About Bow Valley Grill - Fairmont Banff Springs Hotel

405 Spray Avenue
Banff, AB T1L1J4
View Larger Map

Savour the finest and freshest regional cuisine while overlooking the Fairholme Mountain Range when you dine in the Bow Valley Grill. An impressive open kitchen provides an opportunity to see our talented chefs in action. Enjoy a relaxing atmosphere that celebrates the spirit of the outdoors, with handcrafted sculptures and tables constructed by local Albertan artisans.
Join us for breakfast and enjoy the sunrise over the Fairholme Mountain Range. Our breakfast buffet includes a spectacular array of fresh fruits, omelets made to order, yogurts, freshly baked breads and more. Or enjoy all of your traditional favourites from our à la carte menu.
Join us for our spectacular Weekend Brunch. $46.00 per person

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Canadian, Contemporary American, Contemporary European

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: 6:00am - 11:00am

Brunch: Saturday - Sunday 11:00am - 2:00pm

Dinner a la carte: Friday - Saturday 6:00pm - 9:00pm





Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(403) 762-6860

Website:
http://www.fairmont.com/banff-springs/dining/bowvalleygrill/

Parking Details:
The hotel"s parking is located beside the Convention Center. It is a three-level roofed parkade with 415 parking spaces:

Self-parking: $25 CAD/night, with unlimited access
Valet service: $35 CAD/night, with unlimited access
Electric Vehicles - complimentary
The Fairmont Banff Springs along with Sun Country Highway Ltd, a manufacturer of electric vehicle charging stations has installed Banff's first electric vehicle charging station, in the hotel's parkade.

Public Transit:
There is a bus service run by the town which runs approximately every 40 minutes into Banff.
Fare is $2.00 per person.
The bus operates daily from 6:35 a.m. until 11:15 p.m.
The bus stop is located directly outside the front of the hotel on Spray Ave.

Executive Chef:
j.W. Foster

Private Party Facilities:
With a relaxing atmosphere that celebrates the spirit of the outdoors, with handcrafted sculptures and tables constructed by local Albertan artisans, Bow Valley Grill is the perfect spot for your next special occasion.

Private Party Contact:
Jeffrey Carpenter: 8772824150

Additional:
Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, View, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Bow Valley Grill - Fairmont Banff Springs Hotel Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.5

ambience

4.2

noise

Moderate

78% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Brunch
Calgary / Southern Alberta
Scenic View
Banff / Canmore
Most Booked
Banff / Canmore
Best Restaurants in Banff ›

great for brunch (23)
scenic view (22)
special occasion (19)
See All
good for groups (16)
kid-friendly (16)
great for lunch (10)
romantic (10)
fit for foodies (9)
great for outdoor dining (4)
hot spot (3)
notable wine list (2)
neighborhood gem (1)
Sort By:
Newest
165 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

Brilliant as usual

vip
Dined on May 22, 2016

Brilliant as usual

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We booked online the morning of the day ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

We booked online the morning of the day we wanted to have brunch. We had been thinking about going, but booked late. When we arrived, we were very happy to see that the Bow Valley Bar & Grill reception had everything in line, even though we had booked at the last minute. They were even able to give us a table by the window. I was very impressed...on the long weekend no less. Excellent service, and food. Our two out of country guests thought it was wonderful - the view and the food. We were very pleased. :). Thank you.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

The brunch is exceptional though the cos ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

The brunch is exceptional though the cost is $$$. Our waitress is not so friendly, may be a little tired at the end of her shift. I paid with gift card and she made a face!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Everything was 110% except for our serve ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Everything was 110% except for our server who seemed very new - water was not brought to the table, we waited what seemed like 10 minutes for him to take drink orders and then another 10 minutes to get the drinks. He was slow to refill our glasses and slow to take away used plates. II rated service high because the head chef went above and beyond to make us feel welcome. We noted that he walked around to the different tables and asked about the food. When they were out of the dish I had wanted to try, he asked us where we were sitting and that he would bring it to us - which he did! Wonderful!!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service5

Always excellent, more vegetarian option ...

vip
Dined on May 1, 2016

Always excellent, more vegetarian options would be nice :)

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Usual great brunch

Dined on April 3, 2016

Visited for brunch after a 5 year stint elsewhere for our annual ski trip. Still as good as ever with more selections than you would think possible for brunch. Good quality as well. Will be back again next year.

