Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi
  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi
  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi

About Brockton Villa

Great Food * Epic Sunsets

Brockton Villa is a beautiful historic home converted into a restaurant located directly across from the ocean. Our seaside location offers a spectacular view of the world-famous La Jolla Cove, and has become a favorite "show off" spot for locals and visitors alike. We are known for our breakfasts, including our famous Coast Toast. Our chef creates many other wonderful dishes seasonally for lunch and our dinner service.

Our house is the perfect place for you to host your next party. Whether it be a wedding reception, rehearsal dinner, baptism, bridal shower, baby shower, or any special occasion.

1235 Coast Blvd.
San Diego, CA 92037
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Californian, American, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast:
Monday - Friday: 8:00am - 12:00pm,
Saturday - Sunday: 8:00am - 3:00pm
Lunch:
Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 3:00pm
Saturday - Sunday: 12:00pm - 3:00pm
Social Hour:
Everyday: 3:00pm - 5:00pm
Dinner:
Everyday: 5:00pm - Close

Cross Street:
Prospect

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(858) 454-7393

Website:
http://www.brocktonvilla.com/

Parking Details:
There is parking available on public streets. There are also numerous per hour fee parking garages and private parking lot offered for large private events

Executive Chef:
Mareyja Sisbarro

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Private Dining

Our ocean front historic cottage has cozy home like charm. Private parties can take place in the entire cottage or in specific areas (the Nook, Veranda, Main Dining , Patio). Each seat has an ocean view. With our award winning menus, our house is the perfect place for you to host your next party.

Brockton Villa Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (57)
Waterfront (51)
Great for Outdoor Dining (46)
See All
Great for Brunch (42)
Good for a Date (37)
Neighborhood Gem (32)
Casual (26)
Cozy (26)
Great for Lunch (25)
Romantic (25)
Historic (24)
Sunday Lunch (24)
Worth the Drive (22)
Special Occasion (22)
Good for Anniversaries (18)
Fun (14)
Creative Cuisine (13)
Local Ingredients (13)
Kid-friendly (12)
Good for Birthdays (12)
Fit for Foodies (12)
Authentic (11)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Fireplace (10)
Afternoon Coffee (10)
People Watching (9)
Healthy (9)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Hot Spot (7)
Comfort Food (5)
Business Meals (5)
Afternoon Tea (5)
Good for Groups (4)
Family Style (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Seasonal (4)
Organic (3)
Private Room (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Great Beer (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Vegan (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
1157 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 5 days ago

I was impressed that the kid's burgers came with fresh fruit instead of fries. Dinner was so good, we went back for breakfast the next day... best breakfast we had all week.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Great cioppino
Little cold with no offer from staff to do things to warm things up or move us to warmer area
Overlooking ocean wonderful but aroma of bird p**p was distracting at the least
Bathrooms sub par
Drinks were not what was suggested
(No ' liquor' license?)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 13, 2017

We had a good dinner at Brockton Villa, except for the unusually long wait time for our main meal,which was really good(salmon and rice)close to an hour after receiving our appetizer,it would have been nice to hear from the staff regarding the kitchen is running behind schedule, it would make it more bearable,,,,,The creme Brulee is short of being an empty plate with glazed sugar on top,it consisted of maybe a three inch plate with a huge glob of whipped cream more than anything else, and about no thicker than a pencil worth of creme burlee....
It felt as if was having to scrape the plate just to get a bite,, I gave up half way through it..

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Overall our experience was ok. The hostesses were great. Our waiter was very nice and knowledgeable , however he was not attentive enough. Meal was ok. The cinnamon roll pancakes and the regular pancakes were very good. The angus burger was also very good. Especially the pretzel bun. The BBQ Pork sandwich was ok. Not what I expected it to be. The omelette of the day was not very good. Cheese was only on one side of the omelette. The view is great.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 12, 2017

This place was highly recommended by a friend but my date and I were not impressed. The food was good but not great, the location was nice but the tables were cramped and the waiter who served our table was more interested in gossiping with his coworker than he was in serving our table.
The restaurant was plenty busy, so maybe our experience was not typical, but we would not recommend it to any of our friends.
One other thing we thought was strange the restaurant has brunch menus and the table were adorned with delicious sounding brunch time adult beverages, but when we tried to order one our server informed us that he could not serve adult beverages until after 11:00AM, If that had been clearly stated on the website when I booked the reservation I would have booked a later time slot.

Tags: People Watching, Cozy, Scenic View, Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Great French toast and great view of La Jolla Cove!

