Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.22mi
  2. Distance: 0.23mi
  3. Distance: 0.31mi
  4. Distance: 0.32mi
  1. Distance: 0.22mi
  2. Distance: 0.23mi
  3. Distance: 0.31mi
  4. Distance: 0.32mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.22mi
  2. Distance: 0.23mi
  3. Distance: 0.31mi
  4. Distance: 0.32mi
  1. Distance: 0.22mi
  2. Distance: 0.23mi
  3. Distance: 0.31mi
  4. Distance: 0.32mi

About Brix Tavern

Already open five years and counting, this neighborhood establishment is still a go-to for easy drinking, a variety of plates, and overall good times. The frequently updated event calendar keeps the door swinging, and new friends the regulars are always bringing.

Ideal for large groups, the menu features seasonal, global-inspired tavern fare, extensive craft beer offerings and original handcrafted cocktails.

Early and late happy hours keep guests glued to their seats as they get caught up on the latest sports games airing all around the restaurant, and the daily food and drink specials keep locals and visitors alike coming back again and again.

And have you heard the talk about brunch? Those donuts though.

1338 NW Hoyt St
Portland, OR 97209
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Comfort Food, Northwest

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday • 11:00am to Midnight
Friday • 11:00am - 1:00am
Saturday • 9:30am - 1:00am
Sunday • 9:30am - 11:00pm

Lunch
Mon – Fri • 11am – 3pm

Dinner
Everyday • 5pm - 9:30pm

Brunch
Sat & Sun • 9:30am – 3pm

Happy Hour
Everyday • 3pm – 6:30pm

Monday All Night Happy Hour
3pm – close

Late Night Happy Hour
Everyday • 9:30pm – close

Cross Street:
13th

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 943-5995

Website:
http://www.brixtavern.com/

Catering:
Pizza to go and brown bag lunches.

Parking Details:
Street and Pay to Park garages.

Executive Chef:
Kevin Kennedy

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Whether an intimate family celebration or a corporate holiday party, BRIX will help you host your next event so you can mingle with your guests. Post up in the living-room-style Loft, close the doors to the Whiskey Room, or take over the entire back dining room for a party everyone will remember.

Brix Tavern Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

4.1

ambience

4.1

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

83% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (44)
Happy Hour (42)
Good for Groups (39)
See All
Good for a Date (37)
Great for Brunch (30)
Comfort Food (30)
Good for Birthdays (27)
Fun (27)
Bar Seating (20)
Special Occasion (19)
Handcrafted Cocktails (19)
Live Sports (19)
Fit for Foodies (17)
Neighborhood Gem (17)
Sunday Lunch (17)
Vibrant Bar Scene (15)
Great Beer (14)
Great for Lunch (13)
Hot Spot (13)
Modern Decor (13)
Local Ingredients (13)
Late-night Find (12)
Creative Cuisine (12)
People Watching (12)
Worth the Drive (11)
Business Meals (11)
Kid-friendly (10)
Good for Anniversaries (10)
Private Room (9)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Outstanding Value (8)
Romantic (8)
Cozy (8)
Gluten Free Options (7)
Open Kitchen (7)
Quick Bite (7)
Wood Oven (7)
Healthy (7)
Authentic (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Family Style (5)
Tapas (5)
Tasting Menu (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Seasonal (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Historic (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Organic (2)
Spicy (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Scenic View (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Vegan (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Sort By:
S
866 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 17, 2017

We went on Easter. The host was very friendly and accommodating. The wait staff were all happy to help.
The food was good and a great assortment however, was luke warm when arrived. The vegetables were so so.
The drinks were trendy and fun. Coming back for lunch with friend from Hood River on Wed....

Tags: Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 17, 2017

Overall experience was ok. The food was good, but that's it. The wine selection was that as well, so I guess I should have expected that. An over done creme brulee with a weird sauce covering its nice crust was unfortunate. Wouldnt really recommend the place other than for drinks. Nice happy hour.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We went for Easter brunch. The buffet set up was cramped with only a few options. Grilled asparagus was burned and the bottomless mimosas were mostly orange pulp with little champagne.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 16, 2017

I love Brix! It's a large open space that feels very Northwest. We had Sunday brunch and the buffet was excellent. My favorite item was the eggs Benedict on polenta- yummy! It was pricey plus beverages were not included, so brunch for two ran close to $90. My only complaint is that we were seated near the door and it was quite chilly with the door opening frequently.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Modern Decor, Family Style, Romantic, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Second time (I think) at their Easter Brunch. It was great, as most experiences are at Brix. They do not have as many different items as somewhere like Salty's, but what they do, they do well. The salmon was great, but the prime rib was the highlight food-wise.

