About Bruce Wine Bar

8 Bruce Street
Thornbury, ON N0H 2P0
View Larger Map


Don’t let the name fool you, this unique eatery boasts more than just a wine list distinguished by a Wine Spectator award.
Designated a Feast Ontario restaurant for its’ commitment to sustainable and organic regional fare, Bruce also serves up the best wood-fired Neapolitan style pizza north of the GTA. Add an impressive roster of independent Canadian musicians playing Fridays and you’ve got the vibe!
A funky eclectic design houses 18 cozy seats surrounding the open kitchen and another 30 in a loft-inspired space which includes a communal harvest table.
Once a tiny wine bar serving small plates three nights/week, Bruce has come into its’ own as a full-scale restaurant offering seasonally focused lunch, dinner and take-away menus daily, as well as catering for private parties and large events.
Feed your curiosity!

The Kitchen serves up lunch and dinner Tuesday to Saturday and Sunday Bruce has Brunch!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Canadian, Comfort Food, Pizzeria

Hours of Operation:
Open Tuesday through Saturday 11:30 to close
Lunch and Dinner & Sunday for Brunch 11:00-3:30
Live music Friday nights
2$ Corkage Tuesdays
Open Mic Wednesdays
1/2 price wine on Thursdays
Our ENTRANCE is in the alley behind the TD Bank in Thornbury

Cross Street:
Arthur St West

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(519) 599-1112

Website:
http://brucewinebar.ca/

Entertainment:
On Friday there are two dinner show and 7 and 9pm featuring up and coming canadian artists..sometimes it can be a little loud!
On Wednesday night we host an open mic from 8-10pm. featuring singer songwriters and poets

Catering:
Bruce caters all types of functions from family gatherings to weddings. please contact us to discuss.

Parking Details:
During the day we would request that you park across the street in the public parking area. In the evening feel free to use the parking at the restaurant

Executive Chef:
Shaun J Edmonstone

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Takeout, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Beef Striploin Tartare ~ Chips ~ Pickled Onions ~ Quail Egg 18
  • Beignets With Chocolate Sauce
  • Panacotta With Berries And Chocolate Cookie Crumbs
  • Chicken, Artichoke & Goat Cheese Pizza
Beef Striploin Tartare ~ Chips ~ Pickled Onions ~ Quail Egg 18
Beignets With Chocolate Sauce
Panacotta With Berries And Chocolate Cookie Crumbs
Chicken, Artichoke & Goat Cheese Pizza

Bruce Wine Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Fit for Foodies
Toronto / Ontario
Notable Wine List
Toronto / Ontario
Canadian
Toronto / Ontario
7 More
Best Overall
Simcoe County
Best Food
Simcoe County
Best Service
Simcoe County
Best Ambiance
Simcoe County
Best Value
Simcoe County
Special Occasion
Simcoe County
Most Booked
Simcoe County
Best Restaurants in Blue Mountain ›

Fit for Foodies (35)
Neighborhood Gem (34)
Notable Wine List (26)
See All
Special Occasion (16)
Hot Spot (14)
Good for Groups (13)
Romantic (13)
Creative Cuisine (12)
Cozy (12)
Local Ingredients (10)
Good for a Date (9)
Wood Oven (9)
Live Music (8)
Great for Lunch (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Casual (6)
Worth the Drive (5)
Kid-friendly (5)
Fun (5)
Seasonal (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Open Kitchen (4)
Family Style (4)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Authentic (4)
Healthy (4)
Late-night Find (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Organic (2)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Vegan (1)
Business Meals (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Great Beer (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Sort By:
Newest
138 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The Bruce Wine bar has a great wine list ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined 5 days ago

The Bruce Wine bar has a great wine list and the food was very good. The service at the restaurant was efficient and friendly and the server had a great knowledge of the area and the menu options. We were in for a late lunch (3PM) and had a pate board to start followed by pizza from their pizza menu. All the food was good. The wine I ordered turned out to be out of stock but our server recommended a substitute and it was fine. The wine list is a bit over priced but the selection is good.

Tags: Family Style, Kid-friendly, Fun, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The Bruce Wine Bar is our favourite spot ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined 6 days ago

The Bruce Wine Bar is our favourite spot for dinner in Thornbury. The service, ambiance and overall experience are second to none. My husband and i both ordered the beast special which was good but not mind blowing (pork tenderloin). Everything else was 5 star.

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Wood Oven, Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Fantastic service, food and ambiance. W ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined 7 days ago

Fantastic service, food and ambiance. We will absolutely be back soon!

