About Bru Grill and Market

We serve the best farm to table Eats, craft brews, and boutique wines. From our phenomenal Happy Hour to our Brü Burger, Salads, Flatbreads, Wild Caught Seafood and Amazing Steaks... you will love Brü!

"America's Top 250 Restaurants"
Save the World. Eat. Brü. Crü. Proudly serving The OC, CA.

Orange County, California · brugrill.com

23730 El Toro Rd
Lake Forest, CA 92630
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American, Gastro Pub

Hours of Operation:
Lunch

Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 3:00pm

Dinner

Sunday - Tuesday: 3:00pm - 9:00pm; Wednesday & Thursday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm; Friday & Saturday: 3:00pm - 11:00pm

Brunch

Sunday: 9:30am - 3:00pm

Cross Street:
Rockfield

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(949) 305-5757

Website:
http://www.brugrill.com/

Entertainment:
Live entertainment on Friday and Saturday nights. See www.brugrill.com events calendar for details.

Catering:
Full event catering for information email events@brugrill.com

Parking Details:
Extensive Parking Available

Executive Chef:
Chef Ülises Navarette

Private Party Facilities:
We have multiple options for private groups of up to 300! See www.brugrill.com for a brief video on our private event incredible skills!

Private Party Contact:
Events Coordinator: (949) 305-5757

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cigar Room, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Beer, wine & culinary events and specials regularly.... check our website for the latest information

Bru Grill and Market Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.2

ambience

4.3

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (28)
Casual (25)
Happy Hour (23)
See All
Bar Seating (22)
Great Beer (22)
Handcrafted Cocktails (22)
Comfort Food (19)
Good for Groups (17)
Business Meals (16)
Neighborhood Gem (16)
Fun (15)
Special Occasion (15)
Good for Birthdays (14)
Romantic (14)
Good for Anniversaries (14)
Great for Lunch (14)
Creative Cuisine (13)
Notable Wine List (13)
Fit for Foodies (11)
Live Music (11)
Sunday Lunch (11)
Open Kitchen (11)
Great for Brunch (11)
Hot Spot (11)
People Watching (11)
Cozy (11)
Worth the Drive (9)
Modern Decor (9)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Local Ingredients (7)
Kid-friendly (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Late-night Find (6)
Wood Oven (6)
Authentic (6)
Live Sports (5)
Seasonal (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Family Style (4)
Healthy (4)
Organic (3)
Tapas (3)
Fireplace (3)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Outstanding Value (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Private Room (1)
Sort By:
S
411 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Spectacular as always! Our server and service were exemplary. Special diet was no issue and I received a specially prepared meal. Kudos to the chef! Tuna, halibut, chicken and steak were superb. Only complaint was noise level.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Happy Hour, Gluten Free Options, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Although we had a reservation inside they overbooked and we had to sit outside. After many requests to turn on heater, my husband had to turn them on and then one ran out of propane 20 minutes later.We had to ask for bread after about 30 minutes. They told us they ran out. After they finally had some they brought over 3 rolls and a 1/2 tablespoon of butter. I had to inform them that we had 8 people in our party and 3 rolls would not be enough. Then we had to ask for bread plates. They brought us 5. Remember, we had 8 people sitting at table. 3 people ordered "cheese" burgers. They served 3 burgers. They were a bit shocked when we asked for "cheese" on the cheeseburgers. The dinner salad was served with dinner and not before. It was Mother's Day and it was a very unpleasant experience. I have always loved going to Bru, but was VERY disappointed in their service. It was horrible service from all parties involved. We were actually the ONLY people seated outside. They kept saying it was so busy inside, however, when I went to use the FILTHY restroom, it was not packed. Furthermore, there were no seat gaskets for the toilets in 2 of the stalls and the paper towels were jammed in the dispenser so could not dry hands.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value3

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Very nice Mother's Day brunch! We had 8 very different diners and everyone left happy!

Tags: Good for Groups, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on May 9, 2017

We'd driven by many times & wondered what Bru was- so happy we ventured in!!!! Food was fabulous, service friendly. An extra candle in our table would have helped. It was a little " dark" for us "older" ladies!!

Tags: Casual, Seasonal, Comfort Food, Open Kitchen, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Excellent and consistent.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Authentic, Seasonal, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, People Watching, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Happy Hour, Open Kitchen, Casual, Great Beer, Live Sports, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Live Music, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on May 1, 2017

It was great food. Service was a bit slow but still was good.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 30, 2017

We sat on the patio on Saturday night and enjoyed a lovely meal. I would recommend ordering just the half salads because they are HUGE! We will be going back.

