Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 0.53mi
  3. Distance: 0.58mi
  4. Distance: 0.82mi
  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 0.53mi
  3. Distance: 0.58mi
  4. Distance: 0.82mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 0.53mi
  3. Distance: 0.58mi
  4. Distance: 0.82mi
  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 0.53mi
  3. Distance: 0.58mi
  4. Distance: 0.82mi

About Briarhurst Manor

Only a few minutes drive west of Colorado Springs, Briarhurst Manor is located in the tiny valley of Manitou Springs. The stately Victorian manor house was built in 1876 by the founder of Manitou Springs, Dr. William Bell of London, England.

Our restaurant seats up to 500 guests and features casual yet elegant dining in nine intimate rooms, an extensive menu and wine list complete with five course dinners featuring domestic and game meats, fresh seafood, pastas, poultry, specialty salads, vegetarian, and handcrafted desserts.

The finely grained pink sandstone Tudor manor displays the architecture and landscaping of an English country house complete with the bubbling Fountain Creek passing through the estate. There is also an unrivaled view of Pike's Peak.

404 Manitou Avenue
Manitou Springs, CO 80829
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Wild Game, Continental

Hours of Operation:
Open Wednesdays -Sundays at 5 for dinner. Open Monday and Tuesday February 13 and 14 for Valentine's Day , special menu on those nights. Next Murder Mystery Dinner & Show, "Matchmaking is Murder", Sunday March 19th 2017. Starring Red Herring Productions with Prizes for the winning detectives plus a great meal! Reservations required, advance ticket sales.
Planning a Wedding or Banquet? Come in, tour the venue and book with Briarhurst Manor to receive a Gift Certificate for Dinner!

Cross Street:
Mayfair Avenue

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(719) 685-1864

Website:
http://www.briarhurstdining.com/

Entertainment:
Parties are welcome to hire musicians, bands or DJ's for their events. We can provide local referrals.

Catering:
Full service on site catering from extensive & diverse preplanned menus or customized to your individual needs & desires. Please call for information & quotes for your event.

Parking Details:
Two acres of on site parking with room for hundreds of cars. Abundant Street parking also available.

Public Transit:
City bus stops on Manitou Avenue close to our location.

Executive Chef:
Neil Moreno

Private Party Facilities:
Your personal experienced banquet director will guide you through the event planning process making your event a success using one or all of a variety of banquet options. You may choose one or all of nine intimate dining and meeting rooms.

Private Party Contact:
Ken, Janice, Alison: (719) 685-1864

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Visit our Website to sign up for our e-newsletter for monthly specials and updates.

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Tue 5:00PM - 7:00PM

Wed 5:00PM - 6:00PM

Briarhurst Manor Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (24)
Romantic (23)
Historic (22)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (20)
Good for a Date (17)
Quiet Conversation (14)
Worth the Drive (14)
Cozy (11)
Notable Wine List (10)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Authentic (7)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Fireplace (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Seasonal (4)
Scenic View (4)
Private Room (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Great for Lunch (1)
Business Meals (1)
People Watching (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Great Beer (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Fun (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Spicy (1)
Healthy (1)
Organic (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Sort By:
S
929 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined 6 days ago

Was totally caught off guard by the rudeness. Would never recomend you for anything to anyone. I suggest removing yourselves from Groupon! Your establishment is obviously too good for hard working patrons.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 18, 2017

We ate here recently after hearing and reading good things. Unfortunately, I will not be returning to this restaurant in the future. We wanted to eat here because we heard it had been voted top 100 (or so) romantic restaurants in the U.S. Sadly, we feel it shouldn't deserve it. Don't get me wrong, the food & service was superb but the atmosphere did not feel very romantic. We were seated in "The Drawing Room" and were disappointed to see there were 4 other tables in the small 'dining-room' sized area. We've eaten at other places locally where we did not feel so crowded. The room was fully lit, which again didn't feel very romantic to us. All in all, we're not disappointed with the restaurant overall but it definitely felt lacking in general romanticism. Go here for food, not for a special date.

