Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.49mi
  2. Distance: 0.59mi
  3. Distance: 0.76mi
  4. Distance: 0.82mi
  1. Distance: 0.49mi
  2. Distance: 0.59mi
  3. Distance: 0.76mi
  4. Distance: 0.82mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.49mi
  2. Distance: 0.59mi
  3. Distance: 0.76mi
  4. Distance: 0.82mi
  1. Distance: 0.49mi
  2. Distance: 0.59mi
  3. Distance: 0.76mi
  4. Distance: 0.82mi

About Brennan's of Houston

Since our 1967 opening as a sister restaurant to the world-famous Commander’s Palace in New Orleans, Brennan's of Houston has evolved into the city's premier destination for memorable dining served with true Southern hospitality.

3300 Smith Street
Houston, TX 77006
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Creole / Cajun / Southern, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Saturday: 11:00 AM - 2:00 PM, Sunday: 10:00 AM - 2:00 PM
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00 AM - 2:00 PM
Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 5:45 PM- 10:00 PM

****DRESS CODE****
Jackets Preferred - NO Shorts, Flip-Flops, Torn Jeans, Beach Wear or Athletic Wear will be Seated

Cross Street:
Stuart

Dress Code:
Jacket Preferred

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(713) 522-9711

Website:
http://www.brennanshouston.com/

Entertainment:
For weekend diners, Brennan’s Creole Jazz Brunch remains a four-star tradition among Houston's Sunday brunch enthusiasts. The air is filled with an abundance of tantalizing jazz music and the fragrance of fresh flowers; southern mainstays and twists on classic favorites are graciously served in sun-filled dining areas.

Parking Details:
Street parking is available but limited. Valet parking is recommended.

Executive Chef:
Danny Trace

Private Party Facilities:
We know that each event is special and at Brennan’s, our mission is to make your event a great memory.
From 10-150, we offer several dining rooms to accommodate your party size as well as full restaurant buy-outs.
Ballroom-seats up to 160: One of Houston's oldest and most distinguished private

Private Party Contact:
Linda Pham: (888) 605-1087

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Chef's Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Date Night Cooking Class

Friday Sep 29, 2017 from 6:30 PM - 9:00 PM

Specials

Date Night Cooking Class

Friday Sep 29, 2017 from 6:30 PM - 9:00 PM

Details

Join us for an in-room cooking demonstration including three courses and paired wines and cocktails. $150 / couple. Tickets required. Excludes Tax and Tip. Tax and gratuity are not included. Special valid on Friday Sep 29, 2017 from 6:30 PM - 9:00 PM.

Brennan's of Houston Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.8

value

4.4

noise

Quiet

96% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (84)
Good for Anniversaries (76)
Good for a Date (68)
See All
Good for Birthdays (62)
Romantic (62)
Quiet Conversation (54)
Creative Cuisine (43)
Fit for Foodies (43)
Sunday Lunch (43)
Great for Brunch (42)
Worth the Drive (42)
Notable Wine List (39)
Business Meals (38)
Authentic (37)
Cozy (36)
Great for Lunch (36)
Pre/post Theatre (32)
Good for Groups (27)
Handcrafted Cocktails (19)
Comfort Food (16)
Bar Seating (14)
Neighborhood Gem (14)
Happy Hour (12)
Scenic View (10)
Seasonal (9)
Fun (9)
Great for Outdoor Dining (8)
People Watching (8)
Local Ingredients (7)
Tasting Menu (7)
Disabled Access (6)
Spicy (5)
Afternoon Coffee (4)
Afternoon Tea (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Live Music (4)
Casual (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Vegan (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort By:
S
1907 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined 2 days ago

Weekend brunch. Amazing food, large portions. All of us enjoyed immensely. I had the duck crepe, seafood cakes and banana foster. Others included Pain Perdu, Pork cutlet, pecan pie, cheese cake. and more all were equally delicious. Started off with fresh biscuit and muffin. Service was impeccable and the pecan pralines were amazing. We were thoroughly satisfied.

Definite recommend for a very special occasion.

