Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.22mi
  2. Distance: 0.23mi
  3. Distance: 0.31mi
  4. Distance: 0.32mi
  1. Distance: 0.22mi
  2. Distance: 0.23mi
  3. Distance: 0.31mi
  4. Distance: 0.32mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.22mi
  2. Distance: 0.23mi
  3. Distance: 0.31mi
  4. Distance: 0.32mi
  1. Distance: 0.22mi
  2. Distance: 0.23mi
  3. Distance: 0.31mi
  4. Distance: 0.32mi

About Brix Tavern

Already open five years and counting, this neighborhood establishment is still a go-to for easy drinking, a variety of plates, and overall good times. The frequently updated event calendar keeps the door swinging, and new friends the regulars are always bringing.

Ideal for large groups, the menu features seasonal, global-inspired tavern fare, extensive craft beer offerings and original handcrafted cocktails.

Early and late happy hours keep guests glued to their seats as they get caught up on the latest sports games airing all around the restaurant, and the daily food and drink specials keep locals and visitors alike coming back again and again.

And have you heard the talk about brunch? Those donuts though.

1338 NW Hoyt St
Portland, OR 97209
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Comfort Food, Northwest

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday • 11:00am to Midnight
Friday • 11:00am - 1:00am
Saturday • 9:30am - 1:00am
Sunday • 9:30am - 11:00pm

Lunch
Mon – Fri • 11am – 3pm

Dinner
Everyday • 5pm - 9:30pm

Brunch
Sat & Sun • 9:30am – 3pm

Happy Hour
Everyday • 3pm – 6:30pm

Monday All Night Happy Hour
3pm – close

Late Night Happy Hour
Everyday • 9:30pm – close

Cross Street:
13th

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 943-5995

Website:
http://www.brixtavern.com/

Catering:
Pizza to go and brown bag lunches.

Parking Details:
Street and Pay to Park garages.

Executive Chef:
Kevin Kennedy

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Whether an intimate family celebration or a corporate holiday party, BRIX will help you host your next event so you can mingle with your guests. Post up in the living-room-style Loft, close the doors to the Whiskey Room, or take over the entire back dining room for a party everyone will remember.

Brix Tavern Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Brunch (31)
Happy Hour (30)
Good for Groups (25)
See All
Good for a Date (24)
Fun (22)
Great for Lunch (21)
Casual (20)
Sunday Lunch (20)
Good for Birthdays (19)
Comfort Food (16)
Bar Seating (16)
Special Occasion (14)
Fit for Foodies (12)
Neighborhood Gem (12)
Vibrant Bar Scene (11)
Handcrafted Cocktails (10)
Great Beer (10)
Quick Bite (10)
Late-night Find (8)
Business Meals (8)
People Watching (8)
Hot Spot (7)
Worth the Drive (7)
Local Ingredients (6)
Cozy (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Tasting Menu (4)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Live Sports (4)
Tapas (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Authentic (2)
Romantic (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Open Kitchen (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Organic (1)
Seasonal (1)
Private Room (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Waterfront (1)
Sort By:
S
932 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined 3 days ago

Great experience. Josh, our waiter was truly exceptional!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 3 days ago

Great restaurant great service great location food was wonderful

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Kid-friendly, Quick Bite, Bar Seating, Healthy, Authentic, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined 3 days ago

alaskan halibut cooked to perfection, prime rib good (grade B),
service excellent, side dishes excellent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 14, 2017

Amazing food. Particularly worth it if you go for happy hour which is all day on Sunday's!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Service was poor and the food was not very good. 3 out of 4 people from my table had to send their food back. One was the wrong order, two others had their eggs both very under cooked. The hash browns were all cold and after the first cup of coffee was poured, it took a long time to get a warm up. Just not good on many fronts. So many great places in Portland to eat - I would not recommend this for breakfast. Happy hour and beers seem good though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Portland)·Dined on August 12, 2017

My son had been telling me I have to try Brix Tavern so I dragged a bunch of co-workers to lunch and the food and service was awesome, love the location and the street. I will definitely be a return customer for lunches as well as weekends.

Tags: Authentic, Worth the Drive, Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Great Beer, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Special Occasion, Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

Brunch with friends! Bottomless mimosas! Seating in the loft lounge! Accommodated us when we asked if the could turn down the music. Great Spot!

Tags: Live Sports, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

Great service! Tried the berry margarita and it was amazing. The food is great and I love the atmosphere.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Went here for the Portland Mercury Burger Week. Their burger was nice and a good value. Also got the calamari which was great. I will come back for a regular lunch too.

The server seemed a bit stretched thin and going from one side to the other. He did his best.

Tags: Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Just celebrating friends!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 6, 2017

Great time for a large group, service was quick and food was great!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Pleasantly surprised by the atmosphere and menu! We had a party of 5 and we're seated immediately and without some of our papery being present. They gave us complimentary homemade donuts while we waited!The food and drinks were exceptional and reasonably priced. I'm from Southern California and would definitely come here again!

