HelpiOS AppAndroid AppWindows Phone AppWindows 8 App

Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM

Bread and Ink Café

4.4
132 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Contemporary American
Top Tags:
  • Casual (7)
  • Neighborhood Gem (6)
  • Great for Brunch (5)
Welcome to Bread and Ink Café, a Portland place to dine. Situated in the heart of the Hawthorne district, we have been serving breakfast, lunch and dinner to locals and tourists alike for over 30 years. Our menus are creative and eclectic, focusing on seasonal offerings from the rich products of the Willamette Valley. Bite into our unique and popular Chicken and Liege Waffles, with lemon Parmesan cream and maple syrup, or savor handmade biscuits with our sausage gravy and eggs. Or come for dinner and select from salads with fresh dressings, steaks, risotto, wild-caught salmon and juicy burgers fashioned in-house and served on our buns with homemade mayonnaise, mustard and the ketchup we have been making all these years. Enjoy watching the world go by from our bright, airy dining room while sipping on one of our contemporary top-shelf cocktails. Save room for dessert, the owners" specialty, or for Max's salted caramel ice cream. Dine well and leave happy!
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Contemporary American, Mediterranean
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation

Breakfast: Monday - Saturday: 8:00am - 3:00pm.
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am -3:30pm, Saturday: 12:30pm - 3:30pm.
Sunday Brunch: 8:00am - 3:00pm.
Dinner: Sun-Thurs: 3:30pm-8:30pm. Friday - Saturday 3:30pm -9:30pm.
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(503) 239-4756
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Bruce Fishback
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
SE 36th Avenue
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Small lot behind restaurant, but mostly street parking.
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
#14 SE Hawthorne from Downtown
#75 on Cesar Chavez 3 blocks up
Additional
Beer, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 132 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.4  based on recent ratings
4.4
food
4.5
service
4.0
ambience
4.1
value
Noise · Moderate
87% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
OpenTable Diner (Los Angeles)
5.0  Dined on February 11, 2018

The entire staff was attentive, hospitable and friendly. Food was fun and delicious.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Portland)
5.0  Dined on January 28, 2018

This was my first time at the restaurant and I went with a friend for breakfast. We both had the dungeness crab omelette and I had a biscuit and a mimosa. The food looked incredibly fresh, the helpings were generous and everything was delicious. We will definitely be back.

Report
Helpful
vipKurtB (Portland)
4.0  Dined on January 23, 2018

Very good diner. Food is very good. Waitstaff seemed a bit put off but it was dreary outside.
Excellent lox

Report
Helpful
Campenne (Portland)
3.0  Dined on January 2, 2018

Omlettes dry. Hash browns overdone. Apple Belgian waffles so sugared could not eat the apples. Very disappointed.

Report
Helpful
jenniferf (Portland)
4.0  Dined on December 17, 2017

I have been to bread and ink several times over the last few years and it is always a place I want to return to.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Portland)
3.0  Dined on December 7, 2017

The service was excellent but the food was mediocre at best.

Probably wouldn’t go back but if your looking for very typical Portland food and atmosphere bread and ink is it.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Portland)
5.0  Dined on November 25, 2017

Great Bloody Mary's and the Bagel and Lox plate had a great presentation. I would dine here again.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Portland)
5.0  Dined on November 7, 2017

Delicious! Hadn’t been here in years and it’s better than ever !

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Seattle)
5.0  Dined on November 6, 2017

Seafood stew was fantastic! The wait person was extremely knowledgeable about all the ingredients in the food. My friend is on a medically-prescibed diet and the wait person made the ordering for her so easy for her. It was a delightful meal.

Report
Helpful
Mellowville (San Francisco)
3.0  Dined on October 22, 2017

Breakfast was fun and lively. Overall the food is pretty good but the place is well worn - it felt grungy in a not-so-soulful diner kind of way. Also, it felt the breakfast was not as cared for as in the past. The french toast was hard on the bottom as if it was sitting around for a while. The bacon was way overcooked and dried out and had to be sent back - the waiter thanked me for drawing attention to the bad bacon, which is weird because the waiter or the kitchen should be attentive to that. Net, I will be trying many other brunch places before I return there.

Report
Helpful
vipOpenTable Diner (Portland)
2.0  Dined on October 21, 2017

Food was quite plain/bland

Report
Helpful
GregG (Des Moines)
4.0  Dined on October 20, 2017

We had not been to Bread and Ink for several years as we no longer live in the area. It was nice to see that it is still a great restaurant with good service and food. We will be back.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Portland)
5.0  Dined on August 26, 2017

Tasty food - fig salad, sea food stew, burgers and salad, Friendly helpful server. Hummus plate could have used a tad more hummus. Lovely evening - felt proud to share my town with out of town family.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Portland)
4.0  Dined on August 19, 2017

As good now as 28 yes ago when a starving artist and could hardly afford.

Report
Helpful
vipLoreeD (Portland)
5.0  Dined on August 13, 2017

Reliably fabulous!

Report
Helpful
JudithD (Portland)
3.0  Dined on July 28, 2017

Tasty food at great prices. Great place to eat & visit with friends.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Portland)
5.0  Dined on July 17, 2017

Dinner was fantastic, being able to enjoy a wonderful meal while watching the world go by outside was very relaxing.

Report
Helpful
vipDubbya (Portland)
5.0  Dined on July 17, 2017

We returned just a week after trying this restaurant for the first time, again for an early dinner. Once again the food was excellent (fantastic sauce on the salmon and the cardamom in the rice was a stroke of brilliance) and the place wasn't crowded. While the ambiance is that of a neighborhood cafe, there is excellent entertainment to be had watching the people passing by on the street - very Portlandia! This time, a movie was being filmed on the sidewalk right outside the window.

Report
Helpful
vipDubbya (Portland)
5.0  Dined on July 10, 2017

We had an early dinner here so the place was not crowded, the noise level was low, and service was excellent. Both our dishes were outstanding: steak diavolo and burridda, a Ligurian seafood stew comprising white fish, shrimp, clams, mussels and enormous scallops in a tomato and fennel broth. The portions were generous and reasonably priced. We definitely want to return.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Portland)
4.0  Dined on July 6, 2017

We were seated promptly, the staff was friendly (and patient), the food was very good. The price was in line with other establishments in the area.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
7