About Bracco World Cafe & Island Bar

5001 S Western Ave
Sioux Falls, SD 57108
View Larger Map

Escape to your Sioux Falls paradise destination. Indulge in our Hot Zone menu featuring Island Paradise, Asian, Creole, and American Cuisine.
Relax on the patio and enjoy free live music from your local favorites during the summer time.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Global, International, American, Caribbean

Hours of Operation:
Monday through Saturday 11am - close. Sunday 10am - 10pm. Sunday Brunch: 10:00am - 2:00pm

Cross Street:
57th Street and Western Ave

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(605) 338-4386

Website:
http://braccorestaurant.com/bracco/siouxfalls/

Entertainment:
Please see our website for our live music schedule.

Executive Chef:
Owners Dave Thompson and Rick Thompson

Private Party Facilities:
Bracco has two dining rooms that can be made private. The first one holds up to 25 guests and the second up to 50 guests. Call us to receive more information.

Private Party Contact:
Nancy Schmelling: 605-338-4386x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Salad Bar
  • Ribeye
  • Chopped Steak
  • Pad Thai Noodles w/ Shrimp
Salad Bar
Ribeye
Chopped Steak
Pad Thai Noodles w/ Shrimp

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Bracco World Cafe & Island Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.2

ambience

4.2

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
South Dakota
Best Food
South Dakota
Best Service
South Dakota
3 More
Best Ambiance
South Dakota
Most Booked
South Dakota
Most Booked
Sioux Falls
Best Restaurants in Sioux Falls ›

Great for Brunch (12)
Special Occasion (8)
Great for Outdoor Dining (8)
See All
Great for Lunch (7)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Good for Groups (6)
Kid-friendly (5)
Romantic (3)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Scenic View (2)
Hot Spot (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Sort By:
Newest
188 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The food for the Sunday Brunch was good. ...

 
 (South Dakota)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

The food for the Sunday Brunch was good. No complaits about the food. The waiter if you can call "Jack" was his name. He never told my sister or myself his name. Only by the Bill we never his name was "Jack". If meeting "Jack", "Jack" greet us by " I will be right us." With a monotone. Not very into his job. Which made no sense. And he would try removing my plate before I was finished. And it told him over ten minutes for us to receive our bill for the sunday bunch. Which I did not give "Jack" a Tip because of his Service.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

We liked that we got a booth, but it was ...

 
 (South Dakota)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

We liked that we got a booth, but it was right next to the door and my date hated that. Also, we had 3 different waitresses which was not great. Having 3 waitresses makes no sense and we would get asked the same question several times.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

The food was very good! We had a very at ...

vip
 (South Dakota)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

The food was very good! We had a very attentive waitress!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We were traveling and needed somewhere t ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

We were traveling and needed somewhere that was still serving dinner at 9:00pm. They were not very busy and we received good service. It was a notch above typical bar food. The guacamole was average, as were the chips. My shrimp tacos were very good. I had a "layered" frozen rum drink that was excellent. It reminded me of drinks I was served in the BVI.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Family group of seven went for Mother's ...

 
 (South Dakota)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Family group of seven went for Mother's Day--skipped the brunch, went later so we could order off the menu. Ages 6 to 89 all had excellent meals and the service was wonderful. Good time had by all, large variety of food & beverages from which to choose. Something for everyone.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mother's Day Brunch

 
 (South Dakota)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

The Mother's Day Brunch was fantastic. We had a reservation and were seated immediately upon arrival. The food was outstanding as well as the options available. Our server was great as well. This was our first time there and it will certainly not be the last.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent Service

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Even though the restaurant was very busy on Mothers Day for brunch, our table service was outstanding. Also, they had an incredible variety of food for the buffet brunch. Grandma loved it and so did we!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was good but the Sunday brunch was ...

 
 (South Dakota)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Food was good but the Sunday brunch was too expensive per plate.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

a great place to eat!

