About Brockton Villa

1235 Coast Blvd.
San Diego, CA 92037
View Larger Map

Great Food * Epic Sunsets

Brockton Villa is a beautiful historic home converted into a restaurant located directly across from the ocean. Our seaside location offers a spectacular view of the world-famous La Jolla Cove, and has become a favorite "show off" spot for locals and visitors alike. We are known for our breakfasts, including our famous Coast Toast. Our chef creates many other wonderful dishes seasonally for lunch and our dinner service.

Our house is the perfect place for you to host your next party. Whether it be a wedding reception, rehearsal dinner, baptism, bridal shower, baby shower, or any special occasion.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Californian, American, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast:
Monday - Friday: 8:00am - 12:00pm,
Saturday - Sunday: 8:00am - 3:00pm
Lunch:
Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 3:00pm
Saturday - Sunday: 12:00pm - 3:00pm
Social Hour:
Everyday: 3:00pm - 5:00pm
Dinner:
Everyday: 5:00pm - Close

Cross Street:
Prospect

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(858) 454-7393

Website:
http://www.brocktonvilla.com/

Parking Details:
There is parking available on public streets. There are also numerous per hour fee parking garages and private parking lot offered for large private events

Executive Chef:
Mareyja Sisbarro

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Coast Toast
Chilaquiles
Smoked Salmon Plate
Grilled Atlantic Salmon Blt
Mediterranean Chicken Pita
Grilled Balsamic Portabello Burger
shrimp salad
Fresh House Roasted Turkey Breast Sandwich
Pasta Salad
Crab Cake Sliders
Steamed Mussels
Picante Steamed Local Mussels
Classic Manila Clams And Linguine
Hawaiian Ceviche
Cheese Board
Peach Mimosa
Bacon
Last Bite With Some Bacon
Chips And Stuff
Salmon Plate
Shrimp Butter Leaf Wraps
Crabcake Sliders
House-Made Beer Brine Corn Beef Hash
Brockton Villa's Epic Chowder
Bloody Mary
Eggs Ipanema
Salmon BLT
Naughty Buritto
Bv Pancakes
Corned beef and hash
Corned Beef Hash
Crab Ipanema
pancakes
Salmon Entree
Grilled Artichoke
Cioppino
Big Garden Papperdelle
Latte
BV Pancakes (Strawberries and Blueberries)
Curry Chicken Salad
Carne Asada Benedict
Ipanema Crab
crab cake
Pulled Pork & Chorizo Chilaquiles
Crab Cakes Ipanema
Crab Benedict
Naughty Burrito

Promotions

Wine Down By the Sea

Special valid Jun 1, 2016 - Oct 1, 2016 all week from 3:00 PM - 6:00 PM

Promotions

Wine Down By the Sea

Special valid Jun 1, 2016 - Oct 1, 2016 all week from 3:00 PM - 6:00 PM

Details

$30 for a Bottle of House White or Red Wine and Artisan Cheese Board. Offering Daily Brocktail Specials. Excludes Tax and Tip. Perfect way relax by the ocean! $30 for a bottle of wine and Artisan Cheeseboard. Special valid Jun 1, 2016 - Oct 1, 2016 all week from 3:00 PM - 6:00 PM.

Private Dining

Our ocean front historic cottage has cozy home like charm. Private parties can take place in the entire cottage or in specific areas (the Nook, Veranda, Main Dining , Patio). Each seat has an ocean view. With our award winning menus, our house is the perfect place for you to host your next party.

