About Breakwater Restaurant - Waterside Inn

15 Stavebank Road South
Mississauga, ON L5G 2T2
View Larger Map

Breakwater Restaurant is truly a hidden gem. Nestled between the shores of Lake Ontario and the banks of the Credit River it is Mississauga's only Four Diamond awarded restaurant. Just a short drive or GO-Train ride from downtown Toronto, Breakwater Restaurant offers superb cuisine and is complemented by a Wine Spectator recognized wine list.

CAA/AAA Four Diamond Award | Wine Spectator Award Of Excellence | VQA Award Of Excellence | Where To Eat Canada

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary French / American, International, European

Hours of Operation:

Breakfast: Monday - Friday: 7:00am - 11:00am, Saturday & Sunday: 8:00am - 11:00am

Brunch: Sunday: 10:30am - 2:30pm

Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 3:00pm

Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Lakeshore and Stavebank

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(905) 891-6225

Website:
http://www.watersideinn.ca/breakwater/

Parking Details:
Free Parking is available at the side of the hotel on the south side of the property and Free municipal parking is also available on both Stavebank Road and Port Street. Additional paid parking is available across the street at the Port Credit Marina. Accessible Parking is available beside the Banquet entrance at the North side of the hotel.

Public Transit:
Conveniently located just a short walk from the Port Credit GO Station (5 minutes) as well as Mississauga Transit

Executive Chef:
Adrian Rusyn

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

  • Duck Breast And Porcini Risotto
  • Veal Scallopini
Duck Breast And Porcini Risotto
Veal Scallopini

Private Dining

The Port Credit Ballroom offers 5,430 square feet of meeting space with 18' ceiling and 12' ceiling height to the lowest portion of each antique chandelier. The room is tastefully decorated in soft aqua colours and the south section features a walkout terrace through three sets of glass doors.

Breakwater Restaurant - Waterside Inn Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4

service

4

ambience

3.9

noise

Moderate

71% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Brunch
Toronto / Ontario
Romantic
Peel Region
Special Occasion
Peel Region
1 More
Most Booked
Peel Region
Best Restaurants in Mississauga ›

special occasion (13)
great for brunch (8)
good for groups (8)
See All
great for lunch (6)
neighborhood gem (6)
scenic view (6)
kid-friendly (5)
notable wine list (5)
fit for foodies (5)
romantic (4)
great for outdoor dining (2)
hot spot (2)
Sort By:
Newest
98 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food2
ambience2
service4
value3

Lots of food for brunch /too many dishes ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Lots of food for brunch /too many dishes. Main dishes not hot- potatoes not cooked Crowded omelette station with 2 chefs. I would not recommend this restaurant as food quality average

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Enjoyed a delicious Friday evening dinne ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

Enjoyed a delicious Friday evening dinner there to celebrate a birthday with a friend. We were greeted warmly and the wonderful service continued throughout our stay! The GRILLED ASPARAGUS AND PORTOBELLO MUSHROOM STACK and the HOUSE SMOKED ATLANTIC SALMON appys were wonderful! We both enjoyed a BREAKWATER BURGER with our wine! Excellent! The Main Course prices are too high for this restaurant to be more than a special occasion venue, but we will definitely return when we can! The decor and staff look quite formal, but we were comfortable in dressy jeans. I highly recommend Breakwater!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

It was not busy at all, 2 other tables w ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

It was not busy at all, 2 other tables with 2 servers. It was extremely slow and unorganized - I was excepting much more for a diamond star appointed restaurant. Complete disappointment.

food4
ambience4
service2
value4

Family dinner

Dined on May 21, 2016

A wonderful place to take my elderly aunt who cannot hear well. The dining room was lovely, the food was delicious and the noise level low enough to make it easy to carry on a conversation. I have been to this restaurant a number of times and was a bit disappointed in the service this time. Our server seemed to disappear after the main course was served so we sat for a long time with our dinner plates and had to ask to have them cleared. Other than the service, the experience was very pleasant.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

Party of four arrived at 6:00 on Friday. ...

