About Bruce Wine Bar

8 Bruce Street
Thornbury, ON N0H 2P0
View Larger Map


Don’t let the name fool you, this unique eatery boasts more than just a wine list distinguished by a Wine Spectator award.
Designated a Feast Ontario restaurant for its’ commitment to sustainable and organic regional fare, Bruce also serves up the best wood-fired Neapolitan style pizza north of the GTA. Add an impressive roster of independent Canadian musicians playing Fridays and you’ve got the vibe!
A funky eclectic design houses 25 cozy seats surrounding the open kitchen and another 40 in a loft-inspired space which includes a communal harvest table.
Once a tiny wine bar serving small plates three nights/week, Bruce has come into its’ own as a full-scale restaurant offering seasonally focused lunch, dinner and take-away menus daily, as well as catering for private parties and large events.
Feed your curiosity!

The Kitchen serves up lunch and dinner Tuesday to Saturday

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Canadian, Comfort Food, Pizzeria

Hours of Operation:
Open Tuesday through Thursday 11:30-9:00
Friday and Saturday 11:30AM- Close
Live music Friday nights
2$ Corkage Tuesdays
Open Mic Wednesdays

Our ENTRANCE is in the alley behind the TD Bank in Thornbury

Cross Street:
Arthur St West

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(519) 599-1112

Website:
http://brucewinebar.ca/

Entertainment:
On Friday there are two dinner show and 7 and 9pm featuring up and coming canadian artists..sometimes it can be a little loud!
On Wednesday night we host an open mic from 8-10pm. featuring singer songwriters and poets

Catering:
Bruce caters all types of functions from family gatherings to weddings. please contact us to discuss.

Parking Details:
During the day we would request that you park across the street in the public parking area. In the evening feel free to use the parking at the restaurant

Public Transit:
Small town
Behind the TD Bank in Thornbury
Public Parking available across the Street at the Thornbury Post Office

Executive Chef:
Shaun J Edmonstone

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Dancing, Entertainment, Full Bar, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
$2 Corkage every Tuesday Night (*applies only to 750ml bottle+ $15 min food charge per person)
Open Mic Wednesday Nights
Every Friday night Live music *( cover charge may apply)

Specials

$2 Corkage Fee

Tuesdays from 11:30 AM - 9:00 PM

Specials

$2 Corkage Fee

Tuesdays from 11:30 AM - 9:00 PM

Details

Enjoy $2 corkage on any 750mL bottle that you bring. Excludes Tax and Tip. We only open 750mL bottles and a $15 per person food minimum is required. Special valid Dec 6, 2016 - Apr 6, 2017 on Tuesdays from 11:30 AM - 9:00 PM.

Bruce Wine Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (26)
Cozy (26)
Local Ingredients (24)
See All
Wood Oven (22)
Fit for Foodies (19)
Casual (18)
Special Occasion (18)
Authentic (16)
Open Kitchen (16)
Live Music (16)
Romantic (15)
Good for Anniversaries (15)
Creative Cuisine (15)
Neighborhood Gem (14)
Notable Wine List (14)
Worth the Drive (13)
Fun (11)
Healthy (10)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Hot Spot (9)
Great for Lunch (8)
Seasonal (8)
Good Vegetarian Options (8)
Comfort Food (8)
Good for Groups (7)
Business Meals (6)
Great Beer (5)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Organic (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Tasting Menu (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
People Watching (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Tapas (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Fireplace (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
183 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

It was a wonderful, intimate dining expe ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 5 days ago

It was a wonderful, intimate dining experience especially for Valentine's Day! The pickerel was amazing! The overall experience was excellent!!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was amazing! Had the gnocchi and t ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 5 days ago

Food was amazing! Had the gnocchi and the flavour was superb! My husband had short ribs and couldn't stop raving about them. Will definitely be returning!

Tags: Special Occasion, Organic, Great for Lunch, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

My husband and I went to the Bruce Wine ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 11, 2017

My husband and I went to the Bruce Wine Bar for a Saturday night , mid-Winter outing. The atmosphere and staff were warm and welcoming. The food was awesome. We will definitely be back to the Bruce Wine Bar!

Tags: Fun, Authentic, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

As usual, high quality ingredients were ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 11, 2017

As usual, high quality ingredients were prepared with creativity and flair. The wine pairing was delicious too. Would definitely recommend!

Tags: Authentic, Wood Oven, Comfort Food, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

First time to the Bruce Wine Bar and we ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 11, 2017

First time to the Bruce Wine Bar and we will definitely be back. My husband and I were looking for somewhere different to dine. The food was great, the service was good, the live music was a nice touch. It was a bit loud to have a quiet conversation but we will be returning with friends.

