About Brownstone

111 Dartmouth Street
Boston, MA 02116
View Larger Map

Brownstone is located at the edges of Boston's Back Bay and South End and just steps from Copley Square. Named after the architecture of the neighborhood, Brownstone has a quaint and comfortable ambience achieved through exposed brick and subtle lighting.

Chef Kelly Snogles has created a comfort-food focused menu with a touch of Southern hospitality. Enjoy our signature brunch items everyday of the week, like the Fried Chicken Crunchy Fried Toast. Or join us for dinner where Chef Kelly's creativity continues to be showcased through dishes like the Smoked Trout Toast or the Short Rib Ragout.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Monday - Friday 10am-3pm, Saturday & Sunday 9am - 3pm, Dinner everyday 3pm - 10pm, late night menu available after 10pm

Cross Street:
Boylston Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(617) 867-4142

Website:
http://www.brownstoneboston.com/

Public Transit:
Back Bay - Orange Line

Executive Chef:
Kelly Snogles

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Full Bar, Late Night, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Brownstone, Boston, MA
  • Fried Chicken Sammy - Brownstone, Boston, MA
  • Steak And Egss - Brownstone, Boston, MA
  • Salted Caramel Bacon - Brownstone, Boston, MA
  • Chocolate Bacon - Brownstone, Boston, MA
Brownstone, Boston, MA
Fried Chicken Sammy - Brownstone, Boston, MA
Steak And Egss - Brownstone, Boston, MA
Salted Caramel Bacon - Brownstone, Boston, MA
Chocolate Bacon - Brownstone, Boston, MA

Specials

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 24, 2016

Specials

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 24, 2016

Details

We will be open for lunch and brunch on Christmas Eve. Stop by watch some football and grab a cocktail after you finish your last minute shopping!

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Brownstone Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

4.0

ambience

3.7

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Brunch (12)
Casual (11)
Comfort Food (10)
See All
Bar Seating (8)
Sunday Lunch (8)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Great for Lunch (7)
Cozy (5)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Good for a Date (4)
Fun (3)
Great Beer (3)
Live Sports (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Hot Spot (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Special Occasion (1)
People Watching (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Business Meals (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Historic (1)
Romantic (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Sort By:
S
163 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Best food!! So delicious and great servi ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined 10 hours ago

Best food!! So delicious and great service! Get the friend chicken and French toast!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Crab cake Benny was a great surprise and ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined a day ago

Crab cake Benny was a great surprise and the frittata was a great presentation and was very tasty!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This is not a fancy place, but the food ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 6 days ago

This is not a fancy place, but the food is very good. We had Sunday Brunch, and everyone enjoyed their meals. The Crabcake Benedict and Sweet Potato Duck Hash were excellent, and omelets very good as well. Service was very attentive.

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

We had brunch here and enjoyed it. The f ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 6 days ago

We had brunch here and enjoyed it. The food was good.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Really enjoyed our lunch at Brownstone. ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Really enjoyed our lunch at Brownstone. Staff were friendly, service was food was great! Would recommend!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Quick Bite, Casual, Historic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Duck and sweet potato hash was the best ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Duck and sweet potato hash was the best brunch meal I've ever had in my life.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

Our waiter was exceptional and I apologi ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Our waiter was exceptional and I apologize for not knowing his name. I asked if I could have scrambled eggs instead of poached eggs for Eggs Benedict. My request was granted, no problem. Very busy eatery so make a reservation. Everyone was happy with their brunch. Would suggest they improve the lighting. It is too dark along the rear exterior wall, you can not read the menu and not where you would want to sit on a beautiful sunny day unless you have a hangover.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Went here as a group of 5 for a Friday n ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Went here as a group of 5 for a Friday night dinner. We wanted a nice meal, cocktails and conversation before going to a show. The drinks were well made, although over priced. It's the south end though so that was expected. Food was underwhelming and over priced. We couldn't carry a conversation because people were very loud and milling around our table, so it wasn't an ideal dining experience. The place offers a sort of upscale menu, but definitely doesn't have the vibe for it and the food didnt deliver for the price. I'd only go back for a cocktail at the bar or for brunch.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Brownstone is a very loud place. It's e ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Brownstone is a very loud place. It's extraordinarily frustrating. At some point in our society, it was decided that 'noise' equals 'excitement'. Even OpenTable's site shows "energetic" for the highest "Noise Level". I've never found that to be true. The music is loud, so the patrons in turn are louder. You find yourself yelling at/to the person across/next to you and at/to the server. The bar scene at Brownstone (on a Friday night) was filled with twenty-something's all using sentences riddled with "like". "We were like, walking down the street, and this woman like, almost hit me! I was like, 'hey'" but she like, ignored me. She was like, so rude!" The food is good for a bar; and I mean 'bar'. The burger, good; crab cake, good - however if serving fish, tartar sauce would be a nice alternative to the spiced aioli. Brownstone is a bar with food; it's not a restaurant with a bar. Its web site tells us, "Brownstone is a gem in a city known for world-class culinary offerings", but only if that 'gem' is a cubic zirconia. It looks nice and it's shiny, but it ain't a diamond.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value3

