About Brasserie Provence

150 N. Hurstbourne Pkwy
Louisville, KY 40222
View Larger Map

Brasserie Provence offers upscale casual dining & traditional French cuisine with a South-of-France flair. A large selection of Provençal and classical French dishes offer something for everyone at an affordable price. Enjoy French & Pacific NW wine, signature European cocktails, and French, Belgian & local Kentucky beer.

Ample seating is available in the brasserie-style bar, the warm and inviting dining room, and the outdoor patio. Parties of six to twelve can be seated at the generously-sized Chef's Table, parties or meetings of up to 40 are accommodated in the Private Dining Room, and the entire restaurant is available for events of up to 200 people. Free parking is available in our spacious lot.

Join us Mon-Sat for Lunch & Dinner, and Mon-Fri for Happy Hour to experience a Taste of Provence!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French, Provencal

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH: Monday-Saturday 11am to 2pm
DINNER: Monday-Thursday 5pm to 9pm
Friday & Saturday 5pm to 10pm
HAPPY HOUR: Monday-Friday 4pm to 6:30pm
at the Bar & High Tops Only
CLOSED SUNDAY

Cross Street:
near the intersection of Shelbyville Road

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa

Phone Number:
(502) 883-3153

Website:
http://www.brasserieprovence.com/

Entertainment:
Recorded French & American Cabaret, Contemporary & Jazz Music

Catering:
CATERING FOR BUSINESS LUNCHES, RECEPTIONS & DINNERS IS AVAILABLE! Special menus are customized to individual needs and budgets. Call Guy Genoud for details: 502.883.3153

Parking Details:
Free parking is available in our spacious lot.

Public Transit:
31 Shelbyville Road Route. Stop G at Hurstbourne Parkway

Private Party Facilities:
BRING YOUR NEXT SPECIAL OCCASION OR BUSINESS EVENT TO BRASSERIE PROVENCE!
OUR DESIRABLE & GENEROUSLY-SIZED CHEF'S TABLE is located in our Brasserie Dining Room, seating 6 to 12 people. A Custom Menu with Wine Pairings is offered at $100 or $150 dollars per person.
OUR BEAUTIFUL & COMPLETELY PRIVATE DINING SALON is ideal for entertaining or meeting with friends, family and business associates of up to 40 Guests. Privacy is assured with curtained French Doors. Table setup is customized to your event. A Personalized Menu, based on our Lunch or Dinner Menu, is tailored to your budget.
LARGE RECEPTIONS AND EVENTS Take Place Throughout the Dining Room & Bar Areas for up to 200 Guests. We Welcome Cocktail Receptions, Weddings, Corporate Dinners, Networking Events, Luncheons and all other Important Celebrations with Gracious Service, Fine Beverages and Delicious Cuisine!


Private Party Contact:
Guy Genoud: 5028833153x

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
CHECK OUR WEBSITE MONTHLY FOR SPECIAL EVENTS, HOLIDAY DINNERS/BRUNCHES, OUR WEDNESDAY WINE TASTING SCHEDULE, & OUR VERY POPULAR WINE DINNERS!

Restaurant Photos

Brasserie Provence
Brasserie Provence
Brasserie Provence
Brasserie Provence
Brasserie Provence
Brasserie Provence
Brasserie Provence
Brasserie Provence
Brasserie Provence
Brasserie Provence
Brasserie Provence
Brasserie Provence
Brasserie Provence
Brasserie Provence
Brasserie Provence
Brasserie Provence
Brasserie Provence
Brasserie Provence
Brasserie Provence
Brasserie Provence
Brasserie Provence
Brasserie Provence
Brasserie Provence
Brasserie Provence
Brasserie Provence
Brasserie Provence
Brasserie Provence
Brasserie Provence
Brasserie Provence
Brasserie Provence
Brasserie Provence

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Mon - Thu 5:00PM - 9:00PM

Fri - Sat 5:00PM - 10:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Brasserie Provence Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Fit for Foodies
Central Kentucky
Notable Wine List
Central Kentucky
Romantic
Central Kentucky
4 More
Fit for Foodies
Louisville
Notable Wine List
Louisville
Romantic
Louisville
Special Occasion
Louisville
Best Restaurants in Middletown ›

special occasion (76)
fit for foodies (69)
romantic (59)
See All
neighborhood gem (47)
notable wine list (46)
great for lunch (36)
good for groups (32)
great for outdoor dining (8)
great for brunch (7)
hot spot (6)
late-night find (5)
kid-friendly (4)
Sort By:
Newest
587 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was EXCELLENT!!

