Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.87mi
  2. Distance: 1.05mi
  3. Distance: 1.40mi
  4. Distance: 2.21mi
  1. Distance: 0.87mi
  2. Distance: 1.05mi
  3. Distance: 1.40mi
  4. Distance: 2.21mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.87mi
  2. Distance: 1.05mi
  3. Distance: 1.40mi
  4. Distance: 2.21mi
  1. Distance: 0.87mi
  2. Distance: 1.05mi
  3. Distance: 1.40mi
  4. Distance: 2.21mi

About Bow Valley Ranche Restaurant

The Bow Valley Ranche has two restaurants where people come and go in the Fish Creek Provincial Park's beautiful surroundings. Located at the end of Bow Bottom Trail SE, in Fish Creek Provincial Park, just follow the signs for Bow Valley Ranche.



The Bow Valley Ranche Restaurant is the new fine dining facility located in the restored Ranche House. Their menu features a contemporary interpretation of Alberta regional cuisine. The Grand Salon seats about 125 guests.



Charlie's room, seats another 25 and there are private dining dining rooms available. Sit down beside the massive fireplace in the William Roper Hull room or enjoy the covered wrap-around verandah during warm weather. Enjoy lunch, dinner, cocktails or weekend brunch. Reservations are recommended.

15979 Bow Bottom Trail SE
Calgary, AB T2J 6T5
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Canadian

Hours of Operation:
Winter hours

Lunch: Tuesday - Friday: 11:00 am - 2:00 pm

Dinner: Friday - Saturday: 5:00 pm - 10:00 pm

Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00 pm - 9:00 pm

Brunch: Saturday and Sunday: 10:00 am - 2:00 pm

Afternoon Tea: Saturday & Sunday: 2:00 - 4:00 pm - Seasonal


Holiday Hours:

Dec 24-25: CLOSED

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(403) 476-1310

Website:
http://www.bowvalleyranche.com/restaurants.html

Parking Details:
Plenty of complimentary parking within the park and a few metres to the restaurant

Additional:
Banquet, Fireplace, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch

Bow Valley Ranche Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (65)
Good for a Date (61)
Romantic (56)
See All
Scenic View (54)
Good for Anniversaries (49)
Great for Outdoor Dining (39)
Quiet Conversation (37)
Good for Birthdays (37)
Fit for Foodies (37)
Worth the Drive (37)
Great for Brunch (36)
Local Ingredients (35)
Cozy (31)
Creative Cuisine (29)
Sunday Lunch (29)
Great for Lunch (28)
Neighborhood Gem (26)
Notable Wine List (24)
Good for Groups (20)
Historic (16)
Afternoon Tea (14)
Business Meals (14)
Authentic (12)
Afternoon Coffee (12)
Fireplace (11)
Seasonal (11)
Casual (11)
Tasting Menu (10)
Private Room (8)
People Watching (7)
Fun (7)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Family Style (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Organic (4)
Tapas (4)
Hot Spot (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Great Beer (2)
Modern Decor (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Vegan (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Sort By:
S
697 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 2 days ago

Great restaurant in a beautiful park. Highly recommend the patio on a sunny day. Excellent food and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined 3 days ago

Great food, great setting, excellent service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined 3 days ago

Always a great experience at The Ranche, wonderful menu, great staff, good times!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Afternoon Tea, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined 4 days ago

Great food, and friendly service beautiful setting overall wonderful experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Calgary)·Dined 4 days ago

We enjoyed lunch at the Bow Valley Ranche, all four of us enjoyed our meals. I had a house salad, it was tasty but not enough to fill me up, I wasn't asked which size I wanted and it ended up being the smaller size. The others at the table had chicken, trout and the tuna burger; they all enjoyed the meal. While our server was pleasant, once the restaurant got a bit busier she neglected us. It took some time to have our plates cleared away and to get the bill. Also the fellow who filled our water glasses spilled water on the table and didn't acknowledge it so we wiped it up ourselves. The atmosphere is wonderful and for that reason we will likely return.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined 6 days ago

Great service and food as always

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined 6 days ago

Loved our waitress...so personable yet very efficient.

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Healthy, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined 6 days ago

Great place to eat and enjoy the peacefulness of the location!

Tags: Romantic, Authentic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined 6 days ago

This time was a family birthday meal. Always impressing with all aspects of the experience. Martin is such a friendly, professional and polite host that we look forward to seeing him there. He always has a smile and takes the time to invite us outside for the most spectacular family photo's. These are priceless memories. Slight adjustments to the menu is no problem so each one of us could find exactly what we wanted. A home within a house - thank-you!

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on July 18, 2017

The BVR restaurant is one of our local faves for special occasions. The atmosphere and personalized, caring service is second to none. The pork tenderloins and catch-of-the-day were amazingly prepared. Will come back over and over again.

Tags: Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on July 18, 2017

We sat outside with a great view of Fish Creek Park. Makes you forget that you are in the city. Food was excellent as was the service.

Tags: Scenic View, Casual, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on July 16, 2017

The reviews were amazing and the actual experience exceeded our expectations. Well done!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on July 16, 2017

I had the beef tenderloin and it was delicious! The waiter was super friendly and very good. I love the ambience and the whole area in fish creek park.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on July 15, 2017

The portion sizing of the sides was small for the price being charged. The food was good but my fish was burnt on the skin side and that meant that some of the meat was also burnt.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on July 15, 2017

For date night this location was amazing. For was excellent and the sommelier recommended a great wine pair for the surf and turf for two. Perfect night all in all.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on July 12, 2017

I was impressed with the food. It was unique cuisine and had many options no matter what your dietary restrictions are. The service was exceptional and the atmosphere nice and quiet. Their wine choices were plenty. The location of the restaurant is beautiful. Would definitely recommend!

