About Bow Valley Ranche Restaurant

15979 Bow Bottom Trail SE
Calgary, AB T2J 6T5
View Larger Map

The Bow Valley Ranche has two restaurants where people come and go in the Fish Creek Provincial Park's beautiful surroundings. Located at the end of Bow Bottom Trail SE, in Fish Creek Provincial Park, just follow the signs for Bow Valley Ranche.



The Bow Valley Ranche Restaurant is the new fine dining facility located in the restored Ranche House. Their menu features a contemporary interpretation of Alberta regional cuisine. The Grand Salon seats about 125 guests.



Charlie's room, seats another 25 and there are private dining dining rooms available. Sit down beside the massive fireplace in the William Roper Hull room or enjoy the covered wrap-around verandah during warm weather. Enjoy lunch, dinner, cocktails or weekend brunch. Reservations are recommended.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Canadian

Hours of Operation:
Winter hours

Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Dinner: Sunday 5:00 - 9:00

Brunch: Saturday and Sunday: 10:30am - 2:00pm

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(403) 476-1310

Website:
http://www.bowvalleyranche.com/restaurants.html

Parking Details:
Plenty of complimentary parking within the park and a few metres to the restaurant

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Fireplace, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch

Bow Valley Ranche Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.7

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Food
Calgary / Southern Alberta
Best Ambiance
Calgary / Southern Alberta
Great for Brunch
Calgary / Southern Alberta
9 More
Romantic
Calgary / Southern Alberta
Canadian
Calgary / Southern Alberta
Best Overall
Calgary
Best Food
Calgary
Best Ambiance
Calgary
Great for Brunch
Calgary
Romantic
Calgary
Special Occasion
Calgary
Canadian
Calgary
Best Restaurants in Calgary ›

special occasion (99)
scenic view (83)
romantic (74)
See All
fit for foodies (70)
good for groups (57)
great for brunch (54)
great for outdoor dining (54)
great for lunch (44)
notable wine list (36)
neighborhood gem (29)
kid-friendly (18)
hot spot (8)
late-night find (4)
Sort By:
Newest
461 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Fantastic dining experience . The venue, ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined 3 days ago

Fantastic dining experience . The venue, food and service are outstanding .

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

there was a wedding at the time we were ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined 4 days ago

there was a wedding at the time we were there so it got pretty loud at times, but we were in the room where our server did close the door and it was really nice. Awesome food, amazing service, amazing server. Just wish the Pokémon GO people wouldn't crowd around the restaurant, overall will definitely be coming again :)

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent outdoor veranda Very polite at ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined 6 days ago

Excellent outdoor veranda

Very polite attentive service

Excellent food

Baby romaine Caesar salad 10/10

Carrot soup 10/10

Scallops 8.5/10 rated by our guests

BC halibut beautifully pan seared and juicy Thank you. Black lentils beautiful - please a little less salt though 9/10

Tenderloin enjoyed v much by my husband 9/10

Raspberry Creme brûlée 10/10 - beautiful velvet smooth Creme brûlée with just the right amount of topping. Extremely well done. I would have preferred a little less sugar sweetness in the Creme brûlée but that is my preference not necessarily the perference. Thank thank you

Raspberry

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had a great time out on the desk. The ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined 7 days ago

We had a great time out on the desk. The food and service was exquisite. They are expensive but well worth it for a great relaxing experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Hidden gem! Nice ambiance. Fantastic fo ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Hidden gem! Nice ambiance. Fantastic food! Service was professional, yet not pretentious. Extensive wine list with many excellent choices including a very good selection of BC wines. Comfortable setting. Eat in the well appointed dining room, or in the summer, outside on the covered veranda. Will go there again.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Express menu for lunch was a great deal, ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Express menu for lunch was a great deal, even better..... it was delicious. Will be back soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I have been numerous times before. This ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

I have been numerous times before. This time was okay. It wasn't amazing. I had the Halibut, and it was just okay. The fish itself was cooked perfectly, but too many overwhelming flavors mashed together just made it weird and off putting. Our water glasses were constantly filled which we like!! But the waiter was extremely pushy trying to up-sell with appetizers, drinks and desserts. The restaurant had a few larger groups, and it was extremely loud. I would suggest - when you have couples coming in for a romantic dinner. Seat them in one of the other smaller rooms (if not booked by private function) rather than in the main room. Or at least offer this. I probably won't go back unless it is for a wedding or some function.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

