Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.40mi
  2. Distance: 0.71mi
  3. Distance: 0.97mi
  4. Distance: 1.00mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.40mi
  2. Distance: 0.71mi
  3. Distance: 0.97mi
  4. Distance: 1.00mi

About Brunswick & Hunt

Brunswick & Hunt offers a fresh seasonal approach to Pacific Northwest cuisine in a beautifully crafted intimate setting. A magnificent 1890's Brunswick Bar and impressive early 1900's original northwest landscape painting by RJ Bocense (The Hunt), as well as a completely open exhibition kitchen provide a visual counterpoint to our rustic take on the bounty of the Northwest. A classically inspired cocktail menu, impressive wine offerings (glass and bottle), and house made desserts offered with warmth by a professional staff, invite a leisurely approach to dining. Breakfast is served Saturdays and Sundays, 9am - 3pm. Please visit our website for menu.

1480 NW 70th St
Seattle, WA 98107
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Northwest

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday through Saturday, 5-10pm
Brunch: Saturday and Sunday, 9am -2pm
Happy Hour: Tuesday through Friday, 4-6pm

Cross Street:
15th Avenue NW

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, Visa

Phone Number:
(206) 946-1574

Website:
http://www.brunswickandhunt.com/

Parking Details:
Non-metered on street parking.

Public Transit:
We are close to the transit stop located at the intersection of 15th Avenue and NW 70th Street in Ballard.

Executive Chef:
Eric Anderson

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Brunswick & Hunt Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (23)
Good for a Date (20)
Fit for Foodies (19)
See All
Open Kitchen (14)
Local Ingredients (14)
Creative Cuisine (14)
Handcrafted Cocktails (12)
Cozy (12)
Bar Seating (11)
Casual (11)
Great for Brunch (10)
Special Occasion (10)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Romantic (7)
Worth the Drive (6)
Good for Anniversaries (6)
Seasonal (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Fun (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Comfort Food (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Business Meals (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Historic (2)
Authentic (2)
People Watching (2)
Great Beer (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Family Style (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Tasting Menu (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Healthy (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Sort By:
S
223 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 4 days ago

I really enjoyed this restaurant for breakfast. Interesting and unique choices, and pretty much everything offered is made in house, which I love. I was not a fan of the coffee, although I love the french press presentation. The potatoes were WAY overcooked, tasting burnt. Aside from the coffee and potatoes, I loved the food. I highly recommend smearing the apple butter on the toast, then topping with the spicy sausage patty and drippy egg - heaven! I will definitely be back and will bring friends.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Cozy, Good for a Date, Quick Bite, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Historic, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Afternoon Coffee, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Open Kitchen, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 19, 2017

I love this neighborhood spot - the nicest people work there and the food is always delicious! Dinners are spectacular and the Sunday brunch was awesome. The bacon is prepared perfectly - yum!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 19, 2017

What a fabulous neighborhood find. Everything was great from the friendliness of the staff to the freshness of the food. What a wonderful farm to table restaurant. I will definitely be back.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 18, 2017

The atmosphere is warm and inviting, including the exceptional wait staff who are over the top knowledgeable about the menu, preparation, and any recommendations you may be looking for.

They grind their own burger and cure their own bacon for one of the best hamburgers I've ever eaten, and then top it off with local Beecher's cheese...delish!

Haven't had a bad dish yet. They're well known for their chicken and their variety of smoked meats, but I can't seem to stay away from that burger!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Late-night Find, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 12, 2017

We had Avery as our server. He was so knowledgeable and pleasant. The menu had a variety of options that all sounded good. We had the charcuterie platter, crab salad, and the black cod. All were outstanding.

Tags: Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 12, 2017

We were so glad we found Brunswick & Hunt! It is perfect for a date night or a small group. We would definitely recommend reservations, especially on the weekend. The restaurant is fairly small but has a wonderful ambiance. The décor is very rustic and different from other restaurants in the area. The service was fantastic and we received a great overview of the menu and were thankful for the recommendations we were given as everything looked amazing! If you are looking for upscale comfort food, Brunswick & Hunt is for you! We were not disappointed with our choices - both food and drink. The cornbread is not to be missed and our pork dish was delicious and was enough to be shared along with a few vegetable dishes. We truly enjoyed our experience here and will definitely be back for the fried chicken (a staple on the menu while some of the other items are swapped out with the season)!