Tags: Casual, Cozy, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

A busy hot spot for live music on a Frid ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 10, 2017

A busy hot spot for live music on a Friday night! The wood fired pizza is especially delicious!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Sunday Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Wood Oven, Great for Lunch, Live Music, Local Ingredients, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Open Kitchen, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great music and excellent food. Wine lis ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Great music and excellent food. Wine list is unusually excellent as well.

Tags: People Watching, Good for a Date, Wood Oven, Organic, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Kid-friendly, Hot Spot, Live Music, Romantic, Paleo Friendly, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Fun, Great Beer, Cozy, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Open Kitchen, Gluten Free Options, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love this place!! Definitely a good cho ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Love this place!! Definitely a good choice for food and wine in the Blue Mountains area.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Open Kitchen, Hot Spot, Wood Oven, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Bruce Wine Bar is an Ontario culinar ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 1, 2017

The Bruce Wine Bar is an Ontario culinary gem. If you're up in the Bruce peninsula, you won't be disappointed!

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Bruce Wine Bar is our favourite place to ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Bruce Wine Bar is our favourite place to eat in Thornbury. The service, ambiance and food are all exceptional. Just love it!

Tags: Healthy, , Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Live Music, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and music but service was too ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Great food and music but service was too rushed. No dessert menu offered. Brought mains while still eating salad. The service was all about turning tables. Price was not reflective of a nice paced relaxed dinner out.

Tags: Cozy, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

We love the food here...all 7 times. Thi ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 20, 2017

We love the food here...all 7 times. This visit however was our first time upstairs,Friday night, single guy singing with acoustic guitar. The Amplifier wa SO LOUD! it made his singing at a screech level, we could not carry a conversation,plugged our ears with fingers...its a room with 10 tables, not a massive bar!...and still no staff member offered up maybe turning down his amplifier? Made the experience almost unbearable. I told the waitress, and at the end reflected it in our tip and making us try and eat thru that racket falls under bad service.

Tags: Wood Oven, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Open Kitchen, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service4
value4

We sat in the lower level which is where ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 6, 2017

We sat in the lower level which is where the kitchen is located. It's always fun to watch the food preparation while dining. Despite food service happening right beside us it's not loud and carrying on a conversation is easy.

Highly recommend the cheese boards. The balance of richness and flavours was wonderful. The addition of the honeycomb was a delight. The hallmark of the restaurant is the wine list and wood-fired pizzas; both are extensive. The value of the pizzas is punctuated by the brisk take-out business occurring throughout the night. There was a steady stream of orders being packaged during our entire time there. Although I didn't order this time, when I see Black Hills "Nota Bene" on the wine list I smile.

I booked for 6:30 PM as a date night with my wife. The timing was excellent as it became busier within an hour. It was our first visit there on a recommendation from a friend. We will go back again.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Live Music, Special Occasion, Healthy, Open Kitchen, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Wood Oven, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We had friends up for the weekend and I ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 6, 2017

We had friends up for the weekend and I knew they would love the vibe of this restaurant. The other bonus was a live band. The band was fantastic, service was perfect and the food was very tasty. Our friends said "good choice" many times. We'll be back for sure

Tags: Romantic, , Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Good for a Date, Cozy, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great meal in a great restaurant. Have v ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Great meal in a great restaurant. Have visited the restaurant previously and will definitely return.

Tags: Tapas, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options, Notable Wine List, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We are regulars at The Bruce Wine Bar - ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 3, 2017

We are regulars at The Bruce Wine Bar - love love love their fabulous homemade pizza and appetizers - atmosphere is warm and fun!

Tags: Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Sunday Lunch, Organic, Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal, Comfort Food, Cozy, Good for a Date, Open Kitchen, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Live Music, Local Ingredients, Wood Oven, Good Vegetarian Options, Great Beer, Casual, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very enjoyable and accommodating for our ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Very enjoyable and accommodating for our group of 8.

Tags: Healthy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We enjoyed a New Year's Eve dinner at Br ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We enjoyed a New Year's Eve dinner at Bruce's and it was a great experience. Delicious food, attentive service and overall a great night.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The salads are way over priced. $14 for ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 30, 2016

The salads are way over priced. $14 for three slices of beet, 4 pea shoots and a glob of goats cheese - c'mon!!! Should have been triple that for that price. The pizza is delicious, but pricey as well.

Tags: Romantic, Authentic, Fireplace, Good for a Date, Casual, Wood Oven, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value1

Our dinner at Bruce Wine Bar was outstan ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Our dinner at Bruce Wine Bar was outstanding in all aspects. Service was excellent, the food was superb and we have nothing bad to say about the restaurant, the waiters or the food. We were really surprised to find this gem in the middle of a small town where there are not many options. Would go again for sure!

Tags: , Authentic, Cozy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was tasty from appetizers, main to ...

