Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 0.53mi
  3. Distance: 0.58mi
  4. Distance: 0.82mi
  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 0.53mi
  3. Distance: 0.58mi
  4. Distance: 0.82mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 0.53mi
  3. Distance: 0.58mi
  4. Distance: 0.82mi
  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 0.53mi
  3. Distance: 0.58mi
  4. Distance: 0.82mi

About Briarhurst Manor

Only a few minutes drive west of Colorado Springs, Briarhurst Manor is located in the tiny valley of Manitou Springs. The stately Victorian manor house was built in 1876 by the founder of Manitou Springs, Dr. William Bell of London, England.

Our restaurant seats up to 500 guests and features casual yet elegant dining in nine intimate rooms, an extensive menu and wine list complete with five course dinners featuring domestic and game meats, fresh seafood, pastas, poultry, specialty salads, vegetarian, and handcrafted desserts.

The finely grained pink sandstone Tudor manor displays the architecture and landscaping of an English country house complete with the bubbling Fountain Creek passing through the estate. There is also an unrivaled view of Pike's Peak.

404 Manitou Avenue
Manitou Springs, CO 80829
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Wild Game, Continental

Hours of Operation:
Open Wednesdays -Sundays at 5 for dinner. Next Murder Mystery Dinner Show on Sunday August 27th 2017. "Death At The Derby" Starring Red Herring Productions. Enjoy a Horse racing themed mystery with a great dinner 4 entrees to select from. Prizes for the Winning Detectives. Advance Tickets required call for seating. Doors open at five, dinner and show starts at six.
Planning a Wedding or Banquet? Come in, tour the venue and book with Briarhurst Manor to receive a Gift Certificate for Dinner!

Cross Street:
Mayfair Avenue

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(719) 685-1864

Website:
http://www.briarhurstdining.com/

Entertainment:
Parties are welcome to hire musicians, bands or DJ's for their events. We can provide local referrals.

Catering:
Full service on site catering from extensive & diverse preplanned menus or customized to your individual needs & desires. Please call for information & quotes for your event.

Parking Details:
Two acres of on site parking with room for hundreds of cars. Abundant Street parking also available.

Public Transit:
City bus stops on Manitou Avenue close to our location.

Executive Chef:
Neil Moreno

Private Party Facilities:
Your personal experienced banquet director will guide you through the event planning process making your event a success using one or all of a variety of banquet options. You may choose one or all of nine intimate dining and meeting rooms.

Private Party Contact:
Ken, Janice, Alison: (719) 685-1864

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Visit our Website to sign up for our e-newsletter for monthly specials and updates.

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Tue 5:00PM - 7:00PM

Wed 5:00PM - 6:00PM

Briarhurst Manor Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Anniversaries (27)
Special Occasion (26)
Good for a Date (25)
See All
Romantic (20)
Quiet Conversation (15)
Cozy (15)
Notable Wine List (13)
Creative Cuisine (12)
Worth the Drive (12)
Historic (11)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Scenic View (11)
Seasonal (9)
Local Ingredients (9)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Authentic (7)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Tasting Menu (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Fireplace (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Business Meals (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Healthy (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Casual (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Sort By:
S
966 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 2 days ago

A nice quiet place. Good for quiet conversation. Not crowded. Food is more a work of art than a good value or tasty treat. My real complaint is that the advertised "5 course meal" is really misleading because two of the courses consist of a microscopic "palet awakener" and some bread. The remaing 3 courses are salad or soup, an entree, and a desert... All at a bargain price of... $135 (or $65 on groupon).

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value1

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on July 20, 2017

We celebrated a no kids date and everything was fantastic! Christian was our server and he was AMAZING! We've had him before and we want him in the future. He's always so knowledgeable about the food and covers everything with us even though we've been there before. We never had to ask for anything it was a great way to have a romantic date!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Really fabulous 5-course meal in such a beautiful and charming setting. Everything was really delicious, the service impeccable, the front of house checking in periodically, all in a charming, historic setting.

Tags: Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on July 9, 2017

We were married here in 2003. It is a wonderful place for a romantic dinner! The place is very comfortable and quaint! We love the Briarhurst for all occasions. The staff are just fantastic! IT IS THE BEST!!

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Healthy, Cozy, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on July 9, 2017

The service and food were well beyond my expectations. Came here for my birthday and was one of the best birthday dinners I've ever had.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Absolutely delicious! Presentation and service for also spot-on. Wonderful place to go for a fantastic meal. Groupon brings a lot of people in and creates regulars. Can't wait to try next season's menu... Enjoy!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on July 5, 2017

While the food was very tasty, and the service was wonderful, the building itself really needs some attention, the rooms had things just sitting in the corners so to speak. The carpet was worn and plants in the entrance just haphazardly placed. The outside grounds have so much potential as well. It is obvious that this place was immaculate at one time it would be great to see it in its former glory.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value3

 
 (Adelaide)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Had Groupon for 5 course meal. Food was absolutely amazing and service was perfect!
Beautiful building but seated in disappointing "Parlor Room" for dinner with large AC unit on floor. Strongly recommend for a special date night.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Wonderful food and service. We were stuffed and it was all delicious.

