About Bru Grill and Market

23730 El Toro Rd
Lake Forest, CA 92630
View Larger Map

We serve the best farm to table Eats, craft brews, and boutique wines. From our phenomenal Happy Hour to our Brü Burger, Salads, Flatbreads, Wild Caught Seafood and Amazing Steaks... you will love Brü!

"America's Top 250 Restaurants"
Save the World. Eat. Brü. Crü. Proudly serving The OC, CA.

Orange County, California · brugrill.com

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American, Gastro Pub

Hours of Operation:
Lunch

Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 3:00pm

Dinner

Sunday - Tuesday: 3:00pm - 9:00pm; Wednesday & Thursday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm; Friday & Saturday: 3:00pm - 11:00pm

Brunch

Sunday: 9:30am - 3:00pm

Cross Street:
Rockfield

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(949) 305-5757

Website:
http://www.brugrill.com/

Entertainment:
Live entertainment on Friday and Saturday nights. See www.brugrill.com events calendar for details.

Catering:
Full event catering for information email events@brugrill.com

Parking Details:
Extensive Parking Available

Executive Chef:
Chef Ülises Navarette

Private Party Facilities:
We have multiple options for private groups of up to 300! See www.brugrill.com for a brief video on our private event incredible skills!

Private Party Contact:
Events Coordinator: 9493055757x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cigar Room, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
Beer, wine & culinary events and specials regularly.... check our website for the latest information

Bru Grill and Market Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.2

ambience

4.3

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Vibrant Bar Scene
South Orange County
Best Restaurants in Laguna Hills / Lake Forest / Foothill Ranch ›

good for groups (52)
fit for foodies (51)
vibrant bar scene (45)
See All
great for lunch (43)
neighborhood gem (43)
special occasion (42)
great for brunch (40)
notable wine list (37)
hot spot (28)
great for outdoor dining (20)
romantic (20)
kid-friendly (19)
late-night find (12)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
266 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The menu is diverse and food truly consi ...

Dined 6 days ago

The menu is diverse and food truly consistent and delicious. The specials (when available) are exceptional! Service is always top shelf. Our little neighborhood gem is getting VERY popular. Great for after dinner dessert and cocktails too! Their desserts are to die for!!!!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

The service at Bru and Grill is always g ...

Dined 7 days ago

The service at Bru and Grill is always great when I go. Filled with friendly people and delicious food! Always a great experience!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Bru never disappoints!

Dined on May 13, 2016

Always a special occasion, no matter what! Bru is great food, great service, and great atmosphere!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful Mothers Day dinner celebration ...

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

Wonderful Mothers Day dinner celebration with 3 generations of family! Delicious food, great service (even on a holiday!!!)

food4
ambience4
service3

Waited for about 30 minutes before we we ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Waited for about 30 minutes before we were seated despite multiple open tables

food4
ambience1
service2
value1

Forgettable..

Dined on May 7, 2016

Pretty disappointed in general, for was good but service was poor. The wine felt like a rip off being served in such a small glass. WAY over priced for the pour size..

food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Outdoor bar tables need TLC

Dined on May 1, 2016

We had a reservation for lunch, however it was incredibly noisy inside. Decided to sit outside at the long bar tables in the mini patio- table hadn't been cleaned for quite a while. Service was slow to start with, along with food delivery- the couple next to us arrived later, placed order after us, but received their entree's first ( for an example). Thankfully the server assigned to our area did her best to provide courteous and efficient help.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, vibrant bar scene
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

Sat lunch

Dined on April 23, 2016

After glowing reviews we were very disappointed in the food and the service. We waited about 10 minutes to be seated with a LOT of open tables as we were taken to the furthest point from the front door with our reservation. The service was s.l.o.w. at best. The food portions were incredible small for the price...lots of french fries not a lot of meat on any of the sandwiches ordered. We all ordered something different. Will not be back again. Hoping that management will look into having their serving staff have all of their tables in one area. Seemed as though our waiter was all over the restaurant serving. Not a good management/time saving strategy.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Servers were excellent and food was as well.

vip
Dined on April 17, 2016

My review of 50 characters is that the food, service and ambiance was nice.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

As always BRU never disappoints. Food is ...

Dined on April 17, 2016

As always BRU never disappoints. Food is always exceptional, staff is super friendly and accommodating. We are quite lucky we have this restaurant in our neighborhood. But honestly I would gladly drive miles to get to it.

food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Made reservations so we didn't have to wait.