Brockton Villa Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.3

ambience

4.5

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (129)
Great for Outdoor Dining (121)
Great for Brunch (81)
See All
Special Occasion (67)
Neighborhood Gem (53)
Romantic (52)
Great for Lunch (48)
Fit for Foodies (39)
Kid-friendly (23)
Good for Groups (22)
Hot Spot (14)
Late-night Find (5)
Notable Wine List (1)
Sort By:
Newest
984 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

This restaurant is strategically overloo ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 6 hours ago

This restaurant is strategically overlooking one of the most scenic views in La Jolla! It was a beautiful sight to enough while having lunch and the seals were a delight to watch. The food was delicious. I had a organic kale Caesar salad with shrimp and my father enjoyed the Mediterranean chicken wrap - we wiped out plates clean! Definitely highly recommended!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food here is always delicious. Our s ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined 2 days ago

The food here is always delicious. Our server Steven was ezra attentive. The view is Amazing!!!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The location of this restaurant is right ...

vip
 (Orange County)
·Dined 6 days ago

The location of this restaurant is right across the street from a cove where many seal are present. As we approached the restaurant by foot, we were suddenly overcome by what can only be described as a small more pungent than raw sewage. We thought it would pass. However, the smell was actually the seals' excrement and the smell floated across the street and consumed the restaurant. We considered not staying, but found a corner of the patio where it was not as bad.

The food was average, at best. Had the crab cakes, which weren't spectacular. The ceviche my husband said was really good. The fish tacos... average.

The view would have made up for the food, had it not been for the smell. I understand that with different tides, it could be really bad or not bad at all.

***Check the tide schedule before you go!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value2

We could not be seated until everyone in ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

We could not be seated until everyone in our party was there which was annoying, however the rest of the experience was great! Server was awesome, good recommendations, great food!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

visited for Breakfast - excellent food q ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

visited for Breakfast - excellent food quality and worth the visit

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

This place is amazing. Cute building lik ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

This place is amazing. Cute building like a beach house that over looks the ocean right off the Main Street. Food was delicious and the service was exceptional. Highly recommend this place. We were traveling through and will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We celebrated our 28th anniversary at Br ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

We celebrated our 28th anniversary at Brockton. The hostess seated us in a great spot on the Veranda. We were very happy.

Tags: Fun, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

It was a very nice quaint restaurant wit ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

It was a very nice quaint restaurant with good food overlooking the ocean... We had to wait for an outdoor table with a view even though we had reservations..but it was worth it.. The sea lions or seals were kind of stinky though

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Have loved eating at Brockton Villa for ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Have loved eating at Brockton Villa for many years, always a special treat!

Have recommended it to many people for many years.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Disappointed. Lovely location and view, ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Disappointed. Lovely location and view, but food was mediocre at best. Our server was efficient and pleasant, but we should have stopped after the cheese platter and not eaten dinner. The roasted chicken was very dry as was the pasta bolognese. Maybe good spot for a sunset drink.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

Good was good, awesome service and dinin ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Good was good, awesome service and dining with a view for my out of town guests; perfect!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Creative menu, perfectly executed. An u ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Creative menu, perfectly executed. An unparalleled experience when combined with the spectacular location, atop the La Jolla Cove. A new fav!

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Awesome views, awesome service! Food wa ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Awesome views, awesome service!

Food was large portions and the Coast Toast is a must try!

Downside, on Saturdays the garbage cans are at the entrance to restaurant. The smell was so bad we had to move our table inside! Recommend not to visit on Saturday mornings due to smell.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value4

The staff was lovely. But there's a real ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

The staff was lovely. But there's a really bad bee and fly issue. Food was just mediocre. Kids pizza had a "frozen pizza" feel. and the breakfast tacos were bland, albeit fresh.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value2

Coast Toast - a must-order item. So yum ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Coast Toast - a must-order item. So yummy it melts in your mouth.

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Terrific & pleasant staff. Food well wor ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Terrific & pleasant staff. Food well worth the price & delectable.

