About Bru Grill and Market

We serve the best farm to table Eats, craft brews, and boutique wines. From our phenomenal Happy Hour to our Brü Burger, Salads, Flatbreads, Wild Caught Seafood and Amazing Steaks... you will love Brü!

"America's Top 250 Restaurants"
Save the World. Eat. Brü. Crü. Proudly serving The OC, CA.

Orange County, California · brugrill.com

23730 El Toro Rd
Lake Forest, CA 92630
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American, Gastro Pub

Hours of Operation:
Lunch

Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 3:00pm

Dinner

Sunday - Tuesday: 3:00pm - 9:00pm; Wednesday & Thursday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm; Friday & Saturday: 3:00pm - 11:00pm

Brunch

Sunday: 9:30am - 3:00pm

Cross Street:
Rockfield

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(949) 305-5757

Website:
http://www.brugrill.com/

Entertainment:
Live entertainment on Friday and Saturday nights. See www.brugrill.com events calendar for details.

Catering:
Full event catering for information email events@brugrill.com

Parking Details:
Extensive Parking Available

Executive Chef:
Chef Ülises Navarette

Private Party Facilities:
We have multiple options for private groups of up to 300! See www.brugrill.com for a brief video on our private event incredible skills!

Private Party Contact:
Events Coordinator: (949) 305-5757

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cigar Room, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Beer, wine & culinary events and specials regularly.... check our website for the latest information

Bru Grill and Market Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (21)
Casual (17)
Great Beer (16)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (15)
Happy Hour (15)
Handcrafted Cocktails (15)
Good for Birthdays (13)
Good for Groups (13)
Bar Seating (13)
Fun (12)
Comfort Food (12)
Good for Anniversaries (11)
Special Occasion (11)
Business Meals (11)
Romantic (11)
Notable Wine List (9)
Great for Lunch (9)
Great for Brunch (9)
Cozy (9)
Worth the Drive (8)
Modern Decor (8)
People Watching (8)
Live Music (8)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Kid-friendly (7)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Hot Spot (6)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Open Kitchen (4)
Healthy (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Seasonal (3)
Authentic (3)
Wood Oven (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Family Style (2)
Organic (2)
Live Sports (2)
Tapas (2)
Fireplace (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Sort By:
S
391 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined 4 days ago

I'm not sure I can say enough about how fantastic the service was here. I mean, there was a bit of a hiccup for a minute I think because there were two waiters helping us so there may have been some confusion, but it was handled pretty well. The biggest thing I appreciate was the fact that they were so gracious about the fact that I did not like my salad. This was only partially the fault of the restaurant - I say that because the salad comes with kamala olives (which apparently I'm not a fan of in a regular salad - they overpower the taste of everything else), but the menu simply says olives. That said, they had absolutely no problem making me a brand new salad sans olives and it was delicious. They even brought us out complimentary desserts for a party of 5 as an apology. Not necessary, but VERY much appreciated. Everyone there really couldn't have been nicer. We all enjoyed our experience here and will definitely return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined 5 days ago

Can't believe I am saying this, but not sure if I will return to what used to be my favorite restaurant

Duck duck chicken was dry! - Worst food I have ever had in all the times I have visited.

Server forgot appetizer
Server did not even look at table to refill water - 90% of the time my water was empty and sitting at the end of the table for a refill
Server was horrendously unpersonable and didn't describe specials.... are specials no longer offerred at this restaurant?

Is the restaurant under new management? Or is there new chef? SO sad.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 5 days ago

This is one of our favorite places to eat! The food is delicious, the menu is extensive and they have a great selection of craft beer as well as a full bar. The atmosphere is lively but not too loud. Great for watching sports or going out with friends to dinner. Can't wait to try their Sunday brunch!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

We had a very nice dinner. Great food and drinks. The service was really good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Service was horrible. Wait time was over an hour and we had not received our food. We had made a reservation for my husbands birthday and brought our kids. Drinks were not refilled. And when we complained we were told it would take 15 minutes to speak to the manager. We ended up leaving before our food arrived and will not be going again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Best part: Service was spot on- our server's from Vegas-forgot her name:(
Worst ever...was seated next to restroom!! There were plenty of tables available!!:) and we had a reservation thru open table!! Did not like !!!