Tags: brunch, child friendly, fit for foodies, group bookings, special occasions
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fantastic Easter Brunch!

Dined on March 27, 2016

Staff were excellent, friendly, polite and always available. Food was outstanding, something for everyone, and the presentation was beautiful. Tonnes of activities for the kids, face painting, their own kids buffet, colouring station, and regular visits from the Easter bunny! We had a wonderful time.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

Inadequate

Dined on March 27, 2016

The set menu was inadequate and unimaginative. The salad was just chopped up lettuce with bits of bacon and cheese. The salmon main course was just salmon sitting in a grey tasteless liquid, with half a baby potatoe and 2 peas. The chef came to talk to us about the dessert. The piñata colada panacote was frozen. We were offered the frozen (as it was just like ice cream or wait for a similar one to be sourced elsewhere in the hotel. I waited for the dessert to be delivered from another restaurant and that at least was quite nice. After returning home I needed to make myself something to eat.

Tags: good for groups, scenic view
food5
ambience2
service1
value2

Good food, but poor service ruined everything.

Dined on March 6, 2016

I was excited to go to the bow valley grill as it's in the Banff Springs Hotel, I love the food outlets at Fairmont properties, and it's always nice to treat yourself to some good food. However, my experience was on the lower side of acceptable. My friend and I had a later lunch (it was a filling lunch too), and we found that come dinner time, we weren't as hungry as we expected ourselves to be, so we decided on sharing a small appetizer, a glass of wine, and some dessert. Our server, however, made it seem like we murdered someone at the table when we asked for just one appetizer, and then subjected us to some of the worst service I have ever seen. Now, I do know that this is a higher end restaurant, so service isn't exactly the same as a family restaurant, but it was at the point of ridiculous. The server would walk beside our table, see the empty dishes and do nothing about it, only to come back five minutes later to clear our plates. When we were served, the usual hospitality I expect from a Fairmont restaurant was gone, making me feel like we were wasting his time. I will say that the food we had was great, but I won't go back because of the cold approach the server had to our table. There's enough nice places in Banff that you can avoid this one.

Tags: kid-friendly
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Decent food, but overpriced

Dined on February 21, 2016

I understand that there is a price tag to be put on dining in the iconic Banff Springs hotel, and when you put that with an endless brunch buffet, one might think ~$50 a person is a perfect price tag. But when you step back and take a look at the fact that your endless eggs Benedict have little sauce on them (which isn't the hollandaise sauce the entire point of eggs Benedict?), you begin to wonder if the cost of brunch is really worth it. Obviously the lacking amount of sauce can be accommodated - by asking your server if you could possibly get a little more. Which is no problem if you want to wait an extra 10 minutes, because he's so busy. I don't want to say that I had a horrible experience, because I didn't. I suppose I was just disappointed. We were shoved to the back of the restaurant - beside a wall, and our server was dealing with too many big tables to adequately serve us as well. We felt like our little party of 2 was an afterthought after walking by and serving the larger parties. I'm not one to demand attention, so some of that rests on me for not speaking out. The views were beautiful - as it's hard not to achieve that when you're sitting in a castle-like hotel nestled in one of the most breathtaking national parks in the world. The servers were rigid and lacked humor - but that's something I suppose I could understand again, with it being a world-class hotel, you need to upkeep a certain image, you're not a fun and outgoing establishment. You're a high-class legacy, with an image to uphold... But it can make some people feel like a fish out of water. At the end of it all though, it was ok. The food was not outstanding, but it was far from unbearable. Plus, it's practically all you can eat, and some people can eat well over their $50 worth - and to those people, this experience might be worth it.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

FABULOUS experience. Love coming here fo ...

