About Bru Grill and Market

23730 El Toro Rd
Lake Forest, CA 92630
View Larger Map

We serve the best farm to table Eats, craft brews, and boutique wines. From our phenomenal Happy Hour to our Brü Burger, Salads, Flatbreads, Wild Caught Seafood and Amazing Steaks... you will love Brü!

"America's Top 250 Restaurants"
Save the World. Eat. Brü. Crü. Proudly serving The OC, CA.

Orange County, California · brugrill.com

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American, Gastro Pub

Hours of Operation:
Lunch

Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 3:00pm

Dinner

Sunday - Tuesday: 3:00pm - 9:00pm; Wednesday & Thursday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm; Friday & Saturday: 3:00pm - 11:00pm

Brunch

Sunday: 9:30am - 3:00pm

Cross Street:
Rockfield

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(949) 305-5757

Website:
http://www.brugrill.com/

Entertainment:
Live entertainment on Friday and Saturday nights. See www.brugrill.com events calendar for details.

Catering:
Full event catering for information email events@brugrill.com

Parking Details:
Extensive Parking Available

Executive Chef:
Chef Ülises Navarette

Private Party Facilities:
We have multiple options for private groups of up to 300! See www.brugrill.com for a brief video on our private event incredible skills!

Private Party Contact:
Events Coordinator: 9493055757x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cigar Room, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
Beer, wine & culinary events and specials regularly.... check our website for the latest information

Bru Grill and Market Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.2

ambience

4.3

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Vibrant Bar Scene
Orange County
Vibrant Bar Scene
South Orange County
Best Restaurants in Laguna Hills / Lake Forest / Foothill Ranch ›

good for groups (50)
fit for foodies (43)
special occasion (42)
See All
vibrant bar scene (39)
neighborhood gem (39)
great for lunch (37)
notable wine list (31)
great for brunch (31)
hot spot (27)
great for outdoor dining (20)
romantic (20)
kid-friendly (16)
late-night find (10)
scenic view (2)
Sort By:
Newest
280 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience4
service5

Nice place for a casual meal...had calam ...

Dined 4 days ago

Nice place for a casual meal...had calamari and pretzels as an app with cesear salad and then shared a sausage platter. Plenty of good food for two. Nice to also have an one man band strumming so tunes!

food1
ambience3
service4
value1

THIS NIGHT WAS MY BIRTHDAY DINNER.THE NO ...

Dined on June 23, 2016

THIS NIGHT WAS MY BIRTHDAY DINNER.THE NOISE WAS DEAFENING AND WE ASKED FOR A TABLE IN THE BACK. THE TABLE WAS OUTSIDE OF THE RESTROOMS. THE FOOD WAS AWFUL.. THIS IS THE THIRD TIME HERE. FIRST TIME WAS GREAT, SECOND TIME FAIR, AND THIS TIME...WELL, I WONT BE RETURNING AND I DO NOT RECOMMEND THIS RESTAURANT. FOR EXAMPLE, THE FRENCH ONION SOUP TASTED BURNT AND SOUR. THE FLATBREAD WAS TASTLESS, TARTAR WAS NASTY AND WAS SERVED WITH STALE POTATO CHIPS. THE LAVENDER MARTINIS WERE GOOD BUT THE PRESENTATION WAS SLOPPY. WE DECIDED NOT TO ORDER AN ENTREE SINCE NOTHING WAS VERY GOOD AND WE LOST OUR APPETITE AT THIS POINT.I NEVER GIVE A PLACE A REVIEW LIKE THIS BUT AFTER SPENDING 135.00 FOR FOOD THAT DOESNT EVEN DESERVE 1 STAR, MAKE ME UPSET ENOUGH TO LET OTHERS KNOW.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Bru is an excellent choice for everyday ...

Dined on June 20, 2016

Bru is an excellent choice for everyday dining or special occasions. The craft beer selection is excellent with over 40 beers on tap and an even greater selection of bottled beer in their open market section. Great menu options from appetizers all they up through seafood and steak selections. The Bru burger is really one of the best burgers around. Good service and great location.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

We chose Bru as recommended by a friend. ...

Dined on June 20, 2016

We chose Bru as recommended by a friend. Overall our experience was great. One negative, the coffee was bland. I think it needs an upgrade. One big positive, Logan, our server, was incredible. He was knowledgeable, attentive, happy, and very helpful with suggestions. A big plus, and a definite reason to go back again.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We were celebrating Father's day and mos ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

We were celebrating Father's day and most of the family at the table had never been to Bru Grill and Market before (my husband, son and I have). I was confident and hopeful that everyone would like my choice but I have a difficult family to please so I wasn't sure. Everyone RAVED about what a great choice I made. Everyone loved their food and thought the ambiance was great! Best part though...was Ryan our server. He was absolutely fantastic! We felt so welcome and taken care of from start to finish; we all couldn't stop praising him to each other. Even my 4 year old son mentioned Ryan again on the car ride home! It was an awesome experience and we will be back over and over again, I'm sure of it!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience5
service1
value5

