About Brennan's of Houston

3300 Smith Street
Houston, TX 77006
View Larger Map

Since our 1967 opening as a sister restaurant to the world-famous Commander’s Palace in New Orleans, Brennan's of Houston has evolved into the city's premier destination for memorable dining served with true Southern hospitality.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Creole / Cajun / Southern, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Saturday: 11:00 AM - 2:00 PM, Sunday: 10:00 AM - 2:00 PM
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00 AM - 2:00 PM
Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 5:45 PM- 10:00 PM

****DRESS CODE****
Jackets Preferred - NO Shorts, Flip-Flops, Torn Jeans, Beach Wear or Athletic Wear will be Seated

Cross Street:
Stuart

Dress Code:
Jacket Preferred

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(713) 522-9711

Website:
http://www.brennanshouston.com/

Entertainment:
For weekend diners, Brennan’s Creole Jazz Brunch remains a four-star tradition among Houston's Sunday brunch enthusiasts. The air is filled with an abundance of tantalizing jazz music and the fragrance of fresh flowers; southern mainstays and twists on classic favorites are graciously served in sun-filled dining areas.

Parking Details:
Street parking is available but limited. Valet parking is recommended.

Executive Chef:
Danny Trace

Private Party Facilities:
We know that each event is special and at Brenan’s, our mission is to make your event a great memory.

From 10-150, we offer several dining rooms to accommodate your party size as well as full restaurant buy-outs.

Ballroom-seats up to 160: One of Houston's oldest and most distinguished private party settings which may be divided into 3 smaller rooms.

Little Room-seats up to 18: Great for an intimate group.

Solarium-seats up to 40: Whimsical design perfect for casual luncheon.

Courtyard Balcony-seats up to 30: Beautiful view of the Courtyard can be enjoyed from every table in this second floor dining room.

Wine Room-seats up to 30: An elegant second floor working wine room.

John Staub-seats up to 36: Named after the building's famed architect, this cozy room enjoys a fireplace and outdoor views.

Terms of Endearment-seats up to 30: Named after the movie which was filmed in part here.

Private Party Contact:
Nicole Wilker: 7135353380x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Chef's Table, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Promotions

Date Night Cooking Class: Simple Summer Dinners

Friday Jun 3, 2016 from 6:30 PM - 9:00 PM

Promotions

Date Night Cooking Class: Simple Summer Dinners

Friday Jun 3, 2016 from 6:30 PM - 9:00 PM

Details
Date Night is one of our most popular events. Demonstrations will include hors d'oeuvres and three-course meal with paired wines. $150 / couple++. Excludes Tax and Tip. Tickets required. Limited seating. Special valid on Friday Jun 3, 2016 from 6:30 PM - 9:00 PM.

Brennan's of Houston Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Houston
Best Restaurants in Midtown / Montrose ›

special occasion (95)
romantic (67)
great for brunch (63)
See All
fit for foodies (59)
great for lunch (47)
notable wine list (40)
good for groups (39)
neighborhood gem (28)
great for outdoor dining (22)
hot spot (10)
scenic view (10)
kid-friendly (5)
vibrant bar scene (4)
late-night find (4)
 (3)
 (2)
 (2)
 (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1284 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Houston Institution

Dined 4 days ago

What more can you say about Brennan's that has not already been written. This place is a Houston Insitution of good food and service.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

another good experience

Dined on May 24, 2016

very good. Waiter Robert was wonderful. Food was great. Love the 25-cent martini's.

Tags: great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

A true experience in food and class.

vip
Dined on May 23, 2016

A true experience in food and class.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was very attentive to my needs a ...

Dined on May 23, 2016

Service was very attentive to my needs and making sure I was satisfied. Food was amazing, and I had one of the Sous Chef's personally take care of me. I was dining for my Birthday, and they made it very enjoyable. It was one of the best dining experiences I have had. The Beef Tips are Top Notch!!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food4
ambience5
service5

It was very good and the device was exce ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

It was very good and the device was excellent.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always the best!!! Best quality, best me ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

Always the best!!! Best quality, best menu, best service, best drinks

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful meal. The Shrimp Chippewa was ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

Wonderful meal. The Shrimp Chippewa was to die for.

food5
ambience5
service5

This is one of the most fabulous places ...

vip
Dined on May 15, 2016

This is one of the most fabulous places in Houston. They are one of the few places in town with a dress code. The food and staff are phenomenal.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

one of my favorites for years...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Excellent in every respect, will be my go to dining establishment!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Always delicious - turtle soup w/ sherry ...

vip
Dined on May 14, 2016

Always delicious - turtle soup w/ sherry and bananas foster -- perfection!

