About Bow Valley Ranche Restaurant

15979 Bow Bottom Trail SE
Calgary, AB T2J 6T5
View Larger Map

The Bow Valley Ranche has two restaurants where people come and go in the Fish Creek Provincial Park's beautiful surroundings. Located at the end of Bow Bottom Trail SE, in Fish Creek Provincial Park, just follow the signs for Bow Valley Ranche.



The Bow Valley Ranche Restaurant is the new fine dining facility located in the restored Ranche House. Their menu features a contemporary interpretation of Alberta regional cuisine. The Grand Salon seats about 125 guests.



Charlie's room, seats another 25 and there are private dining dining rooms available. Sit down beside the massive fireplace in the William Roper Hull room or enjoy the covered wrap-around verandah during warm weather. Enjoy lunch, dinner, cocktails or weekend brunch. Reservations are recommended.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Canadian

Hours of Operation:
Winter hours

Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Dinner: Sunday 5:00 - 9:00

Brunch: Saturday and Sunday: 10:30am - 2:00pm

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(403) 476-1310

Website:
http://www.bowvalleyranche.com/restaurants.html

Parking Details:
Plenty of complimentary parking within the park and a few metres to the restaurant

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Fireplace, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch

Bow Valley Ranche Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Calgary / Southern Alberta
Best Food
Calgary / Southern Alberta
Best Ambiance
Calgary / Southern Alberta
12 More
Great for Brunch
Calgary / Southern Alberta
Romantic
Calgary / Southern Alberta
Special Occasion
Calgary / Southern Alberta
Canadian
Calgary / Southern Alberta
Best Overall
Calgary
Best Food
Calgary
Best Service
Calgary
Best Ambiance
Calgary
Great for Brunch
Calgary
Romantic
Calgary
Special Occasion
Calgary
Canadian
Calgary
Best Restaurants in Calgary ›

special occasion (110)
romantic (91)
scenic view (83)
See All
fit for foodies (78)
good for groups (56)
great for brunch (54)
neighborhood gem (39)
great for lunch (37)
notable wine list (35)
great for outdoor dining (30)
kid-friendly (16)
late-night find (7)
hot spot (4)
vibrant bar scene (1)
Sort By:
Newest
427 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was amazing, from appetizers to ...

Dined 6 days ago

The food was amazing, from appetizers to dessert. The service was wonderful and everyone in the restaurant was helpful from the waiters to the management. They made our night unique by writing on our dessert, which was a special surprise!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great place to have a nice dinner!

vip
Dined 7 days ago

Great place to have a nice dinner!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful location, amazing food

vip
Dined on May 15, 2016

Such a lovely old world restaurant set in nature. Great food - caesar salad, carrot ginger soup were both excellent first courses. Main course selections from our group were pork chop, tenderloin and scallops and each was tasty and well presented. Desserts of chocolate souffle, creme brulee were yummy ending notes to a great evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food3
ambience4
service5

Really enjoyed the mothers day brunch. W ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Really enjoyed the mothers day brunch. Went early so the servers were very attentive and the food came out in a timely manner... our only concern was the kids menu.... $12 for two pieces of white bread with a smear of Nutella and 5 slices on banana? Not great... everything else was lovely :)

food5
ambience5
service5

The Lamb Sirloin and au jus was fantasti ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

The Lamb Sirloin and au jus was fantastic. Waited 2 extra minutes for the Salmon to be replayed as it didn't meet the maitre d's inspection (not that we would ever notice). That's attention to detail. Server was very personable and attentive. We had a terrific dinner. Thank you.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great spot great food

Dined on May 4, 2016

With the beautiful surroundings of Fish Creek outside the window, to the lovely decor of the Heritage home , to the attentive waiters, and finally the amazing food prepared for you.....all this equals a great day out! The Ranche never fails me!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

75th bday party

Dined on May 1, 2016

Beautiful location, great service . They even had a "happy birthday" note on the table for my mother. The waiter was very pleasant and engaged well with the very diverse age group at the table

