About Bread and Ink Café

3610 SE Hawthorne Blvd
Portland, OR 97214
View Larger Map

Welcome to Bread and Ink Café, a Portland place to dine. Situated in the heart of the Hawthorne district, we have been serving breakfast, lunch and dinner to locals and tourists alike for over 30 years. Our menus are creative and eclectic, focusing on seasonal offerings from the rich products of the Willamette Valley. Bite into our unique and popular Chicken and Liege Waffles, with lemon Parmesan cream and maple syrup, or savor handmade biscuits with our sausage gravy and eggs. Or come for dinner and select from salads with fresh dressings, steaks, risotto, wild-caught salmon and juicy burgers fashioned in-house and served on our buns with homemade mayonnaise, mustard and the ketchup we have been making all these years. Enjoy watching the world go by from our bright, airy dining room while sipping on one of our contemporary top-shelf cocktails. Save room for dessert, the owners" specialty, or for Max's salted caramel ice cream. Dine well and leave happy!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:

Breakfast: Monday - Saturday: 8:00am - 3:00pm.
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am -3:30pm, Saturday: 12:30pm - 3:30pm.
Sunday Brunch: 8:00am - 3:00pm.

Cross Street:
SE 36th Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 239-4756

Website:
http://breadandinkcafe.com/

Parking Details:
Small lot behind restaurant, but mostly street parking.

Public Transit:
#14 SE Hawthorne from Downtown #75 on Cesar Chavez 3 blocks up

Executive Chef:
Bruce Fishback

Additional:
Beer, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Delivery, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Bread and Ink Café Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.0

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Neighborhood Gem
Portland / Oregon
Neighborhood Gem
Portland
Best Restaurants in SE Portland ›

Neighborhood Gem (9)
Casual (6)
Great for Lunch (4)
See All
Local Ingredients (3)
Cozy (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Fun (3)
Good for Groups (3)
People Watching (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Business Meals (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Authentic (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Great Beer (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Good for a Date (1)
Special Occasion (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Seasonal (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Family Style (1)
Romantic (1)
Historic (1)
Healthy (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Spicy (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Sort By:
S
91 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I have been dining here for 2 decades. T ...

 
·Dined on November 26, 2016

I have been dining here for 2 decades. The food is really good. The atmosphere is fun. The restaurant feels like the Portland I know, and I appreciate that now more than ever. However, be aware that the service is just okay, and thus the prices are a bit higher than perhaps they should be.

My tip: Ask for the homemade ketchup! It annoys me that you now have to ask for what was once part of the meal service, but I made a point to ask anyway. It's so good on scrambled eggs. Also, skip the biscuits and gravy. The gravy is delicious for sure, but the kitchen didn't even bother to split the biscuit before covering it in gravy and baking it. I might be nitpicking, but $12 b&g should at least look like more than it did on Saturday. Order a two-egg breakfast with a biscuit and a side of gravy instead.

Tags: Good for Groups, Casual, Comfort Food, People Watching, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

Great food and great service

 
·Dined on November 20, 2016

Great food and great service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Excellent service and solid food. It was ...

 
·Dined on October 22, 2016

Excellent service and solid food. It was a wonderful venue for catching up with friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

I had been to Bread and Ink for lunch b ...

 
·Dined on September 24, 2016

I had been to Bread and Ink for lunch before, but it was our first time for dinner. My wife and I enjoyed a quiet dinner. Our waiter was quite good as well. We will definitely go back.

Tags: Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

We've had breakfast at B&I many times an ...

 
·Dined on September 24, 2016

We've had breakfast at B&I many times and continue to enjoy. We discovered they also server dinner and decided to give it a go. We were seated immediately, and the food and atmosphere were great. Highly recommend it, and will be back.

Tags: Casual, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My girlfriend and I met for dinner on a ...

 
·Dined on September 14, 2016

My girlfriend and I met for dinner on a Tues evening. I ordered the grilled pear salad, which was delicious, but could have used twice as much pear than what was served. My friend had a chicken caesar salad, which was good, also. I also ordered a side of the pine nut meatballs, which were delicious. It came with a couple of pieces of garlic bread, which was a nice touch.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Excellent meal and one of the absolute b ...

