About Brock's

Boasting an array of tapas and an extensive wine list, this Birmingham restaurant is known for pairing locally grown produce with the finest beef and fresh seafood.

4000 Grand Ave.
Birmingham, AL 35226
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Mediterranean, Tapas / Small Plates

Hours of Operation:

Breakfast: Daily: 6:30am - 11:00am
Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 9:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Village Center Dr.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(205) 949-3029

Website:
http://www.marriott.com/hotels/hotel-information/restaurant/bhmhv-renaissance-birmingham-ross-bridge-golf-resort-and-spa/

Parking Details:
Hotel parking lot for our guests.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Farm to Table, Gluten-free Menu, Wine

Brock's Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

3.9

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (8)
Special Occasion (6)
Good for Anniversaries (6)
See All
Creative Cuisine (6)
Casual (6)
Romantic (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Business Meals (5)
Worth the Drive (4)
Cozy (4)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Private Room (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Scenic View (2)
Family Style (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Local Ingredients (1)
Seasonal (1)
Fit for Foodies (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Authentic (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Fun (1)
Tapas (1)
Fireplace (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Healthy (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
40 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 3 days ago

The food was great and our server named Nick was outstanding! He was knowledgeable, friendly and professional all rolled into one. We are already scheduling another trip that will definitely include dining at Brock's.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined 4 days ago

Overpriced for the product. Servers were more qualified for fast food than for fine dining.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Great 5th Anniversary and of course golf for my husband.

Tags: Family Style, Scenic View, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Afternoon Tea, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 11, 2017

We usually eat at Brock's about once about month when we use the spa services at the hotel. The food is excellent!! We live in Birmingham with excellent farm to table options and we feel that Brock's is worth the drive!! House made pasta, fresh seafood, delicious flat breads and interesting vegetable options!! You can't go wrong!!
The staff is professional and attentive!!

Tags: Family Style, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Casual, Great for Brunch, Healthy, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 10, 2017

As other reviewers have mentioned: atmosphere could be more date-friendly. Too bright and music too loud. Food was delicious and the servers friendly; they know about the light issue and have asked their manager to change things.

Tags: Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Had a very nice time at Brock's celebrating my daughter's birthday with her! They put us in a great little curved booth. This was just perfect for the occasion. Cocktails were excellent! My daughter had a seafood pasta dish, which she enjoyed. I had a pheasant dish, which was tasty, but I probably would not order it again ($36 for very little meat!). We both had a dessert called Chocolate Elevation, which was actually a sampler of three different small chocolate desserts. They were pretty good, but not as tasty as they looked like they were going to be. Service was excellent, and so was the atmosphere!

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Came for a romantic Valentine's evening meal with my wife. All lights were on full so ambience was like sitting in the dentist chair. Server talked like someone out of the ghetto kept referring to me as "yo". Appetizer took 45 min to come out and was wrong order when they came. Took 60 min to get wine and when it came they didn't have what we ordered so they presented the different option. Salad came out and it had grit like sand in it. My wife refused to eat it. No way lettuce was washed. The cauliflower soup had burnt flavour and nasty brown color to it. Desert had no flavor and was some kind of pear in a gelatin dish. The best part of it was the Gelato on top. Fish and rabbit entre's were actually good and the manager did her best to try to help by comping 1 meal. With dinner $100 per plate I expected a much better evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Convenient and good if staying in the hotel. Relaxing atmosphere. Service was exceptional

Tags: Fun, Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Wonderful ambience. The service was exquisite, the food delightful. The chef added his special flair to many of his dishes- engaging both the palate and the eyes. Bravo.

Tags: Romantic
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Wonderful evening....excellent food.... our server was excellent. Never felt rushed....we will dine there again.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Can't say enough about how wonderful our evening was at Brock's!! From the atmosphere to the incredible food to the great customer service... everything was perfect and made for a wonderful memory for our family as we celebrated our daughter's college graduation!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Fireplace, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Private Room, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 17, 2016

The chicken flatbread with goat cheese and golden raisins was delicious. The spaghetti was tasty.

Tags: Good for a Date
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Food was excellent, server forgot to put our appetizer in which ended up fine because of the big entree size, music and decor were meh. Better than the terrible bartender at Shula's!!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Great service and great food. The tenderloin was delicious.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Enjoyed the wine,appt, and entrée. Excellent service.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Business Meals
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on October 15, 2016

The service was great. My husband and I both ordered pasta dishes. We both thought there should have been more meat in them ( chicken in his, pork cheek (bacon) in mine). We had to hunt for it in our bowls.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on September 3, 2016

We chose Ross Bridge for a Labor Day staycation with our kids. It was fantastic! Brock's was very accommodating to our children. They provided a kids menu and cups with lids for their drinks. The kids enjoyed the bagpiper that came to play on the patio during dinner. The food/wine was great and came in a timely fashion.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Family Style, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on July 27, 2016

We stayed at Ross Bridge for our wedding anniversary, and dined-in at Brock's. The half round booths are comfortable and as if made for a couple during a special occasion. Nick was an attentive waiter, with excellent suggestions for the entire meal, including the wine. Also, Nick was a gentleman throughout, even though we over stayed the restaurant closing time.

The food was wonderful; the carpaccio, the Fritto Mito, the entrées, all the way to the chocolate elevation dessert.