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and service

Dined on May 1, 2016

Probably the best service I have ever had for a dining experience. At no point were we rushed and the interactions with server and manager was great. Food selection was broad enough to provide options for everyone yet not so broad that the quality or taste was compromised. Very impressed and will be going back soon

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Lovely Spot

Dined on April 24, 2016

Only thing bad to say. Took an extreme amount of time to get our meal,, and we had some bad cream brought out.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very impressed

Dined on April 23, 2016

I go to The Ranche at least six times a year. The food is consistently excellent! The service very attentive and the ambience is one of the best in Calgary.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Family brunch, amazing!

Dined on April 16, 2016

Went to The Ranch for a family brunch with my grandmother who has many allergies. She found something quick and was very pleased with her meal. Overall the food was amazing and the staff were great! Would love to go there in the evening and experience their dinner menu!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice for everyone

Dined on April 14, 2016

This is a great place for dates, or with friends and family.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding.

Dined on April 13, 2016

We went as a family of 5 for my husbands birthday. The service was fantastic and was only surpassed by the amazing entrees. Thank you to all the staff for making the night special.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Modern food in a historical setting

Dined on April 12, 2016

Bow Valley Ranch does an excellent job of combining the old and the new. The historical setting of the ranche house is combined with 5 star service and food choices. The setting in Fish Creek Park can't be beat. Treat yourself to date night or high tea at the Ranche and you won't be disappointed!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service2

Server was inexperienced. Food did not ...

vip
Dined on April 10, 2016

Server was inexperienced. Food did not come out warm or hot.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great find

Dined on April 8, 2016

I took a chance on this restaurant, as I've heard nothing about it previously. I'm glad I did. There was a rustic charm, so I just felt cozy . Our waiter gave a tour of the ranche, which was so kind of him. Portions are bigger than I've experienced in other steakhouses within the city! I will return

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

history and a view

Dined on April 6, 2016

we enjoyed learning about this history of the building and how the restaurant came about. beautiful walk and view through the park. Food was well worth it. We will be back and bring company with us!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Stuffed French Toast...amazing! Eggs Ben ...

Dined on April 3, 2016

Stuffed French Toast...amazing! Eggs Benedict also amazing! Definately my our favorite place for brunch in Calgary!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Hidden gem

Dined on April 2, 2016

Exquisite food in a historic setting ... a wonderful evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service1
value3

Great location with a fantastic brunch.

Dined on April 2, 2016

Amazing location. I recommend parking above fish creek park and walking the ten of fifteen minutes to the ranch while enjoying the scenery and seroundings. Great spot for brunch and dinner although the menu might prove heavy for some. Service during brunch was lacking. Our server had zero personality and seemed to be in a hurry to get us out.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Charming Find

Dined on March 28, 2016

From the minute you walk in to the reception area, you are treated like a high profile guest. You are seated and quickly asked what you would like to drink. Water is poured before you request it. I lost count of how many friendly staff waited on us. The food was beautiful. Both in presentation and in quality. The staff were very knowledgeable with portions, allergy problems and suggestions. I can not believe how attentive the staff is. Our family all loved the food and enjoyed the evening. Bravo to everyone at the Ranch. I hope thy will continue to maintain this quality of food and service. I can't wait to go back again.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Family Easter brunch

Dined on March 27, 2016

We had a wonderful family brunch. The food choices appealed to everyone, including the vegetarians in the group. We were seated in a private room in the second floor since there were 11 of us including small children. Being upstairs afforded the children some space to play which worked out very well since remaining seated for long stretches can be challenging with a 4 year old.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Easter Brunch was amazing

Dined on March 27, 2016

Wonderful food, exceptional service, great ambiance. A truly memorable dining experience.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Little Gem

Dined on March 27, 2016

Pricy but well worth it to treat yourself. Food was cooked perfectly. Flavours were spot on. Great wine selection. Lovely view of the bike path and surrounding scenery. Would highly recommend. The only neg was the live music was a bit loud for our liking. Nothing serious to worry complaining about. The music was great. A gentleman played am electric violin to an accompanied recorded music type thing. The tunes reminded me of something European. Pleasant to listen too. Difficult to talk over while the music was playing. We will return for another dinner at this restaurant. Without our toddler. Lol. I don't recommend bringing your kids. Although there was a small baby there when we went. I recommend making a reservation.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Beautiful decor, great service and delic ...

