About Bru Grill and Market

We serve the best farm to table Eats, craft brews, and boutique wines. From our phenomenal Happy Hour to our Brü Burger, Salads, Flatbreads, Wild Caught Seafood and Amazing Steaks... you will love Brü!

"America's Top 250 Restaurants"
Save the World. Eat. Brü. Crü. Proudly serving The OC, CA.

Orange County, California · brugrill.com

23730 El Toro Rd
Lake Forest, CA 92630
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American, Gastro Pub

Hours of Operation:
Lunch

Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 3:00pm

Dinner

Sunday - Tuesday: 3:00pm - 9:00pm; Wednesday & Thursday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm; Friday & Saturday: 3:00pm - 11:00pm

Brunch

Sunday: 9:30am - 3:00pm

Cross Street:
Rockfield

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(949) 305-5757

Website:
http://www.brugrill.com/

Entertainment:
Live entertainment on Friday and Saturday nights. See www.brugrill.com events calendar for details.

Catering:
Full event catering for information email events@brugrill.com

Parking Details:
Extensive Parking Available

Executive Chef:
Chef Ülises Navarette

Private Party Facilities:
We have multiple options for private groups of up to 300! See www.brugrill.com for a brief video on our private event incredible skills!

Private Party Contact:
Events Coordinator: (949) 305-5757

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cigar Room, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Beer, wine & culinary events and specials regularly.... check our website for the latest information

Bru Grill and Market Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.3

ambience

4.4

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (32)
Creative Cuisine (28)
Bar Seating (26)
See All
Good for Groups (26)
Special Occasion (25)
Good for Anniversaries (24)
Casual (24)
Neighborhood Gem (23)
Great for Lunch (23)
Happy Hour (23)
Handcrafted Cocktails (22)
Romantic (22)
Fit for Foodies (21)
Fun (21)
Notable Wine List (20)
Great Beer (20)
Comfort Food (19)
Hot Spot (19)
Business Meals (19)
Good for Birthdays (19)
Great for Brunch (19)
Worth the Drive (17)
Sunday Lunch (14)
Local Ingredients (14)
Vibrant Bar Scene (13)
Cozy (11)
Live Music (11)
Authentic (11)
Seasonal (9)
Great for Outdoor Dining (9)
Live Sports (8)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Late-night Find (6)
People Watching (6)
Open Kitchen (5)
Disabled Access (5)
Organic (5)
Quick Bite (5)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Modern Decor (3)
Tapas (3)
Wood Oven (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Fireplace (1)
Family Style (1)
Vegan (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Private Room (1)
Sort By:
S
452 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined 3 days ago

Always an outstanding dining experience! New menu introduced includes four steaks from Aspen Ridge Farms with unique choose-your-own side dish and topping options.

Tags: Casual, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined 6 days ago

New Craft Cocktail menu just unveiled...WOW!!!! Prohibition cocktails, stuff I've never eve heard of! JUST FREAKING WOW!!!!! If you haven't tried this place, you haven't lived....serious must go to this place....

Tags: Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Live Sports, Cozy, Great Beer, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, People Watching, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Fun, Business Meals, Happy Hour, Live Music, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Fantastic! And we lived Logan our favorite waiter!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on August 6, 2017

I'm somewhat biased, not because I own it or work here, but because I'm a local. I've been to this restaurant 87 times. I've been here alone, with my wife, my dogs, my parents, my sons, friends and fellow foodies, neighbors, and business colleagues.

I've had breakfast, lunch and dinner there, always GOOD and sometimes EXCELLENT! I have had a several of their handcrafted cocktails and MANY unique draught beers.

If you're still unsure, try it and let Matt and his crew personally win you over!

