About Brave New Restaurant

2300 Cottondale Lane
Suite 102
Little Rock, AR 72202
View Larger Map

A casual, warm environment, delicious food and excellent service at a reasonable cost. It is our goal to have every meal be a celebration of food and to always keep an edge of new in our work.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Seafood, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm; Dinner Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Riverfront Drive

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(501) 663-2677

Website:
http://bravenewrestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
There is a parking lot in front of the building.

Executive Chef:
Peter Brave

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Brave New Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (51)
Romantic (45)
Good for a Date (43)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (42)
Waterfront (40)
Scenic View (39)
Creative Cuisine (37)
Fit for Foodies (29)
Great for Outdoor Dining (29)
Worth the Drive (27)
Quiet Conversation (25)
Good for Birthdays (25)
Business Meals (22)
Notable Wine List (21)
Pre/post Theatre (20)
Local Ingredients (18)
Cozy (17)
Great for Lunch (17)
Private Room (14)
Healthy (14)
Good for Groups (12)
Modern Decor (12)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Casual (10)
Authentic (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Outstanding Value (8)
Seasonal (7)
Fun (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Organic (6)
Bar Seating (6)
Hot Spot (6)
Open Kitchen (5)
People Watching (5)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Great for Brunch (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Historic (1)
Tapas (1)
Great Beer (1)
Family Style (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
1150 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

After seeing the reviews for this place ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 2 days ago

After seeing the reviews for this place we chose it as our special night-out spot when visiting Little Rock on vacation. Thoroughly mediocre. I am sure eating on the river would be nice, but in the restaurant the decor was not impressive. Dated and the tables were straight from a Fast food restaurant. Food was fine but certainly not worthy at all of the accolades nor the $160 price.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

I would not recommend this restaurant. T ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined 3 days ago

I would not recommend this restaurant. The service was very slow, the environment was very loud and the value for the money was horrible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

My wife and I have been to Brave New mul ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined 4 days ago

My wife and I have been to Brave New multiple times. Every time is just as good or better than the last. It is great for dates but children are welcome also.

Tags: Romantic, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Private Room, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Cozy, Healthy, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing ambiance and service. Food was i ...

 
 (Little Rock)·Dined 5 days ago

Amazing ambiance and service. Food was incredible. Love my experience every time I eat here. Would recommend to everybody.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Had to wait for 30 mins even with a rese ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 6 days ago

Had to wait for 30 mins even with a reservation. After that food didn't come out for hours we did leave right after. It was valentines day but it is not my first time in a fine dining restaurant in a very busy night. The worst experience that I've ever had. If you can't manage when it's busy you are no different than any other mediocre spots. I won't recommend this place to anyone. There are a lot of spots for fine dining

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

Waiter was rushed and distracted. He har ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined 6 days ago

Waiter was rushed and distracted. He hardly slowed down when asking if we needed anything. We had to flag him down more than once. He basically did a dance when we told him we weren't having dessert. He wanted to turn the table over.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service1
value3

Had Valentine's Day dinner with my wife ...

 
 (Little Rock)·Dined 6 days ago

Had Valentine's Day dinner with my wife here. It was our second time to be here--the first time we sat near the river and ate trout (fantastic!). This time we dined in the main room; my love had the duck with duck, I had the chicken dish. Both were fantastic! I enjoy the ambience: we dined early, so the crowd was a little older. We're a young couple. It wasn't really an issue, though. I enjoy the art and lighting, the wait staff is perfectly attentive, and if I was trying to impress a young lady I'd certainly consider this location as it is quite romantic. Top rating!

Tags: Special Occasion, Waterfront, Fit for Foodies, Organic, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Service and food were both excellent as ...

 
 (Little Rock)·Dined 6 days ago

Service and food were both excellent as always. This is my wife's favorite special occasion restaurant. I had the mixed grill (pork tenderloin, medallion of beef, stuffed quail, and wild game sausage) which was fantastic and my wife keeps raving about the spinach and crab stuffed trout she had. I have eaten hear many times over the years and never been disappointed in my meal.

Tags: Good for a Date, Private Room, Romantic, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was Valentines Day so the restauran ...

 
 (Little Rock)·Dined 6 days ago

This was Valentines Day so the restaurant was crowded. Both the service and food were excellent and we had very enjoyable experience. We will definitely return.

