Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.22mi
  2. Distance: 0.23mi
  3. Distance: 0.31mi
  4. Distance: 0.32mi
  1. Distance: 0.22mi
  2. Distance: 0.23mi
  3. Distance: 0.31mi
  4. Distance: 0.32mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.22mi
  2. Distance: 0.23mi
  3. Distance: 0.31mi
  4. Distance: 0.32mi
  1. Distance: 0.22mi
  2. Distance: 0.23mi
  3. Distance: 0.31mi
  4. Distance: 0.32mi

About Brix Tavern

Already open five years and counting, this neighborhood establishment is still a go-to for easy drinking, a variety of plates, and overall good times. The frequently updated event calendar keeps the door swinging, and new friends the regulars are always bringing.

Ideal for large groups, the menu features seasonal, global-inspired tavern fare, extensive craft beer offerings and original handcrafted cocktails.

Early and late happy hours keep guests glued to their seats as they get caught up on the latest sports games airing all around the restaurant, and the daily food and drink specials keep locals and visitors alike coming back again and again.

And have you heard the talk about brunch? Those donuts though.

1338 NW Hoyt St
Portland, OR 97209
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Comfort Food, Northwest

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday • 11:00am to Midnight
Friday • 11:00am - 1:00am
Saturday • 9:30am - 1:00am
Sunday • 9:30am - 11:00pm

Lunch
Mon – Fri • 11am – 3pm

Dinner
Everyday • 5pm - 9:30pm

Brunch
Sat & Sun • 9:30am – 3pm

Happy Hour
Everyday • 3pm – 6:30pm

Monday All Night Happy Hour
3pm – close

Late Night Happy Hour
Everyday • 9:30pm – close

Cross Street:
13th

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 943-5995

Website:
http://www.brixtavern.com/

Catering:
Pizza to go and brown bag lunches.

Parking Details:
Street and Pay to Park garages.

Executive Chef:
Kevin Kennedy

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Whether an intimate family celebration or a corporate holiday party, BRIX will help you host your next event so you can mingle with your guests. Post up in the living-room-style Loft, close the doors to the Whiskey Room, or take over the entire back dining room for a party everyone will remember.

Brix Tavern Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.1

ambience

4.2

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

80% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (32)
Good for Groups (32)
Happy Hour (30)
See All
Good for a Date (29)
Fun (25)
Great for Brunch (23)
Comfort Food (21)
Special Occasion (18)
Handcrafted Cocktails (18)
Fit for Foodies (17)
Sunday Lunch (16)
Good for Birthdays (15)
Neighborhood Gem (12)
Pre/post Theatre (12)
Live Sports (12)
Great for Lunch (12)
Vibrant Bar Scene (12)
Creative Cuisine (12)
Local Ingredients (11)
Modern Decor (11)
Hot Spot (11)
Bar Seating (11)
People Watching (11)
Outstanding Value (10)
Great Beer (9)
Late-night Find (9)
Wood Oven (9)
Business Meals (9)
Kid-friendly (8)
Romantic (7)
Worth the Drive (7)
Seasonal (7)
Authentic (7)
Cozy (6)
Private Room (6)
Good for Anniversaries (6)
Healthy (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Open Kitchen (5)
Quick Bite (5)
Family Style (5)
Tasting Menu (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Historic (3)
Notable Wine List (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Tapas (2)
Organic (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Vegan (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Spicy (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Sort By:
S
836 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined 2 days ago

One of the best Happy Hours we have come across. Great place to go to before performances at Portland Center Stage...good cocktails, fun place and we had very good service.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Private Room, Local Ingredients, Quick Bite, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Live Sports, Happy Hour, Outstanding Value, Casual, Fun, Good for Groups, Great Beer, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Wood Oven, Business Meals, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined 4 days ago

Very enjoyable evening!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 5 days ago

The food was average and the service was very slow. This might be because it was part of the 'March dine out month menu', so perhaps they were cutting costs to drive up the number of tables. I just hope their food returns to the quality I remember from before.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined 5 days ago

Great bar and dining room. Although the restaurant filled rather quickly after we were seated, four of us were able to carry on a conversation without raising our voices at all.
Great beer selections, and a happy hour and main menu that provided many selections. We had salads, cheeseburger, bean burger, 1/2 chicken, and chicken tacos. We were impressed by the service, the food, and the ambiance. . . a great find!

