About Bramble & Brine

315 Rehoboth Avenue
Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971
View Larger Map

Housed in a restored circa 1900s Rehoboth Beach cottage, the three minimalist dining spaces of Bramble & Brine impart a tasteful yet intimate tableau from which chef/owner Joseph Churchman showcases his diverse and evolving global menu.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Global, International

Hours of Operation:
Full Dinner Service from 5:00pm-10pm

Cross Street:
Fifth Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(302) 227-7702

Website:
http://www.brambleandbrine.com/

Executive Chef:
Joseph Churchman

Private Party Facilities:
For larger events, we are happy to rent out the entire restaurant to fulfill your needs. Availability is limited and seasonal rates may apply.

Private Party Contact:
Manager: x

Additional:
Chef's Table, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Bramble & Brine
Bramble & Brine

Bramble & Brine Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Ocean City / Delaware Shore
Best Food
Ocean City / Delaware Shore
Best Service
Ocean City / Delaware Shore
3 More
Best Ambiance
Ocean City / Delaware Shore
Best Value
Ocean City / Delaware Shore
Fit for Foodies
Ocean City / Delaware Shore
Best Restaurants in Rehoboth Beach ›

Fit for Foodies (46)
Special Occasion (40)
Neighborhood Gem (31)
See All
Romantic (26)
Notable Wine List (19)
Good for Groups (13)
Hot Spot (10)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Great for Brunch (2)
Late-night Find (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Scenic View (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
398 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

This was our fourth visit this summer, a ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 4 days ago

This was our fourth visit this summer, and the first time we didn't get the tasting menu (which is a true bargain). The food, as always, was outstanding. The service was rushed, tho, which detracted from an otherwise pleasant experience.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Wonderfully creative meal, enjoyed in a ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 5 days ago

Wonderfully creative meal, enjoyed in a lovely setting. The service was top notch too!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Service was first-rate and we enjoyed a ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 5 days ago

Service was first-rate and we enjoyed a leisurely dinner with friends. Food was very good but the chef was so intent on being inventive and adventuresome that it seemed to some in our party that the taste result was a little disappointing. The kale salad with preserved lemon was too salty; the tomato with burrata was very good. The duck breast was excellent, the beef brisket not so much so.

We'll try again sometime if I can twist my "anti-foodie" husband's arm!

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Bramble and Brine was beyond great! The ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 6 days ago

Bramble and Brine was beyond great! The experience of the seven course dinner was the best I have ever had. Additionally, the price of the wine paired dinner was made it a tremendous value. I look forward to the next opportunity to dine at Bramble and Brine.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The best restaurant in Rehoboth and we h ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

The best restaurant in Rehoboth and we have been coming here for over 20 years. Chefs tasting menu is an adventure and delicious. Highly recommended.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Service was very good. Reasonably price ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Service was very good. Reasonably priced for the quality of food received.

Definitely would go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

This was a great find for us to have a q ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

This was a great find for us to have a quality dinner at Rehoboth a little distance from the crowds. It's on Rehoboth Avenue well West of the Boardwalk. Bramble and Brine offers excellent charcuterie and cheese options as wells as small, medium and large plates. My wife made a meal of four small plates, each with an interesting and unexpected mix of ingredients and textures. My favorite of those was the "street corn" which includes popcorn mayo, cilantro, ancho chile and, most important, chicharrones, which gave it a welcome crunch and umami. although the chicken fried oysters with deviled egg and kimchi aioli gave it a run for the money. My duck breast main course was expertly cooked with crispy skin and just the right amount of fat for flavor. And they have a good wine list as well. Definitely will be going back. Want to try their wine paired tasting menu.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

All appetizers and all entrées were very ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

All appetizers and all entrées were very good. It is a bit on usual that every dish at a table is a standout!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

This was the best meal we've had at Reho ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

This was the best meal we've had at Rehoboth this season.

The chef is an artist and the presentations were creative and beautiful.

The prices were reasonable and we look forward to returning and trying the tasting menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Amazing tasting menu. Fantastic food an ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Amazing tasting menu. Fantastic food and service. Highly suggest your make reservation and go

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is the third time I have dined ther ...

vip
·Dined on July 23, 2016

This is the third time I have dined there and we were all very disappointed?

