About Brix Tavern

1338 NW Hoyt St
Portland, OR 97209
View Larger Map

Brix Tavern marries enduring American comfort food with a classic tavern vibe. From the nostalgia of a Chicken Pot Pie to the savory flavors of Roasted Prime Rib, the menu is built around simple American cooking, enhanced with the freshest in local ingredients. Whether it's a quick bite for happy hour, a leisurely Sunday brunch, or a three course dinner, you are always welcome. Brix is sports friendly too offering discreetly placed HD TV's for catching your favorite game.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Comfort Food, Northwest

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday • 11:00am to Midnight
Friday • 11:00am - 1:00am
Saturday • 9:30am - 1:00am
Sunday • 9:30am - 11:00pm

Lunch
Mon – Fri • 11am – 3pm

Dinner
Everyday • 5pm - 9:30pm

Brunch
Sat & Sun • 9:30am – 3pm

Happy Hour
Everyday • 3pm – 6:30pm

Monday All Night Happy Hour
3pm – close

Late Night Happy Hour
Everyday • 9:30pm – close

Cross Street:
13th

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 943-5995

Website:
http://www.brixtavern.com/

Catering:
Pizza to go and brown bag lunches.

Parking Details:
Street and Pay to Park garages.

Public Transit:
NW 21st & Irving

Executive Chef:
Kevin Kennedy

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Delivery, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Brix Tavern
Smoked Cheddar Fondue - Brix Tavern
Complimentary Doughnuts - Brix Tavern
Halibut And Tots - Brix Tavern
Fennel Omelette - Brix Tavern
Donuts - Brix Tavern
Mango Bellini - Brix Tavern
Shrimp & Grits - Brix Tavern
Cheese Fondue For Two - Brix Tavern
Lobster Macaroni and Cheese - Brix Tavern
Shrimp and Polenta - Brix Tavern
Filet Oscar - Brix Tavern
Creamy Tomato Basil Soup - Brix Tavern
Nectarine Infused Tequilla - Brix Tavern
Pinot Grigio - Brix Tavern
Baked Truffled Mac & Cheese - Brix Tavern
Beet Salad - Brix Tavern
Arctic Cod Fish & Chips - Brix Tavern
Shrimp & Srab Omelettes - Brix Tavern
Spanish Coffee With 151 - Brix Tavern
Strawberry Lemon Drop - Brix Tavern
Dinner Rolls with Roasted Garlic - Brix Tavern
Aztec Coffee - Brix Tavern
Chicken Salad - Brix Tavern
Tomato Bisque Soup - Brix Tavern
Chicken Fried Chicken - Brix Tavern
Steak - Brix Tavern
Spicy Sopressata And Basil Pizza - Brix Tavern
Southern Benedict - Brix Tavern
Brix Skillet - Brix Tavern
Rotisserie Turkey Breast Pot Pie - Brix Tavern
Prime Rib Dip - Brix Tavern
Beer - Brix Tavern

Private Dining

A semi-private loft is available for dining or watching a sporting event on the loft's private flat screen. The Whiskey Room: A private dining room for special events, can seat up to 30 guests. Back Dining Room: Can be reserved for parties of any size up to 100 people.

Brix Tavern Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.2

ambience

4.2

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Brunch
Portland / Oregon
Great for Brunch
Portland
Best Restaurants in Pearl District ›

Good for Groups (43)
Great for Brunch (27)
Great for Lunch (21)
See All
Vibrant Bar Scene (19)
Special Occasion (18)
Fit for Foodies (17)
Neighborhood Gem (16)
Hot Spot (14)
Great for Outdoor Dining (9)
Kid-friendly (9)
Happy Hour (7)
Casual (5)
Fun (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Comfort Food (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Romantic (3)
Great Beer (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Good for a Date (3)
People Watching (2)
Scenic View (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Family Style (2)
Live Sports (1)
Tapas (1)
Business Meals (1)
Private Room (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Healthy (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Sort By:
Newest
710 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Poor service, very mediocre food, worst ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined 7 hours ago

Poor service, very mediocre food, worst crab/fish cakes ever, wasted 50% of my 2 day Portland dining experience.

Shocked they get away with it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

We liked the many choices on the menu. W ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined 5 days ago

We liked the many choices on the menu. We chose the calimari appetizer which was expertly fried and slightly spicy yum. Lethe sandwiches, stake on French dip- perfect beef, onion aus juis. Turkey Ruben also received praise.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We were there for a brunch with 5 kids. ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined 6 days ago

We were there for a brunch with 5 kids. They were very accommodating and helpful. The kids were entertained and really liked the food.

