Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.49mi
  2. Distance: 0.59mi
  3. Distance: 0.76mi
  4. Distance: 0.82mi
  1. Distance: 0.49mi
  2. Distance: 0.59mi
  3. Distance: 0.76mi
  4. Distance: 0.82mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.49mi
  2. Distance: 0.59mi
  3. Distance: 0.76mi
  4. Distance: 0.82mi
  1. Distance: 0.49mi
  2. Distance: 0.59mi
  3. Distance: 0.76mi
  4. Distance: 0.82mi

About Brennan's of Houston

Since our 1967 opening as a sister restaurant to the world-famous Commander’s Palace in New Orleans, Brennan's of Houston has evolved into the city's premier destination for memorable dining served with true Southern hospitality.

3300 Smith Street
Houston, TX 77006
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Creole / Cajun / Southern, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Saturday: 11:00 AM - 2:00 PM, Sunday: 10:00 AM - 2:00 PM
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00 AM - 2:00 PM
Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 5:45 PM- 10:00 PM

****DRESS CODE****
Jackets Preferred - NO Shorts, Flip-Flops, Torn Jeans, Beach Wear or Athletic Wear will be Seated

Cross Street:
Stuart

Dress Code:
Jacket Preferred

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(713) 522-9711

Website:
http://www.brennanshouston.com/

Entertainment:
For weekend diners, Brennan’s Creole Jazz Brunch remains a four-star tradition among Houston's Sunday brunch enthusiasts. The air is filled with an abundance of tantalizing jazz music and the fragrance of fresh flowers; southern mainstays and twists on classic favorites are graciously served in sun-filled dining areas.

Parking Details:
Street parking is available but limited. Valet parking is recommended.

Executive Chef:
Danny Trace

Private Party Facilities:
We know that each event is special and at Brennan’s, our mission is to make your event a great memory.
From 10-150, we offer several dining rooms to accommodate your party size as well as full restaurant buy-outs.
Ballroom-seats up to 160: One of Houston's oldest and most distinguished private

Private Party Contact:
Linda Pham: (888) 605-1087

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Chef's Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Far Niente Wine Dinner

Wednesday May 31, 2017 from 6:30 PM - 9:00 PM

Specials

Far Niente Wine Dinner

Wednesday May 31, 2017 from 6:30 PM - 9:00 PM

Details

When you celebrate a milestone, you like your closest friends to be a part of that celebration. As we continue our 1967 Celebration, we invited Far Niente Winery, long-time family friends to join us. Come help us celebrate on 5/31/2017 $125 / person. Excludes Tax and Tip. Tickets Required. Special valid on Wednesday May 31, 2017 from 6:30 PM - 9:00 PM.

Brennan's of Houston Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (84)
Romantic (70)
Good for Anniversaries (64)
See All
Good for a Date (60)
Good for Birthdays (58)
Quiet Conversation (45)
Great for Brunch (43)
Authentic (37)
Business Meals (37)
Historic (34)
Sunday Lunch (30)
Worth the Drive (29)
Fit for Foodies (29)
Pre/post Theatre (29)
Creative Cuisine (28)
Notable Wine List (27)
Great for Lunch (24)
Good for Groups (20)
Neighborhood Gem (19)
Private Room (19)
Cozy (17)
Handcrafted Cocktails (13)
Comfort Food (13)
Great for Outdoor Dining (12)
Local Ingredients (11)
Bar Seating (11)
Fun (10)
People Watching (9)
Live Music (6)
Spicy (5)
Seasonal (4)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Family Style (3)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Casual (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Scenic View (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Fireplace (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Wood Oven (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
1740 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined 2 days ago

There are few places outside of Louisiana that recognize white linen service and French Creole cooking quite like the Brennan family has for decades.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Houston)·Dined 2 days ago

Excellent food and impeccable service!!

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Houston)·Dined 3 days ago

Food and Service were just OK. After getting home I came down with a stomach virus, it kept me up all night in the bathroom, and today I've only eaten 1 small baked potato.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined 3 days ago

Everything was great. In fact much better than the last 3 times we have been. Except the waiter argued and was ugly with my husband over the menu item chosen by my son who wanted mashed potatoes and mac n cheese instead of the veggies and mashed potatoes that came with his filet. Instead he charged an extra $9 for an extra side. Which he did not say up front. It just came on the check. My husband asked him about it and he was really ugly. To the point my husband went and got a menu to show that he steak already came with potatoes. To which he said the menu must have just changed. I don't think so but really not an excuse to be nasty. And let a bad taste in our mouth since we had already left him a 20% tip.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined 3 days ago

We save Brennan's for a special treat. I've never been disappointed

Tags: Local Ingredients, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined 4 days ago

Outstanding snapper Ponchatrain and redfish. Soups are winderful. Interesting wine list with prices in all ranges

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined 6 days ago

Which ever Brennan's we go to, we are never disappointed. Food is always good. Hovering servers waiting to take dinner order a little annoying when trying to have a business conversation over cocktails. But all in all enjoyable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Houston)·Dined 7 days ago

I always order the Soup 1-1-1 to start and the soup du jour (tomato/crawfish) was fabulous! One of my colleagues had the soft shell crab and I was just a little jealous. However, my étouffée was easily one of the best I have ordered outside of New Orleans.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 22, 2017

Great food. We loved the big private chairs. The best Filet Mignon Oscar we have ever had. The best Mac and cheese side anywhere.

