About Brennan's of Houston

3300 Smith Street
Houston, TX 77006
View Larger Map

Since our 1967 opening as a sister restaurant to the world-famous Commander’s Palace in New Orleans, Brennan's of Houston has evolved into the city's premier destination for memorable dining served with true Southern hospitality.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Creole / Cajun / Southern, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Saturday: 11:00 AM - 2:00 PM, Sunday: 10:00 AM - 2:00 PM
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00 AM - 2:00 PM
Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 5:45 PM- 10:00 PM

****DRESS CODE****
Jackets Preferred - NO Shorts, Flip-Flops, Torn Jeans, Beach Wear or Athletic Wear will be Seated

Cross Street:
Stuart

Dress Code:
Jacket Preferred

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(713) 522-9711

Website:
http://www.brennanshouston.com/

Entertainment:
For weekend diners, Brennan’s Creole Jazz Brunch remains a four-star tradition among Houston's Sunday brunch enthusiasts. The air is filled with an abundance of tantalizing jazz music and the fragrance of fresh flowers; southern mainstays and twists on classic favorites are graciously served in sun-filled dining areas.

Parking Details:
Street parking is available but limited. Valet parking is recommended.

Executive Chef:
Danny Trace

Private Party Facilities:
We know that each event is special and at Brenan’s, our mission is to make your event a great memory.

From 10-150, we offer several dining rooms to accommodate your party size as well as full restaurant buy-outs.

Ballroom-seats up to 160: One of Houston's oldest and most distinguished private party settings which may be divided into 3 smaller rooms.

Little Room-seats up to 18: Great for an intimate group.

Solarium-seats up to 40: Whimsical design perfect for casual luncheon.

Courtyard Balcony-seats up to 30: Beautiful view of the Courtyard can be enjoyed from every table in this second floor dining room.

Wine Room-seats up to 30: An elegant second floor working wine room.

John Staub-seats up to 36: Named after the building's famed architect, this cozy room enjoys a fireplace and outdoor views.

Terms of Endearment-seats up to 30: Named after the movie which was filmed in part here.

Private Party Contact:
Nicole Wilker: 7135353380x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Chef's Table, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Brennan's of Houston
Brennan's of Houston
Brennan's of Houston
Brennan's of Houston
Brennan's of Houston
Brennan's of Houston
Brennan's of Houston
Brennan's of Houston
Brennan's of Houston
Brennan's of Houston
Brennan's of Houston
Brennan's of Houston
Brennan's of Houston
Bananas Foster
Turtle Soup
Gulf Fish Pontchartrain
Roasted Duck
Grilled Salmon
Pralines
Blanca's West Texas Beef Tips
Garlic Bread
Brennan's Classic Turtle Soup
Sea Drift Blue Crab Enchilada
Eggs Benedict
Texicana Mousse Cake
Crab Cakes
Shrimp and Grits
Trio Of Soups
Cheesecake
Rabbit With Morels
Trio Of Oysters
Bananas Foster & Ice Cream
Bananas Foster Fire
Meringue Lemon Pie
Bourbon Apple And Pecan Salad
Bread
Beets Salad
Turtle Soup au Sherry
Grillades and Grits
Catfish Koo-Be-Yahn
Rack of Lamb
Creole Bread Pudding Soufflé
Blue Crab Scrambled Eggs & Caviar
Texas Wild Shrimp Remoulade
Gulf Coast Shrimp & Grits
Beef Tenderloin Over Mashed Potatoes W. Jumbo Lumb Crab Cake
Bread Pudding Souffle
Pecan Crusted Mahi Mahi
Blue Crab Salad With Petrossian Caviar
Blue Crab & Petrossian Caviar Crepe
Dinner Salad
Eggs St. Charles
Chocolate Mousse Cake
Gulf Coast Seafood Gumbo
Espresso
Goat Cheese Grits
Veal Chop
praliné
No. 209 Gin
Crab Crepes With Petrossian Caviar
Crawfish & Shrimp Enchilada
Crispy Oyster Caeser Salad
Fried Green Tomatoes with Crabmeat
Gunpowder Spiced Duck
Gulf Fish Ponchartrain W Sweet Potatoe
8 Oz Filet With Jumbo Lump Crab, Smashed Potatoes & Asparagus
Fried Green Tomatoes With Crab Meat
Mint Julip
Texas Red Fish
Grapefruit Basil Gimlet
1-1-1 Soup
Bananas Fosters
Pecan Pie
Lamb
Chefs playground
Shrimp Shortcakes
White Chocolate Blueberry Shortcake
Soup 1-1-1
Oyster And Artichoke Gratin
Chili Fried Oysters
Midnight Melody
Breaux Bridge Crawfish & Waffle