Reservation at 11:15 and had to wait to ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Reservation at 11:15 and had to wait to be seated with party of 8 present for 15 minutes. Server was bad, not attentive,. After food brought,.disappeared.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Service was excellent even thought it wa ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Service was excellent even thought it was very crowded. They had more than enough staff to accommodate the patrons.

food1
ambience4
service2
value3

I have gone twice and probably will not ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

I have gone twice and probably will not return. The hosts act like deer in headlights and the waiters take forever.

food4
ambience3
service2
value3

When we go there, very few tables were o ...

vip
Dined on June 19, 2016

When we go there, very few tables were occupied. The host wanted to seat up next to a large group with several kids. When I asked her for a different table, she said "I am not allowed to do this". I then asked her to check with her manager. After this, we were able to get a different table. We were there during brunch. It took 10 minutes to get the coffee. The reason was, they needed to brew it. Since we were there right when they opened, that was odd. Also, getting a refill took a very long time. The food was very good.

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Great venue. As a guest from Australia, ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Great venue. As a guest from Australia, this is our go-to location for business dinners when visiting from Australia. Customer Service is great. Food is amazing. The venue was recommended by a local business partner and we also have our group or small team dinners here. Would love to meet the Owner when we are next visiting, such a great place to visit.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, late-night find, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food3
ambience1
service2

I would not recommend this place. It was ...

vip
Dined on June 10, 2016

I would not recommend this place. It was really loud. Not sure why the service was so bad. The waiter was MIA the whole time.

food5
ambience5
service5

We took our family to Bru for a graduati ...

Dined on June 3, 2016

We took our family to Bru for a graduation celebration. The food was really tasty, the presentation was great and service was excellent. We have been there a few times a year since it opened and the food actually keeps getting better. Love Bru!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great spot with Amazing food. Well priced.

Dined on May 29, 2016

Love the Wings, Beet Salad and. The fig and arugula flat bread.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The menu is diverse and food truly consi ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

The menu is diverse and food truly consistent and delicious. The specials (when available) are exceptional! Service is always top shelf. Our little neighborhood gem is getting VERY popular. Great for after dinner dessert and cocktails too! Their desserts are to die for!!!!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

The service at Bru and Grill is always g ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

The service at Bru and Grill is always great when I go. Filled with friendly people and delicious food! Always a great experience!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

Not was it was, still good enough for th ...

vip
Dined on May 16, 2016

Not was it was, still good enough for the area. They should be much better, servers are absent not trained and can’t focus. I will still frequent this place with the nostralgy of its better days!!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Bru never disappoints!

Dined on May 13, 2016

Always a special occasion, no matter what! Bru is great food, great service, and great atmosphere!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful Mothers Day dinner celebration ...

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

Wonderful Mothers Day dinner celebration with 3 generations of family! Delicious food, great service (even on a holiday!!!)

food4
ambience4
service3

Waited for about 30 minutes before we we ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Waited for about 30 minutes before we were seated despite multiple open tables

food4
ambience1
service2
value1

Forgettable..

Dined on May 7, 2016

Pretty disappointed in general, for was good but service was poor. The wine felt like a rip off being served in such a small glass. WAY over priced for the pour size..

food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Outdoor bar tables need TLC

Dined on May 1, 2016

We had a reservation for lunch, however it was incredibly noisy inside. Decided to sit outside at the long bar tables in the mini patio- table hadn't been cleaned for quite a while. Service was slow to start with, along with food delivery- the couple next to us arrived later, placed order after us, but received their entree's first ( for an example). Thankfully the server assigned to our area did her best to provide courteous and efficient help.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, vibrant bar scene
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

Sat lunch

Dined on April 23, 2016

After glowing reviews we were very disappointed in the food and the service. We waited about 10 minutes to be seated with a LOT of open tables as we were taken to the furthest point from the front door with our reservation. The service was s.l.o.w. at best. The food portions were incredible small for the price...lots of french fries not a lot of meat on any of the sandwiches ordered. We all ordered something different. Will not be back again. Hoping that management will look into having their serving staff have all of their tables in one area. Seemed as though our waiter was all over the restaurant serving. Not a good management/time saving strategy.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Servers were excellent and food was as well.

vip
Dined on April 17, 2016

My review of 50 characters is that the food, service and ambiance was nice.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

As always BRU never disappoints. Food is ...

Dined on April 17, 2016

As always BRU never disappoints. Food is always exceptional, staff is super friendly and accommodating. We are quite lucky we have this restaurant in our neighborhood. But honestly I would gladly drive miles to get to it.

food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Made reservations so we didn't have to wait.

