Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.58mi
  3. Distance: 3.10mi
  4. Distance: 3.16mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.58mi
  3. Distance: 3.10mi
  4. Distance: 3.16mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.58mi
  3. Distance: 3.10mi
  4. Distance: 3.16mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.58mi
  3. Distance: 3.10mi
  4. Distance: 3.16mi

About Breakwater Restaurant - Waterside Inn

Breakwater Restaurant is truly a hidden gem. Nestled between the shores of Lake Ontario and the banks of the Credit River it is Mississauga's only Four Diamond awarded restaurant. Just a short drive or GO-Train ride from downtown Toronto, Breakwater Restaurant offers superb cuisine and is complemented by a Wine Spectator recognized wine list.

Our newly launched menu has some exciting and delicious offerings, carefully crafted by our award winning chef Carl McNeil! Fresh, delicious and locally sourced ingredients blended together to satisfy any palette.


CAA/AAA Four Diamond Award | Wine Spectator Award Of Excellence | VQA Award Of Excellence | Where To Eat Canada

15 Stavebank Road South
Mississauga, ON L5G 2T2
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary French / American, International, European

Hours of Operation:

Breakfast: Monday - Friday: 7:00am - 11:00am, Saturday & Sunday: 8:00am - 10:00am

Brunch: Sunday: 10:30am - 2:30pm

Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 3:00pm

Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Lakeshore and Stavebank

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(905) 891-6225

Website:
http://www.watersideinn.ca/breakwater/

Parking Details:
Free Parking is available at the side of the hotel on the south side of the property and Free municipal parking is also available on both Stavebank Road and Port Street. Additional paid parking is available across the street at the Port Credit Marina. Accessible Parking is available beside the Banquet entrance at the North side of the hotel.

Public Transit:
Conveniently located just a short walk from the Port Credit GO Station (5 minutes) as well as Mississauga Transit

Executive Chef:
Carl McNeil

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

The Port Credit Ballroom offers 5,430 square feet of meeting space with 18' ceiling and 12' ceiling height to the lowest portion of each antique chandelier. The room is tastefully decorated in soft aqua colours and the south section features a walkout terrace through three sets of glass doors.

Breakwater Restaurant - Waterside Inn Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.0

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.2

ambience

4.1

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

73% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (8)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
See All
Romantic (4)
Good for a Date (4)
Waterfront (3)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Great for Brunch (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Authentic (1)
Cozy (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Casual (1)
Healthy (1)
Fit for Foodies (1)
Great Beer (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Sort By:
S
133 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Love the Breakwater-Restaurant. We are regulars with 2 grandsons and the staff is especially kind to them.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 12, 2017

This is my wife and my second time here. We went when we first got engaged and it didn't disappoint then and it didn't disappoint now. The food is incredible and the service is amazing. The tableside cooking is awesome. We love it here!!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Waterfront, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We've been driving past for years and finally decided to try it out. The service was friendly and quick, but that was the only good part.
The restaurant is old fashion and run down. It felt like we were eating in a seniors home. The menu looked good but all the food was disappointing. The signature dish, seafood risotto, was totally void of flavour. The burger was raw inside and was not edible.
For all this we paid $320. We will definitely never go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service3
value1

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 11, 2017

We were given a gift certificate for Christmas. The meal was delicious and we look forward to coming back another time!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Food, service and presentation were outstanding. It was nice to dine in a restaurant where you can carry on a conversation and not have to yell to be heard over loud music. I will definitely be back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 8, 2017

We went to the brunch on Sunday. Top drawer service and food. It was needed to have a reservation because although we were there early at 10:30 it was full by noon.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Great food and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on December 20, 2016

We had high expectations for this restaurant experience for our wedding anniversary but were disappointed with the value. I must say the food was tasty and well prepared but the wine we chose was not available and no reasonable priced ones were on the list.
I enjoy a nice wine but never needed to spend $60++++ to do so.
Nice to have choice but there should be choice on the lower end as well.
We had the chateau briand which came with a previously prepared potatoe gratin. It was ok.The salad was bare minimum with ice cold grape tomatoes. Veggies were few but nice.
Service was adequate but only 5 people in the restaurant .
I expected outstanding for the prices and got average instead.
The management is missing the boat here with this fabulous location.
It should be packed with people, even on a Monday night. Time for a major rethinking!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Honestly the space is great and quiet for a larger group . With so many restaurants to choose from foodwise this would not be my first choice but the food is good, it's just that the service is so bad ( slow, wrong bill totals, screwed up allergy dinners etc) that no one in our group had a great meal due to the annoyance of the lack of quality service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Second visit to Breakwater. We were alone except for one large family birthday dinner on the other side of the dining room. Food, service and ambience were good. Definitely will return again.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 13, 2016