Tags: Historic, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Late-night Find, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Live Sports, Bar Seating, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 16, 2017

We came here for Portland Dining Month. Nothing that I experienced made me feel that I just have to come back. The food was not great, just okay. We sat right by the pool table, which I felt was not strategically placed. There were some kids playing on it during our dinner which was fine; however, I don't see how it would be possible for adults to play without interrupting tables. I didn't get a chance to try any cocktails. I may come back to try happy hour when certain menu items are cheaper and I will try a drink. I will not return for dinner. I was pretty disappointed.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 15, 2017

This is my second time coming to Brix and it's a great place to meet friends for a casual dinner and drinks. Plus, they take reservations!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Casual, Happy Hour, Fun, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Overall very good. They failed to prepare one of our groups order so she had to wait. Kitchen screw up.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Great place to meet and get some good food. Lots of TVs to keep up with the latest events

Tags: Private Room, Kid-friendly, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Loved this restaurant! Went for a date night with my hubby and loved the atmosphere:). This time, we took our two children for Sunday brunch and had a fantastic meal (and a lot of fun). Perfect place for a date, to meet friends for a drink, to watch a game and for Sunday family brunch!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Outstanding Value, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Family Style, Pre/post Theatre, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 12, 2017

We visited Brix for Portland Dining Month. Most of the Brix menu was available for the 3 course prix fixe option. The caprese salad was tasty with a wonderful balsamic reduction. The fish and chips got rave reviews from some or our party and the "tots" were incredible. Unfortunately the fried chicken wasn't anything to write home about. The pumpkin bread pudding didn't have much pumpkin flavor and the accompanying whipped cream was "off" but the blackberry buttermilk pie was scrumptious.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 12, 2017

We arrived on time and were seated immediately. The server, Brittany, was prompt and friendly. She was accurate on the order and followed up several times to make sure that we were totally satisfied with the food. Great service! We'll definitely go back again.

Tags: Fun, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Great Happy Hour food selections! We went not knowing it was Happy Hour, and were pleasantly surprised at the variety of offerings. Fun place!

Tags: Casual, People Watching, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Service was tops -- friendly, responsive; food was good but caesar salad left a little to be desired. Beet Salad was bombdiggety; prime rib and burgers deluxe. We'll be back!

Tags: Outstanding Value, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Our first experience to Brix Tavern was AMAZING. The staff made us feel wonderful...great service from the moment we walked in the door. Telling us about the Portland Dining Menu, great specials on the drinks and suggestions on what to order.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 8, 2017

As always great food and great staff. Have tried numerous things on the menu and it's all been good. It's the go-to place for people in our office which is nearby.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on March 7, 2017

We went to Brix Tavern on Monday to discover they were offering Happy Hour all day and evening. Great value. Our service was exemplary: friendly and efficient. Food was great and the menu is extensive. In addition, they are participating in Portland Dining Month so there are added bargains.

Tags: People Watching, Outstanding Value, Pre/post Theatre, Tapas, Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Casual, Comfort Food, Great Beer, Open Kitchen, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 6, 2017

We went for Portland Dining Month and were very happy with our decision. The food was excellent, 3 totally cleaned plates and the service was attentive. There was a party going on next to the dining area and it was fun to watch the people at the party. We will return.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Wood Oven, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Great food. Nice touch with the bottomless mimosas and doughnuts at brunch!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Comfort Food, Romantic, Bar Seating, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Get the Shrimp and Grits! As a southern girl who doesn't generally like grits, I have to say these are amazing!

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 5, 2017

We had a great table in the back which was quieter than the front part of the restaurant. The wait staff was awesome and the food was prepared nicely. It was happy hour when we were there and the salads were extremely fresh and there were a lot of food choices. Definitely will return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Appetizers and salad came quickly and were very good. Then we sat and waited for over an hour for our dinner. The server said that they were just busy because of dining month but several tables sat down way after us and had their food. When we asked about that we got an excuse that they were having apps and salads...no they were eating steak! My guess is they forgot to put our order in. Were told our food was 3 min away...20 min later we got our food. Our friend didn't get the right food so he had to wait longer for them to get the correct order. Our other friend's burger was cold so that went back, and my husband's burger didn't come with the egg on it. My food was actually very good, salmon and lemon risotto. The server apologized several times after we finally complained. In the end they made it right and gave us 50% off including alcohol and a free round of drinks on top of that. Just wish they would have fessed up instead of trying to blame it on things that obviously weren't the case. Food was good though when it was correct. Service was ok aside from the screw up with the food.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 5, 2017

very good value especially with Portland dine out month good menu and drinks

Tags: Open Kitchen, Outstanding Value, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Unfortunately my card was charged for another table's higher bill. While the manager was helpful getting the new, correct, amount charged, the higher charge has yet to be reversed four days later.