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined 3 days ago

The place was fabulous and expensive but I'll definitely be returning. Only complaint is there isn't enough parking and we had to park in a garage and walk. Other than that the place was fabulous!!!!!!!!!! Will return several times.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined 3 days ago

A little noisy in the upstairs room due to close proximity with others. I prefer downstairs seating for date night. Fantastic food and service as always.

Tags: Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined 4 days ago

Reliable top quality food and top quality service. Francisco and Megan were our service team and finished strong on making us feel welcome and special. Megan is an expert bananas foster chel as well. Brunch offerings and cake were strong. Not a place for someone trying to diet- too many great temptations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined 5 days ago

Brennan's has it going now. This is surely one of Houston's best!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined 5 days ago

We always go to Brennan's for birthdays. You can count on good food and service. We have a table we like too.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined 5 days ago

The atmosphere is great for date night or a business meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined 6 days ago

Great food and excellent service. Really nice wine selection

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 18, 2017

The service and food was wonderful, highly recommend!!!

Tags: Bar Seating, Quick Bite, Fun, Casual, Authentic, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 17, 2017

The food was all very good, the live music was really charming, but our waiter was clearly distracted. - He could not be flagged down when we needed him, and several times he walked away before fully hearing what we said, resulting in two drinks we didn't want, but got and paid for. As much as I love the bar and patio, I'm not sure I'd recommend the dining rooms. The slips are understandable when you're the only people sitting outside (though frankly, the bar service is always outstanding, no matter what), or when you're there for happy hour and it's packed, but without the extras (outdoor seating, happy hour pricing) I'm not sure I'd recommend dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Food was as amazing as we have come to expect here. The Jazz Brunch is still jazzy. And the service was probably the best we've ever had here - and that says a lot because their staff is always on its game.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on September 17, 2017

My wife loved her food. My food was good but the steak was under-cooked. I ordered a ribeye medium and it was cooked medium rare. I know it was a thick steak but when you charge that much for a steak you expect it to be cooked at the correct temperature the first time. This is the kind of mistake I would expect from a chain restaurant but not from a restaurant like Brennan's. I was very disappointed.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on September 16, 2017

My husband and I went to Brennan's for our wedding anniversary. Our table was adorned with a gold ribbon to show we were celebrating something special. The service and food and value is always amazing here, and it didn't disappoint! Though we didn't partake, the Houston Restaurant Week menu was available because Hurricane Harvey made dining out impossible!! After our dessert, a plate of pralines and fruit were sent to our table. I would recommend Brennan's for celebrations or brunch or just any time.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, People Watching, Gluten Free Options, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on September 14, 2017

Food was great. The filet was perfectly cooked and the bread pudding was fantastic. Our waiters and servers were friendly and helpful. The entire meal was quite enjoyable.

Tags: Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on September 13, 2017

Great service and great food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on September 4, 2017

We came to Brennan's for HRW. Our waiter was great. He recommended the cocktails and answered all the questions that we had. Turtle soup was delicious and the filet mignon was superb, soft and juicy. Overall the meal was fantastic.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Brennan's has always been an old favorite restaurant but we had a disappointing visit time before last and almost didn't return. This time they were open after Hurricane Harvey sooner than many other restaurants so we booked our anniversary dinner there. So glad we did because it may have been the best food yet. Chose from the restaurant week menu and the portions were most generous.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on September 3, 2017

This Place is Excellent for any and all occasions. The food is phenomenal

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Brennan's does not provide acceptable handicap access from the valet drop-off to the front door of the restaurant. Otherwise, everything was wonderful.

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 3, 2017

It was a very nice experience. We celebrated our 2nd anniversary here. Everything was great. It is hard to come around GREAT customer service and our server Greg was beyond remarkable and helped make our visit better! The restaurant was so quiet and elegant which also lead us to enjoy our visit that much more.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on September 1, 2017

Absolutely awesome! We had a great experience. The drinks were superb and the 3 course meal was incredible finished it of with the always amazing bananas foster!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on August 25, 2017

Brennan's is my all-time favorite restaurant. Fantastic food, comfortably elegant atmosphere, top-notch never-stuffy service - - what more can I say? This is THE PLACE for fine, comfortable dining!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 24, 2017