Tags: Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Authentic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 20, 2017

The service, venue, presentation, and ambience were all amazing. However, some dishes were amazing, while others were severely disappointing. Be sure to ask the server what they recommend; the dishes they suggested were great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Never disappoints! Always superb service and excellent food.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Good shrimp and grits and salad beforehand. As a solo diner Infelt a little neglected but they did OK. Very nice ambience and baker parking helped.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 16, 2017

Everything was perfect , the food was amazing but, it takes too long to get you the food.

Tags: Good for a Date, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Really disappointing today. 3 course brunch took over 3 hours. Had to ask for butter after bread was served. Empty water glasses for much of the meal. Crab corn bisque was bland. Sunnyside up egg was over medium. Bread pudding was stone cold. Coffee was cold. Used to be amazing Houston institution....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 12, 2017

I absolutely love Brennan's. The service is amazing.

Tags: Historic, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, People Watching, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch, Spicy, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Private Room, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 11, 2017

I always pick Brennan's for business lunches as it is one of the few restaurants that you can talk. The food is always the best in town topped only by the service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 8, 2017

Tried the throwback menu of redfish and gumbo. Wonderful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Wonderful experience as always! Lovebthe food and ambiance! Sunday brunch is a great value as well as a treat!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Private Room, Business Meals, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Went during the week for a special birthday lunch! We sat outside in the courtyard with beautiful weather! We were celebrating a 5 year old's birthday with a family lunch. It was his request to go to Brennan's as he loves their brunch. They made french toast for him. Delicious lunches. Bananas Foster. We also come here without child for dates nights too. This is a magical place. Everything is simply the best.

Tags: Romantic, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Historic, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Afternoon Tea, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 30, 2017

We splurged (over $100 for dinner for two, one cocktail, no dessert) and thought it was a ho-hum experience. Waiter forgot to bring napkins, some food room temperature that should have been warm, etc... not the attention to detail that we expect of the Brennan clan.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Wonderful brunch, great service. Exquisite restaurant!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on April 30, 2017

I have always loved Brennnas for brunch. However, this time I was disappointed. The service seemd to be focused on the two large parties surrounding us and it seemd like we were the red headed step children. Im simplyt not used to having to ask the staff for a coffee refil, thats not Brennans, its Lubys.

The biggest disapointment was the food, the english muffins in the Benedict were hard and my partner had to work hard ot cut them, the eggs were amlost hard boiled.

In short, I will be back, however I really hope tha tthey have not lost theior touchm

Tags: Private Room, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 29, 2017

The evening was a celebration of my wife's 70th birthday. The service was excellent and the food was served warm and on time. We were very disappointed to learn we would be seated in the middle of the dining room even after I made reservations far in advance. We had hoped for a more intimate table with the larger chairs. There was a very noisy family sitting near our table that made it difficult for the four of us to converse without shouting. I felt this was not appropriate for such a wonderful restaurant. We will of course return but I must say the evening was a disappointment.
Roger R

Tags: Business Meals, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Beautiful space in Houston. Classic southern dishes. Everything was lovely, only comment would be courses came out too close together.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Brennan's never disappoints

Always good food and friendly staff

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Soft shell crab was beyond belief! And the turtle soup is a must for every visit. My best friend's favorite dessert is the lemon meringue pie, always outstanding. We turn it into a multi-hour experience of food and fun.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Private Room, Quiet Conversation, Historic, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Has been a favorite of ours for 38 years! Outstanding food, service and ambiance. Louisiana cooking at it's best - classy comfort food.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 26, 2017

I brought coworkers here for dinner from Chicago and they loved it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 24, 2017

We had fantastic service and a great meal. I really liked the demitasse of different soups.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on April 23, 2017

This is a great place for brunch on Sunday. The food is wonderful and the atmosphere is superb. Love coming here for special occasions.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Just fantastic. Love the Turtle Soup and Bananas Foster!!
For that special occasion, plan ahead and get a reservation at the Kitchen Table. It's a memorable experience.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Historic, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on April 21, 2017

We went to Brennan's for our anniversary and I must say this is the first time we have been disappointed with the food there. The gumbo and crab cakes were outstanding, but the entrée was substandard. My filet was first way overcooked and had to be sent back and the second time it was so-so. My wife's filet (and entire entrée - she ordered the Oscar special) was cold and unappetizing. Hopefully this was an anomaly and not the start of a downward trend for one of our favorite restaurants. The service was superb, as always.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Love their Gulf fish pontchartrain and banana fosters for dessert.

Tags: Historic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 17, 2017

Remarkable experience! Outstanding food, venue and service!!

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Arrived late for my reservation but they were able to seat me at the bar. Bartenders and servers were exceptionally warm and friendly and offered up good suggestions from the menu. Great spot for a business meal or date, or just a nice dinner out with family.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, People Watching, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Historic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Impressively fine dining. One of the best in Houston.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Business Meals, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Birthday for my wife!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Food was superb, but service can be rushed and impersonal.

Tags: Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Exceptional all around. We made a special request for our anniversary and they made it perfect! We got a great table, wonderful servers and the best food you can get in Houston.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Paleo Friendly, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Excellent food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.