Dined on February 20, 2016

FABULOUS experience. Love coming here for brunch. Favourite place in Alberta

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Family day brunch

Dined on February 15, 2016

We came to the hotel for the weekend and joined in the Family Day brunch. We didn't have to wait too long for our reservation. The host Barrie was lots of fun. He showed us around, talked about the food, gave us tips and sat us down. The server was ok. Came only when needed. The food was good. Lots of options and variety. Not sure if it was because of the holiday, but buffet for 2 was $100. I thought this was a bit much. Comparable to Vegas buffets that are much larger. Nonetheless, we enjoyed. Thanks

Tags: great for brunch
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

Good but too expensive

Dined on February 15, 2016

The restaurant serves good food and the service is great, but with for the price there are better options options at the hotel.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

Disappointing Valentines Day

Dined on February 15, 2016

We arrived for our reservation early and asked for the cloakroom. We were told "to hang our coats on the back of the chair". On being escorted to our table and seated, we were told immediately that the on Special Valentines Menu, the main course was "out" we could substitute chicken or fish. No reduction in price was offered. We decided to choose the al la carte menu. 1 of the party chose steak, 1 the burger and 2 selected Beef Stroganoff. The stroganoff arrived looking nothing like Beef Stroganoff. We were informed it was the "Chef's interpretation" of stroganoff. Both guests were unhappy and an alternative was offered. Both guests enjoyed the alternative meal, however the evening was full of negatives for our party. We also noticed that another table arriving later than us, enjoyed the Porterhouse Steak and Brownie dessert. I assumed that those guests were in fact staying in the hotel. I reserved our table 4 days prior to the evening, and no mention was made that non resident guests had restricted menus. We are now staying in Lake Louise for 4 days and visited the Chateau for lunch today. This was also problematic in that we, as non resident hotel guests, were not allowed in certain restaurants and in fact were hustled downstairs to eat. Fortunately that restaurant had availability, as the sign outside informed us that hotel guests would take priority. During recent years we have been fortunate to visit this area from the U.K. On 4 occasions. Staying at Rimrock, Fairmont (with a suite) and 2 downtown hotels. This experience was one we would not want to repeat. During our 2 week stay in Banff area, we have eaten out every night in different restaurants and our experience in the Fairmont was the lowest. Most restaurants are welcoming to the dinner guests, not so in the Fairmont. Iam sure you will not publish this review, however my husband feels quite strongly that our treatment was less than convivial and will post his comments on trip advisor.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

ExcellenT!!!!!

vip
Dined on February 15, 2016

The food and service was excellent. It was so good that it prompted me to rebook at a future date to on a weekend.

food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Enjoyable, very good service

Dined on February 15, 2016

The service was the best part of this experience. The food was good as well. I found it a bit noisy and there was not a lot of privacy but that's why it's a good place for families, groups, kids.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Great brunch with a great view

vip
Dined on February 14, 2016

The Sunday brunch at the Bow Valley Grill in the Banff Springs Hotel is great for a special celebration or for any Sunday. The view of the mountains is spectacular. The selection of food is very good and the service is excellent. The Bow Valley Grill is excellent in handling allergies. We let them know ahead of time of our allergies and when we got there they had one of the chefs come and walk through all of the buffet lines with us to discuss allergies. They were very careful and conscientious with allergies. I highly recommend it. Make sure and make a reservation as it is very busy.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

So so meal.

Dined on February 14, 2016

Steaks were luke warm and not cooked as ordered. We got new steaks but my boyfriend's was still under cooked. My new steak was soaked in au jus and made it too salty. The vegetables with the meal were fantastic and the carrot cake dessert was delicious. I just expected the meal to be spectacular as it's the Banff Springs hotel; it was not worth the money.

