Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.49mi
  2. Distance: 0.59mi
  3. Distance: 0.76mi
  4. Distance: 0.82mi
  1. Distance: 0.49mi
  2. Distance: 0.59mi
  3. Distance: 0.76mi
  4. Distance: 0.82mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.49mi
  2. Distance: 0.59mi
  3. Distance: 0.76mi
  4. Distance: 0.82mi
  1. Distance: 0.49mi
  2. Distance: 0.59mi
  3. Distance: 0.76mi
  4. Distance: 0.82mi

About Brennan's of Houston

Since our 1967 opening as a sister restaurant to the world-famous Commander’s Palace in New Orleans, Brennan's of Houston has evolved into the city's premier destination for memorable dining served with true Southern hospitality.

3300 Smith Street
Houston, TX 77006
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Creole / Cajun / Southern, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Saturday: 11:00 AM - 2:00 PM, Sunday: 10:00 AM - 2:00 PM
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00 AM - 2:00 PM
Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 5:45 PM- 10:00 PM

****DRESS CODE****
Jackets Preferred - NO Shorts, Flip-Flops, Torn Jeans, Beach Wear or Athletic Wear will be Seated

Cross Street:
Stuart

Dress Code:
Jacket Preferred

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(713) 522-9711

Website:
http://www.brennanshouston.com/

Entertainment:
For weekend diners, Brennan’s Creole Jazz Brunch remains a four-star tradition among Houston's Sunday brunch enthusiasts. The air is filled with an abundance of tantalizing jazz music and the fragrance of fresh flowers; southern mainstays and twists on classic favorites are graciously served in sun-filled dining areas.

Parking Details:
Street parking is available but limited. Valet parking is recommended.

Executive Chef:
Danny Trace

Private Party Facilities:
We know that each event is special and at Brennan’s, our mission is to make your event a great memory.
From 10-150, we offer several dining rooms to accommodate your party size as well as full restaurant buy-outs.
Ballroom-seats up to 160: One of Houston's oldest and most distinguished private

Private Party Contact:
Linda Pham: (888) 605-1087

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Chef's Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Date Night Cooking Class

Friday Jul 28, 2017 from 6:30 PM - 9:00 PM

Specials

Date Night Cooking Class

Friday Jul 28, 2017 from 6:30 PM - 9:00 PM

Details

Join us for an in-room cooking demonstration including three courses and paired wines and cocktails. $150 / couple. Tickets required. Excludes Tax and Tip. Tax and gratuity are not included. Special valid on Friday Jul 28, 2017 from 6:30 PM - 9:00 PM.

Brennan's of Houston Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.8

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (81)
Romantic (63)
Good for Birthdays (57)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (56)
Good for a Date (52)
Quiet Conversation (44)
Authentic (38)
Great for Brunch (37)
Business Meals (35)
Fit for Foodies (35)
Pre/post Theatre (31)
Worth the Drive (29)
Sunday Lunch (29)
Notable Wine List (28)
Creative Cuisine (26)
Great for Lunch (26)
Cozy (19)
Neighborhood Gem (18)
Historic (16)
Good for Groups (15)
Great for Outdoor Dining (14)
Comfort Food (13)
Bar Seating (10)
Private Room (10)
People Watching (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Fun (8)
Local Ingredients (6)
Scenic View (5)
Live Music (5)
Late-night Find (4)
Afternoon Tea (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Spicy (4)
Seasonal (4)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Fireplace (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Hot Spot (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Family Style (1)
Casual (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Healthy (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Sort By:
S
1802 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined 18 hours ago

What a disappointing night. This restaurant has always been dependable until tonight. Tonight, we had a rookie waiter who wasn't anywhere near the high standards we've experienced at Brennan's in the past. Plus, the power went out near the beginning of the meal and remained out most of the night. They even had to run credit cards manually. We ordered a steak rare and it came more than medium, so we sent it back. It was very warm most of the night, presumably due to the power issues. No acknowledgement of the issues at all. It'll be a long time before I try Brennan's again - there are too many other great restaurants in town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value2

vip
 (Houston)·Dined 2 days ago

Hard to believe that the best of all the Brennan restaurants is in Houston and not New Orleans, but this barely edges Commander's Palace.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined 4 days ago

Great food, great service - just what we have grown to expect from Brennan's!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined 4 days ago

Consistently great. Why go to New Orleans?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Great, authentic fine dining experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Wonderful Anniversary Dinner!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 15, 2017

They went above and beyond to ensure we had a great experience.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Excellent service. Manager prepared dessert for us and made sure we had a good time. Very much appreciated

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 13, 2017

What more can be said then 5 stars... We were very pleased.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 12, 2017

I went here for my Junior Prom in 1970. It is still one of my favorite restaurants of all time for the ambience, service and food. The food is a trifle rich for me these days. I appreciated that we were able to have conversation without having to interpret above a loud din. Everyone had a wonderful time.

Tags: People Watching, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Great for Brunch, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Live Music, Authentic, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Disabled Access, Happy Hour, Afternoon Tea, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Afternoon Coffee, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Great meal! Wine list could use some variety on the lower end but the food is outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Brennan's never disappoints, the food is consistently good and the service is always outstanding! Great place to go before the theatre!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 9, 2017

One word...AMAZING!!! We went to Brennan's to celebrate our 1st wedding anniversary from the moment we walked in our experience was superb!!! Every dish we tried was delicious. I recommend Brennan's if you're looking for a nice romantic spot to celebrate any special occasion.

