About Brockton Villa

1235 Coast Blvd.
San Diego, CA 92037
View Larger Map

Great Food * Epic Sunsets

Brockton Villa is a beautiful historic home converted into a restaurant located directly across from the ocean. Our seaside location offers a spectacular view of the world-famous La Jolla Cove, and has become a favorite "show off" spot for locals and visitors alike. We are known for our breakfasts, including our famous Coast Toast. Our chef creates many other wonderful dishes seasonally for lunch and our dinner service.

Our house is the perfect place for you to host your next party. Whether it be a wedding reception, rehearsal dinner, baptism, bridal shower, baby shower, or any special occasion.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Californian, American, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast:
Monday - Friday: 8:00am - 12:00pm,
Saturday - Sunday: 8:00am - 3:00pm
Lunch:
Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 3:00pm
Saturday - Sunday: 12:00pm - 3:00pm
Social Hour:
Everyday: 3:00pm - 5:00pm
Dinner:
Everyday: 5:00pm - Close

Cross Street:
Prospect

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(858) 454-7393

Website:
http://www.brocktonvilla.com/

Parking Details:
There is parking available on public streets. There are also numerous per hour fee parking garages and private parking lot offered for large private events

Executive Chef:
Mareyja Sisbarro

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Beer, Cafe, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Coast Toast
Chilaquiles
Smoked Salmon Plate
Grilled Atlantic Salmon Blt
shrimp salad
Grilled Balsamic Portabello Burger
Mediterranean Chicken Pita
Fresh House Roasted Turkey Breast Sandwich
Pasta Salad
Crab Cake Sliders
Steamed Mussels
Picante Steamed Local Mussels
Classic Manila Clams And Linguine
Hawaiian Ceviche
Cheese Board
Peach Mimosa
Last Bite With Some Bacon
Bacon
Salmon Plate
Chips And Stuff
Shrimp Butter Leaf Wraps
Crabcake Sliders
House-Made Beer Brine Corn Beef Hash
Brockton Villa's Epic Chowder
Bloody Mary
Eggs Ipanema
Salmon BLT
Naughty Buritto
Bv Pancakes
Corned beef and hash
Corned Beef Hash
Crab Ipanema
pancakes
Salmon Entree
Grilled Artichoke
Cioppino
Big Garden Papperdelle
Latte
BV Pancakes (Strawberries and Blueberries)
Curry Chicken Salad
Ipanema Crab
Carne Asada Benedict
crab cake
Pulled Pork & Chorizo Chilaquiles
Crab Benedict
Crab Cakes Ipanema
Naughty Burrito

Promotions

Wine Down By the Sea

Special valid Jun 1, 2016 - Oct 1, 2016 all week from 3:00 PM - 6:00 PM

Promotions

Wine Down By the Sea

Special valid Jun 1, 2016 - Oct 1, 2016 all week from 3:00 PM - 6:00 PM

Details
$30 for a Bottle of House White or Red Wine and Artisan Cheese Board. Offering Daily Brocktail Specials. Excludes Tax and Tip. Perfect way relax by the ocean! $30 for a bottle of wine and Artisan Cheeseboard. Special valid Jun 1, 2016 - Oct 1, 2016 all week from 3:00 PM - 6:00 PM.

Private Dining

Our ocean front historic cottage has cozy home like charm. Private parties can take place in the entire cottage or in specific areas (the Nook, Veranda, Main Dining , Patio). Each seat has an ocean view. With our award winning menus, our house is the perfect place for you to host your next party.

Brockton Villa Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.3

ambience

4.5

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Brunch
San Diego
Great for Brunch
San Diego
Best Restaurants in La Jolla ›

scenic view (127)
great for outdoor dining (120)
great for brunch (82)
See All
special occasion (61)
great for lunch (55)
neighborhood gem (53)
romantic (47)
fit for foodies (39)
kid-friendly (25)
good for groups (19)
hot spot (12)
late-night find (5)
notable wine list (2)
Sort By:
Newest
954 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

There is a construction going on next do ...

 
 (México)
·Dined 3 days ago

There is a construction going on next door so there is some noise. The view is amazing and the food wonderful but the attitude and lack of enthusiasm of our server put a damper on our breakfast experience. Still very enjoyable!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

I was disappointed in my experience at B ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined 4 days ago

I was disappointed in my experience at Brickton Villa. I have been there multiple times in the past 20+ years and always loved it. However, the smell this time around from the nearby coastal cliffs was a terrible nuisance. It interfered with the entire experience and I most likely will not return until that problem can be fixed.

Allison Leedom

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service2
value2

Great view of sunset. Service was exce ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined 5 days ago

Great view of sunset. Service was excellent. We went twice and each time was special.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

I'm not going to blame the lack of parki ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined 6 days ago

I'm not going to blame the lack of parking on the restaurant nor the bad smell coming from the seals and seagulls. But that certainly contributes to a less than desirable dining experience. Since parking is so limited, parties can't be seated until the driver finally parks the car and gets there, at which point several walk-ins were seated ahead of us, and then we were seated outdoors even though we requested indoors which was available when we first arrived.