 
 (South Dakota)
·Dined on January 29, 2016

WE had excellent service, great food, and a menu that had many unique things to choose from. Will definitely be going back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Finally had a good meal and good service.

vip
 (Nebraska)
·Dined on January 1, 2016

I hesitate to recommend Bracco to a friend, because over the past year we have had several evenings of bad experiences. The service has been miserable, slow, forgetful, ridiculous....you get the picture. We were slow to reserve a table for two couples for New Year's Eve, so we were forced to reserve here. The food was excellent for all four of us. I had a chef's special that was delicious, and we were all happy. The salads are especially fun here, with a tropical flair. The true gem for the evening was the quick and wonderful service we had. Not too fast, but just right, and very friendly and helpful. We will probably try Bracco again even when we don't have to!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Open late - great after going to an event

 
 (South Dakota)
·Dined on October 2, 2015

Very accommodating to late diners! n We went there after the Symphony and their late night menu had a lot of selection and the food was great!!

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Birthday Brunch

 
 (South Dakota)
·Dined on September 27, 2015

We love Braccos! We have to drive an hour to get there and we are never disappointed. We have been enjoying their brunch buffet for special occasions and it is always a hit. My husband loves the breakfast or lunch variety. My children are always well treated there are always find something to tempt their sometimes selective appetites. We wish Bracco's was closer so that we could enjoy it

more often!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Terrible service.

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on September 6, 2015

Service was awful. We were seated in the bar and everyone kept walking by us and never acknowledged we existed. After going to the bar to get beverages, the bartender offered to be our waiter. Even though he was trying hard, his job was definitely more to being behind the bar. We had to ask for almost everything every step of the way from drinks, ordering dinner, getting condiments, refills on coffee (that came out cold) and getting our bill. 2.5 hours later we finally left. Even though we weren't in a hurry, it made for a very frustrating evening. The manager came by and asked how everything was. No one at the table said anything until I murmured an "ok". I realize he shouldn't have had to read my mind but it was obvious we were not pleased with the service. He just continued on as if he didn't really care anyways. In fact, that seemed to be the attitude of everyone there from greeters to waiters to the manager. There were far more receptionists it seemed, than wait staff. They were so busy congregating and chatting up front you could barely get their attention either. We have been here before and thoroughly enjoyed the service AND the food. It's as if they are resting on their laurels now. In fact, came back for brunch on Sunday thinking it couldn't be worse and was just "that night" that was off. Nope. Same situation on Sunday. Employees do not seem to enjoy working there and have no pleasure in providing a good dining experience for their guests. I think management needs to reevaluate the team standards and staffing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1

Great as always

 
 (South Dakota)
·Dined on July 26, 2015

Our server was great. I don't remember her name but she had only worked there for a week. She paid attention to my grandkids and made them feel special.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always Happy!

 
 (South Dakota)
·Dined on July 11, 2015

We have dined at Bracco's numerous times. The food has always been great! The services provided have yet to disappoint us. Clean, classy and always a good time for us and our guests.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

What happened?

 
 (Nebraska)
·Dined on June 27, 2015

Used to love Bracco, the food is always good. I made a reservation for my wife's birthday, the hostess was very pleasant and sat us at our table immediately. We then proceeded to sit at our table for the next 15 minutes without so much as a hello from anyone. Staff and management walked by our table several times and nobody acknowledged we were sitting there. The three tables adjacent to ours were being taken care of. We got up and left, again without any acknowledgement. Can't really be sure what happened, the restaurant appeared to be adequately staffed and we were sat in the middle of everything (not stuck in a corner). I hate to be negative, but I really don't see a repeat visit to Bracco in the future.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1

Fabulous Father's Day Brunch!

 
 (South Dakota)
·Dined on June 21, 2015

Had Father's Day Brunch at Bracco. Highly recommend Bracco for their fabulous brunch selection! From regular breakfast fare with unlimited Mimosa refills to salad and fruit bar to hot lunch selections and desserts, Bracco is your place. The restaurant is laid out well to handle the traffic easily, and for those who would prefer to dine al fresco, Bracco has a wonderful outdoor seating area complete with bar! I was a bit disappointed with the wait staff when waiting for drink refills, but overall Bracco's Sunday brunch is a place to celebrate any Sunday!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

Great Outdoor Dining

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 21, 2015

Good service, good food, and the weather was fabulous this particular day to dine outside.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

First time for brunch

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 14, 2015

There was a lot more on the buffet than I expected. The food had a definite tropical theme. The food we tried was delicious. The guava chicken and Asian salad were standouts. There was at least fourteen hot dishes, a full salad bar with delicious, ripe fruit, a nacho bar, a breakfast food bar (bread pudding, two kinds of eggs, potatoes, Belgian waffles, etc. and several mini desserts (brownies, cheesecakes, chocolate chip cookies and more). They have reasonably priced drinks, a great outdoor patio, and nice servers. They have a list of tropical drinks that all sounded good. The price was reasonable for the number of choices ($18.95). On Sunday brunch you can only order the buffet.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Highly recommend oven baked Mac and cheese.

