About Brazil Grill

1201 SW 12th Ave
Portland, OR 97205
View Larger Map

WELCOME TO BRAZIL GRILL
Come & enjoy Portland"s Best Value in fine dining while experiencing Oregon's FIRST authentic Brazilian Steakhouse or "Churrascaria".
Our reasonable, fixed price menu means you get to select from our freshly made, Brazilian-inspired salad & side bar, which includes vegetarian & gluten free items.
Our traditional "stop-go" system allows you to decide when you are ready for you next course, by turning the disc on your table from red to green.

Skewers of deliciously seasoned, rotisserie meats are then carved at your table by roving gauchos eager to please your palate. YUM! Save room for our cinnamon-sugar roasted pineapple at the end of the meat rotation. If you like pineapple you will think you've died & gone to heaven! SO GOOD! We also offer desserts, a full bar menu specializing in Brazilian cocktails, wines & brews. So come in, relax, celebrate the day with a "Caipirinha" Brazilian national drink & DINE LIKE NEVER BEFORE.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Brazilian Steakhouse, Brazilian

Hours of Operation:

Dinner: From Monday through Friday 4:30 PM - 9:30 PM.
Saturday and Sunday 3:30 PM - 9:30 PM

Cross Street:
SW Jefferson & SW Main

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 222-0002

Website:
http://brazilgrillrestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Parking lot behind the restaurant includes handicapped parking spaces as well as the adjoining lot behind the cosmotology school. Street parking in front of the restaurant and across the street.

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Brazil Grill, Portland, OR
  • Brazil Grill, Portland, OR
Brazil Grill, Portland, OR
Brazil Grill, Portland, OR

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Mon - Thu 4:30PM - 9:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Welcome to Brazil Grill. Oregon’s first authentic Brazilian Steakhouse! Family Owned and Operated. Downtown Portland’s Best Value in Fine Dining. The restaurant is available for private functions Monday-Friday

Brazil Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.1

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Special Occasion
Portland
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

Special Occasion (30)
Good for Groups (22)
Good for Anniversaries (21)
See All
Good for Birthdays (20)
Good for a Date (20)
Fun (19)
Authentic (17)
Casual (17)
Creative Cuisine (15)
Fit for Foodies (13)
Worth the Drive (13)
Family Style (12)
Pre/post Theatre (11)
Kid-friendly (8)
Great for Lunch (7)
Romantic (6)
Paleo Friendly (6)
Cozy (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Business Meals (4)
People Watching (4)
Healthy (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Local Ingredients (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Outstanding Value (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Spicy (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Historic (1)
Sort By:
S
603 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

It was my brothers birthday and first ti ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined 4 days ago

It was my brothers birthday and first time going to the grill, and he absolutely loved it!!! The service catered to us like we were the only family dinning, they were absolutely wonderful! The food was so good! Any occasion this is the place to go!!! I love this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service and food. I'll definitely ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 7 days ago

Great service and food. I'll definitely go back again. All of the meats were well prepared and cooked to the temperature that I like. The salad bar looked a little haphazard (like they were just pulled out of the fridge and put back out) but the items were all tasty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We enjoyed the atmosphere of Brazil Gril ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 26, 2016

We enjoyed the atmosphere of Brazil Grill. We've been to several Brazilian Steak Houses and they're usually quiet and fancy. I felt like I could talk and laugh with my husband. It wasn't loud but welcoming. We even were talking about it during dinner. It made us feel comfortable.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is an OK locally family owned resta ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 25, 2016

This is an OK locally family owned restaurant. The food is not bad, but the selection and cold items are not nearly as expansive as the larger national players in the Brazialian Steakhouse space, although the price is the same.

If you expect the offering of the large national chains you will be disappointed.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

This place is fantastic, more than well ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 22, 2016

This place is fantastic, more than well worth the money. Everyone should go eat here!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Hot Spot, Family Style, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall it was great food and great dini ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Overall it was great food and great dining experience.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Food was good. Fun experience. But it wa ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Food was good. Fun experience. But it was not worth the bill. I will probably go again although I won't do the all you can eat.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

Nice quiet place for dinner, excellent s ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Nice quiet place for dinner, excellent service, would come there again.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent food, the meats were full of f ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 2, 2016

Excellent food, the meats were full of flavor, service great, the grilled pineapple is the amazing.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Booked a table that wasn't ready despite ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Booked a table that wasn't ready despite the restaurant not being full. Charged for a full cold buffet even though we asked for a single plate of food since my daughter wasn't feeling well. Very expensive meal while the selection of sides and meats was average compared other similar restaurants I have been to in the past. Definitely wont be going back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

I was in on a Saturday and sitting next ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 30, 2016

I was in on a Saturday and sitting next to a very large party of 18. They were always served first and then food was gone. Then when they would come back out they would go around big party, and then go off in opposite direction of my party of 2. I kept asking for special request and then they would come out and back to big party or off in other direction! I asked 5 people and i never got what i wanted. I had my puck on green and would be over looked. For the price i would have thought i would get better service. One glass of water...awsome. i was actually asked for specific, but that is as far as wnt..asking.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Really enjoyed the food and staff. Will ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 26, 2016

Really enjoyed the food and staff. Will definitely go back.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fun, Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The hostess was very professional and ac ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 24, 2016

The hostess was very professional and accommodated us to the full extent. A memorable anniversary. Will definitely return .

