About Bru Grill and Market

23730 El Toro Rd
Lake Forest, CA 92630
View Larger Map

We serve the best farm to table Eats, craft brews, and boutique wines. From our phenomenal Happy Hour to our Brü Burger, Salads, Flatbreads, Wild Caught Seafood and Amazing Steaks... you will love Brü!

"America's Top 250 Restaurants"
Save the World. Eat. Brü. Crü. Proudly serving The OC, CA.

Orange County, California · brugrill.com

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American, Gastro Pub

Hours of Operation:
Lunch

Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 3:00pm

Dinner

Sunday - Tuesday: 3:00pm - 9:00pm; Wednesday & Thursday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm; Friday & Saturday: 3:00pm - 11:00pm

Brunch

Sunday: 9:30am - 3:00pm

Cross Street:
Rockfield

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(949) 305-5757

Website:
http://www.brugrill.com/

Entertainment:
Live entertainment on Friday and Saturday nights. See www.brugrill.com events calendar for details.

Catering:
Full event catering for information email events@brugrill.com

Parking Details:
Extensive Parking Available

Executive Chef:
Chef Ülises Navarette

Private Party Facilities:
We have multiple options for private groups of up to 300! See www.brugrill.com for a brief video on our private event incredible skills!

Private Party Contact:
Events Coordinator: (949) 305-5757

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cigar Room, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Beer, wine & culinary events and specials regularly.... check our website for the latest information

Bru Grill and Market Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (14)
Good for Groups (12)
Good for a Date (12)
See All
Good for Birthdays (11)
Great Beer (10)
Great for Brunch (10)
Special Occasion (9)
Great for Lunch (8)
Romantic (8)
Kid-friendly (7)
Good for Anniversaries (7)
Fun (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Cozy (7)
Happy Hour (6)
Modern Decor (6)
Worth the Drive (6)
Hot Spot (6)
Notable Wine List (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Open Kitchen (5)
Business Meals (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Live Music (4)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Family Style (4)
Live Sports (4)
Outstanding Value (3)
Seasonal (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Authentic (3)
Healthy (3)
Wood Oven (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
People Watching (2)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Fireplace (1)
Casual (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Organic (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
351 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great food and great serving staff. A li ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Great food and great serving staff. A little bit pricey but for date night just fine. Can be a little loud because open rooms and squeeze tables in area.

Love coming here with my wife and friends. Good for Group happy hour also.

Tags: Disabled Access, Comfort Food, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

We had a great time, our table was waiti ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on January 8, 2017

We had a great time, our table was waiting for us since we used Open Table! My only issue is every time I've eaten at Brü the food isn't as hot as I would like, but with that said it tastes great, has a nice presentation and the selection is wonderful. We'll def be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great service, drinks and food! Table re ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Great service, drinks and food! Table ready at reservation time. Everything perfect!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

great service, good food, and 5 star atm ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 30, 2016

great service, good food, and 5 star atmosphere. Love the dim-lit surroundings with wine bottles that decorate the walls. Recommended

Tags: Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Kid-friendly, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

Really great :)

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Really great :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a really nice evening in xmas eve an ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Had a really nice evening in xmas eve and didn't have to lift a finger. Table was ready and on time and our service was great. Even other waiters who weren't waiting on our table at all greeted us on the way out saying good night, how was your meal, and hope you enjoyed yourselves/happy holidays and this was at the end of a busy evening for them so that was impressive. The food was fantastic and well-timed for a busy night. Speaking as the one who would have been doing all the cooking had we been at home it was a totally quality experience that felt elegant and to did justice to the occasion - like we were all being pampered. One last nice touch - the chalkboard Christmas countryside snow scene hand drawn by someone who worked there we were told was done on her day off, was spectacular and festive. Nicely done Bru Grill. Thank you.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Open Kitchen, Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal, Business Meals, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was much better than when it fir ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Service was much better than when it first opened. Food was great!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Molecular Gastronomy, Fun, Great Beer, Hot Spot, Romantic, Happy Hour, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

