About Brennan's of Houston

3300 Smith Street
Houston, TX 77006
View Larger Map

Since our 1967 opening as a sister restaurant to the world-famous Commander’s Palace in New Orleans, Brennan's of Houston has evolved into the city's premier destination for memorable dining served with true Southern hospitality.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Creole / Cajun / Southern, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Saturday: 11:00 AM - 2:00 PM, Sunday: 10:00 AM - 2:00 PM
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00 AM - 2:00 PM
Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 5:45 PM- 10:00 PM

****DRESS CODE****
Jackets Preferred - NO Shorts, Flip-Flops, Torn Jeans, Beach Wear or Athletic Wear will be Seated

Cross Street:
Stuart

Dress Code:
Jacket Preferred

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(713) 522-9711

Website:
http://www.brennanshouston.com/

Entertainment:
For weekend diners, Brennan’s Creole Jazz Brunch remains a four-star tradition among Houston's Sunday brunch enthusiasts. The air is filled with an abundance of tantalizing jazz music and the fragrance of fresh flowers; southern mainstays and twists on classic favorites are graciously served in sun-filled dining areas.

Parking Details:
Street parking is available but limited. Valet parking is recommended.

Executive Chef:
Danny Trace

Private Party Facilities:
We know that each event is special and at Brennan’s, our mission is to make your event a great memory.
From 10-150, we offer several dining rooms to accommodate your party size as well as full restaurant buy-outs.
Ballroom-seats up to 160: One of Houston's oldest and most distinguished private

Private Party Contact:
Linda Pham: (888) 605-1087

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Chef's Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Brennan's of Houston Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Anniversaries (64)
Special Occasion (60)
Romantic (52)
See All
Good for Birthdays (47)
Good for a Date (42)
Historic (34)
Quiet Conversation (33)
Authentic (33)
Worth the Drive (31)
Pre/post Theatre (30)
Business Meals (28)
Great for Brunch (26)
Fit for Foodies (25)
Good for Groups (22)
Creative Cuisine (22)
Sunday Lunch (20)
Great for Lunch (20)
Notable Wine List (20)
Cozy (18)
Handcrafted Cocktails (16)
Neighborhood Gem (15)
Private Room (13)
Seasonal (11)
Fun (11)
Local Ingredients (11)
Comfort Food (9)
Bar Seating (9)
People Watching (8)
Live Music (8)
Hot Spot (7)
Outstanding Value (6)
Family Style (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Afternoon Coffee (5)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Modern Decor (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Scenic View (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Happy Hour (3)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Fireplace (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Healthy (2)
Spicy (2)
Vegan (1)
Casual (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Sort By:
S
1651 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Wonderful food and ambiance. Jin was a ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 17 hours ago

Wonderful food and ambiance. Jin was a fantastic server!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Special Occasion, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Love this place !!! Exceptional in every ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined 2 days ago

Love this place !!! Exceptional in every way! Food, Service, atmosphere is always spot on regardless. Have be coming here for years and will continue for years to come.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent all around, lovely atmosphere

vip
 (Houston)·Dined 3 days ago

Excellent all around, lovely atmosphere

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had to postpone Valentines celebration b ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined 4 days ago

Had to postpone Valentines celebration because of bad weather but it was worth waiting for. Excellent food and service.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Do not go here on special occasion weeke ...

 
 (Little Rock)·Dined 7 days ago

Do not go here on special occasion weekends (e.g. Valentine's weekend brunch)......they cram too many people in and service and quality of food suffers. We have had stellar meals here in the past, but this Sunday Brunch was BAD......too loud, stuck upstairs, long waits between courses and cold food......we made Easter Sunday reservations weeks ago but may be cancelling if we can get in somewhere else.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value2

Brennan's is excellent in food quality, ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined 7 days ago

Brennan's is excellent in food quality, service and ambiance. The menu is varied enough for any food preference. Every menu item is the best in quality, preparation, and presentation.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Romantic, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Brennan's is a long time family favorite ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Brennan's is a long time family favorite that continues to make and evoke memories of sharing creole specialties with new and tasty twists. It's also a go-to for hosting newcomers to Houston. The ambience is as enticing as the food.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Good for Groups, Family Style, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Live Music, Historic, Spicy, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Brennan's is always a treat and a specia ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Brennan's is always a treat and a special event. I had not been to brunch there in years. I had the Eggs Sardou, poached eggs on an artichoke heart with Hollandaise and sitting on a bed of creamed spinach. They were perfection except I would have enjoyed something else on the plate like a broiled tomato or tomato slices. I think either the benedict and sardou would be improved that way to cut richness and add more color. Started with the delicious and generous brunch salad and finished with their perfection of Bananas Foster. Nothing too new here, but it doesn't have to be. You always get what you expect at Brennan's which is excellent food, service, ambiance. Beautiful space and my favorite Brennan's.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

One of the best V-Day experiences I've h ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 12, 2017

One of the best V-Day experiences I've had. We sat outside in the patio and enjoyed the gas lanterns, fountain, and the beautiful courtyard. It was like being in New Orleans but cleaner and nicer. Extremely romantic evening...

