About Brazil Grill

1201 SW 12th Ave
Portland, OR 97205
View Larger Map

WELCOME TO BRAZIL GRILL
Come & enjoy Portland"s Best Value in fine dining while experiencing Oregon's FIRST authentic Brazilian Steakhouse or "Churrascaria".
Our reasonable, fixed price menu means you get to select from our freshly made, Brazilian-inspired salad & side bar, which includes vegetarian & gluten free items.
Our traditional "stop-go" system allows you to decide when you are ready for you next course, by turning the disc on your table from red to green.

Skewers of deliciously seasoned, rotisserie meats are then carved at your table by roving gauchos eager to please your palate. YUM! Save room for our cinnamon-sugar roasted pineapple at the end of the meat rotation. If you like pineapple you will think you've died & gone to heaven! SO GOOD! We also offer desserts, a full bar menu specializing in Brazilian cocktails, wines & brews. So come in, relax, celebrate the day with a "Caipirinha" Brazilian national drink & DINE LIKE NEVER BEFORE.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Brazilian Steakhouse, Brazilian

Hours of Operation:

Dinner: From Monday through Friday 4:30 PM - 9:30 PM.
Saturday and Sunday 3:30 PM - 9:30 PM

Cross Street:
SW Jefferson & SW Main

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 222-0002

Website:
http://brazilgrillrestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Parking lot behind the restaurant includes handicapped parking spaces as well as the adjoining lot behind the cosmotology school. Street parking in front of the restaurant and across the street.

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Brazil Grill
  • Brazil Grill
Brazil Grill
Brazil Grill

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Mon - Thu 4:30PM - 9:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Welcome to Brazil Grill. Oregon’s first authentic Brazilian Steakhouse! Family Owned and Operated. Downtown Portland’s Best Value in Fine Dining. The restaurant is available for private functions Monday-Friday

Brazil Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.1

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Special Occasion
Portland
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

special occasion (67)
good for groups (60)
fit for foodies (46)
See All
kid-friendly (22)
romantic (19)
neighborhood gem (14)
hot spot (13)
late-night find (9)
great for lunch (6)
great for brunch (3)
notable wine list (3)
vibrant bar scene (2)
great for outdoor dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
550 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience4
service4

Good vegetarian and gluten free options ...

Dined 4 days ago

Good vegetarian and gluten free options in addition to the amazing meat selection. Pleasant ambiance. I did not try the desserts, but they looked delicious.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Overall very good. I wish only the salad ...

Dined 5 days ago

Overall very good. I wish only the salad bar would be a little bit more variety, like more cheese selection, maybe some prosciutto. Things like those. But in general, excellent experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We only have good experiences here, and ...

Dined 6 days ago

We only have good experiences here, and never been disappointed for many years.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was my second time at Brazil Grill ...

Dined on June 24, 2016

This was my second time at Brazil Grill and the food was just as good as the first time. My Niece and Nephew were over joyed with the restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food and service. Our favorite ...

Dined on June 22, 2016

Excellent food and service. Our favorite in Portland by far.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We visited Brazil Grill with our friends ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

We visited Brazil Grill with our friends, who had never before dined there. We had such a wonderful meal, and it was fun for us to tell our friends what it is all about. They loved it as much as we do and will most certainly visit again. My husband and I had eaten there about a month ago, again with other friends who had never been. This last visit, we had the same wait staff as we did on the earlier visit: Brandon, Scott and Morgan. Once again, they provided superb service and we enjoyed interacting with them. They were professional, friendly and attentive. They are wonderful, as are the rest of the staff. And the food was sensational!! My all time favorite: the mustard glazed sirloin.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food2
ambience1
service5
value2

The meat selection is outstanding. But t ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

The meat selection is outstanding. But the delivery is distasteful and ill mannered. We were seated at a booth reserved for 9 people. There is no way to deliver meat choices without reaching over each other. Very unappetizing. And , the salad bar lacked variety and presentation . I would not consider revisiting this restaurant.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Brazil Grill was fantastic!!! The f ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

The Brazil Grill was fantastic!!! The food is soooo wonderful and you can specify what you want more of, as they bring around the meats on skewers. It is rather loud, but it's mostly people oohing and awing about how good something is. I do suggest making reservations, as it got full very fast and people were waiting outside for drop-in seating.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent food. Excellent service. We w ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Excellent food. Excellent service. We will be back!