The service was excellent in a very busy atmosphere. The all-you-can-drink mimosas were worth it, my glass was filled again and again. The best thing, and a peeve about other brunch spots, they clear dirty dishes very quickly!

Tags: Bar Seating, Open Kitchen, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch, Live Sports, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Great atmosphere and loved the reggae music. Service was slow but made up for it in personality. Maybe short staffed that day?? Gonna make it a regular hangout

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Late-night Find, Casual, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Arturo, our server was fantastic. Amazing service. Fun atmosphere for brunch, great food and fantastic service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Have always loved this place. Only complaint this time is with the water main break we were told we couldn't have water. Understandable except that every other table had water and there were CASES of water bottles lining the edge of the room. We asked several times and were repeatedly told no. Not a huge deal, just didn't understand.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Waitress was rushed and got my order wrong.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 9, 2017

We had terrible service for brunch on Sunday. We sat for 15 minutes before getting any service and had to ask to get a waitress at that point. Our waitress was very unpleasant and seemed annoyed that she had to deal with us. The food was great. Would try agin and hope for better service next time.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 9, 2017

We booked two tables for groups of four and then asked if they could pull them together of which they did right away. Service was excellent. Food was great. Great place to eat and socialize.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Hot Spot, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 8, 2017

I celebrated my 22nd birthday here for brunch and we had an amazing time! The service was great, as well as the food!

Tags: Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Brie is a reliable place for a hearty meal and a beer. Not to fancy, but a nice place. Would go anytime. In a word -- reliable.

Tags: People Watching, Fun, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 2, 2017

We chose Brix Tavern for brunch thanks to the rave reviews and bottomless bubbles. We arrived early for our reservation, and were seated shortly after our reservation time. Our server was delayed in getting to our table as there were three VERY large groups in the same section they sat us in, which was disappointing, but not unexpected. We ordered our mimosas with no issues, and moseyed over the menu for a little bit. Drinks did not flow very quickly, in comparison to other tables with servers who were not dealing with the larger groups, and it felt like we saw other servers more than we saw ours. Our food was quite delicious, and the portions were quite generous, especially for a busy brunch. We were served our food very quickly, and while we slowly ate, we found our drinks to be far more quickly refilled. We did sit for quite a bit of time, which was very nice, as we didn't feel rushed, and we tipped accordingly. All in all, I'd go again, but probably aim to sit at the bar during brunch, or go with a larger group to be sat at a table instead of a high-top in a far corner.

Tags: Comfort Food, People Watching, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Fun, Modern Decor, Private Room, Bar Seating, Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Had a delicious brunch with great service from our waiter . Refillable mimosa glasses were kept full and it was a wonderful time had by all!

Tags: Late-night Find, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Great for Lunch, Live Sports, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Third time is a charm! Family birthday celebration included 2 granddaughters who enjoyed their brunch menu choices and coloring on the table cover. Adults' brunch menu pleased everyone. Reservation was honored on time. And those fresh house-made doughnuts were a tremendous start to the best brunch in town.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Great for Brunch, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Great Beer, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Great Service and food. Our waitress, Chynele, was one of the best I have had, very friendly and on the ball. Will definitely dine here again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on March 30, 2017

Defiantly going back. Great place. Would love to see it in summer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 27, 2017

Good cocktails and great steak--particularly the smokey, crusty prime rib. My husband and I had the "sharing platter" of three steaks and three sides (delicious sweet corn succotash, potatoes au gratin, and mashed potatoes), which was good value and very nice.

The atmosphere is a bit noisy for any kind of date night, and the sort of industrial look isn't very cozy, but it was comfortable enough and the service was friendly. It also looks like a great place to hold a larger party, as they have several sizes of back rooms to buy out.

We'll definitely come back for a happy hour some time! The drinks were creative and delicious.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Worth the Drive, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Such a great time and we had a great server. Thank you!

Tags: Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Fun and casual atmosphere with upscale comfort food. The beet salad was good and my crab/ shrimp cakes entree was delicious. I ate everything on the plate. The service was spot on, friendly and helpful. We went here for Portland Monthly Dining and will definitely be back.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Live Sports, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Went with a group of 6 adults for Portland dining month, we sat in the bar and had great meals. Everything was delicious, sad the pizza oven was not working that night. A good time was had by all!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Visited for Portland Dining Month. We had a 7pm reservation for 5 people and were seated at the right time. Food selection was great, however, the service was incredibly slow - the server could've consolidated most of her trips and the food took forever to come out. Should've been an hour, at most hour and a half dining experience, but took over 2 hours.

Tags: Casual, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 25, 2017

The food and drinks were great. Our server was not very attentive. We went for the Portland Dining Month deal and the server didn't mention anything about it. We were there for about 30 minutes before we could get her to come back and ask her how it worked, making it take even longer to order because we had to figure out our options. 3 of the 4 people at the table had ordered prime rib and it wasn't until we were almost through our first course that she came back and told us they had run out of prime rib. The manager came by and apologized and gave us all a round of shots which was nice but did not quite make up for the lack of communication between the back of house and front of house.