It was a Friday night and there were a lot of empty tables so the service should have np even better. First the bartender was very very slow . We sat for almost 20 min after ordering drinks and one was delayed as she made the wrong drink. The second round round was just as slow.

The food was not great. I ordered the crispy whole fish and it was a bit raw inside. They had Swordfish on the menu but somehow they substituted Skate for it which ended up being thin and a bit slimey. The sauce for the fish was good. The steak was good, but he brisket was a bit bland.

The menu is limited and the entrees were on the high side price wise. I think they need to add some items to the menu maybe a pasta dish...

I won't go again.

.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

Not worth it! 'Heirloom' tomato small pl ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Not worth it! 'Heirloom' tomato small plate was not heirloom in the least; Cherry tomatoes found anywhere, anytime of the year. Whole fish which was described as 'easy to flake off and eat with the chopsticks' was raw and had to be sent back. Obvious the deep fat was at too high a temperature to cook it through before it was nearly burnt on the outside. It was a tasteless deconstructed take on a Chinese classic...gone all wrong. We will never return. The saving grace was the cocktails and our server, Ryan!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service4
value1

My sister and I had a wonderful dinner a ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

My sister and I had a wonderful dinner at Bramble and Brine. We decided to go for the 5 course pairing. Great choice. Inventive with a familiar touch. The restaurant was full but not noisy. My neighbor had been there before and highly recommended this fine restaurant. I will pass on the favor.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very impressed with Bramble & Brine earl ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Very impressed with Bramble & Brine early in the summer when I had dined with friends. I had reservations this past Sat evening and the service was not good. What was suppose to be a special evening for my best friend who was visiting for the first time from NYC turned out to be a not so good dining experience. Disappointed!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1

We had the 7 course tasting menu and tho ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

We had the 7 course tasting menu and thought it was great. Standouts included the duck, the steak course and the apricot sorbet. Wines were delightful and well-paired with the courses. Highly recommend for a special dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The last time I dined here, September ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

The last time I dined here, September 2014, I thought the food was outstanding. This time, no one in our party of five was impressed. In fact it was disappointing. The menu choices as far as entrees is limited. Appetizers were great, stick to small plates and mix it up. Stay clear of the briskett and whole fish.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

Wonderful dinner!!! My husband and I had ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Wonderful dinner!!! My husband and I had a fantastic experience and will definitely be back! The food was absolutely amazing! Well done, Chef (and pastry chef- as our dessert was equally as delicious)!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The best meal I have ever had. Great val ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

The best meal I have ever had. Great value! Beautifully presented.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was my first time at Bramble & Brin ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

This was my first time at Bramble & Brine, and it was outstanding. Everything about this Restaurant was outstanding! I will be back to Bramble & Brine.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our first time at this Rehoboth restaura ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Our first time at this Rehoboth restaurant. We did the 5 course tasting, as we are fairly adventurous eaters. The concept is that you know the wines in advance, but the food for each course is a surprise. Luckily, we liked the option for each course. The chef is inventive without going over the top. $45 for 5 courses including wine is a pretty good value! Would definitely go back. I very much enjoyed the low key atmosphere and it was so quiet-- what a refreshing change from so many ( intentionally ) noisy restaurants !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Charming decor and attentive, friendly s ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Charming decor and attentive, friendly service. We had the Chef's 5 course tasting menu which paired 5 wines with 5 courses. It was VERY reasonably priced and gave us a chance to try some dishes we would never have ordered independently. All were outstanding. We have been eating out in Rehoboth for over 20 years and have put this restaurant at the top of our list.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service!! Brisket was overdone ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Excellent service!! Brisket was overdone but they were generous in their compensation and the waiters were visibly upset and sincere in their apologies.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

We had the 5 pairings and enjoyed the ex ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

We had the 5 pairings and enjoyed the experience. Our waiter was very attentive and friendly. We loved every course. We will go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent as always! Third time here ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Excellent as always! Third time here is two months, three great experiences. Staff was very accommodating to our large party, as we were slightly late. The food was just great.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had the 7 course tasting menu which w ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

We had the 7 course tasting menu which was fabulous. Each of the savory dishes was beautifully presented and inventive. Of particular note was the scallop ceviche with yuzu foam. The only course that was less impressive was dessert. The service was impeccable. Our first course came out so fast, I was worried we were being rushed out. I mentioned it to our server who agreed it was fast and the pace after that was perfect.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was looking forward to this restaurant ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

