About Bru Grill and Market

We serve the best farm to table Eats, craft brews, and boutique wines. From our phenomenal Happy Hour to our Brü Burger, Salads, Flatbreads, Wild Caught Seafood and Amazing Steaks... you will love Brü!

"America's Top 250 Restaurants"
Save the World. Eat. Brü. Crü. Proudly serving The OC, CA.

Orange County, California · brugrill.com

23730 El Toro Rd
Lake Forest, CA 92630
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American, Gastro Pub

Hours of Operation:
Lunch

Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 3:00pm

Dinner

Sunday - Tuesday: 3:00pm - 9:00pm; Wednesday & Thursday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm; Friday & Saturday: 3:00pm - 11:00pm

Brunch

Sunday: 9:30am - 3:00pm

Cross Street:
Rockfield

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(949) 305-5757

Website:
http://www.brugrill.com/

Entertainment:
Live entertainment on Friday and Saturday nights. See www.brugrill.com events calendar for details.

Catering:
Full event catering for information email events@brugrill.com

Parking Details:
Extensive Parking Available

Executive Chef:
Chef Ülises Navarette

Private Party Facilities:
We have multiple options for private groups of up to 300! See www.brugrill.com for a brief video on our private event incredible skills!

Private Party Contact:
Events Coordinator: (949) 305-5757

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cigar Room, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Beer, wine & culinary events and specials regularly.... check our website for the latest information

Bru Grill and Market Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (32)
Casual (28)
Happy Hour (26)
See All
Handcrafted Cocktails (25)
Good for Groups (24)
Bar Seating (24)
Great for Lunch (22)
Comfort Food (21)
Great Beer (20)
Special Occasion (20)
Romantic (20)
Neighborhood Gem (20)
Business Meals (19)
Creative Cuisine (18)
Good for Anniversaries (18)
Fun (16)
Notable Wine List (16)
Hot Spot (14)
Local Ingredients (14)
Live Music (14)
Great for Brunch (14)
Worth the Drive (14)
Good for Birthdays (13)
Fit for Foodies (13)
Cozy (12)
Sunday Lunch (11)
People Watching (11)
Great for Outdoor Dining (9)
Open Kitchen (9)
Healthy (8)
Modern Decor (8)
Kid-friendly (8)
Live Sports (8)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Authentic (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Seasonal (6)
Late-night Find (5)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Tapas (5)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Organic (4)
Quick Bite (4)
Wood Oven (4)
Family Style (4)
Disabled Access (3)
Fireplace (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Private Room (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Vegan (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Sort By:
S
428 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined 2 days ago

We're regulars but brought friends here who were first timers. They were really impressed with the food and also the service.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Great for Lunch, Happy Hour, Romantic, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined 3 days ago

Great service and awesome food, server I could tell really liked her job and took pride in her customers

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Quick Bite, Tapas, Cozy, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 4 days ago

It's a very comfortable place to eat. They are friendly and informative. The food is very good and priced reasonably. Happy Hour starts at 2pm during the week. It's become my favorite local restaurant!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 7 days ago

Ambiance was good. Food was just ok. Appetizers came late and served same time as dinner.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Great Beer, Business Meals, Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined 7 days ago

Father's Day dinner with my family

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Great for Brunch, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Live Sports, Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Fun, Seasonal, Sunday Lunch, Happy Hour, Local Ingredients, Great Beer, Good for Anniversaries, Live Music, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined 7 days ago

Still the best place in our book. Home away from home. Service friendly, they become family! Prime Rib was the best my husband have ever in years . Young or old, it's a place for all.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Birthdays, Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Authentic, Gluten Free Options, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Quick Bite, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Casual, Live Sports, Comfort Food, Live Music, People Watching, Sunday Lunch, Cozy, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Outdoor Dining, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Good for Groups, Romantic, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined 7 days ago

We had never been to Bru before and were pleasantly surprised. The staff who greeted us wee friendly, and we got seated right away. Our waiter, Curtis, could not have been more attentive or efficient. The food was great, as were the drinks. The ambiance was beautiful yet not stuffy.

After our meal I spoke with the manager, Matt, I believe, and he was friendly and receptive (well, how difficult could that have been...I was sharing our good first experience).

