Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.28mi
  4. Distance: 0.37mi
  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.28mi
  4. Distance: 0.37mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.28mi
  4. Distance: 0.37mi
  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.28mi
  4. Distance: 0.37mi

About Brothers Restaurant at Red Barn

The Nichols brothers, Matt & Jeff, grew up in Ames, Iowa where their love of cooking, good food and a sense of family and community was nurtured.

The 2013 opening of their second Santa Barbara Wine Country restaurant, Brothers Restaurant at the Red Barn in Santa Ynez, allows them to offer visitors and locals alike great food, wine and hospitality. The brothers strive to have legendary service, innovative cuisine, and a welcoming and comfortable atmosphere that causes you to return time and again.

As chefs, the brothers continue to experiment with new dishes and cuisine, but always with that “from scratch”, homemade element. Fresh ingredients from local producers, a wine list that showcases the region’s award-winning wines and a comfortable and historically interesting atmosphere that takes you back to the romance of the old west. They want you to feel at home, and experience all the best of Santa Barbara’s Wine Country.

3539 Sagunto Street
Santa Ynez, CA 93460
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:


Lunch: Daily 11:30am-2:30pm

Dinner: Daily 5:00pm-9:00pm

Cross Street:
Edison Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(805) 688-4142

Website:
http://www.brothersredbarn.com/

Executive Chef:
Matt and Jeff Nichols

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Private Room, Wine

Brothers Restaurant at Red Barn Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.7

ambience

4.4

value

4.3

Noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (27)
Neighborhood Gem (25)
Good for Anniversaries (24)
See All
Good for Birthdays (22)
Good for a Date (22)
Special Occasion (21)
Notable Wine List (20)
Casual (19)
Worth the Drive (17)
Local Ingredients (15)
Business Meals (13)
Authentic (13)
Good for Groups (13)
Great for Lunch (13)
Comfort Food (13)
Creative Cuisine (12)
Romantic (11)
Cozy (10)
Bar Seating (9)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Fun (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Healthy (6)
Hot Spot (6)
Disabled Access (5)
People Watching (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Kid-friendly (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Seasonal (4)
Late-night Find (3)
Organic (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Great for Brunch (2)
Great Beer (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Spicy (1)
Tapas (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort by
S
485 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined 6 days ago

Superb. Great food. Great staff. Great atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 6 days ago

Best rib eye EVER. Ask for it during lunch (not on menu).

Tags: Healthy, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 7 days ago

The Trout was excellent. The food and service is always excellent here. Noisy on the inside but we didn't know that you had to specify the outdoor seating while making the reservation. It was still good though. Recommend it.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 8, 2017

I was not impressed with this restaurant. My good was average. The best part of the meal was the mud pie. I would definitely go there for dessert.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 6, 2017

Best end cut ever

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on November 6, 2017

Love this restaurant - just way too noisy. Food is always excellent as is the service. Would go more often if it wasn't so noisy....

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 6, 2017

Our meal and service was fantastic!
I had prime rib that was very tender and my wife had trout that just melted in your mouth. The sorbet for dessert was incredibly tasty (and since it was our anniversary they did not charge us for it) and they put it on a plate that said Happy Anniversary written in chocolate.

All around, the food, the service, the food presentation and the ambiance make this a wonderful place to celebrate.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 31, 2017

Delicious meal in Santa Ynez. Excellent service and lovely atmosphere. Great place to go when in Santa Barbara area. Delighted to have discovered it.

Tags: Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on October 31, 2017

We ate there for the first time for our sons birthday. My son and I had the Prime Rib and my wife had the New Zealand Lamb Chops. It was some of the best food we have ever had. The prime rib was outstanding, and my wife, who loves Lamb, says it was by far the best she has ever had. My son had calamari appetizer and my wife had french onion soup and both were excellent. If you have room for desert, try the Creme Brulee. Its made to perfection.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 31, 2017

Always outstanding food, service and friendly staff. Highly recommend for all occasions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on October 29, 2017

Food always good. Service on the fast side.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on October 29, 2017

Everything was fabulous!!! Very Gluten free friendly!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on October 28, 2017

Top notch service and delicious food. Such a lovely dining experience!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on October 27, 2017

The food was delicious as always and the service was wonderful. They were very attentive without being overbearing.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on October 26, 2017

Love the Red Barn, best in SYV. The best fish and chips anywhere, but only for lunch. However, if you ask nicely, they my special make for you.

Tags: People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 23, 2017

Our experience was outstanding!! The staff were all very pleasant and welcoming!! Our meals were fantastic as usual!! This is definitely one of my husband’s and my favorite restaurants!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on October 22, 2017

First visit and will not be the last! The service was outstanding —very attentive from the server and bus service. Best I have experienced in a long time. Food was amazing —had the special squash soup — so good. Also the tuna tartare and the stuffed chicken! The chicken was moist and very tasty with the goat cheese — and the mashed potatoes —OMG sooo good! Would definitely recommend!