Promotions

25-Cent Mimosas & Mini Bloody Marys Sat. Brunch

Saturdays from 11:00 AM - 2:00 PM

Date Night at Brennan's

Friday Jul 1, 2016 from 6:30 PM - 9:00 PM

Case of the Mondays Wine Tasting

Monday Jul 11, 2016 from 6:00 PM - 7:30 PM

Promotions

25-Cent Mimosas & Mini Bloody Marys Sat. Brunch

Saturdays from 11:00 AM - 2:00 PM

Details
For a limited time, you can get either a house mimosa or a house mini bloody mary for 25-cents with the purchase on an entree for Saturday Brunch. Limit 3 and no substitutions. This offer is not available for Sunday brunch. Excludes Tax and Tip. Available for Saturday Brunch ONLY. Not available for private parties. Special valid Jun 18, 2016 - Jul 30, 2016 on Saturdays from 11:00 AM - 2:00 PM.
Date Night at Brennan's

Friday Jul 1, 2016 from 6:30 PM - 9:00 PM

Details
Join us for a in-room cooking demonstration. Chef will demonstrate each course. This month we'll feature the summertime blues. Event includes 3-couse dinner with wine pairings. $150 / couple plus tax & gratuity. Excludes Tax and Tip. See online event calendar for complete details. Limited tickets available. Special valid on Friday Jul 1, 2016 from 6:30 PM - 9:00 PM.
Case of the Mondays Wine Tasting

Monday Jul 11, 2016 from 6:00 PM - 7:30 PM

Details
Join us for a special wine tasting with Wine Guy Marcus Gausephol as you take a tour of Wines of Loire Valley. See our website for full details and to purchase you ticket. Limited seating available. Excludes Tax and Tip. $20 / person plus tax & gratuity. Special valid on Monday Jul 11, 2016 from 6:00 PM - 7:30 PM.

Brennan's of Houston Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

special occasion (96)
great for brunch (64)
romantic (63)
See All
fit for foodies (62)
notable wine list (42)
great for lunch (42)
good for groups (39)
neighborhood gem (25)
great for outdoor dining (19)
hot spot (9)
scenic view (9)
kid-friendly (5)
vibrant bar scene (4)
late-night find (3)
Sort By:
Newest
1308 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Decided to try the lunch specials and th ...

vip
Dined on June 20, 2016

Decided to try the lunch specials and the $.25 martini specials (limit of 3). Excellent value.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Our 35th anniversary - we shared Jimmy's ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Our 35th anniversary - we shared Jimmy's Grilled Oysters, pecan wood grilled Louisiana oysters with Jalapeno cornbread crumbs and seaweed flakes that were just fabulous. We both had the Shrimp Chippewa, flamed tableside in Cognac with sun dried tomatoes over goat cheese stone ground grits. Amazing! We finished by splitting Bananas Foster with a sniffer of Frangelico. Have you made your reservation yet????

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Brilliant - service (beginning when you ...

vip
Dined on June 18, 2016

Brilliant - service (beginning when you pull up to the valet), food, ambience, everything! Can't wait to go back.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Oysters were perfect. Great wine

Dined on June 18, 2016

Oysters were perfect. Great wine

food4
ambience5
service5

Good food, service and atmosphere. Bren ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Good food, service and atmosphere. Brennan's never disappoints.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went for brunch because they do the b ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

We went for brunch because they do the best Eggs Benedict and Bannas Foster. Everything was wonderful.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

We loveBrennan's , the food, the service ...

vip
Dined on June 17, 2016

We loveBrennan's , the food, the service and it's quiet so you can speak in a normal tone even across the table. If you are attending a show the shuttle is so convenient.

food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful restaurant for any special occ ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

Wonderful restaurant for any special occasion ! Great atmosphere and the food is always fantastic . Service is great!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I never get tired of dining at Brennan's ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

