About Brennan's of Houston

3300 Smith Street
Houston, TX 77006
View Larger Map

Since our 1967 opening as a sister restaurant to the world-famous Commander’s Palace in New Orleans, Brennan's of Houston has evolved into the city's premier destination for memorable dining served with true Southern hospitality.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Creole / Cajun / Southern, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Saturday: 11:00 AM - 2:00 PM, Sunday: 10:00 AM - 2:00 PM
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00 AM - 2:00 PM
Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 5:45 PM- 10:00 PM

****DRESS CODE****
Jackets Preferred - NO Shorts, Flip-Flops, Torn Jeans, Beach Wear or Athletic Wear will be Seated

Cross Street:
Stuart

Dress Code:
Jacket Preferred

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(713) 522-9711

Website:
http://www.brennanshouston.com/

Entertainment:
For weekend diners, Brennan’s Creole Jazz Brunch remains a four-star tradition among Houston's Sunday brunch enthusiasts. The air is filled with an abundance of tantalizing jazz music and the fragrance of fresh flowers; southern mainstays and twists on classic favorites are graciously served in sun-filled dining areas.

Parking Details:
Street parking is available but limited. Valet parking is recommended.

Executive Chef:
Danny Trace

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Chef's Table, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Brennan's of Houston
Brennan's of Houston
Brennan's of Houston
Brennan's of Houston
Brennan's of Houston
Brennan's of Houston
Brennan's of Houston
Brennan's of Houston
Brennan's of Houston
Brennan's of Houston
Brennan's of Houston
Brennan's of Houston
Brennan's of Houston
Bananas Foster
Turtle Soup
Gulf Fish Pontchartrain
Pralines
Blanca's West Texas Beef Tips
Garlic Bread
Brennan's Classic Turtle Soup
Sea Drift Blue Crab Enchilada
Eggs Benedict
Texicana Mousse Cake
Crab Cakes
Shrimp and Grits
Trio Of Soups
Cheesecake
Rabbit With Morels
Trio Of Oysters
Bananas Foster & Ice Cream
Bananas Foster Fire
Meringue Lemon Pie
Bourbon Apple And Pecan Salad
Bread
Beets Salad
Turtle Soup au Sherry
Grillades and Grits
Catfish Koo-Be-Yahn
Rack of Lamb
Creole Bread Pudding Soufflé
Blue Crab Scrambled Eggs & Caviar
Texas Wild Shrimp Remoulade
Gulf Coast Shrimp & Grits
Beef Tenderloin Over Mashed Potatoes W. Jumbo Lumb Crab Cake
Bread Pudding Souffle
Pecan Crusted Mahi Mahi
Blue Crab Salad With Petrossian Caviar
Blue Crab & Petrossian Caviar Crepe
Dinner Salad
Eggs St. Charles
Chocolate Mousse Cake
Gulf Coast Seafood Gumbo
Espresso
Goat Cheese Grits
Veal Chop
praliné
No. 209 Gin
Crab Crepes With Petrossian Caviar
Crawfish & Shrimp Enchilada
Crispy Oyster Caeser Salad
Roasted Duck
Fried Green Tomatoes with Crabmeat
Gunpowder Spiced Duck
Gulf Fish Ponchartrain W Sweet Potatoe
8 Oz Filet With Jumbo Lump Crab, Smashed Potatoes & Asparagus
Fried Green Tomatoes With Crab Meat
Mint Julip
Texas Red Fish
Grapefruit Basil Gimlet
1-1-1 Soup
Bananas Fosters
Pecan Pie
Lamb
Chefs playground
Shrimp Shortcakes
White Chocolate Blueberry Shortcake
Soup 1-1-1
Oyster And Artichoke Gratin
Chili Fried Oysters
Midnight Melody
Grilled Salmon
Breaux Bridge Crawfish & Waffle

Promotions

25-Cent Mimosas & Mini Bloody Marys Sat. Brunch

Saturdays from 11:00 AM - 2:00 PM

Southern Fried Chicken Dinner

Thursdays from 6:00 PM - 9:30 PM

Five Course Prix Fixe Meal for $65.00

Fridays from 5:30 PM - 9:30 PM

Date Night Cooking Class: Simple Summer Dinners II

Friday Aug 5, 2016 from 6:30 PM - 9:00 PM

Promotions

25-Cent Mimosas & Mini Bloody Marys Sat. Brunch

Saturdays from 11:00 AM - 2:00 PM

Details
Southern Fried Chicken Dinner

Thursdays from 6:00 PM - 9:30 PM

Details
Five Course Prix Fixe Meal for $65.00

Fridays from 5:30 PM - 9:30 PM

Details
Date Night Cooking Class: Simple Summer Dinners II

Friday Aug 5, 2016 from 6:30 PM - 9:00 PM

Details

Private Dining

We know that each event is special and at Brennan’s, our mission is to make your event a great memory. From 10-150, we offer several dining rooms to accommodate your party size as well as full restaurant buy-outs. Ballroom-seats up to 160: One of Houston's oldest and most distinguished private