Would highly recommend it to locals and travelers alike.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on July 8, 2016

We have eaten at Brock's multiple times as hotel guests. The ambiance is nice, the servers are personable and it is convenient but we wouldn't recommend it for the food.
We have tried several items on the menu and find it to be over-priced with mediocre food.
I recommend saving up for the fabulous breakfast buffet and try dinner elsewhere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 3, 2016

Great atmosphere, good service, yummy wine, and good food. Would definitely recommend and will be coming back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 7, 2016

We stopped at Brock's on the way back from the UA Graduation. The service was impeccable, the drinks were fantastic and the food was very good. We would go there again in a heartbeat. Very relaxed atmosphere which was still busy at 9PM.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 16, 2016

A wonderful, varied menu. The food was above expectations. Our server was well versed in each menu item and easily fielded our questions. I hesitate to even call her our "server" as she was more like a friend. She made us feel very comfortable and helped us with ordering. True service is hard to find even in upscale restaurants. And the support staff was equally attentive and helpful. Well worth the trip.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 1, 2016

Love eating here every time I stay at Ross Bridge. The tenderloin is delicious.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 14, 2016

We made reservations for the special Valentine's Day dinner. It was a special five-course meal. The food was excellent, if somewhat "different" from our normal dining. Service was pleasant and attentive without being annoying.

My two complaints:

1. There were several open tables when we were seated. But we were seated next to the kitchen door. Even with a partition between us, we got an up close and personal play-by-play of the kitchen manager handling orders. At times it was hard to hear the background music playing over the sound system. But to add insult to injury, the couple who came in after us - with no reservation - got a much better table with a window view. The hostesses simply were not up to par.

2. It was much too expensive. The special menu was listed at $90 per person. By the time several drinks were added, our bill had ballooned to $270 before the tip. We heard other diners asking if they could see a regular menu.

While the atmosphere is very nice and the restaurant is relatively close to where we live, I am not sure I will return any time soon.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 17, 2016

Great experience overall. Did not enjoy the loud group beside us. Extremely loud and obnoxious throughout the dinner. I was hoping someone would ask them to quiet down. Food and service great. A little more pricey than I would expect.

Tags: Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on October 17, 2015

Did not live up to my high expectations. Food was mediocre, service was average and menu selections were limited. I will not return and would not recommend to a friend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on October 4, 2015

Overall Brock's was okay. Service was good. The menu is very limited and missing on some basics. The $45 filet was way overpriced for the quality.
When leaving we had to go find the valet, and all he did was hand us the key and pointed at our car.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on September 20, 2015

Very knowledgeable and helpful staff. Would recommend to anyone visiting the area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 8, 2015

This restaurant within the amazing Ross Bridge property is a step above a standard hotel restaurant. Our server, Joseph, was knowledgeable about the different cheeses and meats on the charcuterie menu to help us pick our starter. Some unfamiliar options that were tasty. Had the scallops dish wish was cooked perfectly including risotto. Pasta Bolognese dish was also good. Seafood linguini was a bit salty. My only disappointment was when ordering a second bottle of wine, being told it wasn't available but a replacement was, and that bottle being priced 50% above my original selection. Shame on me for not asking and only seeing this after the bill arrived, but I should have been told that the price was so much different. I was just told that the selection was "the next closest option." While the wine was good, next time I will know to ask for the list and pick again, and not rely on the waiter to select something that would match the price point I originally selected, which was the price of the first bottle I had gotten. Detracted from a nice dinner experience.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on July 3, 2015

Sorry to say that although the servers were great; the food was not great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on June 20, 2015

Cheese, charcuterie and accompaniments were fun. My seared scallops, while well cooked, were poorly seasoned and the balsamic glaze (or whatever) overwelmed them with sweet acidity. Broccoli and cauliflower with scallops was a combo that didn't really work. Seemed like a winter sauce. Spouse's chicken pasta dish was bland and evenly seasoned. Servers were attentive and helpful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 20, 2015

I made reservations for 5 people. Hostess kept saying 7 people. Reservation was cancelled by restaurant by email.
Food was pricey & not that tasty.
Would not recommend this restaurant.
The server was nice & pleasant.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 15, 2015

Very good 5 course meal, will go back in the future

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 15, 2015

Dinner: Who trains these people? Lukewarm greeting. Were we bothering them? Bad table seating (right in the kitchen path) when there were many tables available. Did I mention that we made reservations for this special occasion weeks in advance? Food was OK. Dessert was not good. Not to worry, no one asked if we were satisfied with the experience.

I would recommend the breakfast buffet. Very good at a reasonable price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 7, 2015

Great service. Food was excellent. Nice quiet setting. Chocolate evolution desert was outstanding.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 1, 2015

We decided to welcome the New Year and celebrate a big birthday at Ross Bridge Renaissance Marriott, and of course dining at Brock's was the natural choice! We were treated to a fabulous five course dinner ending with a delicious desert. Next morning, we had a breakfast buffet with a cooked-to-order omelette and a huge selection of sides. A wonderful treat and a great culinary adventure! I suggest you show up early for breakfast though, as they don't take reservations then.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on September 17, 2014

All the guests in our dining party were very pleased with the food, service and location of our party with regard to the larger dining area. We would recommend this restaurant to others.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on September 13, 2014

The food at Brocks was good, however I really believe it is way overpriced. Fortunately, it was my anniversary so it was a special night and price was not a factor. I would not go there on just a night to eat supper.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 29, 2014

Three of us ate dinner here. My husband's rib eye steak was Huge and delicious. We all helped him eat it. It was perfectly cooked and juicy. The tuna and prawns were not quite as outstanding. The server was excellent and we enjoyed the recommended wine. This was a special birthday dinner.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on July 27, 2014

Excellent food and service. Would highly recommend this restaurant to people that are staying at the hotel and local Birmingham residents.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.