About Bru Grill and Market

23730 El Toro Rd
Lake Forest, CA 92630
View Larger Map

We serve the best farm to table Eats, craft brews, and boutique wines. From our phenomenal Happy Hour to our Brü Burger, Salads, Flatbreads, Wild Caught Seafood and Amazing Steaks... you will love Brü!

"America's Top 250 Restaurants"
Save the World. Eat. Brü. Crü. Proudly serving The OC, CA.

Orange County, California · brugrill.com

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American, Gastro Pub

Hours of Operation:
Lunch

Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 3:00pm

Dinner

Sunday - Tuesday: 3:00pm - 9:00pm; Wednesday & Thursday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm; Friday & Saturday: 3:00pm - 11:00pm

Brunch

Sunday: 9:30am - 3:00pm

Cross Street:
Rockfield

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(949) 305-5757

Website:
http://www.brugrill.com/

Entertainment:
Live entertainment on Friday and Saturday nights. See www.brugrill.com events calendar for details.

Catering:
Full event catering for information email events@brugrill.com

Parking Details:
Extensive Parking Available

Executive Chef:
Chef Ülises Navarette

Private Party Facilities:
We have multiple options for private groups of up to 300! See www.brugrill.com for a brief video on our private event incredible skills!

Private Party Contact:
Events Coordinator: 9493055757x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cigar Room, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Beer, wine & culinary events and specials regularly.... check our website for the latest information

Bru Grill and Market Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.2

ambience

4.2

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Groups (44)
Neighborhood Gem (34)
Fit for Foodies (32)
See All
Vibrant Bar Scene (31)
Special Occasion (29)
Great for Lunch (28)
Great for Brunch (20)
Hot Spot (19)
Romantic (18)
Notable Wine List (18)
Great for Outdoor Dining (14)
Kid-friendly (10)
Late-night Find (8)
Scenic View (1)
Sort By:
Newest
305 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The duck - duck chicken was dry and The ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

The duck - duck chicken was dry and The green beans were raw. Not good

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

Really good :)

vip
 (Orange County)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Really good :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Have eaten lunch and dinner here before ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Have eaten lunch and dinner here before but this was our first time for brunch. Interesting menu and food was great.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

I booked a 11am brunch for my stepdaught ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

I booked a 11am brunch for my stepdaughter's birthday. My husband and his daughter got the bottomless mimosa's and we all got breakfast food. The portions are hearty and our server was awesome always keeping the champagne and orange juice flowing. We loved it and our breakfast!

Tags: Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Disappointing this time and I've dined h ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Disappointing this time and I've dined here many times before! Not very crowded but the service was poor. Not sure I would recommend Bru after this visit. If I decide to try it again, perhaps.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

Had another great experience here. Waite ...

vip
 (Orange County)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Had another great experience here. Waiter was outstanding, had flatbread and my husband had the seafood trio. Best drinks around.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

This is a place NOT to be missed. Everyt ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

This is a place NOT to be missed. Everything from the moment you step in the door, exceptional service, outrageously delicious food and sumptuous desserts. You will never be disappointed at this neighborhood gem. We are quite lucky to have BRU in our immediate neighborhood. And if it's merely a Happy Hour stop in? Well they will set you up! Great HH food menu, drinks, craft cocktails and a beer selection off of 40 taps and fridges full of specialty bottlings, Excellent wine selections by the glass or certainly their full bottle offerings. Pricing is also astoundingly good here. Go BRU or just go home!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Came here to meet friends for our annive ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Came here to meet friends for our anniversary dinner. It was a Wednesday so reservations were easy to make for 6:30pm. Service was friendly and prompt. The happy hour area was really loud but that's always to be expected. When we were seated at our table, it was not a big deal. I enjoyed the meal and thought it was a tad pricey, but the food was great so I was ok with the total bill.

Tags: Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had a very good meal. Great service. ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

We had a very good meal. Great service. Great sausage meal. Great hamburger. Very nice staff. Clean and comfortable.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Very great :)

vip
 (Orange County)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Very great :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was delicious, including some r ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

The food was delicious, including some recent additions to the menu. Clean, fresh, balanced and tasty offerings. The food is quite possibly outshone only by the creative and delectable cocktails. Our waiter, Traver, was perfectly kind, personable and attentive.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Bru has always been my go-to restaurant ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Bru has always been my go-to restaurant for many occasions - most of all for meeting with friends. The staff is friendly, knowledgeable, and attentive. When a quiet area is needed, we are always accommodated.

