Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi
  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi
  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi

About Brockton Villa

Great Food * Epic Sunsets

Brockton Villa is a beautiful historic home converted into a restaurant located directly across from the ocean. Our seaside location offers a spectacular view of the world-famous La Jolla Cove, and has become a favorite "show off" spot for locals and visitors alike. We are known for our breakfasts, including our famous Coast Toast. Our chef creates many other wonderful dishes seasonally for lunch and our dinner service.

Our house is the perfect place for you to host your next party. Whether it be a wedding reception, rehearsal dinner, baptism, bridal shower, baby shower, or any special occasion.

1235 Coast Blvd.
San Diego, CA 92037
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Californian, American, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast:
Monday - Friday: 8:00am - 12:00pm,
Saturday - Sunday: 8:00am - 3:00pm
Lunch:
Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 3:00pm
Saturday - Sunday: 12:00pm - 3:00pm
Social Hour:
Everyday: 3:00pm - 5:00pm
Dinner:
Everyday: 5:00pm - Close

Cross Street:
Prospect

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(858) 454-7393

Website:
http://www.brocktonvilla.com/

Parking Details:
There is parking available on public streets. There are also numerous per hour fee parking garages and private parking lot offered for large private events

Executive Chef:
Mareyja Sisbarro

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Specials

Three Course Prix Fixe Meal for $30.00

Mondays, Tuesdays and Sundays from 5:00 PM - 9:00 PM

Specials

Three Course Prix Fixe Meal for $30.00

Mondays, Tuesdays and Sundays from 5:00 PM - 9:00 PM

Details

Three Course Prix Fixe Meal for $30.00. Excludes Tax and Tip. Join us for the best Pre Fixe dinner with unmatched views of the Cove and Shores. Special valid Apr 24, 2017 - Aug 24, 2017 on Mondays, Tuesdays and Sundays from 5:00 PM - 9:00 PM.

Private Dining

Our ocean front historic cottage has cozy home like charm. Private parties can take place in the entire cottage or in specific areas (the Nook, Veranda, Main Dining , Patio). Each seat has an ocean view. With our award winning menus, our house is the perfect place for you to host your next party.

Brockton Villa Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Waterfront (80)
Scenic View (80)
Great for Outdoor Dining (66)
See All
Great for Brunch (53)
Neighborhood Gem (41)
Casual (38)
Worth the Drive (37)
Sunday Lunch (37)
Romantic (37)
Good for a Date (36)
Cozy (31)
Special Occasion (30)
Great for Lunch (29)
Good for Birthdays (26)
Good for Anniversaries (26)
Fun (24)
Creative Cuisine (24)
People Watching (18)
Fit for Foodies (18)
Historic (15)
Afternoon Coffee (14)
Authentic (14)
Healthy (14)
Quiet Conversation (14)
Kid-friendly (13)
Local Ingredients (13)
Comfort Food (11)
Hot Spot (10)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Family Style (7)
Good for Groups (6)
Fireplace (5)
Seasonal (5)
Business Meals (5)
Afternoon Tea (5)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Notable Wine List (4)
Organic (3)
Modern Decor (2)
Great Beer (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Vegan (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Happy Hour (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Sort By:
S
1229 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined a day ago

Very good place with a nice view! The benedict was awesome! Definitely recommended!

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 19, 2017

Graduation dinner and family reunion. Can't say enough about how welcome they made us feel… Sorry the lobster roll was out, but everyone enjoyed what they ordered and our table on the patio was absolutely outstanding at sunset. Would definitely go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 19, 2017

Had a reservation, but had to wait 20 mins for table. Had to remind waiter to bring water, bread, and heat lamp. Wanted extra sauce and brought wrong kind of sauce twice. Fish was very dry, both as my seared halibut and as the fish taco. Very expensive for the poor service and dry fish.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Good service, great drinks, pretty view. Food was fine, perhaps a bit bland.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 18, 2017

My girlfriends and I went to celebrate my best friends birthday. We had an amazing time! The food was amazing and surprising not overpriced considering the location. We can't wait to spend our next Sunday here.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Casual, Romantic, Waterfront, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Healthy, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Spectacular view, but it can be offset by the smell from either the seals or the pelicans (not sure which). The food was adequate, although the bacon order was initially undercooked and then returned burned. The server recognized this immediately and took it off our bill, but no bacon for my husband on Father's Day :(

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on June 18, 2017

We were in town for an anniversary celebration. The photos online make the place seem a little more refined than it actually looks in person, but don't let it throw you. We had no wait because of the reservation but we did arrive 10 minutes late. It took 30 minutes to find a place to park and walk back to the restaurant. Simply put the view was beautiful, the food worth the drive and then some, and the service was better than the very good food. I would recommend it to anyone.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Afternoon Tea, Quick Bite, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Fun, People Watching, Authentic, Special Occasion, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Cozy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 16, 2017

The staff are very helpful , i like the view and the food was awesomely delicious. Definitely coming back ...

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Vibrant Bar Scene, Paleo Friendly, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Went for a birthday dinner. Beautiful view, especially the sunset. Services are great and food is good. We definitely will go there again!

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Great Beer, Healthy, Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene, Comfort Food, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Just the best experience period. All the waitstaff were great, helpful, and friendly. the food was fantastic! The view couldn't be better, and the cocktails 5 stars!

