About Brunswick & Hunt

1480 NW 70th St
Seattle, WA 98107
View Larger Map

Brunswick & Hunt offers a fresh seasonal approach to Pacific Northwest cuisine in a beautifully crafted intimate setting. A magnificent 1890's Brunswick Bar and impressive early 1900's original northwest landscape painting by RJ Bocense (The Hunt), as well as a completely open exhibition kitchen provide a visual counterpoint to our rustic take on the bounty of the Northwest. A classically inspired cocktail menu, impressive wine offerings (glass and bottle), and house made desserts offered with warmth by a professional staff, invite a leisurely approach to dining. Breakfast is served Saturdays and Sundays, 9am - 3pm. Please visit our website for menu.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Northwest

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday through Saturday, 5-10pm
Brunch: Saturday and Sunday, 9-3pm
Happy Hour: Tuesday through Friday, 4-6pm

Cross Street:
15th Avenue NW

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, Visa

Phone Number:
(206) 946-1574

Website:
http://www.brunswickandhunt.com/

Parking Details:
Non-metered on street parking.

Public Transit:
We are close to the transit stop located at the intersection of 15th Avenue and NW 70th Street in Ballard.

Executive Chef:
Eric Anderson

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Brunswick & Hunt, Seattle, WA
Brunswick & Hunt, Seattle, WA

Brunswick & Hunt Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

American
Seattle / Eastern Washington
Best Overall
Seattle
Best Service
Seattle
1 More
American
Seattle
Best Restaurants in Ballard / Fremont ›

Neighborhood Gem (19)
Fit for Foodies (13)
Handcrafted Cocktails (12)
See All
Local Ingredients (11)
Open Kitchen (10)
Bar Seating (9)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Special Occasion (9)
Worth the Drive (8)
Great for Brunch (8)
Cozy (7)
Good for a Date (7)
Romantic (6)
Fun (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Casual (5)
Authentic (5)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Organic (4)
Seasonal (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Hot Spot (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Historic (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Business Meals (2)
Healthy (1)
Disabled Access (1)
People Watching (1)
Fireplace (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Spicy (1)
Sort By:
S
187 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Terrific find!

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Terrific find!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

We really enjoyed the food, drink and se ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 26, 2016

We really enjoyed the food, drink and service. Would highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Thanksgiving dinner was awesome!

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Thanksgiving dinner was awesome!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Beautiful, upscale, yet homey space with ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Beautiful, upscale, yet homey space with gorgeous finishes. Stellar service, warm and friendly. Very good wine list. Big thumbs up

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, attractive room, and excelle ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Great food, attractive room, and excellent service. I really like this spot!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Historic, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The service, food and atmosphere are all ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 20, 2016

The service, food and atmosphere are all 5 stars! This is my favorite place to eat in Seattle. Keep up the good work!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

B & H ranges between very good and outst ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 16, 2016

B & H ranges between very good and outstanding; on this visit a B+ not an A.

The staff is exceptionally attentive to special needs of its diners. We have dined here on several occasions and have recommended the restaurant to many other, which probably are the best indicators of how we evaluate the restaurant. This doesn't mean that the restaurant doesn't have its occasional minor shortcomings, but overall it is very worth dining at.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We went to Brunswick and Hunt to celebra ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 5, 2016

We went to Brunswick and Hunt to celebrate a birthday. We were a party of 5 and arrived early, and they had our table ready for us. Everything from the ambiance to the dessert were warm, inviting, and made for a very enjoyable and relaxing evening with family. We couldn't believe we had never been before, but will absolutely be back!

Tags: Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Cozy, Bar Seating, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Cocktails & appetizers were excellent, p ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Cocktails & appetizers were excellent, particularly the corn fritters. Dinners were great (fried chicken) and good (halibut), and dessert was fabulous (apple crumble). The server was excellent, and we had a great time!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Third time dining at Brunswick and Hunt, ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Third time dining at Brunswick and Hunt, and I'm a fan. Great service people, terrific food. Sat at the chef's counter watching the kitchen, which was great fun. Excellent time, and will be back!

