About Brothers Restaurant at Red Barn

The Nichols brothers, Matt & Jeff, grew up in Ames, Iowa where their love of cooking, good food and a sense of family and community was nurtured.

The 2013 opening of their second Santa Barbara Wine Country restaurant, Brothers Restaurant at the Red Barn in Santa Ynez, allows them to offer visitors and locals alike great food, wine and hospitality. The brothers strive to have legendary service, innovative cuisine, and a welcoming and comfortable atmosphere that causes you to return time and again.

As chefs, the brothers continue to experiment with new dishes and cuisine, but always with that “from scratch”, homemade element. Fresh ingredients from local producers, a wine list that showcases the region’s award-winning wines and a comfortable and historically interesting atmosphere that takes you back to the romance of the old west. They want you to feel at home, and experience all the best of Santa Barbara’s Wine Country.

3539 Sagunto Street
Santa Ynez, CA 93460
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:


Lunch: Daily 11:30am-2:30pm

Dinner: Daily 5:00pm-9:00pm

Cross Street:
Edison Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(805) 688-4142

Website:
http://www.brothersredbarn.com/

Executive Chef:
Matt and Jeff Nichols

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Private Room, Wine

Brothers Restaurant at Red Barn Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.3

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (25)
Good for a Date (16)
Worth the Drive (15)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (15)
Good for Birthdays (14)
Open Kitchen (12)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Romantic (8)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Cozy (8)
Fireplace (8)
Casual (7)
Local Ingredients (7)
Fun (6)
Notable Wine List (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Good for Groups (6)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Outstanding Value (4)
Authentic (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Business Meals (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Family Style (3)
Historic (3)
Modern Decor (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Tapas (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Private Room (1)
Healthy (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Great Beer (1)
Seasonal (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Sort By:
S
351 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 4 days ago

My husband really liked their burger. It was juicy and moist and had a great grilled smokiness. It gets a 5. I gave it a 3 for food because the French dip was just okay. The au jus wasn't too flavorful and the bread was soft, not crusty French bread. Great service.

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined 5 days ago

Thanks to these two gents and their staff for their wonderful food and service!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 16, 2017

As usual the food was superb and the service excellent!

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Consistently delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 14, 2017

The Brothers never disappoint. They always get it just right with great service, incredible appetizers, homemade breads for the table and perfectly cooked and served hot entree's, then amazing deserts.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Open Kitchen, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tulsa)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Great food and service for a family birthday celebration. Creme Brûlée with a candle was fantastic.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Excellent steaks pared with great sides. Nice dining experience. Great local wine list. A definite must try when wine tasting in Santa ynez.

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 11, 2017

We have been coming to Brother's for years and before that Mattie's. We have always rated our experience "AMAZING" ! This time not so much. We had to return one of our meals because the meat was tough, our plates were not cleared in a timeful manner, our waitress un- attentive, and very distracted by "someone" in the bar. I actually think the bus girls could have done a better job. Anyway, it was just one time after all of our wonderful experiences there. Hopefully, this was just a one time experience and we hope our trust and loyalty will be restored.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Never disappoints. The food was great as always. Everyone had a different entree and everyone was happy!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Food was delicious and service was on point. There was a 40+ top in the private room and never once did our food or service lag. It was the perfect mommy & daddy date night that we desperately needed. We definitely will be back!

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual, Open Kitchen, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Their prime rib was the best I've ever had! The clam chowder was filled with clams and the service was great. The perfect place to take your spouse for your anniversary.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Fireplace, Good for a Date, Open Kitchen, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Tonight all four of us had something different - salmon, prime rib, trout and the petrale sole special. The food was hot, appetizing and delicious. No complaints. But then, we've never had a bad meal here. Service is also excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 24, 2017

Hadn't been here in a while, but have to say, the food is consistently good, the staff very welcoming and pleasant and the dessert outstanding! Would recommend - Probably the nicest restaurant in the SY Valley.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Open Kitchen, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 21, 2017

The wife had the filet. It came with a full-bodied wine sauce reduction that had an abundant blue cheese nose. The potatoes au gratin was delicious and rich. The vegetables were al dente and what you would expect for finer dining. I had the stuffed chicken breast and it was equally delicious. We had a starter of a chanterelle mushroom salad that was fresh, and wonderful. The pear tart for dessert was not quite as good as was to be expected. I thought the berry caramel did not pair well (excuse the pun) with the pear tart and the crust was quite hard.

Overall though we will be going back soon.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Fireplace, Historic, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 18, 2017

Lovely meal—good food, good wine, excellent service. Nothing pretentious at all, but beautifully prepared.

Tags: Family Style, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 15, 2017

The service and food = EXCELLENT!! Very friendly,polite and courteous staff. Great family get together before a great day of wine tasting! 😊

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Really good food, excellent service. Full bar, and small but good wine selection. My martini was well prepared, as I ordered, and a generous pour. My rib roast was excellent and my wife's prime filet with Stilton cheese sauce was wonderful. Appreciated that entree menu items included potatoes (different preparations) and vegetables (that were delicious and well prepared). Not inexpensive, but I thought the overall quality and dining experience was well worth it.

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Open Kitchen, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Jim Carricaburu is what makes the place! Real gem, needs a big raise!

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 10, 2017

Terri and all staff are grand!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Great food Great service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Wonderful experience, excellent food, best cheese cake I have ever had. The veal chop was superb, the clam chowder was great and the trout was prepared perfect. The staff was very friendly and had very good knowledge of the menu, also was very helpful in choosing good wine perings for both dishes. Worth the hour and a half drive and we will definitely do it again soon.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Open Kitchen, Notable Wine List, Fireplace, Special Occasion, Historic, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Always delicious!! The food was cooked to perfection.

