Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM

Braxton's Restaurant & Bar at The Algonquin Resort

3.5
13 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
CAN$51 and over
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Dinner Cruise
Top Tags:
  • Special Occasion
  • Romantic
  • Fit for Foodies
One of the first chefs at The Algonquin, in the late 1800s, was the brilliant and respected G.F. Braxton. His philosophy of providing uncompromising quality in an elegant but casual environment continues to inspire us to this day.

Centrally-located in the main building of The Algonquin, Braxton’s is a place to gather. Here, families discover old favourites, the adventurous try something new, and friends meet for drinks. With a warm, friendly, but elegant atmosphere, everyone feels relaxed, whether for breakfast, lunch, or dinner. The menu changes seasonally, but expect a commitment to fresh ingredients, an emphasis on local, and brilliant attention to detail. This is certainly not your average dining experience.
Dining Style
Fine Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Dinner Cruise, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service, French / Canadian
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation

Breakfast: Daily: 6:30am - 11:00am
Lunch (Braxton's Bar only): Daily: 11:00am - 5:00pm
Dinner: Daily: 5:00pm - 11:00pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(506) 529-8823
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Jacket Preferred
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Lisa Aronson
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Prince of Whales
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Self-parking in our outdoor, on-site parking lot is complimentary with your stay. Valet Parking is also available for only $25.00 CAD per day.
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
Shuttle service
Hop on and hop off our convenient shuttle (from the resort to town, including points of interest in between).
Additional
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 13 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
3.5based on all time ratings
3.6
food
4.1
service
3.9
ambience
3.5
value
Noise · Moderate
82% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
3.0Dined on June 14, 2017

The dinner is the restaurant this night was fantastic. Joanna was great and all components of the meal were well executed. Bar needs to learn how to make a Manhattan better.

Based on this we returned and tried the pub. What a disappointment. Besides the daily soup, the salad was average, the $25 air, sea, land board tasted like all the components were weeks old and the fish and chips batter was undercooked on the inside and grainy. Another meh Manhattan .

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on October 11, 2014

A far cry from the former restaurant that the Fairmont ran. Food was not great yet was quite expensive. My filet was cold .... my potatoes too. Overall an underwhelming experience. They weren't even that busy.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 30, 2014

Very good service and food, it more than made up for the Mother's Day brunch experience we had! Thank you Algonquin!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on August 28, 2014

The service and ambiance was fantastic, our server, Ben, made it a very enjoyable evening. The food however, was disappointing. One of our mains, a filet minion was undercooked, while the chicken was overcooked. Rhe sides were OK, but nothing more than just OK.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on August 23, 2014

My husband and I recently dinned at Braxton's with a another couple. This was a special occasion as we eloped that day. I made the reservation online and put a note to let them know of the special occasion. I had assumed that there would have been some type of acknowledgment, but nothing was said or done. The food was good, but everyone in the group found the portions very small.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on August 19, 2014

Our waiter and hostess was wounderfull, they were very informative and a complete joy to have tending our table.
The food was very good but a little pricey, the restaurant was beautifully remodeled loved every thing about it.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on August 17, 2014

The salmon appetizer came out quickly & was very good, but things went downhill from there. The food was tasty enough (lamb wellington & honey chicken), but the portions are very small & I don't expect or like vast quantities of food on my plate. Both were unevenly heated, meats hot but accompaniments lukewarm & on cold plates. Three small pieces of green bean & carrot do not a vegetable make. The service was poor; we waited undue amounts of time to receive our mains, have the plates cleared, order dessert, etc, despite there being very few other diners. Wines are overpriced; a run of the mill chablis $20 per glass. Not the worst meal ever, but far from the best for what we paid (over $200). We would not return.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on August 16, 2014

Service not inspired. Bar top filthy with glass rings and sticky stuff. accouplement veggies way overcooked. Portions small

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on August 14, 2014

My husband's salad had no dressing that he could discern. The food was good but not great. The dessert which was the flourless cake was excellent.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 6, 2014

Our dinner at the Algonquin was fabulous, the service was top notch, portion sizes were perfect

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on August 1, 2014

I ordered a filet medium and it came seriously overcooked and dry. My wife ordered the halibut and the seasoning appearing to be nothing more than chili powder dusted over the fish prior to cooking. Not very tasty. On talking to another patron their experience was very similar. Much improvement needed before we consider returning.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 18, 2014

The restaurant offered something for every taste; it's obvious a lot of thought went into choosing unique dishes and ingredients with a Martime flavor! $10 for a glass of Jackson Triggs is too much, but I guess you pay for the ambience and experience, which is lovely! It is really a romantic spot but would also work nicely for small groups of people. It was really quite private. So happy the Algonquin is open again. Wait staff attentive and pleasant!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 11, 2014

There is a limited menu at this point (just reopened). The food was good but not great and the wine selection is also good but the charging $ 55 for a nice $ 15 bottle of wine is bit high. The service was very good - although there was a problem with the internet - so paying with a credit card took a bit of fiddling.

Report
Helpful