About Bru Grill and Market

23730 El Toro Rd
Lake Forest, CA 92630
View Larger Map

We serve the best farm to table Eats, craft brews, and boutique wines. From our phenomenal Happy Hour to our Brü Burger, Salads, Flatbreads, Wild Caught Seafood and Amazing Steaks... you will love Brü!

"America's Top 250 Restaurants"
Save the World. Eat. Brü. Crü. Proudly serving The OC, CA.

Orange County, California · brugrill.com

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American, Gastro Pub

Hours of Operation:
Lunch

Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 3:00pm

Dinner

Sunday - Tuesday: 3:00pm - 9:00pm; Wednesday & Thursday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm; Friday & Saturday: 3:00pm - 11:00pm

Brunch

Sunday: 9:30am - 3:00pm

Cross Street:
Rockfield

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(949) 305-5757

Website:
http://www.brugrill.com/

Entertainment:
Live entertainment on Friday and Saturday nights. See www.brugrill.com events calendar for details.

Catering:
Full event catering for information email events@brugrill.com

Parking Details:
Extensive Parking Available

Executive Chef:
Chef Ülises Navarette

Private Party Facilities:
We have multiple options for private groups of up to 300! See www.brugrill.com for a brief video on our private event incredible skills!

Private Party Contact:
Events Coordinator: 9493055757x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cigar Room, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
Beer, wine & culinary events and specials regularly.... check our website for the latest information

Bru Grill and Market Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.1

ambience

4.2

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

good for groups (40)
neighborhood gem (33)
fit for foodies (32)
See All
vibrant bar scene (30)
special occasion (29)
great for lunch (28)
hot spot (20)
great for brunch (20)
notable wine list (19)
great for outdoor dining (14)
romantic (13)
late-night find (9)
kid-friendly (8)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
290 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Our first time to Bru Grill. Right off t ...

vip
 (Sacramento)
·Dined a day ago

Our first time to Bru Grill. Right off the bat the service was exceptional. It was an amazing experience and my hat is all to all those hard working food servers!! Outstanding job. We had the calamari which was delicious. The food was delivered quickly after ordering which was nice. The salmon was my main meal and it was cooked perfectly. My husband had the prime rib which was a large portion so definitely could be shared. It came with all the bells and whistles. Highly recommended!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

Food was great, server was awesome. The ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined 5 days ago

Food was great, server was awesome. The hostess was less than impressive as she stood up front and chatted with her friend, but that was the only hiccup.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Always a good choice for a very varied m ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined 6 days ago

Always a good choice for a very varied menu, and must comment on our server who was excellent (sorry, cannot remember his name). We're grateful to have this restaurant in our area where good eateries are few and far between!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Bru has reliably good food and a great s ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Bru has reliably good food and a great selection of craft beers.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

I've been to Bru several times and, othe ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

I've been to Bru several times and, other than the occasionally spotty service, it's a great place to go! Great drinks. Delicious food. Amazing desserts. This particular time, we had a great server but she appeared to be one of only 2-3 on a very busy night, so service was kind of slow. She did her best though and was very sweet, so good for her - I'm guessing she was exhausted! But, as usual, the food was great and the drinks were perfect! My one friend had never been before and she was a fast fan. We'll be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Date nite with my wife. This was our fir ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Date nite with my wife. This was our first time dining at Bru. There was no wait time with my reservation. The hostess was very nice. There was a large party in the middle of the restaurant and this added to the noise, but we were still able to have a conversation without raising our voices. Both of our entrees were really good. I tried the fried meatloaf with bacon baked in. Our server was nice but a little overwhelmed with the large party. I'll give him a pass. I would definitely return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

I was disappointed to learn that because ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

I was disappointed to learn that because I made a reservation and was seated in the dining area, rather than the bar area, that Happy Hour prices and menu were not available in the dining area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

This is a nice restaurant that is close ...

vip
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

This is a nice restaurant that is close and good. The food is always good and the service very nice. Their wines are reasonably priced with nice choices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

dinner experience fell short, poor servi ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

dinner experience fell short, poor service, so-so food, high price...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

Nice place for a casual meal...had calam ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Nice place for a casual meal...had calamari and pretzels as an app with cesear salad and then shared a sausage platter. Plenty of good food for two. Nice to also have an one man band strumming so tunes!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

THIS NIGHT WAS MY BIRTHDAY DINNER.THE NO ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

THIS NIGHT WAS MY BIRTHDAY DINNER.THE NOISE WAS DEAFENING AND WE ASKED FOR A TABLE IN THE BACK. THE TABLE WAS OUTSIDE OF THE RESTROOMS.

