About Bru Grill and Market

We serve the best farm to table Eats, craft brews, and boutique wines. From our phenomenal Happy Hour to our Brü Burger, Salads, Flatbreads, Wild Caught Seafood and Amazing Steaks... you will love Brü!

"America's Top 250 Restaurants"
Save the World. Eat. Brü. Crü. Proudly serving The OC, CA.

Orange County, California · brugrill.com

23730 El Toro Rd
Lake Forest, CA 92630
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American, Gastro Pub

Hours of Operation:
Lunch

Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 3:00pm

Dinner

Sunday - Tuesday: 3:00pm - 9:00pm; Wednesday & Thursday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm; Friday & Saturday: 3:00pm - 11:00pm

Brunch

Sunday: 9:30am - 3:00pm

Cross Street:
Rockfield

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(949) 305-5757

Website:
http://www.brugrill.com/

Entertainment:
Live entertainment on Friday and Saturday nights. See www.brugrill.com events calendar for details.

Catering:
Full event catering for information email events@brugrill.com

Parking Details:
Extensive Parking Available

Executive Chef:
Chef Ülises Navarette

Private Party Facilities:
We have multiple options for private groups of up to 300! See www.brugrill.com for a brief video on our private event incredible skills!

Private Party Contact:
Events Coordinator: (949) 305-5757

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cigar Room, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Beer, wine & culinary events and specials regularly.... check our website for the latest information

Bru Grill and Market Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Creative Cuisine (24)
Good for a Date (22)
Casual (20)
See All
Bar Seating (19)
Good for Groups (19)
Neighborhood Gem (19)
Good for Birthdays (19)
Special Occasion (18)
Good for Anniversaries (17)
Happy Hour (17)
Comfort Food (16)
Fun (15)
Great Beer (14)
Notable Wine List (14)
Vibrant Bar Scene (14)
Fit for Foodies (14)
Great for Brunch (13)
Handcrafted Cocktails (13)
Great for Lunch (13)
Hot Spot (12)
Business Meals (11)
Romantic (11)
Sunday Lunch (11)
Cozy (9)
Live Music (9)
Local Ingredients (8)
Worth the Drive (8)
Authentic (7)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Live Sports (5)
Late-night Find (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Quick Bite (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Seasonal (4)
Disabled Access (3)
Organic (3)
People Watching (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Tapas (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
480 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined 2 days ago

I love Bru and now that I know how to get a reservation, I will go more often. Celebrated my friend's birthday this time. She had the salmon--delicious! I tried the fried meatloaf. It was good but too much sauce on top of it, kind of drowned the flavor a bit. The birthday treat was outstanding and my friend was delighted with the presentation. We shared the cake and ice cream and both were delicious!

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined 5 days ago

Pleasantly surprised with the food and ambiance
Price was fair
Service friendly and not pushy

Tags: Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Organic, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 7 days ago

Celebrated retirement on this visit. Excellent service. Great food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 9, 2017

Nice ambiance, good and friendly service, and a nice menu selection.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 8, 2017

Ate with my boyfriend and his family. We actually were unfortunately in town for a memorial service, so it was nice to be taken care of with great customer service and a good meal. Our server Michael greeted us, answered all our questions, and served us all within a timely manner and a with a smile. It was truly appreciated. We all ordered different things and not a bad review in the house. Started with the cheese and Charcuterie medium sized which was delicious. It comes with 4 cheeses and the rest meat. The honey was very sweet but the walnuts were to die for. Some of the entrees we ordered were the bok choy salmon(the pictured), the prime rib (pictured), the fried meatloaf (had too much sauce for our taste but it was delicious), the shrimp pesto pasta, and the French dip sandwich I believe, was all very good.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Late-night Find, Live Music, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Healthy, Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on October 8, 2017

Our dinner was great! We irdered everything from salads to Dr Pepper ribs and fried meatloaf. The steak was good, too! Lots of fun!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Casual, Comfort Food, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on October 8, 2017

I loved the ahi. It was so flavorful. Please keep it

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Comfort Food, Kid-friendly, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 8, 2017

We decided to head to Bru for dinner this past weekend after seeing the menu. The food concepts were absolutely perfect. Where Bro suffered was in the execution. The Deep Fried Meatloaf was very good, but the Mac & Cheese shells were barely cooked with little to no cheese. Once again, the baby back rib concept was excellent including a Dr. Pepper glaze and bacon however when the ribs arrived they were cooked with the bacon on top. This meant that neither the rib or bacon was cooked all the way. Additionally it meant that fat from both created a goo under the bacon. Had the items been cooked separately then brought together it might have been edible.

