About Bramble & Brine

315 Rehoboth Avenue
Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971
View Larger Map

Housed in a restored circa 1900s Rehoboth Beach cottage, the three minimalist dining spaces of Bramble & Brine impart a tasteful yet intimate tableau from which chef/owner Joseph Churchman showcases his diverse and evolving global menu.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Global, International

Hours of Operation:
Full Dinner Service from 5:00pm-10pm

Cross Street:
Fifth Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(302) 227-7702

Website:
http://www.brambleandbrine.com/

Executive Chef:
Joseph Churchman

Private Party Facilities:
For larger events, we are happy to rent out the entire restaurant to fulfill your needs. Availability is limited and seasonal rates may apply.

Private Party Contact:
Manager: x

Additional:
Bar Dining, Chef's Table, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Bramble & Brine Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Fit for Foodies
Baltimore / Maryland
Fit for Foodies
Ocean City / Delaware Shore
Romantic
Ocean City / Delaware Shore
Best Restaurants in Rehoboth Beach ›

fit for foodies (38)
special occasion (29)
romantic (20)
See All
neighborhood gem (15)
notable wine list (12)
hot spot (6)
vibrant bar scene (4)
great for brunch (3)
good for groups (3)
late-night find (1)
great for lunch (1)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
358 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Will keep coming back!

Dined 4 days ago

This is our fifth time coming to Bramble and Brine. I would keep coming back each time. The atmosphere has continued to improve with simplistic decor and the seating is always good anywhere in the restaurant. The food is always outstanding, creative, and using local resources as much as possible. The service is great. They can recommend any wine on the menu with appropriate pairings. There is a great beer selection, and the mixed drinks are creative and tasty. I highly recommend to try the three course meal with wine pairing.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Third time visiting, best dinner and ser ...

vip
Dined on May 13, 2016

Third time visiting, best dinner and service yet!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Bramble and Brine has really turned into ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

Bramble and Brine has really turned into one of the best restaurants in town. We loved the new look and atmosphere. The food could not have been better. We recommend the duck dish! Superb! You can not skip dessert there. One of our favorite spots in town!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Still the Best

Dined on May 7, 2016

My favorite restaurant in Rehoboth. Always head and shoulders above many other establishments.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Artsy Food

vip
Dined on April 30, 2016

This is one of those 'food as art' places, and despite the pretension, we loved the food. The service was friendly and unstuffy and that went a long way toward making the evening enjoyable.

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Joe and Team knock it out of the park, yet again!

Dined on April 29, 2016

We started at the Bar with Anna, enjoyed the happy hour specials for drinks and appetizers. She makes a yummy vodka martini. My husband and I enjoyed the chicken fried oyster appetizer and the 5 tastes for $20 appetizers the octopus was my favorite, followed by the duck mortadella and pimento cheese spread on their version of an everything bagel chip. Pickled Salmon and one other tastes were divine. We sat in the room by the kitchen, waited on my Mike. I had the halibut for dinner and my husband had the spring chicken. We enjoyed both. We shared a bottle of AR, an Argentinian Blend. Friday night they have 25% off bottles of wine. Yummy and great presentation.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Creative menu, excellent meal.

Dined on April 21, 2016

Wonderful presentation of delicious meal. The halibut was outstanding. Dessert was the highlight of a fantastic evening

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Great service, attractive setting, inter ...

Dined on April 14, 2016

Great service, attractive setting, interesting menu.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent meal

Dined on April 2, 2016

A wonderful and enjoyable meal. Interesting dishes. Mine was a halibut, excellently prepared with quinoa and other veggies. Small but pleasant wine list. Very attractive setting.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

One of the best in Rehoboth

Dined on March 27, 2016

We had been meaning to try Bramble & Brine for a while, and took the opportunity Easter Sunday. While the menu is a little 'foodie', we all really enjoyed the quality, and presentation for each course. Our wine selections were great (helps to have oenophile friends), and the options were varied enough to satisfy them. Would certainly highly recommend for a special occasion, as the prices were on the medium/high end, but even with that taken into account, we still felt that the prices were very reasonable based on the quality of the meal and the experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful food and servicw

vip
Dined on February 26, 2016

This restaurant is not for people who like large portions and common food choices. I fit neither of those categories, and we loved it form soup to spaghetti to pink grapefruit cake to duck. It was a wonderful evening and meal in every respect. A foodie's dream.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Experience!