Tags: Casual, Kid-friendly, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Good Vegetarian Options, Tapas, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on March 12, 2017

We love this place. I have been here several times, but this was the first time for brunch. We are very happy with both the food and service. They have wonderful gluten free options which is always a plus. Great drink menu too!!!! I highly recommend this restaurant and I will definitely go back.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Sunday Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Wood Oven, Comfort Food, Happy Hour, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Gluten Free Options, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Great Beer, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Great service, great food...will def be going back!

Tags: Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Great Beer, Good for a Date, Family Style, Fun, Kid-friendly, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on March 5, 2017

The food was very good, but the noise level made it hard to have a conversation. It was a Sunday brunch time and a very crowded restaurant with lots of champagne filled people!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 5, 2017

We love Bru! Come here at least once a week because of the delicious food, extensive craft beer selection and friendly service. The chef specials on weekends are amazing but everything on the menu is good.

Tags: Bar Seating, People Watching, Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Casual, Great for Brunch, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on March 5, 2017

My favorite :)

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 5, 2017

As usual, food was superb as was the service. Greg went above and beyond and we appreciated his attention to detail. The food was all served timely and at the right temperature. I have dietary restrictions and my meal was prepared perfectly. The only issue is the noise level; but being in a booth certainly helped us speak with each other.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Groups, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on March 3, 2017

I visited Bru a few weeks after it first opened and was not impressed at all and hadn't been back since. I decided to meet a business colleague there last week at 5:30 and from that experienced, decided that I'd be back again. The food was really good, the service as well. The dining room was nice with warm/cozy decor, but there were two business networking groups meeting in the bar and two patios so the noise level was really pretty high, although it was much better when we were moved to the back of the restaurant. Menu is interesting and some moderately priced items are available for dinner. We just had drinks and some appetizers but if the rest of the menu is as good as the appetizers, then that will be a hit with me. I'll be back.

Tags: People Watching, Good for Groups, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on March 1, 2017

Great service

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Great service (Alec) , great food, great drinks. Can't wait to go back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Sunday Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Our server was Eric and he was extremely professional and very attentive. My water glass was never empty throughout the entire meal. Our food was delicious and served within a reasonable amount of time.
I always love eating at Bru Grill and Market and will continue going back! This restaurant is great for casual dining, special occasions, work lunches, dates, girl's nights or just about anything!

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual, Business Meals, Open Kitchen, Gluten Free Options, Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre, People Watching, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Live Music, Cozy, Outstanding Value, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on February 25, 2017

I really liked this place. Our table was ready and we were seated right away, even though it was a busy night. The staff was fantastic and the food was outstanding. The atmosphere is also a lot of fun. I can not wait to return and hope to become a regular here. Thank you for everything. It was truly outstanding!! I will give the highest amount of stars I can!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Healthy, Live Music, Tapas, Good Vegetarian Options, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on February 25, 2017

The food was delicious and the service was spectacular. My adult son and I enjoyed the ribeye steaks, desserts, drinks, and coffee. Very friendly and attentive staff, and the meal is much more affordable than our other favorite place, Hannah's. We'll be back again.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on February 20, 2017

A favorite local spot. We actually dine here frequently.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Paleo Friendly, Bar Seating, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 19, 2017

See my review on Yelp. HORRIBLE EXPERIENCE.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We came here for a Valentine's Day date and made reservations online. Walked in and told the hostess we had a reservation, she said to give her a second. A couple walks in after us with a reservation and she immidiately seats them as we wait aimlessly for ten minutes to be seated. It was definitely an innconvience, considering we also made a reservation. Other than that the server was great, food and drinks were amazing. Would still recommend dispite the annoyance of making a reservation and having to wait so long to be seated by the hostess.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Great Beer, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, People Watching, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Romantic, Happy Hour, Casual, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Cozy, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on February 13, 2017

So......been to Bru many times with just very average service,
from hostess seating to waiters and bartender service .
This time was a revival!!!!
A SHOUT OUT to Bru for an updated menu (delicious fried chicken sandwich), excellent cocktails and a very polite and attentive hostess.
I will return because of this latest dinning experience:)

Tags: Organic, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great Beer, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Expected normal menu but was only serving brunch made it difficult to determine what to have.

Very noisy the restaurant needs to add sound canceling treatments to bring the dbs down so customers can carry on conversations without yelling.