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ordered the some pancakes, coast toast a ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Ordered the some pancakes, coast toast as well as salmon. Oh gosh it was absolutely delish. Coming back again just for the salmon. In regards to the view and service, both were truly great and make me want to return again. I do not recall the name of the waitress but she was very friendly and served our table well. Furthermore, I requested an outdoor seating close to the ocean and the seating was perfect!!!! I am actually very happy to have actually got the spot I specially requested. Definitely coming here again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Staff was outstanding. Parking was a maj ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Staff was outstanding. Parking was a major problem. We were originally seated next to a loud table but the staff very agreeably moved us.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Sitting in the low lying fog, mist drift ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Sitting in the low lying fog, mist drifting over our dew covered legs, under the bask of heaters on an open deck overlooking the La Jolla Bay, our breakfast was served in a timely manner and well prepared. Siracha seasoning abounds. Good but not creative or ideal in the presence of delicate fish or crab plates.

Take a date, enjoy life. The food was good but not great.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

I took an out of town friend there to sh ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

I took an out of town friend there to show off La Jolla Cove with an ocean view she rarely gets to be around. The service was very good. My reservation was handled with efficiency. We got everything we asked for and our server was patient with us. We had not been there before and needed some extra time to look at the menu. Plus, we were catching up on old times. Nevertheless, he was kind and handled our bill with efficiency and no excuses. We asked to split the bill after it came and he handled it nicely without getting annoyed that we did not ask for separate checks in the first place. Kudos to him.

Tags: Scenic View, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

I took my wife to dinner here to celebra ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

I took my wife to dinner here to celebrate the anniversary of our engagement. I'd been to Brockton Villa once before, years prior. I remembered the lovely view and recalled the food being good.

The view, of course, is still beautiful. The smell, on the other hand, is awful. (I grant that the management has no control over this.) They're a stone's throw from La Jolla Cove, where dozens of seals defile the greater area with the atrociously overpowering aroma of their waste. It's a bit odd to sit on the balcony of a restaurant overlooking the sea, while being overwhelmed by what smells like an enormous stockyard.

Now, as I said, I understand that Brockton Villa's management has no say here. However, one would hope they would do everything in their power to overcome this deficiency by providing an otherwise excellent dining experience. One would be wrong.

We started with a cheese board. It was tasty. Had some nice offerings and was, by far, the best thing we had.

Service was friendly but slow, distracted and inconsistent. We're not picky. But we had to wait far too long for things like water, silverware and napkins. Important stuff. What's more, we could see that some of his other tables (the ones occupied solely by young, single women) received much more attentive service. Not unusual. But frustrating when you're thirsty and forkless.

As for our entrees, I ordered the burger (with bacon and blue cheese) and my wife ordered the rigatoni bolognese. Her dish was fine. Not great, but not awful. Just bland. My burger was pretty lousy. It tasted mostly of mustard and blue cheese. The meat itself was fast-food quality. My side salad was a joke. It was a small pile of spring mix greens with four carrot shreds. The dressing was so lightly applied as to be imperceptible. And that was it. No nuts, seeds, croutons, cheese, fruit - nothing.

Oh, and the seats were like torture racks. Apparently they're made exclusively for very small, slightly built women.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

I had the quinioa dish. Dillan was my se ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

I had the quinioa dish. Dillan was my server and he made the whole experience top notch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Beautiful location and view, but we were ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Beautiful location and view, but we were disappointed with our food. One of us got the fish tacos and they were dry (major sin in San Diego). Two of us got the lobster risotto, which came highly recommended by our waiter. It was really horrible-- way too thick and sticky. While we enjoyed the ambiance we won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3

Very disappointed in service and food.

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Very disappointed in service and food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

Brockton Villa is a long time favorite, ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Brockton Villa is a long time favorite, the food is always delicious and the view is simply spectacular. We have recommended Brockton Villa to many people and have yet to hear of anyone who was disappointed with their visit.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely gorgeous view and superb food ...