My husband and I love this place. It's n ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

My husband and I love this place. It's nestled in the trees of Fish Creek park. It's nice and quiet down there, away from the hustle of the city. Food and service are fantastic!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We chose to go to the Ranche to celebrat ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

We chose to go to the Ranche to celebrate a few special occasions because we were taking some family photos in Fish Creek Park. It was originally chosen for the convenience, but I will definitely be going out of my way to go back again. The ambiance was wonderful for a family gathering and there are lots of things for children to look at and explore. The food was delicious and the portions were fair. Every server that interacted with us was friendly and professional. I was very impressed. THANK YOU!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

good sevice and good food presentation ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

good sevice and good food presentation in general but last time we ordered halibut and it was overcook .. wine a little pricy for the quality we get nice ambiance in resto and nice quiet location in the beautifull fish creek park ..

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

I brought an out of town guest to the Bo ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

I brought an out of town guest to the Bow Valley Ranche and am so happy I did! It was the first Stampede Weekend and this location gave us a peaceful break from the busy-ness of stampede, with the appropriate atmosphere. The service was great, the food was awesome and the atmosphere was perfect for a family outing where we could talk and enjoy!

Tags: kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We were amazed at the food, scenery and ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

We were amazed at the food, scenery and the service. What a lovely place to dine. Right in the middle of Fish creek park watching all the walkers, skaters and bike riders going by. We were also there when they had a wedding, what a great place to have one. Will be going back again, really enjoyed our selves.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Sunday brunch was excellent.

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Sunday brunch was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We came to celebrate an important 65th b ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

We came to celebrate an important 65th birthday and were treated like royalty. We had the lobster special which was superb. Our two other guests had the halibut and porkchops which were also excellent. The bonus was my husband's favorite soup is mushroom and it was a featured special that evening. The staff were excellent and helpful in every way right down to offering to take a photo after for us outside in the beautiful garden. Thank you Bow Valley Ranch Restaurant for helping make this event so memorable!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent...the setting is beautiful, th ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Excellent...the setting is beautiful, the service was excellent and the food was delicious. I had the salmon express lunch, which came with homemade soup, salmon and dessert which was just the right amount. It was a raspberry creme brûlée. Also the place was quiet and we could hear our conversation very well! A very nice outing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

When I reserved I told them it was a bir ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

When I reserved I told them it was a birthday and one person had a gluten allergy. The hostess said happy birthday. The waiter could have cared less. He told me what I could eat and I questioned the sausage. He said I am sure you eat it. There's no bread in it. I had to correct him and explain that wheat is used as a binder. He replied I guess I could check. I NEED to know or I would be very sick. He came back and said yah it sausage won't work so they can add bacon. He seemed annoyed that I also had to ask what the potatoes were.

No offer of a complimentary dessert for the birthday girl even though we spent more than $100 for breakfast. It is still a lovely place to go.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value2

It was fabulous! Charcuterie board was b ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

It was fabulous! Charcuterie board was beautiful, delicious, and well priced!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food, service and ambiance all excellent ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Food, service and ambiance all excellent for us. Made for a memorable evening.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My sister and I wanted to have a fine di ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

My sister and I wanted to have a fine dining experience on a pretty day. Your lovely restaurant fit the bill and we enjoyed it. We have no complaints and especially want to thank our servers for making it a day. To remember. Thank you.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overpriced. ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Overpriced. .

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Wonderful experience. I was entertainin ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Wonderful experience. I was entertaining guest from out of town and they loved the food, the building, the whole meal! Really enjoyed the outdoor artistry as well! Thank you for contributing to a positive Calgary experience for my company!.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Fantastic experience! The ranch is a pla ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Fantastic experience! The ranch is a place that we will for sure go back to!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great dining experience. The food was am ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Great dining experience. The food was amazing. The wait staff are awesome I have never seen people moving as such a fast pace. Its nice to see they all help each others tables etc. Top notch service. Would highly recommend, especially for a special occasion. Vanilla Soufflé was out of this world!

