About Briarhurst Manor

404 Manitou Avenue
Manitou Springs, CO 80829
View Larger Map

Only a few minutes drive west of Colorado Springs, Briarhurst Manor is located in the tiny valley of Manitou Springs. The stately Victorian manor house was built in 1876 by the founder of Manitou Springs, Dr. William Bell of London, England.

Our restaurant seats up to 500 guests and features casual yet elegant dining in nine intimate rooms, an extensive menu and wine list complete with five course dinners featuring domestic and game meats, fresh seafood, pastas, poultry, specialty salads, vegetarian, and handcrafted desserts.

The finely grained pink sandstone Tudor manor displays the architecture and landscaping of an English country house complete with the bubbling Fountain Creek passing through the estate. There is also an unrivaled view of Pike's Peak.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Wild Game, Continental

Hours of Operation:
Open Wednesdays -Sundays at 5 for dinner. Open Monday and Tuesday February 13 and 14 for Valentine's Day , special menu on those nights. Next Murder Mystery Dinner & Show, "Matchmaking is Murder", Sunday March 19th 2017. Starring Red Herring Productions with Prizes for the winning detectives plus a great meal! Reservations required, advance ticket sales.
Planning a Wedding or Banquet? Come in, tour the venue and book with Briarhurst Manor to receive a Gift Certificate for Dinner!

Cross Street:
Mayfair Avenue

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(719) 685-1864

Website:
http://www.briarhurstdining.com/

Entertainment:
Parties are welcome to hire musicians, bands or DJ's for their events. We can provide local referrals.

Catering:
Full service on site catering from extensive & diverse preplanned menus or customized to your individual needs & desires. Please call for information & quotes for your event.

Parking Details:
Two acres of on site parking with room for hundreds of cars. Abundant Street parking also available.

Public Transit:
City bus stops on Manitou Avenue close to our location.

Executive Chef:
Neil Moreno

Private Party Facilities:
Your personal experienced banquet director will guide you through the event planning process making your event a success using one or all of a variety of banquet options. You may choose one or all of nine intimate dining and meeting rooms.

Private Party Contact:
Ken, Janice, Alison: (719) 685-1864

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Visit our Website to sign up for our e-newsletter for monthly specials and updates.

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Tue 5:00PM - 7:00PM

Wed 5:00PM - 6:00PM

Briarhurst Manor Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (20)
Historic (20)
Romantic (19)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (18)
Good for a Date (16)
Worth the Drive (11)
Cozy (11)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Notable Wine List (8)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Authentic (7)
Scenic View (5)
Local Ingredients (4)
Seasonal (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Private Room (3)
Fireplace (3)
Great for Brunch (2)
Fun (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Family Style (1)
Business Meals (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Healthy (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
People Watching (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Sort By:
S
920 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New England)·Dined 7 days ago

Food and service was absoultly amazing. Defintaly a must!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Fun, Private Room, Fireplace, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Always a great dinner. Jaime and his trainee Brandi were very attentive serving us and made sure that delays in the dinner were compensated by little intermezzos. We both enjoyed our dinners, my duck and my wife's halibut were very good. Complements to the chef.

Tags: Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Great service, even better food! Food is priced accordingly to restaurant standards.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Thos place was even more amazing than I had hoped! The service is grade A, along with the meal. We went for Valentines Day and over indulged in their marvelously crafted SIX COURSE dinner! The chef definitely left a mark. So many amazing flavors in on sitting. Every single dish, down to the mint sorbet palette cleanser, was to die for. We left full amd happy. Every one there was so delighful as well. Going back soon!

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Historic, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Second time to the Briarhurst for Valentines dinner. Overall experience was excellent. The menu provided adequate choice for a prepared six course meal and while prices are high they are comparable to others offering same and the food tasted wonderful.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Romantic, Special Occasion, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Probably the best restaurant in the whole county. It's expensive, but it's worth it. Very romantic. The food is great, great, great. The atmosphere is great, the decor, the music on the P.A. system. I've been to Briarhurst Manor about three times. A big favorite.

Tags: Historic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 15, 2017

It was great, friendly wait staff, good atmosphere

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Fireplace, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Authentic, Special Occasion, People Watching, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Historic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 15, 2017

This is a great place to take your special someone to reconnect over a great meal and atmosphere.

Tags: Romantic, Historic, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Had a wonderful valentine's meal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 12, 2017

3 hour meal - was an hour too long. Entre was very good, dessert was less tasty than expected. Groupon was a good value for 4.

