About Bow Valley Ranche Restaurant

15979 Bow Bottom Trail SE
Calgary, AB T2J 6T5
View Larger Map

The Bow Valley Ranche has two restaurants where people come and go in the Fish Creek Provincial Park's beautiful surroundings. Located at the end of Bow Bottom Trail SE, in Fish Creek Provincial Park, just follow the signs for Bow Valley Ranche.



The Bow Valley Ranche Restaurant is the new fine dining facility located in the restored Ranche House. Their menu features a contemporary interpretation of Alberta regional cuisine. The Grand Salon seats about 125 guests.



Charlie's room, seats another 25 and there are private dining dining rooms available. Sit down beside the massive fireplace in the William Roper Hull room or enjoy the covered wrap-around verandah during warm weather. Enjoy lunch, dinner, cocktails or weekend brunch. Reservations are recommended.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Canadian

Hours of Operation:
Winter hours

Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Dinner: Sunday 5:00 - 9:00

Brunch: Saturday and Sunday: 10:30am - 2:00pm

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(403) 476-1310

Website:
http://www.bowvalleyranche.com/restaurants.html

Parking Details:
Plenty of complimentary parking within the park and a few metres to the restaurant

Additional:
Banquet, Fireplace, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch

Specials

New Years Eve Dinner

Saturdays from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Specials

New Years Eve Dinner

Saturdays from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Details

A 5-course festive feast with beautiful selections to ring in the New Year $79 per person. Reservations required 403-476-1310. Excludes Tax and Tip. Please note that 2.5 MAX hours will be allotted to all reservations. Special valid Dec 1, 2016 - Dec 31, 2016 on Saturdays from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM.

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Details

5 Course Menu | $79 per person
Special Menu for the evening. Options per course will be available.
Please note 2.5 hours MAX will be allocated to all reservations on NYE Evening.

Bow Valley Ranche Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

99% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Calgary / Southern Alberta
Best Food
Calgary / Southern Alberta
Best Ambiance
Calgary / Southern Alberta
8 More
Romantic
Calgary / Southern Alberta
Canadian
Calgary / Southern Alberta
Best Overall
Calgary
Best Food
Calgary
Best Ambiance
Calgary
Romantic
Calgary
Special Occasion
Calgary
Canadian
Calgary
Best Restaurants in Calgary ›

Special Occasion (40)
Romantic (36)
Scenic View (33)
See All
Historic (28)
Good for Anniversaries (26)
Good for a Date (22)
Good for Groups (22)
Fit for Foodies (21)
Quiet Conversation (21)
Good for Birthdays (21)
Worth the Drive (20)
Fireplace (18)
Cozy (18)
Creative Cuisine (17)
Great for Lunch (16)
Great for Brunch (15)
Authentic (15)
Neighborhood Gem (15)
Great for Outdoor Dining (13)
Local Ingredients (13)
Notable Wine List (12)
Sunday Lunch (9)
Private Room (9)
Comfort Food (8)
Business Meals (8)
Healthy (7)
Family Style (6)
Seasonal (6)
Casual (6)
Kid-friendly (6)
Tasting Menu (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Afternoon Tea (4)
Outstanding Value (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Fun (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Wood Oven (1)
Tapas (1)
Organic (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Spicy (1)
Live Sports (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Dancing (1)
Live Music (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Vegan (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Modern Decor (1)
People Watching (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Waterfront (1)
Great Beer (1)
Sort By:
S
538 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Beautiful ambiance in Fishcreek park, fo ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Beautiful ambiance in Fishcreek park, food is always good althogh a little in the pricy side but you also pay for impeccable service. I highly recommend this gem, such a treat to go there.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Special Occasion, Afternoon Coffee, Afternoon Tea, Sunday Lunch, Historic, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Fireplace, Private Room, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great ambiance, fantastic service, food ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Great ambiance, fantastic service, food was excellent...

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Fireplace, Historic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We found the atmosphere had a nice ambie ...

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 1, 2016

We found the atmosphere had a nice ambience to it, cozy & warm.

The menu was quite extensive & included a wide selection & options.

The service was excellent.

Just need a few more roadsigns to get there as GPS didn't seem to work!!!

Tags: Comfort Food, Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Historic, Good for Groups, Romantic, Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The food unique and seasonal and everyth ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 27, 2016

The food unique and seasonal and everything tastes amazing. I would and have recommended this place to anyone who needs a great dinner, brunch, or special occasion.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Good for Groups, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The atmosphere at the historic "Ranche" ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 26, 2016

The atmosphere at the historic "Ranche" restaurant in Fish Creek Provincial Park was wonderful, the food was very good and very nicely presented, and the service was exceptional. The only improvement I could suggest would be adding a few of the lunch menu items onto the weekend brunch menu to offer some variety other than items with eggs.

