Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.41mi
  2. Distance: 0.54mi
  3. Distance: 0.58mi
  4. Distance: 0.97mi
  1. Distance: 0.41mi
  2. Distance: 0.54mi
  3. Distance: 0.58mi
  4. Distance: 0.97mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.41mi
  2. Distance: 0.54mi
  3. Distance: 0.58mi
  4. Distance: 0.97mi
  1. Distance: 0.41mi
  2. Distance: 0.54mi
  3. Distance: 0.58mi
  4. Distance: 0.97mi

About Bread and Ink Café

Welcome to Bread and Ink Café, a Portland place to dine. Situated in the heart of the Hawthorne district, we have been serving breakfast, lunch and dinner to locals and tourists alike for over 30 years. Our menus are creative and eclectic, focusing on seasonal offerings from the rich products of the Willamette Valley. Bite into our unique and popular Chicken and Liege Waffles, with lemon Parmesan cream and maple syrup, or savor handmade biscuits with our sausage gravy and eggs. Or come for dinner and select from salads with fresh dressings, steaks, risotto, wild-caught salmon and juicy burgers fashioned in-house and served on our buns with homemade mayonnaise, mustard and the ketchup we have been making all these years. Enjoy watching the world go by from our bright, airy dining room while sipping on one of our contemporary top-shelf cocktails. Save room for dessert, the owners" specialty, or for Max's salted caramel ice cream. Dine well and leave happy!

3610 SE Hawthorne Blvd
Portland, OR 97214
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:

Breakfast: Monday - Saturday: 8:00am - 3:00pm.
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am -3:30pm, Saturday: 12:30pm - 3:30pm.
Sunday Brunch: 8:00am - 3:00pm.
Dinner: Sun-Thurs: 3:30pm-8:30pm. Friday - Saturday 3:30pm -9:30pm.

Cross Street:
SE 36th Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 239-4756

Website:
http://www.breadandinkcafe.com/

Parking Details:
Small lot behind restaurant, but mostly street parking.

Public Transit:
#14 SE Hawthorne from Downtown
#75 on Cesar Chavez 3 blocks up

Executive Chef:
Bruce Fishback

Additional:
Beer, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Bread and Ink Café Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (10)
Local Ingredients (8)
Cozy (7)
See All
Comfort Food (6)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Casual (6)
Great for Brunch (5)
Good for a Date (5)
People Watching (5)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Special Occasion (3)
Fun (3)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Romantic (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Great Beer (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Business Meals (2)
Modern Decor (1)
Healthy (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Family Style (1)
Authentic (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Seasonal (1)
Sort By:
S
110 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Simple, tasty, kind service, casually refined. Great people watching.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, People Watching, Business Meals, Casual, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 10, 2017

We usually go with friends for Sunday brunch. But this time my son and I wanted to go on Saturday. We are never disappointed! My 21 y/o niece is still raving about it when we she visited us back in November 2016! We had the liege waffles with fruit and whipped cream and the ABC Scramble with an onion bialy...awesome...Chicken and Waffles are excellent as well!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Really wonderful service, didn't feel rushed, and food was delicious!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Was able to accommodate a large party at last minute and the food was fantastic.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 28, 2017

We have gone to Bread and Ink dozens of times over the years and have never been disappointed. We look forward to many more visits and heartily recommend B an I.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Late-night Find, People Watching, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Had a wonderful Mother's Day with the family. Great service and food. Just a great place to go for drinks and dinner.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Fantastic restaurant. Great waffles, and lots of other items to choose from. Excellent for breakfast, lunch, or dinner.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Comfort Food, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We were there for Mother's Day dinner...Great food and atmosphere...

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Open Kitchen, Casual, Family Style, Good for Groups, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Comfort Food, Fun, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 30, 2017

I ordered the chicken and waffles. It was the best fried chicken I've ever eaten. The waffles were very good, too. A fun, unpretentious, relaxing place for good food.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Comfort Food, Fun, People Watching, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on April 23, 2017

What a lovely find in Hawthorne. Food was great. Finding parking was a challenge. The burgers were very tasty as were the short ribs and mac and cheese. The chocolate cake was nothing to write home about.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Sunday Lunch, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Lovely evening, delicious food with generous portions, thoughtful and excellent service! A special celebration my son's 21st Birthday !

