Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.58mi
  3. Distance: 3.10mi
  4. Distance: 3.16mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.58mi
  3. Distance: 3.10mi
  4. Distance: 3.16mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.58mi
  3. Distance: 3.10mi
  4. Distance: 3.16mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.58mi
  3. Distance: 3.10mi
  4. Distance: 3.16mi

About Breakwater Restaurant - Waterside Inn

Breakwater Restaurant is truly a hidden gem. Nestled between the shores of Lake Ontario and the banks of the Credit River it is Mississauga's only Four Diamond awarded restaurant. Just a short drive or GO-Train ride from downtown Toronto, Breakwater Restaurant offers superb cuisine and is complemented by a Wine Spectator recognized wine list.

Our newly launched menu has some exciting and delicious offerings, carefully crafted by our award winning chef Carl McNeil! Fresh, delicious and locally sourced ingredients blended together to satisfy any palette.


CAA/AAA Four Diamond Award | Wine Spectator Award Of Excellence | VQA Award Of Excellence | Where To Eat Canada

15 Stavebank Road South
Mississauga, ON L5G 2T2
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary French / American, International, European

Hours of Operation:

Breakfast: Monday - Friday: 7:00am - 11:00am, Saturday & Sunday: 8:00am - 10:00am

Brunch: Sunday: 10:30am - 2:30pm

Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 3:00pm

Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Lakeshore and Stavebank

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(905) 891-6225

Website:
http://www.watersideinn.ca/breakwater/

Parking Details:
Free Parking is available at the side of the hotel on the south side of the property and Free municipal parking is also available on both Stavebank Road and Port Street. Additional paid parking is available across the street at the Port Credit Marina. Accessible Parking is available beside the Banquet entrance at the North side of the hotel.

Public Transit:
Conveniently located just a short walk from the Port Credit GO Station (5 minutes) as well as Mississauga Transit

Executive Chef:
Carl McNeil

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

SEAFOOD SHINDIG

Friday Sep 29, 2017 from 5:30 AM - 9:00 PM

Specials

SEAFOOD SHINDIG

Friday Sep 29, 2017 from 5:30 AM - 9:00 PM

Details

The Freshest Catch the coolest tunes - Join us as we discover bold ports - of - call flavours and enjoy the beautiful music of Chuck Jackson. SEPTEMBER 29TH 5PM ONWARDS TILL 9PM PRICE PER PERSON $42.95/PLUS TAXES. Excludes Tax and Tip. TABLE RESERVATIONS 5:30PM / 6:00PM / 6:30PM / 7:00PM / 7:30PM BUFFET CLOSES 9. Special valid on Friday Sep 29, 2017 from 5:30 AM - 9:00 PM.

Breakwater Restaurant - Waterside Inn Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.1

ambience

3.9

value

3.5

noise

Quiet

71% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (6)
Good for Groups (5)
Great for Brunch (4)
See All
Good for a Date (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Scenic View (4)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Business Meals (4)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Cozy (3)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Romantic (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Authentic (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Live Music (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Seasonal (2)
Waterfront (2)
Casual (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Sort By:
S
158 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 2 days ago

We made the reservation months ago. I was really looking forward to the award winning brunch. We arrived early and did not mind waiting but the waitress said she would see what she could do. She informed the manager who was the rudest person we have ever come across. Complaining we early and plenty more. This wasn't a good start. We did get seated in a bar area. The food was just OK. The waitress we spoke with first was embarrassed. Both her and another waitress were friendly but we won't be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value1

 
·Dined on August 31, 2017

Took my parents who were visiting from out of town. Mother said it felt like she was on a cruise ship the food was phenomenal, service was great

Tags: Romantic, Waterfront, Authentic, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

Great restaurant with excellent food and excellent service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 23, 2017

The food was average. Service was extremely slow with a manager and a server. The manager had to take on the bartender role as well. Food was not bad but considering the restaurant to be fine dining, I expected better especially with the price paid.

I most likely won't go back as there are so many other choices in the area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1
value2

 
·Dined on August 18, 2017

Server was excellent in knowing who I am as and why we were there. Food was good too. Only thing was I was hoping to see the yacht club but not able too and too bad there was construction getting on to the street.