Dined on May 6, 2016

Party of four arrived at 6:00 on Friday. We were the only diners for about an hour. Waiter "threw" cutlery and plates on the table. I asked that my mother's lamb be cut off the bones as she has trouble cutting with a knife and fork (being 98 years old). Although this was done, there was so much fat on the meat that my mother was in considerable distress swallowing the food. Very unpleasant experience.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Masterful!

Dined on April 28, 2016

We celebrated my wife's 60th birthday and to add to the occasion, I had flowers sent from one of Breakwater's partners. Our reservation was for 5:30 pm and the flowers were at our table when we arrived. I couldn't have planned it any better. The food was incredible, the wait staff were amazing. Even the staff in the adjoining hotel were cheerful and well-mannered. Thanks to open table for making the process effortless and to the Breakwater staff for making this a truly memorable occasion .

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience1
service3
value2

mismatched expectations

Dined on April 24, 2016

when i booked for sunday lunch, there was no indication on the website that this would be a mandatory buffet. with many large groups and young children in the restaurant, it was not conducive to quiet conversation, as was depicted in the photo gallery.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent Lunch

Dined on April 20, 2016

We have been here before and have always had great service and delicious meals.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our family are regulars here and appreci ...

Dined on February 21, 2016

Our family are regulars here and appreciate the wonderful staff, especially Gina and Kristina. They are very kind to our children and no request is too much trouble, even when the room is busy. The food is always delicious especially at Sunday Brunch. Our thanks to Andrew and his kitchen staff.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Service and atmosphere was good. Coconu ...

Dined on February 20, 2016

Service and atmosphere was good. Coconut shrimp and beet salad was good.

Tags: romantic, scenic view
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Out of Stock

Dined on February 16, 2016

We waited til Feb 15 to have our Valentines dinner but were very disappointed. They were out of many items, blaming a busy Valentines Day and a new menu coming - no Marguerita mix, no Prosecco, "root vegetable" tempura was mostly broccoli? and a couple of carrots, no vanilla tartufo, no poached pear, etc. Service was good, though and waiter was apologetic for the shortages. We have been there before and had nice dinners but this time was very disappointing.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service2

Food was slow to be brought out...they a ...

Dined on February 15, 2016

Food was slow to be brought out...they added a 16% tip automatically to the bill that I felt wasn't deserved

food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Valentines Day rush

vip
Dined on February 15, 2016

It was Valentines Day and it was surprisingly not that busy yet they seemed to be a little under-staffed. They were polite and courteous when they came but everything (including waters) took longer than necessary to get to us.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Lovely

vip
Dined on February 15, 2016

The food was excellent. The service was very good. The ambiance was elegant casual. It was a very enjoyable Valentine celebration.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

Low value for $. Slow service.

Dined on February 14, 2016

Took my wife out for dinner for valentines. When i made the reservations i looked at the menu and thought i would be good. When we got there it was a set Valentines menu that i was not aware of. Not much of a choice. One one desert option. 8oz steak had about 2oz of uneatable fat. Over cooked patatoes. Appetizer was very nice. For the half the cost you could enjoy a better dinner at The Keg.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We thoroughly enjoyed our dinner - the s ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed our dinner - the service, the delicious food and it was so nicely presented/ The dessert was gorgeous! Thank you Waterside Inn.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience3
service3

Food was average Somethings left too lo ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

Food was average Somethings left too long so dry

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Happy

Dined on February 14, 2016

Always good. One of our favourite places to eat and to celebrate special occasions. Valentine Brunch was excellent. Fair price. Love the bacon!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

awkward service

Dined on February 14, 2016

I don't know if they were training new staff or if there is new management but the wait staff was slow, awkward and hard to understand. We were there for Valentines dinner. They didn't ask us about drinks to start, the waiter did not ask how i wanted my steak cooked. It was very slow service considering the restaurant was only 1/3 full on what should be a very busy night. I guess it has been going downhill for a while since there were so few patrons there. Too bad. Again, the food was nice, so the chef is good.

