About Bruce Wine Bar

8 Bruce Street
Thornbury, ON N0H 2P0
View Larger Map


Don’t let the name fool you, this unique eatery boasts more than just a wine list distinguished by a Wine Spectator award.
Designated a Feast Ontario restaurant for its’ commitment to sustainable and organic regional fare, Bruce also serves up the best wood-fired Neapolitan style pizza north of the GTA. Add an impressive roster of independent Canadian musicians playing Fridays and you’ve got the vibe!
A funky eclectic design houses 18 cozy seats surrounding the open kitchen and another 30 in a loft-inspired space which includes a communal harvest table.
Once a tiny wine bar serving small plates three nights/week, Bruce has come into its’ own as a full-scale restaurant offering seasonally focused lunch, dinner and take-away menus daily, as well as catering for private parties and large events.
Feed your curiosity!

The Kitchen serves up lunch and dinner Tuesday to Saturday and Sunday Bruce has Brunch!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Canadian, Comfort Food, Pizzeria

Hours of Operation:
Open Tuesday through Saturday 11:30 to close
Lunch and Dinner & Sunday for Brunch 11:00-3:30
Live music Friday nights
2$ Corkage Tuesdays
Open Mic Wednesdays
1/2 price wine on Thursdays
Our ENTRANCE is in the alley behind the TD Bank in Thornbury

Cross Street:
Arthur St West

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(519) 599-1112

Website:
http://brucewinebar.ca/

Entertainment:
On Friday there are two dinner show and 7 and 9pm featuring up and coming canadian artists..sometimes it can be a little loud!
On Wednesday night we host an open mic from 8-10pm. featuring singer songwriters and poets

Catering:
Bruce caters all types of functions from family gatherings to weddings. please contact us to discuss.

Parking Details:
During the day we would request that you park across the street in the public parking area. In the evening feel free to use the parking at the restaurant

Executive Chef:
Shaun J Edmonstone

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Takeout, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

  • Beef Striploin Tartare ~ Chips ~ Pickled Onions ~ Quail Egg 18
  • Beignets With Chocolate Sauce
  • Panacotta With Berries And Chocolate Cookie Crumbs
  • Chicken, Artichoke & Goat Cheese Pizza
Beef Striploin Tartare ~ Chips ~ Pickled Onions ~ Quail Egg 18
Beignets With Chocolate Sauce
Panacotta With Berries And Chocolate Cookie Crumbs
Chicken, Artichoke & Goat Cheese Pizza

Bruce Wine Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Fit for Foodies
Toronto / Ontario
Notable Wine List
Toronto / Ontario
Canadian
Toronto / Ontario
8 More
Best Overall
Simcoe County / Muskoka
Best Food
Simcoe County / Muskoka
Best Service
Simcoe County / Muskoka
Best Ambiance
Simcoe County / Muskoka
Best Value
Simcoe County / Muskoka
Fit for Foodies
Simcoe County / Muskoka
Special Occasion
Simcoe County / Muskoka
Most Booked
Simcoe County / Muskoka
Best Restaurants in Blue Mountain ›

fit for foodies (25)
neighborhood gem (23)
notable wine list (20)
See All
special occasion (16)
good for groups (12)
hot spot (11)
great for lunch (10)
romantic (9)
late-night find (2)
kid-friendly (1)
scenic view (1)
vibrant bar scene (1)
great for brunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
107 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A quiet lunch with 2 friends turned into ...

Dined 4 days ago

A quiet lunch with 2 friends turned into a wonderful experience of great food, wine and a finale of a desserts that were off the chart good. All served by a knowledgeable server, David. We all voted to return before summer's end!

Tags: great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Always a wonderful experience. Great li ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

Always a wonderful experience. Great live music and fresh, seasonal and local foods. Fabulous wine list. Friendly service. A real hub in the community.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What can I say about the Bruce Wine Bar- ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

What can I say about the Bruce Wine Bar-I eat out almost 5 days a week, from "The Patrician Grill"on King to "The Chase"on Temperance, and everything in between, BRUCE is still the BEST!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It's always a fun place to go. Cozy and ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

It's always a fun place to go. Cozy and great food and wine. We always tell others about the Bruce Wine Bar.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of my favourites!!!

