About Brownstone

111 Dartmouth Street
Boston, MA 02116
View Larger Map

Brownstone is located at the edges of Boston's Back Bay and South End and just steps from Copley Square. Named after the architecture of the neighborhood, Brownstone has a quaint and comfortable ambience achieved through exposed brick and subtle lighting.

Chef Kelly Snogles has created a comfort-food focused menu with a touch of Southern hospitality. Enjoy our signature brunch items everyday of the week, like the Fried Chicken Crunchy Fried Toast. Or join us for dinner where Chef Kelly's creativity continues to be showcased through dishes like the Smoked Trout Toast or the Short Rib Ragout.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Monday - Friday 10am-3pm, Saturday & Sunday 9am - 3pm, Dinner everyday 3pm - 10pm, late night menu available after 10pm

Cross Street:
Boylston Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa

Phone Number:
(617) 867-4142

Website:
http://www.brownstoneboston.com/

Public Transit:
Back Bay - Orange Line

Executive Chef:
Kelly Snogles

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Full Bar, Late Night, Takeout, Weekend Brunch

Restaurant Photos

  • Fried Chicken Sammy
  • Steak And Egss
  • Salted Caramel Bacon
  • Chocolate Bacon
Fried Chicken Sammy
Steak And Egss
Salted Caramel Bacon
Chocolate Bacon

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Brownstone Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.1

ambience

4.1

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Brunch
Boston / New England
Great for Brunch
Boston
Best Restaurants in Back Bay ›

Great for Brunch (25)
Good for Groups (13)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
See All
Fit for Foodies (8)
Great for Lunch (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Casual (4)
Late-night Find (3)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Hot Spot (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Special Occasion (2)
Bar Seating (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Scenic View (1)
Business Meals (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Great Beer (1)
People Watching (1)
Fun (1)
Cozy (1)
Sort By:
Newest
147 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I went to this restaurant with many frie ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined 7 days ago

I went to this restaurant with many friends for Brunch on my birthday. They gave us a very big table, had great service, food was delicious (plates are huge). Definitely recommend for similar occasions.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great brunch spot! We had a great table ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined 7 days ago

Great brunch spot! We had a great table right by the window which was nice! Breakfast cocktails were tasty but I would recommend they offer a bottomless mimosa!

Entrees were very tasty- traditional entrees were good- as expected. The pulled pork Benny was the star! The combo of the pork and Mac and cheese sauce was delicious! Crab cake Benny was good too but have had better crab cakes.

Service was great- waiter was attentive and friendly! Would definitely recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great food and great value

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Great food and great value

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Too noisy for a date but great for a gro ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Too noisy for a date but great for a group of friends out for brunch.

Tags: Great Beer, People Watching, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value5

Went to Brownstone for brunch - yum! So ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Went to Brownstone for brunch - yum! So many good things to choose from on the menu. Two of us got the fried chicken and French toast - that was quite good, both to a newbie to the dish and to another who had had it before elsewhere. Third member of the party got the combo which was pretty traditional, though with banana pancakes - they said they could put whatever you wanted in them and the banana pancakes did not disappoint. Service was great at first (very helpful with choosing what to order) then she kind of disappeared for a bit. Getting water and coffee refills took some more effort than other places. The coffee was good - not outstanding but definitely drinkable on a daily basis. Overall a very good meal. Thanks Brownstone!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Crunchy French toast is to die for !

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

Crunchy French toast is to die for !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We went for Sunday brunch. I picked it b ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

We went for Sunday brunch. I picked it because I loved their menu. Both old favorites and some interesting twists; something for a picky eater and also someone who likes to try different things. I was a little disappointed in my Bloody Mary. I thought it tasted weird. My husband really liked his, so maybe it was me. I ordered a pasta with fried egg, and I enjoyed it but got the sense the pasta was never stirred while cooking. And it had a little too much olive oil. The focaccia that was served with it was burnt. I mean, black. I'm not a sender-backer, but I thought serving black toast was unacceptable. It was promptly replaced by toast that had been waved over the toaster: the other extreme. A little odd. I still enjoyed the meal and my friends did too. One person had the steak and scrambled eggs and it looked really good. The value was good- reasonably priced and generous portions. I would go back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Great food, great service, great value. ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Great food, great service, great value. A hidden gem in the middle of many other restaurants in the area!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was great as was the ambienc ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

The service was great as was the ambience. We went for brunch and the food wasn't particularly great. Home fries nothing special. And French toast – one order was deep-fried and another was overly sweet. What was exceptional was the fact that I ordered a crabcake Benedict and the poached egg was made perfectly with a runny yolk!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

Too loud for a friends get-together but ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Too loud for a friends get-together but the food was good.

