About Brunswick & Hunt

1480 NW 70th St
Seattle, WA 98107
View Larger Map

Brunswick & Hunt offers a fresh seasonal approach to Pacific Northwest cuisine in a beautifully crafted intimate setting. A magnificent 1890's Brunswick Bar and impressive early 1900's original northwest landscape painting by RJ Bocense (The Hunt), as well as a completely open exhibition kitchen provide a visual counterpoint to our rustic take on the bounty of the Northwest. A classically inspired cocktail menu, impressive wine offerings (glass and bottle), and house made desserts offered with warmth by a professional staff, invite a leisurely approach to dining. Breakfast is served Saturdays and Sundays, 9am - 3pm. Please visit our website for menu.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Northwest

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday through Saturday, 5-10pm
Brunch: Saturday and Sunday, 9-3pm
Happy Hour: Tuesday through Friday, 4-6pm

Cross Street:
15th Avenue NW

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, Visa

Phone Number:
(206) 946-1574

Website:
http://www.brunswickandhunt.com/

Parking Details:
Non-metered on street parking.

Public Transit:
We are close to the transit stop located at the intersection of 15th Avenue and NW 70th Street in Ballard.

Executive Chef:
Eric Anderson

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Brunswick & Hunt
Brunswick & Hunt

Brunswick & Hunt Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

American
Seattle / Eastern Washington
Best Ambiance
Seattle
American
Seattle
Best Restaurants in Ballard / Fremont ›

neighborhood gem (42)
fit for foodies (38)
special occasion (21)
See All
great for brunch (17)
romantic (13)
good for groups (10)
notable wine list (7)
hot spot (7)
kid-friendly (5)
vibrant bar scene (4)
great for lunch (2)
late-night find (1)
Sort By:
Newest
154 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The food was outstanding, the service wa ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined 5 days ago

The food was outstanding, the service was impeccable, the right balance of sincerity without too much formality. If you live anywhere in the area, I'd highly recommend you try Brunswick and Hunt for a weekend brunch or dinner any day it's open.

Tags: brunch, child friendly, fit for foodies, romance, special occasions, neighbourhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food here is amazing! Menu changes s ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined 5 days ago

The food here is amazing! Menu changes seasonally. If it's not in season, they don't have it. The staff is super-nice. I am a fan!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We waited 40 minutes while watching the ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

We waited 40 minutes while watching the chef pick up eggs with his bare hands, who had a mustache and beard that was not covered.

The food was ok, nothing spectacular.

The waiter was excellent.

It was so noisy my husband, who is hard of hearing, could not hear me, so we could not talk during lunch.

it is a good place for neighborhood people who drink or have little kids, if they can stand the noise.

There is NO PLACE TO PARK.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value3

I came here for brunch and had an excell ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

I came here for brunch and had an excellent experience. The waiter was very friend, informative and helpful, but not overbearing. The food was excellent, including their oven baked frittatas. The bloody mary was excellent as well, good spice level. I would definitely come back here for brunch and hope to come for dinner as well.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Good food, solid service, and a very com ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Good food, solid service, and a very comfortable neighborhood vibe while still being special. We very much enjoyed out meal.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

We love this neighborhood gem! We had f ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

We love this neighborhood gem! We had friends visiting from the Midwest and wanted to share this fantastic place with them. As always, the quality of food and service was sensational.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food but even greater service. En ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Great food but even greater service. Entire staff, from server tie chef to dishwasher were friendly and welcoming. Great neighborhood place, but well worth the drive if you are not from the 'hood

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is farm fresh and they have gre ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

The food is farm fresh and they have great flavor combinations. Portions were a perfect, moderate size. The bacon is perfection!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Food was perfect, great mixes of flavors ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Food was perfect, great mixes of flavors and textures, beautifully prepared and presented! The server was a little too chatty for me.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Arrived on Father's Day for Brunch. No ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Arrived on Father's Day for Brunch. No one was there to greet us so we stood in the doorway a bit until someone saw us. As a note, another group arrived after us and got tired of waiting so just sat themselves at a table. We overheard them mentioned they had reservations and thought it was weird not to be noticed when they arrived, seated and have to ask for menus.

