Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.30mi
  3. Distance: 0.41mi
  4. Distance: 0.56mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.30mi
  3. Distance: 0.41mi
  4. Distance: 0.56mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.30mi
  3. Distance: 0.41mi
  4. Distance: 0.56mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.30mi
  3. Distance: 0.41mi
  4. Distance: 0.56mi

About Bow Valley Grill - Fairmont Banff Springs Hotel

Savour the finest and freshest regional cuisine while overlooking the Fairholme Mountain Range when you dine in the Bow Valley Grill. An impressive open kitchen provides an opportunity to see our talented chefs in action. Enjoy a relaxing atmosphere that celebrates the spirit of the outdoors, with handcrafted sculptures and tables constructed by local Albertan artisans.
Join us for breakfast and enjoy the sunrise over the Fairholme Mountain Range. Our breakfast buffet includes a spectacular array of fresh fruits, omelets made to order, yogurts, freshly baked breads and more. Or enjoy all of your traditional favourites from our à la carte menu.
Join us for our spectacular Weekend Brunch. $47.00 per person .

405 Spray Avenue
Banff, AB T1L1J4
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Canadian, Contemporary American, Contemporary European

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: 6:00 am - 11:00 am

Weekend Brunch Buffet: Saturday & Sunday 11:00am - 2:00pm


Dinner: Opening May 1st, 2017
6:00pm - 9:00pm
Closed Tuesday and Thursday's.








Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(403) 762-6860

Website:
http://www.fairmont.com/banff-springs/dining/bowvalleygrill/

Parking Details:
The hotel"s parking is located beside the Convention Center. It is a three-level roofed parkade with 415 parking spaces:

Self-parking: $25 CAD/night, with unlimited access
Valet service: $35 CAD/night, with unlimited access
Electric Vehicles - complimentary
The Fairmont Banff Springs along with Sun Country Highway Ltd, a manufacturer of electric vehicle charging stations has installed Banff's first electric vehicle charging station, in the hotel's parkade.

Public Transit:
There is a bus service run by the town which runs approximately every 40 minutes into Banff.
Fare is $2.00 per person.
The bus operates daily from 6:35 a.m. until 11:15 p.m.
The bus stop is located directly outside the front of the hotel on Spray Ave.

Executive Chef:
j.W. Foster

Private Party Facilities:
With a relaxing atmosphere that celebrates the spirit of the outdoors, with handcrafted sculptures and tables constructed by local Albertan artisans, Bow Valley Grill is the perfect spot for your next special occasion.

Private Party Contact:
Jeffrey Carpenter: (877) 282-4150

Additional:
Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, View, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Bow Valley Grill - Fairmont Banff Springs Hotel Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (11)
Special Occasion (7)
Good for Anniversaries (6)
See All
Worth the Drive (5)
Great for Brunch (5)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Historic (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Romantic (3)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Family Style (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Seasonal (1)
Authentic (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Good for a Date (1)
Fireplace (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Fun (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Casual (1)
People Watching (1)
Sort By:
S
237 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined 4 days ago

Tenderloin was delicious and the are second to none!

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on May 14, 2017

If you do one brunch in your life, do this one. If you have ever wondered what the World Class Foods tastes like. This is it

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The Mother's Day brunch is the best brunch my family and I have ever attended. The amazing experience started from the moment we arrived and were greeted by valet staff and continued on to all staff we encountered. The staff were outstanding!! The food was outstanding!!
Our day at the Springs was outstanding!!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The food was fantastic. Service was great. The cost is way to high. It is a definite once in a life time experience. Especially when you have a family of 6. Most children under 12 won't even come close to eating $42 worth of food. Other than the cost the day was amazing.

Tags: Historic, Family Style, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on May 14, 2017

I waited for years to attend the Mother's Day Bruce at the Banff springs and perhaps the atticipation got the best of my experience. As the venue was so exclusive I was expecting just a little bit better food. The oyster bar was beautiful but the taste wasn't as nice. The leg of beef although impressive the portions were small and we weren't able to chose the cut that we wanted after waiting inline for several minutes was rather disappointing

Overall however the scenery mountains and the history of the castle helped to pull the weekend together to make it a fabulous Morther's Day.

Tags: Scenic View, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Over the years, My husband & I have visited the Banff springs hotel on many occasions both to stay, & for Brunch. Last Sunday, May 14th. we came for Brunch, driving in from Calgary.

What a disappointment. Our first eagerly chosen dish was Eggs Benedict. The yolks were barely tepid. almost cold, & runny. So we returned the first two, & mentioned the problem to a waitress. She shrugged & said: We just brought them out. She then walked away. We tried again from the same eggs Benedict selection. Again, the egg yolks were very cool. We returned them. On reporting this to our waitress, she brought me one more eggs Benedict which she said was straight from the kitchen. My husband did not want another. This egg was only a touch warmer, very runny like the other two, & so unappealing. I ate half before being put off. We know that, on occasion, eggs, poorly cooked can be debilitating. But, overall, the standard & range of food at your Buffet has slipped. We noticed this on a previous visit in September, last year. What has happened to food delights at the Banff Springs!

