About Brasserie Provence

150 N. Hurstbourne Pkwy
Louisville, KY 40222
View Larger Map

Brasserie Provence offers upscale casual dining & traditional French cuisine with a South-of-France flair. A large selection of Provençal and classical French dishes offer something for everyone at an affordable price. Enjoy French & Pacific NW wine, signature European cocktails, and French, Belgian & local Kentucky beer.

Ample seating is available in the brasserie-style bar, the warm and inviting dining room, and the outdoor patio. Parties of six to twelve can be seated at the generously-sized Chef's Table, parties or meetings of up to 40 are accommodated in the Private Dining Room, and the entire restaurant is available for events of up to 200 people. Free parking is available in our spacious lot.

Join us Mon-Sat for Lunch & Dinner, and Mon-Fri for Happy Hour to experience a Taste of Provence!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French, Provencal

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH: Monday-Saturday 11am to 2pm
DINNER: Monday-Thursday 5pm to 9pm
Friday & Saturday 5pm to 10pm
HAPPY HOUR: Monday-Friday 4pm to 6:30pm
at the Bar & High Tops Only
CLOSED SUNDAY

Cross Street:
near the intersection of Shelbyville Road

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa

Phone Number:
(502) 883-3153

Website:
http://www.brasserieprovence.com/

Entertainment:
Recorded French & American Cabaret, Contemporary & Jazz Music

Catering:
CATERING FOR BUSINESS LUNCHES, RECEPTIONS & DINNERS IS AVAILABLE! Special menus are customized to individual needs and budgets. Call Guy Genoud for details: 502.883.3153

Parking Details:
Free parking is available in our spacious lot.

Public Transit:
31 Shelbyville Road Route. Stop G at Hurstbourne Parkway

Private Party Facilities:
BRING YOUR NEXT SPECIAL OCCASION OR BUSINESS EVENT TO BRASSERIE PROVENCE!
OUR DESIRABLE & GENEROUSLY-SIZED CHEF'S TABLE is located in our Brasserie Dining Room, seating 6 to 12 people. A Custom Menu with Wine Pairings is offered at $100 or $150 dollars per person.
OUR BEAUTIFUL & COMPLETELY PRIVATE DINING SALON is ideal for entertaining or meeting with friends, family and business associates of up to 40 Guests. Privacy is assured with curtained French Doors. Table setup is customized to your event. A Personalized Menu, based on our Lunch or Dinner Menu, is tailored to your budget.
LARGE RECEPTIONS AND EVENTS Take Place Throughout the Dining Room & Bar Areas for up to 200 Guests. We Welcome Cocktail Receptions, Weddings, Corporate Dinners, Networking Events, Luncheons and all other Important Celebrations with Gracious Service, Fine Beverages and Delicious Cuisine!


Private Party Contact:
Guy Genoud: 5028833153x

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
CHECK OUR WEBSITE MONTHLY FOR SPECIAL EVENTS, HOLIDAY DINNERS/BRUNCHES, OUR WEDNESDAY WINE TASTING SCHEDULE, & OUR VERY POPULAR WINE DINNERS!

Restaurant Photos

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Brasserie Provence Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Fit for Foodies
Central Kentucky
Notable Wine List
Central Kentucky
Fit for Foodies
Louisville
2 More
Notable Wine List
Louisville
Romantic
Louisville
Best Restaurants in Middletown ›

special occasion (89)
fit for foodies (88)
romantic (70)
See All
notable wine list (54)
neighborhood gem (47)
good for groups (37)
great for lunch (36)
great for brunch (9)
hot spot (8)
late-night find (7)
great for outdoor dining (3)
vibrant bar scene (3)
kid-friendly (3)
Sort By:
Newest
569 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My friend and I will definitely return a ...

Dined 3 days ago

My friend and I will definitely return as we were very pleased with the restaurant. The portions were really too large, tho as we could not eat everything that was on the plate. I plan to return with my husband and other friends. A real keeper!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Always good

Dined 5 days ago

This is one of our regular dining spots. We dine early - 6ish- and can always get in, have a perfect meal, great service, nice wine. The owner is very helpful with wine selection and he has trained his servers to be knowledgeable and polite.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

I love this restaurant because it has th ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

I love this restaurant because it has the traditional French foods one expects to see on a French menu, but it also has provençal specialities which are a rarity to find in the USA. The wine list also features wine common to Provence. It is a bit more reasonably priced than most French restaurants. I highly recommend it.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Did not understand different happy hour ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Did not understand different happy hour pricing for bar people Versus people who had table reservations. Bad MARKETING

Tags: fit for foodies, late-night find
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Brasserie Provence is always superb. The ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

