About Bruce Wine Bar

8 Bruce Street
Thornbury, ON N0H 2P0
View Larger Map


Don’t let the name fool you, this unique eatery boasts more than just a wine list distinguished by a Wine Spectator award.
Designated a Feast Ontario restaurant for its’ commitment to sustainable and organic regional fare, Bruce also serves up the best wood-fired Neapolitan style pizza north of the GTA. Add an impressive roster of independent Canadian musicians playing Fridays and you’ve got the vibe!
A funky eclectic design houses 18 cozy seats surrounding the open kitchen and another 30 in a loft-inspired space which includes a communal harvest table.
Once a tiny wine bar serving small plates three nights/week, Bruce has come into its’ own as a full-scale restaurant offering seasonally focused lunch, dinner and take-away menus daily, as well as catering for private parties and large events.
Feed your curiosity!

The Kitchen serves up lunch and dinner Tuesday to Saturday and Sunday Bruce has Brunch!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Canadian, Comfort Food, Pizzeria

Hours of Operation:
Open Tuesday through Saturday 11:30 to close
Lunch and Dinner & Sunday for Brunch 11:00-3:30
Live music Friday nights
2$ Corkage Tuesdays
Open Mic Wednesdays
1/2 price wine on Thursdays
Our ENTRANCE is in the alley behind the TD Bank in Thornbury

Cross Street:
Arthur St West

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(519) 599-1112

Website:
http://brucewinebar.ca/

Entertainment:
On Friday there are two dinner show and 7 and 9pm featuring up and coming canadian artists..sometimes it can be a little loud!
On Wednesday night we host an open mic from 8-10pm. featuring singer songwriters and poets

Catering:
Bruce caters all types of functions from family gatherings to weddings. please contact us to discuss.

Parking Details:
During the day we would request that you park across the street in the public parking area. In the evening feel free to use the parking at the restaurant

Executive Chef:
Shaun J Edmonstone

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Takeout, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

  • Beef Striploin Tartare ~ Chips ~ Pickled Onions ~ Quail Egg 18
  • Beignets With Chocolate Sauce
  • Panacotta With Berries And Chocolate Cookie Crumbs
  • Chicken, Artichoke & Goat Cheese Pizza
Beef Striploin Tartare ~ Chips ~ Pickled Onions ~ Quail Egg 18
Beignets With Chocolate Sauce
Panacotta With Berries And Chocolate Cookie Crumbs
Chicken, Artichoke & Goat Cheese Pizza

Bruce Wine Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.3

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
Toronto / Ontario
Canadian
Toronto / Ontario
Best Overall
Simcoe County
6 More
Best Food
Simcoe County
Best Service
Simcoe County
Best Ambiance
Simcoe County
Best Value
Simcoe County
Special Occasion
Simcoe County
Most Booked
Simcoe County
Best Restaurants in Blue Mountain ›

Fit for Foodies (37)
Neighborhood Gem (33)
Notable Wine List (28)
See All
Special Occasion (18)
Hot Spot (13)
Good for Groups (13)
Romantic (11)
Great for Lunch (10)
Kid-friendly (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Late-night Find (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Cozy (1)
Sort By:
Newest
127 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We had a enjoyable dinner with friends a ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined 5 days ago

We had a enjoyable dinner with friends at Bruce Wine Bar and look forward to returning for dinner again.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We always have a great experience at you ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

We always have a great experience at your restaurant! We love the food, the staff and that it is in town.

The only issue we had was a larger table came in after us, they were rather high maintenance.... It's a small space and our conversations got drowned out😕.

No fault to the restaurant!

Julir

Tags: Kid-friendly, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

when in Collingwood I try for a table at ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

when in Collingwood I try for a table at BWB and have never been disappointed

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ecellent overall experience !

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Ecellent overall experience !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing pizza and salad. Would not hesit ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Amazing pizza and salad. Would not hesitate to dine here again

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Went to the Bruce Wine Bar for dinner - ...

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Went to the Bruce Wine Bar for dinner - food and service were good but will probably return for lunch only as we would prefer having dinner without a lot of kids around, which has been our experience the last few times we've been at the Bruce.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Our meal was great. We enjoyed our time ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Our meal was great. We enjoyed our time there. Great service. Recommend the pizza.

Tags: Romance, Neighbourhood Gem, Special Occasions, Brunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

What a treasure in thornbury on. Great f ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

What a treasure in thornbury on.

Great food -

i had organic chicken with a wonderful spicy salsa like sauce

My husband had the wood fired pizza

The wine selection was impressive - I had a glass of California cab. Sav.

My husband had a local craft beer

Our server wonderful - knowledgeable and personable

Next time we go will be on a friday

Live music

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Having worked for clients in Toronto, Mo ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Having worked for clients in Toronto, Montreal, Ottawa and Vancouver I have been lucky to have dined at many fine restaurants. But for simple enjoyment in a relaxed atmosphere it is tough to beat Bruce's wine bar. My wife and I have enjoyed dining at Bruce's on several occasions and have never been disappointed.

