Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.87mi
  2. Distance: 1.05mi
  3. Distance: 1.40mi
  4. Distance: 2.21mi
  1. Distance: 0.87mi
  2. Distance: 1.05mi
  3. Distance: 1.40mi
  4. Distance: 2.21mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.87mi
  2. Distance: 1.05mi
  3. Distance: 1.40mi
  4. Distance: 2.21mi
  1. Distance: 0.87mi
  2. Distance: 1.05mi
  3. Distance: 1.40mi
  4. Distance: 2.21mi

About Bow Valley Ranche Restaurant

The Bow Valley Ranche has two restaurants where people come and go in the Fish Creek Provincial Park's beautiful surroundings. Located at the end of Bow Bottom Trail SE, in Fish Creek Provincial Park, just follow the signs for Bow Valley Ranche.



The Bow Valley Ranche Restaurant is the new fine dining facility located in the restored Ranche House. Their menu features a contemporary interpretation of Alberta regional cuisine. The Grand Salon seats about 125 guests.



Charlie's room, seats another 25 and there are private dining dining rooms available. Sit down beside the massive fireplace in the William Roper Hull room or enjoy the covered wrap-around verandah during warm weather. Enjoy lunch, dinner, cocktails or weekend brunch. Reservations are recommended.

15979 Bow Bottom Trail SE
Calgary, AB T2J 6T5
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Canadian

Hours of Operation:
Winter hours

Lunch: Tuesday - Friday: 11:00 am - 2:00 pm

Dinner: Friday - Saturday: 5:00 pm - 10:00 pm

Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00 pm - 9:00 pm

Brunch: Saturday and Sunday: 10:00 am - 2:00 pm

Afternoon Tea: Saturday & Sunday: 2:00 - 4:00 pm - Seasonal


Holiday Hours:

Dec 24-25: CLOSED

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(403) 476-1310

Website:
http://www.bowvalleyranche.com/restaurants.html

Parking Details:
Plenty of complimentary parking within the park and a few metres to the restaurant

Additional:
Banquet, Fireplace, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch

Bow Valley Ranche Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

value

4.3

Noise

Moderate

99% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (77)
Good for Anniversaries (66)
Romantic (62)
See All
Scenic View (56)
Good for a Date (53)
Worth the Drive (51)
Creative Cuisine (47)
Good for Birthdays (41)
Quiet Conversation (39)
Cozy (36)
Local Ingredients (36)
Great for Brunch (35)
Great for Outdoor Dining (32)
Notable Wine List (31)
Good for Groups (31)
Fit for Foodies (28)
Great for Lunch (27)
Sunday Lunch (27)
Neighborhood Gem (26)
Authentic (22)
Business Meals (22)
Afternoon Tea (17)
Healthy (17)
Seasonal (16)
Fun (14)
Casual (12)
Afternoon Coffee (10)
Tasting Menu (10)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Comfort Food (6)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Kid-friendly (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Organic (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Hot Spot (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Live Music (3)
People Watching (3)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Tapas (2)
Bar Seating (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Live Sports (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort by
S
809 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined 4 days ago

best restaurant ever great food, great services and a wonderful atmosphere , your chef that night made my supper fantastic as I diabetic I really enjoyed my food for the first time and a very long time. I will be back many thanks for a great night with friends.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal, Fun, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined 4 days ago

The place is gorgeous and very warm. We had a birthday dinner here. Dish was good but not perfect. Beef tenderloin I asked medium was over cooked so it didn't taste that juicy. Lamb was good. Cod was ok and veal was great actually. The appetizer -Oysters were beautiful. We all like them.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined 5 days ago

beautifully decorated inside. loved the ambience. great service. we went for Jazz evening and sadly was only on for about an hour and a half.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on November 12, 2017

Bow Valley Ranche always has a delicious variety of menu options, fantastic wine and fun cocktails!

Tags: Seasonal, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Afternoon Tea, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 12, 2017

We love the bow valley ranch, we have been coming here for 10 years now, we have bought our family and friends to the ranch and everyone loves it. Never had a bad meal.