Finally, our waitress was so polite but only be so attentive when overseeing at least 4 regular tables and an anniversary party of about 12 people. Just so much for one person to handle. Especially since all were seated at the same time.

For the record as mentioned, the concepts were great and just the type of place we would want to regularly eat, but the execution was so poor that I would probably not go back or recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on October 1, 2017

BRU always delivers. when you want a place that consistently delivers running on all cylinders always, BRU is the place. Friendliest people, always great food, rotating beer on tap selection as well as bottled varieties, craft cocktail program that continues to get better and a wine list that would make anyone drool. Very reasonable pricing all the way around. A true value! and what . neighborhood gem......all this equals a superstar restaurant.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour, Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Live Music, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Live Sports, Great Beer, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Vibrant Bar Scene, Late-night Find, People Watching, Fun, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on October 1, 2017

We first tried Bru for lunch, it was wonderful so I looked at the dinner menu and liked what I saw. We brought a friend with us for dinner and she loved it. We will definitely keep Bru on our list of restaurants to enjoy with friends.

Tags: Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 1, 2017

I ordered seafood sampler, overcook food and very salty

soup is good , Rib just fine , Prime Rib is good...
hope they can improved the food, the environment is nice because the food, i don't think i will come back here

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 27, 2017

IPA beer selection was poor. Ordered the ahi sandwich and was disappointed that it was open face

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on September 26, 2017

Love BRU!!! Matt, the owner, always makes us feel welcome and at home- food is absolutely delicious, and atmosphere is upbeat and oh so happy!!! Live music adds to the ambience-

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on September 23, 2017

Sr pepper ribs are super yummy.

Enjoy the ambiance as well...aleayd enjoy this place

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on September 22, 2017

Came here for a business dinner...all the beer we kept having to order seemed to be sold out. When the food finally came it was cold. The service was not the best either. I come here for brunch and it's great, but I wouldn't do a business dinner here again.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Terrific place to eat whether for lunch, brunch or dinner! Terrific wine and beer selection and the food is equally wonderful!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Happy Hour, Great Beer, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 17, 2017

I was very impressed with the fact that BRU had Scottish Salmon on the menu, it was very good! The swordfish special was also outstanding. Can't wait to have an occasion to go back.

Tags: Business Meals, Great Beer, Casual, Good Vegetarian Options, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 16, 2017

My boyfriend and I always enjoy our visits to Bru Market & Grill. We love bringing family and friends here. It's one of our favorite places to eat.

Tags: Live Music, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on September 14, 2017

Always have wonderful meals and service. Great place to meet with friends.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 9, 2017

We had a great dinner here with family. The pretzel bread "bru & cru" appetizer was fantastic with dipping sauces, then everyone loved various entrees of fried meatloaf, Dr. Pepper baby back ribs and the pork chop. They also had amazing desserts (bread pudding and also a great smores dessert). We loved the darker ambience here and the staff was friendly and helpful. We would definitely come back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on September 9, 2017

We love Brü! Food, service and setting were awesome as always!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 3, 2017

I went there with my girlfriends and we really enjoy time together. Very good healthy food, live music and drinks! :)

Tags: Special Occasion, Live Music, Bar Seating, Healthy, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on August 26, 2017

John has been our waiter on both occasions when we visited Bru Grill & Market. He is a great Server and really made our experience nice. We've recently moved to the area and are still learning about the city. But we will definitely be back here. The food was excellent and the ambiance was very nice. Most likely, this will be our new favorite spot.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fun, Live Music, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on August 23, 2017

Always great, went for Anniversary with girlfriend :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 20, 2017

Salmon was delicious. New York strip was large and quality, only seasoned with salt. I appreciate a little more flavor. Bday dessert was great. Thank you.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on August 20, 2017

I ordered the Caesar salad which was limp, warm, soggy with no crotons and just shaved Parmesan....I could've made the salad at home soooo much better. I sent it back. My husband had the lentil soup which he said was "just okay." We split the burger and it was tasty, but very greasy. The Habit would be been just as good and less fat. We won't be back. I guess we have been spoiled by such wonderful restaurants we have visited lately. Bru doesn't compare.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on August 18, 2017

I've been to Bru about four times now. In the past, the food has been fairly good but I will admit that the last time I was there I didn't think the food had been as good as my previous two visits. Now with this fourth visit, I think that maybe I won't come back.

