About Brix Tavern

1338 NW Hoyt St
Portland, OR 97209
View Larger Map

Brix Tavern marries enduring American comfort food with a classic tavern vibe. From the nostalgia of a Chicken Pot Pie to the savory flavors of Roasted Prime Rib, the menu is built around simple American cooking, enhanced with the freshest in local ingredients. Whether it's a quick bite for happy hour, a leisurely Sunday brunch, or a three course dinner, you are always welcome. Brix is sports friendly too offering discreetly placed HD TV's for catching your favorite game.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Comfort Food, Northwest

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday • 11:00am to Midnight
Friday • 11:00am - 1:00am
Saturday • 9:30am - 1:00am
Sunday • 9:30am - 11:00pm

Lunch
Mon – Fri • 11am – 3pm

Dinner
Everyday • 5pm - 9:30pm

Brunch
Sat & Sun • 9:30am – 3pm

Happy Hour
Everyday • 3pm – 6:30pm

Monday All Night Happy Hour
3pm – close

Late Night Happy Hour
Everyday • 9:30pm – close

Cross Street:
13th

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 943-5995

Website:
http://www.brixtavern.com/

Catering:
Pizza to go and brown bag lunches.

Parking Details:
Street and Pay to Park garages.

Public Transit:
NW 21st & Irving

Executive Chef:
Kevin Kennedy

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Delivery, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

Brix Tavern
Complimentary Doughnuts
Smoked Cheddar Fondue
Fennel Omelette
Donuts
Shrimp & Grits
Mango Bellini
Chicken Fried Chicken
Cheese Fondue For Two
Shrimp and Polenta
Lobster Macaroni and Cheese
Filet Oscar
Creamy Tomato Basil Soup
Pinot Grigio
Nectarine Infused Tequilla
Baked Truffled Mac & Cheese
Beet Salad
Arctic Cod Fish & Chips
Shrimp & Srab Omelettes
Spanish Coffee With 151
Strawberry Lemon Drop
Dinner Rolls with Roasted Garlic
Tomato Bisque Soup
Chicken Salad
Aztec Coffee
Steak
Spicy Sopressata And Basil Pizza
Southern Benedict
Brix Skillet
Rotisserie Turkey Breast Pot Pie
Prime Rib Dip
Beer

Private Dining

A semi-private loft is available for dining or watching a sporting event on the loft's private flat screen. The Whiskey Room: A private dining room for special events, can seat up to 30 guests. Back Dining Room: Can be reserved for parties of any size up to 100 people.

Brix Tavern Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.2

ambience

4.2

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Brunch
Portland
Best Restaurants in Pearl District ›

good for groups (55)
great for brunch (43)
fit for foodies (36)
See All
neighborhood gem (30)
special occasion (28)
great for lunch (23)
vibrant bar scene (23)
kid-friendly (17)
hot spot (15)
late-night find (8)
great for outdoor dining (8)
romantic (4)
notable wine list (3)
scenic view (3)
Sort By:
Newest
682 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Nice and friendly spot for a Sunday brun ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 4 days ago

Nice and friendly spot for a Sunday brunch. Drinks were pleasantly strong, the donuts that showed up unexpectedly were phenomenal (miiiight have kicked the sauce off the plate, maybe), and our brunch entrees were all excellent. Would definitely go back again if I'm ever in PDX.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My friend bailed on me so they graciousl ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

My friend bailed on me so they graciously sat my single self at a table, albeit a corner high top in the back, heh. Jordan the waitress was friendly and attentive, and so was the... maitre de? He might have been the manager. I felt welcome even though I was the only diner alone at my table. Thank you for that.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Came back to Brix after great experience ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Came back to Brix after great experience several months ago. Entertained family from Seattle. They loved it as much as we do. We'll come back for the evening menu next time.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A great place for good food and excellen ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

A great place for good food and excellent service. Good variety of meal options, most people wouldn't have any problem finding something wonderful! Very comfortable environment.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We went to Brix before a comedy show and ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

We went to Brix before a comedy show and caught the last part of their happy hour. The staff was excellent and the food was great. My only complaint would be that I ordered a specialty happy hour "martini" (mango puree' spicy vodka) and there was barely any vodka. Usually martinis are predominately alcohol, but beware that they hold back on their happy hour menu for that. I would order wine or beer next time to get my money's worth (although happy hour beer and wine was also $5 or more).

