Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi
  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi
  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi

About Brockton Villa

Great Food * Epic Sunsets

Brockton Villa is a beautiful historic home converted into a restaurant located directly across from the ocean. Our seaside location offers a spectacular view of the world-famous La Jolla Cove, and has become a favorite "show off" spot for locals and visitors alike. We are known for our breakfasts, including our famous Coast Toast. Our chef creates many other wonderful dishes seasonally for lunch and our dinner service.

Our house is the perfect place for you to host your next party. Whether it be a wedding reception, rehearsal dinner, baptism, bridal shower, baby shower, or any special occasion.

1235 Coast Blvd.
San Diego, CA 92037
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Californian, American, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast:
Monday - Friday: 8:00am - 12:00pm,
Saturday - Sunday: 8:00am - 3:00pm
Lunch:
Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 3:00pm
Saturday - Sunday: 12:00pm - 3:00pm
Social Hour:
Everyday: 3:00pm - 5:00pm
Dinner:
Everyday: 5:00pm - Close

Cross Street:
Prospect

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(858) 454-7393

Website:
http://www.brocktonvilla.com/

Parking Details:
There is parking available on public streets. There are also numerous per hour fee parking garages and private parking lot offered for large private events

Executive Chef:
Mareyja Sisbarro

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Specials

Three Course Prix Fixe Meal for $30.00

Mondays, Tuesdays and Sundays from 5:00 PM - 9:00 PM

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Specials

Three Course Prix Fixe Meal for $30.00

Mondays, Tuesdays and Sundays from 5:00 PM - 9:00 PM

Details

Three Course Prix Fixe Meal for $30.00. Excludes Tax and Tip. Join us for the best Pre Fixe dinner with unmatched views of the Cove and Shores. Special valid Apr 24, 2017 - Aug 24, 2017 on Mondays, Tuesdays and Sundays from 5:00 PM - 9:00 PM.

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Details

Join us for Mother's Day brunch in our lovely cottage at the beach! The only restaurant that sits directly at La Jolla Cove, our view is unsurpassed. Bring your mom for a day of brunching and shopping here in La Jolla!

Private Dining

Our ocean front historic cottage has cozy home like charm. Private parties can take place in the entire cottage or in specific areas (the Nook, Veranda, Main Dining , Patio). Each seat has an ocean view. With our award winning menus, our house is the perfect place for you to host your next party.

Brockton Villa Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.7

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (69)
Waterfront (63)
Great for Outdoor Dining (51)
See All
Great for Brunch (48)
Good for a Date (38)
Neighborhood Gem (34)
Romantic (32)
Casual (30)
Worth the Drive (30)
Great for Lunch (27)
Cozy (27)
Historic (24)
Sunday Lunch (23)
Special Occasion (21)
Creative Cuisine (19)
Good for Anniversaries (19)
Fun (17)
Good for Birthdays (15)
Kid-friendly (14)
Local Ingredients (14)
Authentic (13)
Fireplace (12)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Fit for Foodies (11)
Healthy (10)
People Watching (9)
Hot Spot (9)
Afternoon Coffee (8)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Family Style (6)
Afternoon Tea (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Good for Groups (4)
Organic (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Seasonal (4)
Business Meals (4)
Outstanding Value (3)
Vegan (3)
Quick Bite (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Private Room (2)
Great Beer (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Tasting Menu (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Sort By:
S
1179 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 5 days ago

Seafood stew was great, but bread was cold and lacked flavor. Wine was excellent. However, it is only really worth it for the ocean front view and the great service from our waiter.

Tags: Waterfront, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on April 19, 2017

Wonderful restaurant with a lot of history. The food is great and reasonably priced. The view of La Jolla cove is amazing.

Tags: Authentic, Romantic, Waterfront, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Historic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 19, 2017

Wonderful food & service. Good value. Sun Mon Tues 3 Course for $30. Great deal!!

Tags: Casual, Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (México)·Dined on April 18, 2017

Loved everything of this place!!! The service and the food was awsome!!

