Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.22mi
  2. Distance: 0.23mi
  3. Distance: 0.31mi
  4. Distance: 0.32mi
  1. Distance: 0.22mi
  2. Distance: 0.23mi
  3. Distance: 0.31mi
  4. Distance: 0.32mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.22mi
  2. Distance: 0.23mi
  3. Distance: 0.31mi
  4. Distance: 0.32mi
  1. Distance: 0.22mi
  2. Distance: 0.23mi
  3. Distance: 0.31mi
  4. Distance: 0.32mi

About Brix Tavern

Already open five years and counting, this neighborhood establishment is still a go-to for easy drinking, a variety of plates, and overall good times. The frequently updated event calendar keeps the door swinging, and new friends the regulars are always bringing.

Ideal for large groups, the menu features seasonal, global-inspired tavern fare, extensive craft beer offerings and original handcrafted cocktails.

Early and late happy hours keep guests glued to their seats as they get caught up on the latest sports games airing all around the restaurant, and the daily food and drink specials keep locals and visitors alike coming back again and again.

And have you heard the talk about brunch? Those donuts though.

1338 NW Hoyt St
Portland, OR 97209
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Comfort Food, Northwest

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday • 11:00am to Midnight
Friday • 11:00am - 1:00am
Saturday • 9:30am - 1:00am
Sunday • 9:30am - 11:00pm

Lunch
Mon – Fri • 11am – 3pm

Dinner
Everyday • 5pm - 9:30pm

Brunch
Sat & Sun • 9:30am – 3pm

Happy Hour
Everyday • 3pm – 6:30pm

Monday All Night Happy Hour
3pm – close

Late Night Happy Hour
Everyday • 9:30pm – close

Cross Street:
13th

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 943-5995

Website:
http://www.brixtavern.com/

Catering:
Pizza to go and brown bag lunches.

Parking Details:
Street and Pay to Park garages.

Executive Chef:
Kevin Kennedy

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Whether an intimate family celebration or a corporate holiday party, BRIX will help you host your next event so you can mingle with your guests. Post up in the living-room-style Loft, close the doors to the Whiskey Room, or take over the entire back dining room for a party everyone will remember.

Brix Tavern Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.2

ambience

4.2

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Happy Hour (43)
Good for a Date (36)
Great for Brunch (33)
See All
Casual (33)
Good for Groups (32)
Fun (29)
Comfort Food (26)
Good for Birthdays (26)
Bar Seating (25)
Sunday Lunch (23)
Great for Lunch (19)
Neighborhood Gem (18)
Vibrant Bar Scene (18)
Fit for Foodies (17)
Handcrafted Cocktails (15)
Late-night Find (14)
Kid-friendly (14)
Live Sports (14)
Great Beer (14)
Worth the Drive (13)
Business Meals (13)
Special Occasion (13)
Local Ingredients (12)
Pre/post Theatre (12)
Hot Spot (12)
Modern Decor (11)
People Watching (11)
Quick Bite (10)
Good for Anniversaries (9)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Tasting Menu (7)
Cozy (7)
Romantic (7)
Wood Oven (7)
Open Kitchen (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Outstanding Value (6)
Private Room (5)
Family Style (5)
Healthy (4)
Authentic (4)
Tapas (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Historic (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Spicy (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Organic (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Scenic View (2)
Notable Wine List (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Seasonal (1)
Waterfront (1)
Sort By:
S
901 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined a day ago

I love brix tavern the food is amazing and the servers are so friendly. I highly recommend it for brunch especially and the mimosas.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Not my first time there, but this place never gets old! I was glad to get a seat for my Dad and I, especially with it being Fathers Day. Great food, great service and a great time spent! Could of gotten some more donuts though!😉

Tags: Local Ingredients, Hot Spot, Tasting Menu, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 18, 2017

We enjoyed a nice Father's Day brunch this past week. The food was great as usual. Our server on the other hand left much to be desired. He seemed too busy or disinterested to give us the same attention we noticed him giving to all his other tables. We waited so long for him to return at one point, I had to order my drinks from another server. In the end we would come back, but would make sure to have a server who makes you feel like you are welcomed and not like he is doing us a favor by serving us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 13, 2017

We alerted staff of special hearing difficulties and were given a perfect space during a busy noon hour. That plus attentive and good humored service was delightful. Thanks so much.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 12, 2017

Friend and I enjoyed a mini vacay in Portland and this was our final meal! It was delicious and the service couldn't be better. We even got great recommendations for where to go that evening in town .

