About Briarhurst Manor

404 Manitou Avenue
Manitou Springs, CO 80829
View Larger Map

Winner of Top 50 Most Romantic Restaurants in U.S. by Open Table users. Best Fine Dining & Best Colorado Cuisine! Spectacular Victorian Estate on 5 secluded acres seats up to 500 guests features casual yet elegant dining in 9 intimate rooms, an extensive menu & wine list,complete 5-course dinners starting at $34 featuring domestic & game meats, fresh seafood, pastas, poultry, specialty salads, vegetarian,& hand crafted desserts. Just 10 minutes from downtown Colorado Springs, ideal for corporate meetings, fundraisers, weddings, receptions. Elegant outdoor patio dining, gazebos & rose garden provide the appropriate atmosphere for lifetime memories. Former home of Dr. William Bell, founder of Manitou Springs & Denver Rio Grande Railroad,& listed on the National Register of Historic Places."A final note: "As I gave my review a final edit, I noticed I had grossly overused six words: creative, crafted, gracious, succulent, elegant and lovely, I cannot make a finer recommendation"

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Wild Game, Continental

Hours of Operation:
Open Wednesdays -Sundays at 5 for dinner. Next Murder Mystery Dinner Show Sunday August 28th, "Murder at the Disco"! Enjoy a wonderful 5 course dinner while being entertained by Red Herring Productions. Solve the case and win Prizes! 70's Attire Optional. Call now for reservations to this special events.
Planning a Wedding or Banquet? Come in, tour the venue and book with Briarhurst Manor to receive a Gift Certificate for Dinner!

Cross Street:
Mayfair Avenue

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(719) 685-1864

Website:
http://www.briarhurstdining.com/

Entertainment:
Parties are welcome to hire musicians, bands or DJ's for their events. We can provide local referrals.

Catering:
Full service on site catering from extensive & diverse preplanned menus or customized to your individual needs & desires. Please call for information & quotes for your event.

Parking Details:
Two acres of on site parking with room for hundreds of cars. Abundant Street parking also available.

Public Transit:
City bus stops on Manitou Avenue close to our location.

Executive Chef:
Neil Moreno

Private Party Facilities:
Your personal experienced banquet director will guide you through the event planning process making your event a success using one or all of a variety of banquet options. You may choose one or all of nine intimate dining and meeting rooms.

Private Party Contact:
Ken, Janice, Alison: 7196851864x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Visit our Website to sign up for our e-newsletter for monthly specials and updates.

Specials

1,000-Point Tables

Specials

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Tue 5:00PM - 7:00PM

Wed 5:00PM - 6:00PM

Briarhurst Manor Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Romantic
Denver / Colorado
Best Overall
Colorado Springs
Best Service
Colorado Springs
3 More
Best Ambiance
Colorado Springs
Romantic
Colorado Springs
Special Occasion
Colorado Springs
Best Restaurants in Colorado Springs ›

Special Occasion (36)
Romantic (33)
Neighborhood Gem (14)
See All
Fit for Foodies (13)
Quiet Conversation (12)
Scenic View (12)
Notable Wine List (11)
Good for a Date (10)
Good for Anniversaries (9)
Good for Groups (8)
Historic (6)
Cozy (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Authentic (3)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Private Room (1)
Business Meals (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Sort By:
Newest
829 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

This place is awesome. The setting is v ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined 4 days ago

This place is awesome. The setting is very romantic, the building is historic, and the food outstanding. I highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Good for a Date, Historic, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was wonderful, the ambiance ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

The service was wonderful, the ambiance was beautiful and the food was amazing! I will definitely go there again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Historic, Good for a Date, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

They referred to me as Count the entire ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

They referred to me as Count the entire night. I was delighted.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful old historic mansion that has ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Wonderful old historic mansion that has been well cared for. Lovely ambience. Food very good and well presented

Tags: Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

The hostess and the waitperson were very ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

The hostess and the waitperson were very welcoming and friendly. When questions were asked about the wine or the food before ordering, the waitperson (who seemed to be new to the restaurant) asked the chef in order to get us the correct answer. We appreciated that.

