About Brothers Restaurant at Red Barn

3539 Sagunto Street
Santa Ynez, CA 93460
View Larger Map

The Nichols brothers, Matt & Jeff, grew up in Ames, Iowa where their love of cooking, good food and a sense of family and community was nurtured.

The 2013 opening of their second Santa Barbara Wine Country restaurant, Brothers Restaurant at the Red Barn in Santa Ynez, allows them to offer visitors and locals alike great food, wine and hospitality. The brothers strive to have legendary service, innovative cuisine, and a welcoming and comfortable atmosphere that causes you to return time and again.

As chefs, the brothers continue to experiment with new dishes and cuisine, but always with that “from scratch”, homemade element. Fresh ingredients from local producers, a wine list that showcases the region’s award-winning wines and a comfortable and historically interesting atmosphere that takes you back to the romance of the old west. They want you to feel at home, and experience all the best of Santa Barbara’s Wine Country.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:


Lunch: Daily 11:30am-2:30pm

Dinner: Daily 5:00pm-9:00pm

Cross Street:
Edison Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(805) 688-4142

Website:
http://www.brothersredbarn.com/

Executive Chef:
Matt and Jeff Nichols

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Private Room, Wine

Brothers Restaurant at Red Barn Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.3

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

99% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Food
California Central Coast
American
California Central Coast
Best Overall
Santa Ynez Valley
8 More
Best Food
Santa Ynez Valley
Best Service
Santa Ynez Valley
Best Ambiance
Santa Ynez Valley
Best Value
Santa Ynez Valley
Neighborhood Gem
Santa Ynez Valley
Notable Wine List
Santa Ynez Valley
Special Occasion
Santa Ynez Valley
Most Booked
Santa Ynez Valley
Best Restaurants in Santa Ynez Valley ›

Neighborhood Gem (39)
Special Occasion (35)
Fit for Foodies (33)
See All
Notable Wine List (23)
Good for Groups (17)
Great for Lunch (14)
Great for Outdoor Dining (12)
Romantic (11)
Kid-friendly (9)
Good for a Date (9)
Casual (6)
Local Ingredients (6)
Open Kitchen (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Cozy (4)
Authentic (4)
Worth the Drive (3)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Fun (3)
Historic (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Business Meals (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Organic (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Private Room (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Fireplace (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Sort By:
Newest
297 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

GREAT RESTAURANT, AND VERY GOOD FOOD. W ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined 6 days ago

GREAT RESTAURANT, AND VERY GOOD FOOD. WE ENJOY GOING TO THE RESTAURANT WHRN WE ARE IN SANTA INEZ.

Tags: Good for Groups, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Always enjoy the friendly yet profession ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on September 22, 2016

Always enjoy the friendly yet professional service. The food is consistently excellent. We went before a concert and they took extra care to see that we were served quickly.

Tags: Fireplace, Molecular Gastronomy, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Open Kitchen, Good for a Date, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

While just on our Santa Barbara area win ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 20, 2016

While just on our Santa Barbara area wine tour. A friend recommended see new wineries & "Brother's" to us. The wineries were good but Brother's was GREAT. One of the BEST prime ribs we ever had. When will be back when we're out for our next wine tour.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Love it here...food great...keeps the ho ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Love it here...food great...keeps the homey feel of old red barn!

Tags: Authentic, Fun, Cozy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Restaurant was suggested by manager of S ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

Restaurant was suggested by manager of Santa Ynez Inn and we were not disappointed. 3 ribeyes were ordered in our group plus 1 prime rib. All cooked to order and delicious. Side of parmasean potatoes were crispy on top and moist in middle...very tasty. Portion wasn't so much that we couldn't finish it all - it was all enough to satisfy.

Would definitely return.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly, Happy Hour, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Open Kitchen, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I was absolutely impressed with the qual ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

I was absolutely impressed with the quality of the food and portions. For anyone in the Solvang area who is looking for a great place to eat I would highly recommend this restaurant. I just really can't say enough

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This is one of the best restaurants we h ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

This is one of the best restaurants we have been to on the central Coast. deft nicely will be returning . The food and staff are both excellent.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great experience overall, interior was a ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Great experience overall, interior was a nice surprise -- tables well spaced, and comfortable, service was attentive, not rushed, local wines, food was the highlight. Had the Prime Rib and Veal Chop, split a Caesar Salad -- all were excellent. I would definitely return next time I am in the Santa Ynez valley area.

Tags: Casual, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

JC is the best. A great place to have fa ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

JC is the best. A great place to have fantastic local wine, awesome steaks, scalloped potatoes and to watch football. I can't wait to go back.

Tags: Happy Hour, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Great prime rib. Excellent service. Good ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Great prime rib. Excellent service. Good wine list.

Tags: Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Red Barn never disappoints. My pork chop ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

Red Barn never disappoints. My pork chop was delicious and my wife said her prime rib was incredible. Cocktails were excellent. Service was very good on a pretty busy night. Thanks Red Barn! We'll be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Simply outstanding. Well worth the driv ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

Simply outstanding. Well worth the drive from LA!

Tags: Modern Decor, Private Room, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great prime rib. Nice atmosphere and goo ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Great prime rib. Nice atmosphere and good wait staff. I recommend this restaurant for dinner if you are in the Santa Ynez valley.

Tags: Historic, Cozy, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food,great service , great locatio ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

Great food,great service , great location and the mashed potatoes are amazing.