As this restaurant is not huge we was highly disappointed in the level of service - which was very slow - waited 35 mins for our orders to be taken.

Our egg dishes arrived both over cooked - the waiter did have one of our dishes re-done by the kitchen. Already a long wait by now, my husband decided not to request the same for his meal.

This restaurant has a nice history and beautiful back bar and paintings. However, overall, it was a big disappointment - service was slow and the food was just equally so-so.

Will not be returning anytime soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

This was the second time that we dined a ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

This was the second time that we dined at B and H and we will return again as the food, creative cocktails and service were outstanding.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Everything about our dining experience w ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Everything about our dining experience was exceptional--service, comfort, drinks, food, pacing. Loved the local neighborhood restaurant vibe.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My husband and I split several of the sm ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

My husband and I split several of the small plates, and they were all delicious. The grilled fava beans were particularly good. The service was very friendly and quick. No issue making some of the dishes vegetarian on request.

Tags: fit for foodies, late-night find, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

All the food was amazing, from appetizer ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

All the food was amazing, from appetizers to dessert! Service could not be any better, thanks Rachel! Treat yourself!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Greeted warmly and with authenticity. Jo ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Greeted warmly and with authenticity. Jones was a fabulous waiter. Food was exquisite. Crowd was fun and mixed. Perhaps a little too loud; don't come with a headache! We will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food items and bar selections we tried w ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Food items and bar selections we tried were uniformly excellent. Interesting combinations that were extremely tasty. A nice find and we plan to go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing food, fabulous service (thanks Rachel)!

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

The food was amazing. Literally, everything we had was prepared or cooked to perfection and tasted phenomenal. Our waitress, Rachel, was knowledgeable and attentive. The ambiance was mellow and warm with a large group of friends enjoying cocktails at the bar, a group celebrating a birthday behind us and the two of us out for a rare date night. Seemed like something for everyone.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Really pleased to have discovered this p ...

vip
 (Austin)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

Really pleased to have discovered this place that we like so much, and so close to home. From the moment we entered the restaurant we were charmed by the ambiance, the staff, and the story of the beautiful bar and its partner painting. My husband loves the cocktails, and I love the wine offerings. We always get the charcuterie and cheese plate, and we especially love the house cured ham and buckwheat crackers. Steak frites are perfect, and the halibut special is melt-in-your-mouth tender. I can't get enough of the asparagus, so perfectly combined with sweet ham, tangy cheese, and lemon zest. The Meyer lemon posset is a unique dessert offering that I particularly love. And on top of it all, we really love the staff. They recognize us when we come in, welcoming us back like old friends. What more could we ask for?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent time for 11 folks

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

Birthday for me (64th) and 9 others + my wife was very enjoyable experience. Rachel , our server, is top-notch- she was informative , helpful, engaging, and attentive. The first small plates we ordered were excellent; we were in no hurry and never felt to be rushed. Very good bar. Dinners were exceptional, from the Fried Chicken to the Lamb, to the Burger. etc .Nary a clunker. Wow. Everybody had a great time and has voiced it.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Service great! Food good- minimal choice ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

Service great! Food good- minimal choices, but flavors excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

We had a fantastic evening!

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

We had a fantastic evening!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Staff was very friendly and did a great ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Staff was very friendly and did a great job helping me choose food for the kids and myself. Food took a little longer than I expected but everything was delicious and interesting. I'll definitely come again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

A comfortable neighbor restaurant. We ar ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

A comfortable neighbor restaurant. We are always treated by a gracious charming wait staff. The food is delicious and always fresh. Lots of delicious choices for vegetarians and meat lovers.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Had a reservation at 12 for brunch; we w ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

Had a reservation at 12 for brunch; we were seated at 12:30; ordered food at 1pm. Not ideal, but food was good. Drinks are great.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Great find!

 
 (London)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

Great find!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great dining experience.