Tags: Comfort Food, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service3
value3

The French toast was amazing!

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

The French toast was amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great brunch spot! We had good service, ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Great brunch spot! We had good service, great entrees, including pulled pork Bennie, eggs Sammy, duck hash and combo.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Went for brunch. Everyone was happy with ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Went for brunch. Everyone was happy with the food. My pancakes were delicious. Also, the house Bloody Mary is top notch

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

We had a lively group of eight who each ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

We had a lively group of eight who each enjoyed their food and cocktails. Our waiter was excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We randomly chose this place last minute ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

We randomly chose this place last minute and it was amazing!! We went for a weekday brunch which was awesome! I had the pulled pork benny and it might be the best thing I ever ate. The pulled pork was slightly sweet with a mac & cheese bechemel sauce that wasn't over bearing, a perfectly poached egg, and the best part crunchy onion straws. The combination of the softness of the pork, creaminess of the runny egg, and a nice crunch with the onion straws will have your tongue doing happy dances. Plus the potatoes were perfectly seasoned too. I didn't expect it to be so incredible. I knew it might be delicious but seriously outstanding. My friend had the french toast with fried chicken and it was also fantastic. Crispy yet juicy dark meat chicken with great flavor and crunchy yet soft french toast sticks all served in a basket with a side of real maple syrup. I highly recommend you go here. The service was stellar too!!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Perfect brunch spot. Fabulous service an ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Perfect brunch spot. Fabulous service and quality of food was fantastic. Duck sweet potato and poached eggs & pulled pork eggs Benedict are hits. Will be back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent Brunch !! Food and drink were ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Excellent Brunch !! Food and drink were very good. Everyone in our group had great time. I would definitely go back for Brunch.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Drink list was minimal, and mediocre. Br ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Drink list was minimal, and mediocre. Brunch was good. Server was friendly.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Consistently awesome brunch. Good menu a ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Consistently awesome brunch. Good menu and great value. Chill yet nice ambience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food and service were great. The bat ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

The food and service were great. The bathroom was in a bit of disrepair and you could smell the restaurant floors being cleaned while you were eating.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Very accommodating

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

The hostess was great, as we changed our reservation 3 times. Very friendly and had our table ready when we finally arrived. Good beer selection, plenty of good, interesting and well-prepared seafood dishes. Wait staff helpful, food didn't take too long. Good experience

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Great service and great cocktails.

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Great service and great cocktails.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

First let me say our waiter was excellen ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

First let me say our waiter was excellent . The food came out quick and was very good as well. The best part though was the drinks. They were inspired and well made. We would definitely go back for another visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Brunch--Lots of food for a great price!

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

If this is your cheat day, Brownstone for Brunch is the place to go! great comfort food at a truly great price especially in Back Bay!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

I am so in love with this place for its ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on May 11, 2016

I am so in love with this place for its weekday brunch. The food is incredible, we had the pulled pork eggs Benny and the duck and sweet potato hash. Portions were huge, and service was fast. Wish every restaurant would take a hint from these guys!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Mother's day

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

It was really pleasant. I brought my 7 year old. The waitstaff were so very sweet as well. MUST return for the fried chicken and waffles, a fancy take on the classic and it was very very good. The food was so very good and I'd happily return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Price and Value

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

We had Mother's Day brunch at Brownstone's. Great brunch menu (including traditional drinks) at reasonable price and terrific service. We were looking for simple delicious and we found it.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Very nice experience! I called ahead to ...

