About Brockton Villa

1235 Coast Blvd.
San Diego, CA 92037
View Larger Map

Great Food * Epic Sunsets

Brockton Villa is a beautiful historic home converted into a restaurant located directly across from the ocean. Our seaside location offers a spectacular view of the world-famous La Jolla Cove, and has become a favorite "show off" spot for locals and visitors alike. We are known for our breakfasts, including our famous Coast Toast. Our chef creates many other wonderful dishes seasonally for lunch and our dinner service.

Our house is the perfect place for you to host your next party. Whether it be a wedding reception, rehearsal dinner, baptism, bridal shower, baby shower, or any special occasion.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Californian, American, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast:
Monday - Friday: 8:00am - 12:00pm,
Saturday - Sunday: 8:00am - 3:00pm
Lunch:
Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 3:00pm
Saturday - Sunday: 12:00pm - 3:00pm
Social Hour:
Everyday: 3:00pm - 5:00pm
Dinner:
Everyday: 5:00pm - Close

Cross Street:
Prospect

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(858) 454-7393

Website:
http://www.brocktonvilla.com/

Parking Details:
There is parking available on public streets. There are also numerous per hour fee parking garages and private parking lot offered for large private events

Executive Chef:
Mareyja Sisbarro

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Beer, Cafe, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Private Dining

Our ocean front historic cottage has cozy home like charm. Private parties can take place in the entire cottage or in rooms and areas (the Nook, Veranda, Main Dining , Patio). Each seat has an ocean view. With our award winning menus, our house is the perfect place for you to host your next party.

Brockton Villa Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.3

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Brunch
San Diego
Great for Brunch
San Diego
Best Restaurants in La Jolla ›

scenic view (103)
great for outdoor dining (91)
great for brunch (69)
See All
great for lunch (54)
neighborhood gem (49)
special occasion (41)
romantic (36)
fit for foodies (33)
kid-friendly (18)
good for groups (11)
hot spot (10)
notable wine list (3)
late-night find (2)
Sort By:
Newest
906 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Celebrating my friend returning to Europ ...

Dined 5 days ago

Celebrating my friend returning to Europe. Our meal was outstanding, service superb, personal attention and patience shown to my friend due to language issues. Obvious all guests received personal attention. What a gem!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service4

Great food, friendly staff, amazing view ...

Dined 5 days ago

Great food, friendly staff, amazing view. The smell from the seals while you're eating can be overpowering at times.

food4
ambience4
service5
value3

View and food was excellent . The Frenc ...

Dined 7 days ago

View and food was excellent . The French toast was fine but my partners hash brown potatoes were not as good as we expected. Loved looking at all the activities in the ocean when we sat on the porch.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

For foodies or tourists?

Dined on May 17, 2016

We had read and heard good things about Brockton Villa and we wanted to try it while visiting La Jolla. Made a reservation for 11am on a weekday, hoping to do a brunch meal. I love breakast foods and so their menu seemed ideal. Even had some menu items strongly recommended. The setting is outstanding with gorgeous views of the cove at LaJolla. Our table was right on the rail so we had a wonderful view. The place is vintage and charming. Service was very attentive. I found the dishes all to be under seasoned, a bit boring. In my mind the food is geared to a tourist audience and nothing is packed with flavor. It was all just "fine." We tried two of the Eggs Benedict style items, as well as their corned beef hash and their Coast Toast (French Toast) and it was all good just not what I was hoping for.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Sunset spectacular

vip
Dined on May 17, 2016

Incredible sunsets, strong menu, very good service. Highly recommended.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

A nice surprise

Dined on May 15, 2016

We booked this at the last minute and added more people two times. They were very accommodating. The service was great and the food was excellent! Beautiful view.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service4

Ocean scenery

Dined on May 15, 2016

Ocean scenery

food5
ambience5
service4
value4

I really like this place. The service is ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

I really like this place. The service is always good and the food is outstanding. I contacted the restaurant in advance regarding a food restriction the executive chef responded within a few days to give me a list of menu items I could eat which was very helpful.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience5
service3
value3

Brockton Villa

Dined on May 10, 2016

The view was tremendous but everything else was ok.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The restaurant was nice and the view amazing.

