Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.40mi
  2. Distance: 0.71mi
  3. Distance: 0.97mi
  4. Distance: 1.00mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.40mi
  2. Distance: 0.71mi
  3. Distance: 0.97mi
  4. Distance: 1.00mi

About Brunswick & Hunt

Brunswick & Hunt offers a fresh seasonal approach to Pacific Northwest cuisine in a beautifully crafted intimate setting. A magnificent 1890's Brunswick Bar and impressive early 1900's original northwest landscape painting by RJ Bocense (The Hunt), as well as a completely open exhibition kitchen provide a visual counterpoint to our rustic take on the bounty of the Northwest. A classically inspired cocktail menu, impressive wine offerings (glass and bottle), and house made desserts offered with warmth by a professional staff, invite a leisurely approach to dining. Breakfast is served Saturdays and Sundays, 9am - 3pm. Please visit our website for menu.

1480 NW 70th St
Seattle, WA 98107
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Northwest

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday through Saturday, 5-10pm
Brunch: Saturday and Sunday, 9am -2pm
Happy Hour: Tuesday through Friday, 4-6pm

Cross Street:
15th Avenue NW

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, Visa

Phone Number:
(206) 946-1574

Website:
http://www.brunswickandhunt.com/

Parking Details:
Non-metered on street parking.

Public Transit:
We are close to the transit stop located at the intersection of 15th Avenue and NW 70th Street in Ballard.

Executive Chef:
Eric Anderson

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Brunswick & Hunt Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (24)
Neighborhood Gem (20)
Good for a Date (18)
See All
Handcrafted Cocktails (17)
Local Ingredients (17)
Special Occasion (16)
Creative Cuisine (15)
Good for Anniversaries (11)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Casual (10)
Bar Seating (10)
Seasonal (9)
Great for Brunch (9)
Worth the Drive (8)
Authentic (7)
Fun (7)
Good for Groups (7)
Romantic (7)
Comfort Food (6)
Cozy (6)
Great Beer (6)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Business Meals (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Notable Wine List (4)
Great for Lunch (3)
Hot Spot (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Live Sports (1)
Organic (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
302 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 5 days ago

I do not wish to leave a public review, however I am sending a private message to the restaurant about our experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 6 days ago

Expensive food great service noisy atmosphere parking difficult

Tags: Organic, Local Ingredients, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value1

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 14, 2017

If you are lucky enough to get Avery (handsome bald gent) as your server, just take his recommendations on what to eat. You won't regret it. Lovely warm atmosphere. Amazing food. Great cocktails and small select wine list. Beautiful seasonal menu. Really a special place.

Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Seasonal, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on September 10, 2017

We had brunch with some friends and everyone loved their meals! Beautiful restaurant with lots to take in and the food and drinks were wonderful as well! My husband and I were a big fan of their coffee!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 10, 2017

This is the second time I've had breakfast/brunch at Brunswick and Hunt. I think the presentation is definitely a cut above, service great and food very nice. We each had a different breakfast item and all were excellent with the exception of the Dutch Baby which was more like a crepe then a dutch baby. However it was tasty ...like a Crêpes confiture with apricot jam inside. It is the typical noisy hard surface atmosphere and gray boring walls you find in most of the new restaurants. The noise level made it difficult to make conversation once the dining room filled up. On the positive they have very nice and warm toned artwork and an antique back bar which give it an inviting ambiance. Overall we all thought it was good and would come back again.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 10, 2017

Thanks we had Great service and great food which you can't always say. Most food is mediocre when you go out. Not here.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good Vegetarian Options, Paleo Friendly, Good for a Date, Quick Bite, Fun, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on September 9, 2017

The food is hard to beat. Fresh ingredients. I had my brother in from LA and he said it was the best breakfast he's ever had!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

 
·Dined on September 7, 2017

Excellent service. Food was a treat and our server provided great advice.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 6, 2017

Absolutely brilliant all the way through. Don't mistake this for a bar serving food as a side show even though the look of the place might fool you

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 27, 2017

An absolutely woderful dining experience from start to finish. Amazing food, ambiance and of course Avery was the a fantastic host.
Love that you're in our neighborhood.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 27, 2017

We had never been to Brunswick & Hunt before but reviews and photos looked great! From the moment I dropped off a birthday cake (early to surprise my husband after our dinner) and met Avery, who said he would be our server for our dinner, I was assured we'd made a great choice. Avery was one of the best waiters we've ever encountered and we would go again as long as he could be our server! Knowledgeable, funny, and great at making suggestions, his tasty and fun food descriptions were amazing to hear and the dinners were wonderfully prepared and presented! We loved our halibut, the carrots, and Avery did a great job of presenting the birthday cake w/candles lit and the entire restaurant joined in signing Happy Birthday to my husband! A great success..."fun, cool neighborhood gem" would be an understatement!
Don't miss this one!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Dinner at Brunswick and Hunt was a notable treat. Delicious food, great service and tasty food. Absolutely will return.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 23, 2017

Very nice!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined on August 20, 2017

Service was excellent. Waiter was one of the best we have ever had in Seattle.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on August 18, 2017

We had a superb meal with a fabulous server. We started with oysters which were so fresh and delicious! The crab cake beats all crab cakes we have ever eaten. The steak oscar was perfectly cooked and the sauce was amazing! Thank you to our server, David for making our evening extra special! Oh, the cream brûlée is a must!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 16, 2017

