Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.58mi
  3. Distance: 3.10mi
  4. Distance: 3.16mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.58mi
  3. Distance: 3.10mi
  4. Distance: 3.16mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.58mi
  3. Distance: 3.10mi
  4. Distance: 3.16mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.58mi
  3. Distance: 3.10mi
  4. Distance: 3.16mi

About Breakwater Restaurant - Waterside Inn

Breakwater Restaurant is truly a hidden gem. Nestled between the shores of Lake Ontario and the banks of the Credit River it is Mississauga's only Four Diamond awarded restaurant. Just a short drive or GO-Train ride from downtown Toronto, Breakwater Restaurant offers superb cuisine and is complemented by a Wine Spectator recognized wine list.

Our newly launched menu has some exciting and delicious offerings, carefully crafted by our award winning chef Carl McNeil! Fresh, delicious and locally sourced ingredients blended together to satisfy any palette.


CAA/AAA Four Diamond Award | Wine Spectator Award Of Excellence | VQA Award Of Excellence | Where To Eat Canada

15 Stavebank Road South
Mississauga, ON L5G 2T2
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary French / American, International, European

Hours of Operation:

Breakfast: Monday - Friday: 7:00am - 11:00am, Saturday & Sunday: 8:00am - 10:00am

Brunch: Sunday: 10:30am - 2:30pm

Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 3:00pm

Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Lakeshore and Stavebank

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(905) 891-6225

Website:
http://www.watersideinn.ca/breakwater/

Parking Details:
Free Parking is available at the side of the hotel on the south side of the property and Free municipal parking is also available on both Stavebank Road and Port Street. Additional paid parking is available across the street at the Port Credit Marina. Accessible Parking is available beside the Banquet entrance at the North side of the hotel.

Public Transit:
Conveniently located just a short walk from the Port Credit GO Station (5 minutes) as well as Mississauga Transit

Executive Chef:
Carl McNeil

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

SEAFOOD SHINDIG

Friday Jul 28, 2017 from 5:30 PM - 9:00 PM

Specials

SEAFOOD SHINDIG

Friday Jul 28, 2017 from 5:30 PM - 9:00 PM

Details

Join us on our journey as we sail the seven seas-and our own local lakes n rivers in search of the freshest catch. Discover bold ports of call flavours and enjoy the beautiful music of Penny Skolski. Excludes Tax and Tip. Seafood Shindig is a seafood buffet priced at $42.95/- Seat 5.00-7.00pm only. Special valid on Friday Jul 28, 2017 from 5:30 PM - 9:00 PM.

Private Dining

The Port Credit Ballroom offers 5,430 square feet of meeting space with 18' ceiling and 12' ceiling height to the lowest portion of each antique chandelier. The room is tastefully decorated in soft aqua colours and the south section features a walkout terrace through three sets of glass doors.

Breakwater Restaurant - Waterside Inn Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.1

ambience

4.0

value

3.4

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Brunch (6)
Special Occasion (6)
Quiet Conversation (4)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Business Meals (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Waterfront (3)
Romantic (3)
Scenic View (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Cozy (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Good for a Date (2)
Authentic (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Private Room (1)
Fit for Foodies (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Seasonal (1)
Casual (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Live Music (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Sort By:
S
148 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Although the rest of the group I was with enjoyed their meal very much I found my own meal to be satisfactory. I had the 10 oz steak, which had a fair bit of gristle with a side of potatoes and green beans. The potatoes and beans were fine, however the portions were very small (I prefer to eat healthy and as such look for reasonable portions of potatoes and vegetables). I also did not find the bread very fresh (perhaps it was over heated??). I did find the service to be very good.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 8, 2017

We arrived a few minutes late for our appointment. The staff was super supportive and friendly. When we ordered our food, two of our dishes were not available which was unfortunate and disappointing. The manager came to our table and made alternate suggestions. He was spot on and our meal turned out to be wonderful and definately one of the best we've had in Mississauga. We will come back again and again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 30, 2017

The Seafood Shindig was amazing. Breakwater did a great job with this concept. It's a shame it's only on once a month until September. The live blues was a bonus.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 22, 2017

A nice afternoon. Food was good. Staff was very helpful. We were not rushed. Will come again.

