Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 12 times today

Brothers Restaurant at Red Barn

4.7
550 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$31 to $50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
American
Top Tags:
  • Good for a Date
  • Good for Anniversaries
  • Special Occasion
The Nichols brothers, Matt & Jeff, grew up in Ames, Iowa where their love of cooking, good food and a sense of family and community was nurtured.

The 2013 opening of their second Santa Barbara Wine Country restaurant, Brothers Restaurant at the Red Barn in Santa Ynez, allows them to offer visitors and locals alike great food, wine and hospitality. The brothers strive to have legendary service, innovative cuisine, and a welcoming and comfortable atmosphere that causes you to return time and again.

As chefs, the brothers continue to experiment with new dishes and cuisine, but always with that “from scratch”, homemade element. Fresh ingredients from local producers, a wine list that showcases the region’s award-winning wines and a comfortable and historically interesting atmosphere that takes you back to the romance of the old west. They want you to feel at home, and experience all the best of Santa Barbara’s Wine Country.
Dining Style
Fine Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
American, Steak, Seafood
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation


Lunch: Daily 11:30am-2:30pm

Dinner: Daily 5:00pm-9:00pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(805) 688-4142
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Smart Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Matt and Jeff Nichols
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Edison Street
Additional
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Private Room, Wine
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 2 days ago

Celebrated 4th Anniversary. Excellent food & service as always. Come to Santa Ynez once a year & now always go here

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 16, 2018

Food was outstanding and service was very good.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 11, 2018

Great food and service. Steaks are amazing!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 8, 2018

Brothers is one of my two favorite restaurants in northern Santa Barbara County. I've been eating at their restaurant for decades and followed them from the Storybook Inn in Solvang to Mattei's Tavern in Los Olivos to their newer location at the Red Barn in Santa Ynez. Thanks to these two great chefs and their friendly, accommodating staff, for wonderful food and service. Will definitely visit again in the future.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 8, 2018

Sat in the bar on a busy Saturday night. Honored our reservation time and we enjoyed a really good prime rib dinner. Soup and salad good too. Would definitely go back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 3, 2018

Came here while in Los Olivos. Great value for AMAZING food. The stake my boyfriend and I was amazing. I personally LOVED the mashed potatoes.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 2, 2018

It is an excellent place with a very good food
Very good service

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 1, 2018

An amazing experience - delicious food, good wines and perfect surroundings. Thank you.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 29, 2018

Great food and excellent service overall great experience in dining.Great finish after wine tasting to finish off a great day.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 24, 2018

This is a wonderful place to dine especially with friends. The food and service are always great

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 23, 2018

Best prime rib in Santa Barbara County, amazing taste

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 20, 2018

First, we have never had a bad meal here or even a minor complaint. The Brothers know how to make excellent food! This trip to the restaurant - 45 minutes from home near Pismo Beach - was with two other couples to celebrate my birthday. I said "fabulous Prime Rib" and they said "we're in!".

And, as always, it was fabulous. So tender and tasty, you wonder how they do it. There are now four more addicts, vying for those tables, so be sure to have reservations. We were there on a Monday evening, no holiday, at 5pm and within an hour all the tables were full. Seriously, make that reservation and go. You will not be disappointed.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 19, 2018

My gf and I come to the area a couple of times of year from San Diego and decided to not go to our usual spot for our second night in town. The reputation is warranted. Wonderful dinner, lamb and prime rib were beautifully cooked, bonus menu special of fried oysters, a personal favorite, did not disappoint. The best part was the service . When our reservation table landed us in the back corner by a drafty door, chilling my gf, we asked for an adjustment, and they did what they could, putting us at a lovely high top near the bar. This place is all about making their patrons happy.... and delightfully full. Can’t wait for our next visit.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 18, 2018

This is a nice restaurant in a quiet beautiful town. When we arrived we were immediately greeted and seated. The wine selection was great. I had their sea bass and my wife the prime steak. Everything was delicious. I will definitely be coming back when I’m I town.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 17, 2018

First class and top drawer in every way. The food and service is the best in the Valley

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 16, 2018

Chicken Sandwich and Brothers Burger were outstanding, service was excellent

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 10, 2018

Excellent as usual!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on March 9, 2018

I have been to this restaurant a number of times and had a really excellent meal and service. Once I went back two nights in a row! But this visit, on a Thursday night at 7pm was not that great. We were put at a table for two in the very back up against the wall in the corner. The noise level in this corner was very loud because i think the main room sounds echoed over there. The wall was thumping from time to time because some task they were apparently doing in the kitchen on the other side. The table was very "long" for two people so I had to yell to be heard. Ribeye was only adequate even though it was $45. Disappointed.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 5, 2018

