Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.87mi
  2. Distance: 1.05mi
  3. Distance: 1.40mi
  4. Distance: 2.21mi
  1. Distance: 0.87mi
  2. Distance: 1.05mi
  3. Distance: 1.40mi
  4. Distance: 2.21mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.87mi
  2. Distance: 1.05mi
  3. Distance: 1.40mi
  4. Distance: 2.21mi
  1. Distance: 0.87mi
  2. Distance: 1.05mi
  3. Distance: 1.40mi
  4. Distance: 2.21mi

About Bow Valley Ranche Restaurant

The Bow Valley Ranche has two restaurants where people come and go in the Fish Creek Provincial Park's beautiful surroundings. Located at the end of Bow Bottom Trail SE, in Fish Creek Provincial Park, just follow the signs for Bow Valley Ranche.



The Bow Valley Ranche Restaurant is the new fine dining facility located in the restored Ranche House. Their menu features a contemporary interpretation of Alberta regional cuisine. The Grand Salon seats about 125 guests.



Charlie's room, seats another 25 and there are private dining dining rooms available. Sit down beside the massive fireplace in the William Roper Hull room or enjoy the covered wrap-around verandah during warm weather. Enjoy lunch, dinner, cocktails or weekend brunch. Reservations are recommended.

15979 Bow Bottom Trail SE
Calgary, AB T2J 6T5
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Canadian

Hours of Operation:
Winter hours

Lunch: Tuesday - Friday: 11:00 am - 2:30 pm

Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 5:00 pm - 10:00 pm

Dinner: Sunday 5:00 pm - 9:00 pm

Brunch: Saturday and Sunday: 10:30am - 2:00pm

Afternoon Tea: Saturday & Sunday: 2:00 - 4:00 pm


Holiday Hours:

Dec 24-25: CLOSED

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(403) 476-1310

Website:
http://www.bowvalleyranche.com/restaurants.html

Parking Details:
Plenty of complimentary parking within the park and a few metres to the restaurant

Additional:
Banquet, Fireplace, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch

Bow Valley Ranche Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (50)
Good for Anniversaries (41)
Romantic (41)
See All
Fireplace (38)
Good for a Date (37)
Historic (32)
Worth the Drive (29)
Local Ingredients (28)
Good for Birthdays (25)
Cozy (24)
Scenic View (22)
Creative Cuisine (21)
Notable Wine List (20)
Fit for Foodies (20)
Authentic (20)
Quiet Conversation (18)
Private Room (18)
Great for Brunch (17)
Neighborhood Gem (16)
Good for Groups (16)
Great for Lunch (14)
Sunday Lunch (13)
Business Meals (12)
Afternoon Tea (12)
Seasonal (9)
Tasting Menu (8)
Great for Outdoor Dining (7)
Family Style (7)
Kid-friendly (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Casual (5)
Healthy (5)
Afternoon Coffee (5)
Fun (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Organic (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Wood Oven (1)
Tapas (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
609 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (München)·Dined 4 days ago

We love this place and go there several times a year.

Tags: Cozy, Organic, Special Occasion, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined 5 days ago

Love it as always. Wonderful location and attentive service.

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on March 19, 2017

We had a wonderful meal with added niceties, the service was very professional, and the atmosphere is lovely. All in all a great experience.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on March 18, 2017

We went here for our three Year anniversary and we were both pleased with the staff, meal, location and ambiance.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Really nice atmosphere at BVR - great service as always and delicious menu - everyone in our party had a yummy meal :)

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on March 11, 2017

We had another fantastic evening at the Bow Valley Ranch. They accommodated my 8 years old request to have Artic char on the kids menu.
The meal was delicious. The service was outstanding.
Hard to beat such a great location.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Private Room, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Took a girl there on our third date, it was the perfect evening. Our waiter Martin made us feel like
Home. In every aspect 5 star service.
The food was amazing , every course had wonderful flavours. We finished the night having a drink in front of the beautiful fire place. As we looked outside, we watch deer roam in the snow, what a beautiful setting.
A big thank you to Martin you went that extra step
Much appreciated .

Tags: Romantic, Fireplace, Historic, Good for a Date, Authentic, Cozy, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Great lunch with four friends. Service was superb.

Tags: Historic, Fireplace, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Excellent dining experience! Very good foods and excellent friendly service! Thanks Martin

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on March 6, 2017

Absolutely outstanding as always...the food the atmosphere the staff....all excellent.

Tags: Historic, Cozy, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on March 5, 2017

It has been a while since we have been here. The new ownership has upgraded the experience.
The service was impeccable. You do not only get the attention of your waiter, every employee that passes your table ensures that your experience is going better than you expected. The food is amazing, everything was perfection. They really do value the customer here.
The ambience of the great hall dinning room is not duplicated anywhere else we have been. It's warm and elegantly rustic. The tables are not crammed together allowing a more personal experience.
The Bow Valley Ranche is a hidden gem of a restaurant that you do not want to miss.
We will definitely be back soon!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Fireplace, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Our kids gave us a gift certificate to eat here and our night was fabulous from beginning to end. Our waiter Martin was funny, welcoming and made some recommendations that really made the evening special. Of course the ambience helped, being housed in this historical old ranch house. It felt warm and inviting with all the wood trim and the fire burning (bison head included). Set in Fish Creek park, you can't beat the natural and historical setting.

We shared a beet and goat cheese salad as well as the Albacore Tuna Crudo. Both were very fresh. The puffed quinoa on the tuna just knocked it to a higher level. Definitely one of the better tuna "tartar" we have had. They also brought out out a pair of bococcini appetizers compliments of the chef. Super nice touch. Even the basil butter and fresh olive bread and baguettes were excellent.

This place does everything just right.

