About Bow Valley Ranche Restaurant

15979 Bow Bottom Trail SE
Calgary, AB T2J 6T5
View Larger Map

The Bow Valley Ranche has two restaurants where people come and go in the Fish Creek Provincial Park's beautiful surroundings. Located at the end of Bow Bottom Trail SE, in Fish Creek Provincial Park, just follow the signs for Bow Valley Ranche.



The Bow Valley Ranche Restaurant is the new fine dining facility located in the restored Ranche House. Their menu features a contemporary interpretation of Alberta regional cuisine. The Grand Salon seats about 125 guests.



Charlie's room, seats another 25 and there are private dining dining rooms available. Sit down beside the massive fireplace in the William Roper Hull room or enjoy the covered wrap-around verandah during warm weather. Enjoy lunch, dinner, cocktails or weekend brunch. Reservations are recommended.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Canadian

Hours of Operation:
Winter hours

Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Dinner: Sunday 5:00 - 9:00

Brunch: Saturday and Sunday: 10:30am - 2:00pm

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(403) 476-1310

Website:
http://www.bowvalleyranche.com/restaurants.html

Parking Details:
Plenty of complimentary parking within the park and a few metres to the restaurant

Additional:
Banquet, Fireplace, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch

Bow Valley Ranche Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

99% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Calgary / Southern Alberta
Canadian
Calgary / Southern Alberta
Best Food
Calgary
3 More
Best Ambiance
Calgary
Romantic
Calgary
Canadian
Calgary
Best Restaurants in Calgary ›

Special Occasion (116)
Scenic View (97)
Romantic (88)
See All
Fit for Foodies (75)
Great for Outdoor Dining (70)
Good for Groups (59)
Great for Brunch (56)
Great for Lunch (54)
Notable Wine List (46)
Neighborhood Gem (45)
Kid-friendly (22)
Hot Spot (9)
Late-night Find (4)
Worth the Drive (1)
Good for a Date (1)
Sort By:
Newest
492 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Beautiful quiet setting in ahistoric bui ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined 3 days ago

Beautiful quiet setting in ahistoric building

inFish Creek Park Good food presentedwith flair.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

It was all very good. An excellent even ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined 4 days ago

It was all very good. An excellent evening. The food was even better than our first experience which was also very good.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Beautiful sett g and a lovely meal. Well ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined 6 days ago

Beautiful sett g and a lovely meal. Well served and we were not rushed.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We experienced outstanding service and e ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

We experienced outstanding service and enjoyed the special treatment on our anniversary. The food was consistently well prepared and delicious. We are definitely coming back and look forward to entertaining out of town guests and family members whenever possible at this fabulous place.

Tags: Authentic, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Historic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The staff here is very knowledgable, the ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

The staff here is very knowledgable, the service is quick and the food is delicious. Not to mention you couldn't ask for better scenery being in fish creek park. Definitely worth the price you pay but be prepared to spend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great restaurant in beautiful setting su ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Great restaurant in beautiful setting suitable for lots of occasions.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

This was my second visit to BVR for lunc ...

vip
 (Calgary)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

This was my second visit to BVR for lunch with girlfriends both times have been this time of year. Sat outside on the deck lovely venue, charming and very clean. Our server had a great sense of humour while remaining professional. I would love to go back for dinner with my husband before the snow flies 🍷

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

As always a wonderful dining experience ...

vip
 (Calgary)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

As always a wonderful dining experience with great service and friendly staff. Food was amazing. Location is amazing day or night. I truly recommend going to anyone as you wont be disappointed. Enjoy !!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

On Saturday some friends from away joine ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

On Saturday some friends from away joined us at the restaurant, they were in total amazement from the minute they walked up to the front gate, the landscape, the garden, the smoker, the house. it was all so beautiful, when we arrived the hostess was very curtious and helpful, after being seated by the beautiful fireplace our waiter arrived with drink drink requests and specials of the day, the drinks were very well timed and the waiter was very knowledgeable about the building, food and wine. when the food came out it was presented beautifully and tasted exceptional, our out of town guests repeated several times throughout the night what an amazing place this is tucked away in calgary. we will return and so will they. Thank you Bow valley Ranche

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly, Hot Spot, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall very good; would like to see mor ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Overall very good; would like to see more vegetarian options on the menu

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

Food and service were excellent as alway ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Food and service were excellent as always. We sat on the outdoor patio and some of the Pokemon go players were a bit distracting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

This was my wife's second time within th ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

This was my wife's second time within three days. The service is exceptional as was the Char and scallops. The scenery gives you the feel of being out of the city, as we observed Deer feeding along pathways. We will be returning soon

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A place that everyone in Calgary should ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

A place that everyone in Calgary should dine at at least once. The service was very good, as was the setting.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

All food we have was excellent with one ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

All food we have was excellent with one exception the tomatoes bisque, was not homemade , only one of us order it ..

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

We were celebrating 3 birthdays for the ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

We were celebrating 3 birthdays for the 12th,13th & 14th.

The main room was taken up by a large wedding so we were in one of the smaller rooms.

Nice and intimated for the 6 of us enjoying a family dinner.

The table of 4 next to us was quite loud but O.K.

Good meal ,good service from our attentive waiter and sommelier deserving a 20% gratuity.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Second time we've been there. Service is ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Second time we've been there. Service is very good. I ordered the porkchop, which I had the first time because it was so good. Disappointingly, this time the chop was very poorly done and a third of it was fat. it was still raw close to the bone. Must have been an off day in the kitchen because eveything else we've had there has been stellar. The waiter made good by striking the chop from the bill. We'll be back!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

I had brunch with a friend here on Sund ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

I had brunch with a friend here on Sunday -Aug. 7th.