Tags: Romantic, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Enjoyed an outstanding meal at Briarhurst Manor on Saturday evening. We were staying in Colorado Springs and made the short trip to Manitou Springs for the evening. The restaurant is in a lovely Manor house with great ambiance and architecture. The meal was as outstanding as the home it was served in. The hostess was knowledgeable about the house and we enjoyed hearing its history. There was also a pamphlet on our dinner table with more historic information. We had a cozy table in the "drawing room" by the window. The room had one of the 13 fireplaces in the home. The menu had many delectable choices, and the waitress allowed us amble time to make our items. We each had a drink and shared a roasted beet appetizer. For dinner my husband enjoyed brown butter seared Halibut that was served over the best cabbage he had ever eaten, along with asparagus. He also had a bowl of the soup of the day which was a Moroccan tomato. I ate a bit lighter and had the Lobster Bisque soup(deliciously rich and satisfying!) and the house salad. We also had a bottle of wine. We were too full for dessert, but there was a nice selection of dessert option. Drinks, wine, appetizer and all that outstanding food and our bill was only $150. We shared a bit of conversation with a couple of other tables in the drawing room and EVERYONE was overwhelmed with how wonderful their food was....those other two tables also had dessert with rave reviews. We will definitely go back when we were in the area. A side note....we were staying at The Broadmoor in Colorado Springs....who is known for the great food at their restaurants. The meal at the Briarhurst was well worth the trip--as good or better than anything I have ever had at my many meals at the Broadmoor--- and a much more fun and intimate atmosphere! Thank you Briarhurst Manor!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Briarhurst is a lovely facility. We ordered the brie appetizer which was delicious. Char on grilled flat bread added interesting flavor. Duck was very good as was the veal; both were nicely seasoned, well cooked. The most delicious part of either meal was the ragu that came with the veal - it was sublime. The suggested wine pairings were very good and o appreciated them. The portions were plentiful. We were too stuffed to order dessert and took enough duck and veal home for lunch the next day.

Tags: Fireplace, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Seasonal, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Went for our anniversary dinner. My wife and i absolutely loves this place. The wait staff and hostess were top notch.

Tags: Fireplace, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Bar Seating, Private Room, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Spicy, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Healthy, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Organic, Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Great Beer, Historic, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Went for our wedding anniversary, and were more than pleasantly surprised. Located in a historic mansion, the food was great and the atmosphere was quiet and romantic.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Historic, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 3, 2017

The food is fine dining - very tasty - never disappointed! The service is either top notch or annoying, depending on who you get. More training needed for servers.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 26, 2017

We absolutely love The Briarhurst. It is a beautiful setting with wonderful food. The service is top notch. Our server Morgan did an excellent job. I had the elk and my SO had the lamb chop. Both dishes were delicious and the plating was beautiful. I am not a big lamb eater but that chop was one of the most delicious pieces of meat I have ever tried. Perfectly cook and seasoned. The prices are quite reasonable and setting is spectacular.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Historic, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Really enjoyed the Briarhurt! Exceptional service and great food. I really enjoyed the Elk steak. Unique history and setting to enjoy a good meal and glass of wine.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Authentic, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Food and service was absoultly amazing. Defintaly a must!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Fun, Private Room, Fireplace, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Always a great dinner. Jaime and his trainee Brandi were very attentive serving us and made sure that delays in the dinner were compensated by little intermezzos. We both enjoyed our dinners, my duck and my wife's halibut were very good. Complements to the chef.

Tags: Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Great service, even better food! Food is priced accordingly to restaurant standards.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Thos place was even more amazing than I had hoped! The service is grade A, along with the meal. We went for Valentines Day and over indulged in their marvelously crafted SIX COURSE dinner! The chef definitely left a mark. So many amazing flavors in on sitting. Every single dish, down to the mint sorbet palette cleanser, was to die for. We left full amd happy. Every one there was so delighful as well. Going back soon!

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Historic, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Second time to the Briarhurst for Valentines dinner. Overall experience was excellent. The menu provided adequate choice for a prepared six course meal and while prices are high they are comparable to others offering same and the food tasted wonderful.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Romantic, Special Occasion, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Probably the best restaurant in the whole county. It's expensive, but it's worth it. Very romantic. The food is great, great, great. The atmosphere is great, the decor, the music on the P.A. system. I've been to Briarhurst Manor about three times. A big favorite.

Tags: Historic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 15, 2017

It was great, friendly wait staff, good atmosphere

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Fireplace, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Authentic, Special Occasion, People Watching, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Historic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 15, 2017

This is a great place to take your special someone to reconnect over a great meal and atmosphere.

Tags: Romantic, Historic, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Had a wonderful valentine's meal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 12, 2017

3 hour meal - was an hour too long. Entre was very good, dessert was less tasty than expected. Groupon was a good value for 4.