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Absolutely gorgeous view and superb food! Hearing the random seals made the whole experience! ;)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We went with friends who recommended Bro ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

We went with friends who recommended Brocton Villa for brunch. It was everything they promised. The food and service were excellent and the view is to die for. The traffic was a little crazy but with the beach and cliffs and it being a Saturday it shouldn't have been a surprise. There is a public parking garage close by and there were a few spots still open. We will spread the word to all our friends. The next time we head to that area, we will not only eat there again we will find accommodations close by.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was ok, food was good, if you're ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Service was ok, food was good, if you're sitting inside you have a bad view. Views from the outside are spectacular though. If you're bringing any children expect to be put inside even if they have open season the exterior.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value4

We preferred Brockton Villa over Georges ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

We preferred Brockton Villa over Georges Ocean Terrace. The wait staff were tremendous, food was unique and refreshing, and we liked the setting of the restaurant better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

I had the crab cakes, they were tiny and ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

I had the crab cakes, they were tiny and overbreaded

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

There is a construction going on next do ...

vip
 (México)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

There is a construction going on next door so there is some noise. The view is amazing and the food wonderful but the attitude and lack of enthusiasm of our server put a damper on our breakfast experience. Still very enjoyable!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

I was disappointed in my experience at B ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

I was disappointed in my experience at Brickton Villa. I have been there multiple times in the past 20+ years and always loved it. However, the smell this time around from the nearby coastal cliffs was a terrible nuisance. It interfered with the entire experience and I most likely will not return until that problem can be fixed.

Allison Leedom

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service2
value2

Great view of sunset. Service was exce ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

Great view of sunset. Service was excellent. We went twice and each time was special.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

I'm not going to blame the lack of parki ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

I'm not going to blame the lack of parking on the restaurant nor the bad smell coming from the seals and seagulls. But that certainly contributes to a less than desirable dining experience. Since parking is so limited, parties can't be seated until the driver finally parks the car and gets there, at which point several walk-ins were seated ahead of us, and then we were seated outdoors even though we requested indoors which was available when we first arrived.

We were finally seated by 10 and ordered Bloody Marys only to find out that they aren't served until 11:00 a.m. Whatever liquor laws are in effect don't interest me - we always start our Sunday brunch with Bloodys. Big disappointment.

The poached eggs were cold and tasted like vinegar. My husband had a very hard time getting a cup of coffee and subsequent refills.

We have two favorite brunch restaurants in Del Mar which we will be returning to from now on.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

We got there at 5:30pm. They say us on t ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

We got there at 5:30pm. They say us on the balcony overlooking the most beautiful view but the sun hits you right in the face. They have made no arrangements to block it but could have put roll down screens. This happens each day for 2 hours. Killed what could have been a perfect score.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

Even though we made a reservation, they ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Even though we made a reservation, they kept us waiting for about 20'. I did not like that. It is a great place for brunch, but summer time is not the best time to go. Hot and sinky with the pelican poo on the rocks near by. Better to go in late fall and winter when it is cooler and the rain has washed away the bird poo. Did not like that the reception girls made us wait even though we had a reservation and were there on time. Not good. It was my wife's birthday. Not good.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Can't beat the location, view, and ambia ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Can't beat the location, view, and ambiance. Food was good, and well priced given the location and setting. Service was outstanding. Would definitely go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I took my friend out to celebrate his we ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

I took my friend out to celebrate his wedding later that day. It was my first time to Brockton Villa and won't be my last. Food was delicious. I had the Corned Beef Hash and it was the best I've ever had. For dessert we had the Coast Toast which was every bit as good as I had heard. Our server was Ryan and he was awesome. Kept the drinks coming and was very knowledgable about the menu. Looking forward to next time.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Loved our server Darrin...we love good f ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Loved our server Darrin...we love good food, and he had great recommendations. First time to LaJolla, visiting from the midwest. dined after a beach day at Torrey Pines, could not have had a better ending to a fabulous day!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoyable old La Jolla ambiance -- with ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Enjoyable old La Jolla ambiance -- with homey atmosphere, including

a wonderful fireplace decorated with abalone shells -- fantastic view of the Cove.

Great for visitors to San Diego, as well as meeting friends.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.