Tags: Good for a Date, Seasonal, Casual, Hot Spot, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Tasting Menu, Great Beer, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Live Sports, Comfort Food, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Quick Bite, Handcrafted Cocktails, Sunday Lunch, Disabled Access, Kid-friendly, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Nice neighborhood gem. Good wine selection and other cocktails. Creative entree choices. Great atmosphere. Tables available for large parties or private party on patio.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
·Dined on August 6, 2017

Service terrible. Had to ask for total meal, left potatoe off. No knife to cut steak. Had to ask for everythg then waiter asked "are you happy now". Food quality inspite if cost was only fair. Sad to give such a negative review. First time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

Amazing food, amazing service as always. The owner came over and gave my boyfriend and me free drinks for no reason! I'm impressed with Brü every time I go there.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Bru is a very pleasing dinner experience. The service is good and the food choices nicely varied and fresh. It's a great place to meet with friends because everyone's taste in food and drink is offered at Bru. Only drawback is the noise level. I would request a quiet, back room seat, away from the bar area if you want to have a conversation.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 3, 2017

Fantastic food. Love the atmosphere. Will definitely come back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 3, 2017

Great place to go. Wife and I go every other week. Lots of menu choices and lots of beer selections. In fact so many beer selections that it is a must to ask for samples. Never have had a bad experience. I am also glad that it is not very expensive.

Tags: Casual, Great Beer, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on July 30, 2017

This place is not to be missed. Creativity of menu, outstanding service coupled with truly fresh ingredients and "local" all the way. So blessed we have BRU near (and dear) to us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on July 29, 2017

The mussels are excellent. Great to share or enjoy as an entree.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Had family come in from out of state who were very pleased with the restaurant. We had brunch which consisted of a hamburger, flatbread pizza, Eggs Benedict, omelet, very nice array of items, all delicious.

Tags: Hot Spot, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Good Vegetarian Options, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Was in the area for the weekend and found Bru on the map. Checked menu and that was it. Made the reservation.
Great food and knowledgeable bartenders. Actually made my drink correctly without me having to teach them.
I will be going back when in that area again. The Steaks were great along with the Salmon.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on July 23, 2017

We were seated in a nice area and immediately greeted by our waiter. We had a Calamari starter which was excellent. We delayed ordering to enjoy cocktails and Calamari. The waiter came back to take the order and passed by one more time. We didn't see him until dinner had been finished for a little bit and we had to flag him over. He seemed a little distracted or maybe short handed that evening. Overall, the evening was nice and we would recommend the Bru Grill.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Live Music, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
·Dined on July 22, 2017

Food was very good. I had the pork tacos and they were delish. My friend had the burger and it looked excellent.

Waitress was very attentive and all staff was very nice.

Cool vibe to this place. Will definitely go back.

Tags: Great Beer, Hot Spot, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Our dining experience at Bru was awesome! Our server (Lexi, I think was her name) was beyond exceptional and super friendly. The bread pudding with caramel sauce topped off our lovely dinner.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on July 14, 2017

The bar was very noisy; mostly groups of females, and noise bled thru to the dining room. That's the ONLY negative remark I can make. The food was terrific: bru and cru appetizer was sooo good and clever; ditto the tuna tartare, it had a little kick to it that the mango and cucumber smoothed out. Beet salad plentiful tho the dressing was a bit tart for my palate; swordfish emtre perfectly cooked, rich and filling. Wine policy is so smart and waiter was outstanding, attentive and effecient. We had a Visa gift card that Bru's system couldn't manage correctly, but we Will come back again soon.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Tapas, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on July 11, 2017

First time here and will come back again. Excellent on all levels.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Bru is the only fine dining restaurant in Lake Forest. Although it is casual the food really is fine dining. We always take birthday celebrations there and it is the place to take out of town guests.
I am exceptionally glad that Bru opened in Lake Forest, and by the way, if you get to meet the owner, do chat with him, he always has a lot of interesting things to say and is very accommodating.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Fun, Casual, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Going to Bru is always a delicious experience that fills your stomach and your soul. Bru takes both comfort food and date nights out to a whole new level with their incredible service and amazing concept.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Wonderful brunch at Bru! So many choices and both my friend and I Ioved what we ordered. I had the chopped salad with grilled chicken and she ordered the shrimp and grits. Both were outstanding! The bottomless champagne was also terrific to go with the meal. Although we didn't order from it today, they have quite an extensive and impressive wine and beer menu 👍. The prices and service are also both worth mentioning for this great place as well. I've dined here multiple times and every time, my guests and Zi are happy we chose Bru! You will be happy, too!!!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Fun, Great Beer, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Disabled Access, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Cozy, Great for Brunch, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on June 28, 2017

I have been here with friends and family and love everything about the service, menu choices, and comfort of the restaurant. Very authentic.

