About Brunswick & Hunt

1480 NW 70th St
Seattle, WA 98107
View Larger Map

Brunswick & Hunt offers a fresh seasonal approach to Pacific Northwest cuisine in a beautifully crafted intimate setting. A magnificent 1890's Brunswick Bar and impressive early 1900's original northwest landscape painting by RJ Bocense (The Hunt), as well as a completely open exhibition kitchen provide a visual counterpoint to our rustic take on the bounty of the Northwest. A classically inspired cocktail menu, impressive wine offerings (glass and bottle), and house made desserts offered with warmth by a professional staff, invite a leisurely approach to dining. Breakfast is served Saturdays and Sundays, 9am - 3pm. Please visit our website for menu.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Northwest

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday through Saturday, 5-10pm
Brunch: Saturday and Sunday, 9-3pm
Happy Hour: Tuesday through Friday, 4-6pm

Cross Street:
15th Avenue NW

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, Visa

Phone Number:
(206) 946-1574

Website:
http://www.brunswickandhunt.com/

Parking Details:
Non-metered on street parking.

Public Transit:
We are close to the transit stop located at the intersection of 15th Avenue and NW 70th Street in Ballard.

Executive Chef:
Eric Anderson

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Brunswick & Hunt
Brunswick & Hunt

Brunswick & Hunt Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

American
Seattle / Eastern Washington
Best Ambiance
Seattle
American
Seattle
Best Restaurants in Ballard / Fremont ›

neighborhood gem (48)
fit for foodies (45)
special occasion (22)
See All
romantic (15)
great for brunch (15)
good for groups (13)
hot spot (6)
notable wine list (6)
vibrant bar scene (5)
great for lunch (3)
late-night find (2)
kid-friendly (2)
Sort By:
Newest
145 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

Arrived on Father's Day for Brunch. No ...

Dined 7 days ago

Arrived on Father's Day for Brunch. No one was there to greet us so we stood in the doorway a bit until someone saw us. As a note, another group arrived after us and got tired of waiting so just sat themselves at a table. We overheard them mentioned they had reservations and thought it was weird not to be noticed when they arrived, seated and have to ask for menus. As this restaurant is not huge we was highly disappointed in the level of service - which was very slow - waited 35 mins for our orders to be taken. Our egg dishes arrived both over cooked - the waiter did have one of our dishes re-done by the kitchen. Already a long wait by now, my husband decided not to request the same for his meal. This restaurant has a nice history and beautiful back bar and paintings. However, overall, it was a big disappointment - service was slow and the food was just equally so-so. Will not be returning anytime soon.

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

This was the second time that we dined a ...

vip
Dined on June 19, 2016

This was the second time that we dined at B and H and we will return again as the food, creative cocktails and service were outstanding.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything about our dining experience w ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Everything about our dining experience was exceptional--service, comfort, drinks, food, pacing. Loved the local neighborhood restaurant vibe.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My husband and I split several of the sm ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

My husband and I split several of the small plates, and they were all delicious. The grilled fava beans were particularly good. The service was very friendly and quick. No issue making some of the dishes vegetarian on request.

Tags: fit for foodies, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

All the food was amazing, from appetizer ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

All the food was amazing, from appetizers to dessert! Service could not be any better, thanks Rachel! Treat yourself!

food5
ambience5
service5

Greeted warmly and with authenticity. Jo ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Greeted warmly and with authenticity. Jones was a fabulous waiter. Food was exquisite. Crowd was fun and mixed. Perhaps a little too loud; don't come with a headache! We will be back.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food items and bar selections we tried w ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Food items and bar selections we tried were uniformly excellent. Interesting combinations that were extremely tasty. A nice find and we plan to go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazing food, fabulous service (thanks Rachel)!

Dined on May 29, 2016

The food was amazing. Literally, everything we had was prepared or cooked to perfection and tasted phenomenal. Our waitress, Rachel, was knowledgeable and attentive. The ambiance was mellow and warm with a large group of friends enjoying cocktails at the bar, a group celebrating a birthday behind us and the two of us out for a rare date night. Seemed like something for everyone.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Really pleased to have discovered this p ...

vip
Dined on May 27, 2016

Really pleased to have discovered this place that we like so much, and so close to home. From the moment we entered the restaurant we were charmed by the ambiance, the staff, and the story of the beautiful bar and its partner painting. My husband loves the cocktails, and I love the wine offerings. We always get the charcuterie and cheese plate, and we especially love the house cured ham and buckwheat crackers. Steak frites are perfect, and the halibut special is melt-in-your-mouth tender. I can't get enough of the asparagus, so perfectly combined with sweet ham, tangy cheese, and lemon zest. The Meyer lemon posset is a unique dessert offering that I particularly love. And on top of it all, we really love the staff. They recognize us when we come in, welcoming us back like old friends. What more could we ask for?

