About Brockton Villa

1235 Coast Blvd.
San Diego, CA 92037
View Larger Map

Great Food * Epic Sunsets

Brockton Villa is a beautiful historic home converted into a restaurant located directly across from the ocean. Our seaside location offers a spectacular view of the world-famous La Jolla Cove, and has become a favorite "show off" spot for locals and visitors alike. We are known for our breakfasts, including our famous Coast Toast. Our chef creates many other wonderful dishes seasonally for lunch and our dinner service.

Our house is the perfect place for you to host your next party. Whether it be a wedding reception, rehearsal dinner, baptism, bridal shower, baby shower, or any special occasion.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Californian, American, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast:
Monday - Friday: 8:00am - 12:00pm,
Saturday - Sunday: 8:00am - 3:00pm
Lunch:
Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 3:00pm
Saturday - Sunday: 12:00pm - 3:00pm
Social Hour:
Everyday: 3:00pm - 5:00pm
Dinner:
Everyday: 5:00pm - Close

Cross Street:
Prospect

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(858) 454-7393

Website:
http://www.brocktonvilla.com/

Parking Details:
There is parking available on public streets. There are also numerous per hour fee parking garages and private parking lot offered for large private events

Executive Chef:
Mareyja Sisbarro

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Coast Toast - Brockton Villa, San Diego, CA
Chilaquiles - Brockton Villa, San Diego, CA
Smoked Salmon Plate - Brockton Villa, San Diego, CA
Grilled Atlantic Salmon Blt - Brockton Villa, San Diego, CA
Mediterranean Chicken Pita - Brockton Villa, San Diego, CA
Grilled Balsamic Portabello Burger - Brockton Villa, San Diego, CA
shrimp salad - Brockton Villa, San Diego, CA
Fresh House Roasted Turkey Breast Sandwich - Brockton Villa, San Diego, CA
Pasta Salad - Brockton Villa, San Diego, CA
Crab Cake Sliders - Brockton Villa, San Diego, CA
Steamed Mussels - Brockton Villa, San Diego, CA
Picante Steamed Local Mussels - Brockton Villa, San Diego, CA
Classic Manila Clams And Linguine - Brockton Villa, San Diego, CA
Hawaiian Ceviche - Brockton Villa, San Diego, CA
Cheese Board - Brockton Villa, San Diego, CA
Peach Mimosa  - Brockton Villa, San Diego, CA
Bacon - Brockton Villa, San Diego, CA
Last Bite With Some Bacon  - Brockton Villa, San Diego, CA
Chips And Stuff - Brockton Villa, San Diego, CA
Salmon Plate - Brockton Villa, San Diego, CA
Shrimp Butter Leaf Wraps - Brockton Villa, San Diego, CA
Crabcake Sliders - Brockton Villa, San Diego, CA
House-Made Beer Brine Corn Beef Hash - Brockton Villa, San Diego, CA
Brockton Villa's Epic Chowder - Brockton Villa, San Diego, CA
Bloody Mary - Brockton Villa, San Diego, CA
Eggs Ipanema - Brockton Villa, San Diego, CA
Salmon BLT - Brockton Villa, San Diego, CA
Naughty Buritto - Brockton Villa, San Diego, CA
Bv Pancakes - Brockton Villa, San Diego, CA
Corned beef and hash - Brockton Villa, San Diego, CA
Corned Beef Hash - Brockton Villa, San Diego, CA
Crab Ipanema - Brockton Villa, San Diego, CA
pancakes - Brockton Villa, San Diego, CA
Salmon Entree - Brockton Villa, San Diego, CA
Grilled Artichoke - Brockton Villa, San Diego, CA
Cioppino - Brockton Villa, San Diego, CA
Big Garden Papperdelle - Brockton Villa, San Diego, CA
Latte - Brockton Villa, San Diego, CA
BV Pancakes (Strawberries and Blueberries) - Brockton Villa, San Diego, CA
Curry Chicken Salad - Brockton Villa, San Diego, CA
Carne Asada Benedict - Brockton Villa, San Diego, CA
Ipanema Crab - Brockton Villa, San Diego, CA
crab cake - Brockton Villa, San Diego, CA
Pulled Pork & Chorizo Chilaquiles - Brockton Villa, San Diego, CA
Crab Cakes Ipanema - Brockton Villa, San Diego, CA
Crab Benedict - Brockton Villa, San Diego, CA
Naughty Burrito - Brockton Villa, San Diego, CA

