About Bru Grill and Market

23730 El Toro Rd
Lake Forest, CA 92630
View Larger Map

We serve the best farm to table Eats, craft brews, and boutique wines. From our phenomenal Happy Hour to our Brü Burger, Salads, Flatbreads, Wild Caught Seafood and Amazing Steaks... you will love Brü!

"America's Top 250 Restaurants"
Save the World. Eat. Brü. Crü. Proudly serving The OC, CA.

Orange County, California · brugrill.com

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American, Gastro Pub

Hours of Operation:
Lunch

Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 3:00pm

Dinner

Sunday - Tuesday: 3:00pm - 9:00pm; Wednesday & Thursday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm; Friday & Saturday: 3:00pm - 11:00pm

Brunch

Sunday: 9:30am - 3:00pm

Cross Street:
Rockfield

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(949) 305-5757

Website:
http://www.brugrill.com/

Entertainment:
Live entertainment on Friday and Saturday nights. See www.brugrill.com events calendar for details.

Catering:
Full event catering for information email events@brugrill.com

Parking Details:
Extensive Parking Available

Executive Chef:
Chef Ülises Navarette

Private Party Facilities:
We have multiple options for private groups of up to 300! See www.brugrill.com for a brief video on our private event incredible skills!

Private Party Contact:
Events Coordinator: 9493055757x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cigar Room, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Beer, wine & culinary events and specials regularly.... check our website for the latest information

Bru Grill and Market Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (17)
Good for Groups (16)
Neighborhood Gem (16)
See All
Good for a Date (14)
Vibrant Bar Scene (13)
Great for Lunch (13)
Good for Birthdays (12)
Fit for Foodies (12)
Great for Brunch (11)
Great Beer (10)
Romantic (9)
Great for Outdoor Dining (8)
Happy Hour (8)
Casual (8)
Good for Anniversaries (8)
Fun (7)
Business Meals (7)
Notable Wine List (7)
Hot Spot (7)
Local Ingredients (6)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Cozy (6)
Bar Seating (6)
Kid-friendly (6)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Live Music (5)
Open Kitchen (5)
Family Style (5)
Comfort Food (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Modern Decor (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Authentic (3)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Healthy (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Live Sports (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Fireplace (2)
Quick Bite (2)
 (1)
Organic (1)
 (1)
Seasonal (1)
 (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Private Room (1)
 (1)
People Watching (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Sort By:
S
336 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Delicious food, preparation and present ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined 2 days ago

Delicious food, preparation and presentation we're great. Our waitress was so accommodating, didn't rush us our push the meal am ng. The ambiance was warm and inviting, decorated perfect for the holiday. The chalk mural was amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The ambiance is fantastic and definitely ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined 4 days ago

The ambiance is fantastic and definitely in love with the cocktail list. The food was alright, didn't particularly stand out. Service was slow, especially for a Monday night. But otherwise, will absolutely be coming back for drinks!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3

Awesome :) :)

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined 7 days ago

Awesome :) :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Bru is a favorite dining spot for us! ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Bru is a favorite dining spot for us! It is always delicious, service is great, and we are always pleased and eager to return!

Tags: Hot Spot, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Kid-friendly, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

been here several times and never disapp ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on November 27, 2016

been here several times and never disappointed. I come for the craft beer selection but i always enjoy the food. Menu is thoughtfully selected to pair well with the available beers and wine. live entertainment during evenings makes the evening even more eventful.

Tags: Great Beer, Live Music, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Always excellent :)

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Always excellent :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Always excellent.

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Always excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious! Food and drink. Good servic ...

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Delicious! Food and drink. Good service. Be sure to order the lavendar lemon drop martini!

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were celebrating our 30th anniversary ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on October 26, 2016

We were celebrating our 30th anniversary. Our server, Lexi was awesome and seemed to genuinely care about making sure we enjoyed our evening. The food was delicious, as always and we love the fact that everything is freshly made and this place is close to home so we don't have to drive too far.

