About Brothers Restaurant at Red Barn

3539 Sagunto Street
Santa Ynez, CA 93460
View Larger Map

The Nichols brothers, Matt & Jeff, grew up in Ames, Iowa where their love of cooking, good food and a sense of family and community was nurtured.

The 2013 opening of their second Santa Barbara Wine Country restaurant, Brothers Restaurant at the Red Barn in Santa Ynez, allows them to offer visitors and locals alike great food, wine and hospitality. The brothers strive to have legendary service, innovative cuisine, and a welcoming and comfortable atmosphere that causes you to return time and again.

As chefs, the brothers continue to experiment with new dishes and cuisine, but always with that “from scratch”, homemade element. Fresh ingredients from local producers, a wine list that showcases the region’s award-winning wines and a comfortable and historically interesting atmosphere that takes you back to the romance of the old west. They want you to feel at home, and experience all the best of Santa Barbara’s Wine Country.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:


Lunch: Daily 11:30am-2:30pm

Dinner: Daily 5:00pm-9:00pm

Cross Street:
Edison Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(805) 688-4142

Website:
http://www.brothersredbarn.com/

Executive Chef:
Matt and Jeff Nichols

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Wine

Brothers Restaurant at Red Barn Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.2

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
California Central Coast
American
California Central Coast
Best Overall
Santa Ynez Valley
9 More
Best Food
Santa Ynez Valley
Best Service
Santa Ynez Valley
Best Ambiance
Santa Ynez Valley
Best Value
Santa Ynez Valley
Fit for Foodies
Santa Ynez Valley
Neighborhood Gem
Santa Ynez Valley
Notable Wine List
Santa Ynez Valley
Special Occasion
Santa Ynez Valley
Most Booked
Santa Ynez Valley
Best Restaurants in Santa Ynez Valley ›

fit for foodies (48)
special occasion (39)
neighborhood gem (39)
See All
notable wine list (31)
great for lunch (16)
good for groups (15)
romantic (11)
great for outdoor dining (11)
kid-friendly (9)
vibrant bar scene (7)
hot spot (6)
great for brunch (2)
late-night find (1)
Sort By:
Newest
269 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The creamed corn soup was delicious, the ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined 3 days ago

The creamed corn soup was delicious, the tuna tartar was average and so were the vegetables that came with the 14oz ribeye steak my husband and I shared. The steak however was over cooked. We asked for medium rare, they brought out well done. Also the entire meal was swimming in butter. When a good steak is cooked correctly there is no need for butter and certainly never as much as was on the plate. I've had better steaks off my own grill. My expectations were high based on previous dining experiences I had when the brothers were cooking at Matties in Los Olivos. I couldn't wait for my husband to experience it as well. Unfortunately we were both disappointed. We thought about sending the steak back but since we hadn't eaten since the morning and had a concert to go to right after dinner, we ate our meal and went on our way.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

Great food. Very attentive staff. First ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined 4 days ago

Great food. Very attentive staff. First time there, will definitely go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was delicious. The prime rib wa ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined 5 days ago

The food was delicious. The prime rib was excellent. Ambiance was nice. Service was good.

The restaurant came through with the birthday request I made on your website.

Overall, a great dining experience!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The food is spectacular....large portion ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

The food is spectacular....large portions on salads. Wine list is extensive. Service is impeccable ...very patient, not rushed.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great Service and food. A very special ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Great Service and food. A very special place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

This is an awesome restaurant with aweso ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

This is an awesome restaurant with awesome food and great service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Had a very good meal at the Red Barn. T ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Had a very good meal at the Red Barn. The service was great, our waitress was very attentive. Food was well prepared, several steps above the usual steak place. Menu has a nice selection of food is not as adventuresome as Sides in Los Olivos but not just the plain steak and chicken that most steak restaurants offer and the portions are very nice size. It is one of our go to places for lunch and will now be one for dinner.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Brothers Restaurant at Red Barn serves u ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Brothers Restaurant at Red Barn serves upscale comfort food and is delicious. The service was great along with the wine! Great place and saw many birthdays being celebrated!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Enjoyed especially the pork chop. All go ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Enjoyed especially the pork chop. All good was very fresh, nicely prepared and well presented. You can see the kitchen at work

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Excellent food, good service, friendly s ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Excellent food, good service, friendly servers and staff. Worth the price.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Staff was very good, obviously well trai ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Staff was very good, obviously well trained and organized. Prime Rib dinner was very very good. Martini was perfect.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The gents who own this restaurant have b ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

The gents who own this restaurant have been around in the Santa Ynez/Solvang/Los Olivos for many years... I remember dining when they had only about eight tables at the Storybook Inn in Solvang. Thanks guys for great food, fine service, and reasonable prices.

