About Brock's

Boasting an array of tapas and an extensive wine list, this Birmingham restaurant is known for pairing locally grown produce with the finest beef and fresh seafood.

4000 Grand Ave.
Birmingham, AL 35226
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Mediterranean, Tapas / Small Plates

Hours of Operation:

Breakfast: Daily: 6:30am - 11:00am
Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 9:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Village Center Dr.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(205) 949-3029

Website:
http://www.marriott.com/hotels/hotel-information/restaurant/bhmhv-renaissance-birmingham-ross-bridge-golf-resort-and-spa/

Parking Details:
Hotel parking lot for our guests.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Farm to Table, Gluten-free Menu, Wine

Brock's Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.7

service

3.7

ambience

4.0

value

3.1

Noise

Quiet

55% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Anniversaries (2)
Good for a Date (2)
Good for Groups (2)
See All
Sunday Lunch (2)
Business Meals (2)
Authentic (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Casual (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Scenic View (1)
Healthy (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Organic (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Romantic (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Sort by
S
60 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined on November 3, 2017

I live in the neighborhood and took a large group to Brock's for dinner last Friday. The service was beyond horrible and I was incredibly embarrassed! First off, you could hear everyone from the kitchen yelling, joking and cursing at each other. It sounded like they were having a big party in the back! Next, the waitress had ZERO personality! We had to ask for a drink menu, she never introduced herself and just asked what we wanted. She didn't share the dinner specials and I think maybe spoke five words to us the several hours we were there! Mind you we were big spenders getting everything from drinks to appetizers, entrees and dessert and never once just "checked" on us. Surprising since the entire restaurant was a ghost town. Next time I host a dinner, I will be taking them to Front Porch instead. Sad that you can't take advantage of Brock's when you live in the neighborhood and have a good meal and good service. I would even settle for good not great and this service was POOR! Will not be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value3

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on October 26, 2017

We loved the food and the service. Very nice restaurant and the service was excellent. I would go back again.

Tags: Authentic, Organic, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Casual, Late-night Find, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 19, 2017

Lovely waiter

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 30, 2017

The only thing good about our dinner experience was our server. He was amazing. The food was average - at best. The prices were astronomical particularly given the cafeteria quality of the food. We had breakfast the following morning and it was not good at all. service was slow and no where near the caliber of server we have the previous night. We didn't get the man's name but he appeared to be of an Asian ethnicity and had his hair pulled back. Very knowledgeable, friendly and attentive. He gets 5 stars....everything else deserves a 1 at best. Super disappointing.

Tags: Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service5
value1

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 28, 2017

Anniversary dinner. Great! Love Brock's!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

we ate dinner at Brock's on our first night at the hotel. The food was not good. Dinner is way overpriced. The breakfast was acceptable but was very expensive for what they actually offer. We will stay at the hotel again so we can go to the spa, but we will not be eating at Brock's.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on August 18, 2017

The dining experience was wonderful. Every table is a good one. The food and wait staff top notch

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 26, 2017

Frito Misto tapas plate was outstanding. No offense, but I did not expect to get fish that fresh in Alabama. And who would expect to find Baba Ganoush on antipasta menu?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Great food, even better service. Nice , quiet atmosphere, that allows you to carry on a conversation. Will go back again.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Me and my wife had dinner with my brother and his wife. I had the carbonara, which was tasty but a little salty. I also had the heirloom tomatoes with mozzarella balls and pesto...which was excellent. My wife and I shared the chocolate tart which was delicious. The service was good...not great. We had trouble understanding our waite...he looked japanese and had a strong accent. Also, we asked for water a couple of times before it was delivered. Overall a nice place for a date or for a group dinner with friends.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on July 1, 2017

We ate there 3 nights in a row, and the menu was just large enough and the food good enough made that a success. The "it" factor, however, was the quality of service and down home personality of our waiter Nick, of whom we were fortunate to have each night.

Tags: Casual, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Fantastic!

My wife and I had a blast and really enjoyed each other company.

Food was awesome and excellent choice in wines.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Fun, Late-night Find, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Western KY)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Food prep was poor and uninspired at best. Presentation okay. Service very good. Nice piece of pork tenderloin cooked so well done I would have thought it was 1975. Someone tell the "chef" that great restaurants even good restaurants including many in the area ask for temp range on this cut of meat. Whole fish nice flavor but too many bones to deal with so not worth the effort. $250 for less than mediocre. J

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on June 7, 2017

Filet and sweet potato au graten was delicious. Can't wait to go back!

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Great food. A little pricey especially if you have drinks with dinner. Overall, its a good experience and I would recommend it to anyone.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Who would have thought, that a resort hotel, not a downtown location, would serve such a fantastic meal?

Not I----though now, I would.

Brock's was just spectacular

The food was unbeatable, the service not overbearing

The grouper and pork tenderloin the first night were perfect. We then cancelled the downtown reservation and returned for the second night-- the porterhouse steak for 2-unmatched

Simply put-excellent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Food wasn't good. Servers were nice but service was slow.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Great night! Vincent was our server and he was excellent!!!

