About Broginos Italian Restaurant

2423 Artesia Blvd.
Redondo Beach, CA 90278
View Larger Map

Since 1977 Broginos has been a local destination for the South Bay and beyond. We proudly make all the sauces from scratch and our bread and pizza are made fresh daily. We offer many excellent wines from Italy and California and our full bar is famous for the best martinis in town. Broginos is family owned and we will keep it this way.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Steak, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service

Hours of Operation:
Sunday-Thursday 4pm-9pm. Friday-Saturday 4pm-10pm

Cross Street:
Phelan Lane

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(310) 370-4827

Website:
http://broginos.com/

Catering:
We offer all our gourmet entrees for catering with special modest prices. 1/2 trays for 10 and full trays for 20 attendees are made. Delivery, setup and chafing dishes are available. Pastas, veal, and chicken are the most popular for catering.

Parking Details:
Our paking is on the side of restaurant on Phelan Lane.

Public Transit:
Metro buses on Artesia Blvd.

Executive Chef:
Hilary Olea

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wine

Broginos Italian Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

3.8

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (5)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Cozy (4)
See All
Fun (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Good for Groups (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Special Occasion (2)
Authentic (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Outstanding Value (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Romantic (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Family Style (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Good for a Date (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Sort By:
S
49 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The food was excellent and the wait staf ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 7 days ago

The food was excellent and the wait staff was very knowledgeable about wines as well as the food and the pairing of all the foods with wines great experience definitely recommend it and would go back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Been coming here for over 25 years. Lov ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Been coming here for over 25 years. Love the food, love the decor, love the service (Michael and Patima are the best!!!). Great Italian food and plenty of it. They always say to the kitchen, "Bread for 6" when they see me come in, hehehe. Thanks for all the fond memories and delicious dinners Brogino's!

Tags: Cozy, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Fun, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A nice, quaint restaurant. A full meal ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 6, 2016

A nice, quaint restaurant. A full meal includes garlic bread, soup AND salad with entree. The Chicken Picatta was excellent Service was very good. Two full meals with two cocktails came to $63.00. Very reasonable considrring I also had leftovers for lunch the following day. We will be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We very much enjoyed our time at Brogino ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on October 30, 2016

We very much enjoyed our time at Brogino's Saturday evening. We took our time and enjoyed our meal emensely. We savored our conversation and our meals without feeling rushed. Thanks Michael for the Limoncello!

Tags: Cozy, Fun, Family Style, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Brogino's is the best kind of old-fashio ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Brogino's is the best kind of old-fashioned. The whole is greater than the sum of its parts. The food is good, lots of variety, and plentiful. Service is casual and fun. Seek this place out and enjoy.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value5

Wonderful neighbor place. Good food and ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Wonderful neighbor place. Good food and service. Thanks for a great dinner

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

The food was excellent. Had the biggest, ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 1, 2016

The food was excellent. Had the biggest, juiciest, well seasoned ribeye perfectly grilled. Side of rigatoni with a great meat sauce. Antinori Chianti was a perfect pairing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

This was a last minute quick food find t ...

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on October 1, 2016

This was a last minute quick food find to feed the family. Yes! this was really good. Lasagna and bread are really good. The salad was mixed, but I thought it was a simple but good salad. Lots of Food....

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

This is one of our favorite restaurants, ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 18, 2016

This is one of our favorite restaurants, Great service and the food is always good and the portions generous.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Outstanding Value, Cozy, Quick Bite, Authentic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

consistent and established menu new spec ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 4, 2016

consistent and established menu

new specials including salmon special are spaot on

new outside patio is great new addition for the long-time neighborhood institution

service level is superb with Michael leading the way

eggplant and cacciatore/marsala items lead the way

interior could use a refresh.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

We really enjoyed our dinner at Brogino' ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 13, 2016

We really enjoyed our dinner at Brogino's - great food and wine and they were happy to accommodate the vegan in the group.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Love the large portions, enough to take ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 17, 2016

Love the large portions, enough to take home and eat again next day.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great neighborhood restaurant. Entrees ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 19, 2016

Great neighborhood restaurant. Entrees are delicious and ample in size. Service is genial and prompt.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been to Broginos several times o ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 12, 2016

We have been to Broginos several times over the past year. Its a neighborhood restaurant that has been there since the early 70s and its well worth the visit. This time to music was louder than usual and detracted a little from the experience. Their Fettuccini Alfredo is one of the best anywhere. And the bread is wonderful. Always a lovely experience to dine here even with the noise level this time.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Great local Italian spot!!