The polenta appetizer is a favourite and we love the use of local produce in both the pizza's and main courses. Although not large the selection of by-the-glass wines are well chosen - I have particularly enjoyed the wines from Quails Gate in BC.

I would highly recommend Bruce's for an intimate dinner for two or a small group of friends.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Bruce Wine Bar is a unique dining spot w ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Bruce Wine Bar is a unique dining spot with top notch entertainment on select nights weekly. The food is always great with creative combinations, with a solid wine/beer selection. Great ambience. It's always a 5 star experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always great food with a varying menu of ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Always great food with a varying menu of specials. One can taste the freshness and the care the staff take to prepare local and homegrown fare. Great local beers. Steve has a love for independent musicians paired with an eclectic ambiance makes for a memorable experience every time. See you again soon!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Outstanding evening. The fresh ingredi ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Outstanding evening. The fresh ingredients, the right size portions were superb.

Service was excellent. Heidi our server was very pleasant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Strangely we both had the same starter a ...

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Strangely we both had the same starter and entrée. The tomato/buratta salad was mostly greens with perhaps 3 cherry tomatoes cut in half. While it was tasty it was not as expected (I even went back and double checked the description). The braised short rib was a generous portion served with a mashed/crispy potato (like a croquette almost), the carrot puree had no flavor and there were greens on the plate. For desert the flourless chocolate cake (large portion) had good flavor. I had the desert that is served with fruit and a puff pastry - I can't recall the name but it was good. An OK selection of wine by the glass.

Lots of pizza options and I noticed that's what a lot of diners were ordering.

In case it matters to you - they have some high tables for dining including one upstairs that's a communal dining table ... I'm not a fan of high tables and would have specified that I didn't want this if I'd been aware.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Service was fantastic.

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Service was fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Good food, excellent service and it has ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Good food, excellent service and it has a nice relaxed atmosphere with a slight buzz to it,

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The chef Shaun Edmonstone just keeps get ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

The chef Shaun Edmonstone just keeps getting better!!! The food somehow exceeded our expectations which were already high . It was a Friday night and Pat Robitaille was playing. It doesn't get much better than that! Congrats to the hard working team at Bruce Wine Bar for delivering an exceptional customer service experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great little hidden spot in Thornbury. ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Great little hidden spot in Thornbury. Large wine selection, although they were out of their Rose´ by the glass.

A nice variety of menu items to please kids and adults alike. Food is nicely prepared and the service is friendly.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

This was our second visit to Bruce wine ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

This was our second visit to Bruce wine bar and like our first time we were pleasantly surprised by the quality of food and service. The atmosphere is amazing and we will return many times I'm sure. Our only complaint was that we were seated in the middle of a harvest table with other guests on either side of us, this was much too close for comfort and made it impossible to have an intimate conversation. This was most likely due to the fact that we only made our reservation the day prior, however, we would have much rather waited or come earlier had we have had the knowledge of our seating arrangements. Dispite this awkward situation, we will for sure return and request a private table next time! If you're in Thornbury, this is the place to go for great food and drink!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Excellent food paired with great origina ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Excellent food paired with great original cocktails. The ambience is a causal-cool vibe. Friday night live bands are great to round out the experience. We are going back next Friday.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A quiet lunch with 2 friends turned into ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

A quiet lunch with 2 friends turned into a wonderful experience of great food, wine and a finale of a desserts that were off the chart good. All served by a knowledgeable server, David.

We all voted to return before summer's end!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a wonderful experience. Great li ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Always a wonderful experience. Great live music and fresh, seasonal and local foods. Fabulous wine list. Friendly service. A real hub in the community.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

What can I say about the Bruce Wine Bar- ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

What can I say about the Bruce Wine Bar-I eat out almost 5 days a week, from "The Patrician Grill"on King to "The Chase"on Temperance, and everything in between, BRUCE is still the BEST!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It's always a fun place to go. Cozy and ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

It's always a fun place to go. Cozy and great food and wine. We always tell others about the Bruce Wine Bar.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of my favourites!!!

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

I've never had a bad experience at Bruce Street, the service and food have always been Top Notch.

