About Bow Valley Ranche Restaurant

15979 Bow Bottom Trail SE
Calgary, AB T2J 6T5
View Larger Map

The Bow Valley Ranche has two restaurants where people come and go in the Fish Creek Provincial Park's beautiful surroundings. Located at the end of Bow Bottom Trail SE, in Fish Creek Provincial Park, just follow the signs for Bow Valley Ranche.



The Bow Valley Ranche Restaurant is the new fine dining facility located in the restored Ranche House. Their menu features a contemporary interpretation of Alberta regional cuisine. The Grand Salon seats about 125 guests.



Charlie's room, seats another 25 and there are private dining dining rooms available. Sit down beside the massive fireplace in the William Roper Hull room or enjoy the covered wrap-around verandah during warm weather. Enjoy lunch, dinner, cocktails or weekend brunch. Reservations are recommended.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Canadian

Hours of Operation:
Winter hours

Lunch: Tuesday - Friday: 11:00 am - 2:30 pm

Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 5:00 pm - 10:00 pm

Dinner: Sunday 5:00 pm - 9:00 pm

Brunch: Saturday and Sunday: 10:30am - 2:00pm

Afternoon Tea: Saturday & Sunday: 2:00 - 4:00 pm


Holiday Hours:

Dec 24-25: CLOSED

Dec 26: 10:00 am - 2:00 pm

Jan 1: 10:00 am - 2:00 pm

Jan 9-20: CLOSED

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(403) 476-1310

Website:
http://www.bowvalleyranche.com/restaurants.html

Parking Details:
Plenty of complimentary parking within the park and a few metres to the restaurant

Additional:
Banquet, Fireplace, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Bow Valley Ranche Restaurant, Calgary, AB
Bow Valley Ranche Restaurant, Calgary, AB
Bow Valley Ranche Restaurant, Calgary, AB
Bow Valley Ranche Restaurant, Calgary, AB

Specials

Four Course Prix Fixe Meal for $79.00

Saturdays and Sundays from 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Specials

Four Course Prix Fixe Meal for $79.00

Saturdays and Sundays from 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM

Details

Four Course Prix Fixe Meal for $79.00. Excludes Tax and Tip. Regular a la carte menu available as well. Special valid Feb 11, 2017 - Feb 12, 2017 on Saturdays and Sundays from 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM.

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Details

$79 per person - 4 Course Menu. Excludes Gratuity and GST. Wine Pairings available. Regular A la Carte menu not available for the evening.

Bow Valley Ranche Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (43)
Good for Anniversaries (38)
Romantic (36)
See All
Good for a Date (33)
Historic (31)
Scenic View (27)
Fireplace (24)
Local Ingredients (24)
Good for Birthdays (23)
Good for Groups (20)
Quiet Conversation (20)
Cozy (20)
Worth the Drive (19)
Authentic (18)
Notable Wine List (17)
Creative Cuisine (17)
Great for Brunch (16)
Fit for Foodies (16)
Private Room (15)
Neighborhood Gem (14)
Great for Lunch (13)
Sunday Lunch (13)
Seasonal (12)
Comfort Food (10)
Family Style (10)
Business Meals (8)
Casual (8)
Kid-friendly (8)
Afternoon Tea (7)
Tasting Menu (7)
Healthy (7)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Afternoon Coffee (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Fun (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Organic (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Tapas (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Spicy (1)
 (1)
Great Beer (1)
Dancing (1)
Live Music (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
 (1)
Vegan (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Modern Decor (1)
 (1)
People Watching (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Waterfront (1)
Live Sports (1)
Sort By:
S
577 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Good meal with generous portions in the ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on January 9, 2017

Good meal with generous portions in the Sunday Chef Special

Tags: Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always a great place for a Brunch - f ...

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on January 8, 2017

As always a great place for a Brunch - friendly service, warm atmosphere and great food - worth a drive through the ice and snow!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Hot Spot, Family Style, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Private Room, Fit for Foodies, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Always a lovely spot for brunch. Food. S ...

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Always a lovely spot for brunch. Food. Service and atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was fantastic. Can't imagine ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Everything was fantastic. Can't imagine food or a whole food experience getting better

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great atmosphere in a unique setting, al ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Great atmosphere in a unique setting, all within minutes of Calgary. The food was good -- although pasta dish for vegetarians was the least impressive of all the meals. The service was terrific.

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

great way to spend New Year's Day, locat ...

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on January 1, 2017

great way to spend New Year's Day, located in in fish creek park the bow valley ranche is a gem. We enjoyed brunch with friends, very tasty, well presented and excellent service.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Fireplace, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Generally a very special place in Calgar ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Generally a very special place in Calgary. But... We chose to spent Christmas Eve in the Ranche and despite the snowy, cold weather it was an awesome place to go to... lights along the pathway, lights and loughs coming out of the restaurant ...it was almost magical.

Unfortunately food was a big disappointment. Although menu seem to be extensive, it wasn't well thought trough. Some dishes were way colder than they supposed to be, or very bland, and sauces rather distasteful. We were lucky that our waitress was extremely nice and tactful.