Tags: Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food, Open Kitchen, Great for Brunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Nice atmosphere. Good food. Close to home. Will go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 9, 2017

The beer and food selection was very good and overall we had a decent experience. When it comes to beverage service, the staff was extremely attentive. Thank you for that.

However, we had to flag down our waiter several times for food related issues, such as ordering, wrong order, and a cold halibut dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 5, 2017

The food was wonderful as usual however our server Eric was absolutely terrible. Didn't greet us or take our drink order for almost 15 min. The rest of the evening seemed put out when he did come by and we had to ask other servers for assistance as our drinks were empty, our orders incomplete, etc. As myself and my guests have all been servers this was inexcusable.

Tags: Casual, Great Beer, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 5, 2017

The unique characteristic of this restaurant is their approach to wine. Instead of having a mediocre wine list charging 2-3 times the store cost per bottle, they have top label wines and they sell them at the same cost you would pay at Bev Mo or Total Wine. This is awesome and a reason to return over and over by itself!!! The only difference is that they charge a $10 corkage fee on the wine which is lower than most restaurants.

The food was just as unique. The menu is full of selections that I had never seen before which made it an adventure in itself. Coupled with the excellent wine option and highly energetic atmosphere, Bru is definitely a place to frequent.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Wonderful, attentive service; chicken was tasty, large portions! Salads nicely presented, large & flavorful; sausages delicious though quite spicy; good for families & groups, but not so much dates

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 29, 2017

I loved the place as soon as we walked in! She's local to the Lake Forest location and she thought I'd like it. Yes, yes, yes!!! I ordered the Monte Cristo sandwich with a side salad and she ordered a made-to-order omelette and the endless champagne. It was brunch after all :-) My Monte Cristo was excellent. The brioche bread they used was delectable and I liked that their version wasn't deep fried. It didn't need to be since all the ingredients they used was good quality and again, brioche bread says it all! My side salad was perfectly dressed with a delicious balsamic vinaigrette dressing. My friend's omelette was delicious with all of the fresh ingredients she selected and the fresh orchid looked beautiful on the plate making her dish all the more special. Her potatoes were perfectly done, but could have used a bit more salt during the cooking process. The champagne they served was yummy and surprisingly so since it was bottomless. All in all we really loved our brunch and can't wait to dine there again!

Tags: Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, People Watching, Bar Seating, Great Beer, Good for Groups, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Fun, Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Disabled Access, Sunday Lunch, Happy Hour, Romantic, Comfort Food, Kid-friendly, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Food was good. Service was horrible. Our dinner was dropped off and then we never saw our waiter again. No drink refills, no offer of dessert. When I finally flagged him down, he just brought the bill. "Oh, did you want dessert?" ... Not anymore.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value3

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on January 28, 2017

It was really great.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Always good food and service! Great ambiance and great beer tasting menu.

Tags: Seasonal, Fireplace, Creative Cuisine, Live Music, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Good, but biz about not marking up wine 300-400% is a joke. No bargains on wine, and then $10 corkage fee? Come on, really?

Tags: Good for a Date, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on January 21, 2017

The food was great. The service was slow, but I think our waiter might be new.
We felt comfortable sitting and talking for quite a while.

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on January 21, 2017

I have been to Bru for brunch and lunch, but this was my first dinner experience and I was not disappointed! We met friends out for a date night and it was exactly what I hoped for - great cocktails, fantastic service (attentive, but not pushy), yummy food and a festive, upbeat atmosphere. There was live music in the bar area and I was afraid it would get too loud. But, my fears were unfounded and we were able to enjoy conversation with our friends while still enjoying the atmosphere of the restaurant. A great night - we'll be back!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Live Music, Bar Seating, Cozy, Fun, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Great food and great serving staff. A little bit pricey but for date night just fine. Can be a little loud because open rooms and squeeze tables in area.
Love coming here with my wife and friends. Good for Group happy hour also.

Tags: Disabled Access, Comfort Food, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on January 8, 2017

We had a great time, our table was waiting for us since we used Open Table! My only issue is every time I've eaten at Brü the food isn't as hot as I would like, but with that said it tastes great, has a nice presentation and the selection is wonderful. We'll def be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Great service, drinks and food! Table ready at reservation time. Everything perfect!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 30, 2016

great service, good food, and 5 star atmosphere. Love the dim-lit surroundings with wine bottles that decorate the walls. Recommended

Tags: Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Kid-friendly, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Really great :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.