We were seated in the back near the kitc ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 21, 2016

We were seated in the back near the kitchen during lunch. It was very warm, dark, and loud. Unfortunately we could not sit by the windows. Note to self to request that next time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3

We were in Boston for a quick, 48-hour w ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 18, 2016

We were in Boston for a quick, 48-hour work trip and were hoping for a Tuesday brunch spot. Brownstone was a great find! The open windows allowed us to sit near the crisp outdoor air. The brunch/lunch menu had so many delicious things that it was hard to narrow down just one.

We ended up sharing the (house made) corned beef hash. The hash was seasoned well, and the breakfast potatoes were perfectly cooked. My co-worker paired it with their spicy bloody mary, and I had the house sangria -- both were delicious and strong.

I'd recommend this spot to anyone looking for good food, good service and a local neighborhood vibe.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It is terrific to find an excellent rest ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 15, 2016

It is terrific to find an excellent restaurant in this busy neighborhood that will take a reservation. They did a great job accommodating our vegetarian interests without sacrificing flavor and style. A great value for dinner and for brunch.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Happy Hour, Fun, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Amazing brunch and excellent drinks!

 
 (Miami)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Amazing brunch and excellent drinks!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Noise level out of control. Cannot hear ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Noise level out of control. Cannot hear anything. Need to yell to hold a conversation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2

Service was terrible. Food was extremely ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Service was terrible. Food was extremely mediocre. Will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1

Great Manhattans and service... The chi ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on September 28, 2016

Great Manhattans and service... The chicken sandwich was moist and meaty!

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value5

I went to this restaurant with many frie ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on September 18, 2016

I went to this restaurant with many friends for Brunch on my birthday. They gave us a very big table, had great service, food was delicious (plates are huge). Definitely recommend for similar occasions.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great brunch spot! We had a great table ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Great brunch spot! We had a great table right by the window which was nice! Breakfast cocktails were tasty but I would recommend they offer a bottomless mimosa!

Entrees were very tasty- traditional entrees were good- as expected. The pulled pork Benny was the star! The combo of the pork and Mac and cheese sauce was delicious! Crab cake Benny was good too but have had better crab cakes.

Service was great- waiter was attentive and friendly! Would definitely recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great food and great value

vip
 (New England)·Dined on September 15, 2016

Great food and great value

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Too noisy for a date but great for a gro ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 11, 2016

Too noisy for a date but great for a group of friends out for brunch.

Tags: Great Beer, People Watching, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value5

Went to Brownstone for brunch - yum! So ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 11, 2016

Went to Brownstone for brunch - yum! So many good things to choose from on the menu. Two of us got the fried chicken and French toast - that was quite good, both to a newbie to the dish and to another who had had it before elsewhere. Third member of the party got the combo which was pretty traditional, though with banana pancakes - they said they could put whatever you wanted in them and the banana pancakes did not disappoint. Service was great at first (very helpful with choosing what to order) then she kind of disappeared for a bit. Getting water and coffee refills took some more effort than other places. The coffee was good - not outstanding but definitely drinkable on a daily basis. Overall a very good meal. Thanks Brownstone!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Crunchy French toast is to die for !