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 12, 2015

Great food and service. Open table made it easy to book a table for seven people with very short lead time. Every one really enjoyed the good they ordered. Service staff were pleasant and attentive.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Same great service

 
 (South Dakota)
·Dined on May 24, 2015

We have enjoyed going out to eat at Braccos for the last three years. Always pleasant experience with a great menu and delicious food. We recommend the Fish tacos and the Make out mojito. The outdoor dining is a great alternative if noise is concern to you.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Awful good service

 
 (South Dakota)
·Dined on May 23, 2015

We went in with a reservation for 6. We got sat at a table that only fits 4. We are Muslim and cannot eat pork. We explicitly said to the waitress we cannot have pork and she gave us jambalaya rice with pork in it. Worst eating out experience in the last 10 years at Sioux Falls

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1

Excellent service! Great food!

 
 (South Dakota)
·Dined on April 12, 2015

Great experience from top to bottom. Garrison was our waiter and was tending bar but he never missed a step and was very attentive. The food was excellent and the salad greens appeared to be freshly picked. Just a great place to entertain guests or for a nice evening out with someone special. Highly recommended.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Brunch

vip
 (Nebraska)
·Dined on April 5, 2015

Went for brunch and it was great! The food choices were not just the usual.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Fish Tacos

 
 (South Dakota)
·Dined on March 28, 2015

I came here specifically for the fish tacos since it was lent. I have had them in the past and really enjoyed them. This time they tasted very good but only came with two tortillas and hardly enough fish to fill the tortillas. In the past they came with three tortillas and I usually had fish left over. For the price I payed for the meal I was extremely disappointed in the amount of food I received, especially since I know what they have been in the past. Disappointing Braccos...

Tags: Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5

Brocco a Great Place to eat!

 
 (South Dakota)
·Dined on March 27, 2015

Our daughter highly recommended Bracco's so we enjoyed our evening meal Thursday and Friday nights there. Thursday was wonderful. They seated us back in a quiet corner not even knowing it was our wedding anniversary, 32nd to be exact. Our server was very attentive to our needs as my wife can not have anything that has dairy products in it. We had a such wonderful experience there that we went back again on Friday night. There were different hosts this time and they seated us as the same table as the night before, not even knowing it, which was okay with us. We did have the same server and he was just as delightful and attentive to our needs as the night before. My wife and I had different entrees each night so we tried 4 different entrees between the 2 of us. All 4 were outstanding. We will definitely be back again when we are in town.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing new find!

 
 (Nebraska)
·Dined on March 27, 2015

Wow what a great experience! We went to Bracco's for our anniversary and had a fantastic meal served by a great waiter! The Manager was confirming with each guest that their meal was perfect at every table. The ambience was wonderful too! We were in town for two days and our experience was so awesome the first night that we ate there the next night too! The prices were very reasonable. We will be back again... and again!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Just OK

 
 (South Dakota)
·Dined on February 21, 2015

Had reservations and got right in. Were quickly greeted by our server and he took our drink order. After the drinks arrived it took longer and longer for server to return. We would have liked refils on drinks but meal was finished and we were ready to go before we saw him again. Wife was happy with her food but mine was only warm when it arrived, and a bit dry.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

What's not to like?

 
 (South Dakota)
·Dined on February 15, 2015

Our most recent visit was to celebrate the birthday of a friend. She loves the brunch and, of course, so do we so the choice was not difficult. The breakfast choices are so amazing one might possibly never be able to get to the rest of the brunch! Those tiny Belgian waffles are to die for! But for me the best thing on the entire brunch is the seared ahi. I COULD have eaten the entire tray but it didn't seem to be the polite thing to do so I had plenty of plate space to sample the salads and the hot entrees. If you can't decided what you'd enjoy the most--don't decide: have it all! When you're finally ready, check out the dessert buffet. Yes, buffet! There are so many bite-sized treats that you can still indulge in more than one!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The first and probably the last

