About Brix Tavern

1338 NW Hoyt St
Portland, OR 97209
View Larger Map

Brix Tavern marries enduring American comfort food with a classic tavern vibe. From the nostalgia of a Chicken Pot Pie to the savory flavors of Roasted Prime Rib, the menu is built around simple American cooking, enhanced with the freshest in local ingredients. Whether it's a quick bite for happy hour, a leisurely Sunday brunch, or a three course dinner, you are always welcome. Brix is sports friendly too offering discreetly placed HD TV's for catching your favorite game.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Comfort Food, Northwest

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday • 11:00am to Midnight
Friday • 11:00am - 1:00am
Saturday • 9:30am - 1:00am
Sunday • 9:30am - 11:00pm

Lunch
Mon – Fri • 11am – 3pm

Dinner
Everyday • 5pm - 9:30pm

Brunch
Sat & Sun • 9:30am – 3pm

Happy Hour
Everyday • 3pm – 6:30pm

Monday All Night Happy Hour
3pm – close

Late Night Happy Hour
Everyday • 9:30pm – close

Cross Street:
13th

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 943-5995

Website:
http://www.brixtavern.com/

Catering:
Pizza to go and brown bag lunches.

Parking Details:
Street and Pay to Park garages.

Public Transit:
NW 21st & Irving

Executive Chef:
Kevin Kennedy

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Delivery, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Brix Tavern, Portland, OR
Smoked Cheddar Fondue - Brix Tavern, Portland, OR
Complimentary Doughnuts - Brix Tavern, Portland, OR
Halibut And Tots - Brix Tavern, Portland, OR
Fennel Omelette - Brix Tavern, Portland, OR
Donuts - Brix Tavern, Portland, OR
Mango Bellini - Brix Tavern, Portland, OR
Shrimp & Grits - Brix Tavern, Portland, OR
Cheese Fondue For Two - Brix Tavern, Portland, OR
Lobster Macaroni and Cheese - Brix Tavern, Portland, OR
Shrimp and Polenta - Brix Tavern, Portland, OR
Filet Oscar - Brix Tavern, Portland, OR
Creamy Tomato Basil Soup - Brix Tavern, Portland, OR
Nectarine Infused Tequilla - Brix Tavern, Portland, OR
Pinot Grigio - Brix Tavern, Portland, OR
Baked Truffled Mac & Cheese - Brix Tavern, Portland, OR
Beet Salad - Brix Tavern, Portland, OR
Arctic Cod Fish & Chips - Brix Tavern, Portland, OR
Shrimp & Srab Omelettes - Brix Tavern, Portland, OR
Spanish Coffee With 151 - Brix Tavern, Portland, OR
Strawberry Lemon Drop - Brix Tavern, Portland, OR
Dinner Rolls with Roasted Garlic - Brix Tavern, Portland, OR
Aztec Coffee - Brix Tavern, Portland, OR
Chicken Salad - Brix Tavern, Portland, OR
Tomato Bisque Soup - Brix Tavern, Portland, OR
Chicken Fried Chicken - Brix Tavern, Portland, OR
Steak - Brix Tavern, Portland, OR
Spicy Sopressata And Basil Pizza - Brix Tavern, Portland, OR
Southern Benedict - Brix Tavern, Portland, OR
Brix Skillet - Brix Tavern, Portland, OR
Rotisserie Turkey Breast Pot Pie - Brix Tavern, Portland, OR
Prime Rib Dip - Brix Tavern, Portland, OR
Beer - Brix Tavern, Portland, OR

Specials

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Specials

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Details

Come bring in the New Year at BRIX Tavern!

Private Dining

Whether an intimate family celebration or a corporate holiday party, BRIX will help you host your next event so you can mingle with your guests. Post up in the living-room-style Loft, close the doors to the Whiskey Room, or take over the entire back dining room for a party everyone will remember.

