About Bridgetown Mill House

760 Langhorne-Newtown Road
Langhorne, PA 19047
View Larger Map

Enjoy outstanding New American Continental cuisine while dining at this charming historic Bucks County Inn (c1791). The Bridgetown Mill House offers 2 dining rooms seating up to 75 guests & 2 private rooms, the Great Hall, seating up to 30 guests and the Main Dining Room seating up to 50 guests. In addition to regular seasonal menus, a Tapas menu is offered on the outdoor brick patio seasonally. Zagat Survey rated Excellent 2003 thru present. We do offer bottle service.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, French American, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service

Hours of Operation:
Hours of Operation:
Tuesday-Friday

5:00pm-10:00pm and from 11:00am for private Party/Function only.
Saturday

From 11:00am (Private party/ Functions only) and Dinner 5:00pm-10:00pm

Fall & Winter : Sunday open for Private Funсtions only.
Spring & Summer: Sunday 2:00pm-8:00pm

We are open on Monday’s for Private Funсtions only.
The Inn is open for Lodging 7 days a week.

Cross Street:
Bridgetown Pike

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(215) 752-8996

Website:
http://www.bridgetownmillhouse.com/

Parking Details:
Bridgetown Mill House offers 2 private lots with 85 spaces

Executive Chef:
Every Friday and Saturday Chefs specials.

Private Party Facilities:
Bridgetown Mill House can accommodate private affairs from 10 to 250 guests. For affairs over 100 guests we offer an Outdoor Tent Wedding. Please call for details.

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), View, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We are the perfect venue for weddings, showers, rehearsal dinners and business meetings. We have 2 private dining rooms that can each accommodate 24-50 guests and we accommodate outdoor tented affairs from 100 to 250 guests.

Restaurant Photos

Bridgetown Mill House Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4

service

4.2

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

special occasion (10)
romantic (8)
great for outdoor dining (4)
See All
neighborhood gem (4)
fit for foodies (3)
scenic view (2)
great for brunch (1)
good for groups (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
Newest
251 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wasn't sure what to expect - heard there ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Wasn't sure what to expect - heard there were new owners - well we were more than pleasantly surprised!... Everything was terrific! Don't know how it could have been better!... We first sat at the outside bar, which was exceptional - the scenery is just terrific - we were going to have dinner out there too but it was a little too chilly - we moved inside - which was just beautiful! Our meals (there were six of us) were all fabulous!.... Can't wait to get back there!... We were told they will have live music on Fridays starting in June!... That's where you will find us!!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was great. Service was outstanding. ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Food was great. Service was outstanding. Was just there yesterday, and already told several people about the experience. We'll be coming back!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful people, wonderful food.

Dined on May 7, 2016

My wife and I went there on a whim for a "date night." The service was absolutely outstanding. We weren't just assigned one waitperson, but every waitperson there ensured that we had anything and everything we needed, but they were not overbearing in any way. Wonderful. The food was excellent. I think my wife actually considered licking the plate! Would highly recommend.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food1
ambience2
service3

Needs some serious help in the kitchen.

vip
Dined on May 6, 2016

Needs some serious help in the kitchen.

food5
ambience5
service5

Great under appreciated place. Try it!

Dined on May 5, 2016

Great under appreciated place. Try it!

food1
ambience3
service4
value1

Bad visit. very disappointing.

vip
Dined on April 23, 2016

This was not a good visit this time. Our 2 fillets were very fatty without much taste. Our 2 lamb dishes were tough, very hard to cut. Crab cake app. was very good. Onion soup was thin, not much cheese on top. Did a new chef come on? Something was really off here. We have dined many times at this restaurant and my party was very turned off as this was their first visit and we had touted it as wonderful.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Easter Sunday Dinner

vip
Dined on March 27, 2016

We had a lovely time on Easter Sunday. We had a 3pm reservation, so the restaurant was nice and quiet at that time. We sat in the large dining room with the fireplace. It has lots of big windows and it was a beautiful sunny day. The view was very nice looking out to the outdoor dining space and beyond. The food was delicious too. We had ordered meat and fish which were done very nicely. The Steakhouse salad was excellent. It's like a wedge salad, with tender steak pieces on it. I totally recommend it! Our service was excellent, very attentive to our needs. They really took good care of us!