Tags: Scenic View, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Birthday for Mom

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on July 8, 2017

The service is always great at Brennan's. My wife and I went for dinner prior to our theatre show. My wife loved her watermelon salad and the seafood gumbo was spectacular. We both had the shrimp Chippewa, which is always wonderful, especially with the show you get since it is prepared table side. The waitstaff was amazing and attentive the entire time without being intrusive. Thank you Brennan's for a wonderful experience.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Wife's favorite restaurant for decades. Always excellent service and food.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Live Music, Special Occasion, Cozy, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Brennan's never fails to impress. Our table had ribs, steak, scallops and fish and all was delicious. Still has it's stately interior décor. Outstanding service. We were well cared for by the staff. Brennan's knows its business.

Tags: Cozy, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 1, 2017

We lived in New Orleans in the late 90's, and often frequented Brennan's there.
This was our first time to the one in Houston, and it reminded us of our time there.

Favorites--turtle soup and cafe Brulot!

Our waitstaff, Christian and Christian (each pronounced differently) were superb.

Tags: Comfort Food, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on June 30, 2017

25-cent martinis at lunch, the best Banana's Foster on the planet, terrific turtle soup, I could go on and on and on... Snapper was a bit over-cooked this visit, but all in all you could never ever go wrong with a meal at Brennan's of Houston!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on June 28, 2017

I took my friend to Brennan's for her birthday and the staff made us both feel special throughout the meal. Our waiter was constantly taking care of the little things, like turning our coffee mugs so the handle was facing our right hands or wiping up the spill of coffee on my saucer. However, we didn't feel as though anyone was hovering over us. It was just a really delicious meal in an unhurried atmosphere. I highly recommend this restaurant to anyone celebrating a special occasion, having a romantic date or just wanting to enjoy quiet conversation with a friend.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Romantic, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 25, 2017

This is the best restaurant I've ever been to. Period
From the food to the service all in a beautiful place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on June 25, 2017

An excellent establishment with superb food and service. Definitely on my list of recommended restaurant. Very good wine list

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 25, 2017

For one guy on a business trip, this was about a $100 meal including tip and two beers with my dinner. For starters, I was a little disappointed that they offer no beer on tap here, just a limited number of bottled beers, and the selection is rather underwhelming. I guess this is more of a wine and whiskey place than a beer place, which is fine, but the beer selection was kind of surprising in this day and age, when the vast majority of finer restaurants are giving more options. For my meal, I had a cup of the gumbo, the Pontchartrain seafood/fish dish on the menu, the collard greens side dish, and the pecan pie for desert. The gumbo was mediocre and warm. It was nowhere near being hot. That, too, was rather surprising and disappointing. The main dish, I thought was in the "pretty good" category. But it was not in the "knock your socks off" or even the "very good" category. The shrimp in the dish were tiny. The best thing I had were the collard greens, which were outstanding. The pecan pie was what you'd expect anywhere down South. Nothing unusual or special, really, just some good pecan pie with some good vanilla ice cream on top. Overall, this was a good meal, but I don't think it was a $100 value. I've had much better fare for far less in many other cities and fine restaurants.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Perfect place for an anniversary dinner!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Great food, great service, transported to New Orleans

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Crawfish Mac and cheese not a favorite dish at all!

Tags: Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Late-night Find, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Very nice restaurant. Food was good but came a little too fast, felt like as soon as your plate was cleared the next one was put down...I needed a little more of a break between courses. All the food was enjoyable - would recommend the Gulf Fish. Bread Pudding was awesome. Service was friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on June 22, 2017

Excellent meal, atmosphere and service is always top notch!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on June 21, 2017

My husband and I were celebrating our 21st wedding anniversary. We have celebrated our anniversary at Brennan's for the past several years. The atmosphere is quiet, and romantic for this type of occasion.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on June 20, 2017

The Cafe Brulot was amazingly done! Thomas was awesome! Ambience on point! Thank you!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 17, 2017

The staff was both attentive and responsive to all of our needs. It was a great evening

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on June 17, 2017

The food and service are as one would expect from this wonderful and charming restaurant.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Disabled Access, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Brennan's is a wonderful tradition in our family. We love this place!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on June 16, 2017

One of the most awesome meals I've ever had. It was for my daughters 20th birthday and the restaurant made the occasion so special. The garlic bread at the outset is insanely delicious. Every aspect was just outstanding and they capture the New Orleans feel and taste perfectly. The Bananas Foster does not disappoint and everything in between from the Short Rib to the fish is magical. A 10! The service was also outstanding

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Cozy, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Special Occasion, Spicy, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on June 16, 2017

We came for a special dinner with our daughter's boyfriend to ask our blessing for her hand in marriage. We were stuck in a corner so far the drapes were in the way, despite the restaurant being relatively empty. Service was attentive and parts of the meal were good. We ordered the short rib special which came out on a board and was so heavily smoked I couldn't eat it. Unfortunately it wasn't the right time to send two entrees back so we just let it go. Very disappointed in a meal that I know should have been divine. We will go back but we will stick to the tried and true options.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Outstanding food, really attentive service, very nice ambience

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Wonderful meal, wonderful service, they made us feel special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on June 12, 2017

I don't recall the servers' names at this time, but I will definitely done here again! (If I have a date...ha ha). Keep the garlic bread warm I'll be back!

Tags: Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Always a special occasion

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Our Sunday Brunch in honor of three friends' birthdays could not have been more celebratory at Brennan's, from food to service. Wonderful time, food and drinks as delicious as we remembered.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Live Music, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.