Tags: Seasonal, Good for Groups, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Went for a pre-father's day dinner...we had the flatbread pizzas for starters and for entrees we ordered the lobster linguine (2), summer risotto, land and sea, and the chix pomodori...excellent! No complaints...the wait was a little bit longer than 30 mins but it was worth the wait. This is fine dining..not F/F. Service was superb!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Sunday brunch. Not crowded. But you had to stand on your chair and wave your arms to get someone's attention to refill your coffee or water glass. The food selection was limited and uninspired. The price was exorbitant for what you got. You can do better at McDonalds. When I called later to complain, I got a minimal apology and many excuses.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 22, 2017

We were a party of 8 for lunch and choose the Breakwater for the bright and quiet dinning room, so everyone in the group could be included in the conversations. Food was good and our server Kristina was a total professional and a joy to interact with. We took advantage of the Monday and Tuesday night corkage deal - which is a steal and they take their wine service seriously. Stand outs were the baked brie, spa salmon, lobster grilled cheese and chai cobbler and the only misses were that the beef tenderloin medallions on both orders were a little over cooked, which can happen with smaller sized cuts, and the crème brulee was a little out of step with the rest of the menu's level of quality. Overall, a wonderful experience for our special event.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Breakwater restaurant helped provide a perfect night for me. It is a very quiet and relaxing place with a very clean atmosphere. The service was excellent and the staff members made me feel welcomed. The food was excellent and can be quite filling. It was one of my first experiences in a fine dining restaurant and Breakwater provided a very positive experience.

Tags: Waterfront, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 29, 2017

The grilled calamari was a bit raw and tough to chew.
The 2 steaks were a bit well done.
Tha salmon was delicious.
The fish and chips as well as the chicken parmesan were well prepared.
The crime bruille was a bit runny.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 25, 2017

Had a wonderful time for anniversary dinner, great food and atmosphere

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 23, 2017

we had a reservation through Open Table. It was not full and they wanted to seat us at an obviously overflow table near the aisle with ugly convention chairs. after raising concern we were given a decent table with decent seating....come on now...supposed to be a wonderful dining experience

there was no cereal, pancakes, items for children other than waffles, no yogurt or muffins...failry cheap experience for expensive pricing. Staff looke disengaged, harassed adn not ovrly friendly......especailly the fellow serving wine.....
this is our fifthe time her for different events and will be our last....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 23, 2017

This was our first time. Very nice ambiance, food was excellent, and the service was fantastic. A bit on the pricey side, but you get what you pay for. We want for a milestone birthday brunch and everyone was thoroughly impressed.

Tags: Good for Groups, Waterfront, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Amazing food with amazing service worth the price !!

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Awesome Easter brunch
Ask for table 61

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Great brunch. Outstanding quality! Will be back for brunch.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Naples)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Love the Breakwater-Restaurant. We are regulars with 2 grandsons and the staff is especially kind to them.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 11, 2017

This is my wife and my second time here. We went when we first got engaged and it didn't disappoint then and it didn't disappoint now. The food is incredible and the service is amazing. The tableside cooking is awesome. We love it here!!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Waterfront, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 11, 2017

We've been driving past for years and finally decided to try it out. The service was friendly and quick, but that was the only good part.
The restaurant is old fashion and run down. It felt like we were eating in a seniors home. The menu looked good but all the food was disappointing. The signature dish, seafood risotto, was totally void of flavour. The burger was raw inside and was not edible.
For all this we paid $320. We will definitely never go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service3
value1

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 11, 2017

We were given a gift certificate for Christmas. The meal was delicious and we look forward to coming back another time!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Food, service and presentation were outstanding. It was nice to dine in a restaurant where you can carry on a conversation and not have to yell to be heard over loud music. I will definitely be back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 8, 2017

We went to the brunch on Sunday. Top drawer service and food. It was needed to have a reservation because although we were there early at 10:30 it was full by noon.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Great food and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on December 19, 2016