Dined 3 days ago

Everything was EXCELLENT!!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food is always outstanding here, especia ...

Dined 3 days ago

Food is always outstanding here, especially the burger with Brie!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

The host is always gracious. The menu of ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

The host is always gracious. The menu offers many tempting selections. The 3 course chef's menus is always a value. And on Mondays we enjoy half priced wine.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Food was a not as good as expected. The ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Food was a not as good as expected. The decor needs improvement. The look was rather bland for a restaurant charging that much for food.

food3
ambience3
service1
value1

This was to be a very special celebratio ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

This was to be a very special celebration for my wife and me on our 33rd anniversary. Our reservation was for 6:45 and the place wasn't crowded at all; maybe five tables taken. More came but still not full. Our service was horrible as it took over 40 minutes to get a basic salad and cup of soup. We asked and were informed by our waitress that the main chef was on vacation and they are short staffed. The salad soup came and were fine; not great, not bad. Another 40 minutes until our entrees came. The pork chop was over-cooked and tough and my potato dish was cold. My wife ordered the Sea Bass and was afraid to eat it as she didn't think it was cooked enough. I ate it and it was the most bland dish I've ever had. No seasoning on it, but a little pesto sauce in a shot glass accompanied it. Overall we were extremely disappointed and will not be going back. Update: the owner reached out to me and was very apologetic and asked us to try again. He was very sincere and spoke of his commitment to serving a great meal and experience. I agreed to try again and hope that was an anomaly. 6/23/16

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Have been several times before and thoug ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Have been several times before and thought it would be perfect for a leisurely dinner with plenty of conversation. Proved to be the perfect choice. Service was attentive yet relaxed, food was excellent and Guy (the owner) was his usual charming self. Had a great time. Place was distressingly empty for a Saturday night, though. Hope business picks up - it's a place that deserves a steady clientele.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed our dinner so much! We were g ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

We enjoyed our dinner so much! We were greeted warmly by the hostess as well as the manager, and our waitress was very attentive. The food was really delicious. I had a salad that with very fresh greens and a just right vinegarette. I'm a vegetarian and the chef special vegetarian pasta was really tasty, and included tofu! My husband had a steak and ate every bite, very good. I hightly recommend the appetizer of delicious assorted cheeses with grilled bagguette slices and a glass of wine to begin. We ended the meal with the best creme brulee! Thanks for a wonderful dinner. We'll be back again!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Brasserie Provence is one of our fa ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

The Brasserie Provence is one of our favorite places to eat and we have never been disappointed. Great location (being on the east end so that we do not have to fight traffic), nice atmosphere and pleasant wait staff. Jeff was waiter for this visit. He was friendly, informative and had perfect timing. It you want a nice and pleasant atmosphere with a great tasting meal, this is your place.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

relaxing with friendly continental atmosphere

Dined on June 10, 2016

Lovely restaurant, beautiful French cuisine. Great service- tables are arranged so conversation is relaxed and private. Food is wonderful, great selection of appetizers, salads- daily specials and lovely desserts with French press coffee. Don't pass up a wonderful lunch or dinner here- it's a gem of a place

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

I took my husband here for his birthday, ...

Dined on June 9, 2016

I took my husband here for his birthday, our first time and even though there was a wine dinner that night we sat apart from it and Jeff gave us great service. Yummy bread. Escargot and mussels were great. Thanks for a great evening.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great restaurant!