The staff couldn't be more courteous or ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on December 25, 2016

The staff couldn't be more courteous or helpful. Our waiter was quick to attend to our 5 year old grandson and his pizza and juice arrived very quickly. The food was beautifully presented, fresh and met even our foodie sons expectations. I would highly recommend the Lake Forest location for any occassion.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Family Style, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Bru Grill is the best restaurant in Lake ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Bru Grill is the best restaurant in Lake Forest, California!!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Live Music, Good for a Date, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Late-night Find, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dinner was good. Had filet and Salmon. M ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Dinner was good. Had filet and Salmon. My daughter had pasta papperdelle. It was so so. Service was quick and excellent in a very busy night

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Always awesome :)

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Always awesome :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had the sausage combo with hot potato ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on December 18, 2016

I had the sausage combo with hot potato salad and sauerkraut, which was very good. However, Mom's crab egg benedict was not hot and the eggs were overcooked. She did not say anything prior to eating it, but when I informed our server, Alex, he "made it right" and didn't charge us for her entry. Altho the restaurant was quite busy, Alex provided excellent service and was very attentive to our needs and requests.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We love this restaurant, whenever we hav ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on December 18, 2016

We love this restaurant, whenever we have time for a lunch or dinner date this is our go to place

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Service was excellent. The food was fla ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on December 13, 2016

Service was excellent. The food was flavorful, fresh and delicious. Server was extremely helpful in both food and drink suggestions. Dessert was amazing.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Really great :)

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on December 12, 2016

Really great :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

the service needs a some adjusting.... ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 10, 2016

the service needs a some adjusting......slow and weren't brought to our table some of the requests we asked for as far as food.

Could be a little more attentive....

Visit Hanna's in Mission Viejo and see what service is all about.....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value4

Delicious food, preparation and present ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on December 7, 2016

Delicious food, preparation and presentation we're great. Our waitress was so accommodating, didn't rush us our push the meal am ng. The ambiance was warm and inviting, decorated perfect for the holiday. The chalk mural was amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The ambiance is fantastic and definitely ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on December 6, 2016

The ambiance is fantastic and definitely in love with the cocktail list. The food was alright, didn't particularly stand out. Service was slow, especially for a Monday night. But otherwise, will absolutely be coming back for drinks!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3

Awesome :) :)

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Awesome :) :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Bru is a favorite dining spot for us! ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Bru is a favorite dining spot for us! It is always delicious, service is great, and we are always pleased and eager to return!

Tags: Hot Spot, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Kid-friendly, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

been here several times and never disapp ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on November 27, 2016

been here several times and never disappointed. I come for the craft beer selection but i always enjoy the food. Menu is thoughtfully selected to pair well with the available beers and wine. live entertainment during evenings makes the evening even more eventful.

Tags: Great Beer, Live Music, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Always excellent :)

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Always excellent :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Always excellent.

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Always excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious! Food and drink. Good servic ...

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Delicious! Food and drink. Good service. Be sure to order the lavendar lemon drop martini!

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were celebrating our 30th anniversary ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on October 26, 2016

We were celebrating our 30th anniversary. Our server, Lexi was awesome and seemed to genuinely care about making sure we enjoyed our evening. The food was delicious, as always and we love the fact that everything is freshly made and this place is close to home so we don't have to drive too far.

Tags: Fireplace, Hot Spot, Quick Bite, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

I'm absolutely stunned at how great our ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on October 25, 2016

I'm absolutely stunned at how great our experience was! Logan, our server is top notch, can't ask for better service. We had never been there, and I asked him to share some of the top menu items. He went through the menu and talked about the top 2-3 dishes in each area. The food was fantastic, and environment reminded us of one of our favorite restaurants in the Bay Area. We were there to celebrate our 11 year wedding anniversary, and it was a memory we will never forget. Thank you to BRU, Logan and the entire crew! We'll be back!

