About Bruce Wine Bar

8 Bruce Street
Thornbury, ON N0H 2P0
View Larger Map


Don’t let the name fool you, this unique eatery boasts more than just a wine list distinguished by a Wine Spectator award.
Designated a Feast Ontario restaurant for its’ commitment to sustainable and organic regional fare, Bruce also serves up the best wood-fired Neapolitan style pizza north of the GTA. Add an impressive roster of independent Canadian musicians playing Fridays and you’ve got the vibe!
A funky eclectic design houses 25 cozy seats surrounding the open kitchen and another 40 in a loft-inspired space which includes a communal harvest table.
Once a tiny wine bar serving small plates three nights/week, Bruce has come into its’ own as a full-scale restaurant offering seasonally focused lunch, dinner and take-away menus daily, as well as catering for private parties and large events.
Feed your curiosity!

The Kitchen serves up lunch and dinner Tuesday to Saturday

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Canadian, Comfort Food, Pizzeria

Hours of Operation:
Open Tuesday through Thursday 11:30-9:00
Friday and Saturday 11:30AM- Close
Live music Friday nights
2$ Corkage Tuesdays
Open Mic Wednesdays

Our ENTRANCE is in the alley behind the TD Bank in Thornbury

Cross Street:
Arthur St West

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(519) 599-1112

Website:
http://brucewinebar.ca/

Entertainment:
On Friday there are two dinner show and 7 and 9pm featuring up and coming canadian artists..sometimes it can be a little loud!
On Wednesday night we host an open mic from 8-10pm. featuring singer songwriters and poets

Catering:
Bruce caters all types of functions from family gatherings to weddings. please contact us to discuss.

Parking Details:
During the day we would request that you park across the street in the public parking area. In the evening feel free to use the parking at the restaurant

Public Transit:
Small town
Behind the TD Bank in Thornbury
Public Parking available across the Street at the Thornbury Post Office

Executive Chef:
Shaun J Edmonstone

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Dancing, Entertainment, Full Bar, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
$2 Corkage every Tuesday Night (*applies only to 750ml bottle+ $15 min food charge per person)
Open Mic Wednesday Nights
Every Friday night Live music *( cover charge may apply)

Restaurant Photos

  • Beef Striploin Tartare ~ Chips ~ Pickled Onions ~ Quail Egg 18 - Bruce Wine Bar, Thornbury, ON
  • Beignets With Chocolate Sauce - Bruce Wine Bar, Thornbury, ON
  • Panacotta With Berries And Chocolate Cookie Crumbs - Bruce Wine Bar, Thornbury, ON
  • Chicken, Artichoke & Goat Cheese Pizza - Bruce Wine Bar, Thornbury, ON
Beef Striploin Tartare ~ Chips ~ Pickled Onions ~ Quail Egg 18 - Bruce Wine Bar, Thornbury, ON
Beignets With Chocolate Sauce - Bruce Wine Bar, Thornbury, ON
Panacotta With Berries And Chocolate Cookie Crumbs - Bruce Wine Bar, Thornbury, ON
Chicken, Artichoke & Goat Cheese Pizza - Bruce Wine Bar, Thornbury, ON

Specials

$2 Corkage Fee

Tuesdays from 11:30 AM - 9:00 PM

Specials

$2 Corkage Fee

Tuesdays from 11:30 AM - 9:00 PM

Details

Enjoy $2 corkage on any 750mL bottle that you bring. Excludes Tax and Tip. We only open 750mL bottles and a $15 per person food minimum is required. Special valid Dec 6, 2016 - Apr 6, 2017 on Tuesdays from 11:30 AM - 9:00 PM.

