About Brockton Villa

1235 Coast Blvd.
San Diego, CA 92037
View Larger Map

Great Food * Epic Sunsets

Brockton Villa is a beautiful historic home converted into a restaurant located directly across from the ocean. Our seaside location offers a spectacular view of the world-famous La Jolla Cove, and has become a favorite "show off" spot for locals and visitors alike. We are known for our breakfasts, including our famous Coast Toast. Our chef creates many other wonderful dishes seasonally for lunch and our dinner service.

Our house is the perfect place for you to host your next party. Whether it be a wedding reception, rehearsal dinner, baptism, bridal shower, baby shower, or any special occasion.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Californian, American, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast:
Monday - Friday: 8:00am - 12:00pm,
Saturday - Sunday: 8:00am - 3:00pm
Lunch:
Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 3:00pm
Saturday - Sunday: 12:00pm - 3:00pm
Social Hour:
Everyday: 3:00pm - 5:00pm
Dinner:
Everyday: 5:00pm - Close

Cross Street:
Prospect

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(858) 454-7393

Website:
http://www.brocktonvilla.com/

Parking Details:
There is parking available on public streets. There are also numerous per hour fee parking garages and private parking lot offered for large private events

Executive Chef:
Mareyja Sisbarro

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Beer, Cafe, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Coast Toast
Chilaquiles
Smoked Salmon Plate
Grilled Atlantic Salmon Blt
shrimp salad
Grilled Balsamic Portabello Burger
Mediterranean Chicken Pita
Fresh House Roasted Turkey Breast Sandwich
Pasta Salad
Crab Cake Sliders
Steamed Mussels
Picante Steamed Local Mussels
Classic Manila Clams And Linguine
Hawaiian Ceviche
Cheese Board
Peach Mimosa
Last Bite With Some Bacon
Bacon
Salmon Plate
Chips And Stuff
Shrimp Butter Leaf Wraps
Crabcake Sliders
House-Made Beer Brine Corn Beef Hash
Brockton Villa's Epic Chowder
Bloody Mary
Eggs Ipanema
Salmon BLT
Naughty Buritto
Bv Pancakes
Corned beef and hash
Corned Beef Hash
Crab Ipanema
pancakes
Salmon Entree
Grilled Artichoke
Cioppino
Big Garden Papperdelle
Latte
BV Pancakes (Strawberries and Blueberries)
Curry Chicken Salad
Ipanema Crab
Carne Asada Benedict
crab cake
Pulled Pork & Chorizo Chilaquiles
Crab Benedict
Crab Cakes Ipanema
Naughty Burrito

Promotions

3 Course Summer BBQ Buffet for $75.00

Monday Jul 4, 2016 from 6:00 PM - 9:30 PM

Wine Down By the Sea

Special valid Jun 1, 2016 - Oct 1, 2016 all week from 3:00 PM - 6:00 PM

Promotions

3 Course Summer BBQ Buffet for $75.00

Monday Jul 4, 2016 from 6:00 PM - 9:30 PM

Details
3 Course Summer BBQ Buffet for $75.00. Excludes Tax and Tip. Join us for appetizers,dinner,dessert and front row seats for the fireworks. Special valid on Monday Jul 4, 2016 from 6:00 PM - 9:30 PM.
Wine Down By the Sea

Special valid Jun 1, 2016 - Oct 1, 2016 all week from 3:00 PM - 6:00 PM

Details
$30 for a Bottle of House White or Red Wine and Artisan Cheese Board. Offering Daily Brocktail Specials. Excludes Tax and Tip. Perfect way relax by the ocean! $30 for a bottle of wine and Artisan Cheeseboard. Special valid Jun 1, 2016 - Oct 1, 2016 all week from 3:00 PM - 6:00 PM.

Private Dining

Our ocean front historic cottage has cozy home like charm. Private parties can take place in the entire cottage or in specific areas (the Nook, Veranda, Main Dining , Patio). Each seat has an ocean view. With our award winning menus, our house is the perfect place for you to host your next party.