Everyone in our group enjoyed our meals (including very tasty desserts, which we do not normally have), the ambience of the restaurant, and the great service. Also, the park is a great place to go for a walk after a very filling and satisfying meal.

Tags: Historic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

My husband and I went here last night fo ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 23, 2016

My husband and I went here last night for our 4th Anniversary. The restaurant was so cozy and warm. You just felt great in there on a cold night. The service was AMAZING!! Martin was great, he found me an amazing wine that I LOVED, he offered to take pictures of us on our date night, and picked the perfect location in the restaurant for the picture.

The food was the best lamb and steak we have ever had!! We ate super slow bc we didn't want it to end. We are a younger couple so going to a place like this was a treat as we are on a family like budget, but we will 100% come again on our next special night out. Thank you Bow Valley Ranch for a great date night and Martin for being the best waiter we have had in a long time.

Tags: Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Fireplace, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This restaurant has always been in my to ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 21, 2016

This restaurant has always been in my top 3 restaurants for Calgary, sharing a top spot with juggernaut 'Q Haute'. The food never lets you down. The times I have gone, there weren't many tables, but don't let this fool you. If anything, it only made the meal that much more appealing. The staff always takes extra care of us, and the service is prompt and professional. The menu is always fresh and features a variety of local meats. The presentation is pristine, enhanced only by the taste itself. This quiet, secluded restaurant is as shiny of a gem as one can find here in Calgary. For those of you who are afraid to pay a little more for amazing food, there are a handful of fast food restaurants up the road about 5 minutes.

Tags: Fireplace, Disabled Access, Good for Groups, Wood Oven, Tapas, Organic, Good for a Date, Afternoon Tea, Neighborhood Gem, Quick Bite, Molecular Gastronomy, Authentic, Spicy, Live Sports, Healthy, Afternoon Coffee, Business Meals, Great Beer, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch, Dancing, Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Paleo Friendly, Worth the Drive, Live Music, Historic, Happy Hour, Open Kitchen, Private Room, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Outstanding Value, Family Style, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Vegan, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Seasonal, Cozy, Comfort Food, Late-night Find, Modern Decor, Fun, Quiet Conversation, People Watching, Sunday Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Gluten Free Options, Waterfront, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

I had the best birthday brunch with my s ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 19, 2016

I had the best birthday brunch with my seven girlfriends here yesterday. The food was delicious, all the the staff were friendly and above all the best fine dining service experience yet!

Tags: Casual, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Historic, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious food, wonderful service, excel ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Delicious food, wonderful service, excellent wine list. A bit pricey but worth it for a special occasion!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Brunch is best! We recently went for bru ...

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Brunch is best!

We recently went for brunch and were pleasantly surprised to find out they had updated their brunch menu. Their new waffle with greek yogurt, berries and nuts is delicious. If you like thick French Toast, then this is your place. I would bypass the pastries platter and move straight into entrees. The service is always top notch and we love coming here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Always a treat. One of my favourite plac ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Always a treat. One of my favourite places to go. Consistently a high quality of food. Quiet. Comfortable. Very special and in a beautiful park. How does it get any better than that!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had a fantastic dinner and the staff ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 13, 2016

We had a fantastic dinner and the staff were wonderful! Great evening out!

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Our out-of-town friends were completely ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 9, 2016

Our out-of-town friends were completely satisfied with service and the food and said the restaurant building reminded them of their first date at Stone Jug in Nfld! We all thoroughly enjoyed the ambience!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Romantic, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food, great service, I will co ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 8, 2016

Excellent food, great service, I will come back for sure.

Tags: Family Style, Authentic, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The atmosphere was lovely . The food wa ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 6, 2016

The atmosphere was lovely . The food was wonderful and we enjoyed ourselves.

Tags: Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Staff bent over backwards to keep our gr ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Staff bent over backwards to keep our group happy!

Tags: Historic, Paleo Friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

We had an amazing dinner from start to f ...

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 6, 2016

We had an amazing dinner from start to finish. What a beautiful spot in the park!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic food tonight! Duck tartare was ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Fantastic food tonight! Duck tartare was unbelievable as was the Lamb Shank. We have always had great meals here and will keep coming back!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Awesome meal, as was the service. We had ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Awesome meal, as was the service. We hadn't been to the Ranche for a few years (since the new ownership) but the menu is excellent, the food very well prepared and presented. The crew accommodated us by pairing wines with the courses. A very enjoyable evening. Highly recommended - we will be back.