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Simply wonderful . This was a special occasion/anniversary.

Coast Toast is wonderful and prepared perfectly.

Definitely coming back soon!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Waterfront, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Historic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Excellent overall experience. Took European business customers there and they enjoyed both the location, atmosphere and food. Our reservation was after dark, but if you have dinner around sunset the view is fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Fabulous restaurant. Park up by the stores and take the scenic walk down to the restaurant. We had a terrific seat on outside balcony watching and listening to the seals. The local products in the food and local beer makes it a neighbourhood gem.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Hot Spot, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Waterfront, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, People Watching, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 7, 2017

Most amazing french toast ("Coast Toast") I have ever eaten. And really beautiful view of the cove. Had a great time.

Tags: Romantic, Authentic, Fun, Casual, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on March 6, 2017

What a lovely place for brunch in LaJolla, not to mention our food was delicious!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Loved almost everything. Great place. Wonderful Food. Beautiful outdoor seating. Attentive service. We were 6 girlfriends all turning 60 out for brunch.
We were sad to here we couldn't order a cocktail until 11:00am. We arrived at 10:00am.
Also the bathroom was so dirty we felt like we were at a gas station restroom.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fun, Open Kitchen, Good for Birthdays, Afternoon Coffee, Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Sunday Lunch, Scenic View, Waterfront, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Great classic location overlooking the ocean.
Very comfortable. Food and mojitos were wonderful. Highly recommend.

Tags: Casual, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fireplace, Paleo Friendly, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Great view, great food, and great service. What more could you ask.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Great family breakfast in a casual setting with ocean views. House specialty "Coast Toast" is always a hit but their omelets are excellent as well. Great spot.

Tags: Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 3, 2017

One of the best locations in La Jolla, parking is a challenge unless you valet up on Prospect and walk down. But not over priced & food is really good. Reservations are a good idea,. I highly recomend sitting out on the patio..they do have heaters if it's chilly out. Great for casual dining or special occasions.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Great restaurant!! Wonderful food, service, view! I highly recommend this place and will definitely go back. Fantastic!!!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Healthy, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Everything about this place was awesome! Service, food, view etc. I planned brunch for my Mothers birthday and we had an amazing experience. We will definitely be going back, great for any occasion!

Tags: Waterfront, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Casual, Special Occasion, Cozy, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Fun, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Family Style, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Great place for date or visiting friends, all at a fair price. Good wines, lots of choices veggie, seafood and meat.

Tags: Authentic, Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Great Beer, Outstanding Value, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Beautiful ocean views in a quaint historic small villa. Great menu with excellent service. Parking is hard to find due to La Jolla oceanfront location.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 22, 2017

went here with my project manager after the workday. we both got craft beers that were super tasty! i got the shelffish soup - zuppe de pesce? and the custard dessert ( i dont remmeber the name but they are famous for it) and it was all awesome! what an incredible view. be weary of parking - we had to park in the garage before the restaurant after doing several circles around it.

Tags: Casual, Cozy, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 19, 2017

One of my favorite San Diego brunch spots. Love the Carne Asada Benedict and Cinnamon roll pancakes! Amazing view...when weather is good always try to get a table on the west veranda.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 19, 2017

The food was great! There could have been a few more vegetarian options. I really liked the section with the menu mentions food is not cooked in oil. We had a great time and a great view not to mention the ease of reservation and great service. Thank you we would come again.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Went last Friday during the 'big storm'. We walked in super soaked and they were surprised we actually made it! Staff was super accommodating and friendly. Brought heaters over to help dry us out. We asked to move by their beautiful fireplace since the place was cleared out. After cleaning up following a wedding party, they moved us cheerfully. I had the lamb shank, absolutely delicious. Fall off the bone good! We came back for brunch on Sunday with friends and it was great, especially the seafood omelet special with truffled goat cheese. Sublime!