Tags: Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Live Music, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Wood Oven, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Our server Cindy was great and so were t ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on September 20, 2016

Our server Cindy was great and so were the craft beers. We went on a Tuesday and it was bring your own wine so we didn't have an opportunity to try the wine offerings ($2.00 corkage..very reasonable). They use fresh, high quality ingredients including the pizza dough. They cook the Pizza at a high temperature so they don't cook the taste out of the ingredients

The only down side is that you cannot create your own pizza or change any "stock" Pizza that they have on the menu

Tags: Local Ingredients, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We have been to Bruce many times and thi ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

We have been to Bruce many times and this time, brought friends from the UK. We all had tasty starters, delicious pizzas and a good Niagara syrah. As always, a lovely showcase of local foods with low-key but attentive service. We sat upstairs and the room was full at 6:30. Great spot!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Wood Oven, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We always love dining at Bruce. It is t ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

We always love dining at Bruce. It is truly our favourite restaurant

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fun, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Seasonal, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies, Family Style, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Healthy, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Live Music, Modern Decor, Kid-friendly, Worth the Drive, Quick Bite, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Chacouterie needs to have more choice. E ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

Chacouterie needs to have more choice. Expensive for what you were served. But what we were served was excellent and fresh.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

I would not recommend this restaurant ba ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

I would not recommend this restaurant based on our recent visit. We were seated upstairs along with only a few other tables around us. We ordered the romaine lettuce appetizer, which was very close to opening a premix package sprinkled with more bacon and parmesan shavings--not very imaginative or fresh tasting. I ordered our pizza while taking my last bit of salad so relatively soon after our arrival. Shortly after that another table with 4 patrons came in which the waitress settled with water/orders and then another table between us arrived. I watched both tables receive their pizzas while we waited and waited up to 40 minutes. The waitress recognized I was not happy and I informed her of our long wait. She said our order was after the other tables and since I was facing that direction I know those patrons were not even physically present at the time of ordering. She got the hostess downstairs to come up and speak to us of which she informed us it had been 30 minutes since our order and I informed her that the time our order got into the computer was not the real time of when we ordered it and that we were basically out of wine of which we had planned to have with our pizza. She explained how busy the kitchen was for both downstairs and upstairs and I reiterated that we were the only table not served at this point. End of story was for us to just suck it up and pay our bill---no offer of restitution. News alert---the pizza was not that great and also lukewarm.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

Great Food and of course wine will retur ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

Great Food and of course wine will return for pizza which looked great

Tags: Good for a Date, Open Kitchen, Wood Oven, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I really like the Bruce Wine Bar - howev ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

I really like the Bruce Wine Bar - however this time the experience was not as good. our table was ignored, we had asked to have a special birthday dessert but by the time we got to that point we had decided to leave, no one ever acknowledged that request. Disappointing but hope it was just a blip in the service. The food was great as always.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Everything was great! The fish of the d ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

Everything was great! The fish of the day (Manitoulin Island trout) was absolutely superb. Our only suggestion was they could perhaps improve the dessert menu as it was a bit repetitive.

Tags: Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Organic, Live Music, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We had a enjoyable dinner with friends a ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

We had a enjoyable dinner with friends at Bruce Wine Bar and look forward to returning for dinner again.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We always have a great experience at you ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

We always have a great experience at your restaurant! We love the food, the staff and that it is in town.

The only issue we had was a larger table came in after us, they were rather high maintenance.... It's a small space and our conversations got drowned out😕.

No fault to the restaurant!

Julir

Tags: Kid-friendly, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

when in Collingwood I try for a table at ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

when in Collingwood I try for a table at BWB and have never been disappointed

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ecellent overall experience !

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Ecellent overall experience !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing pizza and salad. Would not hesit ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Amazing pizza and salad. Would not hesitate to dine here again

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Went to the Bruce Wine Bar for dinner - ...

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Went to the Bruce Wine Bar for dinner - food and service were good but will probably return for lunch only as we would prefer having dinner without a lot of kids around, which has been our experience the last few times we've been at the Bruce.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Our meal was great. We enjoyed our time ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Our meal was great. We enjoyed our time there. Great service. Recommend the pizza.

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

What a treasure in thornbury on. Great f ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

What a treasure in thornbury on.

Great food -

i had organic chicken with a wonderful spicy salsa like sauce

My husband had the wood fired pizza

The wine selection was impressive - I had a glass of California cab. Sav.

My husband had a local craft beer

Our server wonderful - knowledgeable and personable

Next time we go will be on a friday

Live music

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Having worked for clients in Toronto, Mo ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Having worked for clients in Toronto, Montreal, Ottawa and Vancouver I have been lucky to have dined at many fine restaurants. But for simple enjoyment in a relaxed atmosphere it is tough to beat Bruce's wine bar. My wife and I have enjoyed dining at Bruce's on several occasions and have never been disappointed.

The polenta appetizer is a favourite and we love the use of local produce in both the pizza's and main courses. Although not large the selection of by-the-glass wines are well chosen - I have particularly enjoyed the wines from Quails Gate in BC.

