Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 0.53mi
  3. Distance: 0.58mi
  4. Distance: 0.82mi
  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 0.53mi
  3. Distance: 0.58mi
  4. Distance: 0.82mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 0.53mi
  3. Distance: 0.58mi
  4. Distance: 0.82mi
  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 0.53mi
  3. Distance: 0.58mi
  4. Distance: 0.82mi

About Briarhurst Manor

Only a few minutes drive west of Colorado Springs, Briarhurst Manor is located in the tiny valley of Manitou Springs. The stately Victorian manor house was built in 1876 by the founder of Manitou Springs, Dr. William Bell of London, England.

Our restaurant seats up to 500 guests and features casual yet elegant dining in nine intimate rooms, an extensive menu and wine list complete with five course dinners featuring domestic and game meats, fresh seafood, pastas, poultry, specialty salads, vegetarian, and handcrafted desserts.

The finely grained pink sandstone Tudor manor displays the architecture and landscaping of an English country house complete with the bubbling Fountain Creek passing through the estate. There is also an unrivaled view of Pike's Peak.

404 Manitou Avenue
Manitou Springs, CO 80829
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Wild Game, Continental

Hours of Operation:
Open Wednesdays -Sundays at 5 for dinner. Also open Tuesday September 26th! It is not too early to make reservations for our Thanksgiving Buffet.
Planning a Wedding or Banquet? Come in, tour the venue and book with Briarhurst Manor to receive a Gift Certificate for Dinner!

Cross Street:
Mayfair Avenue

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(719) 685-1864

Website:
http://www.briarhurstdining.com/

Entertainment:
Parties are welcome to hire musicians, bands or DJ's for their events. We can provide local referrals.

Catering:
Full service on site catering from extensive & diverse preplanned menus or customized to your individual needs & desires. Please call for information & quotes for your event.

Parking Details:
Two acres of on site parking with room for hundreds of cars. Abundant Street parking also available.

Public Transit:
City bus stops on Manitou Avenue close to our location.

Executive Chef:
Neil Moreno

Private Party Facilities:
Your personal experienced banquet director will guide you through the event planning process making your event a success using one or all of a variety of banquet options. You may choose one or all of nine intimate dining and meeting rooms.

Private Party Contact:
Ken, Janice, Alison: (719) 685-1864

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Visit our Website to sign up for our e-newsletter for monthly specials and updates.

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Tue 5:00PM - 7:00PM

Wed 5:00PM - 6:00PM

Briarhurst Manor Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Quiet

91% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (36)
Romantic (28)
Good for Anniversaries (26)
See All
Good for a Date (25)
Quiet Conversation (18)
Cozy (18)
Worth the Drive (17)
Creative Cuisine (15)
Scenic View (15)
Notable Wine List (14)
Seasonal (13)
Good for Birthdays (13)
Local Ingredients (12)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Authentic (6)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Fun (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Business Meals (1)
Casual (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Great Beer (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Sort By:
S
982 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 7 days ago

Dinner was phenomenal. Get the chocolate bomb for dessert!! Jamie was an excellent waiter.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 7 days ago

A fun experience all the way around we were treated like VIPs even though we came in with a Groupon. Very professional and amazing customer service. Worth coming back on special occasions and paying full price.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 11, 2017

The Briarhurst Manor has been our go-to location for special occasions for a number of years. The restaurant is in the restored historic mansion of Dr. William Bell, and the seating is in one of several rooms, giving it a more intimate feel. The restaurant has kept a database on its customers, and we have always been greeted by name. And that same database generates good coupons for our special visits! The wait staff is friendly and attentive without being intrusive. And the food. It is the best restaurant in the area for using Colorado-sourced meats- bison, elk, trout- all prepared creatively by the person the wait staff refer to as "Chef." (I believe the executive chef is Tyler Peoples and the sou chef is Adam Stevens.) The bread served before the meal was made in house and so good my wife asked to take the rest home. Outside dining in the summer is beautiful, and the fireplaces inside make for a cozy setting in the winter. This trip we both opted for fish, which came properly prepared and flaky. The sides are listed on the menu as "chef's choice." What I liked about the sides is that they are not an afterthought but an integral part of the presentation, and also quite good. My trout came with asparagus, a red carrot, and greens. The greens soaked up the sauce used on the meat, and I made sure to "eat my veggies." Make a note, though; the restaurant is pricey; dinner for two and a bottle of wine will cost over $100, but for dates, birthdays, anniversaries, and the like, it is the first choice my wife and I.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 4, 2017

The escargot appetizer is to die for! Also love the lobster bisque and seasonal salads. Every entree we have ever had has been inventive and delicious! Excellent service and nice ambiance make the Briarhurst Manor a great place for those special occasions!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Beautiful atmosphere, wonderful service & awesome menu!