Dined on March 26, 2016

Beautiful decor, great service and delicious food.

food5
ambience5
service5

Took a girl there on a second date. She ...

Dined on March 26, 2016

Took a girl there on a second date. She manages a restaurant and she was really impressed by the whole experience. Food quality and the servers all all amazing.

food1
ambience3
service2
value1

Awful

Dined on March 21, 2016

Way overpriced for what it is. Plating and execution of meal were awful. As an amuse busch they served smoked trout on a tortilla chip! Would never goback. Sever acted like he didn't give a@&$%. Very dissapointed.

food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Beautiful spot to grab brunch with friends.

Dined on March 20, 2016

We had been to this restaurant before and did a repeat due to the wonderful atmosphere and great food. A nice walk after brunch around the outdoor museum, topped off a great meal.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our favourite Calgary restaurant!

Dined on March 20, 2016

Love having a restaurant like this in the south end of the city! With every penny. The food and service is amazing.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

Food was delicious, setting is outstandi ...

Dined on March 15, 2016

Food was delicious, setting is outstanding, and the actual building itself is so full off character and ambience

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great dinner

Dined on March 12, 2016

Wish kids weren't allowed at dinner. Noisy kids. Great food and service!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Date Night

Dined on March 12, 2016

Incredible food... Even better service! Thoroughly enjoyed our evening at BVR. Perfect setting for a romantic night out and potentially a wedding in the future. Our waiters were attentive and very friendly but respectful of the romance at our table. Pricey but fair, worth every penny!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

10/10

Dined on March 10, 2016

I took a girl there, not for the first time, and she absolutely loved it ! Making her happy, makes me happy so you done good BVR!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food2
ambience5
service5
value4

Disapointed with the food.

Dined on March 3, 2016

The Game burger left a lot to be desired I would not recommend it to anyone. That being said--it will not stop us from returning to the Ranche.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

impressive

Dined on February 20, 2016

impressive setting very good service and the food was outstanding. staff went out of the way to make sure our special lunch would be remembered by the grandchildren.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Special Occasion

Dined on February 18, 2016

Dinner at the Bow Valley Ranche Restaurant was delicious. The wine list was extensive, and the menu pleasing. We particularly liked the ambiance of the small room where we were seated, as there was a noisy wine event being held in the large room. Our room had a few other tables occupied, but the tables were nicely spaced apart, so it made for private conversation. The subdued lighting, dark wood and stained glass windows, evoked the atmosphere of an early 1900s parlour with quiet voices and soft laughter. Our server was very pleasant and helpful. We had a thoroughly enjoyable evening. We have already recommended this restaurant to friends!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful Date Night!

Dined on February 15, 2016

My fiance and I had a reservation on Valentine's day for the four-course special and we were WOWED. Our experience was impeccable from the time we arrived until the time we left. There wasn't a moment where the service felt stiff or forced. Everyone was warm, knowledgeable and friendly, especially our server, Dana. The food was delicious and timed perfectly. The manager even offered to let me take the roses on our table home. We will certainly be back again! Thank you for making our Valentine's extra special.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect Valentine Night

Dined on February 15, 2016

Everything was great! They had a special menu for valentine. We really enjoyed this place!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service3

Beautiful location. Amazing wine selecti ...

Dined on February 15, 2016

Beautiful location. Amazing wine selection. Delicious meal.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Valentine's

Dined on February 14, 2016

My boyfriend and I really enjoyed our brunch here. The food was delicious and the service was great! Definitely recommend this restaurant.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.