Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Thu, 4/26
Time
9:30 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 2 times today

Breakwater Restaurant - Waterside Inn

4.2
180 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
CAN$31 to CAN$50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Contemporary French / American
Perfect For:
  • Special Occasion
  • Waterfront
  • Sunday Lunch
Breakwater Restaurant is truly a hidden gem. Nestled between the shores of Lake Ontario and the banks of the Credit River it is Mississauga's only Four Diamond awarded restaurant. Just a short drive or GO-Train ride from downtown Toronto, Breakwater Restaurant offers superb cuisine and is complemented by a Wine Spectator recognized wine list.

Our newly launched menu has some exciting and delicious offerings, carefully crafted by our award winning chef Carl McNeil! Fresh, delicious and locally sourced ingredients blended together to satisfy any palette.


CAA/AAA Four Diamond Award | Wine Spectator Award Of Excellence | VQA Award Of Excellence | Where To Eat Canada

Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Contemporary French / American, International, European
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation

Breakfast: Monday - Friday: 7:00am - 11:00am, Saturday & Sunday: 8:00am - 10:00am

Brunch: Sunday: 10:30am - 2:30pm

Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 3:00pm

Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(905) 891-6225
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Smart Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Carl McNeil
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Lakeshore and Stavebank
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Free Parking is available at the side of the hotel on the south side of the property and Free municipal parking is also available on both Stavebank Road and Port Street. Additional paid parking is available across the street at the Port Credit Marina. Accessible Parking is available beside the Banquet entrance at the North side of the hotel.
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
Conveniently located just a short walk from the Port Credit GO Station (5 minutes) as well as Mississauga Transit
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 180 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.2based on recent ratings
4.3
food
4.2
service
4.3
ambience
4.0
value
Noise · Quiet
90% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined on April 19, 2018

This place was delightful! I’m sure they were a bit leery of my group at first simply because of the very casual attire we had on. We had an Doctors appointment equivalent to 4am our time! But the supervisor came by the table and ended up chatting with us for quite a while!! She was very friendly and attentive as was our server.

Get the Benedict!!!! If you are a fan at all its a must have! The flavors were wonderful it was seasoned perfectly no need for additional salt or pepper. They nailed it. The coffee was very fresh as well.

Total thumbs up for us!!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 28, 2018

Food and service was excellent! I would recommend to all my friends and family.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 15, 2018

Another wonderful and romantic meal at the Breakwater. The food was exquisite. The service was wonderful. Such a lovely restaurant. My top choice for a special occasion.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 12, 2018

love water side Inn and Breakwater but the staff seemed a bit off their game this time. took a long time to bring coffee and didnt have all the cups and spoons on the table We were a party of 12 and there were only 2 other tables in the restaurant at the time Our poor waiter had to deliver all the meals himself which took a significant amount of time not sure why on one else pitched in to help??? love this place and we are all local so like to come often but they really need to make some changes to their service delivery if they want to continue to service the Port Credit Area

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 10, 2018

It may not have the exact same view as Snugs Harbour but it blows their food out of the water! Medallions of beef with shrimp fantastic. Spent the week in TDot at some very fine restaurants and this little hidden gem was better than a lot we went to that were hip and new. Highly recommend it.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 28, 2018

Well prepared food, very nice service. I suggest including seafood and improving the egg dishes - although there was an omelet station, my husbands omelet was prepared well done when he requested a soft omelet. Overall I would go back!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 14, 2018

We went for the Sunday brunch and everything I tried was amazing. I’m not very big on buffets but this was amazing.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 14, 2018

Sunday Brunch to celebrate a Birthday. Excellent quality and variety of food.
If you leave hungry it is your own damn fault!

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on December 25, 2017

Terrible experience. Assortment was minimal at the Christmas dinner buffet. Huge lines, cold food and even colder by the time you walked thru the hotel back to your seat! Would never go back!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 25, 2017

Went for Christmas Dinner Buffet. Was very nice. Choice was excellent and plentiful. Seating was very nice. Were not crammed in too close to others. Definitely go back as so nice to have others look after us for Xmas.

cheers

thank you

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 24, 2017

Everything about the restaurant was outstanding - the food was spectacular! The only minor annoyance was that we had to wait a long time after dessert was served for our waitress to take our coffee orders but she did not appear at our table. When she finally showed up - she offered the bill - but there was no offer of coffee. Minor detail but it was inconsistent with an otherwise lovely meal and enjoyable evening.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on December 17, 2017

Very disappointed compared to last year. Food was cold other than the eggs which I had to wait in line to be made. Not sure if juice is included in the brunch but was never even offered any. My wife and I will not rush back.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 13, 2017

Traditionally we got together for our annual Christmas lunch at the Old Barber House but having learned that restaurant was closed, the hunt was on. At my suggestion we chose the Breakwater Restaurant and were delighted that we had. The atmosphere was pleasant, the service attentive and the food excellent. My friends remarked more than once that their meal had been delicious. So a new Christmas lunch tradition has now been established and the Breakwater will likely come to mind when planning other celebrations as well. Thank you.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on December 6, 2017

I thought the menu had declined a lot since my last visit. Selections were few.
We both chose fish and chips for lack of another appealing choice. the chips were
burned some and overdone. My corner fish & chips place is far superior. It all was overprice- about $130.00 with tip, incl. 2 glasses of wine. The last time I was there your liver was great. It is no longer available. We'll find another place next time.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 30, 2017

Excellent meal and service. Great location and atmosphere.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 23, 2017

Wonderful restaurant! Beautiful service! Gorgeous food!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 11, 2017

