About Brasserie Grille - Hilton Wilmington DE

100 Continental Dr
Newark, DE 19713-4327
View Larger Map

The Brasserie Grille at the Hilton Wilmington/Christiana is one of the top ranked steakhouses in town. Known for its vast wine menu, fresh seafood entrees and certified Angus beef steaks seared to a succulent 1600 degrees, Brasserie Grille is where the locals go for the ultimate dining experience. Whether you're planning a romantic dinner for two or a memorable celebration for as many as 20 guests, our restaurant always delivers a delectable meal in style.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, American, Continental

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Friday: 7:00am - 11:00am

Saturday & Sunday: 7:00am - 12:00pm

Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm

Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Churchman

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(302) 781-7000

Website:
http://www.hiltonchristiana.com/delaware-fine-dining.htm

Entertainment:
Outdoor entertainment on Wednesday and Thursday nights from spring to fall.

Catering:
We operate a full service facility that can cater up to 200+ people.
We specialize in customizing the menu to fit your needs.

Parking Details:
Ample free parking is available

Executive Chef:
Chef Robert Fratticcioli

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We specialize in holiday buffets for Easter, Mothers day, and Thanksgiving.

Brasserie Grille - Hilton Wilmington DE Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.3

service

5.0

ambience

3.0

value

2.7

noise

Moderate

67% would recommend it to a friend

Worth the Drive (2)
Special Occasion (2)
Cozy (1)
See All
Romantic (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Historic (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Sort By:
S
35 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Prime rib was delicious. Service was ver ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Prime rib was delicious. Service was very good. Banquette could have use a good cleaning.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Cozy, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value2

My husband took me here for my 45th birt ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 16, 2016

My husband took me here for my 45th birthday. Aside from the outstanding server we had (a Spanish gentleman), it was not a great dining experience. The entree I ordered was not accurate as the kitchen had run "out of it". This was not communicated to me however, the server did arrange for my meal to be complimentary. The ambiance was also not what I'd consider "fine dining" as noted in the advertisement for Restaurant Week.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service5
value2

We celebrated our 30th wedding anniversa ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 22, 2016

We celebrated our 30th wedding anniversary with a weekend away to visit long wood gardens. Our first night was at the Brasserie Grille. We love a good steak dinner and was not disappointed. There was a party going on at the hotel so they seated us in a quiet private area with out us even asking. It was a happy memory, thanks to the staff and chef. Even ordered a fancy bottle of champagne to celebrate. Perfect night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Business meeting over breakfast

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 11, 2016

Picked this restaurant because of its convenient location and have had good experiences there in the past, but this time the service was spotty, table was gritty, and there was a guest hacking up a lung (for too long, I think management should have escorted them out). Food was good, though, & maybe it was an off day, unless there are other reviews like this trending...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

Good food. Good service. Little pricey.

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 14, 2016

The food was great. The service was good. The wine pairings for the Valentine special were also good. I just do not believe it was a good value. Things were a little too overpriced. Otherwise. Everything was great.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Extremely disappointing

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 14, 2016

After having many excellent dinners with friends and special occasions and two parties in the enclosed dining room, we were very disappointed. The waiter took our drink order without explaining the prix fixe dinner (which included wine suggestions). Since your prime rib in the past has always been excellent, this is what we ordered. We were surprised at the price raise since our last visit. The soup, and salad were fine and our first cuts of the prime rib around the perimeter were good. ( We were asked several times how everything was.) However, when we cut into the heart of the prime rib, it was chewy, to the point we had to remove small pieces into our napkins. We complained to our waiter, who never suggested any action. We finally gave up. I brought mine home; my husband left his there. We were served dessert which was minus the ice cream--the waiter did bring it over. We have no plans to return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

Too pricy

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 14, 2016

We had 7PM reservation, arrived a bit early and were seated right away. Then we were each handed a price fixed menu. We did not know that they were doing a priced fixed menus. There were 5 courses with a suggested wine pairing or you could order without hewing pairing. The least expensive item on the menu was $50 for chicken. My wife ordered the prime rib and I ordered the filet and crab cake . Bothe cuts of meat had to be sent back as they were bothe requested medium well done. To there credit they did fix the issue. The thing that upset us was 1st not being informed of the price fixed menu when we made the reservation, or when they called to confirm it.it was not listed on their website because I looked before making the reservation. We usually don't like priced fixed menus because it's some of the same food served offftheregularmenu but the prices were jacked up and we feel with a price fix menu if you don't want something your still stuck getting something you really don't like or paying for a course if you decide to skip a course. Can't complain about the service as our server was very could. Dress code says business casual but there were many couples where the male was in jeans and one was wearing a sports jersey. I'd say they were more casual than business casual . It looked like they were having a slow night. So I guess they were taking anyone who walked in. It's places that are upscale and publish a dress code but let the jeans and jersey people in that drive me nuts as this was Valentines Day and we were dressed a little more upscale than most of the people around us. Made us feel out of place.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Wonderful Dining Experience

