Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 0.53mi
  3. Distance: 0.58mi
  4. Distance: 0.82mi
  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 0.53mi
  3. Distance: 0.58mi
  4. Distance: 0.82mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 0.53mi
  3. Distance: 0.58mi
  4. Distance: 0.82mi
  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 0.53mi
  3. Distance: 0.58mi
  4. Distance: 0.82mi

About Briarhurst Manor

Only a few minutes drive west of Colorado Springs, Briarhurst Manor is located in the tiny valley of Manitou Springs. The stately Victorian manor house was built in 1876 by the founder of Manitou Springs, Dr. William Bell of London, England.

Our restaurant seats up to 500 guests and features casual yet elegant dining in nine intimate rooms, an extensive menu and wine list complete with five course dinners featuring domestic and game meats, fresh seafood, pastas, poultry, specialty salads, vegetarian, and handcrafted desserts.

The finely grained pink sandstone Tudor manor displays the architecture and landscaping of an English country house complete with the bubbling Fountain Creek passing through the estate. There is also an unrivaled view of Pike's Peak.

404 Manitou Avenue
Manitou Springs, CO 80829
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Wild Game, Continental

Hours of Operation:
Open Wednesdays -Sundays at 5 for dinner. Don't forget to take Dad out for a great dinner on Father's Day Sunday June 18th. Next Murder Mystery Dinner Show on Sunday July 2. Starring Red Herring Productions. Prizes for the Winning Detectives. Reservations required.
Planning a Wedding or Banquet? Come in, tour the venue and book with Briarhurst Manor to receive a Gift Certificate for Dinner!

Cross Street:
Mayfair Avenue

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(719) 685-1864

Website:
http://www.briarhurstdining.com/

Entertainment:
Parties are welcome to hire musicians, bands or DJ's for their events. We can provide local referrals.

Catering:
Full service on site catering from extensive & diverse preplanned menus or customized to your individual needs & desires. Please call for information & quotes for your event.

Parking Details:
Two acres of on site parking with room for hundreds of cars. Abundant Street parking also available.

Public Transit:
City bus stops on Manitou Avenue close to our location.

Executive Chef:
Neil Moreno

Private Party Facilities:
Your personal experienced banquet director will guide you through the event planning process making your event a success using one or all of a variety of banquet options. You may choose one or all of nine intimate dining and meeting rooms.

Private Party Contact:
Ken, Janice, Alison: (719) 685-1864

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Visit our Website to sign up for our e-newsletter for monthly specials and updates.

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Tue 5:00PM - 7:00PM

Wed 5:00PM - 6:00PM

Briarhurst Manor Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (29)
Historic (29)
Good for Anniversaries (26)
See All
Special Occasion (25)
Good for a Date (23)
Quiet Conversation (18)
Worth the Drive (15)
Cozy (13)
Good for Birthdays (12)
Authentic (11)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Scenic View (10)
Fireplace (9)
Notable Wine List (9)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Local Ingredients (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Private Room (3)
Seasonal (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Great for Brunch (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Organic (1)
People Watching (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Spicy (1)
Healthy (1)
Fun (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Great Beer (1)
Business Meals (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Sort By:
S
946 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined 5 days ago

This restaurant offers a historical setting , top notch menu, and outstanding service. Looking forward to going back again sometime...

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined 5 days ago

Two Thumbs Up !
Very classic Decore, extremely classic gourmet style food. Historical property, very elegant! Definitely call for reservations. You will not be disappointed! Services also top-notch!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined 7 days ago

An absolutely excellent restaurant in a beautiful, historic house. It was a memory we will always treasure and we will be back EVERY time we are anywhere near Manitou Springs. Don't miss this gem!!

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Long time Colorado resident and have never been. Wish I would have gone a long time ago. The Groupon is well worth it, even for my 13 and 14 year old.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Amazing meal and wonderful service!! We loved our time at your restaurant!!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Historic, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion, Fireplace, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 1, 2017

Briarhurst Manor never disappoints! Excellent food, attentive service and great ambience.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Historic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 24, 2017

We always splurge and get the 5-course dinner, and we are never disappointed! My pork 'chop' was huge, and my husband really enjoyed the elk steak. Both were tender and very flavorful, and the seasonal vegetables were perfect. For starters, I had the house salad (interesting presentation!), and my husband had escargot (different from the usual garlic/butter). For dessert, we had creme brule' and the chocolate bomb (which was fantastic!) On this visit it was a bit loud, as there was a table nearby with several women celebrating a birthday. I'm glad they were having a good time, but it was hard to hold a private conversation because of the noise level (even tho we asked to be moved into the adjoining room). But the food and service were outstanding.

