Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Wed, 5/23
Time
11:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 22 times today
Special offers available. See details

Brockton Villa

4.6
1467 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Californian
Top Tags:
  • Scenic View
  • Great for Outdoor Dining
  • Waterfront
Great Food * Epic Sunsets

Brockton Villa is a beautiful historic home converted into a restaurant located directly across from the ocean. Our seaside location offers a spectacular view of the world-famous La Jolla Cove, and has become a favorite "show off" spot for locals and visitors alike. We are known for our breakfasts, including our famous Coast Toast. Our chef creates many other wonderful dishes seasonally for lunch and our dinner service.

Our house is the perfect place for you to host your next party. Whether it be a wedding reception, rehearsal dinner, baptism, bridal shower, baby shower, or any special occasion.

Brockton Villa loves families! Please don't forget to include your little ones in your reservation count!

icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private dining
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Californian, American, Seafood
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Breakfast:
Monday - Friday: 8:00am - 12:00pm,
Saturday - Sunday: 8:00am - 3:00pm
Lunch:
Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 3:00pm
Saturday - Sunday: 12:00pm - 3:00pm
Social Hour:
Everyday: 3:00pm - 5:00pm
Dinner:
Everyday: 5:00pm - Close
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(858) 454-7393
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Mareyja Sisbarro
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Prospect
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
There is parking available on public streets. There are also numerous per hour fee parking garages and private parking lot offered for large private events
Additional
Banquet, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Private Dining

Our ocean front historic cottage has cozy home like charm. Private parties can take place in the entire cottage or in specific areas (the Nook, Veranda, Main Dining , Patio). Each seat has an ocean view. With our award winning menus, our house is the perfect place for you to host your next party.

View Private Dining Details

Specials

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Spend your Father's Day at our house!

Sunday, June 17, 2018

What 1467 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.6based on recent ratings
4.5
food
4.6
service
4.6
ambience
4.3
value
Noise · Quiet
94% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
4.0Dined 2 days ago

Love this place. We’ve been coming here on vacation for years and the Brockton is a must! I will say smell has been difficult to over come the last few times we’ve come, we wouldn’t give up this tradition!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 4 days ago

Great food. Great view.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 5 days ago

The coast toast it amazing and it’s has such lovely views! Really awesome brunch spot

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 15, 2018

Good food, solid food with a view. The wait staff was very friendly and accommodating. The setting was a little tight but just what space you needed. Only bummer was then running out of lobster for the lobster roll.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

One of our favorite spots in La Jolla. Great service and we love coming for breakfast. We enjoyed our Mother’s Day at the Villa and our server even gave me a flower!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Friendly staff and excellent food. View was nice too!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 9, 2018

Great location with a beautiful natural setting. Best chowder I have ever eaten! Great service.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 8, 2018

This place is right on the water, overlooking seals and waves and beautiful ocean/sunny views. The food is great as well. We all ordered the filet, and it was incredible. The mashed potatoes, however, were inedible. They quickly fixed this issue and gave us free desserts. Great place!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 7, 2018

Beautiful view. Kind and attentive server. Food came out lickety split and was delicious. Highly recommended!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 7, 2018

Great view from the patio. Wait staff was friendly and responsive. Good was a mixed review. Two dishes were good, one order was average. Would still recommend the restaurant.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 6, 2018

Great brunch. Wonderful french toast. Beautiful views. Very difficult to find parking and no valet parking.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 6, 2018

French toast - the end

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 6, 2018

Food and drinks excellent. Need larger and cleaner restrooms .great views

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 6, 2018

Enjoyable and delicious dinner and we returned for fantastic breakfast! Very friendly and accommodating staff. The views from the porch and patio are an added bonus. A "not to miss" La Jolla experience at sunset.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 5, 2018

Wonderful service, food and ambiance. We had a nice quiet date. We were seated right inside but could still see the sunset.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 5, 2018

25th Anniversary was perfect !!!
Thanks Chloe !!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 30, 2018

Family fun!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 30, 2018

Great service, great ambience , wonderful food

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 29, 2018

My family went for brunch. Food was delicious, but service was a bit slow, but we didn't mind because it was beautiful day outside. Only downside the smell that La Jolla continues to try deal with - but not the restaurants fault!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 29, 2018

Everything was great except despite my father-in-law stating he has a shellfish allergy and us sitting outside, he still had a reaction. Not a place to dine if you are severely sensitive to shellfish.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 29, 2018