Tags: Casual, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Quick Bite, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food, Afternoon Coffee, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Had a great Sunday brunch with the family. Donuts were a great surprise to start a delicious meal. Highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

Great food and really nice setting for our girlfriends get together. The waitress didn't seem to know much about the menu and had to leave to get the answer to your questions. Kid friendly but kids menu kinda sucked.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Overall, my sentiments of Brix Tavern remain the same: Great food with lack luster service. On my most recent visit, I sat outside with my guest. It seemed that our server could not remember items once leaving our table. If you want good to decent service, stay away from the bar and outside. The food is delicious and is prepared quickly, which is why I've continued to come back. I'll give Brix one more chance... There are too many great places to eat to choose one where you can expect poor service.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
·Dined on July 23, 2017

Brunch was excellent. The eggs were done just right.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 23, 2017

This place is my favorite brunch spot! ❤️ The best part is the bottomless mimosas 😊

Tags: Great Beer, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 18, 2017

Great food with personal accommodations on gluten free substitutions.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 17, 2017

Took a party of 12 here and couldn't be more pleased with the experience. The servers were perfectly attentive and patient and the food was good. Bonus points for the smokey sparrow.... It was a fan favorite :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on July 15, 2017

The staff went above and beyond to accommodate us. The service and quality of food are worth the visit!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Enjoyed our visit very much! Food was awesome! Service was pretty great as well.

Tags: Fun, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on July 14, 2017

We have been here multiple times and each time service has been top notch. Food here is pretty amazing too. The staff is very friendly and helpful especially the time we had a party of 18 for dinner. Overall a great place to hang out and eat.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Tapas, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on July 6, 2017

We got together with friends for dinner. We really enjoyed our meal and our waiter allowed us to take our time as our kids were enjoying a concert while we dined. We realized as the evening went on, that we were aging right at our table. A DJ came in and started playing music, but we were delighted that it was 80's music, so we enjoyed it. It just got a bit loud and we soon realized that we were the only people left there in their 50's. Food and drinks were great, waiter was top notch, we may just come for lunch next time!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Great Beer, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on July 5, 2017

We came for an early meal with family from out of town. One dish was way too salty, one salad was limp with very little bacon in the "crispy bacon salad", one fish dish had three tiny pieces of halibut and a whole lot of tater tots, one dish were these very flat and bland tacos. Overall, the food was pretty bad. The service and atmosphere was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on July 2, 2017

My second visit to Brix this time with out of town guests. Good food and beer options. Friendly service. Would definitely return.

Tags: Great Beer, Fun, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Food was mediocre. I don't like how they put the eggs on top of the waffles because then my waffles turned out soggy. I also didn't like where we were seated. I don't know why I got a side, small round table against a wall when I had made a reservation - especially with plenty of open tables available. I won't be back.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 29, 2017

Food was disappointing, a couple good plates but everything else was lacking. The happy hour burger was compared by a guest to a fancier version of a Big Mac :-| it didn't look very appetizing IMO. One of the salads was also essentially a bunch of shredded lettuce drenched in dressing. They really need to rethink the quality of food served when there are so many amazing restaurants to choose from around. On a positive - Service was good and wait staff very friendly.

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 27, 2017

Always dependable- but gets a bit too loud for conversation. Doesn't deter but I take that into consideration when making plans.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 24, 2017

I love brix tavern the food is amazing and the servers are so friendly. I highly recommend it for brunch especially and the mimosas.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 20, 2017

The food was excellent, flavors balanced and well rounded. Service was good, however the wait staff failed to apply their weekly promotional deal on the first check.

A private party occupied the main hall, DJ included kept the noise level elevated the entire night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Not my first time there, but this place never gets old! I was glad to get a seat for my Dad and I, especially with it being Fathers Day. Great food, great service and a great time spent! Could of gotten some more donuts though!😉

Tags: Local Ingredients, Hot Spot, Tasting Menu, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 18, 2017

We enjoyed a nice Father's Day brunch this past week. The food was great as usual. Our server on the other hand left much to be desired. He seemed too busy or disinterested to give us the same attention we noticed him giving to all his other tables. We waited so long for him to return at one point, I had to order my drinks from another server. In the end we would come back, but would make sure to have a server who makes you feel like you are welcomed and not like he is doing us a favor by serving us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 13, 2017

We alerted staff of special hearing difficulties and were given a perfect space during a busy noon hour. That plus attentive and good humored service was delightful. Thanks so much.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Friend and I enjoyed a mini vacay in Portland and this was our final meal! It was delicious and the service couldn't be better. We even got great recommendations for where to go that evening in town .

Tags: Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Fun, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Brought the family for Graduation celebration, we showed up early for our reservation, the table was ready and we were seated early! Thanks! The donuts took a while to show up, but they were very busy, and those pastries are worth the wait! Everyone enjoyed their food, the service was great considering we were a table of 9 and a hopping Sunday afternoon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Great ambience, nice food, nice happy hour menu. First time visit but a great find. We will go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Late-night Find, Quick Bite, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Sunday Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on June 8, 2017

Server was not very personable. We were a party of 10 and he seemed like we were an inconvenience and a bit "snooty". We were seated in the bar area the night of 6/8. He needs some counseling on hospitality. We have been here before and he was not as good as the other severs. Food not as good as the last visit too but service definitely the issue this time.

Tags: Bar Seating, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 4, 2017

We were a group of 9 celebrating a high school graduation. The Happy Hour menu was large, well priced and with big servings!
We all thought the food was great! Especially the calamari and veggie burger

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Quick Bite, Casual, Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour, Fun, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Good service and good food, with a large selection to choose from. The waitstaff was very courteous.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Great Beer, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 4, 2017

We had s large group of 10 to celebrate our daughters' high school graduation. We came in about 2:30pm on a Sunday. We loved it!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.