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Open Kitchen, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Healthy, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Wood Oven, Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service and delicious food.

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on October 18, 2016

Excellent service and delicious food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was excellent and service was even ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on October 17, 2016

Food was excellent and service was even bette. Our server Justin was very attentive & checked on us about every 10 minutes . He also recommended dessert. We were to stuffed or we would have tried something . We will be going back soon. A little noisy for lunch but we got through it. We would highly recommend this place & they even have a gluten free flat bread that is very tasty .

Tags: Hot Spot, Open Kitchen, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I picked this restaurant for a business ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on October 7, 2016

I picked this restaurant for a business lunch. I had never been here before but I liked what I saw on the menu. We were there when they opened at 11:00am and were seated immediately. My coworkers enjoyed the 3 sausage platter, the burger and the beef dip sandwich. Our server answered all our questions, explained the soup of the day and always kept our drinks full. Everyone enjoyed the meal and I got to try a new restaurant. My husband and I are looking forward to trying this restaurant for dinner and cocktails.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

BRU never disappoints! Had the Ribeye wi ...

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on October 1, 2016

BRU never disappoints! Had the Ribeye with the smashed garlic potatoes and fried onions on top with Asparagus. WOW!! What a dish! My better half had the salmon which is always amazing.

Great cocktails, killer beer selection on tap (even Nitro!)and bottles in fridges for selection. Outstanding wine list!!!

Tags: Business Meals, Open Kitchen, , Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Great Beer, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Modern Decor, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Wood Oven, Vibrant Bar Scene, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Live Music, Good for Birthdays, Live Sports, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, People Watching, Fun, Local Ingredients
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was really great as always

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on October 1, 2016

It was really great as always

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Let me say, the food is quite good, no c ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Let me say, the food is quite good, no complaints there. However, the service there leaves a lot to be desired. Throughout the meal, our server was rarely seen. After we were done with our meal, the server asked if we would like to see a dessert menu, we said yes. Five minutes, ten minutes, no menu and no server. When she finally did come back, she still didn't have the dessert menus and just asked if we wanted a refill on our beers. At that point I just asked for the check. I don't think we'll be back.

Tags: Good for Groups
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

This reservation was for a baby shower. ...

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on September 24, 2016

This reservation was for a baby shower. I requested a quieter section of the restaurant and we got it! It was perfect. The server was very attentive and treated us well. I have been to Bru before and plan on going back!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Asked a friend to recommend a restaurant ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 11, 2016

Asked a friend to recommend a restaurant in the area and she suggested Bru Grill. I met up w/ a different friend for lunch and had an enjoyable experience. This was my second time eating there and I plan on eating there again when in the area. It was a really nice experience and would recommend to a friend.

Tags: Private Room, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Afternoon Tea, Sunday Lunch, Happy Hour
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

we live in the area and its nice to have ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on September 9, 2016

we live in the area and its nice to have a neighborhood place that is special and has good food too! the French onion soup was delicious and the chopped salad had plenty of chicken no skimping. will go back again with family.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Organic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Open Kitchen, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Really great :)

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on September 7, 2016

Really great :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is our 3rd time at the Bru and the ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on September 5, 2016

This is our 3rd time at the Bru and the food and service has been great each time.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Good for Groups, Cozy, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We came to Bru for Sunday brunch and cou ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 4, 2016

We came to Bru for Sunday brunch and could not have been happier with our experience. We were a party of 7 and both the food and service were great. We loved having the "bottomless champagne" option and the muffins at the table were a nice touch.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

They have made changes to the dishes. I ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on September 2, 2016

They have made changes to the dishes. I have almost always ordered the pork chop and it was notably smaller this time but it included perfectly cooked fresh green beans this time which I have had to order separately in the past. The salmon was also notably smaller but didn't include anything extra. We still enjoyed our meal, but were disappointed in the smaller portions, especially given the price point.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Casual, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value3

Really great :)

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on September 2, 2016

Really great :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.