Brockton Villa Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Brunch
San Diego
Great for Brunch
San Diego
Best Restaurants in La Jolla ›

scenic view (99)
great for outdoor dining (92)
great for brunch (64)
See All
great for lunch (48)
special occasion (48)
neighborhood gem (41)
romantic (34)
fit for foodies (28)
kid-friendly (15)
good for groups (14)
hot spot (9)
late-night find (2)
notable wine list (1)
Sort By:
Newest
926 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

7:30pm reservation + 8:00 sunset = perfe ...

Dined 3 days ago

7:30pm reservation + 8:00 sunset = perfect night! The VIEW? One word... SPECTACULAR! Eating at Brockton Villa during the day, the view of the beach is unobstructed and within yards of you from the outside patio seating. After recently dining in the evening... SUNSET is now the time I highly recommend to people. Atmosphere? Sitting outside at Brockton Villa is surprisingly quiet. Set at the end of a one way street, it fortunately doesn't see much traffic. It's a bonus that there are heaters ready for you on the deck. Romantic? Romance is what you make of it with someone you love. However, if I was making a suggestion for an anniversary or surprise proposal this wouldn't be my choice. We took my 14 yr old daughter the last time we dined at Brockton Villa and can be a very picky eater. When she gets choices and a menu, just stop the clock! Lucky for us, our server John was unbelievably patient and professional! He made suggestions to her that wouldn't alter the integrity of the dishes but would fit her taste that she'd described. The food? The dishes are pretty standard, nothing too unique. I do enjoy when a restaurant puts their own touch on a seemingly simple dish. That's why I LOVE Brockton Villa's lobster roll!!! The bun comes to you still warm from being lightly toasted. It's buttered and oh so soft... So good! The lobster isn't drenched in mayo or other aiolis. Brockton Villa really does the lobster roll the perfect way for ME! So far we haven't been disappointed with anything we've eaten at Brockton Villa. They could use some more gluten-free options on the menu. However, they make it work for you. Lastly, if I was the owner of Brockton Villa I would immediately revamp the menu, redecorate/update the restarting, and get ready to retire because that location is a gold mine! My sunset scenario with my partner & daughter made this the perfect choice... Stunning view! Good food,made perfectly! Icing on the cake, impeccable service by John!

Tags: kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, romantic, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dinner at sunset was outstanding. Everyt ...

Dined 4 days ago

Dinner at sunset was outstanding. Everything we ate was incredible.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent for brunch. Coast toast is awe ...

Dined 5 days ago

Excellent for brunch. Coast toast is awesome. Great view of the ocean. Cute and quaint.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great ambiance, food and a beautiful vi ...

Dined 5 days ago

Great ambiance, food and a beautiful view. What more could you ask for?

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, scenic view
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

The view is all of it. The food was good ...

vip
Dined 6 days ago

The view is all of it. The food was good and the service was also good, given the volume of patrons. The place will do well because of it's location. Very enjoyable and would definitely return for another meal.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Superb food coupled with wonderful servi ...

Dined on June 23, 2016

Superb food coupled with wonderful service!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have eaten here many times. It is grea ...

Dined on June 22, 2016

I have eaten here many times. It is great value for the food and the view. I highly recommend the coast toast.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Location and history very special...howe ...

Dined on June 21, 2016

Location and history very special...however, be prepared for an extremely fresh fish aroma drifting up from the rocky beach. Asked for varandah dining, but hostess sat us (2) at a 4 top table in a odd, obscured view area on the patio....and told us there was nothing available on the verandah...not very pleasing....then suddenly we where moved, as there was actually plenty of room on the verandah???

Tags: scenic view, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Lovely dinner to celebrate a family birt ...

vip
Dined on June 20, 2016

Lovely dinner to celebrate a family birthday. Service was lovely and the view was amazing. Food was very good. Had a wonderful time overall!!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely ambiance and nice view of the oc ...

