Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi
  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi
  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi

About Brockton Villa

Great Food * Epic Sunsets

Brockton Villa is a beautiful historic home converted into a restaurant located directly across from the ocean. Our seaside location offers a spectacular view of the world-famous La Jolla Cove, and has become a favorite "show off" spot for locals and visitors alike. We are known for our breakfasts, including our famous Coast Toast. Our chef creates many other wonderful dishes seasonally for lunch and our dinner service.

Our house is the perfect place for you to host your next party. Whether it be a wedding reception, rehearsal dinner, baptism, bridal shower, baby shower, or any special occasion.

1235 Coast Blvd.
San Diego, CA 92037
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Californian, American, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast:
Monday - Friday: 8:00am - 12:00pm,
Saturday - Sunday: 8:00am - 3:00pm
Lunch:
Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 3:00pm
Saturday - Sunday: 12:00pm - 3:00pm
Social Hour:
Everyday: 3:00pm - 5:00pm
Dinner:
Everyday: 5:00pm - Close

Cross Street:
Prospect

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(858) 454-7393

Website:
http://www.brocktonvilla.com/

Parking Details:
There is parking available on public streets. There are also numerous per hour fee parking garages and private parking lot offered for large private events

Executive Chef:
Mareyja Sisbarro

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Specials

Three Course Prix Fixe Meal for $30.00

Mondays, Tuesdays and Sundays from 5:00 PM - 9:00 PM

Specials

Three Course Prix Fixe Meal for $30.00

Mondays, Tuesdays and Sundays from 5:00 PM - 9:00 PM

Details

Three Course Prix Fixe Meal for $30.00. Excludes Tax and Tip. Join us for the best Pre Fixe dinner with unmatched views of the Cove and Shores. Special valid Apr 24, 2017 - Aug 24, 2017 on Mondays, Tuesdays and Sundays from 5:00 PM - 9:00 PM.

Private Dining

Our ocean front historic cottage has cozy home like charm. Private parties can take place in the entire cottage or in specific areas (the Nook, Veranda, Main Dining , Patio). Each seat has an ocean view. With our award winning menus, our house is the perfect place for you to host your next party.

Brockton Villa Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (85)
Waterfront (73)
Great for Outdoor Dining (65)
See All
Great for Brunch (47)
Casual (37)
Sunday Lunch (37)
Good for a Date (34)
Neighborhood Gem (32)
Worth the Drive (31)
Special Occasion (30)
Cozy (28)
Romantic (28)
Great for Lunch (23)
Fun (22)
Good for Anniversaries (22)
Good for Birthdays (19)
People Watching (19)
Fit for Foodies (16)
Afternoon Coffee (13)
Creative Cuisine (12)
Quiet Conversation (12)
Healthy (11)
Comfort Food (11)
Local Ingredients (11)
Authentic (10)
Kid-friendly (9)
Hot Spot (9)
Good for Groups (8)
Historic (7)
Afternoon Tea (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Business Meals (5)
Seasonal (4)
Notable Wine List (4)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Organic (3)
Family Style (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Live Sports (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Great Beer (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Sort By:
S
1280 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 2 days ago

I love this place. The only thing that made it a little less appetizing this time around was a breeze bringing in some STRONG odors from the seals nearby. It didn't ruin the experience though. It's a beautiful setting and wonderful food.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 6 days ago

Absolutely love the view of La Jolla Cove from their patio dining area. Stunning, stunning view. Really appreciate the restaurant accommodating my request to be seated with an obstructed view of the Pacific Ocean on two separate occasions when I booked through OpenTable. For a place with a view, the food isn't terrible. The service was decent. Looking forward to coming back for their 3 courses for $30 specials Sunday to Tuesday nights.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 6 days ago

Great French toast, a must. Outstanding view of the Bay

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 6 days ago

The hostess was really nice. She gave us a great table upstairs with a view. The food is good - I tried the Coast Toast (French toast). The service was nice; the server didn't constantly interrupt us with questions. We were able to eat and chat comfortably. Great place to bring out of town guests.

