Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.82mi
  2. Distance: 3.64mi
  3. Distance: 6.42mi
  4. Distance: 8.78mi
  1. Distance: 0.82mi
  2. Distance: 3.64mi
  3. Distance: 6.42mi
  4. Distance: 8.78mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.82mi
  2. Distance: 3.64mi
  3. Distance: 6.42mi
  4. Distance: 8.78mi
  1. Distance: 0.82mi
  2. Distance: 3.64mi
  3. Distance: 6.42mi
  4. Distance: 8.78mi

About Bruce Wine Bar


Don’t let the name fool you, this unique eatery boasts more than just a wine list distinguished by a Wine Spectator award.
Designated a Feast Ontario restaurant for its’ commitment to sustainable and organic regional fare, Bruce also serves up the best wood-fired Neapolitan style pizza north of the GTA. Add an impressive roster of independent Canadian musicians playing Fridays and you’ve got the vibe!
A funky eclectic design houses 25 cozy seats surrounding the open kitchen and another 40 in a loft-inspired space which includes a communal harvest table.
Once a tiny wine bar serving small plates three nights/week, Bruce has come into its’ own as a full-scale restaurant offering seasonally focused lunch, dinner and take-away menus daily, as well as catering for private parties and large events.
Feed your curiosity!

The Kitchen serves up lunch and dinner Tuesday to Saturday

8 Bruce Street
Thornbury, ON N0H 2P0
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Canadian, Comfort Food, Pizzeria

Hours of Operation:
Open Tuesday through Thursday 11:30-9:00
Friday and Saturday 11:30AM- Close
Live music Friday nights
2$ Corkage Tuesdays
Open Mic Wednesdays

Our ENTRANCE is in the alley behind the TD Bank in Thornbury

Cross Street:
Arthur St West

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(519) 599-1112

Website:
http://brucewinebar.ca/

Entertainment:
On Friday there are two dinner show and 7 and 9pm featuring up and coming canadian artists..sometimes it can be a little loud!
On Wednesday night we host an open mic from 8-10pm. featuring singer songwriters and poets

Catering:
Bruce caters all types of functions from family gatherings to weddings. please contact us to discuss.

Parking Details:
During the day we would request that you park across the street in the public parking area. In the evening feel free to use the parking at the restaurant

Public Transit:
Small town
Behind the TD Bank in Thornbury
Public Parking available across the Street at the Thornbury Post Office

Executive Chef:
Shaun J Edmonstone

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Dancing, Entertainment, Full Bar, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
$2 Corkage every Tuesday Night (*applies only to 750ml bottle+ $15 min food charge per person)
Open Mic Wednesday Nights
Every Friday night Live music *( cover charge may apply)

Specials

$2 Corkage Fee

Tuesdays from 11:30 AM - 9:00 PM

Specials

$2 Corkage Fee

Tuesdays from 11:30 AM - 9:00 PM

Details

Enjoy $2 corkage on any 750mL bottle that you bring. Excludes Tax and Tip. We only open 750mL bottles and a $15 per person food minimum is required. Special valid Dec 6, 2016 - Apr 6, 2017 on Tuesdays from 11:30 AM - 9:00 PM.

Bruce Wine Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Cozy (25)
Good for a Date (22)
Local Ingredients (18)
See All
Wood Oven (17)
Casual (16)
Romantic (14)
Notable Wine List (14)
Fit for Foodies (14)
Open Kitchen (14)
Neighborhood Gem (14)
Fun (13)
Good for Anniversaries (13)
Live Music (13)
Special Occasion (13)
Authentic (12)
Hot Spot (12)
Creative Cuisine (12)
Worth the Drive (10)
Healthy (9)
Seasonal (9)
Great for Lunch (8)
Comfort Food (8)
Good for Groups (8)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Business Meals (6)
Great Beer (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Organic (4)
People Watching (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Tapas (2)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Fireplace (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Waterfront (1)
Historic (1)
Sort By:
S
193 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined 6 days ago

The pork belly dish was delicious as usual! The pizza special with coriander topping was amazing!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Fun, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined 7 days ago

Simply the best!!! We go to this restaurant at least 20 times a year and it NEVER disappoints. Don't change a thing!!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Cozy, Special Occasion, Fun, Casual, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 9, 2017

awesome as always !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 4, 2017

We were very impressed! We had the fish special and the vegetarian dish of date curried lentils. So delicious!
The fire wood oven pizzas smelt delicious.
Can not wait to go back.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Excellent appetizers and main course....polite, friendly and efficient server.
Desserts were substandard....you can do better! We really enjoyed the music - will definitely return...cool ambiance.

