About Brunch

644 North Orleans
Chicago, IL 60654
View Larger Map

BRUNCH restaurant is your favorite breakfast and lunch spot. Nestled in River North we serve up delectable such as S'mores French Toast, California Club, Red Velvet Pancakes and an array of Skillets. Proudly serving Intellegentsia Coffee our Baristas whip up your favorite coffee drinks. Juices are fresh squeezed daily. Enjoy counter seating or anyone of our comfortable booths or tables. A friendly server will be right over to make your Brunch as enjoyable as possible.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:

Breakfast, Brunch & Lunch: Monday - Friday: 7:00am-3:00pm, Saturday & Sunday: 8:00am - 4:00pm

Cross Street:
Erie

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(312) 265-1411

Website:
http://www.brunchit.com/

Public Transit:
Chicago Brown Line

Private Party Facilities:
10 person board room with full Audio Video capabilities linked to 52" flat screen.

Private Party Contact:
Steven Zabel: 3122651411

Additional:
Counter Seating, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Weekend Brunch

Brunch Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.1

ambience

4

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Brunch
Chicago / Illinois
Great for Brunch
Chicago
Best Restaurants in River North (Chicago) ›

great for brunch (53)
good for groups (29)
fit for foodies (19)
See All
neighborhood gem (18)
kid-friendly (16)
great for lunch (14)
hot spot (7)
special occasion (3)
vibrant bar scene (1)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
210 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I always enjoy this place. Love the scen ...

Dined 5 days ago

I always enjoy this place. Love the scene, staff is friendly and the food is good. I took my 20 year old daughter for brunch and she had a great time.........ate all her food.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5

We got the breakfast sliders (bacon and ...

Dined 5 days ago

We got the breakfast sliders (bacon and carnitas) and the donut french toast. Both were DELICIOUS!

food4
ambience3
service4
value4

We ordered samplers, sides, and one entr ...

Dined 5 days ago

We ordered samplers, sides, and one entree to share. The S'mores French toast was a treat!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

Terrible spot for brunch. Service was te ...

vip
Dined on June 19, 2016

Terrible spot for brunch. Service was terrible...it took me asking a host for a server to actually come to the table. Air was clearly broken but all the "sweating servers" were telling us nothing was wrong. Food was fair. A billion better options in the city. Even McDonalds would've been preferred.

food5
ambience3
service5
value5

It was unusually hot in the restaurant t ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

It was unusually hot in the restaurant this day. I am not sure if their Air was out, or they hadn't turned it on yet, or they just didn't have air? But it made it so uncomfortable I wasn't able to eat my whole meal.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Unfortunately, the experience was not wh ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Unfortunately, the experience was not what I expected it to be. I took my parents there for Father's Day Brunch after hearing great things about the restaurant. We arrived for our 9:00am reservation to find the AC was "apparently" on full-blast and it was still about 85-90 degrees at any point in the restaurant. I complained to both our server and the host and the manager never came over, we were never asked if we wanted to relocate. My father sweat through his shirt and no apologies were ever made other than the AC was turned on. 1 - this was completely unacceptable 2- I would recommend investing in the blinds for the windows especially if this is a regular occurrence. Unfortunately, I will not be returning, nor recommending this in the future.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Very nice selection of both breakfast an ...

vip
Dined on June 16, 2016

Very nice selection of both breakfast and lunch foods. We both loved our meals-- the veggie skillet for me and the French omelet for my husband. We would return to this venue.

