About Brazil Grill

1201 SW 12th Ave
Portland, OR 97205
View Larger Map

WELCOME TO BRAZIL GRILL
Come & enjoy Portland"s Best Value in fine dining while experiencing Oregon's FIRST authentic Brazilian Steakhouse or "Churrascaria".
Our reasonable, fixed price menu means you get to select from our freshly made, Brazilian-inspired salad & side bar, which includes vegetarian & gluten free items.
Our traditional "stop-go" system allows you to decide when you are ready for you next course, by turning the disc on your table from red to green.

Skewers of deliciously seasoned, rotisserie meats are then carved at your table by roving gauchos eager to please your palate. YUM! Save room for our cinnamon-sugar roasted pineapple at the end of the meat rotation. If you like pineapple you will think you've died & gone to heaven! SO GOOD! We also offer desserts, a full bar menu specializing in Brazilian cocktails, wines & brews. So come in, relax, celebrate the day with a "Caipirinha" Brazilian national drink & DINE LIKE NEVER BEFORE.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Brazilian Steakhouse, Brazilian

Hours of Operation:

Dinner: From Monday through Friday 4:30 PM - 9:30 PM.
Saturday and Sunday 3:30 PM - 9:30 PM

Cross Street:
SW Jefferson & SW Main

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 222-0002

Website:
http://brazilgrillrestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Parking lot behind the restaurant includes handicapped parking spaces as well as the adjoining lot behind the cosmotology school. Street parking in front of the restaurant and across the street.

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Brazil Grill
  • Brazil Grill
Brazil Grill
Brazil Grill

Specials

1,000-Point Tables

Specials

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Mon - Thu 4:30PM - 9:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Welcome to Brazil Grill. Oregon’s first authentic Brazilian Steakhouse! Family Owned and Operated. Downtown Portland’s Best Value in Fine Dining. The restaurant is available for private functions Monday-Friday

Brazil Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.4

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Special Occasion
Portland / Oregon
Special Occasion
Portland
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

Special Occasion (48)
Good for Groups (42)
Fit for Foodies (25)
See All
Kid-friendly (13)
Romantic (12)
Hot Spot (11)
Great for Lunch (9)
Fun (8)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Casual (8)
Good for Anniversaries (8)
Authentic (8)
Good for a Date (7)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
Family Style (6)
Worth the Drive (6)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Healthy (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Business Meals (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
People Watching (2)
Cozy (2)
Happy Hour (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Historic (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Spicy (1)
Sort By:
Newest
579 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great experience. Food was excellent. Ju ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Great experience. Food was excellent. Just something a little different for those special occasions. With all the meats that come around, the grilled pineapple is the best. Server was friendly and helpful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

First time guest - excellent experience ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

First time guest - excellent experience - will come again

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, great atmosphere, great serv ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

Great food, great atmosphere, great service, great people. This is how my wife and I feel about each and every time we have eaten at Brazil Grill. I highly recommend this experience to any and all.

You will enjoy.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Tasting Menu, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We go early so that the noise level is q ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

We go early so that the noise level is quite. We were immediately greeted and seated. Our host was friendly and inviting, we felt most welcome.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

Well Done Guys!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

Well Done Guys!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We didn't know what to expect and were p ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

We didn't know what to expect and were pleasantly surprised. The food was fabulous and the staff very helpful. Being able to start and stop on receiving entres was great. And the choices were fabulous! We will be going back soon.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Family Style, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I had not been there in a few years and ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

I had not been there in a few years and it is just as amazing as the first time I went. I love this place it's completely worth the hour drive to get there.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Fun, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We love to eat at Brazil Grill! The foo ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

We love to eat at Brazil Grill! The food is fabulous, and the local ownership makes it friendly. We have learned to pace ourselves so that we eat just enough. I am a big fan of the caiperinha cocktail, and my spouse is the designated driver, so it's all good!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic experience. Great servers and ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Fantastic experience. Great servers and great food. I forgot to ask for the empanadas though.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was excellent, wait staff was f ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

The food was excellent, wait staff was friendly and attentive. Very pleasurable meal with friends and family.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

over all it very good restoran but when ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

over all it very good restoran but when it to much people i think need more whetres

Tags: Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Food was good,but not what I expected fo ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Food was good,but not what I expected for the price.For me a one time try it and probably not go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Comfortable, unpretentious dining experi ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Comfortable, unpretentious dining experience. Great food and pleasant staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Loved it! The food was awesome! And the ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Loved it! The food was awesome! And the way the food is served is so unique!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

An extremely unique experience worth eve ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

An extremely unique experience worth every dime and minute of my time. I've already recommended it to friends and we're planning a return trip for ourselves.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food nice quiet atmosphere and the ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Great food nice quiet atmosphere and they had the food coming quickly we had to turn over our puck to catch up. Great service will definitly recommend to others.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We were amazed how well we spend our din ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

We were amazed how well we spend our dinner night. We were not expecting our experience to be so awesome. Thank u for existing

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Went here for our final night of vacatio ...

