Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.82mi
  2. Distance: 3.64mi
  3. Distance: 6.42mi
  4. Distance: 8.78mi
  1. Distance: 0.82mi
  2. Distance: 3.64mi
  3. Distance: 6.42mi
  4. Distance: 8.78mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.82mi
  2. Distance: 3.64mi
  3. Distance: 6.42mi
  4. Distance: 8.78mi
  1. Distance: 0.82mi
  2. Distance: 3.64mi
  3. Distance: 6.42mi
  4. Distance: 8.78mi

About Bruce Wine Bar


Don’t let the name fool you, this unique eatery boasts more than just a wine list distinguished by a Wine Spectator award.
Designated a Feast Ontario restaurant for its’ commitment to sustainable and organic regional fare, Bruce also serves up the best wood-fired Neapolitan style pizza north of the GTA. Add an impressive roster of independent Canadian musicians playing Fridays and you’ve got the vibe!
A funky eclectic design houses 25 cozy seats surrounding the open kitchen and another 40 in a loft-inspired space which includes a communal harvest table.
Once a tiny wine bar serving small plates three nights/week, Bruce has come into its’ own as a full-scale restaurant offering seasonally focused lunch, dinner and take-away menus daily, as well as catering for private parties and large events.
Feed your curiosity!

The Kitchen serves up lunch and dinner Tuesday to Saturday

8 Bruce Street
Thornbury, ON N0H 2P0
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Canadian, Comfort Food, Pizzeria

Hours of Operation:
Open Tuesday through Thursday 11:30-9:00
Friday and Saturday 11:30AM- Close
Live music Friday nights
2$ Corkage Tuesdays
Open Mic Wednesdays

Our ENTRANCE is in the alley behind the TD Bank in Thornbury

Cross Street:
Arthur St West

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(519) 599-1112

Website:
http://brucewinebar.ca/

Entertainment:
On Friday there are two dinner show and 7 and 9pm featuring up and coming canadian artists..sometimes it can be a little loud!
On Wednesday night we host an open mic from 8-10pm. featuring singer songwriters and poets

Catering:
Bruce caters all types of functions from family gatherings to weddings. please contact us to discuss.

Parking Details:
During the day we would request that you park across the street in the public parking area. In the evening feel free to use the parking at the restaurant

Public Transit:
Small town
Behind the TD Bank in Thornbury
Public Parking available across the Street at the Thornbury Post Office

Executive Chef:
Shaun J Edmonstone

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Dancing, Entertainment, Full Bar, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
$2 Corkage every Tuesday Night (*applies only to 750ml bottle+ $15 min food charge per person)
Open Mic Wednesday Nights-seat covers may apply
Every Friday night Live music *( cover charge or seat cover may apply)
Large parties Minimum food orders apply

Bruce Wine Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.8

ambience

4.6

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Creative Cuisine (15)
Local Ingredients (13)
Special Occasion (12)
See All
Worth the Drive (10)
Cozy (10)
Casual (10)
Notable Wine List (10)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Live Music (9)
Good for a Date (8)
Good for Anniversaries (8)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Fun (7)
Authentic (7)
Hot Spot (7)
Wood Oven (6)
Seasonal (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Tasting Menu (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Romantic (4)
Healthy (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Tapas (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Business Meals (2)
People Watching (2)
Great Beer (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Organic (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Spicy (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Sort By:
S
213 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 4 days ago

Bruce always has great food and service. It was a disappointing experience the last visit. The live music was too loud to hear each other across the table. Just wanted to leave and go somewhere to visit.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value2

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 17, 2017

My husband and I recently dined at Bruce Wine Bar, and it was a wonderful dining experience from beginning to end! We were seated at a cozy, high top table across from the open kitchen, so it was fun to watch the team at work. They operate like a well-oiled machine! Everyone was busy, but not frenetic, real teamwork! Our server, Chelsea, was friendly and helpful, and all the staff were very welcoming and friendly! The food was excellent! We shared the polenta/jalapeno bites for an appetizer - so yummy! They were crispy, piping hot, well-seasoned, and pillowy soft inside. The parsley dip was lovely! I had the shortribs for my entree, and it was the best I've ever had; truly 'fall off the bone'! The side accompaniments of veggies were perfectly cooked and matched to the dish. My husband had the 'special' pizza, and it was outstanding! The crust was thin, chewy, and the bolognese beef chunky, and again, everything well-seasoned! We had no room for dessert, but we absolutely loved our meal, and plan to return the next time we're in Thornbury!

