Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.40mi
  2. Distance: 0.71mi
  3. Distance: 0.97mi
  4. Distance: 1.00mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.40mi
  2. Distance: 0.71mi
  3. Distance: 0.97mi
  4. Distance: 1.00mi

About Brunswick & Hunt

Brunswick & Hunt offers a fresh seasonal approach to Pacific Northwest cuisine in a beautifully crafted intimate setting. A magnificent 1890's Brunswick Bar and impressive early 1900's original northwest landscape painting by RJ Bocense (The Hunt), as well as a completely open exhibition kitchen provide a visual counterpoint to our rustic take on the bounty of the Northwest. A classically inspired cocktail menu, impressive wine offerings (glass and bottle), and house made desserts offered with warmth by a professional staff, invite a leisurely approach to dining. Breakfast is served Saturdays and Sundays, 9am - 3pm. Please visit our website for menu.

1480 NW 70th St
Seattle, WA 98107
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Northwest

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday through Saturday, 5-10pm
Brunch: Saturday and Sunday, 9am -2pm
Happy Hour: Tuesday through Friday, 4-6pm

Cross Street:
15th Avenue NW

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, Visa

Phone Number:
(206) 946-1574

Website:
http://www.brunswickandhunt.com/

Parking Details:
Non-metered on street parking.

Public Transit:
We are close to the transit stop located at the intersection of 15th Avenue and NW 70th Street in Ballard.

Executive Chef:
Eric Anderson

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Brunswick & Hunt Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

Noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (25)
Good for a Date (22)
Neighborhood Gem (21)
See All
Creative Cuisine (18)
Local Ingredients (18)
Special Occasion (17)
Handcrafted Cocktails (16)
Casual (12)
Good for Anniversaries (11)
Bar Seating (11)
Romantic (10)
Cozy (10)
Comfort Food (9)
Worth the Drive (8)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Great for Brunch (7)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Business Meals (6)
Fun (6)
Seasonal (6)
Authentic (5)
Great Beer (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Notable Wine List (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Healthy (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Organic (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Live Sports (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort by
S
317 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 10 hours ago

I have eaten here twice & it just gets better. The food is top quality & inventive. The staff always kind & efficient....love this place & would highly recommend it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 4, 2017

Potatoes were AMAZING and the scrambles were delicious.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 4, 2017

My wife and I were very happy with our experience at Brunswick & Hunt. The highlights of our experience were the service and ambience. The meal was a lot of fun in a well-designed space with striking artwork and wood trim work, particularly around the large mirrored bar. The cuisine was a solid four stars, but not five. We started with carrots, beet salad, and winter greens ravioli. The carrots were well-seasoned and fresh, but needed moisture. Our beet salad had some vinegar to offset the natural sweetness of the dish, but the chef's choice of creme fraiche versus, say, goat cheese left the appetizer too sweet and absent a depth and richness it could have had. The ravioli was fantastic - fresh, al dente, wonderful sauce, well-balanced. Anna devoured her ling cod entree and my fried chicken with pickled pepper collard greens was a flavor bomb - fantastic. I was missing a bright element to the chicken entree to give my palette a break. Parking was awfully tough, but that's par for the course in Ballard.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 29, 2017

A surprise tucked away that was more delicious and special than I had hoped.
I've already recommended it to friends!
It was my adult daughter's birthday, and we had freshly made (still hot) drop, cinnamon donuts presented as a gift!
The eggs Benedict (with smoked pork) was fabulous...really needs a better adjective.
And the quality standard of food and service stood out above others restaurants ... loved the individual coffee press too. Treat yourself to Sunday Brunch...i will be doing so many more times!

Tags: Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 29, 2017

The fried chicken was perfect! I don't often eat fried food, but it looked too good to pass up. So glad I got it!

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
·Dined on October 29, 2017

Really great service. Lovely cocktails. The best fried chicken I have ever had!

Tags: Organic, Seasonal, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 22, 2017

Delicious food and friendly staff. Highly recommend the cornbread as an appetizer--rich, buttery, comforting goodness! Had the steak and wife had the burger for entrees, both very good...

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Fun, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on October 21, 2017

Brunswick and Hunt had been our go-to favorite place while we were living in Ballard. We met up with some old friends there and recommended this place and were sadly very disappointed. The food wasn't as good as it was before. It was cold and the vegetable hash looked like something I could've made (not good). I don't know if the "B" team cook staff was there today or what. The service is normally excellent but our waiter forgot to fill our water often and we ended up waiting for our meal for an hour. It's busy, granted, but I noticed people who came later were served before us. I think our waiter forgot about us. It was disappointing because we had recommended this place to our old friends and were embarrassed it wasn't as good as we had remembered. Also, it's disappointing that it's no longer the great place that we remember.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 14, 2017

Outstanding service and melt-in-your-mouth steak with herb butter.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Gluten Free Options, Good for Groups, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 1, 2017

Great wine and food! Very romantic. Good place for intense conversation. Good service and excellent coffee and dessert.

Tags: Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Fun, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 30, 2017

Coffee was great and the food was really good balanced with spices and fruit. The steak had a nice grilling flavor and was tender

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 24, 2017

This is one of our favorite spots. The food is reliable good and creative, and the staff are always friendly. Whether sitting at the bar for cocktails and a nosh or enjoying brunch (the braised pork Benedict is not to be missed), I can highly recommend Brunswick and Hunt.

Tags: Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 24, 2017

Awesome brunch spot! The cocktails are super overpriced but everything else is well priced.

