 5th visit, and an early Saturday dinner. Each visit is met with friendly staff who offer well pointed suggestions and pairings. Ask Avery for wine pairing or let him expertly put together an exquisite selection of cheeses to start. Kyler is a magician with any whiskey cocktail, try them all. The menu changes slightly seasonally but any of the vegetable dishes like the brussel sprouts or the artichoke are must haves. My go to is the steak and frites. Generous in portion and could be shared. (Though I rarely share!) every dish we've tried is flavorful and expertly prepared. End with the blood orange cheesecake or a signature cocktail, I suggest the watchmaker. The decor, friendly service and fantastic food will make this place your new favorite haunt.

Tags: Good for a Date, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Our first visit to Brunswick and Hunt was splendid. Everyone at the table (7) enjoyed their brunch entree, and because this restaurant was not blasting background music, we could all enjoy each other's conversations. We drove an hour to make our reservation and it was worth every minute.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Awesome food and even better service! Each staff member was one of the most friendly and considerate that I've encountered!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 14, 2017

They were very accommodating and friendly. Food was great, nice atmosphere. I would certainly be recommending this place to my friends.

Tags: Comfort Food, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Best cocktails, best food! Was my first time and won't be my last. Excellent!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Brunch was exceptional! The rhubarb dutch baby, the bacon, the bloody mary and the benedicts were all top of class in flavors. If you haven't tried Brunswick and Hunt, you should.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Amazing food, service and the bar tender is THE BEST!

Tags: Casual, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Our waiter was knowledgeable to the nth degree. We had an amazing meal and I had a white Bordeaux that was to die for. Highly recommend!!

Tags: People Watching, Organic, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Very friendly. Quality food locally sourced. We had a great time. We live near by and have made this one of our neighborhood favorites. Good happy hour and small plate options.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Casual, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 23, 2017

A and I eat here frequently for Sunday brunch, delish! But it's a popular place so reservations are recommended.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Amazing staff, amazing food, great ambiance! Went for a girls dinner to celebrate a birthday and the staff was great. Been there twice and always had the server pick my food for me and it's always amazing. Great cocktail options too!

Tags: Great Beer, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Organic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Everything was very good - food, service, atmosphere, but pricey for what it was. Dinner for two with tax and tip landed at $130 - 1 drink each, four sides, 1 entree, and one coffee. Should have been under $100 for a good neighborhood place, I think.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 22, 2017

To begin with, there is a great story behind the name. You'll have to read about it on the main menu. It is a little off the beaten path. There is a huge front window letting in plenty of light. It is very spacious and comfortable... kind of a rustic chic. They have excellent cocktails along with an extensive bourbon list. The menu is small yet there is a lot to choose from. My wife had the fried chicken... excellent if a little herbaceous. I had the smoked pork short rib with pork belly, creamy polenta and a jalapeño relish/gremolata. Each component was excellent and together it was unbelievable!!! Excellent service from very knowledgeable and passionate staff.

Tags: Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Food was amazing!! Cocktails missed the mark. Warm French 75. They made a 2nd one. Still off.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 19, 2017

a recommendation by a friend. Very relaxed, great food and a wonderful bourbon list with a knowledgeable bartender

Tags: Authentic, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 19, 2017

I can't stop thinking about what a great experience we had here, as well as reasons I need to return as soon as possible. What a great charcuterie plate! And definitely the best beet salad ever.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 16, 2017

This was the perfect place to introduce my
Family to by boyfriend's parents! The fun staff made every moment super enjoyable & the intimacy of the venue was also perfect!

Tags: Authentic, Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.