About Brothers Restaurant at Red Barn

3539 Sagunto Street
Santa Ynez, CA 93460
View Larger Map

The Nichols brothers, Matt & Jeff, grew up in Ames, Iowa where their love of cooking, good food and a sense of family and community was nurtured.

The 2013 opening of their second Santa Barbara Wine Country restaurant, Brothers Restaurant at the Red Barn in Santa Ynez, allows them to offer visitors and locals alike great food, wine and hospitality. The brothers strive to have legendary service, innovative cuisine, and a welcoming and comfortable atmosphere that causes you to return time and again.

As chefs, the brothers continue to experiment with new dishes and cuisine, but always with that “from scratch”, homemade element. Fresh ingredients from local producers, a wine list that showcases the region’s award-winning wines and a comfortable and historically interesting atmosphere that takes you back to the romance of the old west. They want you to feel at home, and experience all the best of Santa Barbara’s Wine Country.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:


Lunch: Daily 11:30am-2:30pm

Dinner: Daily 5:00pm-9:00pm

Cross Street:
Edison Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(805) 688-4142

Website:
http://www.brothersredbarn.com/

Executive Chef:
Matt and Jeff Nichols

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Wine

Brothers Restaurant at Red Barn Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
California Central Coast
American
California Central Coast
Best Overall
Santa Ynez Valley
8 More
Best Food
Santa Ynez Valley
Best Service
Santa Ynez Valley
Best Ambiance
Santa Ynez Valley
Best Value
Santa Ynez Valley
Fit for Foodies
Santa Ynez Valley
Neighborhood Gem
Santa Ynez Valley
Special Occasion
Santa Ynez Valley
Most Booked
Santa Ynez Valley
Best Restaurants in Santa Ynez Valley ›

fit for foodies (46)
special occasion (35)
notable wine list (23)
See All
neighborhood gem (22)
good for groups (18)
romantic (14)
vibrant bar scene (9)
great for lunch (6)
hot spot (6)
great for outdoor dining (3)
kid-friendly (3)
late-night find (2)
great for brunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
241 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Visited Brothers during our anniversary ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Visited Brothers during our anniversary weekend. We heard good things and the Restaurant didn't disappoint. Wife had the Prime Rib and I had the Rib Eye. It was fantastic. The mashed potatoes and green beans were a nice side. I cant recall the bottle of wine that we shared, but it was really a nice experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great steak. Outstanding waitress. Reaso ...

Dined on May 9, 2016

Great steak. Outstanding waitress. Reasonable corkage fee.

food1
ambience3
service4
value1

The food is very rich but not very tasty ...

Dined on May 9, 2016

The food is very rich but not very tasty. If the ingredients are fresh, it was impossible to tell because of all the butter and oil smothering everything.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent as usual!

Dined on May 8, 2016

The food is always excellent. They take a fried chicken sandwich and fries to a new level. Highly recommend!

food3
ambience2
service2
value3

Service ruined by one waitress

Dined on May 6, 2016

We came back to Red Barn to celebrate our daughter' birthday because we had very good experience with the Tasty food and Excellent service by our friendly waitress, Diane in past trips ( we drove 200+ miles to Red Barn for our birthdays, anniversary, etc. in the last 3 years). For this birthday dinner last week, the host took us to a dark corner table near the wine cellar, which was not what we reserved on Open Table- Window table to celebrate daughter's birthday. While my wife went to ask the Host to change table at 5:30 PM, the waitress called Terri told our daughter rudely "table can't be changed". When the host and my wife returned to change corner table to Window table, Terri insisted that window table was reserved 1 week ago. My wife told her that we also reserved window table 1 week ago and the host told her 2nd window table was available. She became friendly to us when the host told her that she could keep us (or keep her tips by switching table with Diane). Although we told Terri the dinner was to celebrate our daughter's birthday, she did not acknowledge it for the whole meal even when presenting the bill to me (also mentioned on Open Table reservation). Normally, waitress Diane would bring us a special dessert plate with candle light and nice note written on the plate to celebrate our special occasion. Our family special dinner was ruined and we hesitate to go back to Red Barn in our future trips to central coast. Hope this honest review will help the owners, Matt and Jeff improve their customer service. PS- The Nosie level in the dining room was very loud by a table of 20 cowboys that night, which forced several customers moved their tables to the Patio.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely Experience / Great Food / Great Service

Dined on April 9, 2016

I took my 91 year old mother and her friend to lunch. We were seated as soon as we arrived and were very respectful helping my mother to her seat. It wasn't too noisy so she was able to hear our conversation. Our wonderful waitress was extremely attentive during our whole meal. My guests enjoyed their meal but enjoyed their Mud Pie even more. Thank you for a relaxing and great dining experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Great place with excellent food and spec ...

Dined on April 4, 2016

Great place with excellent food and spectacular service.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Food and Service

Dined on March 26, 2016

If you are looking for quality food and service this is the place to go. Very warm and welcoming environment. The server was attentive. Food was way better than the Hitching Post just minus the Film nostalgic and settings. (we didn't care) I hope they continue to make everyone feel welcome and continue to serve good food!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Meh... good, but not for a foodie in wine country.

