About Brix Tavern

1338 NW Hoyt St
Portland, OR 97209
View Larger Map

Brix Tavern marries enduring American comfort food with a classic tavern vibe. From the nostalgia of a Chicken Pot Pie to the savory flavors of Roasted Prime Rib, the menu is built around simple American cooking, enhanced with the freshest in local ingredients. Whether it's a quick bite for happy hour, a leisurely Sunday brunch, or a three course dinner, you are always welcome. Brix is sports friendly too offering discreetly placed HD TV's for catching your favorite game.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Comfort Food, Northwest

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday • 11:00am to Midnight
Friday • 11:00am - 1:00am
Saturday • 9:30am - 1:00am
Sunday • 9:30am - 11:00pm

Lunch
Mon – Fri • 11am – 3pm

Dinner
Everyday • 5pm - 9:30pm

Brunch
Sat & Sun • 9:30am – 3pm

Happy Hour
Everyday • 3pm – 6:30pm

Monday All Night Happy Hour
3pm – close

Late Night Happy Hour
Everyday • 9:30pm – close

Cross Street:
13th

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 943-5995

Website:
http://www.brixtavern.com/

Catering:
Pizza to go and brown bag lunches.

Parking Details:
Street and Pay to Park garages.

Public Transit:
NW 21st & Irving

Executive Chef:
Kevin Kennedy

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Delivery, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Brix Tavern
Complimentary Doughnuts
Smoked Cheddar Fondue
Fennel Omelette
Donuts
Mango Bellini
Shrimp & Grits
Chicken Fried Chicken
Cheese Fondue For Two
Lobster Macaroni and Cheese
Shrimp and Polenta
Filet Oscar
Creamy Tomato Basil Soup
Nectarine Infused Tequilla
Pinot Grigio
Baked Truffled Mac & Cheese
Beet Salad
Arctic Cod Fish & Chips
Shrimp & Srab Omelettes
Spanish Coffee With 151
Strawberry Lemon Drop
Dinner Rolls with Roasted Garlic
Aztec Coffee
Chicken Salad
Tomato Bisque Soup
Steak
Spicy Sopressata And Basil Pizza
Southern Benedict
Brix Skillet
Rotisserie Turkey Breast Pot Pie
Prime Rib Dip
Beer

Private Dining

A semi-private loft is available for dining or watching a sporting event on the loft's private flat screen. The Whiskey Room: A private dining room for special events, can seat up to 30 guests. Back Dining Room: Can be reserved for parties of any size up to 100 people.

Brix Tavern Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.2

ambience

4.2

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Groups (48)
Great for Brunch (36)
Fit for Foodies (26)
See All
Special Occasion (26)
Vibrant Bar Scene (22)
Great for Lunch (21)
Neighborhood Gem (21)
Hot Spot (15)
Kid-friendly (14)
Great for Outdoor Dining (8)
Late-night Find (4)
Romantic (4)
Scenic View (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Sort By:
Newest
693 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The food was mediocre, really nothing sp ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

The food was mediocre, really nothing special especially in a town where brunch is quickly becoming the hottest meal. We ordered the eggs Benedict, and while I was expecting unconventional, it needed more seasoning. Service was great so was Bloody Mary, but the food was just bland.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5

We had brunch here and the waitress was ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

We had brunch here and the waitress was nice but rarely checked in with us. Other than that, satisfied with the food and mimosas

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Great place and would come back. My foo ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Great place and would come back. My food was cold when I received it. Our orders came out quickly which made me think mine had been sitting for a while.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

Excellent food and drinks. The brunch an ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Excellent food and drinks. The brunch and service was amazing. Complimentary donuts were warm and absolutely mouth watering. Our bottomless mimosa glasses were never empty, despite them being completely booked.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great place to be with friends, lots of ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Great place to be with friends, lots of happy hour items and drinks to choose from and if you're looking for something off the regular menu it doesn't disappoint either!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