Tags: Authentic, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Fun, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on June 23, 2017

We're regulars but brought friends here who were first timers. They were really impressed with the food and also the service.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Happy Hour, Romantic, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on June 22, 2017

Great service and awesome food, server I could tell really liked her job and took pride in her customers

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Quick Bite, Tapas, Cozy, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 21, 2017

It's a very comfortable place to eat. They are friendly and informative. The food is very good and priced reasonably. Happy Hour starts at 2pm during the week. It's become my favorite local restaurant!

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Father's Day dinner with my family

Tags: Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Great for Brunch, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Live Sports, Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Fun, Seasonal, Sunday Lunch, Happy Hour, Local Ingredients, Great Beer, Good for Anniversaries, Live Music, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Ambiance was good. Food was just ok. Appetizers came late and served same time as dinner.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Great Beer, Business Meals, Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Still the best place in our book. Home away from home. Service friendly, they become family! Prime Rib was the best my husband have ever in years . Young or old, it's a place for all.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Authentic, Gluten Free Options, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Quick Bite, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Casual, Live Sports, Comfort Food, Live Music, People Watching, Sunday Lunch, Cozy, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Outdoor Dining, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Good for Groups, Romantic, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on June 18, 2017

We had never been to Bru before and were pleasantly surprised. The staff who greeted us wee friendly, and we got seated right away. Our waiter, Curtis, could not have been more attentive or efficient. The food was great, as were the drinks. The ambiance was beautiful yet not stuffy.

After our meal I spoke with the manager, Matt, I believe, and he was friendly and receptive (well, how difficult could that have been...I was sharing our good first experience).

Compared to our less than mediocre experience at the new Hendrix restaurant in Dana Point, this was a lovely surprise. We will definitely go back.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Casual, Kid-friendly, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Everything was great except the fact that I asked them to do something special for my boyfriends first Father's Day and they said they would and nothing happened

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Everyone was satisfied with their food. The only food disappointment was not enough Hollandaise and the country potatoes were oily when the request was for crispy. Our server was wonderful and I'm sorry I can't remember her name. We appreciated being able to get a reservation last minute through Open Table.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on June 17, 2017

The food is amazing and the prices are good BUT three different servers showed up with incorrect side dishes. By the time they got it right, we were finished eating. Note: the manager comped my friend's dinner, which was great, but we would have rather had good service.

Tags: Live Music, Hot Spot, People Watching, Sunday Lunch, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on June 11, 2017

I met my girlfriends here because we wanted to try somewhere new!! We were here for four hours for the bottomless mimosas!! We were seated at a table in the back where it was quiet and we were able to really enjoy good conversation. Everyone was happy with their meal good flavor and great presentation. The service was excellent and everyone was very friendly even when they were very busy! When we left we were each given a bottle of champagne in a cute bag!! Wow such a great time we will be going back!!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Good Atmosphere, Good Service, Good Food. We have dined here many times and have never been disappointed.

Tags: Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Good food. Had a burger that was juicy and cooked as I asked, wife had a salad that was very tasty and a good flat bread pizza, and we had an awesome dessert that was a s'mores thing that was large and very scrumptious! Good beer and wine variety as well and our server did a good job and was attentive and professional.

Tags: Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on June 4, 2017

We went for my sons Birthday Brunch. The Crab Benedict was great and my son loved the build your own omelet. My daughter in law is vegan and she swears by the Hippie Burger. In all great food and service.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Vegan, Casual, Good Vegetarian Options, Notable Wine List, Great for Brunch, Great Beer, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on June 2, 2017

Excellent food and service. Price is great compared to other restaurants. Great experience.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Authentic, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Healthy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Casual, Bar Seating, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Love Bru! It's one of my favorite places to go for Brunch, Dinner, and Happy Hour. The food is always amazing and the servers are friendly and attentive. I have never had a bad experience at this place.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Organic, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 25, 2017

First time here. My birthday and we had our 8 month old grandson and his parents. Service is great. Food servings big.

Tags: Live Sports, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.