Dined on June 7, 2016

Love this place. Great food and service. You can actually hear your conversation and no I'm not old. It's just nice to have a great meal and be able to hear your dinner companions. Definitely will go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Excellent dining and service at a reasonable price

Dined on June 5, 2016

The food and service are excellent. I really like that the tables have ample space between them for privacy. If you want a great relaxing dinner where you can actually hear and talk to the others at your table then this is your choice. The only thing I would suggest to the owner is to change the background music. Although it was played quietly, it did not match a ambiance of the restaurant. Highly recommend.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Another great meal at Brasserie Provence ...

Dined on June 4, 2016

Another great meal at Brasserie Provence. Atmosphere and noise level make for a very pleasant dining experience. Will continue to return for one of our family's favorites.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great Birthday Dinner

Dined on May 28, 2016

Food and service were outstanding. Owner, Guy and waiter, Jaques were attentive and made sure we enjoyed our meal and wine.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful dining experience

Dined on May 27, 2016

Terrific food, spot-on service, lovely, inviting dining room. Our second visit to celebrate an anniversary. Lots of free parking doesn't hurt either. Highly recommend!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of our favorites in Louisville. Foo ...

Dined on May 23, 2016

One of our favorites in Louisville. Food is always excellent and service is great. Highly recommended!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My friend and I will definitely return a ...

Dined on May 23, 2016

My friend and I will definitely return as we were very pleased with the restaurant. The portions were really too large, tho as we could not eat everything that was on the plate. I plan to return with my husband and other friends. A real keeper!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent

Dined on May 21, 2016

We first went a week or so after it opened; the food was terrific, but the service abominable. We complained at the time, and the owner defended the terrible waiter (I considered that a plus, since he was showing loyalty to his staff), but also gave the four of us free desert. (We were there for 3&1/2 hours!) I don't think that waiter is there anymore. We decided to try it again on May 21st, for my wife's birthday, and everything was excellent. Service and food was superb in all respects; the bill for the two of us, with 2 drinks, 2 glasses of wine, one desert (the other on the house for her birthday) and two entrées was about $100.00 without tip, quite reasonable for this kind of restaurant. When we got there we were seated right outside a private dining room where a noisy crowd was gathered; we asked for another table, and were seated elsewhere with absolutely no problem. The entire staff was welcoming and cheerful . We would definitely go again.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Always good

Dined on May 21, 2016

This is one of our regular dining spots. We dine early - 6ish- and can always get in, have a perfect meal, great service, nice wine. The owner is very helpful with wine selection and he has trained his servers to be knowledgeable and polite.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

I love this restaurant because it has th ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

I love this restaurant because it has the traditional French foods one expects to see on a French menu, but it also has provençal specialities which are a rarity to find in the USA. The wine list also features wine common to Provence. It is a bit more reasonably priced than most French restaurants. I highly recommend it.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Did not understand different happy hour ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Did not understand different happy hour pricing for bar people Versus people who had table reservations. Bad MARKETING

Tags: fit for foodies, late-night find
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Brasserie Provence is always superb. The ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

Brasserie Provence is always superb. The service is impeccable, wine service is excellent and the food sends your palate directly to France. I've had onion soup all over the US and in France and this is THE BEST I've eaten. I plan to return for lunch regularly just for the onion soup! The owner's personal touch at our table heightened an already four star meal. C'est magnifique!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always reliable and delicious . No que ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

Always reliable and delicious . No questionthat Brasserie Provence can deliver on great food and a well chosen wine list. Out of town guests with exquisite taste enjoyed founditto theirliking

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service2
value2

Disappointing Brunch

Dined on May 8, 2016

We were there for the Mother's Day brunch. The host barely spoke to us when we arrived and waiter was not attentive. When he came to the table he seemed very stressed. We had to wait a long time to place our order and we received our appetizer before getting our drinks. We had to ask a different waitress to refill our water. The portions were very small for the price. We dined there one other time for dinner and had a more positive experience. Mother's Day brunch was a disappointment.