Great service! We could enjoy happy hour ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Great service! We could enjoy happy hour with the kids and then go wander first Thursday. Fabulous find. Kids meals very small - just order off great happy hour menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We brought out of town family here for b ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

We brought out of town family here for brunch and everyone loved it! There was something for everyone and a few of us got the bottomless mimosas. At the end of the meal our server was happy to split our bill up how we needed it so that was a plus.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had high hopes for Brix. The ambiance ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

I had high hopes for Brix. The ambiance was lovely, and being served warm donuts when we sat down was a special treat. But the four of us in our party were pretty disappointed with our meals. My salmon eggs benedict was bland and a little dry. The hollandaise may have been forgotten...not sure. My fiance's chicken fried chicken was dry and lacked seasoning. My friend's seafood omelet looked beautiful but was overcooked, and the crab and shrimp were overwhelmed by lots and lots of cheese. The hashbrowns with each of our dishes were great, though. Not greasy at all, which was nice. We had great service, and again, loved the atmosphere. But my fiance and I made the reservation to try out Brix as we were planning to have our brunch wedding at Urban Studio and catered by Pearl Catering. We thought we'd try brunch and see how it was. Given our experience at Brix, we are rethinking our wedding venue. The meal is the centerpiece of our wedding celebration, and we want it to be outstanding.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

We had a group of 16 for brunch (with bo ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

We had a group of 16 for brunch (with bottomless mimosas) and the service was wonderful!!! Our waiter was awesome. Very friendly and tolerant of our antics. The food was great for a GREAT price and my bloody was to die for. I will definitely be back.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Brice is always a safe bet for food and ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Brice is always a safe bet for food and drinks. Good deal and good location. I will be back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

We had friends visiting from Denver and ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

We had friends visiting from Denver and took them here. Great ambience, food, and service. Would go there anytime.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Nice and friendly spot for a Sunday brun ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Nice and friendly spot for a Sunday brunch. Drinks were pleasantly strong, the donuts that showed up unexpectedly were phenomenal (miiiight have kicked the sauce off the plate, maybe), and our brunch entrees were all excellent. Would definitely go back again if I'm ever in PDX.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My friend bailed on me so they graciousl ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

My friend bailed on me so they graciously sat my single self at a table, albeit a corner high top in the back, heh. Jordan the waitress was friendly and attentive, and so was the... maitre de? He might have been the manager. I felt welcome even though I was the only diner alone at my table. Thank you for that.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Came back to Brix after great experience ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Came back to Brix after great experience several months ago. Entertained family from Seattle. They loved it as much as we do. We'll come back for the evening menu next time.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A great place for good food and excellen ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

A great place for good food and excellent service. Good variety of meal options, most people wouldn't have any problem finding something wonderful! Very comfortable environment.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We went to Brix before a comedy show and ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

We went to Brix before a comedy show and caught the last part of their happy hour. The staff was excellent and the food was great. My only complaint would be that I ordered a specialty happy hour "martini" (mango puree' spicy vodka) and there was barely any vodka. Usually martinis are predominately alcohol, but beware that they hold back on their happy hour menu for that. I would order wine or beer next time to get my money's worth (although happy hour beer and wine was also $5 or more).

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Great brunch and bottomless mimosas. Per ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Great brunch and bottomless mimosas. Perfect place to treat our friend for her birthday.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

We were definitely disappointed by the f ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

We were definitely disappointed by the food at Brix. The food was just not that good. It was not worth the trip. The food descriptions on the menu made everything sound SO good. We had a gift card so we went for it. And, nothing was really very good at all. The burger was only fine although we could tell it was made with quality meat. The Reuben was very difficult to eat. the apples were too thick so popped out when you tried to take a bite and the flavor was nothing special. The tater tots tasted of old oil. And, the pork nachos did not taste like something that was made fresh. (Although the sauce around the edge of the nachos was yummy.) The cilantro crema was sour cream with a little cilantro in it.