Dined on March 26, 2016

Meh... good, but not for a foodie in wine country. Old school steak house and fine dining. We wanted the girl and the fig with everything local and it just wasn't what we were expecting.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Excellent Food and great service.

Dined on March 25, 2016

We have been there several times and never have had a bad experience. The food is high quality and always tasty.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

A Gastronomic Barn Find

Dined on March 19, 2016

If you live in or are just visiting The Santa Ynez Valley, lunch or dinner at a "Brother's" restaurant is a must on your "To Do" list. My recent dinner at the Brother's Restaurant at the Red Barn was thoroughly enjoyable – from the warm & friendly service by our waitress to the mouth watering entrees of my perfectly prepared and presented grilled pork rib chop and my guest's grilled prime filet. We paired our main courses with a excellent bottle of Firestone Pinot Noir and finished our dinner by sharing a sinfully good slice of Mud Pie. They say "Life is Good" in The Valley; brother's Matt & Jeff Nichols and their gastronomic skills are certainly part of the reason why.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Worth it!

Dined on March 13, 2016

At first I thought the prices seemed out of line but...NO! The food was fabulous. I had the chicken, it was ahhhhmaaaazing! To be proper the goat cheese stuff chiken leg and thigh with savory mash potatoes. Enjoyed everything. Thank you...

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience3
service5

Beautifully rebuilt barn with classy bar ...

vip
Dined on March 13, 2016

Beautifully rebuilt barn with classy bar and separate restaurant area. Service was perfect. Their French onion soup was delicious and authentic, the rack of lamb was wonderful and so was the trout, but what really stands out is the Brothers' signature mud pie that is finally back from their time at Mattei's tovern. A must. Wonderful caramel and chocolate combo without much sugar so you can actually enjoy the flavors.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Found Prime Rib!

Dined on February 28, 2016

There hasn't been a good prime rib served since the Brothers left Mattei's. Thank God they came back at the Red Barn....great food, drinks and company!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Excellent service. We had the shrimp wh ...

Dined on February 15, 2016

Excellent service. We had the shrimp which were amazing and the prime rib. The horseradish dip was creamy and just the right amount of kick to it.

food5
ambience5
service5

Highly recommend the steak.

Dined on February 14, 2016

Highly recommend the steak.

food5
ambience5
service5

A perfect experience!

vip
Dined on February 4, 2016

A perfect experience!

food4
ambience4
service4

Don't let the outside or the name fool y ...

vip
Dined on February 3, 2016

Don't let the outside or the name fool you into thinking this is not a special place. The interior is chic and contemporary and the food is special occasion worthy. We are here on vacation after a day of golf and a winery visit- perfect way to end a perfect day in the Santa Ynez valley.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Outstanding place

Dined on January 31, 2016

Always great especially the fillet with the port wine reduction sauce.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent!

vip
Dined on January 30, 2016

I usually eat at the Red Barn at least once a month. The food is always excellent as is the service. The wait staff is always on top of things and would compare to the wait staff at a restaurant costing much more.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food3
ambience3
service5

For the prices they charge, I expected a ...

Dined on January 25, 2016

For the prices they charge, I expected a much nicer dinner. They didn't even heat the bread. We had excellent service, but I don't think I'll be going back.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Consistantly good food and service.

Dined on January 23, 2016

Local Valley resident. A must go to for our out of town guests. Something for everyone on the menu. Wait staff is attentive without being over bearing.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great go to for date night or any night.

Dined on January 16, 2016

Great service. You can expect reliable, interesting and delicious entrees. Choices from fish to filet. My husband loves a good filet and I enjoy fish. However, I enjoyed the goat cheese stuff chicken breast with garlic mashed potatoes. My husband had a flavorful filet and yummy scalloped potatoes. We shared a beet salad and vegetable spring rolls. The bar offers the best of both -a martini or great glass of wine. You can eat at the bar in a relaxed sitting by the fireplace with a tv or in the white table cloth dining area with the open kitchen chefs. There is always a manager making sure things are going smoothly. Always our go to when we have guests in town or want to step it up.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Disappointing.

Dined on January 10, 2016

We had been to Maddies Tavern several years ago and had thoroughly enjoyed it so we were happy to hear that the brothers had opened a new restaurant. First off we were seated at a tiny table for two way at the back in a claustrophobic corner next to the wine cellar. There were several other couples of two sitting at larger tables for four and there were several empty tables for four available but when we asked if we could have a different table the hostess said that there was only one other table (another tiny one at the back). Throughout our meal there were larger tables available. Although our waitress was friendly she didn't know what wine to recommend ( had no clue). My husband's prime rib was overly fatty and grisly and my pork chop was dry, dry, dry. An overall very disappointing and expensive dinner. We don't mind spending money when it's worth it but this was not.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

So good!