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

The food is wonderful, the service is fr ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

The food is wonderful, the service is friendly and accommodating. It's one of my favorite restaurants in PDX.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I have been here several times and it is ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

I have been here several times and it is always great food, never disappoints.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was delicious, my husband melte ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

The food was delicious, my husband melted in his chair after every bite. He says it was the best father's day gift ever. Server Marcello was awesome he recognized that my husband likes his meat well done and made special trips the kitchen for us. Job well done.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I love that they ask you if you'd like a ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

I love that they ask you if you'd like a certain food brought back to your table after you've seen them all! The presentation of the food is really what sets this place apart from the others

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was excellent and the wait staff wa ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Food was excellent and the wait staff was very friendly never had to wait for drink refills or fresh plates.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Casual and delicious!

Dined on June 8, 2016

I'd been meaning to try this place for a while. Several coworkers have raved about it. We'd been to Fogo de Chao, and while it was tasty, it felt pretentious and crowded. Brazil Grill had the same excellent meats, a slightly smaller salad/side bar, with a much more comfortable environment. We'll definitely be back!

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Best Brazilian

Dined on May 29, 2016

My second visit to Brazil Grill within two months was as good as the first time. Best thing upon visiting a second time is I know which meats I want to eat. Not that they aren't all good, I have a preference for the sausage and lamb; so juicy and the marinade is out of this world! The staff is very friendly and helpful with asking if there are certain items you would like brought to the table. I can't wait for another visit to Portland. Oh, and make sure you get the pineapple, it is the best!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Brazil Grill regular

Dined on May 29, 2016

We love Brazil Grill. We go once a month to enjoy the food and service. We've taken all our family, friends, and customers to Brazil Grill.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Friends celebration

Dined on May 29, 2016

As always this is a great experience . I have dined at BG for over 10 years with large and small groups. It is always fun, great food and great service.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

Friendly staff, food was good but too costly

Dined on May 28, 2016

Super nice staff from the time you enter until you leave, great people! The food was good, but in our opinion it was not good enough to justify returning at $39 per plate. The pineapple was fantastic and so were the garlic rolls. The restaurant was not as elegant as what we expected it to be.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good Food

Dined on May 25, 2016

The food is very good, but I cannot eat that much food so I don't really think I get $39.99 worth of food. Not everyone can eat like that. I wish they had a lighter side that wasn't just the salad bar.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Terrific Evening!

Dined on May 23, 2016

We had a most enjoyable evening....our friends were first time visitors and they were completely bowled over! The food was so delicious (my favorite...the mustard glazed sirloin, superb!) and the staff was super. We have another evening planned to experience it all over again in a few weeks...can't wait!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Fun and different dining experience

Dined on May 21, 2016

The restaurant was smaller than I expected. It was nice, clean, and comfortable, but not particularly unique or "Brazilian" in any way. I suppose I was expecting something a little more lavish, with more of an exotic flair. The meat selections are the draw for The Brazil Grill, since that is the unique experience they provide, and the meat selections are excellent. This is a great way to experience a variety of meat choices, including beef, chicken, lamb, ham, and shrimp. The one non-meat item that you must NOT miss is the rotisserie-grilled pineapple! Oh, my, there is no need for a dessert menu after this little gem. Unfortunately, the accompanying salad bar is, in my opinion, a disappointment. It is small, with selections that aren't particularly unique or interesting. It seems like an afterthought. The menu offers two options, salad bar only and the full experience (salad bar + meats). The full experience is expensive, but this is to be expected for such a unique style of dining. The salad bar only, however, is severely overpriced, given its mediocrity.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Our group was well attended, the staff t ...

vip
Dined on May 18, 2016

Our group was well attended, the staff treated us with respect, humor, laughter and excellent advise and conversation!! We loved the experience and WILL definitely be back!!

food5
ambience3
service5

Great food. Great service variety of di ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Great food. Great service variety of different meats, shrimp, sausage , chicken, lamb, I probably missed some. Oh yes and pork

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Calling all meat eaters!

Dined on May 14, 2016

If you love meat you will have to try this place. I had steak, chicken, pork, shrimp and more! They also have pineapple with cinnamon and sugar which is the perfect dessert with vanilla ice cream!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

Maybe we caught them on an off night, bu ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

Maybe we caught them on an off night, but the meats weren't very flavorful. Their signature dish, Culotte, was quite good, but everything else tasted bland. The charbroiling from the rotisserie offered a nice flavor but the meats themselves tasted like they had not been marinated long enough. The salads and side dishes were also very lack luster. The drinks from the bar were also taking 20+ minutes to arrive, so maybe they really were having an off night. If it wasn't so outrageously expensive I might have rated it a little higher but when I spend $150 on dinner for 2 adults and a child, I expect to be impressed, not underwhelmed.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Service was awesome as as the food.we en ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