Tags: Authentic, Open Kitchen, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food at Sunday brunch was good but n ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 16, 2016

The food at Sunday brunch was good but not fabulous. The atmosphere was very interesting but it was a little loud for conversations. Service was slow but excellent server interaction-he was witty and friendly. The antique wooden bar is fabulous. I will return for another type meal and see how it goes.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, People Watching, Open Kitchen, Fireplace, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

We shared this dining experience with go ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 16, 2016

We shared this dining experience with good friends (of 36 years) who were visiting Seattle--we had not seen them in over 8 years. We appreciated the caring service, wonderful atmosphere (great restored bar!), good food and relatively quiet sound level. We had a great evening. Our vegan friend particularly enjoyed the selections which were available to her.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great place for good food and conversati ...

 
 (México)·Dined on October 12, 2016

Great place for good food and conversation. Cocktail w/bourbon, maraschino and absinthe was great. Cornbread was good, though not the best ever. Carrots and poached shrimp were tasty, though needed more chili and salt, respectively. Burger was high-quality, but a bit overpriced for what it was. Plum clafoutis was well made. Overall, a very enjoyable evening with good service.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Seasonal, Comfort Food, Authentic, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Excellent service and food on Saturday n ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Excellent service and food on Saturday night. The cocktails were very interesting and excellent. Although intimate and open beam design the noise level was not too loud. Bar and art were gorgeous as well. Fun place and Jones took great care of us all night.

Tags: Modern Decor, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Creative and diverse Sunday lunch/brunch ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Creative and diverse Sunday lunch/brunch options. Excellent bloody marys.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazing! Everything from the restored ba ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Amazing! Everything from the restored bar and paintings, to the locally-sourced food, to the dynamic staff and creative cuisine made this an delectable dining journey. 3.5 hrs and 6 disheS later, we left very happy. Thanks to Chef Eric and the whole Brunswick crew!

Tags: Organic, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Fun, Spicy, Historic, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Open Kitchen, Wood Oven, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We loved the history behind the name, ar ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 24, 2016

We loved the history behind the name, art, and back bar. The cornbread with honey butter and the crudité platter with the in house smoked ham was delicious. The service was personable, sincere, and attentive. The cocktails were unique and delicious as well.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The restaurant is attractive, the servic ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 21, 2016

The restaurant is attractive, the service competent and gracious, the food is delicious and inventive. The parking in the area is horrible and the restaurant noise level is such, that I would not recommend this particular establishment. My date and I couldn't hear each other, making it an uncomfortable occasion. Too bad, because most everything else about the restaurant would motivate me to recommend it.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value3

Must order the carrots and the fried chi ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Must order the carrots and the fried chicken!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

After passing by this neighborhood resta ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 18, 2016

After passing by this neighborhood restaurant many times, my boyfriend and I finally gave it a try. We started with the charcuterie board with house-made buckwheat crisps -- I love it when your server is attentive enough to give you more crisps to finish the rest of your meat without telling you. Squash cakes made for a nice break as we followed with the fried chicken. I had to sacrifice the space made in my stomach for dessert to make room for the delicious chicken.

Tags: Disabled Access, Comfort Food, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of our favorite Seattle restaurants. ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 4, 2016

One of our favorite Seattle restaurants. The fairly small menu means high quality preparations, in my opinion. Really a fine staff.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Open Kitchen, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous bar. Chelsea does some great co ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 1, 2016

Fabulous bar. Chelsea does some great cocktails. Our server Cuyler provided a transformational experience. Great knowledge of the menu and very friendly style. The menu is inspired. We will become regulars after this first visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We always love B&H. The servers are frie ...

vip
 (Boise)·Dined on August 28, 2016

We always love B&H. The servers are friendly and the food is great. There are new items regularly and all of them are great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great atmosphere, incredibly attentive s ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 27, 2016

Great atmosphere, incredibly attentive service. Scrumptious food. A bit pricey so more of a social occasion than regular neighborhood haunt.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Avery, our server was fantastic and made ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 25, 2016

Avery, our server was fantastic and made the experience one of the best nights out we have had in a long time. The space is beautiful and cozy. Highly recommended!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

We continue to LOVE Brunswick and Hunt. ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 19, 2016

We continue to LOVE Brunswick and Hunt. On this occasion My mother-in-law was in town so we met up with her and my folks. My parents are real foodies and we were all really impressed. Delicious without being fussy. Elegant yet comfortable. It's just all the right mix of everything.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is our favorite go-to restaurant. ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 19, 2016

This is our favorite go-to restaurant. Never a bad meal- consistently delicious with very personalized, friendly service and a cozy atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our dining experience was mixed. Our wa ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 14, 2016

Our dining experience was mixed. Our waiter was very nice, but not attentive. The food was good and the restaurant is beautiful. Our waiter was so slow , I paid our tab at the bar.

