Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.49mi
  2. Distance: 0.59mi
  3. Distance: 0.76mi
  4. Distance: 0.82mi
  1. Distance: 0.49mi
  2. Distance: 0.59mi
  3. Distance: 0.76mi
  4. Distance: 0.82mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.49mi
  2. Distance: 0.59mi
  3. Distance: 0.76mi
  4. Distance: 0.82mi
  1. Distance: 0.49mi
  2. Distance: 0.59mi
  3. Distance: 0.76mi
  4. Distance: 0.82mi

About Brennan's of Houston

Since our 1967 opening as a sister restaurant to the world-famous Commander’s Palace in New Orleans, Brennan's of Houston has evolved into the city's premier destination for memorable dining served with true Southern hospitality.

3300 Smith Street
Houston, TX 77006
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Creole / Cajun / Southern, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Saturday: 11:00 AM - 2:00 PM, Sunday: 10:00 AM - 2:00 PM
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00 AM - 2:00 PM
Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 5:45 PM- 10:00 PM

****DRESS CODE****
Jackets Preferred - NO Shorts, Flip-Flops, Torn Jeans, Beach Wear or Athletic Wear will be Seated

Cross Street:
Stuart

Dress Code:
Jacket Preferred

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(713) 522-9711

Website:
http://www.brennanshouston.com/

Entertainment:
For weekend diners, Brennan’s Creole Jazz Brunch remains a four-star tradition among Houston's Sunday brunch enthusiasts. The air is filled with an abundance of tantalizing jazz music and the fragrance of fresh flowers; southern mainstays and twists on classic favorites are graciously served in sun-filled dining areas.

Parking Details:
Street parking is available but limited. Valet parking is recommended.

Executive Chef:
Danny Trace

Private Party Facilities:
We know that each event is special and at Brennan’s, our mission is to make your event a great memory.
From 10-150, we offer several dining rooms to accommodate your party size as well as full restaurant buy-outs.
Ballroom-seats up to 160: One of Houston's oldest and most distinguished private

Private Party Contact:
Linda Pham: (888) 605-1087

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Chef's Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Brennan's of Houston Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (78)
Good for Anniversaries (76)
Romantic (65)
See All
Good for a Date (55)
Good for Birthdays (54)
Quiet Conversation (42)
Pre/post Theatre (39)
Authentic (38)
Business Meals (36)
Historic (36)
Great for Brunch (35)
Worth the Drive (33)
Creative Cuisine (27)
Notable Wine List (26)
Sunday Lunch (25)
Fit for Foodies (25)
Cozy (24)
Good for Groups (24)
Great for Lunch (21)
Private Room (19)
Handcrafted Cocktails (18)
Neighborhood Gem (17)
Fun (14)
Seasonal (12)
Local Ingredients (12)
Bar Seating (12)
Comfort Food (9)
People Watching (8)
Live Music (8)
Hot Spot (7)
Outstanding Value (7)
Tasting Menu (5)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Afternoon Coffee (5)
Scenic View (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Family Style (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Fireplace (2)
Healthy (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Casual (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Spicy (2)
Vegan (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Sort By:
S
1679 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined 3 days ago

When server and chef found out about my family's love affair with Brennan's in New Orleans, they really went out of their way...even made the oyster soup special for me and my mom although it wasn't on the brunch menu. Memorable!

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 4 days ago

Wonderful evening as always! Food, atmosphere and service were all excellent!

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined 4 days ago

Had company arrive from out of town who were thrilled and impressed with Brennan's Southern elegance. The service was unmatched, but the food was the star. Thank you!!

Tags: Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Afternoon Coffee, Great for Brunch, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Romantic, Authentic, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Outstanding Value, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Dining at Brennan's tells your friends and loved ones that you really care for them. It combines Southern hospitality with delicious food and outstanding service. You eat well and they make you feel very special.

Our party's selections ranged from steak to fish to vegetarian. The "standards" (turtle soup, bananas Foster) are still terrific and the variety of creative dishes encourages you to return.

Everyone made us feel at home and the servers successfully managed our dinner to ensure we timely departed on the shuttle service to Hobby Center.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on March 18, 2017

We really enjoyed the food. We were happy to have a bus to take us to Jones Hall and bring us back after the show.

We came at 6 p.m. which was plenty of time for the 7:30 bus.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (London)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Had not been here for some time. Filet was disappointing.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 17, 2017

The food is excellent and the service impeccable. The waiters are not "servers" as with a lot of restaurants so you really get a silver service experience. The atmosphere is warm and inviting and has an old world charm about it.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on March 16, 2017

generally, I go to Brennan's before the theatre, however, I have had private celebrations here and have been totally satisfied with food, service, ambiance and etc. Love it!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Private Room, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Awesome in every way

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Brennan's is always beautiful and elegant. It is a perfect spot for brunch or a wedding shower or even a power lunch. The food is good, although I wouldn't say outstanding. The service is nice too. The Saturday brunch was $36 which I didn't think was a great value since we were just eating Eggs Benedict but it did come with a soup/sald (neither of which sounded good with egge) and a tasty dessert. There was just anything that was different or spectacular. Love their high back wing chairs though. They lend themselves to quiet conversation.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Historic, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Amazing food and amazing staff! Will go back a million times!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 10, 2017