Tags: Cozy, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Tasting Menu, Family Style, Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Romantic, Scenic View, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We were looking for a place to show off the California coast to my wife's niece and boyfriend and Brockton Villa was a great choice for that. One side of the table had a great view of the coastline jutting out north of La Jolla and the other had a great view of a rocky cove just across the road. the villa sits high above the road so both views were unobstructed. Be aware that parking is very challenging. There is a parking garage on Coast just as you go down the hill but before you know where Brockton Villa is. Miss that and it's unlikely to find a spot for a very long way till you get back up onto Prospect where you are not allowed to uturn back where you came. Around the block, by this time you are quite a ways away and when you get back on Prospect the two public Valet parking spots are both on the other side of the road. That said it is well worth the effort. The food was excellent, my wife had Salmon and I had Sea Bass and they were both very good. They do not have a full bar, only beer and wine, but they make cocktails from something called bourbon that is wine based. I didn't try that. I did have a very nice and affordable Cab. The only glitch in the service was they served 3 of the four dinners and left me sitting till I raised a small fuss (about 5 minutes of waiting for someone to notice). They recovered well once I spoke up and the server (not the same as the waiter) apologized. All in all a very nice place that I would go back to.

Tags: Historic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Love, love,love this place.. do not miss the Coast Toast!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 13, 2017

What makes this restaurant special is the view. Ask for a table outside for sure. The service is excellent and good good. Nice for a sunset dinner.

Tags: Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on April 11, 2017

We enjoyed the beautiful Brockton Villa location overlooking the ocean during sunset. Our dinners were all above average (my filet mignon was great!) The service was efficient, accommodating and friendly. All the staff we encountered during our visit were very nice. What a wonderful way to end our beautiful Southern California vacation!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Someone named Rachel called a day in advance to tell me about the difficulty we would face parking and climbing down the hillside. As i had never been to the restaurant before and was taking elderly family, Tacel suggested we Uber and take an elevator from the street. It worked perfectly. Great food and service. Really amazing care!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on April 9, 2017

The location of the restaurant is perfect for relaxing and gazing at the water. It is slightly protected from the wind so you do not get any of the breeze and although it was a little chilly outside once we sat down we felt the heat of the propane heaters which was fantastic. The service was excellent and the special omelettes were interesting and delicious. We had out of state friends with us and they were delighted at this place. It gets busy so I would recommend a reservation but definitely worth the wait if you are just passing by.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 9, 2017

This is a lovely restaurant owned by two people we met on our honeymoon in Fiji nearly 20 years ago! Surreal to go there to celebrate our daughters 16th birthday! Thanks for the ambience and the great food! The sunset view was like no other!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 8, 2017

We had an amazing time here. The views were amazing obviously but the staff were so friendly and the food was delicious. I highly reccomend this place for any meal with friends or family.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 8, 2017

What a wonderful setting
Delightful waitress and everyone was lovely

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Delicious food, pleasant wait staff and gorgeous views!

Tags: People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Waterfront, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Excellent experience--great view, creative good food, excellent and friendly waiter.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on April 3, 2017

Great place with a great view! Pleasantly surprised by how good the food was- definitely try the chowder!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 1, 2017

A friend recommended this place and since I had a birthday and someone in from out of town, decided to try it. Food and ambiance/view were great and service was good. One tiny bathroom - not so good. Also there is absolutely no parking and no valet. Dropped my friend off and parked 10 minutes away. I would go back but at least I know the drawbacks now.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on March 28, 2017

Anniversary

Tags: Waterfront, Gluten Free Options, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 26, 2017

so impressed with dinner I have had breakfast many times but never dinner WOW so great the food was unreal and the service was top notch this is a must do date night AAA+++

Tags: Fireplace, Casual, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Amazing location at La Jolla cove. Food was good and service excellent. Celebrated a birthday brunch with friends midweek. It was a beautiful day and we had a table overlooking the cove.
I really appreciated our server who was not in a hurry to chase us out once we had finished eating.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on March 23, 2017

This is a must visit for me every time I'm in the area. The Coast Toast is amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 20, 2017

I was impressed that the kid's burgers came with fresh fruit instead of fries. Dinner was so good, we went back for breakfast the next day... best breakfast we had all week.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Great cioppino
Little cold with no offer from staff to do things to warm things up or move us to warmer area
Overlooking ocean wonderful but aroma of bird p**p was distracting at the least
Bathrooms sub par
Drinks were not what was suggested
(No ' liquor' license?)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Brunch!!!!
On way from San Diego to Newport Beach!
Recommended by a LYFT driver in San Diego