Tags: Casual, Private Room, Sunday Lunch, Live Sports, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Best Clam Chowder. Great lunch specials, great Happy Hour options

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Modern Decor, Vibrant Bar Scene, Kid-friendly, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 24, 2017

I've been to Brix for brunch and happy hour before and really enjoyed everything. Naturally I thought it would be great for dinner as well. I was wrong. I had the halibut, it was over cooked and very small for the price. I was really disappointed and I won't be returning for dinner in the future. Then of course we were asked to leave because the restaurant was flooding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Great service, food is fresh and employees very efficient. Parking is at a premium but it seems to be that way every where!

Tags: Modern Decor, Tapas, Live Sports, Happy Hour, Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 23, 2017

Went for Portland Dining Month. Food was amazing. Special shout out to the mac and cheese. Appetizer Salads are not worth the cost for the portions. Skip them and get a dessert or a drink instead.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Romantic, Good for a Date, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 22, 2017

One of the best Happy Hours we have come across. Great place to go to before performances at Portland Center Stage...good cocktails, fun place and we had very good service.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Private Room, Local Ingredients, Quick Bite, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Live Sports, Happy Hour, Outstanding Value, Casual, Fun, Good for Groups, Great Beer, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Wood Oven, Business Meals, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 20, 2017

Very enjoyable evening!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 19, 2017

The food was average and the service was very slow. This might be because it was part of the 'March dine out month menu', so perhaps they were cutting costs to drive up the number of tables. I just hope their food returns to the quality I remember from before.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Great bar and dining room. Although the restaurant filled rather quickly after we were seated, four of us were able to carry on a conversation without raising our voices at all.
Great beer selections, and a happy hour and main menu that provided many selections. We had salads, cheeseburger, bean burger, 1/2 chicken, and chicken tacos. We were impressed by the service, the food, and the ambiance. . . a great find!

Tags: Historic, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Late-night Find, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Live Sports, Bar Seating, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Love this place I go to lunch and brunch when I can and happy hour!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Molecular Gastronomy, Fun, Great for Brunch, Family Style, Modern Decor, Tapas, Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Organic, Comfort Food, Gluten Free Options, People Watching, Afternoon Tea, Afternoon Coffee, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Disabled Access, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Wood Oven, Scenic View, Open Kitchen, Authentic, Great Beer, Handcrafted Cocktails, Live Sports, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Good Vegetarian Options, Happy Hour, Hot Spot, Spicy, Late-night Find, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Vibrant Bar Scene, Local Ingredients, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 18, 2017

We went for Portland Dining Month experience, our first time to this restaurant. The food was good and plentiful (took home leftovers to cover next days lunch). The atmosphere seemed to have not figured out an identity. Noisy in the lounge/dining area with music and lots of TV's. Area we sat in, as a couple, seemed more for larger groups. Really good waiter, attentive. Glad we tried it, but not sure we would go back as a 60 year old couple, not quite our vibe.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 16, 2017

We came here for Portland Dining Month. Nothing that I experienced made me feel that I just have to come back. The food was not great, just okay. We sat right by the pool table, which I felt was not strategically placed. There were some kids playing on it during our dinner which was fine; however, I don't see how it would be possible for adults to play without interrupting tables. I didn't get a chance to try any cocktails. I may come back to try happy hour when certain menu items are cheaper and I will try a drink. I will not return for dinner. I was pretty disappointed.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 15, 2017

This is my second time coming to Brix and it's a great place to meet friends for a casual dinner and drinks. Plus, they take reservations!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Casual, Happy Hour, Fun, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Overall very good. They failed to prepare one of our groups order so she had to wait. Kitchen screw up.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Great place to meet and get some good food. Lots of TVs to keep up with the latest events

Tags: Private Room, Kid-friendly, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Loved this restaurant! Went for a date night with my hubby and loved the atmosphere:). This time, we took our two children for Sunday brunch and had a fantastic meal (and a lot of fun). Perfect place for a date, to meet friends for a drink, to watch a game and for Sunday family brunch!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Outstanding Value, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Family Style, Pre/post Theatre, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 12, 2017

We visited Brix for Portland Dining Month. Most of the Brix menu was available for the 3 course prix fixe option. The caprese salad was tasty with a wonderful balsamic reduction. The fish and chips got rave reviews from some or our party and the "tots" were incredible. Unfortunately the fried chicken wasn't anything to write home about. The pumpkin bread pudding didn't have much pumpkin flavor and the accompanying whipped cream was "off" but the blackberry buttermilk pie was scrumptious.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.