About Bramble & Brine

315 Rehoboth Avenue
Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971
View Larger Map

Housed in a restored circa 1900s Rehoboth Beach cottage, the three minimalist dining spaces of Bramble & Brine impart a tasteful yet intimate tableau from which chef/owner Joseph Churchman showcases his diverse and evolving global menu.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Global, International

Hours of Operation:
Full Dinner Service from 5:00pm-10pm

Cross Street:
Fifth Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(302) 227-7702

Website:
http://www.brambleandbrine.com/

Executive Chef:
Joseph Churchman

Private Party Facilities:
For larger events, we are happy to rent out the entire restaurant to fulfill your needs. Availability is limited and seasonal rates may apply.

Private Party Contact:
Manager: x

Additional:
Bar Dining, Chef's Table, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Bramble & Brine
Bramble & Brine

Bramble & Brine Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Fit for Foodies
Baltimore / Maryland
Fit for Foodies
Ocean City / Delaware Shore
Romantic
Ocean City / Delaware Shore
1 More
Special Occasion
Ocean City / Delaware Shore
Best Restaurants in Rehoboth Beach ›

fit for foodies (33)
special occasion (28)
romantic (19)
See All
neighborhood gem (18)
notable wine list (10)
hot spot (7)
good for groups (6)
vibrant bar scene (4)
great for brunch (3)
late-night find (1)
great for lunch (1)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
372 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had an absolutely wonderful dinner. T ...

Dined 4 days ago

We had an absolutely wonderful dinner. The service was fantastic our waiter was very helpful in navigating the menu and the food was perfect!! We started a girls weekend for my sisters upcoming weekend here and it couldn't have been more perfect! We are from out of town and I told my husband when I got home that we would have to vacation in rehoboth if only to dine at bramble and brine again!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It's a tiny converted beach bungalow wit ...

Dined 6 days ago

It's a tiny converted beach bungalow with a beautiful kitchen, dining area and small bar. The cocktails were exquisite. The dinner, glassware and flatware was very classy and the tables had white linen cloths. The food rivaled any I've had here on the Culinary Coast of Delaware or in any big American city (i.e. New York, DC, etc.) I can't wait to go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Outstanding meal, but please explain why ...

vip
Dined on June 19, 2016

Outstanding meal, but please explain why we have to decline the cramped tiny corner table offered when the room is practically empty. The "worst table" in the room should be saved for late-arrivals or those without reservations. This is the second time we have been thus greeted at this restaurant. Will they ever learn simple courtesy.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic appetizer - asparagus with che ...

Dined on June 10, 2016

Fantastic appetizer - asparagus with cheese and bacon. Country fried oysters were delicious as well. Ribeye was perfectly cooked. Both of our deserts were exceptional - panna cotta and grapefruit cake. Nice atmosphere, waitress, Annie, was attentive and nice. Everyone who worked there was warm and inviting. One of my new favorite restaurants!

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

New Restaurant worth exploring

vip
Dined on June 9, 2016

An imaginative menu and attentive service. Worth exploring if you are in Rehoboth. The price was not bad either. I would go again.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

celebration of mothers day

Dined on June 8, 2016

this restaurant was recommended by several of my closest friends. we were celebrating mothers day with my wife.the food was exceptional. the ambiance was romantic. the wait staff was friendly and knowledgeable.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Nicely adventurous food. Great mixologi ...

Dined on June 5, 2016

Nicely adventurous food. Great mixologist. Superb dessert.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Really excellent food

Dined on June 5, 2016

We haven't been to Bramble and Brine since early in the season last year, when we were disappointed -- pricey meals and food okay but nothing special. But this meal was excellent in every way. All three of us were really pleased, and we tend to be picky about what we like and dislike. I'm looking forwards to returning soon.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

The food and the service were outstandin ...

vip
Dined on June 3, 2016

The food and the service were outstanding. I really enjoyed the avocado toast with quail egg and the octopus was full of flavor and cooked to perfection (soft, not chewy). The pink grapefruit cake was good, but the entrée overshadowed it. The staff was very professional. The ambience was elegant, not stuffed, and quiet.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent Dining -- Once Again

Dined on June 1, 2016

Despit a recent negative review for this restaurant, it was our anniversary, and we had had several excellent meals at B & B in past years, so we decided to try it again, and it was a winner. The current menu is short but provides sufficient variety. After splitting a very good salad my wife had her favorite, the duck breast, and I had the strip steak; both were outstanding. The portions were more than adequate but did not leave us feeling 'stuffed'. We accompanied dinner with a very good but relatively inexpensive pinot noir recommended by the server and then finished up with a wonderful chocolate-y dessert. The bill was equally 'easy to swallow' too. We will return again soon, and will not need an anniversary as our reason..