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Authentic, Cozy, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Amazing side options, like polenta and scones! Wait staff was very attentive for our group of 6. Looking forward to coming back again.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The food and service were excellent. It was our first time eating there for dinner, we usually go for breakfast.
I will be recommending this place to friends.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 5, 2017

When I lived in the neighborhood many moons ago, I used to treat myself to brunch at the Bread and Ink with my Sunday NYT. Now, I have enjoyed introducing this Eastside gem to friends from the Westside of town. The ambience remains casual any time of day and the food maintains its consistent high quality. I recommend this location to anyone who enjoys good food without any attitude.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Great for Brunch, Comfort Food, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Meal was excellent. Had waffle, standard breakfast egg & bacon, and Spinach omelet. Must have the cinnamon roll on the weekends or holidays

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 31, 2016

One of my favorite restaurants. Food always good and servers are very attentive. Wish they'd bring back the salmon sandwich.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Healthy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Food was pretty good; however, our initial interaction with the restaurant was poor. I let out my spouse and children while I parked the car. My wife was not certain where the entrance was because of the curtain in the front of the door and the sign saying they were going close at 3pm that day. A male server came out and my wife asked if this was the front entrance to which he responds, "To what?" My wife responded she was looking for Bread & Ink to which he rolled his eyes and pointed to the door; however, he said we were going to have to wait. My wife indicated we had a reservation and he said in a rude manner that she would have to wait anyway.

When I arrived, my wife was visibly upset and I almost left then but decided to give the restaurant a chance. Our server was very nice and the food was good; yet, we were charged $16 in kids drinks that never arrived. When I pointed that out on the bill she blamed it on the bartender never receiving the order because the drink printer was down rather than accepting the fault as the server. Additionally, we were provided 4 sets of silverware for our 6 people - we divided up 4 forks amongst us and shared our utensils.

Overall, the general lack of caring from the staff took away from the otherwise very good breakfast. The chef is very good; still, I do not believe the food could overcome the poor atmosphere that the front of the house staff exhibited.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Nice place, uneven food quality. Sunday brunch, skillet and eggs Benedict were good. Pearl Sugar Waffles were cold and pancakes were not completely done - still "wet" in the middle. A bit disappointing.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 4, 2016

If your name is Bread and Ink, you might want to be sure that that Bread you give customers upon seating them is good. It's really not. Think sliced-generic-white-bread-from-Albertsons level of bread. And while the chicken and waffles were good, everything else our party of seven ordered was just meh. Not worth the visit at all. Service was adequate, but nothing out of what basic service one would expect in a diner. I don't recommend unless you're coming strictly for the chicken and waffles. And even then, I mean this is Portland, you have so many other options.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 26, 2016

I have been dining here for 2 decades. The food is really good. The atmosphere is fun. The restaurant feels like the Portland I know, and I appreciate that now more than ever. However, be aware that the service is just okay, and thus the prices are a bit higher than perhaps they should be.
My tip: Ask for the homemade ketchup! It annoys me that you now have to ask for what was once part of the meal service, but I made a point to ask anyway. It's so good on scrambled eggs. Also, skip the biscuits and gravy. The gravy is delicious for sure, but the kitchen didn't even bother to split the biscuit before covering it in gravy and baking it. I might be nitpicking, but $12 b&g should at least look like more than it did on Saturday. Order a two-egg breakfast with a biscuit and a side of gravy instead.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Good for Groups, Casual, Comfort Food, People Watching, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Great food and great service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Excellent service and solid food. It was a wonderful venue for catching up with friends.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 24, 2016

I had been to Bread and Ink for lunch before, but it was our first time for dinner. My wife and I enjoyed a quiet dinner. Our waiter was quite good as well. We will definitely go back.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 24, 2016

We've had breakfast at B&I many times and continue to enjoy. We discovered they also server dinner and decided to give it a go. We were seated immediately, and the food and atmosphere were great. Highly recommend it, and will be back.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Casual, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on September 14, 2016

My girlfriend and I met for dinner on a Tues evening. I ordered the grilled pear salad, which was delicious, but could have used twice as much pear than what was served. My friend had a chicken caesar salad, which was good, also. I also ordered a side of the pine nut meatballs, which were delicious. It came with a couple of pieces of garlic bread, which was a nice touch.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 6, 2016

Excellent meal and one of the absolute best servers I've ever had. Terrific breakfast food and outstanding experience

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Quick Bite, Authentic, Comfort Food, Outstanding Value, Afternoon Coffee, Fun, Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on August 28, 2016

Consistently good, unpretentious but not boring food. At peak hours the noise level can be pretty high, but that's part of the vibe. Happy Hour at B&I is very good value. And it's a plus that they take reservations, which is a good thing especially for breakfast/brunch.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Kid-friendly, Family Style, Sunday Lunch, Happy Hour, Great for Brunch, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Disabled Access, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on August 28, 2016

Always reliable, always delicious. Thrilled that we had Baran as our waiter, who has been there for more than 30 years. Love this place!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Great Beer, Comfort Food, People Watching, Local Ingredients, Historic, Cozy, Gluten Free Options, Romantic, Disabled Access, Good Vegetarian Options, Business Meals, Great for Brunch, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Authentic, Outstanding Value, Modern Decor, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on August 7, 2016