food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Excellent time for 11 folks

Dined on May 27, 2016

Birthday for me (64th) and 9 others + my wife was very enjoyable experience. Rachel , our server, is top-notch- she was informative , helpful, engaging, and attentive. The first small plates we ordered were excellent; we were in no hurry and never felt to be rushed. Very good bar. Dinners were exceptional, from the Fried Chicken to the Lamb, to the Burger. etc .Nary a clunker. Wow. Everybody had a great time and has voiced it.

Tags: special occasion
food3
ambience4
service5

Service great! Food good- minimal choice ...

vip
Dined on May 26, 2016

Service great! Food good- minimal choices, but flavors excellent!

food5
ambience5
service5

We had a fantastic evening!

Dined on May 13, 2016

We had a fantastic evening!

food5
ambience5
service4

Staff was very friendly and did a great ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Staff was very friendly and did a great job helping me choose food for the kids and myself. Food took a little longer than I expected but everything was delicious and interesting. I'll definitely come again.

food4
ambience4
service5

A comfortable neighbor restaurant. We ar ...

Dined on April 30, 2016

A comfortable neighbor restaurant. We are always treated by a gracious charming wait staff. The food is delicious and always fresh. Lots of delicious choices for vegetarians and meat lovers.

food4
ambience4
service3

Had a reservation at 12 for brunch; we w ...

Dined on April 24, 2016

Had a reservation at 12 for brunch; we were seated at 12:30; ordered food at 1pm. Not ideal, but food was good. Drinks are great.

food5
ambience5
service5

Great find!

vip
Dined on April 17, 2016

Great find!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great dining experience.

Dined on April 15, 2016

We have a group of guys that meet up monthly for dinners around Seattle, and this was an excellent choice. Not only was all of the courses incredible, the staff was terrific as well. We had the pomme frites, clams, and the corn bread for appetizers, and they were so good we did a second round. We ordered all of the vegetable sides, and the artichoke hearts were unbelievable. The carrots were good (must like butter), the beets were execellent, and the cauliflower was good but slightly undercooked. Every main that came out was unique to each plate, but were perfectly balanced for the course they were presenting. My recommendations would be the Halibut, fried chicken or the lamb main course. The burger was the best value. Great restaurant, great service. Thanks!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great neighborhood spot

Dined on April 8, 2016

Awesome service here! We were celebrating a special birthday and the waiter was a doll. He took the time to tell us about the history of the Brunswick and the painting (The Hunt)- and the food was impeccable! He also brought out a complimentary dessert that was a chocolate delight that was out of this world! I would definitely recommend this place.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Great Neighborhood Restaurant

Dined on April 8, 2016

We had a great dining experience and I will credit a lot of it to our very friendly, waiter Cyler (sounds like a "k"). He even told my husband to come back for his birthday dessert because we had another commitment for dessert that night. Can't wait to go back from brunch some time.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Great service and stellar quality food t ...

Dined on April 3, 2016

Great service and stellar quality food that was creatively prepared and presented in a

food5
ambience5
service5

Avery our sever was absolutely amazing! ...

Dined on March 27, 2016

Avery our sever was absolutely amazing! The food was delicious, and the apmispher was inviting and relaxing.

food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Neighborhood gem

Dined on March 27, 2016

Mostly been here for brunch. Great staff, good price on food and nice ambiance. Bacon is awesome as is the brunch menu. Kind of undiscovered right now- but should be on the city's brunch spots!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My friend and I dined here on a Saturday ...

Dined on March 27, 2016

My friend and I dined here on a Saturday night, and were amazed at everything we ordered. Our server was so kind, and attentive, and the food was delicious. I have made Brunswick and Hunt a favorite of mine, and highly recommend it!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Brunswick and Hunt

Dined on March 21, 2016

This is the 4th time we've been to this restaurant and twice for special events. The food is always delicious and the menu changes with local foods. Excellent!!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love this place

Dined on March 13, 2016

We go almost weekly for either brunch or dinner. By our third visit we were recognized regulars. Amazing food and amazing staff.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

So much more than just 'dinner'