I would highly recommend Bruce's for an intimate dinner for two or a small group of friends.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Bruce Wine Bar is a unique dining spot w ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Bruce Wine Bar is a unique dining spot with top notch entertainment on select nights weekly. The food is always great with creative combinations, with a solid wine/beer selection. Great ambience. It's always a 5 star experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always great food with a varying menu of ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Always great food with a varying menu of specials. One can taste the freshness and the care the staff take to prepare local and homegrown fare. Great local beers. Steve has a love for independent musicians paired with an eclectic ambiance makes for a memorable experience every time. See you again soon!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Outstanding evening. The fresh ingredi ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Outstanding evening. The fresh ingredients, the right size portions were superb.

Service was excellent. Heidi our server was very pleasant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Strangely we both had the same starter a ...

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Strangely we both had the same starter and entrée. The tomato/buratta salad was mostly greens with perhaps 3 cherry tomatoes cut in half. While it was tasty it was not as expected (I even went back and double checked the description). The braised short rib was a generous portion served with a mashed/crispy potato (like a croquette almost), the carrot puree had no flavor and there were greens on the plate. For desert the flourless chocolate cake (large portion) had good flavor. I had the desert that is served with fruit and a puff pastry - I can't recall the name but it was good. An OK selection of wine by the glass.

Lots of pizza options and I noticed that's what a lot of diners were ordering.

In case it matters to you - they have some high tables for dining including one upstairs that's a communal dining table ... I'm not a fan of high tables and would have specified that I didn't want this if I'd been aware.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Service was fantastic.

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Service was fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Good food, excellent service and it has ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Good food, excellent service and it has a nice relaxed atmosphere with a slight buzz to it,

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The chef Shaun Edmonstone just keeps get ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

The chef Shaun Edmonstone just keeps getting better!!! The food somehow exceeded our expectations which were already high . It was a Friday night and Pat Robitaille was playing. It doesn't get much better than that! Congrats to the hard working team at Bruce Wine Bar for delivering an exceptional customer service experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great little hidden spot in Thornbury. ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Great little hidden spot in Thornbury. Large wine selection, although they were out of their Rose´ by the glass.

A nice variety of menu items to please kids and adults alike. Food is nicely prepared and the service is friendly.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

This was our second visit to Bruce wine ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

This was our second visit to Bruce wine bar and like our first time we were pleasantly surprised by the quality of food and service. The atmosphere is amazing and we will return many times I'm sure. Our only complaint was that we were seated in the middle of a harvest table with other guests on either side of us, this was much too close for comfort and made it impossible to have an intimate conversation. This was most likely due to the fact that we only made our reservation the day prior, however, we would have much rather waited or come earlier had we have had the knowledge of our seating arrangements. Dispite this awkward situation, we will for sure return and request a private table next time! If you're in Thornbury, this is the place to go for great food and drink!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Excellent food paired with great origina ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Excellent food paired with great original cocktails. The ambience is a causal-cool vibe. Friday night live bands are great to round out the experience. We are going back next Friday.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A quiet lunch with 2 friends turned into ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

A quiet lunch with 2 friends turned into a wonderful experience of great food, wine and a finale of a desserts that were off the chart good. All served by a knowledgeable server, David.

We all voted to return before summer's end!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a wonderful experience. Great li ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Always a wonderful experience. Great live music and fresh, seasonal and local foods. Fabulous wine list. Friendly service. A real hub in the community.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

What can I say about the Bruce Wine Bar- ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

What can I say about the Bruce Wine Bar-I eat out almost 5 days a week, from "The Patrician Grill"on King to "The Chase"on Temperance, and everything in between, BRUCE is still the BEST!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It's always a fun place to go. Cozy and ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

It's always a fun place to go. Cozy and great food and wine. We always tell others about the Bruce Wine Bar.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of my favourites!!!

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

I've never had a bad experience at Bruce Street, the service and food have always been Top Notch.

Amazing entertainment adds to the ambience

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best Polenta Cubes

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

Addicted to the polenta apetizer! Simply a unique, delicious apetizer with a tasty edge. Pair it with Pinot Grigio. Delightful. Of course the main dish was brilliant too.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Was the highlight of our weekend - the p ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

Was the highlight of our weekend - the pizzas are delicious!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Spot

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

Always have an amazing meal here - never disappoints!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

a less than optimal dining experience

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on March 13, 2016

The server did not demonstrate the fundamentals of good service. The food while tasty was expensive. The appetizers (steak tartare) were served with potato chips??? When we asked for something to go more appropriately with our $18 appetizers we were informed there would be an extra charge. The entrees we ordered were $28-$30. The poor service plus the expense made our dinner experience less than hoped for. One of our party was a sommelier and found the wine list interesting. We were taking another couple out for dinner for a special occasion and I was embarrassed. I doubt we will return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

One of the best meals I've ever had. And ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on February 28, 2016

One of the best meals I've ever had. And I like food. Beef tartare was to die for. The mains were nutrient full without any fillers - think paleo. Local and OceanWise certifies. Every item on the plate had its own well balanced flavour. You will never think I need salt, pepper or hot sauce. Really, really amazing food and a very knowledgable server. Plus nice atmosphere. YOU need to try it. NOW.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.