Brennan's of Houston Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Houston
Best Ambiance
Houston
Best Restaurants in Midtown / Montrose ›

special occasion (92)
romantic (63)
great for brunch (61)
See All
fit for foodies (60)
notable wine list (40)
good for groups (40)
great for lunch (36)
neighborhood gem (20)
great for outdoor dining (15)
scenic view (9)
hot spot (8)
vibrant bar scene (4)
late-night find (4)
kid-friendly (3)
Sort By:
Newest
1322 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Our dining experience was outstanding. ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined 5 days ago

Our dining experience was outstanding. The restaurant was busy, but the mood was quiet and friendly. Our waiter was very friendly and explained the menu very well. The drinks were very good and the food was excellent. We chose from the fixed menu which included an appetizer, main course and desert.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful setting to celebrate Dad's 80t ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined 7 days ago

Wonderful setting to celebrate Dad's 80th. Unforgettable moments for our family.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent service and great food!

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Excellent service and great food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Brennan's does it right again and again. ...

vip
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Brennan's does it right again and again. Fine dining in a comfortable, relaxed atmosphere. The high back wing chairs makes a party of 4 feel private, at home and welcome. The soft shell crab is as near perfection as exists. Brennan's continues to be my favorite Houston restaurant. Come to think of it, why stop with Houston?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was great first time experience for ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

This was great first time experience for me.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was our second time to dine here. T ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

This was our second time to dine here. The shrimp and grits were wonderful and the grilled peach salad was the best. We felt like we were in New Orleans. Highly recommend!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It's hard to beat the classic elegance a ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

It's hard to beat the classic elegance and comfort of Brennan's of Houston. The lovely dining room, delicious menu and impeccable service make any meal a special occasion.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic as always, especially the seas ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Fantastic as always, especially the seasonal fresh fish.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Another excellent experience at Brennan' ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Another excellent experience at Brennan's. Great food and superb service. Very helpful with wine suggestion. Thanks

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I have a lot of good memories at Brennen ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

I have a lot of good memories at Brennen's over the years. This meal (there were four of us) was absolutely terrible! Service was acceptable, but the food itself was far below expected standard from previous visits. Something bad appears to have happened in the kitchen since my last visit several months ago.

WCW

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

My wife and I had not been to Brennan's ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

My wife and I had not been to Brennan's for years, but we had decided to celebrate my daughter's 21st birthday because of earlier great experiences. I'm so glad we decided to go back and celebrate for dinner. It was a truly stellar experience from top to bottom.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Brennan's never disappoints! Outstandin ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Brennan's never disappoints! Outstanding service, knowledgeable food/wine staff, fantastic food and great wine! Best Filet Oscar on the planet. Great place for any special occasion!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Decided to try the lunch specials and th ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

Decided to try the lunch specials and the $.25 martini specials (limit of 3). Excellent value.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our 35th anniversary - we shared Jimmy's ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Our 35th anniversary - we shared Jimmy's Grilled Oysters, pecan wood grilled Louisiana oysters with Jalapeno cornbread crumbs and seaweed flakes that were just fabulous. We both had the Shrimp Chippewa, flamed tableside in Cognac with sun dried tomatoes over goat cheese stone ground grits. Amazing! We finished by splitting Bananas Foster with a sniffer of Frangelico. Have you made your reservation yet????

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Brilliant - service (beginning when you ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Brilliant - service (beginning when you pull up to the valet), food, ambience, everything! Can't wait to go back.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Oysters were perfect. Great wine

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Oysters were perfect. Great wine

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good food, service and atmosphere. Bren ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Good food, service and atmosphere. Brennan's never disappoints.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

We went for brunch because they do the b ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

We went for brunch because they do the best Eggs Benedict and Bannas Foster. Everything was wonderful.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We loveBrennan's , the food, the service ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

We loveBrennan's , the food, the service and it's quiet so you can speak in a normal tone even across the table. If you are attending a show the shuttle is so convenient.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful restaurant for any special occ ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Wonderful restaurant for any special occasion !

Great atmosphere and the food is always fantastic .

Service is great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I never get tired of dining at Brennan's ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

I never get tired of dining at Brennan's. The food is consistently wonderful and the service is very attentive without being obtrusive. It is my favorite for special occasions as well as for important business meals with clients. This visit was a little of both...to celebrate excellent clients' birthdays.

What means the most of all is that you can really count on Brennan's to pull it all together and consistently. Friendly staff from valet to hostess to wait staff and charming Southern-style surroundings which are both elegant and comfortable. I look forward to many more happy occasions and important business lunches/dinners here in the future.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had an amazing dinner. Chef Danny did ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

We had an amazing dinner. Chef Danny did a great job! We enjoyed a special fried okra and oyster appetizer that reminded us of our old home in New Orleans.