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Comfort Food, Seasonal, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 11, 2017

We have dined many times at Bruce Wine Bar; it is our favourite in Thornbury. We love the intimate atmosphere, excellent cuisine, attention to detail, and wonderful servers who always seem to have a few moments to update us on interesting news from the area.
We have recommended this restaurant to friends many times.
Reservations are a must, especially during busy times.
Can't wait to try their new venture, "Crow Bar", soon to open in Collingwood, I understand.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Server was very knowledgeable about the food/wine parings .
Love the foraged veg .
Cucumber salad was outstanding.
I wanted a small steak medium rare but menu a bit limited and I was told not available .
Pickerel cooked well with balanced flavours on the plate .

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 10, 2017

the food is always good, but the menu is fairly limited and so if you go fairly often the choices can be limited (or you have the same meal multiple times). Staff are excellent and know the food and wine menu. Live entertainment is great on Friday nights, as long as you enjoy the entertainer - last week's was a little on the depressing side.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Live Music, Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Great food, great venue with attentive staff. The beer and wine recommendation were spot on. My wife's pizza was excellent and my gnocchi with pork belly one of the best dishes I have had in many years. Also great value for money.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 27, 2017

The yummiest Cobb Salad ever!!! All the meals served were very delicious. Grandview burgers were a hit!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options, Great Beer, Tasting Menu, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 23, 2017

This my favourite Restaurant in Thornbury and Collingwood (they are opening a new one in Collingwood that I expect will be just as good, Crow Bar on 1st Street). We started with their mixed fun platter this time as it was $2 corkage Tuesday (dug deep into our cellar). Wife's birthday so she also had a cocktail, very fine 3 olives, stored not shaken. This was followed by an oven baked pizza (hard choice as I love the short ribs, but her birthday. then the chololate desert. This all came to $80, what a great meal at a great price!!!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Tasting Menu, Tapas, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Paleo Friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Organic, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Fun, Casual, Healthy, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 23, 2017

another fabulous dinner at Bruce Wine Bar to celebrate my best friend's bday during our annual girls' getaway week to Thornbury. We shared a beautiful charcuterie platter for one, along with the requisite warm, spiced olives (we get those every year, the only time I eat green olives!). She had the fish special and I had the pepperoni pizza... I can't say that we have EVER had a meal there that wasn't fantastic. Desserts were spectacular and actually worth the calories! But the fun part this time was a new item on the wine list: the enomatic pour. The sommelier will have a particular fine wine in the device, so they can serve up just a glass at a time, then not lose the rest of the bottle! Great way to try something new. Sorry, I can't remember the name of the wine I had, but she said it was similar to a barolo, and it was fantastic!! Thanks for another fun, delicious and amazing evening, Bruce!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Tapas, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Casual, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Spicy, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Cozy, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Always a great experience. Best pizza in the Georgian Bay area.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Tapas, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Open Kitchen, Wood Oven, Authentic, Cozy, Late-night Find, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Business Meals, Casual, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Great place for thin crust pizza. Great ambience. Nice place to meet up with friends.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 7, 2017

My husband and I came to Thornbury for a "date night" and we stumbled upon this restaurant... How lucky were we???!? The food was outstanding, the service fantastic and we thoroughly enjoyed the whole experience. It will be hard to return to thornbury and NOT come here again!! Thanks Bruce Wine Bar for such a great evening. :)

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Live Music, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Best restaurant outside of any city. Come to think of it most cities don't have a restaurant that comes close.
Excellent food presented beautifully along with fantastic wine list. Perfect pizzas from wood oven, seasonal ingredients wisely prepared. A gem!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Wood Oven, Great for Lunch, Seasonal, Authentic, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 22, 2017

We came for the band and it was a wonderfully intimate way to hear them.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 21, 2017

The Bruce Wine Bar is always a favorite restaurant for us for special occasions or bringing guests from out of town. Food choices are delicious. Great to have specials and the portion sizes are perfect. Live music is great but a little loud for casual conversation. Will definitely be back.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Authentic, Live Music, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Great food fun place
Nnnnnnnnnnnnbbbbbbbbbbbbbggggffffffdddd

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Wood Oven, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 7, 2017

My son and daughter took me out for my birthday. We found the food excellent and service friendly and efficient.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 31, 2017

We'll be returning! can't believe we haven't been to this gem yet!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Notable Wine List, Good Vegetarian Options, Wood Oven, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Live Music, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Everything is so great about Bruce Wine Bar! Absolutely the best to enjoy fabulous food, service and atmosphere!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Wood Oven, Fun, Open Kitchen, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Great Beer, Casual, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 25, 2017

This was by far one of the best experiences I have had dining in this area. The food was AMAZING and I would reckoned to just about anyone! We will certainly be back!

