Permanently Closed - Brother Jimmy's BBQ - El San Juan Resort & Casino

3.3
25 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Barbecue
Top Tags:
  • Good for Groups
  • Scenic View
  • Great for Outdoor Dining

Similar Restaurants

About

This restaurant is permanently closed.

Brother Jimmy's BBQ, at the El San Juan Resort & Casino in Puerto Rico, crafts tantalizing barbecue dishes with southern American flair. The creamy and chunky guacamole, prepared tableside and the tender Northern-style rib tips make the perfect starters. Some of Brother Jimmy's BBQ's specialty entrées include the smoked sliced brisket dinner, the southern style St. Louis rib dinner in a Memphis dry rub and the tender pulled chicken dinner in original barbecue sauce, all of which can be accompanied by sides like BBQ baked beans, mac and cheese, fried sweet potatoes and rice and beans. Sandwiches, like the pulled pork wrap with pickles and slaw, the Buffalo-style spicy fried chicken sandwich and Brother Jimmy's Cuban with smoked pork, ham and gruyere cheese, are also incredibly flavorful.

Brother Jimmy's BBQ's signature cocktails, like the fish bowl “swamp water”, are excellent with your barbecue meal.

Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Barbecue
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 1:00am, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 2:00am, Sunday: 5:00pm - 1:00am
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
Additional
Bar Dining, Beer, Delivery, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Takeout, Wheelchair Access
What 25 People Are SayingWrite a review
Overall ratings and reviews
3.3based on all time ratings
3.0
food
3.3
service
3.6
ambience
3.1
value
Noise · Moderate
68% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
1.0Dined on July 29, 2016

The service and food was awful. The hotel is under construction and it seemed that nothing was fresh. Even the soda did not taste right.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on June 3, 2016

Food was cold, tasted like it was old. After returning meal it came back cold again(all they did was microwave). Sent food back and paid for drinks and went elsewhere for dinner. Prices are way too high for such poor food quality. Wouldn't recommend to anybody.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on March 31, 2016

The service was terrible. This hotel is in the resort, but the resort has zero responsibility over the restaurant. we were twice turned away due to inability to seat our wedding group of 15 - but then we made reservations through Open Table (only apparently they don't use open table). would not recommend. we live in NYC and have a brother jimmys here that is excellent. disappointed in this restaurant in Puerto Rico. all the other restaurants in the resort were great.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on February 14, 2016

I ordered snapper special that looked good but tasted like it was frozen and made yesterday! It was hard to cut with knife... So rubbery and had nor taste. Strange to find a house special that is so bad.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 14, 2016

This was a great restaurant to go to for my family and friends after being out in the sun on a boat snorkeling all day! We could dress casually and just continue our fun relaxed day. The food was very good. It was typical pub food, burgers, ribs, wings, fries, etc. This was the second time that we visited and ate at Brother Jimmy's while on a trip to Puerto Rico. Both times we went after having a very busy day of excursions. It was just a nice low key, relaxed place to get dinner. Both times we went at night, but I'm sure the view during the day of the ocean and surrounding beach from this 10th floor roof restaurant is beautiful!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on January 15, 2016

It's fine for what it is.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on January 7, 2016

8 people went
7 lousy dinners
Had to send pork and ribs back. Like shoe leather.
I recommended the restaurant after having been there many years ago. Must be different owners now.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on November 9, 2015

This is a nice casual spot on the tenth floor of the El San Juan Hotel & Casino. Great views. The staff was very friendly. Food was decent and pricing was competitive especially for the location. HOWEVER, we were eaten alive by mosquitos because the window shutters were open and there are no screens. We ate and ran simply because we couldn't stand being eaten alive and it isn't our idea of enjoyment spraying Off! on ourselves while trying to eat. Really too bad, as we were looking forward to some casual fun.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on October 18, 2015

My friend and I visited on a Sunday night. The place was almost empty with the exceptions of a few people watching the Mets game. The service was slowwwwwwww. Food was ok but no comparison to the Brother Jimmy's I'm use to in NYC.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on June 27, 2015

My bill totaled $250 for four adults and four little kids aged six and under. I felt paying $13-$14 for a cocktail is too high considering this is the same price for a cocktail if you are dining in the high end steakhouse or Italian restaurant on the same property. I also think $21 for approximately 16 wings is too much. Additionally I was told if I was staying at the hotel I would receive 10% off my bill. I told the waitress I was staying at the hotel and charged the meal to my room and I still did not receive the 10% discount. On a side note the view is awesome and you are out doors so if you enjoy a nice tropical breeze from a roof top this is worth checking out.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on December 28, 2014

Fun, busy on rooftop. Great for groups, TV's everywhere.
Needs more staff

Waiter seemed overworked, did his best though.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on November 4, 2014

Great view off the 10th floor at El San Juan hotel. Food was ok (typical) for BBQ and wait staff was very good and friendly.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on September 6, 2014

Sorry but $8 for a bottled beer is WAY too excessive

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 24, 2014

The sides of mashed potatoes and beans were cold and the rib combo platter had more fat than meat on it. Waiter service (Alberto) and bartender (Vivian) were great however.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 22, 2014

Food was good... A little loud. Waitress spilled sweet potatoes on my wife by accident. Otherwise good experience.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 24, 2014

Not a fancy place or even a "you have to try the food here" place, but it was a good sports bar environment in our hotel that had a great view of the beach & the city of San Juan from the rooftop of the hotel. Being outside on the roof was nice. I ordered the special of the day - a dozen wings, rib bites, & a pitcher of beer for $20. The wings were good, they don't sauce them, you dip them in sauces provided or on the table. The sauces on the table were a little sticky, so I avoided them and just used the sauces from the kitchen on my plate. The rib bites were pretty pedestrian and I didn't finish them. I wouldn't get them again. Service was fine and the waiter checked on us periodically.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 13, 2014

The bartenders Eric and Martin are the best......they make you want to come back to the bar,,,,,,,food is good,,,,,,,,,, just a good time and good place to go when in san juan and the esj

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on March 9, 2014

Didn't live up to expectations at all. Good was mediocre at best. Service was poor.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on March 9, 2014

Service was very slow. Food was terrible. The fried food tasted like it was cooked in burnt oil. The kids portions were extremely small. The hamburger was probably frozen.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 20, 2014

The food was really bad. Good drinks, bad food.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on February 17, 2014

Restaurant has a great location on the roof level of the El San Juan Hotel. The food, however, doesn't match the view. We ordered five dinners and only two were delivered correctly. Two of us ordered the same meal and they came five minutes apart. Many of the items were cold when they arrived at the table. Overall, it was a very disappointing meal.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 29, 2013

Great sports venue for mainlanders on the island. The barbecue was awesome and highly recommend the bucket of tips appetizer. Lots of food on the combo, probably better to stick with the pulled pork platter since that was the table favorite. Drinks were good but expensive even with two for one coupons.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on November 29, 2013

Title says it all. Service a little slow. Food was very good but short of great. Lots of Tvs for sports viewing. It is on the roof of the el San Juan hotel so you get great views.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on October 12, 2013

This restaurant was horrible. Food was inedible.The ribs were tough as nails. The pulled pork sandwhich was all fat ant the burger was like eating a hockey puck.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on September 25, 2013

Awesome spot on top of the El San Juan. Food was very good and at very good prices. Hard to beat being able to eat in a semi-outdoor patio overlooking the sunset. Beer was cheap, and the service was excellent.

Report
Helpful