Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.82mi
  2. Distance: 3.64mi
  3. Distance: 6.42mi
  4. Distance: 8.78mi
  1. Distance: 0.82mi
  2. Distance: 3.64mi
  3. Distance: 6.42mi
  4. Distance: 8.78mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.82mi
  2. Distance: 3.64mi
  3. Distance: 6.42mi
  4. Distance: 8.78mi
  1. Distance: 0.82mi
  2. Distance: 3.64mi
  3. Distance: 6.42mi
  4. Distance: 8.78mi

About Bruce Wine Bar


Don’t let the name fool you, this unique eatery boasts more than just a wine list distinguished by a Wine Spectator award.
Designated a Feast Ontario restaurant for its’ commitment to sustainable and organic regional fare, Bruce also serves up the best wood-fired Neapolitan style pizza north of the GTA. Add an impressive roster of independent Canadian musicians playing Fridays and you’ve got the vibe!
A funky eclectic design houses 25 cozy seats surrounding the open kitchen and another 40 in a loft-inspired space which includes a communal harvest table.
Once a tiny wine bar serving small plates three nights/week, Bruce has come into its’ own as a full-scale restaurant offering seasonally focused lunch, dinner and take-away menus daily, as well as catering for private parties and large events.
Feed your curiosity!

The Kitchen serves up lunch and dinner Tuesday to Saturday

8 Bruce Street
Thornbury, ON N0H 2P0
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Canadian, Comfort Food, Pizzeria

Hours of Operation:
Open Tuesday through Thursday 11:30-9:00
Friday and Saturday 11:30AM- Close
Live music Friday nights
2$ Corkage Tuesdays
Open Mic Wednesdays

Our ENTRANCE is in the alley behind the TD Bank in Thornbury

Cross Street:
Arthur St West

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(519) 599-1112

Website:
http://brucewinebar.ca/

Entertainment:
On Friday there are two dinner show and 7 and 9pm featuring up and coming canadian artists..sometimes it can be a little loud!
On Wednesday night we host an open mic from 8-10pm. featuring singer songwriters and poets

Catering:
Bruce caters all types of functions from family gatherings to weddings. please contact us to discuss.

Parking Details:
During the day we would request that you park across the street in the public parking area. In the evening feel free to use the parking at the restaurant

Public Transit:
Small town
Behind the TD Bank in Thornbury
Public Parking available across the Street at the Thornbury Post Office

Executive Chef:
Shaun J Edmonstone

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Dancing, Entertainment, Full Bar, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
$2 Corkage every Tuesday Night (*applies only to 750ml bottle+ $15 min food charge per person)
Open Mic Wednesday Nights-seat covers may apply
Every Friday night Live music *( cover charge or seat cover may apply)
Large parties Minimum food orders apply

Bruce Wine Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

99% would recommend it to a friend

Local Ingredients (60)
Cozy (53)
Creative Cuisine (52)
See All
Good for a Date (51)
Casual (50)
Neighborhood Gem (49)
Live Music (46)
Special Occasion (45)
Worth the Drive (43)
Fit for Foodies (43)
Wood Oven (42)
Notable Wine List (41)
Authentic (35)
Good for Anniversaries (31)
Good for Birthdays (29)
Fun (29)
Hot Spot (28)
Romantic (28)
Open Kitchen (25)
Healthy (24)
Good for Groups (23)
Seasonal (21)
Great for Lunch (19)
Good Vegetarian Options (18)
Comfort Food (18)
Business Meals (12)
Quiet Conversation (12)
Great Beer (11)
Tasting Menu (9)
Organic (8)
Gluten Free Options (8)
Tapas (7)
Bar Seating (7)
Happy Hour (7)
Late-night Find (7)
Kid-friendly (7)
Modern Decor (6)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Outstanding Value (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Family Style (5)
People Watching (5)
Great for Brunch (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Historic (2)
Vegan (1)
Fireplace (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Private Room (1)
Waterfront (1)
Spicy (1)
Sort By:
S
235 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 2 days ago

I will drive any distance to savour those phenomenal pizzas!

PLEASE allow those of us who dine at lunch to sit downstairs where it's cozy and thoroughly entertaining to watch food being prepared.