Dined on June 20, 2016

Lovely ambiance and nice view of the ocean, interesting menu, very good service and food. This is a unique location and a good choice for a special occasion or just a meal out with a friend.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We booked brunch at Brockton Villa fairl ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

We booked brunch at Brockton Villa fairly last minute and were lucky enough to be sat outside on the upstairs patio overlooking the Cove. The food was amazing, the white sangria was delicious. We will be back.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food1
ambience4
service2

Come for the view. A great overlook of ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Come for the view. A great overlook of La Jolla, especially at sunset. The entrees were all under seasoned and it took 15 minutes to get a spoon for coffee. I will say that the desserts were delicious.

food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Disappointed with food. Have been there ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Disappointed with food. Have been there many times

food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Excellent location right across street f ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

Excellent location right across street from sea lions. Beautiful view

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service5

Beautiful view! Great experience!

Dined on June 8, 2016

Beautiful view! Great experience!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food... but no champagne until 11?

Dined on June 5, 2016

We were excited to meet there for 10:15 brunch, but a little bummed we couldn't have mimosas until 11. Overall, good experience. Great waiter, I just think you could start earlier with the champagne, or advertise when people make a reservation that they won't be served brunch beverages with alcohol until 11:00. Seems like a silly rule to me, but our server was ready with mimosas in hand at 11:00 on the dot for us! :)

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great Ocean View

vip
Dined on June 5, 2016

I have been here for lunch and for dinner and both meals were very good and you cannot beat the view. The restaurant is very cottage like which I loved. I had the lobster roll for lunch which is fantastic, we shared a grilled artichoke which was wonderful and the Cioppino for dinner was great! You can even hear the seals from the beach below.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

Don't believe everything that you read online

Dined on May 30, 2016

My friend and I decided to try Brockton Villa because it appeared on a list of the best alfresco dining in the U.S. The views are unbeatable, overlooking the La Jolla cove. That's where the compliments end. The waitress was inattentive, the food was passable. My friend had fish tacos that barely had any fish in them, and I had a completely overpriced and totally bland lobster risotto that worth one third of the $28 they charge for it. Get sandwiches somewhere and go sit in the park and you'll have a better experience than at this place.

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Must stop in La Jolla!

Dined on May 27, 2016

Great place for lunch with a great view and superb service.

Tags: great for brunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Celebrating my friend returning to Europ ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Celebrating my friend returning to Europe. Our meal was outstanding, service superb, personal attention and patience shown to my friend due to language issues. Obvious all guests received personal attention. What a gem!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service4

Great food, friendly staff, amazing view ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Great food, friendly staff, amazing view. The smell from the seals while you're eating can be overpowering at times.

food4
ambience4
service5
value3

View and food was excellent . The Frenc ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

View and food was excellent . The French toast was fine but my partners hash brown potatoes were not as good as we expected. Loved looking at all the activities in the ocean when we sat on the porch.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

For foodies or tourists?

Dined on May 17, 2016

We had read and heard good things about Brockton Villa and we wanted to try it while visiting La Jolla. Made a reservation for 11am on a weekday, hoping to do a brunch meal. I love breakast foods and so their menu seemed ideal. Even had some menu items strongly recommended. The setting is outstanding with gorgeous views of the cove at LaJolla. Our table was right on the rail so we had a wonderful view. The place is vintage and charming. Service was very attentive. I found the dishes all to be under seasoned, a bit boring. In my mind the food is geared to a tourist audience and nothing is packed with flavor. It was all just "fine." We tried two of the Eggs Benedict style items, as well as their corned beef hash and their Coast Toast (French Toast) and it was all good just not what I was hoping for.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Sunset spectacular

vip
Dined on May 17, 2016

Incredible sunsets, strong menu, very good service. Highly recommended.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

A nice surprise

Dined on May 15, 2016

We booked this at the last minute and added more people two times. They were very accommodating. The service was great and the food was excellent! Beautiful view.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service4

Ocean scenery

Dined on May 15, 2016

Ocean scenery

food5
ambience5
service4
value4

I really like this place. The service is ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

I really like this place. The service is always good and the food is outstanding. I contacted the restaurant in advance regarding a food restriction the executive chef responded within a few days to give me a list of menu items I could eat which was very helpful.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience5
service3
value3

Brockton Villa

Dined on May 10, 2016

The view was tremendous but everything else was ok.

food5
ambience5
service5

Lovely place! Great location, good food ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Lovely place! Great location, good food and service. Parking can be tough but we lucked out! Will come back again :)

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The restaurant was nice and the view amazing.

