About Bruce Wine Bar


Don’t let the name fool you, this unique eatery boasts more than just a wine list distinguished by a Wine Spectator award.
Designated a Feast Ontario restaurant for its’ commitment to sustainable and organic regional fare, Bruce also serves up the best wood-fired Neapolitan style pizza north of the GTA. Add an impressive roster of independent Canadian musicians playing Fridays and you’ve got the vibe!
A funky eclectic design houses 25 cozy seats surrounding the open kitchen and another 40 in a loft-inspired space which includes a communal harvest table.
Once a tiny wine bar serving small plates three nights/week, Bruce has come into its’ own as a full-scale restaurant offering seasonally focused lunch, dinner and take-away menus daily, as well as catering for private parties and large events.
Feed your curiosity!

The Kitchen serves up lunch and dinner Tuesday to Saturday

8 Bruce Street
Thornbury, ON N0H 2P0
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Canadian, Comfort Food, Pizzeria

Hours of Operation:
Open Tuesday through Thursday 11:30-9:00
Friday and Saturday 11:30AM- Close
Live music Friday nights
2$ Corkage Tuesdays
Open Mic Wednesdays

Our ENTRANCE is in the alley behind the TD Bank in Thornbury

Cross Street:
Arthur St West

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(519) 599-1112

Website:
http://brucewinebar.ca/

Entertainment:
On Friday there are two dinner show and 7 and 9pm featuring up and coming canadian artists..sometimes it can be a little loud!
On Wednesday night we host an open mic from 8-10pm. featuring singer songwriters and poets

Catering:
Bruce caters all types of functions from family gatherings to weddings. please contact us to discuss.

Parking Details:
During the day we would request that you park across the street in the public parking area. In the evening feel free to use the parking at the restaurant

Public Transit:
Small town
Behind the TD Bank in Thornbury
Public Parking available across the Street at the Thornbury Post Office

Executive Chef:
Shaun J Edmonstone

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Dancing, Entertainment, Full Bar, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
$2 Corkage every Tuesday Night (*applies only to 750ml bottle+ $15 min food charge per person)
Open Mic Wednesday Nights
Every Friday night Live music *( cover charge may apply)

Restaurant Photos

  • Beef Striploin Tartare ~ Chips ~ Pickled Onions ~ Quail Egg 18 - Bruce Wine Bar, Thornbury, ON
  • Beignets With Chocolate Sauce - Bruce Wine Bar, Thornbury, ON
  • Panacotta With Berries And Chocolate Cookie Crumbs - Bruce Wine Bar, Thornbury, ON
  • Chicken, Artichoke & Goat Cheese Pizza - Bruce Wine Bar, Thornbury, ON

Report a photo problem

Beef Striploin Tartare ~ Chips ~ Pickled Onions ~ Quail Egg 18 - Bruce Wine Bar, Thornbury, ON
Beignets With Chocolate Sauce - Bruce Wine Bar, Thornbury, ON
Panacotta With Berries And Chocolate Cookie Crumbs - Bruce Wine Bar, Thornbury, ON
Chicken, Artichoke & Goat Cheese Pizza - Bruce Wine Bar, Thornbury, ON

Specials

$2 Corkage Fee

Tuesdays from 11:30 AM - 9:00 PM

Specials

$2 Corkage Fee

Tuesdays from 11:30 AM - 9:00 PM

Details

Enjoy $2 corkage on any 750mL bottle that you bring. Excludes Tax and Tip. We only open 750mL bottles and a $15 per person food minimum is required. Special valid Dec 6, 2016 - Apr 6, 2017 on Tuesdays from 11:30 AM - 9:00 PM.