Tags: Scenic View, Fireplace, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We had reservations for valentines, but we showed up early, so we were placed on the "patio" instead of the "veranda." That would have been fine, but we were right next to a tree, directly under a propane heater, and also about 2ft from another couple's table. The waiter came to our table about once every 15 minutes, and when he did, he had to stand uncomfortably close because of the previously mentioned obstacles. It was so awkward and weird, and unreasonably crowded because of the holiday. The food was pretty mediocre, I ordered the surf and turf, the steak was cooked as I ordered but the shrimp was rubbery and over cooked. Dessert was satisfying but also about 25 minutes too late. Honestly, I was ready to leave before our appetizer had even arrived. Ambiance was pretty terrible as we mostly heard the sounds of the kitchen, which came out of a window about 10 ft from our table. Some poor souls had to sit directly under the kitchen window. We could hear ourselves over the kitchen noise but so could about 4 tables around us because of how close the tables had been placed. For $50 a person the value was about as bad as it gets, if the food or the service or the ambiance had been any better I might be willing to overlook the crowding due to the holiday, but nothing was above sub-par so the crowding really was the straw on the camel's back. We don't even have like super refined tastes, we're just some normal people from Michigan, and I know maybe $50 a person isn't that much for fine dining, but this wasn't even close to fine dining.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value2

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 15, 2017

My family and I usually go to Brockton Villa for breakfast, it is our favorite location. The Coast Toast is wonderful, our 4 year old grandson asks often if we will take him for breakfast. The Carne Asada Benedict is wonderful. Besides the wonderful food, the service is so quick that even a child can handle the wait. We had never had a dinner at Brockton Villa so decided to try it for Valentines Day and were very happy. We will definitely try it for dinner again.

Tags: Waterfront, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Valentines Day

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 14, 2017

The abalone shell-encrusted fireplace in this historic restaurant's main dining room will keep you cozy even on a cold or wet day. Otherwise you can dine on the covered porch overlooking the Cove area, or the umbrella covered outdoor patio. This place is beach house quaint in a wonderful way. Our special event was dinner with friends, but special as the friends are from a long ways away. They loved the place and the food, and conversation was easy on this particular weekday night when the place was only moderately filled. Brockton Villa is a local treasure.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Historic, Afternoon Tea, Cozy, Afternoon Coffee, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Romantic, Waterfront, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on February 13, 2017

French toast is phenomenal! More like a soufflé with more egg. Ate twice in a weekend getaway and enjoyed the food and the lovely views.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 13, 2017

The views are breathtaking. The French toast was the best I've ever had

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The view is amazing. One of my favorite breakfast spots.

Tags: Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 11, 2017

This place never disappoints! All the food was fresh, flavorful with beautiful presentation!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly, Hot Spot, Private Room, Romantic, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 11, 2017

I really enjoyed Brockton Villa! The beach cottage flair came out through the white walls and ceiling beams. The details of the place were adorable and the view of La Jolla Cove was breathtaking. My only complaint was at times it felt a little loud in there. With the noise from the surrounding people and the overhead music, the noise level seemed in-cohesive with the quaint cottage feel. But that could have just been the combination of people that were there at the time. I highly recommend Brockton Villa!

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Afternoon Tea, Afternoon Coffee, Good for a Date, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Fun, Historic, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 10, 2017

This is a great place for out of towners and locals! Amazing view and wonderful view. Get the coastt toast!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Waterfront, Hot Spot, Good Vegetarian Options, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 5, 2017

haven't been there for a while we live in NEW Jersey I forgot how wonderful it was
Steve our server was a great guy food was awesome I plan to visit again before we return home

Tags: Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Waterfront, Fun, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 5, 2017

"coast toast" lived up to its reputation....server overheard our conversation about a birthday and brought a scoop of gelato with a candle! very nice touch especially since it was breakfast!!!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Stunning views, would come back for the view but the food was at below average. I ordered the carne asada eggs with breakfast potatoes Benedict and it was served cool and the asada was stringy. Also it was very very cold on the balcony despite the small space heater-- bring layers. The lower deck had very nice heat lamps.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 4, 2017

We had brunch on Saturday. Bruch is served later, until 3 pm, on the weekend. The Coast Toast was AMAZING! Oh my gosh....light, fluffy, deliciousness that melts in your mouth. REAL MAPLE syrup is on the table, however, you will not need it - it is that good! It is like using steak sauce and a perfectly cooked prime cut of steak - why do you want to ruin it? We were able to sit outside with an obstructed and spectacular view of the ocean at La Jolla Cove. Eggs benedict was delicious. The chilaquiles was AWESOME. I highly recommend it. Service was very good.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Cozy, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Historic, Great for Lunch, Casual, Scenic View, Great for Brunch, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 3, 2017

The crab Benedict was flavorless and mushy. The chilliqueles were very nice. Lattes were very tasty. Service was wonderful. The view and ambiance are always a treat

Tags: Quick Bite, Local Ingredients, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Beautiful scenic view of ocean , lovely patio. A little tight balcony seating. Live the inside seating with the fireplace!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Fireplace, Waterfront, Historic, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Authentic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.