Dined on April 12, 2016

We were immediately set down without any delay. The food was great! Ordered the flat breads, sliders and chicken wings. Delicious food and good drinks. I love the fact that this place is so near to our home and I didn't know about it. Glad I found it. The only thing I must say is that the waiter did not mention to us that if we order 3 sliders, there was an extra charge. We had so much food, only two would have been fine, but he suggested to get three in a plate which we thought was normal order. Was kinda disappointing when it became a money issue instead of enjoyment, otherwise we really had a great time! BTW they have great house champagne!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Bru - tiful Brunch

Dined on April 10, 2016

Great meal. Great service. The staff was outstanding. Two large groups got their order in before ours so ours took a bit longer but it wasn't at all a problem. The waiter apologized profusely. My french toast wasn't hot, for which he again apologized. Another was brought immediately. That wasn't a problem either. Things happen. And it was worth the wait. Delicious citrus french toast, cafe au lait and a decadent chocolate desert. Other than being incredibly loud it's an excellent dining experience.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

French dip, nice a juicy on a perfect Fr ...

Dined on April 9, 2016

French dip, nice a juicy on a perfect French roll bottom part dipped. With Gruyere melted and perfect (as usual) fries. Rarely do you see French dips that don't need a heathy dose of dipping. This baby is juicy all the way.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dinner

Dined on April 9, 2016

My meal was just fantastic, I had the scallops with potato truffles and it was so good.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

This place is amazing!

Dined on April 2, 2016

The food was SO good! We were a party of eight, each had something different, and it was all fantastic.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing restaurant all around

Dined on March 27, 2016

Bru is one of our favorite restaurants for a variety of occasions. My husband and I love it for date nights or just a quick stop for happy hour. Our 2.5 year old loves going with us on family date nights as well. The menu is full of many healthy options and I never feel guilty after eating there. I usually save room for dessert and recommend their Bru cake. Their craft beer selection is one of my husbands favorite reasons to go there. We've been patrons since they opened and love introducing family and friends to such a great place.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have loved Bru since they opened, and ...

Dined on March 27, 2016

We have loved Bru since they opened, and we keep on going back for their delicious menu, the great atmosphere, and the fantastic desserts. The desserts change fairly regularly, so there is always something new to try!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always great!

Dined on March 26, 2016

Bru never disappoints! Great food, great service! Just right---anytime!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love my neighborhood Brü

Dined on March 26, 2016

Great as always, so fortunate to have such a great place so close to home.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

Poor customer service ruins the entire experience.

Dined on March 21, 2016

Tried this place for the first time with excitement, but was disappointed with the lack of service I received. From the moment we walked in I felt like I was being prejudged, as if me and my girlfriend didn't belong or that we couldn't afford to eat there.Never received some of the items we ordered, and never even received an apology. I had to ask the server to take the item off the bill as we never got them, and he then looked at me like I had asked him to do something completely immoral. Not to mention we had to wave him down to even ask for the check. I find it odd that the waiter never once stopped by to ask how everything was. Maybe we caught them on an off night, but first impressions are everything. For me, I will never step foot in the place again. I will gladly spend my money at restaurants that provide customer service.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and cute waiters!!

Dined on March 12, 2016

I took my friend here for dinner for her birthday before we went out for the night. The food was seriously perfect!! I had the flat iron steak medium rare with blue cheese mashed potatoes and broccolini....she had the short ribs with small potatoes and carrots...omg it was perfection!! The lavender lemon drop is amazing!!! And our waiter was a super cute hottie with an Australian accent...everything was great!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best in Lake Forest and surrounding areas

Dined on March 8, 2016

Hands Down the best food, service, ambiance and all around excellent experience from the time you walk in the door. They WANT to take care of you and make your experience memorable. They succeed on every single level. You cannot miss with this place! Every single dish right down to dessert is stunning, perfectly seasoned and drop dead gorgeous plates upon arrival at the table. Craft beers on tap that are always changing. The Wine list is nothing short of amazingly diverse with selections that are known to be hard to get yet seriously great pricing! You have got to check this please out. And Happy hour? WOW!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service3

Service is slow, but friendly.

Dined on February 26, 2016

Service is slow, but friendly.

food4
ambience5
service5

Kids pizza perfect. Nice crisp crust. B ...

