About Brunch

644 North Orleans
Chicago, IL 60654
View Larger Map

BRUNCH restaurant is your favorite breakfast and lunch spot. Nestled in River North we serve up delectable such as S'mores French Toast, California Club, Red Velvet Pancakes and an array of Skillets. Proudly serving Intellegentsia Coffee our Baristas whip up your favorite coffee drinks. Juices are fresh squeezed daily. Enjoy counter seating or anyone of our comfortable booths or tables. A friendly server will be right over to make your Brunch as enjoyable as possible.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:

Breakfast, Brunch & Lunch: Monday - Friday: 7:00am-3:00pm, Saturday & Sunday: 8:00am - 4:00pm

Cross Street:
Erie

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(312) 265-1411

Website:
http://www.brunchit.com/

Public Transit:
Chicago Brown Line

Private Party Facilities:
10 person board room with full Audio Video capabilities linked to 52" flat screen.

Private Party Contact:
Steven Zabel: 3122651411

Additional:
Counter Seating, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Weekend Brunch

Brunch Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.1

ambience

3.9

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Brunch
Chicago / Illinois
Great for Brunch
Chicago
Best Restaurants in River North (Chicago) ›

Great for Brunch (37)
Neighborhood Gem (17)
Good for Groups (16)
See All
Great for Lunch (12)
Fit for Foodies (10)
Kid-friendly (9)
Hot Spot (5)
Special Occasion (4)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Casual (3)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Good for a Date (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
People Watching (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Scenic View (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Family Style (1)
Fun (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Sort By:
Newest
239 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The food and wait service was excellent ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

The food and wait service was excellent but I cannot say the same for the host staff. We were five old friends reuniting to see a friend who recently lost his leg. We picked the spot because of its elevator for wheelchair access. Unfortunately the host treated the use of the elevator like an unnecessary intrusion. As we were leaving, we asked the host if she would take a quick picture of our group (It was not particularly busy at the time). She responded by saying that she would charge three dollars. I waited a moment to see the smile indicating that she was just kidding, but it never came. Despite the really great food, I won't be back.

Tags: Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value4

We met family for brunch and the food, ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

We met family for brunch and the food, service and atmosphere were wonderful.

Tags: Fun, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

To be clear, I did not have brunch. My p ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

To be clear, I did not have brunch. My partner and I walked out before we were served.

The reservations process was a breeze - after all, this *is* Opentable.

We arrived a few minutes late for an 11:30a reservation. As I approached the host stand the hostess told everyone to "just get back" we need "to clear the waitlist". I gave the host my name and stepped to the side. At 1136 I received a txt acknowledging my arrival and saying my table was ready.

They then started to seat guests - a few who arrived ahead of us, some who arrived after us. At 11:55 I asked if we were any closer to being seated. The hostess saw that we had been skipped and took us to a table. This would have completely rectified the situation if a) the table had not been one of multiple tables sitting visibly available since we arrived and b) anyone had shown up to actually wait on us. At 12:15p a server finally came with water. I looked at my partner and we decided to move on.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Food was good and fast, staff was warm a ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

Food was good and fast, staff was warm and friendly. We had the Chi Town skillet, biscuits and gravy, and crispy muffin tops. So good paired with Intelligentsia coffee.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We are from STL and this is our second y ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

We are from STL and this is our second year coming down for Labor Day to have breakfast! We love this location. Always a great time!

Tags: Family Style, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Cute place for brunch! It was awesome th ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Cute place for brunch! It was awesome that they take reservations! Great food and service. They managed to put interesting combinations together and it worked well! Something for every taste. The space was small so tables were packed in to maximize seating, other than that no complaints.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Love the food and service as usual. The ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Love the food and service as usual. The general manager Adam is very friendly and ensure diners are having a great experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

As always we had a wonderful experience! ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

As always we had a wonderful experience! Our food was amazing and the service was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food! Terrible service. As long as ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Great food! Terrible service. As long as you aren't in a jury, great brunch place

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1

We really love it here - it's our go-to ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

We really love it here - it's our go-to spot. During our latest visit, Josh, came to our table to clear our dishes (he normally manages the bar) just to say hi to our friends and us. The food is always very good/satisfying, at a reasonable price. Staff is very friendly (esp. Josh) and welcoming, and the whole restaurant is well-lit with sunlights.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Good place for a meal if furniture shopp ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

Good place for a meal if furniture shopping the River North area. Menu offers wraps & sandwiches that can be take-out and is located a 5min walk to the river and Montgomery Ward Park.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Cool, local spot. Clean, modern, comfort ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

Cool, local spot. Clean, modern, comfortable. Tasty, well presented food in generous portions. Excellent mimosas.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I love this place. Always feel welcome, ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

I love this place. Always feel welcome, too, based on staff's wonderful demeanor.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was ok...it's your typical brea ...

 
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

The food was ok...it's your typical breakfast.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3

Everything was super delicious!

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Everything was super delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Our server was great. Our appetizer ca ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Our server was great. Our appetizer came after our entrees so the manager comped it which was a nice gesture. The mimosas contained freshly squeezed orange juice which was a nice touch and the reason our bill was so high (we had several). The prices were very reasonable and the quantities are generous.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

They should be more respectful of reserv ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

They should be more respectful of reservations. I use Open Table to ensure that my party will be seated on time. Brunch was packed and they couldn't get a clear table for our party. On weekends when they know there will be lots of people, they should be more realistic about scheduling reservations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3

This place was good, but nothing special ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

This place was good, but nothing special. We ordered a cinnamon roll to start - it's huge and came out in a skillet, but was stone cold. Only the icing was warm (like they heated it up and poured it over). It was also slightly stale.