Brix Tavern Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.2

ambience

4.2

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Groups (20)
Great for Brunch (19)
Great for Lunch (15)
See All
Happy Hour (15)
Fun (13)
Casual (13)
Comfort Food (12)
Bar Seating (11)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Sunday Lunch (9)
Good for a Date (9)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Modern Decor (8)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Special Occasion (7)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Hot Spot (7)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Great Beer (6)
Live Sports (6)
Kid-friendly (5)
Wood Oven (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
People Watching (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Family Style (4)
Seasonal (4)
Cozy (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Authentic (3)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Romantic (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Historic (2)
Business Meals (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Healthy (1)
Private Room (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort By:
S
737 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great location. Friendliness, attentive, ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined 5 days ago

Great location. Friendliness, attentive, professional staff. Comfortable, spacious setting. Ample Menu selection and happy hour menu. My only complaint was the women's restroom. Two stalls were "out of order". Paper towels were strewn around and the garbage cans were completely full. It looked like a football team had just been through. Gross.

Tags: Modern Decor, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

We made a reservation for 12:30 so we co ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined 5 days ago

We made a reservation for 12:30 so we could get to PCS for a 2:00 show. We arrived a few minutes early and were told our table was being set up for us. At about 12:40, we were told they were "waiting for a table to open up". Apparently reservations just put you at the front of the line, they don't actually make sure a table will be open for you at your reserved time. We let them know we had a play to get to. They managed to seat us at around 12:50, and we had already looked at menus so staff were very quick to take our order. Our food also came out very quickly and our waitress brought our check right away so we could get out the door quickly. While they made every effort to serve us quickly and keep us on time, it would have been more relaxed if we could have enjoyed that extra 20 minutes at our table rather than in the waiting area. The food was good - our first time here - and we'd come back, but we won't expect a reservation to mean anything in the future.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Went ok a Friday night. It would a lit ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined 7 days ago

Went ok a Friday night. It would a little too loud for my taste--just above a din and more of just, well noisy. Servers seemed rushed and hard to flag down. Felt a bit like fast food. Good quality food! Just too many people in the restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value4

I went here for Thanksgiving dinner with ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 25, 2016

I went here for Thanksgiving dinner with my family, so I can only comment on their Thanksgiving menu. Our server was really accommodating with my dietary restrictions and offered a dessert option that was not on the menu. The starters were okay, but the prime rib entry, sides, and dessert were amazing! I would definitely recommend Brix Tavern for Thanksgiving dinner!

Tags: Family Style, Special Occasion, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went to Brix for the first time on Thank ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Went to Brix for the first time on Thanksgiving. We had early reservations and my wife was excited. Unfortunately the wait staff were very inattentive aside from making sure our water glasses were full. Our server seemed annoyed with any questions we had on the menu. Unfortunately the quality of the food reminded me of buffet food. What made matters worse was that our main course was cold/luke warm. If we had come at the end of dinner I might have expected less, but seeing as how it was so early in the evening (530ish) it was a disappointment.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

We choose Brix for our Thanksgiving dinn ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 25, 2016

We choose Brix for our Thanksgiving dinner this year - a family of 7 - two kids, parents and grandparents. It was WONDERFUL - can't say enough positive things about the meal, the service and our table waiting for us when we arrived. They offered a great a choice of main dishes and liked the way they served the sides family style - something for everyone. The kids were able to order off a 3-choice kids menu. One of the kids thought the Mac & Cheese was too rich for her but the adults liked the taste of it.

We are considering going back for New Year's Eve because we enjoyed it so much. And the best turkey ever.