Jose was the best server I've encountered at The Ranche - efficient, engaging & knowledgable!

My friend & I had different variations of Eggs Benedict & both were delicious.

The Creme Brûlée for dessert was perfect & flavorful.

Wonderful location to stroll after a leisurely brunch.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time for brunch. Great experience. ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

First time for brunch. Great experience. Jose our waiter was very pleasant and professional. Arthur the GM came by to check on us and bought us a mimosa. Welcoming and friendly place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Had a wonderful brunch, service was exce ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Had a wonderful brunch, service was excellent ,food was awesome and would highly recommend the restaurant to everyone...😊

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Good food but noisy

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Good food but noisy

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Food was excellent, service was very goo ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Food was excellent, service was very good just a little slow. We will come back again ... Enjoyed the experience very much!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

It was fantastic, the table and our wait ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

It was fantastic, the table and our waiter was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I was served by Jason. Great wine sugges ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

I was served by Jason. Great wine suggestions, not over bearing but professional. The scenic view along with the food is an excellent reason to always make the trip there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

We were a family of 5 adults celebratin ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

We were a family of 5 adults celebrating young 87th birthday!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Ranche did not have my reservation i ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

The Ranche did not have my reservation in their system :-(

Thankfully they were still able to seat us but I would have been pretty frustrated if they were full.

The hostess checked a couple times and my reservation was not there even though I pulled up the Open Table confirmation that I had received on my phone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very nice atmosphere, very good food, go ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Very nice atmosphere, very good food, good service, historic location.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We very much enjoyed our brunch at the R ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

We very much enjoyed our brunch at the Ranche. It was a beautiful day spent on the veranda, with good food, great friends and attentive service! We will be back!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

what a great experience this is the th ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

what a great experience this is the third time we have been to the Ranche Restaurant, but the first for our friends. food was great as usual service was good waiters are always engaging and knowledgeable. manager and staff very friendly and welcoming. love this place

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Have wanted to dine here for longer than ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Have wanted to dine here for longer than I can remember. Recommend placing YOUR visit here further up your list of must try. Lovely food and thoughtful wines available served by attentive staff and wrapped in a beautiful setting.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful place to have our 30 th weddin ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Beautiful place to have our 30 th wedding anniversary supper on the veranda. food was great, service was exceptional as the restaurant was not very busy on a Tuesday night.

The only distraction was the Pokemon hunters outside the gate, amusing only, not a major distraction.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Fantastic dining experience . The venue, ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Fantastic dining experience . The venue, food and service are outstanding .

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

there was a wedding at the time we were ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

there was a wedding at the time we were there so it got pretty loud at times, but we were in the room where our server did close the door and it was really nice. Awesome food, amazing service, amazing server. Just wish the Pokémon GO people wouldn't crowd around the restaurant, overall will definitely be coming again :)

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always such a treat dinning at the Ranch ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Always such a treat dinning at the Ranch, service is excellent, food outstanding. the Tatare is the best we have ever had. The wine list is excellent and Arthur has suggested some great wines. Set in Fish Creek park makes for a superb view.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent outdoor veranda Very polite at ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Excellent outdoor veranda

Very polite attentive service

Excellent food

Baby romaine Caesar salad 10/10

Carrot soup 10/10

Scallops 8.5/10 rated by our guests

BC halibut beautifully pan seared and juicy Thank you. Black lentils beautiful - please a little less salt though 9/10

Tenderloin enjoyed v much by my husband 9/10

Raspberry Creme brûlée 10/10 - beautiful velvet smooth Creme brûlée with just the right amount of topping. Extremely well done. I would have preferred a little less sugar sweetness in the Creme brûlée but that is my preference not necessarily the perference. Thank thank you

Raspberry

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had a great time out on the desk. The ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

We had a great time out on the desk. The food and service was exquisite. They are expensive but well worth it for a great relaxing experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Hidden gem! Nice ambiance. Fantastic fo ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Hidden gem! Nice ambiance. Fantastic food! Service was professional, yet not pretentious. Extensive wine list with many excellent choices including a very good selection of BC wines. Comfortable setting. Eat in the well appointed dining room, or in the summer, outside on the covered veranda. Will go there again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Express menu for lunch was a great deal, ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Express menu for lunch was a great deal, even better..... it was delicious. Will be back soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I have been numerous times before. This ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

I have been numerous times before. This time was okay. It wasn't amazing. I had the Halibut, and it was just okay. The fish itself was cooked perfectly, but too many overwhelming flavors mashed together just made it weird and off putting. Our water glasses were constantly filled which we like!! But the waiter was extremely pushy trying to up-sell with appetizers, drinks and desserts. The restaurant had a few larger groups, and it was extremely loud. I would suggest - when you have couples coming in for a romantic dinner. Seat them in one of the other smaller rooms (if not booked by private function) rather than in the main room. Or at least offer this. I probably won't go back unless it is for a wedding or some function.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

My husband and I love this place. It's n ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

My husband and I love this place. It's nestled in the trees of Fish Creek park. It's nice and quiet down there, away from the hustle of the city. Food and service are fantastic!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We chose to go to the Ranche to celebrat ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

We chose to go to the Ranche to celebrate a few special occasions because we were taking some family photos in Fish Creek Park. It was originally chosen for the convenience, but I will definitely be going out of my way to go back again. The ambiance was wonderful for a family gathering and there are lots of things for children to look at and explore. The food was delicious and the portions were fair. Every server that interacted with us was friendly and professional. I was very impressed. THANK YOU!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.