Specials

Three Course Prix Fixe Meal for $30.00

Sundays - Tuesdays from 5:00 PM - 9:00 PM

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Bring a Friend Before 10!

Mondays - Fridays from 8:00 AM - 10:00 AM

Specials

Three Course Prix Fixe Meal for $30.00

Sundays - Tuesdays from 5:00 PM - 9:00 PM

Details

Three Course Prix Fixe Meal for $30.00. Excludes Tax and Tip. Join us for the best Pre Fixe dinner with perfect views of the Cove and Shores!. Special valid Nov 19, 2016 - Mar 15, 2017 on Sundays - Tuesdays from 5:00 PM - 9:00 PM.

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Details

Romantic dining overlooking La Jolla Cove! Join us for a lovely 3 course dinner offered for only $49/person. Best deal at the beach!

Bring a Friend Before 10!

Mondays - Fridays from 8:00 AM - 10:00 AM

Details

Bring a friend before 10. Mention this special and get 2 Breakfast entrees and 2 specialty espresso drinks for only $20! The best views of La Jolla Cove and the Shores!. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Nov 19, 2016 - Mar 1, 2017 on Mondays - Fridays from 8:00 AM - 10:00 AM.

Private Dining

Our ocean front historic cottage has cozy home like charm. Private parties can take place in the entire cottage or in specific areas (the Nook, Veranda, Main Dining , Patio). Each seat has an ocean view. With our award winning menus, our house is the perfect place for you to host your next party.

Brockton Villa Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (48)
Waterfront (39)
Great for Outdoor Dining (26)
See All
Sunday Lunch (21)
Great for Brunch (21)
Casual (20)
Good for a Date (19)
Neighborhood Gem (18)
Great for Lunch (17)
Historic (16)
Worth the Drive (16)
Good for Anniversaries (15)
Special Occasion (14)
Romantic (13)
Cozy (13)
Afternoon Coffee (9)
Fun (8)
Local Ingredients (7)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Fireplace (6)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Business Meals (5)
People Watching (4)
Family Style (4)
Authentic (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Seasonal (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Organic (2)
Healthy (2)
Quick Bite (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Private Room (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Sort By:
S
1108 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Fabulous restaurant with outstanding, we ...

 
 (New England)·Dined 3 days ago

Fabulous restaurant with outstanding, well-prepared food. Wonderful service and unparalleled views of the ocean! Highly recommended.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful view and delicious food. Cute ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined 3 days ago

Beautiful view and delicious food. Cute little cottage with a great selection of yummy food. Would definitely go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was restaurant week. The petite filet ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 5 days ago

It was restaurant week. The petite filet was the best. Our waiter was very personable. The view of the bay was great.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is a great restaurant with several ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined 5 days ago

This is a great restaurant with several seating areas, most of which have amazing ocean views. The location is just across a parking lot from the cove so we could hear the seagulls and seals. Waves were crashing. Really nice. The food and service were excellent and the tab was reasonable. The parking is easy and free. If you're in town, make a point to go. If you're a local and haven't been yet, you're missing a gem. Make a reservation, however, if possible.

Tags: Business Meals, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Afternoon Coffee, Afternoon Tea, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Historic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Romantic, Waterfront, Fireplace, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Magical. Words often ruin truest emotion ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 5 days ago

Magical. Words often ruin truest emotions, so there's my review, one word. Magical.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

All around great food and great atmosphe ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 6 days ago

All around great food and great atmosphere. Would recommend to anyone

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is a beautiful place with scenic vi ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 6 days ago

This is a beautiful place with scenic views. I've had better food but great date spot.