The evening was lovely.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Historic, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

This was our third visit in 2 years and ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

This was our third visit in 2 years and I am absolutely impressed with every aspect of our experience. Certainly will return.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great menu was selected for this season. ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Great menu was selected for this season. The best part was dessert. The Chocolate Bombe is a must. One of the best places to eat and worth every penny.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Each course was exquisitely prepared to ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Each course was exquisitely prepared to the eye and to the palate. The scallops were succulent and tender, the scampi was excellent, the beef tips were tender and moist along with the homemade noodles. The sauce prepared with the beef tips was perfect. The artichoke served on an authentic slate tile from the original roof, was tasteful. It also came with a homemade meat manicotti that was also delicious. The elk was good, too. We didn't have dessert because we opted for a cake made by Carol Hildebrand from Creative Cakes (made special order for us) which never disappoints. The lemon cake with the lemon filling was moist and flavorful. We enjoyed this dinner and it will be a fond memory for the family.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Thanks for a great evening. The food wa ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

Thanks for a great evening. The food was tasty, the presentation was fun and the hostess and our waiter were both very friendly and helpful.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A special offer brought us in, but we qu ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

A special offer brought us in, but we quickly decided to go with the 5 course meal. We had a very enjoyable experience and were able to take our time and visit with our friends over dinner.

The food was delicious and creative. We had the steak Diane and lobster tail.

Desert was beautiful. Everyone had something different, so we were able to sample several.

From the hostess to our waiter (Cody) we felt welcomed and well-taken - care-of.

We will definitely return.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Historic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food. Beautiful place. Bit quirky ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

Great food. Beautiful place. Bit quirky but I'd still recommend it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

It was ok, food interesting, rather stuf ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

It was ok, food interesting, rather stuffy, and I thought somewhat overrated. Appeals to a certain thing someone is looking for.

Tags: Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

The food was AMAZING!! The attention to ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

The food was AMAZING!! The attention to detail in all aspects is top notch, second to none. I informed the restaurant that I'm allergic to chocolate & when I asked if the dessert I was choosing had chocolate, our waiter, Randy, told me that he already informed the kitchen about it & I need not worry. SUCH a relief!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We were taken care of very well by the w ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

We were taken care of very well by the wait staff. The place is beautiful, very nice quiet environment with great "vintage" furnishings. We enjoyed the meal, and all of the people working that evening.

A bit pricy, for instance, a bottle of wine - Kendall Jackson Chardonnay was $38.. about $12-13 at Costco. Quite the markup, as it's usually 2x.

Really enjoyed the evening. We were in the old "Master Bedroom", and they had even put a room air conditioner vented to the fireplace exhaust. It was great.

I had the Scampi, delicious, and the wife had the Filet, also delicious. Desert of the Chocolate Bomb was way way over the top, but it was excellent.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

It is a beautiful little restaurant. Eve ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

It is a beautiful little restaurant. Everyone there was very professional. We got the Groupon, they had a nice list of choices for it. They also let you pick anything on the menu and just pay the difference which was great! All the food was very tasty! It was a bit too quiet for our liking though, some music or something would've been nice, it felt like we had to whisper our entire meal and we could hear everyone else's conversation. Other than that it was a perfect anniversary dinner! They even brought out our desert on a slate and wrote Happy Anniversary in chocolate. Beautiful!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Excellent service and great food. Atmos ...

 
 (Central Texas)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Excellent service and great food. Atmosphere was fantastic. Loved the history.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Linda and I had been to the Briarhurst b ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Linda and I had been to the Briarhurst before and we thought the food was much better on our previous visit. Service was good but the food could have been better. Linda and I did enjoy our evening out. Thanks, Fred

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

Our special occasions are always highlig ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Our special occasions are always highlighted by a trip to the Briarhurst. There are other fancy places in the area, but none as warm and welcoming to us. Thanks to all at the Briarhurst.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Daughter's 22nd birthday. We loved it!

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Daughter's 22nd birthday. We loved it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a great experience at the Briarhu ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

We had a great experience at the Briarhurst! Thank you!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was wonderful and the food w ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

The service was wonderful and the food was excellent. Our waiter was very attentive and had a great grasp of the menu and how the food was prepared. Their coffee is specially made for them and is absolutely delicious! Romantic with beautiful grounds. Well worth the time and price.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service at a beautiful, romantic s ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Great service at a beautiful, romantic setting. Lobster bisque was delicious and the chocolate dessert was amazing. My wife enjoyed her trout while I thought my NY steak was just OK. Partly my fault though as I don't care for blue cheese. We had a fun evening and I would definitely go back to try another menu option.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Service was good. Wait staff took good c ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Service was good. Wait staff took good care of us. Lobster bisque was good. Wine was only okay. Beef Wellington was doughy. Angus beef was average. Sides were boring. Nothing special. Was given free dessert to take home for the doughy Wellington but was not what we had ordered.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

It was our anniversary and they made it ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

It was our anniversary and they made it wonderful. The food was amazing, the service excellent and the place is beautiful. The outside area had a wedding going on, but it was quiet and lovely where they had us, didn't hear anything.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had excellent food and service. It wa ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

We had excellent food and service. It was pricey, but the best venison I have had to date. This was a wonderful dining experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It was great as always especially when t ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

It was great as always especially when the fawn came by our window to say hello!

