About Brix Tavern

1338 NW Hoyt St
Portland, OR 97209
View Larger Map

Brix Tavern marries enduring American comfort food with a classic tavern vibe. From the nostalgia of a Chicken Pot Pie to the savory flavors of Roasted Prime Rib, the menu is built around simple American cooking, enhanced with the freshest in local ingredients. Whether it's a quick bite for happy hour, a leisurely Sunday brunch, or a three course dinner, you are always welcome. Brix is sports friendly too offering discreetly placed HD TV's for catching your favorite game.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Comfort Food, Northwest

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday • 11:00am to Midnight
Friday • 11:00am - 1:00am
Saturday • 9:30am - 1:00am
Sunday • 9:30am - 11:00pm

Lunch
Mon – Fri • 11am – 3pm

Dinner
Everyday • 5pm - 9:30pm

Brunch
Sat & Sun • 9:30am – 3pm

Happy Hour
Everyday • 3pm – 6:30pm

Monday All Night Happy Hour
3pm – close

Late Night Happy Hour
Everyday • 9:30pm – close

Cross Street:
13th

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 943-5995

Website:
http://www.brixtavern.com/

Catering:
Pizza to go and brown bag lunches.

Parking Details:
Street and Pay to Park garages.

Public Transit:
NW 21st & Irving

Executive Chef:
Kevin Kennedy

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Delivery, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

Brix Tavern
Complimentary Doughnuts
Smoked Cheddar Fondue
Fennel Omelette
Donuts
Shrimp & Grits
Mango Bellini
Chicken Fried Chicken
Cheese Fondue For Two
Shrimp and Polenta
Lobster Macaroni and Cheese
Filet Oscar
Creamy Tomato Basil Soup
Pinot Grigio
Nectarine Infused Tequilla
Baked Truffled Mac & Cheese
Beet Salad
Arctic Cod Fish & Chips
Shrimp & Srab Omelettes
Spanish Coffee With 151
Strawberry Lemon Drop
Dinner Rolls with Roasted Garlic
Tomato Bisque Soup
Chicken Salad
Aztec Coffee
Steak
Spicy Sopressata And Basil Pizza
Southern Benedict
Brix Skillet
Rotisserie Turkey Breast Pot Pie
Prime Rib Dip
Beer

Private Dining

A semi-private loft is available for dining or watching a sporting event on the loft's private flat screen. The Whiskey Room: A private dining room for special events, can seat up to 30 guests. Back Dining Room: Can be reserved for parties of any size up to 100 people.

Brix Tavern Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.1

ambience

4.2

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Brunch
Portland / Oregon
Great for Brunch
Portland
Best Restaurants in Pearl District ›

good for groups (61)
great for brunch (54)
fit for foodies (48)
See All
neighborhood gem (33)
vibrant bar scene (29)
special occasion (27)
great for lunch (25)
hot spot (21)
kid-friendly (17)
late-night find (12)
notable wine list (5)
romantic (5)
great for outdoor dining (4)
scenic view (2)
Sort By:
Newest
670 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food, service, drinks, music.. ...

Dined 5 days ago

Excellent food, service, drinks, music...love this place. This was my 4th visit. I will definitely be back again!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Carly was a great server - very helpful ...

Dined 5 days ago

Carly was a great server - very helpful and energetic. Our food was delicious and came out quickly. We had 3 generations dining together, 70s,50,and late teens - all of us liked Brix. We were very impressed and will be back.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This place is great! The food was awesom ...

Dined on June 21, 2016

This place is great! The food was awesome,service was excellent,fun atmosphere,and some really good drinks. It's my new favorite place.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

My eggs benedict did not seem to have Ho ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

My eggs benedict did not seem to have Hollandaise sauce and the egg was not fully cooked.

Tags: good for groups
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

I have been to Brix Tavern for breakfast ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

I have been to Brix Tavern for breakfast before and enjoyed it. Our Father's Day experience left a lot to be desired. I think they overbooked the restaurant and couldn't handle the crowd.

food4
ambience3
service2
value4

Our reservation was for 9:30 we were not ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Our reservation was for 9:30 we were not seated until 9:45 and then the hostess that seated us told we had to be done before 10:30 because the table was reserved for a 10:30 reservation

food5
ambience5
service5

Great American bar food. Exceptional ser ...

vip
Dined on June 16, 2016

Great American bar food. Exceptional service, if you can get there during happy hour - their cheese pork dip and chips is a must!!! Great Moscow mules, too!

food5
ambience5
service5

My wife and I regularly dine at Brix Tav ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

My wife and I regularly dine at Brix Tavern. We love it. Be sure to try the Brix Chips; it is one of our favorite dishes.

food4
ambience3
service4

Lovely free fritter with our meal. Stuff ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Lovely free fritter with our meal. Stuffed French Toast was a large flavorless block. Atmosphere was a bit blah.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our service here was wonderful! I had be ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Our service here was wonderful! I had been to brix once before and our service had been beyond awful but this time our waitress Sam was beyond helpful, personable, and on top of her game! She alone would make me return

Tags: great for brunch
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

It was disappointing that our first gree ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

It was disappointing that our first greeting in the door was "this table needs to be clear by 11am." It almost made us reconsider our decision to eat here. Don't take brunch reservations via open table if you cannot accommodate your 4 guests for an hour meal. Our reservation was made via open table for a 10:15am time slot and we were on time.

