About Briarhurst Manor

404 Manitou Avenue
Manitou Springs, CO 80829
View Larger Map

Winner of Top 50 Most Romantic Restaurants in U.S. by Open Table users. Best Fine Dining & Best Colorado Cuisine! Spectacular Victorian Estate on 5 secluded acres seats up to 500 guests features casual yet elegant dining in 9 intimate rooms, an extensive menu & wine list,complete 5-course dinners starting at $34 featuring domestic & game meats, fresh seafood, pastas, poultry, specialty salads, vegetarian,& hand crafted desserts. Just 10 minutes from downtown Colorado Springs, ideal for corporate meetings, fundraisers, weddings, receptions. Elegant outdoor patio dining, gazebos & rose garden provide the appropriate atmosphere for lifetime memories. Former home of Dr. William Bell, founder of Manitou Springs & Denver Rio Grande Railroad,& listed on the National Register of Historic Places."A final note: "As I gave my review a final edit, I noticed I had grossly overused six words: creative, crafted, gracious, succulent, elegant and lovely, I cannot make a finer recommendation"

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Wild Game, Continental

Hours of Operation:
Open Tuesdays -Sundays at 5 for dinner. Next Murder Mystery Dinner Show Sunday July 10th! Enjoy a wonderful 5 course dinner while being entertained by Red Herring Productions. Solve the case and win Prizes! Call now for reservations to this special events.
Planning a Wedding or Banquet? Come in, tour the venue and book with Briarhurst Manor to receive a Gift Certificate for Dinner!

Cross Street:
Mayfair Avenue

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(719) 685-1864

Website:
http://www.briarhurstdining.com/

Entertainment:
Parties are welcome to hire musicians, bands or DJ's for their events. We can provide local referrals.

Catering:
Full service on site catering from extensive & diverse preplanned menus or customized to your individual needs & desires. Please call for information & quotes for your event.

Parking Details:
Two acres of on site parking with room for hundreds of cars. Abundant Street parking also available.

Public Transit:
City bus stops on Manitou Avenue close to our location.

Executive Chef:
Neil Moreno

Private Party Facilities:
Your personal experienced banquet director will guide you through the event planning process making your event a success using one or all of a variety of banquet options. You may choose one or all of nine intimate dining and meeting rooms.

Private Party Contact:
Ken, Janice, Alison: 7196851864x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Visit our Website to sign up for our e-newsletter for monthly specials and updates.

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Tue 5:00PM - 7:00PM

Wed 5:00PM - 6:00PM

Briarhurst Manor Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.8

noise

Quiet

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Romantic
Denver / Colorado
Contemporary American
Denver / Colorado
Best Overall
Colorado Springs
5 More
Best Food
Colorado Springs
Best Service
Colorado Springs
Best Ambiance
Colorado Springs
Romantic
Colorado Springs
Special Occasion
Colorado Springs
Best Restaurants in Colorado Springs ›

special occasion (27)
romantic (26)
fit for foodies (12)
See All
scenic view (9)
good for groups (8)
neighborhood gem (7)
notable wine list (7)
great for brunch (3)
great for outdoor dining (2)
great for lunch (2)
Sort By:
Newest
799 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

Not our first visit but our last. It wa ...

Dined 3 days ago

Not our first visit but our last. It was our 40th anniversary , we were greeted by the Hostess and seated promptly, our waitress was friendly and courteous and asked if this was our first time there and asked if this was a special occasion and we replied that it was our anniversary. I ordered the stuffed calamari as a starter, it took 20 minutes before it arrived. The calamari was warm at best, and the chorizo(?)had no spice to it and the squid had the texture of a rubber band. Our entrées showed up a full hour after we ordered them, I had BBQ 1/2 duck, it was over smoked so the orange glaze was lost as was the thigh. My wife ordered the beef wellington, the puffed pastry looked more like pie dough and was not flakey, the meat should have been completely wrapped in the pastry but the end was exposed and looked burnt. Nothing offered for special occasions for dessert unlike other high end restaurants we've been to.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have dined at The Briarhurst several ...

