About Brazil Grill

1201 SW 12th Ave
Portland, OR 97205
View Larger Map

WELCOME TO BRAZIL GRILL
Come & enjoy Portland"s Best Value in fine dining while experiencing Oregon's FIRST authentic Brazilian Steakhouse or "Churrascaria".
Our reasonable, fixed price menu means you get to select from our freshly made, Brazilian-inspired salad & side bar, which includes vegetarian & gluten free items.
Our traditional "stop-go" system allows you to decide when you are ready for you next course, by turning the disc on your table from red to green.

Skewers of deliciously seasoned, rotisserie meats are then carved at your table by roving gauchos eager to please your palate. YUM! Save room for our cinnamon-sugar roasted pineapple at the end of the meat rotation. If you like pineapple you will think you've died & gone to heaven! SO GOOD! We also offer desserts, a full bar menu specializing in Brazilian cocktails, wines & brews. So come in, relax, celebrate the day with a "Caipirinha" Brazilian national drink & DINE LIKE NEVER BEFORE.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Brazilian Steakhouse, Brazilian

Hours of Operation:

Dinner: From Monday through Friday 4:30 PM - 9:30 PM.
Saturday and Sunday 3:30 PM - 9:30 PM

Cross Street:
SW Jefferson & SW Main

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 222-0002

Website:
http://brazilgrillrestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Parking lot behind the restaurant includes handicapped parking spaces as well as the adjoining lot behind the cosmotology school. Street parking in front of the restaurant and across the street.

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Brazil Grill, Portland, OR
  • Brazil Grill, Portland, OR

Report a photo problem

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Mon - Thu 4:30PM - 9:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Welcome to Brazil Grill. Oregon’s first authentic Brazilian Steakhouse! Family Owned and Operated. Downtown Portland’s Best Value in Fine Dining. The restaurant is available for private functions Monday-Friday

Brazil Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.1

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (29)
Good for a Date (29)
Good for Anniversaries (29)
See All
Good for Birthdays (27)
Fun (25)
Authentic (21)
Casual (20)
Creative Cuisine (19)
Good for Groups (19)
Worth the Drive (17)
Family Style (16)
Fit for Foodies (16)
Pre/post Theatre (13)
Kid-friendly (9)
Comfort Food (8)
Cozy (8)
Romantic (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
People Watching (6)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Business Meals (6)
Paleo Friendly (6)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Outstanding Value (5)
Modern Decor (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Great for Lunch (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Healthy (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Open Kitchen (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Vegan (1)
Great Beer (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Sort By:
S
633 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

This is one of my favorite restaurants. ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined a day ago

This is one of my favorite restaurants. Love the service and the food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Cozy dining room, extremely attentive an ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 10, 2017

Cozy dining room, extremely attentive and friendly staff. Very happy with the dining experience, especially that the kitchen carved portions of each steak and cooked them well done for us.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly, Gluten Free Options, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food. Great date night

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Great food. Great date night

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I really enjoyed my meal. My wife and I ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 1, 2017

I really enjoyed my meal. My wife and I had a lot of fun eating hear. My only complaint is that I don't know if i will go back anytime soon because of the price. ($40 each) It really felt like it should be 10-15$ cheaper.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Sorry to have to say this, but the past ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Sorry to have to say this, but the past two visits we have made here there seems to be a new constant thing that is not nearly as good as it used to be. The further you sit from the kitchen the less chance you have of getting the variety to your table especially near the windows in the front of the restaurant. In the past the service and waiters came around much more often then they do now. Even if you ask for something that should have already been around it takes quite a while for it to arrive if it does. We had to ask for the "bacon wrapped chicken breast", "the pineapple", "the chicken hearts/gizzards". Also the meat seems to be much "rarer" mostly "blood rare". The meatballs in the sauce in the soup warmer were barely warm even a few of the meats, specifically the bacon wrapped filet mingon. Before you think it was just a busy time, both of these visits were between 4:30 p.m. and 5:30 p.m. so the restaurant was more empty than full. I love the restaurant, but might opt for another restaurant in the future as these problems seem to be more constant now. I had hoped the first time this happened it was a fluke, but after two visits in a row like this...seems to be becoming the norm.

