About Brockton Villa

1235 Coast Blvd.
San Diego, CA 92037
View Larger Map

Great Food * Epic Sunsets

Brockton Villa is a beautiful historic home converted into a restaurant located directly across from the ocean. Our seaside location offers a spectacular view of the world-famous La Jolla Cove, and has become a favorite "show off" spot for locals and visitors alike. We are known for our breakfasts, including our famous Coast Toast. Our chef creates many other wonderful dishes seasonally for lunch and our dinner service.

Our house is the perfect place for you to host your next party. Whether it be a wedding reception, rehearsal dinner, baptism, bridal shower, baby shower, or any special occasion.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Californian, American, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast:
Monday - Friday: 8:00am - 12:00pm,
Saturday - Sunday: 8:00am - 3:00pm
Lunch:
Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 3:00pm
Saturday - Sunday: 12:00pm - 3:00pm
Social Hour:
Everyday: 3:00pm - 5:00pm
Dinner:
Everyday: 5:00pm - Close

Cross Street:
Prospect

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(858) 454-7393

Website:
http://www.brocktonvilla.com/

Parking Details:
There is parking available on public streets. There are also numerous per hour fee parking garages and private parking lot offered for large private events

Executive Chef:
Mareyja Sisbarro

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Coast Toast - Brockton Villa, San Diego, CA
Chilaquiles - Brockton Villa, San Diego, CA
Smoked Salmon Plate - Brockton Villa, San Diego, CA
Grilled Atlantic Salmon Blt - Brockton Villa, San Diego, CA
Mediterranean Chicken Pita - Brockton Villa, San Diego, CA
Grilled Balsamic Portabello Burger - Brockton Villa, San Diego, CA
shrimp salad - Brockton Villa, San Diego, CA
Fresh House Roasted Turkey Breast Sandwich - Brockton Villa, San Diego, CA
Pasta Salad - Brockton Villa, San Diego, CA
Crab Cake Sliders - Brockton Villa, San Diego, CA
Steamed Mussels - Brockton Villa, San Diego, CA
Picante Steamed Local Mussels - Brockton Villa, San Diego, CA
Classic Manila Clams And Linguine - Brockton Villa, San Diego, CA
Hawaiian Ceviche - Brockton Villa, San Diego, CA
Cheese Board - Brockton Villa, San Diego, CA
Peach Mimosa  - Brockton Villa, San Diego, CA
Bacon - Brockton Villa, San Diego, CA
Last Bite With Some Bacon  - Brockton Villa, San Diego, CA
Chips And Stuff - Brockton Villa, San Diego, CA
Salmon Plate - Brockton Villa, San Diego, CA
Shrimp Butter Leaf Wraps - Brockton Villa, San Diego, CA
Crabcake Sliders - Brockton Villa, San Diego, CA
House-Made Beer Brine Corn Beef Hash - Brockton Villa, San Diego, CA
Brockton Villa's Epic Chowder - Brockton Villa, San Diego, CA
Bloody Mary - Brockton Villa, San Diego, CA
Eggs Ipanema - Brockton Villa, San Diego, CA
Salmon BLT - Brockton Villa, San Diego, CA
Naughty Buritto - Brockton Villa, San Diego, CA
Bv Pancakes - Brockton Villa, San Diego, CA
Corned beef and hash - Brockton Villa, San Diego, CA
Corned Beef Hash - Brockton Villa, San Diego, CA
Crab Ipanema - Brockton Villa, San Diego, CA
pancakes - Brockton Villa, San Diego, CA
Salmon Entree - Brockton Villa, San Diego, CA
Grilled Artichoke - Brockton Villa, San Diego, CA
Cioppino - Brockton Villa, San Diego, CA
Big Garden Papperdelle - Brockton Villa, San Diego, CA
Latte - Brockton Villa, San Diego, CA
BV Pancakes (Strawberries and Blueberries) - Brockton Villa, San Diego, CA
Curry Chicken Salad - Brockton Villa, San Diego, CA
Carne Asada Benedict - Brockton Villa, San Diego, CA
Ipanema Crab - Brockton Villa, San Diego, CA
crab cake - Brockton Villa, San Diego, CA
Pulled Pork & Chorizo Chilaquiles - Brockton Villa, San Diego, CA
Crab Cakes Ipanema - Brockton Villa, San Diego, CA
Crab Benedict - Brockton Villa, San Diego, CA
Naughty Burrito - Brockton Villa, San Diego, CA

Specials

Three Course Prix Fixe Meal for $30.00

Sundays - Tuesdays from 5:00 PM - 9:00 PM

Bring a Friend Before 10!