Bruce Wine Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Local Ingredients (29)
Wood Oven (24)
Good for a Date (23)
See All
Cozy (21)
Fit for Foodies (20)
Live Music (19)
Casual (19)
Special Occasion (18)
Neighborhood Gem (17)
Romantic (15)
Creative Cuisine (15)
Good for Birthdays (14)
Authentic (14)
Notable Wine List (14)
Worth the Drive (14)
Open Kitchen (12)
Good for Anniversaries (11)
Fun (10)
Healthy (9)
Good for Groups (9)
Good Vegetarian Options (9)
Hot Spot (8)
Seasonal (7)
Great for Lunch (7)
Comfort Food (7)
Business Meals (6)
Happy Hour (5)
Outstanding Value (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Great Beer (4)
Late-night Find (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
People Watching (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Tapas (2)
Organic (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Family Style (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Historic (1)
Fireplace (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Private Room (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
171 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We sat in the lower level which is where ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 6, 2017

We sat in the lower level which is where the kitchen is located. It's always fun to watch the food preparation while dining. Despite food service happening right beside us it's not loud and carrying on a conversation is easy.

Highly recommend the cheese boards. The balance of richness and flavours was wonderful. The addition of the honeycomb was a delight. The hallmark of the restaurant is the wine list and wood-fired pizzas; both are extensive. The value of the pizzas is punctuated by the brisk take-out business occurring throughout the night. There was a steady stream of orders being packaged during our entire time there. Although I didn't order this time, when I see Black Hills "Nota Bene" on the wine list I smile.

I booked for 6:30 PM as a date night with my wife. The timing was excellent as it became busier within an hour. It was our first visit there on a recommendation from a friend. We will go back again.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Live Music, Special Occasion, Healthy, Open Kitchen, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Wood Oven, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We had friends up for the weekend and I ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 6, 2017

We had friends up for the weekend and I knew they would love the vibe of this restaurant. The other bonus was a live band. The band was fantastic, service was perfect and the food was very tasty. Our friends said "good choice" many times. We'll be back for sure

Tags: Romantic, , Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Good for a Date, Cozy, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great meal in a great restaurant. Have v ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Great meal in a great restaurant. Have visited the restaurant previously and will definitely return.

Tags: Tapas, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options, Notable Wine List, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We are regulars at The Bruce Wine Bar - ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 3, 2017

We are regulars at The Bruce Wine Bar - love love love their fabulous homemade pizza and appetizers - atmosphere is warm and fun!

Tags: Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Sunday Lunch, Organic, Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal, Comfort Food, Cozy, Good for a Date, Open Kitchen, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Live Music, Local Ingredients, Wood Oven, Good Vegetarian Options, Great Beer, Casual, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very enjoyable and accommodating for our ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Very enjoyable and accommodating for our group of 8.

Tags: Healthy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We enjoyed a New Year's Eve dinner at Br ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We enjoyed a New Year's Eve dinner at Bruce's and it was a great experience. Delicious food, attentive service and overall a great night.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The salads are way over priced. $14 for ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 30, 2016

The salads are way over priced. $14 for three slices of beet, 4 pea shoots and a glob of goats cheese - c'mon!!! Should have been triple that for that price. The pizza is delicious, but pricey as well.

Tags: Romantic, Authentic, Fireplace, Good for a Date, Casual, Wood Oven, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value1

Our dinner at Bruce Wine Bar was outstan ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Our dinner at Bruce Wine Bar was outstanding in all aspects. Service was excellent, the food was superb and we have nothing bad to say about the restaurant, the waiters or the food. We were really surprised to find this gem in the middle of a small town where there are not many options. Would go again for sure!

Tags: , Authentic, Cozy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was tasty from appetizers, main to ...

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Food was tasty from appetizers, main to desserts.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Dinner was excellent. A lot of locally s ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Dinner was excellent. A lot of locally sourced foods and great variety.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We love the Bruce. Never disappoints. Fo ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 23, 2016

We love the Bruce. Never disappoints. Food and service is outstanding.

Tags: , Open Kitchen, Wood Oven, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We always thoroughly enjoy our trips to ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 20, 2016

We always thoroughly enjoy our trips to the Bruce Wine Bar. There was always something for us vegetarians to have although there could be a few more things to, hint hint hint.

Tags: Authentic, Casual, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Modern Decor, Live Music, Good Vegetarian Options, Fun, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value5

Highly recommend. What's gem of a plac ...

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Highly recommend. What's gem of a place

If you are ever visiting blue mountain. Do yourself a Favor. Leave the village and go here for dinner one night. Best food and wine selection around.