Tags: Authentic, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 12, 2017

It was an elegant and cozy way to celebrate our anniversary

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Historic, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 12, 2017

I enjoy fine dining, but this was the worse fine dining experience I ever had. We had a party of 10 and the food was very bland. Two of us had to send our beef tips back because it was really tough and over cooked. The waiter dropped one of our plates. It was a five course meal and we had a very long wait in between the last two courses. We had a bottle of wine and one of the server tried to take my wine glass away without asking to fill my glass with more wine. One of the ladies at our table hadn't finish her drink and they took her drink. I had creme brûlée for desert and it was runny. Overall, we were all disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The food was some of the best I ever had! Great historic place to go

Tags: Historic, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Private Room, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 12, 2017

This is my second time at the Briarhurst Manor and both times have been five stars!

Words fail to describe how delicious and pleasurable the entire meal was; from the chef's treat to appetizer to entree the quality, flavors, uniqueness, and attention to every detail was exquisite.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Beautiful Place for a romantic dinner. The food was very good and the service was excellent!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 29, 2017

I liked that the chef seemed to spend a lot of time on details and layered flavoring. Well worth the extra money.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Our dinner was a complete success. The asparagus soup and roasted beet salad were excellent. The halibut was cooked perfectly and was a generous portion. The special dessert "the King" could not have been tastier.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 23, 2017

Would not recommend.

We went for a date night dinner. Parking is easy, and the outside of the building is gorgeous pink sandstone. Inside the decor is aging, with stained 70s carpet and cracking wallpaper. The fireplace in the dining room cannot be lit because it is protected under the historic registry.

The menu looks fantastic, but the food left a lot to be desired. The foie gras appetizer was fantastic, served on the best french toast we've had; the escargot appetizer was terrible, overcooked and chewy and made with chorizo spicy sausage instead of butter and garlic making it both dry and hot; the filet minon and duck entrees were both overcooked and dry, with undercooked veggies; the flourless chocolate torte was served in a tall waterglass with layers of mousse not mixed properly so every type of mousse was grainy, almost sandy and the dessert came with a cup of hot fudge which the waiter emptied on top adding far too much.

The service was good and attentive, the setting was great but needs a lot of work to get back up to the standard of the prices they set. The information sheet at the tables says that the current owner/chef bought and remodeled the place in 1975; it's do for another refurbish. Our meal (above) was about $160, and we won't be going back.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Gluten Free Options, Cozy, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Historic, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Wonderful setting, a little hard to find the entrance but well worth the search. Their staff is great. They seem to really care about your dining experience and happiness. Excellent menu and totally awesome food!! We really enjoyed our special evening and hope to go back soon for our next special occasion. We will recommend the Manor to our friends.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 19, 2017

We have not had this kind of dinning experience since we lived in France. The food was amazing and well worth the money.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Very charming restaurant. Very unique menu, everything we ordered was excellent. Service was great. It was also a pretty good value compared to other high end restaurants we considered for the evening. Loved the historic nature of the mansion. It was really neat. Would definitely come back.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on January 9, 2017

Briarhurst Manor was AMAZING! The food was SO good!! Sometimes you go to fancy places and pay a lot of money for mediocre food, but not here. What you pay for is what you get...delicious freaking food!! You need to go here.

Tags: Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 8, 2017

The food was fantastic and very filling. Our waiter was also great!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Fantastic service. Awesome waiter. Food was delicious and loved the chef's detail.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 30, 2016

We were in small room with 12 other people. Thank goodness they were very nice people but two were tiny children which made it challenging in s small space. Food was fabulous.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 29, 2016

The atmosphere and decor here are very unique and the food was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Absolutely delicious food! Have the 4-course dinner...you'll be glad you did!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Amazing food and service. Best dinner I can remember having in my lifetime.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Historic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Private Room, Worth the Drive, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Beautiful food in an old world home. Seasonal menu changes and wine pairings make this an experience to remember. My husband and I enjoyed the lobster bisque and the unique presentation. The pheasant was a new experience for me, perfectly seasoned and delicious. Don't forget the poached pear for dessert, holds up well as a take home treat. We were pleased with the value of the meal and will return soon.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 24, 2016

My family and I meet here for Thanksgiving every year. We really enjoy the special treatment and the delicious food! Great job as usual!