THE FOOD WAS AWFUL.. THIS IS THE THIRD TIME HERE. FIRST TIME WAS GREAT, SECOND TIME FAIR, AND THIS TIME...WELL, I WONT BE RETURNING AND I DO NOT RECOMMEND THIS RESTAURANT.

FOR EXAMPLE, THE FRENCH ONION SOUP TASTED BURNT AND SOUR. THE FLATBREAD WAS TASTLESS, TARTAR WAS NASTY AND WAS SERVED WITH STALE POTATO CHIPS. THE LAVENDER MARTINIS WERE GOOD BUT THE PRESENTATION WAS SLOPPY. WE DECIDED NOT TO ORDER AN ENTREE SINCE NOTHING WAS VERY GOOD AND WE LOST OUR APPETITE AT THIS POINT.I NEVER GIVE A PLACE A REVIEW LIKE THIS BUT AFTER SPENDING 135.00 FOR FOOD THAT DOESNT EVEN DESERVE 1 STAR, MAKE ME UPSET ENOUGH TO LET OTHERS KNOW.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

Bru is an excellent choice for everyday ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

Bru is an excellent choice for everyday dining or special occasions. The craft beer selection is excellent with over 40 beers on tap and an even greater selection of bottled beer in their open market section. Great menu options from appetizers all they up through seafood and steak selections. The Bru burger is really one of the best burgers around. Good service and great location.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We chose Bru as recommended by a friend. ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

We chose Bru as recommended by a friend. Overall our experience was great. One negative, the coffee was bland. I think it needs an upgrade. One big positive, Logan, our server, was incredible. He was knowledgeable, attentive, happy, and very helpful with suggestions. A big plus, and a definite reason to go back again.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

We were celebrating Father's day and mos ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We were celebrating Father's day and most of the family at the table had never been to Bru Grill and Market before (my husband, son and I have). I was confident and hopeful that everyone would like my choice but I have a difficult family to please so I wasn't sure. Everyone RAVED about what a great choice I made. Everyone loved their food and thought the ambiance was great! Best part though...was Ryan our server. He was absolutely fantastic! We felt so welcome and taken care of from start to finish; we all couldn't stop praising him to each other. Even my 4 year old son mentioned Ryan again on the car ride home! It was an awesome experience and we will be back over and over again, I'm sure of it!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Reservation at 11:15 and had to wait to ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Reservation at 11:15 and had to wait to be seated with party of 8 present for 15 minutes. Server was bad, not attentive,. After food brought,.disappeared.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value5

Service was excellent even thought it wa ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Service was excellent even thought it was very crowded. They had more than enough staff to accommodate the patrons.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

I have gone twice and probably will not ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

I have gone twice and probably will not return. The hosts act like deer in headlights and the waiters take forever.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value3

When we go there, very few tables were o ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

When we go there, very few tables were occupied. The host wanted to seat up next to a large group with several kids. When I asked her for a different table, she said "I am not allowed to do this". I then asked her to check with her manager. After this, we were able to get a different table.

We were there during brunch. It took 10 minutes to get the coffee. The reason was, they needed to brew it. Since we were there right when they opened, that was odd. Also, getting a refill took a very long time.

The food was very good.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Great venue. As a guest from Australia, ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Great venue. As a guest from Australia, this is our go-to location for business dinners when visiting from Australia.

Customer Service is great. Food is amazing. The venue was recommended by a local business partner and we also have our group or small team dinners here.

Would love to meet the Owner when we are next visiting, such a great place to visit.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, late-night find, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Always a great time here! Great food and ...

vip
 (Orange County)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Always a great time here! Great food and great service in the bar!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I would not recommend this place. It was ...

vip
 (Orange County)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

I would not recommend this place. It was really loud. Not sure why the service was so bad. The waiter was MIA the whole time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2

We took our family to Bru for a graduati ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

We took our family to Bru for a graduation celebration. The food was really tasty, the presentation was great and service was excellent. We have been there a few times a year since it opened and the food actually keeps getting better. Love Bru!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great spot with Amazing food. Well priced.

