Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.40mi
  2. Distance: 0.71mi
  3. Distance: 0.97mi
  4. Distance: 1.00mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.40mi
  2. Distance: 0.71mi
  3. Distance: 0.97mi
  4. Distance: 1.00mi

About Brunswick & Hunt

Brunswick & Hunt offers a fresh seasonal approach to Pacific Northwest cuisine in a beautifully crafted intimate setting. A magnificent 1890's Brunswick Bar and impressive early 1900's original northwest landscape painting by RJ Bocense (The Hunt), as well as a completely open exhibition kitchen provide a visual counterpoint to our rustic take on the bounty of the Northwest. A classically inspired cocktail menu, impressive wine offerings (glass and bottle), and house made desserts offered with warmth by a professional staff, invite a leisurely approach to dining. Breakfast is served Saturdays and Sundays, 9am - 3pm. Please visit our website for menu.

1480 NW 70th St
Seattle, WA 98107
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Northwest

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday through Saturday, 5-10pm
Brunch: Saturday and Sunday, 9am -2pm
Happy Hour: Tuesday through Friday, 4-6pm

Cross Street:
15th Avenue NW

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, Visa

Phone Number:
(206) 946-1574

Website:
http://www.brunswickandhunt.com/

Parking Details:
Non-metered on street parking.

Public Transit:
We are close to the transit stop located at the intersection of 15th Avenue and NW 70th Street in Ballard.

Executive Chef:
Eric Anderson

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Brunswick & Hunt Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

Noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (20)
Fit for Foodies (19)
Good for a Date (19)
See All
Handcrafted Cocktails (13)
Creative Cuisine (13)
Special Occasion (13)
Local Ingredients (12)
Casual (11)
Comfort Food (11)
Cozy (11)
Great for Brunch (9)
Bar Seating (9)
Worth the Drive (8)
Good for Anniversaries (8)
Fun (7)
Romantic (7)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Seasonal (6)
Happy Hour (5)
Authentic (4)
Healthy (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Business Meals (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Organic (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
People Watching (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Great Beer (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Vegan (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Sort by
S
333 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined on January 4, 2018

This is my wife and my favorite restaurant in Seattle; local ingredients, changing menu, great service, unique preparation.

Tags: Cozy, Organic, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 1, 2018

The food (squab and steak) was excellent, especially considering price. We were very pleasantly surprised by the overall experience. Well done!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 30, 2017

Brunswick and hunt is our go to spot for brunch - always a hit

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 17, 2017

This was our first time to Brunswick & Hunt, love the hardwood floors! Dani, our server was outstanding-- courteous , efficient, and very informative with the wine list and menu. Everyones’ meal was superb, from the delicatta arugula salad to the fried chicken and cornbread, to the sautéed wild mushrooms, to the wild caught sturgeon (yes, sturgeon!). We found our new favorite locally grown farm-to-table restaurant. Thank you, Brunswick & Hunt, We look forward to the next time!

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Healthy, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 16, 2017

Our favorite restaurant for the past 3 years. We came for a company Christmas Party Dinner. The food was great! The wait staff was very informative, knowledgeable, and helpful! Highly recommend. Favorite place....and I hate driving into Seattle....but it's worth it.

Tags: Casual, Seasonal, Disabled Access, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Healthy, Romantic, Cozy, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 10, 2017

Brunch was great as usual

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 6, 2017

I've been to this restaurant twice and thought it was very good both times. The decor is excellent and the wait staff very friendly. The food is very good and fresh. Brunswick & Hunt is great for a date, business dinner, or just going out with friends.