Tags: Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 17, 2017

This was a first visit to Breakwater Restaurant where we enjoyed a delicious lunch in beautiful surroundings. The service was excellent and our waitress was really helpful in answering questions about the many appealing choices on the menu. Conversation was easy in the comfortable atmosphere. Will definitely recommend this restaurant to everyone.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Healthy, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 7, 2017

although we were dining at 2:30 pm, we still deserved attention at a reasonable rate. We felt forgotten most of the time.
We are quite upset that our gift card for our 50th wedding anniversary from a friend had mysteriously been used for half its value ( $50). ??????
We had this gift card in a drawer in our house and we have never been to this restaurant.
We were not given the benefit of the doubt but made to pay the extra.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Thoroughly enjoyed our lunch. Attentive, unobtrusive service, interesting menu items, and the added benefit of the boats bobbing in the Port Credit harbour. It wasn't busy, so I can't judge the noise level when more tables are occupied, close by.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on July 28, 2017

Went here for my birthday with family and friends for breakfast, great overall experience. The service was amazing!

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Late-night Find, Quiet Conversation, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Afternoon Coffee, Good for a Date, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Although the rest of the group I was with enjoyed their meal very much I found my own meal to be satisfactory. I had the 10 oz steak, which had a fair bit of gristle with a side of potatoes and green beans. The potatoes and beans were fine, however the portions were very small (I prefer to eat healthy and as such look for reasonable portions of potatoes and vegetables). I also did not find the bread very fresh (perhaps it was over heated??). I did find the service to be very good.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 8, 2017

We arrived a few minutes late for our appointment. The staff was super supportive and friendly. When we ordered our food, two of our dishes were not available which was unfortunate and disappointing. The manager came to our table and made alternate suggestions. He was spot on and our meal turned out to be wonderful and definately one of the best we've had in Mississauga. We will come back again and again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 30, 2017

The Seafood Shindig was amazing. Breakwater did a great job with this concept. It's a shame it's only on once a month until September. The live blues was a bonus.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 22, 2017

A nice afternoon. Food was good. Staff was very helpful. We were not rushed. Will come again.

Tags: Seasonal, Good for Groups, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Went for a pre-father's day dinner...we had the flatbread pizzas for starters and for entrees we ordered the lobster linguine (2), summer risotto, land and sea, and the chix pomodori...excellent! No complaints...the wait was a little bit longer than 30 mins but it was worth the wait. This is fine dining..not F/F. Service was superb!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Sunday brunch. Not crowded. But you had to stand on your chair and wave your arms to get someone's attention to refill your coffee or water glass. The food selection was limited and uninspired. The price was exorbitant for what you got. You can do better at McDonalds. When I called later to complain, I got a minimal apology and many excuses.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 22, 2017

We were a party of 8 for lunch and choose the Breakwater for the bright and quiet dinning room, so everyone in the group could be included in the conversations. Food was good and our server Kristina was a total professional and a joy to interact with. We took advantage of the Monday and Tuesday night corkage deal - which is a steal and they take their wine service seriously. Stand outs were the baked brie, spa salmon, lobster grilled cheese and chai cobbler and the only misses were that the beef tenderloin medallions on both orders were a little over cooked, which can happen with smaller sized cuts, and the crème brulee was a little out of step with the rest of the menu's level of quality. Overall, a wonderful experience for our special event.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Breakwater restaurant helped provide a perfect night for me. It is a very quiet and relaxing place with a very clean atmosphere. The service was excellent and the staff members made me feel welcomed. The food was excellent and can be quite filling. It was one of my first experiences in a fine dining restaurant and Breakwater provided a very positive experience.

Tags: Waterfront, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 29, 2017

The grilled calamari was a bit raw and tough to chew.
The 2 steaks were a bit well done.
Tha salmon was delicious.
The fish and chips as well as the chicken parmesan were well prepared.
The crime bruille was a bit runny.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 25, 2017

Had a wonderful time for anniversary dinner, great food and atmosphere

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 23, 2017

we had a reservation through Open Table. It was not full and they wanted to seat us at an obviously overflow table near the aisle with ugly convention chairs. after raising concern we were given a decent table with decent seating....come on now...supposed to be a wonderful dining experience

there was no cereal, pancakes, items for children other than waffles, no yogurt or muffins...failry cheap experience for expensive pricing. Staff looke disengaged, harassed adn not ovrly friendly......especailly the fellow serving wine.....
this is our fifthe time her for different events and will be our last....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 23, 2017

This was our first time. Very nice ambiance, food was excellent, and the service was fantastic. A bit on the pricey side, but you get what you pay for. We want for a milestone birthday brunch and everyone was thoroughly impressed.