There was a mouse running around on the ground that made us very uncomfortable, but we had already finished our meal and had taken care of the bill. I don't think we will be returning.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value1

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 11, 2016

The lamb chop should were absolutely fantastic. Appetizers excellent, service perfect, good craft beer from the Old Credit brewing company. Excellent cappachino, and not over priced for the quality and presentations n of e meal.
Glad we found this restaurant, we will be back again for sure!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Great Food & Service...Nice Sunday Brunch good selection.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Creative Cuisine, Afternoon Coffee, Healthy, Fun, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Organic, Waterfront, Cozy, Vegan, Scenic View, Bar Seating, Outstanding Value, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 18, 2016

Amazing restaurant, easily one of the best in Toronto from a quality and experience perspective.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 14, 2016

We have dined at Breakwater many times but we were disappointed this time. The waiter did not seem to understand that I was able to make decisions as well as my husband. Everything was addressed to "sir" and I was basically ignored. Even when it came time to pay the bill he was ready to hand it to my husband even though I had my wallet in my hand. We both had the corn chowder which was lovely. My husband had scallops and a Caesar Salad with shrimp which he was very pleased with. I had the chicken Parmesan. The pasta was undercooked even for a person who enjoys pasta al dente and the tomato sauce was tasteless and uninteresting. With tip, the bill was over $140 and I do not feel we got good value for the price I paid.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Lost a little of it's prestige. The menu was not what were used to. Service was ok but not as personal as we experienced in the past. There must have been a change in personel.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 29, 2016

Aweful service killed it for me and my guests from HK. Food was good, view was ok but sub-par service ruined the entire experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 25, 2016

I forgot that Sunday was brunch with no menun selections. Food was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Good restaurant. Menu is very good and diverse. Service was good as well. Just wondering why they did not accept my open table cheque.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 1, 2016

Beautiful location along Lake Ontario in the heart of Port Credit. Free parking for restaurant guests. Quiet ambiance with low level music. Service excellent. Food very good quality. Dining room is large, bright with space between the tables. Its attached to the main hotel where we have also stayed in the past.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 28, 2016

Met son and daughter in law there for brunch on Sunday. Great choice of foods. A really good omelette. Nice setting in Port Crrdit Harbour.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 25, 2016

The servers were amazingly courteous and hospitable. Felt like royalty dining here. The food was great, the ambience was great, the location was great! Even though there are other guests dining, it never got loud. You feel like you're in your own little corner enjoying a fantastic meal. The servers would come by occasionally, but they were never annoying like in other places. Will definitely return here!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 24, 2016

Most under-appreciated restaurant in Port Credit. Other restaurants in the area are much busier, but the food elsewhere is always okay, nothing special. Breakwater has excellent food and excellent service. Not the cheapest choice (it is a 4 star restaurant), but worth it. The lunch menu is more casual and cost-effective, but the food is still top-rate. Highly recommended.

Tags: Business Meals, Waterfront, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 16, 2016

Great dinner, lovely service and they provided some champagne as we were celebrating our parents' anniversary. Great experience!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 14, 2016

always very good, we have been coming to Breakwater for years and are never disappointed, attention to detail and outstanding service and of coarse exceptional food is why we return

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 9, 2016

I wanted to take my boyfriend for a nice dinner for his birthday but after we both took cab rides to met after work we were told the restaurant was closed due to a power outage. No apologies were offered and the rude lady at the front desk told me no one came to work today so there was no one to inform the reservations of their cancelations. Does this restaurant not have any management that could make phone calls? I was extremely disappointed.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 30, 2016

Decided to go to the Breakwater for dinner as it was close to home and with Caribbean festival on downtown didn't want to head that direction. Made reservations for 7:45pm. When we arrived at the restaurant is was only about 1/3 full. We were quickly seated and provided menus. We needed to ask about daily specials. We ordered water and reviewed the wine list. Our waitress was polite, but seemed disconnected. After receiving our water and wine we were approached by a second waiter asking if we were ready to order, but were then informed the daily special was sold out, or maybe there was one left. When our original waitress returned we asked who our waiter was and she told us that they were sort of taking it as it came. We were served by several different people throughout the night. A bit impersonal. We did manage to score the last special of the day. The food overall this evening was very good, and everyone else we observed in the restaurant seemed happy with the food. The issue was the service and as others parties left half of the wait staff seemed to disappear and we were some what ignored. We had to ask for coffee and desert menus, then flag someone down to order, and again had to flag someone down to get the check and settle. Overall great food but the service was odd and clumsy but polite.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 30, 2016