Tags: Good for a Date, Historic, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value5

Service was quick. Food was delicious! T ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Service was quick. Food was delicious! The Coast Toast never fails in taste. We always go early on weekends (before 9:30am) and usually get a table within 10 minutes or less. Great views of the cove when seated outside. Inside seating is cozy and cute.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The ocean view and great food!

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 6, 2017

The ocean view and great food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My wife and son and I enjoyed a very qui ...

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on January 4, 2017

My wife and son and I enjoyed a very quiet dinner on a Tuesday night off season. Great location overlooking the ocean, seals barking out on the rocks. Ryan was very good waiter/host, food was very good, basic and satisfying. Overall enjoyable dinner. Would like to return in summertime, as it was chilly in January.

Tags: Cozy, Fun, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Delicious, very good service, charming a ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Delicious, very good service, charming ambiance, love the abalone fireplace.

Tags: Healthy, Local Ingredients, Afternoon Coffee, Organic, Gluten Free Options, Great for Outdoor Dining, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The view and area are really picturesque ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 2, 2017

The view and area are really picturesque! The food and service were great, but I would just advise that the smell of sea lion is a bit strong if sitting at the outside patio. The price you pay I guess to be so close to the water!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The food and service is good. There are ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 2, 2017

The food and service is good. There are only a few tables with view. If you get those and weather is good, then you are having nice breakfast with view. Otherwise, it will be just the breakfast,

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Friends since college (now in our 60s) w ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Friends since college (now in our 60s) we get together for brunch on New Year's morning to celebrate birthdays. We have tried several locations; Brockton Villa was one of the best, providing outstanding value, comfort, and very good service on a busy morning. It was chilly this year, but the nook in the back was perfect for our party of six (it could comfortably seat eight) and we could easily hear each other and be our own little party. The food, as usual, was very good although the eggs were a little dry (I had a scramble; my friend had an omelet); the rest of our party enjoy various pancakes. The location and view are great and we can walk from La Jolla Cove to the Children's Pool afterwards. We recommend the public parking just around the corner below the Crab Catcher; it's worth the price.

Tags: Casual, Sunday Lunch,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

My son and I went to Brockton Villa for ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 1, 2017

My son and I went to Brockton Villa for New Years Eve (but I had been there once before for lunch). There was a 3 course dinner for $55 and all 3 courses were excellent! The service was fantastic. It was rainy, so there was no view that night but normally you can see Seal Cove from the balcony area and hear them as well!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Went here for my birthday dinner on New ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Went here for my birthday dinner on New Year's Eve. The food and service were equally great! Our waiter, Darren (not sure if this is the right spelling), was very attentive and considerate.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

New Year's Eve Dinner- besides the weath ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 1, 2017

New Year's Eve Dinner- besides the weather, everything was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice little place, great history, and vi ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Nice little place, great history, and views. Was cold and wet when we went, but can imagine sitting in this place on a nice warm sunny day. Only downfall not Bloody Mary's served before 11 am due to zoning law :-(

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Can't say enough about how much I love t ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Can't say enough about how much I love this place. Fun. Great food. Great people. Great view especially on warmer days. Want them to bring back the pomegranate mimosa😄 but their spicy Bloody Mary is the bomb. Love love love

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

French toast was great! Sever was kind a ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 30, 2016

French toast was great!

Sever was kind and good services.

Would recommend.

Tags: Comfort Food, Scenic View, Fireplace, Cozy, Waterfront, Historic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very expensive for what it is.

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Very expensive for what it is.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

Great views and the food was delicious

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Great views and the food was delicious

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

If you want breakfast with a view you'd ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 28, 2016

If you want breakfast with a view you'd be hard pressed to find a better one in La Jolla. Right on the waterline, you'd never know it was a restaurant and not a private home.