I received a phone call (a nice one) accusing me of not paying my tab.

Brunch for two took two hours while several people waited outside for tables.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Three of us enjoyed an early weeknight d ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on August 4, 2016

Three of us enjoyed an early weeknight dinner, in which we shared many small plates. We chose 3 cheeses and 2 meats from the charcuterie and cheese selections and all were excellent. Everything was fresh and the flavor combinations were wonderful. We ordered the cornbread & honey butter at the outset since it takes 15 min. to prepare, and it was worth the wait. Also tried the clams, baby head lettuces, & other dishes I can't recall, but we loved every dish. This is a fairly small restaurant (40 seats) so probably need a reservation most nights. The best part was our server, Avery. He was funny and attentive, and helped make the evening entirely enjoyable, especially with his cocktail recommendations. The interior of the restaurant is light and bright and just feels right. We will definitely be back.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great northwest spot. Off the beaten tra ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 29, 2016

Great northwest spot. Off the beaten track. Relaxed and professional staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

With the Blood and Sand cocktail on thei ...

vip
 (Montreal)·Dined on July 24, 2016

With the Blood and Sand cocktail on their menu it was definitely a hit from start.

We had brunch and we loved it. Food was good, service was attentive and timely. We will definitely come back without kids and at night for more cocktails!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

We love, love, love this restaurant. It ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 24, 2016

We love, love, love this restaurant. It's in our neighborhood and we try to eat there every chance we get. This time the star of the table was the heirloom tomato appetizer. It was really, really good. I had the short ribs which was also excellent and my wife had the fried chicken which was equally incredible. Always a great experience with awesome waiters and great food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was outstanding, the service wa ...

 
 (London)·Dined on July 20, 2016

The food was outstanding, the service was impeccable, the right balance of sincerity without too much formality. If you live anywhere in the area, I'd highly recommend you try Brunswick and Hunt for a weekend brunch or dinner any day it's open.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food here is amazing! Menu changes s ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 20, 2016

The food here is amazing! Menu changes seasonally. If it's not in season, they don't have it. The staff is super-nice. I am a fan!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We waited 40 minutes while watching the ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 10, 2016

We waited 40 minutes while watching the chef pick up eggs with his bare hands, who had a mustache and beard that was not covered.

The food was ok, nothing spectacular.

The waiter was excellent.

It was so noisy my husband, who is hard of hearing, could not hear me, so we could not talk during lunch.

it is a good place for neighborhood people who drink or have little kids, if they can stand the noise.

There is NO PLACE TO PARK.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value3

I came here for brunch and had an excell ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 9, 2016

I came here for brunch and had an excellent experience. The waiter was very friend, informative and helpful, but not overbearing. The food was excellent, including their oven baked frittatas. The bloody mary was excellent as well, good spice level. I would definitely come back here for brunch and hope to come for dinner as well.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Good food, solid service, and a very com ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 9, 2016

Good food, solid service, and a very comfortable neighborhood vibe while still being special. We very much enjoyed out meal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

We love this neighborhood gem! We had f ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 8, 2016

We love this neighborhood gem! We had friends visiting from the Midwest and wanted to share this fantastic place with them. As always, the quality of food and service was sensational.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food but even greater service. En ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 6, 2016

Great food but even greater service. Entire staff, from server tie chef to dishwasher were friendly and welcoming. Great neighborhood place, but well worth the drive if you are not from the 'hood

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is farm fresh and they have gre ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 3, 2016

The food is farm fresh and they have great flavor combinations. Portions were a perfect, moderate size. The bacon is perfection!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.