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Love the Wings, Beet Salad and. The fig and arugula flat bread.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The menu is diverse and food truly consi ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

The menu is diverse and food truly consistent and delicious. The specials (when available) are exceptional! Service is always top shelf. Our little neighborhood gem is getting VERY popular. Great for after dinner dessert and cocktails too! Their desserts are to die for!!!!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service at Bru and Grill is always g ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

The service at Bru and Grill is always great when I go. Filled with friendly people and delicious food! Always a great experience!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Not was it was, still good enough for th ...

vip
 (Orange County)
·Dined on May 16, 2016

Not was it was, still good enough for the area. They should be much better, servers are absent not trained and can’t focus. I will still frequent this place with the nostralgy of its better days!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

Bru never disappoints!

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

Always a special occasion, no matter what! Bru is great food, great service, and great atmosphere!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful Mothers Day dinner celebration ...

vip
 (Orange County)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Wonderful Mothers Day dinner celebration with 3 generations of family! Delicious food, great service (even on a holiday!!!)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Waited for about 30 minutes before we we ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Waited for about 30 minutes before we were seated despite multiple open tables

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Forgettable..

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Pretty disappointed in general, for was good but service was poor. The wine felt like a rip off being served in such a small glass. WAY over priced for the pour size..

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service2
value1

Outdoor bar tables need TLC

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

We had a reservation for lunch, however it was incredibly noisy inside. Decided to sit outside at the long bar tables in the mini patio- table hadn't been cleaned for quite a while. Service was slow to start with, along with food delivery- the couple next to us arrived later, placed order after us, but received their entree's first ( for an example).

Thankfully the server assigned to our area did her best to provide courteous and efficient help.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Sat lunch

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

After glowing reviews we were very disappointed in the food and the service. We waited about 10 minutes to be seated with a LOT of open tables as we were taken to the furthest point from the front door with our reservation. The service was s.l.o.w. at best. The food portions were incredible small for the price...lots of french fries not a lot of meat on any of the sandwiches ordered. We all ordered something different.

Will not be back again. Hoping that management will look into having their serving staff have all of their tables in one area. Seemed as though our waiter was all over the restaurant serving. Not a good management/time saving strategy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

Servers were excellent and food was as well.

vip
 (Orange County)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

My review of 50 characters is that the food, service and ambiance was nice.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always BRU never disappoints. Food is ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

As always BRU never disappoints. Food is always exceptional, staff is super friendly and accommodating. We are quite lucky we have this restaurant in our neighborhood. But honestly I would gladly drive miles to get to it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Made reservations so we didn't have to wait.

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on April 12, 2016

We were immediately set down without any delay. The food was great! Ordered the flat breads, sliders and chicken wings. Delicious food and good drinks. I love the fact that this place is so near to our home and I didn't know about it. Glad I found it. The only thing I must say is that the waiter did not mention to us that if we order 3 sliders, there was an extra charge. We had so much food, only two would have been fine, but he suggested to get three in a plate which we thought was normal order. Was kinda disappointing when it became a money issue instead of enjoyment, otherwise we really had a great time! BTW they have great house champagne!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Bru - tiful Brunch

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on April 10, 2016

Great meal. Great service. The staff was outstanding. Two large groups got their order in before ours so ours took a bit longer but it wasn't at all a problem. The waiter apologized profusely. My french toast wasn't hot, for which he again apologized. Another was brought immediately. That wasn't a problem either. Things happen. And it was worth the wait. Delicious citrus french toast, cafe au lait and a decadent chocolate desert. Other than being incredibly loud it's an excellent dining experience.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

French dip, nice a juicy on a perfect Fr ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

French dip, nice a juicy on a perfect French roll bottom part dipped. With Gruyere melted and perfect (as usual) fries.

Rarely do you see French dips that don't need a heathy dose of dipping. This baby is juicy all the way.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Dinner

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

My meal was just fantastic, I had the scallops with potato truffles and it was so good.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This place is amazing!

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on April 2, 2016

The food was SO good! We were a party of eight, each had something different, and it was all fantastic.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

Amazing restaurant all around

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

Bru is one of our favorite restaurants for a variety of occasions. My husband and I love it for date nights or just a quick stop for happy hour. Our 2.5 year old loves going with us on family date nights as well. The menu is full of many healthy options and I never feel guilty after eating there. I usually save room for dessert and recommend their Bru cake. Their craft beer selection is one of my husbands favorite reasons to go there. We've been patrons since they opened and love introducing family and friends to such a great place.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.