Tags: Special Occasion, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 25, 2017

Best food I've ever had. The menu is pricey, but if you have some extra cash and want to eat excellent food, the Briarhurst is certainly worth the experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Great service, waiter very knowledgeable of the menu options. Food was great with a special presentation. They never disappoint in quality and service.

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 16, 2017

The food was great; however, the service was sub par with little attention to the drinks on our table. I felt since we used a groupon they treated other customers better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Beautiful atmosphere, extroadinary food and presentation.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Great experience. Will definitely do again. The surroundings were cozy and intament. Server was great, and food timing was perfect. Best meal I've had at a restaurant in a while.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Everything was great. This was our 25th Anniversary and they made everything special.

Tags: Cozy, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 3, 2017

You can do no better then dinning here for any occasion. We selected this stellar restaurant for our 25th Wedding Anniversary and it was a spectacular experience.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 31, 2017

Great friendly staff with good food and a neat venue . This was my first time and we loved it. We tried something different the Lamb and Elk and both were great. The service was great thanks

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 28, 2017

This is a unique place with a wonderful ambiance. The 5 course meal takes a lot longer than one would think, so allow for two hours or so. The food was great and the waiter was perfectly accustomed to a lot of guests, and did a great job. Overall very good experience! We were given a GROUPON for this first time visit. We will most likely plan to go again, it was a special place with great food!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Service was slower than we had ever experienced there. We're used to the normal leisurely pace of dining there, as this was not our first visit. But this was excessively slow. One table near us had been there an hour before their amuse bouche arrived. We were there at least two hours, which is about thirty minutes longer than usual. Normally we enjoy our visits to Briarhurst, but this time had us rolling our eyes at each other and cracking jokes about the delays...going back to 1860 to hunt down the bison, having to go pick the cacao beans before they could get the chocolate dessert out to us, etc.

I know that when you book there you pretty much have the table for the night, but this was really long, even considering that.

I got the feeling they were shorthanded for the night since the hostess was doing whatever she could to help out.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 20, 2017

This restaurant offers a historical setting , top notch menu, and outstanding service. Looking forward to going back again sometime...

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Two Thumbs Up !
Very classic Decore, extremely classic gourmet style food. Historical property, very elegant! Definitely call for reservations. You will not be disappointed! Services also top-notch!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on May 18, 2017

An absolutely excellent restaurant in a beautiful, historic house. It was a memory we will always treasure and we will be back EVERY time we are anywhere near Manitou Springs. Don't miss this gem!!

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Long time Colorado resident and have never been. Wish I would have gone a long time ago. The Groupon is well worth it, even for my 13 and 14 year old.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Amazing meal and wonderful service!! We loved our time at your restaurant!!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Briarhurst Manor never disappoints! Excellent food, attentive service and great ambience.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 23, 2017

We always splurge and get the 5-course dinner, and we are never disappointed! My pork 'chop' was huge, and my husband really enjoyed the elk steak. Both were tender and very flavorful, and the seasonal vegetables were perfect. For starters, I had the house salad (interesting presentation!), and my husband had escargot (different from the usual garlic/butter). For dessert, we had creme brule' and the chocolate bomb (which was fantastic!) On this visit it was a bit loud, as there was a table nearby with several women celebrating a birthday. I'm glad they were having a good time, but it was hard to hold a private conversation because of the noise level (even tho we asked to be moved into the adjoining room). But the food and service were outstanding.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Celebrated a 5 year anniversary. It was beautiful location in an old home. The food was great!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 19, 2017

This was a truly incredible first visit. The variety and taste of the foods was excellent. The wine list was priced well. We loved sitting in the side room...very cozy and quiet. The staff were all excellent and anxious to please. The charm, of course, was this over 100-year-old building with its history. We were glad that they provided a brochure on the topic.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Authentic, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 19, 2017

Very nice inside and outside
Food was delicious
Had a Groupon what a deal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Briarhurst Manor is a spectacular gem, nestled just off the main drag heading into Manitou Springs. Perfect for a "date night", special occasion, or just a quiet romantic spot to stop in for a glass of wine. The service has always been top notch and food excellent. Give it try... you won't be disappointed!