On this visit, I dined with my co-worker (one of my previous dinners at Bru was with her as well). We ordered a beet salad for a starter and that was really good (kind of hard to mess up). My co-worker ordered a medium-rare rib-eye for dinner and I ordered the Seafood Trio. The steak arrived between medium and medium-well. She sent it back. That night the fish was swordfish. Recognizing that swordfish is a firmer type of fish to begin with, this night the swordfish was very hard. I didn't eat it. The two bacon-wrapped shrimp were overcooked. The bacon was nice and crispy but unfortunately the shrimp was hard under the bacon. I could not cut it with a fork but had to use a knife. I ate one of them. The scallop was actually cooked correctly and was delicious. The second steak arrived rare.

The concept of Bru is attractive to me as a diner; however, with the impression I have from the last two visits I just don't think its worth my time to try again. To me, this seems like the case of carelessness or too much familiarity of the menu items (boredom) on the chef's/cook's part. They think they have it down pat and don't take as much care as they should remembering that they should be creating a good dining experience for every customer that walks through the door even though it might be the 2000th time they've made something.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on August 17, 2017

Great server and portions. Plus great birthday dessert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on August 17, 2017

Always an outstanding dining experience! New menu introduced includes four steaks from Aspen Ridge Farms with unique choose-your-own side dish and topping options.

Tags: Casual, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on August 13, 2017

New Craft Cocktail menu just unveiled...WOW!!!! Prohibition cocktails, stuff I've never eve heard of! JUST FREAKING WOW!!!!! If you haven't tried this place, you haven't lived....serious must go to this place....

Tags: Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Live Sports, Cozy, Great Beer, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, People Watching, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Fun, Business Meals, Happy Hour, Live Music, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Fantastic! And we lived Logan our favorite waiter!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on August 6, 2017

I'm somewhat biased, not because I own it or work here, but because I'm a local. I've been to this restaurant 87 times. I've been here alone, with my wife, my dogs, my parents, my sons, friends and fellow foodies, neighbors, and business colleagues.

I've had breakfast, lunch and dinner there, always GOOD and sometimes EXCELLENT! I have had a several of their handcrafted cocktails and MANY unique draught beers.

If you're still unsure, try it and let Matt and his crew personally win you over!

Tags: Good for a Date, Seasonal, Casual, Hot Spot, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Tasting Menu, Great Beer, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Live Sports, Comfort Food, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Quick Bite, Handcrafted Cocktails, Sunday Lunch, Disabled Access, Kid-friendly, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Nice neighborhood gem. Good wine selection and other cocktails. Creative entree choices. Great atmosphere. Tables available for large parties or private party on patio.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
·Dined on August 6, 2017

Service terrible. Had to ask for total meal, left potatoe off. No knife to cut steak. Had to ask for everythg then waiter asked "are you happy now". Food quality inspite if cost was only fair. Sad to give such a negative review. First time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

Amazing food, amazing service as always. The owner came over and gave my boyfriend and me free drinks for no reason! I'm impressed with Brü every time I go there.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Bru is a very pleasing dinner experience. The service is good and the food choices nicely varied and fresh. It's a great place to meet with friends because everyone's taste in food and drink is offered at Bru. Only drawback is the noise level. I would request a quiet, back room seat, away from the bar area if you want to have a conversation.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 3, 2017

Fantastic food. Love the atmosphere. Will definitely come back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 3, 2017

Great place to go. Wife and I go every other week. Lots of menu choices and lots of beer selections. In fact so many beer selections that it is a must to ask for samples. Never have had a bad experience. I am also glad that it is not very expensive.

Tags: Casual, Great Beer, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on July 30, 2017

This place is not to be missed. Creativity of menu, outstanding service coupled with truly fresh ingredients and "local" all the way. So blessed we have BRU near (and dear) to us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on July 29, 2017

The mussels are excellent. Great to share or enjoy as an entree.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.