About Brock's

4000 Grand Ave.
Birmingham, AL 35226
View Larger Map

Boasting an array of tapas and an extensive wine list, this Birmingham restaurant is known for pairing locally grown produce with the finest beef and fresh seafood.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Mediterranean, Tapas / Small Plates

Hours of Operation:

Breakfast: Daily: 6:30am - 11:00am
Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 9:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Village Center Dr.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(205) 949-3029

Website:
http://www.marriott.com/hotels/hotel-information/restaurant/bhmhv-renaissance-birmingham-ross-bridge-golf-resort-and-spa/

Parking Details:
Hotel parking lot for our guests.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Farm to Table, Gluten-free Menu, Wine

Brock's Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.2

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

special occasion (8)
romantic (7)
neighborhood gem (4)
See All
late-night find (3)
great for outdoor dining (3)
kid-friendly (3)
fit for foodies (3)
notable wine list (2)
great for brunch (2)
great for lunch (2)
scenic view (2)
good for groups (1)
Sort By:
Newest
20 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience4
service5

We stopped at Brock's on the way back fr ...

vip
Dined on May 7, 2016

We stopped at Brock's on the way back from the UA Graduation. The service was impeccable, the drinks were fantastic and the food was very good. We would go there again in a heartbeat. Very relaxed atmosphere which was still busy at 9PM.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Anniversary Date

Dined on April 16, 2016

A wonderful, varied menu. The food was above expectations. Our server was well versed in each menu item and easily fielded our questions. I hesitate to even call her our "server" as she was more like a friend. She made us feel very comfortable and helped us with ordering. True service is hard to find even in upscale restaurants. And the support staff was equally attentive and helpful. Well worth the trip.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great restaurant

Dined on April 1, 2016

Love eating here every time I stay at Ross Bridge. The tenderloin is delicious.

Tags: kid-friendly, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience2
service4
value3

Excellent food, but pricy, and seating was poor

Dined on February 14, 2016

We made reservations for the special Valentine's Day dinner. It was a special five-course meal. The food was excellent, if somewhat "different" from our normal dining. Service was pleasant and attentive without being annoying. My two complaints: 1. There were several open tables when we were seated. But we were seated next to the kitchen door. Even with a partition between us, we got an up close and personal play-by-play of the kitchen manager handling orders. At times it was hard to hear the background music playing over the sound system. But to add insult to injury, the couple who came in after us - with no reservation - got a much better table with a window view. The hostesses simply were not up to par. 2. It was much too expensive. The special menu was listed at $90 per person. By the time several drinks were added, our bill had ballooned to $270 before the tip. We heard other diners asking if they could see a regular menu. While the atmosphere is very nice and the restaurant is relatively close to where we live, I am not sure I will return any time soon.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Great experience overall. Did not enjoy ...

Dined on January 17, 2016

Great experience overall. Did not enjoy the loud group beside us. Extremely loud and obnoxious throughout the dinner. I was hoping someone would ask them to quiet down. Food and service great. A little more pricey than I would expect.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service3

Disappointed

Dined on October 17, 2015

Did not live up to my high expectations. Food was mediocre, service was average and menu selections were limited. I will not return and would not recommend to a friend.

food4
ambience4
service4

Very average for the price

vip
Dined on October 4, 2015

Overall Brock's was okay. Service was good. The menu is very limited and missing on some basics. The $45 filet was way overpriced for the quality. When leaving we had to go find the valet, and all he did was hand us the key and pointed at our car.

food4
ambience4
service5

Very knowledgeable and helpful staff. Wo ...

Dined on September 20, 2015

Very knowledgeable and helpful staff. Would recommend to anyone visiting the area.

food3
ambience4
service4

Experience dampered by wine bait and switch

vip
Dined on July 8, 2015

This restaurant within the amazing Ross Bridge property is a step above a standard hotel restaurant. Our server, Joseph, was knowledgeable about the different cheeses and meats on the charcuterie menu to help us pick our starter. Some unfamiliar options that were tasty. Had the scallops dish wish was cooked perfectly including risotto. Pasta Bolognese dish was also good. Seafood linguini was a bit salty. My only disappointment was when ordering a second bottle of wine, being told it wasn't available but a replacement was, and that bottle being priced 50% above my original selection. Shame on me for not asking and only seeing this after the bill arrived, but I should have been told that the price was so much different. I was just told that the selection was "the next closest option." While the wine was good, next time I will know to ask for the list and pick again, and not rely on the waiter to select something that would match the price point I originally selected, which was the price of the first bottle I had gotten. Detracted from a nice dinner experience.

Tags: good for groups
food3
ambience3
service4

The food was average at best.

Dined on July 3, 2015

Sorry to say that although the servers were great; the food was not great.

food2
ambience4
service4

Disappointed

Dined on June 20, 2015

Cheese, charcuterie and accompaniments were fun. My seared scallops, while well cooked, were poorly seasoned and the balsamic glaze (or whatever) overwelmed them with sweet acidity. Broccoli and cauliflower with scallops was a combo that didn't really work. Seemed like a winter sauce. Spouse's chicken pasta dish was bland and evenly seasoned. Servers were attentive and helpful.

food2
ambience2
service2

Will not recommend restaurant

Dined on March 20, 2015

I made reservations for 5 people. Hostess kept saying 7 people. Reservation was cancelled by restaurant by email. Food was pricey & not that tasty. Would not recommend this restaurant. The server was nice & pleasant.

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

valentine dinner

Dined on February 15, 2015

Very good 5 course meal, will go back in the future

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Not worth the drive

vip
Dined on February 15, 2015

Dinner: Who trains these people? Lukewarm greeting. Were we bothering them? Bad table seating (right in the kitchen path) when there were many tables available. Did I mention that we made reservations for this special occasion weeks in advance? Food was OK. Dessert was not good. Not to worry, no one asked if we were satisfied with the experience. I would recommend the breakfast buffet. Very good at a reasonable price.

food4
ambience4
service4

Great service. Food was excellent. Nic ...

Dined on February 7, 2015

Great service. Food was excellent. Nice quiet setting. Chocolate evolution desert was outstanding.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

New Year's Eve Dinner and New Year's Breakfast

Dined on January 1, 2015

We decided to welcome the New Year and celebrate a big birthday at Ross Bridge Renaissance Marriott, and of course dining at Brock's was the natural choice! We were treated to a fabulous five course dinner ending with a delicious desert. Next morning, we had a breakfast buffet with a cooked-to-order omelette and a huge selection of sides. A wonderful treat and a great culinary adventure! I suggest you show up early for breakfast though, as they don't take reservations then.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

PCC Conference

Dined on September 17, 2014

All the guests in our dining party were very pleased with the food, service and location of our party with regard to the larger dining area. We would recommend this restaurant to others.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food3
ambience3
service3

over priced

Dined on September 13, 2014

The food at Brocks was good, however I really believe it is way overpriced. Fortunately, it was my anniversary so it was a special night and price was not a factor. I would not go there on just a night to eat supper.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5

Good steak!

Dined on August 29, 2014

Three of us ate dinner here. My husband's rib eye steak was Huge and delicious. We all helped him eat it. It was perfectly cooked and juicy. The tuna and prawns were not quite as outstanding. The server was excellent and we enjoyed the recommended wine. This was a special birthday dinner.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food and service. Would highl ...

Dined on July 27, 2014

Excellent food and service. Would highly recommend this restaurant to people that are staying at the hotel and local Birmingham residents.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.