Tags: Hot Spot, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Organic, People Watching, Good for a Date, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Our Valentine's Day lunch was perfect, t ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Our Valentine's Day lunch was perfect, the ambience, the servers, the chefs and the food all were excellent. The restaurant has a superb view of the river, they do have a outside deck perfect for fair weather. Food is the star at this restaurant, yummy and wholesome with a twist, we loved our grilled cheese sandwich with a twist and the chocolate creme brulee. All male wait-staff who were pleasant and very efficient, so were the chefs who we could see as the restaurant has an open kitchen. We will surely be back, it took us a while to get a reservation here.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Waterfront, Modern Decor, Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing food from a very talented chef! ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Amazing food from a very talented chef! Waiting Staff seemed a little unorganized but other than that it was a great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We had an early Valentine's lunch at Bra ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 13, 2017

We had an early Valentine's lunch at Brave New and were very pleased with the menu selection and prices. Both of us chose the Alaskan halibut special. The fillets were lunch portion and very tasty, paired well with grilled zucchini, marinated cabbage and small roasted potatoes. The wine list was quite extensive. I was pleased to find two Sauvignon Blanc vintages from the Marlborough region of New Zealand. The one I chose was crisp, light and fruity. We shared the chocolate creme brûlée that was fabulous! Another great meal at Brave New Restaurant!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Gluten Free Options, Molecular Gastronomy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Organic, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Waterfront, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Scenic View, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Absolutely wonderful! Great food, perfec ...

 
 (Little Rock)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Absolutely wonderful! Great food, perfect service and the view was amazing! Went for Valentine's and it was perfect!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of our all-time favorites. Never dis ...

 
 (Little Rock)·Dined on February 12, 2017

One of our all-time favorites. Never disappointed in the quality and creativity of Peter Brave when it comes to freshness and flavor. Service is always top shelf. Love the outdoor dining overlooking the river.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Private Room, Business Meals, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Firstly, the restaurant was not overly l ...

 
 (Little Rock)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Firstly, the restaurant was not overly loud, but also not too quiet; you could have a nice conversation without having to speak up or whisper. The menu had a great variety of dishes. The food itself was superb. I had a perfectly cooked steak and my girlfriend had amazingly tender duck. The presentation of our ice cream dessert was tasteful, yet more than one would expect for two scoops of vanilla ice cream; the accompaniment of a waffle chip and flower made it look exquisite. Overall, I would highly recommend this restaurant for a nice, classy night out. As I said, the menu has a wide variety and the prices were very reasonable for the quality of the dishes. We had a wonderful time and we will absolutely make a return visit soon.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

By far the best service in town! Thank y ...

 
 (Fayetteville)·Dined on February 11, 2017

By far the best service in town! Thank you so much! What an elegant place!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Good for Groups, Paleo Friendly, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is the second time we have visited ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 11, 2017

This is the second time we have visited Brave New and it won't be the last. I always get one of the fish dishes because of how fresh it is. My husband almost always gets a steak. This is a really nice restaurant just outside of the busy downtown atmosphere. You definitely get your money's worth for what you pay. I recommend sitting outside as you get a unique view of the Arkansas River and downtown at sunset. The chef/owner has stopped by our table during both visits. Such a nice guy! If you are looking to get something wonderful and new- try Brave New!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Scenic View, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Thank you for the absolutely delicious d ...

 
 (Little Rock)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Thank you for the absolutely delicious dinner. We always look forward to eating at Brave New. Our waiter was so pleasant and she was very prompt refilling our drinks and serving our good.

Tags: Good for Groups, Modern Decor, Waterfront, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overrated. Weird location in an office c ...

 
 (Little Rock)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Overrated. Weird location in an office complex and it feels like you are eating in someone's large kitchenette. Mixed grill was good but wife's New York strip was disappointing. Had the thinking we should have went to a Texas de Brazil in Dallas instead for the money we spent.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

I did make a reservation and I see why. ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 8, 2017

I did make a reservation and I see why. The restaurant is intimate which is why the service is impeccable. Limited seating but also a large balcony overlooking an unique view of the Arkansas River and Little Rock skyline. Great place to enjoy sunsets.

The fish special Halibut lightly seasoned and sauced was excellent. The menu had a mixed grill with braised cabbage that was also delightful. Leave room for dessert, crème brûlée was decadent just the right size.

Bartender made a great martini and wine selections by the glass exceed expectations.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Private Room, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fish reigns at Brave. Always exceptionab ...

vip
 (Little Rock)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Fish reigns at Brave. Always exceptionable. Apple crisp special dessert was a nice touch. Never a bad meal in >50 experiences.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Eat here frequently and have never been ...

 
 (Little Rock)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Eat here frequently and have never been disappointed! Food is fresh and delicious. Service is always exceptional and the drinks are tasty. Highly recommend a visit, or two, or three...!

Tags: Romantic, Seasonal, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food, ambiance, waitstaff were all o ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 1, 2017

The food, ambiance, waitstaff were all outstanding. My birthday was perfect. Oh my goodness.....the desserts were fabulous.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Great for Brunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Waterfront, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was bland. Service was ok. Was s ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Food was bland. Service was ok. Was shocked owner keeps his dog in the back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Have dined here on several occasions and ...