If you want to get in a nice conversation in an elegant setting in PC this is a good place to go. The food is excellent and the service was attentive but not overbearing. Really enjoyed it for dinner. Lunches were similar experience.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 8, 2017

Never disappoints.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on November 5, 2017

There should have been more food selection for the $35 price tag. The dry ham, should have been a nice hot prime rib.
VERY noisy room.
The service was great and the staff were friendly approachable.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 2, 2017

Always a wonderful place for getting together with Family , Friends and Business Lunches.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 3, 2017

Great food!!!
Waiters were courteous and professional

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on September 29, 2017

Meals were superb. Noisy, they had a 2 singers stylizing Jazz pops. Good entertainment. Only downside it was a buffet presentation and my position at the table for 6 was subject to continual banging as people went by.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on September 24, 2017

We made the reservation months ago. I was really looking forward to the award winning brunch. We arrived early and did not mind waiting but the waitress said she would see what she could do. She informed the manager who was the rudest person we have ever come across. Complaining we early and plenty more. This wasn't a good start. We did get seated in a bar area. The food was just OK. The waitress we spoke with first was embarrassed. Both her and another waitress were friendly but we won't be going back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 31, 2017

Took my parents who were visiting from out of town. Mother said it felt like she was on a cruise ship the food was phenomenal, service was great

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 26, 2017

Great restaurant with excellent food and excellent service.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on August 23, 2017

The food was average. Service was extremely slow with a manager and a server. The manager had to take on the bartender role as well. Food was not bad but considering the restaurant to be fine dining, I expected better especially with the price paid.

I most likely won't go back as there are so many other choices in the area.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 18, 2017

Server was excellent in knowing who I am as and why we were there. Food was good too. Only thing was I was hoping to see the yacht club but not able too and too bad there was construction getting on to the street.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 17, 2017

This was a first visit to Breakwater Restaurant where we enjoyed a delicious lunch in beautiful surroundings. The service was excellent and our waitress was really helpful in answering questions about the many appealing choices on the menu. Conversation was easy in the comfortable atmosphere. Will definitely recommend this restaurant to everyone.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on August 7, 2017

although we were dining at 2:30 pm, we still deserved attention at a reasonable rate. We felt forgotten most of the time.
We are quite upset that our gift card for our 50th wedding anniversary from a friend had mysteriously been used for half its value ( $50). ??????
We had this gift card in a drawer in our house and we have never been to this restaurant.
We were not given the benefit of the doubt but made to pay the extra.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 5, 2017

Thoroughly enjoyed our lunch. Attentive, unobtrusive service, interesting menu items, and the added benefit of the boats bobbing in the Port Credit harbour. It wasn't busy, so I can't judge the noise level when more tables are occupied, close by.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 28, 2017

Went here for my birthday with family and friends for breakfast, great overall experience. The service was amazing!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on July 13, 2017

Although the rest of the group I was with enjoyed their meal very much I found my own meal to be satisfactory. I had the 10 oz steak, which had a fair bit of gristle with a side of potatoes and green beans. The potatoes and beans were fine, however the portions were very small (I prefer to eat healthy and as such look for reasonable portions of potatoes and vegetables). I also did not find the bread very fresh (perhaps it was over heated??). I did find the service to be very good.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on July 8, 2017

We arrived a few minutes late for our appointment. The staff was super supportive and friendly. When we ordered our food, two of our dishes were not available which was unfortunate and disappointing. The manager came to our table and made alternate suggestions. He was spot on and our meal turned out to be wonderful and definately one of the best we've had in Mississauga. We will come back again and again!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 30, 2017

The Seafood Shindig was amazing. Breakwater did a great job with this concept. It's a shame it's only on once a month until September. The live blues was a bonus.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 22, 2017

A nice afternoon. Food was good. Staff was very helpful. We were not rushed. Will come again.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 17, 2017

Went for a pre-father's day dinner...we had the flatbread pizzas for starters and for entrees we ordered the lobster linguine (2), summer risotto, land and sea, and the chix pomodori...excellent! No complaints...the wait was a little bit longer than 30 mins but it was worth the wait. This is fine dining..not F/F. Service was superb!

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on June 4, 2017

Sunday brunch. Not crowded. But you had to stand on your chair and wave your arms to get someone's attention to refill your coffee or water glass. The food selection was limited and uninspired. The price was exorbitant for what you got. You can do better at McDonalds. When I called later to complain, I got a minimal apology and many excuses.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 22, 2017

We were a party of 8 for lunch and choose the Breakwater for the bright and quiet dinning room, so everyone in the group could be included in the conversations. Food was good and our server Kristina was a total professional and a joy to interact with. We took advantage of the Monday and Tuesday night corkage deal - which is a steal and they take their wine service seriously. Stand outs were the baked brie, spa salmon, lobster grilled cheese and chai cobbler and the only misses were that the beef tenderloin medallions on both orders were a little over cooked, which can happen with smaller sized cuts, and the crème brulee was a little out of step with the rest of the menu's level of quality. Overall, a wonderful experience for our special event.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 12, 2017

Breakwater restaurant helped provide a perfect night for me. It is a very quiet and relaxing place with a very clean atmosphere. The service was excellent and the staff members made me feel welcomed. The food was excellent and can be quite filling. It was one of my first experiences in a fine dining restaurant and Breakwater provided a very positive experience.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 29, 2017

The grilled calamari was a bit raw and tough to chew.
The 2 steaks were a bit well done.
Tha salmon was delicious.
The fish and chips as well as the chicken parmesan were well prepared.
The crime bruille was a bit runny.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
5

Tweets by Breakwater Restaurant - Waterside Inn