Tags: great for brunch
food4
ambience5
service5

Our server went out of her way to make s ...

Dined on May 29, 2016

Our server went out of her way to make sure our 2 year old daughter was made to feel like a customer.

food1
ambience2
service3

I wanted to like Brix, but the breakfast ...

vip
Dined on May 29, 2016

I wanted to like Brix, but the breakfast wasn't all that good. The service was friendly and overall it was just OK. Probably won't be back for breaky.

food5
ambience4
service5

Great service from Rachel! Always paying ...

vip
Dined on May 22, 2016

Great service from Rachel! Always paying attention to the table.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

They easily accommodated our large group ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

They easily accommodated our large group. The food was delicious and we look forward to dining there again.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service4

What stood out was the friendly service ...

Dined on May 16, 2016

What stood out was the friendly service provided by our food server. He was attentive and knowledgeable about the menu items and beverages.

food3
ambience3
service4
value4

Good Food and Service

vip
Dined on May 12, 2016

We both had salads, and were very pleased. The garlic potato soup was also good. The servers were very friendly and helpful.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Disappointed

Dined on May 9, 2016

In Portland for a short visit and made dinner reservations at Brix Tavern for Mother's Day......and how we wished we hadn't! Very disappointing meal. The ambiance was nice enough, a casual lofty dining area which we anticipated. The service was very good and server quite pleasant; however, the food items/taste were the most disappointing. Mac n Cheese for $15 was mainly creme sauce without much pasta. Definitely not worth $15. The prime rib was grisly and the sauce that was poured over it overpowered the meat and just tasted out of place-whatever it was. Thought we couldn't go wrong with the desserts, but again-overall, fairly tasteless and bland. Not worth the trip, we assure you. So many better restaurants to experience.

Tags: good for groups, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

First Mothers Day

Dined on May 8, 2016

Overall this was a wonderful experience. The only downfall would be the greeters. All three women who were working were very curt, cold, and irritable. We asked for a different table, since we have a small child, and the lady who was seating us definitely made it obvious that she either hated her job or wanted us to know we were inconveniencing her.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful place + yummy food= perfect combo!

Dined on May 8, 2016

We had 5 adults and two small children (ages 2 and 4) in our group for Mother's Day brunch. The atmosphere was perfect! The music was almost jazzy and relaxing (not sure if this was something different than usual since it was Mother's Day). It wasn't too loud so everyone could hear one another. My mother was so very happy and complimenting the atmosphere and food the entire time :). The food was absolutely amazing! My favorite was the salmon with cucumbers! I couldn't get enough of it! What is the best about the brunch is the fact that there are so many choices. Everyone at the table found lots of choices they liked and there was even dessert! The kids ate beforehand but there seemed to be great fruit choices, cute yummy mini muffins, ie good options for the kids as well. Make sure to come hungry so you can enjoy everything and not miss the desserts (the little cheesecakes they have are delightful). Definitely worth checking out!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5

We had brunch at Brix on Mother's Day an ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

We had brunch at Brix on Mother's Day and the food AND service were amazing! Our server was incredible and never missed a beat. She was right on top of refills and she was eager to help us with special requests. I'd highly recommend Brix!

food5
ambience4
service4

Basically everything that the table had ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

Basically everything that the table had ordered was absolutely mind blowing. Brix may be one of the best places I've ever eaten. They just seemed understaffed, but with neverending mimosas for brunch I can wait. ;)

food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Good food, meh service

Dined on May 7, 2016

I've been to Brix a few times in the past and always enjoyed my experiences so I'm willing to chalk this up to an off day, some off people and a busy restaurant. I took my mom in for an early Mother's Day brunch, and we arrived for our 11:30 reservation at almost exactly 11:30. We were shown to our table, directly next to the server station, complete with a stack of closed out tabs, where the hostess promptly informed us of when she would "need the table back". I'm not sure about anybody else, but I do not enjoy starting my meal out with a timer running. It was completely unnecessary and I considered it to be rude. We sat there for some time before our waitress came over to take our drink order and being a nice warm day we were both in need of some water, which I had to request after she brought our drinks to us. It was also quite a while after that before she came back to take our food orders. Not normally an issue but to have delays like that on top of this desire that we "give them back the table" at a certain time was a bit annoying. After taking our orders she never did bring us the complimentary little donuts they have at Brix (which I probably only cared about because I was starving and pregnant...never a good combo). Overall it was like we were sort of pushed into a corner and forgotten. I never received a single refill of either my water or my iced tea and frankly I didn't even blame the waitress. They had her all over the restaurant inside and outside, I'm sure we weren't the only table receiving sub-par service that day. On the flip side, the food was still very good - the primary reason I'd consider coming back. Like I said, I'm willing to chalk it up to a bad day and a bad hostess but I was not pleased with my experience in the least.