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Eddie was great! Great service and a ni ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Eddie was great! Great service and a nice meal. Must have the turtle soup and the fresh fish is a treat.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very disappointed in the food this visit ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Very disappointed in the food this visit. Oysters were chewy. Steak was undercooked and very tough. Not typical of my previous experiences.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

Cozy but classy atmosphere.Attentive sta ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 7, 2017

Cozy but classy atmosphere.Attentive staff, that meets their clients needs.

Tags: Family Style, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Private Room, Authentic, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great customer service and great food. A ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 7, 2017

Great customer service and great food. A awesome atmosphere, ambience. Celebrating our 30 year anniversary. I couldn't not have picked a better restaurant.

Thanks Brennans.

We will recommend to all of our friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I celebrated our annivers ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 5, 2017

My husband and I celebrated our anniversary with a Brennan's Brunch. The Brunch special is a great value with a soup, entrée and dessert for $36. The service was attentive and the food delicious. Being originally from New Orleans, turtle soup is rare to find in Houston and it was perfect at Brennan's.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Live Music, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Midtown Houston favorite. Staff's attent ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Midtown Houston favorite. Staff's attention to detail started with a sincere hostess greeting that included "Happy Birthday" to my wife.

Upstairs, private room seating provided a wonderful view.

Robert, Aaron & Jose provided a perfect tempo of service, with special attention for the birthday dinner.

Meal included the crab cake starter, oyster stew, pontchartrain seafood medley & bourbon-glazed duck.

Always a pleasant experience to dine at Brennan's.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The scallop appetizer ( diver scallop wi ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 4, 2017

The scallop appetizer ( diver scallop with caviar) was kind of pricy for one scallop!

Tags: Historic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

A co-worker and I found ourselves in Hou ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 1, 2017

A co-worker and I found ourselves in Houston on business for a week. I wanted Bananas Foster and he wanted Creole food, so we couldn't wait to get a table at Brennan's. Everything about our lunch experience was top-notch: hospitality, service, presentation, ambience, food, cleanliness, and friendliness of staff. We found the two-course meal to be a great value: plenty of food with room left for dessert (Bananas Foster!), all priced well below our daily food allowance.

I will sing Brennan's praises to anyone who will listen, and I hope to visit again on a future business trip.

Sincerely,

A happy customer from Minnesota (and her colleague from California)

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Worth the Drive, Historic, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Afternoon Coffee, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

With its primarily Cajun/Creole influenc ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on January 29, 2017

With its primarily Cajun/Creole influences, Brennan's is one of the few truly fine-dining restaurants left in Houston. Unfortunately, they've relaxed the dress code, but still, people tend to dress fairly well (at least during cooler weather).

Food is the draw, of course. Snapping turtle soup with sherry is always outstanding as a starter. Our table of six had several appetizers including oysters on the half shell--all were absolutely delicious.

Our entrees varied from the Gulf fish Ponchartrain to the steak with crab meat to another outstanding fish dish, and even the ladies finished everything on their plates. All six of us enjoyed Bananas Foster, from the presentation to the taste.

Maitre d' Daniel Friedman was extremely welcoming, and made us feel right at home. We found a couple of well-priced wines, but you must know your wines or trust your server.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Live Music, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We celebrated a Wedding Brunch at Brenna ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 28, 2017

We celebrated a Wedding Brunch at Brennan's 47 years ago for my sister and brother-in-law. It was a very memorable and cherished occasion. Recently, It was such a treat to again celebrate at Brennan's for their 70th birthdays! It was just as memorable and fortunately, the Eggs Benedict and Bananas Foster were just as good as 47 years ago. The restaurant was beautiful with an energizing atmosphere and excellent service. So many things change over the years, but a delightful and delicious brunch at Brennan's is one thing you can count on!!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Every time we go to Brennan's (and we ea ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Every time we go to Brennan's (and we eat there several times a year), we leave with the remarks, "That was the best meal Brennan's has prepared." The service is wonderful, the atmosphere is terrific and the staff is so friendly. The prices for drinks are reasonable (lower than most restaurants of this caliber). Ask to have Marcelino, Joe or Thomas wait on you. They have been there for years!!!

Tags: Seasonal, Sunday Lunch, People Watching, , Kid-friendly, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Historic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Disabled Access, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great old place with a lot of charm! Won ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Great old place with a lot of charm! Wonderful atmosphere great food and superb service.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Get together with good friends.

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Get together with good friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Eddie was our server and he was amazing. ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Eddie was our server and he was amazing. Definitely added a lot to a wonderful dining experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food is always outstanding and service i ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Food is always outstanding and service is impeccable. Always a go to restaurant for out of town guests.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Historic, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wife and I both had the Brennan's salad. ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Wife and I both had the Brennan's salad. The salad dressing was nice and light, but at $18 per salad it was over priced. The fresh bred was very good. My wife had the Duck and I had the 8oz filet. Both tasted great. She had the cheesecake and I had the bread pudding. While they tasted fine, there was nothing special about them unless you count the fact my bread pudding was gooey. Service was very good. Overall 4 star.