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great place

Dined on May 29, 2016

Excellent and creative meals each gone. The chef is an artist.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

For Adventurous Eaters

vip
Dined on May 28, 2016

If you are looking for an unusual dining experience in Rehoboth Beach this is a great place. No burgers and fries or children's menu here. Well thought out and interesting combinations of ingredients used to create the meals. The menu changes frequently but the fish, steak, soups and salads were different but delicious. Service is smooth and unobtrusive and it was relatively quiet. Definitely will return to see what they cook up next.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

excellent creative food, attentive serve ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

excellent creative food, attentive server and fun vibe!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent experience, excellent food, se ...

vip
Dined on May 21, 2016

Excellent experience, excellent food, service and drinks. Bartender does great cocktails. Can't wait to return!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Will keep coming back!

Dined on May 20, 2016

This is our fifth time coming to Bramble and Brine. I would keep coming back each time. The atmosphere has continued to improve with simplistic decor and the seating is always good anywhere in the restaurant. The food is always outstanding, creative, and using local resources as much as possible. The service is great. They can recommend any wine on the menu with appropriate pairings. There is a great beer selection, and the mixed drinks are creative and tasty. I highly recommend to try the three course meal with wine pairing.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Third time visiting, best dinner and ser ...

vip
Dined on May 13, 2016

Third time visiting, best dinner and service yet!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Bramble and Brine has really turned into ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

Bramble and Brine has really turned into one of the best restaurants in town. We loved the new look and atmosphere. The food could not have been better. We recommend the duck dish! Superb! You can not skip dessert there. One of our favorite spots in town!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Still the Best

Dined on May 7, 2016

My favorite restaurant in Rehoboth. Always head and shoulders above many other establishments.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Artsy Food

vip
Dined on April 30, 2016

This is one of those 'food as art' places, and despite the pretension, we loved the food. The service was friendly and unstuffy and that went a long way toward making the evening enjoyable.

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Joe and Team knock it out of the park, yet again!

Dined on April 29, 2016

We started at the Bar with Anna, enjoyed the happy hour specials for drinks and appetizers. She makes a yummy vodka martini. My husband and I enjoyed the chicken fried oyster appetizer and the 5 tastes for $20 appetizers the octopus was my favorite, followed by the duck mortadella and pimento cheese spread on their version of an everything bagel chip. Pickled Salmon and one other tastes were divine. We sat in the room by the kitchen, waited on my Mike. I had the halibut for dinner and my husband had the spring chicken. We enjoyed both. We shared a bottle of AR, an Argentinian Blend. Friday night they have 25% off bottles of wine. Yummy and great presentation.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Creative menu, excellent meal.

Dined on April 21, 2016

Wonderful presentation of delicious meal. The halibut was outstanding. Dessert was the highlight of a fantastic evening

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Great service, attractive setting, inter ...

Dined on April 14, 2016

Great service, attractive setting, interesting menu.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent meal

Dined on April 2, 2016

A wonderful and enjoyable meal. Interesting dishes. Mine was a halibut, excellently prepared with quinoa and other veggies. Small but pleasant wine list. Very attractive setting.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

One of the best in Rehoboth

Dined on March 27, 2016

We had been meaning to try Bramble & Brine for a while, and took the opportunity Easter Sunday. While the menu is a little 'foodie', we all really enjoyed the quality, and presentation for each course. Our wine selections were great (helps to have oenophile friends), and the options were varied enough to satisfy them. Would certainly highly recommend for a special occasion, as the prices were on the medium/high end, but even with that taken into account, we still felt that the prices were very reasonable based on the quality of the meal and the experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful food and servicw

vip
Dined on February 26, 2016

This restaurant is not for people who like large portions and common food choices. I fit neither of those categories, and we loved it form soup to spaghetti to pink grapefruit cake to duck. It was a wonderful evening and meal in every respect. A foodie's dream.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Experience!

Dined on February 26, 2016

I must admit that after reading some of the reviews, I was a bit concerned about going there.After dining there, I was pleasantly surprised and thought that "those people"must have eaten elsewhere. It's a bit pricey,but not over priced. Our meals were 5 star to say the least and so was the service!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

A disappointment

Dined on February 21, 2016

The restaurant was all the talk when it first opened, so I was looking forward to trying it, now that has re-opened. We opted for the tasting menu (at $75 each), with a bottle of wine (not the pairings). Each course was pretty much a disappointment, some things were fair at best (the fluke, the short rib and the soup), others were okay to good (the Ferment dish, and the creme caramel, for example), but none of the courses were wonderful, or even excellent. In retrospect, I wish we had simply sampled different small, medium and large plates instead of choosing the tasting menu. The service was attentive, so at least that was a plus. We left, spending roughly $200 on nothing memorable at all.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Felt like we were traveling abroad

Dined on February 21, 2016

I can't remember the last time I had such an interesting meal in a U.S. restaurant. Great for adventurous foodies, and because they have so many small plate and charcuterie options, we got to try a lot of things. The wait staff was knowledgeable of the menu and happy to make suggestions. Their drinks were yummy, too - we had the Granada, a tequila drink, and liked it a lot. They have a tasting menu, but we thought it sounded like too much food, so we picked a la carte and had a lot of fun with it. Service was great, too. It wasn't too busy, so we didn't rush and they never brought anything out before the previous course was cleared away. Quite a nice change of pace from most restaurants these days.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience3
service3

Nice atmosphere and service. I thought t ...