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 5, 2016

Crunchy French toast is to die for !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We went for Sunday brunch. I picked it b ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 4, 2016

We went for Sunday brunch. I picked it because I loved their menu. Both old favorites and some interesting twists; something for a picky eater and also someone who likes to try different things. I was a little disappointed in my Bloody Mary. I thought it tasted weird. My husband really liked his, so maybe it was me. I ordered a pasta with fried egg, and I enjoyed it but got the sense the pasta was never stirred while cooking. And it had a little too much olive oil. The focaccia that was served with it was burnt. I mean, black. I'm not a sender-backer, but I thought serving black toast was unacceptable. It was promptly replaced by toast that had been waved over the toaster: the other extreme. A little odd. I still enjoyed the meal and my friends did too. One person had the steak and scrambled eggs and it looked really good. The value was good- reasonably priced and generous portions. I would go back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Great food, great service, great value. ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 4, 2016

Great food, great service, great value. A hidden gem in the middle of many other restaurants in the area!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was great as was the ambienc ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 28, 2016

The service was great as was the ambience. We went for brunch and the food wasn't particularly great. Home fries nothing special. And French toast – one order was deep-fried and another was overly sweet. What was exceptional was the fact that I ordered a crabcake Benedict and the poached egg was made perfectly with a runny yolk!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

Too loud for a friends get-together but ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 26, 2016

Too loud for a friends get-together but the food was good.

Tags: Comfort Food, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service3
value3

The French toast was amazing!

vip
 (New England)·Dined on August 7, 2016

The French toast was amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great brunch spot! We had good service, ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 7, 2016

Great brunch spot! We had good service, great entrees, including pulled pork Bennie, eggs Sammy, duck hash and combo.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Went for brunch. Everyone was happy with ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 7, 2016

Went for brunch. Everyone was happy with the food. My pancakes were delicious. Also, the house Bloody Mary is top notch

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

We had a lively group of eight who each ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on July 30, 2016

We had a lively group of eight who each enjoyed their food and cocktails. Our waiter was excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We randomly chose this place last minute ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 29, 2016

We randomly chose this place last minute and it was amazing!! We went for a weekday brunch which was awesome! I had the pulled pork benny and it might be the best thing I ever ate. The pulled pork was slightly sweet with a mac & cheese bechemel sauce that wasn't over bearing, a perfectly poached egg, and the best part crunchy onion straws. The combination of the softness of the pork, creaminess of the runny egg, and a nice crunch with the onion straws will have your tongue doing happy dances. Plus the potatoes were perfectly seasoned too. I didn't expect it to be so incredible. I knew it might be delicious but seriously outstanding. My friend had the french toast with fried chicken and it was also fantastic. Crispy yet juicy dark meat chicken with great flavor and crunchy yet soft french toast sticks all served in a basket with a side of real maple syrup. I highly recommend you go here. The service was stellar too!!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Perfect brunch spot. Fabulous service an ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 10, 2016

Perfect brunch spot. Fabulous service and quality of food was fantastic. Duck sweet potato and poached eggs & pulled pork eggs Benedict are hits. Will be back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent Brunch !! Food and drink were ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 3, 2016

Excellent Brunch !! Food and drink were very good. Everyone in our group had great time. I would definitely go back for Brunch.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Drink list was minimal, and mediocre. Br ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 26, 2016

Drink list was minimal, and mediocre. Brunch was good. Server was friendly.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Consistently awesome brunch. Good menu a ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on June 25, 2016

Consistently awesome brunch. Good menu and great value. Chill yet nice ambience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food and service were great. The bat ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on June 24, 2016

The food and service were great. The bathroom was in a bit of disrepair and you could smell the restaurant floors being cleaned while you were eating.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Very accommodating

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 4, 2016

The hostess was great, as we changed our reservation 3 times. Very friendly and had our table ready when we finally arrived. Good beer selection, plenty of good, interesting and well-prepared seafood dishes. Wait staff helpful, food didn't take too long. Good experience

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Great service and great cocktails.

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 29, 2016

Great service and great cocktails.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

First let me say our waiter was excellen ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 28, 2016

First let me say our waiter was excellent . The food came out quick and was very good as well. The best part though was the drinks. They were inspired and well made. We would definitely go back for another visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Brunch--Lots of food for a great price!

vip
 (New England)·Dined on May 15, 2016

If this is your cheat day, Brownstone for Brunch is the place to go! great comfort food at a truly great price especially in Back Bay!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.