We occasionally eat breakfast at the Bread and Ink. The food is delicious. The menu changes so there is always something different to try. Naturally, we are never disappointed with our choices. We only dine here infrequently because we live an hour an a half away. The reason for this visit was my birthday breakfast. I had a peach mimosa. It was wonderful. My husband had a Sunrise mimosa. It had grapefruit juice and cucumber juice. The mix of flavors was surprising, but delightful. Very refreshing!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on August 1, 2016

Bread and Ink is, of course, one of Portland's standards, always superior, food and drink alike, with outstanding service. Re the drinks: I drink Manhattans and judge a bar by its an ability to make an exceptional one. My drink was perfect, jus perfect.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on July 31, 2016

I'll start by saying I was looking for a nicer restaurant for a night out with friends in town and this is definitely a casual cafe which was my mistake. We had a mixed experience. We had a large group of 10, and the place was practically empty on a Saturday night - which was nice for us because service was prompt. Mixed drinks were very good, but not the wine. We bought one bottle of Domaine Drouhin Pinot, expecting to try a few different bottles, but it was terrible. It wasn't corked, but several of us had drank this wine before and this one was way off. My guess is it got hot or wasn't stored properly - regardless, we weren't going to risk the money to try more. Food: Appetizers were generally good. I had a Dungeness Crab Bruscetta that was awesome. For dinner, about 1/2 the group got Chicken and waffles and all raved. Someone got the salmon and loved it. The rest of us, between fried chicken, meatballs, or smoked brisket - were all pretty disappointed. I had an amazing potato salad, but the cornbread muffin was so hard it could have broken a window. The brisket was dry and had a lot of fat and gristle. All in all, I found it disappointing, but not altogether terrible. But not enough good things for me to try it again.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on July 28, 2016

Food is next level fantastic one of my favorite spots ever, requested a little note for my girl while i made a reservation and they did that for me, really amazing spot.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on July 10, 2016

The berry salads we ordered were excellent. My partner's BBQ beef brisket was very good. My buttermilk fried chicken was a bit dry and overcooked. The corn muffins were dry and over baked. The potato salad was too salty. Over all we rated our dinners as mediocre.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 29, 2016

It was fabulous to have a reservation for a Sunday morning breakfast. When we arrived the line was out the door. We went up and told the hostess we had a reservation and we were seated immediately! Come for the wide array of breakfast/brunch/lunch items but don't forget to ask for the Waffle Window menu, too. You've got to get at least one waffle for the table to share! Very energetic vibe to this restaurant. A little loud but full of locals. It's a great way to start the day. Very good coffee! Try the fresh lemonades. One of my favorite spots!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 8, 2016

Made reservations for Mothers Day, walked in and we got seated within a moment. Service was outstanding and so was the food. My wife was very happy and so it made the day even more special. No problems with parking and I would recommend them to anyone.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 13, 2016

It was great to return to a staple in the Hawthorne District. I lived in the area 20 years ago and when I wanted to treat myself to something special, I took myself to the Bread and Ink for a wonderful brunch. Now, sometime later, I was able to introduce one of my favorite brunch locations to a group of women who fell in love with the food and atmosphere as I did. Having Sunday brunch was a wonderful way to start our day. The service was prompt and the food came out quickly. We waddled out full and very satisfied.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 15, 2016

I'm only familiar with Bread and Ink as the restaurant which houses the Waffle Window's kitchen (as well as a couple of tables to the side), but was pleasantly surprised when we went there for dinner. They dressed the place up a bit -- low lights, decor in front of features more suited to brunch time -- and the service was excellent. The food was certainly good; not the best I've ever had at any price, but a solid value.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 14, 2016

I have been dining at the Bread and Ink Cafe for at least 20 years. It has the ambience that only comes with time, both everyday and special occasion appropriate. I think this is the ambience that newer restaurants in town try to design into their space rather than work for years to achieve. At night, the candlelit tables create a lovely warm feeling that's sure to make any meal special. But this Valentine's Day, we went for breakfast instead. Weekend mornings are noisier and brighter but still comfortable and welcoming. The breads baked here are really good, and their baguette is possibly the best in town. (I used to buy it at Zupan's when I couldn't get to the restaurant.) I always recommend the homemade sausage patty as the side to eggs and potatoes. The waffles are tasty, though the chicken could use spice. Love the biscuits and gravy, which are baked in the oven before serving. Non-egg eaters will rejoice at the many non-egg breakfast options. And one could make quite a feast from ordering any number of side dishes. Really, everything is quite good. Guilty confession: I put the homemade ketchup on just about everything, including the bread!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 31, 2016

We love Bread & Ink and have been faithful followers for many years. Their servers are always outgoing and friendly, and their food is very good. They also change up their menu from time to time which helps when you consistently eat there. I take my high school age daughters there and it is by far one of their top 3 locales to eat at in Portland. I know they do a huge brunch service too - we just have never tried it (always looks packed). We be dinner folk!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on January 23, 2016

I remember when it was delicious and creative. The food seems to be cooked by someone who most recently cooked for a frat house.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.