Bow Valley Ranche Restaurant

4.6
990 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
CAN$31 to CAN$50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Canadian
Top Tags:
  • Scenic View
  • Special Occasion
  • Good for a Date
The Bow Valley Ranche has two restaurants where people come and go in the Fish Creek Provincial Park's beautiful surroundings. Located at the end of Bow Bottom Trail SE, in Fish Creek Provincial Park, just follow the signs for Bow Valley Ranche.



The Bow Valley Ranche Restaurant is the new fine dining facility located in the restored Ranche House. Their menu features a contemporary interpretation of Alberta regional cuisine. The Grand Salon seats about 125 guests.



Charlie's room, seats another 25 and there are private dining dining rooms available. Sit down beside the massive fireplace in the William Roper Hull room or enjoy the covered wrap-around verandah during warm weather. Enjoy lunch, dinner, cocktails or weekend brunch. Reservations are recommended.
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Canadian
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Winter hours

Lunch: Tuesday - Friday: 11:00 am - 2:00 pm

Dinner: Friday - Saturday: 5:00 pm - 10:00 pm

Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00 pm - 9:00 pm

Brunch: Saturday and Sunday: 10:00 am - 2:00 pm

Afternoon Tea: Saturday & Sunday: 2:00 - 4:00 pm - Seasonal


Holiday Hours:

Dec 24-25: CLOSED
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(403) 476-1310
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Smart Casual
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Plenty of complimentary parking within the park and a few metres to the restaurant
Additional
Banquet, Fireplace, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch
What 990 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.6based on recent ratings
4.6
food
4.7
service
4.7
ambience
4.3
value
Noise · Moderate
96% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 2 days ago

It's been years since we'd been to The Ranche, and never for lunch. What an overdue experience! We were able to secure a table on the wraparound porch, enabling us to really settle into the gorgeous surroundings.

The menu choices were quite varied and our foursome put it to the test .... vegetarian burger (looked exactly like a medium cooked beef burger, thanks to the beets in the mix), salmon with farro risotto (my gawd .... the sauce!) and a braised beef short rib sandwich with yummy sweet potato fries. We were welcomed, fed and fuelled by the delightful waitstaff. The wind picked up, so we moved inside to a quaint sitting room to continue our conversation.

Then the skies opened. And opened. And opened. The staff was quick to assure us that we could stay as long as we wanted to wait out the worst of the storm. They usually close lunch at 2:00 to prep for dinner. We were welcome to stay for dinner, if we preferred. The lunch was so delicious, we were tempted!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 3 days ago

Great food and great service. You will not leave hungry and the ability to accommodate food sensitivities is great. Highly recommend this as a lunch or dinner destination.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined 3 days ago

We sat next to a table with 4 adults and 3 small children who spend most of the 2 hours we were there getting up and down out of their chairs to attend to the little ones who had no interest in sitting at the table. It was very distracting! We were hoping to have a more relaxing night celebrating our anniversary on their outside porch. The dress code seemed to be anything goes- we thought it would be a little more formal.
Considering the drive and the ambience not measuring up to our expectations from website descriptions and photos, not sure if or when we’ll be back. It was in short much more casual then we anticipated. Our waiter was lovely though and the food tasty!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 17, 2018

Wonderful evening. Good food. Friendly service. Will return.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 16, 2018

We took my Dad for an early Father’s Day brunch and every thing was fantastic from the attentive service to the amazing food. It was so good that we are going back this week for our anniversary!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 15, 2018

This is our favourite restaurant for our anniversary dinner. Great food, staff and atmosphere.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 13, 2018

Food was excellent. Location is quiet and scenic. Food prices are high but acceptable for special occasions.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 11, 2018

Possibly the best steak I have ever eaten....and I have eaten a lot of steak...my husband and I had the angus beef filet...my parents had the halibut..all amazing! Service was great...music could have been turned down a teenie bit...but whatever!!! I highly recommend!!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 9, 2018

Anniversary.
We received complimentary champagne and dessert.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 9, 2018

Was such a great experience - and the food was wonderful. My family from out of town was really impressed.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 9, 2018

It was good. The server could have checked in a bit more often.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 9, 2018

We’ve recently moved to Calgary and this was our third time having dinner at this restaurant, and each time we’ve sampled different things from the menu, and each time it’s been an amazing food experience. The service has been impeccable, and the ambiance has been outstanding. We ate outside all three times and the garden and flower baskets add to the beauty of this restaurant. Desserts were very good and we paired them with a good dessert wine from their good selection. So far, it’s one of our best dining experiences in Calgary.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 9, 2018

Birthday. They did a great job.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 8, 2018

It’s a very beautiful place with good service and very good food (gastronomic food).

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 7, 2018

37th Wedding Anniversary - Thank-you for the excellent service Martin.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 3, 2018

Was very good except the music from other room was very loud which made it difficult to hear. That was distracting to a very good meal.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on June 3, 2018

The menu options were attractive in menu presentation but the food quality was disappointing...
Hash browns were greasy/bland and the asparagus ( in prime season ) was over done and tough. The prosciutto seemed stale.