Great food and great service. Very enjoyable. The service was personal but not overbearing. The food was fresh and perfectly cooked.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Love it. Just love it. The converted historic building restored an original bar and developed the space with an open kitchen. The food is modernized American food, with seasonal gems added throughout the year. The corn bread appetizer is exellent. The steak and chicken are excellent staples, but the seasonal choices are something not to pass up.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

Overall, Brunswick and Hunt had great customer service, good food, nice ambiance and *decent* drinks. My girlfriend and I were in Seattle for a couple days and I wanted to take her somewhere mellow where we could get away from the bustling parts, have high quality food, and not pay an arm and a leg. B&H met all of these requirements even during Saturday brunch. I would recommend it to anyone looking for a date spot.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 12, 2017

The food here is amazing. Our waiter Avery was so entertaining and knowledgeable. He described every plate and helped pick the perfect dishes for our table. We can't wait to go back!

Tags: Cozy, Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Our waiter was the nicest person. Both times we've been there he's been our waiter. He knows everything about the food, he's super friendly and the food was amazing!!! One of the best dining experiences we've had in Seattle.

Tags: Cozy, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Eggs and Bacon were fantastic! The regular bacon was much better than the cubed bacon that they do in the scramble. Toast was good, but not a fan of the apricot jam. Bloody Mary was good, but too spicy and peppery to want a second one.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Food was good. Services was excellent. Located in an interesting neighborhood with a unique ambiance.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Always great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 23, 2017

Second time visiting and still a huge fan! The food is phenomenal, the servers are super knowledgeable and friendly (Avery helped me both times I've visited and he's delightful), and it's got a wonderful rustic vibe to it!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Excellent as always. Thanks for a great dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Happy to have such an excellent and intimate restaurant and bar within walking distance of my home. A definite go-to for special meals.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Best meal in Seattle. Great food and drinks. Everything served was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 12, 2017

Don't tell anyone about this place lest they fill up all of the remaining tables! Great and interesting food, and service that made us feel like we were old friends. It's hard to be one of the best in Seattle. These guys made it look easy. ...and did I mention the bar. 5 wows.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 12, 2017

The food is superb every time I go B&H. The wait staff is friendly and fun. They all seem to enjoy working here. Order the steak!!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 8, 2017

It was loud for only a 40 seat restaurant. The menu is very limited and portions were small for the price. The beet salad was perfect, the fava beans were good, but it is not true that you can eat the shells - VERY stringy! Our waiter Avery was attentive and amusing, service was not rushed but not exactly prompt either. There doesn't seem to be a very prominent theme, it says Farm to Table, but there was no emphasis on what farm anything came from, and the offerings were pretty jumbled, so overall, worth it for a special occasion but I am not planning another trip in quite a while.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 7, 2017

We went with another couple and had a great time. Our server was excellent, there when we needed him but didn't hover. The cocktails were on point and the food was tasty!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 7, 2017

The waiter was fabulous. The menu is quite limited and there wasn't an entree that interested me. The appetizer (charcuterie) wasn't that great and was served with crackers because they don't have bread. We had several sides instead of entrees. The carrots were terrific but the fava beans were served in the pods which we were told were edible but that doesn't mean they were pleasant to chew. I would go back for happy hour but not for dinner.

Tags: Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Seasonal, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Trouble handling a rush. Food was okay, but overwhelmed server left us waiting too long for missing condiment and to get our check taken care of. Try them when they are not busy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Another great meal! The food is great but the service from Avery and Tommy is amazing; perhaps some of the best I have experienced. The table next to us was equally impressed. I have visited several times and both the food and service are consistently at a high level. Looking forward to returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Gem of a restaurant located on the edge of Ballard - away from the hustle bustle. Great food, Excellent crafted unique cocktails and awesome service!!! Our server put together a wonderful Charcuterie & Cheese selection for our table.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 18, 2017

We went there for the first time on Father's Day and everything was great...the food, the service, etc. They were very nice about accomodating some special needs that we had.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Brunswick & Hunt is an exceptional restaurant! It has excellent food and wonderful service and just a great vibe. The menu changes and I've never had anything that wasn't fabulous. I highly recommend the fried chicken and they also do spectacular vegetable side dishes. Also very good for brunch. Go! Just make sure you leave a table or a seat at the bar for me.....

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Business Meals, Happy Hour, Great for Brunch, Fun, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Oh my god! Seriously one of the best meals we've had in a while. Be sure to request Avery Jones as your server. He made the night. He's amazing.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Casual, Seasonal, Great Beer, Good for Birthdays, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 11, 2017

I LOVE B and H so much!! We were there for brunch on a Sunday. Loved being able to make reservations through Open Table. That stretch of 70th street gets pretty breakfast/brunch crazy on weekends.
All four in our party had different entrees - all of the scrambles and a biscuit. I had bites of each - 'cause my friends are awesome - and every dish was wonderful! The service is always delightful: attentive but not over bearing. We're so grateful to have B and H in the 'hood!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Swung in because of a recent recommendation and was really glad we did. House cured breakfast meats, great bloody Mary's, terrific service made for a great brunch. Will return and I recommend you do so too!

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.