Dined on May 6, 2016

I've never had a bad experience at Bruce Street, the service and food have always been Top Notch. Amazing entertainment adds to the ambience

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best Polenta Cubes

Dined on April 29, 2016

Addicted to the polenta apetizer! Simply a unique, delicious apetizer with a tasty edge. Pair it with Pinot Grigio. Delightful. Of course the main dish was brilliant too.

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Was the highlight of our weekend - the p ...

Dined on April 24, 2016

Was the highlight of our weekend - the pizzas are delicious!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Spot

Dined on March 27, 2016

Always have an amazing meal here - never disappoints!

Tags: fit for foodies
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

a less than optimal dining experience

Dined on March 13, 2016

The server did not demonstrate the fundamentals of good service. The food while tasty was expensive. The appetizers (steak tartare) were served with potato chips??? When we asked for something to go more appropriately with our $18 appetizers we were informed there would be an extra charge. The entrees we ordered were $28-$30. The poor service plus the expense made our dinner experience less than hoped for. One of our party was a sommelier and found the wine list interesting. We were taking another couple out for dinner for a special occasion and I was embarrassed. I doubt we will return.

food5
ambience5
service5

One of the best meals I've ever had. And ...

Dined on February 28, 2016

One of the best meals I've ever had. And I like food. Beef tartare was to die for. The mains were nutrient full without any fillers - think paleo. Local and OceanWise certifies. Every item on the plate had its own well balanced flavour. You will never think I need salt, pepper or hot sauce. Really, really amazing food and a very knowledgable server. Plus nice atmosphere. YOU need to try it. NOW.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always the Best!

Dined on February 27, 2016

Bruce Wine Bar is always ahead of the curve. Without sounding too foodie, or elitist. This is one of the best restaurants, best vibes and greatest staff one could asked for!

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic as usual.

Dined on February 26, 2016

Could not be better, entertainment was great and the acoustics in the place are great.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent

Dined on February 14, 2016

Bruce Wine Bar is our go to place when we go out to eat. Always great food and wonderful hospitality from first greeting onwards. The chef creates new food experiences every time. Keep it a secret!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A great find in the Blue Mountain area

Dined on January 31, 2016

Excellent service, unique vibe and fantastic food with a local twist. Don't miss the opportunity to experience the Bruce Wine Bar if you are in the area, a real gem!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Thornbury's gastronomic gem

Dined on January 23, 2016

Hat's off to the Bruce Wine Bar for delivering yet another dining experience par excellence last Friday night that also included superb entertainment at no additional charge. The brussel spout salad brought accolades from our eyes and palate as did the beef tartar. Both dishes are a melange of fresh in-season ingredients creatively assembled to deliver memorable dishes. The splendid wine list is personally selected by the proprietor, an accomplished sommelier, who is readily available at your table to help pair the varietal with the plate. The service is congenial, knowledgeable and professional. Bruce is a must visit when you are in the area.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding!

Dined on January 5, 2016

Our favourite restaurant in Thornbury never fails to disappoint. Tuesday night $2 corkage is great but you need to book early to get a table. We love the ambiance on the lower level, watching them cook up our pizzas. The funghi and fennel pizzas are delicious and great for sharing. The server was pleasant and just the right amount of attentiveness.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great Restaurant

vip
Dined on December 26, 2015

Having eaten at the BSWB from the very beginning, it is very satisfying to see the success it is now experiencing. The food and service is always very good and wine list keeps getting better!! Pls. continue to do what you do best!! Gary

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

You are on to something.

Dined on December 22, 2015

A thoughtful menu full of seasonal ingredients gleaned from local suppliers. It's rare to experience this quality of food in such a welcoming, comfortable, unpretentious environment. Solid service. I really enjoyed the inventive cocktails as well. Our second visit. We are telling everyone to go and will return as soon as we can.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great wine list with food and service to match

Dined on December 13, 2015

Pleased to find such a great spot in the County (Grey, that is). Came here with my in-laws for my wife's birthday and wasn't disappointed. They had a great wine list and were very accommodating with food allergies. Already looking forward to my next visit.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food1
ambience4
service3