Tags: Fireplace, Hot Spot, Quick Bite, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

I'm absolutely stunned at how great our ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on October 25, 2016

I'm absolutely stunned at how great our experience was! Logan, our server is top notch, can't ask for better service. We had never been there, and I asked him to share some of the top menu items. He went through the menu and talked about the top 2-3 dishes in each area. The food was fantastic, and environment reminded us of one of our favorite restaurants in the Bay Area. We were there to celebrate our 11 year wedding anniversary, and it was a memory we will never forget. Thank you to BRU, Logan and the entire crew! We'll be back!

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Open Kitchen, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Healthy, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Wood Oven, Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service and delicious food.

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on October 18, 2016

Excellent service and delicious food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was excellent and service was even ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on October 17, 2016

Food was excellent and service was even bette. Our server Justin was very attentive & checked on us about every 10 minutes . He also recommended dessert. We were to stuffed or we would have tried something . We will be going back soon. A little noisy for lunch but we got through it. We would highly recommend this place & they even have a gluten free flat bread that is very tasty .

Tags: Hot Spot, Open Kitchen, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I picked this restaurant for a business ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on October 7, 2016

I picked this restaurant for a business lunch. I had never been here before but I liked what I saw on the menu. We were there when they opened at 11:00am and were seated immediately. My coworkers enjoyed the 3 sausage platter, the burger and the beef dip sandwich. Our server answered all our questions, explained the soup of the day and always kept our drinks full. Everyone enjoyed the meal and I got to try a new restaurant. My husband and I are looking forward to trying this restaurant for dinner and cocktails.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

BRU never disappoints! Had the Ribeye wi ...

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on October 1, 2016

BRU never disappoints! Had the Ribeye with the smashed garlic potatoes and fried onions on top with Asparagus. WOW!! What a dish! My better half had the salmon which is always amazing.

Great cocktails, killer beer selection on tap (even Nitro!)and bottles in fridges for selection. Outstanding wine list!!!

Tags: Business Meals, Open Kitchen, Outstanding Value, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Great Beer, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Modern Decor, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Wood Oven, Vibrant Bar Scene, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Live Music, Good for Birthdays, Live Sports, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, People Watching, Fun, Local Ingredients
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was really great as always

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on October 1, 2016

It was really great as always

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Let me say, the food is quite good, no c ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Let me say, the food is quite good, no complaints there. However, the service there leaves a lot to be desired. Throughout the meal, our server was rarely seen. After we were done with our meal, the server asked if we would like to see a dessert menu, we said yes. Five minutes, ten minutes, no menu and no server. When she finally did come back, she still didn't have the dessert menus and just asked if we wanted a refill on our beers. At that point I just asked for the check. I don't think we'll be back.

Tags: Good for Groups
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

This reservation was for a baby shower. ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on September 24, 2016

This reservation was for a baby shower. I requested a quieter section of the restaurant and we got it! It was perfect. The server was very attentive and treated us well. I have been to Bru before and plan on going back!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Asked a friend to recommend a restaurant ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 11, 2016

Asked a friend to recommend a restaurant in the area and she suggested Bru Grill. I met up w/ a different friend for lunch and had an enjoyable experience. This was my second time eating there and I plan on eating there again when in the area. It was a really nice experience and would recommend to a friend.

Tags: Private Room, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Afternoon Tea, Sunday Lunch, Happy Hour
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

we live in the area and its nice to have ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on September 9, 2016

we live in the area and its nice to have a neighborhood place that is special and has good food too! the French onion soup was delicious and the chopped salad had plenty of chicken no skimping. will go back again with family.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Organic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Open Kitchen, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Really great :)

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on September 7, 2016

Really great :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is our 3rd time at the Bru and the ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on September 5, 2016

This is our 3rd time at the Bru and the food and service has been great each time.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Good for Groups, Cozy, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We came to Bru for Sunday brunch and cou ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 4, 2016

We came to Bru for Sunday brunch and could not have been happier with our experience. We were a party of 7 and both the food and service were great. We loved having the "bottomless champagne" option and the muffins at the table were a nice touch.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

They have made changes to the dishes. I ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on September 2, 2016

They have made changes to the dishes. I have almost always ordered the pork chop and it was notably smaller this time but it included perfectly cooked fresh green beans this time which I have had to order separately in the past. The salmon was also notably smaller but didn't include anything extra. We still enjoyed our meal, but were disappointed in the smaller portions, especially given the price point.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Casual, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value3