Tags: Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 3, 2017

Food was delicious, the cornbread and duck were amazing but our group loved everything we tasted. Our server was awesome and knowledgeable. We will be back!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on November 29, 2017

The atmosphere was great - very comfortable and not too loud. The service was excellent and the food was fabulous. We took a friend who was in town on business for the week, who had eaten out every night at a different place. He said this place would have to be at the top of his list of favorite places to eat in Seattle. I'd have to agree!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 29, 2017

We cannot say enough about this restaurant. Creative use of NW ingredients without being contrived. Comfort food is king here with everything from a hamburger to black cod to fried chicken. Wide array of vegetable sides, a couple of salads and house pate round out the menu. Our friend needed to be total gluten free and servers and kitchen could not have been more accommodating. Wide array of specialty cocktails, but well done classics as well. Service is casual, but very attentive and skilled. The dining room/bar is anchored by an old, gorgeous back bar. Dark walls and subdued lighting makes one feel they are in a dodge somewhere Montana or Wyoming without the big game heads. A neighborhood gem, but we drive 35 minutes to have dinner. One of the best 'under the radar' restaurants in Seattle. Go... you will not be disappointed.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal, Casual, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 26, 2017

Very cool atmosphere. The food took awhile to arrive and wasn’t spectacular but was a solid choice for breakfast. The bacon was way overcooked and dry. Their vegetable hash had mushrooms and tomatoes in it but these ingredients were not listed on the menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 26, 2017

Turned off IMMEDIATELY by the background music- it sounded Satanic! Fire the the person who thought that was "cool".

Then you don't get to charge those prices for beyond mediocre service/attention, and mis-labeled food ( the fried chicken is someone's feeble attempt at Nashville Hot Chicken) that misled a diner who Hates hot chicken. As a result of your now misguided, originally inventive, mission clearly your evaporating clientele is showing up in your numbers- are you listening to anyone but yourselves???

Your place used to be a family members favorite restaurant. Hard to believe.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 26, 2017

My husband's and my first time here. Thanks Chinook Book for bringing this restaurant to our attention. We shared a Cauliflower/Brussel Sprout dish as an appetizer and I have to say it's the first time in my life I have liked and wanted to eat cauliflower. I had the steak as my main while my husband had the pork tenderloin. Both were excellent along with the sides. The Apple Betty dessert was perfect to share. YUM! Staff was welcoming, friendly, personable, casual, not pushy. West Seattle drive to Ballard was well worth it! I have already recommended to friends.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 19, 2017

The service was unfortunately incredibly slow. Took 10 min to get a drink order in after asking and then another 20 minutes for the drink to get to the table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 19, 2017

Great food and nice space. We had the fried chicken, pork chop, and cod. Plus, family style mushroom, and squash sides. We really couldn't stop eating it was so delicious.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 18, 2017

I have eaten here twice & it just gets better. The food is top quality & inventive. The staff always kind & efficient....love this place & would highly recommend it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 12, 2017

The restaurant is cute and the cocktails were good. So were the donuts. Sunday brunch service was a bit slow and the food, on the whole, was over-salted. If that was toned down a but, I think it would help a lot!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 4, 2017

Potatoes were AMAZING and the scrambles were delicious.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 4, 2017

My wife and I were very happy with our experience at Brunswick & Hunt. The highlights of our experience were the service and ambience. The meal was a lot of fun in a well-designed space with striking artwork and wood trim work, particularly around the large mirrored bar. The cuisine was a solid four stars, but not five. We started with carrots, beet salad, and winter greens ravioli. The carrots were well-seasoned and fresh, but needed moisture. Our beet salad had some vinegar to offset the natural sweetness of the dish, but the chef's choice of creme fraiche versus, say, goat cheese left the appetizer too sweet and absent a depth and richness it could have had. The ravioli was fantastic - fresh, al dente, wonderful sauce, well-balanced. Anna devoured her ling cod entree and my fried chicken with pickled pepper collard greens was a flavor bomb - fantastic. I was missing a bright element to the chicken entree to give my palette a break. Parking was awfully tough, but that's par for the course in Ballard.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 29, 2017

A surprise tucked away that was more delicious and special than I had hoped.
I've already recommended it to friends!
It was my adult daughter's birthday, and we had freshly made (still hot) drop, cinnamon donuts presented as a gift!
The eggs Benedict (with smoked pork) was fabulous...really needs a better adjective.
And the quality standard of food and service stood out above others restaurants ... loved the individual coffee press too. Treat yourself to Sunday Brunch...i will be doing so many more times!

Tags: Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 29, 2017

The fried chicken was perfect! I don't often eat fried food, but it looked too good to pass up. So glad I got it!

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
·Dined on October 29, 2017

Really great service. Lovely cocktails. The best fried chicken I have ever had!