Bruce Wine Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Canadian
Toronto / Ontario
Best Overall
Simcoe County
Best Food
Simcoe County
4 More
Best Service
Simcoe County
Best Ambiance
Simcoe County
Best Value
Simcoe County
Most Booked
Simcoe County
Best Restaurants in Blue Mountain ›

Local Ingredients (25)
Fit for Foodies (24)
Neighborhood Gem (22)
See All
Wood Oven (21)
Creative Cuisine (21)
Cozy (21)
Special Occasion (21)
Live Music (20)
Good for a Date (20)
Casual (18)
Worth the Drive (17)
Notable Wine List (15)
Good for Birthdays (15)
Romantic (14)
Authentic (11)
Fun (11)
Hot Spot (11)
Good for Groups (10)
Open Kitchen (9)
Good Vegetarian Options (8)
Healthy (8)
Seasonal (7)
Good for Anniversaries (7)
Comfort Food (6)
Family Style (5)
Late-night Find (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Business Meals (3)
Organic (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Great Beer (3)
Happy Hour (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Quick Bite (1)
Private Room (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Historic (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Vegan (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Sort By:
S
157 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Favorite spot ! Always comes through. B ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 3 days ago

Favorite spot ! Always comes through. Best pizza around.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Soft live music was great. Just the righ ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 7 days ago

Soft live music was great. Just the right level of sound and added to the atmosphere.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Top dining experience. Excellent variety ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 30, 2016

Top dining experience. Excellent variety of local dishes. Flavouring is perfectly balanced.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Fun, Romantic, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Open Kitchen, Hot Spot, Authentic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

On a Saturday night out with friends, we ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 26, 2016

On a Saturday night out with friends, we visited the Bruce Wine Bar on a recommendation from an esteemed chef acquaintance. All three of us had a lovely evening. The food was delicious, the staff were super attentive and friendly. The experience of the restaurant was lovely. The ambience is very cozy, but also upbeat. I will definitely be back, and would encourage anyone to pay a visit to this restaurant.

Tags: Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Great Beer, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We are regulars. The food is creative, h ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 18, 2016

We are regulars. The food is creative, healthy, local and excellent.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Wood Oven, Gluten Free Options, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Cozy, Live Music, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

As always the Bruce Wine Bar is a perfec ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 12, 2016

As always the Bruce Wine Bar is a perfect place to eat. Quality food in a great location with polite staff. Thanks guys for the perfect evening.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Healthy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food never disappoints. I bring frie ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 1, 2016

The food never disappoints. I bring friends and family and they love it. Our friends go back after they have been with us. They have a good bartender and are knowledgeable about the wine. Recently had chorizo pizza at lunch and my husband and I will have that again. Best pizza in the Collingwood area. Gourmet!! Servers know the dishes and are helpful if you have an allergy.

Tags: Casual, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Love this restaurant. We eat here whenev ...

 
 (London)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Love this restaurant. We eat here whenever we are in Thornberry. Food is always great. I particularly love the pizza- it has the best crust! Upstairs is very lively. They often have live bands. We prefer the quieter downstairs.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Wood Oven, Open Kitchen, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Bruce was recommended among three differ ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Bruce was recommended among three different restaurants (it was at the top of the list). I really liked the menu and the vibe of the restaurant from the website, so we picked Bruce. It did not disappoint, I found it a cool, charming, warm ambience with an interesting menu. Our dishes were all delicious. I would highly recommend and go again!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Family Style, Cozy, Live Music, Healthy, Casual, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

As usual, the experience at Bruce Wine B ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 21, 2016

As usual, the experience at Bruce Wine Bar was consistent and outstanding. We have become regulars when we are in that area and highly recommend it to others to give it a try.

Cheers!

Tags: Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was a great find. Interesting menu. ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 16, 2016

This was a great find. Interesting menu. We opted for the daily special - venison. It was superbly done (medium rare) accompanied by a delicious jus and sweet potato purée. The apple dessert was also delightful, although the cheddar cheese was hardly noticeable and needed more sharpness.

Tags: Seasonal, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Special anniversary evening with friends ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Special anniversary evening with friends. Loved the food, the wine and the band was outstanding. A highlight to our 1st trip visiting the area. We will definitely be back!

Tags: Late-night Find, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Live Music, Local Ingredients, Wood Oven, Fun, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the best in our area for a casual ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 14, 2016

One of the best in our area for a casual or more formal get together.