Dined on June 22, 2016

We have dined at The Briarhurst several times over the years, always our first choice for celebrating anniversaries (#54 this year). The manor setting with dining in various rooms provides for settings to match the occasion. We ate in the library so had only a dozen other guests in the room giving us plenty of privacy to talk. Service was superb, unhurried but highly attentive and the food was amazing from the amuse bouche through the steak & lobster entree to the creme brule served on one of the original slate tiles from the recent remodeling. We are not wine drinkers and were pleased to have several non-alcoholic beverages to enhance our meal. Staff members stopped by to check on how pleased we were with the food and made us feel like VIPs. This is definitely a place to "dine" rather than have dinner out.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

More expensive than I can usually afford ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

More expensive than I can usually afford, but great for special occasions (anniversary, in this case). The staff works hard to make sure you get exactly what you want, exactly the way you want it. And the chef sometimes sends out little "extras," just to help you feel special. The food itself is always well-prepared, and often presented in remarkably creative ways. Two of our dishes came on a slate shingle from the old house that had burned down long ago! The Briarhurst is also special for its history with the early Manitou Springs. We always enjoy re-reading that history when we come.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

The food was excellent and our complimen ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

The food was excellent and our compliments to the chef. We had the steak and lobster and it was very, very good. The house wine was superb. The atmosphere, while lovely in the sense that it is in an old mansion, is not luxurious and people are crammed in rooms with little privacy. The service also was good but I would categorize it as adequate. Our server was pleasant; brought water whenever needed (which is a rare talent). But in watching other servers they were trying too hard to be high end and it came across as contrived and insincere. It's like they watched a video about high end service and tried to emulate it. Our dinner took a long time to arrive, to the point where we were joking about the early bird special being the last to get attention. So it was a nice dinner but will not go down in our memories as one of the best.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great for a Special Occassion

Dined on May 29, 2016

My wife and I went Briarhurst Manor to celebrate our 20th Wedding Anniversary. The service was personal and attentive and the food was out of this world. I noted in our reservation through Open Table that we were there for our anniversary and everyone from the receptionist to our waitress was well aware and congratulated us without any prompting. Overall, it was an amazing experience!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

An outstanding restaurant with the best ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

An outstanding restaurant with the best in food, ambience, and service. Their extra touch of emailing us the next day to thank us for our patronage was the frosting on the cake.

food4
ambience5
service5

The beef Wellington was simply excellent ...

vip
Dined on May 5, 2016

The beef Wellington was simply excellent. Found a Brunello on the menu, our favorite wine. Great outing when you are in Manitou Springs.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Experience

Dined on May 2, 2016

Excellent food and service. Great for special occasions and romantic dates.....

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Hannah and Carl were absolutely amazing. ...

vip
Dined on April 28, 2016

Hannah and Carl were absolutely amazing. Food and ambiance unmatched!!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and service.

Dined on March 25, 2016

The ambiance was perfect for a special dinner for two. The service was fantastic, very attentive. The food was superior in all respects. I will definitely go there again for that special occasion!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wedding Anniversary Dinner with friends

Dined on March 20, 2016

Wonderful as usual. Service impeccable. Food nicely presented, well prepared, and very tasty. A local historic residence converted to a fine dining establishment several decades ago. Great for special occasions and business group gaterings. There were two wedding parties and a small business group accomodated the evening we were here. As expected, you could hear them occasionally, but our dinner was not disturbed. Wine list while adequate, was not extraordinary. A bit pricy for everday, but highly recommended.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fantastic Dining

Dined on March 18, 2016

If your looking for a memorable dining experience, this should be your first choice. The staff goes above and beyond to make your dining experience one that you will remember and keep coming back and the food is fantastic.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Our server was amazing! Very quiet and r ...

