Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.49mi
  2. Distance: 0.59mi
  3. Distance: 0.76mi
  4. Distance: 0.82mi
  1. Distance: 0.49mi
  2. Distance: 0.59mi
  3. Distance: 0.76mi
  4. Distance: 0.82mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.49mi
  2. Distance: 0.59mi
  3. Distance: 0.76mi
  4. Distance: 0.82mi
  1. Distance: 0.49mi
  2. Distance: 0.59mi
  3. Distance: 0.76mi
  4. Distance: 0.82mi

About Brennan's of Houston

Since our 1967 opening as a sister restaurant to the world-famous Commander’s Palace in New Orleans, Brennan's of Houston has evolved into the city's premier destination for memorable dining served with true Southern hospitality.

3300 Smith Street
Houston, TX 77006
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Creole / Cajun / Southern, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Saturday: 11:00 AM - 2:00 PM, Sunday: 10:00 AM - 2:00 PM
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00 AM - 2:00 PM
Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 5:45 PM- 10:00 PM

****DRESS CODE****
Jackets Preferred - NO Shorts, Flip-Flops, Torn Jeans, Beach Wear or Athletic Wear will be Seated

Cross Street:
Stuart

Dress Code:
Jacket Preferred

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(713) 522-9711

Website:
http://www.brennanshouston.com/

Entertainment:
For weekend diners, Brennan’s Creole Jazz Brunch remains a four-star tradition among Houston's Sunday brunch enthusiasts. The air is filled with an abundance of tantalizing jazz music and the fragrance of fresh flowers; southern mainstays and twists on classic favorites are graciously served in sun-filled dining areas.

Parking Details:
Street parking is available but limited. Valet parking is recommended.

Executive Chef:
Danny Trace

Private Party Facilities:
We know that each event is special and at Brennan’s, our mission is to make your event a great memory.
From 10-150, we offer several dining rooms to accommodate your party size as well as full restaurant buy-outs.
Ballroom-seats up to 160: One of Houston's oldest and most distinguished private

Private Party Contact:
Linda Pham: (888) 605-1087

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Chef's Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Brennan's of Houston Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

value

4.4

Noise

Quiet

96% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Anniversaries (83)
Special Occasion (83)
Good for a Date (68)
See All
Good for Birthdays (63)
Romantic (56)
Great for Brunch (53)
Business Meals (48)
Quiet Conversation (47)
Fit for Foodies (45)
Creative Cuisine (44)
Great for Lunch (40)
Notable Wine List (40)
Worth the Drive (39)
Sunday Lunch (38)
Authentic (38)
Good for Groups (33)
Pre/post Theatre (33)
Cozy (32)
Handcrafted Cocktails (21)
Comfort Food (20)
Bar Seating (16)
Happy Hour (15)
Neighborhood Gem (14)
Fun (13)
Seasonal (9)
Local Ingredients (8)
People Watching (7)
Scenic View (7)
Tasting Menu (7)
Great for Outdoor Dining (7)
Spicy (6)
Hot Spot (6)
Disabled Access (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Afternoon Coffee (4)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Healthy (3)
Vegan (3)
Casual (3)
Kid-friendly (2)
Live Music (2)
Organic (2)
Late-night Find (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort by
S
1966 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined 3 days ago

Food was fantastic, Service was very good. The only complaint I have was the Brunch online price was lower then the menu price and the charged price was even higher then the menu price.
They listed a burnch menu example which included the crab benedict as a mian course, so when I ordered it they failed to tell me it was an additional $16 on top the brunch price.

It seems they make up the prices as they go along.

But the Crab benedict was devine and the bread pudding was the best I've ever had.

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Always a great meal with excellent service. Steak cooked to perfection.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Food and service was amazing! There was a wedding taking place in the courtyard and it was beautiful.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined 5 days ago

Great flavors. Our guests, who were from Morocco, were very entertained by all the flambé & tableside fire dishes.

Tags: Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined 5 days ago

The food as always was exceptional. I have always tremendously enjoyed the food and exceptional service. Unfortunately, the service in this instance was well below expectations and a disappointment for me and especially for my daughter. I took her to celebrate her new job. She had never been to Brennan’s and I looked forward to giving her the full experience. Sadly, service was poor and she did not get to experience what I have always enjoyed. It is the icing on the cake. Or should I say bananas foster. Anyway, I’ll come back to Brennan’s but I sincerely hope the total experience is what I’ve come to expect from your restaurant.