Tags: Wood Oven, Casual, Open Kitchen, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Overall awesome experience! Love the foo ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Overall awesome experience! Love the food and the atmosphere.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Molecular Gastronomy, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Crew at Bruce Wine Bar did an excell ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 1, 2016

The Crew at Bruce Wine Bar did an excellent job once again. They never fail to amaze us with such creative and delicious food.

Tags: Special Occasion, Afternoon Tea, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Private Room, Good Vegetarian Options, Outstanding Value, Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great atmosphere, exceptional wine selec ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Great atmosphere, exceptional wine selection, and really fun band playing during dinner. Good selection of dishes for vegetarians which included ingredients that were sourced from local farms and producers (all acknowledged in the menu). The place felt like you were in someone's home enjoying a big dinner party - intimate, friendly, and casual, yet vibrant and fun - the perfect place for us to celebrate our big birthday and anniversary!

Tags: Hot Spot, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food, enjoyed the music, during din ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Good food, enjoyed the music, during dinner, fun place to dine!

Tags: Casual, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Wood Oven, Live Music, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

This is our favourite restaurant in T bu ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 27, 2016

This is our favourite restaurant in T bury!!!Best everything.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Bruce Wine bar has a great wine list ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 24, 2016

The Bruce Wine bar has a great wine list and the food was very good. The service at the restaurant was efficient and friendly and the server had a great knowledge of the area and the menu options. We were in for a late lunch (3PM) and had a pate board to start followed by pizza from their pizza menu. All the food was good. The wine I ordered turned out to be out of stock but our server recommended a substitute and it was fine. The wine list is a bit over priced but the selection is good.

Tags: Family Style, Kid-friendly, Fun, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The Bruce Wine Bar is our favourite spot ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 24, 2016

The Bruce Wine Bar is our favourite spot for dinner in Thornbury. The service, ambiance and overall experience are second to none. My husband and i both ordered the beast special which was good but not mind blowing (pork tenderloin). Everything else was 5 star.

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Wood Oven, Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Fantastic service, food and ambiance. W ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 23, 2016

Fantastic service, food and ambiance. We will absolutely be back soon!

Tags: Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Live Music, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Wood Oven, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Our server Cindy was great and so were t ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 20, 2016

Our server Cindy was great and so were the craft beers. We went on a Tuesday and it was bring your own wine so we didn't have an opportunity to try the wine offerings ($2.00 corkage..very reasonable). They use fresh, high quality ingredients including the pizza dough. They cook the Pizza at a high temperature so they don't cook the taste out of the ingredients

The only down side is that you cannot create your own pizza or change any "stock" Pizza that they have on the menu

Tags: Local Ingredients, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We have been to Bruce many times and thi ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 17, 2016

We have been to Bruce many times and this time, brought friends from the UK. We all had tasty starters, delicious pizzas and a good Niagara syrah. As always, a lovely showcase of local foods with low-key but attentive service. We sat upstairs and the room was full at 6:30. Great spot!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Wood Oven, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We always love dining at Bruce. It is t ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 11, 2016

We always love dining at Bruce. It is truly our favourite restaurant

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fun, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Seasonal, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies, Family Style, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Healthy, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Live Music, Modern Decor, Kid-friendly, Worth the Drive, Quick Bite, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Chacouterie needs to have more choice. E ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 8, 2016

Chacouterie needs to have more choice. Expensive for what you were served. But what we were served was excellent and fresh.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

I would not recommend this restaurant ba ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 1, 2016

I would not recommend this restaurant based on our recent visit. We were seated upstairs along with only a few other tables around us. We ordered the romaine lettuce appetizer, which was very close to opening a premix package sprinkled with more bacon and parmesan shavings--not very imaginative or fresh tasting. I ordered our pizza while taking my last bit of salad so relatively soon after our arrival. Shortly after that another table with 4 patrons came in which the waitress settled with water/orders and then another table between us arrived. I watched both tables receive their pizzas while we waited and waited up to 40 minutes. The waitress recognized I was not happy and I informed her of our long wait. She said our order was after the other tables and since I was facing that direction I know those patrons were not even physically present at the time of ordering. She got the hostess downstairs to come up and speak to us of which she informed us it had been 30 minutes since our order and I informed her that the time our order got into the computer was not the real time of when we ordered it and that we were basically out of wine of which we had planned to have with our pizza. She explained how busy the kitchen was for both downstairs and upstairs and I reiterated that we were the only table not served at this point. End of story was for us to just suck it up and pay our bill---no offer of restitution. News alert---the pizza was not that great and also lukewarm.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