I would recommend a reservation and the high backed chairs are perfect!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

FABULOUS TIME AT BRUNCH FOR MY HUSBAND. ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

FABULOUS TIME AT BRUNCH FOR MY HUSBAND. WE BROUGHT A COUPLE WHO HAD NEVER BEEN WHO HAVE LIVED IN NEW ORLEANS.........OF COURSE THEY WERE THOROUGHLY IMPRESSED!

SUPER WAITER - MR. AREVA......GREAT DETAIL TO THE BIRTHDAY BOY AND CELEBRATION.

FOOD WAS PERFECT - MY HUSBAND HAD THE FILET AND OF COURSE THE TABLESIDE BANANA'S FOSTER WAS THE PERFECT ENDING. I WOULD "NEVER" HESITATE TO RECOMMEND. ONE OF HOUSTON'S FINEST RESTAURANTS.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As usual, the Brennan's experience was s ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

As usual, the Brennan's experience was superb. We brought an old friend who was visiting from out of town as we do whenever we have guests. Brennan's is a wonderful icon of Houston.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always excellent service and the food is ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Always excellent service and the food is pretty good..

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

A wonderful Experience

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 7, 2016

I selected this restaurant for a business dinner and it certainly did not disappoint.

First, the tables on the outer sides of the dining room have these great high-backed chairs which gives you a sense of privacy.

The wait staff was very attentive and friendly. Our waiter was Jeffrey and when I go back I hope to have him as my server again.

As an appetizer we shared a jumbo lump crab cake. It may be the best crab cake I've ever had and I like to try them wherever I go. I believe they used a vegetable binder so there is absolutely no breading at all. Definitely a must try!

I also had the Shrimp Chipewa. It's a half dozen jumbo shrimp flambéed with cognac tableside placed over goat cheese grits with sun dried tomatoes topped with lump crab meat. It was so rich and so wonderful. My waistline didn't want to finish it all but my mouth overruled that idea.

Overall it was a wonderful experience and is as equally suited for a business meeting or a romantic dinner.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Birthday dinner

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 7, 2016

We chose this restaurant the day if and tell until we got there that it was my birthday. They brought out multiple small apps and really treated my table very well. The food was amazing and we all had a great time. It is pricey but worth it for special occasions.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding business dinner at Brennan's.

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on June 6, 2016

I've never been disappointed at this classy restaurant in Houston. From the attentive staff to the great food and wine selection and elegant dinning room, this restaurant is where you want to take your friends for a memorable dinner.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect for the theater district events

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

We dined at Brennan's and took the free shuttle to the Hobby Center to see the Carole King story "Beautiful". The service was impeccable, both for the dinner (the crabcake appetizer was to die for), the shuttle to and from the theater and the delicious Bananas Foster and nightcap after the play. They even kept our leftovers in the kitchen for us to pick up after the show. Kudos to Robert and Ryan for being the best. We'll definitely be back.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Brennans is the whole package...excellen ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Brennans is the whole package...excellent food, excellent service, great ambiance. It is our go to for celebrations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A Touch of New Orleans in Houston

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

For a touch of New Orleans fine dining you only have to head to Brennans. The ambiance, the food is just like being there. The main dining room is a beautiful decor. My turtle soup was both delicious and hot in temperature. Our Creole brunch of eggs sardou and eggs benedict were perfectly done, and so good. The banana pudding dessert was wonderful as well. This is a great place for a special brunch.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Sometimes how the most basic thing is pr ...

 
·Dined on June 2, 2016

Sometimes how the most basic thing is prepared speaks to the delicacy of the culinary skill. The grits were sublime.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Special dining spot for my special friend!

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

It's a wonderful taste of New Orleans in Houston, Texas . . . Good brunch, nice southern hospitality, & delicious desserts. The live music was a bit too loud for the dining area we were in. I highly recommend dining here for brunch, lunch, or dinner.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved everything on this visit.

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

We arrived shortly after they opened on a Sunday morning. It was still quiet, which is what we prefer. The band went around the room to play songs that appeal to middle aged and up audience. I loved this. The waiter and his helper were very approachable and did a great job of

attending to our needs and ever little detail. The food was outstanding too!

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Houston Institution

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

What more can you say about Brennan's that has not already been written. This place is a Houston Insitution of good food and service.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

another good experience

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on May 24, 2016

very good. Waiter Robert was wonderful. Food was great. Love the 25-cent martini's.

Tags: great for lunch
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A true experience in food and class.

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on May 23, 2016

A true experience in food and class.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Service was very attentive to my needs a ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on May 23, 2016

Service was very attentive to my needs and making sure I was satisfied. Food was amazing, and I had one of the Sous Chef's personally take care of me. I was dining for my Birthday, and they made it very enjoyable. It was one of the best dining experiences I have had. The Beef Tips are Top Notch!!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was very good and the device was exce ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

It was very good and the device was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Always the best!!! Best quality, best me ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on May 18, 2016

Always the best!!! Best quality, best menu, best service, best drinks

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.