Tags: Authentic, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 12, 2017

It was an elegant and cozy way to celebrate our anniversary

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Historic, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 12, 2017

I enjoy fine dining, but this was the worse fine dining experience I ever had. We had a party of 10 and the food was very bland. Two of us had to send our beef tips back because it was really tough and over cooked. The waiter dropped one of our plates. It was a five course meal and we had a very long wait in between the last two courses. We had a bottle of wine and one of the server tried to take my wine glass away without asking to fill my glass with more wine. One of the ladies at our table hadn't finish her drink and they took her drink. I had creme brûlée for desert and it was runny. Overall, we were all disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The food was some of the best I ever had! Great historic place to go

Tags: Historic, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Private Room, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 12, 2017

This is my second time at the Briarhurst Manor and both times have been five stars!

Words fail to describe how delicious and pleasurable the entire meal was; from the chef's treat to appetizer to entree the quality, flavors, uniqueness, and attention to every detail was exquisite.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Beautiful Place for a romantic dinner. The food was very good and the service was excellent!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 29, 2017

I liked that the chef seemed to spend a lot of time on details and layered flavoring. Well worth the extra money.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Our dinner was a complete success. The asparagus soup and roasted beet salad were excellent. The halibut was cooked perfectly and was a generous portion. The special dessert "the King" could not have been tastier.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 23, 2017

Would not recommend.
We went for a date night dinner. Parking is easy, and the outside of the building is gorgeous pink sandstone. Inside the decor is aging, with stained 70s carpet and cracking wallpaper. The fireplace in the dining room cannot be lit because it is protected under the historic registry.
The menu looks fantastic, but the food left a lot to be desired. The foie gras appetizer was fantastic, served on the best french toast we've had; the escargot appetizer was terrible, overcooked and chewy and made with chorizo spicy sausage instead of butter and garlic making it both dry and hot; the filet minon and duck entrees were both overcooked and dry, with undercooked veggies; the flourless chocolate torte was served in a tall waterglass with layers of mousse not mixed properly so every type of mousse was grainy, almost sandy and the dessert came with a cup of hot fudge which the waiter emptied on top adding far too much.
The service was good and attentive, the setting was great but needs a lot of work to get back up to the standard of the prices they set. The information sheet at the tables says that the current owner/chef bought and remodeled the place in 1975; it's do for another refurbish. Our meal (above) was about $160, and we won't be going back.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Gluten Free Options, Cozy, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Historic, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Wonderful setting, a little hard to find the entrance but well worth the search. Their staff is great. They seem to really care about your dining experience and happiness. Excellent menu and totally awesome food!! We really enjoyed our special evening and hope to go back soon for our next special occasion. We will recommend the Manor to our friends.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 19, 2017

We have not had this kind of dinning experience since we lived in France. The food was amazing and well worth the money.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Very charming restaurant. Very unique menu, everything we ordered was excellent. Service was great. It was also a pretty good value compared to other high end restaurants we considered for the evening. Loved the historic nature of the mansion. It was really neat. Would definitely come back.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on January 9, 2017

Briarhurst Manor was AMAZING! The food was SO good!! Sometimes you go to fancy places and pay a lot of money for mediocre food, but not here. What you pay for is what you get...delicious freaking food!! You need to go here.

Tags: Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 8, 2017

The food was fantastic and very filling. Our waiter was also great!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Fantastic service. Awesome waiter. Food was delicious and loved the chef's detail.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 30, 2016

We were in small room with 12 other people. Thank goodness they were very nice people but two were tiny children which made it challenging in s small space. Food was fabulous.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 29, 2016

The atmosphere and decor here are very unique and the food was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Absolutely delicious food! Have the 4-course dinner...you'll be glad you did!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Amazing food and service. Best dinner I can remember having in my lifetime.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Historic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Private Room, Worth the Drive, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Beautiful food in an old world home. Seasonal menu changes and wine pairings make this an experience to remember. My husband and I enjoyed the lobster bisque and the unique presentation. The pheasant was a new experience for me, perfectly seasoned and delicious. Don't forget the poached pear for dessert, holds up well as a take home treat. We were pleased with the value of the meal and will return soon.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 24, 2016

My family and I meet here for Thanksgiving every year. We really enjoy the special treatment and the delicious food! Great job as usual!

Tags: Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 20, 2016

We arrived on time, and our Hostess Megan had our confirmed reservation, and seated us in at an elevated table for us to celebrate my Souse's Birthday. Our Server Christian, was a true professional who suggested several menu items, & recommended a tasty wine bottle to compliment our menu selections. A very enjoyable time at your beautiful venue. Thanks

Tags: Outstanding Value, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Family Style, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.