The mains were actually very big. We have been to many high end restaurants and often the meal is not that big. Not this place. Wow. My wife had beef tenderloin, as soft as butter and soooo tasty. I went for the rabbit and foie gras Ballotine - the foie gras is stuffed into the rabbit and served with rabbit jus. Oh man, this was heaven.

They are big on game meat, local foods and they use their own home grown herbs. All of this makes for very unique and big tasting food. Hands down we loved this place.

Dessert? Oh we were stuffed but when they waiter mentioned a hazelnut soufflé, my wife went for it, and with my nut allergy, we couldn't share. So I settled on the upside down apple cake with dulce de leche, ice cream, cranberries, and candied pumpkin seeds. Ooh la la. Sweet, sour, and very rich. Perhaps not the best thing to have after a big meal but very memorable.

Without a doubt that was a fabulous meal and are already thinking of returning. For a memorable evening, we highly recommend the Bow Valley Ranche.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fireplace, Good for Birthdays, Historic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Excellent food with fantastic presentation and great servic.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Tapas, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Cozy, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 25, 2017

A fantastic dinner at the Ranche, as always. Great food, wine, and even better service!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Fireplace, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 19, 2017

I took my fiance here after my proposal and I was blown away at the level of service we received. The food is prepared with much care and the flavors have remarkable depth. The dining area was spotless, and the setting was spectacular. I would thoroughly recommend Bow Valley Ranche to anyone, I know I'll certainly be returning soon.

Tags: Fun, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Fireplace, Special Occasion, Cozy, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Excellent chef and service. Lovely ambiance and venue of historical value. Waiter was very attentive and pleasant. Thoroughly enjoyed the experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Great place, awesome staff. The food and wine is always top notch.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 15, 2017

what an amazing Valentines menu. It was fantastic! Service was awesome menu and layout superb best dinner date my wife and i ever had

Tags: Historic, Fireplace, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 12, 2017

we've been many time before and enjoyed this time just as much as the others, introduced friends to the BVR. Really enjoy the varied selection and local input.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Historic, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Delicious food and great presentation, as it always is.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fireplace, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 12, 2017

AMAZING! we went for an early Valentine's Day and it was one of the best meals I have had in a while! Everything from the coctails, food, wine, and dessert were fantastic! Will be back for sure.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We have been going there for a long time an it was my favorite spot. Menu has changed and we had the surf and turf for 2 and the scallops were very fishy. We are disappointed as we took some friends with us after bragging about the place. Even the chef hors d'oeuvre was very ordinary.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Great as always. Our Waiter Cameron was attentive, but not invasive. Very accommodating

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Romantic, Cozy, Business Meals, Fireplace, Notable Wine List, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 6, 2017

very attentive service, wonderful meal - Chef's Table Sunday night was a great way to sample the kitchen magic. Great presentation, timing of plates was perfect, and the best warm bread selection. Lovely way to celebrate a special birthday in this historic building.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Romantic, Disabled Access, Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Fireplace, Authentic, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu, Private Room, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Attentive service and beyond flavourful food. Such a unique location - great for history buffs.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Superb dining experience!
We were fortunate to live on the ridge in Sundance overlooking The Ranche for 28 years, watched it's renovations, and eventually celebrated our daughter's wedding and reception there.
Our waiter was personable and professional, and added greatly to our dining experience.
Our meals (Angus Beef Tenderloin) were tender and cooked to our specifications, and the accompaniments were creative and delicious. Needless to say, the desserts were as pleasurable to the eye as they were to the palate.
This was one of our most memorable dining experiences, and we will return more often with more members of our family.
Many thanks!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Tasting Menu, Fireplace, Historic, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Authentic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on January 29, 2017

We were very impressed with our first visit to this restaurant. The wait staff were very friendly, helpful and attentive. Our food was beautifully plated, fresh and tasty. We had tenderloin which was the best we've ever tasted. The apple cake for dessert was delicious. The prices are a bit steep but for a special occasion it was worth every penny. highly recommended. Our only negative issue was the dark and very icy parking lot.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Birthday 01/28/2017

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Very friendly service! Food was delicious and great variety of wine selections!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Awesome Zinfandel from Alexander Valley (Valdez-Ulises)

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on January 9, 2017

Good meal with generous portions in the Sunday Chef Special

Tags: Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on January 8, 2017

As always a great place for a Brunch - friendly service, warm atmosphere and great food - worth a drive through the ice and snow!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Hot Spot, Family Style, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Private Room, Fit for Foodies, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Always a lovely spot for brunch. Food. Service and atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Everything was fantastic. Can't imagine food or a whole food experience getting better

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Great atmosphere in a unique setting, all within minutes of Calgary. The food was good -- although pasta dish for vegetarians was the least impressive of all the meals. The service was terrific.

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on January 1, 2017

great way to spend New Year's Day, located in in fish creek park the bow valley ranche is a gem. We enjoyed brunch with friends, very tasty, well presented and excellent service.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Fireplace, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Great place few know about but I highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Generally a very special place in Calgary. But... We chose to spent Christmas Eve in the Ranche and despite the snowy, cold weather it was an awesome place to go to... lights along the pathway, lights and loughs coming out of the restaurant ...it was almost magical.
Unfortunately food was a big disappointment. Although menu seem to be extensive, it wasn't well thought trough. Some dishes were way colder than they supposed to be, or very bland, and sauces rather distasteful. We were lucky that our waitress was extremely nice and tactful.
But will be looking for different place for next year New Year Eve.

Tags: Authentic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on January 1, 2017

First time there for us was on NYE.
Couldn't have asked for a better experience.
Just amazing food and service. This will become a regular spot for dining out now.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We dined in one of the smaller rooms so it was quieter and enjoyable. The food was excellent and so was the wine.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.