 
·Dined on September 6, 2016

Excellent meal and one of the absolute best servers I've ever had. Terrific breakfast food and outstanding experience

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Quick Bite, Authentic, Comfort Food, Outstanding Value, Afternoon Coffee, Fun, Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Always reliable, always delicious. Thril ...

 
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Always reliable, always delicious. Thrilled that we had Baran as our waiter, who has been there for more than 30 years. Love this place!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Great Beer, Comfort Food, People Watching, Local Ingredients, Historic, Cozy, Gluten Free Options, Romantic, Disabled Access, Good Vegetarian Options, Business Meals, Great for Brunch, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Authentic, Outstanding Value, Modern Decor, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Consistently good, unpretentious but not ...

 
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Consistently good, unpretentious but not boring food. At peak hours the noise level can be pretty high, but that's part of the vibe. Happy Hour at B&I is very good value. And it's a plus that they take reservations, which is a good thing especially for breakfast/brunch.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Family Style, Sunday Lunch, Happy Hour, Great for Brunch, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Disabled Access, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

We occasionally eat breakfast at the Bre ...

 
·Dined on August 7, 2016

We occasionally eat breakfast at the Bread and Ink. The food is delicious. The menu changes so there is always something different to try. Naturally, we are never disappointed with our choices. We only dine here infrequently because we live an hour an a half away. The reason for this visit was my birthday breakfast. I had a peach mimosa. It was wonderful. My husband had a Sunrise mimosa. It had grapefruit juice and cucumber juice. The mix of flavors was surprising, but delightful. Very refreshing!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Bread and Ink is, of course, one of Port ...

 
·Dined on August 1, 2016

Bread and Ink is, of course, one of Portland's standards, always superior, food and drink alike, with outstanding service. Re the drinks: I drink Manhattans and judge a bar by its an ability to make an exceptional one. My drink was perfect, jus perfect.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I'll start by saying I was looking for a ...

 
·Dined on July 31, 2016

I'll start by saying I was looking for a nicer restaurant for a night out with friends in town and this is definitely a casual cafe which was my mistake. We had a mixed experience. We had a large group of 10, and the place was practically empty on a Saturday night - which was nice for us because service was prompt. Mixed drinks were very good, but not the wine. We bought one bottle of Domaine Drouhin Pinot, expecting to try a few different bottles, but it was terrible. It wasn't corked, but several of us had drank this wine before and this one was way off. My guess is it got hot or wasn't stored properly - regardless, we weren't going to risk the money to try more. Food: Appetizers were generally good. I had a Dungeness Crab Bruscetta that was awesome. For dinner, about 1/2 the group got Chicken and waffles and all raved. Someone got the salmon and loved it. The rest of us, between fried chicken, meatballs, or smoked brisket - were all pretty disappointed. I had an amazing potato salad, but the cornbread muffin was so hard it could have broken a window. The brisket was dry and had a lot of fat and gristle. All in all, I found it disappointing, but not altogether terrible. But not enough good things for me to try it again.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

Food is next level fantastic one of my f ...

 
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Food is next level fantastic one of my favorite spots ever, requested a little note for my girl while i made a reservation and they did that for me, really amazing spot.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

The berry salads we ordered were excelle ...

 
·Dined on July 10, 2016

The berry salads we ordered were excellent. My partner's BBQ beef brisket was very good. My buttermilk fried chicken was a bit dry and overcooked. The corn muffins were dry and over baked. The potato salad was too salty. Over all we rated our dinners as mediocre.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value4

Love Breakfast here!!

 
·Dined on May 29, 2016

It was fabulous to have a reservation for a Sunday morning breakfast. When we arrived the line was out the door. We went up and told the hostess we had a reservation and we were seated immediately! Come for the wide array of breakfast/brunch/lunch items but don't forget to ask for the Waffle Window menu, too. You've got to get at least one waffle for the table to share! Very energetic vibe to this restaurant. A little loud but full of locals. It's a great way to start the day. Very good coffee! Try the fresh lemonades. One of my favorite spots!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Gtreat Mothers Day meal

 
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Made reservations for Mothers Day, walked in and we got seated within a moment. Service was outstanding and so was the food. My wife was very happy and so it made the day even more special. No problems with parking and I would recommend them to anyone.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Treat!