Tags: Fireplace, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Celebrated a 5 year anniversary. It was beautiful location in an old home. The food was great!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Historic, Authentic, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Fireplace, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 20, 2017

This was a truly incredible first visit. The variety and taste of the foods was excellent. The wine list was priced well. We loved sitting in the side room...very cozy and quiet. The staff were all excellent and anxious to please. The charm, of course, was this over 100-year-old building with its history. We were glad that they provided a brochure on the topic.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Authentic, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Very nice inside and outside
Food was delicious
Had a Groupon what a deal!

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Briarhurst Manor is a spectacular gem, nestled just off the main drag heading into Manitou Springs. Perfect for a "date night", special occasion, or just a quiet romantic spot to stop in for a glass of wine. The service has always been top notch and food excellent. Give it try... you won't be disappointed!

Tags: Scenic View, Authentic, Afternoon Tea, Historic, Cozy, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 10, 2017

I was extremely disappointed in this experience at the Briarhurst. In the past, we have had wonderful food, the service staff was exemplary, and the atmosphere romantic and peaceful, so we decided to treat our Rabbi and his wife to a special night out. The waiter, from the moment he came into the room, was so loud that his voice hurt our ears...and he continued to be loud, annoying and almost to the point of rude throughout the evening. We asked for time to decide on our choices, and after several minutes of coming back and just staring at us, we decided very quickly on our dinner selections. We told him we could not have pork or shellfish because of being Jewish, but he either didn't care or didn't express that to the chef, as the food presented to us (not our main choices) were pork and scallop...nothing we could eat, which meant food was wasted...and he never cared or asked about it. My husband asked for a rare elk, I asked for medium rare elk. Mine was good...his was well done, dried out, and rubbery. The waiter didn't come back to check out if the food was to our satisfaction until well into the dinner, so we couldn't do much about getting a replacement for the elk as it was getting late. The waiter continued to be extremely loud with everyone else in the room, and I am sure that if a person was in the entrance way, they could have heard him out there. The room itself was stuffed full as we sat there, instead of using a few other rooms, so instead of having an intimate and enjoyable experience, it was like eating at Denny's. All in all, it was very disappointing and I am afraid to come back, because we want a quiet experience with good food when we go there for our anniversary or birthdays, and I am worried that we will end up with another bad experience. Reintroduce, this was awful. So sad...it was our go to restaurant and now we are not sure that we will return.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Service was great. However, much trouble with temperature of steak. Had to send back three times, and then did completely remake steak (took it home because who would want to eat it after a 45 minute ordeal). Did reduce bill in the end to almost compensate for the steak (removed $41.00, steak was $50.00). If you want to eat at the same time as others in your party (or eat at all) don't order the filet.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 8, 2017

I was a little disappointed in the food. The presentation was good but the salad was not very tasty and my beef tips were surprisingly tough. I don't normally say anything but the meal was pretty pricey.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Historic, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 6, 2017

We found this restaurant online. We had a wonderful time with great food and great service. Would definitely recommend to others.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Beautiful atmosphere. Unforgettable cuisine! Seating was a little close to other tables and with such very quiet background music we could hear everybody's conversations and had to whisper to keep ours private, which was awkward because then they could hear that you were whispering, and that makes others uncomfortable.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Fireplace, Authentic, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 30, 2017

The food here is the best I have ever tasted... To die for!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 23, 2017

Was totally caught off guard by the rudeness. Would never recomend you for anything to anyone. I suggest removing yourselves from Groupon! Your establishment is obviously too good for hard working patrons.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 18, 2017

We ate here recently after hearing and reading good things. Unfortunately, I will not be returning to this restaurant in the future. We wanted to eat here because we heard it had been voted top 100 (or so) romantic restaurants in the U.S. Sadly, we feel it shouldn't deserve it. Don't get me wrong, the food & service was superb but the atmosphere did not feel very romantic. We were seated in "The Drawing Room" and were disappointed to see there were 4 other tables in the small 'dining-room' sized area. We've eaten at other places locally where we did not feel so crowded. The room was fully lit, which again didn't feel very romantic to us. All in all, we're not disappointed with the restaurant overall but it definitely felt lacking in general romanticism. Go here for food, not for a special date.

