About Brother Jimmy's BBQ - El San Juan Resort & Casino

6063 Isla Verde Avenue
Carolina, PR 00979
View Larger Map

Put some South in yo' Mouth! at Brother Jimmy's BBQ located in Old San juan.br>
We serve down home cooking with southern hospitality.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Barbecue

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 1:00am, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 2:00am, Sunday: 5:00pm - 1:00am

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(787) 791-1000

Website:
http://www.brotherjimmys.com/

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Delivery, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Takeout, Wheelchair Access

Brother Jimmy's BBQ - El San Juan Resort & Casino Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

2.3

service

3.0

ambience

3.3

value

3.0

noise

Moderate

50% would recommend it to a friend

scenic view (2)
good for groups (1)
late-night find (1)
See All
special occasion (1)
Sort By:
Newest
23 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Cold Food

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

Food was cold, tasted like it was old. After returning meal it came back cold again(all they did was microwave). Sent food back and paid for drinks and went elsewhere for dinner. Prices are way too high for such poor food quality. Wouldn't recommend to anybody.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

The service was terrible. This hotel is ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on March 31, 2016

The service was terrible. This hotel is in the resort, but the resort has zero responsibility over the restaurant. we were twice turned away due to inability to seat our wedding group of 15 - but then we made reservations through Open Table (only apparently they don't use open table). would not recommend. we live in NYC and have a brother jimmys here that is excellent. disappointed in this restaurant in Puerto Rico. all the other restaurants in the resort were great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Food was terrible!

 
 (New England)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

I ordered snapper special that looked good but tasted like it was frozen and made yesterday! It was hard to cut with knife... So rubbery and had nor taste. Strange to find a house special that is so bad.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

Relaxed family place!

 
 (Caribbean)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

This was a great restaurant to go to for my family and friends after being out in the sun on a boat snorkeling all day! We could dress casually and just continue our fun relaxed day. The food was very good. It was typical pub food, burgers, ribs, wings, fries, etc. This was the second time that we visited and ate at Brother Jimmy's while on a trip to Puerto Rico. Both times we went after having a very busy day of excursions. It was just a nice low key, relaxed place to get dinner. Both times we went at night, but I'm sure the view during the day of the ocean and surrounding beach from this 10th floor roof restaurant is beautiful!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value5

It's fine for what it is.

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on January 15, 2016

It's fine for what it is.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

skip this place

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on January 7, 2016

8 people went

7 lousy dinners

Had to send pork and ribs back. Like shoe leather.

I recommended the restaurant after having been there many years ago. Must be different owners now.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

Were we having dinner or were we the dinner?

 
 (New England)
·Dined on November 9, 2015

This is a nice casual spot on the tenth floor of the El San Juan Hotel & Casino. Great views. The staff was very friendly. Food was decent and pricing was competitive especially for the location. HOWEVER, we were eaten alive by mosquitos because the window shutters were open and there are no screens. We ate and ran simply because we couldn't stand being eaten alive and it isn't our idea of enjoyment spraying Off! on ourselves while trying to eat. Really too bad, as we were looking forward to some casual fun.

Tags: good for groups, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

My friend and I visited on a Sunday nigh ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on October 19, 2015

My friend and I visited on a Sunday night. The place was almost empty with the exceptions of a few people watching the Mets game. The service was slowwwwwwww. Food was ok but no comparison to the Brother Jimmy's I'm use to in NYC.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

Over priced

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 27, 2015

My bill totaled $250 for four adults and four little kids aged six and under. I felt paying $13-$14 for a cocktail is too high considering this is the same price for a cocktail if you are dining in the high end steakhouse or Italian restaurant on the same property. I also think $21 for approximately 16 wings is too much. Additionally I was told if I was staying at the hotel I would receive 10% off my bill. I told the waitress I was staying at the hotel and charged the meal to my room and I still did not receive the 10% discount. On a side note the view is awesome and you are out doors so if you enjoy a nice tropical breeze from a roof top this is worth checking out.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Nice view

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on December 28, 2014

Fun, busy on rooftop. Great for groups, TV's everywhere.

Needs more staff

Waiter seemed overworked, did his best though.

Tags: good for groups, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Primesteak

vip
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on November 4, 2014

Great view off the 10th floor at El San Juan hotel. Food was ok (typical) for BBQ and wait staff was very good and friendly.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

Beer!

 
 (Caribbean)
·Dined on September 6, 2014

Sorry but $8 for a bottled beer is WAY too excessive

Tags: great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

The sides of mashed potatoes and beans w ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 25, 2014

The sides of mashed potatoes and beans were cold and the rib combo platter had more fat than meat on it. Waiter service (Alberto) and bartender (Vivian) were great however.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3

vacation stop

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on April 22, 2014

Food was good... A little loud. Waitress spilled sweet potatoes on my wife by accident. Otherwise good experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3

Great rooftop view - Food was okay

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on March 25, 2014

Not a fancy place or even a "you have to try the food here" place, but it was a good sports bar environment in our hotel that had a great view of the beach & the city of San Juan from the rooftop of the hotel. Being outside on the roof was nice. I ordered the special of the day - a dozen wings, rib bites, & a pitcher of beer for $20. The wings were good, they don't sauce them, you dip them in sauces provided or on the table. The sauces on the table were a little sticky, so I avoided them and just used the sauces from the kitchen on my plate. The rib bites were pretty pedestrian and I didn't finish them. I wouldn't get them again. Service was fine and the waiter checked on us periodically.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

poppy

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 14, 2014

The bartenders Eric and Martin are the best......they make you want to come back to the bar,,,,,,,food is good,,,,,,,,,, just a good time and good place to go when in san juan and the esj

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Terrible, just terrible

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 9, 2014

Service was very slow. Food was terrible. The fried food tasted like it was cooked in burnt oil. The kids portions were extremely small. The hamburger was probably frozen.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1

Didn't live up to expectations

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on March 9, 2014

Didn't live up to expectations at all. Good was mediocre at best. Service was poor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1

Restaurant has a great location

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on February 17, 2014

Restaurant has a great location on the roof level of the El San Juan Hotel. The food, however, doesn't match the view. We ordered five dinners and only two were delivered correctly. Two of us ordered the same meal and they came five minutes apart. Many of the items were cold when they arrived at the table. Overall, it was a very disappointing meal.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1

Great sports venue

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on December 29, 2013

Great sports venue for mainlanders on the island. The barbecue was awesome and highly recommend the bucket of tips appetizer. Lots of food on the combo, probably better to stick with the pulled pork platter since that was the table favorite. Drinks were good but expensive even with two for one coupons.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Great for fresh air/ sports/food

 
 (New England)
·Dined on November 29, 2013

Title says it all. Service a little slow. Food was very good but short of great. Lots of Tvs for sports viewing. It is on the roof of the el San Juan hotel so you get great views.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

This restaurant was horrible.

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on October 12, 2013

This restaurant was horrible. Food was inedible.The ribs were tough as nails. The pulled pork sandwhich was all fat ant the burger was like eating a hockey puck.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3

Good value, great views

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 25, 2013

Awesome spot on top of the El San Juan. Food was very good and at very good prices. Hard to beat being able to eat in a semi-outdoor patio overlooking the sunset. Beer was cheap, and the service was excellent.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.