Mondays - Fridays from 8:00 AM - 10:00 AM

Specials

Three Course Prix Fixe Meal for $30.00

Sundays - Tuesdays from 5:00 PM - 9:00 PM

Details

Three Course Prix Fixe Meal for $30.00. Excludes Tax and Tip. Join us for the best Pre Fixe dinner with perfect views of the Cove and Shores!. Special valid Nov 19, 2016 - Mar 15, 2017 on Sundays - Tuesdays from 5:00 PM - 9:00 PM.

Bring a Friend Before 10!

Mondays - Fridays from 8:00 AM - 10:00 AM

Details

Bring a friend before 10. Mention this special and get 2 Breakfast entrees and 2 specialty espresso drinks for only $20! The best views of La Jolla Cove and the Shores!. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Nov 19, 2016 - Mar 1, 2017 on Mondays - Fridays from 8:00 AM - 10:00 AM.

Private Dining

Our ocean front historic cottage has cozy home like charm. Private parties can take place in the entire cottage or in specific areas (the Nook, Veranda, Main Dining , Patio). Each seat has an ocean view. With our award winning menus, our house is the perfect place for you to host your next party.

Brockton Villa Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (63)
Waterfront (38)
Great for Outdoor Dining (35)
See All
Great for Brunch (31)
Casual (23)
Romantic (19)
Neighborhood Gem (19)
Good for a Date (17)
Sunday Lunch (17)
Worth the Drive (17)
Special Occasion (15)
Great for Lunch (14)
Historic (11)
Fun (10)
Good for Anniversaries (9)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Cozy (8)
Good for Groups (8)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Afternoon Coffee (6)
People Watching (6)
Comfort Food (4)
Family Style (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Kid-friendly (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Business Meals (3)
Authentic (3)
Healthy (3)
Outstanding Value (2)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Fireplace (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Organic (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Private Room (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Seasonal (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort By:
S
1034 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Outstanding as usual. Coast toast and G ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 2 days ago

Outstanding as usual. Coast toast and Greek steamers excellent. Porch tables (2 tops) are too small for two people if each have a full breakfast, and because it is so busy, waitstaff can sometimes be overwhelmed. Also, parking on a busy day can be a nightmare. Even so, the food and views make it worth it!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Scenic View, Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Spectacular view of rugged shoreline and ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 21, 2016

Spectacular view of rugged shoreline and beachfront activities. Food is delicious and served by friendly efficient staff. Most enjoyable.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Historic, Afternoon Coffee, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I made a reservation on Open Table after ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 18, 2016

I made a reservation on Open Table after reviewing their website. Unfortunately I was disappointed in a couple discrepancies on their site. It did not indicate what hours breakfast and lunch were served so we were only able to choose from the breakfast menu when we arrived. We also went specifically for my friend's birthday and to share a mimosa toast. The waiter told us due to being considered a residential zone they could not serve alcohol before 11a. Had I known previously I would have selected a different restaurant. The food was ok but not superb and was overpriced for the quality. The only saving grace was the view of seal beach at La Jolla Shores.

Tags: Seasonal, Waterfront, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Loved your omelette & strawberry pancake ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Loved your omelette & strawberry pancakes !!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A great kept secret in La Jolla

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 13, 2016

A great kept secret in La Jolla

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Brockton Villa never disappoints. The lo ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Brockton Villa never disappoints. The location and ambience are truly special and unique. The whole place is charming, but if possible, sit out on the "porch" with a direct view of the ocean and cliffs. Everyone who works there greets you and is very pleasant and professional. The Coast Toast is amazing and not to be missed (you can add one piece as an a la carts side). Highly recommend this experience- especially for brunch. Very popular, so a reservation is a good idea!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

We were seated right away at our reserva ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 12, 2016

We were seated right away at our reservation time. Food was excellent, big portions. Staff was attentive and friendly. Beautiful view.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I dined here first time during the resta ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 30, 2016

I dined here first time during the restaurant week where I ordered crab chowder soup and their signature coast toast. Both dishes were delicious so I came back to the restaurant for the second time. However, we got seated in the restaurant around 11am despite our reservation at 10:45am. I wanted to order the soup again but the server said it was for lunch which will start at noon. It was a bummer so I ordered the coast toast again. The food took verily long and we got food at 11:30am. The toast was a bit soggy and not as good as I had it the other week. I think this place is better for lunch menu.