Tags: Cozy, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Long. Pas terrible globalement. Collés aux toilettes.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 6 days ago

We loved the view. We sat outside looking at the Pacific Ocean and listened to the sea lions. The service was fine and the food was very good. We would go back when back in the area.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 6 days ago

The view was nice and the service was good. We were disappointed at the food. Several of the entrees lacked flavor and the sauces paired with the dishes were uninteresting. In particular was very disappointed with the halibut. It was very bland and the sauce was mayonnaise flavored and not good. Our other dish was the salmon which also was very average. Wasn't horrible overall but not worth a second visit just for the view.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 7 days ago

My wife and I had our anniversary breakfast. The Coast Toast is everything met all my expectations. My wife had chilaquiles, which was absolutely amazing. Easily the best I've ever had. Great Atmosphere and beautiful view (at on the Veranda). Only complaint was the horrible smell coming from the Cove (I guess from the sea lions) sometimes hits the restaurant depending on the breeze.

Tags: Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 12, 2017

A casual did it original. Friendly service. Greatest location!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 11, 2017

The view of the cove was quite butif. The noise level came from the road, seals and tourists, however it wasn't annoying. We went for Breakfast on a Friday morning and there was quite a line! Thankfully we made reservations. The cinnamon roll pancakes, French toast, breakfast tacos and crab cake Benedict were all super yummy!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 6, 2017

The food is very good and the location is fantastic. Great views from the patio section. The service was excellent. Every now and then you get a wiff of the seals but it is not the bad.overall great place.parking can be tough.sometimes easier to park up off of prospect and walk down.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 6, 2017

The Villa is just across the street from LaJolla Cove! We sat on the outside patio after
paying $20 for parking in underground garage! The smell of the Sea Lions was very
strong on the patio. Our waiter was just ok, he forgot to order the chicken that was added
to a salad! The food is just ok, not the best!! Would not go again despite the view!

Tags: Casual, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Took the kids to meet a friend - it was the perfect choice! They have a kids menu (plus great cocktails for the adults). I'll definitely be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 5, 2017

They were able to get us in ahead of our reservation which was very nice. The quality of the food and service was top notch. The quantity of food was a nice surprise since I anticipated smaller dishes. My wife and I quite enjoyed all parts of our brunch.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Organic, Great for Lunch, Casual, Waterfront, Scenic View, Quick Bite, Sunday Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

Actually ate here twice during our La Jolla Cove stay. One for brunch and once for dinner. I really can't capture how good our visits were. Food was tasty! Service was great! Ocean view!!! And the price was very reasonable. We will return!

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Five people, five entrees, five thumbs up. We really enjoyed our starter as well, the Burrata & Prociutto plate.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 3, 2017

Dreadfully disappointing as reviews were good and it had been recommended personally to us. We had booked and changed the time by phone with them and were practically snarled at when we arrived and they had no recollection of the booking. We were seated and there was a big ball of food under the table so we had to ask for it to be cleaned. As we waited for our food, staff were noisily unpacking boxes around us, very close by. 3 dishes arrived and our daughter had a very long wait for hers and when it finally came it was a salad missing a key ingredient. We asked why this was missing and then had over a half hour wait for the missing hard boiled egg, having to chase it several times in the process. Despite this utterly bizarre egg episode, the food was overpriced and underwhelming. The smoked salmon salad had the smallest portion of salmon ever and perhaps 4 green beans, the rest was salad leaves. The child's meal was tiny - particularly for the States. The charge for one salad was taken off but the whole experience was still very poor indeed.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 3, 2017

Great food and service. Making the reservation in OpenTable, I requested a table on their front terrace. That was happily accommodated and we enjoyed a beautiful view.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 31, 2017

We come here every time we're in San Diego. Never disappoints. The service is attentive and friendly. Our party of 6 had smoked salmon plate,cinnamon roll pancakes, French toast, baskets of muffins, scones, and croissant, each one better than the next. Homemade granola with yogurt and berries was served parfait style. Even the sourdough toast with homemade ham was a fantastic. Don't miss place if you have a chance. They take reservations.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 30, 2017

Amazing quick service. Waiters and employees are so kind and attentive. The ambience and the food was amazing! This place is worth every penny. The view, indescribable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

Amazing view, amazing food, amazing service! Definitely going back!

Tags: Waterfront, Afternoon Tea, Casual, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 28, 2017

Food was mediocre. Bathroom situation was less than desirable--not very clean or in good working order. Despite the smell from the local wildlife below, it was not noticeable inside the restaurant, so that is a plus. The view is nice, but I still wouldn't come back or recommend it.