Tags: Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 20, 2016

We arrived on time, and our Hostess Megan had our confirmed reservation, and seated us in at an elevated table for us to celebrate my Souse's Birthday. Our Server Christian, was a true professional who suggested several menu items, & recommended a tasty wine bottle to compliment our menu selections. A very enjoyable time at your beautiful venue. Thanks

Tags: Outstanding Value, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Family Style, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Special occasion w my daughter. The food was delicious, the waiter was very attentive to us & we had a wonderful time enjoying the manor.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 7, 2016

Atmosphere of restaurant was great. We were greeting upon arrival by a very friendly staff. The food was outstanding, the waiter was very attentive. We were called the day before to confirm the reservation and were asked if it was for a special occasion and if either of us had any food allergies that they needed to be aware of, something that we have never experienced before. Overall this is the best restaurant we have ever had the pleasure to eat at.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Scallop dinner tasty. Pheasant dinner delicious and filling. Vegetables delicious! Pressed parsley unique. Purple carrots was a first for me. Wow! The desert with pear quarters was especially nice. I would include a photo, but there is no upload option on this website.

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Historic, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on October 10, 2016

A beautiful spot for a quiet, intimate evening . Just be prepared to pay a lot for the experience. The food is good but not great , and the wait

staff are personable and efficient. A perfect place for a special occasion meal.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Could not have been a more perfect dinner... great ambience, service and food. Amazing value! We will be back.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 7, 2016

Our first experience there and it was wonderful. The garden room was cozy. The service and food were fantastic. Will definitely dine there again

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on October 3, 2016

great place to go with friends for a great meal with opportunity to visit while having a leisurely dinner, have enjoyed for better than 15 years and several chefs and continued high quality one of my 3 favorite dining spots in CS

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Fireplace, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Private Room, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 2, 2016

The entire dining experience was a total pleasure. From the moment we were taken to the Library to select the table we wished, through the completion of the dinner it was a total surprise and a very good experience. The whole staff as a whole was very friendly and made sure our first time here was a night to remember. They even came to our table to point out the deer who frequented the front yard at night so we might get some photos of them, which we did. We will go back again when we are in the area.

Tags: Scenic View, Private Room, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Historic, Special Occasion, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 2, 2016

The food was very very well prepared. The service, while kind and cheerful, was a bit under experienced. The restaurant is very difficult to find at night as the signage is small and placed after the restaurant entrance. There is no illumination!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Outstanding evening... great service. Amazing Historic home-converted to Dining Rooms in each room... Very Interesting. Outstanding food. Steak and Veal options the best. The address is hard to find due to some city-restricted lack of signage. May have to call to get directions as we did. Worth the trouble. Great Evening.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Historic, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 25, 2016

My first experience dining here to celebrate my birthday with my daughter who has been a guest many times and always considers it her favorite fine dining place.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Great for Brunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Historic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 24, 2016

This place is awesome. The setting is very romantic, the building is historic, and the food outstanding. I highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Good for a Date, Historic, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 15, 2016

The service was wonderful, the ambiance was beautiful and the food was amazing! I will definitely go there again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Historic, Good for a Date, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 11, 2016

They referred to me as Count the entire night. I was delighted.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 9, 2016

Wonderful old historic mansion that has been well cared for. Lovely ambience. Food very good and well presented

Tags: Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 9, 2016

The hostess and the waitperson were very welcoming and friendly. When questions were asked about the wine or the food before ordering, the waitperson (who seemed to be new to the restaurant) asked the chef in order to get us the correct answer. We appreciated that.

The evening was lovely.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Historic, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 4, 2016

This was our third visit in 2 years and I am absolutely impressed with every aspect of our experience. Certainly will return.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on September 4, 2016

Great menu was selected for this season. The best part was dessert. The Chocolate Bombe is a must. One of the best places to eat and worth every penny.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 4, 2016

Each course was exquisitely prepared to the eye and to the palate. The scallops were succulent and tender, the scampi was excellent, the beef tips were tender and moist along with the homemade noodles. The sauce prepared with the beef tips was perfect. The artichoke served on an authentic slate tile from the original roof, was tasteful. It also came with a homemade meat manicotti that was also delicious. The elk was good, too. We didn't have dessert because we opted for a cake made by Carol Hildebrand from Creative Cakes (made special order for us) which never disappoints. The lemon cake with the lemon filling was moist and flavorful. We enjoyed this dinner and it will be a fond memory for the family.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.