Tags: great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

We went for dinner on Feb. 13. around 6 ...

Dined on February 13, 2016

We went for dinner on Feb. 13. around 6;15pm. We ordered the chateaubriand for 2, but then was told later that this menu item was sold out. We were told that there was only 2 available that night. Can you imagine, a supposedly 4 star restaurant stock only 2 pieces of chateaubriand the night before Valentine's Day. I know this is an expensive piece of meat but a 4 star restaurant has only 2 pieces - that is plain silly. Even when we spoke to the executive chef, he just said sorry (he should have sent a complimentary item, e.g., appetizer). I would if I am the owner of the restaurant and I would make sure that the kitchen is fully stocked. in addition, the waiter that served the chateaubriand to a table near us did not know how to serve this menu item properly at the table side - he didn't flambe the steak. We ordered something else on the menu. The food was tasty, but the entrée meat item was small in portion. The service was good. Overall, I would say the dinner experience was good, but if they don't fully stock their kitchen, I would not go back.

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

nice place, location

Dined on February 4, 2016

@ reservation, on line, i've asked for a balloon @ our table i don't think i was too demanding, was i ? overall was nice experience for me and my so, who turned 11 yo that day. Thank you!

Tags: great for lunch
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Inconsistent

Dined on December 20, 2015

This was our 3rd pre-Christmas family dinner at Breakwater. Appetizers were excellent, mains were fair at best this time around. We did not understand that the daily feature was sold out at the 7:00PM sitting on a Saturday evening. Service was polite but not attentive. One should not have to pour one's own bottles of wine nor ask wait staff to top water glasses.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service3

Great Brunch

Dined on November 29, 2015

We had six of us at Sunday Brunch at the Breakwater. Thought the food was really good, but the signage on what everything was is poorly done. Also, we were shown to our table, and offered coffee and that was it. Nobody told us to feel free to help ourselves, or said anything to us. Other than that, it was a nice setting to enjoy brunch with family, and there was a lot of choice for this upscale brunch.

Tags: great for brunch
food4
ambience5
service4

Fabulous!

Dined on November 1, 2015

A great location and great brunch. HIghly recommend for a group of family get-together. Beautiful setting.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience3
service2

Great Food, Slow Service

Dined on October 18, 2015

The Brunch at Break Water was to die for! They had pastries, fresh omelets made how you like, salads, beans, cheese, bacon, toast, danish, coffee, tea.. so good! The only downfall was the service. We had to continuously as for coffee/ tea refills and the bill came when we asked for it twice. It wasn't even that busy when we showed up! I also put in the Open Table notes that we were there for a baby shower and if they were able to accommodate and do something special to call me and let me know.. this never happened. The food was great but the service could be much better considering you are sitting in an up scale atmosphere.

Tags: great for brunch
food4
ambience4
service3

Crack a smile at the Break water Inn

Dined on October 10, 2015

Our brunch dishes were delicious! Unfortunately our server made us painfully aware that he had seen better days. He provided us with everything we needed but that was it and nothing more. No smiles, no conversation, nada!!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Very Satisfied

Dined on October 4, 2015

Always enjoy the Breakwater...excellent food, one of the best Brunches anywhere. We have been here for lunch and a fine dinner too. Our family enjoy this restaurant. Highly recommend for any occasion. Intimate, boutique hotel.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Sunday brunch

Dined on September 20, 2015

Lovely restaurant across from Snug Cove. Staff was professional and friendly. Food was delicious.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience2
service2

Disappointed

vip
Dined on September 20, 2015

Room mostly empty on a Saturday night. Our server should have been working behind a lunch counter rather than at a supposed fine dining restaurant. Caesar salads were good. Had Chateaubriand which was underdone and accompanied by disappointing veg and mashed potatoes, all different from the menu description. We won't be returning, too bad as we have enjoyed this place on one earlier occasion.