Tags: Happy Hour, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on April 28, 2017

The food is always good at Bru and usually I have great service. Yesterday - the food was good as usual, but the service was TERRIBLE. Our server walked past our table at least twice while we tried to flag him down to get our check. He completely ignored us. I get the sense he was pretty spacey - he didn't have a lot of tables, so not sure what other excuse he might have for ignoring a lunch table for over 30 mins.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on April 25, 2017

Birthday occasion! They called to confirm my reservation sat down table ready waters down! Very attentive server. Made sure all our food arrives at same time. Love this place!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Healthy, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 24, 2017

Lovely! Delicious food and excellent service. Love the lighting. Try the cocktails!

Tags: Great Beer, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Go for drinks and pub food. I've been there for that several times and was very happy. The other night went on a date the entrées were not impressive

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Great Service and a wonderful meal

Tags: Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Casual, Great Beer, Authentic, Live Sports, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Open Kitchen, Wood Oven, Fun, Great for Brunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Kid-friendly, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Private Room, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Disabled Access, Fireplace, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Live Music, Organic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Healthy, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on April 18, 2017

Bru is truly an exceptional dining experience. The food is always fantastic, the beer selection is good, and the service is awesome. This last visit we had a new waiter and he went above and beyond to make our experience a great one.

Keep up the good work, Bru!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 13, 2017

The Bru is good. The service is very good and the ambience decent. If you get away from the bar crowd. They are loud and over powering at times.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Seemed like the restaurant was understaffed. Meals came out at different times with the last more than 10 minutes from the first. Drink refills were not on time. Bill took exceptionally long.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on April 12, 2017

HANDS DOWN!!!! a real "Go To" place......creative cocktails, excellent food, great menu! Beer list of on tap (usually around 25-30) as well as MANY bottled varieties and and truly well thought out and diverse wine list that is not going to break the bank. BRU is a can't miss establishment. No matter where you live it's well worth the drive.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Live Sports, Good for a Date, Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Brunch, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Sunday Lunch, Great Beer, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Open Kitchen, Seasonal, Happy Hour, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Live Music, Business Meals, People Watching, Romantic, Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on April 10, 2017

Service was great. We also celebrated a birthday and the dessert was outstanding.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 8, 2017

In the area visiting a friend and decided to give it a try. Shared an appetizer of calamari, my friend had the Sashimi and my spouse and I split the Prime Rib. Overall fantastic taste, fabulous service and reasonable pricing. We will certainly be back when in the area again!

Tags: Fun, Great Beer, Good for Birthdays, Disabled Access, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, People Watching, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Live Music, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Needed a last minute reservation for 8. They got us in. I am on a low sodium diet. Waitress went out of her way to bring me options . I had that Halibut, it was amazing. The marshmallow dessert my niece had looked out of this world. Great place, great service, great food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 26, 2017

I'm not sure I can say enough about how fantastic the service was here. I mean, there was a bit of a hiccup for a minute I think because there were two waiters helping us so there may have been some confusion, but it was handled pretty well. The biggest thing I appreciate was the fact that they were so gracious about the fact that I did not like my salad. This was only partially the fault of the restaurant - I say that because the salad comes with kamala olives (which apparently I'm not a fan of in a regular salad - they overpower the taste of everything else), but the menu simply says olives. That said, they had absolutely no problem making me a brand new salad sans olives and it was delicious. They even brought us out complimentary desserts for a party of 5 as an apology. Not necessary, but VERY much appreciated. Everyone there really couldn't have been nicer. We all enjoyed our experience here and will definitely return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Can't believe I am saying this, but not sure if I will return to what used to be my favorite restaurant

Duck duck chicken was dry! - Worst food I have ever had in all the times I have visited.

Server forgot appetizer
Server did not even look at table to refill water - 90% of the time my water was empty and sitting at the end of the table for a refill
Server was horrendously unpersonable and didn't describe specials.... are specials no longer offerred at this restaurant?