Dined on February 26, 2016

I must admit that after reading some of the reviews, I was a bit concerned about going there.After dining there, I was pleasantly surprised and thought that "those people"must have eaten elsewhere. It's a bit pricey,but not over priced. Our meals were 5 star to say the least and so was the service!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

A disappointment

Dined on February 21, 2016

The restaurant was all the talk when it first opened, so I was looking forward to trying it, now that has re-opened. We opted for the tasting menu (at $75 each), with a bottle of wine (not the pairings). Each course was pretty much a disappointment, some things were fair at best (the fluke, the short rib and the soup), others were okay to good (the Ferment dish, and the creme caramel, for example), but none of the courses were wonderful, or even excellent. In retrospect, I wish we had simply sampled different small, medium and large plates instead of choosing the tasting menu. The service was attentive, so at least that was a plus. We left, spending roughly $200 on nothing memorable at all.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Felt like we were traveling abroad

Dined on February 21, 2016

I can't remember the last time I had such an interesting meal in a U.S. restaurant. Great for adventurous foodies, and because they have so many small plate and charcuterie options, we got to try a lot of things. The wait staff was knowledgeable of the menu and happy to make suggestions. Their drinks were yummy, too - we had the Granada, a tequila drink, and liked it a lot. They have a tasting menu, but we thought it sounded like too much food, so we picked a la carte and had a lot of fun with it. Service was great, too. It wasn't too busy, so we didn't rush and they never brought anything out before the previous course was cleared away. Quite a nice change of pace from most restaurants these days.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience3
service3

Nice atmosphere and service. I thought t ...

Dined on February 15, 2016

Nice atmosphere and service. I thought the menu was limited and my entree was a little small for the price.

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Fantastic

Dined on February 15, 2016

Truly a delight from start to finish. Our dining experience exceeded our expectations. Warm, welcoming, modern, artistic atmosphere. Cozy bar with creative and well made cocktails. Attentive, knowledgeable, and classy waitstaff. And of course our meals. Inventive, creative, unique, delectable. All incredibly presented. Loved this place. Superb!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

In my humble opinion, this restaurant is ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

In my humble opinion, this restaurant is not what it used to be. When it first opened, we dined there a couple of times; and, I very much enjoyed my meal. This time the food was mediocre; although my husband enjoyed his tender duck. I think my tastes are more plebeian and simpler than the current menu. Bramble and Brine may be a good restaurant for foodies.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The restaurant was very nice and the food was good

Dined on February 13, 2016

We got the tasting menu which was good but not excellent. The wine pairing was nice, but quite expensive. We should have stuck with getting something off of the menu and going with a favorite. It was valentine's so probably not a good choice to get the tasting menu. We had a soup which was cold and the fish was very salty. The beef was excellent. I would recommend this place for a small group or two people only as tables are very close to one another. The cocktails were excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service2
value2

Mike b

Dined on February 13, 2016

We were there with 6 people after we ordered I t took a long time the manger came over said something happened with computor never sent order to Kitchen we understood that but he offered to get drinks if we wanted one so we all ordered but to our surprise and disappointment we wherechared for them . we all cross the restaurant off our list.

food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Ahhh! It's back!

Dined on February 13, 2016

For their opening weekend, the chef focused on flavors and unique offerings. I had the octopus and who knew that it would be considered another white meat?!? So tender and flavorful...I was able to cut it with my fork. The cocktails were superb, especially the Granada and the Manhattan. I highly recommend the duck. We will definitely be back.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience4
service3

Lovely dinner. My OK review of service w ...

vip
Dined on January 3, 2016

Lovely dinner. My OK review of service was because they were slow, but it was really crowded and of season so that has to be a tough adjustment.

food5
ambience4
service5

Great way to start the new year with din ...

vip
Dined on January 1, 2016

Great way to start the new year with dinner in Rehoboth ! Loved B & B!

food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful evening

Dined on December 31, 2015

A beautiful New Years Eve spent in a lovely ambiance and well presented dishes. The staff was attentive and pleasant. My chocolate desert was exceptional. Enjoyed spending a moment watching the kitchen staff through a special window. Would do it again.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding Meal

Dined on December 25, 2015

Such a beautiful restaurant. Excellent, attentive service without being intrusive. The scallop appetizer was incredible! Possibly the best scallops we have ever had! The venison and the lobster were both very, very good. The desserts were amazing. The decor is wonderful, and the ambiance felt just right.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

"Xmas Eve 'Tasting Menu' a Real Treat...but..."