Tags: Casual, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value5

Great dining experience for friends. Nic ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Great dining experience for friends. Nice atmosphere with friendly staff. The pineapple is a must have.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

very friendly server, Tara who was cheer ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 1, 2017

very friendly server, Tara who was cheerful, upbeat, friendly, helpful. We felt great to ask for her suggestion. She even threw a free desert for our anniversary. The meat was fresh and cooked well. The salad bar has a variety and I love the fresh, warm pineapple. As I usually don't eat too much meat and the cost is quite expensive, so I chose the salad bar which was good enough for me. I enjoyed watching my husband eating the different meat selections esp. the chicken hearts. Definitely, we will go back again.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Paleo Friendly, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This is by far my favorite restaurant! T ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 31, 2016

This is by far my favorite restaurant! The staff is very helpful and the food is amazing!

Tags: Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Family Style, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Fun, Notable Wine List, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely love!!! Ended up with a Meat ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Absolutely love!!! Ended up with a Meat hangover! Great service! Recommend for the hungry and variety of meats. Polenta the best!

Tags: Special Occasion, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a tasty meal with so much variety! ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 31, 2016

What a tasty meal with so much variety! We loved being able to taste so many different types of meat for one meal!

Tags: Outstanding Value, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Very friendly wait staff and management. ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Very friendly wait staff and management. It's a comfortable, relaxed atmosphere. The food is fresh, hot and quickly to the table. This was our first visit. We plan to return in the future!

Tags: Authentic, Fun, Casual, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

An excellent dining experience for our f ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 30, 2016

An excellent dining experience for our first time at the Brazil Grill. Delicious food and great ambiance. Having a parking lot is a plus too!! We'll definitely be back!!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Fun, Gluten Free Options, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Great atmosphere. The Pineapple was amaz ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Great atmosphere. The Pineapple was amazing! The staff was outstanding.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Place with very authentic food jus ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Great Place with very authentic food just like you would find in Brazil.

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was visiting from Brazil and wanted to ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 28, 2016

I was visiting from Brazil and wanted to take my host family to an authentic Brazilian dinner. I was happy to see that it was pretty authentic. The salads were more American, but the meats and bean and rice were just like back home. It was a fun evening with lots of good food. They live in the Portland area and said they would definitely go back.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Fun, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I really enjoyed the experience of havin ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 26, 2016

I really enjoyed the experience of having many different meat dishes brought to the table. We had chicken hearts, shrimp, several different types of beef. There was even a round of baked cinnamon pineapple. For two of us the total including tip was around $150. That included unlimited meats and salad bar. Three alcoholic drinks, a coffee and a slice of chocolate cake. Not a cheap place to eat but for a special occasion, totally worth it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Going to a Brazilian steakhouse is alway ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Going to a Brazilian steakhouse is always a fun option when going out for dinner. All the grill options were well made and delicious. The salad bar isn't as extensive as other Brazilian steakhouses I've visited, but it was fine.

Its pretty tight quarters in there, which wouldn't bother me, but we were chastised for bringing our infant in a car seat and not notating him as a 5th person on our dinner reservation (even though I put in the online reservation notes that I was bringing him). We were moved to a different table other than the table they'd reserved in order to accomodate him, but weren't offered a high chair, so we just placed him in a corner on the floor. Once seated, our service was very good, but I wasn't impressed with how irritated the host was over the baby and reservation confusion. I don't know if I would go back because of that.

Tags: Fun, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

Enjoyed the food. Sevice was great. Will ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Enjoyed the food. Sevice was great. Will recommend to friends and family.

Tags: Comfort Food, Casual, Worth the Drive, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great service but some of the food was u ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Great service but some of the food was under seasoned and was bland

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place to celebrate and the food an ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Great place to celebrate and the food and service is always fantastic!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Amazing. Great food. Reasonable prices. ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 6, 2016

Amazing. Great food. Reasonable prices. Love this place.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We thoroughly enjoyed this experience!!

