About Bow Valley Ranche Restaurant

15979 Bow Bottom Trail SE
Calgary, AB T2J 6T5
View Larger Map

The Bow Valley Ranche has two restaurants where people come and go in the Fish Creek Provincial Park's beautiful surroundings. Located at the end of Bow Bottom Trail SE, in Fish Creek Provincial Park, just follow the signs for Bow Valley Ranche.



The Bow Valley Ranche Restaurant is the new fine dining facility located in the restored Ranche House. Their menu features a contemporary interpretation of Alberta regional cuisine. The Grand Salon seats about 125 guests.



Charlie's room, seats another 25 and there are private dining dining rooms available. Sit down beside the massive fireplace in the William Roper Hull room or enjoy the covered wrap-around verandah during warm weather. Enjoy lunch, dinner, cocktails or weekend brunch. Reservations are recommended.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Canadian

Hours of Operation:
Winter hours

Lunch: Tuesday - Friday: 11:00 am - 2:30 pm

Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 5:00 pm - 10:00 pm

Dinner: Sunday 5:00 pm - 9:00 pm

Brunch: Saturday and Sunday: 10:30am - 2:00pm

Afternoon Tea: Saturday & Sunday: 2:00 - 4:00 pm


Holiday Hours:

Dec 24-25: CLOSED

Dec 26: 10:00 am - 2:00 pm

Jan 1: 10:00 am - 2:00 pm

Jan 9-20: CLOSED

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(403) 476-1310

Website:
http://www.bowvalleyranche.com/restaurants.html

Parking Details:
Plenty of complimentary parking within the park and a few metres to the restaurant

Additional:
Banquet, Fireplace, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch

Bow Valley Ranche Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (50)
Good for Anniversaries (46)
Romantic (43)
See All
Historic (39)
Good for a Date (38)
Fireplace (35)
Local Ingredients (29)
Worth the Drive (29)
Scenic View (27)
Good for Birthdays (26)
Quiet Conversation (24)
Cozy (23)
Great for Brunch (21)
Creative Cuisine (21)
Authentic (20)
Fit for Foodies (20)
Good for Groups (19)
Private Room (19)
Notable Wine List (19)
Neighborhood Gem (16)
Great for Lunch (14)
Sunday Lunch (14)
Tasting Menu (11)
Seasonal (11)
Business Meals (10)
Family Style (10)
Afternoon Tea (10)
Comfort Food (9)
Healthy (7)
Casual (7)
Kid-friendly (7)
Great for Outdoor Dining (7)
Afternoon Coffee (6)
Fun (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Organic (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Disabled Access (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Wood Oven (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Modern Decor (1)
Live Music (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Dancing (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Great Beer (1)
Vegan (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Tapas (1)
Live Sports (1)
People Watching (1)
Spicy (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Waterfront (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Sort By:
S
592 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Excellent chef and service. Lovely ambia ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined 5 days ago

Excellent chef and service. Lovely ambiance and venue of historical value. Waiter was very attentive and pleasant. Thoroughly enjoyed the experience.

Tags: Family Style, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Sunday Lunch, Organic, Good for a Date, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place, awesome staff. The food an ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined 5 days ago

Great place, awesome staff. The food and wine is always top notch.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

what an amazing Valentines menu. It was ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined 5 days ago

what an amazing Valentines menu. It was fantastic! Service was awesome menu and layout superb best dinner date my wife and i ever had

Tags: Historic, Fireplace, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

we've been many time before and enjoyed ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 12, 2017

we've been many time before and enjoyed this time just as much as the others, introduced friends to the BVR. Really enjoy the varied selection and local input.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Historic, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Delicious food and great presentation, a ...

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Delicious food and great presentation, as it always is.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fireplace, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

AMAZING! we went for an early Valentine' ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 12, 2017

AMAZING! we went for an early Valentine's Day and it was one of the best meals I have had in a while! Everything from the coctails, food, wine, and dessert were fantastic! Will be back for sure.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We have been going there for a long time ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We have been going there for a long time an it was my favorite spot. Menu has changed and we had the surf and turf for 2 and the scallops were very fishy. We are disappointed as we took some friends with us after bragging about the place. Even the chef hors d'oeuvre was very ordinary.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Great as always. Our Waiter Cameron was ...

