Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.40mi
  2. Distance: 0.71mi
  3. Distance: 0.97mi
  4. Distance: 1.00mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.40mi
  2. Distance: 0.71mi
  3. Distance: 0.97mi
  4. Distance: 1.00mi

About Brunswick & Hunt

Brunswick & Hunt offers a fresh seasonal approach to Pacific Northwest cuisine in a beautifully crafted intimate setting. A magnificent 1890's Brunswick Bar and impressive early 1900's original northwest landscape painting by RJ Bocense (The Hunt), as well as a completely open exhibition kitchen provide a visual counterpoint to our rustic take on the bounty of the Northwest. A classically inspired cocktail menu, impressive wine offerings (glass and bottle), and house made desserts offered with warmth by a professional staff, invite a leisurely approach to dining. Breakfast is served Saturdays and Sundays, 9am - 3pm. Please visit our website for menu.

1480 NW 70th St
Seattle, WA 98107
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Northwest

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday through Saturday, 5-10pm
Brunch: Saturday and Sunday, 9am -2pm
Happy Hour: Tuesday through Friday, 4-6pm

Cross Street:
15th Avenue NW

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, Visa

Phone Number:
(206) 946-1574

Website:
http://www.brunswickandhunt.com/

Parking Details:
Non-metered on street parking.

Public Transit:
We are close to the transit stop located at the intersection of 15th Avenue and NW 70th Street in Ballard.

Executive Chef:
Eric Anderson

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Brunswick & Hunt Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (27)
Neighborhood Gem (25)
Fit for Foodies (23)
See All
Local Ingredients (21)
Handcrafted Cocktails (17)
Casual (15)
Special Occasion (15)
Creative Cuisine (15)
Bar Seating (15)
Great for Brunch (15)
Cozy (14)
Open Kitchen (14)
Sunday Lunch (11)
Authentic (9)
Worth the Drive (8)
Seasonal (8)
Comfort Food (8)
Good for Anniversaries (8)
Romantic (7)
Historic (6)
Fun (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Great for Lunch (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Healthy (3)
Family Style (3)
Organic (3)
People Watching (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Business Meals (2)
Great Beer (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Scenic View (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort By:
S
254 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 5 days ago

Our server was knowledgeable and service was great. Be aware that the menu is seasonal - items listed on the sample menu online might not be available. We were disappointed by the limited options for vegetables, salads, and fish, but that's what you get when you are eating locally-sourced food this time of year! The burger was very good!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 5 days ago

Fantastic as always. This was probably our 5th visit, and an early Saturday dinner. Each visit is met with friendly staff who offer well pointed suggestions and pairings. Ask Avery for wine pairing or let him expertly put together an exquisite selection of cheeses to start. Kyler is a magician with any whiskey cocktail, try them all. The menu changes slightly seasonally but any of the vegetable dishes like the brussel sprouts or the artichoke are must haves. My go to is the steak and frites. Generous in portion and could be shared. (Though I rarely share!) every dish we've tried is flavorful and expertly prepared. End with the blood orange cheesecake or a signature cocktail, I suggest the watchmaker. The decor, friendly service and fantastic food will make this place your new favorite haunt.

Tags: Good for a Date, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Awesome food and even better service! Each staff member was one of the most friendly and considerate that I've encountered!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Best cocktails, best food! Was my first time and won't be my last. Excellent!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Brunch was exceptional! The rhubarb dutch baby, the bacon, the bloody mary and the benedicts were all top of class in flavors. If you haven't tried Brunswick and Hunt, you should.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Amazing food, service and the bar tender is THE BEST!

Tags: Casual, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Our waiter was knowledgeable to the nth degree. We had an amazing meal and I had a white Bordeaux that was to die for. Highly recommend!!

Tags: People Watching, Organic, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Very friendly. Quality food locally sourced. We had a great time. We live near by and have made this one of our neighborhood favorites. Good happy hour and small plate options.

Tags: Special Occasion, Historic, Good for a Date, Casual, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 23, 2017

A and I eat here frequently for Sunday brunch, delish! But it's a popular place so reservations are recommended.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Amazing staff, amazing food, great ambiance! Went for a girls dinner to celebrate a birthday and the staff was great. Been there twice and always had the server pick my food for me and it's always amazing. Great cocktail options too!

Tags: Great Beer, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Organic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 23, 2017

To begin with, there is a great story behind the name. You'll have to read about it on the main menu. It is a little off the beaten path. There is a huge front window letting in plenty of light. It is very spacious and comfortable... kind of a rustic chic. They have excellent cocktails along with an extensive bourbon list. The menu is small yet there is a lot to choose from. My wife had the fried chicken... excellent if a little herbaceous. I had the smoked pork short rib with pork belly, creamy polenta and a jalapeño relish/gremolata. Each component was excellent and together it was unbelievable!!! Excellent service from very knowledgeable and passionate staff.

Tags: Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Open Kitchen, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Everything was very good - food, service, atmosphere, but pricey for what it was. Dinner for two with tax and tip landed at $130 - 1 drink each, four sides, 1 entree, and one coffee. Should have been under $100 for a good neighborhood place, I think.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Food was amazing!! Cocktails missed the mark. Warm French 75. They made a 2nd one. Still off.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 20, 2017

a recommendation by a friend. Very relaxed, great food and a wonderful bourbon list with a knowledgeable bartender

Tags: Authentic, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 20, 2017

I can't stop thinking about what a great experience we had here, as well as reasons I need to return as soon as possible. What a great charcuterie plate! And definitely the best beet salad ever.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 16, 2017

This was the perfect place to introduce my
Family to by boyfriend's parents! The fun staff made every moment super enjoyable & the intimacy of the venue was also perfect!