But will be looking for different place for next year New Year Eve.

Tags: Authentic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

First time there for us was on NYE. Cou ...

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on January 1, 2017

First time there for us was on NYE.

Couldn't have asked for a better experience.

Just amazing food and service. This will become a regular spot for dining out now.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Went there for New Years' Eve and the fo ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Went there for New Years' Eve and the food was outstanding. Little noisy and hard to find parking but it was New Years' Eve so I guess that should be expected. Will definitely return.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

We dined in one of the smaller rooms so ...

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We dined in one of the smaller rooms so it was quieter and enjoyable. The food was excellent and so was the wine.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

My husband and I went to Bow Valley Ranc ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on January 1, 2017

My husband and I went to Bow Valley Ranche for the fixed menu New Years Eve dinner. Overall the food choices were excellent, the food was delicious and the wine pairings were great. We do however a few points which took away from our overall enjoyment:

-small table, under a bright light, perhaps normally a service side table? We asked to be moved when we arrived, but were told that wasn't possible due to their reservation system

-it was very noisy, difficult to hear each other even though we were near each other across the small table.

-we ordered Chateaubriand - the serving plates, vegetable, seafood were all warm/hot, but the meat itself was not, reater it was cool to the touch. Of the four pieces we received, the bottom ones were warmer, but the top two were cool/cold. We had ordered the meat medium rare and my husband ate them anyway.

-overall we felt rushed, the food and wine pairings did not always come out at the same time and there was little to no break between courses.

We will return to the Ranche as we think most of what we experienced was due to the fact that it was a busy New Year's Eve, however thought the restaurant might want to know so they can make note for the next time they have a full house.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

We had an amazing server Martin. He let ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We had an amazing server Martin. He let us stay late, provided us with entertainment throughout the night, and even took pictures for us. The experience was great and my date and I were both just as impressed with the decor and style of this place. This wine was delicious and complemented the food. They matched and being a first time guest, I felt very comfortable allowing myself to be treated nicely by the warm servers and hosts.

100% will come again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was amazing and our server Martin w ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Food was amazing and our server Martin went above and beyond to ensure we have a great night. He took the time to help us pair wines with our food and gave us great recommendations. Thanks again Martin!!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Took my girlfriend to the Bow Valley Ran ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Took my girlfriend to the Bow Valley Ranche Restaurant for dinner last week and came away impressed. Great food, wine list was quite extensive and our server was very friendly and knowledgeable. Would definitely recommend to friends and family.

Tags: Cozy, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous every time we go! One of our f ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Fabulous every time we go! One of our favourite spots whether we are on a date or with friends. The wait staff are all so welcoming and friendly and knowledgable. You can't beat the ambience .... cozy and warm in the winter or sitting outside and enjoying the park in the summer. The food is exceptional with beautiful flavour and just the right amount, and Arthur the sommelier knows exactly what to recommend. It is definitely worth the drive to go There!

Tags: Fireplace, Special Occasion, Romantic, Private Room, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Historic, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I didn't find the food exceptional, and ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 31, 2016

I didn't find the food exceptional, and felt it was over priced for the quality. Beautiful old building and lovely location.

Tags: Family Style, Historic, Fireplace, Kid-friendly, Casual, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Amazing atmosphere! Amazing food! Amazin ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Amazing atmosphere! Amazing food! Amazing service!

The food was incredible and the servers were extremely helpful with making a selection. The wine list is an entire book. The fireplace adds a special aumbiance to the room.

It was my date's birthday and they put a special chocolate "happy birthday" on his dessert.

Would highly recommend.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Historic, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Quiet setting, wonderful ambience, but m ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Quiet setting, wonderful ambience, but most impressive is the knowledgeable wait staff. Their recommendations for food, wine, desert all knocked it out of the park. We were most impressed and will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Out first time here, we were celebrating ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Out first time here, we were celebrating a new job and career move. AAA+++ all the way around . This place ambience and setting was absolutely charming. The food and service was world class. We can't wait to hold a bigger gathering so we can setup in one of the rooms upstairs. Absolutely perfect place to be. This ranks up there in my top three restaurants in Calgary

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We went for dinner on Dec 27, 2016 and t ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 28, 2016

We went for dinner on Dec 27, 2016 and the food was terrific as always. Best crème brule that I've ever had!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had our first annual Boxing-Day Lunch ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 26, 2016

We had our first annual Boxing-Day Lunch with dear friends. Beautiful spot to share with friends. Our waiter was pleasant and knowledgeable. We will be back . . .

Tags: Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Authentic, Fun, Cozy, Great for Brunch, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Dinner was excellent, but very expensive ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Dinner was excellent, but very expensive. We had the surf and turf and were both very impressed with the bison but would have expected more 'turf', 3 clams, 2 shrimp and 1/4 filet of whitefish was very small. Dinner for 4 without wine was $460.