I never get tired of dining at Brennan's. The food is consistently wonderful and the service is very attentive without being obtrusive. It is my favorite for special occasions as well as for important business meals with clients. This visit was a little of both...to celebrate excellent clients' birthdays. What means the most of all is that you can really count on Brennan's to pull it all together and consistently. Friendly staff from valet to hostess to wait staff and charming Southern-style surroundings which are both elegant and comfortable. I look forward to many more happy occasions and important business lunches/dinners here in the future.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

FABULOUS TIME AT BRUNCH FOR MY HUSBAND. ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

FABULOUS TIME AT BRUNCH FOR MY HUSBAND. WE BROUGHT A COUPLE WHO HAD NEVER BEEN WHO HAVE LIVED IN NEW ORLEANS.........OF COURSE THEY WERE THOROUGHLY IMPRESSED! SUPER WAITER - MR. AREVA......GREAT DETAIL TO THE BIRTHDAY BOY AND CELEBRATION. FOOD WAS PERFECT - MY HUSBAND HAD THE FILET AND OF COURSE THE TABLESIDE BANANA'S FOSTER WAS THE PERFECT ENDING. I WOULD "NEVER" HESITATE TO RECOMMEND. ONE OF HOUSTON'S FINEST RESTAURANTS.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As usual, the Brennan's experience was s ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

As usual, the Brennan's experience was superb. We brought an old friend who was visiting from out of town as we do whenever we have guests. Brennan's is a wonderful icon of Houston.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4

Always excellent service and the food is ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Always excellent service and the food is pretty good..

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A wonderful Experience

Dined on June 7, 2016

I selected this restaurant for a business dinner and it certainly did not disappoint. First, the tables on the outer sides of the dining room have these great high-backed chairs which gives you a sense of privacy. The wait staff was very attentive and friendly. Our waiter was Jeffrey and when I go back I hope to have him as my server again. As an appetizer we shared a jumbo lump crab cake. It may be the best crab cake I've ever had and I like to try them wherever I go. I believe they used a vegetable binder so there is absolutely no breading at all. Definitely a must try! I also had the Shrimp Chipewa. It's a half dozen jumbo shrimp flambéed with cognac tableside placed over goat cheese grits with sun dried tomatoes topped with lump crab meat. It was so rich and so wonderful. My waistline didn't want to finish it all but my mouth overruled that idea. Overall it was a wonderful experience and is as equally suited for a business meeting or a romantic dinner.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Birthday dinner

Dined on June 7, 2016

We chose this restaurant the day if and tell until we got there that it was my birthday. They brought out multiple small apps and really treated my table very well. The food was amazing and we all had a great time. It is pricey but worth it for special occasions.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding business dinner at Brennan's.

vip
Dined on June 6, 2016

I've never been disappointed at this classy restaurant in Houston. From the attentive staff to the great food and wine selection and elegant dinning room, this restaurant is where you want to take your friends for a memorable dinner.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect for the theater district events

vip
Dined on June 5, 2016

We dined at Brennan's and took the free shuttle to the Hobby Center to see the Carole King story "Beautiful". The service was impeccable, both for the dinner (the crabcake appetizer was to die for), the shuttle to and from the theater and the delicious Bananas Foster and nightcap after the play. They even kept our leftovers in the kitchen for us to pick up after the show. Kudos to Robert and Ryan for being the best. We'll definitely be back.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Brennans is the whole package...excellen ...

vip
Dined on June 5, 2016

Brennans is the whole package...excellent food, excellent service, great ambiance. It is our go to for celebrations.

food5
ambience5
service3
value4

A Touch of New Orleans in Houston

Dined on June 4, 2016

For a touch of New Orleans fine dining you only have to head to Brennans. The ambiance, the food is just like being there. The main dining room is a beautiful decor. My turtle soup was both delicious and hot in temperature. Our Creole brunch of eggs sardou and eggs benedict were perfectly done, and so good. The banana pudding dessert was wonderful as well. This is a great place for a special brunch.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Sometimes how the most basic thing is pr ...

Dined on June 2, 2016

Sometimes how the most basic thing is prepared speaks to the delicacy of the culinary skill. The grits were sublime.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Special dining spot for my special friend!

Dined on May 29, 2016

It's a wonderful taste of New Orleans in Houston, Texas . . . Good brunch, nice southern hospitality, & delicious desserts. The live music was a bit too loud for the dining area we were in. I highly recommend dining here for brunch, lunch, or dinner.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved everything on this visit.

