Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.28mi
  4. Distance: 0.37mi
  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.28mi
  4. Distance: 0.37mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.28mi
  4. Distance: 0.37mi
  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.28mi
  4. Distance: 0.37mi

About Brothers Restaurant at Red Barn

The Nichols brothers, Matt & Jeff, grew up in Ames, Iowa where their love of cooking, good food and a sense of family and community was nurtured.

The 2013 opening of their second Santa Barbara Wine Country restaurant, Brothers Restaurant at the Red Barn in Santa Ynez, allows them to offer visitors and locals alike great food, wine and hospitality. The brothers strive to have legendary service, innovative cuisine, and a welcoming and comfortable atmosphere that causes you to return time and again.

As chefs, the brothers continue to experiment with new dishes and cuisine, but always with that “from scratch”, homemade element. Fresh ingredients from local producers, a wine list that showcases the region’s award-winning wines and a comfortable and historically interesting atmosphere that takes you back to the romance of the old west. They want you to feel at home, and experience all the best of Santa Barbara’s Wine Country.

3539 Sagunto Street
Santa Ynez, CA 93460
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:


Lunch: Daily 11:30am-2:30pm

Dinner: Daily 5:00pm-9:00pm

Cross Street:
Edison Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(805) 688-4142

Website:
http://www.brothersredbarn.com/

Executive Chef:
Matt and Jeff Nichols

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Private Room, Wine

Brothers Restaurant at Red Barn Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.3

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (39)
Good for Anniversaries (31)
Good for Birthdays (31)
See All
Fit for Foodies (30)
Worth the Drive (28)
Neighborhood Gem (24)
Local Ingredients (24)
Good for a Date (22)
Casual (20)
Comfort Food (17)
Notable Wine List (16)
Good for Groups (15)
Fun (13)
Romantic (13)
Great for Lunch (12)
Authentic (11)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Bar Seating (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Cozy (8)
Open Kitchen (7)
Fireplace (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Healthy (6)
Historic (6)
Great for Brunch (5)
Business Meals (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Hot Spot (3)
People Watching (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Organic (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Family Style (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Seasonal (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort By:
S
421 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 14, 2017

The food is simple and rich. We had sole and trout, and both dishes came with the same mashed potatoes, carrots and green beans. One notch below fine dining. Service is friendly and efficient. They moved us out fairly quickly since we got there at 8.30. Not a bad option for the area, but somewhat over priced for what it is. It could be a much better restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Both my meal and my husbands were well prepared and the service was excellent

Tags: Kid-friendly, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Excellent service and an amazing steak; best restaurant in Santa Ynez

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 10, 2017

Wonderful restaurant. Brothers is a great find. Highly recommend trying it out.

Tags: Fun, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Service was outstanding, as always. The prime rib never disappoints and the Sole fish was prepared just right. Both dishes had organic carrots and they were cooked to perfection and not mushy. We were at the bar so it was lively and energetic. Love this place!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Organic, People Watching, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 8, 2017

We love this place!!! Food and service are always excellent!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Tuna tartare was great as usual. The prime rib and filet were delicious. Another great night at the Red Barn. Wish they'd do something about the noise.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Our Favorite restaurant with great food. The Salmon was fabulous

Tags: Organic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Happy Hour, Healthy, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Great overall experience. Nick at bar was great and friendly.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Happy Hour, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on July 2, 2017

When we feel like treating ourselves we come here! We've never had a bad meal or bad service, it's been amazing every single time! Great wine menu too!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Romantic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on July 1, 2017

The brothers know how to create delicious and tasty dishes.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Disabled Access, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 29, 2017

Easily the best prime rib I have ever had and my wife's fish was equally good. Excellent service, good menu.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 29, 2017

Enjoyed our dinner and time here at the Red Barn can't wait to come back Thank you to our server for the recommendations 😀

Tags: Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on June 28, 2017

Delectable! High end comfort food - great flavors, quality & satisfaction.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on June 28, 2017

Never disappoints ! Always Good.
Great service friendly and helpful
A favorite of family when coming to the Central Coast.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 27, 2017

Brothers Restaurant has been a "go-to" restaurant for us when in SYV. No more. The food is very good despite leaning to beef entrees and the service is very good. But if you are going there for a special occasion remember this is a local restaurant and therefore preferential to locals. While we requested a particular table for our anniversary and told we would have it, when we arrived we were shown to another table. When we inquired as to the difference, we were told the table had already been reserved by the "Greens." Our advice to anyone visiting SYV and wishing a good table at Brothers, check with the hostess to ascertain whether or not M/M Green have reserved the table. In SYV this couple gets what they want! On a second night, at another restaurant, the same thing happened with the same couple!!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Food was delicious. Great place to go after a day of wine tasting.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on June 18, 2017

We remember the Brothers restaurants as being a step above other restaurants in the area. I think they have lost that designation. The food was good, but nothing special. The decor just seems tired and the chairs are a bit uncomfortable.