Dined on May 8, 2016

The staff was very pleasant and welcoming and I have absolutely nothing negative to say and everything positive to say about my experience dining at Brokton Villa!

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time for dinner

Dined on May 8, 2016

Loved it. Usually here for brunch for Mother's Day or a birthday, but the dinner was great. Had the lobster roll, wife had the pasta, sister had the halibut. All were perfect. Can't beat the view. Yes, the seal lions reek, but its La Jolla, so not really a surprise.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Food and ambiance were excellent.

Dined on May 6, 2016

Food and ambiance were excellent.

food5
ambience5
service5

Great view overlooking the water. Sea li ...

Dined on May 4, 2016

Great view overlooking the water. Sea lions can smell pretty bad but if you stuff your mouth with their delicious coast toast or pancakes you won't smell a thing.

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Lovely Spot but Check the Scent

Dined on May 1, 2016

Great food, great service, beautiful view of the ocean and sunset. Only problem is that La Jolla cove sometimes has a very strong scent coming off and it would not be pleasant on those days to eat outdoors.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Consistently Excellent!

Dined on April 30, 2016

We dine here on the outdoor patio every year when we visit La Jolla. What a fantastic view! You can also sit on an enclosed veranda or inside. We always share an omelette and an order of Coast Toast, their scrumptious specialty! Our waitress was a very nice & helpful young woman from the Chicago area. The wait staff is always exceptional.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This restaurant used to be a home, it wa ...

Dined on April 29, 2016

This restaurant used to be a home, it was built in 1894! It was very charming on the inside, the fireplace is constructed out of Abilone shells. So just the existing ambiance is enough to make this place worthwhile, but the service was top notch! From start to finish, the hostess, our server, the manager, the busboy were all so friendly and wanted to ensure we enjoyed everything! If you're looking for a cute and quaint little place to eat with really good food and service, this is it! It doesn't feel too uppity or unapproachable at all! It's just perfect!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

Eh, not the best experience

Dined on April 26, 2016

Came with my spouse for a birthday dinner. There was a party of 10 with several loud kids that made the small dining room very unpleasant. I know its not the restaurant's fault that the kids were unruly, but it definitely ruined the ambiance. Also, the busser (who I'm sure is used to working brunch) was tossing plates and glasses together and being quite sloppy and loud. Buzz kill! The food was good and our server Andrew was great but overall, its extremely tough competition in La Jolla and I definitely would not go back here for dinner.

Tags: great for lunch, scenic view
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Brockton Villa 4.25.2016

Dined on April 25, 2016

We had done our research and this was for the view. Unfortunately, our timing was off as it was overcast and rather cool evening. The view under normal circumstances would have been great but a little cool to be on the deck that evening. The service as acceptable or average and the food was just that food. Were I to go back to La Jolla soon, I would go up a street to another venue with a lessor view or around to cove and literally on the water. For the quality, the food was over priced. It would not be my first place should I return. Will not go as far as saying never but there are lots of other choices.

Tags: scenic view
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Beautiful environment

Dined on April 22, 2016

This is was my first time in Brockton vill. A friend was a recommended it and I decided to go with some friends. The service was perfect, the food was good but, the most impressive was the opportunity to enjoy a dinner on the terrace with those spectacular views.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

On the beach with a LaJolla vibe

Dined on April 20, 2016

Great casual spot for brunch - unbeatable view of La Jolla Cove. We sat on the Patio and it was great. Don't come here if you are in a hurry. They go at La Jolla pace! As a result, it wasn't perfect for a business meeting, but it worked out because the out-of-towners were dazzled by the view!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

The smell from the seals can be overwhel ...

Dined on April 18, 2016

The smell from the seals can be overwhelming but I come here every time I'm in town because they have the best corned beef breakfast

food4
ambience1
service5
value3

Too crowded.