Tags: Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Fun, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Brought the family for Graduation celebration, we showed up early for our reservation, the table was ready and we were seated early! Thanks! The donuts took a while to show up, but they were very busy, and those pastries are worth the wait! Everyone enjoyed their food, the service was great considering we were a table of 9 and a hopping Sunday afternoon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Great ambience, nice food, nice happy hour menu. First time visit but a great find. We will go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Late-night Find, Quick Bite, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Sunday Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Server was not very personable. We were a party of 10 and he seemed like we were an inconvenience and a bit "snooty". We were seated in the bar area the night of 6/8. He needs some counseling on hospitality. We have been here before and he was not as good as the other severs. Food not as good as the last visit too but service definitely the issue this time.

Tags: Bar Seating, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 5, 2017

We were a group of 9 celebrating a high school graduation. The Happy Hour menu was large, well priced and with big servings!
We all thought the food was great! Especially the calamari and veggie burger

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Quick Bite, Casual, Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour, Fun, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 5, 2017

Good service and good food, with a large selection to choose from. The waitstaff was very courteous.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Great Beer, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 4, 2017

We had s large group of 10 to celebrate our daughters' high school graduation. We came in about 2:30pm on a Sunday. We loved it!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 4, 2017

The food is delicious and the portions are large. It's a little loud inside but not overwhelming. Will be making this a frequent brunch destination!

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Sound was horrible! We could barely hear each other talk. Otherwise food & service were great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Really enjoyed having brunch here. Food was great, portions for generous and sitting outside drinking mimosas was the perfect kick-off to the weekend.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Great place for brunch. Stellar breakfast item yummy bubbles and bites and amazing bloody Marys

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Casual, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Great food excellent service and such a welcoming interior. Brought visiting family plus friends new to portland and Brix did not dissppoint!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Great place and I'd definitely recommend it. Fantastic appetizers and the Happy Hour is really great. I'd recommend that the chef think about toasting both sides of the panini bread prior to putting it into the press. The flavors were good but the bread was soft and ended up being soggy. I had the Halibut & Shrimp which was just awesome - the polenta was great, and the mixed veggies were cooked perfectly. I'd definitely recommend Brix!

Tags: Business Meals, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Awesome place, great food! We took a gamble on Mothers Day, not having been here before and we were blown away. You won't be disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 14, 2017

I love this place for take dinner and lunch out with my friends!

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 14, 2017

This is the second time that we have been to Brix for the brunch. Both times we have been satisfied with not only the selection that the brunch affords but the service. We have recommended this establishment to many of our friends and will continue to do so.

Excellent Restaurant
Jerry Moon

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 14, 2017

I took a party of 12 for mothers day and really enjoyed ourselves. The food was very good and the atmosphere was great. I'd love to try their happy hour!

Tags: Late-night Find, Pre/post Theatre, Happy Hour, Worth the Drive, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (London)·Dined on May 6, 2017

I was seated like I was in "time our" in a table set apart from everything, facing the corner. I moved the chair to the other side of the table, looking into the room. I sat there for at least 10 minutes before anyone even acknowledged my presence. My food arrived quickly-and my chicken & waffles were drowned in syrup, making it inedible. I did eat the perfectly cooked eggs. The server arrived, and when I complained about the syrup, she nodded and took my plate. That was it. It was a very disappointing meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on May 3, 2017

I love this restaurant. The menu is varied and everyone can find something they like grom burgers to salads to salmon to steak. My coworkers loved it too. The service was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 1, 2017

Went here on Sunday April 30th about 630pm. The food was delicious... Except for the giant nail we found in our food. Brought this up to the manager who then gave us an attitude was disrespectful and completely ruined our dinner. Will never come here again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service1

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on April 30, 2017

We had a birthday brunch for 10 and it was alive and energetic. Our seating was 3 small tables put together so not really enough room for everyone but fine overall. Fair amount of noise so definitely could not have any conversation up and down the table but ok with those next to or across from you. Food was excellent. I went for the Stuffed French Toast and I'd highly recommend it if you have a sweet tooth. All servings were good sized and the service, especially refilling the bottomless Mimosa's, was excellent.

