Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi
  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi
  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi

About Brockton Villa

Great Food * Epic Sunsets

Brockton Villa is a beautiful historic home converted into a restaurant located directly across from the ocean. Our seaside location offers a spectacular view of the world-famous La Jolla Cove, and has become a favorite "show off" spot for locals and visitors alike. We are known for our breakfasts, including our famous Coast Toast. Our chef creates many other wonderful dishes seasonally for lunch and our dinner service.

Our house is the perfect place for you to host your next party. Whether it be a wedding reception, rehearsal dinner, baptism, bridal shower, baby shower, or any special occasion.

1235 Coast Blvd.
San Diego, CA 92037
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Californian, American, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast:
Monday - Friday: 8:00am - 12:00pm,
Saturday - Sunday: 8:00am - 3:00pm
Lunch:
Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 3:00pm
Saturday - Sunday: 12:00pm - 3:00pm
Social Hour:
Everyday: 3:00pm - 5:00pm
Dinner:
Everyday: 5:00pm - Close

Cross Street:
Prospect

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(858) 454-7393

Website:
http://www.brocktonvilla.com/

Parking Details:
There is parking available on public streets. There are also numerous per hour fee parking garages and private parking lot offered for large private events

Executive Chef:
Mareyja Sisbarro

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Private Dining

Our ocean front historic cottage has cozy home like charm. Private parties can take place in the entire cottage or in specific areas (the Nook, Veranda, Main Dining , Patio). Each seat has an ocean view. With our award winning menus, our house is the perfect place for you to host your next party.

Brockton Villa Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Quiet

90% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (69)
Waterfront (60)
Great for Outdoor Dining (53)
See All
Great for Brunch (36)
Good for a Date (31)
Special Occasion (30)
Sunday Lunch (30)
Casual (29)
Worth the Drive (29)
Great for Lunch (27)
Cozy (25)
Romantic (23)
Neighborhood Gem (23)
People Watching (19)
Fun (19)
Good for Anniversaries (15)
Good for Birthdays (15)
Comfort Food (14)
Creative Cuisine (14)
Fit for Foodies (14)
Authentic (12)
Quiet Conversation (12)
Afternoon Coffee (10)
Good for Groups (9)
Hot Spot (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Local Ingredients (7)
Quick Bite (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Afternoon Tea (5)
Business Meals (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Great Beer (4)
Notable Wine List (3)
Organic (3)
Seasonal (3)
Bar Seating (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Live Sports (2)
Vegan (2)
Late-night Find (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort By:
S
1327 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 3 days ago

I had made a reservation and when we arrived the table was ready. Service was very friendly and attentive. Food was excellent, very fresh.

Tags: Scenic View, Waterfront, Healthy, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, People Watching, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 3 days ago

It was a wonderful sunset dinner to celebrate a special occasion. We had a wonderful time, the service was phenomenal, the ambience was beyond perfection, and the food was spectacular.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined 6 days ago

As always, we enjoyed our get together with fantastic food and the incredible view offered at Brockton Villa.

Tags: Cozy, Casual, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Afternoon Coffee, Special Occasion, Vegan, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, People Watching, Great for Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Waterfront, Scenic View, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
·Dined on October 9, 2017

I absolutely love visiting this place when I’m in San Diego.

The only thing that made this experience less than perfect is that a table of ladies was sat next to my husband and I and one lady didn’t stop talking the ENTIRE duration of our brunch. We couldn’t have a quiet, romantic brunch like we were hoping for because of how loud she was. Maybe bigger parties need to be sat far away from couples so as not to ruin someone’s quiet and serene experience.

Other than that, it was lovely and I will definitely be back again.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Healthy, Waterfront, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 7, 2017

Amazing view! I’ve been here before and will be going back!

Tags: Quick Bite, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 7, 2017

we stopped here after our kayak tour and it was great! thankfully we made a reservation and even with the reservation we still had a bit of wait.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on October 7, 2017

Such a great experience! Started with an awesome hostess Adrienne who got us a great table for my friend's birthday followed by our awesome server Rachel who was so pleasant and gave good food recommendations. Will come again!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 6, 2017

Great ocean views, phenomenal service with good food. Very cozy and quiet, will return

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 6, 2017

Great and charming Oceanside restaurant. Friendly staff great food!

Tags: Quick Bite, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Afternoon Coffee, Tasting Menu, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 5, 2017

Food was very good. Beautiful location on the ocean. Waiter and staff extremely nice, but the service was slow. I’d go back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Yosemite)·Dined on October 4, 2017

Love the fact it is quiet, beautiful, and personal! … And the food is great!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Gluten Free Options, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Healthy, Waterfront, Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 2, 2017

The smell of the seals at the cove is rough.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 1, 2017

My boyfriend and I came here for restaurant week. We loved the atmosphere, the view was amazing and the food was tasty. We would definitely come back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 30, 2017

My boyfriend, friend, and I dined here for San Diego Restaurant Week. We all enjoyed our meals. I recommend the clam chowder and cioppino. One thing you should know before dining there is that the restaurant is located right in front of the cove and the smell can be a bit overwhelming if you are dining outdoors.