We had high expectations for this restaurant experience for our wedding anniversary but were disappointed with the value. I must say the food was tasty and well prepared but the wine we chose was not available and no reasonable priced ones were on the list.
I enjoy a nice wine but never needed to spend $60++++ to do so.
Nice to have choice but there should be choice on the lower end as well.
We had the chateau briand which came with a previously prepared potatoe gratin. It was ok.The salad was bare minimum with ice cold grape tomatoes. Veggies were few but nice.
Service was adequate but only 5 people in the restaurant .
I expected outstanding for the prices and got average instead.
The management is missing the boat here with this fabulous location.
It should be packed with people, even on a Monday night. Time for a major rethinking!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Honestly the space is great and quiet for a larger group . With so many restaurants to choose from foodwise this would not be my first choice but the food is good, it's just that the service is so bad ( slow, wrong bill totals, screwed up allergy dinners etc) that no one in our group had a great meal due to the annoyance of the lack of quality service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 1, 2016

Second visit to Breakwater. We were alone except for one large family birthday dinner on the other side of the dining room. Food, service and ambience were good. Definitely will return again.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 13, 2016

There was a mouse running around on the ground that made us very uncomfortable, but we had already finished our meal and had taken care of the bill. I don't think we will be returning.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value1

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 10, 2016

The lamb chop should were absolutely fantastic. Appetizers excellent, service perfect, good craft beer from the Old Credit brewing company. Excellent cappachino, and not over priced for the quality and presentations n of e meal.
Glad we found this restaurant, we will be back again for sure!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Great Food & Service...Nice Sunday Brunch good selection.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Creative Cuisine, Afternoon Coffee, Healthy, Fun, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Organic, Waterfront, Cozy, Vegan, Scenic View, Bar Seating, Outstanding Value, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 18, 2016

Amazing restaurant, easily one of the best in Toronto from a quality and experience perspective.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 14, 2016

We have dined at Breakwater many times but we were disappointed this time. The waiter did not seem to understand that I was able to make decisions as well as my husband. Everything was addressed to "sir" and I was basically ignored. Even when it came time to pay the bill he was ready to hand it to my husband even though I had my wallet in my hand. We both had the corn chowder which was lovely. My husband had scallops and a Caesar Salad with shrimp which he was very pleased with. I had the chicken Parmesan. The pasta was undercooked even for a person who enjoys pasta al dente and the tomato sauce was tasteless and uninteresting. With tip, the bill was over $140 and I do not feel we got good value for the price I paid.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Lost a little of it's prestige. The menu was not what were used to. Service was ok but not as personal as we experienced in the past. There must have been a change in personel.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 29, 2016

Aweful service killed it for me and my guests from HK. Food was good, view was ok but sub-par service ruined the entire experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 25, 2016

I forgot that Sunday was brunch with no menun selections. Food was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Good restaurant. Menu is very good and diverse. Service was good as well. Just wondering why they did not accept my open table cheque.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 1, 2016

Beautiful location along Lake Ontario in the heart of Port Credit. Free parking for restaurant guests. Quiet ambiance with low level music. Service excellent. Food very good quality. Dining room is large, bright with space between the tables. Its attached to the main hotel where we have also stayed in the past.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 28, 2016

Met son and daughter in law there for brunch on Sunday. Great choice of foods. A really good omelette. Nice setting in Port Crrdit Harbour.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 25, 2016

The servers were amazingly courteous and hospitable. Felt like royalty dining here. The food was great, the ambience was great, the location was great! Even though there are other guests dining, it never got loud. You feel like you're in your own little corner enjoying a fantastic meal. The servers would come by occasionally, but they were never annoying like in other places. Will definitely return here!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 23, 2016

Most under-appreciated restaurant in Port Credit. Other restaurants in the area are much busier, but the food elsewhere is always okay, nothing special. Breakwater has excellent food and excellent service. Not the cheapest choice (it is a 4 star restaurant), but worth it. The lunch menu is more casual and cost-effective, but the food is still top-rate. Highly recommended.

Tags: Business Meals, Waterfront, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 16, 2016

Great dinner, lovely service and they provided some champagne as we were celebrating our parents' anniversary. Great experience!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 14, 2016

always very good, we have been coming to Breakwater for years and are never disappointed, attention to detail and outstanding service and of coarse exceptional food is why we return

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.