Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.28mi
  4. Distance: 0.37mi
  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.28mi
  4. Distance: 0.37mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.28mi
  4. Distance: 0.37mi
  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.28mi
  4. Distance: 0.37mi

About Brothers Restaurant at Red Barn

The Nichols brothers, Matt & Jeff, grew up in Ames, Iowa where their love of cooking, good food and a sense of family and community was nurtured.

The 2013 opening of their second Santa Barbara Wine Country restaurant, Brothers Restaurant at the Red Barn in Santa Ynez, allows them to offer visitors and locals alike great food, wine and hospitality. The brothers strive to have legendary service, innovative cuisine, and a welcoming and comfortable atmosphere that causes you to return time and again.

As chefs, the brothers continue to experiment with new dishes and cuisine, but always with that “from scratch”, homemade element. Fresh ingredients from local producers, a wine list that showcases the region’s award-winning wines and a comfortable and historically interesting atmosphere that takes you back to the romance of the old west. They want you to feel at home, and experience all the best of Santa Barbara’s Wine Country.

3539 Sagunto Street
Santa Ynez, CA 93460
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:


Lunch: Daily 11:30am-2:30pm

Dinner: Daily 5:00pm-9:00pm

Cross Street:
Edison Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(805) 688-4142

Website:
http://www.brothersredbarn.com/

Executive Chef:
Matt and Jeff Nichols

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Private Room, Wine

Brothers Restaurant at Red Barn Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.3

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (26)
Worth the Drive (19)
Good for Anniversaries (18)
See All
Good for a Date (16)
Open Kitchen (12)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Fit for Foodies (11)
Local Ingredients (10)
Romantic (9)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Fireplace (8)
Cozy (8)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Casual (6)
Family Style (6)
Good for Groups (5)
Historic (5)
Fun (5)
Notable Wine List (5)
Comfort Food (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Happy Hour (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Healthy (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Business Meals (2)
Tapas (2)
Seasonal (2)
Great Beer (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Authentic (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
361 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 2 days ago

Waitress was outstanding and food was delicious. Service impeccable!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 2 days ago

Unbearably loud. We couldn't have a conversation without shouting. Food was not so terribly delicious that any of the four of us would make an effort to return, although the asparagus soup was terrific.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service5
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 20, 2017

We thoroughly enjoyed our experience at Brothers. It was very convenient from our hotel in Solvang. The service was friendly and attentive. All four of us loved our dinners..the petite filet with excellent potatoes and vegetables and the trout with mashed potatoes and veggies. We would definitely return. We sat over by the wine cellar and it was lovely. We also thought the wines were excellent and well priced.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on March 16, 2017

First time visit that came with a strong recommendation. The meal and service was excellent. We dined with a large party and no one had any complaints. Would definitely return and the value for the quality and service are well worth it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 8, 2017

We follow both Brothers restaurants on Facebook, needless to say they more than live up to but exceed the great reviews. We were in the area and went both days for lunch, wow. The only thing we would do differently is go for dinner too. We most definitely will be back.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Outstanding Value, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 6, 2017

Never disappoints. The regular menu and specials are really delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on March 5, 2017

I love this place. The food is always great and fresh. Best porkchop I've ever had. Hands down.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on March 5, 2017

This was our third time to the restaurant and my husband so looked forward to their filet. He did order it medium well but it came tough and well done and we were told that the brothers don't cook the same so that is why it was so well cooked. We were offered a new steak but only after we were almost done with our meals, so we did just adjust. I mention this because had we known before ordering, we may have been more delighted in our meals. Sadly, we did not leave with that yummy feeling and the desire to come back and pay the price. The food is very good and I am sure we will return.

Tags: Happy Hour, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Awesome place to dine, the food and service is second to none.

Tags: Family Style, Fireplace, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 19, 2017

My husband really liked their burger. It was juicy and moist and had a great grilled smokiness. It gets a 5. I gave it a 3 for food because the French dip was just okay. The au jus wasn't too flavorful and the bread was soft, not crusty French bread. Great service.

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Thanks to these two gents and their staff for their wonderful food and service!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 16, 2017

As usual the food was superb and the service excellent!

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Consistently delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 14, 2017

The Brothers never disappoint. They always get it just right with great service, incredible appetizers, homemade breads for the table and perfectly cooked and served hot entree's, then amazing deserts.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Open Kitchen, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tulsa)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Great food and service for a family birthday celebration. Creme Brûlée with a candle was fantastic.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Excellent steaks pared with great sides. Nice dining experience. Great local wine list. A definite must try when wine tasting in Santa ynez.

