About Brockton Villa

1235 Coast Blvd.
San Diego, CA 92037
View Larger Map

Great Food * Epic Sunsets

Brockton Villa is a beautiful historic home converted into a restaurant located directly across from the ocean. Our seaside location offers a spectacular view of the world-famous La Jolla Cove, and has become a favorite "show off" spot for locals and visitors alike. We are known for our breakfasts, including our famous Coast Toast. Our chef creates many other wonderful dishes seasonally for lunch and our dinner service.

Our house is the perfect place for you to host your next party. Whether it be a wedding reception, rehearsal dinner, baptism, bridal shower, baby shower, or any special occasion.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Californian, American, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast:
Monday - Friday: 8:00am - 12:00pm,
Saturday - Sunday: 8:00am - 3:00pm
Lunch:
Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 3:00pm
Saturday - Sunday: 12:00pm - 3:00pm
Social Hour:
Everyday: 3:00pm - 5:00pm
Dinner:
Everyday: 5:00pm - Close

Cross Street:
Prospect

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(858) 454-7393

Website:
http://www.brocktonvilla.com/

Parking Details:
There is parking available on public streets. There are also numerous per hour fee parking garages and private parking lot offered for large private events

Executive Chef:
Mareyja Sisbarro

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Coast Toast
Chilaquiles
Smoked Salmon Plate
Grilled Atlantic Salmon Blt
Mediterranean Chicken Pita
Grilled Balsamic Portabello Burger
shrimp salad
Fresh House Roasted Turkey Breast Sandwich
Pasta Salad
Crab Cake Sliders
Steamed Mussels
Picante Steamed Local Mussels
Classic Manila Clams And Linguine
Hawaiian Ceviche
Cheese Board
Peach Mimosa
Bacon
Last Bite With Some Bacon
Chips And Stuff
Salmon Plate
Shrimp Butter Leaf Wraps
Crabcake Sliders
House-Made Beer Brine Corn Beef Hash
Brockton Villa's Epic Chowder
Bloody Mary
Eggs Ipanema
Salmon BLT
Naughty Buritto
Bv Pancakes
Corned beef and hash
Corned Beef Hash
Crab Ipanema
pancakes
Salmon Entree
Grilled Artichoke
Cioppino
Big Garden Papperdelle
Latte
BV Pancakes (Strawberries and Blueberries)
Curry Chicken Salad
Carne Asada Benedict
Ipanema Crab
crab cake
Pulled Pork & Chorizo Chilaquiles
Crab Cakes Ipanema
Crab Benedict
Naughty Burrito

Specials

Wine Down By the Sea

Special valid Jun 1, 2016 - Oct 1, 2016 all week from 3:00 PM - 6:00 PM

Specials

Wine Down By the Sea

Special valid Jun 1, 2016 - Oct 1, 2016 all week from 3:00 PM - 6:00 PM

Details

$30 for a Bottle of House White or Red Wine and Artisan Cheese Board. Offering Daily Brocktail Specials. Excludes Tax and Tip. Perfect way relax by the ocean! $30 for a bottle of wine and Artisan Cheeseboard. Special valid Jun 1, 2016 - Oct 1, 2016 all week from 3:00 PM - 6:00 PM.

Private Dining

Our ocean front historic cottage has cozy home like charm. Private parties can take place in the entire cottage or in specific areas (the Nook, Veranda, Main Dining , Patio). Each seat has an ocean view. With our award winning menus, our house is the perfect place for you to host your next party.

Brockton Villa Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Brunch
San Diego
Great for Brunch
San Diego
Best Restaurants in La Jolla ›

Scenic View (126)
Great for Outdoor Dining (111)
Great for Brunch (77)
See All
Special Occasion (54)
Romantic (51)
Neighborhood Gem (46)
Great for Lunch (41)
Fit for Foodies (28)
Good for Groups (20)
Kid-friendly (20)
Hot Spot (15)
Waterfront (13)
Casual (9)
Good for a Date (7)
Fun (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Cozy (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Healthy (3)
People Watching (3)
Historic (3)
Family Style (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Authentic (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1010 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Loved the crab cakes - very moist. The ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined a day ago

Loved the crab cakes - very moist. The Mediterranean salad was also very fresh and huge! Ordered the salmon, which was delicious with the ginger sauce. The lobster risotto was tasty despite having little lobster and a bit heavy on the butter.

Must have the coast toast for dessert! Was a good end to dinner. Service was friendly and very attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great place to take our out of town gues ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 4 days ago

Great place to take our out of town guests for great food and great views! Big menu with options for everyone. Good service. Takes reservations.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Great spot for breakfast. Beautiful vie ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined 6 days ago

Great spot for breakfast. Beautiful view of the water. Delicious breakfast items. I had the chilaquiles and the portion was huge. Good service.