Tags: Casual, Romantic, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Excellent - as always. Bruce's never disappoints. It's not just the consistent quality of the food, the service is helpful without being pushy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 2, 2017

The Food continues to be exceptional. The staff are very knowledgable with regards to food and drink! If you go don't forget to buy the kitchen a round. Awesome and can't wait to go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 24, 2017

We loved the ambiance in the loft and sitting at the community table was fantastic, we met some wonderful people. The food was delicious; I had the pickerel and my husband the wood oven pizza....FANTASTIC! The entertainment was good too. All in all, a great place!

Tags: Late-night Find, Seasonal, Fun, Hot Spot, Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 24, 2017

This place was recommended to me and it didn't disappoint. They were very accommodating to my reservation changes. The food was delicious. Live band was enjoyable. Atmosphere was just what I was looking for. We will definitely return.

Tags: Healthy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 18, 2017

always a treat to go to the bruce the wine list is fantastic, which leads into fantastic food

Tags: Open Kitchen, Notable Wine List, Waterfront, Fun, Casual, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 14, 2017

It was a wonderful, intimate dining experience especially for Valentine's Day! The pickerel was amazing! The overall experience was excellent!!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Food was amazing! Had the gnocchi and the flavour was superb! My husband had short ribs and couldn't stop raving about them. Will definitely be returning!

Tags: Special Occasion, Organic, Great for Lunch, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 11, 2017

My husband and I went to the Bruce Wine Bar for a Saturday night , mid-Winter outing. The atmosphere and staff were warm and welcoming. The food was awesome. We will definitely be back to the Bruce Wine Bar!

Tags: Fun, Authentic, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 11, 2017

As usual, high quality ingredients were prepared with creativity and flair. The wine pairing was delicious too. Would definitely recommend!

Tags: Authentic, Wood Oven, Comfort Food, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 11, 2017

First time to the Bruce Wine Bar and we will definitely be back. My husband and I were looking for somewhere different to dine. The food was great, the service was good, the live music was a nice touch. It was a bit loud to have a quiet conversation but we will be returning with friends.

Tags: Casual, Cozy, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 10, 2017

A busy hot spot for live music on a Friday night! The wood fired pizza is especially delicious!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Sunday Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Wood Oven, Great for Lunch, Live Music, Local Ingredients, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Open Kitchen, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Great music and excellent food. Wine list is unusually excellent as well.

Tags: People Watching, Good for a Date, Wood Oven, Organic, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Kid-friendly, Hot Spot, Live Music, Romantic, Paleo Friendly, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Fun, Great Beer, Cozy, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Open Kitchen, Gluten Free Options, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Love this place!! Definitely a good choice for food and wine in the Blue Mountains area.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Open Kitchen, Hot Spot, Wood Oven, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 1, 2017

The Bruce Wine Bar is an Ontario culinary gem. If you're up in the Bruce peninsula, you won't be disappointed!

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Bruce Wine Bar is our favourite place to eat in Thornbury. The service, ambiance and food are all exceptional. Just love it!

Tags: Healthy, Outstanding Value, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Live Music, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Great food and music but service was too rushed. No dessert menu offered. Brought mains while still eating salad. The service was all about turning tables. Price was not reflective of a nice paced relaxed dinner out.

Tags: Cozy, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 20, 2017

We love the food here...all 7 times. This visit however was our first time upstairs,Friday night, single guy singing with acoustic guitar. The Amplifier wa SO LOUD! it made his singing at a screech level, we could not carry a conversation,plugged our ears with fingers...its a room with 10 tables, not a massive bar!...and still no staff member offered up maybe turning down his amplifier? Made the experience almost unbearable. I told the waitress, and at the end reflected it in our tip and making us try and eat thru that racket falls under bad service.