Tags: Cozy, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

The Ranche has become a local favourite ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 23, 2016

The Ranche has become a local favourite of ours. Always great food and service and the setting in all seasons is beautiful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Fabulous! Bow Valley Ranche is a gem and ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Fabulous! Bow Valley Ranche is a gem and I truly enjoy every visit I get to take here. We took friends from out of town here and they were just so impressed. Food is delicious, ambiance is perfect, service is outstanding. An incredibly warm restaurant that welcomes you so much that you won't want to leave!

Tags: Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Family Style, Great for Lunch, Fun, Comfort Food, Authentic, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Afternoon Tea, Great for Brunch, Organic, Romantic, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Good for Groups, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Haven't been before but should have. Loc ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Haven't been before but should have. Locale is superb, menu is varied, food was excellent. Very unique location - a bit out of the way but then that is what makes it special! I would go again in a heartbeat!

P.S. It was quite because we got there early and sat in the separate dining room not the main hall / area.

Tags: Casual, Private Room, Afternoon Tea, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great as usual, even though the place fe ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Great as usual, even though the place felt busier because of the season. Quality of the food was the highlight.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fireplace, Good for a Date, Romantic, Seasonal, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Beautiful Atmosphere for a perfect Sunda ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Beautiful Atmosphere for a perfect Sunday brunch. Love the Christmas decor and exploring upstairs. The food was excellent, well presented and priced. Service was very good...only small complaint would be a little cool in the front dining room, but once I closed the door to the front foyer was much better. This is just a gem of a place!

Tags: Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Scenic View, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Historic, Afternoon Tea, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Fireplace, Family Style, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

We had a lovely time celebrating my daug ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 17, 2016

We had a lovely time celebrating my daughter's birthday, everyone enjoyed themselves.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Private Room, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Fourth time at the Ranche. Always enjoy ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Fourth time at the Ranche. Always enjoy it. Professional servers, great food, interesting choices. Whether it's for a romantic evening meal with that someone special, or a business meal to impress that important client or a management meeting, the Ranche is a great venue.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Private Room, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Fireplace, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Authentic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

What a delight it was to have our Christ ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 15, 2016

What a delight it was to have our Christmas lunch for the office at the Ranch. The home is beautiful, the staff are extremely friendly, knowledgeable and professional. The food was exceptional! Will definitely go back again and again.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Private Room, Pre/post Theatre, Seasonal, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We invited 2 international guests to din ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 14, 2016

We invited 2 international guests to dinner and wanted to be able to offer Canadian Dishes as well as others. We enjoyed the Surf and Turf(Bison and Seafood). The food was brilliantly prepared and presented and our guests enjoyed it as much as we did.

Our server was attentive but also allowed for us to be able to visit and enjoy our meal,

Overall a great evening.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was excellent. The service was love ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 14, 2016

Food was excellent. The service was lovely. Unfortunately because of the cold weather and age of the building every time the heat turned off there was a bit of a cold draft. Other than that it was a perfect evening out. Recommend sitting at a table away from a window on very cold days. Lol.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We held our annual family pre-Christmas ...

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 11, 2016

We held our annual family pre-Christmas brunch there for the second year in a row. We have found the food to be consistently good, with some unusual but very tasty dishes including wild game meat. A number of us had the eggs benedict (the usual for my wife and I) and enjoyed it.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Seasonal, Afternoon Tea, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

The location is beautiful as is the deco ...

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 10, 2016

The location is beautiful as is the decor The food however is awful My latte was cold And for Over $20 my turkey /egg thing was nasty Won't be returning nor would I recommend it to anyone

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service2
value1

It was my wife's birthday and the Ranche ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 10, 2016

It was my wife's birthday and the Ranche is one of her favorite restaurants anywhere. Great food, great service, great wine. Arthur the wine guy looked after us extremely well and helped us select the perfect Pinot Noir.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Arthur greeted my client and myself so ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 8, 2016

Arthur greeted my client and myself so warmly and my client was very impressed with the attention, the fantastic food, the ambience and he will be back himself. His first visit was very memorable! Thanks Arthur!

Sandra

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Afternoon Coffee, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Historic, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Organic, Special Occasion, Private Room, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful ambiance in Fishcreek park, fo ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Beautiful ambiance in Fishcreek park, food is always good althogh a little in the pricy side but you also pay for impeccable service. I highly recommend this gem, such a treat to go there.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Special Occasion, Afternoon Coffee, Afternoon Tea, Sunday Lunch, Historic, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Fireplace, Private Room, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great ambiance, fantastic service, food ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Great ambiance, fantastic service, food was excellent...

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Fireplace, Historic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We found the atmosphere had a nice ambie ...

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 1, 2016

We found the atmosphere had a nice ambience to it, cozy & warm.

The menu was quite extensive & included a wide selection & options.

The service was excellent.

Just need a few more roadsigns to get there as GPS didn't seem to work!!!

Tags: Comfort Food, Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Historic, Good for Groups, Romantic, Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The food unique and seasonal and everyth ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 27, 2016

The food unique and seasonal and everything tastes amazing. I would and have recommended this place to anyone who needs a great dinner, brunch, or special occasion.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Good for Groups, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.