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

Very nice experience! I called ahead to ask about seating as we were a party of ten celebrating a new marriage the previous day. The host was outstanding on the phone and when we all arrived the seating was perfect. The menu had something for everyone. The portions were generous and the pricing very reasonable. Being it was Sunday brunch time our waitress was a bit harried and forgot parts of our order. All in all a very nice meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

Nice Brunch

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

We had brunch here on Sunday. The food was very good but the service had some issues. The Signature Hot Chocolate didn't get served until well after everyone else had received their drinks. One of us had the wrong entrée brought out to them and it took some time for the right one to be brought out. We all thought the food was excellent. We had French toast, omelets and the Croque Monsieur. On the plus side, the restaurant did give us all our drinks for free due to the hot chocolate delay and incorrect order.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value4

Loud!

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on April 28, 2016

Very loud because of the bar area in the front! Had to yell to talk to friends at our table. Still a nice environment

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Noisy but awesome!

 
 (New England)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

I can only speak about brunch, because that is why we tried the Brownstone. It was terrific and I am eager to go back to try other selections. The menu is not huge, but there are definitely enough choices in each category to be very appealing. I had the yummiest crab cakes Benedict with a spicy hollandaise sauce and flavorful potatoes. My son loved the brunch burger, which had Canadian bacon and a fried egg; and there were omelettes, pancakes, and crunchy french toast, and even steak tops and eggs that I eyed on other tables which looked great! I also recommend the signature cocktails, which were fresh and potent! There are lots of twenty and thirty-somethings there ( who can probably tolerate the noise level better than I, ) but the restaurant and menu are also family-friendly. I am still thinking about the dish I ate and look forward to going back and bringing friends!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Needs some improvement, could be good

 
 (New England)
·Dined on April 22, 2016

Went for lunch on a beautiful Friday. Windows were open to the street which was nice. The service was awful. Our server came once right when we sat down to take our meal orders (we weren't ready we just sat) then again and we still weren't ready. We she came over a third time not sure if she was annoyed or not. We ordered but she only half listened and didn't ask us how we wanted our burgers. When the meal came it wasn't how we ordered it as the waitress clearly didn't listen. She didn't come back to check on is for awhile and to clear our plates. Lunch on a Friday for 2 took nearly 2 hours... For burgers. If they got some better servers this place could be good. Food wasn't bad, but it wasn't what I wanted. May give it another chance though but on a weekend to try the weekend brunch.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Fine Dinner

 
 (New England)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

was in town Marathon weekend and wanted to get away from the crowds so picked Brownstones. We were able to get time we wanted for reservations. Fine place, but very limited menu. If lived in neighborhood would go again, but would not make a special trip. Flatbreads were good.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Popped in by myself for lunch on a Thurs ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on April 14, 2016

Popped in by myself for lunch on a Thursday, Chris was my server. He recommended the Meatloaf Sammy special and it was legit. Fries and the BA Bloody were delicious as well!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Back Bay Bruch

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on April 10, 2016

Six of us dined at Brownstone and we all enjoyed it very much. I was looking for a decent brunch place that would be enjoyed by adults and college age individuals and Brownstone was just the ticket. The food was very good and the adults in the party enjoy the brunch cocktails on offer. It was a little noisy and the waitress was overworked, but it was a good experience overall and I will definitely keep Brownstone in mind for future Back Bay brunches.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Great food, terrible service!

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on April 3, 2016

My friends and I really loved our meals, but it was like our waitress forgot we existed. She would disappear for long periods of time, never refilled our waters, took forever to take our food and drink orders, took even longer to get us the check. I felt more like a nuisance than a valued customer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

Good food, good price. good value.

 
 (New England)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

My family and I had a good brunch here on Easter Sunday! Food was delicious and good size portions. I go here again.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Only okay

 
 (New England)
·Dined on March 26, 2016

The service was very slow and the food was mediocre. Overall, it was fine, but definitely have nothing to rave about.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

Waited for an hour for our food to come ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on March 20, 2016

Waited for an hour for our food to come out. Corned beef hash not really tasty/flavorful. I had a frittata, which was alright. Id say the best thing about the restraint was the hot chocolate they serve. Other than that I was not really amazed/blown away. Wouldn't recommend it to a friend who wants REALLY good Brunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

Food was fabulous! However, service was ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on March 13, 2016

Food was fabulous! However, service was slow

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.