Tags: notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Fantastic Food, Fantastic Service

Dined on August 23, 2015

My wife & I got married at the Waterside Inn, which the Breakwater is a part of. We just stopped in last night for Dinner to celebrate our 1 Year Wedding Anniversary. The food menu is not large, but what you get is fantastic. My wife actually ended up ordering the Burger which she loved. I had the tenderloin medium rare which was not only cooked to perfection but probably one of the best I have had in recent memory. The service was great, extremely fast and friendly. Had a great evening. Give this place a chance, you wont regret it.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food2
ambience4
service4

Good atmosphere but average food

Dined on August 23, 2015

The atmosphere of the restaurant was good. There was a small crowd so it was fairly quiet. Even though we'd arrived late for our reservation, seating was easy. Of course, all of this could have been due to the festival/event happening in the area drawing the crowd. While the service was great, the food was a bit disappointing. The veal saltimbocca was tougher and saltier than one would expect, and the shrimp and asparagus citron risotto was a bit thick and heavy. The tiramisu was a large serving, excellent for sharing, but lacked that light and fluffy quality a tiramisu should have, and was more of a chocolate/coffee cake.

Tags: romantic
food4
ambience4
service4

Very Satisfied

Dined on August 15, 2015

Lovely setting and good food. We always enjoy our visits, especially with family. But we have delightful intimate dinners too.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, great for lunch
food4
ambience2
service4

A first visit

Dined on August 14, 2015

Setting was nice with great service and a tasty menu, however a large room empty does not create an atmosphere, plus furnishings are dated. Our server went out of his way in helping us choose a wine, allowing tastings!

food2
ambience2
service2

Have to say, the wait staff here have to ...

vip
Dined on August 8, 2015

Have to say, the wait staff here have to learn how to read diners and know when to intrude and when to wait. My two good friends and I were attempting to enjoy a 'catch up' session brunch/lunch but had to turn away our waiter (and later waitress) at least gives times. The food was average and the wait staff inattentive. I think I waited 30 mins to see if someone/anyone would fill my water glass. The restaurant was not full and there was really no excuse for this issue. I find it really hard to recommend this restaurant.

food5
ambience4
service5

Excellent service, always.

Dined on August 3, 2015

The servers are always so attentive! My water is never empty and I have never felt ignored. The plating looks lovely and tastes delicious.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service1

The Sunday brunch was excellent - a good ...

Dined on July 12, 2015

The Sunday brunch was excellent - a good selection and delicious! The service was poor.

food5
ambience4
service3

Enjoyable Evening

Dined on July 4, 2015

We were a small group of five out to enjoy a nice dinner and good conversation. The restaurant was perfect for our purposes as it was not noisy and we could easily chat around the large table. The food was great. The only complaint was that the service was not as attentive as we would have liked. Long gaps between visits from the wait staff had us waiting for drinks and coffee.

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5

We have been here before and enjoyed the ...

Dined on June 18, 2015

We have been here before and enjoyed the dining experience very much. This time we found the menu very limited.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Food, Great Service, Great Wine

Dined on June 13, 2015

We have been going to the Breakwater for the last 3 years and have yet to see the same menu. The food is excellent the people are very friendly and great to talk with and the wine list is always interesting

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service3

great food for a quiet birthday lunch

Dined on June 1, 2015

I took a close friend to lunch for her birthday. It was relatively quiet. I was surprised with the food, it was good and very well cooked and done. The entree and starter options were great. I have eaten at the Ritz Carlton Hotel - Copa and several other high end restaurant downtown. I would definitely go there again. Only thing is their "gourmet ice cream" wasn't that great.

Tags: great for lunch

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.