The service was excellent and the food was very good. A great place to celebrate a special occasion.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Historic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 5, 2017

We had a great lunch celebration there. They had a jazz band playing music at different tables of the restaurant. Birthday celebrations all around us & the smell of delicious food. We had a great meal.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Excellent as always! The complimentary theater shuttle is great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Loved it as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Waiter never mentioned specials and then told other table about off menu options. Vegetarian entree was just a bunch of side dishes. I didn't think any of the entrees were worth the $40 + price tag. Cocktail list was not as innovative as other restaurants. Kind of feel like Brennan's is living off its reputation and can't keep up.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Always a pleasure. Brennan's is consistently high quality with an exceptional staff. Thank you for an enjoyable evening!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Overall, a great place for a pair or a group to celebrate. The food was great and the service was attentive and ready to perform their signature flaming deserts and put on a show. The prices were reasonable for the quality of the food being served. The only two things I found a bit off were a (required) $5 for valet parking, which seemed a bit high for Houston and their repeated (both online and onsite) insistence on "business casual" attire that was to be strictly enforced... however, when there, I saw several notable examples of non business casual that seemingly fell under their enforcement radar.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Authentic
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Sat outside for a Birthday brunch celebration. Everything was great!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on February 26, 2017

The food was delicious and well prepared. We had craft cocktails to start and then fresh oysters and soups, a variety of entrees, dessert, and coffees. We enjoyed it all and it was quiet so we had great dinner conversation.
There is a dress code, which we appreciate, but have not been seated in the main dining room on multiple visits; and we dress for dinner - ties and dresses. So for the cost we won't go back to be put in one of the small dining areas again. There are better fine dining options in Houston.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 21, 2017

This is not the same Brennans that I have enjoyed for over 45 years! I refer to both the quality
of waitstaff and the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 21, 2017

Brennan's has a very nice ambiance and the service was special.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 21, 2017

It was delicious. Food was a little expensive, but being from Louisiana, the food was authentic and true to its style. A rare find in Houston, authentic Louisianan food, Brennan's is definitely worth the price.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Historic, Authentic, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Always a pleasure to get together with friends at Brennans.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Excellent! We love Brennan's! Robert was excellent and very attentive

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Impeccable service, delicious food, elegant but relaxed atmosphere, fine wine. Our birthday brunch lasted for three very enjoyable hours with champagne, appetizers, wine, entrees, deserts, and aperitifs. Truly a special place to celebrate a special occasion. One of Houston's finest restaurants.

Tags: Authentic, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Historic, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 19, 2017

By far one of the best restaurants I've ever dined at.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Wonderful food and ambiance. Jin was a fantastic server!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Special Occasion, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Love this place !!! Exceptional in every way! Food, Service, atmosphere is always spot on regardless. Have be coming here for years and will continue for years to come.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Excellent all around, lovely atmosphere

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Had to postpone Valentines celebration because of bad weather but it was worth waiting for. Excellent food and service.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Little Rock)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Do not go here on special occasion weekends (e.g. Valentine's weekend brunch)......they cram too many people in and service and quality of food suffers. We have had stellar meals here in the past, but this Sunday Brunch was BAD......too loud, stuck upstairs, long waits between courses and cold food......we made Easter Sunday reservations weeks ago but may be cancelling if we can get in somewhere else.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value2

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Brennan's is excellent in food quality, service and ambiance. The menu is varied enough for any food preference. Every menu item is the best in quality, preparation, and presentation.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Romantic, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Brennan's is a long time family favorite that continues to make and evoke memories of sharing creole specialties with new and tasty twists. It's also a go-to for hosting newcomers to Houston. The ambience is as enticing as the food.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Good for Groups, Family Style, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Live Music, Historic, Spicy, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Brennan's is always a treat and a special event. I had not been to brunch there in years. I had the Eggs Sardou, poached eggs on an artichoke heart with Hollandaise and sitting on a bed of creamed spinach. They were perfection except I would have enjoyed something else on the plate like a broiled tomato or tomato slices. I think either the benedict and sardou would be improved that way to cut richness and add more color. Started with the delicious and generous brunch salad and finished with their perfection of Bananas Foster. Nothing too new here, but it doesn't have to be. You always get what you expect at Brennan's which is excellent food, service, ambiance. Beautiful space and my favorite Brennan's.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 12, 2017

One of the best V-Day experiences I've had. We sat outside in the patio and enjoyed the gas lanterns, fountain, and the beautiful courtyard. It was like being in New Orleans but cleaner and nicer. Extremely romantic evening...

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Eddie was great! Great service and a nice meal. Must have the turtle soup and the fresh fish is a treat.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Very disappointed in the food this visit. Oysters were chewy. Steak was undercooked and very tough. Not typical of my previous experiences.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 7, 2017

Cozy but classy atmosphere.Attentive staff, that meets their clients needs.

Tags: Family Style, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Private Room, Authentic, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 7, 2017

Great customer service and great food. A awesome atmosphere, ambience. Celebrating our 30 year anniversary. I couldn't not have picked a better restaurant.
Thanks Brennans.
We will recommend to all of our friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.