Compared to our less than mediocre experience at the new Hendrix restaurant in Dana Point, this was a lovely surprise. We will definitely go back.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Casual, Kid-friendly, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Everything was great except the fact that I asked them to do something special for my boyfriends first Father's Day and they said they would and nothing happened

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Everyone was satisfied with their food. The only food disappointment was not enough Hollandaise and the country potatoes were oily when the request was for crispy. Our server was wonderful and I'm sorry I can't remember her name. We appreciated being able to get a reservation last minute through Open Table.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Notable Wine List, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on June 18, 2017

The food is amazing and the prices are good BUT three different servers showed up with incorrect side dishes. By the time they got it right, we were finished eating. Note: the manager comped my friend's dinner, which was great, but we would have rather had good service.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Live Music, Hot Spot, People Watching, Sunday Lunch, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on June 11, 2017

I met my girlfriends here because we wanted to try somewhere new!! We were here for four hours for the bottomless mimosas!! We were seated at a table in the back where it was quiet and we were able to really enjoy good conversation. Everyone was happy with their meal good flavor and great presentation. The service was excellent and everyone was very friendly even when they were very busy! When we left we were each given a bottle of champagne in a cute bag!! Wow such a great time we will be going back!!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Good Atmosphere, Good Service, Good Food. We have dined here many times and have never been disappointed.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Good food. Had a burger that was juicy and cooked as I asked, wife had a salad that was very tasty and a good flat bread pizza, and we had an awesome dessert that was a s'mores thing that was large and very scrumptious! Good beer and wine variety as well and our server did a good job and was attentive and professional.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on June 4, 2017

We went for my sons Birthday Brunch. The Crab Benedict was great and my son loved the build your own omelet. My daughter in law is vegan and she swears by the Hippie Burger. In all great food and service.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Vegan, Casual, Good Vegetarian Options, Notable Wine List, Great for Brunch, Great Beer, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Excellent food and service. Price is great compared to other restaurants. Great experience.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Authentic, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Healthy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Casual, Bar Seating, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Love Bru! It's one of my favorite places to go for Brunch, Dinner, and Happy Hour. The food is always amazing and the servers are friendly and attentive. I have never had a bad experience at this place.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Paleo Friendly, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Organic, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 26, 2017

First time here. My birthday and we had our 8 month old grandson and his parents. Service is great. Food servings big.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Live Sports, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Spectacular as always! Our server and service were exemplary. Special diet was no issue and I received a specially prepared meal. Kudos to the chef! Tuna, halibut, chicken and steak were superb. Only complaint was noise level.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Happy Hour, Gluten Free Options, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Although we had a reservation inside they overbooked and we had to sit outside. After many requests to turn on heater, my husband had to turn them on and then one ran out of propane 20 minutes later.We had to ask for bread after about 30 minutes. They told us they ran out. After they finally had some they brought over 3 rolls and a 1/2 tablespoon of butter. I had to inform them that we had 8 people in our party and 3 rolls would not be enough. Then we had to ask for bread plates. They brought us 5. Remember, we had 8 people sitting at table. 3 people ordered "cheese" burgers. They served 3 burgers. They were a bit shocked when we asked for "cheese" on the cheeseburgers. The dinner salad was served with dinner and not before. It was Mother's Day and it was a very unpleasant experience. I have always loved going to Bru, but was VERY disappointed in their service. It was horrible service from all parties involved. We were actually the ONLY people seated outside. They kept saying it was so busy inside, however, when I went to use the FILTHY restroom, it was not packed. Furthermore, there were no seat gaskets for the toilets in 2 of the stalls and the paper towels were jammed in the dispenser so could not dry hands.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value3

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Very nice Mother's Day brunch! We had 8 very different diners and everyone left happy!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Groups, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on May 9, 2017

We'd driven by many times & wondered what Bru was- so happy we ventured in!!!! Food was fabulous, service friendly. An extra candle in our table would have helped. It was a little " dark" for us "older" ladies!!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Casual, Seasonal, Comfort Food, Open Kitchen, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Excellent and consistent.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Authentic, Seasonal, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, People Watching, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Happy Hour, Open Kitchen, Casual, Great Beer, Live Sports, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Live Music, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on May 1, 2017

It was great food. Service was a bit slow but still was good.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 30, 2017

We sat on the patio on Saturday night and enjoyed a lovely meal. I would recommend ordering just the half salads because they are HUGE! We will be going back.