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Great as always. Our Waiter Cameron was attentive, but not invasive. Very accommodating

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Romantic, Cozy, Business Meals, Fireplace, Notable Wine List, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

very attentive service, wonderful meal - ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 6, 2017

very attentive service, wonderful meal - Chef's Table Sunday night was a great way to sample the kitchen magic. Great presentation, timing of plates was perfect, and the best warm bread selection. Lovely way to celebrate a special birthday in this historic building.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Romantic, Disabled Access, Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Fireplace, Authentic, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu, Private Room, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Attentive service and beyond flavourful ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Attentive service and beyond flavourful food. Such a unique location - great for history buffs.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Superb dining experience! We were fortun ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Superb dining experience!

We were fortunate to live on the ridge in Sundance overlooking The Ranche for 28 years, watched it's renovations, and eventually celebrated our daughter's wedding and reception there.

Our waiter was personable and professional, and added greatly to our dining experience.

Our meals (Angus Beef Tenderloin) were tender and cooked to our specifications, and the accompaniments were creative and delicious. Needless to say, the desserts were as pleasurable to the eye as they were to the palate.

This was one of our most memorable dining experiences, and we will return more often with more members of our family.

Many thanks!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Tasting Menu, Fireplace, Historic, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Authentic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were very impressed with our first vi ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on January 29, 2017

We were very impressed with our first visit to this restaurant. The wait staff were very friendly, helpful and attentive. Our food was beautifully plated, fresh and tasty. We had tenderloin which was the best we've ever tasted. The apple cake for dessert was delicious. The prices are a bit steep but for a special occasion it was worth every penny. highly recommended. Our only negative issue was the dark and very icy parking lot.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Birthday 01/28/2017

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Birthday 01/28/2017

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Very friendly service! Food was deliciou ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Very friendly service! Food was delicious and great variety of wine selections!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Awesome Zinfandel from Alexander Valley ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Awesome Zinfandel from Alexander Valley (Valdez-Ulises)

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Good meal with generous portions in the ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on January 9, 2017

Good meal with generous portions in the Sunday Chef Special

Tags: Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always a great place for a Brunch - f ...

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on January 8, 2017

As always a great place for a Brunch - friendly service, warm atmosphere and great food - worth a drive through the ice and snow!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Hot Spot, Family Style, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Private Room, Fit for Foodies, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Always a lovely spot for brunch. Food. S ...

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Always a lovely spot for brunch. Food. Service and atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was fantastic. Can't imagine ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Everything was fantastic. Can't imagine food or a whole food experience getting better

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great atmosphere in a unique setting, al ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Great atmosphere in a unique setting, all within minutes of Calgary. The food was good -- although pasta dish for vegetarians was the least impressive of all the meals. The service was terrific.

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

great way to spend New Year's Day, locat ...

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on January 1, 2017

great way to spend New Year's Day, located in in fish creek park the bow valley ranche is a gem. We enjoyed brunch with friends, very tasty, well presented and excellent service.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Fireplace, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Generally a very special place in Calgar ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Generally a very special place in Calgary. But... We chose to spent Christmas Eve in the Ranche and despite the snowy, cold weather it was an awesome place to go to... lights along the pathway, lights and loughs coming out of the restaurant ...it was almost magical.

Unfortunately food was a big disappointment. Although menu seem to be extensive, it wasn't well thought trough. Some dishes were way colder than they supposed to be, or very bland, and sauces rather distasteful. We were lucky that our waitress was extremely nice and tactful.

But will be looking for different place for next year New Year Eve.

Tags: Authentic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

First time there for us was on NYE. Cou ...

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on January 1, 2017

First time there for us was on NYE.

Couldn't have asked for a better experience.

Just amazing food and service. This will become a regular spot for dining out now.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We dined in one of the smaller rooms so ...

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We dined in one of the smaller rooms so it was quieter and enjoyable. The food was excellent and so was the wine.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Went there for New Years' Eve and the fo ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Went there for New Years' Eve and the food was outstanding. Little noisy and hard to find parking but it was New Years' Eve so I guess that should be expected. Will definitely return.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

My husband and I went to Bow Valley Ranc ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on January 1, 2017

My husband and I went to Bow Valley Ranche for the fixed menu New Years Eve dinner. Overall the food choices were excellent, the food was delicious and the wine pairings were great. We do however a few points which took away from our overall enjoyment:

-small table, under a bright light, perhaps normally a service side table? We asked to be moved when we arrived, but were told that wasn't possible due to their reservation system

-it was very noisy, difficult to hear each other even though we were near each other across the small table.

-we ordered Chateaubriand - the serving plates, vegetable, seafood were all warm/hot, but the meat itself was not, reater it was cool to the touch. Of the four pieces we received, the bottom ones were warmer, but the top two were cool/cold. We had ordered the meat medium rare and my husband ate them anyway.