Tags: Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Open Kitchen, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Awesome brunch. A little louder and more energetic compared to dinners here. The steak and eggs were great, the pork Benedict was awesome, all washed down by well-balanced cocktails with some exotic ingredients and a French press coffee.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 4, 2017

My daughter and I had a fabulous meal at Brunswick. Our server, Avery, was outstanding. We will return soon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Delicious food. Dutch baby was good, especially with the duck confit, just ask for it. Watch out for chipped glassware, prompt replacement of drink tho. Noisy, but fun. Definitely make a reservation as they get busy, especially if you're over 4 people.

Tags: Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Sunday Lunch, Local Ingredients, Open Kitchen, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Phenomenal service, food, and atmosphere. Our server made our experience very special, which was great as we were hosting out of town guests.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Great Beer, Local Ingredients, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We usually have wonderful experiences at Brunswick & Hunt. We came on Valentine's Day and had one of the last reservations at 9:45 since we had a wine class at The Pantry prior. We just felt a little rushed. The food, which is usually phenomenal, was slightly missing the mark. Nothing terrible, but it wasn't a truly fantastic meal. Hopefully they were just having an off night. Still, a very charming neighborhood restaurant with an innovative local menu. Lots of veggie options .

Tags: Cozy, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Wood Oven, Special Occasion, Open Kitchen, Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Amazing dish after amazing dish. Can't recommend this place highly enough!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Awesome meal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Simply put, loved it! Our server Avery was top notch.. descriptive, helpful and attentive. The food was delicious. We had the cauliflower, steak with frites and the lamb. Will definitely go back to this gem and want to try the brunch next time! Definitely recommended.

Tags: Romantic, Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 3, 2017

We had a quick dinner with another couple before heading to the symphony. The food was excellent. Our friends had not dined with Brunswick and Hunt before. We suggested they try the fried chicken which is one of their signature dishes. They loved it. We've eaten at Brunswick and Hunt several times now over the last few years and have always come away satisfied.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Had a great brunch with friends-relaxed good service

Tags: Good for Groups, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Brunswick and Hunt has great decor and great food! Host and Waitstaff were great. They have a nice selection of beer taps, good cocktails, as well as a nice selection of wine. The prices are a bit steep, but the portions were good and the food taste great! The Cooks did a fantastic job! Especially considering we had two people in our group with major dietary restrictions. Great experience!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Really love this place. Servers were awesome! Fried chicken is divine!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 27, 2017

1/26/17
As always the service was great, not rushed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 22, 2017

I wanted to like this restaurant more. Like I wanted to like La La Land more. I was seated, then ignored for about five minutes. Wait person did seem to make up for it after that. Music is too loud and so disconcertingly unconducive to fine dining, or any other dining for that matter. My frittata and potatoes were delicious but my husbands dutch baby was cold, he was told it was supposed to be that way. First, that is not a dutch baby, looked for like a small folded over crepe which had a cold compote mixed in it. Husband was very disappointed but they graciously remade the "dutch baby" without the cold compote and comped us for it. Don't know if we will be back.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 19, 2017

We stumbled on this great little place almost 2 years ago, as my other half and I were doing a lot of dining out and first dates at different places. The very first time we dined there, we ate at the Chef's counter, and were served by Rachel. They've always had superb cheese and charcuterie selections, and don't worry - if you don't know all of the names; they do a fantastic job pairing your tastes with the selections.

Probably the hardest thing about going to Brunswick & Hunt is not ordering too much. There are so many things that look delicious, and even trying to share things family style - we always end up with things to take home.

We had relatives in town this week; so, thought we would take them to one of our favorite places, we also just bought a new home closer to the restaurant, and recently got married - so, many reasons to celebrate!

We walked in and we're promptly sat at our table, and much to our surprise our server was Rachel. She had left about 6 months ago for another opportunity; but, how serendipitous to have her be our server - filling in for someone on vacation. You can always tell a good establishment by their staff and loyalty.

We started with the skillet cornbread with honey butter (not to be missed); then cheese & charcuterie and a nice bottle of wine, followed by some Fritters & Proscuttio, then onto Lamb Dhank & Fried Chicken (another item not to be missed), accompanied with Brussels Sprouts (fantastic), and another Califower (equally yummy) dish.

