Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 8 times today

Bread and Ink Café

4.3
139 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Contemporary American
Perfect For:
  • Great for Brunch
  • Casual
  • Neighborhood Gem
Welcome to Bread and Ink Café, a Portland place to dine. Situated in the heart of the Hawthorne district, we have been serving breakfast, lunch and dinner to locals and tourists alike for over 30 years. Our menus are creative and eclectic, focusing on seasonal offerings from the rich products of the Willamette Valley. Bite into our unique and popular Chicken and Liege Waffles, with lemon Parmesan cream and maple syrup, or savor handmade biscuits with our sausage gravy and eggs. Or come for dinner and select from salads with fresh dressings, steaks, risotto, wild-caught salmon and juicy burgers fashioned in-house and served on our buns with homemade mayonnaise, mustard and the ketchup we have been making all these years. Enjoy watching the world go by from our bright, airy dining room while sipping on one of our contemporary top-shelf cocktails. Save room for dessert, the owners" specialty, or for Max's salted caramel ice cream. Dine well and leave happy!
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Contemporary American, Mediterranean
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation

Breakfast: Monday - Saturday: 8:00am - 3:00pm.
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am -3:30pm, Saturday: 12:30pm - 3:30pm.
Sunday Brunch: 8:00am - 3:00pm.
Dinner: Sun-Thurs: 3:30pm-8:30pm. Friday - Saturday 3:30pm -9:30pm.
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(503) 239-4756
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Bruce Fishback
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
SE 36th Avenue
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Small lot behind restaurant, but mostly street parking.
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
#14 SE Hawthorne from Downtown
#75 on Cesar Chavez 3 blocks up
Additional
Beer, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 139 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.3based on recent ratings
4.4
food
4.3
service
4.0
ambience
4.1
value
Noise · Quiet
83% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined on April 11, 2018

Went for breakfast. Delicious food. Try their whole-wheat toast. Fantastic! Great service. Very relaxed and enjoyable. I always try to get here for breakfast when I’m in Portland.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 8, 2018

Tasty food, friendly service.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 25, 2018

Bread and Ink never fails to impress when it comes to food! Their chicken and waffles are THE BEST I have ever had (even better than some that I've had in the south, which is saying something!). Make a reservation for weekend brunch -- it's usually packed.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 8, 2018

We had a hot shrimp sandwich and loved it. For dessert we had one of their waffles with Nutella and bananas. Life is good!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 8, 2018

Our server was very helpful with us bringing a stroller with a baby and found the perfect table and brought crayons for the toddler, great laid back, and attentive service, I ate my favorite chicken and waffles. It's a gem

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 2, 2018

Had date night here. Was quiet and server was friendly/helpful. Great food! Would totally go back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 11, 2018

The entire staff was attentive, hospitable and friendly. Food was fun and delicious.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 28, 2018

This was my first time at the restaurant and I went with a friend for breakfast. We both had the dungeness crab omelette and I had a biscuit and a mimosa. The food looked incredibly fresh, the helpings were generous and everything was delicious. We will definitely be back.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 23, 2018

Very good diner. Food is very good. Waitstaff seemed a bit put off but it was dreary outside.
Excellent lox

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on January 2, 2018

Omlettes dry. Hash browns overdone. Apple Belgian waffles so sugared could not eat the apples. Very disappointed.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 17, 2017

I have been to bread and ink several times over the last few years and it is always a place I want to return to.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on December 7, 2017

The service was excellent but the food was mediocre at best.

Probably wouldn’t go back but if your looking for very typical Portland food and atmosphere bread and ink is it.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 25, 2017

Great Bloody Mary's and the Bagel and Lox plate had a great presentation. I would dine here again.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 7, 2017

Delicious! Hadn’t been here in years and it’s better than ever !