Disappointed

Dined on October 24, 2015

Very rarely do I write bad reviews and The Bruce Wine Bar has some things going for it. The problem is that we ordered the wrong things. But at a place like this, how can that happen? The quinoa salad was a horrible delivery of a good idea. Quinoa should be a small portion of the salad not the entire salad. Especially as a salad before dinner. My wife unfortunately had that salad. My salad was excellent but sad to say they are taking it off the menu. The roasted tomato and pork were outstanding. Pricey but very good. We were not that hungry and had come on a Saturday to listen to music. The band that night was a one piece guitar singer out of Saskatoon who may not have fit what we were looking for in a wine bar. He did not play cover music but rather his own. The wine list starts at $40 so be prepared to spend. Our dinner that night was a charcuterie blend. We ordered the small to share with the side of olives. Again a great idea delivered poorly. The pate had a strong vinegar flavor and the meats were good but most of the plate needed to be better. How does that come out of the kitchen. This place was recommended by locals and maybe a pizza and a glass of wine each gets you out around $50 and maybe the pizza is good. The bad thing is the Chef graduated from George Brown Culinary in Toronto like my wife. We were hoping for a good experience. We did have a good laugh though.

food5
ambience4
service5

Delicious, often locally sourced, food.

Dined on October 18, 2015

Delicious, often locally sourced, food.

food5
ambience5
service5

Honest food

Dined on October 9, 2015

Excellent ingredients, prepared well without unnecessary embellishments, served attentively by knowledgeable servers willing to adjust ingredients to suit dislikes, reasonable prices

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

great for foodies and wine lovers

Dined on October 8, 2015

This was a fantastic find! The food was delicious and well seasoned, with smart wine pairings. Too bad my boyfriend and I live all the way in Montreal, otherwise we would definitely come more often! This is a must for anyone visiting in the region.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great meal with excellent wine!

Dined on October 7, 2015

Service was great, as was our food. Our mains, chiCken and beef were excellent, on par with big city dining. (The hummus appetizer lacked garlic and a touch of salt.).

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Another great meal @ the Bruce! Never disappointed

Dined on September 26, 2015

We went for the daily pizza and the beast of the day and it was very tasty. I had the risotto with the rabbit on the side as I wasn't sure I would or could enjoy it and it looked and tasted just like a chicken leg and thigh. Incredible! We'll be back again and again. PS The servers are fantastic too!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service4

We made our reservation 24hrs prior then ...

Dined on September 26, 2015

We made our reservation 24hrs prior then confirmed day of. When we arrived we were informed they did not have a table for us as we were not staying for a 2 hr dinner. We could sit outside. Or share a couch. This should have been communicated when we confirmed our reservation. A reserved table is a reserved table. Up to the patrons to decide how much food they choose to consume.

Tags: hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Great wine list. Great food. We sat down ...

vip
Dined on September 24, 2015

Great wine list. Great food. We sat downstairs and watched them cook.

food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent!

Dined on September 19, 2015

The atmosphere, wine ,appetizers and pizzas we had exceeded expectations and were well worth the drive from Blue Mountain as it far exceeds anything you may have in the village.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

I've dined all over the world, from Ban ...

Dined on September 10, 2015

I've dined all over the world, from Bangkok to Boston . I can say without question, that Bruce Wine Bar serves up some of the best quality fresh food I've ever had. One of my top 5 in the World!

food5
ambience5
service5

Another great visit to The Bruce

Dined on September 8, 2015

We came for the pizza and the corkage and we weren't disappointed. The pizza was yummy as always, the fennel sausage one is my favourite and the bacon and tomato is very good too. The perch fish special was delicious and the lentils entrée was very tasty too. The restaurant was busy but the service was fantastic and the noise level just perfect too.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service5

Excellent dining

Dined on September 1, 2015

This is a small town restaurant with a sophisticated big city eating experience. The prices are equivalent to Toronto but the quality of the food, the service and the imaginative presentation justify those prices. The wine list is adequate. The noise level upstairs can be a little overwhelming but clearly the patrons were enjoying themselves. Incidentally, the pizza was among the best I've ever had.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Tiny Town, Tiny Restaurant, Big City quality