Our waiter Sean was very perky and friendly. We made the mistake however of ordering the combo with coast toast. I asked if I could have the eggs any way as an omelette and they said I'd have to order an omelette separately so we got scrambled. So just plain scrambled eggs and potatoes was very boring compared to all the other yummy dishes we were seeing coming out. The coast toast was good, very good!

Skip the combo and go for the toast!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Amazing view! Amazing Coast Toast! Loved ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Amazing view! Amazing Coast Toast! Loved the service !

Tags: Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great from beginning to end. A top fave ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Great from beginning to end. A top fave!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were told by friends about this resta ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 27, 2016

We were told by friends about this restaurant and their Coast Toast. It definitely lived up to the hype. Servicer was very attentive. We will definitely go back when it the area.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had an awesome dinner with friends on th ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Had an awesome dinner with friends on this visit. Food and service were great. Thanks for accommodating a group of 8.

Tags: Historic, Quiet Conversation, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Great food! The Coast Toast was amazing ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Great food! The Coast Toast was amazing. And the view was awesome!

Tags: Special Occasion, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Been bragging to friends about the coast ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Been bragging to friends about the coast toast. Came from out of town just for it. It was served WAY undercooked - like raw dough. To the point the waiter even noticed and said wow that doesn't look right. He asked if he could replace it in a to go order. If they can't make it so it is good when served immediately why would I want a cold soggier version later when I'm hungry now? We said no thank you. He brought it anyway and we said no and sent it back. We still were charged full price ($120) when half of our group had to stop somewhere else to eat after leaving. Will never go back. Very disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

Celebrated my friend's birthday here. Th ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Celebrated my friend's birthday here. The restaurant have a very nice view close to the shore. Love it

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The view, food and service is why I like ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 17, 2016

The view, food and service is why I like going to BV. When it is colder the patio heaters are kicked on and the enclosed porch as an option keeps you warm.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

We had breakfast there overlooking the L ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 15, 2016

We had breakfast there overlooking the La Jolla Cove. A beautiful view and the sounds of the birds and the sea lions in the Cove. Not something I would ever find at home and the food and service was excellent. I would definitely revisit this restaurant when back in San Diego!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Waterfront, Afternoon Coffee, , Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

An special place to share with special f ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 13, 2016

An special place to share with special friends and have been coming for almost 20 yrs!!

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

pleasant morning breakfast with lovely c ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 11, 2016

pleasant morning breakfast with lovely company. Very easy going Staff and great view to La Jolla cove.

Tags: Scenic View, Historic, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Cozy, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

It was the perfect breakfast to end my t ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 11, 2016

It was the perfect breakfast to end my trip to SoCal. I used to live in SD and was a regular visitor. It's been a long time, but the food is just as yummy as I remember!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Waterfront, Scenic View, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful setting, amazing service, tast ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Beautiful setting, amazing service, tasty food, and great parking next door all day for $10

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Try to local cheeseboard. Don't miss see ...

vip
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Try to local cheeseboard. Don't miss seeing the fireplace! Call ahead so you can get loony seating and watch the sunset over the sea. Great place for a friends lunch, or date!

Tags: Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Sunday Lunch, Historic, Worth the Drive, Seasonal, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Great for Lunch, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Fun, Great for Brunch, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

I live in Oregon and come to SD about ev ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 8, 2016

I live in Oregon and come to SD about every 3 months. Every time I come here I have to go to BV for breakfast. I have never had food that wasn't delicious. BVs breakfast is something everyone should go out of their way to do!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Absolutely lovely evening on their patio ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Absolutely lovely evening on their patio; seals and ocean waves in the background. The service was gracious and professional. The ambience was perfect for conversation. The restaurant has a wonderful energy. Ryan was our waiter and he made the evening JOY.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful food and outstanding view! Th ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Wonderful food and outstanding view! The menu is unique and very tasty. Bring a sweater if you sit outside, which I recommend because of the view.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.