About Brockton Villa

1235 Coast Blvd.
San Diego, CA 92037
View Larger Map

Great Food * Epic Sunsets

Brockton Villa is a beautiful historic home converted into a restaurant located directly across from the ocean. Our seaside location offers a spectacular view of the world-famous La Jolla Cove, and has become a favorite "show off" spot for locals and visitors alike. We are known for our breakfasts, including our famous Coast Toast. Our chef creates many other wonderful dishes seasonally for lunch and our dinner service.

Our house is the perfect place for you to host your next party. Whether it be a wedding reception, rehearsal dinner, baptism, bridal shower, baby shower, or any special occasion.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Californian, American, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast:
Monday - Friday: 8:00am - 12:00pm,
Saturday - Sunday: 8:00am - 3:00pm
Lunch:
Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 3:00pm
Saturday - Sunday: 12:00pm - 3:00pm
Social Hour:
Everyday: 3:00pm - 5:00pm
Dinner:
Everyday: 5:00pm - Close

Cross Street:
Prospect

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(858) 454-7393

Website:
http://www.brocktonvilla.com/

Parking Details:
There is parking available on public streets. There are also numerous per hour fee parking garages and private parking lot offered for large private events

Executive Chef:
Mareyja Sisbarro

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Specials

Three Course Prix Fixe Meal for $30.00

Sundays - Tuesdays from 5:00 PM - 9:00 PM

Bring a Friend Before 10!

Mondays - Fridays from 8:00 AM - 10:00 AM

Specials

Three Course Prix Fixe Meal for $30.00

Sundays - Tuesdays from 5:00 PM - 9:00 PM

Details

Three Course Prix Fixe Meal for $30.00. Excludes Tax and Tip. Join us for the best Pre Fixe dinner with perfect views of the Cove and Shores!. Special valid Nov 19, 2016 - Mar 15, 2017 on Sundays - Tuesdays from 5:00 PM - 9:00 PM.

Bring a Friend Before 10!

Mondays - Fridays from 8:00 AM - 10:00 AM

Details

Bring a friend before 10. Mention this special and get 2 Breakfast entrees and 2 specialty espresso drinks for only $20! The best views of La Jolla Cove and the Shores!. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Nov 19, 2016 - Mar 1, 2017 on Mondays - Fridays from 8:00 AM - 10:00 AM.

Private Dining

Our ocean front historic cottage has cozy home like charm. Private parties can take place in the entire cottage or in specific areas (the Nook, Veranda, Main Dining , Patio). Each seat has an ocean view. With our award winning menus, our house is the perfect place for you to host your next party.

Brockton Villa Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (46)
Waterfront (38)
Great for Outdoor Dining (26)
See All
Great for Brunch (26)
Historic (24)
Neighborhood Gem (22)
Good for a Date (21)
Casual (20)
Cozy (19)
Great for Lunch (18)
Sunday Lunch (17)
Worth the Drive (17)
Romantic (16)
Special Occasion (14)
Good for Anniversaries (12)
Local Ingredients (11)
Afternoon Coffee (10)
Kid-friendly (9)
Fireplace (8)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Authentic (6)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Fun (6)
Business Meals (5)
Outstanding Value (5)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Seasonal (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Afternoon Tea (4)
Healthy (4)
Family Style (3)
People Watching (3)
Organic (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Good for Groups (2)
Private Room (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Late-night Find (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Vegan (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
1132 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

One of my favorite San Diego brunch spot ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined a day ago

One of my favorite San Diego brunch spots. Love the Carne Asada Benedict and Cinnamon roll pancakes! Amazing view...when weather is good always try to get a table on the west veranda.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Went last Friday during the 'big storm'. ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 3 days ago

Went last Friday during the 'big storm'. We walked in super soaked and they were surprised we actually made it! Staff was super accommodating and friendly. Brought heaters over to help dry us out. We asked to move by their beautiful fireplace since the place was cleared out. After cleaning up following a wedding party, they moved us cheerfully. I had the lamb shank, absolutely delicious. Fall off the bone good! We came back for brunch on Sunday with friends and it was great, especially the seafood omelet special with truffled goat cheese. Sublime!