Tags: Good for Groups, Waterfront, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Amazing food with amazing service worth the price !!

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Awesome Easter brunch
Ask for table 61

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Great brunch. Outstanding quality! Will be back for brunch.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Naples)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Love the Breakwater-Restaurant. We are regulars with 2 grandsons and the staff is especially kind to them.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 11, 2017

This is my wife and my second time here. We went when we first got engaged and it didn't disappoint then and it didn't disappoint now. The food is incredible and the service is amazing. The tableside cooking is awesome. We love it here!!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Waterfront, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 11, 2017

We've been driving past for years and finally decided to try it out. The service was friendly and quick, but that was the only good part.
The restaurant is old fashion and run down. It felt like we were eating in a seniors home. The menu looked good but all the food was disappointing. The signature dish, seafood risotto, was totally void of flavour. The burger was raw inside and was not edible.
For all this we paid $320. We will definitely never go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service3
value1

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 11, 2017

We were given a gift certificate for Christmas. The meal was delicious and we look forward to coming back another time!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Food, service and presentation were outstanding. It was nice to dine in a restaurant where you can carry on a conversation and not have to yell to be heard over loud music. I will definitely be back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 8, 2017

We went to the brunch on Sunday. Top drawer service and food. It was needed to have a reservation because although we were there early at 10:30 it was full by noon.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Great food and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on December 19, 2016

We had high expectations for this restaurant experience for our wedding anniversary but were disappointed with the value. I must say the food was tasty and well prepared but the wine we chose was not available and no reasonable priced ones were on the list.
I enjoy a nice wine but never needed to spend $60++++ to do so.
Nice to have choice but there should be choice on the lower end as well.
We had the chateau briand which came with a previously prepared potatoe gratin. It was ok.The salad was bare minimum with ice cold grape tomatoes. Veggies were few but nice.
Service was adequate but only 5 people in the restaurant .
I expected outstanding for the prices and got average instead.
The management is missing the boat here with this fabulous location.
It should be packed with people, even on a Monday night. Time for a major rethinking!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Honestly the space is great and quiet for a larger group . With so many restaurants to choose from foodwise this would not be my first choice but the food is good, it's just that the service is so bad ( slow, wrong bill totals, screwed up allergy dinners etc) that no one in our group had a great meal due to the annoyance of the lack of quality service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 1, 2016

Second visit to Breakwater. We were alone except for one large family birthday dinner on the other side of the dining room. Food, service and ambience were good. Definitely will return again.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 13, 2016

There was a mouse running around on the ground that made us very uncomfortable, but we had already finished our meal and had taken care of the bill. I don't think we will be returning.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value1

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 10, 2016

The lamb chop should were absolutely fantastic. Appetizers excellent, service perfect, good craft beer from the Old Credit brewing company. Excellent cappachino, and not over priced for the quality and presentations n of e meal.
Glad we found this restaurant, we will be back again for sure!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Great Food & Service...Nice Sunday Brunch good selection.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Creative Cuisine, Afternoon Coffee, Healthy, Fun, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Organic, Waterfront, Cozy, Vegan, Scenic View, Bar Seating, Outstanding Value, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 18, 2016

Amazing restaurant, easily one of the best in Toronto from a quality and experience perspective.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 14, 2016

We have dined at Breakwater many times but we were disappointed this time. The waiter did not seem to understand that I was able to make decisions as well as my husband. Everything was addressed to "sir" and I was basically ignored. Even when it came time to pay the bill he was ready to hand it to my husband even though I had my wallet in my hand. We both had the corn chowder which was lovely. My husband had scallops and a Caesar Salad with shrimp which he was very pleased with. I had the chicken Parmesan. The pasta was undercooked even for a person who enjoys pasta al dente and the tomato sauce was tasteless and uninteresting. With tip, the bill was over $140 and I do not feel we got good value for the price I paid.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Lost a little of it's prestige. The menu was not what were used to. Service was ok but not as personal as we experienced in the past. There must have been a change in personel.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.