Tags: Fun, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 21, 2017

Amazing food and ambiance. We love this restaurant.

Tags: Romantic, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 19, 2017

We came up from Santa Barbara for lunch with friends. The burgers were excellent, especially the ones with melted Stilton and carmelized onions. They let us substitute salad for the fries if we wanted; those fries were darned good, too. A good wine list of local notables, fairly priced.

Tags: Casual, Disabled Access, Cozy, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Organic, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 18, 2017

The brothers have been a "go to" option wherever they put there culinary skills to work. The Red Barn is no exception. We had lunch and a couple of burgers and they were classic.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Paleo Friendly, Casual, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 17, 2017

Annual Mother/Daughter trip.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 14, 2017

The service and food were great.

I was disappointed that the special request I added to my reservation did not get done. Apparently they either did not receive it or ignored it. Since I cannot confirm that they received it, I cannot fault them for it.

Also, this is not the place to go if you want to have quiet conversation. It is so loud while dining that the wait staff bends done to table level to talk to you so as to avoid having to yell over the ambient noise level.

Tags: Comfort Food, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 12, 2017

Love the food at this place. We had the fried calamari and onions. It was more than enough for two and delicious. Then we shared a tuna tar tar which was great. I would order this every time. Finally we shared a rack of lamb. WOW!! I was cooked perfectly and the potatoes and carrots were wonderful.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 11, 2017

The experience was great overall. The ribeye was nearly perfect. Done very precisely exactly how I ordered. You can tell it was very attended to while cooking but it still had character. Also ordered the salmon which came out great as well. I highly recommend this tuna tartare they have there. The calamari was a no go. Do not do the calamari unless you want to dig through onions to try to find the squid. They also forgot to give me the desert for my girlfriend’s birthday. It was supposed to be a surprise but the server totally forgot.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 11, 2017

Matt, the chef created wonderful entrees for all us (15 diners). Consistently fine food. Great courteous, professional staff. It was especially nice when Chef Matt (one of the brothers) came to the table and greeted everyone. Gave us the opportunity to thank him for the marvelous meal we had. Whenever we are in the Solvang area, we always make it a must to have a meal or two at Brothers at the Red Barn Restaurant. You have to eat their jalapeno corn bread and Spring Rolls.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Authentic, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Great for Brunch, Disabled Access, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Happy Hour, Great for Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 8, 2017

Food was excellent
Service was not exactly with a smile but food made up for it

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Tapas, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
·Dined on October 7, 2017

Consistent, quality is top notch, excellent service, we will be back!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on October 5, 2017

Consistently dependable good food, attentive wait staff, earlier dining hour recommended for lower noise level.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
·Dined on October 5, 2017

Our server, Dianne was upbeat, friendly, professional and Super Efficient!!!
All four meals were Excellent and All in our group were Very Satisfied!!! Five Stars *

Tags: People Watching, Great Beer, Sunday Lunch, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Late-night Find, Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Cozy, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 3, 2017

Solid wine list, great food and great service. A regular stop when we are in the valley!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Cozy, Casual, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 30, 2017

Fabulous Food. Each person ate everything on their plate.

Great job Brothers!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on September 24, 2017

We had a great time, the food was outstanding, my rib-eye was perfect, very moist, and tender. We never felt rushed, our waitress was very thoughtful and timely in her service. I would recommend this to any of my friends. The place was lively, but not loud! We had fun!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on September 17, 2017

What a gem in Santa Ynez. We had eaten the night before at the other Bros. Restaurant, Sides and Hardware. Much proffered Red Barn, but their hamburger was outstanding. Pork shop over bacon mashed with applesauce on top with green beans and baby carrots. Yum!!!!!! Wife had the roasted chicken which was fabulous as well.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on September 15, 2017

Excellent all around. We had several meals at the Red Barn.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 12, 2017

Great way to end the day after wine tasting. Good steak and fish choices. Excellent quality. Extensive wine list. One of the best restaurants in the area.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 10, 2017

I'm glad we got there @ 6:45 PM.. The place was jammed inside. A bit noisy for us. Glad there was room outside were it was much quieter and we could talk with out yelling @ each other.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Casual, Business Meals, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on September 10, 2017

The food was great, but we were on the enclosed patio and it was a bit noisy and the lighting was so low that it was hard to see the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on September 4, 2017

As always the food was amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 2, 2017

Although the restaurant lost power near the end of our meal, the staff acted professionally and efficiently. The food was outstanding and we enjoyed it immensely. The loss of power caused the restaurant to heat up and get smoky, but just as we left it looked like the power came back on. We will definitely come back.

Tags: Seasonal, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 2, 2017

We always have a great meal and great service. This happened to be my husbands birthday and once I told the server I did not have to mention it again. This was his special day and having it at the Brothers Red Barn was a real treat! We will certainly be back.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.