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value5

Excellent food, location and service. Sc ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Excellent food, location and service. Scallops and the Crab Chowder were exceptional. Sat on the deck with a view of the harbor. View is NW so doesn't always have a clear view of the sunset.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Casual, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Food is always great. Service too. We br ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Food is always great. Service too. We bring lots of out of town guests there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great view of the cove and food is consi ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Great view of the cove and food is consistently good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

Second time dining at the Brockton Villa ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Second time dining at the Brockton Villa. Both times have been for breakfast/brunch and the food has been amazing both times. The service is extremely quick, sometimes a little too quick - you get the sense they are trying to turn over tables quickly. However, staff are very attentive and helpful. I can't decide which is better about Brockton...the food or the view!!! Be sure to indicate that you want to sit outside because the views cannot be beat. Unobstructed ocean views are about as good as it gets. Would absolutely recommend to anyone looking for a delicious breakfast at a very good price (about $35 for two people). You will not be disappointed!

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Very mediocre food... Flies own this pla ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Very mediocre food... Flies own this place... Service less than average for price tag.. location alone not enough.. not going again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

Delicious food, just steps from the wate ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 10, 2016

Delicious food, just steps from the waterfront. Our server was completely attentive and guided us through each item on the menu.

You get the serenade and the subtle stitch of the sea lions while dining outside, but don't let that stop you from dining here. It was an outstanding experience! We'll be back!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

We made the trip up to La Jolla and to B ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 5, 2016

We made the trip up to La Jolla and to Brockton Villa for breakfast on the recommendation of not one but two of our friends who live in San Diego and we were not disappointed. The restaurant is well appointed with brilliant ocean views across La Jolla Cove and we had a seat on the front terrace. The only negative was the smell from the rocks where the seals and gulls were but this is out of the control of the restaurant and we actually didn't notice it too much after a while! Corned Beef Hash was a triumph and the Smoked Salmon Steamer equally as delicious. We also had a side of the Coast Toast for something sweet and this was divine! So good! Service was impeccable and we could not have been better looked after! Thanks for a great start to the day!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great place if you didn't have the seal ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Great place if you didn't have the seal smell, although it wasn't as bad

as walking on the cove!

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was great! The coffee was great! Se ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Food was great! The coffee was great! Service and view was wonderful

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was great. I loved my pancakes. I was ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 2, 2016

It was great. I loved my pancakes. I was seated quickly. I will go back!!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

I had been to this restaurant many years ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 28, 2016

I had been to this restaurant many years ago and thought about it when planning a birthday lunch for my sister-in-law. I was happy to see that it was still in business! We thoroughly enjoyed our lunch there. The food was yummy~especially dessert! The view of the ocean is fantastic and our server did a great job! Would highly recommend it!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront, Scenic View, Fun, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

The view is breathtaking! Our friend rec ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on September 25, 2016

The view is breathtaking! Our friend recommended this place so four of us went before going to a wedding in the afternoon. We made a reservation for Sunday brunch and it turned out to be a really good decision. It was 9:30 in the morning and there were already lines for seating. The food is not as breathtaking as the view, but it is good enough to enjoy. Plus, the staff are super friendly so we had an excellent time. It is definitely a must-go place in San Diego. Will come back!

Tags: Romantic, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Afternoon Coffee, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

We use to come quite often about 10 year ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 24, 2016

We use to come quite often about 10 years ago and returned as we remembered great eggs Benedict. Perhaps it was the day but the smell from the sea lion beach was nauseating, the service was very good but the eggs B were lackluster (untoasted bread, bland sauce) Having more than one bathroom would also help. I would return, but after 12 for a Bloody Mary and with a strong breeze as it is a lovely place with a great view.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5

Loved the crab cakes - very moist. The ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Loved the crab cakes - very moist. The Mediterranean salad was also very fresh and huge! Ordered the salmon, which was delicious with the ginger sauce. The lobster risotto was tasty despite having little lobster and a bit heavy on the butter.

Must have the coast toast for dessert! Was a good end to dinner. Service was friendly and very attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great place to take our out of town gues ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 21, 2016

Great place to take our out of town guests for great food and great views! Big menu with options for everyone. Good service. Takes reservations.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Great spot for breakfast. Beautiful vie ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 19, 2016

Great spot for breakfast. Beautiful view of the water. Delicious breakfast items. I had the chilaquiles and the portion was huge. Good service.