Tags: Authentic, Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We had wonderful service, all our questions were answered. Everyone made sure that we were well taken care of.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Family Style, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 16, 2017

The food was splendid, the drinks were refined, but what made this place stand out in my mind was the service. Our server was a class above the rest and made a night out with friends even more memorable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We were thrilled with our first dining experience at Brunswick & Hunt. The space is really cool, with a huge wooden bar and even bigger painting that were over 100 years old (history explained on the menu). Our waiter was great, checking in as needed, funny and made great recommendations. The food was equally as good - we loved each of the dishes! I think we've found our new date night spot...can't wait to come back!

Tags: Historic, Comfort Food, Open Kitchen, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 15, 2017

We had a fun and flawless meal; this is a restaurant that knows what it wants to be and executes well. The menu is focused and the entrees were a good mix of creative and accessible.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Don't let the location fool you - this place has A+ food, A+ service and A+ ambiance.

We go there whenever we can find an excuse.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 9, 2017

The Ambiance Asbury knife hand long. The restaurant was very clean and well maintained. The food was very fresh and you could tell it was very local as well. Their service was very good, or wait it was very friendly

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 9, 2017

It was a nice place to have brunch and catch up with friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 9, 2017

I made a reservation for my husband's birthday a week in advance. I asked them to make it special. They gave us a nice table but did nothing for my husband. The service was slow and the food was ok.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 8, 2017

My husband and I had gone to the bar a couple times and had their meat and cheese platter which is extraordinary. But dinner was not at same par. We had lamb, halibut and a burger and all three were good but not great- lamb was tough; they got slammed and service got a bit weak. It was my bday which I noted on my reservation- no acknowledgement. So we will stick to the bar in the future- the bartenders are superb!

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Excellent food, environment, service! We had the lamb leg and carrots. Wow! Incredible flavors. Drinks were creative and delicious. The service was incredible (we especially liked our visit with server Avery). Neighborhood geM for sure. We'll be back many more times. Thank you for a great night out!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 2, 2017

This was the best dining experience I have had to date (7 years) in Seattle. There are a number of other excellent places to eat. This stood out because every dish was exceptionally well-prepared.

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Went for the second time and the amazing server remembered our names! It is delicious and such a welcoming environment.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Another excellent dinner. Great food, an unhurried atmosphere and excellent service. It was our second time and we were welcomed back like old friends. We will most definitely return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 29, 2017

As always the food, drinks, and service was superb!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 26, 2017

First time. It was amazing on all accounts.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 25, 2017

I really enjoyed this restaurant for breakfast. Interesting and unique choices, and pretty much everything offered is made in house, which I love. I was not a fan of the coffee, although I love the french press presentation. The potatoes were WAY overcooked, tasting burnt. Aside from the coffee and potatoes, I loved the food. I highly recommend smearing the apple butter on the toast, then topping with the spicy sausage patty and drippy egg - heaven! I will definitely be back and will bring friends.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Cozy, Good for a Date, Quick Bite, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Historic, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Afternoon Coffee, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Open Kitchen, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 19, 2017

I love this neighborhood spot - the nicest people work there and the food is always delicious! Dinners are spectacular and the Sunday brunch was awesome. The bacon is prepared perfectly - yum!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 19, 2017

What a fabulous neighborhood find. Everything was great from the friendliness of the staff to the freshness of the food. What a wonderful farm to table restaurant. I will definitely be back.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 18, 2017

The atmosphere is warm and inviting, including the exceptional wait staff who are over the top knowledgeable about the menu, preparation, and any recommendations you may be looking for.

They grind their own burger and cure their own bacon for one of the best hamburgers I've ever eaten, and then top it off with local Beecher's cheese...delish!

Haven't had a bad dish yet. They're well known for their chicken and their variety of smoked meats, but I can't seem to stay away from that burger!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Late-night Find, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 12, 2017

We had Avery as our server. He was so knowledgeable and pleasant. The menu had a variety of options that all sounded good. We had the charcuterie platter, crab salad, and the black cod. All were outstanding.

Tags: Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 12, 2017

We were so glad we found Brunswick & Hunt! It is perfect for a date night or a small group. We would definitely recommend reservations, especially on the weekend. The restaurant is fairly small but has a wonderful ambiance. The décor is very rustic and different from other restaurants in the area. The service was fantastic and we received a great overview of the menu and were thankful for the recommendations we were given as everything looked amazing! If you are looking for upscale comfort food, Brunswick & Hunt is for you! We were not disappointed with our choices - both food and drink. The cornbread is not to be missed and our pork dish was delicious and was enough to be shared along with a few vegetable dishes. We truly enjoyed our experience here and will definitely be back for the fried chicken (a staple on the menu while some of the other items are swapped out with the season)!

Tags: Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Open Kitchen, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Awesome brunch. A little louder and more energetic compared to dinners here. The steak and eggs were great, the pork Benedict was awesome, all washed down by well-balanced cocktails with some exotic ingredients and a French press coffee.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 4, 2017

My daughter and I had a fabulous meal at Brunswick. Our server, Avery, was outstanding. We will return soon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Delicious food. Dutch baby was good, especially with the duck confit, just ask for it. Watch out for chipped glassware, prompt replacement of drink tho. Noisy, but fun. Definitely make a reservation as they get busy, especially if you're over 4 people.

Tags: Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Sunday Lunch, Local Ingredients, Open Kitchen, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.