Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.28mi
  4. Distance: 0.37mi
  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.28mi
  4. Distance: 0.37mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.28mi
  4. Distance: 0.37mi
  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.28mi
  4. Distance: 0.37mi

About Brothers Restaurant at Red Barn

The Nichols brothers, Matt & Jeff, grew up in Ames, Iowa where their love of cooking, good food and a sense of family and community was nurtured.

The 2013 opening of their second Santa Barbara Wine Country restaurant, Brothers Restaurant at the Red Barn in Santa Ynez, allows them to offer visitors and locals alike great food, wine and hospitality. The brothers strive to have legendary service, innovative cuisine, and a welcoming and comfortable atmosphere that causes you to return time and again.

As chefs, the brothers continue to experiment with new dishes and cuisine, but always with that “from scratch”, homemade element. Fresh ingredients from local producers, a wine list that showcases the region’s award-winning wines and a comfortable and historically interesting atmosphere that takes you back to the romance of the old west. They want you to feel at home, and experience all the best of Santa Barbara’s Wine Country.

3539 Sagunto Street
Santa Ynez, CA 93460
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:


Lunch: Daily 11:30am-2:30pm

Dinner: Daily 5:00pm-9:00pm

Cross Street:
Edison Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(805) 688-4142

Website:
http://www.brothersredbarn.com/

Executive Chef:
Matt and Jeff Nichols

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Private Room, Wine

Brothers Restaurant at Red Barn Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.2

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Anniversaries (27)
Special Occasion (27)
Neighborhood Gem (26)
See All
Good for Birthdays (23)
Fit for Foodies (23)
Casual (20)
Good for a Date (18)
Notable Wine List (18)
Worth the Drive (18)
Local Ingredients (17)
Authentic (14)
Good for Groups (13)
Comfort Food (12)
Romantic (11)
Business Meals (10)
Great for Lunch (10)
Bar Seating (9)
Fun (9)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Cozy (7)
Kid-friendly (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
Happy Hour (5)
People Watching (5)
Disabled Access (4)
Healthy (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Organic (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Seasonal (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Hot Spot (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Great Beer (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Spicy (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort By:
S
453 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined 6 days ago

What a gem in Santa Ynez. We had eaten the night before at the other Bros. Restaurant, Sides and Hardware. Much proffered Red Barn, but their hamburger was outstanding. Pork shop over bacon mashed with applesauce on top with green beans and baby carrots. Yum!!!!!! Wife had the roasted chicken which was fabulous as well.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on September 15, 2017

Excellent all around. We had several meals at the Red Barn.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 12, 2017

Great way to end the day after wine tasting. Good steak and fish choices. Excellent quality. Extensive wine list. One of the best restaurants in the area.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 10, 2017

I'm glad we got there @ 6:45 PM.. The place was jammed inside. A bit noisy for us. Glad there was room outside were it was much quieter and we could talk with out yelling @ each other.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Casual, Business Meals, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on September 10, 2017

The food was great, but we were on the enclosed patio and it was a bit noisy and the lighting was so low that it was hard to see the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on September 4, 2017

As always the food was amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 2, 2017

Although the restaurant lost power near the end of our meal, the staff acted professionally and efficiently. The food was outstanding and we enjoyed it immensely. The loss of power caused the restaurant to heat up and get smoky, but just as we left it looked like the power came back on. We will definitely come back.

Tags: Seasonal, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 2, 2017

We always have a great meal and great service. This happened to be my husbands birthday and once I told the server I did not have to mention it again. This was his special day and having it at the Brothers Red Barn was a real treat! We will certainly be back.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 27, 2017

One of the best dining experiences I've ever had. Excellent service and everything was delicious. We really enjoyed our date night/birthday dinner for me!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on August 26, 2017

First time there. Won't be back. Long story short- entrees were great, apps and desserts were not. And service was below average.

Service- waitress was inattentive, took way too long between checkins and didn't seem to understand some basic server 101 type things.

Apps- The appetizers were the worst part. The calamari had no flavor and it comes mixed with onion rings which was really weird. It was about 80% onion rings, 20% calamari. Had to fish out what calamari we could and ended up giving up. Way overpriced at $15. Tuna tartare was ok. It was creamy, not in a good way, and flavorless. Also overpriced at $16.

Entrees- However, both entrees we ordered were great. Definitely the highlight of the meal. I got a pork chop with bacon mashed potatoes. Big portion, lots of flavor, juicy. Would highly recommend. My wife got the rack of lamb. Pricy ($39) but it was a excellent.

Desserts- vanilla bean creme brûlée was blah. No flavor. Nothing special. But the bananas foster bread pudding was pretty good.

Side note- it is definitely an older crowd. Average age was probably 60. We're in our early 40s and felt really out of place.