Tags: Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Kid-friendly, Fun, Gluten Free Options, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Waterfront, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Great views from the outside seating. Menu is short but very tasty. Wine list is unique.
The value is incredible. Two dinners with appetizer and desert just over $100. The ambiance is very comfortable

Tags: Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 14, 2017

We came to BV to celebrate a school promotion. Our reservation was at noon on a Wednesday. Parking was easy given summer has just started. It can be difficult to find spaces in the immediate area. They put us in a small room that had a large booth. Very private, protected from the cool breeze, lovely views. Wait staff was polite, knowledgeable and very pleasant. Food was fantastic. Ample portion. Fresh ingredients. Great choice for our celebration.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Afternoon Coffee, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Casual, Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 12, 2017

Lovely patio dining with view of ocean. Could occasionally smell the fragrance of the local sea lions, but nothing to affect our enjoyment of the food. Large portions, and everything we ordered was delicious- coast toast, chilequilas, viarito, and more. The staff were all very welcoming and friendly. Thoroughly enjoyed our breakfast here!

Tags: Waterfront, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 10, 2017

The food was excellent and the service was friendly and attentive. It is a casual down-home feeling there and the views are incredible of the La Jolla coastline.

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 10, 2017

We were looking for a casual dinner by the ocean and requested a table with a view. We were seated on the small balcony upstairs, and the view of La Jolla Cove was fantastic. We had the fish tacos and the halibut - both excellend and good portions. Service was friendly and helpful, the food was tasty, and we had a nice time. They do have cocktails (they call them Brocktails) however it's not a full bar - mostly focused on wine and beer. Nice design, cosy oceanside cottage atmosphere. Would definitely recommend for casual dinner or brunch in LaJolla.

Tags: Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Waterfront, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Outdoor seating was nice with a great view. Serever a excellent and very friendly. Food was good,

Tags: Cozy, Waterfront, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 10, 2017

The view was awesome and had an amazing dinner.

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Great for Outdoor Dining, Tasting Menu, Fun, Great for Brunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 8, 2017

Our waitress was amazing. The food and the view of La Jolla Cove was perfect

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Afternoon Coffee, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 5, 2017

Great views of San Diego bay from dining room and patio. Food was great as was wine selection.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Awesome place! Reserved a table and had flowers sent all using Open Table. The table I reserved was the right one and also had the flowers waiting. Beautiful view, great food and overall A+ restaurant.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Sunday Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on June 1, 2017

Very good food, excellent location.
Our server was excellent.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 29, 2017

Every visit to San Diego must include a meal at Brockton Villa. This time was to celebrate my daughter's college graduation and my birthday...it was magical!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Scenic View, Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 29, 2017

We enjoyed the view, the food and historic aspect of the restaurant. However the service was surprisingly not very good. Our food was served promptly but had to wait a few minutes for utensils among other issues.

Tags: Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Waterfront, Cozy, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Awesome selection of food that is all amazing. Can't beat the views and the location, but parking can be a pain.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Great for Outdoor Dining, Sunday Lunch, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Loved this restaurant! Friendly staff, amazing views, tasty food, reasonable prices. We very much enjoyed our dinner and will be back. Special thanks to Devin our waiter!

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Waterfront, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 26, 2017

The salmon BLT is to die for, but the apple cobbler was very bland! You can't beat the location right across from La Jolla cove, gorgeous ocean views!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 26, 2017

I love this spot for the beautiful view. I did not love the breakfast but I've liked the lunch, and the drinks are great. TBH, it's all about the view.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 22, 2017

Delicious breakfast with cinnamon pancakes and fresh fruit with greek yoghurt in front of a beautiful scenery of the Pacific Ocean.

Tags: Authentic, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 21, 2017

The beautiful view was blocked by a broken window covering which was dirty and old
Disgusting bathroom wet floors and unsanitary surroundings

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Good grub, service, and views. What else is there to say that has not already been said?

Tags: Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 19, 2017

This restaurant was recommended to us by a 'native' La Jolla resident as her most favorite place to eat. The food was delicious and the staff very knowledgable and efficient and friendly. This was topped of by the fantastic view and last not least their delectable Crème brûlée.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Best French toast EVER and best fresh OJ!!!

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 15, 2017

I came to brockton villa to celebrate my friends birthday. This is usually the place that I bring my friends to because i love it an my family also really likes it!

Tags: Family Style, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Waterfront, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 14, 2017

This is a true historic, hidden gem! One that I will sure to revisit soon! Amazing view of the Big Blue!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Afternoon Tea, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Historic, Romantic, Afternoon Coffee, Family Style, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Fun, People Watching, Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 13, 2017

There is construction next door that takes a way from the outdoor dining, but that is a present exception. Otherwise my family enjoyed the food, server was very courteous.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 10, 2017

There was a hair made into my French toast when I was 3/4th done. It was very disappointing. Wondered how many hairs I ate before I noticed this one.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Great place, my sister was being a snobby brat but the server handled her well KUDDOS for that. The food was fine, I had the crab cake Benedict, it was good but not great. But the view, oh that view, and the service made up for everything. I wouldn't go back for the food personally, but I would go back for some drinks out at their patio while enjoying the view.

Tags: Scenic View, Historic, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Amazing views of the sea lions and La Jolla Cove!!

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Very nice servers and an amazing view!

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 7, 2017

The only good thing about this restaurant is the view. The food is ridiculously expensive and depending on what you get, is just okay. There were 4 of us at dinner on Friday and only one person didn't have any complaints. The rest of the party - 3 persons - said that their fish and lamb was dry and overcooked.

Then the bill came and it was ridiculous! Only come here if you wish to spend a lot of money for mediocre food. Will definitely NOT be returning!

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.