I ordered the smoked salmon Benedict and my fiancé got the breakfast burrito. Also, nothing to write home about. Good, but could get it anywhere.

Overall, I didn't feel like I got value out of our $40+ tab, especially considering we didn't order any alcohol. Two breakfasts and coffees shouldn't cost that much, especially when it was all completely mediocre.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

Great brunch spot! Need reservations to ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Great brunch spot! Need reservations to get a table right a way.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Great breakfast place! Not much you can ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Great breakfast place! Not much you can do to ruin breakfast so you have to be creative to be different . The skillet dishes and the flavor of the food was noteworthy. Good, delicious breads and pastries

Friendly, efficient service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Food was fine and the restaurant was ver ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Food was fine and the restaurant was very busy. Service was polite, but very slow. I would recommend making reservations if you plan on Sunday brunch. Wait times could reach an hour.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

The food was amazing. We had some proble ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

The food was amazing. We had some problems but the manager, Adam, made things right. We will be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The skillets are Amazing and don't forge ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

The skillets are Amazing and don't forget to order the nachos

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

We were looking for a typical american s ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

We were looking for a typical american sunday breakfast.

It was a bit under expectation

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Absolutely delicious! I recommend the sk ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Absolutely delicious! I recommend the skillets and the regular & donut french toasts- they are wonderful. We will be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Very friendly staff and wonderful select ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Very friendly staff and wonderful selection of brunch/lunch foods

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Fantastic Brunch!!!!

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Fantastic Brunch!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food is always great & lets not forget t ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Food is always great & lets not forget the great mimosas they have . The only part I was not so happy with is not being able to change the mini pancakes for the donut French toast .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

I always enjoy this place. Love the scen ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

I always enjoy this place. Love the scene, staff is friendly and the food is good. I took my 20 year old daughter for brunch and she had a great time.........ate all her food.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We got the breakfast sliders (bacon and ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

We got the breakfast sliders (bacon and carnitas) and the donut french toast. Both were DELICIOUS!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We ordered samplers, sides, and one entr ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

We ordered samplers, sides, and one entree to share. The S'mores French toast was a treat!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Terrible spot for brunch. Service was te ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Terrible spot for brunch. Service was terrible...it took me asking a host for a server to actually come to the table. Air was clearly broken but all the "sweating servers" were telling us nothing was wrong. Food was fair. A billion better options in the city. Even McDonalds would've been preferred.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

It was unusually hot in the restaurant t ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

It was unusually hot in the restaurant this day. I am not sure if their Air was out, or they hadn't turned it on yet, or they just didn't have air? But it made it so uncomfortable I wasn't able to eat my whole meal.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Unfortunately, the experience was not wh ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Unfortunately, the experience was not what I expected it to be. I took my parents there for Father's Day Brunch after hearing great things about the restaurant. We arrived for our 9:00am reservation to find the AC was "apparently" on full-blast and it was still about 85-90 degrees at any point in the restaurant. I complained to both our server and the host and the manager never came over, we were never asked if we wanted to relocate. My father sweat through his shirt and no apologies were ever made other than the AC was turned on.

1 - this was completely unacceptable

2- I would recommend investing in the blinds for the windows especially if this is a regular occurrence.

Unfortunately, I will not be returning, nor recommending this in the future.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Very nice selection of both breakfast an ...

vip
 (Charleston)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

Very nice selection of both breakfast and lunch foods. We both loved our meals-- the veggie skillet for me and the French omelet for my husband. We would return to this venue.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Let down

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

I would not recommend this to anyone I know. I heard about Brunch because they made the top 100 brunch places in America on an ad I recently saw, so I was very excited to try this place. We had a reservation for Memorial Day, checked in a few minutes early, and about 20 minutes later I went up to the counter and asked how much longer. The hostess apologized and said the table is ready. Naturally I can assume that by her apologizing and immediately seating us meant that we were forgotten. Our waiter was extremely unfriendly and looked stressed out. He barely spoke a word and used a lot of eye rolling and hand gestures - including snapping his fingers at me - yes, I'm serious. At first we ordered water and iced coffee. After seeing him run around for 10 minutes he strolled by our table, rolled his eyes, and goes "ugh, sorry". Then brought us water. The whole experience got off to a bad start and I was truly disappointed for such a highly rated restaurant. The food was just okay. I'm an advocate for the best benedict and this was nothing special. The restaurant itself is nice, but for all the amazing brunch places I've visited in Chicago this was a huge let down. They really need to step it up. I can only say that I hope our visit was some sort of fluke and they do not treat this as standard.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

Lively and upbeat, Brunch has a great me ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Lively and upbeat, Brunch has a great menu and friendly staff. I'll be back again and again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

The Brunch Nachos were delicious!

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

The Brunch Nachos were delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Cinnamon Roll to die for

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Generous portions and delicious food. Great skillets and omelettes. You must start with the cinnamon roll appetizer to have the full Brunch experience. Will definitely return on my next visit to Chicago.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The restaurant had great ambiance and ex ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

The restaurant had great ambiance and excellent food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.