Dined on March 6, 2016

We were kindly greeted upon arrival by the host, immediately greeted upon being directed to the bar to wait while our table was set up. Our drinks came promptly and we easily transferred to our table. We were always given clear indication of the wait time for everything - from the table, to the drinks, to the food. We were offered top favorite choices before ordering our food. We were treated with respect and were waited on diligently, yet did not feel at any point that we were interrupted in our own conversations. All in all, it was a wonderful evening and thoroughly enjoyed by all.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Never disappoints

Dined on February 28, 2016

The food was outstanding and the service was great - very accommodating, prompt and thoughtful, especially given how busy it was.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighbourhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Good food but extremely slow service.

vip
Dined on February 27, 2016

I really want this restaurant to succeed. So I am writing this for them as much as for patrons. The food is very good, although a vegetarian entree would be much appreciated. The waitress was friendly but the service was painfully slow. The restaurant wasn't full when we arrived at 630 but everything from the drinks to the meal took forever, at least 30 minutes for our drinks and another 30 minutes at least for dinner. On top of that one of the martinis that should have had sugar on the rim had salt instead. When they brought the replacement it was very salty so we suspect they just changed the glass and poured the already salty drink into the new glass rather than remake it. Cheap. We asked the waitress if they were short servers or cooks and she said no. Had we had another engagement, such as a movie or babysitter to get back to, we would have had to abort the whole thing. If they don't correct this they won't succeed so hopefully they will make the necessary changes. There is too much competition in this town for poor service to survive no matter how good the food is. Keeping my fingers crossed.

food5
ambience4
service5

An excellent find in Ballard. Innovative ...

vip
Dined on February 26, 2016

An excellent find in Ballard. Innovative food (the meats are excellent, but don't overlook the veggie dishes - the smoked mushrooms are exceptional) that is well prepared, a terrific bar that makes well balanced cocktails, served by people who care about what they're doing. One of our favorite places!

food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Great food and service

Dined on February 21, 2016

We were exceptionally well treated by the server. She was friendly, efficient, and anticipated our needs. And the food was really good as well.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Friendly and welcoming, delicious food, ...

Dined on February 20, 2016

Friendly and welcoming, delicious food, plan to return soon

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fabulous experience

Dined on February 19, 2016

Wait staff were excellent - very friendly (but not annoying) and helpful. They even remembered us from our last time there. Made the evening with friends extra enjoyable.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great Find

Dined on February 19, 2016

Not a place you would just stumble upon. If your hearing about it that's because the food and service are top quality. Is it worth driving across town go to this neighborhood restaurant, you bet. I have now been to Brunswick and Hunt four times and looking forward to number 5 ........ and I don't live in Ballard.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

The staff was friendly and fun. The food ...

Dined on February 15, 2016

The staff was friendly and fun. The food was amazing. I couldn't have asked for a better experience on a very busy Valentines night.

food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Wonderful evening at the chef counter!

Dined on February 14, 2016

We had terrific food, great ambience, wonderful conversations with the server and other members of the staff. Well done! And get that fried chicken!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Great neighborhood brunch. Classy and contemporary

Dined on January 31, 2016

A great place in the neighborhood for Sunday brunch. Our breakfasts were excellent. We arrived before noon and they were already out of 2 of the listed entrees. Nonetheless, our 2nd choices were delicious. Our waiter was prompt,friendly and accommodating .

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

The food is excellent. The fried chicle ...

Dined on January 31, 2016

The food is excellent. The fried chicle is definitely the best in Seattle.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Brunswick & Hunt delivers!

Dined on January 30, 2016

Another amazing meal with attentive service. We always ask Rachel, our server, for her recommendations from the cocktail and food menu. We've always had delicious food and drinks, and pleasant service. All good things here! Go there. Now!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Nice Evening at Brunswick & Hunt

Dined on January 24, 2016

My husband, my mother and I enjoyed a nice neighborhood dinner at B & H. Of course we started with cocktails, all well made with the highlight being the Elevated Cactus. It had the perfect balance of floral and sour to the tequila. One wasn't enough! We then graduated to a bright spring salad and tasty, albeit, sandy sea scallops. Our entrees were Pork Shank and Fried Chicken. The Shank was flavorful and had the perfect (see: fall off the bone) cook. The hefty portion of chicken was wonderfully tender although had a heavy handed honey-glaze that we found too sweet for our taste. Our waiter Avery, recent Pasadena import, was super attentive. Just when we'd think of needing something he'd pop up like a Ninja! In short, it was a solid dinning experience and we will return.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

We always receive wonderful service and ...

vip
Dined on January 18, 2016

We always receive wonderful service and the food is inventive and delicious.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.