We were finally seated by 10 and ordered Bloody Marys only to find out that they aren't served until 11:00 a.m. Whatever liquor laws are in effect don't interest me - we always start our Sunday brunch with Bloodys. Big disappointment.

The poached eggs were cold and tasted like vinegar. My husband had a very hard time getting a cup of coffee and subsequent refills.

We have two favorite brunch restaurants in Del Mar which we will be returning to from now on.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

We got there at 5:30pm. They say us on t ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 7 days ago

We got there at 5:30pm. They say us on the balcony overlooking the most beautiful view but the sun hits you right in the face. They have made no arrangements to block it but could have put roll down screens. This happens each day for 2 hours. Killed what could have been a perfect score.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

Even though we made a reservation, they ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Even though we made a reservation, they kept us waiting for about 20'. I did not like that. It is a great place for brunch, but summer time is not the best time to go. Hot and sinky with the pelican poo on the rocks near by. Better to go in late fall and winter when it is cooler and the rain has washed away the bird poo. Did not like that the reception girls made us wait even though we had a reservation and were there on time. Not good. It was my wife's birthday. Not good.

Tags: great for brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Can't beat the location, view, and ambia ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Can't beat the location, view, and ambiance. Food was good, and well priced given the location and setting. Service was outstanding. Would definitely go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I took my friend out to celebrate his we ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

I took my friend out to celebrate his wedding later that day. It was my first time to Brockton Villa and won't be my last. Food was delicious. I had the Corned Beef Hash and it was the best I've ever had. For dessert we had the Coast Toast which was every bit as good as I had heard. Our server was Ryan and he was awesome. Kept the drinks coming and was very knowledgable about the menu. Looking forward to next time.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Loved our server Darrin...we love good f ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Loved our server Darrin...we love good food, and he had great recommendations. First time to LaJolla, visiting from the midwest. dined after a beach day at Torrey Pines, could not have had a better ending to a fabulous day!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoyable old La Jolla ambiance -- with ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Enjoyable old La Jolla ambiance -- with homey atmosphere, including

a wonderful fireplace decorated with abalone shells -- fantastic view of the Cove.

Great for visitors to San Diego, as well as meeting friends.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

The food was excellent! I recommend the ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

The food was excellent! I recommend the chowder, yum!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I found this restaurant on Yelp and want ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

I found this restaurant on Yelp and wanted somewhere romantic with a sunset view to celebrate our anniversary with my boyfriend. The view was beautiful, the tables and ambiance were very nice. The wine we had was a nice Italian wine that suited the meal well. The 1/2 dozen oysters we ordered for an appetizer looked and tasted old - my boyfriend got sick that night and we think that was what it was from. We both had the filets which were pretty good with the mushrooms and sauce. The mashed potatoes on the side were quite good but I did not like how they plated the salad on top of the potatoes.. All this did was make my salad soggy and very difficult to push onto the fork. It would have been better on the side. The hostess was very nice - we waited about 10 minutes for our table from our reservation time. The waitress was kind of flat in her personality but maybe she had had a long day. All in all it was a pleasant meal but I probably wouldn't go back because nothing wowed us except the view.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

It was okay. Food choices were not grea ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

It was okay. Food choices were not great. Our server was very checked out and we were seated at a cold outdoor table. Great view of the seals and the food was good.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Had lunch with another couple & enjoyed ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Had lunch with another couple & enjoyed our food which was salad & sandwich. We sat outside with a beautiful front row view of La Jolla Cove. It doesn't get better!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, great for lunch, scenic view, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Very impressed with this little find alo ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Very impressed with this little find along the ocean. Beautiful ambiance great food friendly service ...definitely I will be back :)

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been fans of this place for a lo ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

We have been fans of this place for a long time. Location and ambiance are amazing. The food is usually very good, although this past Sunday it was so busy that the food was not as good as usual.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Gorgeous setting, divine and flavorful m ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Gorgeous setting, divine and flavorful menu, and quite simply the best tasting french toast I have ever had. The scenic view of the beautiful Pacific made it that much more of a memorable experience. Looking forward to going back very soon!

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Spectacular Sunset views and exceptional ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Spectacular Sunset views and exceptional service. We enjoyed the chowder, ciopinni, and filet. Kids loved their selection of generous kids portions too. We will certainly visit again!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, service and the best view in ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Great food, service and the best view in La Jolla.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Thanks to Kyle and team. He worked so h ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Thanks to Kyle and team. He worked so hard to make sure we felt welcome and comfortable underneath a plethora of umbrellas. The med salad was incredibly tasty as well. The view could not be beat.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Really my mistake - should not order Ita ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Really my mistake - should not order Italian food at a non - Italian restaurant. Too much pasta and not enough meat in the dish.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

We were a couple of newlyweds, and the s ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

We were a couple of newlyweds, and the stuff found us a fabulous table for two on the deck. The view was fantastic and romantic. The food was very good. A table size a bit too small though and the prices a bit too high. The stuff was considerate and accommodating to our wishes. Upon request, they provided me with hot tea with lemon due to my sore throat.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great chopping and gorgeous sunset!