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 13, 2016

Our valentine day celebration for dinner was here. Wonderful staff and food was great also. We would come here again just for dinner out..

Tags: Great for Brunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Terrific Food and Great Selection for Thanksgiving

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 26, 2015

We had to wait about 15 minutes even though we had a reservation but I suppose its acceptable for the Thanksgiving Buffet. I have to say that the food was wonderful, great selection, servers were friendly but very busy. The noise level wasn't bad considering this was a holiday event. We will definitely come back for another special occasion.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

lousy food

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 26, 2015

Lousy food dry turkey no sweet potatoes what was to be prime rib was not white potatoes so soupy you needed a spoon to eat them only green beans as a vegetable and had nuts so that left out a lot of people that could eat them and no pies for dessert the stuff they had was so stale they could not be cut with a fork. All this was by 4 pm.i feel sorry for people thay had reservations later. This was one expensive horrible dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1

The Hilton Always Brings It's "A" Game

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 26, 2015

My wife and I have often dined at the Hilton on special occasions - Thanksgiving, Mother's Day, etc. - and mot once have we been disappointed in the selection, presentation, and taste of the food. It is an excellent place for that "Special" occasion. The staff is always friendly and willing to cater to your wishes. Their buffets are out of this world.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Brassierie at Christiana Hilton DE a Friday night

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 13, 2015

We had made reservations since it was a Friday night and were expecting the Brasserie at the Christiana Hilton to be crowded. When we arrived, the lights in the Brasserie were off and we thought it was closed. The Host turned up the lights and seated us, of course we had our choice of seats since there were no other customers. We were given menus and served our beverage.

We asked if they had any specials and were told that they only had specials on the week-ends.

We then looked at the menu, while doing so the Host then brought us a separate menu, which had specials on it, all for $34.00. We chose from it.

The waitress then brought us a delightfully arranged salad. When we asked if they had salad forks, she said that they put them out for banquets. We were never given a salad fork.

You could not hear any music in the dining room. All you could hear was the James Madison Football Team who were being fed in the area next to us. It was very noisy. It was a buffet of sorts. The players were sitting around all over.

We asked if there was music in the Brasserie and were told that Tuesdays and Wednesdays were their busy nights and that they had a piano that was played on those nights.

Our meal was delivered before we were finished our salad.

Food was tasty.

We also had dessert, included in the meal.

We believed the coffee was also included, however, had to ask for it.

The waitress was pleasant and friendly.

Every once in awhile, we saw food coming from the kitchen area, being taken up the hall area to the bar area.

For the entire 3 hours that we were in the Brasserie, we were the only customers.

The checks were delivered to us, we paid them, we did not even receive a mint and didn't see any in the area.

We chose the Brasserie because our husbands were at a Banquet that evening at the Hotel.

Our husbands said that they had lots of silverware on their table and they had lots of food and it was all good.

The Brasserie is lacking atmosphere and was so dreary.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3

The food is always good, though not gour ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 7, 2015

The food is always good, though not gourmet, and served with good presentation. The servers are attentive. It is a quiet place and therefore good for business. They have good audiovisual. They are excellent for business meetings. There is an inner patio that is very attractive, and an outer patio also overlooking a pond, and that is pleasant. If there are vegetarian requests, it is best to speak ahead of time with the chef; otherwise rather dull offerings might be served, but I have been told there are interesting options. I have arranged meetings there in the past for my organizations, and the combination of price and quality is really hard to beat.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Inattentive Service & Merely Average Food - Avoid

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 3, 2015

We decided to try a new place for our anniversary dinner, and the best we can say is that we now have a story about what turned out to be the worst dining out experience we've had in years.

Ordered cocktails. My martini ordered straight up and dry with a twist arrived with two olives and was more vermouth than vodka. An auspicious start.

