About Brownstone

111 Dartmouth Street
Boston, MA 02116
View Larger Map

Brownstone is located at the edges of Boston's Back Bay and South End and just steps from Copley Square. Named after the architecture of the neighborhood, Brownstone has a quaint and comfortable ambience achieved through exposed brick and subtle lighting.

Chef Kelly Snogles has created a comfort-food focused menu with a touch of Southern hospitality. Enjoy our signature brunch items everyday of the week, like the Fried Chicken Crunchy Fried Toast. Or join us for dinner where Chef Kelly's creativity continues to be showcased through dishes like the Smoked Trout Toast or the Short Rib Ragout.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Monday - Friday 10am-3pm, Saturday & Sunday 9am - 3pm, Dinner everyday 3pm - 10pm, late night menu available after 10pm

Cross Street:
Boylston Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa

Phone Number:
(617) 867-4142

Website:
http://www.brownstoneboston.com/

Public Transit:
Back Bay - Orange Line

Executive Chef:
Kelly Snogles

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Full Bar, Late Night, Takeout, Weekend Brunch

Restaurant Photos

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Brownstone Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

3.8

ambience

3.9

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Brunch
Boston / New England
Great for Brunch
Boston
Best Restaurants in Back Bay ›

great for brunch (42)
neighborhood gem (25)
good for groups (24)
See All
great for lunch (23)
fit for foodies (12)
vibrant bar scene (10)
late-night find (4)
hot spot (3)
special occasion (3)
romantic (2)
kid-friendly (2)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
123 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Brunch--Lots of food for a great price!

vip
Dined on May 15, 2016

If this is your cheat day, Brownstone for Brunch is the place to go! great comfort food at a truly great price especially in Back Bay!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5

I am so in love with this place for its ...

vip
Dined on May 11, 2016

I am so in love with this place for its weekday brunch. The food is incredible, we had the pulled pork eggs Benny and the duck and sweet potato hash. Portions were huge, and service was fast. Wish every restaurant would take a hint from these guys!

food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Mother's day

Dined on May 8, 2016

It was really pleasant. I brought my 7 year old. The waitstaff were so very sweet as well. MUST return for the fried chicken and waffles, a fancy take on the classic and it was very very good. The food was so very good and I'd happily return.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Great Price and Value

Dined on May 8, 2016

We had Mother's Day brunch at Brownstone's. Great brunch menu (including traditional drinks) at reasonable price and terrific service. We were looking for simple delicious and we found it.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service3

Very nice experience! I called ahead to ...

vip
Dined on May 1, 2016

Very nice experience! I called ahead to ask about seating as we were a party of ten celebrating a new marriage the previous day. The host was outstanding on the phone and when we all arrived the seating was perfect. The menu had something for everyone. The portions were generous and the pricing very reasonable. Being it was Sunday brunch time our waitress was a bit harried and forgot parts of our order. All in all a very nice meal.

food4
ambience3
service2
value4

Nice Brunch

vip
Dined on May 1, 2016

We had brunch here on Sunday. The food was very good but the service had some issues. The Signature Hot Chocolate didn't get served until well after everyone else had received their drinks. One of us had the wrong entrée brought out to them and it took some time for the right one to be brought out. We all thought the food was excellent. We had French toast, omelets and the Croque Monsieur. On the plus side, the restaurant did give us all our drinks for free due to the hot chocolate delay and incorrect order.

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Loud!

vip
Dined on April 28, 2016

Very loud because of the bar area in the front! Had to yell to talk to friends at our table. Still a nice environment

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Noisy but awesome!

Dined on April 24, 2016

I can only speak about brunch, because that is why we tried the Brownstone. It was terrific and I am eager to go back to try other selections. The menu is not huge, but there are definitely enough choices in each category to be very appealing. I had the yummiest crab cakes Benedict with a spicy hollandaise sauce and flavorful potatoes. My son loved the brunch burger, which had Canadian bacon and a fried egg; and there were omelettes, pancakes, and crunchy french toast, and even steak tops and eggs that I eyed on other tables which looked great! I also recommend the signature cocktails, which were fresh and potent! There are lots of twenty and thirty-somethings there ( who can probably tolerate the noise level better than I, ) but the restaurant and menu are also family-friendly. I am still thinking about the dish I ate and look forward to going back and bringing friends!