Brasserie Provence is always superb. The service is impeccable, wine service is excellent and the food sends your palate directly to France. I've had onion soup all over the US and in France and this is THE BEST I've eaten. I plan to return for lunch regularly just for the onion soup! The owner's personal touch at our table heightened an already four star meal. C'est magnifique!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always reliable and delicious . No que ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

Always reliable and delicious . No questionthat Brasserie Provence can deliver on great food and a well chosen wine list. Out of town guests with exquisite taste enjoyed founditto theirliking

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service2
value2

Disappointing Brunch

Dined on May 8, 2016

We were there for the Mother's Day brunch. The host barely spoke to us when we arrived and waiter was not attentive. When he came to the table he seemed very stressed. We had to wait a long time to place our order and we received our appetizer before getting our drinks. We had to ask a different waitress to refill our water. The portions were very small for the price. We dined there one other time for dinner and had a more positive experience. Mother's Day brunch was a disappointment.

Tags: notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Provence could have been perfect

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

Keep in mind that this was Mother's Day brunch, so you can expect a little delay or minor hiccup. Our service got off to a slow start but proceeded to improved. Those who ordered the chicken fricassee raved about the taste. Two of us ordered Croque Madame and I was really anticipating a decadent lunch complete with the creamy, cheesy sauce and topped with a perfectly cooked egg. There was no sauce, plus the yolk of the egg was fully cooked - that is what helps make the sauce so I disappointed. I did not send it back because I wanted the four of us to eat together. My guess is that they anticipated a busy day and pre-cooked the eggs. Basically, I had an open face ham and cheese sandwich.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went for Mother's Day brunch.

Dined on May 8, 2016

Few restaurants are capable of providing both high quality food and service on special holidays. We went for both Valentine's Day and Mother's Day, and got both. This restaurant is very well run and the prices are reasonable for the quality of the food. An unreserved recommendation.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Consistently fine food, friendly and pro ...

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

Consistently fine food, friendly and professional service. Overall, a great value for a high quality dining experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Delicious prix fixe menu. We appreciated ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Delicious prix fixe menu. We appreciated the help pairing wine - excellent! Wonderful dining experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4

Was a wonderful quiet evening after goin ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

Was a wonderful quiet evening after going to the Derby.

food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Derby special. 3rd Place

Dined on May 6, 2016

The special Derby and Oaks limited menu seemed to be well thought out. Wine list is a treat. Appetizers and salads were well prepared and tasty. Unfortunately, the sea bass entree was translucent and cold in the center when served. We pointed this out to our waitress, and she immediately took it back to the kitchen. When she returned with the serving, it was further cooked, but still not enough. Possibly it was just not a better cut, but was still tough and cool. The waitress again apologized, and offered my wife another entree of her choice. At this point my wife did not want to wait any longer, and chose to eat her side dishes instead. Desserts were delicious. This was not our first visit, and we returned because of a prior positive experience. However, at $95.00 per plate, I do expect better results. Our bill with wine and tip was $250.00. As we were offered no compensation for the uneatable entree, we will not return.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Overall great food.

Dined on April 22, 2016

Service was good and the food presentation excellent. Wine not available that was ordered but on the list? Nice atmosphere.. Will visit again

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Bien but limited

Dined on April 22, 2016

Very good French cuisine if a somewhat limited menu.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Provence always delivers!

vip
Dined on April 20, 2016

Provence always delivers great food, great service, and great value. The owner always visits our table and the service is spot-on! Provence has the best French Onion Soup anywhere and the pork-chop dinner is awesome. However, most of the time, I'm drawn to the Steak-frites which is always cooked perfectly and never disappoints. Also, Provence is clearly the best food/value for lunch in all of Louisville!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Consistently good food and service.

Dined on April 19, 2016

We have brought out of town guests here; we have celebrated birthdays here; and most recently I had lunch here with a friend. I've tried many of the items on the menu. There is a "prix fixe" option both for lunch and dinner which I have enjoyed. We also went to a special wine pairing dinner. Brasserie Provence offers other special occasion meals, such as on Mother's Day, which would be a nice option for many.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Best Cassoulet Ever

Dined on April 15, 2016

This restaurant has the best cassoulet I have ever have had. Also their coco que van is excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good portions for the price!

Dined on April 13, 2016

Lovely setting and interesting menu! Service was efficient and hospitable! Tess knew her food well! Quiet atmosphere for my 95 yr old mom!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

As always perfectly done meal, service, ...

vip
Dined on April 7, 2016

As always perfectly done meal, service, ambience, and great service by Guy and staff...