Tags: Romantic, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Enjoyed an outstanding meal at Briarhurst Manor on Saturday evening. We were staying in Colorado Springs and made the short trip to Manitou Springs for the evening. The restaurant is in a lovely Manor house with great ambiance and architecture. The meal was as outstanding as the home it was served in. The hostess was knowledgeable about the house and we enjoyed hearing its history. There was also a pamphlet on our dinner table with more historic information. We had a cozy table in the "drawing room" by the window. The room had one of the 13 fireplaces in the home. The menu had many delectable choices, and the waitress allowed us amble time to make our items. We each had a drink and shared a roasted beet appetizer. For dinner my husband enjoyed brown butter seared Halibut that was served over the best cabbage he had ever eaten, along with asparagus. He also had a bowl of the soup of the day which was a Moroccan tomato. I ate a bit lighter and had the Lobster Bisque soup(deliciously rich and satisfying!) and the house salad. We also had a bottle of wine. We were too full for dessert, but there was a nice selection of dessert option. Drinks, wine, appetizer and all that outstanding food and our bill was only $150. We shared a bit of conversation with a couple of other tables in the drawing room and EVERYONE was overwhelmed with how wonderful their food was....those other two tables also had dessert with rave reviews. We will definitely go back when we were in the area. A side note....we were staying at The Broadmoor in Colorado Springs....who is known for the great food at their restaurants. The meal at the Briarhurst was well worth the trip--as good or better than anything I have ever had at my many meals at the Broadmoor--- and a much more fun and intimate atmosphere! Thank you Briarhurst Manor!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Briarhurst is a lovely facility. We ordered the brie appetizer which was delicious. Char on grilled flat bread added interesting flavor. Duck was very good as was the veal; both were nicely seasoned, well cooked. The most delicious part of either meal was the ragu that came with the veal - it was sublime. The suggested wine pairings were very good and o appreciated them. The portions were plentiful. We were too stuffed to order dessert and took enough duck and veal home for lunch the next day.

Tags: Fireplace, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Seasonal, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Went for our anniversary dinner. My wife and i absolutely loves this place. The wait staff and hostess were top notch.

Tags: Fireplace, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Bar Seating, Private Room, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Spicy, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Healthy, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Organic, Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Great Beer, Historic, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Went for our wedding anniversary, and were more than pleasantly surprised. Located in a historic mansion, the food was great and the atmosphere was quiet and romantic.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Historic, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 3, 2017

The food is fine dining - very tasty - never disappointed! The service is either top notch or annoying, depending on who you get. More training needed for servers.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 26, 2017

We absolutely love The Briarhurst. It is a beautiful setting with wonderful food. The service is top notch. Our server Morgan did an excellent job. I had the elk and my SO had the lamb chop. Both dishes were delicious and the plating was beautiful. I am not a big lamb eater but that chop was one of the most delicious pieces of meat I have ever tried. Perfectly cook and seasoned. The prices are quite reasonable and setting is spectacular.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Historic, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Really enjoyed the Briarhurt! Exceptional service and great food. I really enjoyed the Elk steak. Unique history and setting to enjoy a good meal and glass of wine.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Authentic, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Food and service was absoultly amazing. Defintaly a must!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Fun, Private Room, Fireplace, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Always a great dinner. Jaime and his trainee Brandi were very attentive serving us and made sure that delays in the dinner were compensated by little intermezzos. We both enjoyed our dinners, my duck and my wife's halibut were very good. Complements to the chef.

Tags: Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Great service, even better food! Food is priced accordingly to restaurant standards.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Thos place was even more amazing than I had hoped! The service is grade A, along with the meal. We went for Valentines Day and over indulged in their marvelously crafted SIX COURSE dinner! The chef definitely left a mark. So many amazing flavors in on sitting. Every single dish, down to the mint sorbet palette cleanser, was to die for. We left full amd happy. Every one there was so delighful as well. Going back soon!

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Historic, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Second time to the Briarhurst for Valentines dinner. Overall experience was excellent. The menu provided adequate choice for a prepared six course meal and while prices are high they are comparable to others offering same and the food tasted wonderful.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Romantic, Special Occasion, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Probably the best restaurant in the whole county. It's expensive, but it's worth it. Very romantic. The food is great, great, great. The atmosphere is great, the decor, the music on the P.A. system. I've been to Briarhurst Manor about three times. A big favorite.

Tags: Historic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 15, 2017

It was great, friendly wait staff, good atmosphere

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Fireplace, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Authentic, Special Occasion, People Watching, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Historic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 15, 2017

This is a great place to take your special someone to reconnect over a great meal and atmosphere.

Tags: Romantic, Historic, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Had a wonderful valentine's meal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 12, 2017

3 hour meal - was an hour too long. Entre was very good, dessert was less tasty than expected. Groupon was a good value for 4.

Tags: Authentic, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 12, 2017

It was an elegant and cozy way to celebrate our anniversary

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Historic, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 12, 2017

I enjoy fine dining, but this was the worse fine dining experience I ever had. We had a party of 10 and the food was very bland. Two of us had to send our beef tips back because it was really tough and over cooked. The waiter dropped one of our plates. It was a five course meal and we had a very long wait in between the last two courses. We had a bottle of wine and one of the server tried to take my wine glass away without asking to fill my glass with more wine. One of the ladies at our table hadn't finish her drink and they took her drink. I had creme brûlée for desert and it was runny. Overall, we were all disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The food was some of the best I ever had! Great historic place to go

Tags: Historic, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Private Room, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 12, 2017

This is my second time at the Briarhurst Manor and both times have been five stars!

Words fail to describe how delicious and pleasurable the entire meal was; from the chef's treat to appetizer to entree the quality, flavors, uniqueness, and attention to every detail was exquisite.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.