Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.28mi
  4. Distance: 0.37mi
  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.28mi
  4. Distance: 0.37mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.28mi
  4. Distance: 0.37mi
  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.28mi
  4. Distance: 0.37mi

About Brothers Restaurant at Red Barn

The Nichols brothers, Matt & Jeff, grew up in Ames, Iowa where their love of cooking, good food and a sense of family and community was nurtured.

The 2013 opening of their second Santa Barbara Wine Country restaurant, Brothers Restaurant at the Red Barn in Santa Ynez, allows them to offer visitors and locals alike great food, wine and hospitality. The brothers strive to have legendary service, innovative cuisine, and a welcoming and comfortable atmosphere that causes you to return time and again.

As chefs, the brothers continue to experiment with new dishes and cuisine, but always with that “from scratch”, homemade element. Fresh ingredients from local producers, a wine list that showcases the region’s award-winning wines and a comfortable and historically interesting atmosphere that takes you back to the romance of the old west. They want you to feel at home, and experience all the best of Santa Barbara’s Wine Country.

3539 Sagunto Street
Santa Ynez, CA 93460
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:


Lunch: Daily 11:30am-2:30pm

Dinner: Daily 5:00pm-9:00pm

Cross Street:
Edison Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(805) 688-4142

Website:
http://www.brothersredbarn.com/

Executive Chef:
Matt and Jeff Nichols

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Private Room, Wine

Brothers Restaurant at Red Barn Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.4

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (36)
Worth the Drive (33)
Good for Anniversaries (30)
See All
Fit for Foodies (28)
Good for Birthdays (27)
Good for a Date (27)
Local Ingredients (19)
Casual (15)
Neighborhood Gem (15)
Cozy (15)
Open Kitchen (14)
Comfort Food (14)
Creative Cuisine (14)
Good for Groups (14)
Romantic (13)
Notable Wine List (13)
Fireplace (12)
Great for Lunch (11)
Fun (10)
Bar Seating (8)
Historic (8)
Authentic (7)
Family Style (6)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Healthy (5)
Great for Brunch (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Business Meals (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Tasting Menu (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Seasonal (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Happy Hour (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Tapas (2)
Late-night Find (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
People Watching (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Organic (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Sort By:
S
394 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 4 days ago

As always our meal at Brother's was sensational. Tried a couple of new items on their menu and loved them both. Our server was a delight. Jeff was the chef the night we were there and he did his usual fantastic job.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Casual, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 4 days ago

I have been wanting to try the Red Barn for a while now. The different types of bread/rolls were so tasty. One I think was a corn bread with some peppers, another a small biscuit that had some cheese in it and a couple of others that were absolutely delicious. I could make a meal of bread and salad. I ordered the trout dinner. It was awesome. Loved that the mashed potatoes were shaped like a fish. Our group shared the mud pie for dessert. So fabulous. I would defintely recommend this restaurant. I will be back! I also love their other restaurant, Sides. Both are a must on your travel schedule to the Santa Ynez, Los Olivos, Solvang area.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Fine steak and prime rib, served by warm and friendly staff. Starter portion of Chinese chicken salad was wonderful, and enough for 2 or even 3.

Tags: Hot Spot, Fun, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Always terrific. We're regulars for both lunch and dinner. Couldn't give this place a higher rating.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Wonderful spot - just a bit too loud that evening to hold a conversation. That won't deter us from coming back though, just bear with it.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on May 13, 2017

First impression: loud
Food: great, but pricey
Service: excellent, but our silverware wasn't complete as we sat down, tsk, one fork?
Get the pear salad, you could share! Also, bring your own bottle of wine. Great flavor on the ribeye and sirloin. Will be back.

Tags: Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 2, 2017

Delicious food great staff

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Excellent restaurant with very efficient servers and great food! Would go again and again.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 30, 2017

The food was so amazing!!!!! The service very attentive!!! Hands down we are coming back!! The steak and lamb was to die for!!! Would love to come back sooner than later but very pricey.