Really great :)

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on September 2, 2016

Really great :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ordered the sausage platter. Not good at ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 31, 2016

Ordered the sausage platter. Not good at all. Everything was overly sweet.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

We've been fans of this resteraunt for a ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on August 28, 2016

We've been fans of this resteraunt for about 2 years and have gone for dinner at the resteraunt once or twice a month over the period. We've tried many items and enjoyed the new additions to the menu during the time. Recently, Brü changed chefs and menus. We were so disappointed with the new menu (selection, smaller sea food selection, and loss of our favorite items.) the menu has blank space and an ad for Thursday nights. The beer selection was varied in the past and decidedly gone trendy with almost exclusively with IPA and stouts. What happens to the pilsners, lagers, blondes, red, and fruit beer/cider? The food missed the mark beyond that sauces were not reduced properly and the mix of flavor missed the mark as well.

The reality is we are extremely sad that we lost our favorite resteraunt. And it shows, the availability of tables. The place was always hopping during the weekend. But there were tons of tables in both the bar and the resteraunt. I hope management figures this out and brings focus back to this location rather than concentrating on their new location.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value1

Would give service higher but the hostes ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Would give service higher but the hostesses were SO slow. With our reservation we were seated 15-minutes after reservation time. And once we were seated we noticed the restaurant was empty. So disappointing! But our server was great, very attentive.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

The duck - duck chicken was dry and The ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on August 17, 2016

The duck - duck chicken was dry and The green beans were raw. Not good

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

Really good :)

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on August 16, 2016

Really good :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Have eaten lunch and dinner here before ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 14, 2016

Have eaten lunch and dinner here before but this was our first time for brunch. Interesting menu and food was great.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

I booked a 11am brunch for my stepdaught ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 14, 2016

I booked a 11am brunch for my stepdaughter's birthday. My husband and his daughter got the bottomless mimosa's and we all got breakfast food. The portions are hearty and our server was awesome always keeping the champagne and orange juice flowing. We loved it and our breakfast!

Tags: Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

So excellent :)

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on August 14, 2016

So excellent :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Disappointing this time and I've dined h ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 14, 2016

Disappointing this time and I've dined here many times before! Not very crowded but the service was poor. Not sure I would recommend Bru after this visit. If I decide to try it again, perhaps.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

Had another great experience here. Waite ...

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on August 14, 2016

Had another great experience here. Waiter was outstanding, had flatbread and my husband had the seafood trio. Best drinks around.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

This is a place NOT to be missed. Everyt ...

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on August 13, 2016

This is a place NOT to be missed. Everything from the moment you step in the door, exceptional service, outrageously delicious food and sumptuous desserts. You will never be disappointed at this neighborhood gem. We are quite lucky to have BRU in our immediate neighborhood. And if it's merely a Happy Hour stop in? Well they will set you up! Great HH food menu, drinks, craft cocktails and a beer selection off of 40 taps and fridges full of specialty bottlings, Excellent wine selections by the glass or certainly their full bottle offerings. Pricing is also astoundingly good here. Go BRU or just go home!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Came here to meet friends for our annive ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on August 11, 2016

Came here to meet friends for our anniversary dinner. It was a Wednesday so reservations were easy to make for 6:30pm. Service was friendly and prompt. The happy hour area was really loud but that's always to be expected. When we were seated at our table, it was not a big deal. I enjoyed the meal and thought it was a tad pricey, but the food was great so I was ok with the total bill.

Tags: Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had a very good meal. Great service. ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on August 11, 2016

We had a very good meal. Great service. Great sausage meal. Great hamburger. Very nice staff. Clean and comfortable.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Very great :)

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on August 9, 2016

Very great :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was delicious, including some r ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 8, 2016

The food was delicious, including some recent additions to the menu. Clean, fresh, balanced and tasty offerings. The food is quite possibly outshone only by the creative and delectable cocktails. Our waiter, Traver, was perfectly kind, personable and attentive.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Bru has always been my go-to restaurant ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on August 3, 2016

Bru has always been my go-to restaurant for many occasions - most of all for meeting with friends. The staff is friendly, knowledgeable, and attentive. When a quiet area is needed, we are always accommodated.

Tags: Romantic, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.