I was looking forward to this restaurant given the menu and the reviews. However, we were quite disappointed. Service was slow and incomplete (serve soup without spoons). $7 for a bottle of sparkling water was inconsistent with the rest of the pricing including good pricing on wine. Given expectations, food was just OK across the board. Best part of the meal was the cheese board which I figured I could have come up with on my own.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

We had an absolutely wonderful dinner. T ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

We had an absolutely wonderful dinner. The service was fantastic our waiter was very helpful in navigating the menu and the food was perfect!! We started a girls weekend for my sisters upcoming weekend here and it couldn't have been more perfect! We are from out of town and I told my husband when I got home that we would have to vacation in rehoboth if only to dine at bramble and brine again!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It's a tiny converted beach bungalow wit ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

It's a tiny converted beach bungalow with a beautiful kitchen, dining area and small bar. The cocktails were exquisite. The dinner, glassware and flatware was very classy and the tables had white linen cloths. The food rivaled any I've had here on the Culinary Coast of Delaware or in any big American city (i.e. New York, DC, etc.) I can't wait to go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding meal, but please explain why ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Outstanding meal, but please explain why we have to decline the cramped tiny corner table offered when the room is practically empty. The "worst table" in the room should be saved for late-arrivals or those without reservations. This is the second time we have been thus greeted at this restaurant. Will they ever learn simple courtesy.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Fantastic appetizer - asparagus with che ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Fantastic appetizer - asparagus with cheese and bacon. Country fried oysters were delicious as well. Ribeye was perfectly cooked. Both of our deserts were exceptional - panna cotta and grapefruit cake. Nice atmosphere, waitress, Annie, was attentive and nice. Everyone who worked there was warm and inviting. One of my new favorite restaurants!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

New Restaurant worth exploring

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

An imaginative menu and attentive service. Worth exploring if you are in Rehoboth. The price was not bad either. I would go again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

celebration of mothers day

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

this restaurant was recommended by several of my closest friends. we were celebrating mothers day with my wife.the food was exceptional. the ambiance was romantic. the wait staff was friendly and knowledgeable.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Nicely adventurous food. Great mixologi ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Nicely adventurous food. Great mixologist. Superb dessert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Really excellent food

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

We haven't been to Bramble and Brine since early in the season last year, when we were disappointed -- pricey meals and food okay but nothing special. But this meal was excellent in every way. All three of us were really pleased, and we tend to be picky about what we like and dislike. I'm looking forwards to returning soon.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food and the service were outstandin ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

The food and the service were outstanding. I really enjoyed the avocado toast with quail egg and the octopus was full of flavor and cooked to perfection (soft, not chewy). The pink grapefruit cake was good, but the entrée overshadowed it. The staff was very professional. The ambience was elegant, not stuffed, and quiet.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent Dining -- Once Again

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 1, 2016

Despit a recent negative review for this restaurant, it was our anniversary, and we had had several excellent meals at B & B in past years, so we decided to try it again, and it was a winner. The current menu is short but provides sufficient variety. After splitting a very good salad my wife had her favorite, the duck breast, and I had the strip steak; both were outstanding. The portions were more than adequate but did not leave us feeling 'stuffed'. We accompanied dinner with a very good but relatively inexpensive pinot noir recommended by the server and then finished up with a wonderful chocolate-y dessert. The bill was equally 'easy to swallow' too. We will return again soon, and will not need an anniversary as our reason..

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place

 
 (Savannah)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Excellent and creative meals each gone. The chef is an artist.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

For Adventurous Eaters

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

If you are looking for an unusual dining experience in Rehoboth Beach this is a great place. No burgers and fries or children's menu here. Well thought out and interesting combinations of ingredients used to create the meals. The menu changes frequently but the fish, steak, soups and salads were different but delicious. Service is smooth and unobtrusive and it was relatively quiet. Definitely will return to see what they cook up next.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

excellent creative food, attentive serve ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

excellent creative food, attentive server and fun vibe!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent experience, excellent food, se ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Excellent experience, excellent food, service and drinks. Bartender does great cocktails. Can't wait to return!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.