Always great!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 3, 2018

Love this restaurant. Great food and ambiance. A favorite among locals. My only negative is the noise level on a busy night can make conversation challenging.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 27, 2018

Living in New York, I have access to some of the best steak houses around… But the lamb chops at Brothers we’re the best I have ever had! All the food came out hot and was fantastic… My husband had the fish that he said was excellent as was the pork chop. All very fresh ingredients. The service was spot on. The atmosphere was more casual than I thought it might be given the prices, but I would definitely recommend Brother’s

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 25, 2018

We love coming here ! Great food and Diane our server was amazing.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 25, 2018

Always great and this time for four Saturday night dinner lived up to previous visits and then some. Dishes included prime rib, scallops special and chicken. Everyone was delighted with their meal and a shared Caesar was delicious. The dessert entrees could be upgraded or expanded a bit if I had to come up with something to pick at. We'll be back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 19, 2018

Very surprised when we walked in. Nicer than what we expected because of the name barn. Excellent service and food. Prime rib better than Lawrys in Los Angeles. Husband had the pork chop and he said it was delicious.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 18, 2018

Amazing Rib eye- unbelievable potatoes augratin, great staff, truly everything we wanted and then some. So good in fact, we went back the next night for the same meal!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 18, 2018

Very good food. I had the Filet and my wife had the Scallops special. Nice place in the heart of Santa Ynez. Andrea was very attentive and pleasant, even with having a fair number of tables to look after. Definitely worth a visit.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 18, 2018

We went there for our anniversary and the food was delicious and the service was spot on. We both had the prime rib which is phenomenal!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 17, 2018

Another fantastic meal and evening at The Brother's Red Barn, this time for our 44th anniversary. Diane took such good care of us. We dined with good friends, all starting with delicious hearts of romaine salad ( split them, they are huge ), my husband and I having pork chops ( amazing as always! ), our friends loving their rib eye steak, and trout.
We are so fortunate to have this jewel of a restaurant in our Valley! Thank you for such a special evening!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 16, 2018

This place is a favorite of mine. The food is amazing and the staff is just phenomenal, would highly recommend this place to anyone.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 14, 2018

Brothers Prime Rib was as always outstanding. This was our third time at this restaurant and we are never dissapointed

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 14, 2018

Outstanding food, if you're into wine do take your own bottle and pay the $20 corkage which is high for the S.Y. Valley, but worth it when you see the bottle prices on the wine list, and split a salad as they are easily enough for two people and have a great meal.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 14, 2018

The 12oz Prime Rib was the best I’ve ever had.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 13, 2018

After sharing the pear/walnut green salad, we had prime rib and salmon dishes and both were outstanding with popping flavors and freshness second to none. Also had a bottle of Lucas and Lewellen Malbec wine, an excellent compliment to the meal. Finished off with a creme brulee, excellent friendly wait service from Jim. Our first dinner experience here could not have been any better, thank you.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 12, 2018

Food was outstanding!!!!!!! There were accommodating when I called and said we would be late due to traffic!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 11, 2018

We were traveling home and thought it would be a great stop, which it was! I gave the overall 4 stars instead of 5 because we received our salad after our entree. No big deal but a bit problematic.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 10, 2018

Food was excellent and server was friendly and professional. Was a tad annoyed that we were sat next to the kitchen entrance. They did move us about 5 minutes later but we were told the window table we preferred was reserved for parties of 3 or 4 (We were 2). Sure enough within 10 minutes a party of 2 was seated there.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 3, 2018

Best scallops I ever had. The only thing wrong was I had hoped they had read that it was my husbands birthday when I booked the reservation. No birthday wishes (and I find it awkward to say it in front of my husband.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 1, 2018

Taco Thursday at The Red Barn is the best! You get 3 large fillet mignonette tacos for $15 and they are absolutely delicious.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 29, 2018

The Red Barn was recommended to us and we did a quick 2 day trip to the valley for a birthday celebration. The restaurant exceeded my already high expectations. I can not wait to dine there again.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 27, 2018

We had a reservation and when we showed we were immediately sat. The waitress was excellent as was the assisting staff. Our glasses were full and the food was excellent. My steak melted in my mouth, was prepared as I requested.
We definitely will be returning when we visit the area

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
14

Tweets by Brothers Restaurant at Red Barn