Great Food and of course wine will retur ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 31, 2016

Great Food and of course wine will return for pizza which looked great

Tags: Good for a Date, Open Kitchen, Wood Oven, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I really like the Bruce Wine Bar - howev ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 30, 2016

I really like the Bruce Wine Bar - however this time the experience was not as good. our table was ignored, we had asked to have a special birthday dessert but by the time we got to that point we had decided to leave, no one ever acknowledged that request. Disappointing but hope it was just a blip in the service. The food was great as always.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Everything was great! The fish of the d ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 25, 2016

Everything was great! The fish of the day (Manitoulin Island trout) was absolutely superb. Our only suggestion was they could perhaps improve the dessert menu as it was a bit repetitive.

Tags: Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Organic, Live Music, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We had a enjoyable dinner with friends a ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 18, 2016

We had a enjoyable dinner with friends at Bruce Wine Bar and look forward to returning for dinner again.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We always have a great experience at you ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 14, 2016

We always have a great experience at your restaurant! We love the food, the staff and that it is in town.

The only issue we had was a larger table came in after us, they were rather high maintenance.... It's a small space and our conversations got drowned out😕.

No fault to the restaurant!

Julir

Tags: Kid-friendly, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

when in Collingwood I try for a table at ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 14, 2016

when in Collingwood I try for a table at BWB and have never been disappointed

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ecellent overall experience !

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 13, 2016

Ecellent overall experience !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing pizza and salad. Would not hesit ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 12, 2016

Amazing pizza and salad. Would not hesitate to dine here again

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Went to the Bruce Wine Bar for dinner - ...

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 9, 2016

Went to the Bruce Wine Bar for dinner - food and service were good but will probably return for lunch only as we would prefer having dinner without a lot of kids around, which has been our experience the last few times we've been at the Bruce.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Our meal was great. We enjoyed our time ...

 
 (London)·Dined on August 6, 2016

Our meal was great. We enjoyed our time there. Great service. Recommend the pizza.

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

What a treasure in thornbury on. Great f ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 30, 2016

What a treasure in thornbury on.

Great food -

i had organic chicken with a wonderful spicy salsa like sauce

My husband had the wood fired pizza

The wine selection was impressive - I had a glass of California cab. Sav.

My husband had a local craft beer

Our server wonderful - knowledgeable and personable

Next time we go will be on a friday

Live music

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Having worked for clients in Toronto, Mo ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on July 30, 2016

Having worked for clients in Toronto, Montreal, Ottawa and Vancouver I have been lucky to have dined at many fine restaurants. But for simple enjoyment in a relaxed atmosphere it is tough to beat Bruce's wine bar. My wife and I have enjoyed dining at Bruce's on several occasions and have never been disappointed.

The polenta appetizer is a favourite and we love the use of local produce in both the pizza's and main courses. Although not large the selection of by-the-glass wines are well chosen - I have particularly enjoyed the wines from Quails Gate in BC.

I would highly recommend Bruce's for an intimate dinner for two or a small group of friends.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Bruce Wine Bar is a unique dining spot w ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 30, 2016

Bruce Wine Bar is a unique dining spot with top notch entertainment on select nights weekly. The food is always great with creative combinations, with a solid wine/beer selection. Great ambience. It's always a 5 star experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always great food with a varying menu of ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 30, 2016

Always great food with a varying menu of specials. One can taste the freshness and the care the staff take to prepare local and homegrown fare. Great local beers. Steve has a love for independent musicians paired with an eclectic ambiance makes for a memorable experience every time. See you again soon!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.