About Bru Grill and Market

23730 El Toro Rd
Lake Forest, CA 92630
View Larger Map

We serve the best farm to table Eats, craft brews, and boutique wines. From our phenomenal Happy Hour to our Brü Burger, Salads, Flatbreads, Wild Caught Seafood and Amazing Steaks... you will love Brü!

"America's Top 250 Restaurants"
Save the World. Eat. Brü. Crü. Proudly serving The OC, CA.

Orange County, California · brugrill.com

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American, Gastro Pub

Hours of Operation:
Lunch

Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 3:00pm

Dinner

Sunday - Tuesday: 3:00pm - 9:00pm; Wednesday & Thursday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm; Friday & Saturday: 3:00pm - 11:00pm

Brunch

Sunday: 9:30am - 3:00pm

Cross Street:
Rockfield

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(949) 305-5757

Website:
http://www.brugrill.com/

Entertainment:
Live entertainment on Friday and Saturday nights. See www.brugrill.com events calendar for details.

Catering:
Full event catering for information email events@brugrill.com

Parking Details:
Extensive Parking Available

Executive Chef:
Chef Ülises Navarette

Private Party Facilities:
We have multiple options for private groups of up to 300! See www.brugrill.com for a brief video on our private event incredible skills!

Private Party Contact:
Events Coordinator: (949) 305-5757

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cigar Room, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Beer, wine & culinary events and specials regularly.... check our website for the latest information

Bru Grill and Market Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.3

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Great Beer (14)
Good for Birthdays (13)
Good for a Date (13)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Romantic (9)
Good for Anniversaries (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Happy Hour (9)
Great for Brunch (9)
Bar Seating (9)
Casual (9)
Good for Groups (8)
Great for Lunch (8)
Special Occasion (8)
Fun (8)
Cozy (7)
Kid-friendly (7)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Live Music (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Business Meals (6)
Worth the Drive (6)
Modern Decor (5)
Notable Wine List (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Hot Spot (5)
People Watching (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Local Ingredients (3)
Live Sports (3)
Healthy (3)
Authentic (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Seasonal (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Family Style (2)
Organic (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Fireplace (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
372 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined 5 days ago

A favorite local spot. We actually dine here frequently.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Paleo Friendly, Bar Seating, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 6 days ago

See my review on Yelp. HORRIBLE EXPERIENCE.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We came here for a Valentine's Day date and made reservations online. Walked in and told the hostess we had a reservation, she said to give her a second. A couple walks in after us with a reservation and she immidiately seats them as we wait aimlessly for ten minutes to be seated. It was definitely an innconvience, considering we also made a reservation. Other than that the server was great, food and drinks were amazing. Would still recommend dispite the annoyance of making a reservation and having to wait so long to be seated by the hostess.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Great Beer, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, People Watching, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Romantic, Happy Hour, Casual, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Cozy, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on February 13, 2017

So......been to Bru many times with just very average service,

from hostess seating to waiters and bartender service .

This time was a revival!!!!

A SHOUT OUT to Bru for an updated menu (delicious fried chicken sandwich), excellent cocktails and a very polite and attentive hostess.

I will return because of this latest dinning experience:)

Tags: Organic, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great Beer, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Expected normal menu but was only serving brunch made it difficult to determine what to have.

Very noisy the restaurant needs to add sound canceling treatments to bring the dbs down so customers can carry on conversations without yelling.

Tags: Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food, Open Kitchen, Great for Brunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Nice atmosphere. Good food. Close to home. Will go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 9, 2017

The beer and food selection was very good and overall we had a decent experience. When it comes to beverage service, the staff was extremely attentive. Thank you for that.

However, we had to flag down our waiter several times for food related issues, such as ordering, wrong order, and a cold halibut dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 5, 2017

The food was wonderful as usual however our server Eric was absolutely terrible. Didn't greet us or take our drink order for almost 15 min. The rest of the evening seemed put out when he did come by and we had to ask other servers for assistance as our drinks were empty, our orders incomplete, etc. As myself and my guests have all been servers this was inexcusable.

Tags: Casual, Great Beer, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 5, 2017

The unique characteristic of this restaurant is their approach to wine. Instead of having a mediocre wine list charging 2-3 times the store cost per bottle, they have top label wines and they sell them at the same cost you would pay at Bev Mo or Total Wine. This is awesome and a reason to return over and over by itself!!! The only difference is that they charge a $10 corkage fee on the wine which is lower than most restaurants.