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 6, 2017

Seafood stew was fantastic! The wait person was extremely knowledgeable about all the ingredients in the food. My friend is on a medically-prescibed diet and the wait person made the ordering for her so easy for her. It was a delightful meal.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on October 22, 2017

Breakfast was fun and lively. Overall the food is pretty good but the place is well worn - it felt grungy in a not-so-soulful diner kind of way. Also, it felt the breakfast was not as cared for as in the past. The french toast was hard on the bottom as if it was sitting around for a while. The bacon was way overcooked and dried out and had to be sent back - the waiter thanked me for drawing attention to the bad bacon, which is weird because the waiter or the kitchen should be attentive to that. Net, I will be trying many other brunch places before I return there.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on October 21, 2017

Food was quite plain/bland

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on October 20, 2017

We had not been to Bread and Ink for several years as we no longer live in the area. It was nice to see that it is still a great restaurant with good service and food. We will be back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 26, 2017

Tasty food - fig salad, sea food stew, burgers and salad, Friendly helpful server. Hummus plate could have used a tad more hummus. Lovely evening - felt proud to share my town with out of town family.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on August 19, 2017

As good now as 28 yes ago when a starving artist and could hardly afford.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 13, 2017

Reliably fabulous!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on July 28, 2017

Tasty food at great prices. Great place to eat & visit with friends.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 17, 2017

Dinner was fantastic, being able to enjoy a wonderful meal while watching the world go by outside was very relaxing.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 17, 2017

We returned just a week after trying this restaurant for the first time, again for an early dinner. Once again the food was excellent (fantastic sauce on the salmon and the cardamom in the rice was a stroke of brilliance) and the place wasn't crowded. While the ambiance is that of a neighborhood cafe, there is excellent entertainment to be had watching the people passing by on the street - very Portlandia! This time, a movie was being filmed on the sidewalk right outside the window.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 10, 2017

We had an early dinner here so the place was not crowded, the noise level was low, and service was excellent. Both our dishes were outstanding: steak diavolo and burridda, a Ligurian seafood stew comprising white fish, shrimp, clams, mussels and enormous scallops in a tomato and fennel broth. The portions were generous and reasonably priced. We definitely want to return.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on July 6, 2017

We were seated promptly, the staff was friendly (and patient), the food was very good. The price was in line with other establishments in the area.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on July 2, 2017

I used to love their black bean cakes for Sunday brunch… this time it was not quite as good as I recall in the past...

But I saw some chicken and waffles go by they looked TERRIFIC!

I think they've become the place for waffles

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 2, 2017

Food always delicious, and customer service always good-even when busy!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 16, 2017

Simple, tasty, kind service, casually refined. Great people watching.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 10, 2017

We usually go with friends for Sunday brunch. But this time my son and I wanted to go on Saturday. We are never disappointed! My 21 y/o niece is still raving about it when we she visited us back in November 2016! We had the liege waffles with fruit and whipped cream and the ABC Scramble with an onion bialy...awesome...Chicken and Waffles are excellent as well!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 10, 2017

Really wonderful service, didn't feel rushed, and food was delicious!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 3, 2017

Was able to accommodate a large party at last minute and the food was fantastic.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 27, 2017

We have gone to Bread and Ink dozens of times over the years and have never been disappointed. We look forward to many more visits and heartily recommend B an I.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 14, 2017

Had a wonderful Mother's Day with the family. Great service and food. Just a great place to go for drinks and dinner.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 14, 2017

Fantastic restaurant. Great waffles, and lots of other items to choose from. Excellent for breakfast, lunch, or dinner.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2017

We were there for Mother's Day dinner...Great food and atmosphere...

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 29, 2017

I ordered the chicken and waffles. It was the best fried chicken I've ever eaten. The waffles were very good, too. A fun, unpretentious, relaxing place for good food.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 22, 2017

What a lovely find in Hawthorne. Food was great. Finding parking was a challenge. The burgers were very tasty as were the short ribs and mac and cheese. The chocolate cake was nothing to write home about.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 31, 2017

Lovely evening, delicious food with generous portions, thoughtful and excellent service! A special celebration my son's 21st Birthday !

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 4, 2017

Amazing side options, like polenta and scones! Wait staff was very attentive for our group of 6. Looking forward to coming back again.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
4