About Brazil Grill

1201 SW 12th Ave
Portland, OR 97205
View Larger Map

WELCOME TO BRAZIL GRILL
Come & enjoy Portland"s Best Value in fine dining while experiencing Oregon's FIRST authentic Brazilian Steakhouse or "Churrascaria".
Our reasonable, fixed price menu means you get to select from our freshly made, Brazilian-inspired salad & side bar, which includes vegetarian & gluten free items.
Our traditional "stop-go" system allows you to decide when you are ready for you next course, by turning the disc on your table from red to green.

Skewers of deliciously seasoned, rotisserie meats are then carved at your table by roving gauchos eager to please your palate. YUM! Save room for our cinnamon-sugar roasted pineapple at the end of the meat rotation. If you like pineapple you will think you've died & gone to heaven! SO GOOD! We also offer desserts, a full bar menu specializing in Brazilian cocktails, wines & brews. So come in, relax, celebrate the day with a "Caipirinha" Brazilian national drink & DINE LIKE NEVER BEFORE.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Brazilian Steakhouse, Brazilian

Hours of Operation:

Dinner: From Monday through Friday 4:30 PM - 9:30 PM.
Saturday and Sunday 3:30 PM - 9:30 PM

Cross Street:
SW Jefferson & SW Main

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 222-0002

Website:
http://brazilgrillrestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Parking lot behind the restaurant includes handicapped parking spaces as well as the adjoining lot behind the cosmotology school. Street parking in front of the restaurant and across the street.

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Mon - Thu 4:30PM - 9:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Welcome to Brazil Grill. Oregon’s first authentic Brazilian Steakhouse! Family Owned and Operated. Downtown Portland’s Best Value in Fine Dining. The restaurant is available for private functions Monday-Friday

Brazil Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.2

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Special Occasion
Portland
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

special occasion (75)
good for groups (65)
fit for foodies (48)
See All
romantic (29)
kid-friendly (22)
neighborhood gem (21)
hot spot (11)
late-night find (9)
great for lunch (6)
vibrant bar scene (5)
notable wine list (5)
great for outdoor dining (3)
great for brunch (2)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
Newest
531 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good Food

Dined 6 days ago

The food is very good, but I cannot eat that much food so I don't really think I get $39.99 worth of food. Not everyone can eat like that. I wish they had a lighter side that wasn't just the salad bar.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Terrific Evening!

Dined on May 23, 2016

We had a most enjoyable evening....our friends were first time visitors and they were completely bowled over! The food was so delicious (my favorite...the mustard glazed sirloin, superb!) and the staff was super. We have another evening planned to experience it all over again in a few weeks...can't wait!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Fun and different dining experience

Dined on May 21, 2016

The restaurant was smaller than I expected. It was nice, clean, and comfortable, but not particularly unique or "Brazilian" in any way. I suppose I was expecting something a little more lavish, with more of an exotic flair. The meat selections are the draw for The Brazil Grill, since that is the unique experience they provide, and the meat selections are excellent. This is a great way to experience a variety of meat choices, including beef, chicken, lamb, ham, and shrimp. The one non-meat item that you must NOT miss is the rotisserie-grilled pineapple! Oh, my, there is no need for a dessert menu after this little gem. Unfortunately, the accompanying salad bar is, in my opinion, a disappointment. It is small, with selections that aren't particularly unique or interesting. It seems like an afterthought. The menu offers two options, salad bar only and the full experience (salad bar + meats). The full experience is expensive, but this is to be expected for such a unique style of dining. The salad bar only, however, is severely overpriced, given its mediocrity.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5

Our group was well attended, they staff ...

vip
Dined on May 18, 2016

Our group was well attended, they staff treated us with respect, humor, laughter and excellent advise and conversation!! We loved the experience and WILL definitely be back!!

food5
ambience3
service5

Great food

Dined on May 15, 2016

Great food

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Calling all meat eaters!