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Cozy, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 30, 2017

We went to The Brothers at the Red Barn for my wife's birthday (I will not say which one other than This one.) It was very pleasant and appropriately classy. Our server was excellent and attentive. I had the smaller cut of Prime Rib and it was absolutely beautiful. My wife, the server and I all commented on how nice the plate looked and how nice the slice of Prime Rib looked. My wife does not eat red meat and even she commented on how nice it looked. I will testify as to how tender and nice it was. It was as soft a butter and was as tender as a babies behind. It was fabulous. The entire evening was very pleasant and an evening to remember. It is a little pricey, but the quality of the food was right there. We have lived in the Santa Ynez Valley for many years and we ate at the old Red Barn. It was very nice and the Brothers have continued the tradition, although they are a bit more pricey. We cannot go as often as we used to, but we have not been dissappointed yet.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 29, 2017

We were visiting the Valley to attend a Midland School Alumni weekend, Class of '51 (no laughs please). The Filet mignon, medium-rare, with Brothers' wine sauce was outstanding and the Mud Pie a great closer for the meal.

Tags: Historic, Fireplace, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 29, 2017

This was a nice place to eat. Both the steak and fish were good choices. Even the burgers looked great! Not overly stuffy atmosphere, or overly casual. Enjoyed a relaxing evening

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 25, 2017

Very good food and service. My wife and I set in the bar area and enjoyed the great service. My wife had soup and a salmon appetizer and both were great! I had the baked salmon entre and it was also great! Will definitely return.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on April 25, 2017

Dinner was excellent! We go here every time we visit Santa Ynez!

Tags: Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 23, 2017

We were there for my wife's birthday. We shared a salad which they split for us. Very generous on the parmesan cheese. Tasty dressing. She had the prime rib and I had a filet. Both were cooked perfectly with great flavor. Save room for the mud pie. Outstanding. Thanks guys.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Our favorite go to place when we are in town. Salmon is worth the 150 mile drive and we were celebrating anniversary. Hubby had pork chop and it was perfect.....Love this place...

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Having grown up on a cattle ranch, I had the opportunity to enjoy some of the best steaks and meat. I also never skimp on costs when purchasing a steak to bbq at home, my theory if your going to splurge...splurge all the way! The Brothers Restaurant had "hands down" the best filet steak I have ever ate. Through out my 55 years I've been very fortunate to enjoy some of the best restaurants, and The Brothers absolutely nails a steak!!! So please if you want a great steak this is your place!

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on April 17, 2017

Great food....a little expensive ....but worth it. Wait staff very friendly, attentive and competent. Decent bar with local atmosphere. All in all, one of our favorite places to eat in Santa Ynez....forever. Now the bad part: it can be SO noisy as to ruin the dining experience. Some folks seated at a table next to us, sat there 5 minutes.....found the noise over-the-top too loud, got up and left!!!! We had to shout across the table to be heard. Really ruined a great meal for all of us.
Since their remodel, the changes in acoustics have been devastating. As much as I like the food, makes me think twice about going there.......and we have been going there for 40+ years under 3 different owners!!!!
Matt and Jeff.....what can be done to quiet down your wonderful restaurant???? Help!!!!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food, Historic, Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Authentic, Bar Seating, Casual, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value3

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on April 17, 2017

The food was delicious! The wait staff was very knowledgeable and accommodating. The noise level was a little more than comfortable for conversation, however. I ordered the salmon, which was every bit as good as I had expected. Two in our party shared a filet, which was like butter, and my husband ordered the sirloin, which he said was great - a little more cooked than he would have liked, however. The desserts were scrumptious. Bananas Foster, Mud Pie and Graham Cracker Ice Cream. We'll be back, for sure.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 16, 2017

The food and service were wonderful. We arrived at 5:30 and it was very quiet. Left at 7:30 and the restaurant was a vibrant.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 15, 2017

We had been to the sister restaurant in downtown Los Olivos and thought we'd give this a go for my husband's birthday. When they confirmed our reservations they asked if this was a special occasion and I informed them that it was (I also had put it on the Open table reservation). The food and service was excellent. All the steaks were cooked correctly and the prime rib was devoured by my son. The only thing was no mention was made of our birthday celebration which we found odd. No dessert comped, etc. If you're going to ask if it's a celebration then please try and remember this when we come in. It was only the night before they confirmed.
Other than that we would recommend this restaurant for all that would like a great meal. So far the best in the area!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 14, 2017

We have been to the restaurant on many occasions. Our experience this time was not good. The server was curt. The restaurant was very busy and she seemed totally overwhelmed which is not the customer's fault.