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Always impressed

Dined on February 7, 2016

Each time I dine at the Bow Valley Grill I am impressed. Proud to bring guests and friends here. The only thing that is disappointing is other patrons... Taking so long starring at the food, holding others up who are ready to help themselves. Its all delicious people! Go for it! The food won't bite! But that is at no fault of the establishment. This seems to happen at any buffet that has amazing food.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, scenic view, hot spot
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

Not too Hot

Dined on February 7, 2016

The hot breakfast items were not hot. Many items that use to be there weren't like duck. Way too expensive for what was there.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Very nice

Dined on February 6, 2016

Food and Service was excellent. Food was cold though but overall it was a great experience and will definitely come back.

Tags: great for brunch
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

Used to be much nicer

Dined on January 31, 2016

The Banff Springs used to be known for it's elegant dining. The brunch is expensive and just okay...nothing special. We went for a special occassion but we won't be going back, it's not worth the money.

food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Decent but better when it's not as busy

Dined on January 3, 2016

We went on the Sunday before the holidays were over. The restaurant was packed and the food wasn't get refilled as quickly as it should have been. The previous visits; the quality of the food was much better. I think it had to do with the busy season.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

quality is lacking

Dined on January 3, 2016

the price of the buffet continues to increase while the quality of the food is starting to lack a bit. i would likely better enjoy a top quality sit down service breakfast for the same or less money

food2
ambience2
service2

We had terrible service and not one of u ...

vip
Dined on December 27, 2015

We had terrible service and not one of us enjoyed our meal. We are cancelling our reservation at the Italian restaurant at the Banff springs based on our experience here. Way below par for a hotel of this caliber.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Brunch Saturday December 26

Dined on December 26, 2015

Our family of 4 were in Banff for 10 days and I must say it was the best gourmet meal we had in Banff. Beautiful surroundings Excellent selection wide variety of dishes and great service. Every dish we tried was full of flavour We had reservations for 1:15 pm but arrived about 20 minutes early and were seated right away at a table by the window with an amazing view of the mountains. Although a little pricey it was well worth it. ( I believe it was more because it was Christmas holiday $64.00 per adult and $32.00 per child.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Love the Bow Valley Grill for Brunch

Dined on December 26, 2015

In a word.....FABULOUS !!! Food , service, view.. all as expected on this return visit. Love the place, love the food and the service is great. Not one complaint in a group of four. THANK YOU SO MUCH !!!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Excellent service, great food!

Dined on December 25, 2015

We recently visited the Bow Valley Grill for a Christmas buffet dinner on December 24 (as we were unable to secure a reservation for December 25) and it was definitely a pleasant experience for our family of four. The servers were very helpful and accommodating for us and although we would have liked to stay longer (our young kids were getting very restless) it was a great experience while we were there. The food was excellent and there was quite a bit of variety and several vegetarian options as well. All in all this dinner was fantastic and we would definitely visit again!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Girls Day

Dined on November 28, 2015

This was a fabulous experience! Was out with my Grandparents and Mom and had a great meal. There was a wide selection of food to choose from, the service was exceptional and everyone was friendly. I would recommend the Bo Balley Grille to anyone!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for lunch, scenic view
food1
ambience4
service5

Better Food in Banff

Dined on November 15, 2015

We went here for an anniversary dinner. The service was very good. The food was lacklustre. I ordered the fish and the cream sauce under it had turned grey. (perhaps it had been sitting under a heat lamp for a while?) My husband ordered the steak frites. The steak was not seared and it was also grey. The juices had coagulated on the plate. Dessert (carrot cake and panna cotta) were alright. All in all we went for ambiance, and after requesting we be moved to a table by the window, we got it. We were surprised to be seated smack dab in the middle when there were more desirable seats that were booths or by the windows, as the restaurant was more than 3/4's empty. Server was very good. Drinks were very good. Food was less than desirable. I am sure this place is very good for a brunch buffet but definitely NOT for dinner.

food4
ambience5
service4

Bow Valley Grill - Another fine meal

Dined on November 15, 2015

Meal was fabulous especially the beef stroganoff which my wife and son enjoyed greatly that they couldn't stop talking about it. As you enjoy your meal you get to look out at the beautiful mountains, Magnificent.