Upstairs is very chilly (air conditioning) and lacks the ambience of downstairs.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 5 days ago

Great wine and delicious pizza. Meal served in less than 15 mins! Very cute spot. :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined 6 days ago

One of my favorite spots in the Country. I've travelled from California to Maine and Vancouver to PEI and Bruce Wine Bar still stands tall!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 15, 2017

Excellent food, service was great I would recommend this place to anyone. More than you would expect in a small town.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 10, 2017

From start to finish the service, food and overall experience was amazing. Everything was spot on. If you are looking for a unique dining experience where the food is out of this world-the drive from wherever you are right now to Thornbury is so worth it. I can't wait to go back. PS. The pizza is WOW just WOW.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 4, 2017

Pizza was delicious. Great crust.
A little surprised that there was a 4.00 charge for a bit of arugula sprinkled on top.
Cooks wearing hats, but long beards remained uncovered.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 1, 2017

Bruce Wine Bar is my favourite Thornbury restaurant. Love the food although I admit so far I have stuck to charcuterie, Caesar and various pizzas but everything going by en route to another table always looks fabulous.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 25, 2017

Service was great, wine selection good. Food value also good. We enjoy the caesar salad.
We ordered the house pizza with mushroom, cream sauce etc really no mushrooms and very little sauce quite disappointed. Several of our friends ordered the pepperoni pizza which they really enjoyed.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 22, 2017

Amazing on every level! Food, service, drinks-all outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 20, 2017

We were recommended by others and we were not disappointed. Continue with what you are doing - winning recipe!

Tags: Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 18, 2017

Had a wonderful dinner with my wife, son and mother-in-law. My tartar was phenomenal then I had the pork rib...killer. Plating, flavour and culinary technique were the triple threat. Had a solid IPA to wash it down. We also had the Caesar salad, gnocchi and pizzas and all were very well received. Service was polite, friendly, efficient and swift. We will be back for sure. I am a very big believer in a Slow Food philosophy and they certainly nail that here. Well done!!

Tags: Comfort Food, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 18, 2017

We had never been to Bruce Street Wine Bar but have heard nothing but good reviews about the place. We made a reservation on-line. When we arrived we were seated in the middle of a communal table, some people may like this style of dining, we however do not. We politely asked if there was a different table we could sit at. Our server kindly checked for us, but unfortunately they were fully booked. We chose to leave, as it was not the sort of dining experience we wanted. I am not sure if we did not explore their website enough but it would have been nice to understand that when we made the reservation we would be seated at a communal table. We will try again, but this time we will assure ahead of time where we will be seated.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service4
value1

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Excellent food, great service. We will be back for music night.

Tags: Live Music, Casual, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Great Beer, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 13, 2017

As usual a truly amazing meal paired with the perfect wines.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 8, 2017

We go to Bruce's wine bar often and always enjoy it when we go. The only issue is the beer selection. My husband loves craft beers and of course they have a better wine selection than beer, but would make it easier to get my husband there more often.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Tapas, Casual, Special Occasion, Live Music, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 8, 2017

We ALWAYS love Bruce!! THe food , the service, the ambiance, the whole package is always fantastic. I would recommend Bruce to anyone anytime.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Casual, Business Meals, Great for Brunch, Cozy, Happy Hour, Great Beer, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on July 1, 2017

We have dined at Bruces a number of times - and enjoyed take out pizza from thete several times. And they have never disappointed. Food is uniformly excellent and manages to be innovative without falling prey to the "because we can" attitude that leads some places into bizarre and unpalatable pairings. And the service is attentive without being intrusive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Very good time

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 30, 2017

The charcuterie board, beef tartare and pork belly were delicious.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 30, 2017

This may be our new favourite place to dine near Collingwood, the food was simply delicious. Highly recommend the fish, salads and the beautiful and tasty desserts. Every dish had multiple flavours, outstanding. Nice local live music too (we were there on a Friday)!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Bruce always has great food and service. It was a disappointing experience the last visit. The live music was too loud to hear each other across the table. Just wanted to leave and go somewhere to visit.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value2

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 17, 2017

My husband and I recently dined at Bruce Wine Bar, and it was a wonderful dining experience from beginning to end! We were seated at a cozy, high top table across from the open kitchen, so it was fun to watch the team at work. They operate like a well-oiled machine! Everyone was busy, but not frenetic, real teamwork! Our server, Chelsea, was friendly and helpful, and all the staff were very welcoming and friendly! The food was excellent! We shared the polenta/jalapeno bites for an appetizer - so yummy! They were crispy, piping hot, well-seasoned, and pillowy soft inside. The parsley dip was lovely! I had the shortribs for my entree, and it was the best I've ever had; truly 'fall off the bone'! The side accompaniments of veggies were perfectly cooked and matched to the dish. My husband had the 'special' pizza, and it was outstanding! The crust was thin, chewy, and the bolognese beef chunky, and again, everything well-seasoned! We had no room for dessert, but we absolutely loved our meal, and plan to return the next time we're in Thornbury!