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5

Booked a party of six for my wife's birt ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

Booked a party of six for my wife's birthday. We were given a good table and the service was above average. The wine selection was adequate and the mixed drinks quite good. The food itself was very good except the soups weren't hot, and that was clear amongst everyone in our group. Also, be careful of the menu posted on OpenTable - it isn't the same as the one actually used in service. This was especially problematic for one of our gang who happens to be a vegetarian. Otherwise and overall a pretty good place to have a quiet dinner with friends and family.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Critique

Dined on February 12, 2016

We have enjoyed dinner on several occasions at the Bridgetown. We have had Nancy as our server and she has always made our visit a happy and comfortable evening. The ambiance is pleasant and dining pleasurable. Menu offers just enough varied choices with something for everyone. The preparation and presentation is eye appealing. We look forward to our next visit.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5

Dinner was fantastic and the service was ...

vip
Dined on January 22, 2016

Dinner was fantastic and the service was exceptional! Beautiful ambience!

food2
ambience4
service5
value3

Wonderful staff. Sub-par food

Dined on December 19, 2015

I have been here twice before, and have really enjoyed it. The food, albeit expensive, was always delicious. This visit, however, the food was not good. Two of us got the black and bleu steak. One medium well, one medium rare. They both came out cooked the same, and they were very fatty and bland. The warm potato salad that came with it, was the only good part of the dish. Shrimp scampi, that someone else had, was just okay as well. Shrimp was obviously cooked from frozen, and was tough. The filet mignon was not seasoned at all, and was not tender. The staff was very friendly, however, they made us delicious cocktails, and were attentive. At this price point, however, I will not be back. The food should reflect the exorbitant price, and it did not.

food5
ambience4
service5

Room was beautiful with a working firepl ...

Dined on November 15, 2015

Room was beautiful with a working fireplace. The table was set elegantly. Our server, Nancy was helpful with the menu and our selections were delicious. We will definitely go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food3
ambience5
service5

A mid week visit so it was quiet. Our s ...

Dined on November 5, 2015

A mid week visit so it was quiet. Our server Nancy was great, very friendly and very helpful with the menu. My husband had the filet which was cooked perfectly however the sauce tasted like bullion. My steak, a New York strip was overly fatty. The crab cake app was excellent as was the apple dessert.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

The meal was amazing. I went for our wed ...

Dined on October 28, 2015

The meal was amazing. I went for our wedding anniversary dinner and it was worth the money spent.

food3
ambience5
service5

it was okay

Dined on October 14, 2015

Expensive for a weekday dinner. Food was mediocre. Service was great! Charming decor.

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Charmimg vintage setting

vip
Dined on September 27, 2015

Very nice setting an a vintage stone colonial. There are bedroom on the second floor for use with the bed and breakfast options. The dining rooms are interesting and clean with coaches and areas to relax before and after the meal . The menu options were good and the food very good and presented in a very beautiful manner. There are outdoor spaces for seating as well overlooking the scenic grounds. Very nice experience overall.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5

Excellent Pork Chop special!

vip
Dined on July 23, 2015

Our meal and service were wonderful. The French Onion soup and Pork Chop special were awesome!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience2
service2

Over-priced for what you get

Dined on July 18, 2015

This place has a LOT of potential... the charm of the old stone house, a large patio with a fun bar. BUT, it just feels poorly-run. The patio needs a thorough cleaning and redo (I'm sure this is a result of the creek flooding) and the seating is uncomfortable. We had three servers (which was confusing) and only one was good. The food was pretty good but NOT worth the price. Even the menus looked unprofessional and the wine list was unimpressive. I won't waste my money on this place again - unfortunately - unless management changes. There aren't enough places for outdoor dining in Langhorne, and this place blew it.

food5
ambience5
service5

Beautiful summer eve meal on the patio.

Dined on May 31, 2015

Food and service always first class! This is a gem worth visiting any season

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5

Outstanding Service

Dined on April 18, 2015

On a whim, my wife and I decided to have a night out, and we were very pleased with our visit to Bridgetown Mill House. From the moment we arrived, the staff were inviting, friendly, informative and accommodating. Our food was very good (carrot with crab soup, crab cake appetizer, duck breast and filet mignon), but the stars were the servers and the setting. The inside seating was very charming, but I can't wait to return to dine on the patio.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, scenic view
food1
ambience2
service1

I am so sorry we went

Dined on April 5, 2015

We have eaten at this restaurant many times and we have put up visitors at the inn. So many times we have been pleases. There were times that things were less satisfactory than others, but in general it was always a pleasant experience. So much has changed! We were there for Easter brunch. There were many people there, but none of them knew what they were doing. The food was bland and some items were not at all what was described on the menu. Very disappointing. I do not think the new owners will survive and this beautiful building will go to ruin. Sad

food5
ambience5
service5

A gem!