Dined on February 24, 2016

Kids pizza perfect. Nice crisp crust. Broth on the mussles app is spicy goodness. Mushroom app had no flavor. Soggy caps with tasteless spinach blob on top. Beet salad good flavors. Needs more beets.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

EXCELLENT!

Dined on February 21, 2016

We had a great experience at Bru! We went for brunch 6 adults with our 3 babes under 1 year! Our server Hayden was fantastic, super accommodating and friendly overall! Will absolutely be going back for brunch :)

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, hot spot, notable wine list
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

Drinks were bad, had to redo,

Dined on February 21, 2016

Service was terrible had to wait a long time for every thing. Would not recommend for Sat night Food was not good.

Tags: great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best restaurant in Orange County

Dined on February 15, 2016

This restaurant is hands down the best restaurant around. They have a great wait staff and have superb food with a wide variety in top notch drinks. My wife and I have been driving to eat here for years. We live about an hour away in Los Angeles county. My favorite is the prime rib, but everything I have had has been awesome!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food1
ambience3
service3

The breakfast spinach salad was horrible ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

The breakfast spinach salad was horrible. Had absolutely no flavor at all. Egg was overcooked, chorizo was cold like it came out of the fridge, and there was no dressing on it. When I asked for dressing they brought me oil and balsamic. I don't know if it was worse without dressing or having that salad with balsamic. Mimosas were good. Chiliquiles were good.

food5
ambience5
service5

The food was fingerlicking good and the ...

vip
Dined on February 12, 2016

The food was fingerlicking good and the service was amazing! The owner of the restaurant came by to make sure we were doing well. The desserts are amazing! You have to try the S'more Gelato.

food5
ambience5
service5

All I can say is WOW! Service, food, amb ...

Dined on February 6, 2016

All I can say is WOW! Service, food, ambiance. All outstanding. Truly a neighborhood jewel. So lucky to have this place close.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Some new menu items

Dined on February 6, 2016

Bru is on of our favorites. On our latest visit, I tried a new menu item---the deep fried meatloaf. It may sound a little different if you're not from the South, and I'm not, but it is lightly fried which captures the moisture in the meatloaf. It is served with a spicy sauce and is laid over some great puree potatoes. Some great flavors going on and a meal I would recommend you give a try at least once.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

killer brews

Dined on February 5, 2016

Food is always great and the beer list is always changing. Such a great spot!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5

Always try the soups. Excellent! Perfe ...

vip
Dined on February 4, 2016

Always try the soups. Excellent! Perfect lunch with s sandwich or salad. I especially like the BBQ pork belly.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great brunch at Bru!

Dined on January 31, 2016

Met with some friends for brunch and it was great!! The bottomless mimosas are a nice touch! I would recommend making a reservation as it does get very busy.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome!

Dined on January 28, 2016

Whether brunch, lunch, or dinner, you can't go wrong with Bru. Awesome food and service, great drinks and brews. Enjoy!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place to dine!

Dined on January 19, 2016

Bru has been a great go-to for lunch and dinner. Appreciate availability of reservations. Staff is always friendly and helpful. Food is delicious.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent Casual Dining

Dined on January 13, 2016

Great casual dining to have beer or wine with friends. Excellent pub-style menu. Burger was superb, our friends tried the chicken/dumplings and the seafood - all excellent. The glass of wine I ordered tasted a little 'hoppy', probably either the glass or the wine had taken into too much beer. Waiter was very happy to help and opened a fresh bottle with a new glass. Very pleased with the willingness to help and the rapid response. Thank you.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Eating around South Orange County

Dined on January 10, 2016

Very busy on a Saturday night. All the tables were full so it was a little loud. But we were with a group and had a fun time. We had two appetizers: stuffed mushrooms and ahi poke which were both very good. Everyone enjoyed their meals. They loved the burgers, lobster mac and cheese, and cioppino. The seafood trio was good, all of the seafood was amazing, but two of the three were on top of the same side dish. I would have preferred 3 different sides with the three different seafood selections. Other than that it was all very tasty. Our server was great even though he was very busy and had a lot of tables to serve. The beer selections are massive so there are a lot of choices! We did not order dessert.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Bar scene

Dined on January 9, 2016

Bar scene very crowded and popular with locals. Try It.

Tags: neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience3
service3

Waited about 15 minutes to get a table w ...

Dined on December 29, 2015

Waited about 15 minutes to get a table with a reservation. Very slow service. Took nearly a half hour to get our drinks ordered and served after being seated.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.