Tags: kid-friendly, romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience4
service4

Prime Rib Dinner

Dined on November 8, 2015

The prime rib dinner was awesome except for the fact that the gravy was VERY salty. So salty, in fact, that we are pretty sure it was an error on the chef's part. Couldn't eat the gravy at all. The service was awesome, the server was very attentive.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing

Dined on November 8, 2015

We took our granddaughter (4)and her great grandmother (87) for the weekend. They felt like royalty. No request was denied. The staff were excellent. We ate all our meals there. The server from Friday even came over to our table Saturday night to talk to our granddaughter and compliment her on her dress. Very wheelchair friendly. Love it. Can't wait to go back.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food3
ambience2
service1

Poor service, overpriced.

Dined on November 7, 2015

I took my daughters to Banff Springs Hotel for brunch after viewing wedding facility. We had a reservation and there were booths with views of the stunning mountains available but we were seated at a table next to a wall so no view. We asked to be relocated and she came back and said no. We ordered wine and glasses of water. We asked a second time for water. The third time I had to get up and go over to the waitress station to ask her. The buffet was good but standard buffet fare. I am a vegetarian and found many dishes I could eat, always a plus for me. When we were finished we waited a very long time to get our bill and only after I flagged down a different server to go get our server's attention. The restaurant was noisy and there was food on the floor.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups
food4
ambience4
service4

Staff we polite and professional. We arr ...

Dined on November 1, 2015

Staff we polite and professional. We arrived on time for our reservation, but they were 10min late before seating us - no big deal. Great views out on to the Bow Valley, as the first snow fall blanketed the trees and mountain peaks- breath taking! There was a large variety of food - something for everyone- worth the drive out. *tip* locals get a discount - make sure your servers know you're from Canmore!

food4
ambience4
service3

Anniversary Brunch

Dined on October 24, 2015

We had a great table right next to the window with an awesome view of the mountains. Brunch was excellent, there was so much variety, we tried a number of breakfast and lunch items, along with some dessert. The quality was very high and all the food was fresh. The server indicated that they were short staffed (usually 8 servers but they only had 4 that day), but we only really experienced a wait for the bill at the end (we waited almost 45 mins for her to bring our bill so we could leave - we had made plans with family to meet on the main street in Banff that afternoon, so this kind of upset our plans). Otherwise the service was ok - they kept bringing coffee and orange juice, as well as removing empty plates from our table.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion
food2
ambience5
service2

Disappointed

Dined on October 17, 2015

Have been going there off and on for many years....food variety is down and so is the quality....therefore it is overpriced. When I made the reservation they would not give me a reservation at opening time...my reservation was half hour after opening?? We were there early and saw they were taking people who walked up without a reservation.....so since our party was all there I asked if we could be let in at 11:15.....we were told we had to wait till 11:30? Will be a long time before we return.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent Dining Experience

Dined on October 12, 2015

Bow Valley Grill is an institution. A must for a Sunday morning brunch. Just a pity that it is so popular that you have to book weeks in advance. Which says it all!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service5

Great Time

Dined on September 30, 2015

The Bow Valley Grill was wonderful! The food was great and the server Leanne was so friendly and very helpful! Was a little disappointed at the size of the panna cotta, was just not big enough to share!

Tags: special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

A special evening for dinner

Dined on September 23, 2015

We were traveling across Canada and spent this night Sept 22, 2015 in Banff to celebrate our 7th anniversary. I guess i must have mentioned it to the hostess since our wait person, Michelle, brought us some very good complimentary champagne. Food and service was excellent--a very pleasant experience.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.