I don't think we'll choose the Red Barn, or Sides for future special occasion dinners. But certainly a good place to go if your priority is a good steak.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on June 17, 2017

good to great steak, but pretty pricey. room was very loud with an open kitchen next to dining and solid walls, ceilings, no curtains nor padding on the chairs. menu has classic, standard choices (ie your steak, your chicken, your salmon, etc) but all very tasty.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Absolutely Delicious!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on June 14, 2017

Even after many previous trips to the Red Barn, the Brothers have continued a strong tradition. Service was perfect as was dinner and dessert.
Highly recommended!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Dinner with friends after a music festival.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Brother's at the Red Barn never fails to deliver. I have going for years, from the earliest days at the Story Book Inn, and entree's that I loved then are still (with some additions and deletions of course) are still as perfect as they have always been. Also, the Fried Oyster appetizer are the best I have ever had.

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 7, 2017

Restaurant was very close to where we were staying. Booked based on Trip Advisor reviews and we very pleased with our meals. We both had fish which was prepared perfectly and sauces were great!

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Based on the wonderful reviews, we decided to try the restaurant on our visit to the area. We were very disappointed in the quality of the food. The fried oyster po'boys were presented on stale buns which were truly inedible. One of our party had the hamburger which he said was good. For the price, we expected more.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 25, 2017

Best Prime Rib anywhere!! The rest of the meal was also outstanding. #1 restaurant in Santa Barbara County Wine Country

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 22, 2017

As always our meal at Brother's was sensational. Tried a couple of new items on their menu and loved them both. Our server was a delight. Jeff was the chef the night we were there and he did his usual fantastic job.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Casual, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 22, 2017

I have been wanting to try the Red Barn for a while now. The different types of bread/rolls were so tasty. One I think was a corn bread with some peppers, another a small biscuit that had some cheese in it and a couple of others that were absolutely delicious. I could make a meal of bread and salad. I ordered the trout dinner. It was awesome. Loved that the mashed potatoes were shaped like a fish. Our group shared the mud pie for dessert. So fabulous. I would defintely recommend this restaurant. I will be back! I also love their other restaurant, Sides. Both are a must on your travel schedule to the Santa Ynez, Los Olivos, Solvang area.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Fine steak and prime rib, served by warm and friendly staff. Starter portion of Chinese chicken salad was wonderful, and enough for 2 or even 3.

Tags: Hot Spot, Fun, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Always terrific. We're regulars for both lunch and dinner. Couldn't give this place a higher rating.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 15, 2017

My husband and I were in town for a long weekend of wine tasting and our hotel's staff recommended this restaurant for dinner. The food is wonderful and the service excellent! My husband had a salad and I had the tuna tartare, both of which sizable and delicious. For our entrees, my husband had the special - a large 14oz veal with whole grain mustard mashed potatoes. The chop tasted like butter it was so delicious and tender - just silken. I had the 6oz petit filet with carmelized onions and au gratin style potatoes. Wow! Great restaurant and friendly atmosphere, though we were out of towners. I only wish the restaurant was closer to our home.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Authentic, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Comfort Food, Casual, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Wonderful spot - just a bit too loud that evening to hold a conversation. That won't deter us from coming back though, just bear with it.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on May 12, 2017

First impression: loud
Food: great, but pricey
Service: excellent, but our silverware wasn't complete as we sat down, tsk, one fork?
Get the pear salad, you could share! Also, bring your own bottle of wine. Great flavor on the ribeye and sirloin. Will be back.

Tags: Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 1, 2017

Delicious food great staff

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 29, 2017

The food was so amazing!!!!! The service very attentive!!! Hands down we are coming back!! The steak and lamb was to die for!!! Would love to come back sooner than later but very pricey.

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Cozy, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Excellent restaurant with very efficient servers and great food! Would go again and again.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 29, 2017

We went to The Brothers at the Red Barn for my wife's birthday (I will not say which one other than This one.) It was very pleasant and appropriately classy. Our server was excellent and attentive. I had the smaller cut of Prime Rib and it was absolutely beautiful. My wife, the server and I all commented on how nice the plate looked and how nice the slice of Prime Rib looked. My wife does not eat red meat and even she commented on how nice it looked. I will testify as to how tender and nice it was. It was as soft a butter and was as tender as a babies behind. It was fabulous. The entire evening was very pleasant and an evening to remember. It is a little pricey, but the quality of the food was right there. We have lived in the Santa Ynez Valley for many years and we ate at the old Red Barn. It was very nice and the Brothers have continued the tradition, although they are a bit more pricey. We cannot go as often as we used to, but we have not been dissappointed yet.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 28, 2017

We were visiting the Valley to attend a Midland School Alumni weekend, Class of '51 (no laughs please). The Filet mignon, medium-rare, with Brothers' wine sauce was outstanding and the Mud Pie a great closer for the meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 28, 2017

This was a nice place to eat. Both the steak and fish were good choices. Even the burgers looked great! Not overly stuffy atmosphere, or overly casual. Enjoyed a relaxing evening

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 24, 2017

Very good food and service. My wife and I set in the bar area and enjoyed the great service. My wife had soup and a salmon appetizer and both were great! I had the baked salmon entre and it was also great! Will definitely return.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.