Just blah all around.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

This was a really weird dining experienc ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

This was a really weird dining experience. I made reservations and came about 30 minutes early to just see if we could be seated early. The restaurant was about half full and I was told they need 5-10 minutes to get the table set-up. I noticed that the table we ended up being sat at was already set, so I am confused about what the wait was for. The waitstaff was just unusual. The bartender ended up taking out order (because he asked if he were ready) and then he didn't even have anything to write down our order. Overall, the staff just seemed liked they had no structure and didn't really know what they were doing.

Brix was overall okay. Just good. That being said, I probably will not return anytime soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

I went there for my 30th birthday. The ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

I went there for my 30th birthday. The food was great and the atmosphere was very relaxing. And the pork ribs were to die for!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

There were only two servers covering the ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

There were only two servers covering the entire restaurant. When we had not even received menus after 20 minutes, we decided to leave.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1

Bartender was very attentive and nice an ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Bartender was very attentive and nice and was our waiter in the bar!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food, service, drinks, music.. ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Excellent food, service, drinks, music...love this place. This was my 4th visit. I will definitely be back again!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Carly was a great server - very helpful ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Carly was a great server - very helpful and energetic. Our food was delicious and came out quickly. We had 3 generations dining together, 70s,50,and late teens - all of us liked Brix. We were very impressed and will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This place is great! The food was awesom ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

This place is great! The food was awesome,service was excellent,fun atmosphere,and some really good drinks. It's my new favorite place.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My eggs benedict did not seem to have Ho ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

My eggs benedict did not seem to have Hollandaise sauce and the egg was not fully cooked.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Great spot for a big group for Father's ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Great spot for a big group for Father's Day brunch. Open, airy and the food is always delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I have been to Brix Tavern for breakfast ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

I have been to Brix Tavern for breakfast before and enjoyed it. Our Father's Day experience left a lot to be desired. I think they overbooked the restaurant and couldn't handle the crowd.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Our reservation was for 9:30 we were not ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Our reservation was for 9:30 we were not seated until 9:45 and then the hostess that seated us told we had to be done before 10:30 because the table was reserved for a 10:30 reservation

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value4

Great American bar food. Exceptional ser ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

Great American bar food. Exceptional service, if you can get there during happy hour - their cheese pork dip and chips is a must!!!

Great Moscow mules, too!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My wife and I regularly dine at Brix Tav ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

My wife and I regularly dine at Brix Tavern. We love it. Be sure to try the Brix Chips; it is one of our favorite dishes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Lovely free fritter with our meal. Stuff ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Lovely free fritter with our meal. Stuffed French Toast was a large flavorless block. Atmosphere was a bit blah.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Our service here was wonderful! I had be ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Our service here was wonderful! I had been to brix once before and our service had been beyond awful but this time our waitress Sam was beyond helpful, personable, and on top of her game! She alone would make me return

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It was disappointing that our first gree ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

It was disappointing that our first greeting in the door was "this table needs to be clear by 11am." It almost made us reconsider our decision to eat here.

Don't take brunch reservations via open table if you cannot accommodate your 4 guests for an hour meal. Our reservation was made via open table for a 10:15am time slot and we were on time.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Our server went out of her way to make s ...

 
 (Idaho)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Our server went out of her way to make sure our 2 year old daughter was made to feel like a customer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

I wanted to like Brix, but the breakfast ...

vip
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

I wanted to like Brix, but the breakfast wasn't all that good. The service was friendly and overall it was just OK. Probably won't be back for breaky.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3

Great service from Rachel! Always paying ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Great service from Rachel! Always paying attention to the table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

They easily accommodated our large group ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

They easily accommodated our large group. The food was delicious and we look forward to dining there again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What stood out was the friendly service ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on May 16, 2016

What stood out was the friendly service provided by our food server. He was attentive and knowledgeable about the menu items and beverages.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Good Food and Service

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on May 12, 2016

We both had salads, and were very pleased. The garlic potato soup was also good. The servers were very friendly and helpful.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.