Tags: Cozy, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Healthy, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 11, 2017

I absolutely love going to The Bow Valley Ranch!!! Have had the best time, food & created amazing memories every time I go! :)

Tags: Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Fun, Scenic View, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 5, 2017

Great food and atmosphere , always love coming here

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 5, 2017

Restaurant is in a beautiful setting. We went for dinner and have to say the food was excellent. Great flavours. The wine list is extensive. Friendly staff and good service. In the future we are interested to check out weekend brunch and jazz nights. Thanks to staff for making our evening a nice experience!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
·Dined on November 4, 2017

We have been to the restaurant three times so far and thoroughly enjoy the unique dishes and ambiance! We tend to go on special occasions as we feel your restaurant is unique! Thankyou!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Kid-friendly, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 3, 2017

Thursday night is date night and the music is much appreciated. Martin always makes makes our evening extra special. A wonderful experience and evening.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 2, 2017

Ladies lunch, just 2 good friends. Lots of good conversation enjoyed with good wine & delicious food. Pleasantly greeted and treated by staff. Ambience perfect to feel cozy, especially once fireplace was turned on. Love the garden view, even on a snowy day. Background music was just that; we could hear ourselves with normal voices. We look forward to coming back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 29, 2017

Attended Brunch for our daughter's birthday. Good food and a lovely ambience with old world charm. Our server was excellent.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Afternoon Coffee, Great for Brunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 26, 2017

Great food. Amazing service. Will be back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 22, 2017

Late to seat us, hard to access wine menu
Took over an hour to get our entrees, food was average at best. our waiter Cameron was great definitely the save if the evening. Probably wouldn’t go back, there are lots of fabulous restaurants in Calgary and as much as I wanted this to be one, it wasn’t

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 22, 2017

The food was excellent and the service from Cameron was engaging, friendly and professional. George, the sommelier, provided enjoyable wine recommendations for our meal. We greatly the ambiance of our dinner for the first 45 minutes as we could have a quiet and private conversation and relish in each other's company seated near the fireplace for our anniversary. However, then a table of 5 very loud, unaware individuals were seated near us and the fine private dining experience soon changed to a loud pub atmosphere where we could no longer hear each other across the table. Unfortunate that such a table could change the dining experience so dramatically.

Tags: Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 22, 2017

Service was great even though it was busy. New menu was very tasty. Will be back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 19, 2017

Great afternoon spent with friends. Our server Cameron was just the right amount of fun but still professional. Made concessions for our vegan friend. We will definitely return and willl definitely recommend to friends.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Fun, Afternoon Tea, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 19, 2017

We both commented that it would be lovely to have been there ten days to 2 weeks ago when the leaves were at their best and sundown was a little earlier -- but everything else was truly delightful

Tags: Cozy, Great for Brunch, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 18, 2017

Wonderful atmosphere; great service; friendly greetings, outstanding food!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Authentic, Organic, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 15, 2017

We had Sunday brunch to celebrate my adult daughters birthday. The service was awesome and despite a wedding taking place creating some extra noise and confusion, the meal and service were awesome

Tags: Local Ingredients, Cozy, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 12, 2017

This restaurant is consistently excellent. It never disappoints.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Organic, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on October 12, 2017

The food was amazing. We had the capers salad, oysters . Rack of lamb and the catch of the day we will be back

Tags: Business Meals, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Live Music, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 11, 2017

The food was not to the standard one would expect from one of the "top" dining spots in Calgary. Ice water should be cold and include ice - tenderloin is better at - The Keg. The more I think about it - the more I regret celebrating our 47th Anniversary at Bow Valley Ranch - which also was not acknowledged by the staff.
Very disappointing.

Tags: Seasonal
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 10, 2017

I loved the experience and the setting. The staff is genuinely friendly. We were so relaxed that we had a gorgeous time. My mother enjoyed her birthday lunch and was treated to a dessert. My auntie loved her Vegetarian Buddha Bowl and found out from the waiter more about quinoa.
I wish I could eat there again in front of the fireplace cozy and chatty beneath the elk chandelier.