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had an excellent time. Food and servi ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 23, 2016

We had an excellent time. Food and service were great. Can't wait to go back

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was good; however, the service was ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Food was good; however, the service was not what I expected for the price. Some of the gauchos were pleasant but there were a few that would barely acknowledge our table and one in particular who was fairly rude. The waitress was really nice but seemed overwhelmed due to a busy night. Maybe this was a one off experience but it made my brother's birthday less special.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

This was our second time here and we had ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 16, 2016

This was our second time here and we had the same server Tara, she's awesome! Food was great! We even took a pineapple to go. Tara talked us into dessert, the upside down pineapple cake it was amazing! We will be coming back sooner next time.

Tags: Family Style, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Was great but I wished they had ponducac ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Was great but I wished they had ponducachus (spelled wrong but you can sound it out). Kind of a small cheesy bread roll.

Tags: Comfort Food, Fun, Authentic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great new place to go. A little pricey b ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Great new place to go. A little pricey but it's all you can eat and the food is all very good. The staff was all very friendly as well.

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Fun, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was great! Kid friendly, great for d ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 8, 2016

It was great! Kid friendly, great for dates, special occasions or business.

Tags: Family Style, Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Fun, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Disabled Access, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Paleo Friendly, People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went to this restaurant for my boyfriend ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 5, 2016

Went to this restaurant for my boyfriend's 21st birthday. I have been to this restaurant before and it was fantastic. This time however, it was not. The food was over cooked and the service was not prompt. Definitely not worth the $100.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service4
value1

We use to love this place. We've been co ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 2, 2016

We use to love this place. We've been coming for over 4 years and have recommended this place to our friends, family & beyond. After this visit, however; we won't be coming back. The bartender was a jerk. He does not know the OLCC regulations. We were a party of 7, all business owners. I, myself have helped open several businesses, to include: bars, restaurants & cafes. This bartender created a scene that was embarrassing. We have spread the word and will continue to advise people against coming here. Such a crying shame. We always chose this over Fogo de Chao but that will change.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1

The food was great! Come hungry because ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 1, 2016

The food was great! Come hungry because you will most likely gorge yourself. It was a little expensive but I would definitely recommend it!

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

wait staff was great. the meat presenta ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 29, 2016

wait staff was great. the meat presentation was good. The salad bar was lacking in variety and color. For a different presentation of food - I would recommend it for a change.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

We had such a great experience the first ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 23, 2016

We had such a great experience the first time we went to Brazil grill for my friends birthday 3 years ago, we had been itching to go back and what better occasion then to have dinner with our friends from out of town. They absolutely loved it! the service was great and the food selection was amazing we can't wait to go back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Family Style, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Great experience. Food was excellent. Ju ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 11, 2016

Great experience. Food was excellent. Just something a little different for those special occasions. With all the meats that come around, the grilled pineapple is the best. Server was friendly and helpful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

First time guest - excellent experience ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 9, 2016

First time guest - excellent experience - will come again

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, great atmosphere, great serv ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 8, 2016

Great food, great atmosphere, great service, great people. This is how my wife and I feel about each and every time we have eaten at Brazil Grill. I highly recommend this experience to any and all.

You will enjoy.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Tasting Menu, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We go early so that the noise level is q ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 2, 2016

We go early so that the noise level is quite. We were immediately greeted and seated. Our host was friendly and inviting, we felt most welcome.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

Well Done Guys!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 1, 2016

Well Done Guys!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We didn't know what to expect and were p ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on August 29, 2016

We didn't know what to expect and were pleasantly surprised. The food was fabulous and the staff very helpful. Being able to start and stop on receiving entres was great. And the choices were fabulous! We will be going back soon.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Family Style, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I had not been there in a few years and ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on August 20, 2016

I had not been there in a few years and it is just as amazing as the first time I went. I love this place it's completely worth the hour drive to get there.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Fun, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We love to eat at Brazil Grill! The foo ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on August 15, 2016

We love to eat at Brazil Grill! The food is fabulous, and the local ownership makes it friendly. We have learned to pace ourselves so that we eat just enough. I am a big fan of the caiperinha cocktail, and my spouse is the designated driver, so it's all good!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic experience. Great servers and ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on August 14, 2016

Fantastic experience. Great servers and great food. I forgot to ask for the empanadas though.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was excellent, wait staff was f ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on August 14, 2016

The food was excellent, wait staff was friendly and attentive. Very pleasurable meal with friends and family.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

over all it very good restoran but when ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on August 13, 2016

over all it very good restoran but when it to much people i think need more whetres

Tags: Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Food was good,but not what I expected fo ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on August 10, 2016

Food was good,but not what I expected for the price.For me a one time try it and probably not go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Comfortable, unpretentious dining experi ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on August 7, 2016

Comfortable, unpretentious dining experience. Great food and pleasant staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Loved it! The food was awesome! And the ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 7, 2016

Loved it! The food was awesome! And the way the food is served is so unique!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

An extremely unique experience worth eve ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on August 1, 2016

An extremely unique experience worth every dime and minute of my time. I've already recommended it to friends and we're planning a return trip for ourselves.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food nice quiet atmosphere and the ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on July 28, 2016

Great food nice quiet atmosphere and they had the food coming quickly we had to turn over our puck to catch up. Great service will definitly recommend to others.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.