Great ambience

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 22, 2018

Fantastic! Delicious food, accommodating service, idyllic setting

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 21, 2018

Outstanding service. Waiter who served us is very attentive. The food is so-so. You can try the Coast toast, but I would recommend to skip the mediocre Egg Benedict

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 18, 2018

Great service from Matt and the hostess. Great views of sunset and great good at a good price, especially for oceanfront in La Jolla. Such friendly and accommodating service. Thank you!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 17, 2018

We went for a coworker's birthday and we had a great time. The server was very nice and super helpful with recommendations. The food was really good, and the portion sizes were HUGE! We all had to take food home with us. Would definitely go back to try dinner.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 15, 2018

Love the place and the location !!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 15, 2018

Everyone we encountered was helpful which made our overall experience quite nice.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 14, 2018

Amazing and friendly service. Accommodated our large group easily.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 14, 2018

ADVISORY-DO NOT let the smell of the cove turn you away from eating at this excellent restaurant, you cannot smell it up at the restaurant. We went to Brockton Villa for a birthday on Saturday and as usual, we were not disappointed. The variety of Mimosa's was interesting and delicious. The sweet basket did not disappoint, especially the Chocolate Almond Croissant that was light and fluffy, served warm and gooey with excellent chocolate ( I can's stand the cheap stuff), and almond paste filling. A must try. The Orange Ginger Scones were terrific also. My companions really loved the Apple Cinnamon Bun. I went on to have the Carne Asada Eggs Benedict, which was awesome and the poached egg was cooked perfectly. So suffice to say that Brockton Villa is still a great place to go. A must try if you have not been here before!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 12, 2018

Excellent food, excellent service. Steven was our server. He was outstanding.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 9, 2018

View is phenomenal. Food is great. Historical California bungalow was converted into this restaurant. It is beautiful!

Be aware, this part of La Jolla can smell of sea life depending on the wind. Ask to eat indoors if you're concerned. Outdoors is best.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 9, 2018

Great spot...views of ocean are spectacular. Heaters allow outside dining when weather is cool. Waitstaff was perfect...helpful...polite but not all over you. Salmon was great as was the wild mushroom risotto. Great chowder and desserts too. Prix Fix menu was a great value in an over priced city.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 8, 2018

Great service, and it was the perfect birthday lunch! They called a few hours early to notify that there was a car show going on and that their street was closed off which was great to know because there was a lot of traffic there and planned accordingly. Good food, service, and a fantastic view!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 5, 2018

We are visiting SD area on vacation and ate at Brockton Villa sitting outside on deck under heaters. We had great service and a beautiful meal.
I would strongly recommend Brockton Villa.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 3, 2018

We sat in the back nook room. It was great because the weather was cloudy and we didn’t want a seat outside. Wonderful place!!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 2, 2018

Cioppino inconsistent in temperature, side of brocollini as well. Bread in the cioppino thick and white that became a blobby choke in broth, not crunchy. Had run out of the beer I ordered. Service aggressively attentive, identical questions and stories to all surrounding tables within earshot. View (across a family of kids on noisy video games) was lovely. Overall, I felt like I was at an average tourist’s meal, rather than an upscale restaurant.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 1, 2018

Great food with a great view!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 1, 2018

A delightful dinner with staff who seemed to enjoy a little joking and banter. I put the noise level at a 2 but please not the sea lions in the cove provided a serenade that was quite vigorous at times!

The food is well presented and delicious. I recommend highly their coast toast and creme brullee desserts.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 1, 2018

I was pretty disappointed by this restaurant honestly. We had to ask to order drinks after we were seated. They only brought us water and never asked for additional drinks. We had to then ask for appetizers. Then, we had to ask to order our food when our appetizers were finished. Most likely the worst service I have had and as we own our company we have experienced many restaurants in many locations. We travel often, and prefer high end restaurants due to the quality of sea food and steaks. We have a large family and can afford to eat well. I believe there was judgement that we could not afford the restaurant or annoyance with many children in our party and the service was way sub par. Our bill was just under $350, I gave a solid tip because it’s who I am but not because it was deserved. I gave two stars for service because after we asked the server was kind, but not engaged nor seemed interested. I do not recommend families go here with children and if you go, ignore the casual. Dress up because they may also give you sub par service as they did us.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 31, 2018

Great food and friendly service. Breakfast here lived up to the hype and so did the view!

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
37

Tweets by Brockton Villa