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was delicious! Everything was g ...

vip
Dined on May 14, 2016

The food was delicious! Everything was great! I definitely recommend this place!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were there for our adult son's birthd ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

We were there for our adult son's birthday and the experience exceeded our expectations! We had a wonderful table in the main dining room. Food and service were exemplary! Of course the chopped salad, snapper Pontchartrain and bananas Foster were great! Many thanks for making this an amazing celebration!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Brennan;s always lovely and great.

Dined on May 13, 2016

i AM A HOUSTON NATIVE AND YOU JUST CANNOT GO WRONG W/ BRENNANS

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Food was OK. Not up to the standards of ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

Food was OK. Not up to the standards of Brennan's in the past. Turtle soup and Banana's Foster still top rate

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience1
service4
value4

Noise level was horrible, stomping on ceiling

Dined on May 8, 2016

The manager never apologized for the stomping going on upstairs...instead the coward sent a worker to apologize after we were done eating and waiting for the valet!!! Never going back even though the food was great.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Tops!

Dined on May 8, 2016

For more than 40 years we have dined at Brennan's, enjoying every minute of each visit. There is no finer restaurant in Houston. Period.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fit for a good meal

Dined on May 7, 2016

Loved it! I highly place. Great food, lovely ambiance.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a spectacular birthday dinner las ...

vip
Dined on May 6, 2016

We had a spectacular birthday dinner last Friday and it is the way we have always enjoyed at this landmark restaurant. From the moment we arrived at the valet, the staff is attentive and personable. We were seated almost immediately, unfortunately missing the lovely bar. But cocktails and an amuse of toasted bread with a crab mousse started the night. Wally was our server and he let me know that our special order for a lobster had been already received and was available if I still wanted it. I did, of course. So we had turtle soup as our starter. We chatted with the Sommolier to select a wine. We then met Chef Walter, who discussed how he would prepare my lobster. My partner ordered pecan-crusted red fish for his entree. For dessert we had bread pudding soufflés and finished with the best floor show in town... A Cafe Brulot smelling of orange, cloves, and cinnamon. Grabbed a handful of their buttery pecan pralines as I went out the door. A night to truly remember. I'll always keep coming back to this place for my very special occasions. Thank you all.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent as expected

vip
Dined on May 3, 2016

Excellent service. Excellent sazerac. Excellent crab cakes. Excellent Loire Valley Sauvignon blanc. As excellent as expected from a Brennan's family restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our favorite Houston Restaurant

Dined on May 2, 2016

Elegant ambiance with true New Orleans style food. The menu selections are wonderful, the food fantastic and the wine list incredible. Wait staff are excellent and work as a team, always attentive but not obtrusive. This is without a doubt our favorite restaurant in Houston for fine dining with elegant ambiance and excellent service. We would rate this fine dining experience six stars, if there was such a rating.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

The evening had potential.

vip
Dined on May 2, 2016

What a shame that almost everything was served lukewarm! Grilled oysters, redfish, cauliflower-brie soup, greens with lardons, beets...all could have been delicious if they had been cooked and brought out to the table in a timely manner! The only hot dish we had was the bananas Foster dessert, which was served table side. Our good meal could have been a great meal!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Maagnolia-like Charm

vip
Dined on April 30, 2016

Few restaurants transport you in place, in charm, in style and in food. Brennan's does that. Even in driving over to the restaurant haven, you suddenly feel New Orlean's roll by ever so graciously. Then, you enter a mansion that feels ready just for you, finding two warm pralines to sweeten the deal. You won't know how lucky you are, however, until the food is served. Just right gumbo makes everything seem "ok" in all the world. Steaks with perfect sauces, drinks with serious flair, seafood from healthy waters, it is all there and all good. I've treasured their little recipe book for years, but going there makes more sense. Do it. Our waitress Joey made us feel right at home, I would like to say that she made us very happy and brought us the feeling of being a part of being in a restaurant historically appreciated and well seasoned with grace. We loved our time there.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

We brought friends here for the first ti ...

vip
Dined on April 28, 2016

We brought friends here for the first time and they loved it! Brennan's is a civilized oasis of impeccable service and fine dining. It is not rushed, European in feel, and sophisticated without pretension. We had a wonderful luncheon. It was truly an escape from the noise and rush of most restaurants. Thank you!