Anyway, good job on the entrees. But they were the only highlight. There are much better restaurants at this high price point. No reason to come back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on August 24, 2017

Always a fun experience and excellent food with Matt and Jeff at the helm!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 22, 2017

Prime rib (medium rare) was spectacular!! The cut was cooked to perfection all the way through.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 20, 2017

The food was absolutely fantastic! The restaurant was very loud the night we were there, so it was difficult for our group of 8 to have a conversation.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Excellent food and service! A must when you're in the Santa Ynez area!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Casual, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 16, 2017

There are two major qualities that determine the greatness of any restaurant: great food and great service. The "Red Barn" excels at both. It is wonderfully warm with a casual atmosphere making you feel comfortable and relaxed while dining. Plus, the price for the food and drink is very fair especially for the overall excellent dining experience. My wife and I were there for our 25th wedding anniversary and it was perfect, we would highly recommend this restaurant to anyone for any occasion.

Tags: Cozy, Casual, Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Hot Spot, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on August 15, 2017

Noise level is really quite bad. Sound absorbing materials might help. It's bad enough that I really didn't enjoy my meal. Granted, I am an older person and as such, more accustomed to a quieter atmosphere. Nonetheless, the acoustics need to be dealt with.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on August 14, 2017

As usual, the Brother's Restaurant was excellent. We all had different entree's but they were all wonderful!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on August 12, 2017

We love Brothers, it is our favorite place to bring out of town guest. My husband and I will come for a regular dinner quite often.

Tags: Notable Wine List, People Watching, Great for Outdoor Dining, Comfort Food, Good Vegetarian Options, Gluten Free Options, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 11, 2017

We make a point to eat there when we're up from Camarillo. Never had a less than perfect time there. The noise level might have been a little too boisterous, but that was at our table only. As we met our friends there and we hadn't been together in such a long time.

Tags: Comfort Food, People Watching, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on August 9, 2017

The food and service were excellent. However, it was extremely noisy due to poor accoustics making it difficult for conversation. A good menu choice was the Chinese Chicken Salad, which was very hearty, as well as tasty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 9, 2017

Food was good as always, but they charged me for a side that I did not order. I told the waitress that I loved that side and she brought me a little extra. I thought she was being nice, but she ended up charging me an extra $6. They should inform you that it is an extra charge, or shouldn't charge without you ordering it. Also, birthday dessert was not complimentary, like at most restaurants.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Disabled Access, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Had a very nice lunch with my daughter. The service was friendly and prompt. The food was tasty and arrived quickly. Would recommend for lunch. Haven't been there for dinner yet.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on August 4, 2017

The prime rib was delicious. The Brothers know how to put out a great meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on August 3, 2017

On a recent visit to Santa Barbara, Ca. we decided to tour wine country there. A google search for a dinner restaurant led us to Brothers. When we pulled up to the restaurant we wondered how this big barn of a restaurant could possible be the one we found online. When we entered we realized that you should not judge a book by its cover. This restaurant was a gem. From atmosphere to service and food everything was wonderful. We hope to return next summer and would recommend Brothers to anyone.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on August 1, 2017

The food was good. The service was curt. The wait person was less than attentive. Overall an okay experience. Husband's steak was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
·Dined on July 30, 2017

Delicious food! Had their infamous prime rib. It melted in your mouth. We had a very delicious salmon on a bed of veggies. And the burgers (not on the menu) were amazing. Good wine. Good bread assortment. Great find!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on July 30, 2017

Solvang getaway trip, this restaurant is perfect for a date night with your special someone. Food was great and service outstanding.

Tags: Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 30, 2017

The Brothers' certainly know what they're doing! Delicious! Everyone at the table thoroughly enjoyed their dinner.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

This was one of the best meals i have eaten. the fish was cooked to perfection; the bacon mashed potatoes decadent; veg wonderful. My wife has had two of the best pieces of meat she has ever had. Great flavor; great texture (i.e. melt in your mouth). All in all a wonderful place to eat.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 23, 2017

wonderful food & great service!! Corn soup --- hope it is your cook book!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Absolutely love how the sole is prepared! Delicious!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 14, 2017

The food is simple and rich. We had sole and trout, and both dishes came with the same mashed potatoes, carrots and green beans. One notch below fine dining. Service is friendly and efficient. They moved us out fairly quickly since we got there at 8.30. Not a bad option for the area, but somewhat over priced for what it is. It could be a much better restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Both my meal and my husbands were well prepared and the service was excellent

Tags: Kid-friendly, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Excellent service and an amazing steak; best restaurant in Santa Ynez

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 10, 2017

Wonderful restaurant. Brothers is a great find. Highly recommend trying it out.

Tags: Fun, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Service was outstanding, as always. The prime rib never disappoints and the Sole fish was prepared just right. Both dishes had organic carrots and they were cooked to perfection and not mushy. We were at the bar so it was lively and energetic. Love this place!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Organic, People Watching, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 8, 2017

We love this place!!! Food and service are always excellent!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Tuna tartare was great as usual. The prime rib and filet were delicious. Another great night at the Red Barn. Wish they'd do something about the noise.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Our Favorite restaurant with great food. The Salmon was fabulous

Tags: Organic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Happy Hour, Healthy, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Great overall experience. Nick at bar was great and friendly.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Happy Hour, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.