Is the restaurant under new management? Or is there new chef? SO sad.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 25, 2017

This is one of our favorite places to eat! The food is delicious, the menu is extensive and they have a great selection of craft beer as well as a full bar. The atmosphere is lively but not too loud. Great for watching sports or going out with friends to dinner. Can't wait to try their Sunday brunch!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 25, 2017

We had a very nice dinner. Great food and drinks. The service was really good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Service was horrible. Wait time was over an hour and we had not received our food. We had made a reservation for my husbands birthday and brought our kids. Drinks were not refilled. And when we complained we were told it would take 15 minutes to speak to the manager. We ended up leaving before our food arrived and will not be going again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Best part: Service was spot on- our server's from Vegas-forgot her name:(
Worst ever...was seated next to restroom!! There were plenty of tables available!!:) and we had a reservation thru open table!! Did not like !!!

Tags: Casual, Kid-friendly, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Good Vegetarian Options, Tapas, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on March 12, 2017

We love this place. I have been here several times, but this was the first time for brunch. We are very happy with both the food and service. They have wonderful gluten free options which is always a plus. Great drink menu too!!!! I highly recommend this restaurant and I will definitely go back.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Sunday Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Wood Oven, Comfort Food, Happy Hour, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Gluten Free Options, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Great Beer, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Great service, great food...will def be going back!

Tags: Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Great Beer, Good for a Date, Family Style, Fun, Kid-friendly, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on March 5, 2017

The food was very good, but the noise level made it hard to have a conversation. It was a Sunday brunch time and a very crowded restaurant with lots of champagne filled people!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 5, 2017

We love Bru! Come here at least once a week because of the delicious food, extensive craft beer selection and friendly service. The chef specials on weekends are amazing but everything on the menu is good.

Tags: Bar Seating, People Watching, Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Casual, Great for Brunch, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on March 5, 2017

My favorite :)

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 5, 2017

As usual, food was superb as was the service. Greg went above and beyond and we appreciated his attention to detail. The food was all served timely and at the right temperature. I have dietary restrictions and my meal was prepared perfectly. The only issue is the noise level; but being in a booth certainly helped us speak with each other.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Groups, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on March 3, 2017

I visited Bru a few weeks after it first opened and was not impressed at all and hadn't been back since. I decided to meet a business colleague there last week at 5:30 and from that experienced, decided that I'd be back again. The food was really good, the service as well. The dining room was nice with warm/cozy decor, but there were two business networking groups meeting in the bar and two patios so the noise level was really pretty high, although it was much better when we were moved to the back of the restaurant. Menu is interesting and some moderately priced items are available for dinner. We just had drinks and some appetizers but if the rest of the menu is as good as the appetizers, then that will be a hit with me. I'll be back.

Tags: People Watching, Good for Groups, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on March 1, 2017

Great service

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Great service (Alec) , great food, great drinks. Can't wait to go back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Sunday Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Our server was Eric and he was extremely professional and very attentive. My water glass was never empty throughout the entire meal. Our food was delicious and served within a reasonable amount of time.
I always love eating at Bru Grill and Market and will continue going back! This restaurant is great for casual dining, special occasions, work lunches, dates, girl's nights or just about anything!

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual, Business Meals, Open Kitchen, Gluten Free Options, Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre, People Watching, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Live Music, Cozy, Outstanding Value, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on February 25, 2017

I really liked this place. Our table was ready and we were seated right away, even though it was a busy night. The staff was fantastic and the food was outstanding. The atmosphere is also a lot of fun. I can not wait to return and hope to become a regular here. Thank you for everything. It was truly outstanding!! I will give the highest amount of stars I can!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Healthy, Live Music, Tapas, Good Vegetarian Options, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on February 25, 2017

The food was delicious and the service was spectacular. My adult son and I enjoyed the ribeye steaks, desserts, drinks, and coffee. Very friendly and attentive staff, and the meal is much more affordable than our other favorite place, Hannah's. We'll be back again.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on February 20, 2017

A favorite local spot. We actually dine here frequently.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Paleo Friendly, Bar Seating, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 19, 2017

See my review on Yelp. HORRIBLE EXPERIENCE.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We came here for a Valentine's Day date and made reservations online. Walked in and told the hostess we had a reservation, she said to give her a second. A couple walks in after us with a reservation and she immidiately seats them as we wait aimlessly for ten minutes to be seated. It was definitely an innconvience, considering we also made a reservation. Other than that the server was great, food and drinks were amazing. Would still recommend dispite the annoyance of making a reservation and having to wait so long to be seated by the hostess.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Great Beer, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, People Watching, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Romantic, Happy Hour, Casual, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Cozy, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.