The food was extremely salty and therefore we left most of our dinner. We told the server and she said she would tell the Chef and that was the last mention of it.

We paid our bill but basically left most of our dinner.

We will think twice about going back again.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on April 14, 2017

The brothers always offer good food. Though the meat was over cooked, my wife and I enjoyed the meal as a whole. The menu is ok nothing really to brag about. The service is always impeccable and really the main reason why I like eating here. Both the waitress and the other helpers are on top of everything. the food was overpriced, but the brothers have built a reputation and are cashing in on it now. There are other restaurants in town that are much cheaper and have better food. Still the Red Barn is always a nice place to eat.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Fireplace, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Always excellent...never disappointed in food or service. Made a birthday celebration very special.

Tags: People Watching, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Friendly, efficient staff and amazing food. What more could you want?

Tags: Cozy, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Artichoke soup VERY mediocre...cream with some salt. Romaine salad with chicken ok...just a basic Caesar really. Fried chicken sandwich quite good as was calamari.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Soup of the day, artichoke was an awesome treat, loved it. I also had the ahi appetizer and it was wonderful, as usual.

Tags: Historic, Fun, Great for Lunch, Authentic, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on April 2, 2017

All levels of service, food, atmosphere & menue choices just outstanding. Looking forward to our next visit very soon.

Tags: Late-night Find, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Tasting Menu, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Casual, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 28, 2017

Excellent preparation and presentation of food, smooth service, interesting menu.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 28, 2017

Love this place. Go every time we're in the area of Santa Ynez. Calamari appetizer is the best I've ever had!! Prime rib, lamb chops are excellent choices as well. Never disappoints!!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on March 27, 2017

There were six of us for dinner on a very busy Sunday evening. We were seated immediately (we had reservations) and our waitress immediately came to the table and asked if we wanted to order drinks, besides water. She was very attentive and gracious. The food was outstanding!!!! Four from our party had steaks, I had the sole and another had the bone in veal chop. Everyone devoured their meal!
One of the couples from our party live nearby in Santa Ynez, and that is how we learned of the restaurant (they frequent it) We live in Ojai and I sure wish we had A Brother's Red Barn here!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Waitress was outstanding and food was delicious. Service impeccable!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Unbearably loud. We couldn't have a conversation without shouting. Food was not so terribly delicious that any of the four of us would make an effort to return, although the asparagus soup was terrific.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service5
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 26, 2017

These Brothers have been restauranteers for over twenty years and are as inventive now as they were "back in the day." Love following them around the SYV.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Open Kitchen, Casual, Paleo Friendly, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 20, 2017

We thoroughly enjoyed our experience at Brothers. It was very convenient from our hotel in Solvang. The service was friendly and attentive. All four of us loved our dinners..the petite filet with excellent potatoes and vegetables and the trout with mashed potatoes and veggies. We would definitely return. We sat over by the wine cellar and it was lovely. We also thought the wines were excellent and well priced.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on March 16, 2017

First time visit that came with a strong recommendation. The meal and service was excellent. We dined with a large party and no one had any complaints. Would definitely return and the value for the quality and service are well worth it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 8, 2017

We follow both Brothers restaurants on Facebook, needless to say they more than live up to but exceed the great reviews. We were in the area and went both days for lunch, wow. The only thing we would do differently is go for dinner too. We most definitely will be back.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Outstanding Value, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 6, 2017

Never disappoints. The regular menu and specials are really delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on March 5, 2017

I love this place. The food is always great and fresh. Best porkchop I've ever had. Hands down.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on March 5, 2017

This was our third time to the restaurant and my husband so looked forward to their filet. He did order it medium well but it came tough and well done and we were told that the brothers don't cook the same so that is why it was so well cooked. We were offered a new steak but only after we were almost done with our meals, so we did just adjust. I mention this because had we known before ordering, we may have been more delighted in our meals. Sadly, we did not leave with that yummy feeling and the desire to come back and pay the price. The food is very good and I am sure we will return.

Tags: Happy Hour, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.