Dined on May 14, 2016

If you love meat you will have to try this place. I had steak, chicken, pork, shrimp and more! They also have pineapple with cinnamon and sugar which is the perfect dessert with vanilla ice cream!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

Maybe we caught them on an off night, bu ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

Maybe we caught them on an off night, but the meats weren't very flavorful. Their signature dish, Culotte, was quite good, but everything else tasted bland. The charbroiling from the rotisserie offered a nice flavor but the meats themselves tasted like they had not been marinated long enough. The salads and side dishes were also very lack luster. The drinks from the bar were also taking 20+ minutes to arrive, so maybe they really were having an off night. If it wasn't so outrageously expensive I might have rated it a little higher but when I spend $150 on dinner for 2 adults and a child, I expect to be impressed, not underwhelmed.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Service was awesome as as the food.we en ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

Service was awesome as as the food.we enjoyed the experience and would recommend this place to friends and family .

food3
ambience2
service5
value2

A lot of meat

Dined on May 8, 2016

Before I made the reservation I read several reviews. There were so many that said "romantic". "Nice ambiance". But on the contrary, it was very loud and not romantic at all. A few parties going on. And big groups with kids. Could hardly hear what they were offering when they came to our table. We tried everything. The shrimp was hard to eat with the shell on and was overcooked. Anything that was wrapped in bacon, tasted like bacon. I was looking forward to the bacon wrapped tenderloin. My favorite cut of meat. But was disappointed that it tasted like a big thick piece of bacon. On the flip side, the meat was delicious! The service was outstanding and very friendly. But unfortunately this isn't the restaurant for me.

Tags: special occasion
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

Way to expensive

Dined on April 30, 2016

For a place that cost as much as it did the atmosphere should be way better. The food was very dry from them recooking it all the time.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

It was for my graduation dinner celebration

vip
Dined on April 24, 2016

We came here for my graduation dinner celebration. When my party of 7 arrived, we were seated in less than five minutes (we had a reservation). We were seated right in the middle of the restaurant in a booth. But, we were comfortable, and we could all still hear each other although the noise level was pretty high. Positives: All the steak, lamb, shrimp and pork were delicious. The chicken was on the dry side, but still flavorful, especially the bacon wrapped chicken. My son's favorite was the cinnamon roasted pineapple; “this was yummy!” All of the desserts tasted wonderful. Negatives: They forgot about our beef empanada and chicken hearts order. We had to ask about it a few times. The drinks are on the pricey side, and not enough alcohol in them.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great and delicious food

vip
Dined on April 22, 2016

The food here is fresh and just keeps on coming out as long as you are still hungry. The sauces and spices on the meat items are not strong or overpowering. The meat was served hot and juicy. Waitstaff is quite attentive and pleasant.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

The many,many entrees that were brought ...

Dined on April 17, 2016

The many,many entrees that were brought to the table were anywhere from good to very good. The portions were outstanding and the staff was very courteous. Very extensive salad bar. Definitely worth the $39.95 per person.

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Not for light eaters

Dined on April 7, 2016

Brazil Grill is not for light eaters; when you visit, you'd better be hungry so you get your money's worth of high-end meat. Wise customers know to go easy on the all-you-can-eat salad bar, saving room for the meat on skewers, which include lamb, bacon-wrapped chicken, pork, shrimp and beef selections. Dinners are best finished up with the broiled pineapple. A full bar complements the meal, as mixed drinks, wine, or even Brazilian soft drinks are available. It's a bit pricey, but it makes for a very memorable and very fast dinner.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5

Excellent service and despite full house ...