The food was just as unique. The menu is full of selections that I had never seen before which made it an adventure in itself. Coupled with the excellent wine option and highly energetic atmosphere, Bru is definitely a place to frequent.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Wonderful, attentive service; chicken was tasty, large portions! Salads nicely presented, large & flavorful; sausages delicious though quite spicy; good for families & groups, but not so much dates

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 29, 2017

I loved the place as soon as we walked in! She's local to the Lake Forest location and she thought I'd like it. Yes, yes, yes!!! I ordered the Monte Cristo sandwich with a side salad and she ordered a made-to-order omelette and the endless champagne. It was brunch after all :-) My Monte Cristo was excellent. The brioche bread they used was delectable and I liked that their version wasn't deep fried. It didn't need to be since all the ingredients they used was good quality and again, brioche bread says it all! My side salad was perfectly dressed with a delicious balsamic vinaigrette dressing. My friend's omelette was delicious with all of the fresh ingredients she selected and the fresh orchid looked beautiful on the plate making her dish all the more special. Her potatoes were perfectly done, but could have used a bit more salt during the cooking process. The champagne they served was yummy and surprisingly so since it was bottomless. All in all we really loved our brunch and can't wait to dine there again!

Tags: Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, People Watching, Bar Seating, Great Beer, Good for Groups, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Fun, Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Disabled Access, Sunday Lunch, Happy Hour, Romantic, Comfort Food, Kid-friendly, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Food was good. Service was horrible. Our dinner was dropped off and then we never saw our waiter again. No drink refills, no offer of dessert. When I finally flagged him down, he just brought the bill. "Oh, did you want dessert?" ... Not anymore.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value3

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on January 28, 2017

It was really great.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Always good food and service! Great ambiance and great beer tasting menu.

Tags: Seasonal, Fireplace, Creative Cuisine, Live Music, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Good, but biz about not marking up wine 300-400% is a joke. No bargains on wine, and then $10 corkage fee? Come on, really?

Tags: Good for a Date, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on January 21, 2017

The food was great. The service was slow, but I think our waiter might be new.

We felt comfortable sitting and talking for quite a while.

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on January 21, 2017

I have been to Bru for brunch and lunch, but this was my first dinner experience and I was not disappointed! We met friends out for a date night and it was exactly what I hoped for - great cocktails, fantastic service (attentive, but not pushy), yummy food and a festive, upbeat atmosphere. There was live music in the bar area and I was afraid it would get too loud. But, my fears were unfounded and we were able to enjoy conversation with our friends while still enjoying the atmosphere of the restaurant. A great night - we'll be back!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Live Music, Bar Seating, Cozy, Fun, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Great food and great serving staff. A little bit pricey but for date night just fine. Can be a little loud because open rooms and squeeze tables in area.

Love coming here with my wife and friends. Good for Group happy hour also.

Tags: Disabled Access, Comfort Food, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on January 8, 2017

We had a great time, our table was waiting for us since we used Open Table! My only issue is every time I've eaten at Brü the food isn't as hot as I would like, but with that said it tastes great, has a nice presentation and the selection is wonderful. We'll def be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Great service, drinks and food! Table ready at reservation time. Everything perfect!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 30, 2016

great service, good food, and 5 star atmosphere. Love the dim-lit surroundings with wine bottles that decorate the walls. Recommended

Tags: Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Kid-friendly, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Really great :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Had a really nice evening in xmas eve and didn't have to lift a finger. Table was ready and on time and our service was great. Even other waiters who weren't waiting on our table at all greeted us on the way out saying good night, how was your meal, and hope you enjoyed yourselves/happy holidays and this was at the end of a busy evening for them so that was impressive. The food was fantastic and well-timed for a busy night. Speaking as the one who would have been doing all the cooking had we been at home it was a totally quality experience that felt elegant and to did justice to the occasion - like we were all being pampered. One last nice touch - the chalkboard Christmas countryside snow scene hand drawn by someone who worked there we were told was done on her day off, was spectacular and festive. Nicely done Bru Grill. Thank you.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Open Kitchen, Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal, Business Meals, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Service was much better than when it first opened. Food was great!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Molecular Gastronomy, Fun, Great Beer, Hot Spot, Romantic, Happy Hour, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on December 25, 2016

The staff couldn't be more courteous or helpful. Our waiter was quick to attend to our 5 year old grandson and his pizza and juice arrived very quickly. The food was beautifully presented, fresh and met even our foodie sons expectations. I would highly recommend the Lake Forest location for any occassion.