Dined on March 13, 2016

Our server was amazing! Very quiet and romantic. Will definitely go there again!!!!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fabulous food in a lovely historic building

Dined on March 6, 2016

My wife and I ventured here looking for nice birthday dinner. We were greeted into a lovely victorian home with several secluded rooms offering minimal noise and distractions. Our server, quickly greeted our table explaining the history, specials, and dining options. The restaurant features 10-15 main courses and a five course option, in which you pick a starter, dish from the entrees, and desert, while being provided a preselected Amuse Bouche and Intermezzo. The amuse bouche that day was "fish on a stick" which was a delicious pickled sardine, goat cheese, and seaweed salad. I am not typically a fan of sardines however this was perfectly rendered without being over salted paired with the goat cheese and seaweed salad this dish was a perfect opener. Our starters included a beer cheese broccolini soup and beet carpaccio. The soup proved delicious, well seasoned with subtle broccoli flavors accenting. Perfectly pickled beats highlighted the carpaccio and left both of us wanting more. For mains a crisped skin accented a tender piece of salmon with brown butter gnocchi and flavorful winter vegetables. The brown butter gnocchi left a bit to be desired as the overall flavor was lacking something but only minority changed a near flawless dish. The other chosen dish was a beef wellington served with tasty mashed potatoes and a similar assortment of winter vegetables. The cook on the wellington was ideal however the pastry was a bit juicy as without a crepe there was no protection from rendered liquids. This did nothing to tarnish the overall quality which was superb and my wife wishing she had more room to finish the entire meal. Desert consisted of bread pudding and creme brûlée. I personally prefer a more custardy texture in my bread pudding however the flavors paired perfectly to provide one of the best bread puddings I have had in Colorado. The creme brûlée severed with fruit was traditional and delicious. Overall we will be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service3
value2

1st Time Diners for an Anniversary

Dined on February 29, 2016

Food was amazing from start to finish - our hostess was top notch - the atmosphere was both romantic and quiet with soft classical symphonic tunes playing in the background. The event being celebrated was our anniversary - a little disappointed they did not present something unique for the special occasion. I did note that we were not asked to partake in the survey or sign up club as we noticed other tables were being offered this gesture for repeat service. All in all I would probably not go back as though the food was beyond delish I felt that portions and presentations were just eh.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

A truly nice fine dining experience, nic ...

Dined on February 28, 2016

A truly nice fine dining experience, nice sized portions, inventive menu.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Table of Four, The Briarhurst Manor Experience.

Dined on February 21, 2016

When I recall my evening meal at the historic Briarhurst Manor, I find few ways to describe my experience other than a bodacious delight. Diligently seated, I found myself peering at a menu containing a wonderful assortment of not only classic dishes with unique flair, but also many original dishes conjured by their renowned executive chef Neil Moreno. Megan, our server for the evening, was very attentive and lively as she not only gave a detailed explanation of the menu, but also a brief historical background of the home and its prior occupants. How lovely it was that at no point in the evening did I feel rushed or unattended to. In due time our orders were in, The Pork, 2 Roasted Hens, as well as the Lobster Ravioli. My gaze veered away from the menu, and onto the many beautiful architectural features of this classic 19th century home. Accompanied with semi-candle lighting, quiet conversations, and the suitable spacing of tables the Briarhurst offers a stunningly unique romantic and peaceful dining experience. Our food arrived promptly. Through the first bite, to many, many, many, more bites I found a savory complexity of flavors that I unfortunately could not characterize in the remaining 800 characters allocated for this review. I will leave it at "simply stunning." Why stunning? Well, following this entrée the onset of paralysis from the third trimester food baby making a commotion in my stomach was quite overwhelming. I do not state that with the slightest negative connotation, but in fact, the exact opposite. With a delicious "Coffee and Doughnuts" dessert to bring the evening to a close, I found the strength to make my way through the entirety of the home, welcome to tours. If you have made it this far through my review you may be thinking, "This seems too good to be true," or perhaps even more likely, "Who paid this man to write this review?" I'll admit to a compensation, however, not of a monetary sort. It was the value of feeling at home, away from home.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

We have gone for our anniversary for two ...