Service was awesome as as the food.we enjoyed the experience and would recommend this place to friends and family .

food3
ambience2
service5
value2

A lot of meat

Dined on May 8, 2016

Before I made the reservation I read several reviews. There were so many that said "romantic". "Nice ambiance". But on the contrary, it was very loud and not romantic at all. A few parties going on. And big groups with kids. Could hardly hear what they were offering when they came to our table. We tried everything. The shrimp was hard to eat with the shell on and was overcooked. Anything that was wrapped in bacon, tasted like bacon. I was looking forward to the bacon wrapped tenderloin. My favorite cut of meat. But was disappointed that it tasted like a big thick piece of bacon. On the flip side, the meat was delicious! The service was outstanding and very friendly. But unfortunately this isn't the restaurant for me.

Tags: special occasion
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

Way to expensive

Dined on April 30, 2016

For a place that cost as much as it did the atmosphere should be way better. The food was very dry from them recooking it all the time.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

It was for my graduation dinner celebration

vip
Dined on April 24, 2016

We came here for my graduation dinner celebration. When my party of 7 arrived, we were seated in less than five minutes (we had a reservation). We were seated right in the middle of the restaurant in a booth. But, we were comfortable, and we could all still hear each other although the noise level was pretty high. Positives: All the steak, lamb, shrimp and pork were delicious. The chicken was on the dry side, but still flavorful, especially the bacon wrapped chicken. My son's favorite was the cinnamon roasted pineapple; “this was yummy!” All of the desserts tasted wonderful. Negatives: They forgot about our beef empanada and chicken hearts order. We had to ask about it a few times. The drinks are on the pricey side, and not enough alcohol in them.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great and delicious food

vip
Dined on April 22, 2016

The food here is fresh and just keeps on coming out as long as you are still hungry. The sauces and spices on the meat items are not strong or overpowering. The meat was served hot and juicy. Waitstaff is quite attentive and pleasant.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

The many,many entrees that were brought ...

Dined on April 17, 2016

The many,many entrees that were brought to the table were anywhere from good to very good. The portions were outstanding and the staff was very courteous. Very extensive salad bar. Definitely worth the $39.95 per person.

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Not for light eaters

Dined on April 7, 2016

Brazil Grill is not for light eaters; when you visit, you'd better be hungry so you get your money's worth of high-end meat. Wise customers know to go easy on the all-you-can-eat salad bar, saving room for the meat on skewers, which include lamb, bacon-wrapped chicken, pork, shrimp and beef selections. Dinners are best finished up with the broiled pineapple. A full bar complements the meal, as mixed drinks, wine, or even Brazilian soft drinks are available. It's a bit pricey, but it makes for a very memorable and very fast dinner.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5

Excellent service and despite full house ...

Dined on April 3, 2016

Excellent service and despite full house very attentive. Food is very good. Salad bar a bit small but with high quality dishes and ingredients.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Brazil Grill

Dined on April 3, 2016

I have been told many times that the Brazil grill is the place to eat if you want meat! I finally went and I have to say it was fantastic! I am a hard core meat eater and I even ate the salad bar which was wonderful as well!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Always satisfies

Dined on April 1, 2016

A little more intimate and a lot more relaxed than Fogo. Also, $15 less per person. Reservations are almost always available with an hour or so of arrival.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful

Dined on March 30, 2016

We had a wonderful time in this restaurant. Food was great, servers were absolutely nice, and a quiet ambience. We've tried other Brazilian grills which were much more expensive (menu and mainly alcohols), and Brazil Grill was cheaper and as good as them. Only the buffet is smaller at Brazil Grill. That's definitely the best Brazilian grill on Portland.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, late-night find
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Classy

Dined on March 26, 2016

Great food and service. Salad bar is perfectly fresh, and constantly refreshed. The meats are all beautifully cooked and served hot. The servers seem to genuinely enjoy their work, and are highly attentive.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food3
ambience2
service5
value1

The more I think about it!

Dined on March 26, 2016

We have eaten at Brazil Grill several times usually for somebodies birthday. The more I think about it the more I am beginning to feel it is overpriced. I can eat enough food to justify $40.00 a head. I can get just as filled you with a steak or a rack of ribs for around $25 - $30 a head. Just saying. In the future I will be steering my family towards other places for birthday dinners.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best Brazilian Restaurant

Dined on March 20, 2016

Second time here. As first time, friendly staff, fast service, best food. No hidden charges, straight forward. Server brings new plates very often, which is very nice of them. Will come again for sure!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.