Tags: Authentic, Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Brockton Villa sits right beside and abo ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Brockton Villa sits right beside and above La Jolla Cove. We were seated for brunch on an outside table with a great view and only the very slightest smell from the sea lions nearby! The service was quick and the food was good, with a lot of choice on the menu.

Tags: Fun, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, Waterfront, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Nice old house on the waterfront at La J ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Nice old house on the waterfront at La Jolla with good views of the sunset. Food was good, with a wide variety and very fairly priced. Shame there is no draft beer though. And when the wind catches it right, the presence of sea lions on the nearby shore adds an olfactory ambience which is not a desired part of the veranda experience...

Tags: Cozy, Authentic, Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The waiter was really nice, we sat at a ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

The waiter was really nice, we sat at a table for 2 with a great view. We ordered the chilaquiles and there were really good, they serve a lot, i only ate half of them. The only thing I would complain about was the smell of the seals at the beach. But I would defiantly go again loved the view and food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Brockton Villa has been a favorite of ou ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Brockton Villa has been a favorite of ours for several years now. We had a small family reunion, and chose Brockton as a dinner destination one night of our stay. It did not disappoint! highly recommend.

Tags: Romantic, People Watching, Quiet Conversation, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

we sat out on the deck that overlooked t ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

we sat out on the deck that overlooked the ocean. the food was great. the staff were friendly and very accommodating. very nice!

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I just went to have their famous Frenc ...

vip
 (México)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

I just went to have their famous French Toast, and it disappointed me this time! Last time I had it it was so so good, that I decided to go back (even though I'm not a French toast fan), but this time it really wasn't what I expected

Tags: Casual, Historic, Family Style, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

overpriced especially considering medioc ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

overpriced especially considering mediocre to poor food. cold and tasteless filet. tiny lame frozen pizza for kids menu. main positive is the ocean views.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Read a Yelp review for this restaurant t ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Read a Yelp review for this restaurant that said " go for the view and a cup of coffee but eat somewhere else", we should've listened. View was nice, not wow, and the smell of the seals was so aweful we ended up sitting inside. Food was less than average.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

Great Toast Coast, I take my family was ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Great Toast Coast, I take my family was visiting from Mexico City and they love it. Great food and nice view. Service was excellent.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The brunch was disappointing, you really ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

The brunch was disappointing, you really pay for the view. One of our orders came incorrect and cold and another was overcooked and overly greasy. We were sat at the table behind the server station and when they were cleaning dishes got splashed with water. We had a reservation and still had to wait 20 minutes. Our server was great though, attentive and pleasant. Overall, there are better places in La Jolla for brunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

We were recommended by a friend to visit ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

We were recommended by a friend to visit on our vacation. The friend insisted we try the French toast...AMaZINg!! I also had fish tacos. Fantastic!! Service was quick and friendly. My only issue was the smell from the sea lions, but we love the view...so that just comes with it. Great place!

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We were so disappointed in the meal! Amo ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

We were so disappointed in the meal! Among us, we had the crab benedict, salmon scramble and artichoke/asparagus omelette (which had spinach, not artichoke) and then shared the french toast. We were shocked when every dish was bland, but even more so when we bit into the french toast and found it dry and tasteless. Very disappointing, as we'd been looking forward to our brunch, having not visited in many, many years. Our server, however, was great -- as was the coffee.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

The French toast is worth the trip. The ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

The French toast is worth the trip. The view of La Jolla cove is great.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Service was great. Food was very bland, ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

Service was great. Food was very bland, no flavor. Loved the view from the deck. Parking is horrible, very limited spots by restaurant. Had to park at the top of the hill and walk down.

Tags: Family Style, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value4

The restaurant has an amazing view. Some ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

The restaurant has an amazing view. Some places we generally fall into the bargain whether you want view or good food. This places is a win win . Good food , perfect balance of spices and an accurate plate size. Their breakfast tacos were so amazing. I expected a little greasy plate but it was not at all. The salsa they serve with the plate was so good that I did order it twice. I could smell and taste the freshness with each and every bite with the fresh breeze from the ocean .

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Comfort Food, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful experience! We enjoyed the vie ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Wonderful experience! We enjoyed the view, food, ambiance and historic value!