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had been there before the change of o ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

We had been there before the change of ownership and liked it better as the red barn the food and choices were better more of a family feel this time the food was ok steak to raw and for the price not a great value. We were excited to go and felt a little letdown when leaving.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

Everything was wonderful. Grew up in th ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

Everything was wonderful. Grew up in the area, and the Red Barn was my families favorite place for dinner. Came back recently to the area and decided to eat at the Red Barn again even though I knew the restaurant had new owners since I was a kid. Have to say the food and service were every bit as good as when I lived in the area.

Thank you new owners (at least new to me) for keeping up the fantastic quality.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great dinning experience, love the open ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

Great dinning experience, love the open kitchen and extensive local wine lists!

Tags: Good for Groups, Open Kitchen, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had difficulty when we arrived with C ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

We had difficulty when we arrived with Chelsea the hostess. but the manger quickly intervened and we had a delightful evening of dining.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, great service, kind of noisy ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Great food, great service, kind of noisy, had to ask to be moved around the corner to be able to hear my wife.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

The food was amazing. The prime filet an ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

The food was amazing. The prime filet and prime rib were perfect. The ambiance is great for a date night or special occasion.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We had and excellent meal and wonderful ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

We had and excellent meal and wonderful evening. We have followed the Brothers from various locations in the Solvang, Los Olives, Santa Ynez area for years and are never disappointed. We will come back again and again.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Overall, I enjoyed it very much, and was ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Overall, I enjoyed it very much, and was happy with the choice; it was a bit noisy -- but that was due to a single, rather large table of old friends who hadn't seen one another for a while. The cuisine was complicated enough to be fun with the flavors were clear, and the amounts appropriate.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent prime rib if that is what you ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

Excellent prime rib if that is what you like you are in luck!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Alway try to make it a point to go to Br ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Alway try to make it a point to go to Brothers when we're in the Solvang area and it never disappoints. The calamari appetizer, the lamb and the prime rib are EXCELLENT!!! Highly recommend.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding food, great service and reas ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Outstanding food, great service and reasonable cost for up scale dining. Best prime rib we ever had. Will make it a point to go back.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome as usual!

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Awesome as usual!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We enjoyed our meal at Brothers, as we a ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

We enjoyed our meal at Brothers, as we always did back when they were at Mattei's Tavern. The familiarity of the menu was comforting but then it also had a bit of a tired feel when I thought about it later that evening. Maybe that's why it's taken us so long to come back? The food was very good, though. Would've loved to have found more summertime vegetables, like zucchini, in with the brown rice that was served with the salmon, instead of such an abundance of carrots.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Favorite SYV eatery. The Brothers Jeff a ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Favorite SYV eatery. The Brothers Jeff and Matt never disappoint ! To me THIS is the best place to get the steak you always wanted!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The creamed corn soup was delicious, the ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

The creamed corn soup was delicious, the tuna tartar was average and so were the vegetables that came with the 14oz ribeye steak my husband and I shared. The steak however was over cooked. We asked for medium rare, they brought out well done. Also the entire meal was swimming in butter. When a good steak is cooked correctly there is no need for butter and certainly never as much as was on the plate. I've had better steaks off my own grill. My expectations were high based on previous dining experiences I had when the brothers were cooking at Matties in Los Olivos. I couldn't wait for my husband to experience it as well. Unfortunately we were both disappointed. We thought about sending the steak back but since we hadn't eaten since the morning and had a concert to go to right after dinner, we ate our meal and went on our way.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

Great food. Very attentive staff. First ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Great food. Very attentive staff. First time there, will definitely go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was delicious. The prime rib wa ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

The food was delicious. The prime rib was excellent. Ambiance was nice. Service was good.

The restaurant came through with the birthday request I made on your website.

Overall, a great dining experience!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The food is spectacular....large portion ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

The food is spectacular....large portions on salads. Wine list is extensive. Service is impeccable ...very patient, not rushed.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great Service and food. A very special ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Great Service and food. A very special place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

This is an awesome restaurant with aweso ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

This is an awesome restaurant with awesome food and great service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Had a very good meal at the Red Barn. T ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Had a very good meal at the Red Barn. The service was great, our waitress was very attentive. Food was well prepared, several steps above the usual steak place. Menu has a nice selection of food is not as adventuresome as Sides in Los Olivos but not just the plain steak and chicken that most steak restaurants offer and the portions are very nice size. It is one of our go to places for lunch and will now be one for dinner.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Brothers Restaurant at Red Barn serves u ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Brothers Restaurant at Red Barn serves upscale comfort food and is delicious. The service was great along with the wine! Great place and saw many birthdays being celebrated!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Enjoyed especially the pork chop. All go ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Enjoyed especially the pork chop. All good was very fresh, nicely prepared and well presented. You can see the kitchen at work

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Excellent food, good service, friendly s ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Excellent food, good service, friendly servers and staff. Worth the price.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Staff was very good, obviously well trai ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Staff was very good, obviously well trained and organized. Prime Rib dinner was very very good. Martini was perfect.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The gents who own this restaurant have b ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

The gents who own this restaurant have been around in the Santa Ynez/Solvang/Los Olivos for many years... I remember dining when they had only about eight tables at the Storybook Inn in Solvang. Thanks guys for great food, fine service, and reasonable prices.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.