Dined on March 28, 2015

A wonderful intimate restaurant with well prepared classic dishes. A rare find

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

A Hidden Gem

Dined on February 15, 2015

Last year my husband and I were married at Bridgetown Mill House. Everyone still speaks of the awesome dinner they had at our wedding last year! This year we returned to celebrate our one year wedding anniversary. We found the Inn changed owners since we were there last but the quality, attention, and ambiance never changed. The food is out of this world! The staff is very attentive and friendly. We absolutely recommend the Bridgetown Mill House. We will definitely return for some marvelous food, ambiance and company.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food1
ambience2
service3

Out of food!

Dined on February 15, 2015

We made a 7PM reservation, and when we arrived, it was very crowded, with people standing in the lobby. We were flippantly told by the hostess that we would have to wait at least 30 minutes for our table, but if we wanted to leave, she "would understand". What is the purpose of a reservation? We made it through Open Table over a month ago. Finally, 45 minutes later, we were seated. Two of the entrees my husband chose were not available - they had run out. I picked medallions of beef as my entree. The soup and salad courses arrived, and 30 minutes after they were finished, the waiter came to tell us that they had run out of the medallions also, and I would have to order something else. No thank you! We paid for our drinks and left. Ended up having scrambled eggs at home. Whomever is ordering food for what was a simple three course menu managed to ruin the night for many people. We got engaged at this restaurant seven years ago, and return every year for Valentine's Day. The waiter said these were new owners with little experience, and it shows. Never again!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service1

Good food, but no clue how to serve it.

Dined on February 14, 2015

The atmosphere was nice and the guys was really good. Our dining experience lasted a total of three hours because the service was the worst I have ever seen. We waited forty minutes just to get bread. The strange part is that I would go back, just not for a special occasion, like Valentine's day. If the management could figure out how to serve the food without their staff looking like chickens with their heads cut off, this place would be amazing.

food3
ambience3
service4

Not overwhelmed

Dined on February 14, 2015

I would not recommend a holiday such as Valentine's as the first experience. It was too crowded, drafty next to the old door, and food choices were getting limited as the night went on. I think it was a bit pricy for what was served. I've had much better and cheaper. It would have been nice if the coffee was served with the dessert - instead the dessert came after I drank the coffee - 15 minutes later ?? why??? They need a better system for greeting and handling the checks at the end.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food1
ambience3
service1

Check Please!

Dined on February 14, 2015

Unfortunately it seems that the Inn is under new management, and I am using that term lightly. Thank goodness for the beautiful view because after that it was all down hill. I've been to the Inn before and never had an issue, however that was not the case on this visit. We were left sitting and waiting for over an hour for our entree. The water was never refilled and after waiting over a half hour for our overpriced drink order, we were never approached again. The entree came and was almost frozen in the center. We asked to see a manager who was also the hostess. She approached the table with an unsympathetic tone; stuck her finger in my tuna and let us know "sir, this is cold not frozen." Since it was clear that the customer was not a priority we chose to leave. Check Please! This beautiful historic Inn is a gem for Bucks County and it is disappointing at best that the new ownership has put quantity over quality.

Tags: scenic view
food2
ambience4
service2

not what I expected

Dined on February 13, 2015

I had heard great reviews if this place online and from friends. Experience didn't start off great when hostess and manager gave us attitude upon arrival. Ambiance and server were very nice. I ordered the swordfish and it was the most awful and overcooked piece of food I have ever had. Very unfortunate. They offered to comp a desert but at that point we were ready to leave.

Tags: romantic
food3
ambience4
service4

Not for the price

vip
Dined on December 31, 2014

Food was decent but should have been a lot better at this price point

Tags: scenic view
food3
ambience3
service4

What, no fireplace?

Dined on December 25, 2014

I choose the Bridgetown Manor because it was historical and had a fireplace for added coziness but unfortunately we were not seated in the main dining room. Instead we were seated in a side room with two other parties. It was not a horrible room, but much of the charm was lost. The food was average. I had a lobster bisque which had an up charge of $2 compared to the soup du jour, but did not have enough meat in it to warrant the $9 total charge. The duck was fair, the fat was not seared and was just a blubbery mess attached to the meat. I wouldn't say this place was fit for foodies, but the service was good so I give it an average rating. The rose at the end of dinner was a nice touch for a Christmas treat.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service4