Dined on April 17, 2016

Well, first of all, I literally had to park almost a mile away and walk to the restaurant. I guess parking in La Jolla is impossible. I don't mind a little walk but it was 85 degrees outside and I was carrying my daughter. So that was not fun. Second of all, the entire area around the restaurant smelled like dead fish. It's pretty cool to be seated on the balcony patio and look at the seals, but to be able to smell them inside the restaurant is ridiculous. Overall the food was pretty good. Not amazing, but they have a wide variety of things. I will not be dining here again since it was so crowded, and it smelled awful. But hey, if you can get past the horrible smell and no elbow room, I guess it's nice.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

Cute, Amazing View Restaurant

Dined on April 16, 2016

Brockton Villa is a restaurant with an amazing view and food to complement. This is a perfect place to take anyone from out of town or if you want to grab a meal with your friends. The food is wonderful and not too expensive for the culinary experience. It is right on the water so my one complaint would be the smell of the seal poo, but other than that it is magnificent. Make reservations because it is sure to be packed!!

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service2

I have been to this restaurant before an ...

Dined on April 16, 2016

I have been to this restaurant before and love it for the wonderful food and stellar views of the ocean. On previous visits, the service was also excellent, but this time our waiter left something to be desired. He seemed very frazzled and disappeared for long intervals between check-ins with us. I am filing it away as an anomaly and it will definitely visit Brockton Villa again.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Wonderful brunch spot

Dined on April 11, 2016

Warm feeling place with beautiful views. Love sitting on the veranda. If it's cold, the fireplace is nice inside.

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Love Brockton Villa!

Dined on April 10, 2016

This place is amazing - I make a point of going every time I'm in the San Diego area (a couple times a year when I'm visiting from the east coast). Be sure to request outdoor seating in your requests - it's the most beautiful view! Recs: the coast toast (even as an app/to share) and the tacos (ask for them with the carne asada)!! Enjoy!

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, scenic view
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Baxter14

Dined on April 9, 2016

Artichoke omelet not good! Two of us ordered it, unfortunately. Coffee refills not hot. Service was great. View exceptional

Tags: great for brunch, scenic view
food3
ambience4
service4

Nice view of the cove. Food was okay exc ...

Dined on April 8, 2016

Nice view of the cove. Food was okay except the crab cakes seemed mostly breading and not much crab. Good service and friendly wait staff. But the location is the reason to visit, not the food.

food4
ambience1
service4

The smell from the nearby cormorant vill ...

Dined on April 1, 2016

The smell from the nearby cormorant village is intolerable and I've decided never to return

food4
ambience3
service3

The view was incredible, the food was de ...

vip
Dined on March 31, 2016

The view was incredible, the food was delicious, the service was good, smelling rotting garbage right outside on the curb during my $120 lunch - nearly unbearable.

food5
ambience5
service5

Consistently tasty, highly recommend!

vip
Dined on March 31, 2016

Consistently tasty, highly recommend!

food4
ambience5
service5

Chowder was outstanding Don't miss coast ...

vip
Dined on March 29, 2016

Chowder was outstanding Don't miss coast toast for desert

food5
ambience3
service5

The Super Salad with salmon was deliciou ...

vip
Dined on March 28, 2016

The Super Salad with salmon was delicious!

food5
ambience4
service3
value5

Artichoke appetizer and fish tacos were ...

Dined on March 25, 2016

Artichoke appetizer and fish tacos were delicious! We had to wait a bit longer than I would have liked to get our food, but no complaints on the food quality or flavor.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service5

Beautiful view. Very good waiter.

Dined on March 24, 2016

Beautiful view. Very good waiter.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a great spot for a brunch with sp ...

Dined on March 21, 2016

Always a great spot for a brunch with spectacular views of the cove.

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Service, good food, great wine! W ...

Dined on March 20, 2016

Great Service, good food, great wine! We spent a good portion of the evening here - the ambiance was lovely, the fireplace was roaring - the views are really spectacular.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Brockton Villa, La Jolla

Dined on March 12, 2016

The view was spectacular! We sat on the patio with a wonderful view of the ocean & La Jolla Cove. The food was delicious & our waiter was wonderful, very friendly & accommodating. The only negative was the parking. A beautiful Saturday afternoon in La Jolla brings the crowds. But after 3 times around the block I got lucky. But it was totally worth it. I would definitely go again.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Read your reviews

Dined on March 5, 2016

I have already filled out my comments previously. Go back to your website and retried it. Susie Tyler

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

great spot at La Jolla Cove

Dined on February 29, 2016

this is a great great spot at La Jolla Cove in an old bungalow. Great food and service!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.