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Disabled Access, Fun, Scenic View, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

Briarhurst Manor is a very elegant and classy place. We went for our anniversary and had a lovely time. The food was excellent and with the value was good with the groupon for the 5 course meal. The service was nice but a little awkward. My only complaint is that there was a rather long wait between our entree course and dessert. I will definitely go back when I can save up enough for it again though!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 15, 2017

Food was good. Waiter was fine, but this place is so dated (not in the cool way). There was a portable a/c unit sitting in front of the fireplace. Sat by a window. Window treatments and windows were dusty. Even though food was good, we will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3
value2

 
 (Denver)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Our experience at Briarhurst Manor was wonderful! Morgan took great care of us, and the food was amazing! We will definitely be back as soon as we can get away again for vacation.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 10, 2017

The food choices were amazing (especially the wild boar and beef tips), the quiet atmosphere was soothing, and the service impeccable! Highly recommended if in Colorado Springs area, must have reservations!

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Romantic, Great Beer, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on August 7, 2017

We had a lovely dinner with excellent service with Denny. It made celebrating our 19 yr anniversary special. Thanks

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 6, 2017

My experience was the worst I've ever had at this establishment. I even contacted the restaurant through there website to let them know about all the things that went terribly wrong. It's been 5 days and I've yet to hear from them. I will just leave this photo of my dessert covered in hairs for all to see how a bad experience ended after I requested dessert to go because I had had enough of the poor service throughout the hour and a half I was there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Thanks so much for a fun evening! We had wonderful food and great service!

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 3, 2017

This is an elegant establishment with great food. Very pleasant and they move at a nice pace to let you enjoy your meal (our bread, then 5 course meal was served over about 2 hours). Friendly staff.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on July 30, 2017

Awesome food & service. Well worth the cost! Christian our server was awesome!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Healthy, Authentic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

My husband and I went here for a date night and I was blown away! Not only is this place in a beautiful location, the manor itself is absolutely gorgeous. We were given a quick tour of the manor before we sat down; I loved the history of the place! The staff were all very friendly , attentive and treated us no different than a normal paying customer (we brought a Groupon). The food was fantastic and the dessert was heavenly. We ended up walking around the beautiful property because I didn't want to leave. I will definitely recommend this to anyone looking to have a special time. Can't wait to go back!

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 28, 2017

The restaurant is in an old manor house that needs quite a bit of attention. The place looks like it's been neglected for some time. Still, it's not enough of an issue to completely ignore the establishment. My wife and I were looking forward to dining at an upscale restaurant after having spent the past few days doing the touristy things around Pike's Peak. Things started out OK when we were seated, but quickly deteriorated when the waiter got my wife's order completely wrong. He offered to correct it, leaving me staring at my meal for 25 minutes while my wife's meal was being corrected. Needless to say, my meal was cold by the time I got to it, and my wife had lost her appetite due to the long delay. Also, I ordered my meal with the wine pairing, but the wine that was served was corked. So much for the romantic dining experience we were looking forward to.

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

 
·Dined on July 27, 2017

A nice quiet place. Good for quiet conversation. Not crowded. Food is more a work of art than a good value or tasty treat. My real complaint is that the advertised "5 course meal" is really misleading because two of the courses consist of a microscopic "palet awakener" and some bread. The remaing 3 courses are salad or soup, an entree, and a desert... All at a bargain price of... $135 (or $65 on groupon).