No seasonal main course

Dined on December 25, 2014

Everything was very good to excellent-decor, staff service, music, ambience, etc. But--there was one glaring omission, no Xmas fare on menu. When reservations for Xmas dinner were made, we were assured there would be seasonal items, in addition to regular menu, on the blackboard out front. Expecting some traditional Xmas fare, there was instead roast pork (more for New Year's) and prongs (they misspelled prawns). No roast beef, ham, or turkey; no sweet potatoes, string beans, mushrooms, etc and the only soup being lobster. One Xmas season dessert was chocolate pecan pie(on regular menu) but no mince, apple, or pumpkin. The other problem was that staff were not adequately informed about what was not available on the regular menu. And--we were told they had run out squash and all sorbets for dessert; strange, since the restauranta had only been open 45 minutes.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience4
service5

Lovely Christmas Dinner

Dined on December 25, 2014

Our Christmas Day visit was wonderful! Front staff was a tiny bit harried when we first arrived, but soon found their stride. Everything went exceptionally well during our meal. There was a special Christmas menu with a wide selection of entrees (vegetarian, seafood, pork, beef and poultry). Our table had each chosen different entrees: Ahi Tuna, Caramelized Pork Chop, Pan Seared Salmon, and Filet Mignon. Everything was expertly prepared and plated beautifully leaving the 4 of us very happy and satisfied. The service was VIP all the way, with the right level of attentiveness and also respectful distance when we were dining. At the conclusion of our meal, the ladies at our table were each presented a beautiful pink long-stemmed rose. It was a charming gesture after a lovely visit!

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience3
service4

Old and new again

Dined on December 25, 2014

Bridgetown Mill House is an old restaurant in a very old building, but is recently under new ownership who have yet to put their distinctive mark on this establishment. My recent experience was generally good (not great) on all counts except "ambience," due to the room in which I was seated. In addition to a large and attractive main dining room, there is a smaller "overflow" room in which I was seated. It has none of the charm of the main dining room, and serves as the only entrance-&-exit point for the main room, so there is an unending stream of traffic -- customers and servers -- parading back-&-forth through this small room, providing the feel of dining in a busy hallway. When making reservations, request (indeed, insist upon) guaranteed seating in the main dining room and, if that isn't possible, go elsewhere for dinner. With that caveat, I would certainly return to (or recommend) the Bridgetown Mill House Inn.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food3
ambience4
service1

Great promise, but...

vip
Dined on November 29, 2014

We have dined here off an on over the years and under different owners. It is a charming spot, not unlike a wonderful destination inn in the French countryside. We had a family dinner Friday after Thanksgiving. The table was well set. There was a fire in the fireplace. But the staff were both too few and with one exception too untrained to manage our party. They had to take our order twice and still made a mistake. The food was delayed almost an hour and a half. And although most meals were fine, the chicken was tough and tasteless. They recognized their deficiencies and apologized and to their credit gave us a discount card for our next visit. We do not expect to use it. They need adequate numbers of adequately trained staff and more consistency in the kitchen for real success.

food4
ambience5
service5

What a wonderful hidden gem right on Rou ...

Dined on November 9, 2014

What a wonderful hidden gem right on Route 413 in Langhorne. Under new ownership and now open on Sundays for Brunch and Dinner. Great menu planned for Thanksgiving if you are looking to get out.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service5

My husband and I dined here for our 5th ...

Dined on November 8, 2014

My husband and I dined here for our 5th anniversary. It was a wonderful experience - exceptional service, great food, and such a unique and lovely ambiance! We will absolutely be back and have already recommended it to others!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience5
service5

Lovely ambiance. Good solid food. Mildly ...

Dined on September 2, 2014

Lovely ambiance. Good solid food. Mildly spiced with mild sauces.

Tags: good for groups, romantic
food1
ambience5
service2

The place was beautiful beautiful scener ...

vip
Dined on August 23, 2014

The place was beautiful beautiful scenery beautiful inside just wish the food measured up don't think I will be going back any time soon

food5
ambience5
service5

One of our favorites

Dined on August 22, 2014

We've been here a few times now and love it every time. The service is always excellent and the food is always great. They have a beautiful fire place in the winter and probably the nicest outdoor dining in the area during the warmer months. We will def be back

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4

Outdoor dining at its best!

vip
Dined on August 17, 2014

We sat outside on the patio on the best night of the summer. Absolutely gorgeous weather along with absolutely amazing food. My husband got the filet mignon and said it was one of the best he's ever tasted. I am gluten free and the waitress did all she could to accommodate me. She was happy to discuss it with the chef to make sure I wasn't getting anything with wheat in it. They also had the most amazing gluten free chocolate cake, it was rich and delicious and not too sweet. The outdoor patio is so beautiful with a nice outdoor bar too. We enjoyed our experience so much we are going to make reservations for this weekend too.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.