Tags: great for brunch, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Needs some improvement, could be good

Dined on April 22, 2016

Went for lunch on a beautiful Friday. Windows were open to the street which was nice. The service was awful. Our server came once right when we sat down to take our meal orders (we weren't ready we just sat) then again and we still weren't ready. We she came over a third time not sure if she was annoyed or not. We ordered but she only half listened and didn't ask us how we wanted our burgers. When the meal came it wasn't how we ordered it as the waitress clearly didn't listen. She didn't come back to check on is for awhile and to clear our plates. Lunch on a Friday for 2 took nearly 2 hours... For burgers. If they got some better servers this place could be good. Food wasn't bad, but it wasn't what I wanted. May give it another chance though but on a weekend to try the weekend brunch.

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Fine Dinner

Dined on April 16, 2016

was in town Marathon weekend and wanted to get away from the crowds so picked Brownstones. We were able to get time we wanted for reservations. Fine place, but very limited menu. If lived in neighborhood would go again, but would not make a special trip. Flatbreads were good.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Popped in by myself for lunch on a Thurs ...

vip
Dined on April 14, 2016

Popped in by myself for lunch on a Thursday, Chris was my server. He recommended the Meatloaf Sammy special and it was legit. Fries and the BA Bloody were delicious as well!

food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Back Bay Bruch

vip
Dined on April 10, 2016

Six of us dined at Brownstone and we all enjoyed it very much. I was looking for a decent brunch place that would be enjoyed by adults and college age individuals and Brownstone was just the ticket. The food was very good and the adults in the party enjoy the brunch cocktails on offer. It was a little noisy and the waitress was overworked, but it was a good experience overall and I will definitely keep Brownstone in mind for future Back Bay brunches.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

Great food, terrible service!

vip
Dined on April 3, 2016

My friends and I really loved our meals, but it was like our waitress forgot we existed. She would disappear for long periods of time, never refilled our waters, took forever to take our food and drink orders, took even longer to get us the check. I felt more like a nuisance than a valued customer.

food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Good food, good price. good value.

Dined on March 27, 2016

My family and I had a good brunch here on Easter Sunday! Food was delicious and good size portions. I go here again.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

Only okay

Dined on March 26, 2016

The service was very slow and the food was mediocre. Overall, it was fine, but definitely have nothing to rave about.

food3
ambience4
service2

Waited for an hour for our food to come ...

Dined on March 20, 2016

Waited for an hour for our food to come out. Corned beef hash not really tasty/flavorful. I had a frittata, which was alright. Id say the best thing about the restraint was the hot chocolate they serve. Other than that I was not really amazed/blown away. Wouldn't recommend it to a friend who wants REALLY good Brunch.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing bruch

Dined on March 12, 2016

I took my out of town guests to brunch at the Brownstone and everyone loved it!! We each had something different off the menu and were all thrilled with our choices - nothing was left on the plates. The Crab Cake Eggs Benedict is amazing!!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
food3
ambience4
service3

Great atmosphere, lots of variety at bru ...

Dined on February 21, 2016

Great atmosphere, lots of variety at brunch for everyone to choose from. A solid brunch staple.

food5
ambience4
service3

Food was good and the beer selection was ...

vip
Dined on February 21, 2016

Food was good and the beer selection was good as always. Service can be slow, so don't go if you're in a rush.

food1
ambience2
service3
value1

Food is overpriced and terrible quality...

Dined on February 20, 2016

Food was terrible. My husband's steak, which he asked to be medium, was charcoal brick. He literally shook the table while trying to cut it. My salmon was also burnt to a crisp and tasted like it has a touch of freezer burn. This restaurant is not cheap (we paid between $20-25 per plate) and had a terrible meal. Very sad because the restaurant itself has a beautiful setting and our waitress was wonderful.

food3
ambience3
service1

Rude hostess ignored us to take phone ca ...

Dined on February 15, 2016

Rude hostess ignored us to take phone calls. Eventually rushed us to a table and tossed down a heap of silverware. Waited 10 mins, waiter never came until we flagged down the manager. At desert time, the waiter told us they only had one desert offered, so we ordered it. He then came back and told us they were out of it (at 8pm). Food was average, but service was so bad it was ruined. Do not go here, find another place.

food5
ambience5
service5

Best burger !!! Mac n cheese is good!!

Dined on February 14, 2016

Best burger !!! Mac n cheese is good!!

food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Great Valentine's day brunch spot. Casu ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

Great Valentine's day brunch spot. Casual with great food. Unbelievable hot chocolate.

Tags: great for brunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Great spot for meeting friends

vip
Dined on February 9, 2016

Very friendly staff great waiter,Alex good drinks,good food

Tags: good for groups, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

Food was good especially the Caesar salad.

vip
Dined on February 6, 2016

The waiter was nice but not attentive, we had to ask for water, bread, addition plates because two of my friends were sharing a plate and we had to ask for the check. It was annoying. And the restaurant is very loud...this isn't a bad thing if you want to hang at the bar but I will definitely let anyone I know going for dinner that is the only draw back. But prices are fare and i was very satisfied with everything I ordered. I would go back and try brunch.