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great dinning experience!

Dined on April 7, 2016

This was one of many wine tasting dinners that we have attended at the Provence. As always the food is fantastic, the service is excellent and the pairings of the wines has always been superb! One can not ask for a better evening!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The Really Important Thing

Dined on April 1, 2016

The flourless chocolate cake kills. Seriously. It's awesome.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Great place for a business meeting at lu ...

vip
Dined on March 29, 2016

Great place for a business meeting at lunchtime.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Easter brunch

Dined on March 27, 2016

We immensely enjoyed our Easter visit. We both ordered lamb medium-rare; one of my two pieces was as ordered; however, the other chop was medium-well. All I expected was a replacement of the overdone chop, but Brasserie generously gave us an entire second order of this entree. This is clearly not only a good business decision but also a strong inducement for our repeating a visit.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Have been here several times and food is ...

Dined on March 27, 2016

Have been here several times and food is consistently excellent!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great Food, great service

Dined on March 27, 2016

Great Food, great service, and reasonable price! What a great selection for an Easter brunch!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4

Lovely meal and an enjoyable evening wit ...

vip
Dined on March 22, 2016

Lovely meal and an enjoyable evening with friends. The onion soup is always a favorite. Especially enjoyed dessert and the French press coffee.

food4
ambience4
service3
value3

This was our first time and we enjoyed i ...

Dined on March 19, 2016

This was our first time and we enjoyed it. The food was good, but I don't believe it was worth the value paid. I think we would go back but would look for some form of coupon or discount.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a great experience. Our out of t ...

Dined on March 19, 2016

Always a great experience. Our out of town guests were really impressed with the ambiance, food and service.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Great! Truly French, but we like oak in ...

vip
Dined on March 19, 2016

Great! Truly French, but we like oak in the Chardonnay 😘

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mary Ris

Dined on March 17, 2016

My Birthday is St. Patrick's Day so we came there for dinner. I wanted to come back because the first time I had a medical emergency and left by ambulance. I was so impressed when we came back. The owner actually remembered me and asked how I was and expressed his pleasure that we came back and that I was feeling better. He also wished me A Happy Birthday. The waiter and other staff were excellent. The food was delicious. I will come back again and again.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfection

Dined on March 17, 2016

Perfection is the only word suitable to describe our dining experience. This was my third visit to Brassiere Provence and the quality of the food, ambiance & service has been consistently excellent. I highly recommend the mussels! I should say I am not related to or friends with any one associated with the restaurant. My delight is authentic. My friends agreed.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service4

Classic French. The bouillabaisse needs ...

vip
Dined on March 11, 2016

Classic French. The bouillabaisse needs a little more seasoning.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wine dinner

Dined on March 8, 2016

Our latest experience at Brasserie Provence was a special wine dinner. There were four boutique vintages paired with some fabulous food. We were seated at a table with two other couples who we had never met, and had a delightful time together. We will probably ask these same people to join us for another dinner there sometime soon. This was a fairly large gathering - about 80 people which shows that Guy's success in offering these wine dinners is paying off. Our team of servers were right on point and we wanted for nothing. Guy Genoud always makes you fell special, and this night was no exception.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent service and food

Dined on March 6, 2016

Excellent service and food. Love the atmosphere and docor. Tables spread out where you have privacy. Wife had the pork chop and I had the trout, both of which were outstanding. Not in a trendy area but it's a gem. We will be back.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience2
service3
value2

Family Orienitied; not for romantic intimate dinnr

Dined on March 5, 2016

Food excellent; atmosphere a mix of Applebee's noise and children roaming around tables totally spoiled experience. Facility has layout for family and intimate sides yet mixed parties and tried to offset with loud music. Too bad because menu/food was excellent. Will look for more favorable reviews before returning (Bill+tip was $140 not what I will spend again for Chucky Cheese atmosphere).

Tags: kid-friendly
food5
ambience5
service5

A wonderful restaurant. Elegant setting ...

Dined on March 2, 2016

A wonderful restaurant. Elegant setting and quality French cuisine

food3
ambience4
service5
value2

Very limited. Beautiful dessert - best ...

Dined on February 27, 2016

Very limited. Beautiful dessert - best part of the meal.

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Food was good

Dined on February 27, 2016

The food and service were excellent. It took an hour to get our food after ordering. There were only 4 of us,so not a big order. Other than that, it was a great evening !

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

The manager (maybe the owner also)

Dined on February 27, 2016

The manager was so friendly and checked on us. He told us about the wine tasting they have weekly and the happy hours. Super personable and kept saying my name. I will come back just to hang out with him. 😉

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.