About Braxton's Restaurant & Bar at The Algonquin Resort

465 Brandy Cove Road
St. Andrews, NB E5B 2L6
View Larger Map

One of the first chefs at The Algonquin, in the late 1800s, was the brilliant and respected G.F. Braxton. His philosophy of providing uncompromising quality in an elegant but casual environment continues to inspire us to this day.

Centrally-located in the main building of The Algonquin, Braxton’s is a place to gather. Here, families discover old favourites, the adventurous try something new, and friends meet for drinks. With a warm, friendly, but elegant atmosphere, everyone feels relaxed, whether for breakfast, lunch, or dinner. The menu changes seasonally, but expect a commitment to fresh ingredients, an emphasis on local, and brilliant attention to detail. This is certainly not your average dining experience.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Dinner Cruise, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service, French / Canadian

Hours of Operation:

Breakfast: Daily: 6:30am - 11:00am
Lunch (Braxton's Bar only): Daily: 11:00am - 5:00pm
Dinner: Daily: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Prince of Whales

Dress Code:
Jacket Preferred

Price Range:
CAN$51 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(506) 529-8823

Website:
http://www.algonquinresort.ca/

Parking Details:
Self-parking in our outdoor, on-site parking lot is complimentary with your stay. Valet Parking is also available for only $25.00 CAD per day.

Public Transit:
Shuttle service
Hop on and hop off our convenient shuttle (from the resort to town, including points of interest in between).

Executive Chef:
Lisa Aronson

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Sort By:
Newest
12 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Just ok ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on October 12, 2014

A far cry from the former restaurant that the Fairmont ran. Food was not great yet was quite expensive. My filet was cold .... my potatoes too. Overall an underwhelming experience. They weren't even that busy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4

Great Experience

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on August 30, 2014

Very good service and food, it more than made up for the Mother's Day brunch experience we had! Thank you Algonquin!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Disappointing

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on August 28, 2014

The service and ambiance was fantastic, our server, Ben, made it a very enjoyable evening. The food however, was disappointing. One of our mains, a filet minion was undercooked, while the chicken was overcooked. Rhe sides were OK, but nothing more than just OK.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4

Disappointed

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on August 23, 2014

My husband and I recently dinned at Braxton's with a another couple. This was a special occasion as we eloped that day. I made the reservation online and put a note to let them know of the special occasion. I had assumed that there would have been some type of acknowledgment, but nothing was said or done. The food was good, but everyone in the group found the portions very small.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

Very relaxing and romantic

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on August 19, 2014

Our waiter and hostess was wounderfull, they were very informative and a complete joy to have tending our table.

The food was very good but a little pricey, the restaurant was beautifully remodeled loved every thing about it.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Could be better

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 17, 2014

The salmon appetizer came out quickly & was very good, but things went downhill from there. The food was tasty enough (lamb wellington & honey chicken), but the portions are very small & I don't expect or like vast quantities of food on my plate. Both were unevenly heated, meats hot but accompaniments lukewarm & on cold plates. Three small pieces of green bean & carrot do not a vegetable make. The service was poor; we waited undue amounts of time to receive our mains, have the plates cleared, order dessert, etc, despite there being very few other diners. Wines are overpriced; a run of the mill chablis $20 per glass. Not the worst meal ever, but far from the best for what we paid (over $200). We would not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1

Overpriced for value

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 16, 2014

Service not inspired. Bar top filthy with glass rings and sticky stuff. accouplement veggies way overcooked. Portions small

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1

My husband's salad had no dressing that ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on August 14, 2014

My husband's salad had no dressing that he could discern. The food was good but not great. The dessert which was the flourless cake was excellent.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

Fantastic experience

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on August 6, 2014

Our dinner at the Algonquin was fabulous, the service was top notch, portion sizes were perfect

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Disappointing food

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on August 1, 2014

I ordered a filet medium and it came seriously overcooked and dry. My wife ordered the halibut and the seasoning appearing to be nothing more than chili powder dusted over the fish prior to cooking. Not very tasty. On talking to another patron their experience was very similar. Much improvement needed before we consider returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service4

Romantic Spot

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on April 18, 2014

The restaurant offered something for every taste; it's obvious a lot of thought went into choosing unique dishes and ingredients with a Martime flavor! $10 for a glass of Jackson Triggs is too much, but I guess you pay for the ambience and experience, which is lovely! It is really a romantic spot but would also work nicely for small groups of people. It was really quite private. So happy the Algonquin is open again. Wait staff attentive and pleasant!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

There is a limited menu at

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on April 11, 2014

There is a limited menu at this point (just reopened). The food was good but not great and the wine selection is also good but the charging $ 55 for a nice $ 15 bottle of wine is bit high. The service was very good - although there was a problem with the internet - so paying with a credit card took a bit of fiddling.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.