Dined on May 8, 2016

The staff was very pleasant and welcoming and I have absolutely nothing negative to say and everything positive to say about my experience dining at Brokton Villa!

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time for dinner

Dined on May 8, 2016

Loved it. Usually here for brunch for Mother's Day or a birthday, but the dinner was great. Had the lobster roll, wife had the pasta, sister had the halibut. All were perfect. Can't beat the view. Yes, the seal lions reek, but its La Jolla, so not really a surprise.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Food and ambiance were excellent.

Dined on May 6, 2016

Food and ambiance were excellent.

food5
ambience5
service5

Great view overlooking the water. Sea li ...

Dined on May 4, 2016

Great view overlooking the water. Sea lions can smell pretty bad but if you stuff your mouth with their delicious coast toast or pancakes you won't smell a thing.

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Lovely Spot but Check the Scent

Dined on May 1, 2016

Great food, great service, beautiful view of the ocean and sunset. Only problem is that La Jolla cove sometimes has a very strong scent coming off and it would not be pleasant on those days to eat outdoors.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Consistently Excellent!

Dined on April 30, 2016

We dine here on the outdoor patio every year when we visit La Jolla. What a fantastic view! You can also sit on an enclosed veranda or inside. We always share an omelette and an order of Coast Toast, their scrumptious specialty! Our waitress was a very nice & helpful young woman from the Chicago area. The wait staff is always exceptional.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This restaurant used to be a home, it wa ...

Dined on April 29, 2016

This restaurant used to be a home, it was built in 1894! It was very charming on the inside, the fireplace is constructed out of Abilone shells. So just the existing ambiance is enough to make this place worthwhile, but the service was top notch! From start to finish, the hostess, our server, the manager, the busboy were all so friendly and wanted to ensure we enjoyed everything! If you're looking for a cute and quaint little place to eat with really good food and service, this is it! It doesn't feel too uppity or unapproachable at all! It's just perfect!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

Eh, not the best experience

Dined on April 26, 2016

Came with my spouse for a birthday dinner. There was a party of 10 with several loud kids that made the small dining room very unpleasant. I know its not the restaurant's fault that the kids were unruly, but it definitely ruined the ambiance. Also, the busser (who I'm sure is used to working brunch) was tossing plates and glasses together and being quite sloppy and loud. Buzz kill! The food was good and our server Andrew was great but overall, its extremely tough competition in La Jolla and I definitely would not go back here for dinner.

Tags: great for lunch, scenic view
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Brockton Villa 4.25.2016

Dined on April 25, 2016

We had done our research and this was for the view. Unfortunately, our timing was off as it was overcast and rather cool evening. The view under normal circumstances would have been great but a little cool to be on the deck that evening. The service as acceptable or average and the food was just that food. Were I to go back to La Jolla soon, I would go up a street to another venue with a lessor view or around to cove and literally on the water. For the quality, the food was over priced. It would not be my first place should I return. Will not go as far as saying never but there are lots of other choices.

Tags: scenic view
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Beautiful environment

Dined on April 22, 2016

This is was my first time in Brockton vill. A friend was a recommended it and I decided to go with some friends. The service was perfect, the food was good but, the most impressive was the opportunity to enjoy a dinner on the terrace with those spectacular views.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

On the beach with a LaJolla vibe

Dined on April 20, 2016

Great casual spot for brunch - unbeatable view of La Jolla Cove. We sat on the Patio and it was great. Don't come here if you are in a hurry. They go at La Jolla pace! As a result, it wasn't perfect for a business meeting, but it worked out because the out-of-towners were dazzled by the view!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.