Tags: great for brunch
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

Let down

Dined on May 30, 2016

I would not recommend this to anyone I know. I heard about Brunch because they made the top 100 brunch places in America on an ad I recently saw, so I was very excited to try this place. We had a reservation for Memorial Day, checked in a few minutes early, and about 20 minutes later I went up to the counter and asked how much longer. The hostess apologized and said the table is ready. Naturally I can assume that by her apologizing and immediately seating us meant that we were forgotten. Our waiter was extremely unfriendly and looked stressed out. He barely spoke a word and used a lot of eye rolling and hand gestures - including snapping his fingers at me - yes, I'm serious. At first we ordered water and iced coffee. After seeing him run around for 10 minutes he strolled by our table, rolled his eyes, and goes "ugh, sorry". Then brought us water. The whole experience got off to a bad start and I was truly disappointed for such a highly rated restaurant. The food was just okay. I'm an advocate for the best benedict and this was nothing special. The restaurant itself is nice, but for all the amazing brunch places I've visited in Chicago this was a huge let down. They really need to step it up. I can only say that I hope our visit was some sort of fluke and they do not treat this as standard.

food4
ambience5
service4

Lively and upbeat, Brunch has a great me ...

vip
Dined on May 29, 2016

Lively and upbeat, Brunch has a great menu and friendly staff. I'll be back again and again!

food5
ambience4
service5

The Brunch Nachos were delicious!

Dined on May 28, 2016

The Brunch Nachos were delicious!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Cinnamon Roll to die for

Dined on May 28, 2016

Generous portions and delicious food. Great skillets and omelettes. You must start with the cinnamon roll appetizer to have the full Brunch experience. Will definitely return on my next visit to Chicago.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The restaurant had great ambiance and ex ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

The restaurant had great ambiance and excellent food.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

Nice brunch spot, lots of entree options.

Dined on May 15, 2016

Our group appreciated the fact that we could make a reservation on a Sunday morning, as walk-ins seem to be more common for downtown Chicago. The place is spacious, the coffee delicious, and the entrees solid. The waitress was pleasant, but a bit neglectful as far as drink refreshing, both water and coffee. The lattes were a bit small for the price, but we were out-of-towners, so maybe it was the norm?

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Great for big groups! The stuffed French ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Great for big groups! The stuffed French toast bites are AMAZING! Just enough sweetness as a appitzer for a big group - our waiter suggested we get two plates and he was right because you only get around 6 pieces. Half our group got the plain eggs Benedict's - I like the holladaise sauce from the salmon benedicts better though which is the reason for the 4 stars. You definitely get a large portion so you are getting what you pay for! Overall, great experience, service and would definitely recommend!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome

Dined on May 10, 2016

loved everything about our experience, food was amazing, staff was friendly and helpful, and the atmosphere was amazing. would absolutely recommend and will dine again

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Very kid friendly

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

This place is great...wonderful food....large menu...great service. I took my family here for Mother's Day brunch. They offered a few mimosa to all the mothers at the table (even this fur mama). They brought the food out quick so the kids weren't kept waiting. We plan to go back because there is just so much on the menu that we want to try. We started with some sweets (cinnamon roll and French toast bits). Both were plenty to share with the whole table. We then went with savory dishes for our actual meals. We had enough food to make another serving for the next day (and yes, the skillets warm up well as leftovers). Lots to try so looking forward to going back.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Brunch at Brunch

Dined on April 23, 2016

This was our first time at Brunch. Loved the atmosphere-very lively and fun! Great to see young families, a bachelor group, a mom's playdate group as well as couples and friends such as ourselves. Will be back again!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service2

Good was good, but a little overly sweet ...

Dined on April 23, 2016

Good was good, but a little overly sweet. Service was actually pretty bad. After delivering my latte, the server did not return to take our food order for almost 20 minutes. And after she dropped off our food, we never saw her again. We had to flag another server to bring our check.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Brunch Place

Dined on April 16, 2016

Came for brunch with a group of friends, food and drinks were excellent. The staff was super awesome and amazing!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5

We had a great time eating really good f ...