Tags: Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was hit and miss. My NY steak was ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined 6 days ago

Food was hit and miss. My NY steak was perfect, but there were issues with the other main courses being a bit cold or undercooked. The sides were creative, but none tasted great and some were not warmed thoroughly. Beet salad was very good.

Tags: Modern Decor, Live Sports, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

Used to be a good place to eat. Unfortu ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined 7 days ago

Used to be a good place to eat. Unfortunately they are pre-making the food before it's ordered. Both dishes came out cold and soggy. Waitstaff was inattentive and couldn't be bothered to at least reheat our meal. Will not be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value2

Fun place to be with good food! Good se ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on September 23, 2016

Fun place to be with good food! Good service, food presented very nicely, great menu with many options, large tvs to watch sports. Also a good place to be with large groups.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Quick Bite, People Watching, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I thought the food was adequate though o ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

I thought the food was adequate though one of our group had the chicken fried chicken and it was outstanding. My fish and chips were okay, the prime rib was good, the burger was good. The restaurant caters to large groups, it's noisy and busy. I do have to say that the service was top notch. I'm too old for this place but it's probably a great attraction for 35 and under crowd.

Tags: Family Style, Good for Groups, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great Beer, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Went for brunch with a large group of fa ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Went for brunch with a large group of family, and had so much fun. Watched the Iowa football game, had great bloody marys and mimosas, and delicious brunch and burgers! Also, the tables have crayons and are covered in paper for extra drawing fun for kids...

Tags: Good for Groups, Fun, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Great food and service, but we were seat ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Great food and service, but we were seated in an awkward location and were not able to move to another spot.

Tags: Casual, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Had brunch with a friend, the food was w ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Had brunch with a friend, the food was wonderful but the service was outstanding! Our servers name was Jordan she's incredibly efficient, extremely friendly and engaging. I will ask for her the next time I'm there. Thank you for the great experience!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Gluten Free Options, Family Style, Healthy, Comfort Food, Afternoon Coffee, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

This is typical bar food. Not that great ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

This is typical bar food. Not that great, we had the truffle mac and there was WAY too much truffle (oil) it gave it a bitter taste we couldn't finish it. I had the quinoa salad and it had cold pre cooked chicken. The taste was ok but it was a disappointment. Overall it was just at food. Ok but not great. We did have a good time there and the service was great. Our server recommended some great drinks too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2

We enjoyed our dinner here very much we ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

We enjoyed our dinner here very much we were seated quickly and our server was wonderful. Fiid and drinks were great - I'm sure we will be repeat visitors. Thank you!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Julia was our server and she was great. ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

Julia was our server and she was great. We used to go to Brix when it first opened all the time. Because of where we live now, we don't go as often but we have recommended it to a few friends. One of my friends had just recently landed a new job and this was her choice or restaurant - and I wasn't complaining :) The service was great and the food and drinks were awesome.

Tags: Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was great; service was atrocious. ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Food was great; service was atrocious. We'll go back because it has a nice vibe and an interesting menu but if the same waitress, Sam, comes to our table, we will asked to be moved.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1

The old fashioned donuts with jam and le ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

The old fashioned donuts with jam and lemon were delicious

Tags: Casual, Modern Decor, Business Meals, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I booked my 30th birthday dinner at Brix ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

I booked my 30th birthday dinner at Brix for 8 people for 7pm. The staff was friendly and service was ok. There seemed to not be enough serving staff, drink took awhile to get. The food was decent and standard. But I'm a foodie. :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

We've been coming here for a long time f ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

We've been coming here for a long time for brunch but this recent visit boasted really mediocre food with a price increase. I'll pass next time.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

The food was mediocre, really nothing sp ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

The food was mediocre, really nothing special especially in a town where brunch is quickly becoming the hottest meal. We ordered the eggs Benedict, and while I was expecting unconventional, it needed more seasoning. Service was great so was Bloody Mary, but the food was just bland.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5

We had brunch here and the waitress was ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

We had brunch here and the waitress was nice but rarely checked in with us. Other than that, satisfied with the food and mimosas

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Great place and would come back. My foo ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Great place and would come back. My food was cold when I received it. Our orders came out quickly which made me think mine had been sitting for a while.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

Excellent food and drinks. The brunch an ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Excellent food and drinks. The brunch and service was amazing. Complimentary donuts were warm and absolutely mouth watering. Our bottomless mimosa glasses were never empty, despite them being completely booked.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great place to be with friends, lots of ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Great place to be with friends, lots of happy hour items and drinks to choose from and if you're looking for something off the regular menu it doesn't disappoint either!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

Great service! We could enjoy happy hour ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Great service! We could enjoy happy hour with the kids and then go wander first Thursday. Fabulous find. Kids meals very small - just order off great happy hour menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We brought out of town family here for b ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