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A little shocked how loud other people w ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

A little shocked how loud other people were , it's not a bar and should be more quiet

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was fabulous and that table by the ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Food was fabulous and that table by the fireplace on a cool rainy evening was perfect. Thanks for making my 7-yr-old (who is used to fine dining) feel special.

Tags: kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I really appreciated everyone's effort t ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

I really appreciated everyone's effort to ensure the celebration of my wife's birthday was a wonderful surprise. Dana is a fantastic sever! She spoke clearly and made a connection with everyone at the table. The kitchen accommodated our large group with different arrival times and all of the food was delicious and wonderfully presented.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was delicious? We went for lunc ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

The food was delicious? We went for lunch and the salmon was the best I've had. The 3 course meal was fantastic!

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Were there for Father's Day brunch, at 9 ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Were there for Father's Day brunch, at 9am. Not a very large selection of breakfast items. I had reviewed the brunch menu online, it did have many breakfast items. The menu was much better served for a late-day meal, I didn't want lasagna, steak with fois-gras, or a roasted chicken for breakfast.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

i was quit disappointed ....way overrate ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

i was quit disappointed ....way overrated ....service really bad...food nothing special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

Not what it used to be!

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

My wife and I were disappointed with our meals. We ordered the Eggs Benny (one traditional and the other salmon). We noticed that the portions seem much smaller than our last visit and the Hollandaise sauce was bland. I think that we expected more taste from the Hollandaise sauce, which almost tasted like one out of a package. What happened?

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

44 year Anniversary lunch

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

We had attended a wedding at the Ranche a few years ago and when we were trying to choose a special place for our anniversary we rembered this spot. When we arrived we were greeted promptly and seated on the lovely veranda as it was perfect weather. The service was attentive the food was delicious and we certainly be back again..it was the start of a perfect day..much better than last year's lunch at Notables...but that's another story..

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Good food, but a little overpriced

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

We go to The Ranche about once or twice a year. The service is always okay (nothing exceptional), the surrounding location is beautiful (however, I wish they would situate diners more often in the original part of the house instead of the great hall, which is lacking in ambiance) but the food is always very nice, albeit on the pricey side - especially the appetizers and soups and salads. $12 for a small bowl of butternut squash soup??! That's just crazy. The main meals are always nicely done, and the laid back atmosphere, short commute from home and surroundings of Fish Creek Park offer a nice evening out.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

Excellent cuisine a perfect place for o ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

Excellent cuisine a perfect place for our 60th anniversary. Everything was as we had hoped and we will be back with friends.

jamesg

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was wonderful as always. Special t ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Food was wonderful as always. Special thanks to the chef who makes my eggs benedict with just egg yolks, due to an egg white allergy I have. Thank you, I can enjoy this no where else.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

The food was amazing, from appetizers to ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

The food was amazing, from appetizers to dessert. The service was wonderful and everyone in the restaurant was helpful from the waiters to the management. They made our night unique by writing on our dessert, which was a special surprise!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place to have a nice dinner!

vip
 (Calgary)
·Dined on May 19, 2016

Great place to have a nice dinner!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Beautiful location, amazing food

vip
 (Calgary)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

Such a lovely old world restaurant set in nature. Great food - caesar salad, carrot ginger soup were both excellent first courses. Main course selections from our group were pork chop, tenderloin and scallops and each was tasty and well presented. Desserts of chocolate souffle, creme brulee were yummy ending notes to a great evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Really enjoyed the mothers day brunch. W ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Really enjoyed the mothers day brunch. Went early so the servers were very attentive and the food came out in a timely manner... our only concern was the kids menu.... $12 for two pieces of white bread with a smear of Nutella and 5 slices on banana? Not great... everything else was lovely :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

The Lamb Sirloin and au jus was fantasti ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

The Lamb Sirloin and au jus was fantastic. Waited 2 extra minutes for the Salmon to be replayed as it didn't meet the maitre d's inspection (not that we would ever notice). That's attention to detail. Server was very personable and attentive.

We had a terrific dinner. Thank you.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great spot great food

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on May 4, 2016

With the beautiful surroundings of Fish Creek outside the window, to the lovely decor of the Heritage home , to the attentive waiters, and finally the amazing food prepared for you.....all this equals a great day out! The Ranche never fails me!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.