Tags: Hot Spot, Pre/post Theatre, Good Vegetarian Options, Live Sports, Fun, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were visiting from out of town and we ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We were visiting from out of town and weren't familiar with this restaurant. We found this place online and made reservations. We were 10 minutes early and they seated us quickly. The eating area was tight, like lots of tables had been added but it worked ok for us. We had a set menu and the appetizers and side dishes were all "family style". The appetizer plate was brought quickly but it was strange because even though there were 4 of us, there were fewer than that of each item--for example, there were 3 deviled eggs instead of 4. We had to divide and negotiate. The table next to us had 6 people and they were served 3 plates which would have made it 1 plate per 2 people. We had one plate for 4 people. The side dishes were served similarly--we had one plate between 4 people. This was an expensive meal for our family and we left feeling satisfied but certainly not full like a typical Thanksgiving dinner. The food was tasty so there is no frustration about that; it was the amount of food we received for the price. We asked if there was a possibility of getting another side dish plate and our server had no idea if we could or not and didn't find out. We were also very rushed once we started getting our food. Our courses came quickly and we were still eating our salads when we were brought our main and side dishes and had to quickly finish up while they served us. We felt like they were trying to get us in and out as quickly as possible even though there were lots of empty tables around us. Overall, it was a nice dinner but we probably wouldn't return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Excellent dining experience! We enjoyed ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Excellent dining experience! We enjoyed our Thanksgiving meal very much

Tags: Good for Groups, Fun, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Sunday brunch was SO GOOD!! We ended up ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Sunday brunch was SO GOOD!! We ended up staying longer than planed and had more food and cocktails----it was great!!

Top 5 brunch in PDX

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Happy Hour, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Amazing meal. Great service, great food. ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Amazing meal. Great service, great food. Fun spot for brunch. Love the free donuts.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We were in town for a girl's getaway and ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 20, 2016

We were in town for a girl's getaway and made a reservation for Saturday night. We ended up being able to take advantage of the last few minutes of happy hour and ordered several dishes to share. All of the items were good, although not spectacular. The noise level crept up as the evening progressed and was very loud by the time we left. Would describe the environment as convivial.

Tags: Bar Seating, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Went at happy hour- such great choices a ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Went at happy hour- such great choices and drink prices! Everything was so yummy!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We met for brunch and had a really great ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 13, 2016

We met for brunch and had a really great time, our server was AMAZING

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My son and I went there for dinner. I or ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 12, 2016

My son and I went there for dinner. I ordered the chicken Cobb and was surprised the chicken was cold. Otherwise it was ok. It was quite noisy. We had good service. I've been before for lunch and happy hour and do really enjoy this restaurant. I can walk there too which is a bonus

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Brunch menu was awesome and loved the pr ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Brunch menu was awesome and loved the pretzel buns on the burgers!

Tags: Comfort Food, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Just had brunch here- everything was won ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Just had brunch here- everything was wonderful!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We are all still thinking about Brix Chi ...

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 6, 2016

We are all still thinking about Brix Chips. Everyone loved what they ordered. Creative menu options. Service was excellent. It was a fun new foodie option for a great Portland weekend

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We always enjoy a great meal every time ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 30, 2016

We always enjoy a great meal every time we eat here. Their polenta is particularly amazing!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Gluten Free Options, Disabled Access, Bar Seating, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It's always fun being here.....it's alwa ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on October 23, 2016

It's always fun being here.....it's always a lively crowd. The food is wonderful and very nicely served....prompt and very good. The new manager is doing a great job of overseeing it's success.

Tags: Fun, Hot Spot, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fun brunch spot. Give the burger side of ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Fun brunch spot. Give the burger side of the menu a look, I enjoyed mine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was SO below average, and th ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on October 9, 2016

The service was SO below average, and the food quality has dropped considerably. Not in a rush to come back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1

We went for Sunday brunch with bottomles ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 9, 2016

We went for Sunday brunch with bottomless Mimosas. We also had 3 kids with us, 4, 8, and 12. They all loved it, and so did the grown-ups. They were flexible with our reservation for 7 people, as well, even though there was quite a crowd. I have had the brunch there several times, and it is always a great experience.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We love this place for their Flip Wednes ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 6, 2016

We love this place for their Flip Wednesday special. We enjoy the lively ambiance and the food is always on point. I wish we would have won our flip because who doesn't want a free meal but the place is always fun and its situated in a great part of town so you can bounce around the other great local establishments.

Tags: Happy Hour, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

Upon arriving, they tried to squeeze the ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 6, 2016

Upon arriving, they tried to squeeze the party into an entire too small of a space. The party ended up placing two table on either end to accommodate. When the food was served, it was cold. Cocktails were great and a great price!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value4

Terrible service. We chose to leave and ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Terrible service. We chose to leave and go elsewhere

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

One of our favourite place to eat locall ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 2, 2016

One of our favourite place to eat locally. The food is the delicious and the staff is very friendly. Highly recommend.