Thank you

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 31, 2016

You couldn't have a better Server than Diane. She has served us on our last three visits. It doesn't get any better than her.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 30, 2016

I messed up the reservation on a very busy night, and they still managed to fit us in after a short wait. And it was a night that accommodating us wasn't required or necessary, but the Red Barn did anyway. Loved the service, loved the meal, loved the experience! Wonderful night!

Thank you so much. I recommend the ribeye and the chocolate pecan pie. Fantastic!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on December 21, 2016

We took our out of town guests for dinner and they enjoyed themselves.

The food was good, the service was great, our waitress was perfect. We all had a wonderful time!! Will be back.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on December 19, 2016

Wonderful salmon! Even though they are known for their prime rib and steak, the seafood entrées were great. My husband had the fillet of sole and I had salmon. Both were excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on December 17, 2016

As my stars indicate the service and food were perfect. The decor is very nice. Nothing to not like about the place.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on December 11, 2016

The food was very good the service was excellent however this was one of the noisiest loudest restaurants I've ever been in. Some people would call it energetic I just call it loud. My husband was sitting next to me and most of our conversation we couldn't even hear each other.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Always enjoy the menu. Excellent food and service.

Beautiful presentation....

Tags: Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Healthy, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 28, 2016

We were celebrating my 61st Birthday ...my husband, my son and daughter and their spouses.. The food was delicious, the venue was cozy and the service was exceptional. I highly recommend the Red Barn for Dinner & drinks!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Great as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Wonderful restaurant with great service and reasonable wine list. Well worth the drive

Tags: Fun, Comfort Food, Cozy, Fireplace, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on November 14, 2016

We always have a great time and delicious food at The Red Barn! Love The Brothers!!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on November 12, 2016

SERVICE VERY GOOD. FOOD FABULOUS!!!! NOISE LEVEL A LITTLE HIGH. DEFINITELY WILL RECOMMEND THIS PLACE TO FRIENDS

Tags: Good for Groups, Family Style, Private Room, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Great local restaurant with a friendly neighborhood vibe.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 9, 2016

This was our second visit for dinner. Food is outstanding and service is great.

Tags: Fun, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 31, 2016

Enjoyable restaurant with many locals. Great food. I had prime rib dinner which was cooked perfectly. The best thing on the plate, however, were the green beans and carrots. I know, I know, vegetable....but these are worth getting. My wife had a filet steak which was absolutely tender and delicious. Nice wine selection. The restaurant is far from the crowds, but well worth the trip to visit it.

Tags: Fun, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on October 31, 2016

Great food. Would have liked to see more wines available by the glass - i.e. Riesling. Will go back - no question.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on October 29, 2016

This is a gem in the Solvang area. Very easy to find. It was recommended by one of the wineries and people wine tasting. They all said it was by far the best in the area and they were so correct. One reocmmendation said to order the lamb chops, which I did. They were a treat. The food was cooked perfectly and the service was very good. I can't imagine eating anywhere else if I am in that area.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Great food and service. Huge servings. We would return for the prime rib.

Tags: Comfort Food, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Always great food and exceptional service. Best prime rib anywhere!!!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Outstanding Value, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Open Kitchen, Casual, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on October 23, 2016

We love this restaurant and are always confident bringing our out-of-town guests here. The food is simply delicious; one can see that much care is taken in the preparation and presentation of each dish. Consistently. My husband likes to order a baseball (coulotte) cut top sirloin steak which is not available in many restaurants. I like everything!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 16, 2016

The dinner was by far the best dinner we've had in a

Long time and now to think about it ever! We pride ourselves in finding great hidden gems and I'm kind of hesitant to give it a great review because now everyone will make it a point to visit when visiting SYV. The cod and the filet were excellent. A must try is the apple bread pudding so make sure to save room for dessert!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 15, 2016

We were looking for a special place to celebrate our anniversary and we found it here. The food was delicious, the ambience was perfect and the service was stellar. We'd love to return next time we're in town!

Tags: Cozy, Organic, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on October 13, 2016

Always our destination when we visit the area. Fabulous steaks at a good price.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on October 11, 2016

Return when in Santa Ynez. Have never been disappointed. Steaks are incredible.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on October 8, 2016

My wife and I have been here several times. Excellent food and good selection of local wines and beer on tap. I usually order the top sirloin steak and it is among the best steaks I've ever had. Cooked to perfection. Nice place fairly casual , clean blue jeans and a button up shirt is fine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 2, 2016

My wife and I have been eating with The Brothers for years, they even served our wedding guests at our reception at their previous location in Los Olivos.

The food has always been superb, and our guests last Saturday from Utah were absolutely gobsmacked at the quality and care of preparation and presentation.

The staff are friendly and caring, our server Terry, patiently took out orders, my wife has some food allergies, and without hesitation, presented a perfect meal to our table.

Cannot recommend a more suitable restaurant in the Solvang/Santa Inez area than The Red Barn.

Tags: Historic, Notable Wine List, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Eaten here before and the food has been exceptional every time.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on September 30, 2016

This is the second time I have visited your restaurant. I reside in Santa Maria and was told by a co-worker that your restaurant "beats any steak in Santa Maria!" Trust me, I have been to all of them, and sure enough, your steak beats them all! I like my steak well done and a good cook knows how to make sure it's well done. I ordered it medium well, based on the waitress recommendation. It was not burned, not pink inside, yet tender. Those are the three things I look for in a well done steak. If they apply, the cook knows what he/she is doing.

I was fortunate to get "Diane". She is awesome; cannot think of ONE complaint! She was perfect! One can tell that she enjoys doing what she does and loves people. I will definitely be back.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.