Tags: Authentic, Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Brockton Villa sits right beside and abo ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 16, 2016

Brockton Villa sits right beside and above La Jolla Cove. We were seated for brunch on an outside table with a great view and only the very slightest smell from the sea lions nearby! The service was quick and the food was good, with a lot of choice on the menu.

Tags: Fun, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, Waterfront, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Nice old house on the waterfront at La J ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 16, 2016

Nice old house on the waterfront at La Jolla with good views of the sunset. Food was good, with a wide variety and very fairly priced. Shame there is no draft beer though. And when the wind catches it right, the presence of sea lions on the nearby shore adds an olfactory ambience which is not a desired part of the veranda experience...

Tags: Cozy, Authentic, Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The waiter was really nice, we sat at a ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 15, 2016

The waiter was really nice, we sat at a table for 2 with a great view. We ordered the chilaquiles and there were really good, they serve a lot, i only ate half of them. The only thing I would complain about was the smell of the seals at the beach. But I would defiantly go again loved the view and food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Brockton Villa has been a favorite of ou ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 15, 2016

Brockton Villa has been a favorite of ours for several years now. We had a small family reunion, and chose Brockton as a dinner destination one night of our stay. It did not disappoint! highly recommend.

Tags: Romantic, People Watching, Quiet Conversation, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

we sat out on the deck that overlooked t ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 12, 2016

we sat out on the deck that overlooked the ocean. the food was great. the staff were friendly and very accommodating. very nice!

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I just went to have their famous Frenc ...

vip
 (México)·Dined on September 11, 2016

I just went to have their famous French Toast, and it disappointed me this time! Last time I had it it was so so good, that I decided to go back (even though I'm not a French toast fan), but this time it really wasn't what I expected

Tags: Casual, Historic, Family Style, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

overpriced especially considering medioc ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 11, 2016

overpriced especially considering mediocre to poor food. cold and tasteless filet. tiny lame frozen pizza for kids menu. main positive is the ocean views.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Read a Yelp review for this restaurant t ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 11, 2016

Read a Yelp review for this restaurant that said " go for the view and a cup of coffee but eat somewhere else", we should've listened. View was nice, not wow, and the smell of the seals was so aweful we ended up sitting inside. Food was less than average.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

Great Toast Coast, I take my family was ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Great Toast Coast, I take my family was visiting from Mexico City and they love it. Great food and nice view. Service was excellent.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The brunch was disappointing, you really ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on September 10, 2016

The brunch was disappointing, you really pay for the view. One of our orders came incorrect and cold and another was overcooked and overly greasy. We were sat at the table behind the server station and when they were cleaning dishes got splashed with water. We had a reservation and still had to wait 20 minutes. Our server was great though, attentive and pleasant. Overall, there are better places in La Jolla for brunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

We were recommended by a friend to visit ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on September 10, 2016

We were recommended by a friend to visit on our vacation. The friend insisted we try the French toast...AMaZINg!! I also had fish tacos. Fantastic!! Service was quick and friendly. My only issue was the smell from the sea lions, but we love the view...so that just comes with it. Great place!

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We were so disappointed in the meal! Amo ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 9, 2016

We were so disappointed in the meal! Among us, we had the crab benedict, salmon scramble and artichoke/asparagus omelette (which had spinach, not artichoke) and then shared the french toast. We were shocked when every dish was bland, but even more so when we bit into the french toast and found it dry and tasteless. Very disappointing, as we'd been looking forward to our brunch, having not visited in many, many years. Our server, however, was great -- as was the coffee.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

The French toast is worth the trip. The ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 5, 2016

The French toast is worth the trip. The view of La Jolla cove is great.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Service was great. Food was very bland, ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 5, 2016

Service was great. Food was very bland, no flavor. Loved the view from the deck. Parking is horrible, very limited spots by restaurant. Had to park at the top of the hill and walk down.

Tags: Family Style, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value4

The restaurant has an amazing view. Some ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 4, 2016

The restaurant has an amazing view. Some places we generally fall into the bargain whether you want view or good food. This places is a win win . Good food , perfect balance of spices and an accurate plate size. Their breakfast tacos were so amazing. I expected a little greasy plate but it was not at all. The salsa they serve with the plate was so good that I did order it twice. I could smell and taste the freshness with each and every bite with the fresh breeze from the ocean .

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Comfort Food, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful experience! We enjoyed the vie ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 4, 2016

Wonderful experience! We enjoyed the view, food, ambiance and historic value!

Tags: Casual, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Healthy, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.