Tags: great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Excellent steak, delicious potato side & ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Excellent steak, delicious potato side & a perfect salad. Everything was prepared perfectly & the flavors were wonderful.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our visit was a special dinner while on ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Our visit was a special dinner while on vacation. We arrived at 6 and the restaurant was active but not crowded or too busy. We were seated immediately and offered the wine list. Our waitress was knowledgeable abut the differences in wines and helped with our selections. We had small filets grilled to our specifications and topped with a delicious sauce. The vegetables were tasty and not overcooked, which often is the case in too many restaurants. The potato dish was a rectangular serving with layers of sliced potatoes, but not juicy like scalloped potatoes, and topped with cheese and perhaps breadcrumbs and special seasoning. One of the best potato dishes I have ever devoured. This will remain on our best of class list as long as they keep doing this.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

Drove up for the weekend and had dinner ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Drove up for the weekend and had dinner . The fish special and prime rib were nicely prepared. Service was good, knowledgeable about the menu, and friendly. The only negative is the noise, which was very loud.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

We love this restaurant! We followed Th ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

We love this restaurant! We followed The Brothers from Los Olivos and were so happy when we discovered they had reopened in Santa Ynez. We ate here on a Saturday night. Be sure to make reservations. We got right in and had a great table where you could see the chefs in the front kitchen prepping plates, etc. We had the smoked salmon appetizer which was awesome, I had the Filet and my husband had the prime rib. Everything was cooked just as we'd ordered, it was hot and the service was great. The carmelized onion and potato gratin was really good. I'm not a fan of the stilton/port sauce served with my steak, but ordered it on the side and I would recommend that if you're not sure. The steak needed no enhancement! The bread plate delivered with our wine was also yummy - many choices, all of which were good. I highly recommend this restaurant, and hope to try the new one in Los Olivos as well.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Red Barn is fantastic..Prime rib was sup ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Red Barn is fantastic..Prime rib was supurb...mashed potatos and fresh vegetables...love this place..Husband had trout which was phenomenal...highly recommend this restaurant!!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Met friends from San Diego here after th ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Met friends from San Diego here after their train ride. They loved it! Excellent quality of food and met my gluten free request.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We come to the Solvang area every few ye ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

We come to the Solvang area every few years and look forward to a special dinner at the Red Barn. We were worried when we found out it was under new management and disappointed at the new sterile look. But one bite into our dinner we knew all was well--the steak melted in our mouth and the accompanying vegetables were prepared to perfection. We look forward to a return to the Red Barn in the future.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value5

We were visiting in Solvang and came her ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

We were visiting in Solvang and came here for our wedding anniversary dinner. The service was very good from the moment we arrived. Our shared salmon dish was very good (though I am not a fish fan). We had a marvelous dessert and were surprised to see that the plate it was served on was inscribed in chocolate with "Happy 52nd Anniversary". A touch we appreciated. Even more so because it turned out to be complimentary. An overall very pleasant experience.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Best Dinner can't stop thinking about it ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Best Dinner can't stop thinking about it. Our steak and salmon was fabulous

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Brothers Restaurant knows how to put tog ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Brothers Restaurant knows how to put together nice restaurant experiences. The food, as it is at Sides, was not fancy, just nicely prepared and well served by a very pleasant server. Definitely a "go back to" experience for our next trip to the SYV.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Most excellent hidden gem! If you're vis ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Most excellent hidden gem! If you're visiting Solvang then this is a must!

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Brothers never fail to please, everytime.

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

A birthday party for an 87 year old guy, and he ate everything, including his Mud pie. Have not seem him this pleased with the food at a restaurant in a long time. Nice to be able to have everyone at the table find somethey like.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service is always perfect. The food ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on June 6, 2016

The service is always perfect. The food was delicious, as was the dessert!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

No birthday acknowledgement

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

Told server we were celebrating a birthday, ordered dessert but no candle or no mention- disappointed

Tags: notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value1

First time here after reopening as Broth ...

vip
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

First time here after reopening as Brothers. The place looked great, the food was excellent, service great and overall professionally run. We'll be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Went for lunch when they first opened an ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on May 24, 2016