Only real downer other than the noise was that someone had spilled jelly all down the side of the table cloth and they'd not cleaned up the mess but rather just put a fresh white piece of paper on the table rather than noticing the sizable mess that got all over one party members clothes.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Live Sports
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 30, 2017

We used to come to Brix's almost every Sunday for their brunch in the past two years. We loved this place for its food and especially the service. However, since the management has changed in the last few months, the service has gone down considerably. The portions are MUCH smaller (the caprese salad that used to be an actual salad is now 3 mozzarella balls and a couple of tomatoes and leaves scattered in there). The managers are absolutely terrible if you have any concerns about the stark difference in food options/portions. Worst of all, the friendly waiters/waitresses that used to work there have been replaced by condescending women who state that they have been instructed to avoid tables who order bottomless mimosas so as to curb the "bubbles with every bite" to just 2 or max 3 mimosas. We were going to have our post wedding brunch here as well (that's how much we loved it) but now will not be returning again. Very disappointed by this new management and lack of hospitality/motivation to satisfy their consumers.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 30, 2017

very good mac and cheese. had reservation and got seated right on time. food came out fast. waitress did hit on my date, slightly uncomfortable. always came back to fill up our drinks. much appricated. overall 9/10 experience

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Fun, Waterfront, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 30, 2017

It was prom night, so crowded but that was ok. The food was average; tuna appetizer tasted 'fishy' which surely means it wasn't very fresh; the pizza was ok, but dry and not very flavorful.
Chicken pot pie good! but it was lukewarm and the chicken entree, which two of us ordered, was average. I give it a 3 out of 5. Service was great tho!!

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 25, 2017

Fun place, good food and greast specials, all dsy happy hour Sunday/Monday, great way to try lots of thier dishes at a fair price, try the crem brele for desert yummy!

Tags: Seasonal, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 24, 2017

Poor food, over cooked and wrong orders. Poor service, lack of attention and unfriendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 23, 2017

We had brunch and the service and food were both great. Will go back again!

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 17, 2017

We went on Easter. The host was very friendly and accommodating. The wait staff were all happy to help.
The food was good and a great assortment however, was luke warm when arrived. The vegetables were so so.
The drinks were trendy and fun. Coming back for lunch with friend from Hood River on Wed....

Tags: Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 17, 2017

Overall experience was ok. The food was good, but that's it. The wine selection was that as well, so I guess I should have expected that. An over done creme brulee with a weird sauce covering its nice crust was unfortunate. Wouldnt really recommend the place other than for drinks. Nice happy hour.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We went for Easter brunch. The buffet set up was cramped with only a few options. Grilled asparagus was burned and the bottomless mimosas were mostly orange pulp with little champagne.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 16, 2017

I love Brix! It's a large open space that feels very Northwest. We had Sunday brunch and the buffet was excellent. My favorite item was the eggs Benedict on polenta- yummy! It was pricey plus beverages were not included, so brunch for two ran close to $90. My only complaint is that we were seated near the door and it was quite chilly with the door opening frequently.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Modern Decor, Family Style, Romantic, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Second time (I think) at their Easter Brunch. It was great, as most experiences are at Brix. They do not have as many different items as somewhere like Salty's, but what they do, they do well. The salmon was great, but the prime rib was the highlight food-wise.

The service was excellent in a very busy atmosphere. The all-you-can-drink mimosas were worth it, my glass was filled again and again. The best thing, and a peeve about other brunch spots, they clear dirty dishes very quickly!

Tags: Bar Seating, Open Kitchen, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch, Live Sports, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Great atmosphere and loved the reggae music. Service was slow but made up for it in personality. Maybe short staffed that day?? Gonna make it a regular hangout

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Late-night Find, Casual, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Arturo, our server was fantastic. Amazing service. Fun atmosphere for brunch, great food and fantastic service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Our waiter David was awesome!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Have always loved this place. Only complaint this time is with the water main break we were told we couldn't have water. Understandable except that every other table had water and there were CASES of water bottles lining the edge of the room. We asked several times and were repeatedly told no. Not a huge deal, just didn't understand.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.