I really enjoyed my dining experience at this restaurant. It was quiet, the staff was very helpful. They brought us our food relatively quickly. The food was ridiculously amazing. I will definitely make another trip back.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 28, 2016

Have been to this restaurant before and enjoyed - classy place however this time the waitress was disappointing as was the food. She interrupted often and overall demeanor did not fit the calibre of the restaurant. Lobster Cheese - too much dressing so lobster was overshadowed. Steak entres were good. Would now think twice about going for special occasion

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 22, 2016

Nice dining room. Food was good. Service while attentive, was fairly slow.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 16, 2016

Everything was perfect! The food was amazing ! The fish and chips was delicious ! We will return for sure!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 11, 2016

We attended the Breakwater on a Monday evening to celebrate our anniversary. We found the entre menu to be very limited. Because the fish and chips and pizza did not really feel like a celebratory meal, we chose the chateaubriand which was lovely, however we would have preferred more choice.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 10, 2016

First off, I went on a Sunday night (a relatively quiet time) yet they didn't have enough menus ready for the four of us. I ordered the garden salad and the Steak Frites, medium rare. The salad was nice and fresh but the entre was a bit dissapointing. The meal arrived initially sans frites, just the steak and an EMPTY bowl which was supposed to contain the frites. The waiter then realized the bowl was empty when he put the plate down but quickly came back with the fries, which were quite tasty. As I mentioned, I ordered the stake medium rare but it was over cooked: medium to medium-well.

The food was pretty decent but not for the prices they charge. Maybe if they were 25% less. The service and attention to detail were lacking as well.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 8, 2016

I have been to the Breakwater Restaurant on several occasions and I have always enjoyed the food and service. This time I booked a table for three and asked for a window seat. When we arrived, there were no tables set for three and our table had not been reserved although they knew we were coming. Other than that, we all enjoyed our meals.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 19, 2016

Lots of food for brunch /too many dishes. Main dishes not hot- potatoes not cooked Crowded omelette station with 2 chefs. I would not recommend this restaurant as food quality average

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 17, 2016

Enjoyed a delicious Friday evening dinner there to celebrate a birthday with a friend. We were greeted warmly and the wonderful service continued throughout our stay! The GRILLED ASPARAGUS AND PORTOBELLO MUSHROOM STACK and the HOUSE SMOKED ATLANTIC SALMON appys were wonderful! We both enjoyed a BREAKWATER BURGER with our wine! Excellent! The Main Course prices are too high for this restaurant to be more than a special occasion venue, but we will definitely return when we can! The decor and staff look quite formal, but we were comfortable in dressy jeans. I highly recommend Breakwater!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 22, 2016

It was not busy at all, 2 other tables with 2 servers. It was extremely slow and unorganized - I was excepting much more for a diamond star appointed restaurant. Complete disappointment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 21, 2016

A wonderful place to take my elderly aunt who cannot hear well. The dining room was lovely, the food was delicious and the noise level low enough to make it easy to carry on a conversation. I have been to this restaurant a number of times and was a bit disappointed in the service this time. Our server seemed to disappear after the main course was served so we sat for a long time with our dinner plates and had to ask to have them cleared. Other than the service, the experience was very pleasant.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 6, 2016

Party of four arrived at 6:00 on Friday. We were the only diners for about an hour. Waiter "threw" cutlery and plates on the table. I asked that my mother's lamb be cut off the bones as she has trouble cutting with a knife and fork (being 98 years old). Although this was done, there was so much fat on the meat that my mother was in considerable distress swallowing the food. Very unpleasant experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 28, 2016

We celebrated my wife's 60th birthday and to add to the occasion, I had flowers sent from one of Breakwater's partners. Our reservation was for 5:30 pm and the flowers were at our table when we arrived.

I couldn't have planned it any better. The food was incredible, the wait staff were amazing. Even the staff in the adjoining hotel were cheerful and well-mannered. Thanks to open table for making the process effortless and to the Breakwater staff for making this a truly memorable occasion .

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.