 
·Dined on March 13, 2016

It was great to return to a staple in the Hawthorne District. I lived in the area 20 years ago and when I wanted to treat myself to something special, I took myself to the Bread and Ink for a wonderful brunch. Now, sometime later, I was able to introduce one of my favorite brunch locations to a group of women who fell in love with the food and atmosphere as I did. Having Sunday brunch was a wonderful way to start our day. The service was prompt and the food came out quickly. We waddled out full and very satisfied.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Bread and Ink comes through for V Day dinner.

 
·Dined on February 15, 2016

I'm only familiar with Bread and Ink as the restaurant which houses the Waffle Window's kitchen (as well as a couple of tables to the side), but was pleasantly surprised when we went there for dinner. They dressed the place up a bit -- low lights, decor in front of features more suited to brunch time -- and the service was excellent. The food was certainly good; not the best I've ever had at any price, but a solid value.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

A great Portland restaurant

 
·Dined on February 14, 2016

I have been dining at the Bread and Ink Cafe for at least 20 years. It has the ambience that only comes with time, both everyday and special occasion appropriate. I think this is the ambience that newer restaurants in town try to design into their space rather than work for years to achieve. At night, the candlelit tables create a lovely warm feeling that's sure to make any meal special. But this Valentine's Day, we went for breakfast instead. Weekend mornings are noisier and brighter but still comfortable and welcoming. The breads baked here are really good, and their baguette is possibly the best in town. (I used to buy it at Zupan's when I couldn't get to the restaurant.) I always recommend the homemade sausage patty as the side to eggs and potatoes. The waffles are tasty, though the chicken could use spice. Love the biscuits and gravy, which are baked in the oven before serving. Non-egg eaters will rejoice at the many non-egg breakfast options. And one could make quite a feast from ordering any number of side dishes. Really, everything is quite good. Guilty confession: I put the homemade ketchup on just about everything, including the bread!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Consistent

 
·Dined on January 31, 2016

We love Bread & Ink and have been faithful followers for many years. Their servers are always outgoing and friendly, and their food is very good. They also change up their menu from time to time which helps when you consistently eat there. I take my high school age daughters there and it is by far one of their top 3 locales to eat at in Portland. I know they do a huge brunch service too - we just have never tried it (always looks packed). We be dinner folk!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

foid quality

 
·Dined on January 23, 2016

I remember when it was delicious and creative. The food seems to be cooked by someone who most recently cooked for a frat house.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

Excellent food and service!

 
·Dined on January 20, 2016

Six of us had dinner there. The service and the food was excellent. Everyone ordered something different and all were delicious.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great brunch experience

 
·Dined on January 3, 2016

Break and Ink was great - very accommodating of our 9 person reservation. Some folks were delayed due to weather, and the staff checked in with us regularly, but it was also clear that they didn't mind that we weren't ordering quickly. Food was very tasty, and there were pretty large portions.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Dissapointment

 
·Dined on January 1, 2016

Breakfast should have been delicious, but the black bean cakes and polenta were barely warmed through, cold on the edges. The cream for coffee was sour! The waiter had on a filthy apron. Toast arrived a long time after breakfast was served.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Nice

 
·Dined on November 29, 2015

Is a great place to eat. Had a reservation but had to wait quite awhile because the occupants of the planned table were extremely slow to leave. Overall a good experience.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great breakfast spot

 
·Dined on November 15, 2015

I really enjoyed their breakfast/brunch menu and will definitely be back soon. PS: try the eggs Benedict (WONDERFUL).

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding Service Very encouraging wit ...

