Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.87mi
  2. Distance: 1.05mi
  3. Distance: 1.40mi
  4. Distance: 2.21mi
  1. Distance: 0.87mi
  2. Distance: 1.05mi
  3. Distance: 1.40mi
  4. Distance: 2.21mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.87mi
  2. Distance: 1.05mi
  3. Distance: 1.40mi
  4. Distance: 2.21mi
  1. Distance: 0.87mi
  2. Distance: 1.05mi
  3. Distance: 1.40mi
  4. Distance: 2.21mi

About Bow Valley Ranche Restaurant

The Bow Valley Ranche has two restaurants where people come and go in the Fish Creek Provincial Park's beautiful surroundings. Located at the end of Bow Bottom Trail SE, in Fish Creek Provincial Park, just follow the signs for Bow Valley Ranche.



The Bow Valley Ranche Restaurant is the new fine dining facility located in the restored Ranche House. Their menu features a contemporary interpretation of Alberta regional cuisine. The Grand Salon seats about 125 guests.



Charlie's room, seats another 25 and there are private dining dining rooms available. Sit down beside the massive fireplace in the William Roper Hull room or enjoy the covered wrap-around verandah during warm weather. Enjoy lunch, dinner, cocktails or weekend brunch. Reservations are recommended.

15979 Bow Bottom Trail SE
Calgary, AB T2J 6T5
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Canadian

Hours of Operation:
Winter hours

Lunch: Tuesday - Friday: 11:00 am - 2:30 pm

Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 5:00 pm - 10:00 pm

Dinner: Sunday 5:00 pm - 9:00 pm

Brunch: Saturday and Sunday: 10:30am - 2:00pm

Afternoon Tea: Saturday & Sunday: 2:00 - 4:00 pm


Holiday Hours:

Dec 24-25: CLOSED

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(403) 476-1310

Website:
http://www.bowvalleyranche.com/restaurants.html

Parking Details:
Plenty of complimentary parking within the park and a few metres to the restaurant

Additional:
Banquet, Fireplace, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch

Bow Valley Ranche Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (42)
Special Occasion (39)
Good for a Date (37)
See All
Fireplace (31)
Historic (31)
Fit for Foodies (30)
Good for Anniversaries (29)
Scenic View (27)
Cozy (24)
Local Ingredients (23)
Great for Brunch (21)
Worth the Drive (21)
Great for Lunch (19)
Good for Birthdays (19)
Notable Wine List (18)
Quiet Conversation (16)
Neighborhood Gem (16)
Business Meals (16)
Creative Cuisine (15)
Sunday Lunch (14)
Afternoon Tea (14)
Private Room (14)
Authentic (14)
Healthy (12)
Good for Groups (12)
Tasting Menu (9)
Great for Outdoor Dining (9)
Casual (9)
Seasonal (7)
Afternoon Coffee (7)
Comfort Food (6)
Kid-friendly (6)
Family Style (6)
People Watching (5)
Organic (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Fun (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Tapas (3)
Quick Bite (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Modern Decor (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Sort By:
S
639 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined a day ago

Enjoyed everything about our Brunch experience! The staff were great; food excellent and in great company!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Afternoon Coffee, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined 2 days ago

I love dining at the Ranch. I really enjoy the food and we always have really great service.

Tags: Business Meals, Scenic View, Romantic, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on May 22, 2017

It was good however my husband's birthday dinner was ok. To order a dessert and get charged for a birthday dessert it was ok. I mean, I've been to many fancy restaurants and yet they still give something on someone's big day. Especially, the amount you are paying。 Maybe once was good enough for me to try this place. The servers were good, checked up regularly but I was more confused who was my waiter. I had 2 people greet me. Food, is good as well.