Tags: Healthy, Private Room, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best food I have ever had since I have b ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Best food I have ever had since I have been living in Calgary!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

Wonderful location and excellent surroun ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 31, 2016

Wonderful location and excellent surroundings. The atmosphere would be enhanced with the adfition if linen table loths. Our first two courses were excellent. We would certainly go back.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value4

We have been here twice in the past 2 we ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 30, 2016

We have been here twice in the past 2 weeks and both times were amazing. This last visit was the best meal I think I have ever had. This is our favorite restaurant and we are never disappointed. I always recommend it.

Tags: Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Fireplace, Scenic View, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Kid-friendly, Historic, Outstanding Value, Private Room, Local Ingredients, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Incredible meal and ambiance! The charcu ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Incredible meal and ambiance! The charcuterie board and our mains were incredible. The service was lovely and not snobby like most high end restaurants and they treat children with the utmost respect with an incredible gourmet menu. The server even brought out a special birthday surprise for our daughter!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Family Style, Local Ingredients, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We started with the charcuterie board wh ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 29, 2016

We started with the charcuterie board which was fantastic. Nice selection of meats, cheeses and pickled items. We opted for the Surf and Turf for two; again it was wonderful. Bison, scallops, shrimp, fish and plenty of veggies. We ended with the heavenly tiramisu. Service was great; very attentive. We will definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service and great food. We come ba ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 26, 2016

Great service and great food. We come back every year sometimes twice a year. Never a disappointment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always an enjoyable evening! Good food ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Always an enjoyable evening! Good food with a welcoming comfortable ambiance

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

I hadn't been to the BV Ranche in a whil ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 19, 2016

I hadn't been to the BV Ranche in a while but was not disappointed. The Salmon was a hit as was the A. Tuna salad.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Tasting Menu, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Went for brunch on Saturday. Eggs Benny ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Went for brunch on Saturday. Eggs Benny was great as well as the service. Will definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Lovely! Our server was excellent and the ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Lovely! Our server was excellent and the food was delicious! Highly recommend!

Tags: Historic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place, beautiful setting Very frie ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Great place, beautiful setting

Very friendly service, food very good and creative.

I would highly recommend this restaurant

The setting in the park is so very beautiful

Good easy parking

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Absolutely amazing place to dine.. Alth ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Absolutely amazing place to dine.. Although a bit expensive, it's totally worth it. Delicious fresh local food and excellent service.. This is our third time here and we will definitely be back again..

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Scenic View, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

My Mom treated my sister-in-law and myse ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 4, 2016

My Mom treated my sister-in-law and myself to a birthday lunch. We had never been before and were very pleased with everything. The food (two had the striploin and one had the salmon) was fabulous. We love our food and we were not disappointed. Thank you so much for a wonderful experience.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Groups, Healthy, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall it is pretty good restaurant, ni ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Overall it is pretty good restaurant, nice environment and delicious food, also the kid's menu is good. I really like the sandwiches on kid's menu by the way.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Good Sunday Brunch choice. Lots of opti ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Good Sunday Brunch choice. Lots of options to suit all of our group of 8, including a kids menu that had enough for the 3 children in the group.

Tags: Good for Groups, Family Style, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

We had a delightful brunch. The food was ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 2, 2016

We had a delightful brunch. The food was amazing, the service was excellent, and the atmosphere was wonderful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love where it is in Fish Creek Park. Lo ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on September 28, 2016

Love where it is in Fish Creek Park. Love the restaurant and food and everything

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We visited the Ranche for lunch in late ...

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on September 27, 2016

We visited the Ranche for lunch in late September. We were hoping to sit on the veranda but unfortunately the weather didn't cooperate. We were seated at a table inside by the window so were still able to enjoy the lovely view. We ordered the lunch special which included a starter, main and dessert. Everyone's meal was well prepared and tasted delicious. The service was excellent and we had a very enjoyable lunch. We will be back and would definitely recommend The Ranche to others.

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our family went to the Bow Valley Ranch ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Our family went to the Bow Valley Ranch to celebrate a family birthday. Our server was professional and took care to make our evening special. Our meals were well displayed and each meal tasted wonderful. Our family would definitely go back for a special occasions. This restaurant is not a value priced restaurant and should not be confused with one.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fireplace, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Excellent!! Made us feel very special fo ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on September 16, 2016

Excellent!! Made us feel very special for our 22nd wedding anniversary. Lovely lunch on the verandah, great service and great food. Thank you for the special touches, Mark (our waiter)!!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Historic, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Fireplace, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Once again a success, will bring some cl ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on September 15, 2016

Once again a success, will bring some clients at Christmas for a great meal. Thumbs up to all the Team at Bow Valley Ranche

Tags: Fireplace, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.