Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.22mi
  2. Distance: 0.23mi
  3. Distance: 0.31mi
  4. Distance: 0.32mi
  1. Distance: 0.22mi
  2. Distance: 0.23mi
  3. Distance: 0.31mi
  4. Distance: 0.32mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.22mi
  2. Distance: 0.23mi
  3. Distance: 0.31mi
  4. Distance: 0.32mi
  1. Distance: 0.22mi
  2. Distance: 0.23mi
  3. Distance: 0.31mi
  4. Distance: 0.32mi

About Brix Tavern

Already open five years and counting, this neighborhood establishment is still a go-to for easy drinking, a variety of plates, and overall good times. The frequently updated event calendar keeps the door swinging, and new friends the regulars are always bringing.

Ideal for large groups, the menu features seasonal, global-inspired tavern fare, extensive craft beer offerings and original handcrafted cocktails.

Early and late happy hours keep guests glued to their seats as they get caught up on the latest sports games airing all around the restaurant, and the daily food and drink specials keep locals and visitors alike coming back again and again.

And have you heard the talk about brunch? Those donuts though.

1338 NW Hoyt St
Portland, OR 97209
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Comfort Food, Northwest

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday • 11:00am to Midnight
Friday • 11:00am - 1:00am
Saturday • 9:30am - 1:00am
Sunday • 9:30am - 11:00pm

Lunch
Mon – Fri • 11am – 3pm

Dinner
Everyday • 5pm - 9:30pm

Brunch
Sat & Sun • 9:30am – 3pm

Happy Hour
Everyday • 3pm – 6:30pm

Monday All Night Happy Hour
3pm – close

Late Night Happy Hour
Everyday • 9:30pm – close

Cross Street:
13th

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 943-5995

Website:
http://www.brixtavern.com/

Catering:
Pizza to go and brown bag lunches.

Parking Details:
Street and Pay to Park garages.

Executive Chef:
Kevin Kennedy

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Whether an intimate family celebration or a corporate holiday party, BRIX will help you host your next event so you can mingle with your guests. Post up in the living-room-style Loft, close the doors to the Whiskey Room, or take over the entire back dining room for a party everyone will remember.

Brix Tavern Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

Noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Brunch (25)
Good for Groups (23)
Happy Hour (22)
See All
Good for Birthdays (20)
Fun (20)
Sunday Lunch (19)
Casual (18)
Comfort Food (18)
Great for Lunch (17)
Good for a Date (15)
Special Occasion (13)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Bar Seating (12)
Great Beer (10)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Hot Spot (8)
People Watching (8)
Live Sports (7)
Quick Bite (7)
Cozy (6)
Late-night Find (6)
Local Ingredients (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Business Meals (5)
Authentic (4)
Tapas (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Romantic (1)
Scenic View (1)
Sort By:
S
956 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined 2 days ago

Everything that we got was delicious and our server was amazing as well!

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined 4 days ago

Lively and quick, noisy, but fun. Food is good and service is great.

Tags: Live Sports
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 8, 2017

Food was served warm but not hot. Appeared to be sitting in the window for a while. We usually love coming to brix but this experience was disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 7, 2017

Food was pretty good (yummy omelette and complimentary donuts, ok French toast, ok pancakes). Enjoy their HH food even more! Hostess not very accommodating for our reservation in half full restaurant. More attitude than I'd prefer. Manager and waitress were friendly. In the reservation notes I specifically asked for table for two adults plus room for stroller beside it. They must not have read my notes as table for two was in cramped booth space and they had several 4 tops open but still put us in 4 person "booth" in the middle which did not accommodate stroller. We made due, but doesn't seem like taking time to write notes when making reservation means much.
One my favorite happy hour locations though, so will keep it in that list for sure. I'll call Brix personally with specific table location request if I bring toddler in again as that must be what needs to occur to get a free standing table. Apparently others who make reservations ask for specific tables as didn't understand why one 4 top more important than others. I'd still recommend Brix, especially the bar front of house area!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
·Dined on October 3, 2017

Excellent service, delicious food exceeded all expectations

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 2, 2017

Our server was very attentive and we never waited long for anything we ordered. Despite having 10 people in our party, we were never without a drink or food! He also gave us some awesome recommendations from the menu!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 1, 2017

Wonderful brunch with spectacular gluten free options (my mom and I are celiac). Their eggs benny was outstanding! I loved that they walked around with huge pitchers filled with mimosas, and they were rather hefty. Make sure you have a DD if you get the bottomless mimosas because they are rather strong;)

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Casual, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 1, 2017

We had a moderate sized group for my birthday and we were seated immediately (because we had a reservation) There were several options for food and everyone was happy. Also bottomless mimosas are $9...need I say more?

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on October 1, 2017

One of the best brunches in Portland bubbles and bites!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Great Beer, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 1, 2017

Awesome brunch! Love the doughnut you get to start with, mimosas with every bite is the best value and food is always consistently tasty!