Tags: notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Provence could have been perfect

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

Keep in mind that this was Mother's Day brunch, so you can expect a little delay or minor hiccup. Our service got off to a slow start but proceeded to improved. Those who ordered the chicken fricassee raved about the taste. Two of us ordered Croque Madame and I was really anticipating a decadent lunch complete with the creamy, cheesy sauce and topped with a perfectly cooked egg. There was no sauce, plus the yolk of the egg was fully cooked - that is what helps make the sauce so I disappointed. I did not send it back because I wanted the four of us to eat together. My guess is that they anticipated a busy day and pre-cooked the eggs. Basically, I had an open face ham and cheese sandwich.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went for Mother's Day brunch.

Dined on May 8, 2016

Few restaurants are capable of providing both high quality food and service on special holidays. We went for both Valentine's Day and Mother's Day, and got both. This restaurant is very well run and the prices are reasonable for the quality of the food. An unreserved recommendation.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Consistently fine food, friendly and pro ...

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

Consistently fine food, friendly and professional service. Overall, a great value for a high quality dining experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Delicious prix fixe menu. We appreciated ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Delicious prix fixe menu. We appreciated the help pairing wine - excellent! Wonderful dining experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4

Was a wonderful quiet evening after goin ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

Was a wonderful quiet evening after going to the Derby.

food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Derby special. 3rd Place

Dined on May 6, 2016

The special Derby and Oaks limited menu seemed to be well thought out. Wine list is a treat. Appetizers and salads were well prepared and tasty. Unfortunately, the sea bass entree was translucent and cold in the center when served. We pointed this out to our waitress, and she immediately took it back to the kitchen. When she returned with the serving, it was further cooked, but still not enough. Possibly it was just not a better cut, but was still tough and cool. The waitress again apologized, and offered my wife another entree of her choice. At this point my wife did not want to wait any longer, and chose to eat her side dishes instead. Desserts were delicious. This was not our first visit, and we returned because of a prior positive experience. However, at $95.00 per plate, I do expect better results. Our bill with wine and tip was $250.00. As we were offered no compensation for the uneatable entree, we will not return.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Overall great food.

Dined on April 22, 2016

Service was good and the food presentation excellent. Wine not available that was ordered but on the list? Nice atmosphere.. Will visit again

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Bien but limited

Dined on April 22, 2016

Very good French cuisine if a somewhat limited menu.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Provence always delivers!

vip
Dined on April 20, 2016

Provence always delivers great food, great service, and great value. The owner always visits our table and the service is spot-on! Provence has the best French Onion Soup anywhere and the pork-chop dinner is awesome. However, most of the time, I'm drawn to the Steak-frites which is always cooked perfectly and never disappoints. Also, Provence is clearly the best food/value for lunch in all of Louisville!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Consistently good food and service.

Dined on April 19, 2016

We have brought out of town guests here; we have celebrated birthdays here; and most recently I had lunch here with a friend. I've tried many of the items on the menu. There is a "prix fixe" option both for lunch and dinner which I have enjoyed. We also went to a special wine pairing dinner. Brasserie Provence offers other special occasion meals, such as on Mother's Day, which would be a nice option for many.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Best Cassoulet Ever

Dined on April 15, 2016

This restaurant has the best cassoulet I have ever have had. Also their coco que van is excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good portions for the price!

Dined on April 13, 2016

Lovely setting and interesting menu! Service was efficient and hospitable! Tess knew her food well! Quiet atmosphere for my 95 yr old mom!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

As always perfectly done meal, service, ...

vip
Dined on April 7, 2016

As always perfectly done meal, service, ambience, and great service by Guy and staff...

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great dinning experience!

Dined on April 7, 2016

This was one of many wine tasting dinners that we have attended at the Provence. As always the food is fantastic, the service is excellent and the pairings of the wines has always been superb! One can not ask for a better evening!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The Really Important Thing

Dined on April 1, 2016

The flourless chocolate cake kills. Seriously. It's awesome.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Great place for a business meeting at lu ...

vip
Dined on March 29, 2016

Great place for a business meeting at lunchtime.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.