Service by the staff was much superior to the food.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 1, 2018

Went for an evening date. Left very pleased. The food was delicious, the waiter entertaining, and the ambiance really matched the cabin feeling. Made a very good impression on both of us.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 31, 2018

Amazing meal at a nifty restaurant

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 28, 2018

This was one of the best outings I have ever had. The ambiance is unbelievable, the server Cameron was kind and knowledgeable, the food was absolutely fantastic. We sat outside and he even brought us OFF for the mosquitoes! I will return.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 27, 2018

Sadly, this restaurant falls over spectacularly on service. We went for brunch, booked ahead and sat down. 20 minutes to get an order placed. Took 50 minutes from arrival for the food to arrive. I'd ordered proscuito, asparagus and poached eggs. No eggs. I asked my waiter what happened to the eggs and instead of being horrified and whisking it away to be dealt with by the kitchen, he started to argue with me that he'd only seen the dish once before but believed it didn't come with eggs. I was furious!
He had to go and speak to someone, and only then came back to take my plate away. It came back uncerimoniously with eggs and was almost dumped back on the table. Very grumbled apology. Unbelievably bad handling of a kitchen stuff-up.
A shame, as the food - when it came back complete - was absolutely delicious.
They had clearly service issues, as when it came to paying the bill, we tried 3 times to get attention for the bill, eventually had to walk up to the bar and ask for it, and then after waiting 25 minutes for someone to come back, we left the table and hung around the cash desk trying desperately to get anyone's attention.
They kept saying how busy they were. Fine - but don't take so many bookings that you plainly can't handle the business that you've committed to serving. And train your staff better, even if they're only weekenders.
To add insult to injury - the card machine only gave us three options for tipping - 18%, 20% and 25%.
It was outrageous - to screw up food, argue with customers, leave people hanging around for the best part of 40 minutes trying to pay your bill and then give them no option but to pay at least 18% tip. Come on people.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 27, 2018

The service was excellent and the food delicious. The beautiful park setting makes this a great spot for brunch.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 25, 2018

Food was spectacular and the service is above and beyond. Very happy with our experience

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 24, 2018

We really enjoyed our anniversary lunch - 49 years married. The food was really excellent - loin steak and BBQ chicken were our entrees. The tomato salad starter was stupendous!!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 21, 2018

The Ranche is in a class of its own. Fortunately, someone had the brilliant idea that combining exquisite world class fine dining with the original homestead culture of Alberta, and Calgary in particular, would work. One of the primary reasons my wife and I had our wedding at the Ranche 14 years ago was because it oozed authentic REAL Alberta. My wife and I very much look forward to the 3-4 times a year that we return for another amazing meal steeped in excellence.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 20, 2018

The environment is so good and the server is so nice to let me tie my puppy outside the fence. We hade brunch. Food is ok.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 20, 2018

Great food, great service and wonderful atmosphere. Went for brunch on Sunday and thoroughly enjoyed everything! Will be back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 20, 2018

Awesome staff. Been there a few times and it’s always a treat!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 20, 2018

The Bow Valley Ranche is consistently delicious meals with quality ingredients. Brunch is amazing and the menu has something for everyone. One of our favourite restaurants in Calgary and definitely the best in the south east area.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 20, 2018

It was our 39th wedding anniversary and the food and service was outstanding. What a lovely spot to sit and relax and enjoy some different cuisine. If it wasn't so windy that evening, we would of loved to dine outside. Truly a wonderful evening. Thank you.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 19, 2018

My husband & I enjoyed our 46th Wedding Anniversary dinner with you. It was delightful and
delicious. The staff was friendly and very efficient. Thank you for an enjoyable evening.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 18, 2018

The food was outstanding. Our 90 year old Mother commented that it was the best food she had ever had in a restaurant. The service was excellent - attentive but not overwhelming. We had not been to the Ranche in sometime and we were pleasantly surprised at the variety on the menu and the reasonable prices.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 18, 2018

The food and atmosphere were marvellous for our large group but it is not the place to lunch if you are on a timeline. It took 3 hours for our group of 12 to seat and eat despite the restaurant being almost completely empty.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 16, 2018

We enjoyed a lovely birthday lunch on the verandah-it was a gorgeous day-lovely music playing.We tasted a few wines before selecting. Lunch was great.A very enjoyable summer lunch experience.Excellent server.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 13, 2018

My sister and I took our Mom out for Mother's Day Brunch, and also for her 75th Birthday. We had a lovely light light and excellent service! I went home and told my family about it, and stated we will need to go back together for a special occasion (we live in NW so it is a little far for everyday). Thank you!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 13, 2018

The food was really bad, but the ambience really made up for it

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Absolutely beautiful food, scenery and service - highly recommend!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

We went here for Mother’s day brunch, it was truly stupendous! The food was delectable and the service was really quick. Would highly recommend this hidden gem

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

This was our first time trying brunch and it was excellent! Food was very good. Staff treat us very well. Handled our food allergy exceptionally well. We were so pleased and we will definitely try brunch there again!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Owesome!
Best meat and side vegetables!
The price tells the quality.
I love the food.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
25