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Great brunch and bottomless mimosas. Per ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Great brunch and bottomless mimosas. Perfect place to treat our friend for her birthday.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

We were definitely disappointed by the f ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

We were definitely disappointed by the food at Brix. The food was just not that good. It was not worth the trip. The food descriptions on the menu made everything sound SO good. We had a gift card so we went for it. And, nothing was really very good at all. The burger was only fine although we could tell it was made with quality meat. The Reuben was very difficult to eat. the apples were too thick so popped out when you tried to take a bite and the flavor was nothing special. The tater tots tasted of old oil. And, the pork nachos did not taste like something that was made fresh. (Although the sauce around the edge of the nachos was yummy.) The cilantro crema was sour cream with a little cilantro in it.

Just blah all around.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

This was a really weird dining experienc ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

This was a really weird dining experience. I made reservations and came about 30 minutes early to just see if we could be seated early. The restaurant was about half full and I was told they need 5-10 minutes to get the table set-up. I noticed that the table we ended up being sat at was already set, so I am confused about what the wait was for. The waitstaff was just unusual. The bartender ended up taking out order (because he asked if he were ready) and then he didn't even have anything to write down our order. Overall, the staff just seemed liked they had no structure and didn't really know what they were doing.

Brix was overall okay. Just good. That being said, I probably will not return anytime soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

I went there for my 30th birthday. The ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

I went there for my 30th birthday. The food was great and the atmosphere was very relaxing. And the pork ribs were to die for!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

There were only two servers covering the ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

There were only two servers covering the entire restaurant. When we had not even received menus after 20 minutes, we decided to leave.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1

Bartender was very attentive and nice an ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Bartender was very attentive and nice and was our waiter in the bar!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food, service, drinks, music.. ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Excellent food, service, drinks, music...love this place. This was my 4th visit. I will definitely be back again!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Carly was a great server - very helpful ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Carly was a great server - very helpful and energetic. Our food was delicious and came out quickly. We had 3 generations dining together, 70s,50,and late teens - all of us liked Brix. We were very impressed and will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This place is great! The food was awesom ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

This place is great! The food was awesome,service was excellent,fun atmosphere,and some really good drinks. It's my new favorite place.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My eggs benedict did not seem to have Ho ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

My eggs benedict did not seem to have Hollandaise sauce and the egg was not fully cooked.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Great spot for a big group for Father's ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Great spot for a big group for Father's Day brunch. Open, airy and the food is always delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I have been to Brix Tavern for breakfast ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

I have been to Brix Tavern for breakfast before and enjoyed it. Our Father's Day experience left a lot to be desired. I think they overbooked the restaurant and couldn't handle the crowd.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Our reservation was for 9:30 we were not ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Our reservation was for 9:30 we were not seated until 9:45 and then the hostess that seated us told we had to be done before 10:30 because the table was reserved for a 10:30 reservation

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value4

Great American bar food. Exceptional ser ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

Great American bar food. Exceptional service, if you can get there during happy hour - their cheese pork dip and chips is a must!!!

Great Moscow mules, too!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My wife and I regularly dine at Brix Tav ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

My wife and I regularly dine at Brix Tavern. We love it. Be sure to try the Brix Chips; it is one of our favorite dishes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Lovely free fritter with our meal. Stuff ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Lovely free fritter with our meal. Stuffed French Toast was a large flavorless block. Atmosphere was a bit blah.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Our service here was wonderful! I had be ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Our service here was wonderful! I had been to brix once before and our service had been beyond awful but this time our waitress Sam was beyond helpful, personable, and on top of her game! She alone would make me return

Tags: great for brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It was disappointing that our first gree ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

It was disappointing that our first greeting in the door was "this table needs to be clear by 11am." It almost made us reconsider our decision to eat here.

Don't take brunch reservations via open table if you cannot accommodate your 4 guests for an hour meal. Our reservation was made via open table for a 10:15am time slot and we were on time.

Tags: great for brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Our server went out of her way to make s ...

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Our server went out of her way to make sure our 2 year old daughter was made to feel like a customer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

I wanted to like Brix, but the breakfast ...

vip
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

I wanted to like Brix, but the breakfast wasn't all that good. The service was friendly and overall it was just OK. Probably won't be back for breaky.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3

Great service from Rachel! Always paying ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Great service from Rachel! Always paying attention to the table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

They easily accommodated our large group ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

They easily accommodated our large group. The food was delicious and we look forward to dining there again.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What stood out was the friendly service ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on May 16, 2016

What stood out was the friendly service provided by our food server. He was attentive and knowledgeable about the menu items and beverages.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Good Food and Service

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on May 12, 2016

We both had salads, and were very pleased. The garlic potato soup was also good. The servers were very friendly and helpful.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

Disappointed

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 9, 2016

In Portland for a short visit and made dinner reservations at Brix Tavern for Mother's Day......and how we wished we hadn't! Very disappointing meal. The ambiance was nice enough, a casual lofty dining area which we anticipated. The service was very good and server quite pleasant; however, the food items/taste were the most disappointing.