Dined on January 1, 2016

It all was beyond wonderful. Enjoyed every bite! The filet - perfect. Veal Chop - perfect. Thanks for a special New Years Eve. It was a wonderful way to welcome in the New Year.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

extraordinary if you can afford it

Dined on December 6, 2015

Every bite of everything-bread, veggies, main course, dessert was exceptional. It is pricey, so it is a special occasion place for us.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Never Fails

vip
Dined on December 6, 2015

The Brothers from Iowa know how to cook. Consistent, never fails to deliver excellent food with friendly efficient wait staff. Sat at the bar this time so I could watch a football game, actually a little quieter than the main restaurant. Steaks and prime rib are the highlights.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Brothers Restaurant Red Barn will not disappoint!

Dined on November 23, 2015

We live in Huntington Beach and travel once a year for wine tasting adventures. We were looking for a new restaurant and "Yelp" had great reviews. The service was fabulous. The steaks were seared and cooked to perfection... The sauce that the chef drizzled over my filet mignon is something I'm still thinking about. My daughter and I would love that recipe! My mom ordered lamb... Again perfection and melted in your mouth. My only regret is that we didn't find this restaurant years ago. We will be back and have already recommended this establishment to family and friends.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience3
service1

Terrible service. Waited 20 min for the ...

Dined on November 22, 2015

Terrible service. Waited 20 min for the waitress to acknowledge us. Food was just average. Not worth the money sadly.

food5
ambience4
service5

Outstanding and memorable dinner

Dined on November 22, 2015

From hostess, to servers, to all staff...all were friendly, attentive, and made us feel cared for. We celebrated our 53rd wedding anniversary with an incredible dinner. Food prepared perfectly and exactly as ordered... and the fillets were incredible. Everything was a 10+!

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Fab all around

Dined on November 18, 2015

Everything was amazing. We got seated quickly, we didn't love the center table she offered, but we were happy when offered a table by the window. The food was fabulous- best french onion soup ever. The servers were all great (took photos, filled waters without being asked, cleared plates promptly). The best part was that my boyfriend proposed! I could hear him, see him... and yet nobody seemed to notice, it was a wonderful intimate moment.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

good experience

Dined on November 18, 2015

Drove from Santa Barbara on a Tuesday night to meet relatives for dinner, five in our party. Two people had salmon and loved it, I had the trout and it was delicious, two others enjoyed the oyster appetizer for their entree. Our waitress was very patient as our party spent a lot of time visiting, she checked on us frequently and did not rush us. As we were leaving we were thanked by everyone including the chefs.

Tags: group bookings, special occasions, neighbourhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Red Barn

Dined on November 17, 2015

We had a delightful experience. Great service, great food, quiet (it was a weeknight so it might have been noisier on a busy night). Comfortable seating and nice lighting. I would highly recommend this restaurant. We took wine from our own collection and the corkage was reasonable.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Perfect

vip
Dined on November 17, 2015

We were so happy to finally have the opportunity to try Brothers @ the Red Barn. After years of visiting them at Mattie's Tavern, we anticipated the same level of quality and service. We weren't disappointed. Our server Andrea was very pleasant and attentive. The Grilled Prime Filet and Slow Roasted Prime Rib were prepared perfectly. The Caramel Brioche Bread Pudding was a wonderful end to the evening. Dining here will be a must on our future trips to SYV.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

Excellent Restaurant Food was excellent also

Dined on November 17, 2015

Celebrated my wedding anniversary WE had heard that the restaurant was known for its Prime Rib WE WERE Not Disappointed

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Great Food

Dined on November 9, 2015

On the outside it does look like a red barn but inside it's all about the food. Our party had the prime rib, salmon, petite steak, and stuffed chicken breast. Everything was perfect. Glad another friend recommended this restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

Stopped to get a bite prior to wine tast ...

vip
Dined on October 24, 2015

Stopped to get a bite prior to wine tasting. Tried the Kobe hamburger and the fish and chips. Both dishes were delicious. Loved the carmelized onions, fresh and tasty tomatoes and perfect pickles but not crazy about the shredded lettuce on the kobe burger. The chips were really crunchy too! The fish and chips were big lightly battered nuggets rather than the typical long pieces of battered cod and they were very tasty.

food5
ambience5
service5

Great meal for all! We ordered steak, ch ...

vip
Dined on October 24, 2015

Great meal for all! We ordered steak, chicken and the pork chop. The pork chop was one of the best I've had- so juicy and cooked perfectly. I rarely order pork because it is cooked poorly at so many places but this is by far one of the best! One had the steak and she commented it may have been one of the best she had ever had. And chicken was loved as well! Nice portions with nice sides and a very nice waitress. Loved the outside patio area and ambience of the whole place!

food5
ambience4
service3

Delicious food

Dined on October 23, 2015

Delicious food

food4
ambience4
service4

Fantastic Prime Rib

Dined on October 19, 2015

If you like tender, tasty prime rib, this restaurant is for you. It is amongst the best I ever tasted. We had the scalloped potatoes instead of mashed but they served both by mistake. Neither were exceptional but the rest of the entrée was excellent. We started with the cornbread dusted oysters first and they were delicious. Very fresh oysters, lightly breaded. We also had a cup of the French Onion Soup. Very good, but VERY rich. The ambiance is nice with an open kitchen and white table cloths. The service was professional. We would go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.