Tags: Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on May 22, 2017

May 2-4 - stay in town treat!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Food was amazing! Expensive but worth it. We ate outside and it was really nice.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, People Watching, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on May 19, 2017

We thoroughly enjoyed our special Birthday lunch there with friends - not too busy thus not too noisy and easy to visit. Our waiter was most pleasant but at times refill coffee, our bill - could have been a bit better. Overall though, great place to come albeit a bit pricey for the average person.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Disabled Access, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Very happy with the food and the price was reasonable for the great quality. Enjoyed how the server treated our child as people and accommodating for them when necessary.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Afternoon Tea, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Food was good but quite expensive for what it was. The normal lunch menu is actually more interesting that the brunch menu. Clafoutis was also not real French clafoutis.
You pay for the location rather than the food. One waiter was really disgusting, his tie went in to the glass while he was pouring water. He did not excuse himself or replace the water. Too much waiters coming by and we were asked for 4 times what we want to drink. For the real service, they did not do good job as that waiter did not replace the water after he dipped his tie in.

Tags: Seasonal, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We like the resto inside the provincial park. Ambiance and the historic setting... plating is also nice and the food combination is perfect. I recommend the bread should have a option for wheat or rye bread for healthy meal... proportioning are also great.. and lastly taste of food is great.

Tags: Wood Oven, Quick Bite, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Historic, Comfort Food, Kid-friendly, Scenic View, Paleo Friendly, Seasonal, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Afternoon Coffee, Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options, Tasting Menu, Great for Lunch, Fun, Organic, Neighborhood Gem, Fireplace, Late-night Find, Good for Birthdays, Family Style, Private Room, Afternoon Tea, Authentic, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good Vegetarian Options, Healthy, Tapas, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Service was amazing. One of the best experiences we have had. Super impressed with the food quality and speed of service given it was Mothers Day and they had a lot of people to serve!

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We had a great time however I was taken aback by the noise. It was more than "energetic" it was loud and all of the tables weren't filled. I wouldn't hesitate to go back for sure but I'm hopeful the review might get seen and maybe some acoustic work could soften the sound.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Mother's Day

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Fireplace, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Service was adequate but food except for amuse bouche and appetiser was indifferently prepared. The fish and meat were over cooked while accompanying sauces were insipid and bland. The vegetables were cold upon arrival ( supposedly roasted)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on May 13, 2017

It doesn't appear they are willing to combine tables for larger groups in the main dining area. I called a couple of days prior to my reservations to see if I could add guests but was told that because it was Mother's day weekend, it was too busy for the time slot I chose (1pm). I was offered an earlier time slot but declined. However, after attending the lunch, I noticed that there were many empty tables (setting of 4) so I could only assume that larger parties (7 or 8 as I requested) had to be accommodated in separate rooms? I decided to keep my reservation for 4 but could easily have cancelled all together. I would have thought they would have been more accommodating considering they were clearly not full. Other than that, the service was very good as was the meal. A bit too noisy for the older folks though.

Tags: Authentic, Worth the Drive, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Wonderful food. Big portions and very kid friendly which made for a wonderful Mother's Day brunch. The house is beautiful and so quiet sitting right in Fish Creek park.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Private Room, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Went for mothers day brunch and a great meal was had by all. 2 generations of mums felt spoiled and the food was super yummy! The staff was great... attentive but not over bearing. Look forward to next year's brunch (and many mealso between then and now!)

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on May 13, 2017

I was there for Mother's day brunch. The food wasn't as flavorful as it was last year. The potatoes were boiled and bland while the sausages were undercooked.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Great food and ambience. Would recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on May 11, 2017

I went here on a date and it was amazing. The food was exceptional as was the service. The ambiance is stunning. I am definitely coming back!

Tags: Business Meals, Private Room, Notable Wine List, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Amaizing food, salad was fresh, tasted really good, I love Bow Valley Ranch!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Great dinner with my wife at the Bow Valley Ranche. Quaint vintage setting at the bottom of Fish Creek Park, nice understated decor. We had the corn veloute soup as the starter. Excellent. Had the Surf and Turf for two to share. And the creme brûlée and the calafoutis for dessert. Everything was very good no real complaints. Service was was good. Overall highly recommended place for a special occasion, a date or just a night out for hell of it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Very thing very good , just a little chilly where we sat



First time dining at this Calgary landmark and it won't be the last! From the time we first arrived to when we left, the service was exemplary. We were using a Groupon for a Dinner For Two special deal, and even though the restaurant was very busy, everything was excellent. The food was delicious, and the various courses brought to us with perfect timing. We were never wanting for water, and left feeling that we had just enjoyed a first-class dining experience.