We brought out of town family here for brunch and everyone loved it! There was something for everyone and a few of us got the bottomless mimosas. At the end of the meal our server was happy to split our bill up how we needed it so that was a plus.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had high hopes for Brix. The ambiance ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

I had high hopes for Brix. The ambiance was lovely, and being served warm donuts when we sat down was a special treat. But the four of us in our party were pretty disappointed with our meals. My salmon eggs benedict was bland and a little dry. The hollandaise may have been forgotten...not sure. My fiance's chicken fried chicken was dry and lacked seasoning. My friend's seafood omelet looked beautiful but was overcooked, and the crab and shrimp were overwhelmed by lots and lots of cheese. The hashbrowns with each of our dishes were great, though. Not greasy at all, which was nice. We had great service, and again, loved the atmosphere. But my fiance and I made the reservation to try out Brix as we were planning to have our brunch wedding at Urban Studio and catered by Pearl Catering. We thought we'd try brunch and see how it was. Given our experience at Brix, we are rethinking our wedding venue. The meal is the centerpiece of our wedding celebration, and we want it to be outstanding.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

We had a group of 16 for brunch (with bo ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

We had a group of 16 for brunch (with bottomless mimosas) and the service was wonderful!!! Our waiter was awesome. Very friendly and tolerant of our antics. The food was great for a GREAT price and my bloody was to die for. I will definitely be back.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Brice is always a safe bet for food and ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Brice is always a safe bet for food and drinks. Good deal and good location. I will be back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

We had friends visiting from Denver and ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

We had friends visiting from Denver and took them here. Great ambience, food, and service. Would go there anytime.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Nice and friendly spot for a Sunday brun ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Nice and friendly spot for a Sunday brunch. Drinks were pleasantly strong, the donuts that showed up unexpectedly were phenomenal (miiiight have kicked the sauce off the plate, maybe), and our brunch entrees were all excellent. Would definitely go back again if I'm ever in PDX.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My friend bailed on me so they graciousl ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

My friend bailed on me so they graciously sat my single self at a table, albeit a corner high top in the back, heh. Jordan the waitress was friendly and attentive, and so was the... maitre de? He might have been the manager. I felt welcome even though I was the only diner alone at my table. Thank you for that.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Came back to Brix after great experience ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Came back to Brix after great experience several months ago. Entertained family from Seattle. They loved it as much as we do. We'll come back for the evening menu next time.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A great place for good food and excellen ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

A great place for good food and excellent service. Good variety of meal options, most people wouldn't have any problem finding something wonderful! Very comfortable environment.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We went to Brix before a comedy show and ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

We went to Brix before a comedy show and caught the last part of their happy hour. The staff was excellent and the food was great. My only complaint would be that I ordered a specialty happy hour "martini" (mango puree' spicy vodka) and there was barely any vodka. Usually martinis are predominately alcohol, but beware that they hold back on their happy hour menu for that. I would order wine or beer next time to get my money's worth (although happy hour beer and wine was also $5 or more).

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Great brunch and bottomless mimosas. Per ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Great brunch and bottomless mimosas. Perfect place to treat our friend for her birthday.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

We were definitely disappointed by the f ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

We were definitely disappointed by the food at Brix. The food was just not that good. It was not worth the trip. The food descriptions on the menu made everything sound SO good. We had a gift card so we went for it. And, nothing was really very good at all. The burger was only fine although we could tell it was made with quality meat. The Reuben was very difficult to eat. the apples were too thick so popped out when you tried to take a bite and the flavor was nothing special. The tater tots tasted of old oil. And, the pork nachos did not taste like something that was made fresh. (Although the sauce around the edge of the nachos was yummy.) The cilantro crema was sour cream with a little cilantro in it.

Just blah all around.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

This was a really weird dining experienc ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

This was a really weird dining experience. I made reservations and came about 30 minutes early to just see if we could be seated early. The restaurant was about half full and I was told they need 5-10 minutes to get the table set-up. I noticed that the table we ended up being sat at was already set, so I am confused about what the wait was for. The waitstaff was just unusual. The bartender ended up taking out order (because he asked if he were ready) and then he didn't even have anything to write down our order. Overall, the staff just seemed liked they had no structure and didn't really know what they were doing.

Brix was overall okay. Just good. That being said, I probably will not return anytime soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

I went there for my 30th birthday. The ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

I went there for my 30th birthday. The food was great and the atmosphere was very relaxing. And the pork ribs were to die for!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

There were only two servers covering the ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

There were only two servers covering the entire restaurant. When we had not even received menus after 20 minutes, we decided to leave.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1

Bartender was very attentive and nice an ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Bartender was very attentive and nice and was our waiter in the bar!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food, service, drinks, music.. ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Excellent food, service, drinks, music...love this place. This was my 4th visit. I will definitely be back again!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.