Tags: Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Afternoon Coffee, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch, People Watching, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 30, 2017

The staff is very accommodating and pleasant. Food is great, although I keep ordering the same thing. I still need to work my way around the menu. I love Brix.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Disabled Access, People Watching, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 23, 2017

Brix is always a great place to meet up with friends and family! The service was exceptional and they had no issue splitting our bill. Food and drinks are creatively done and always done right.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 21, 2017

The food and drinks were great! Our server was very nice and had great recommendations!

Tags: Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 21, 2017

Everything was great, pretty awesome restaurant with cool atmosphere

Tags: Fun, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Not exactly what we were hoping for. It was very loud. Pizza oven broke so we couldn't order that. Beet salad was VERY small. (Order something else for dinner.) Cob salad was so so.

Tags: Casual, Live Sports
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
·Dined on September 17, 2017

We had a large group of people for a birthday party, and unfortunately not everyone in our party was being respectful. Their customer service was outstanding and I would recommend this place to everyone.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

I was visiting Portland with friends and Brix was recommended for weekend brunch by hotel staff. In general we enjoyed our visit. However, one of us was served cold eggs which the waitress quickly addressed. Another chose the mushroom and brie omlette - lots of mushrooms, very little cheese!!

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

Our group of 17 loved the food, service and experience. Some even played darts waiting for food. Good value and excellent taste. We will be back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Fun, Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 11, 2017

This is one of our favorites!
Always have great drinks, food and service!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Happy Hour, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Needed to find a place that took reservations for Sunday brunch..so decided on Brix. The ambience and menu choices were excellent! The hostess not warm and fuzzy but our server made up for that. She was efficient and helpful! The food was good but unfortunately served lukewarm including the soup! We mentioned that to the server and she comped us 2 Mimosa's! We will go back but will not accept cold food again and will return it to the kitchen!

Tags: Fun, Scenic View, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on September 4, 2017

Great place for drinks and food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Been here many times, but the food was not as good this time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
·Dined on August 24, 2017

Be wearing of extra charges that are not disclosed verbally or on the menu for the Customer to see. Service was great and food was average for the area. Bad review left on principal of adding charges that were not explained.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service5
value1

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 20, 2017

They were very accommodating to our large group of 18(!) guys. Great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Great experience. Josh, our waiter was truly exceptional!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 19, 2017

Great restaurant great service great location food was wonderful

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Kid-friendly, Quick Bite, Bar Seating, Healthy, Authentic, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on August 19, 2017

alaskan halibut cooked to perfection, prime rib good (grade B),
service excellent, side dishes excellent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 14, 2017

Amazing food. Particularly worth it if you go for happy hour which is all day on Sunday's!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Service was poor and the food was not very good. 3 out of 4 people from my table had to send their food back. One was the wrong order, two others had their eggs both very under cooked. The hash browns were all cold and after the first cup of coffee was poured, it took a long time to get a warm up. Just not good on many fronts. So many great places in Portland to eat - I would not recommend this for breakfast. Happy hour and beers seem good though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Portland)·Dined on August 12, 2017

My son had been telling me I have to try Brix Tavern so I dragged a bunch of co-workers to lunch and the food and service was awesome, love the location and the street. I will definitely be a return customer for lunches as well as weekends.

Tags: Authentic, Worth the Drive, Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Great Beer, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Special Occasion, Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

Brunch with friends! Bottomless mimosas! Seating in the loft lounge! Accommodated us when we asked if the could turn down the music. Great Spot!

Tags: Live Sports, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

Great service! Tried the berry margarita and it was amazing. The food is great and I love the atmosphere.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Went here for the Portland Mercury Burger Week. Their burger was nice and a good value. Also got the calamari which was great. I will come back for a regular lunch too.

The server seemed a bit stretched thin and going from one side to the other. He did his best.

Tags: Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Just celebrating friends!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 6, 2017

Great time for a large group, service was quick and food was great!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Pleasantly surprised by the atmosphere and menu! We had a party of 5 and we're seated immediately and without some of our papery being present. They gave us complimentary homemade donuts while we waited!The food and drinks were exceptional and reasonably priced. I'm from Southern California and would definitely come here again!

Tags: Casual, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Quick Bite, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food, Afternoon Coffee, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Had a great Sunday brunch with the family. Donuts were a great surprise to start a delicious meal. Highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

Great food and really nice setting for our girlfriends get together. The waitress didn't seem to know much about the menu and had to leave to get the answer to your questions. Kid friendly but kids menu kinda sucked.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Overall, my sentiments of Brix Tavern remain the same: Great food with lack luster service. On my most recent visit, I sat outside with my guest. It seemed that our server could not remember items once leaving our table. If you want good to decent service, stay away from the bar and outside. The food is delicious and is prepared quickly, which is why I've continued to come back. I'll give Brix one more chance... There are too many great places to eat to choose one where you can expect poor service.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
·Dined on July 23, 2017

Brunch was excellent. The eggs were done just right.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.