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was extremely high quality. The ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

The food was extremely high quality. The ambiance was perfect blend of classy and relaxed. The service was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Beautiful setting for a special evening. ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Beautiful setting for a special evening. Outside patio seating is available and quite nice. Quiet for talking. Historic

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

We celebrated our wedding anniversary. ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

We celebrated our wedding anniversary. We've been here before and we are always excited when we have a reason to make reservations. The service and ambiance is great. The food for myself was very disappointing. My wife had the beef Wellington and I had a braised buffalo dish. My main dish was so dry it was like eating a poorly done rump roast. Usually we have never encountered food that we were not impressed but on that day it was not to par. Would I go back? Yes! Would I order anything buffalo - NO!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Entree was VERY SLOW in coming, and 3 of ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Entree was VERY SLOW in coming, and 3 of the 4 steaks were under-done. But given the time it took to get the entrees in the first place, no one was willing to send them back to be cooked properly. And it took 3 tries to get the bill correct.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

Not our first visit but our last. It wa ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Not our first visit but our last. It was our 40th anniversary , we were greeted by the Hostess and seated promptly, our waitress was friendly and courteous and asked if this was our first time there and asked if this was a special occasion and we replied that it was our anniversary. I ordered the stuffed calamari as a starter, it took 20 minutes before it arrived. The calamari was warm at best, and the chorizo(?)had no spice to it and the squid had the texture of a rubber band. Our entrées showed up a full hour after we ordered them, I had BBQ 1/2 duck, it was over smoked so the orange glaze was lost as was the thigh. My wife ordered the beef wellington, the puffed pastry looked more like pie dough and was not flakey, the meat should have been completely wrapped in the pastry but the end was exposed and looked burnt. Nothing offered for special occasions for dessert unlike other high end restaurants we've been to.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

We have dined at The Briarhurst several ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

We have dined at The Briarhurst several times over the years, always our first choice for celebrating anniversaries (#54 this year). The manor setting with dining in various rooms provides for settings to match the occasion. We ate in the library so had only a dozen other guests in the room giving us plenty of privacy to talk. Service was superb, unhurried but highly attentive and the food was amazing from the amuse bouche through the steak & lobster entree to the creme brule served on one of the original slate tiles from the recent remodeling. We are not wine drinkers and were pleased to have several non-alcoholic beverages to enhance our meal. Staff members stopped by to check on how pleased we were with the food and made us feel like VIPs. This is definitely a place to "dine" rather than have dinner out.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

More expensive than I can usually afford ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

More expensive than I can usually afford, but great for special occasions (anniversary, in this case). The staff works hard to make sure you get exactly what you want, exactly the way you want it. And the chef sometimes sends out little "extras," just to help you feel special. The food itself is always well-prepared, and often presented in remarkably creative ways. Two of our dishes came on a slate shingle from the old house that had burned down long ago! The Briarhurst is also special for its history with the early Manitou Springs. We always enjoy re-reading that history when we come.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was excellent and our complimen ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

The food was excellent and our compliments to the chef. We had the steak and lobster and it was very, very good. The house wine was superb.

The atmosphere, while lovely in the sense that it is in an old mansion, is not luxurious and people are crammed in rooms with little privacy.

The service also was good but I would categorize it as adequate. Our server was pleasant; brought water whenever needed (which is a rare talent). But in watching other servers they were trying too hard to be high end and it came across as contrived and insincere. It's like they watched a video about high end service and tried to emulate it. Our dinner took a long time to arrive, to the point where we were joking about the early bird special being the last to get attention.

So it was a nice dinner but will not go down in our memories as one of the best.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

Great for a Special Occassion

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

My wife and I went Briarhurst Manor to celebrate our 20th Wedding Anniversary. The service was personal and attentive and the food was out of this world. I noted in our reservation through Open Table that we were there for our anniversary and everyone from the receptionist to our waitress was well aware and congratulated us without any prompting. Overall, it was an amazing experience!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

An outstanding restaurant with the best ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

An outstanding restaurant with the best in food, ambience, and service. Their extra touch of emailing us the next day to thank us for our patronage was the frosting on the cake.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The beef Wellington was simply excellent ...

vip
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on May 5, 2016

The beef Wellington was simply excellent. Found a Brunello on the menu, our favorite wine. Great outing when you are in Manitou Springs.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Great Experience

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on May 2, 2016

Excellent food and service. Great for special occasions and romantic dates.....

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Hannah and Carl were absolutely amazing. ...

vip
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on April 28, 2016

Hannah and Carl were absolutely amazing. Food and ambiance unmatched!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and service.

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on March 25, 2016

The ambiance was perfect for a special dinner for two. The service was fantastic, very attentive. The food was superior in all respects. I will definitely go there again for that special occasion!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.