We also noticed a few things missing,. No roast beef roast being carved or a ham roast. The sausages were pale & uninviting, not browned as breakfast sausages usually are. The breakfast potatoes were soggy, not crisp and just warm; and the stew was average. We both left half the stew we had taken. Desserts just OK. nothing special.

On a positive note the omelette station, another of my husband’s favourite, was, as usual, good and enjoyable.

Overall, the range of dishes on offer, was mediocre. The hotel kitchen has obviously cut back in quite a few areas. Even so, the quality, presentation & hygiene of main buffet dishes should be maintained.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value1

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Easter brunch

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Very good brunch options. Great variety - indian, Mexican. Would have liked to have seen more gluten free options - limited in the breakfast items (perhaps pancakes, waffles), there were no baked gluten free dessert items.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Probably the best brunch I have ever had

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Barrie is the best!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Brunch is awesome

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Very nice to see that meals are now labelled GF/DF/V. And the number of meals available GF/DF made the cost more acceptable.
But would like to see more than only two options for gluten free desserts. (rice crispy squares ?? and panacotta) were disappointing options, especially looking at the number of other desserts not gluten free. More creativity and effort here would be greatly appreciated!

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Best buffet brunch in Western Canada! Food is prepared in small batched so it's always fresh and hot. A bit pricey but definitely worth it for special occasions or vacations to the beautiful Rockies.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Open Kitchen, Authentic, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Kid-friendly, Family Style, Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Very high quality food, unusual for a buffet! Barrie was a great waiter. Good value for the weekend brunch considering food quality and service. Worth the drive from Calgary.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Great for Brunch, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on January 1, 2017

It was excellent as usual. We have done the New Years Day buffet off and on for over ten years now and I have never been disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The food was amazing and the service was great. Definitely worth the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 1, 2017

I made a reservation for New Year's Eve with the assumption that the menu on Open Table would be similar to their menu for the evening. I was absolutely appalled that the $80 prix fixe was for a buffet and given that it was a holiday there were no other options for dining at the last minute. Calling the food average is generous. The roasted vegetables were delicious, but the large chunk of bone in Waygu beef at the carving station was served cold. The crab bisque was flavorless. The pretzel roll was hard and ?stale? Absolutely zero ambience with the bright lights. The hotel lobby and building are beautiful, but not worth suffering through this less than mediocre buffet.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value1

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We go every 3rd year for New Year's Eve buffet. It leaves a lot of great memories for our kids but the price is much too high for most families. This may be the last time we go.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 28, 2016

It was a set menu with very limited choices very overpriced sandwiches and a buffet with very little selection - extremely disappointed to take our out of town guests there over the holidays. It really seemed like they were taking advantage and gouging guest over the holidays.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 26, 2016

We enjoyed Boxing Day Brunch for 11 people. We sat at 12 noon. The restaurant was quieter. I wonder if they staged reservations to allow for a quieter setting to enjoy the meal. The servers were excellent with attention to all details. They were not overbearing. The food was wonderful. So much to select from. The eggs benedict, sausages, seafood all done to perfection. We had a fabulous family brunch. Thank you Bow Valley Grill Staff.

Tags: Historic, Casual, Kid-friendly, Sunday Lunch, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 25, 2016

The staff were friendly and helpful at the Bow Valley Christmas Buffet. There is so much choice that there is enough selection for everybody's palate.

Tags: Family Style, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Open Kitchen, Fun, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Disabled Access, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 25, 2016

This is a fantastic restaurant. The services, and all staffs are awesone, specially the pretty girl 'Juno' who served us during the dinner(Hope I don't spell the name wrong). She is very helpful and with very good attitude. Please send my Big thanks to her. We picked this place to celebrate my little son 6th Birthday. We are really enjoy and have a memorial night. My son said this is the best restaurant ever ^_^. He will come back again next Birthday. We must come back again, specially the important dates.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Christmas eve brunch was lovely and enjoyed by all!