Everything we tried was excellent versions for any foodie

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Went here for my birthday and I chose it ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Went here for my birthday and I chose it based on the amazing reviews of the food and wine and it didn't disappoint! The hot olives, albacore tuna, curried lentils and short ribs were amazing. Impressive wine and cocktails too. It was well worth the 15 minute taxi ride from the village into Thornbury and would definitely go back again. Was a large group next to us that was a little loud. Only downside to the night!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Favorite spot ! Always comes through. B ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 6, 2016

Favorite spot ! Always comes through. Best pizza around.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Soft live music was great. Just the righ ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Soft live music was great. Just the right level of sound and added to the atmosphere.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Top dining experience. Excellent variety ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 30, 2016

Top dining experience. Excellent variety of local dishes. Flavouring is perfectly balanced.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Fun, Romantic, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Open Kitchen, Hot Spot, Authentic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

On a Saturday night out with friends, we ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 26, 2016

On a Saturday night out with friends, we visited the Bruce Wine Bar on a recommendation from an esteemed chef acquaintance. All three of us had a lovely evening. The food was delicious, the staff were super attentive and friendly. The experience of the restaurant was lovely. The ambience is very cozy, but also upbeat. I will definitely be back, and would encourage anyone to pay a visit to this restaurant.

Tags: Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Great Beer, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We are regulars. The food is creative, h ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 18, 2016

We are regulars. The food is creative, healthy, local and excellent.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Wood Oven, Gluten Free Options, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Cozy, Live Music, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

As always the Bruce Wine Bar is a perfec ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 12, 2016

As always the Bruce Wine Bar is a perfect place to eat. Quality food in a great location with polite staff. Thanks guys for the perfect evening.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Healthy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food never disappoints. I bring frie ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 1, 2016

The food never disappoints. I bring friends and family and they love it. Our friends go back after they have been with us. They have a good bartender and are knowledgeable about the wine. Recently had chorizo pizza at lunch and my husband and I will have that again. Best pizza in the Collingwood area. Gourmet!! Servers know the dishes and are helpful if you have an allergy.

Tags: Casual, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Love this restaurant. We eat here whenev ...

 
 (London)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Love this restaurant. We eat here whenever we are in Thornberry. Food is always great. I particularly love the pizza- it has the best crust! Upstairs is very lively. They often have live bands. We prefer the quieter downstairs.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Wood Oven, Open Kitchen, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Bruce was recommended among three differ ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Bruce was recommended among three different restaurants (it was at the top of the list). I really liked the menu and the vibe of the restaurant from the website, so we picked Bruce. It did not disappoint, I found it a cool, charming, warm ambience with an interesting menu. Our dishes were all delicious. I would highly recommend and go again!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Family Style, Cozy, Live Music, Healthy, Casual, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

As usual, the experience at Bruce Wine B ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 21, 2016

As usual, the experience at Bruce Wine Bar was consistent and outstanding. We have become regulars when we are in that area and highly recommend it to others to give it a try.

Cheers!

Tags: Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was a great find. Interesting menu. ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 16, 2016

This was a great find. Interesting menu. We opted for the daily special - venison. It was superbly done (medium rare) accompanied by a delicious jus and sweet potato purée. The apple dessert was also delightful, although the cheddar cheese was hardly noticeable and needed more sharpness.

Tags: Seasonal, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Special anniversary evening with friends ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Special anniversary evening with friends. Loved the food, the wine and the band was outstanding. A highlight to our 1st trip visiting the area. We will definitely be back!

Tags: Late-night Find, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Live Music, Local Ingredients, Wood Oven, Fun, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the best in our area for a casual ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 14, 2016

One of the best in our area for a casual or more formal get together.

Tags: Wood Oven, Casual, Open Kitchen, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Overall awesome experience! Love the foo ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Overall awesome experience! Love the food and the atmosphere.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Molecular Gastronomy, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Crew at Bruce Wine Bar did an excell ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 1, 2016

The Crew at Bruce Wine Bar did an excellent job once again. They never fail to amaze us with such creative and delicious food.