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Great chopping and gorgeous sunset!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was just ok but the views were to d ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Food was just ok but the views were to die for! Get an outside table overlooking the LaJolla Cove.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Unfortunately our experience at this res ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Unfortunately our experience at this restaurant was one of the biggest let downs and a tourist trap to say the least. The service was spotty and it took longer than normal to get out waitresses attention, drinks, food and Bill. And the food - ugh that food - came out totally cold and hardly edible. The potatoes were undercooked, the eggs Benedict was bland and the "famous" French toast was a plate of mush. We had every intention to bring this up with our waitress, but seeing as it took SO LONG to get her attention and it had already taken so long to get our food in the first place we grumbled as we tried to eat our horribly disappointing meal. We didn't even get a chance to complain at the end because our waitress just dropped off the bill and didn't even ask how it was. For the price point we expected better overall. We would recommend people steer clear of this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Really disappointed. Nothing special at ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Really disappointed. Nothing special at all. only nice thing was the view. Would not go back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

Beautiful spot, amazing food and outstan ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Beautiful spot, amazing food and outstanding service.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

7:30pm reservation + 8:00 sunset = perfe ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

7:30pm reservation + 8:00 sunset = perfect night! The VIEW? One word... SPECTACULAR! Eating at Brockton Villa during the day, the view of the beach is unobstructed and within yards of you from the outside patio seating. After recently dining in the evening... SUNSET is now the time I highly recommend to people. Atmosphere? Sitting outside at Brockton Villa is surprisingly quiet. Set at the end of a one way street, it fortunately doesn't see much traffic. It's a bonus that there are heaters ready for you on the deck. Romantic? Romance is what you make of it with someone you love. However, if I was making a suggestion for an anniversary or surprise proposal this wouldn't be my choice. We took my 14 yr old daughter the last time we dined at Brockton Villa and can be a very picky eater. When she gets choices and a menu, just stop the clock! Lucky for us, our server John was unbelievably patient and professional! He made suggestions to her that wouldn't alter the integrity of the dishes but would fit her taste that she'd described. The food? The dishes are pretty standard, nothing too unique. I do enjoy when a restaurant puts their own touch on a seemingly simple dish. That's why I LOVE Brockton Villa's lobster roll!!! The bun comes to you still warm from being lightly toasted. It's buttered and oh so soft... So good! The lobster isn't drenched in mayo or other aiolis. Brockton Villa really does the lobster roll the perfect way for ME! So far we haven't been disappointed with anything we've eaten at Brockton Villa. They could use some more gluten-free options on the menu. However, they make it work for you. Lastly, if I was the owner of Brockton Villa I would immediately revamp the menu, redecorate/update the restarting, and get ready to retire because that location is a gold mine! My sunset scenario with my partner & daughter made this the perfect choice... Stunning view! Good food,made perfectly! Icing on the cake, impeccable service by John!

Tags: kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, romantic, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dinner at sunset was outstanding. Everyt ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Dinner at sunset was outstanding. Everything we ate was incredible.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Found this gem thanks to awesome reviews ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Found this gem thanks to awesome reviews and just wanted to share that the rumors are true. Great views, awesome food and service. We had the perfect Sunday brunch with mimosas with the most perfect view thanks to Open Table! Make reservations in advance to make sure you get the best seat in the house!

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent for brunch. Coast toast is awe ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Excellent for brunch. Coast toast is awesome. Great view of the ocean. Cute and quaint.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great ambiance, food and a beautiful vi ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Great ambiance, food and a beautiful view. What more could you ask for?

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The view is all of it. The food was good ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

The view is all of it. The food was good and the service was also good, given the volume of patrons. The place will do well because of it's location. Very enjoyable and would definitely return for another meal.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Superb food coupled with wonderful servi ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Superb food coupled with wonderful service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I have eaten here many times. It is grea ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

I have eaten here many times. It is great value for the food and the view. I highly recommend the coast toast.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Location and history very special...howe ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

Location and history very special...however, be prepared for an extremely fresh fish aroma drifting up from the rocky beach. Asked for varandah dining, but hostess sat us (2) at a 4 top table in a odd, obscured view area on the patio....and told us there was nothing available on the verandah...not very pleasing....then suddenly we where moved, as there was actually plenty of room on the verandah???

Tags: scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Lovely dinner to celebrate a family birt ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

Lovely dinner to celebrate a family birthday. Service was lovely and the view was amazing. Food was very good. Had a wonderful time overall!!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Lovely ambiance and nice view of the oc ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

Lovely ambiance and nice view of the ocean, interesting menu, very good service and food. This is a unique location and a good choice for a special occasion or just a meal out with a friend.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

We booked brunch at Brockton Villa fairl ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We booked brunch at Brockton Villa fairly last minute and were lucky enough to be sat outside on the upstairs patio overlooking the Cove. The food was amazing, the white sangria was delicious. We will be back.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Come for the view. A great overlook of ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Come for the view. A great overlook of La Jolla, especially at sunset. The entrees were all under seasoned and it took 15 minutes to get a spoon for coffee. I will say that the desserts were delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.