Dined on April 3, 2016

Excellent service and despite full house very attentive. Food is very good. Salad bar a bit small but with high quality dishes and ingredients.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Brazil Grill

Dined on April 3, 2016

I have been told many times that the Brazil grill is the place to eat if you want meat! I finally went and I have to say it was fantastic! I am a hard core meat eater and I even ate the salad bar which was wonderful as well!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Always satisfies

Dined on April 1, 2016

A little more intimate and a lot more relaxed than Fogo. Also, $15 less per person. Reservations are almost always available with an hour or so of arrival.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful

Dined on March 30, 2016

We had a wonderful time in this restaurant. Food was great, servers were absolutely nice, and a quiet ambience. We've tried other Brazilian grills which were much more expensive (menu and mainly alcohols), and Brazil Grill was cheaper and as good as them. Only the buffet is smaller at Brazil Grill. That's definitely the best Brazilian grill on Portland.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, late-night find
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Classy

Dined on March 26, 2016

Great food and service. Salad bar is perfectly fresh, and constantly refreshed. The meats are all beautifully cooked and served hot. The servers seem to genuinely enjoy their work, and are highly attentive.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food3
ambience2
service5
value1

The more I think about it!

Dined on March 26, 2016

We have eaten at Brazil Grill several times usually for somebodies birthday. The more I think about it the more I am beginning to feel it is overpriced. I can eat enough food to justify $40.00 a head. I can get just as filled you with a steak or a rack of ribs for around $25 - $30 a head. Just saying. In the future I will be steering my family towards other places for birthday dinners.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best Brazilian Restaurant

Dined on March 20, 2016

Second time here. As first time, friendly staff, fast service, best food. No hidden charges, straight forward. Server brings new plates very often, which is very nice of them. Will come again for sure!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
food2
ambience2
service4
value1

Overpriced mediocre food

Dined on March 17, 2016

Food was not great. Tri tip was ok. Salad bar was cheap in both quality and aesthetics. Not worth the money. Wouldn't recommend.

food4
ambience3
service5
value2

the dinner was excellent. However we ex ...

Dined on March 17, 2016

the dinner was excellent. However we expected to be charged the fixted meal deal many of the top restaurants were doing in March. they presented our bill which included the full bore price. I should have realized something was amiss when I saw so few customers that evening. Jerry

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing...

Dined on March 15, 2016

We had such a wonderful time! We'll be going back. Loved that we could try so many great treating items in one stop.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Close... but no cigar

Dined on March 13, 2016

Not sure what I was expecting but I went in with high hopes. Overall the atmosphere was fun and loud, and I enjoyed it. The manager called me to confirm we were still coming, and they held our table when we were a few minutes late (thanks!). It fell apart with the food. They brought out the cheap stuff first (chicken legs, chicken hearts, sausage, etc.), which I sort of expected... but we never really got any tri-tip, filet, or steak of any kind without waving someone down with effort. And the slices were skimpy at best. Kind of laughed about it at first but it started to get annoying quickly. And one of our friends about lost her mind... and not much sympathy from the staff... okay, got it, you're busy. The drinks were good but overpriced.. (dug the Caipirinha.. refreshing!) but since you're downtown I guess you can expect a bump. Left there down about $70+ per person (1/3 of that was alcohol). My buddy frequents Fogo de Chao and tells me it's a much better value and experience than Brazil Grill. We'll try it out next time and see if we like it. Probably won't be back here though, sorry.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Meat lovers dream

Dined on March 7, 2016

I was recommended to another Brazilian place by a coworker but chose the Brazil Grill instead. We were not disappointed. The staff was attentive but not hovering. I got a free dessert(I chose Panna Cotta) for my birthday and it was fabulous. We will be returning soon with friends.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service5

Good place for grill meats.

Dined on March 6, 2016

Good place for grill meats.

food4
ambience2
service1
value2

Alcopaul

Dined on March 6, 2016

Food was great, the service on the other hand was horrible. We had to ask for food and drink MULITPLE times before it would show up. We finally left after asking for drinks four times to our waiter and still they never showed up. This was our first and last visit.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

retirement dinner

Dined on March 6, 2016

I brought a friend who had never been to the restaurant before for her retirement. She had a wonderful evening to remember for years to come due to the attentive staff. She enjoyed the food and the servers who gave her their best wishes on her retirement. She found herself trying foods that she might not otherwise and to her delight, she liked them. Thank you everyone for assisting us. We had a delightful time.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best meat in town

Dined on March 5, 2016

This was my second dining experience at the Brazil Grill and it did not disappoint. The meat is cooked perfectly and the pineapple is one of the best things I have ever tasted. Their service is impeccable. We were there celebrating my in-laws 48th wedding anniversary and they gave free dessert, which we couldn't eat, we were so full, but we took it to go. Everything was DELICIOUS!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent food and extremely attentive service!