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 21, 2016

Quaint, old school Italian atmosphere, love the vibe. Friendly staff, good food. We liked that the noise level wasn't too noisy. Will be back again!

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ambiance was nice, we were in the privat ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 21, 2016

Ambiance was nice, we were in the private patio area. The food did take a while to come out however everything was wonderful and I will go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Service is the secret. They are awesome. ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 14, 2016

Service is the secret. They are awesome. Food is consistently prepared and flavorful. Chicken Cacciatore and Eggplant Florentine are truly outstanding.

Wide menu range.

Could use a grilled or sautéed fish entree Italian style.

Place could really use a refresh decor wise including restrooms.

Fun and comfortable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5

Excellent food, awesome martinis and gre ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 1, 2016

Excellent food, awesome martinis and great service. Neighborhood gem! We'll be back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

I am not an Italian Cuisine person AT AL ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 16, 2016

I am not an Italian Cuisine person AT ALL. But, when you want an amzing, enjoyable experience, NO PLACE beats Brogino's. I've even turned a few OC people to this MAGNIFICENT place. Don't change a thing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Family Favorite

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 21, 2016

Love taking family and friends here. Great food at reasonable prices. Friendly staff with a dish for any appetite and health issue.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Secret Gem

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 15, 2016

Love the warmth and ambiance of this restaurant love it.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great southern Italien cooking: lasagne, ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 31, 2016

Great southern Italien cooking: lasagne, pasta with shellfish, cannelloni, etc. Large portions. Complete dinners come with soup. Reasonably priced wine and attentive service. A gem.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Fantastic Service

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 16, 2016

This was a surprising find. Really liked the decor and welcome feeling of the place. Found that the music was too loud. It's a small place and we had to raise our voices to hear each other, as other people seemed to be doing as well. Evidenced by being able to hear other conversations competing with the music. Otherwise, nice presentation of food. Fairly tasty.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Slow service

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 11, 2016

We dined on a Sunday night, and the restaurant was crowded. While the service was friendly, the restaurant was understaffed, and it was way too slow. It took almost two hours for dinner.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value3

Great local landmark

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 7, 2015

Love this local landmark. Cozy and warm inside, friendly staff and wonderful food. There are many choices on the menu, but the Fettucine Alfredo is the best we have ever tasted.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Deja Vu

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 12, 2015

So, I am a local and used to often dine at Brogino's. A neighborhood walk weeks before my reservation, I peaked in to show to a friend and he immediately fell in love. I surprised him with thinking we were going to another local and he was immediately surprised.

  1. He loves the Alfredo

  2. He loves the memorabilia

  3. He loves the service and community

  4. He wants this to become a weekly local

even if it means salads all week!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Authentic Italian in North Redondo

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 26, 2015

Known for their martinis and Italian cuisine, Broginos is a welcome departure from the busy-ness of Artesia Blvd. The décor puts you in the mood for pasta, chianti, or whatever makes you feel like getting into a gondola and floating away. I came back to try what was one of my favorite places years ago, and found that the quality had not diminished a bit. I tried a Combination (of everything) Parmigiana and was not only pleased, but filled. My wife had the Chicken Marsala and kept eating after claiming she'd had enough. The prices are reasonable and the plates are full. Enjoy.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Authentic Italian, Sinatra crooning, amazing soup

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 24, 2015

Eaten here many times and it's always great..not flashy but a throwback to the good ol days of dark lighting, Sinatra music, martinis and just really well cooked authentic Italian. Love the soup!

Tags: Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Caseysocal

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 27, 2015

Brogino's is a true neighborhood gem.