Tags: Romantic, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was excellent, the decor classy and ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

Food was excellent, the decor classy and modern, but the service was weak. Forgot to get us appetizer plates, did not know what garlic bread was (when asked if the bread was garlic bread...it did not look like it, said yes, but it was indeed not), and over all was just mediocre at best. I assume it was just an off night. Food made up for it, was great. So much so that I would go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Our first time to Bru Grill. Right off t ...

vip
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

Our first time to Bru Grill. Right off the bat the service was exceptional. It was an amazing experience and my hat is all to all those hard working food servers!! Outstanding job. We had the calamari which was delicious. The food was delivered quickly after ordering which was nice. The salmon was my main meal and it was cooked perfectly. My husband had the prime rib which was a large portion so definitely could be shared. It came with all the bells and whistles. Highly recommended!!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

The food was not very tasty and the port ...

vip
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

The food was not very tasty and the portions did not match the label. I ordered the starter Caesar and my friend ordered another starter salad. Mine came in a small bowl and hers was on a large plate. I confirmed the sizes with the server and she said they were both starter sizes and she said something like "that's just how they come". That just didn't seem right to me. The chicken wings were spicy but had no flavor and tasted like I was eating bland chicken off the bone...not very appetizing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Food was great, server was awesome. The ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Food was great, server was awesome. The hostess was less than impressive as she stood up front and chatted with her friend, but that was the only hiccup.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Always a good choice for a very varied m ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Always a good choice for a very varied menu, and must comment on our server who was excellent (sorry, cannot remember his name). We're grateful to have this restaurant in our area where good eateries are few and far between!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Bru has reliably good food and a great s ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Bru has reliably good food and a great selection of craft beers.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

I've been to Bru several times and, othe ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

I've been to Bru several times and, other than the occasionally spotty service, it's a great place to go! Great drinks. Delicious food. Amazing desserts. This particular time, we had a great server but she appeared to be one of only 2-3 on a very busy night, so service was kind of slow. She did her best though and was very sweet, so good for her - I'm guessing she was exhausted! But, as usual, the food was great and the drinks were perfect! My one friend had never been before and she was a fast fan. We'll be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Date nite with my wife. This was our fir ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Date nite with my wife. This was our first time dining at Bru. There was no wait time with my reservation. The hostess was very nice. There was a large party in the middle of the restaurant and this added to the noise, but we were still able to have a conversation without raising our voices. Both of our entrees were really good. I tried the fried meatloaf with bacon baked in. Our server was nice but a little overwhelmed with the large party. I'll give him a pass. I would definitely return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

I was disappointed to learn that because ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

I was disappointed to learn that because I made a reservation and was seated in the dining area, rather than the bar area, that Happy Hour prices and menu were not available in the dining area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

This is a nice restaurant that is close ...

vip
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

This is a nice restaurant that is close and good. The food is always good and the service very nice. Their wines are reasonably priced with nice choices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

dinner experience fell short, poor servi ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

dinner experience fell short, poor service, so-so food, high price...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

Nice place for a casual meal...had calam ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Nice place for a casual meal...had calamari and pretzels as an app with cesear salad and then shared a sausage platter. Plenty of good food for two. Nice to also have an one man band strumming so tunes!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

THIS NIGHT WAS MY BIRTHDAY DINNER.THE NO ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

THIS NIGHT WAS MY BIRTHDAY DINNER.THE NOISE WAS DEAFENING AND WE ASKED FOR A TABLE IN THE BACK. THE TABLE WAS OUTSIDE OF THE RESTROOMS.

THE FOOD WAS AWFUL.. THIS IS THE THIRD TIME HERE. FIRST TIME WAS GREAT, SECOND TIME FAIR, AND THIS TIME...WELL, I WONT BE RETURNING AND I DO NOT RECOMMEND THIS RESTAURANT.