Tags: Scenic View, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 18, 2016

My family and I came to the Bow Valley Grill for Sunday Brunch as part of our 5 night stay at the Banff Springs Hotel. We made our reservations mostly because of Santas apperance. This was very special for our kids.
Over the years, our famiy has been to a few Fairmont Sunday Brunches, and I must say, they seldom dissapoint. This experience has a different twist though.
As the meal began, we we asked by our server if we would like to have a Mimosa. This to us is a standard when at a Fairmont Hotel Brunch and so we ordered a round without much thought. After 15 minutes, I had to remind our server of our Mimosa order, and 10 minutes after this, our refreshments arrived. I then ordered another round immediately, anticipating another long wait, no problem. A lovely meal ensued, the bill came, and I was charged for 6 Mimosas. Here is where my issue was.
As I mentioned, we have been to other Fairmont brunches, and all others included Mimosas as part of the brunch. This one apparentely does not, and I was charged in the neighbourhood of $78 for our 6 Mimosas. This nearly doubled the cost of our family Brunch. There are a few points of concern to mention here: The first is that as a loyal Fairmont patron, I came to understand the Mimosa as a standard to be included in a Sunday Brunch. The second point to mention is that our server suggested Mimosas for our table, I had not thought of it until then. The delay in service for this item game me the impression of management control of this 'included' item, so I gave it a pass, but once I received the bill, I was more than surprised and dissapointed. The added cost of the Mimosas alone could have easily paid for another meal for our family somewhere else. And had I been shown a drink menu prior to our servers suggestion, I would have seen the additional cost for this.
Was this a clever move to quickly more than double revenue, or was this just the result of poor commmunication of our server, I cannot confirm either.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Family Style, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Excellent variety of dishes and great ambiance.
The beautiful snow covered outdoors added a magical feel to the Christmas Spirit.

Tags: Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Best buffet that exceeded our dining experience. Highly recommended to families and friends.

Tags: Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Comfort Food, Kid-friendly, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Healthy, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Outstanding Value, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 6, 2016

The brunch here is always great. On this occasion we found there were less food options for salads, vegetables, and charcuterie, than we'd had on previous visits. Our table for 10 had been set up originally for 16 for some reason. The table was squashed to get in and out of. The service was excellent. And of course the views are breathtaking.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Perfect for a special occasion. We had brunch to celebrate a significant birthday. Outstanding food and service. Enjoyed our visit.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 30, 2016

What an absolutely wonderful dining experience! From the first class service by Janelle (always close by but never hovering) to the incredible variety of dishes to the well-described gluten-free and other dietary options to the ambiance to the beautiful view...and then a slow digestive walk around the castle and town. One of the best afternoons Banff has to offer, although I was with one of the nicest human beings in the world so you may have to skew your own score according to the company you keep.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good Vegetarian Options, Organic, Fun, Healthy, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 29, 2016

There needs to be more variety for vegetarian/vegan, that is non-Egg based. Otherwise, fantastic!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 23, 2016

We were more than pleased with the variety of foods on the buffet and cannot say enough about the excellent service we received. Due to extensive allergies, a chef was brought to our table who personally escorted the member of our group with allergies to the buffet and thoroughly explained the available options and also cooked a plate specially for said person so that all in our group enjoyed the buffet equally. We have only highest praise for Bow Valley Grill - our waitress and the chefs.
Thank you for a most enjoyable experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 10, 2016

Didn't appreciate that we caught our server coughing several times, extremely gross especially in a food establishment, would have expected high standards at such a prestigious hotel.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Hi all! I went for the special thanksgiving dinner but there was nothing special about the dinner , it was the same dinner than they offer every day just they were charging more money for it without offering anything different not even a thanksgiving decoration in the table or in anywhere , it was the same than any normal day , very disappointing experience as it looks they are trying to get as much money as they can without any effort to please the customer

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value2

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 1, 2016

weekend buffet brunch - great selection of foods. Best buffet brunch around and the locale and scenery can't be beat. Great for special occasions and you don't mind paying $23/child

Tags: Historic, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 1, 2016

We have visited the Grill many times over the years and had top shelf service, and food.
With our last visit, so so service, mixed quality of food. The only consistent dish was was salmon appetizer cured in beer....excellent.
As for the Trout, one piece served was cooked and hot, one cold and not properly cooked, with the vegetables under cooked. As for the hamburger I ordered...burned, dry and service with cold fries.
Will not hurry back after this.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Best service ever. Thanks to our wonderful waitress! Entrees and salads were exceptional. We also had the 4 flight Port tasting at the end (Ports are 10,20, 30 and 40 years old.) Thirty and 40 year old were best. Thanks for a lovely, relaxing evening.

Tags: Healthy, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on September 28, 2016

A great place for celebrating birthday and anniversary. Good food selections.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Historic, Scenic View, Family Style, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Celebrated my Husband's 60th birthday at the Sunday brunch and it was outstanding, both the view and the food. Laughed that there should be a printed disclaimer at the entry to the restaurant for Sunday brunch "pace yourself, brunch is larger then it seems" :)

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on September 25, 2016

The ambiance is always amazing...it's the Banff Springs Hotel, and those are mountains! Our server, Julienne, was very professional and had an astute sense of timing and attention to our needs. The menu has changed and is much less "exceptional" as far as options go, and seems to be a little too casual for the location, dining room and view. However, we had the chicken and the roast beef, both were exceptional. I would have preferred to have the salmon that night, but it and the trout on the menu were farmed seafoods, both of which I never eat. Only wild seafood for me. We had a wonderful time, which only added to our most enjoyable weekend at the Banff Springs.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 16, 2016

The grill overlooks the scenic Bow River Valley in Banff. The view is spectacular. I highly recommend the burger, believe it or not. It was one of the best I have tasted. The local beer was also ver good. My wife had salmon which was good, but would have been better if it was accompanied by more side dishes.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.