Tags: Comfort Food, Seasonal, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 10, 2017

We have dined many times at Bruce Wine Bar; it is our favourite in Thornbury. We love the intimate atmosphere, excellent cuisine, attention to detail, and wonderful servers who always seem to have a few moments to update us on interesting news from the area.
We have recommended this restaurant to friends many times.
Reservations are a must, especially during busy times.
Can't wait to try their new venture, "Crow Bar", soon to open in Collingwood, I understand.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Server was very knowledgeable about the food/wine parings .
Love the foraged veg .
Cucumber salad was outstanding.
I wanted a small steak medium rare but menu a bit limited and I was told not available .
Pickerel cooked well with balanced flavours on the plate .

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 9, 2017

the food is always good, but the menu is fairly limited and so if you go fairly often the choices can be limited (or you have the same meal multiple times). Staff are excellent and know the food and wine menu. Live entertainment is great on Friday nights, as long as you enjoy the entertainer - last week's was a little on the depressing side.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Live Music, Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Great food, great venue with attentive staff. The beer and wine recommendation were spot on. My wife's pizza was excellent and my gnocchi with pork belly one of the best dishes I have had in many years. Also great value for money.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 27, 2017

The yummiest Cobb Salad ever!!! All the meals served were very delicious. Grandview burgers were a hit!

Tags: Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options, Great Beer, Tasting Menu, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 23, 2017

This my favourite Restaurant in Thornbury and Collingwood (they are opening a new one in Collingwood that I expect will be just as good, Crow Bar on 1st Street). We started with their mixed fun platter this time as it was $2 corkage Tuesday (dug deep into our cellar). Wife's birthday so she also had a cocktail, very fine 3 olives, stored not shaken. This was followed by an oven baked pizza (hard choice as I love the short ribs, but her birthday. then the chololate desert. This all came to $80, what a great meal at a great price!!!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Tapas, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Paleo Friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Organic, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Fun, Casual, Healthy, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 23, 2017

another fabulous dinner at Bruce Wine Bar to celebrate my best friend's bday during our annual girls' getaway week to Thornbury. We shared a beautiful charcuterie platter for one, along with the requisite warm, spiced olives (we get those every year, the only time I eat green olives!). She had the fish special and I had the pepperoni pizza... I can't say that we have EVER had a meal there that wasn't fantastic. Desserts were spectacular and actually worth the calories! But the fun part this time was a new item on the wine list: the enomatic pour. The sommelier will have a particular fine wine in the device, so they can serve up just a glass at a time, then not lose the rest of the bottle! Great way to try something new. Sorry, I can't remember the name of the wine I had, but she said it was similar to a barolo, and it was fantastic!! Thanks for another fun, delicious and amazing evening, Bruce!

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Tapas, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Casual, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Spicy, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Cozy, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 20, 2017

We really enjoyed the experience. Wasn't my first time and BWB never disappoints.

Tags: Late-night Find, Tapas, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Always a great experience. Best pizza in the Georgian Bay area.

Tags: Tapas, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Authentic, Cozy, Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Business Meals, Casual, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Great place for thin crust pizza. Great ambience. Nice place to meet up with friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 6, 2017

My husband and I came to Thornbury for a "date night" and we stumbled upon this restaurant... How lucky were we???!? The food was outstanding, the service fantastic and we thoroughly enjoyed the whole experience. It will be hard to return to thornbury and NOT come here again!! Thanks Bruce Wine Bar for such a great evening. :)

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Live Music, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Best restaurant outside of any city. Come to think of it most cities don't have a restaurant that comes close.
Excellent food presented beautifully along with fantastic wine list. Perfect pizzas from wood oven, seasonal ingredients wisely prepared. A gem!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Seasonal, Authentic, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 21, 2017

We came for the band and it was a wonderfully intimate way to hear them.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 21, 2017

The Bruce Wine Bar is always a favorite restaurant for us for special occasions or bringing guests from out of town. Food choices are delicious. Great to have specials and the portion sizes are perfect. Live music is great but a little loud for casual conversation. Will definitely be back.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Authentic, Live Music, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Great food fun place
Nnnnnnnnnnnnbbbbbbbbbbbbbggggffffffdddd

Tags: Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 7, 2017

My son and daughter took me out for my birthday. We found the food excellent and service friendly and efficient.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 31, 2017

We'll be returning! can't believe we haven't been to this gem yet!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good Vegetarian Options, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Live Music, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Everything is so great about Bruce Wine Bar! Absolutely the best to enjoy fabulous food, service and atmosphere!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Great Beer, Casual, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.