Tags: Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 24, 2017

Been here 5 or 6 times now and it is always a pleasure. I've always had the same waiter, Kyler, and he is always personable and friendly. The menu is small (I think 7 entrees) and I have had the chicken, the halibut and the sirloin and have found them all outstanding. The vibe is neighborhood, friendly. I have recommended it to multiple people. Try it!

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun, Comfort Food, Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 17, 2017

I do not wish to leave a public review, however I am sending a private message to the restaurant about our experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Expensive food great service noisy atmosphere parking difficult

Tags: Organic, Local Ingredients, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value1

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 14, 2017

If you are lucky enough to get Avery (handsome bald gent) as your server, just take his recommendations on what to eat. You won't regret it. Lovely warm atmosphere. Amazing food. Great cocktails and small select wine list. Beautiful seasonal menu. Really a special place.

Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Seasonal, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 13, 2017

Last few times we've been here the service hasn't been as good. Both times we've waited too long after being seated for someone to come over, take a drink order etc.. One time we got up and went to the bar to order our drinks because we felt we'd waited long enough. That should never happen...not sure we'll be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on September 10, 2017

We had brunch with some friends and everyone loved their meals! Beautiful restaurant with lots to take in and the food and drinks were wonderful as well! My husband and I were a big fan of their coffee!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 10, 2017

This is the second time I've had breakfast/brunch at Brunswick and Hunt. I think the presentation is definitely a cut above, service great and food very nice. We each had a different breakfast item and all were excellent with the exception of the Dutch Baby which was more like a crepe then a dutch baby. However it was tasty ...like a Crêpes confiture with apricot jam inside. It is the typical noisy hard surface atmosphere and gray boring walls you find in most of the new restaurants. The noise level made it difficult to make conversation once the dining room filled up. On the positive they have very nice and warm toned artwork and an antique back bar which give it an inviting ambiance. Overall we all thought it was good and would come back again.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 10, 2017

Thanks we had Great service and great food which you can't always say. Most food is mediocre when you go out. Not here.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good Vegetarian Options, Paleo Friendly, Good for a Date, Quick Bite, Fun, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on September 9, 2017

The food is hard to beat. Fresh ingredients. I had my brother in from LA and he said it was the best breakfast he's ever had!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

 
·Dined on September 7, 2017

Excellent service. Food was a treat and our server provided great advice.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 6, 2017

Absolutely brilliant all the way through. Don't mistake this for a bar serving food as a side show even though the look of the place might fool you

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 27, 2017

An absolutely woderful dining experience from start to finish. Amazing food, ambiance and of course Avery was the a fantastic host.
Love that you're in our neighborhood.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 27, 2017

We had never been to Brunswick & Hunt before but reviews and photos looked great! From the moment I dropped off a birthday cake (early to surprise my husband after our dinner) and met Avery, who said he would be our server for our dinner, I was assured we'd made a great choice. Avery was one of the best waiters we've ever encountered and we would go again as long as he could be our server! Knowledgeable, funny, and great at making suggestions, his tasty and fun food descriptions were amazing to hear and the dinners were wonderfully prepared and presented! We loved our halibut, the carrots, and Avery did a great job of presenting the birthday cake w/candles lit and the entire restaurant joined in signing Happy Birthday to my husband! A great success..."fun, cool neighborhood gem" would be an understatement!
Don't miss this one!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Dinner at Brunswick and Hunt was a notable treat. Delicious food, great service and tasty food. Absolutely will return.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 23, 2017

Very nice!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined on August 20, 2017

Service was excellent. Waiter was one of the best we have ever had in Seattle.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on August 18, 2017

We had a superb meal with a fabulous server. We started with oysters which were so fresh and delicious! The crab cake beats all crab cakes we have ever eaten. The steak oscar was perfectly cooked and the sauce was amazing! Thank you to our server, David for making our evening extra special! Oh, the cream brûlée is a must!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 16, 2017

Great food and great service. Very enjoyable. The service was personal but not overbearing. The food was fresh and perfectly cooked.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Love it. Just love it. The converted historic building restored an original bar and developed the space with an open kitchen. The food is modernized American food, with seasonal gems added throughout the year. The corn bread appetizer is exellent. The steak and chicken are excellent staples, but the seasonal choices are something not to pass up.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

Overall, Brunswick and Hunt had great customer service, good food, nice ambiance and *decent* drinks. My girlfriend and I were in Seattle for a couple days and I wanted to take her somewhere mellow where we could get away from the bustling parts, have high quality food, and not pay an arm and a leg. B&H met all of these requirements even during Saturday brunch. I would recommend it to anyone looking for a date spot.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 12, 2017

The food here is amazing. Our waiter Avery was so entertaining and knowledgeable. He described every plate and helped pick the perfect dishes for our table. We can't wait to go back!

Tags: Cozy, Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Our waiter was the nicest person. Both times we've been there he's been our waiter. He knows everything about the food, he's super friendly and the food was amazing!!! One of the best dining experiences we've had in Seattle.

Tags: Cozy, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Eggs and Bacon were fantastic! The regular bacon was much better than the cubed bacon that they do in the scramble. Toast was good, but not a fan of the apricot jam. Bloody Mary was good, but too spicy and peppery to want a second one.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Food was good. Services was excellent. Located in an interesting neighborhood with a unique ambiance.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Always great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 23, 2017

Second time visiting and still a huge fan! The food is phenomenal, the servers are super knowledgeable and friendly (Avery helped me both times I've visited and he's delightful), and it's got a wonderful rustic vibe to it!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Excellent as always. Thanks for a great dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.