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value1

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on July 20, 2017

We celebrated a no kids date and everything was fantastic! Christian was our server and he was AMAZING! We've had him before and we want him in the future. He's always so knowledgeable about the food and covers everything with us even though we've been there before. We never had to ask for anything it was a great way to have a romantic date!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Really fabulous 5-course meal in such a beautiful and charming setting. Everything was really delicious, the service impeccable, the front of house checking in periodically, all in a charming, historic setting.

Tags: Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on July 9, 2017

We were married here in 2003. It is a wonderful place for a romantic dinner! The place is very comfortable and quaint! We love the Briarhurst for all occasions. The staff are just fantastic! IT IS THE BEST!!

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Healthy, Cozy, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on July 9, 2017

The service and food were well beyond my expectations. Came here for my birthday and was one of the best birthday dinners I've ever had.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Absolutely delicious! Presentation and service for also spot-on. Wonderful place to go for a fantastic meal. Groupon brings a lot of people in and creates regulars. Can't wait to try next season's menu... Enjoy!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on July 5, 2017

While the food was very tasty, and the service was wonderful, the building itself really needs some attention, the rooms had things just sitting in the corners so to speak. The carpet was worn and plants in the entrance just haphazardly placed. The outside grounds have so much potential as well. It is obvious that this place was immaculate at one time it would be great to see it in its former glory.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value3

 
 (Adelaide)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Had Groupon for 5 course meal. Food was absolutely amazing and service was perfect!
Beautiful building but seated in disappointing "Parlor Room" for dinner with large AC unit on floor. Strongly recommend for a special date night.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Wonderful food and service. We were stuffed and it was all delicious.

Tags: Special Occasion, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 25, 2017

Best food I've ever had. The menu is pricey, but if you have some extra cash and want to eat excellent food, the Briarhurst is certainly worth the experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Great service, waiter very knowledgeable of the menu options. Food was great with a special presentation. They never disappoint in quality and service.

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 16, 2017

The food was great; however, the service was sub par with little attention to the drinks on our table. I felt since we used a groupon they treated other customers better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Beautiful atmosphere, extroadinary food and presentation.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Great experience. Will definitely do again. The surroundings were cozy and intament. Server was great, and food timing was perfect. Best meal I've had at a restaurant in a while.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Everything was great. This was our 25th Anniversary and they made everything special.

Tags: Cozy, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 3, 2017

You can do no better then dinning here for any occasion. We selected this stellar restaurant for our 25th Wedding Anniversary and it was a spectacular experience.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 31, 2017

Great friendly staff with good food and a neat venue . This was my first time and we loved it. We tried something different the Lamb and Elk and both were great. The service was great thanks

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 28, 2017

This is a unique place with a wonderful ambiance. The 5 course meal takes a lot longer than one would think, so allow for two hours or so. The food was great and the waiter was perfectly accustomed to a lot of guests, and did a great job. Overall very good experience! We were given a GROUPON for this first time visit. We will most likely plan to go again, it was a special place with great food!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Service was slower than we had ever experienced there. We're used to the normal leisurely pace of dining there, as this was not our first visit. But this was excessively slow. One table near us had been there an hour before their amuse bouche arrived. We were there at least two hours, which is about thirty minutes longer than usual. Normally we enjoy our visits to Briarhurst, but this time had us rolling our eyes at each other and cracking jokes about the delays...going back to 1860 to hunt down the bison, having to go pick the cacao beans before they could get the chocolate dessert out to us, etc.

I know that when you book there you pretty much have the table for the night, but this was really long, even considering that.

I got the feeling they were shorthanded for the night since the hostess was doing whatever she could to help out.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 20, 2017

This restaurant offers a historical setting , top notch menu, and outstanding service. Looking forward to going back again sometime...

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Two Thumbs Up !
Very classic Decore, extremely classic gourmet style food. Historical property, very elegant! Definitely call for reservations. You will not be disappointed! Services also top-notch!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on May 18, 2017

An absolutely excellent restaurant in a beautiful, historic house. It was a memory we will always treasure and we will be back EVERY time we are anywhere near Manitou Springs. Don't miss this gem!!

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Long time Colorado resident and have never been. Wish I would have gone a long time ago. The Groupon is well worth it, even for my 13 and 14 year old.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Amazing meal and wonderful service!! We loved our time at your restaurant!!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.