Tags: Casual, Live Sports
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Food was a good value. Tomato bisque was great. Tables are very close together and difficult to navigate between. My friends' mimosa glasses were never kept less than half full by the staff, however my coffee cup was not refilled after the first cup.

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Loved the friendly service! Drinks and food were great for Happy Hour.
Thank you!

Tags: Bar Seating, Good Vegetarian Options, Historic, Authentic, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Worth the Drive, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 22, 2017

The food was okay, but overpriced for what we got. My friend and I each got the beet salad and we were surprised to receive a plate with a tiny amount of beet arranged in a straight line sitting ina pool of heavy cream sauce. It was nowhere near enough food for lunch, so we split a grilled caprese sandwich, which was tepid and bland.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 22, 2017

This place was really average. Food was good but not great. Not a place I am likely going back to. Expensive for what it is.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Was ok. I would discourage having hostess inform customers they need to be done in an hour and a half. Not necessary and sends your customers a pushy and wrong message. I would consider not returning just because of that.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Went for Valentine's Day dinner with a group of friends. The ambiance and service were great, but the food was lackluster for $40+ a plate. Fondue was served with dry bread, the lobster bisque was so salty I only took two or three tastes of it, and the lobster/scallop mac and cheese didn't seem to have any lobster in it. Regardless, I really like this place and will be back. But was a little disappointed about the quality of the food by comparison to how it was presented on the menu.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Had a wonderful Valentines Day dinner. Perfect night!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 15, 2017

When we booked it for Valentine's Day dinner Open Table didn't say that it was a set 4 course meal (I checked the website and found out there). The options seemed great, our appetizer and salads was wonderful (we shared the fondue and each had the tavern salad); however our entrees were AWFUL. I had the seared tuna which you couldn't even cut with a knife due to the fibers in it and my husband had the rib eye steak (WITH NO BONE) which had no flavor and full of fat. Unfortunately since it was busy we just ate what we could and didn't complain since we knew it was out of their control with a set menu and packed venue.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Disappointing meal but the service was excellent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We decided (6 of our friends) to celebrate Valentin's in Brix...What a wonderful idea, excellent service, fast and making sure that we were ok at all times, food was amazing and drinks complemented our meal perfectly! We are planing to go back and try the rest of the menu! Thank you Brix!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Great Beer, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Reservations for Valentines and luckily we ate early because as the night went on, we watched the service pretty much fall apart. We saw many tables get entrees before even getting an appetizer. The food was awful. The fondue tasted like it had bacon bits mixed in - yuck. The lobster bisque had no lobster in it. The salmon was over cooked. The winter vegetables with the salmon belonged in a microwave dinner. Our waitress was aloof and didn't really care. $110 wasted. I will never go back and never recommend. Awful awful food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on February 5, 2017

We went to Brix for the Super Bowl and really enjoyed the experience. The service was outstanding, particularly considering the large crowd. We enjoyed the food and found it to be a very convivial place to enjoy the game.

Tags: Hot Spot, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 5, 2017

For my money, Brix has the BEST brunch hands down. There is no need to stand in long lines at places that are as good. Brix wins on the hot fresh donuts alone! Truly the best brunch spot in Portland but not so trendy you can't get in.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Business Meals, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Really great for brunch and getting a group together. Menu is very straightforward and easy to navigate for multiple tastes

Tags: Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 4, 2017

For the price and the neighborhood .... the food was not
Very
Good . I won't go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Stopped in on cold blustery afternoon for a late lunch. It was the awkward time between the lunch and evening rush. The service was surprisingly prompt and attentive. The food was fine. The hazelnuts on the beet salad were grossly stale. I picked them out and mentioned it to our server who offered an apology somewhat lacking in sincerity. No other remedies were offered. The pricing was about average. I would appreciate a broader beer selection.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 2, 2017

First time at Brix. A home run. Great HH that goes to 6:30. Food near excellent. Good variety menu.

Tags: Late-night Find, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.