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 11, 2017

We have been coming to Brother's for years and before that Mattie's. We have always rated our experience "AMAZING" ! This time not so much. We had to return one of our meals because the meat was tough, our plates were not cleared in a timeful manner, our waitress un- attentive, and very distracted by "someone" in the bar. I actually think the bus girls could have done a better job. Anyway, it was just one time after all of our wonderful experiences there. Hopefully, this was just a one time experience and we hope our trust and loyalty will be restored.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Never disappoints. The food was great as always. Everyone had a different entree and everyone was happy!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Food was delicious and service was on point. There was a 40+ top in the private room and never once did our food or service lag. It was the perfect mommy & daddy date night that we desperately needed. We definitely will be back!

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual, Open Kitchen, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Their prime rib was the best I've ever had! The clam chowder was filled with clams and the service was great. The perfect place to take your spouse for your anniversary.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Fireplace, Good for a Date, Open Kitchen, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Tonight all four of us had something different - salmon, prime rib, trout and the petrale sole special. The food was hot, appetizing and delicious. No complaints. But then, we've never had a bad meal here. Service is also excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 24, 2017

Hadn't been here in a while, but have to say, the food is consistently good, the staff very welcoming and pleasant and the dessert outstanding! Would recommend - Probably the nicest restaurant in the SY Valley.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Open Kitchen, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 21, 2017

The wife had the filet. It came with a full-bodied wine sauce reduction that had an abundant blue cheese nose. The potatoes au gratin was delicious and rich. The vegetables were al dente and what you would expect for finer dining. I had the stuffed chicken breast and it was equally delicious. We had a starter of a chanterelle mushroom salad that was fresh, and wonderful. The pear tart for dessert was not quite as good as was to be expected. I thought the berry caramel did not pair well (excuse the pun) with the pear tart and the crust was quite hard.

Overall though we will be going back soon.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Fireplace, Historic, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 18, 2017

Lovely meal—good food, good wine, excellent service. Nothing pretentious at all, but beautifully prepared.

Tags: Family Style, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 15, 2017

The service and food = EXCELLENT!! Very friendly,polite and courteous staff. Great family get together before a great day of wine tasting! 😊

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 15, 2017

We visit Santa Ynez quiet often and every time we do, we dine at Brothers Restaurant. The food is always delicious, good selection of wines and pleasant service staff

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Really good food, excellent service. Full bar, and small but good wine selection. My martini was well prepared, as I ordered, and a generous pour. My rib roast was excellent and my wife's prime filet with Stilton cheese sauce was wonderful. Appreciated that entree menu items included potatoes (different preparations) and vegetables (that were delicious and well prepared). Not inexpensive, but I thought the overall quality and dining experience was well worth it.

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Open Kitchen, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Jim Carricaburu is what makes the place! Real gem, needs a big raise!

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 10, 2017

Terri and all staff are grand!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Great food Great service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Wonderful experience, excellent food, best cheese cake I have ever had. The veal chop was superb, the clam chowder was great and the trout was prepared perfect. The staff was very friendly and had very good knowledge of the menu, also was very helpful in choosing good wine perings for both dishes. Worth the hour and a half drive and we will definitely do it again soon.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Open Kitchen, Notable Wine List, Fireplace, Special Occasion, Historic, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Always delicious!! The food was cooked to perfection.
Thank you

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 31, 2016

You couldn't have a better Server than Diane. She has served us on our last three visits. It doesn't get any better than her.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 30, 2016

I messed up the reservation on a very busy night, and they still managed to fit us in after a short wait. And it was a night that accommodating us wasn't required or necessary, but the Red Barn did anyway. Loved the service, loved the meal, loved the experience! Wonderful night!
Thank you so much. I recommend the ribeye and the chocolate pecan pie. Fantastic!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on December 21, 2016

We took our out of town guests for dinner and they enjoyed themselves.
The food was good, the service was great, our waitress was perfect. We all had a wonderful time!! Will be back.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on December 19, 2016

Wonderful salmon! Even though they are known for their prime rib and steak, the seafood entrées were great. My husband had the fillet of sole and I had salmon. Both were excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on December 17, 2016

As my stars indicate the service and food were perfect. The decor is very nice. Nothing to not like about the place.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on December 11, 2016

The food was very good the service was excellent however this was one of the noisiest loudest restaurants I've ever been in. Some people would call it energetic I just call it loud. My husband was sitting next to me and most of our conversation we couldn't even hear each other.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Always enjoy the menu. Excellent food and service.
Beautiful presentation....

Tags: Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Healthy, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 28, 2016

We were celebrating my 61st Birthday ...my husband, my son and daughter and their spouses.. The food was delicious, the venue was cozy and the service was exceptional. I highly recommend the Red Barn for Dinner & drinks!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.