-overall we felt rushed, the food and wine pairings did not always come out at the same time and there was little to no break between courses.

We will return to the Ranche as we think most of what we experienced was due to the fact that it was a busy New Year's Eve, however thought the restaurant might want to know so they can make note for the next time they have a full house.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

We had an amazing server Martin. He let ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We had an amazing server Martin. He let us stay late, provided us with entertainment throughout the night, and even took pictures for us. The experience was great and my date and I were both just as impressed with the decor and style of this place. This wine was delicious and complemented the food. They matched and being a first time guest, I felt very comfortable allowing myself to be treated nicely by the warm servers and hosts.

100% will come again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was amazing and our server Martin w ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Food was amazing and our server Martin went above and beyond to ensure we have a great night. He took the time to help us pair wines with our food and gave us great recommendations. Thanks again Martin!!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Took my girlfriend to the Bow Valley Ran ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Took my girlfriend to the Bow Valley Ranche Restaurant for dinner last week and came away impressed. Great food, wine list was quite extensive and our server was very friendly and knowledgeable. Would definitely recommend to friends and family.

Tags: Cozy, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous every time we go! One of our f ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Fabulous every time we go! One of our favourite spots whether we are on a date or with friends. The wait staff are all so welcoming and friendly and knowledgable. You can't beat the ambience .... cozy and warm in the winter or sitting outside and enjoying the park in the summer. The food is exceptional with beautiful flavour and just the right amount, and Arthur the sommelier knows exactly what to recommend. It is definitely worth the drive to go There!

Tags: Fireplace, Special Occasion, Romantic, Private Room, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Historic, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I didn't find the food exceptional, and ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 31, 2016

I didn't find the food exceptional, and felt it was over priced for the quality. Beautiful old building and lovely location.

Tags: Family Style, Historic, Fireplace, Kid-friendly, Casual, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Amazing atmosphere! Amazing food! Amazin ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Amazing atmosphere! Amazing food! Amazing service!

The food was incredible and the servers were extremely helpful with making a selection. The wine list is an entire book. The fireplace adds a special aumbiance to the room.

It was my date's birthday and they put a special chocolate "happy birthday" on his dessert.

Would highly recommend.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Historic, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Quiet setting, wonderful ambience, but m ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Quiet setting, wonderful ambience, but most impressive is the knowledgeable wait staff. Their recommendations for food, wine, desert all knocked it out of the park. We were most impressed and will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Out first time here, we were celebrating ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Out first time here, we were celebrating a new job and career move. AAA+++ all the way around . This place ambience and setting was absolutely charming. The food and service was world class. We can't wait to hold a bigger gathering so we can setup in one of the rooms upstairs. Absolutely perfect place to be. This ranks up there in my top three restaurants in Calgary

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We went for dinner on Dec 27, 2016 and t ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 28, 2016

We went for dinner on Dec 27, 2016 and the food was terrific as always. Best crème brule that I've ever had!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had our first annual Boxing-Day Lunch ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 26, 2016

We had our first annual Boxing-Day Lunch with dear friends. Beautiful spot to share with friends. Our waiter was pleasant and knowledgeable. We will be back . . .

Tags: Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Authentic, Fun, Cozy, Great for Brunch, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Dinner was excellent, but very expensive ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Dinner was excellent, but very expensive. We had the surf and turf and were both very impressed with the bison but would have expected more 'turf', 3 clams, 2 shrimp and 1/4 filet of whitefish was very small. Dinner for 4 without wine was $460.

Tags: Cozy, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

The Ranche has become a local favourite ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 23, 2016

The Ranche has become a local favourite of ours. Always great food and service and the setting in all seasons is beautiful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Fabulous! Bow Valley Ranche is a gem and ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Fabulous! Bow Valley Ranche is a gem and I truly enjoy every visit I get to take here. We took friends from out of town here and they were just so impressed. Food is delicious, ambiance is perfect, service is outstanding. An incredibly warm restaurant that welcomes you so much that you won't want to leave!

Tags: Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Family Style, Great for Lunch, Fun, Comfort Food, Authentic, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Afternoon Tea, Great for Brunch, Organic, Romantic, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Good for Groups, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Haven't been before but should have. Loc ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Haven't been before but should have. Locale is superb, menu is varied, food was excellent. Very unique location - a bit out of the way but then that is what makes it special! I would go again in a heartbeat!

P.S. It was quite because we got there early and sat in the separate dining room not the main hall / area.

Tags: Casual, Private Room, Afternoon Tea, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.