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on April 15, 2016

We have a group of guys that meet up monthly for dinners around Seattle, and this was an excellent choice. Not only was all of the courses incredible, the staff was terrific as well. We had the pomme frites, clams, and the corn bread for appetizers, and they were so good we did a second round. We ordered all of the vegetable sides, and the artichoke hearts were unbelievable. The carrots were good (must like butter), the beets were execellent, and the cauliflower was good but slightly undercooked. Every main that came out was unique to each plate, but were perfectly balanced for the course they were presenting. My recommendations would be the Halibut, fried chicken or the lamb main course. The burger was the best value. Great restaurant, great service. Thanks!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great neighborhood spot

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on April 8, 2016

Awesome service here! We were celebrating a special birthday and the waiter was a doll. He took the time to tell us about the history of the Brunswick and the painting (The Hunt)- and the food was impeccable! He also brought out a complimentary dessert that was a chocolate delight that was out of this world!

I would definitely recommend this place.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Neighborhood Restaurant

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on April 8, 2016

We had a great dining experience and I will credit a lot of it to our very friendly, waiter Cyler (sounds like a "k"). He even told my husband to come back for his birthday dessert because we had another commitment for dessert that night. Can't wait to go back from brunch some time.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Great service and stellar quality food t ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on April 3, 2016

Great service and stellar quality food that was creatively prepared and presented in a

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Avery our sever was absolutely amazing! ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

Avery our sever was absolutely amazing! The food was delicious, and the apmispher was inviting and relaxing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Neighborhood gem

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

Mostly been here for brunch. Great staff, good price on food and nice ambiance. Bacon is awesome as is the brunch menu. Kind of undiscovered right now- but should be on the city's brunch spots!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

My friend and I dined here on a Saturday ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

My friend and I dined here on a Saturday night, and were amazed at everything we ordered. Our server was so kind, and attentive, and the food was delicious. I have made Brunswick and Hunt a favorite of mine, and highly recommend it!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Brunswick and Hunt

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on March 21, 2016

This is the 4th time we've been to this restaurant and twice for special events. The food is always delicious and the menu changes with local foods. Excellent!!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love this place

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on March 13, 2016

We go almost weekly for either brunch or dinner. By our third visit we were recognized regulars. Amazing food and amazing staff.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

So much more than just 'dinner'

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on March 6, 2016

We were kindly greeted upon arrival by the host, immediately greeted upon being directed to the bar to wait while our table was set up. Our drinks came promptly and we easily transferred to our table. We were always given clear indication of the wait time for everything - from the table, to the drinks, to the food. We were offered top favorite choices before ordering our food. We were treated with respect and were waited on diligently, yet did not feel at any point that we were interrupted in our own conversations. All in all, it was a wonderful evening and thoroughly enjoyed by all.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Never disappoints

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on February 28, 2016

The food was outstanding and the service was great - very accommodating, prompt and thoughtful, especially given how busy it was.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighbourhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food but extremely slow service.

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on February 27, 2016

I really want this restaurant to succeed. So I am writing this for them as much as for patrons. The food is very good, although a vegetarian entree would be much appreciated. The waitress was friendly but the service was painfully slow. The restaurant wasn't full when we arrived at 630 but everything from the drinks to the meal took forever, at least 30 minutes for our drinks and another 30 minutes at least for dinner. On top of that one of the martinis that should have had sugar on the rim had salt instead. When they brought the replacement it was very salty so we suspect they just changed the glass and poured the already salty drink into the new glass rather than remake it. Cheap. We asked the waitress if they were short servers or cooks and she said no. Had we had another engagement, such as a movie or babysitter to get back to, we would have had to abort the whole thing. If they don't correct this they won't succeed so hopefully they will make the necessary changes. There is too much competition in this town for poor service to survive no matter how good the food is. Keeping my fingers crossed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

An excellent find in Ballard. Innovative ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on February 26, 2016

An excellent find in Ballard. Innovative food (the meats are excellent, but don't overlook the veggie dishes - the smoked mushrooms are exceptional) that is well prepared, a terrific bar that makes well balanced cocktails, served by people who care about what they're doing. One of our favorite places!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great food and service

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on February 21, 2016

We were exceptionally well treated by the server. She was friendly, efficient, and anticipated our needs. And the food was really good as well.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Friendly and welcoming, delicious food, ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on February 20, 2016

Friendly and welcoming, delicious food, plan to return soon

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.