FOR EXAMPLE, THE FRENCH ONION SOUP TASTED BURNT AND SOUR. THE FLATBREAD WAS TASTLESS, TARTAR WAS NASTY AND WAS SERVED WITH STALE POTATO CHIPS. THE LAVENDER MARTINIS WERE GOOD BUT THE PRESENTATION WAS SLOPPY. WE DECIDED NOT TO ORDER AN ENTREE SINCE NOTHING WAS VERY GOOD AND WE LOST OUR APPETITE AT THIS POINT.I NEVER GIVE A PLACE A REVIEW LIKE THIS BUT AFTER SPENDING 135.00 FOR FOOD THAT DOESNT EVEN DESERVE 1 STAR, MAKE ME UPSET ENOUGH TO LET OTHERS KNOW.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

Bru is an excellent choice for everyday ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

Bru is an excellent choice for everyday dining or special occasions. The craft beer selection is excellent with over 40 beers on tap and an even greater selection of bottled beer in their open market section. Great menu options from appetizers all they up through seafood and steak selections. The Bru burger is really one of the best burgers around. Good service and great location.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We chose Bru as recommended by a friend. ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

We chose Bru as recommended by a friend. Overall our experience was great. One negative, the coffee was bland. I think it needs an upgrade. One big positive, Logan, our server, was incredible. He was knowledgeable, attentive, happy, and very helpful with suggestions. A big plus, and a definite reason to go back again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

We were celebrating Father's day and mos ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We were celebrating Father's day and most of the family at the table had never been to Bru Grill and Market before (my husband, son and I have). I was confident and hopeful that everyone would like my choice but I have a difficult family to please so I wasn't sure. Everyone RAVED about what a great choice I made. Everyone loved their food and thought the ambiance was great! Best part though...was Ryan our server. He was absolutely fantastic! We felt so welcome and taken care of from start to finish; we all couldn't stop praising him to each other. Even my 4 year old son mentioned Ryan again on the car ride home! It was an awesome experience and we will be back over and over again, I'm sure of it!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Reservation at 11:15 and had to wait to ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Reservation at 11:15 and had to wait to be seated with party of 8 present for 15 minutes. Server was bad, not attentive,. After food brought,.disappeared.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value5

Service was excellent even thought it wa ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Service was excellent even thought it was very crowded. They had more than enough staff to accommodate the patrons.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

I have gone twice and probably will not ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

I have gone twice and probably will not return. The hosts act like deer in headlights and the waiters take forever.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value3

When we go there, very few tables were o ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

When we go there, very few tables were occupied. The host wanted to seat up next to a large group with several kids. When I asked her for a different table, she said "I am not allowed to do this". I then asked her to check with her manager. After this, we were able to get a different table.

We were there during brunch. It took 10 minutes to get the coffee. The reason was, they needed to brew it. Since we were there right when they opened, that was odd. Also, getting a refill took a very long time.

The food was very good.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Great venue. As a guest from Australia, ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Great venue. As a guest from Australia, this is our go-to location for business dinners when visiting from Australia.

Customer Service is great. Food is amazing. The venue was recommended by a local business partner and we also have our group or small team dinners here.

Would love to meet the Owner when we are next visiting, such a great place to visit.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Always a great time here! Great food and ...

vip
 (Orange County)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Always a great time here! Great food and great service in the bar!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I would not recommend this place. It was ...

vip
 (Orange County)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

I would not recommend this place. It was really loud. Not sure why the service was so bad. The waiter was MIA the whole time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2

We took our family to Bru for a graduati ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

We took our family to Bru for a graduation celebration. The food was really tasty, the presentation was great and service was excellent. We have been there a few times a year since it opened and the food actually keeps getting better. Love Bru!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great spot with Amazing food. Well priced.

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Love the Wings, Beet Salad and. The fig and arugula flat bread.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The menu is diverse and food truly consi ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

The menu is diverse and food truly consistent and delicious. The specials (when available) are exceptional! Service is always top shelf. Our little neighborhood gem is getting VERY popular. Great for after dinner dessert and cocktails too! Their desserts are to die for!!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service at Bru and Grill is always g ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

The service at Bru and Grill is always great when I go. Filled with friendly people and delicious food! Always a great experience!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Not was it was, still good enough for th ...

vip
 (Orange County)
·Dined on May 16, 2016

Not was it was, still good enough for the area. They should be much better, servers are absent not trained and can’t focus. I will still frequent this place with the nostralgy of its better days!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.