Dined on February 15, 2016

Nice atmosphere and service. I thought the menu was limited and my entree was a little small for the price.

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Fantastic

Dined on February 15, 2016

Truly a delight from start to finish. Our dining experience exceeded our expectations. Warm, welcoming, modern, artistic atmosphere. Cozy bar with creative and well made cocktails. Attentive, knowledgeable, and classy waitstaff. And of course our meals. Inventive, creative, unique, delectable. All incredibly presented. Loved this place. Superb!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

In my humble opinion, this restaurant is ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

In my humble opinion, this restaurant is not what it used to be. When it first opened, we dined there a couple of times; and, I very much enjoyed my meal. This time the food was mediocre; although my husband enjoyed his tender duck. I think my tastes are more plebeian and simpler than the current menu. Bramble and Brine may be a good restaurant for foodies.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The restaurant was very nice and the food was good

Dined on February 13, 2016

We got the tasting menu which was good but not excellent. The wine pairing was nice, but quite expensive. We should have stuck with getting something off of the menu and going with a favorite. It was valentine's so probably not a good choice to get the tasting menu. We had a soup which was cold and the fish was very salty. The beef was excellent. I would recommend this place for a small group or two people only as tables are very close to one another. The cocktails were excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service2
value2

Mike b

Dined on February 13, 2016

We were there with 6 people after we ordered I t took a long time the manger came over said something happened with computor never sent order to Kitchen we understood that but he offered to get drinks if we wanted one so we all ordered but to our surprise and disappointment we wherechared for them . we all cross the restaurant off our list.

food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Ahhh! It's back!

Dined on February 13, 2016

For their opening weekend, the chef focused on flavors and unique offerings. I had the octopus and who knew that it would be considered another white meat?!? So tender and flavorful...I was able to cut it with my fork. The cocktails were superb, especially the Granada and the Manhattan. I highly recommend the duck. We will definitely be back.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience4
service3

Lovely dinner. My OK review of service w ...

vip
Dined on January 3, 2016

Lovely dinner. My OK review of service was because they were slow, but it was really crowded and of season so that has to be a tough adjustment.

food5
ambience4
service5

Great way to start the new year with din ...

vip
Dined on January 1, 2016

Great way to start the new year with dinner in Rehoboth ! Loved B & B!

food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful evening

Dined on December 31, 2015

A beautiful New Years Eve spent in a lovely ambiance and well presented dishes. The staff was attentive and pleasant. My chocolate desert was exceptional. Enjoyed spending a moment watching the kitchen staff through a special window. Would do it again.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding Meal

Dined on December 25, 2015

Such a beautiful restaurant. Excellent, attentive service without being intrusive. The scallop appetizer was incredible! Possibly the best scallops we have ever had! The venison and the lobster were both very, very good. The desserts were amazing. The decor is wonderful, and the ambiance felt just right.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

"Xmas Eve 'Tasting Menu' a Real Treat...but..."

vip
Dined on December 24, 2015

Booked early at this elegant Rehoboth eatery...opted for 2 'tasting menus' (6 courses, $65.); 4 courses were truly excellent (poached oysters, seared tenderloin, osso bucco, and scrumptious dessert), the soup and rabbit just so-so. The French Press coffee was a nice touch (but $6. extra?), and our excellent Spanish wine (Godelia Mencia) good value at $36. It was a busy night, our personable server, Mike, did well juggling multiple tables but 2 of our courses reached our table ahead of the necessary 'tools' (spoon/fork/knife)...perhaps more coordination needed between kitchen & server (or adding silverware ahead for 'tastings'. Recommend interior seating to avoid busy, trafficked entry-way; this is a really good dining location...and could be outstanding with consistent attention to detail

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First ime dining here

Dined on December 24, 2015

Excellent in every way. Reservations were honored and checked by phone and level of courtesy was wonderful. This was Christmas Eve when many dining places are closed here and those open are limited in menu and service. This was was tops in every respect and I note the friendliness of the others eating in engaging near-by tables. This will be a frequent stop until summer.

Tags: special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.