HelpiOS AppAndroid AppWindows Phone AppWindows 8 App

Not available on OpenTable

Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network.
If you like, we’ll notify you by email if this restaurant joins.
Is this your restaurant? Claim this listing

Permanently Closed - Brother Jimmy's BBQ - El San Juan Resort & Casino

3.3
25 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Barbecue
Top Tags:
  • Good for Groups (23)
  • Scenic View (23)
  • Great for Outdoor Dining (13)

Similar Restaurants

About

This restaurant is permanently closed.

Brother Jimmy's BBQ, at the El San Juan Resort & Casino in Puerto Rico, crafts tantalizing barbecue dishes with southern American flair. The creamy and chunky guacamole, prepared tableside and the tender Northern-style rib tips make the perfect starters. Some of Brother Jimmy's BBQ's specialty entrées include the smoked sliced brisket dinner, the southern style St. Louis rib dinner in a Memphis dry rub and the tender pulled chicken dinner in original barbecue sauce, all of which can be accompanied by sides like BBQ baked beans, mac and cheese, fried sweet potatoes and rice and beans. Sandwiches, like the pulled pork wrap with pickles and slaw, the Buffalo-style spicy fried chicken sandwich and Brother Jimmy's Cuban with smoked pork, ham and gruyere cheese, are also incredibly flavorful.

Brother Jimmy's BBQ's signature cocktails, like the fish bowl “swamp water”, are excellent with your barbecue meal.

Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Barbecue
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 1:00am, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 2:00am, Sunday: 5:00pm - 1:00am
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
What 25 People Are SayingWrite a review
Overall ratings and reviews
3.3
  based on all time ratings
3.0
food
3.3
service
3.6
ambience
3.1
value
Noise · Moderate
68% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
vipOpenTable Diner (New York Area)
1.0
Dined on July 29, 2016

The service and food was awful. The hotel is under construction and it seemed that nothing was fresh. Even the soda did not taste right.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (New York Area)
1.0
Dined on June 3, 2016

Food was cold, tasted like it was old. After returning meal it came back cold again(all they did was microwave). Sent food back and paid for drinks and went elsewhere for dinner. Prices are way too high for such poor food quality. Wouldn't recommend to anybody.

Report
Helpful
NCinNYC (Washington DC)
2.0
Dined on March 31, 2016

The service was terrible. This hotel is in the resort, but the resort has zero responsibility over the restaurant. we were twice turned away due to inability to seat our wedding group of 15 - but then we made reservations through Open Table (only apparently they don't use open table). would not recommend. we live in NYC and have a brother jimmys here that is excellent. disappointed in this restaurant in Puerto Rico. all the other restaurants in the resort were great.

Report
Helpful
luckydiners (New England)
2.0
Dined on February 14, 2016

I ordered snapper special that looked good but tasted like it was frozen and made yesterday! It was hard to cut with knife... So rubbery and had nor taste. Strange to find a house special that is so bad.

Report
Helpful
TS31 (Caribbean)
4.0
Dined on February 14, 2016

This was a great restaurant to go to for my family and friends after being out in the sun on a boat snorkeling all day! We could dress casually and just continue our fun relaxed day. The food was very good. It was typical pub food, burgers, ribs, wings, fries, etc. This was the second time that we visited and ate at Brother Jimmy's while on a trip to Puerto Rico. Both times we went after having a very busy day of excursions. It was just a nice low key, relaxed place to get dinner. Both times we went at night, but I'm sure the view during the day of the ocean and surrounding beach from this 10th floor roof restaurant is beautiful!

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Chicago)
3.0
Dined on January 15, 2016

It's fine for what it is.

Report
Helpful
vipOpenTable Diner (Chicago)
1.0
Dined on January 7, 2016

8 people went
7 lousy dinners
Had to send pork and ribs back. Like shoe leather.
I recommended the restaurant after having been there many years ago. Must be different owners now.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (New England)
3.0
Dined on November 9, 2015

This is a nice casual spot on the tenth floor of the El San Juan Hotel & Casino. Great views. The staff was very friendly. Food was decent and pricing was competitive especially for the location. HOWEVER, we were eaten alive by mosquitos because the window shutters were open and there are no screens. We ate and ran simply because we couldn't stand being eaten alive and it isn't our idea of enjoyment spraying Off! on ourselves while trying to eat. Really too bad, as we were looking forward to some casual fun.

Report
Helpful
vipOpenTable Diner (New York Area)
3.0
Dined on October 18, 2015

My friend and I visited on a Sunday night. The place was almost empty with the exceptions of a few people watching the Mets game. The service was slowwwwwwww. Food was ok but no comparison to the Brother Jimmy's I'm use to in NYC.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Toronto)
3.0
Dined on June 27, 2015

My bill totaled $250 for four adults and four little kids aged six and under. I felt paying $13-$14 for a cocktail is too high considering this is the same price for a cocktail if you are dining in the high end steakhouse or Italian restaurant on the same property. I also think $21 for approximately 16 wings is too much. Additionally I was told if I was staying at the hotel I would receive 10% off my bill. I told the waitress I was staying at the hotel and charged the meal to my room and I still did not receive the 10% discount. On a side note the view is awesome and you are out doors so if you enjoy a nice tropical breeze from a roof top this is worth checking out.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3

Hours, Transportation, and Details

Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Barbecue
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 1:00am, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 2:00am, Sunday: 5:00pm - 1:00am
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
Price range
$30 and under
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
Additional
Bar Dining, Beer, Delivery, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Takeout, Wheelchair Access