Tags: Family Style, Good for Groups, Historic, Good for a Date, Fireplace, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Seasonal, Private Room, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Cozy, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on April 27, 2017

I have been here multiple times and it is one of the few fine dining experiences that doesn't disappoint me. Martin was our server that evening, he actually recommended a wine for my girlfriend, that she loved, and was cheaper than the one she originally ordered (who does that?). We shared oysters, then she had the pork duo, I had the lamb sirloin, and finished with death by chocolate. Every course was elegant and delicious. Decor is second to none in the city (Rouge is a close second for decor, but I would just tour the house and leave before paying them for a meal again). Bow Valley Ranche does it again!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on April 26, 2017

Great dinner, perfect for special occasions! The appetizer, main course and dessert were all fantastic.

Tags: Historic, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on April 21, 2017

great meal. beautiful setting. a great way to get out of the city in the middle of the city!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on April 17, 2017

Great food, love that they have a special Sunday prefix menu, love seeing local food on the menu!

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on April 15, 2017

I always enjoy the ambiance and service, the breakfast was slightly disappointing this time, eggs baked in hamshell, the ham was dry and almost not chewable, portion on the small side for the price. The service is impeccable, and would go back again for this reason and the ambiance.

Tags: Fireplace, Afternoon Coffee, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Afternoon Tea, Cozy, Special Occasion, Historic, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Very attentive staff and amazing food. A special
Thank you to Henry and everyone else looking after us. Was wonderful to see the staff work together as a team to make sure everyone was looked after. The only way to be. We will return soon. Thank you again for a memorable expirence for my Mom and I. Happy Easter!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fireplace, Fun, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Afternoon Tea, Sunday Lunch, Afternoon Coffee, Special Occasion, Historic, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Thanks for a nice brunch! Alecs was very pleasant and professional. We went with his recommendations and enjoyed having something a little different from the old standards. It was great!

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (München)·Dined on March 26, 2017

We love this place and go there several times a year.

Tags: Cozy, Organic, Special Occasion, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Love it as always. Wonderful location and attentive service.

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on March 19, 2017

We had a wonderful meal with added niceties, the service was very professional, and the atmosphere is lovely. All in all a great experience.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on March 18, 2017

We went here for our three Year anniversary and we were both pleased with the staff, meal, location and ambiance.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Really nice atmosphere at BVR - great service as always and delicious menu - everyone in our party had a yummy meal :)

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on March 11, 2017

We had another fantastic evening at the Bow Valley Ranch. They accommodated my 8 years old request to have Artic char on the kids menu.
The meal was delicious. The service was outstanding.
Hard to beat such a great location.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Private Room, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Took a girl there on our third date, it was the perfect evening. Our waiter Martin made us feel like
Home. In every aspect 5 star service.
The food was amazing , every course had wonderful flavours. We finished the night having a drink in front of the beautiful fire place. As we looked outside, we watch deer roam in the snow, what a beautiful setting.
A big thank you to Martin you went that extra step
Much appreciated .

Tags: Romantic, Fireplace, Historic, Good for a Date, Authentic, Cozy, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Great lunch with four friends. Service was superb.

Tags: Historic, Fireplace, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Excellent dining experience! Very good foods and excellent friendly service! Thanks Martin

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on March 6, 2017

Absolutely outstanding as always...the food the atmosphere the staff....all excellent.

Tags: Historic, Cozy, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on March 5, 2017

It has been a while since we have been here. The new ownership has upgraded the experience.
The service was impeccable. You do not only get the attention of your waiter, every employee that passes your table ensures that your experience is going better than you expected. The food is amazing, everything was perfection. They really do value the customer here.
The ambience of the great hall dinning room is not duplicated anywhere else we have been. It's warm and elegantly rustic. The tables are not crammed together allowing a more personal experience.
The Bow Valley Ranche is a hidden gem of a restaurant that you do not want to miss.
We will definitely be back soon!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Fireplace, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.