Tags: Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Bru Grill is the best restaurant in Lake Forest, California!!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Live Music, Good for a Date, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Late-night Find, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Dinner was good. Had filet and Salmon. My daughter had pasta papperdelle. It was so so. Service was quick and excellent in a very busy night

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Always awesome :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on December 18, 2016

I had the sausage combo with hot potato salad and sauerkraut, which was very good. However, Mom's crab egg benedict was not hot and the eggs were overcooked. She did not say anything prior to eating it, but when I informed our server, Alex, he "made it right" and didn't charge us for her entry. Altho the restaurant was quite busy, Alex provided excellent service and was very attentive to our needs and requests.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great Beer
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on December 18, 2016

We love this restaurant, whenever we have time for a lunch or dinner date this is our go to place

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on December 17, 2016

This place has a very nice Ambience and makes you feel comfortable and the food is always good and this service is great I love coming here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on December 13, 2016

Service was excellent. The food was flavorful, fresh and delicious. Server was extremely helpful in both food and drink suggestions. Dessert was amazing.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on December 12, 2016

Really great :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 10, 2016

the service needs a some adjusting......slow and weren't brought to our table some of the requests we asked for as far as food.

Could be a little more attentive....

Visit Hanna's in Mission Viejo and see what service is all about.....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on December 7, 2016

Delicious food, preparation and presentation we're great. Our waitress was so accommodating, didn't rush us our push the meal am ng. The ambiance was warm and inviting, decorated perfect for the holiday. The chalk mural was amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on December 6, 2016

The ambiance is fantastic and definitely in love with the cocktail list. The food was alright, didn't particularly stand out. Service was slow, especially for a Monday night. But otherwise, will absolutely be coming back for drinks!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Awesome :) :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Bru is a favorite dining spot for us! It is always delicious, service is great, and we are always pleased and eager to return!

Tags: Hot Spot, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Kid-friendly, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on November 27, 2016

been here several times and never disappointed. I come for the craft beer selection but i always enjoy the food. Menu is thoughtfully selected to pair well with the available beers and wine. live entertainment during evenings makes the evening even more eventful.

Tags: Great Beer, Live Music, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Always excellent :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Always excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Delicious! Food and drink. Good service. Be sure to order the lavendar lemon drop martini!

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on October 26, 2016

We were celebrating our 30th anniversary. Our server, Lexi was awesome and seemed to genuinely care about making sure we enjoyed our evening. The food was delicious, as always and we love the fact that everything is freshly made and this place is close to home so we don't have to drive too far.

Tags: Fireplace, Hot Spot, Quick Bite, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on October 25, 2016

I'm absolutely stunned at how great our experience was! Logan, our server is top notch, can't ask for better service. We had never been there, and I asked him to share some of the top menu items. He went through the menu and talked about the top 2-3 dishes in each area. The food was fantastic, and environment reminded us of one of our favorite restaurants in the Bay Area. We were there to celebrate our 11 year wedding anniversary, and it was a memory we will never forget. Thank you to BRU, Logan and the entire crew! We'll be back!

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Open Kitchen, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Healthy, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Wood Oven, Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on October 18, 2016

Excellent service and delicious food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on October 17, 2016

Food was excellent and service was even bette. Our server Justin was very attentive & checked on us about every 10 minutes . He also recommended dessert. We were to stuffed or we would have tried something . We will be going back soon. A little noisy for lunch but we got through it. We would highly recommend this place & they even have a gluten free flat bread that is very tasty .

Tags: Hot Spot, Open Kitchen, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on October 7, 2016

I picked this restaurant for a business lunch. I had never been here before but I liked what I saw on the menu. We were there when they opened at 11:00am and were seated immediately. My coworkers enjoyed the 3 sausage platter, the burger and the beef dip sandwich. Our server answered all our questions, explained the soup of the day and always kept our drinks full. Everyone enjoyed the meal and I got to try a new restaurant. My husband and I are looking forward to trying this restaurant for dinner and cocktails.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on October 1, 2016

BRU never disappoints! Had the Ribeye with the smashed garlic potatoes and fried onions on top with Asparagus. WOW!! What a dish! My better half had the salmon which is always amazing.

Great cocktails, killer beer selection on tap (even Nitro!)and bottles in fridges for selection. Outstanding wine list!!!

Tags: Business Meals, Open Kitchen, Outstanding Value, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Great Beer, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Modern Decor, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Wood Oven, Vibrant Bar Scene, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Live Music, Good for Birthdays, Live Sports, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, People Watching, Fun, Local Ingredients
2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on October 1, 2016

It was really great as always

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Let me say, the food is quite good, no complaints there. However, the service there leaves a lot to be desired. Throughout the meal, our server was rarely seen. After we were done with our meal, the server asked if we would like to see a dessert menu, we said yes. Five minutes, ten minutes, no menu and no server. When she finally did come back, she still didn't have the dessert menus and just asked if we wanted a refill on our beers. At that point I just asked for the check. I don't think we'll be back.

Tags: Good for Groups
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.