We each ordered soup, salad, and entrée. After a lengthy wait without any bread on the table, much to our surprise our salads arrived. We pointed out that we had not received our soups and were told they would bring them right out. The soups NEVER arrived. Salads were unremarkable, although it's worth pointing out that the Caesar Salad dressing is from a bottle.

I ordered the prime rib with a lobster tail. The server had said that they were out of lobster and would a crab cake be okay instead. Right before our entrée arrived the table next to us received a lobster tail. Imagine my chagrin when a crab cake arrived for me. The server's reply when I mentioned this: "Oh they told me they didn't have them yesterday." I don't think she even checked for that evening despite the fact that yesterday had come and gone.

The veal chop and prime rib were both just average, nothing particular memorable. The crab cake was dull and without flavor. The baked potato I ordered was soggy. We also ordered a side of broccoli with hollandaise sauce for the table. The hollandaise sauce arrived and our server said she would be right back with the broccoli. Ten minutes later as we were finishing our meal I flagged down the nearest employee to let them know to take the broccoli off the bill as we were finishing eating.

At this point we were done with the horrible service and mediocre food, and declined dessert and our typical after-dinner drinks. We were told "sorry" only once - about the broccoli. This restaurant is obviously poorly managed and the kitchen needs serious help. We won't be returning in the future to Brasserie Grill.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1

Food was excellent and perfectly prepare ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 22, 2015

Food was excellent and perfectly prepared. I ordered the veal porterhouse. Since I had never dined there before I had no way of knowing how rare, medium, and well done equated to actual results. That being the case, I described how the meat should look regarding color, texture and temperature. My meat was cooked perfectly.

My only complaint was that there was only one waiter attending to the five occupied tables in the room. This would not have been an issue except he had to buss the tables also. This made the service less attentive than it should have been.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Our server Glenn Lea went above and beyo ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 12, 2015

Our server Glenn Lea went above and beyond to make my mother's Birthday Breakfast extra special. Te Chef who made the omelettes was AMAZING!!! Thank you for a fond memory...

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

In Delaware

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 28, 2015

The restaurant was quiet, great for a date and the food was outstanding and finally the service

was timely.

John

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

BigRob777

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 18, 2015

Some items were good, others average and one was poor. Nice people, who gave us a free beautifully decorated chunk of cheese cake on a huge plate, with strawberries and chocolate letters for our 20th anniversary. Crab cakes were boring, sweet potato was perfect, as was the calamari, but the kicker was the sour tasting shrimp and scallops, which they took back upon hearing our distaste, and was replaced by lobster tails, which were good. If it weren't for the very nice staff, the evening would have been the pits.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4

Interrupted Ambiance by a wedding reception

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 15, 2015

I am very disappointed with my dining experience with the Brasserie Grille staff,

I reserved a dinner date for Valentines Day evening at 7:00 PM and although we arrived early for our reservation, we were taken right to our seating area. The Ambiance was very romantic and quiet, however after 45 minutes later there was a lot of noise coming from the lobby area of the restaurant We began speaking loudly because we could not hear because of the noise coming from the lobby area. My date and I also noticed that most of the waitresses had disappeared for a long period and then it trickled down to one waitress. The noise level was coming from a Wedding Reception that we found out about later in the lobby area. The waitress that attended to our table was the only staff member available for at least 25 minutes. I believe her name was Amanda and she did the best that she could. We also noticed that the hostess came over and began refilling water into our glasses. i strongly believe that the Hilton staffers were aware of the large wedding party, however they had forgotten about the Restaurant consumers which was very tacky. I have never experienced anything like this before at the Brasserie Restaurant. My date was so annoyed, that he requested the check and asked for his dessert to be packaged to go.

Highly Disappointed!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

Very friendly server. Decent food. Larg ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 14, 2015

Very friendly server. Decent food. Large portions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5

Wonderful dining experience.

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 27, 2014

As always, The Hilton was great - a good variety of foodand plenty of it.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

Great Thanksgiving Buffet

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 27, 2014

We really enjoyed the Thanksgiving Buffet; the atmosphere, service and food were terrific. We would definitely do this again and hope to try their prime rib buffet during the week too!