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch
food4
ambience5
service2
value5

I made a reservation in the morning for ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

I made a reservation in the morning for brunch on the Saturday before Mother's Day. I called to say we would be 5 minutes late and they were accommodating. We got there and then waited ten minutes for them to seat is for our reservation where our hostess told us that they had a reservation after us in 1:15 minutes. She was rude and short, and I have never been told at any restaurant that we were on a time limit. It ruined our initial mood for a nice Mother's Day brunch I had planned for my mom. Other then that the food was good, I was just expecting better service.

Tags: great for brunch
food2
ambience5
service5

Brunch gets busy here and they have an e ...

Dined on May 1, 2016

Brunch gets busy here and they have an extensive menu. Plates are big portions with the exception of mine which is ok. Great for big groups

food5
ambience5
service5

We are regulars at Brix Tavern, and we l ...

Dined on May 1, 2016

We are regulars at Brix Tavern, and we love it.

food3
ambience3
service1
value2

April 30th Dinner

Dined on May 1, 2016

I took our neighbors there since my wife were told how good it is about three weeks ago, and have gone there (5) times. Unfortunately this time, food was mediocre, pizza (artichoke and sausage) hardly had any sausage. Won't go there for pizza. I love there tomato bisque soup, and my fish and chips were great. Service was fair, seemed short on servers, seemed rushed.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Intoxicated pool players

Dined on April 24, 2016

We enjoy Brix as a rule however the night we were there, they allowed some intoxicated people to play pool. They constantly were inches away from peoples heads with the pool cues. It was obvious the people just did not give a care. Talked to host, said they would take care of it. They did not. Uncool Brix, uncool.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

The delightful experience given to us by ...

Dined on April 23, 2016

The delightful experience given to us by our server Sam. She was absolutely excellent.

food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Super Yum

Dined on April 17, 2016

I've been here for brunch on two separate occasions and both times were amazing. First round I went savory and although I had a slight hurdle for wanting ingredients out of my skillet, it was too delicious to complain about anything. Second time, this past weekend, I went sweet with the stuffed French toast which is giant and super yum. Bonus, you get to color on the paper covered tables!

Tags: great for brunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Okay to below average

Dined on April 17, 2016

The restaurant itself is spacious and decorated nicely. The food itself was not good. Chicken fried chicken was very overcooked and hard. Shrimp and crab omelette was dry and needs sauce or flavoring. Shrimp and crab was ground up and stuffed inside a plain egg omelette. It was all just okay to below average. Unless you are desperate for a place to meet a large group where they take reservations then I would not recommend. Waitress was good but forgot about refilling water, etc.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Brunch

Dined on April 10, 2016

The food and drinks are very enjoyable. The donuts are a delicious bonus. Very reasonably priced. Service was outstanding.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Great brunch!

Dined on April 10, 2016

Great brunch menu with $9 bottomless mimosas! Awesome service and amazing food.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great spot

Dined on April 5, 2016

Great food. Great happy hour deals on Mondays! Great quality!

Tags: great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Great Brunch + Late Night Spot!

Dined on April 3, 2016

Food is reasonably priced but great quality. Servers are friendly, and the complimentary donuts are delicious!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Absolutely fantastic!! You can't go wron ...

Dined on April 2, 2016

Absolutely fantastic!! You can't go wrong with the eggs Benedict!! And bottomless mimosas for brunch are a must!

food5
ambience5
service5

We love this place and frequent this res ...

Dined on March 27, 2016

We love this place and frequent this restaurant often, holidays included. We take all guests staying with us there as well. The staff are always attentive and efficient (which is hard to find in Portland sometimes!) The food is very good and the happy hour is the best!!!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Bubbly Easter Brunch!

Dined on March 27, 2016

My husband and I went to Brix Tavern for Easter Brunch, and it was fabulous! The menu was delicious, and the mimosas kept coming! Great ambiance, and the service was top-notch! Can't wait to go back!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great server. Food is excellent every ti ...

Dined on March 26, 2016

Great server. Food is excellent every time... Free donuts while you order and 9 dollar BOTTOMLESS mimosas! Great brunch spot and we LOVE that we can make a reservation.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our waiter was great and the food was ou ...

Dined on March 26, 2016

Our waiter was great and the food was outstanding. Went in expection typical bar food

Tags: fit for foodies, vibrant bar scene

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.