Tags: Fun, Romantic, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Food was very good. Atmosphere was perfect for an enjoyable dinner/evening.

Tags: Good for Groups, Tapas, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Authentic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 25, 2017

The food was great and our server named Nick was outstanding! He was knowledgeable, friendly and professional all rolled into one. We are already scheduling another trip that will definitely include dining at Brock's.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Overpriced for the product. Servers were more qualified for fast food than for fine dining.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Great 5th Anniversary and of course golf for my husband.

Tags: Scenic View, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Afternoon Tea, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 10, 2017

We usually eat at Brock's about once about month when we use the spa services at the hotel. The food is excellent!! We live in Birmingham with excellent farm to table options and we feel that Brock's is worth the drive!! House made pasta, fresh seafood, delicious flat breads and interesting vegetable options!! You can't go wrong!!
The staff is professional and attentive!!

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Casual, Great for Brunch, Healthy, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 9, 2017

As other reviewers have mentioned: atmosphere could be more date-friendly. Too bright and music too loud. Food was delicious and the servers friendly; they know about the light issue and have asked their manager to change things.

Tags: Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Had a very nice time at Brock's celebrating my daughter's birthday with her! They put us in a great little curved booth. This was just perfect for the occasion. Cocktails were excellent! My daughter had a seafood pasta dish, which she enjoyed. I had a pheasant dish, which was tasty, but I probably would not order it again ($36 for very little meat!). We both had a dessert called Chocolate Elevation, which was actually a sampler of three different small chocolate desserts. They were pretty good, but not as tasty as they looked like they were going to be. Service was excellent, and so was the atmosphere!

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Came for a romantic Valentine's evening meal with my wife. All lights were on full so ambience was like sitting in the dentist chair. Server talked like someone out of the ghetto kept referring to me as "yo". Appetizer took 45 min to come out and was wrong order when they came. Took 60 min to get wine and when it came they didn't have what we ordered so they presented the different option. Salad came out and it had grit like sand in it. My wife refused to eat it. No way lettuce was washed. The cauliflower soup had burnt flavour and nasty brown color to it. Desert had no flavor and was some kind of pear in a gelatin dish. The best part of it was the Gelato on top. Fish and rabbit entre's were actually good and the manager did her best to try to help by comping 1 meal. With dinner $100 per plate I expected a much better evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Convenient and good if staying in the hotel. Relaxing atmosphere. Service was exceptional

Tags: Fun, Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Wonderful ambience. The service was exquisite, the food delightful. The chef added his special flair to many of his dishes- engaging both the palate and the eyes. Bravo.

Tags: Romantic
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Wonderful evening....excellent food.... our server was excellent. Never felt rushed....we will dine there again.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Can't say enough about how wonderful our evening was at Brock's!! From the atmosphere to the incredible food to the great customer service... everything was perfect and made for a wonderful memory for our family as we celebrated our daughter's college graduation!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 16, 2016

The chicken flatbread with goat cheese and golden raisins was delicious. The spaghetti was tasty.

Tags: Good for a Date
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Food was excellent, server forgot to put our appetizer in which ended up fine because of the big entree size, music and decor were meh. Better than the terrible bartender at Shula's!!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Great service and great food. The tenderloin was delicious.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Enjoyed the wine,appt, and entrée. Excellent service.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Business Meals
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on October 14, 2016

The service was great. My husband and I both ordered pasta dishes. We both thought there should have been more meat in them ( chicken in his, pork cheek (bacon) in mine). We had to hunt for it in our bowls.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on September 3, 2016

We chose Ross Bridge for a Labor Day staycation with our kids. It was fantastic! Brock's was very accommodating to our children. They provided a kids menu and cups with lids for their drinks. The kids enjoyed the bagpiper that came to play on the patio during dinner. The food/wine was great and came in a timely fashion.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on July 26, 2016

We stayed at Ross Bridge for our wedding anniversary, and dined-in at Brock's. The half round booths are comfortable and as if made for a couple during a special occasion. Nick was an attentive waiter, with excellent suggestions for the entire meal, including the wine. Also, Nick was a gentleman throughout, even though we over stayed the restaurant closing time.

The food was wonderful; the carpaccio, the Fritto Mito, the entrées, all the way to the chocolate elevation dessert.

Would highly recommend it to locals and travelers alike.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on July 8, 2016

We have eaten at Brock's multiple times as hotel guests. The ambiance is nice, the servers are personable and it is convenient but we wouldn't recommend it for the food.
We have tried several items on the menu and find it to be over-priced with mediocre food.
I recommend saving up for the fabulous breakfast buffet and try dinner elsewhere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 2, 2016

Great atmosphere, good service, yummy wine, and good food. Would definitely recommend and will be coming back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 6, 2016

We stopped at Brock's on the way back from the UA Graduation. The service was impeccable, the drinks were fantastic and the food was very good. We would go there again in a heartbeat. Very relaxed atmosphere which was still busy at 9PM.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.