Went for lunch when they first opened and was underwhelmed with the run-of-the-mill food. We decided to give it another try (2 years later) since I had heard that the lunch chef is different from the dinner chef. What a difference! Food was excellent. Our steaks (even the top sirloin!) were tender, flavorful, cooked to perfection. The creme brulee was amazing, every dish made from scratch and expertly prepared. Also, it was my teenage son's birthday and they very thoughtfully brought him out a complimentary mud pie to celebrate. Will definitely go back (for dinner :)

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Visited Brothers during our anniversary ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

Visited Brothers during our anniversary weekend. We heard good things and the Restaurant didn't disappoint. Wife had the Prime Rib and I had the Rib Eye. It was fantastic. The mashed potatoes and green beans were a nice side. I cant recall the bottle of wine that we shared, but it was really a nice experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great steak. Outstanding waitress. Reaso ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 9, 2016

Great steak. Outstanding waitress. Reasonable corkage fee.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food is very rich but not very tasty ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 9, 2016

The food is very rich but not very tasty. If the ingredients are fresh, it was impossible to tell because of all the butter and oil smothering everything.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

Excellent as usual!

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

The food is always excellent. They take a fried chicken sandwich and fries to a new level.

Highly recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service ruined by one waitress

 
 (San Joaquin)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

We came back to Red Barn to celebrate our daughter' birthday because we had very good experience with the Tasty food and Excellent service by our friendly waitress, Diane in past trips ( we drove 200+ miles to Red Barn for our birthdays, anniversary, etc. in the last 3 years).

For this birthday dinner last week, the host took us to a dark corner table near the wine cellar, which was not what we reserved on Open Table- Window table to celebrate daughter's birthday. While my wife went to ask the Host to change table at 5:30 PM, the waitress called Terri told our daughter rudely "table can't be changed". When the host and my wife returned to change corner table to Window table, Terri insisted that window table was reserved 1 week ago. My wife told her that we also reserved window table 1 week ago and the host told her 2nd window table was available. She became friendly to us when the host told her that she could keep us (or keep her tips by switching table with Diane).

Although we told Terri the dinner was to celebrate our daughter's birthday, she did not acknowledge it for the whole meal even when presenting the bill to me (also mentioned on Open Table reservation). Normally, waitress Diane would bring us a special dessert plate with candle light and nice note written on the plate to celebrate our special occasion.

Our family special dinner was ruined and we hesitate to go back to Red Barn in our future trips to central coast.

Hope this honest review will help the owners, Matt and Jeff improve their customer service.

PS- The Nosie level in the dining room was very loud by a table of 20 cowboys that night, which forced several customers moved their tables to the Patio.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

Lovely Experience / Great Food / Great Service

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

I took my 91 year old mother and her friend to lunch. We were seated as soon as we arrived and were very respectful helping my mother to her seat. It wasn't too noisy so she was able to hear our conversation. Our wonderful waitress was extremely attentive during our whole meal. My guests enjoyed their meal but enjoyed their Mud Pie even more. Thank you for a relaxing and great dining experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place with excellent food and spec ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on April 4, 2016

Great place with excellent food and spectacular service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Food and Service

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on March 26, 2016

If you are looking for quality food and service this is the place to go.

Very warm and welcoming environment. The server was attentive.

Food was way better than the Hitching Post just minus the Film nostalgic and settings. (we didn't care)

I hope they continue to make everyone feel welcome and continue to serve good food!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Meh... good, but not for a foodie in wine country.

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on March 26, 2016

Meh... good, but not for a foodie in wine country. Old school steak house and fine dining. We wanted the girl and the fig with everything local and it just wasn't what we were expecting.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Excellent Food and great service.

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on March 25, 2016

We have been there several times and never have had a bad experience. The food is high quality and always tasty.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

A Gastronomic Barn Find

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on March 19, 2016

If you live in or are just visiting The Santa Ynez Valley, lunch or dinner at a "Brother's" restaurant is a must on your "To Do" list. My recent dinner at the Brother's Restaurant at the Red Barn was thoroughly enjoyable – from the warm & friendly service by our waitress to the mouth watering entrees of my perfectly prepared and presented grilled pork rib chop and my guest's grilled prime filet. We paired our main courses with a excellent bottle of Firestone Pinot Noir and finished our dinner by sharing a sinfully good slice of Mud Pie.

They say "Life is Good" in The Valley; brother's Matt & Jeff Nichols and their gastronomic skills are certainly part of the reason why.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Worth it!

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on March 13, 2016

At first I thought the prices seemed out of line but...NO! The food was fabulous. I had the chicken, it was ahhhhmaaaazing! To be proper the goat cheese stuff chiken leg and thigh with savory mash potatoes. Enjoyed everything. Thank you...

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.