 
·Dined on November 9, 2015

Outstanding Service

Very encouraging with suggestions

Attentive without being bothersome

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Bread and Ink -- A Perennial Favorite

 
·Dined on November 8, 2015

I love to bring my out of town friends here and seat them by the window so they can watch the Hawthorne subculture pass by. The food is good, and there is always something for everybody on the menu. Wait staff is friendly and accommodating and the portions are enormous. I also like the fact that you can make reservations for busy brunch times on the weekend. When we moved to Portland, a friend said that Bread and Ink saved her life. She was newly divorced with two little kids, and she could bring them there. They could have a burger and she could have mussels. It's a great, Hawthorne institution.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

one of the best brunches I've ever had

 
·Dined on November 1, 2015

This was undoubtably one of the best brunches I've ever had. Made a last minute reservation (the day before) and was seated immediately during an incredibly busy time. I had the steak benedict and it was perfect. Having polenta as a non-potato choice was a treat.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Not friendly at all

 
·Dined on October 25, 2015

Went to take my niece here for a birthday breakfast. So like I always do I got on to open table and made reservation. When we got there I told the hosted that we had resevervations through open table. That was the point where she went from friendly to unfriendly and never looked anywhere and told us me don't have them and it will be a 30-40 min wait. I asked her that I made them this morning and she said something I couldn't understand and rolled her eyes. At that point I said I'm done and am leaving. 3 other people talked to me outside about how rude this lady was being to us. I hope to go back and retry this place but if this is how I'm greeted I will not come back.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1

Better than Expected!

 
·Dined on October 13, 2015

I've been hearing about the waffle window and have wanted to try. I never knew I would be so blown away by Bread & Ink as well. There was 4 of us and we used every utensil sharing every bite of every plate we ordered. There wasn't one bad moment to this amazing dinner! Chicken Marsala - Brazilian Beef Skewers (best chimichurri sauce!!!!), Fried Chicken and then the sweet waffles. My list could go on and on! Service was outstanding --- I'm so very sorry I didn't remember his name. Truly a memorable experience!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was very good

 
·Dined on October 3, 2015

Food was very good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Solid middle of the road

 
·Dined on September 21, 2015

The food was good but nothing spectacular. Service was uneven though the place was nearly empty on a Sunday evening - but uneven I mean the two servers there kept switching up on us so it was hard to know who to ask for what, when.

I'd go back but not go out of my way to do it.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Always consistently good. I like that t ...

 
·Dined on September 6, 2015

Always consistently good. I like that they change their menu regularly. The servers are friendly. It is in the middle of tattoo and piercing street - neither of which I possess. Regardless, I am treated well. The portions are medium to large, and while it is not cheap - it is also not expensive. The value is good.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Consistently good breakfast

 
·Dined on August 16, 2015

The breakfast here is consistently good. Portions are large and you may end up with leftovers. Scones are made fresh daily and the type of scones changes regularly.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

always great

 
·Dined on July 19, 2015

There are oodles of breakfast/brunch options in Portland (many of which I think are overrated), but I always recommend Bread & Ink. The food is delicious, the service is excellent, and you can make a reservation even for small parties.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

birthday breakfast!

 
·Dined on July 5, 2015

I took a friend here for her birthday breakfast and we had a great time! Of special note was the blackberry basil mimosa, one of the best flavor combinations I've had in a mimosa. I had the chicken and waffles, which were also great the next day, cold. The lemon paprika sauce was delicious. Will be back soon to try lunch and dinner as well. I thought the prices were fair, but the one thing I don't get about most places is $3.25 for a straight up coffee. That bugs.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

Our server was delightful and sweet, foo ...

 
·Dined on June 21, 2015

Our server was delightful and sweet, food was delicious and atmosphere was soo Portland! Loved it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our server was attentive and helpful. Th ...

 
·Dined on May 24, 2015

Our server was attentive and helpful. The hostess was friendly. We liked that we were able to make a table reservation ahead of time to minimize the wait time.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

It's been a while...

 
·Dined on May 16, 2015

Ate at Bread & Ink for the first time in ten years or so. The food remains the star and the service was excellent. The menu is more varied than it used to be with lots of options. I definitely will not wait so long until my next visit!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.