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellence As Usual

vip
Dined on April 24, 2016

Great brunch on Sunday. Lovely soup of the day.......Crawfish Tortilla!!! A blend of Texas and Louisiana flavors. YUMMO!!! Eggs Benedict was fantastic as was the Louisiana Wild Catfish and Eggs. Dessert topped off an awesome dining experience. Froberg Farms Strawberry Cream Cheese Crepes with Strawberry Sauce and Mini Beignets with Cafe au Lait Anglaise. Want to repeat that brunch for sure real soon!!! :)

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Sunday Brunch

Dined on April 24, 2016

My husband and I enjoyed the brunch at Brennan's for our birthdays. Our table overlooked the courtyard, the service was attentive, each course was delicious and well presented. Can't wait to go back again.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

The mahi was breaded and overcooked for ...

Dined on April 23, 2016

The mahi was breaded and overcooked for one guest. Staff misunderstood expressed and emphasized instructions when placing order for another guest, same dish (encouraged by waiter to place another order which was done). For the price I've had better plates of food at other fine dining restaurants.

food5
ambience5
service5

Well organized for shuttle. Great new lo ...

Dined on April 23, 2016

Well organized for shuttle. Great new lower cal brunch items

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very Good!

Dined on April 23, 2016

First time at Brennan's - service was outstanding (Joe), Food was everything I was told it would be by family and friends who have been there. Dining room very comfortable and unique!

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always great!!!

Dined on April 22, 2016

Always great food. Must try the turtle soup and the bananas foster. Food, Service, pralines are always great!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Brennan's is a classic!

Dined on April 17, 2016

love the ambiance, the strolling musicians, food is terrific, service was delightful!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Brennen's is Great!

Dined on April 17, 2016

I have eaten here many times and it is always great. I love the food and the service is wonderful. Go and have a great time.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent location for date night. Gumbo ...

Dined on April 17, 2016

Excellent location for date night. Gumbo was off the chain.

food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding food and service as usual. A ...

Dined on April 16, 2016

Outstanding food and service as usual. And very nice recognition of our special occasion.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The BEST Crab Cake Ever!

Dined on April 14, 2016

Although everything we ordered was delicious, the crab cake was magnificent! Will eat there whenever I'm in Houston - it's worth every penny

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5

I ordered the shrimp and grits- it was a ...

Dined on April 11, 2016

I ordered the shrimp and grits- it was amazing!

food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Crawfish in Season

Dined on April 9, 2016

A chance to dine on any number of dishes with in season crawfish, don't miss it here. The chefs know how to bring it! Ask for Greg's section when reserving, he can make the experience custom.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, late-night find, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Family

vip
Dined on April 8, 2016

Anytime I walk in the door at Brennan's I am immediately treated like family. It has the best food, Chef Danny continues to amaze us with wonderful dishes and the entire staff is so professional and always makes certain that your request is met. I can't wait to return. Thanks for having a well oiled machine Mr. Alex.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Great place

Dined on April 6, 2016

Great place

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Special treat

vip
Dined on April 4, 2016

We go each time when we are in New Orleans AND Houston! Have been to each location many many times! This was a wonderful experience. Great service. Very attentive. The 'best of all time' turtle soup. Delicious and spicy shrimp remoulade. The gumbo was good. We think the roux needed some work. That was surprising. The fish in pecans was very good. The steak oscar was fantastic. The hollandaise melted in your mouth. And there was a huge pile of blue crab. We had beignets for dessert. They were good but can't compare to New Orleans. Probably should have had the bananas foster. Oh, and the pralines they gave us, and that were at the front door, are the best best best! Don't forget to pick up a few more on your way out!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous as usual.

Dined on April 4, 2016

The waitstaff we had was exceptional. Also, we had requested a certain seating area and our request was beautifully complied with. A lovelier lunch I could not imagine.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.