Tags: Special Occasion, Afternoon Tea, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Private Room, Good Vegetarian Options, , Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great atmosphere, exceptional wine selec ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Great atmosphere, exceptional wine selection, and really fun band playing during dinner. Good selection of dishes for vegetarians which included ingredients that were sourced from local farms and producers (all acknowledged in the menu). The place felt like you were in someone's home enjoying a big dinner party - intimate, friendly, and casual, yet vibrant and fun - the perfect place for us to celebrate our big birthday and anniversary!

Tags: Hot Spot, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food, enjoyed the music, during din ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Good food, enjoyed the music, during dinner, fun place to dine!

Tags: Casual, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Wood Oven, Live Music, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

This is our favourite restaurant in T bu ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 27, 2016

This is our favourite restaurant in T bury!!!Best everything.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Bruce Wine bar has a great wine list ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 24, 2016

The Bruce Wine bar has a great wine list and the food was very good. The service at the restaurant was efficient and friendly and the server had a great knowledge of the area and the menu options. We were in for a late lunch (3PM) and had a pate board to start followed by pizza from their pizza menu. All the food was good. The wine I ordered turned out to be out of stock but our server recommended a substitute and it was fine. The wine list is a bit over priced but the selection is good.

Tags: Family Style, Kid-friendly, Fun, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The Bruce Wine Bar is our favourite spot ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 24, 2016

The Bruce Wine Bar is our favourite spot for dinner in Thornbury. The service, ambiance and overall experience are second to none. My husband and i both ordered the beast special which was good but not mind blowing (pork tenderloin). Everything else was 5 star.

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Wood Oven, Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Fantastic service, food and ambiance. W ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 23, 2016

Fantastic service, food and ambiance. We will absolutely be back soon!

Tags: Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Live Music, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Wood Oven, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Our server Cindy was great and so were t ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 20, 2016

Our server Cindy was great and so were the craft beers. We went on a Tuesday and it was bring your own wine so we didn't have an opportunity to try the wine offerings ($2.00 corkage..very reasonable). They use fresh, high quality ingredients including the pizza dough. They cook the Pizza at a high temperature so they don't cook the taste out of the ingredients

The only down side is that you cannot create your own pizza or change any "stock" Pizza that they have on the menu

Tags: Local Ingredients, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We have been to Bruce many times and thi ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 17, 2016

We have been to Bruce many times and this time, brought friends from the UK. We all had tasty starters, delicious pizzas and a good Niagara syrah. As always, a lovely showcase of local foods with low-key but attentive service. We sat upstairs and the room was full at 6:30. Great spot!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Wood Oven, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We always love dining at Bruce. It is t ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 11, 2016

We always love dining at Bruce. It is truly our favourite restaurant

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fun, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Seasonal, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies, Family Style, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Healthy, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Live Music, Modern Decor, Kid-friendly, Worth the Drive, Quick Bite, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Chacouterie needs to have more choice. E ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 8, 2016

Chacouterie needs to have more choice. Expensive for what you were served. But what we were served was excellent and fresh.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

I would not recommend this restaurant ba ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 1, 2016

I would not recommend this restaurant based on our recent visit. We were seated upstairs along with only a few other tables around us. We ordered the romaine lettuce appetizer, which was very close to opening a premix package sprinkled with more bacon and parmesan shavings--not very imaginative or fresh tasting. I ordered our pizza while taking my last bit of salad so relatively soon after our arrival. Shortly after that another table with 4 patrons came in which the waitress settled with water/orders and then another table between us arrived. I watched both tables receive their pizzas while we waited and waited up to 40 minutes. The waitress recognized I was not happy and I informed her of our long wait. She said our order was after the other tables and since I was facing that direction I know those patrons were not even physically present at the time of ordering. She got the hostess downstairs to come up and speak to us of which she informed us it had been 30 minutes since our order and I informed her that the time our order got into the computer was not the real time of when we ordered it and that we were basically out of wine of which we had planned to have with our pizza. She explained how busy the kitchen was for both downstairs and upstairs and I reiterated that we were the only table not served at this point. End of story was for us to just suck it up and pay our bill---no offer of restitution. News alert---the pizza was not that great and also lukewarm.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.