Dined on February 21, 2016

We have gone for our anniversary for two years now and love it! The food is great and reasonably priced.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Favorite special occasion spot

Dined on February 21, 2016

This is my favorite fine dining restaurant. The five course dinner is always the way to go and dinning in different rooms in the house each time has been a lot of fun.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great experience for a special occasion

Dined on February 20, 2016

As usual, the Briarhurst Manor exceeded our expectations. The food was great tasting, and expertly presented. We elected to have the Five course adventure, which was a little more pricey, but well worth it. Our server, Skylar, was excellent as well....knowlegable, pleasant, and not overbearing...just right...A nice way, as usual, to celebrate our anniversary..

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience3
service3

The food was good... Not great. We went ...

vip
Dined on February 14, 2016

The food was good... Not great. We went there on Valentine's eve. There was a special menu. The chef's choice was some sort of deep fried oyster concoction. I don't think the chef tasted it as it was so over-rated, we sacked down everything liquid we could find! The service felt like a Disney ride. Please don't work so hard to keep the wine bottle label showing to the customer! It felt like a struggle and was very awkward! Good wine but we were relieved when the wine opening was finally done....

food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Great food and service!

Dined on February 14, 2016

We celebrated our 36th Valentine Anniversary at this restaurant. The food was great, but what they called Crème Brule was actually a crispy cookie with vanilla ice cream and berries. It tasted good, but we were really looking forward to the dessert. The steak was very tender. Wonderful history and the waiter was fantastic!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Quaint and intimate setting for dinner for two

Dined on February 12, 2016

We were from out of town and found this restaurant while searching for romantic restaurants in Colorado Springs, and it held true to that description. Our server, Elijah, was wonderful and kept us quite content throughout the evening. The hostess was delightful and even checked in on us during our meal to make sure we were enjoying our evening. She was also very knowledgeable about the manor, and allowed us to view the house and answered all of our questions about the history of the manor. The candlelight on the table and single red rose added to the ambiance. The food was full of flavor and unlike our normal dining experiences. We would highly recommend the Briarhurst Manor to anyone looking for a romantic dinner out!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

Meh, won't be going back.

vip
Dined on January 18, 2016

The service was extremely slow. I thought the food was good, though. I must point out that the wine was not served in the appropriate wine glass, and it appears that a sommelier was not available to answer a question regarding a wine (it took our server some time to find out the appropriate tasting notes). Also, the staff was overly enthusiastic, to the point to being obsequious. However, I will point out again, that we enjoyed the meal -- but the timing was off.

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Meal

Dined on January 18, 2016

My wife and I went to the Briarhurst for our anniversary. We both had the house salad and the bison short rib. The meal was excellent. Our server Megan was attentive without being intrusive and was very knowledgeable about the history of the manor. My only complaint would be that the restaurant did not seem to have gotten the special request we sent through Open Table. I had told them that it was our 30th anniversary and that we would like to sit in the library or conservatory. They did not acknowledge the anniversary and seated us in the drawing room.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A true gem, one not to be missed

Dined on January 16, 2016

We visited here on a cold winter's night and were warmly welcomed at the front desk. Our seating request (in the Library) was noted and accommodated, and our server was very friendly and knowledgeable. When I asked her how long she had worked there, she said 6 years.... a true plus in my book. The food was AMAZING. The chef is extraordinaire. This was a special visit for my daughter and I --- she will soon be moving to another state --- we both loved hearing the answers about the history of the building (we asked a lot of questions, and the server knew a lot about the history of the Manor). It's been 38 YEARS since I visited here (I don't live nearby, so it's rare that I'm in Colorado Springs)--- but I vow to return soon to enjoy the food and the history of the building. It's a gem not to be missed.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful dining in a vintage setting.

Dined on January 11, 2016

With delicious food and impeccable service you can't go wrong in this marvelous old house to celebrate a special ocassion or simply for a romantic dinner! The menu changes with each season, but the best items remain. The wait staff is excellent and the histess a breath if fresh witty air. We love going back to this restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

GREAT EXPERIENCE!!