Tags: Scenic View, Fireplace, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We had reservations for valentines, but ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined 6 days ago

We had reservations for valentines, but we showed up early, so we were placed on the "patio" instead of the "veranda." That would have been fine, but we were right next to a tree, directly under a propane heater, and also about 2ft from another couple's table. The waiter came to our table about once every 15 minutes, and when he did, he had to stand uncomfortably close because of the previously mentioned obstacles. It was so awkward and weird, and unreasonably crowded because of the holiday. The food was pretty mediocre, I ordered the surf and turf, the steak was cooked as I ordered but the shrimp was rubbery and over cooked. Dessert was satisfying but also about 25 minutes too late. Honestly, I was ready to leave before our appetizer had even arrived. Ambiance was pretty terrible as we mostly heard the sounds of the kitchen, which came out of a window about 10 ft from our table. Some poor souls had to sit directly under the kitchen window. We could hear ourselves over the kitchen noise but so could about 4 tables around us because of how close the tables had been placed. For $50 a person the value was about as bad as it gets, if the food or the service or the ambiance had been any better I might be willing to overlook the crowding due to the holiday, but nothing was above sub-par so the crowding really was the straw on the camel's back. We don't even have like super refined tastes, we're just some normal people from Michigan, and I know maybe $50 a person isn't that much for fine dining, but this wasn't even close to fine dining.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value2

My family and I usually go to Brockton V ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 6 days ago

My family and I usually go to Brockton Villa for breakfast, it is our favorite location. The Coast Toast is wonderful, our 4 year old grandson asks often if we will take him for breakfast. The Carne Asada Benedict is wonderful. Besides the wonderful food, the service is so quick that even a child can handle the wait. We had never had a dinner at Brockton Villa so decided to try it for Valentines Day and were very happy. We will definitely try it for dinner again.

Tags: Waterfront, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The abalone shell-encrusted fireplace in ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 14, 2017

The abalone shell-encrusted fireplace in this historic restaurant's main dining room will keep you cozy even on a cold or wet day. Otherwise you can dine on the covered porch overlooking the Cove area, or the umbrella covered outdoor patio. This place is beach house quaint in a wonderful way. Our special event was dinner with friends, but special as the friends are from a long ways away. They loved the place and the food, and conversation was easy on this particular weekday night when the place was only moderately filled. Brockton Villa is a local treasure.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Historic, Afternoon Tea, Cozy, Afternoon Coffee, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Romantic, Waterfront, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

French toast is phenomenal! More like a ...

 
·Dined on February 13, 2017

French toast is phenomenal! More like a soufflé with more egg. Ate twice in a weekend getaway and enjoyed the food and the lovely views.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The view is amazing. One of my favorite ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The view is amazing. One of my favorite breakfast spots.

Tags: Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This place never disappoints! All the fo ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 11, 2017

This place never disappoints! All the food was fresh, flavorful with beautiful presentation!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly, Hot Spot, Private Room, Romantic, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I really enjoyed Brockton Villa! The bea ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 11, 2017

I really enjoyed Brockton Villa! The beach cottage flair came out through the white walls and ceiling beams. The details of the place were adorable and the view of La Jolla Cove was breathtaking. My only complaint was at times it felt a little loud in there. With the noise from the surrounding people and the overhead music, the noise level seemed in-cohesive with the quaint cottage feel. But that could have just been the combination of people that were there at the time. I highly recommend Brockton Villa!

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Afternoon Tea, Afternoon Coffee, Good for a Date, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Fun, Historic, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

This is a great place for out of towners ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 10, 2017

This is a great place for out of towners and locals! Amazing view and wonderful view. Get the coastt toast!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Waterfront, Hot Spot, Good Vegetarian Options, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

haven't been there for a while we live ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 5, 2017

haven't been there for a while we live in NEW Jersey I forgot how wonderful it was

Steve our server was a great guy food was awesome I plan to visit again before we return home

Tags: Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Waterfront, Fun, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

"coast toast" lived up to its reputation ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 5, 2017