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 18, 2017

The pork belly dish was delicious as usual! The pizza special with coriander topping was amazing!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Fun, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Simply the best!!! We go to this restaurant at least 20 times a year and it NEVER disappoints. Don't change a thing!!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Romantic, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Cozy, Special Occasion, Fun, Casual, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 9, 2017

awesome as always !

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 4, 2017

We were very impressed! We had the fish special and the vegetarian dish of date curried lentils. So delicious!
The fire wood oven pizzas smelt delicious.
Can not wait to go back.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Worth the Drive, Cozy
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Excellent appetizers and main course....polite, friendly and efficient server.
Desserts were substandard....you can do better! We really enjoyed the music - will definitely return...cool ambiance.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Casual, Romantic, Live Music
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Excellent - as always. Bruce's never disappoints. It's not just the consistent quality of the food, the service is helpful without being pushy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 2, 2017

The Food continues to be exceptional. The staff are very knowledgable with regards to food and drink! If you go don't forget to buy the kitchen a round. Awesome and can't wait to go back.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 24, 2017

We loved the ambiance in the loft and sitting at the community table was fantastic, we met some wonderful people. The food was delicious; I had the pickerel and my husband the wood oven pizza....FANTASTIC! The entertainment was good too. All in all, a great place!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Late-night Find, Seasonal, Fun, Hot Spot, Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 24, 2017

This place was recommended to me and it didn't disappoint. They were very accommodating to my reservation changes. The food was delicious. Live band was enjoyable. Atmosphere was just what I was looking for. We will definitely return.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Healthy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 18, 2017

always a treat to go to the bruce the wine list is fantastic, which leads into fantastic food

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Open Kitchen, Notable Wine List, Waterfront, Fun, Casual, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 14, 2017

It was a wonderful, intimate dining experience especially for Valentine's Day! The pickerel was amazing! The overall experience was excellent!!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Food was amazing! Had the gnocchi and the flavour was superb! My husband had short ribs and couldn't stop raving about them. Will definitely be returning!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion, Organic, Great for Lunch, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 11, 2017

My husband and I went to the Bruce Wine Bar for a Saturday night , mid-Winter outing. The atmosphere and staff were warm and welcoming. The food was awesome. We will definitely be back to the Bruce Wine Bar!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Fun, Authentic, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 11, 2017

As usual, high quality ingredients were prepared with creativity and flair. The wine pairing was delicious too. Would definitely recommend!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Authentic, Wood Oven, Comfort Food, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 11, 2017

First time to the Bruce Wine Bar and we will definitely be back. My husband and I were looking for somewhere different to dine. The food was great, the service was good, the live music was a nice touch. It was a bit loud to have a quiet conversation but we will be returning with friends.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Casual, Cozy, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 10, 2017

A busy hot spot for live music on a Friday night! The wood fired pizza is especially delicious!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Kid-friendly, Sunday Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Wood Oven, Great for Lunch, Live Music, Local Ingredients, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Open Kitchen, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Great music and excellent food. Wine list is unusually excellent as well.

Tags: People Watching, Good for a Date, Wood Oven, Organic, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Kid-friendly, Hot Spot, Live Music, Romantic, Paleo Friendly, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Fun, Great Beer, Cozy, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Open Kitchen, Gluten Free Options, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Love this place!! Definitely a good choice for food and wine in the Blue Mountains area.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Open Kitchen, Hot Spot, Wood Oven, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 1, 2017

The Bruce Wine Bar is an Ontario culinary gem. If you're up in the Bruce peninsula, you won't be disappointed!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Bruce Wine Bar is our favourite place to eat in Thornbury. The service, ambiance and food are all exceptional. Just love it!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Healthy, Outstanding Value, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Live Music, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.