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Went here for our final night of vacation. I was a little concerned that our three kids may not be welcome but the staff were very professional and even rounded up balloons and suckers for the younger kids. Our server was very attentive and quick with suggestions and explanations when needed. The salad was on the small side but the quality of table side food more than made you forget that. The great food comes fast and furious served by a friendly wait staff. We couldn't have had a better time

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We were referred by a friend to you guys ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

We were referred by a friend to you guys last year and our experience was a 6/5. So we made it a point to comeback this year on my birthday. We were greeted and seated quickly, the hostess was pleasant. She brought our child a balloon which was very enjoyed. Our waiter then took our order for drinks and empanadas. The salad bar and soups were on point as were all the meats. However, the empanadas were not brought over until we requested them again and they were rather burnt. Not certain if you were under staffed but our waiter was not as pleasant / cordial as could be. I will continue to recommend you guys for the food experience and hope that things get better in our next visit.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value4

Amazing mustard sirloin!!!! Many have ne ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Amazing mustard sirloin!!!! Many have never tried Brazilian, so this is a great start. But be prepared because this is the best I've had...& I'm from LA!!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Salad bar was a BIG disappointment and s ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Salad bar was a BIG disappointment and so was the hot bar not much of a choice . Meat was good !!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5

I took a group of business colleagues to ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

I took a group of business colleagues to the Brazil Grill, and was not disappointed. It was a great experience, everyone enjoyed the food, the atmosphere, and the grilled pineapple! I will definitely go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was our first time trying a Brazili ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

This was our first time trying a Brazilian Grill. Really loved the food and the staff was very attentive to our group's needs.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The staff was wonderful, friendly and ac ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

The staff was wonderful, friendly and accommodating... the food was just okay. I was really bummed because I visited a brazil restaurant in CO. Springs and it was fabulous. This was really just mediocre. I wanted it to be fabulous too!

Also, we had 4 adults and a 9 year old child. The restaurant charges gratuity for 5 or more automatically... when restaurants do this, we will never tip above that... and we are GREAT tippers when service is awesome and the service was pretty awesome at the Brazil Grill.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

Lots of great service, the meats had a n ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Lots of great service, the meats had a nice selection, the cold food was a little lacking I felt.

I would pass on their small selection of salads unless you're looking for some fiber to go along with the red meat you're about to inhale, I do recommend the filet wrapped in bacon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

We had a blast, it was my parents 55th a ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

We had a blast, it was my parents 55th anniversary and the staff made them feel special

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service and really good food. This ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Great service and really good food. This is a fun place to go for a very good dinner. Make sure you try the cooked pineapple.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Our server was so friendly and attentive ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Our server was so friendly and attentive! The chicken breasts wrapped in bacon are as close to a heavenly food I can imagine!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Good vegetarian and gluten free options ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Good vegetarian and gluten free options in addition to the amazing meat selection. Pleasant ambiance. I did not try the desserts, but they looked delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Overall very good. I wish only the salad ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Overall very good. I wish only the salad bar would be a little bit more variety, like more cheese selection, maybe some prosciutto. Things like those. But in general, excellent experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We only have good experiences here, and ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

We only have good experiences here, and never been disappointed for many years.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was my second time at Brazil Grill ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

This was my second time at Brazil Grill and the food was just as good as the first time. My Niece and Nephew were over joyed with the restaurant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and service. Our favorite ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

Excellent food and service. Our favorite in Portland by far.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We visited Brazil Grill with our friends ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We visited Brazil Grill with our friends, who had never before dined there. We had such a wonderful meal, and it was fun for us to tell our friends what it is all about. They loved it as much as we do and will most certainly visit again. My husband and I had eaten there about a month ago, again with other friends who had never been. This last visit, we had the same wait staff as we did on the earlier visit: Brandon, Scott and Morgan. Once again, they provided superb service and we enjoyed interacting with them. They were professional, friendly and attentive. They are wonderful, as are the rest of the staff. And the food was sensational!! My all time favorite: the mustard glazed sirloin.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The meat selection is outstanding. But t ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

The meat selection is outstanding. But the delivery is distasteful and ill mannered. We were seated at a booth reserved for 9 people. There is no way to deliver meat choices without reaching over each other. Very unappetizing. And , the salad bar lacked variety and presentation . I would not consider revisiting this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service5
value2

The Brazil Grill was fantastic!!! The f ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

The Brazil Grill was fantastic!!! The food is soooo wonderful and you can specify what you want more of, as they bring around the meats on skewers. It is rather loud, but it's mostly people oohing and awing about how good something is. I do suggest making reservations, as it got full very fast and people were waiting outside for drop-in seating.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food. Excellent service. We w ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Excellent food. Excellent service. We will be back!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food is wonderful, the service is fr ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

The food is wonderful, the service is friendly and accommodating. It's one of my favorite restaurants in PDX.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I have been here several times and it is ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

I have been here several times and it is always great food, never disappoints.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was delicious, my husband melte ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

The food was delicious, my husband melted in his chair after every bite. He says it was the best father's day gift ever. Server Marcello was awesome he recognized that my husband likes his meat well done and made special trips the kitchen for us. Job well done.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.