Amazing entertainment adds to the ambience

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best Polenta Cubes

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

Addicted to the polenta apetizer! Simply a unique, delicious apetizer with a tasty edge. Pair it with Pinot Grigio. Delightful. Of course the main dish was brilliant too.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Was the highlight of our weekend - the p ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

Was the highlight of our weekend - the pizzas are delicious!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Spot

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

Always have an amazing meal here - never disappoints!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

a less than optimal dining experience

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on March 13, 2016

The server did not demonstrate the fundamentals of good service. The food while tasty was expensive. The appetizers (steak tartare) were served with potato chips??? When we asked for something to go more appropriately with our $18 appetizers we were informed there would be an extra charge. The entrees we ordered were $28-$30. The poor service plus the expense made our dinner experience less than hoped for. One of our party was a sommelier and found the wine list interesting. We were taking another couple out for dinner for a special occasion and I was embarrassed. I doubt we will return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

One of the best meals I've ever had. And ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on February 28, 2016

One of the best meals I've ever had. And I like food. Beef tartare was to die for. The mains were nutrient full without any fillers - think paleo. Local and OceanWise certifies. Every item on the plate had its own well balanced flavour. You will never think I need salt, pepper or hot sauce. Really, really amazing food and a very knowledgable server. Plus nice atmosphere. YOU need to try it. NOW.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always the Best!

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on February 27, 2016

Bruce Wine Bar is always ahead of the curve. Without sounding too foodie, or elitist. This is one of the best restaurants, best vibes and greatest staff one could asked for!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic as usual.

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on February 26, 2016

Could not be better, entertainment was great and the acoustics in the place are great.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Bruce Wine Bar is our go to place when we go out to eat. Always great food and wonderful hospitality from first greeting onwards. The chef creates new food experiences every time. Keep it a secret!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A great find in the Blue Mountain area

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on January 31, 2016

Excellent service, unique vibe and fantastic food with a local twist. Don't miss the opportunity to experience the Bruce Wine Bar if you are in the area, a real gem!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Thornbury's gastronomic gem

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on January 23, 2016

Hat's off to the Bruce Wine Bar for delivering yet another dining experience par excellence last Friday night that also included superb entertainment at no additional charge. The brussel spout salad brought accolades from our eyes and palate as did the beef tartar. Both dishes are a melange of fresh in-season ingredients creatively assembled to deliver memorable dishes. The splendid wine list is personally selected by the proprietor, an accomplished sommelier, who is readily available at your table to help pair the varietal with the plate. The service is congenial, knowledgeable and professional. Bruce is a must visit when you are in the area.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding!

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on January 5, 2016

Our favourite restaurant in Thornbury never fails to disappoint. Tuesday night $2 corkage is great but you need to book early to get a table. We love the ambiance on the lower level, watching them cook up our pizzas. The funghi and fennel pizzas are delicious and great for sharing. The server was pleasant and just the right amount of attentiveness.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Restaurant

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on December 26, 2015

Having eaten at the BSWB from the very beginning, it is very satisfying to see the success it is now experiencing. The food and service is always very good and wine list keeps getting better!!

Pls. continue to do what you do best!!

Gary

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

You are on to something.

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on December 22, 2015

A thoughtful menu full of seasonal ingredients gleaned from local suppliers. It's rare to experience this quality of food in such a welcoming, comfortable, unpretentious environment. Solid service.

I really enjoyed the inventive cocktails as well. Our second visit. We are telling everyone to go and will return as soon as we can.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Great wine list with food and service to match

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on December 13, 2015

Pleased to find such a great spot in the County (Grey, that is). Came here with my in-laws for my wife's birthday and wasn't disappointed. They had a great wine list and were very accommodating with food allergies. Already looking forward to my next visit.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Two days ago my wife and I had dinner at ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on October 24, 2015

Two days ago my wife and I had dinner at Bruce's and once again they did not disappoint. Our main course was exceptional - and we appreciated the local sourcing. And the dessert special was spectacular. The reisling jelly was a perfect addition

Service was good as always, there when needed with excellent suggestions. But never obtrusive.

And the wine list is very well chosen - including the "by-the-glass" selections. I particularly enjoyed the Quails Gate Chenin Blanc.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Disappointed

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on October 24, 2015

Very rarely do I write bad reviews and The Bruce Wine Bar has some things going for it. The problem is that we ordered the wrong things. But at a place like this, how can that happen?

The quinoa salad was a horrible delivery of a good idea. Quinoa should be a small portion of the salad not the entire salad. Especially as a salad before dinner. My wife unfortunately had that salad. My salad was excellent but sad to say they are taking it off the menu. The roasted tomato and pork were outstanding. Pricey but very good. We were not that hungry and had come on a Saturday to listen to music. The band that night was a one piece guitar singer out of Saskatoon who may not have fit what we were looking for in a wine bar. He did not play cover music but rather his own. The wine list starts at $40 so be prepared to spend. Our dinner that night was a charcuterie blend. We ordered the small to share with the side of olives. Again a great idea delivered poorly. The pate had a strong vinegar flavor and the meats were good but most of the plate needed to be better. How does that come out of the kitchen. This place was recommended by locals and maybe a pizza and a glass of wine each gets you out around $50 and maybe the pizza is good. The bad thing is the Chef graduated from George Brown Culinary in Toronto like my wife. We were hoping for a good experience. We did have a good laugh though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.