Dined on April 12, 2016

We were immediately set down without any delay. The food was great! Ordered the flat breads, sliders and chicken wings. Delicious food and good drinks. I love the fact that this place is so near to our home and I didn't know about it. Glad I found it. The only thing I must say is that the waiter did not mention to us that if we order 3 sliders, there was an extra charge. We had so much food, only two would have been fine, but he suggested to get three in a plate which we thought was normal order. Was kinda disappointing when it became a money issue instead of enjoyment, otherwise we really had a great time! BTW they have great house champagne!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Bru - tiful Brunch

Dined on April 10, 2016

Great meal. Great service. The staff was outstanding. Two large groups got their order in before ours so ours took a bit longer but it wasn't at all a problem. The waiter apologized profusely. My french toast wasn't hot, for which he again apologized. Another was brought immediately. That wasn't a problem either. Things happen. And it was worth the wait. Delicious citrus french toast, cafe au lait and a decadent chocolate desert. Other than being incredibly loud it's an excellent dining experience.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

French dip, nice a juicy on a perfect Fr ...

Dined on April 9, 2016

French dip, nice a juicy on a perfect French roll bottom part dipped. With Gruyere melted and perfect (as usual) fries. Rarely do you see French dips that don't need a heathy dose of dipping. This baby is juicy all the way.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dinner

Dined on April 9, 2016

My meal was just fantastic, I had the scallops with potato truffles and it was so good.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

This place is amazing!

Dined on April 2, 2016

The food was SO good! We were a party of eight, each had something different, and it was all fantastic.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing restaurant all around

Dined on March 27, 2016

Bru is one of our favorite restaurants for a variety of occasions. My husband and I love it for date nights or just a quick stop for happy hour. Our 2.5 year old loves going with us on family date nights as well. The menu is full of many healthy options and I never feel guilty after eating there. I usually save room for dessert and recommend their Bru cake. Their craft beer selection is one of my husbands favorite reasons to go there. We've been patrons since they opened and love introducing family and friends to such a great place.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have loved Bru since they opened, and ...

Dined on March 27, 2016

We have loved Bru since they opened, and we keep on going back for their delicious menu, the great atmosphere, and the fantastic desserts. The desserts change fairly regularly, so there is always something new to try!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always great!

Dined on March 26, 2016

Bru never disappoints! Great food, great service! Just right---anytime!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love my neighborhood Brü

Dined on March 26, 2016

Great as always, so fortunate to have such a great place so close to home.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

Poor customer service ruins the entire experience.

Dined on March 21, 2016

Tried this place for the first time with excitement, but was disappointed with the lack of service I received. From the moment we walked in I felt like I was being prejudged, as if me and my girlfriend didn't belong or that we couldn't afford to eat there.Never received some of the items we ordered, and never even received an apology. I had to ask the server to take the item off the bill as we never got them, and he then looked at me like I had asked him to do something completely immoral. Not to mention we had to wave him down to even ask for the check. I find it odd that the waiter never once stopped by to ask how everything was. Maybe we caught them on an off night, but first impressions are everything. For me, I will never step foot in the place again. I will gladly spend my money at restaurants that provide customer service.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and cute waiters!!

Dined on March 12, 2016

I took my friend here for dinner for her birthday before we went out for the night. The food was seriously perfect!! I had the flat iron steak medium rare with blue cheese mashed potatoes and broccolini....she had the short ribs with small potatoes and carrots...omg it was perfection!! The lavender lemon drop is amazing!!! And our waiter was a super cute hottie with an Australian accent...everything was great!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best in Lake Forest and surrounding areas

Dined on March 8, 2016

Hands Down the best food, service, ambiance and all around excellent experience from the time you walk in the door. They WANT to take care of you and make your experience memorable. They succeed on every single level. You cannot miss with this place! Every single dish right down to dessert is stunning, perfectly seasoned and drop dead gorgeous plates upon arrival at the table. Craft beers on tap that are always changing. The Wine list is nothing short of amazingly diverse with selections that are known to be hard to get yet seriously great pricing! You have got to check this please out. And Happy hour? WOW!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service3

Service is slow, but friendly.

vip
Dined on February 26, 2016

Service is slow, but friendly.

food4
ambience5
service5

Kids pizza perfect. Nice crisp crust. B ...

Dined on February 24, 2016

Kids pizza perfect. Nice crisp crust. Broth on the mussles app is spicy goodness. Mushroom app had no flavor. Soggy caps with tasteless spinach blob on top. Beet salad good flavors. Needs more beets.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

EXCELLENT!

Dined on February 21, 2016

We had a great experience at Bru! We went for brunch 6 adults with our 3 babes under 1 year! Our server Hayden was fantastic, super accommodating and friendly overall! Will absolutely be going back for brunch :)

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, hot spot, notable wine list
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

Drinks were bad, had to redo,

Dined on February 21, 2016

Service was terrible had to wait a long time for every thing. Would not recommend for Sat night Food was not good.

Tags: great for lunch

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.