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Ding before theatre

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 18, 2014

Outstanding food and service. We were a bit disappointed at the noise level as there was a wedding and a couple special events going on which made the outer perimeter very busy and loud. Otherwise was very happy with food preparation and presentation. Service and attention to detail was outstanding.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

50th Birthday Celebration

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 14, 2014

My friends and I chose Brasserie Grill to celebrate one of us turning 50. We had heard the steaks were excellent. I had the flat iron steak (rare) with au gratin potatoes and asparagus with hollandaise sauce. The steak was rare in the center but not around the edges. My friends opted for the prime rib buffet. Both were please with the meal. They were both concerned about the meat being too rare, but the server made sure that the meat was done to their satisfaction. Our waitress was excellent -- she made several suggestions to make our evening great (including taking it upon herself to bring a candle in my friends dessert and singing happy birthday)!

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Nice surprise

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 25, 2014

I had never eaten at the Brasserie before and actually never thought about it as a restaurant choice since it is located in a hotel. Once I saw it written up in a local magazine, I decided to try it and was pleasantly surprised. A beautiful place with linen tablecloths and nice crystal, with very good food (including prix fixe which is what I chose) which was creatively prepared. It was quiet because it was a weeknight, but I enjoy that atmosphere and will return again for another meal.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Business lunch. Just about the only folk ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 23, 2014

Business lunch. Just about the only folks there!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

Just Ok

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 13, 2014

We went with friends primarily because it was restaurant week and the location was convenient and it claims to be "one of the top ranked steakhouses in town." Our meal was just ok, nothing special and the men ordered steaks both medium, one was good and the thicker one was more like well done and a bit dry. The girls ordered fish and it was tasty, nicely seasoned, but not outstanding. And personally, I didn't care for the mac & cheese that came with it. Oh well, the wine and dessert were good and it was basically nice, just not a premier steakhouse. But what can you expect from a hotel restaurant?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4

Dinner

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 11, 2014

Prime Rib is delicious best I've ever had, and the lobster tail was great , service was awesome!!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Dinner at hotel where we stayed

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 6, 2014

Overall dinner was good. Service was extremely slow,to no fault of our waiter, since there was a large party of over 20 people and I feel the kitchen was backed up. Sat at a nice semi-booth. Shared fr calamari, which was nice. I had shrimp(2) and scallops(4) over rice. It was tasty but more of a rice dish then a sea food offering. DH had king cut prime rib. He said it was delicious, and he couldnt finish it. Baked potato side looked over baked, but DH said it was good We did not have coffee/dessert since we were too full.

If you stay at Hilton Inn, it is a nice rest. if u dont want to venture out. Second nite we drove about 3 miles and had dinner out. THere are plenty of chain rest in area(which we prefer not to go to)

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Special Occasion

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 11, 2014

Through OpenTable I was able to get reservations for a party of nine at the final hour for a Mother's Day Brunch. The brunch turned out to be a good experience for everyone. The staff was friendly. The food was good. The service was excellent. The price was right. I will definitely dine here again.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Perfect Mother's Day Brunch

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 11, 2014

It was obvious that lots of effort went into making this Brunch extra special. The buffet choices were beautifully presented and delicious; the service was outstanding. We were very impressed that several General Managers were on duty to insure that everything was seamless and everyone was satisfied. Lovely small touches in place as well: a pianist, a stunning ice sculpture, fresh roses on the tables, and a special kids' food bar.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great food and great service

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 3, 2014

You cant get a much better experience than being waited on by Ms Iris Ann. She can make a meal an experience.

The Filet was cooked perfectly and the lobster tails were delicious.

Will visit again soon.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

appreciated Valentine day diner

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 14, 2014

This is the second time we come to this restaurant and our first good feeling is confirmed. We had booked a table for the evening of the Valentine day. We even had a better service than the first time which was already good, although the restaurant was busy. The menu proposed that day with 4 choices was really attractive and the food for each choice well prepared. The proposed price was acceptable and justified taken into account of the number of choices proposed. The only point with a lower rating in our case was the width of the table which was pretty narrow. a larger square table would have been perfect. Anyway, this diner was a very good experience and no doubt that we will come back to this restaurant if we have another opportunity.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Good Amount for the Price

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 14, 2014

My husband and I visited for Valentines Day. For the amount of food we received the pricing was fair. The taste however was a bit underseasoned. My husband's steak was cooked incorrectly and the crab cake was not jumbo lump as described. Our waitress was amazing. The hostess and another waitress were much less than that. They were acting very unprofessional and loud while people were trying to enjoy a quiet romantic dinner. Overall it was a decent experience but I will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service5

very good experience

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 4, 2014

the food was well prepared, the service was very good and the personel at the restaurant check-in was very kind and smiling. all in all, this restaurant was a good surprise and we plan to come back for another diner.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.