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined 5 days ago

Friend’s birthday

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
·Dined 6 days ago

Great meal eith my grandfather. Service was a little bit slow but gave room for conversation.

Tags: Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 6 days ago

Loved the ambiance and the food was great. I had the fish Opelousas and she had the filet (cooked perfectly medium rare). Had the wine Man’s recommendation for the Red blend and it was on point. We’ll be back soon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 12, 2017

The food and atmosphere were exceptional. The courtyard is beautiful, made me feel like I was in New Orleans.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 12, 2017

Felt like I walked into a NOLA restaurant. Absolutely LOVED the food, the ambiance, the service... all spectacular. I will definitely be back.

Tags: Cozy, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on November 12, 2017

staff was awesome...
food - the expectations are high, and the expectations exceeded!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 12, 2017

Food was delightful and tasty, service personal friendly and pleasant, checked just enough not to bother us. Just an overall pleasant good meal. Only complaint is I ate too much :)

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 11, 2017

The food was fantastic and the service was great! I love this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on November 10, 2017

Friday lunch service was very busy and service was terrible. Waiter had too many tables. We were forgotten about many times. Even the Bananas Foster was not warm because he didn't take the time to fix it properly and burn all the alcohol down. I've never had a bad experience there before (its one of our all time Houston favorites) but I don't know that I would ever go back for lunch service again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on November 8, 2017

The 2 servers assigned to our party of 4 were completely overwhelmed by a larger table they were taking care of next to us. As a result we had long waits for service. We finally cancelled our desert, which took forever to even be able to cancel, so we could finally pay and leave. The disappointment here is that we were celebrating our daughter's 16th Birthday.....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 7, 2017

outstanding place to dine...lives up to its reputation for flavors from New Orleans.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 6, 2017

Always outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 5, 2017

Great food and service. Got us out in time for theatre tickets.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 5, 2017

We wanted to have a special brunch for our friend visiting from Belgium. She was more than surprised at the wonderful food the great entertainment and the fantastic service
It was everything we wanted it to be thank you

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Afternoon Tea, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 5, 2017

We had Sunday Brunch and it was still outstanding. They are still going strong after 50 years! The food and service were the best.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 4, 2017

My family is from New Orleans and miss the original Brennan's there, but have found a very delightful replacement in Houston. Each year when family visits we make a special trip to Brennan's or visit on special occasions . Service is as wonderful as the food, especially when cooking at the table. Worth the trip!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on November 4, 2017

We celebrated the eighty-fourth birthday of my Mother-in-Law with her two daughters and my Brother-in-Law, and one of her grandchildren. It was a delightful occasion, outstanding wine list, world class cuisine, and talented service.

In this age of restaurant operators pushing folks thru the doors with food prepared off-site and warmed in the restaurant, loud music in the background, and wall to wall televisions, this is a welcome respite.

Keep up the great work!

Tags: Good for Groups, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on November 1, 2017

The wonderful dining experience is enhanced every time by Margie's welcoming greeting.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 29, 2017

We had a great Sunday Brunch. We were greeted on arrival. The service staff was excellent and the jazz atmosphere was fun. The food choices were broad and everyone enjoyed our Brunch.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 28, 2017

Service is typically excellent. However, we felt that we were rushed. Food was generally pretty good. The fish for the gulf fish pontchartrain wasn’t good, the rest of the components were very good. We’ve been there 4 times in the last year. Time to take a break, will be back again in the future

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 28, 2017

During a four day business trip to Houston, I decided to go to Brennan's of Houston on my last night. The last time I'd been at this restaurant was in 1982 or 1983, when I used to get into Houston a lot for business. Believe it or not, it was every bit as good as I remembered it.

It's lovely to eat an unhurried meal in large comfy chairs. We had terrific service from Fred Jr. (whose dad also works here) and great wine advice from Marcus. Although there was a minor snafu with my dinner order (receiving the Shrimp Chippewa instead of the Diver Scallops and Cavier that I ordered), the staff made things right by also serving me a small portion of the Scallops (an impeccable and complex preparation with creamed corn risotto, marinated beets, red radishes - and grapefruit.) Since the Shrimp had been beautifully prepared table side (and was delicious with cognac, sun dried tomatoes, and cream over goat cheese grits), I could hardly complain. My companion had the Gulf Fish Pontchartrain and loved every bite.