Tags: Cozy, Casual, Business Meals, Authentic, Fun, Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Poor service, very mediocre food, worst ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Poor service, very mediocre food, worst crab/fish cakes ever, wasted 50% of my 2 day Portland dining experience.

Shocked they get away with it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

We liked the many choices on the menu. W ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 26, 2016

We liked the many choices on the menu. We chose the calimari appetizer which was expertly fried and slightly spicy yum. Lethe sandwiches, stake on French dip- perfect beef, onion aus juis. Turkey Ruben also received praise.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We were there for a brunch with 5 kids. ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 25, 2016

We were there for a brunch with 5 kids. They were very accommodating and helpful. The kids were entertained and really liked the food.

Tags: Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was hit and miss. My NY steak was ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Food was hit and miss. My NY steak was perfect, but there were issues with the other main courses being a bit cold or undercooked. The sides were creative, but none tasted great and some were not warmed thoroughly. Beet salad was very good.

Tags: Modern Decor, Live Sports, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

Used to be a good place to eat. Unfortu ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Used to be a good place to eat. Unfortunately they are pre-making the food before it's ordered. Both dishes came out cold and soggy. Waitstaff was inattentive and couldn't be bothered to at least reheat our meal. Will not be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value2

Fun place to be with good food! Good se ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on September 23, 2016

Fun place to be with good food! Good service, food presented very nicely, great menu with many options, large tvs to watch sports. Also a good place to be with large groups.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Quick Bite, People Watching, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I thought the food was adequate though o ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 18, 2016

I thought the food was adequate though one of our group had the chicken fried chicken and it was outstanding. My fish and chips were okay, the prime rib was good, the burger was good. The restaurant caters to large groups, it's noisy and busy. I do have to say that the service was top notch. I'm too old for this place but it's probably a great attraction for 35 and under crowd.

Tags: Family Style, Good for Groups, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great Beer, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Went for brunch with a large group of fa ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Went for brunch with a large group of family, and had so much fun. Watched the Iowa football game, had great bloody marys and mimosas, and delicious brunch and burgers! Also, the tables have crayons and are covered in paper for extra drawing fun for kids...

Tags: Good for Groups, Fun, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Great food and service, but we were seat ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 11, 2016

Great food and service, but we were seated in an awkward location and were not able to move to another spot.

Tags: Casual, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Had brunch with a friend, the food was w ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 11, 2016

Had brunch with a friend, the food was wonderful but the service was outstanding! Our servers name was Jordan she's incredibly efficient, extremely friendly and engaging. I will ask for her the next time I'm there. Thank you for the great experience!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Gluten Free Options, Family Style, Healthy, Comfort Food, Afternoon Coffee, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

This is typical bar food. Not that great ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 11, 2016

This is typical bar food. Not that great, we had the truffle mac and there was WAY too much truffle (oil) it gave it a bitter taste we couldn't finish it. I had the quinoa salad and it had cold pre cooked chicken. The taste was ok but it was a disappointment. Overall it was just at food. Ok but not great. We did have a good time there and the service was great. Our server recommended some great drinks too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2

We enjoyed our dinner here very much we ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 11, 2016

We enjoyed our dinner here very much we were seated quickly and our server was wonderful. Fiid and drinks were great - I'm sure we will be repeat visitors. Thank you!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Julia was our server and she was great. ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 5, 2016

Julia was our server and she was great. We used to go to Brix when it first opened all the time. Because of where we live now, we don't go as often but we have recommended it to a few friends. One of my friends had just recently landed a new job and this was her choice or restaurant - and I wasn't complaining :) The service was great and the food and drinks were awesome.

Tags: Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was great; service was atrocious. ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on September 4, 2016

Food was great; service was atrocious. We'll go back because it has a nice vibe and an interesting menu but if the same waitress, Sam, comes to our table, we will asked to be moved.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.