Friendly and knowledgeable Service is optimum here. small, intimate, excellent extensive high quality bar and great food. Facility is showing its edge but very clean and sticking to its roots for good fine and drinks at great valued pricing.

Menu is extensive - and consistent quality and value - especially with soup and salads.

Pastas, marsala, scallopini,and eggplant are our favorites.

We are consistent return customers and recommend it to anyone in the area for lunch or dinner.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

They did a great job as we were on a tim ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 11, 2015

They did a great job as we were on a time table. My only issue is I was sooo looking forward to the Halibut Steak mentioned on the online menu through Open Table and they said they have not had that for a while. Otherwise, the food I did choose was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

Decent food and place

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 11, 2015

Bread came to the table warm. Oil and vinegar were on a plate without asking. No ground pepper, but we didn't ask. Bread was good.

Soup was simple, not too hot, and tasty.

The salad had a bit too much dressing (for me). Ask for it on the side. Also it was pretty simple, with common greens, and some beans and such, definitely something you would just make at home.

Caprese using store bought tomatoes, very cold and crisp. I prefer softer and closer to an heirloom, if available.

We got the portabello mushroom ravioli. Tasty, but like the salad, too much sauce. The sauce was very heavy and the ravioli was drowning in it. Again, this is a taste preference and I wasn't so keen on it.

Food is definitely nothing to write home about, but it wasn't too bad.

Waitress was awesome. Attentive and polite. The bus-person was more short/gruff, but definitely attentive and they cleared the plates quickly. Never felt rushed, though, don't get that idea. All for timing went very well.

Ambience is nice with planty of tschotckies on the wall and a cool bar. Small place overall.

Definitely worth checking out on a night just wanting to try something new and casual.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

restaurant called and cancelled my reservation

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 1, 2015

restaurant called and cancelled my reservation 5 minutes after I made it with open table. Glad they called but not gonna try that again with this restaurant.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

A neighborhood gem

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 1, 2015

We love this place. Becky and Mike are always friendly and fun! We typically order the chicken piccata, or favorite, but even when we venture to order something new we are not disappointed. Thank you for keeping "Cheers" alive!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good Neighborhood Italian Joint

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 15, 2014

I liked this restaurant more than my husband did. I thought the marinara sauce was delicious as was the chick parm & calamari. My husband liked the food but felt the decor was too outdated. Fake hanging plants just don't cut it for decorations.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4

Ok

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 8, 2014

I wanted to try the Broginos after seeing it for years. It is very fair to say the least. The service was ok once we were seated but our reservation Open Table or not didn't do much for us as we stood for over 10 minutes without ANYONE coming to acknowledge us. The waitress was nice once we got seated but really?

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

Like the old days

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 3, 2014

A real find! Charming Italian motif,excellent martinis, meals come with soup, salad,pasta and wonderful pizza bread. Waitresses were excellent

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great neighborhood gem

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 25, 2014

Staff are great, food is fab and ambiance is super cool

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Food for the Price

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 25, 2014

This restaurant has very tasty food.

If you are a big eater, this is the place for you.

The waitress was very efficient and so friendly.

The feel of the place is very homey and comfortable.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Bland Disappointment

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 17, 2014

Have been looking forwarding to trying the neighborhood restaurant. Heard good things about it. Tried it and very disappointed.

Good crowd and typical "old school" ambiance. Service was reasonable. However the food was disappointing. Good fresh ingredients but just plain, no spicing to speak of. My wife had a linguine with marinara that was bland and little in the way of the tang of tomato or spice of oregano or much else. I had a sausage and pepper that had good flavorful sausage but the sauce was basically tomate sauce! Very little to distinguish it.

I have the other reviews and maybe I am looking for food that is above the lowest common denominator of taste. A Bland Disappointment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4

LUCKY FIND!

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 31, 2014

If you live in North Redondo Beach you are very lucky as Brogino's restaurant is close by. We have a bit of a drive, but we still go there. The evening we dined there we had delicious seafood and pasta -- scallops and shrimp on a bed of fettucine. Very good! Michael is an excellent host and always remembers us. The service was great!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.