Tags: neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Great brunch...

Dined on January 31, 2016

Went for brunch on a busy Sunday. Place was packed. Seems to be big with 20 something crowd. Food and service were both good. Seated shortly after reservation time. Waitress suggested FTTC (or something like that) which was Fried french toast and fried chicken. French toast really good - crunchy outside, warm inside. Fried chicken ok - mostly dark meat and I prefer white but it was still good. Really good bloody mary's. Noise level was high - lots of groups of 5 or more people. Overall, good place, good food. I'll be back.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Food was v good, service was excellent.

Dined on January 31, 2016

We were seated immediately by a friendly hostess. Our table was under a vent so they moved us without question. Waiter was friendly, food was excellent and it came shortly after we ordered. We sat and talked for a long time and no one rushed us out. The restaurant was a little noisy but i would definitely go back.

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome brunch

Dined on January 30, 2016

We had a great brunch! The Blood Orange Panna Cotta was on special, but absolutely phenomenal. I had the Crab Cake Eggs Benny which were great as well. The crunchy french toast was good and we liked the way it was prepared - strips that you can dip into the blueberry compote, syrup and whipped cream - so it was a great brunch appetizer.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

My waitress was extremely friendly and n ...

Dined on January 23, 2016

My waitress was extremely friendly and nice, which got the meal off to a great start. I got the breakfast combo (eggs, toast, bacon, and two huge pancakes) and a mimosa all for under $25 (not including tip)! Great deal for a great brunch. Although I am glad I went there, I'd probably try some place new over going again.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Good value

vip
Dined on January 17, 2016

Consistency with weekend brunch. Many options good value - hostess always helpful.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

very good but L O U D ! ! ! !

Dined on January 10, 2016

This is truly a great place for brunch. The hot cakes are big and amazing. But the place is very loud. It needs some carpeting, wall treatment or something. It's deafening when it's full.

Tags: great for brunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Good lunch near Westin Copley

Dined on January 10, 2016

I had meetings in the Westin Copley and was looking for a place that offered something different for lunch. Enter Brownstone, which offers a brunch menu, and was less than a 5 min. walk from the Westin. I made a reservation for one, but got there early and there were seats at the bar. I ordered something with an abbreviations -FCCF -something like that --but it was french toast sticks coated with crushed frosted flakes, breaded chicken and bacon. It was the something different I was looking for! The bacon was a little undercooked to my liking, but all else was good and piping hot. Service at the bar was good (I was kind of impressed that the bartender shook my hand and asked my name, as he did with everyone) and the whole scene seemed welcoming.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service4

The pulled pork benny is amazing!!

Dined on January 3, 2016

The pulled pork benny is amazing!!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome...as usual!

Dined on January 1, 2016

The entire staff is awesome...attentive, welcoming, and food comes on time and always perfect. Nice neighborhood favorite

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Service was super friendly and engaged! ...

vip
Dined on December 28, 2015

Service was super friendly and engaged! Food was creative and reasonably priced. Would definitely come back.

food5
ambience4
service5

Great for Brunch!

vip
Dined on December 13, 2015

Great atmoshphere for brunch, egg sammy was amazing!

Tags: great for brunch
food4
ambience4
service4

Good Food & Service

vip
Dined on November 21, 2015

10 of us had brunch. Menu was extensive and extensive. Service was great, all food came out at the same time. Place had a wait at 12noon when we were leaving. I'd go back again.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience2
service3

Unbearable noise levels

Dined on November 20, 2015

food is ok (poutine fries were limp, tartare was thimble sized), beer selection surprisingly small and voices bouncing around the hard walls and floor make it impossible to have a conversation - at best you can scream and nod.

Tags: hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Love the food... waitress very attentive...

Dined on November 14, 2015

Excellent small-plate appetizer choices, and all the other choices, too! Had a very fun dining experience... A+.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food2
ambience2
service1

The service was slow throughout the evening

Dined on November 8, 2015

The vibe was lively - moderately busy. Our waiter, Alex was slow and not attentive. We had to go to the bar and order our own round of drinks after 30 minutes of Alex being MIA. The hostess spent the night on her cell phone texting at the front podium. The table next to us left complaining about their overall experience as well. When we finally asked the hostess where our waiter was and expressed our dissatisfaction with our service, Alex finally came by to our table with a non apologetic attitude and ended the evening slamming a glass of water down onto our table and leaving our check with the total filled in, indicating he didn't want a tip! No worries Alex, for the first time in my life, we had no intention of leaving you one! BTW... we were never offered any dessert!

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.