Tags: Private Room, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Gluten Free Options, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

This is a place where the food is always ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on January 20, 2017

This is a place where the food is always great as is the service and ambiance. You can hear people talk without a lot of background noise.

Tags: Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Historic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always love coming to Brennan's. And lov ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on January 18, 2017

Always love coming to Brennan's. And love their theatre shuttle. Best idea ever.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were from out of town visiting friend ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 17, 2017

We were from out of town visiting friends in Houston and came here on one's recommendation. The meal was superb. I had a delicious shrimp and grits dish made table side that I would recommend to anyone. The wine list was ample, and the decor had a rich Southern feel. Would heartily recommend visiting here.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Everything about our dinner was lovely. ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Everything about our dinner was lovely. We were originally seated by a loud group, and they were so understanding and moved us without hesitation. The wait staff was amazing and so was the food and the beverage. Highly recommend for any event or just a wonderful night out!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Not a very descriptive review, but take ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Not a very descriptive review, but take it from me, fantastic brunch

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Historic, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Private Room, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Always a pleasure to enjoy this iconic t ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Always a pleasure to enjoy this iconic top-notch restaurant! So many special memories there and fun to create new ones with our kids. The food is outstanding every time, and the exceptional service out-does itself every time.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun, Romantic, Authentic, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Found this on a whim, just scrolling onl ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Found this on a whim, just scrolling online to find a new place. We were seated near the front of the restaurant, next to a fairly loud table of about eight people. Not a big deal, but you might want to request a quiet table if it's important. Our server gave us a tour of the restaurant and kitchen - totally unexpected - but fun! We left with souvenir pralines that were delicious. The good was good, but not remarkably so. I think the restaurant is known for their service and history and it was obvious a lot of "old money" frequents this establishment. There is a business casual dress code so be mindful of that if you haven't been here. We will return for special occasions.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Private Room, Romantic, Cozy, Historic, Good for a Date, Open Kitchen, Special Occasion, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Wonderful food and a great waiter, but v ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Wonderful food and a great waiter, but very slow service. Perhaps caused by the Saturday night crowd, but still annoying. None the less, overall I rate it as one of the best in Houston. Excellent menu choices, and one of the few restaurants where they have bananas foster on the desert menu.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Another so-so overpriced restaurant. Se ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Another so-so overpriced restaurant. Service was mediocre at best. Wine list is rediculously priced. My meal was improperly cooked. The bartender did make one great gin and tonic, though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Food was mediocre.. nothing great.. the ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Food was mediocre.. nothing great.. the shrimp in gumbo over cooked and came out mildly warm. Service was great.. Lovely hostess and waiters .. however food did NOT taste great.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

Great experience, and servers!

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 10, 2017

Great experience, and servers!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Found the Matre' De disorganized and lac ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Found the Matre' De disorganized and lacking common courtesy.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

My husband and I enjoy the turtle soup v ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 8, 2017

My husband and I enjoy the turtle soup very much. We decided to go to brunch and have a lite meal mainly to have the turtle soup. Turtle soup never disappoints. Hubby had the Eggs Benedict and I had the Shrimp Remoulade. They were very tasty. He enjoyed the strawberry shortcake and the bread pudding was fabulous. Husband asked for the check and gave a credit card. I excused myself to go to the ladies room. Unbeknownst to my husband and I, our daughter made a trip to Brennan's that very morning to pay for our brunch as a surprise. Daughter left instructions for a thank you card to be given to us instead of the check. Meanwhile, I get a phone call while leaving the ladies room, from Brennans, telling me our credit card was declined. Our server meets me and starts explaining about how the credit card on the form was declined and she doesn't know whose credit card it is from the form she has in her hand. She also has the thank you card my daughter left for us. What a fiasco! I tell the server to go ahead and charge the credit card my husband gave her and that I have no idea who would know we were there to pay for our bill. The server finally says I am sorry to ruin the surprise and gave us the card from our daughter. I spoke with my daughter shortly after we left Brennan's. The woman at the hostess stand answering the phone filled out the form with my daughter's credit card information the morning of our reservation.My daughter asked if she needed to sign anything or give other information but was told no. My daughter told the woman to charge her credit card the full amount of the bill plus 20%. The waiter should not have presented us with the check, we should have only been given the thank you card from our daughter. My daughters' card was never charged and we can only assume the credit card number was written down incorrectly as it would not have been declined. If the woman had asked for a phone number from my daughter this could have been avoided.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service3
value3

Excellent as always! Both shrimp with g ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Excellent as always! Both shrimp with grits and filet perfect.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We were visiting Houston from Philadelph ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 6, 2017

We were visiting Houston from Philadelphia on a business trip. Loud meal was outstanding and the service was pristine. Thank you for a a great meal in a relaxing atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.