Dined on August 22, 2015

While on holiday in the area, I have taken my bff for birthday dinner downstairs annually since Bruce Wine Bar opened and it has always been an excellent dinner that we look forward to all year! She is a bit of a wine snob so she adores the non-lcbo wine list. This time, however, I brought our friends who are professional chef/foodies, so I was a little more nervous. Other than a couple of minor points, they were VERY impressed and we all wondered why we don't have a restaurant like this in Burlington (a population of 175K)! The new, young and very tall hostess will definitely need some encouragement to speak up, and maybe crouch a little closer...we literally couldn't hear a word she said. We waited a little too long for The Charcuterie Plate, however it was delicious, and put together with thought and care. Our friend Chef Mike's statement was "now this is how a grown-up does charcuterie", a sentiment that was repeated with each ensuing course. Mains: Our GF, dairy-free diner was blown away by the lentil dish. Hubby and I had the pizza special of prosciutto and peach: the combination of toppings was amazing. And Chef Mike really enjoyed the fennel sausage pizza. The pizza centres were a little too soggy, but the flavors were exceptional. For dessert, Chef and his better-half shared the gf chocolate almond polenta cake... he made no secret of the fact that he will be adding a variation of this item to his own menu of offerings. Hubby and I had the frozen strawberry mousse with meringues and it was delightful. Again, a perfect combination of tastes and textures. Since the wine list consists totally of non-lcbo brands, one really has to rely on your server - it was the more expensive labels which were recommended, but her suggestions were very helpful. We think her name was Heidi, and her service was attentive, very friendly, knowledgeable, unobtrusive and professional. Ambiance was pleasant, chairs a little firm. Definitely recommend!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4

Always a great place to eat!

Dined on August 20, 2015

We have visited the Bruce Wine Bar maybe a half dozen times over the last two years and it never fails to satisfy. The food is fresh, tasty, usually local, beautifully presented and all this at a reasonable price. The services has been very good to excellent each time. The wait staff knows their wine and are happy to make a recommendation. As a beer snob, I appreciate the local brews on tap. We prefer the lower level because it is a little brighter than the upstairs, but the upper level would probably be great when they have live music.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing fare

Dined on August 16, 2015

Bruce Wine Bar is a short drive from Collingwood but well worth the time. None of the restaurants in Blue Mountain Village compared. We went back for a second dinner before leaving the area. Reservations are a must. The food was so delicious with fresh ingredients, most sourced locally. There are not a lot of entree's on the menu, but there were always several specials. We ordered from them: the bass, pickerel, and pork chop. All were so flavorful. Save room for dessert. The polenta chocolate cake was heavenly. We didn't get to try the pizza, but it has a great reputation among the locals.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Girls night out

Dined on August 14, 2015

Had a lovely evening which we always have at The Bruce. The server was attentive and helpful. The food, especially the appetizers and the pizza, were very tasty. The dessert was plentiful and shared between the four of us. We will be back... again and again.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4

Terrific supper!

Dined on August 6, 2015

Beautiful summer tomatoes showcased in hot soup and cool salad with chevre. Delicious lentil and summer veggie dish and a nice crispy crusted bacon & tomato pizza. We had a Coffin Ridge cider and a local beer. Dessert - chocolate polenta cake - was just ok. Not too expensive. Very friendly service.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

Amazing food! Great service. Live music was loud.

Dined on August 1, 2015

We will definitely come back again. Good food. Reasonable prices. Romantic and not rushed. The live music was too loud.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

BWB nails it every time.

Dined on July 18, 2015

Love this place. Food is always delicious and inventive without it being too much about the invention and more on flavour and texture. The staff are knowlwdgeable and engaging. Always have a good time at BWB.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious food and Fantastic music

Dined on May 15, 2015

my wife and i are from Toronto and we came to visit our daughter who lives in Collingwood now and she suggested Bruces wine bar based on recommendations of friends. it is a fantastic little spot, the food was absolutely delicious and we happened by on the night that Scarlett Jane was playing. the salads and steak tatare were all perfect. as a matter od fact, that was one of the best ceasar salads i have ever had. The mains were just as good with two of us having the Braised beef and my daughter had the wild boar. OH, leave room for desert, you cant go wrong with the pana cotta. we will defintely be back. remember to make reservations.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4

Awesome.

Dined on May 12, 2015

This is a great spot to dine. Food is fantastic. Staff are very friendly . Atmosphere is really nice. We're fortunate to have this caliber of restaurant in our area. Highly recommend!!! Steve Schwartz

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.