 
 (South Dakota)
·Dined on February 15, 2015

I received a give card to Bracco and the wife and I thought we would try some place new. I was impressed with the size and room as it was well lit and moderate noise level. I ordered the flat bread as appetizers and a Resling wine, the pour was lacking and the wine tasted corked so I guess I started out a little underwhelmed, the wife had a fruit Martini. Next was no silverware or napkins, it was 8:30 so I won't think this was such a hard deal to have something on the tables or maybe when the appetizers arrived. On to my new york strip, I ordered Medium rare a little bloody, the wife had the surf and turf medium rare as well. I received a well done something about 35 minutes later. As to a valentine day meal I know everyone is busy and didn't mention to the hostess. the wife said she had a nice meal and we left, I went to chew my shoe as it was a little more fit for consumption.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2

not impressed

 
 (South Dakota)
·Dined on February 15, 2015

Not overly impressed. Food lacked flavor. For price did not get a portion to go with. Service was the sameyou would get at McDonalds if not worse. Not sure why people like it other then to flaunt money.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

Eat out often

 
 (South Dakota)
·Dined on February 7, 2015

We eat at this location and also the location at Okoboji. Normally we have good service and food, but the other night was a disappointing experience. We had drinks and ordered two appetizers, they came in a timely fashion, but we ordered coconut shrimp for one of them, but were delivered coconut chicken and was told this is what we ordered. Wrong, but anyway ate it and it was fine. Then we ordered our entrees, which took 45 minutes to get, and were visited by three different people several times to apologize for the long wait. A little over kill we thought! We finally received our meal and when we went to pay, their machines were down and waited another 30 minutes to get checked out and yes, many more visits and apologies...

If you have to wait for a table, I now know why, we were seated at 5:40 p.m. and left a little after 8:00 p.m.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

Overall Great Place

 
 (South Dakota)
·Dined on December 31, 2014

Always great food, great portions, great staff........

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great place for friends to meet

 
 (South Dakota)
·Dined on December 31, 2014

Love the shrimp tacos. They are my absolute favorite. You can have them with tortillas or lettuce wraps and both are so good.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

It's the place to be!

 
 (South Dakota)
·Dined on December 14, 2014

The food is always great, the service outstanding and the atmosphere one of the best! Love this place!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Not kid friendly

 
 (South Dakota)
·Dined on November 30, 2014

We had reservations for 4 adults with a high chair. During brunch, we were seated at a round corner booth. The high chair was too tall and sat back about 6" from the table. Did I mention this was brunch? Because of the round booth, it was very difficult to get in & out. Did I mention we had to ditch the high chair and use a booster? Impossible to get out now! Our ticket was $77, which we expected but we didn't expect to eat 1 plate for that price.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

Not a great deal.

 
 (South Dakota)
·Dined on November 16, 2014

First I should explain that I put myself through college working at a really nice restaurant down in Texas so I can be pretty particular about my dining experience.

The ambiance was nice and the noise level was good. Our server took good care of us and we reciprocated. My wife and I were just not overly impressed with the food we ordered. The appitizer was good! We got the fully loaded barbacoa nachos. That and our desert were the best parts of the meal. We had the chocolate cake and ice cream. The issue was really the main course. My wife had the Cajun tortellini which was rather salty. I had the jambalaya. I thought my food was good but it wasn't really what I was expecting. It wasn't really like any jambalaya I've had before and it wasn't spicy at all.

So, it's not that we hated anything... It just wasn't the best, especially for the cost. We could have had a comparable meal at the Pourhouse and gotten larger portions for half the cost. We actually enjoy the food there better anyways. I know a lot of people that love Bracco's but it's just not for us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4

Had family in town from WI and chose to ...

 
 (South Dakota)
·Dined on November 15, 2014

Had family in town from WI and chose to eat at Bracco. The meals were excellent and the service extraordinary. Will definitely be recommending Bracco to friends and other family.We had a wonderful time.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great

 
 (South Dakota)
·Dined on November 8, 2014

This was my second visit to the restaurant and I loved it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Octoberfest Offerings Are Great

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on October 11, 2014

We dine at Bracco fairly often, but seek out the Octoberfest / German meal offerings this time of year. We started out with 2 varieties of Octoberfest beers, followed by German Fare, which was great. The kids split the fondue platter, which is actually mini corn dogs, chicken strips and smiley fries with dipping ketchup, bbq sauce & cheese sauce.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.