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on July 12, 2017

Really enjoyed being in nature and loved the old building. The food was beautifully prepared and excellent.

Tags: Fun, Worth the Drive, Afternoon Tea, Vegan, Afternoon Coffee, Sunday Lunch, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on July 12, 2017

Thoroughly enjoyed the summer express lunch deal, however it took an extremely long time for the salad and entree to arrive. Definitely not an express meal.
The server was very professional and appoligetic for the food delay.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on July 9, 2017

We had the most delicious meal. Was our first time dining here. Food was amazing, service was perfect and topped it off by being introduced to the head chef was delightful! We will definitely return! Hidden gem in Calgary!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Tapas, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Excellent food, excellent service, at a wonderful location

Tags: Seasonal, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Beautiful location and building. Great ambiance. Patio is fabulous. Cocktails were unique and delicious. Waiter was great. Food outstanding. Will go back...

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on July 7, 2017

I took my wife out for dinner in a nice place where we could escape the heat. We loved the patio, it's a unique experience in Calgary and the house is beautiful. Our server was nice and the food was delicious. You should really try their elk tartare.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on July 4, 2017

Took our Saskatchewan friends to show them that Calgary was more than cement & asphalt! We picked a great night for weather and they were very impressed with the heritage, the open art gallery next door and the provincial park .....well, not to forget they loved the food!!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Sunday Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Casual, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 2, 2017

We went on Canada day and had the five course tasting. The food was great as always and our waitress was amazing. We asked her to take a picture of us and she suggested we go to the front for a better backdrop. All in all a great evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on July 2, 2017

All four of us had an excellent meal
Salad was presented in a very interesting fashion.
For mains I had beef Tenderloin and my wife the Halibut special, they were fabulous.
The Creme Brule was excellent
Our waiter Cameron was the Best.
A pricey restaurant but excellent food and setting.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on July 2, 2017

What a wonderful find! Such a delicious meal and lovely surroundings, we'll be back again!

Tags: Casual, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, People Watching, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on June 28, 2017

Beautiful facility nestled in Fish Creek Provincial Park. Exceptional meal and service to celebrate our 20th Anniversary.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on June 27, 2017

The view is outstanding. Bow Valley Ranche is situated in a 100 years old heritage building in Fish Creek Park which makes it one of a kind experience when paired with fine dining and an excellent wine selection. The servers were nice and friendly and the attention to detail is what makes this place truly special. I cannot say enough about the passion fruit dessert.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Cozy, Great Beer, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on June 25, 2017

We enjoyed our dinner very much. The service was great, we dined on the veranda on a lovely evening enjoying the flowers and view. We chose the Chef's Selections and enjoyed the interesting and delicious courses. A great destination for a special occasion.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on June 25, 2017

As always, we enjoyed an awesome meal at The Ranch. Service is excellent. My only complaint would be that, because it was a very warm day, it got very warm in the dining room. A/C would help.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on June 25, 2017

We popped in one Sunday(in May) for Brunch with our family when we were out for a hike in Fish Creek and decided to have brunch there. The food, service and staff were absolutely amazing! My husband and I (from Edmonton) were back down in Calgary for our daughter-in-law and grandson's birthdays this past weekend and decided to book brunch again for a wee celebration. Thoroughly enjoyed the food, service and friendly staff! Highly recommend this lovely restaurant in it's beautiful setting! Look forward to our next visit.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Afternoon Tea, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Our favorite restaurant and it has yet to disappoint. Always amazing food, service and the best ambiance. We find it hard to go anywhere else when we have a special occasion.

Tags: Fun, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on June 22, 2017

Great experience - service is outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on June 21, 2017

This was our first visit to the Ranche restaurant since it changed hands. The occasion was our Wedding anniversary. We sat on the deck overlooking the park. Truly a Country in the City setting. Every aspect of our evening was superb. The hostess and our waitress were first rate and added to the enjoyment of the occasion. The food, incredible and exceeded all expectations. Amazing variety on the menu. We hope to be back to experience them all. We had the surf and turf with Bison, a variety of seafood and 2 wonderful sauces. I am not prone to superlatives when it comes to writing a review, but cannot say enough about this wonderful place. To cap it all off, I had my 2nd hummingbird sighting as one stopped on the flowering bush right beside us.

Hats off to this fine dining establishment.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on June 20, 2017

Parking is a long way off for a person that has a problem walking any distance but other than that it was a great experience for my wife's 7th birthday

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on June 20, 2017

Multiple servers, issues printing out our order, coming back to ask us what we ordered again, huge delays in getting our food, great presentation but terrible value for amount of food purchased. Generally overpriced. Nice area.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on June 20, 2017

Excellent! Sitting on the veranda was so beautiful and relaxed. You feel like you have left the city. So much better than the fine dining restaurants in the Calgary Core that are so noisy with no ambiance. The house is beautiful, the food creative and exceptional, and the staff friendly, attentive and wonderful! In my opinion the best fine dining option in Calgary!

Tags: Romantic, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Disabled Access, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on June 20, 2017

I had a business dinner at the Bow Valley and I have to say it was outstanding. Everything was perfect - the service was on time, the food was delicious (you have to try their surf and turf), the wine list was impressive and the patio was cozy and quiet with a scenic view to Fish Creek Park and beautiful peonies in bloom. I will definitely come back for a weekend brunch with my family.

Tags: Scenic View, Business Meals, Cozy, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Attentive service
Food well presented
Gardens are beautiful
Very accommodating to our 9 and 12 year old boys

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on June 18, 2017

I think in comparison to other restaurants that the menu is less appealing, wine is pricy and not a lot of variety. The location is amazing and our service was great!

Tags: Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.