Dined on March 5, 2016

My wife and I love this place. First, if you are not a carnivore, skip this place. It is all about rotating meats, cooked very well. Also, the grilled pineapple is amazing. If you have a large appetite, even better! They keep serving you until you are stuffed. My personal favorites are the culotte, lamb, chicken hearts and pineapple. But, there is a large enough variety to satisfy almost any meat lover.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

BRAZIL GRILL: QUITE A THRILL FOR 50TH

Dined on February 27, 2016

The BRAZIL GRILL is a great spot for ethnic dining. My husband and I chose it for the unusual and tasteful food from Brazil and the fact that the gouchos helped everyone with their skewered selections. The salad bar was unusual and delicious. Several guests had excellent soup, and the polenta appetizers were amazing. Talking later with our guests, they shared that the presentation was fantastic. The one possible change, was the long table, making it hard for conversation. A round table or an alcove might have been easier as we celebrated our 50th wedding anniversary. The flavor of the food was fantastic and the pineapple was especially good. Thank you for everything!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

few $$ less

Dined on February 27, 2016

food not as expected and we didn't have much to eat since mostly chicken thighs, ham, sausage & pineapple were being served. beef, pork & lamb weren't served until later and we decided to leave.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

First time visit

Dined on February 17, 2016

Mid week was great...restaurant was less than full....service was excellent and the staff was great to interact with and really made the experience in my opinion. Food was cooked excellent and atmosphere was very pleasant. Definitely use the stop bottom to give yourself some time between bites! We went back for seconds on several items...you gotta try the pineapple!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service4

The food was excellent

Dined on February 15, 2016

The food was excellent

food4
ambience3
service2
value3

good value

vip
Dined on February 15, 2016

Had a good time, food was good and drinks were great. i recommend trying to get early reservations. Really good salad bar.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lots of Options

Dined on February 15, 2016

Went for Valentines day and we had such a good time, The service was perfect, and the options just kept coming. One of the best parts is there is something for everyone. We enjoyed the fact that the servers come around frequently enough that you don't stuff yourself right away and can try a little bit of everything then get more of the things you liked best.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent!

Dined on February 15, 2016

We love Brazil Grill and have been coming here once or twice a year for special occasions for several years. We always bring groups of our friends and have a great time! The food is amazing. The best time to come is when it is busy, since the food flows better and is fresher then. If there's anything you want to try, ask your host and they'll send it right on over! My favorites are the beer-marinated chicken legs; the lamb; and the pineapple for sure - the guys at my table loved the mustard beef. The pineapple is a huge win always. Their drinks are really excellent, too. The restaurant is a little spendier than our usual for dinner, but the value is hugely worth it and the quality is just lovely, especially since it is all-you-can-eat of everything, salad bar and seafood and grill (and you can stay as long as you like). Go! Enjoy!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Wonderful Adventure

Dined on February 15, 2016

We visited Brazil Grill for the first time on Valentine's Day! What a fun & different experience. The waiting service was excellent and always made us feel welcomed. Was almost like going to a friends house for dinner. Food was great. Salad bar had such a variety and wonderful soups. More food than we could handle. Wine was very pleasing & the stroganoff was to die for! All the meats were enjoyable and loved the grilled pineapple! Had a fantastic time!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Valentine's Day dinner

Dined on February 15, 2016

My boyfriend and I had our Valentine's Day dinner here. The host brought a rose to the table once we were seated. It was a nice touch. Dinner was great and we really enjoyed our meal. Everyone was helpful and polite. Will definitely return.

Tags: special occasion

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.