We came for a birthday. Traffic was miserable. Called and they couldn't have been nicer. Took us to a reserved table . Our waiters were so accommodating! Our sun didn't want anything on the menu. His fettuccine alfredo with grilled chicke was huge, plentiful and beyond delicious. Birthday girl had the restaurant weeks filet as did my husband and they said it was amazing. My blackened redfish was scrumptious. They divided my husband's dessert with my son without asking. My Pinot Grigio was a generous pour and the 2 bananas foster desserts tableside were delish. Huge value for restaurants weeks. Beautiful evening made more special by gracious staff. We'll be back!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 24, 2017

A group of 6 of us decided to take advantage of Houston Restaurant Weeks with dinner at Brennans. We had a wonderful dinner at a reasonable price. On top of that, we knew we were helping the Houston Food Bank.

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Cozy, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 23, 2017

This was a very pleasant experience. The lady at table next to us was celebrating a birthday the staff made it very special. I really like the bananas foster the staff makes it at your table, it is a wonderful experience.

Tags: Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 22, 2017

The best restaurant ever. I will also have lunch or dinner whenever I am in Houston.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 22, 2017

We had a fantastic anniversary dinner. The boss gave us a great table and the food was perfect. This is surely one of the best kitchens in town.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Spicy, Great for Brunch, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 21, 2017

I really enjoyed every piece of my experience. The only thing I would have changed was my dessert selection. I chose strawberry shortcake and my girlfriend the bananas foster and I wished I had got something different.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Mia was the worst waitress. Other than taking our order and giving us the check she did not once check in on us.

We had to request bread after sitting there for 20 minutes with our entire party.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

 
·Dined on August 20, 2017

Our server, Jin, was very personable, and made sure we had what we needed. Angel made wonderful bananas Foster, and the band sang to my mom for her birthday. It was a great time, and we come to Brennans at least twice a year .

Tags: Disabled Access, Vegan, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 20, 2017

First time joining Brennan's for brunch. Both the meal and the service were outstanding. We're looking forward to our next visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 20, 2017

Excellent service from everyone. Really appreciated that they expressed their gratitude for us dining with them.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Really overpriced for what you get. Your meal should not just be "ok" when you're spending $$$. It should be memorable and fabulous.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
·Dined on August 19, 2017

Great food and great service just like it was if I was in New Orleans

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on August 19, 2017

This is an elegant, yet laid back type of place. I would not say you can bring loud and boisterous people, but if a group table gets a little noisy, it is okay. The food is always well prepared and done as you wish. My daughter's mushroom allergy always has her switching things around and they always accommodate her. The service is impeccable and the servers are always friendly.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Although I could not have what I wanted on the HRW menu, the food was delicious - I had the veggie skillet bc it's the only thing I could have with my wheat and tomato allergies along with the goat cheese grits - amazing! AND I did get the Banana's Fosters...worth all the calories. Service was great too. Just overall, you get what you expect from Brennan's.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 19, 2017

I have not been to Brennans in about a year. I was very disappointed in the food, the soup was flavorless, I ordered the shrimp with grits and there was very little flavor. The price we paid taking advantage of restaurant week was excessive for what we had. I probably will not go back.
:(

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Brennan's has been my favorite restaurant for years so perhaps I'm a bit biased. I have a fairly large collection of chef hats from special occasions and I am holding out hope to use it for my children's wedding parties someday. I do think that Executive Chef Danny Trace is missed as the house soup was a bit underseasoned and the Gumbo wasn't up to the usual standards but as always the service and ambiance was the best in Houston! It is hard to adjust to the loss of a chef like Danny Trace but I am sure that Chef Joe Cervantez will have things just the way he wants them soon and he will maintain Brennan's amazing standards. We were a bit disappointed that our favorite wine was no longer on the list but the sommelier was very kind, making the effort to visit our table to see if something else would suffice. All in all it was a lovely birthday evening and Brennan's remains my favorite spot in Houston!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on August 18, 2017

Wonderful food and good service. A great evening. We visit often and Brennan's consistently has great food and service. We are from Louisiana so this is our taste of home and we love to come here.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 18, 2017

Great steak and shrimp. Bananas foster is really good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.