Mac n Cheese for $15 was mainly creme sauce without much pasta. Definitely not worth $15. The prime rib was grisly and the sauce that was poured over it overpowered the meat and just tasted out of place-whatever it was. Thought we couldn't go wrong with the desserts, but again-overall, fairly tasteless and bland.

Not worth the trip, we assure you. So many better restaurants to experience.

Tags: good for groups, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

First Mothers Day

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Overall this was a wonderful experience. The only downfall would be the greeters. All three women who were working were very curt, cold, and irritable. We asked for a different table, since we have a small child, and the lady who was seating us definitely made it obvious that she either hated her job or wanted us to know we were inconveniencing her.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Beautiful place + yummy food= perfect combo!

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

We had 5 adults and two small children (ages 2 and 4) in our group for Mother's Day brunch. The atmosphere was perfect! The music was almost jazzy and relaxing (not sure if this was something different than usual since it was Mother's Day). It wasn't too loud so everyone could hear one another. My mother was so very happy and complimenting the atmosphere and food the entire time :). The food was absolutely amazing! My favorite was the salmon with cucumbers! I couldn't get enough of it! What is the best about the brunch is the fact that there are so many choices. Everyone at the table found lots of choices they liked and there was even dessert! The kids ate beforehand but there seemed to be great fruit choices, cute yummy mini muffins, ie good options for the kids as well. Make sure to come hungry so you can enjoy everything and not miss the desserts (the little cheesecakes they have are delightful). Definitely worth checking out!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had brunch at Brix on Mother's Day an ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

We had brunch at Brix on Mother's Day and the food AND service were amazing! Our server was incredible and never missed a beat. She was right on top of refills and she was eager to help us with special requests. I'd highly recommend Brix!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Basically everything that the table had ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Basically everything that the table had ordered was absolutely mind blowing. Brix may be one of the best places I've ever eaten. They just seemed understaffed, but with neverending mimosas for brunch I can wait. ;)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Good food, meh service

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

I've been to Brix a few times in the past and always enjoyed my experiences so I'm willing to chalk this up to an off day, some off people and a busy restaurant. I took my mom in for an early Mother's Day brunch, and we arrived for our 11:30 reservation at almost exactly 11:30. We were shown to our table, directly next to the server station, complete with a stack of closed out tabs, where the hostess promptly informed us of when she would "need the table back". I'm not sure about anybody else, but I do not enjoy starting my meal out with a timer running. It was completely unnecessary and I considered it to be rude.

We sat there for some time before our waitress came over to take our drink order and being a nice warm day we were both in need of some water, which I had to request after she brought our drinks to us. It was also quite a while after that before she came back to take our food orders. Not normally an issue but to have delays like that on top of this desire that we "give them back the table" at a certain time was a bit annoying. After taking our orders she never did bring us the complimentary little donuts they have at Brix (which I probably only cared about because I was starving and pregnant...never a good combo).

Overall it was like we were sort of pushed into a corner and forgotten. I never received a single refill of either my water or my iced tea and frankly I didn't even blame the waitress. They had her all over the restaurant inside and outside, I'm sure we weren't the only table receiving sub-par service that day. On the flip side, the food was still very good - the primary reason I'd consider coming back.

Like I said, I'm willing to chalk it up to a bad day and a bad hostess but I was not pleased with my experience in the least.

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

I made a reservation in the morning for ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

I made a reservation in the morning for brunch on the Saturday before Mother's Day. I called to say we would be 5 minutes late and they were accommodating. We got there and then waited ten minutes for them to seat is for our reservation where our hostess told us that they had a reservation after us in 1:15 minutes. She was rude and short, and I have never been told at any restaurant that we were on a time limit. It ruined our initial mood for a nice Mother's Day brunch I had planned for my mom. Other then that the food was good, I was just expecting better service.

Tags: great for brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value5

Brunch gets busy here and they have an e ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

Brunch gets busy here and they have an extensive menu. Plates are big portions with the exception of mine which is ok. Great for big groups

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5

We are regulars at Brix Tavern, and we l ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

We are regulars at Brix Tavern, and we love it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

April 30th Dinner

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

I took our neighbors there since my wife were told how good it is about three weeks ago, and

have gone there (5) times. Unfortunately this time, food was mediocre, pizza (artichoke and sausage) hardly had any sausage. Won't go there for pizza.

I love there tomato bisque soup, and my fish and chips were great. Service was fair, seemed

short on servers, seemed rushed.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

Intoxicated pool players

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

We enjoy Brix as a rule however the night we were there, they allowed some intoxicated people to play pool. They constantly were inches away from peoples heads with the pool cues. It was obvious the people just did not give a care. Talked to host, said they would take care of it. They did not. Uncool Brix, uncool.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.