As you might imagine, we had to skip over dessert - and had left-overs. Can't recommend it enough!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Great food and atmosphere, and good service. Unfortunately about a hour into the dinner, the music was turned up and it was hard to hear the conversations.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Almost froze to death in this restaurant!! It took away from the entire dining experience. The waiter was great and enthusiastically recommended our choices which were good but not great. This restaurant missed the mark in our opinion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value3

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Great food. Was disappointed by the slow service. It seems a server must have called in sick. Would have been nice if the waiter would have simply given us a heads up.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 8, 2017

This place is incredible. The service is always very friendly, helping and on point. The ambience is superb for a date or small group. And the food is absolutely incredible! My husband and I have gone several times and our food is stellar no matter what we order. And they always make a fun mocktail for me with ginger beer! We always find street parking nearby as well since it's not in the heart of Ballard. I highly recommend!!!

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Romantic, Disabled Access, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Excellent service: welcoming, gracious, helpful, seamless. DELICIOUS food -- every bite was great, and thoughtfully prepared. Had theatre tickets so we didn't have time for dessert, but will definitely be back for that. Brunch menu also looked great.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Great for Brunch, Open Kitchen, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 1, 2017

This place is wonderful. Only giving this 4 stars because I'm incredibly stingy with my 5's. The atmosphere is upscale but relaxed, food is incredible, bar is great, and the service friendly and personal. This is the kind of neighborhood place where it's easy to become a regular.

Highlights for me are the biscuits and the Vikings Blood Bloody Mary variant on the brunch menu. They're great at classic cocktails and have the kind of inventive bartenders who make tasty inventive signature/seasonal cocktails. If you like hot drinks, try the Anne Bonny and the St. Bernard before they drop off the menu.

They can get full, so it's worth making a reservation for more than two people during peak times.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Open Kitchen, Great for Brunch, Cozy, Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Casual, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We had an incredible night. Could not have asked for a better ambiance for a lovely girls night with incredible food and impeccable service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Happy New Years Eve dinner was fantastic, loved the black cod, hubby loved the lamb. Oysters & champagne as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We went to Brunswick and Hunt to treat good friends to a dinner out on New Years Eve, and had a really great time! The strengths of the place were the food (we really liked the diversity of the menu, which included several terrific shared vegetable plates in addition to the entrees and appetizers), the service (our waiter was absolutely great...a perfect combination of attentiveness, conversation, humor, and 'non-rushed' service) and the very funky, interesting space that the restaurant inhabits. We plan to return for sure!

P.S. Very nice wine list with great bottles for a very reasonable tariff.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Great Beer, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Had the pork Benedict with the potatoes for brunch. Very good excellent hollandaise sauce

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 22, 2016

I went here for brunch and loved it. I wanted to take my mother for a pre holiday dinner and the service was extremely slow. We ordered and it took forever for the food to arrive, when it did it was actually cold. Cold. Not room temp- cold. I complained to the staff, their response was to want to take my food back away to re-fire it. No thanks I already waited too long to get it. They did not take anything off my check or make it ok in anyway.
The price here is not cheap, unforgivable to me when it's $32 for a sirloin and everything is cold make it ok..... offer a free dessert or take my appetizer off the bill. Nothing was done.
Won't risk it again

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 18, 2016

This was a great neighborhood find! I am always happy to find a great place a bit off the beaten track. The ambiance and service were impeccable. The pacing was perfect. Our server was very amiable and knowledgable about the menu (and life in general) and we had fun conversing each time he came to the table. The menu is smallish and meat heavy. I had the lamb on the server's recommendation and it was a bit overcooked from my medium-rare request. This made it a bit dry. But everyone else's dishes were great. The food wasn't super inventive, but it was tasty and comforting on a cold, rainy night.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Casual, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Worth the Drive, Historic, Late-night Find, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 9, 2016

It was our son's birthday and we asked where he would like to celebrate. Brunswick & Hunt was his response. The forecast was snow, it was December 8. During our meal it began to snow which made the evening a bit magical. Upon arrival they welcomed us with smiles and acknowledged our son, sat us in his usual table. Our server was Jones, very attentive, but not to much. We all decided that it would be a good idea to graze. That is our nickname for choosing several items off the menu to share. It was a great idea! Love the chicken. A dessert with birthday candles was delivered at the end of our meal. It was a pleasant surprise and very delicious, enough to share. We highly recommend this restaurant and look forward to enjoying their brunch soon.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Terrific find!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 26, 2016

We really enjoyed the food, drink and service. Would highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Thanksgiving dinner was awesome!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Beautiful, upscale, yet homey space with gorgeous finishes. Stellar service, warm and friendly. Very good wine list. Big thumbs up

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Great food, attractive room, and excellent service. I really like this spot!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Historic, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 20, 2016

The service, food and atmosphere are all 5 stars! This is my favorite place to eat in Seattle. Keep up the good work!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.