About Brazil Grill

1201 SW 12th Ave
Portland, OR 97205
View Larger Map

WELCOME TO BRAZIL GRILL
Come & enjoy Portland"s Best Value in fine dining while experiencing Oregon's FIRST authentic Brazilian Steakhouse or "Churrascaria".
Our reasonable, fixed price menu means you get to select from our freshly made, Brazilian-inspired salad & side bar, which includes vegetarian & gluten free items.
Our traditional "stop-go" system allows you to decide when you are ready for you next course, by turning the disc on your table from red to green.

Skewers of deliciously seasoned, rotisserie meats are then carved at your table by roving gauchos eager to please your palate. YUM! Save room for our cinnamon-sugar roasted pineapple at the end of the meat rotation. If you like pineapple you will think you've died & gone to heaven! SO GOOD! We also offer desserts, a full bar menu specializing in Brazilian cocktails, wines & brews. So come in, relax, celebrate the day with a "Caipirinha" Brazilian national drink & DINE LIKE NEVER BEFORE.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Brazilian Steakhouse, Brazilian

Hours of Operation:

Dinner: From Monday through Friday 4:30 PM - 9:30 PM.
Saturday and Sunday 3:30 PM - 9:30 PM

Cross Street:
SW Jefferson & SW Main

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 222-0002

Website:
http://brazilgrillrestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Parking lot behind the restaurant includes handicapped parking spaces as well as the adjoining lot behind the cosmotology school. Street parking in front of the restaurant and across the street.

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Brazil Grill
  • Brazil Grill
Brazil Grill
Brazil Grill

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Mon - Thu 4:30PM - 9:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Welcome to Brazil Grill. Oregon’s first authentic Brazilian Steakhouse! Family Owned and Operated. Downtown Portland’s Best Value in Fine Dining. The restaurant is available for private functions Monday-Friday

Brazil Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.6

ambience

4.2

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Special Occasion
Portland / Oregon
Special Occasion
Portland
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

Special Occasion (62)
Good for Groups (55)
Fit for Foodies (35)
See All
Kid-friendly (18)
Romantic (16)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Hot Spot (11)
Great for Lunch (7)
Late-night Find (6)
Notable Wine List (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Sort By:
Newest
571 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We love to eat at Brazil Grill! The foo ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

We love to eat at Brazil Grill! The food is fabulous, and the local ownership makes it friendly. We have learned to pace ourselves so that we eat just enough. I am a big fan of the caiperinha cocktail, and my spouse is the designated driver, so it's all good!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic experience. Great servers and ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Fantastic experience. Great servers and great food. I forgot to ask for the empanadas though.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was excellent, wait staff was f ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

The food was excellent, wait staff was friendly and attentive. Very pleasurable meal with friends and family.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

over all it very good restoran but when ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

over all it very good restoran but when it to much people i think need more whetres

Tags: Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Comfortable, unpretentious dining experi ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Comfortable, unpretentious dining experience. Great food and pleasant staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Loved it! The food was awesome! And the ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Loved it! The food was awesome! And the way the food is served is so unique!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

An extremely unique experience worth eve ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

An extremely unique experience worth every dime and minute of my time. I've already recommended it to friends and we're planning a return trip for ourselves.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food nice quiet atmosphere and the ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Great food nice quiet atmosphere and they had the food coming quickly we had to turn over our puck to catch up. Great service will definitly recommend to others.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We were amazed how well we spend our din ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

We were amazed how well we spend our dinner night. We were not expecting our experience to be so awesome. Thank u for existing

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Went here for our final night of vacatio ...

 
 (Idaho)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Went here for our final night of vacation. I was a little concerned that our three kids may not be welcome but the staff were very professional and even rounded up balloons and suckers for the younger kids. Our server was very attentive and quick with suggestions and explanations when needed. The salad was on the small side but the quality of table side food more than made you forget that. The great food comes fast and furious served by a friendly wait staff. We couldn't have had a better time

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We were referred by a friend to you guys ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

We were referred by a friend to you guys last year and our experience was a 6/5. So we made it a point to comeback this year on my birthday. We were greeted and seated quickly, the hostess was pleasant. She brought our child a balloon which was very enjoyed. Our waiter then took our order for drinks and empanadas. The salad bar and soups were on point as were all the meats. However, the empanadas were not brought over until we requested them again and they were rather burnt. Not certain if you were under staffed but our waiter was not as pleasant / cordial as could be. I will continue to recommend you guys for the food experience and hope that things get better in our next visit.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value4

Amazing mustard sirloin!!!! Many have ne ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Amazing mustard sirloin!!!! Many have never tried Brazilian, so this is a great start. But be prepared because this is the best I've had...& I'm from LA!!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Salad bar was a BIG disappointment and s ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Salad bar was a BIG disappointment and so was the hot bar not much of a choice . Meat was good !!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5

I took a group of business colleagues to ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

I took a group of business colleagues to the Brazil Grill, and was not disappointed. It was a great experience, everyone enjoyed the food, the atmosphere, and the grilled pineapple! I will definitely go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was our first time trying a Brazili ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

This was our first time trying a Brazilian Grill. Really loved the food and the staff was very attentive to our group's needs.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The staff was wonderful, friendly and ac ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

The staff was wonderful, friendly and accommodating... the food was just okay. I was really bummed because I visited a brazil restaurant in CO. Springs and it was fabulous. This was really just mediocre. I wanted it to be fabulous too!