"coast toast" lived up to its reputation....server overheard our conversation about a birthday and brought a scoop of gelato with a candle! very nice touch especially since it was breakfast!!!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Stunning views, would come back for the ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Stunning views, would come back for the view but the food was at below average. I ordered the carne asada eggs with breakfast potatoes Benedict and it was served cool and the asada was stringy. Also it was very very cold on the balcony despite the small space heater-- bring layers. The lower deck had very nice heat lamps.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

We had brunch on Saturday. Bruch is ser ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 4, 2017

We had brunch on Saturday. Bruch is served later, until 3 pm, on the weekend. The Coast Toast was AMAZING! Oh my gosh....light, fluffy, deliciousness that melts in your mouth. REAL MAPLE syrup is on the table, however, you will not need it - it is that good! It is like using steak sauce and a perfectly cooked prime cut of steak - why do you want to ruin it? We were able to sit outside with an obstructed and spectacular view of the ocean at La Jolla Cove. Eggs benedict was delicious. The chilaquiles was AWESOME. I highly recommend it. Service was very good.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Cozy, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Historic, Great for Lunch, Casual, Scenic View, Great for Brunch, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

The crab Benedict was flavorless and mu ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 3, 2017

The crab Benedict was flavorless and mushy. The chilliqueles were very nice. Lattes were very tasty. Service was wonderful. The view and ambiance are always a treat

Tags: Quick Bite, Local Ingredients, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Beautiful scenic view of ocean , lovely ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Beautiful scenic view of ocean , lovely patio. A little tight balcony seating. Live the inside seating with the fireplace!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Fireplace, Waterfront, Historic, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Authentic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is my second visit to Brockton VIll ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 27, 2017

This is my second visit to Brockton VIlla and it was great again. It was a cold and windy morning, but the sound of the waves and sea lions was a great addition to the wonderful Coast Toast! If you go, you have to try the Coast Toast, it is very good.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Great location with a beautiful view to ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 24, 2017

Great location with a beautiful view to the ocean, in a nice, historic house. The food was very good. I had the chowder which was outstanding. The sea bass, which is one of their most popular dishes, is just OK. The service is informal but very friendly and attentive. Definitely recommended.

Tags: Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

When we got there, they had a wedding re ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 22, 2017

When we got there, they had a wedding reception which reserved the entire inside of the restaurant. We were not happy to have to be outside on a cold evening. However, they did a very good job of placing patio heaters near our table and providing lap blankets, so we stayed. Food and service was very good and we would go back, but only in the afternoon or after verifying an inside table would be reserved for us.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

A friend had told me about it and I was ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 21, 2017

A friend had told me about it and I was excited to try it but we were disappointed with the Restaurant week menu. They main dishes were tiny and we all left there hungry. The clam chowder was yummy but the sea bass was not very tasty. the dessert was fine. crème Brule was very good but the coast toast was ok.

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value3

Enjoyed dining at this historic restaura ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 19, 2017

Enjoyed dining at this historic restaurant during 2017 restaurant week. The little house overlooks the ocean at La Jolla, CA and is noted for the great location.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Historic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Fabulous restaurant with outstanding, we ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 18, 2017

Fabulous restaurant with outstanding, well-prepared food. Wonderful service and unparalleled views of the ocean! Highly recommended.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful view and delicious food. Cute ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 18, 2017

Beautiful view and delicious food. Cute little cottage with a great selection of yummy food. Would definitely go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was restaurant week. The petite filet ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 17, 2017

It was restaurant week. The petite filet was the best. Our waiter was very personable. The view of the bay was great.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is a great restaurant with several ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 16, 2017

This is a great restaurant with several seating areas, most of which have amazing ocean views. The location is just across a parking lot from the cove so we could hear the seagulls and seals. Waves were crashing. Really nice. The food and service were excellent and the tab was reasonable. The parking is easy and free. If you're in town, make a point to go. If you're a local and haven't been yet, you're missing a gem. Make a reservation, however, if possible.