Tags: Local Ingredients, Waterfront, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 13, 2017

We had a good dinner at Brockton Villa, except for the unusually long wait time for our main meal,which was really good(salmon and rice)close to an hour after receiving our appetizer,it would have been nice to hear from the staff regarding the kitchen is running behind schedule, it would make it more bearable,,,,,The creme Brulee is short of being an empty plate with glazed sugar on top,it consisted of maybe a three inch plate with a huge glob of whipped cream more than anything else, and about no thicker than a pencil worth of creme burlee....
It felt as if was having to scrape the plate just to get a bite,, I gave up half way through it..

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Overall our experience was ok. The hostesses were great. Our waiter was very nice and knowledgeable , however he was not attentive enough. Meal was ok. The cinnamon roll pancakes and the regular pancakes were very good. The angus burger was also very good. Especially the pretzel bun. The BBQ Pork sandwich was ok. Not what I expected it to be. The omelette of the day was not very good. Cheese was only on one side of the omelette. The view is great.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 12, 2017

This place was highly recommended by a friend but my date and I were not impressed. The food was good but not great, the location was nice but the tables were cramped and the waiter who served our table was more interested in gossiping with his coworker than he was in serving our table.
The restaurant was plenty busy, so maybe our experience was not typical, but we would not recommend it to any of our friends.
One other thing we thought was strange the restaurant has brunch menus and the table were adorned with delicious sounding brunch time adult beverages, but when we tried to order one our server informed us that he could not serve adult beverages until after 11:00AM, If that had been clearly stated on the website when I booked the reservation I would have booked a later time slot.

Tags: People Watching, Cozy, Scenic View, Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Great French toast and great view of La Jolla Cove!

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Simply wonderful . This was a special occasion/anniversary.

Coast Toast is wonderful and prepared perfectly.

Definitely coming back soon!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Waterfront, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Historic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Excellent overall experience. Took European business customers there and they enjoyed both the location, atmosphere and food. Our reservation was after dark, but if you have dinner around sunset the view is fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Fabulous restaurant. Park up by the stores and take the scenic walk down to the restaurant. We had a terrific seat on outside balcony watching and listening to the seals. The local products in the food and local beer makes it a neighbourhood gem.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Hot Spot, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Waterfront, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, People Watching, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 7, 2017

Most amazing french toast ("Coast Toast") I have ever eaten. And really beautiful view of the cove. Had a great time.

Tags: Romantic, Authentic, Fun, Casual, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on March 6, 2017

What a lovely place for brunch in LaJolla, not to mention our food was delicious!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Loved almost everything. Great place. Wonderful Food. Beautiful outdoor seating. Attentive service. We were 6 girlfriends all turning 60 out for brunch.
We were sad to here we couldn't order a cocktail until 11:00am. We arrived at 10:00am.
Also the bathroom was so dirty we felt like we were at a gas station restroom.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fun, Open Kitchen, Good for Birthdays, Afternoon Coffee, Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Sunday Lunch, Scenic View, Waterfront, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Great classic location overlooking the ocean.
Very comfortable. Food and mojitos were wonderful. Highly recommend.

Tags: Casual, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fireplace, Paleo Friendly, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Great view, great food, and great service. What more could you ask.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Great family breakfast in a casual setting with ocean views. House specialty "Coast Toast" is always a hit but their omelets are excellent as well. Great spot.

Tags: Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 3, 2017

One of the best locations in La Jolla, parking is a challenge unless you valet up on Prospect and walk down. But not over priced & food is really good. Reservations are a good idea,. I highly recomend sitting out on the patio..they do have heaters if it's chilly out. Great for casual dining or special occasions.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Great restaurant!! Wonderful food, service, view! I highly recommend this place and will definitely go back. Fantastic!!!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Healthy, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Everything about this place was awesome! Service, food, view etc. I planned brunch for my Mothers birthday and we had an amazing experience. We will definitely be going back, great for any occasion!

Tags: Waterfront, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Casual, Special Occasion, Cozy, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Fun, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Family Style, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.