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Food was tasty from appetizers, main to desserts.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Dinner was excellent. A lot of locally s ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Dinner was excellent. A lot of locally sourced foods and great variety.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We love the Bruce. Never disappoints. Fo ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 23, 2016

We love the Bruce. Never disappoints. Food and service is outstanding.

Tags: , Open Kitchen, Wood Oven, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We always thoroughly enjoy our trips to ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 20, 2016

We always thoroughly enjoy our trips to the Bruce Wine Bar. There was always something for us vegetarians to have although there could be a few more things to, hint hint hint.

Tags: Authentic, Casual, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Modern Decor, Live Music, Good Vegetarian Options, Fun, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value5

Highly recommend. What's gem of a plac ...

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Highly recommend. What's gem of a place

If you are ever visiting blue mountain. Do yourself a Favor. Leave the village and go here for dinner one night. Best food and wine selection around.

Everything we tried was excellent versions for any foodie

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Went here for my birthday and I chose it ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Went here for my birthday and I chose it based on the amazing reviews of the food and wine and it didn't disappoint! The hot olives, albacore tuna, curried lentils and short ribs were amazing. Impressive wine and cocktails too. It was well worth the 15 minute taxi ride from the village into Thornbury and would definitely go back again. Was a large group next to us that was a little loud. Only downside to the night!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Favorite spot ! Always comes through. B ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 6, 2016

Favorite spot ! Always comes through. Best pizza around.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Soft live music was great. Just the righ ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Soft live music was great. Just the right level of sound and added to the atmosphere.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Top dining experience. Excellent variety ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 30, 2016

Top dining experience. Excellent variety of local dishes. Flavouring is perfectly balanced.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Fun, Romantic, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Open Kitchen, Hot Spot, Authentic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

On a Saturday night out with friends, we ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 26, 2016

On a Saturday night out with friends, we visited the Bruce Wine Bar on a recommendation from an esteemed chef acquaintance. All three of us had a lovely evening. The food was delicious, the staff were super attentive and friendly. The experience of the restaurant was lovely. The ambience is very cozy, but also upbeat. I will definitely be back, and would encourage anyone to pay a visit to this restaurant.

Tags: Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Great Beer, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We are regulars. The food is creative, h ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 18, 2016

We are regulars. The food is creative, healthy, local and excellent.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Wood Oven, Gluten Free Options, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Cozy, Live Music, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

As always the Bruce Wine Bar is a perfec ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 12, 2016

As always the Bruce Wine Bar is a perfect place to eat. Quality food in a great location with polite staff. Thanks guys for the perfect evening.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Healthy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food never disappoints. I bring frie ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 1, 2016

The food never disappoints. I bring friends and family and they love it. Our friends go back after they have been with us. They have a good bartender and are knowledgeable about the wine. Recently had chorizo pizza at lunch and my husband and I will have that again. Best pizza in the Collingwood area. Gourmet!! Servers know the dishes and are helpful if you have an allergy.

Tags: Casual, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Love this restaurant. We eat here whenev ...

 
 (London)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Love this restaurant. We eat here whenever we are in Thornberry. Food is always great. I particularly love the pizza- it has the best crust! Upstairs is very lively. They often have live bands. We prefer the quieter downstairs.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Wood Oven, Open Kitchen, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Bruce was recommended among three differ ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Bruce was recommended among three different restaurants (it was at the top of the list). I really liked the menu and the vibe of the restaurant from the website, so we picked Bruce. It did not disappoint, I found it a cool, charming, warm ambience with an interesting menu. Our dishes were all delicious. I would highly recommend and go again!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Family Style, Cozy, Live Music, Healthy, Casual, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

As usual, the experience at Bruce Wine B ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 21, 2016

As usual, the experience at Bruce Wine Bar was consistent and outstanding. We have become regulars when we are in that area and highly recommend it to others to give it a try.

Cheers!

Tags: Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was a great find. Interesting menu. ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 16, 2016

This was a great find. Interesting menu. We opted for the daily special - venison. It was superbly done (medium rare) accompanied by a delicious jus and sweet potato purée. The apple dessert was also delightful, although the cheddar cheese was hardly noticeable and needed more sharpness.

Tags: Seasonal, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Special anniversary evening with friends ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Special anniversary evening with friends. Loved the food, the wine and the band was outstanding. A highlight to our 1st trip visiting the area. We will definitely be back!

Tags: Late-night Find, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Live Music, Local Ingredients, Wood Oven, Fun, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the best in our area for a casual ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 14, 2016

One of the best in our area for a casual or more formal get together.

Tags: Wood Oven, Casual, Open Kitchen, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Overall awesome experience! Love the foo ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Overall awesome experience! Love the food and the atmosphere.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Molecular Gastronomy, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.