Tags: People Watching, Quiet Conversation, Waterfront, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 28, 2017

We always take out of town visitors for the fabulous Coast Toast and White Out, or White Lightening. We were disappointed his time! The servings are now smaller, and the overcooked Coast Toast is a much smaller portion and cut is a sliver rather than a piece of thick "Texas bread", and served on a rectangular dish rather than a real plate! We were not impressed and will not be eager to return. Makes me sad.

Tags: Authentic, Kid-friendly, Waterfront, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on July 25, 2017

Cinnamon roll pancakes are divine! Very peaceful, calming atmosphere. May go back tomorrow!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on July 24, 2017

This was my first time at this restaurant. Although the food was very good, the restaurant was not very clean. The bathroom was filthy. (Door, walls and floor) made me wonder about the kitchen! We ate on the porch, which was also needed a good cleaning and fresh coat of paint. Too many great restaurants to go back there.

Tags: Scenic View, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 24, 2017

My husband and I loved the menu the food was wonderful. Our waiter was great very helpful. The view was nice and relaxing .
We loved our dinning experience.

Tags: Scenic View, People Watching, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Tasting Menu, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Brockton Villa was such a gem. We had a fantastic view of La Jolla Cove from our table. The atmosphere was cozy and pleasant, our waiter seemed genuinely excited about the menu, and the food was fantastic. If I had it to do all over again, I would have eaten all of our meals that weekend here! Can't wait to come again.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Waterfront, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on July 23, 2017

The view is great and the food is amazing :) The service was outstanding and the table was perfect :)

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 23, 2017

Perfekt, tolle Lage, sehr gutes Essen, sehr gute Cocktails und Getränke, freundliche Bedienung

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on July 19, 2017

The food was so delicious and I loved the idea of wine flights! We asked for a table on the patio with a view, and we were seated looking right out onto the ocean.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 16, 2017

I drove up from AZ with family and friends to celebrate my birthday and the atmosphere was amazing. The staff was friendly, my server was awesome and very attentive and the view is breathtaking! It's on the coast so parking was a nightmare considering we had reservations at 530 but that is prime time for dinner so I didn't complain. Definitely worth the drive and the price.

Tags: Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 16, 2017

Server was amazing, wine was perfect, food was delicious, ambiance was authentic, view was stunning! Literally can't get any better in La Jolla.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Great customer service. The food was delicious. The view was amazing for catching the sunset.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Waterfront, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Good for Groups, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 14, 2017

We love Brockton Villa! Awesome view of La Jolla Cove and excellent food! I love the Coast Toast, Epic Chowder, lobster roll, Salmon steamer, and fish tacos. My husband is gluten free. He loved being able to have some Epic Chowder. We will definitely be coming back soon!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Good Vegetarian Options, Gluten Free Options, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 10, 2017

Wow! Where to start? From the incredible views to the attentive and friendly service by our waiter, Shawn, we felt so welcomed and so comfortable throughout our meal. The food was amazing. Each item was so fresh and delicious. Coast toast is a must-order. My open faced breakfast sandwich was unique and fabulous. Our kids were happy with every part of our special brunch, as well. Thank you for making our special day start in such a great way.

Tags: Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Healthy, People Watching, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Great view of La Jolla Cove from either the patio or balcony. You can hear the sea lions and maybe see them, but not smell them!

The food at Brockton Villa (we went for dinner) was creative and excellent. The service was very, very good as well. Just the right number of contacts, knowledgeable about each dish, friendly, and helpful with a great attitude. If only all servers could be this good! We'll definitely be back to try the much talked about brunch.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Excellent food and amazing view of the cove. Sitting outside you can hear the seals and it's great people watching! Burrata was excellent as was the chowder, also had the special which was delicious. They do not have a full bar, but the wine and sangria is excellent.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on July 5, 2017

Fabulous brunch! We visited the last time we were in town and enjoyed it so much we returned this time. Great food and amazing views of the cove from the patio!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 3, 2017

I had fond recollections of a meal there years ago and was visiting San Diego again. It completely lived up to my expections. They offered advice on the parking situation which was very helpful. We had a lovely shaded outdoor table. The food was terrific as was the cocktail of the day. Great location, excellent service at the right price point

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Fun, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Brockton Villa has beautiful views, good food, and a decent wine selection. I would go back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.