vip
Dined on December 24, 2015

Booked early at this elegant Rehoboth eatery...opted for 2 'tasting menus' (6 courses, $65.); 4 courses were truly excellent (poached oysters, seared tenderloin, osso bucco, and scrumptious dessert), the soup and rabbit just so-so. The French Press coffee was a nice touch (but $6. extra?), and our excellent Spanish wine (Godelia Mencia) good value at $36. It was a busy night, our personable server, Mike, did well juggling multiple tables but 2 of our courses reached our table ahead of the necessary 'tools' (spoon/fork/knife)...perhaps more coordination needed between kitchen & server (or adding silverware ahead for 'tastings'. Recommend interior seating to avoid busy, trafficked entry-way; this is a really good dining location...and could be outstanding with consistent attention to detail

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First ime dining here

Dined on December 24, 2015

Excellent in every way. Reservations were honored and checked by phone and level of courtesy was wonderful. This was Christmas Eve when many dining places are closed here and those open are limited in menu and service. This was was tops in every respect and I note the friendliness of the others eating in engaging near-by tables. This will be a frequent stop until summer.

Tags: special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Great food and atmosphere--desert amazing!

vip
Dined on December 24, 2015

All food excellent from butternut squash to lobster to pork to chocolate desert. Atmosphere was private and allowed for talking, service was attentive. Prices a little high but worth it.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food2
ambience4
service5

Nice environment but....

Dined on December 10, 2015

The ambiance was fantastic! I was disappointed with the menu selection but this could have been due to the off season. I will certainly try them out again with hopes of a better selection.

food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful dining experience

Dined on December 7, 2015

We were celebrating our anniversary and our dining experience was perfect. The food was deliciously prepared, beautifully presented and served professionally. Our server allowed us time to enjoy each course. The wine we selected was reasonably priced and excellent. A wonderful evening with dinner.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service4

Localfoodie

vip
Dined on December 6, 2015

Don't know how quiet it would be if the front room is full.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food2
ambience5
service2

Nice but expensive

Dined on October 24, 2015

Very limited menu - mostly Duck dishes. Service as poor to fair. Expensive for the meal.

food5
ambience5
service5

Terrific Meal

vip
Dined on October 17, 2015

We "found" Bramble & Brine on Open Table looking for a place to eat when we went to Rehoboth for the weekend. The deckle and duck were amazing, topped off with a great dessert and a delicious Spanish wine. The service was attentive, and the jazz in the background was just loud enough to be heard, but not intrusive. We will definitely return!

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Fine Dining in Rehoboth Beach

vip
Dined on September 30, 2015

Great food and service. Can't wait to return for a second time and try the items we debated but chose others. We enjoyed the Butcher Board app and soup of the day. The octopus and salmon choices were great. The rabbit entree was also very good. As was the Tangerine Pot De Crème dessert.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service1

From Five Stars to Two

Dined on September 27, 2015

The usual nice experience at the bar did not translate to table service. Our wait was long, our wine pour was meager, our waiter was indifferent, and our bronzini looked suspiciously different from those served at nearby tables (trout perhaps). We have been singing the praises of this place all summer. No more.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic Overall Experience

Dined on September 19, 2015

My husband and I were on an a baby-free night out and had seen some great reviews about this restaurant. We were not disappointed. Everything from our drinks to our dessert and everything in between was beyond expectations. Our waiter, Mike, was extraordinary and offered up great suggestions. We would highly recommend this restaurant and we hope to return when we get another night out to ourselves.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Best Restaurant in Rehoboth

Dined on September 19, 2015

After going to so many mediocre restaurants in Rehoboth it was refreshing to find one that is actually good!!!! We were welcomed in with open arms. The background music was light and very nice. Our waitress was terrific and helped with the selections.....and the food.....AMAZING. I will go back next time I"m in Rehoboth

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service5

Great experience and will be back again soon!

vip
Dined on September 12, 2015

This was our first time but won't be our last. Our entrees were outstanding - the steak and duck. Great taste and prepared exactly as we requested. The apps and deserts were unique. The staff were very friendly and attentive. There are a number of great places in Rehoboth and this is one of them. Enjoy!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Bramble & Brine is one of the best resta ...

vip
Dined on September 12, 2015

Bramble & Brine is one of the best restaurants in the area. We dine here frequently and are never disappointed. Everyone in my party raved about the duck. I had the salmon, which was outstanding. You can't miss when you dine here.

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience3
service4

good food. overpriced wines

vip
Dined on September 6, 2015

We were greeted warmly then shown to the worst table they had (with many others empty). When I complained we were quickly moved into another room and from that point the meal was very satisfactory The tasting menu was interesting, balanced and included an excellent dessert.

Tags: fit for foodies
food1
ambience1
service1

A disappointment

vip
Dined on September 6, 2015

Had high expectations for this place but it greatly disappointed. The atmosphere was stuffy and hot, the food was mediocre. My dish was very salty and the salads had no dressing. Lot of better places in town.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.