Tags: Romantic, Healthy, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 29, 2017

Good lunch - chowder was excellent, fish tacos were good. Great view/location though unfortunate proximity to seal cove ..."ambience", i.e. aroma

Tags: Quick Bite, Casual, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on September 29, 2017

Although the Restaurant Week salmon dish was sold out when we came, I enjoyed the sea bass special & my husband enjoyed his cioppino dinner. Good food at a good price for restaurant week! The view at Brockton is always amazing! And of course, don’t forget their signature Coast Toast dessert. Great evening.

Tags: Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 27, 2017

We were disappointed with the food and the service. We had looked forward to a nice lunch since the reviewers were so good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 27, 2017

We went for the view but the food was pretty good too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 24, 2017

Went here for my birthday dinner and since it landed on opening day of restaurant week we took advantage of that menu. I highly enjoyed the options for restaurant week and it was priced just right. The view in itself speaks volumes and if you can take the smell of sea lions then it's all the way worth it.

Tags: Scenic View, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Happy Hour, Sunday Lunch, Cozy, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, People Watching, Waterfront, Great Beer, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 24, 2017

Best view ever. Great lunch. Grear service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 21, 2017

Can't beat the view and service. Food good enough.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 19, 2017

Outstanding view. Historic building with available seating under the "front porch". We had lunch outdoors and enjoyed the weather and complete view of La Jolla Cove. Lovely indoor fireplace decorated with abalone shells. The best part of all was our waiter(Darren). He was friendly and attentive making sure we were well cared for! The swordfish was excellent.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Scenic View, Casual, Romantic, Waterfront, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 19, 2017

Had one of their specialties (Coast Toast) years ago and decided to have it again. It was just as good as I remembered it and I will always get this whenever I visit Brockton Villa. I just hope it is never taken off of the menu. Keep up the good work.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Our favorite place for brunch. Great breakfast and mimosas!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 15, 2017

The smell of dead bodies and the tasteless food made for a bad experience. The view is beautiful. The staff friendly. The bacon was made the week before. Don't order the hash brown's they don't make them there.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 10, 2017

El olor es un poco fuerte pero rápidamente te acosntumbras, la comida está deliciosa, vale la pena

Tags: Great for Lunch, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Went here for Sunday Brunch. On this particular day the sea-breeze was particularly "fishy" so we decided to sit inside, where the breeze is barely noticeable. Outside it would have been a challenge. We had the Cove brunch which is 2 eggs, potatoes, toast and sausage/bacon. Very tasty. A great experience but be sure to book a table ahead of time.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Servers were great. It rained on us but quickly got umbrellas on us. Wine, appetizers and dessert was all we needed to cap a going away party. Was a great experience and will for sure go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on September 7, 2017

It was well recomended but I expected more, the meal was good but not very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 3, 2017

This could be a good place to eat but I had just one major problem with it, and it isn't really the restaurant's fault. There is a foul stench that comes from the cove across the street due to bird and sea lion guano. This makes it really difficult to enjoy any culinary experience. I wish I had been warned before we made plans to eat here. Google it if you don't believe me. Hopefully the city will come up with a solution to the problem.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value3

 
·Dined on September 3, 2017

Food, service and atmosphere is excellent. I highly recommend Brockton Villa for any occasion.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Great for Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Quiet Conversation, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Romantic, Comfort Food, Quick Bite, Special Occasion, People Watching, Authentic, Waterfront, Neighborhood Gem, Organic, Sunday Lunch, Business Meals, Scenic View, Fun, Casual, Afternoon Tea, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 2, 2017

Been coming whenever I get a chance to get to San Diego. Is been over 12 years and have thoroughly enjoyed each and every meal!!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on August 30, 2017

Very noisy, but not Brockton Villa fault.....construction going on next door.....good food.......came at 8am.....next will come a little later and when construction is done.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 27, 2017

The cinnamon roll french toast was excellent as were the steamed eggs. We really enjoyed our breakfast and the staff was very friendly and attentive.

Tags: Waterfront, Healthy, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Food was a bit expensive for the quality and there is 3% surcharge for the living wage of employees. Nice view of La Jolla cove.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 25, 2017

Wonderful view.We usually take our visitors here. Everyone has loved it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on August 23, 2017

Great food! Fish and lobster were fresh and enjoyed the atmosphere. Very accommodating to requests. The Prix Fix menu was a great option!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

vip
 (Omaha)·Dined on August 22, 2017

I was traveling solo for a business trip and had a great experience. My server was very friendly, the view was spectacular and the food was fabulous. I will return next time I'm in La Jolla.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 21, 2017

The outdoor patio is great-- BUT be warned. They have a lot of bees. A lot. So we asked to move inside. The service was gracious and accommodating. Don't miss the chance to walk among the sea lions after you dine. We loved the pancakes and french toast. The breakfast tacos were great. Chiliquiles could have been skipped. Affordable and charming with a great location. PLAN TO NEED LOTS OF TIME to find parking and/or to walk from the spot you find which may be 10min away.

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Great for Outdoor Dining, Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options, Waterfront, Casual, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Kid-friendly, Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 21, 2017

Really nice meal, good price, good service and excellent view of La Jolla Cove. Would definitely return!

Tags: Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.