Tags: Scenic View, Authentic, Afternoon Tea, Cozy, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 9, 2017

I was extremely disappointed in this experience at the Briarhurst. In the past, we have had wonderful food, the service staff was exemplary, and the atmosphere romantic and peaceful, so we decided to treat our Rabbi and his wife to a special night out. The waiter, from the moment he came into the room, was so loud that his voice hurt our ears...and he continued to be loud, annoying and almost to the point of rude throughout the evening. We asked for time to decide on our choices, and after several minutes of coming back and just staring at us, we decided very quickly on our dinner selections. We told him we could not have pork or shellfish because of being Jewish, but he either didn't care or didn't express that to the chef, as the food presented to us (not our main choices) were pork and scallop...nothing we could eat, which meant food was wasted...and he never cared or asked about it. My husband asked for a rare elk, I asked for medium rare elk. Mine was good...his was well done, dried out, and rubbery. The waiter didn't come back to check out if the food was to our satisfaction until well into the dinner, so we couldn't do much about getting a replacement for the elk as it was getting late. The waiter continued to be extremely loud with everyone else in the room, and I am sure that if a person was in the entrance way, they could have heard him out there. The room itself was stuffed full as we sat there, instead of using a few other rooms, so instead of having an intimate and enjoyable experience, it was like eating at Denny's. All in all, it was very disappointing and I am afraid to come back, because we want a quiet experience with good food when we go there for our anniversary or birthdays, and I am worried that we will end up with another bad experience. Reintroduce, this was awful. So sad...it was our go to restaurant and now we are not sure that we will return.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Service was great. However, much trouble with temperature of steak. Had to send back three times, and then did completely remake steak (took it home because who would want to eat it after a 45 minute ordeal). Did reduce bill in the end to almost compensate for the steak (removed $41.00, steak was $50.00). If you want to eat at the same time as others in your party (or eat at all) don't order the filet.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 7, 2017

I was a little disappointed in the food. The presentation was good but the salad was not very tasty and my beef tips were surprisingly tough. I don't normally say anything but the meal was pretty pricey.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 5, 2017

We found this restaurant online. We had a wonderful time with great food and great service. Would definitely recommend to others.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 30, 2017

Beautiful atmosphere. Unforgettable cuisine! Seating was a little close to other tables and with such very quiet background music we could hear everybody's conversations and had to whisper to keep ours private, which was awkward because then they could hear that you were whispering, and that makes others uncomfortable.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 29, 2017

The food here is the best I have ever tasted... To die for!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 22, 2017

Was totally caught off guard by the rudeness. Would never recomend you for anything to anyone. I suggest removing yourselves from Groupon! Your establishment is obviously too good for hard working patrons.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 17, 2017

We ate here recently after hearing and reading good things. Unfortunately, I will not be returning to this restaurant in the future. We wanted to eat here because we heard it had been voted top 100 (or so) romantic restaurants in the U.S. Sadly, we feel it shouldn't deserve it. Don't get me wrong, the food & service was superb but the atmosphere did not feel very romantic. We were seated in "The Drawing Room" and were disappointed to see there were 4 other tables in the small 'dining-room' sized area. We've eaten at other places locally where we did not feel so crowded. The room was fully lit, which again didn't feel very romantic to us. All in all, we're not disappointed with the restaurant overall but it definitely felt lacking in general romanticism. Go here for food, not for a special date.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Enjoyed an outstanding meal at Briarhurst Manor on Saturday evening. We were staying in Colorado Springs and made the short trip to Manitou Springs for the evening. The restaurant is in a lovely Manor house with great ambiance and architecture. The meal was as outstanding as the home it was served in. The hostess was knowledgeable about the house and we enjoyed hearing its history. There was also a pamphlet on our dinner table with more historic information. We had a cozy table in the "drawing room" by the window. The room had one of the 13 fireplaces in the home. The menu had many delectable choices, and the waitress allowed us amble time to make our items. We each had a drink and shared a roasted beet appetizer. For dinner my husband enjoyed brown butter seared Halibut that was served over the best cabbage he had ever eaten, along with asparagus. He also had a bowl of the soup of the day which was a Moroccan tomato. I ate a bit lighter and had the Lobster Bisque soup(deliciously rich and satisfying!) and the house salad. We also had a bottle of wine. We were too full for dessert, but there was a nice selection of dessert option. Drinks, wine, appetizer and all that outstanding food and our bill was only $150. We shared a bit of conversation with a couple of other tables in the drawing room and EVERYONE was overwhelmed with how wonderful their food was....those other two tables also had dessert with rave reviews. We will definitely go back when we were in the area. A side note....we were staying at The Broadmoor in Colorado Springs....who is known for the great food at their restaurants. The meal at the Briarhurst was well worth the trip--as good or better than anything I have ever had at my many meals at the Broadmoor--- and a much more fun and intimate atmosphere! Thank you Briarhurst Manor!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Briarhurst is a lovely facility. We ordered the brie appetizer which was delicious. Char on grilled flat bread added interesting flavor. Duck was very good as was the veal; both were nicely seasoned, well cooked. The most delicious part of either meal was the ragu that came with the veal - it was sublime. The suggested wine pairings were very good and o appreciated them. The portions were plentiful. We were too stuffed to order dessert and took enough duck and veal home for lunch the next day.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Seasonal, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.