Tags: Vegan, Healthy, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Fun, Cozy, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 8, 2017

I found this place to be very unique and the food was fantastic. It's nice to be out in the park instead of the noisy downtown core. Thank you very much!

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
·Dined on October 8, 2017

We had an early supper reservation in the smaller dining area which made for very pleasant and quieter dining . Our various meal choices were all very well prepared, although the pork tenderloin was a bit dry and overdone and the sauce spicier than needed for roast pork.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 7, 2017

We had an 11:30AM booking with guests from out if town, it was terrific. We had been there many times ourselves and we were boasting about the ambience and the food and Bow Valley Ranche came through again. The service was excellent , the food was great and the setting in the park was beautiful.

Tags: Scenic View, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 7, 2017

Great food in a beautiful and historic setting. Highly recommended.

Tags: Cozy, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 1, 2017

Meals were excellent. Eggs Benedict had a light bechamel. Fantastic service. As soon as the waitress picked up the signs that someone in our party was vegetarian, she started asking the right questions and proposing alternatives to dishes that were not. Everyone enjoyed heir dishes. Professional service. Would recommend and will return.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 1, 2017

This is the second visit to Bow Valley Ranch and each time I had an extraordinary experience. The waiter was superb in his approach to our table, listening, offering suggestions and fully accommodating us. The food was excellent, the desert was to die for and the whole experience was worth talking about to all my colleagues at work! Bravo Bow Valley Ranch!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Afternoon Tea, Business Meals, Cozy, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on September 28, 2017

Everything was good--wine, beer, burgers, desert --the only poor thing was the small salad for 12.00
hardly covered the small plate--!!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on September 28, 2017

Went for fathers birthday dinner. All of our dishes were delicious and cooked to perfection. Extensive wine list (a few $60/bottle but most are over $80)

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 25, 2017

Have never been disappointed! Wonderful atmosphere, amazing food, and impeccable service.

Tags: Scenic View, Cozy, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on September 24, 2017

Great place!! Amazing food , totally reccomend for family

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Fun, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 24, 2017

Awesome brunch, they accommodated our large group, everyone enjoyed their food. 10/10

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on September 24, 2017

A pleasant Sunday brunch with my family. The surroundings are beautiful (especially this season). The ranch house is beautiful as well . Service was good and pleasant.The server took the time to let us know about the history of the ranch . Food was of good quality and pleasant to see. After our late breakfast we walked our meal in the so many passageways of Fish Creek park. Great sunday morning fun.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Afternoon Tea, Afternoon Coffee, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on September 24, 2017

Had an early Sunday brunch with family and got there before it got busy. Very attentive service. The scenic location is great for brunch as it allows for a nice walk before or after the meal. We had salmon eggs benedict and toasty mushrooms foie gras which were excellent, but we found the vegetable frittata a bit bland. Very good overall and recommended.

Tags: Cozy, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on September 22, 2017

The service was amazing and the intimate little touches that the staff did to make our experience memoriable, was appreciated and will never forget the experience.

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Live Music, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on September 22, 2017

We discovered Jazz night at the Ranche and try to make it a regular "date night". It's a relaxing wonderful experience. As always we are never disappointed. It was a lovely evening, great meal and friendly atmosphere. Martin is our highlight, always happy and attentive.

Tags: Live Music, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on September 21, 2017

We selected the Ranch as a tradition to celebrate our anniversary. Everything about this place is memorable. On the night that we were there, the waiter actually made the biggest positive impression on us for his sense of humor, his outstanding service, his impeccable sense of timing, and his remarkable ability to find a balance between being absent when we wanted to be alone and magically appearing when we required service. Of course, the food was brilliant, as always, and the drinks were amazing, though marked up too high in my opinion. I photograph the cocktail list because they're so delicious to replicate at home.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Late-night Find, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.