Tags: Wood Oven, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Open Kitchen, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 6, 2017

We sat in the lower level which is where the kitchen is located. It's always fun to watch the food preparation while dining. Despite food service happening right beside us it's not loud and carrying on a conversation is easy.

Highly recommend the cheese boards. The balance of richness and flavours was wonderful. The addition of the honeycomb was a delight. The hallmark of the restaurant is the wine list and wood-fired pizzas; both are extensive. The value of the pizzas is punctuated by the brisk take-out business occurring throughout the night. There was a steady stream of orders being packaged during our entire time there. Although I didn't order this time, when I see Black Hills "Nota Bene" on the wine list I smile.

I booked for 6:30 PM as a date night with my wife. The timing was excellent as it became busier within an hour. It was our first visit there on a recommendation from a friend. We will go back again.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Live Music, Special Occasion, Healthy, Open Kitchen, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Wood Oven, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 6, 2017

We had friends up for the weekend and I knew they would love the vibe of this restaurant. The other bonus was a live band. The band was fantastic, service was perfect and the food was very tasty. Our friends said "good choice" many times. We'll be back for sure

Tags: Romantic, Outstanding Value, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Good for a Date, Cozy, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Great meal in a great restaurant. Have visited the restaurant previously and will definitely return.

Tags: Tapas, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options, Notable Wine List, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 3, 2017

We are regulars at The Bruce Wine Bar - love love love their fabulous homemade pizza and appetizers - atmosphere is warm and fun!

Tags: Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Sunday Lunch, Organic, Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal, Comfort Food, Cozy, Good for a Date, Open Kitchen, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Live Music, Local Ingredients, Wood Oven, Good Vegetarian Options, Great Beer, Casual, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Very enjoyable and accommodating for our group of 8.

Tags: Healthy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We enjoyed a New Year's Eve dinner at Bruce's and it was a great experience. Delicious food, attentive service and overall a great night.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 30, 2016

The salads are way over priced. $14 for three slices of beet, 4 pea shoots and a glob of goats cheese - c'mon!!! Should have been triple that for that price. The pizza is delicious, but pricey as well.

Tags: Romantic, Authentic, Fireplace, Good for a Date, Casual, Wood Oven, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value1

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Our dinner at Bruce Wine Bar was outstanding in all aspects. Service was excellent, the food was superb and we have nothing bad to say about the restaurant, the waiters or the food. We were really surprised to find this gem in the middle of a small town where there are not many options. Would go again for sure!

Tags: Outstanding Value, Authentic, Cozy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Food was tasty from appetizers, main to desserts.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Dinner was excellent. A lot of locally sourced foods and great variety.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 23, 2016

We love the Bruce. Never disappoints. Food and service is outstanding.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Open Kitchen, Wood Oven, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 20, 2016

We always thoroughly enjoy our trips to the Bruce Wine Bar. There was always something for us vegetarians to have although there could be a few more things to, hint hint hint.

Tags: Authentic, Casual, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Modern Decor, Live Music, Good Vegetarian Options, Fun, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value5

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Highly recommend. What's gem of a place
If you are ever visiting blue mountain. Do yourself a Favor. Leave the village and go here for dinner one night. Best food and wine selection around.

Everything we tried was excellent versions for any foodie

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Went here for my birthday and I chose it based on the amazing reviews of the food and wine and it didn't disappoint! The hot olives, albacore tuna, curried lentils and short ribs were amazing. Impressive wine and cocktails too. It was well worth the 15 minute taxi ride from the village into Thornbury and would definitely go back again. Was a large group next to us that was a little loud. Only downside to the night!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 6, 2016

Favorite spot ! Always comes through. Best pizza around.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Soft live music was great. Just the right level of sound and added to the atmosphere.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 30, 2016

Top dining experience. Excellent variety of local dishes. Flavouring is perfectly balanced.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Fun, Romantic, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Open Kitchen, Hot Spot, Authentic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 26, 2016

On a Saturday night out with friends, we visited the Bruce Wine Bar on a recommendation from an esteemed chef acquaintance. All three of us had a lovely evening. The food was delicious, the staff were super attentive and friendly. The experience of the restaurant was lovely. The ambience is very cozy, but also upbeat. I will definitely be back, and would encourage anyone to pay a visit to this restaurant.

Tags: Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Great Beer, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.