Tags: Business Meals, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Afternoon Coffee, Afternoon Tea, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Historic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Romantic, Waterfront, Fireplace, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Magical. Words often ruin truest emotion ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Magical. Words often ruin truest emotions, so there's my review, one word. Magical.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

All around great food and great atmosphe ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 16, 2017

All around great food and great atmosphere. Would recommend to anyone

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is a beautiful place with scenic vi ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 15, 2017

This is a beautiful place with scenic views. I've had better food but great date spot.

Tags: Good for a Date, Historic, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value5

I made a reservation a couple of days in ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 8, 2017

I made a reservation a couple of days in advance for Sunday brunch and I asked for a table on the edge of the patio. When we arrived, the table was ready; with a great view of the water. Our service was fantastic, and the food looked amazing. I ordered the French toast, which was extraordinarily soggy, though. I have ordered brioche French toast 100 times and I've never had it this wet. I am not sure if she was the manager, but when she picked up my plate and asked me if my breakfast was okay, noticing that I didn't eat it, I explained that it was too wet. She kindly took it off my bill. I suggest asking for the French toast to be dry if you order it just to make sure, unless you are okay with it wet. Beyond that, my family loved their meal and the coffees we ordered. It's just a really great vibe, too. Just make sure you make reservations because it's not very big so I imagine it gets packed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was quick. Food was delicious! T ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Service was quick. Food was delicious! The Coast Toast never fails in taste. We always go early on weekends (before 9:30am) and usually get a table within 10 minutes or less. Great views of the cove when seated outside. Inside seating is cozy and cute.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The ocean view and great food!

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 6, 2017

The ocean view and great food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My wife and son and I enjoyed a very qui ...

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on January 4, 2017

My wife and son and I enjoyed a very quiet dinner on a Tuesday night off season. Great location overlooking the ocean, seals barking out on the rocks. Ryan was very good waiter/host, food was very good, basic and satisfying. Overall enjoyable dinner. Would like to return in summertime, as it was chilly in January.

Tags: Cozy, Fun, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Delicious, very good service, charming a ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Delicious, very good service, charming ambiance, love the abalone fireplace.

Tags: Healthy, Local Ingredients, Afternoon Coffee, Organic, Gluten Free Options, Great for Outdoor Dining, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The view and area are really picturesque ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 2, 2017

The view and area are really picturesque! The food and service were great, but I would just advise that the smell of sea lion is a bit strong if sitting at the outside patio. The price you pay I guess to be so close to the water!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The food and service is good. There are ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 2, 2017

The food and service is good. There are only a few tables with view. If you get those and weather is good, then you are having nice breakfast with view. Otherwise, it will be just the breakfast,

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Friends since college (now in our 60s) w ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Friends since college (now in our 60s) we get together for brunch on New Year's morning to celebrate birthdays. We have tried several locations; Brockton Villa was one of the best, providing outstanding value, comfort, and very good service on a busy morning. It was chilly this year, but the nook in the back was perfect for our party of six (it could comfortably seat eight) and we could easily hear each other and be our own little party. The food, as usual, was very good although the eggs were a little dry (I had a scramble; my friend had an omelet); the rest of our party enjoy various pancakes. The location and view are great and we can walk from La Jolla Cove to the Children's Pool afterwards. We recommend the public parking just around the corner below the Crab Catcher; it's worth the price.

Tags: Casual, Sunday Lunch,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

My son and I went to Brockton Villa for ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 1, 2017

My son and I went to Brockton Villa for New Years Eve (but I had been there once before for lunch). There was a 3 course dinner for $55 and all 3 courses were excellent! The service was fantastic. It was rainy, so there was no view that night but normally you can see Seal Cove from the balcony area and hear them as well!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Went here for my birthday dinner on New ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Went here for my birthday dinner on New Year's Eve. The food and service were equally great! Our waiter, Darren (not sure if this is the right spelling), was very attentive and considerate.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

New Year's Eve Dinner- besides the weath ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 1, 2017

New Year's Eve Dinner- besides the weather, everything was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice little place, great history, and vi ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Nice little place, great history, and views. Was cold and wet when we went, but can imagine sitting in this place on a nice warm sunny day. Only downfall not Bloody Mary's served before 11 am due to zoning law :-(

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.