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on December 4, 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed this experience!!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The service was outstanding. Th food was ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 3, 2016

The service was outstanding. Th food was amazing. It was definitely worth the money. You can eat as much as you can stand of great food.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Outstanding Value, Fun, Good for a Date
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was my brothers birthday and first ti ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 30, 2016

It was my brothers birthday and first time going to the grill, and he absolutely loved it!!! The service catered to us like we were the only family dinning, they were absolutely wonderful! The food was so good! Any occasion this is the place to go!!! I love this place.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service and food. I'll definitely ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Great service and food. I'll definitely go back again. All of the meats were well prepared and cooked to the temperature that I like. The salad bar looked a little haphazard (like they were just pulled out of the fridge and put back out) but the items were all tasty.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We enjoyed the atmosphere of Brazil Gril ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 26, 2016

We enjoyed the atmosphere of Brazil Grill. We've been to several Brazilian Steak Houses and they're usually quiet and fancy. I felt like I could talk and laugh with my husband. It wasn't loud but welcoming. We even were talking about it during dinner. It made us feel comfortable.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is an OK locally family owned resta ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 25, 2016

This is an OK locally family owned restaurant. The food is not bad, but the selection and cold items are not nearly as expansive as the larger national players in the Brazialian Steakhouse space, although the price is the same.

If you expect the offering of the large national chains you will be disappointed.

Tags: Casual
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

The meat was good and the service excell ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 25, 2016

The meat was good and the service excellent, but the salad bar options were limited.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

This place is fantastic, more than well ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 22, 2016

This place is fantastic, more than well worth the money. Everyone should go eat here!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Hot Spot, Family Style, Sunday Lunch
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall it was great food and great dini ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Overall it was great food and great dining experience.

Tags: Authentic
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Love the Brazil Grill!!!! We did a team ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Love the Brazil Grill!!!! We did a team dinner for work there, and everyone had a great time and the food was excellent!!! The servers were attentive and a lot of fun to interact with.

Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Disabled Access, Outstanding Value, Fun, Business Meals
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was good. Fun experience. But it wa ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Food was good. Fun experience. But it was not worth the bill. I will probably go again although I won't do the all you can eat.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fun
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

Nice quiet place for dinner, excellent s ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Nice quiet place for dinner, excellent service, would come there again.

Tags: Good for Groups
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent food, the meats were full of f ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 2, 2016

Excellent food, the meats were full of flavor, service great, the grilled pineapple is the amazing.

Tags: Good for a Date
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Booked a table that wasn't ready despite ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Booked a table that wasn't ready despite the restaurant not being full. Charged for a full cold buffet even though we asked for a single plate of food since my daughter wasn't feeling well. Very expensive meal while the selection of sides and meats was average compared other similar restaurants I have been to in the past. Definitely wont be going back

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

I was in on a Saturday and sitting next ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 30, 2016

I was in on a Saturday and sitting next to a very large party of 18. They were always served first and then food was gone. Then when they would come back out they would go around big party, and then go off in opposite direction of my party of 2. I kept asking for special request and then they would come out and back to big party or off in other direction! I asked 5 people and i never got what i wanted. I had my puck on green and would be over looked. For the price i would have thought i would get better service. One glass of water...awsome. i was actually asked for specific, but that is as far as wnt..asking.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Really enjoyed the food and staff. Will ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 26, 2016

Really enjoyed the food and staff. Will definitely go back.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fun, Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The hostess was very professional and ac ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 24, 2016

The hostess was very professional and accommodated us to the full extent. A memorable anniversary. Will definitely return .

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Authentic
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had an excellent time. Food and servi ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 23, 2016

We had an excellent time. Food and service were great. Can't wait to go back

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was good; however, the service was ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Food was good; however, the service was not what I expected for the price. Some of the gauchos were pleasant but there were a few that would barely acknowledge our table and one in particular who was fairly rude. The waitress was really nice but seemed overwhelmed due to a busy night. Maybe this was a one off experience but it made my brother's birthday less special.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.