Tags: Organic, Seasonal, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 22, 2017

Delicious food and friendly staff. Highly recommend the cornbread as an appetizer--rich, buttery, comforting goodness! Had the steak and wife had the burger for entrees, both very good...

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Fun, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on October 21, 2017

Brunswick and Hunt had been our go-to favorite place while we were living in Ballard. We met up with some old friends there and recommended this place and were sadly very disappointed. The food wasn't as good as it was before. It was cold and the vegetable hash looked like something I could've made (not good). I don't know if the "B" team cook staff was there today or what. The service is normally excellent but our waiter forgot to fill our water often and we ended up waiting for our meal for an hour. It's busy, granted, but I noticed people who came later were served before us. I think our waiter forgot about us. It was disappointing because we had recommended this place to our old friends and were embarrassed it wasn't as good as we had remembered. Also, it's disappointing that it's no longer the great place that we remember.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 14, 2017

Outstanding service and melt-in-your-mouth steak with herb butter.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Gluten Free Options, Good for Groups, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 1, 2017

Great wine and food! Very romantic. Good place for intense conversation. Good service and excellent coffee and dessert.

Tags: Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Fun, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 30, 2017

Coffee was great and the food was really good balanced with spices and fruit. The steak had a nice grilling flavor and was tender

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 24, 2017

This is one of our favorite spots. The food is reliable good and creative, and the staff are always friendly. Whether sitting at the bar for cocktails and a nosh or enjoying brunch (the braised pork Benedict is not to be missed), I can highly recommend Brunswick and Hunt.

Tags: Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 24, 2017

Awesome brunch spot! The cocktails are super overpriced but everything else is well priced.

Tags: Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 24, 2017

Been here 5 or 6 times now and it is always a pleasure. I've always had the same waiter, Kyler, and he is always personable and friendly. The menu is small (I think 7 entrees) and I have had the chicken, the halibut and the sirloin and have found them all outstanding. The vibe is neighborhood, friendly. I have recommended it to multiple people. Try it!

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun, Comfort Food, Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 17, 2017

I do not wish to leave a public review, however I am sending a private message to the restaurant about our experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Expensive food great service noisy atmosphere parking difficult

Tags: Organic, Local Ingredients, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value1

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 14, 2017

If you are lucky enough to get Avery (handsome bald gent) as your server, just take his recommendations on what to eat. You won't regret it. Lovely warm atmosphere. Amazing food. Great cocktails and small select wine list. Beautiful seasonal menu. Really a special place.

Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Seasonal, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 13, 2017

Last few times we've been here the service hasn't been as good. Both times we've waited too long after being seated for someone to come over, take a drink order etc.. One time we got up and went to the bar to order our drinks because we felt we'd waited long enough. That should never happen...not sure we'll be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on September 10, 2017

We had brunch with some friends and everyone loved their meals! Beautiful restaurant with lots to take in and the food and drinks were wonderful as well! My husband and I were a big fan of their coffee!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 10, 2017

This is the second time I've had breakfast/brunch at Brunswick and Hunt. I think the presentation is definitely a cut above, service great and food very nice. We each had a different breakfast item and all were excellent with the exception of the Dutch Baby which was more like a crepe then a dutch baby. However it was tasty ...like a Crêpes confiture with apricot jam inside. It is the typical noisy hard surface atmosphere and gray boring walls you find in most of the new restaurants. The noise level made it difficult to make conversation once the dining room filled up. On the positive they have very nice and warm toned artwork and an antique back bar which give it an inviting ambiance. Overall we all thought it was good and would come back again.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 10, 2017

Thanks we had Great service and great food which you can't always say. Most food is mediocre when you go out. Not here.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good Vegetarian Options, Paleo Friendly, Good for a Date, Quick Bite, Fun, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on September 9, 2017

The food is hard to beat. Fresh ingredients. I had my brother in from LA and he said it was the best breakfast he's ever had!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

 
·Dined on September 7, 2017

Excellent service. Food was a treat and our server provided great advice.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 6, 2017

Absolutely brilliant all the way through. Don't mistake this for a bar serving food as a side show even though the look of the place might fool you

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.