Tags: Happy Hour, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on April 28, 2017

The food is always good at Bru and usually I have great service. Yesterday - the food was good as usual, but the service was TERRIBLE. Our server walked past our table at least twice while we tried to flag him down to get our check. He completely ignored us. I get the sense he was pretty spacey - he didn't have a lot of tables, so not sure what other excuse he might have for ignoring a lunch table for over 30 mins.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on April 25, 2017

Birthday occasion! They called to confirm my reservation sat down table ready waters down! Very attentive server. Made sure all our food arrives at same time. Love this place!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Healthy, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 24, 2017

Lovely! Delicious food and excellent service. Love the lighting. Try the cocktails!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Great Beer, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Go for drinks and pub food. I've been there for that several times and was very happy. The other night went on a date the entrées were not impressive

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Great Service and a wonderful meal

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Casual, Great Beer, Authentic, Live Sports, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Open Kitchen, Wood Oven, Fun, Great for Brunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Kid-friendly, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Private Room, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Disabled Access, Fireplace, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Live Music, Organic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Healthy, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on April 18, 2017

Bru is truly an exceptional dining experience. The food is always fantastic, the beer selection is good, and the service is awesome. This last visit we had a new waiter and he went above and beyond to make our experience a great one.

Keep up the good work, Bru!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 13, 2017

The Bru is good. The service is very good and the ambience decent. If you get away from the bar crowd. They are loud and over powering at times.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Seemed like the restaurant was understaffed. Meals came out at different times with the last more than 10 minutes from the first. Drink refills were not on time. Bill took exceptionally long.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on April 12, 2017

HANDS DOWN!!!! a real "Go To" place......creative cocktails, excellent food, great menu! Beer list of on tap (usually around 25-30) as well as MANY bottled varieties and and truly well thought out and diverse wine list that is not going to break the bank. BRU is a can't miss establishment. No matter where you live it's well worth the drive.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Local Ingredients, Live Sports, Good for a Date, Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Brunch, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Sunday Lunch, Great Beer, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Open Kitchen, Seasonal, Happy Hour, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Live Music, Business Meals, People Watching, Romantic, Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on April 10, 2017

Service was great. We also celebrated a birthday and the dessert was outstanding.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 8, 2017

In the area visiting a friend and decided to give it a try. Shared an appetizer of calamari, my friend had the Sashimi and my spouse and I split the Prime Rib. Overall fantastic taste, fabulous service and reasonable pricing. We will certainly be back when in the area again!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Fun, Great Beer, Good for Birthdays, Disabled Access, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, People Watching, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Live Music, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Needed a last minute reservation for 8. They got us in. I am on a low sodium diet. Waitress went out of her way to bring me options . I had that Halibut, it was amazing. The marshmallow dessert my niece had looked out of this world. Great place, great service, great food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 26, 2017

I'm not sure I can say enough about how fantastic the service was here. I mean, there was a bit of a hiccup for a minute I think because there were two waiters helping us so there may have been some confusion, but it was handled pretty well. The biggest thing I appreciate was the fact that they were so gracious about the fact that I did not like my salad. This was only partially the fault of the restaurant - I say that because the salad comes with kamala olives (which apparently I'm not a fan of in a regular salad - they overpower the taste of everything else), but the menu simply says olives. That said, they had absolutely no problem making me a brand new salad sans olives and it was delicious. They even brought us out complimentary desserts for a party of 5 as an apology. Not necessary, but VERY much appreciated. Everyone there really couldn't have been nicer. We all enjoyed our experience here and will definitely return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Can't believe I am saying this, but not sure if I will return to what used to be my favorite restaurant

Duck duck chicken was dry! - Worst food I have ever had in all the times I have visited.

Server forgot appetizer
Server did not even look at table to refill water - 90% of the time my water was empty and sitting at the end of the table for a refill
Server was horrendously unpersonable and didn't describe specials.... are specials no longer offerred at this restaurant?

Is the restaurant under new management? Or is there new chef? SO sad.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 25, 2017

This is one of our favorite places to eat! The food is delicious, the menu is extensive and they have a great selection of craft beer as well as a full bar. The atmosphere is lively but not too loud. Great for watching sports or going out with friends to dinner. Can't wait to try their Sunday brunch!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 25, 2017

We had a very nice dinner. Great food and drinks. The service was really good.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.