Dined on January 9, 2016

My husband and I had a night out at the Briarhurst Manor. The service was great, the food was great. It was quiet and romantic. We truly enjoyed the experience. I'm sure we will return.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I took some out-of-town guest for dinne ...

Dined on December 27, 2015

I took some out-of-town guest for dinner and they greatly enjoyed their experience. Even with us being in an area with other groups, it was still very quiet and relaxing because the seating of the tables are spread out comfortably. The food from the appetizers to the desserts were wonderful. There were some items I liked more than the others, but it was a taste preference and definitely not an execution issue because everything was present beautiful and done to perfection. The service was just as excellent. She was very attentive and intuitively knew exactly what we needed. Thank you for an amazing evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Wish we had discovered this long ago

Dined on December 27, 2015

Starters were good (Foie Gras and Beet Salad). The entrées (Rack of wild boar chops and Duck 3-ways) were very good. The Duck came with a fantastically cooked duck breast, a duck sausage patty, a duck egg on a lavender-orange scented rye waffle...delicious. Will definitely be dining here again. Toni (sp) our server was great.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Thoughts

Dined on December 24, 2015

Ambiance: Excellent Food: Excellent Bar: Cocktails were made by a "professional" mixologist Wine: Our server recommended a "house" chosen wine that was spectacular. Service: Our server was pleasant and had some skill, however for this level of restaurant needed more training and experience. The sever seemed distracted and the meal pacing was disjointed and somewhat dissapointing.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Average

vip
Dined on December 24, 2015

Have been to Briarhurst several times before and this was our least favorite experience. People were nice, but service was just average as was food. Maybe they were having an off night. It happens. Will likely not let this night influence our decision to return.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A very special fine-dining experience

Dined on December 24, 2015

Everything was wonderful— from the warm greetings my family received upon arrival, through each course of our superb dining experience, to the goodbyes afterward. We will return!

Tags: kid-friendly, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Relaxed atmosphere, romantic evening

Dined on December 18, 2015

My husband and I very much enjoyed our first experience at Briarhurst Manor. The service was excellent, and the food was delicious. Although, we are a bit picky after having lived in New Hampshire with lots of fine dining restaurants around. The food did not quite measure up to East Coast fining dining. It was a 2 hour dining event for the five courses, which was great to relax and enjoy nice conversation.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Romantic atmosphere

Dined on December 18, 2015

Atmosphere and service is phenominal. Is a little pricy but great for a special occasion. This is our 2nd time eating here and will definitely come again.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent service and food to match. I w ...

Dined on December 14, 2015

Excellent service and food to match. I would recommend it to anyone looking for a special occasion or just a dinner for two.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find
food5
ambience5
service5

We enjoyed the positive, professional,an ...

Dined on December 11, 2015

We enjoyed the positive, professional,and attentive attitudes of everyone that served us. A very welcomed and cozy experience. Definitely returning!

food5
ambience5
service5

Step back in time

Dined on December 6, 2015

My wife & I enjoyed our experience at Briarhurst Manor. The grounds and facilities are a step back in time. We both had the five course meal and were full. I had the pork chop and lobster bisque, she had the vegetarian mushroom plate and salad. Both were incredible flavors and presentations. Our desserts were ok - the creme brulee was a bit runny, and my bread pudding was unremarkable (not bad, not amazing). The private roast coffee was worth three cups.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding meal

Dined on November 30, 2015

My husband and I went to Briarhurst Manor for his birthday. We both ordered the 5-course meal. He had the duck and I had the filet mignon. Both meals were superbly prepared and presented. The server, Tommie, was attentive and went out of her way to substitute my amuse bouche when she discovered I didn't eat seafood. This is definitely a special occasion restaurant, but you will not get a better meal elsewhere. We will be back, probably for our anniversary.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Beautiful restaurant and fabulous food

Dined on November 28, 2015

Located Ina historic mansion with amazing antiques, small dining rooms on each level, and great food. Pricey but well worth it! I will absolutely return again!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.