We shared a delicious chocolate pecan pie for dessert - and then came the real treat: a tour of the kitchen lead by Fred Jr. Honestly, I was in heaven getting to see the back of the house, and was thrilled that three of the chefs signed my menu (including the executive chef and one of the chefs who had been there since 1982!)

This was an evening to remember and by far the best meal I had in Houston!

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 26, 2017

Service was fantastic. Very friendly and helpful. Very accommodating in setting up shuttle to Jones Hall.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 25, 2017

Enjoyed the evening and food. Seemed a bit pricey

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on October 22, 2017

Brennans has been one of our favorite "go to" special occasion places for many years. This time it just came up short, and we were disappointed overall. It was our wedding anniversary, and I asked for a table in the main dining room, which we had. Usually we are seated at one of the tables with the taller chairs. However, this time we had a table along the wall shared with the entrance corridor -- it was noisy and crowded. Our waiter did not seem familiar with the menu and could not answer some basic questions. I ordered seafood gumbo for a starter and was disappointed that it was mostly oysters (which I don't eat). I commented on the dish when it was set down and asked if there were oysters in it, the answer was just a very few. He did not offer to bring me something else or gumbo without oysters. I kept it and picked them out (7 in all, which I don't consider just a few in a cup. We had to ask repeatedly for beverage refills. The waiter at the next table offered the guests some specials that were not on the menu -- one of which I would have enjoyed, but we were not given that opportunity. By then our order was already submitted. Dessert (usually a highlight for me) was a "fall" selection -- nothing great. I ended up with the benigets with café au lait anglaise. I tried to get more info from the waiter but was unsuccessful in finding out what it was -- essentially I knew but just wanted to know if the café portion was served hot or cold and to drink or eat with a spoon. He just kept saying it was a dipping sauce. Since I wasn't wild about any of the other choices, I ordered that. Actually I enjoyed it and was glad that was what I selected, but I do expect that the waiters in a restaurant with the reputation of Brennan's to be able to give more knowledgeable answers to questions about the food and more responsive to the client's concerns and requests. Am sure we will go back but next special occasion may branch out and try another restaurant.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on October 22, 2017

We celebrated a birthday with brunch. Really great food and ambiance, musicians were awesome! Service was lackluster.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 22, 2017

Fantastic food, but the staff seem to focus on managing each table instead of the restaurant as a whole. Our service completely fell apart after the appetizers due to the arrival of a large party in our room of the restaurant. The party (13) was far too large for the space (maybe 10'x 40-50' and definitely arranged for small parties), and given how the staff scrambled to rearrange tables and that the party complained about waiting an hour, this didn't seem like a party with a reservation. They proceeded to occupy all of the staff's attention and make it impossible to carry on a conversation. Timing of service was off for the rest of the night, and a major error made with dessert.

Great food, but if this is the norm for service here, this can't be a great restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 21, 2017

Wonderful food; every bite was terrific! Service was super and we got seated in a smaller room where there was little noise.

Tags: Comfort Food, Business Meals, Spicy, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 20, 2017

Great food. Great service. Always use the shuttle to the theatre and back. Good times!

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 20, 2017

Brennan’s never disappoints. Herb crusted chicken and Brennan’s salad were delicious. Pecan pie was also very good. Portions are large. We went after 1:30 and the business lunch crowd departed shortly thereafter. We were never rushed and service remained attentive even tho the dining room became almost empty while we were dining.

Tags: Seasonal, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 20, 2017

I was highly disappointed that I made reservations and told them it was to celebrate a special birthday! No one acknowledged it and everything that was proisrd to me did NOt happen! I was embarassed and disappointed! I even called and confirmed!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value2

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on October 20, 2017

Still a Houston Gem!! Outstanding service, delicious dishes, and inviting atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 19, 2017

Food and Service were excellent !
Hate the big wingback chairs.

Tags: Special Occasion, Seasonal, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 16, 2017

Came here for anniversary meal. Initially had a hard time finding it because there were ambulances near the entrance, but once we finally made it inside, I could see what all the hype was about the ambiance. They seated us in a secluded area with large high back chairs. Diver scallops were quite tasty. Lemon meringue pie was amazing. Definitely worth the drive for a special occasion.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 15, 2017

We had a wonderful time after the Texans win. We were there to celebrate my husbands early birthday. Our food, service was just terrific.

Tags: Happy Hour, Afternoon Coffee, Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on October 15, 2017

Don't sit upstairs if you want to hear the
Jazz combo and watch out if there is a big party across the hall, because it got too loud for us to talk.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.