 
 (Little Rock)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Have dined here on several occasions and have never been disappointed. Service is great but not intrusive. Food is excellent and is not over priced. We will continue to dine here as it is one of the most reliable restaurants in Little Rock.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Wonderful food. The plates were beautifu ...

 
 (Little Rock)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Wonderful food. The plates were beautiful and had a lot of different types of cooked veggies. Nice cheese appetizer and drinks were reasonable. When i made reservations I specified a birthday. That was never mentioned. We ordered ice cream and cheesecake for desserts. Server was attentive and food came out at a nice pace.

Tags: Waterfront, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Brace is a familiar longtime restaurant ...

 
 (Little Rock)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Brace is a familiar longtime restaurant in our family. This last visit wasn't as great as usual. We preferred to be in the main dining room and didn't feel as though we were really at Braves. My steak was buried in a poorly flavored sauce my companions

Tags: Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

Enjoyable atpmoshere, quality food, exce ...

 
 (Little Rock)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Enjoyable atpmoshere, quality food, excellent service.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My scallops were very good, but my wife' ...

 
 (Little Rock)·Dined on January 28, 2017

My scallops were very good, but my wife's steak tips were just ok. If I can do as good at home then I don't recommend paying over $30 for it, which was the case for the

Steak tips.

I told them through open table that this was my 10 year wedding anniversary and would like to be at a nice table. We were stuck at a table in the corner sourounde by bad art. Tables were too close together. I could hear conversations at the other tables; not very romantic.

Service was great and the owner/chef (I believe that was him as he didn't introduce himself) came out to thanks us for the business.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

We visit Brave New Restaurant every time ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on January 28, 2017

We visit Brave New Restaurant every time we visit LR. We know we will always have a great dining experience visiting with friends. The food is ALWAYS great!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always good. Venison special was perfect ...

 
 (Little Rock)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Always good. Venison special was perfect. Darcy, our favorite server took excellent care of us. It was wet and cold so balcony deck was closed, but Spring will be here soon. And Fumé Blanc is a bargain.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Open Kitchen, Healthy, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Good food, good service. However, no att ...

 
 (Little Rock)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Good food, good service. However, no attention was paid to our reservation. I had named our honoree and the purpose for our visit (75th Birthday) when I made the reservation. I had requested a special dessert which never appeared. I finally promoted the server re the dessert. He brought it and there was no charge. Spoiled the surprise element. First time to use this reservation service. Think I will just call ahead next time

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The wait staff was incredible in caterin ...

vip
 (Little Rock)·Dined on January 20, 2017

The wait staff was incredible in catering to our friend who requires extra attention with choosing food because of so many limitations. We all had wonderful meals and enjoyed great conversation. Brave New is always an excellent choice that pleases everyone's palate.

Tags: People Watching, Good for Groups, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We met up with some friends that were co ...

 
 (Little Rock)·Dined on January 18, 2017

We met up with some friends that were coming in from out of town, and needed to a good place for dinner- Aka, somewhere that is impressive without being stuck up.

Brave New Restaurant is just that. Knowledgeable and friendly waitstaff- the timing of food delivery was spot on, and most importantly, the meal was delicious. Our second time there has now confirmed it's place as one of our favorite restaurants to go to when we get the chance to eat out.

Tags: Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Out of several signature items but fortu ...

 
 (Little Rock)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Out of several signature items but fortunately had walleye

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Great food at a restaurant overlooking t ...

 
 (Little Rock)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Great food at a restaurant overlooking the river. Service was phenomenal! Excellent fresh seafood. Would highly recommend to anyone!!

Tags: Private Room, Sunday Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Healthy, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

BNR - what can you say? The Central Arka ...

vip
 (Little Rock)·Dined on January 14, 2017

BNR - what can you say? The Central Arkansas standard for superb food and service to which all others are compared. No other place consistently delivers fish done so well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had an 8:45p reservation and were fin ...

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We had an 8:45p reservation and were finally seated at almost 9:30p. Our waiter was attentive, but our meals were barely warm when served, and hardly seasoned. Oddly, the knives that were brought to the table were of such poor quality (cheaply made - they actually bent when using them) that they seemed out of place. We heard another patron ask for his waiter to bring a "more aggressive" knife. Nevertheless, we had a good time and were so impressed with their custom of bringing children a fruit and cheese plate immediately after being seated that much else was forgiven.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Service is great and food was fantastic. ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Service is great and food was fantastic.Peter Bright came to the table and visited which is always nice

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

We visited the restaurant on New Year's ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We visited the restaurant on New Year's Eve. Pleased with the food especially the dessert. Service was pretty good but the restaurant was a bit noisy I would definitely visit again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.