Also, we had 4 adults and a 9 year old child. The restaurant charges gratuity for 5 or more automatically... when restaurants do this, we will never tip above that... and we are GREAT tippers when service is awesome and the service was pretty awesome at the Brazil Grill.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

Lots of great service, the meats had a n ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Lots of great service, the meats had a nice selection, the cold food was a little lacking I felt.

I would pass on their small selection of salads unless you're looking for some fiber to go along with the red meat you're about to inhale, I do recommend the filet wrapped in bacon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

We had a blast, it was my parents 55th a ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

We had a blast, it was my parents 55th anniversary and the staff made them feel special

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service and really good food. This ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Great service and really good food. This is a fun place to go for a very good dinner. Make sure you try the cooked pineapple.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Our server was so friendly and attentive ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Our server was so friendly and attentive! The chicken breasts wrapped in bacon are as close to a heavenly food I can imagine!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Good vegetarian and gluten free options ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Good vegetarian and gluten free options in addition to the amazing meat selection. Pleasant ambiance. I did not try the desserts, but they looked delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Overall very good. I wish only the salad ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Overall very good. I wish only the salad bar would be a little bit more variety, like more cheese selection, maybe some prosciutto. Things like those. But in general, excellent experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We only have good experiences here, and ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

We only have good experiences here, and never been disappointed for many years.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was my second time at Brazil Grill ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

This was my second time at Brazil Grill and the food was just as good as the first time. My Niece and Nephew were over joyed with the restaurant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and service. Our favorite ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

Excellent food and service. Our favorite in Portland by far.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We visited Brazil Grill with our friends ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We visited Brazil Grill with our friends, who had never before dined there. We had such a wonderful meal, and it was fun for us to tell our friends what it is all about. They loved it as much as we do and will most certainly visit again. My husband and I had eaten there about a month ago, again with other friends who had never been. This last visit, we had the same wait staff as we did on the earlier visit: Brandon, Scott and Morgan. Once again, they provided superb service and we enjoyed interacting with them. They were professional, friendly and attentive. They are wonderful, as are the rest of the staff. And the food was sensational!! My all time favorite: the mustard glazed sirloin.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The meat selection is outstanding. But t ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

The meat selection is outstanding. But the delivery is distasteful and ill mannered. We were seated at a booth reserved for 9 people. There is no way to deliver meat choices without reaching over each other. Very unappetizing. And , the salad bar lacked variety and presentation . I would not consider revisiting this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service5
value2

The Brazil Grill was fantastic!!! The f ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

The Brazil Grill was fantastic!!! The food is soooo wonderful and you can specify what you want more of, as they bring around the meats on skewers. It is rather loud, but it's mostly people oohing and awing about how good something is. I do suggest making reservations, as it got full very fast and people were waiting outside for drop-in seating.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food. Excellent service. We w ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Excellent food. Excellent service. We will be back!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food is wonderful, the service is fr ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

The food is wonderful, the service is friendly and accommodating. It's one of my favorite restaurants in PDX.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I have been here several times and it is ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

I have been here several times and it is always great food, never disappoints.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was delicious, my husband melte ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

The food was delicious, my husband melted in his chair after every bite. He says it was the best father's day gift ever. Server Marcello was awesome he recognized that my husband likes his meat well done and made special trips the kitchen for us. Job well done.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I love that they ask you if you'd like a ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

I love that they ask you if you'd like a certain food brought back to your table after you've seen them all! The presentation of the food is really what sets this place apart from the others

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was excellent and the wait staff wa ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Food was excellent and the wait staff was very friendly never had to wait for drink refills or fresh plates.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Casual and delicious!

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

I'd been meaning to try this place for a while. Several coworkers have raved about it. We'd been to Fogo de Chao, and while it was tasty, it felt pretentious and crowded. Brazil Grill had the same excellent meats, a slightly smaller salad/side bar, with a much more comfortable environment. We'll definitely be back!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Best Brazilian

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

My second visit to Brazil Grill within two months was as good as the first time.

Best thing upon visiting a second time is I know which meats I want to eat. Not that they aren't all good, I have a preference for the sausage and lamb; so juicy and the marinade is out of this world! The staff is very friendly and helpful with asking if there are certain items you would like brought to the table. I can't wait for another visit to Portland. Oh, and make sure you get the pineapple, it is the best!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Brazil Grill regular

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

We love Brazil Grill. We go once a month to enjoy the food and service. We've taken all our family, friends, and customers to Brazil Grill.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Friends celebration

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

As always this is a great experience . I have dined at BG for over 10 years with large and small groups. It is always fun, great food and great service.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Friendly staff, food was good but too costly

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Super nice staff from the time you enter until you leave, great people! The food was good, but in our opinion it was not good enough to justify returning at $39 per plate. The pineapple was fantastic and so were the garlic rolls. The restaurant was not as elegant as what we expected it to be.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

Good Food

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on May 25, 2016

The food is very good, but I cannot eat that much food so I don't really think I get $39.99 worth of food. Not everyone can eat like that. I wish they had a lighter side that wasn't just the salad bar.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.