Tags: Casual, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Healthy, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The cove views are unbeatable from the t ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

The cove views are unbeatable from the terrace. There were heaters and the staff was extremely accommodating and kind. We had delicious cioppino.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun, Cozy, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Disappointed that the veranda table we g ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Disappointed that the veranda table we got felt was back in the corner and the view was not what I expected. More importantly, none of the reviews warned us that the odor from the seals was very strong. We also felt like we were mislead about the bar menu = nowhere did we see it noted that it was only beer and wine, and we felt the drink menu was misleading. Food was great. Service was acceptable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

We made it out on the earlier side for S ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

We made it out on the earlier side for Saturday breakfast, and heard this was an awesome spot. It gets pretty busy as the morning crowd transitions to brunch, but so worth it. If you can, ask for a table with outdoor views—you'll be able to take in the scenery and sea lions. Good was on point, service was super friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food delicious, but odors were horrible, ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Food delicious, but odors were horrible, I won't going back there.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value3

Candace our Hostess and Lacy our waitres ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

Candace our Hostess and Lacy our waitress were excellent. Both were hospitable and quick to accommodate us. The only downer was strong fishy smell up from the cove. But let's get real - if you want a view of the cove (where seals live) it's not unreaaonable ro expect some fishy odor!

Tags: Healthy, Scenic View, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent customer service from everyone ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

Excellent customer service from everyone. Food was fair, I expected more flavor. Ambience, views and customer service nevertheless makes up for it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5

This restaurant is strategically overloo ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

This restaurant is strategically overlooking one of the most scenic views in La Jolla! It was a beautiful sight to enough while having lunch and the seals were a delight to watch. The food was delicious. I had a organic kale Caesar salad with shrimp and my father enjoyed the Mediterranean chicken wrap - we wiped out plates clean! Definitely highly recommended!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food here is always delicious. Our s ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

The food here is always delicious. Our server Steven was ezra attentive. The view is Amazing!!!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Our server seemed either tired or distra ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

Our server seemed either tired or distracted. Definitely not on her game, but responsive when we made requests. I think this made it a ho-hum visit, as opposed to something special though. A great place to watch the sea lions from. Unfortunately downwind from the marine wildlife smells. May be best earlier in the day before the wind picks up.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

The location of this restaurant is right ...

vip
 (Orange County)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

The location of this restaurant is right across the street from a cove where many seal are present. As we approached the restaurant by foot, we were suddenly overcome by what can only be described as a small more pungent than raw sewage. We thought it would pass. However, the smell was actually the seals' excrement and the smell floated across the street and consumed the restaurant. We considered not staying, but found a corner of the patio where it was not as bad.

The food was average, at best. Had the crab cakes, which weren't spectacular. The ceviche my husband said was really good. The fish tacos... average.

The view would have made up for the food, had it not been for the smell. I understand that with different tides, it could be really bad or not bad at all.

***Check the tide schedule before you go!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value2

We could not be seated until everyone in ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

We could not be seated until everyone in our party was there which was annoying, however the rest of the experience was great! Server was awesome, good recommendations, great food!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

visited for Breakfast - excellent food q ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

visited for Breakfast - excellent food quality and worth the visit

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

This place is amazing. Cute building lik ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

This place is amazing. Cute building like a beach house that over looks the ocean right off the Main Street. Food was delicious and the service was exceptional. Highly recommend this place. We were traveling through and will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We celebrated our 28th anniversary at Br ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

We celebrated our 28th anniversary at Brockton. The hostess seated us in a great spot on the Veranda. We were very happy.

Tags: Fun, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

It was a very nice quaint restaurant wit ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

It was a very nice quaint restaurant with good food overlooking the ocean... We had to wait for an outdoor table with a view even though we had reservations..but it was worth it.. The sea lions or seals were kind of stinky though

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Have loved eating at Brockton Villa for ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Have loved eating at Brockton Villa for many years, always a special treat!

Have recommended it to many people for many years.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Disappointed. Lovely location and view, ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Disappointed. Lovely location and view, but food was mediocre at best. Our server was efficient and pleasant, but we should have stopped after the cheese platter and not eaten dinner. The roasted chicken was very dry as was the pasta bolognese. Maybe good spot for a sunset drink.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

Good was good, awesome service and dinin ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Good was good, awesome service and dining with a view for my out of town guests; perfect!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Creative menu, perfectly executed. An u ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Creative menu, perfectly executed. An unparalleled experience when combined with the spectacular location, atop the La Jolla Cove. A new fav!

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Awesome views, awesome service! Food wa ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Awesome views, awesome service!

Food was large portions and the Coast Toast is a must try!

Downside, on Saturdays the garbage cans are at the entrance to restaurant. The smell was so bad we had to move our table inside! Recommend not to visit on Saturday mornings due to smell.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value4

The staff was lovely. But there's a real ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

The staff was lovely. But there's a really bad bee and fly issue. Food was just mediocre. Kids pizza had a "frozen pizza" feel. and the breakfast tacos were bland, albeit fresh.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.