Dined on May 29, 2016

We arrived shortly after they opened on a Sunday morning. It was still quiet, which is what we prefer. The band went around the room to play songs that appeal to middle aged and up audience. I loved this. The waiter and his helper were very approachable and did a great job of attending to our needs and ever little detail. The food was outstanding too!

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Houston Institution

Dined on May 28, 2016

What more can you say about Brennan's that has not already been written. This place is a Houston Insitution of good food and service.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

another good experience

Dined on May 24, 2016

very good. Waiter Robert was wonderful. Food was great. Love the 25-cent martini's.

Tags: great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

A true experience in food and class.

vip
Dined on May 23, 2016

A true experience in food and class.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was very attentive to my needs a ...

Dined on May 23, 2016

Service was very attentive to my needs and making sure I was satisfied. Food was amazing, and I had one of the Sous Chef's personally take care of me. I was dining for my Birthday, and they made it very enjoyable. It was one of the best dining experiences I have had. The Beef Tips are Top Notch!!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food4
ambience5
service5

It was very good and the device was exce ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

It was very good and the device was excellent.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always the best!!! Best quality, best me ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

Always the best!!! Best quality, best menu, best service, best drinks

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful meal. The Shrimp Chippewa was ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

Wonderful meal. The Shrimp Chippewa was to die for.

food5
ambience5
service5

This is one of the most fabulous places ...

vip
Dined on May 15, 2016

This is one of the most fabulous places in Houston. They are one of the few places in town with a dress code. The food and staff are phenomenal.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

one of my favorites for years...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Excellent in every respect, will be my go to dining establishment!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Always delicious - turtle soup w/ sherry ...

vip
Dined on May 14, 2016

Always delicious - turtle soup w/ sherry and bananas foster -- perfection!

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was delicious! Everything was g ...

vip
Dined on May 14, 2016

The food was delicious! Everything was great! I definitely recommend this place!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were there for our adult son's birthd ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

We were there for our adult son's birthday and the experience exceeded our expectations! We had a wonderful table in the main dining room. Food and service were exemplary! Of course the chopped salad, snapper Pontchartrain and bananas Foster were great! Many thanks for making this an amazing celebration!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Brennan;s always lovely and great.

Dined on May 13, 2016

i AM A HOUSTON NATIVE AND YOU JUST CANNOT GO WRONG W/ BRENNANS

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Food was OK. Not up to the standards of ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

Food was OK. Not up to the standards of Brennan's in the past. Turtle soup and Banana's Foster still top rate

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience1
service4
value4

Noise level was horrible, stomping on ceiling

Dined on May 8, 2016

The manager never apologized for the stomping going on upstairs...instead the coward sent a worker to apologize after we were done eating and waiting for the valet!!! Never going back even though the food was great.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Tops!

Dined on May 8, 2016

For more than 40 years we have dined at Brennan's, enjoying every minute of each visit. There is no finer restaurant in Houston. Period.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fit for a good meal

Dined on May 7, 2016

Loved it! I highly place. Great food, lovely ambiance.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a spectacular birthday dinner las ...

vip
Dined on May 6, 2016

We had a spectacular birthday dinner last Friday and it is the way we have always enjoyed at this landmark restaurant. From the moment we arrived at the valet, the staff is attentive and personable. We were seated almost immediately, unfortunately missing the lovely bar. But cocktails and an amuse of toasted bread with a crab mousse started the night. Wally was our server and he let me know that our special order for a lobster had been already received and was available if I still wanted it. I did, of course. So we had turtle soup as our starter. We chatted with the Sommolier to select a wine. We then met Chef Walter, who discussed how he would prepare my lobster. My partner ordered pecan-crusted red fish for his entree. For dessert we had bread pudding soufflés and finished with the best floor show in town... A Cafe Brulot smelling of orange, cloves, and cinnamon. Grabbed a handful of their buttery pecan pralines as I went out the door. A night to truly remember. I'll always keep coming back to this place for my very special occasions. Thank you all.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent as expected

vip
Dined on May 3, 2016

Excellent service. Excellent sazerac. Excellent crab cakes. Excellent Loire Valley Sauvignon blanc. As excellent as expected from a Brennan's family restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.