Dined on April 16, 2016

We had a great time eating really good food. Service was excellent. Portions were pretty large for brunch but not too much to warrant leftovers. Oh wait, it was so good we couldn't stop eating!!! Definately will be back.

food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Bunch review

vip
Dined on April 10, 2016

Honestly, the food is just subpar - I try to make this work since it is so close to our condo and great spot for brunch. Each time we come back I say, this visit will be better. However, unfortunately we will not be going back. My husband's Chilaquiles were just chips with sauce poured/saturated on top. The dish honestly was mush. he asked for his eggs basted – they were completely cooked through and hard. The poached eggs on top of my Benedict were completely cooked through, there was zero sign of a poached egg. It's a shame because this would be such a great spot for us to walk to but I cannot keep going back and get food that is just churned out of kitchen to keep the long lines moving.

food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Great Brunch place

vip
Dined on April 10, 2016

Liked the Sunday morning atmosphere. Like the building and the large wooden beams. Variety of different breakfast fare. Would go back, for sure.

Tags: great for brunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Birthday Brunch

Dined on April 3, 2016

8 of us went to celebrate a friends Birthday and the service was great and the food was wonderful. Would go back anytime and recommend it to everyone.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Perfect for Brunch.

Dined on April 3, 2016

The food was amazing, the wait staff was awesome and they are so accommodating with allergies and specific diets. The wait staff knew every ingredient. Definitely one of the less pretentious of the Chicago brunch places which is a definite plus.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

The staff is very courteous and accommod ...

Dined on March 27, 2016

The staff is very courteous and accommodating. The food is very good.

food4
ambience5
service5

Red velvet pancake is great! Very sweet ...

Dined on March 27, 2016

Red velvet pancake is great! Very sweet waitress

food3
ambience3
service1

Service was horrible it took over 2hours ...

vip
Dined on March 26, 2016

Service was horrible it took over 2hours for us to get our food. The server was never around and it took her 45mins to take out order and that was after flagging her down. She really seemed like she wasn't well equipped to be serving multiple tables as she seemed very overwhelmed and was not attentive at all.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food at Brunch

Dined on February 27, 2016

I went to Brunch with a friend, and we truly enjoyed the food. We had the donut french toast which was amazing! We also shared an omelet with spinach, aged cheddar, chicken sausage, red peppers. It was extremely good. I cannot wait to return to Brunch.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5

The food is excellent and interesting! I ...

vip
Dined on February 21, 2016

The food is excellent and interesting! I always make myself try a new item on the menu every time because they all sound so good :)

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fun place in my husband's "old hood"!

Dined on February 20, 2016

Loved the fact that our food arrived in a very timely manner despite the fact that the place was HOPPIN'!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great brunch!

vip
Dined on February 14, 2016

From our server to the food, and delicious mimosas, we had a wonderful time at Brunch. I would highly recommend it to anyone that like a good meal and friendly staff!!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

saturday fun

vip
Dined on February 13, 2016

this was my 1st time here and i'll definitely go back! I was a little bummed that their mimosas were a little pricey, but the good food & variety made it okay.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service3

We started with a fresh baked cinnamon r ...

Dined on February 13, 2016

We started with a fresh baked cinnamon roll and French toast bites - both were delicious! I ordered a Belgian waffle with fresh fruit and it was delicious. I also tried the chocolate chip pancakes, blueberry pancakes and red velvet pancakes. All were amazing and I would highly recommend!

food5
ambience4
service5

Pleasantly surprised

Dined on January 31, 2016

Pleasantly surprised

food3
ambience3
service3

Food was decent and service was OK

vip
Dined on January 30, 2016

Food was decent and service was OK

food4
ambience5
service5
value5

it was a great didn't know what to expect.

Dined on January 26, 2016

I would probably use it as a good work and eat space

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent find on Google search. Great ...

Dined on January 10, 2016

Excellent find on Google search. Great menu, fantastic service, delicious Bloody Mary. Booked our table the night before online so no waiting for our table.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience3
service3

The S'mores French Toast was unbelievabl ...

Dined on December 29, 2015

The S'mores French Toast was unbelievably delicious. It's a must try!

food1
ambience2
service1

Food was cold, came out at all different ...

Dined on December 26, 2015

Food was cold, came out at all different times widely spaced out, with the toddlers food arriving last very late. Service was horrible.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

There were so many great food choices!

Dined on December 26, 2015

Awesome service, delicious food and great vibe....it is so nice to be able to make reservations on Open Table!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.