About Bow Valley Grill - Fairmont Banff Springs Hotel

405 Spray Avenue
Banff, AB T1L1J4
View Larger Map

Savour the finest and freshest regional cuisine while overlooking the Fairholme Mountain Range when you dine in the Bow Valley Grill. An impressive open kitchen provides an opportunity to see our talented chefs in action. Enjoy a relaxing atmosphere that celebrates the spirit of the outdoors, with handcrafted sculptures and tables constructed by local Albertan artisans.
Join us for breakfast and enjoy the sunrise over the Fairholme Mountain Range. Our breakfast buffet includes a spectacular array of fresh fruits, omelets made to order, yogurts, freshly baked breads and more. Or enjoy all of your traditional favourites from our à la carte menu.
Join us for our spectacular Weekend Brunch. $46.00 per person . Sunday October 9, we will be offering an Thanksgiving Dinner buffet for $62.00 per person.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Canadian, Contemporary American, Contemporary European

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: 6:00am - 11:00am

Brunch: Saturday - Sunday 11:00am - 2:00pm

Dinner a la carte: Daily 6:00pm - 9:00pm







Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(403) 762-6860

Website:
http://www.fairmont.com/banff-springs/dining/bowvalleygrill/

Parking Details:
The hotel"s parking is located beside the Convention Center. It is a three-level roofed parkade with 415 parking spaces:

Self-parking: $25 CAD/night, with unlimited access
Valet service: $35 CAD/night, with unlimited access
Electric Vehicles - complimentary
The Fairmont Banff Springs along with Sun Country Highway Ltd, a manufacturer of electric vehicle charging stations has installed Banff's first electric vehicle charging station, in the hotel's parkade.

Public Transit:
There is a bus service run by the town which runs approximately every 40 minutes into Banff.
Fare is $2.00 per person.
The bus operates daily from 6:35 a.m. until 11:15 p.m.
The bus stop is located directly outside the front of the hotel on Spray Ave.

Executive Chef:
j.W. Foster

Private Party Facilities:
With a relaxing atmosphere that celebrates the spirit of the outdoors, with handcrafted sculptures and tables constructed by local Albertan artisans, Bow Valley Grill is the perfect spot for your next special occasion.

Private Party Contact:
Jeffrey Carpenter: 8772824150

Additional:
Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, View, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Bow Valley Grill - Fairmont Banff Springs Hotel Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.2

ambience

4.3

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Scenic View
Banff / Canmore
Most Booked
Banff / Canmore
Best Restaurants in Banff ›

Scenic View (39)
Special Occasion (29)
Romantic (15)
See All
Great for Brunch (15)
Good for Groups (13)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Great for Lunch (7)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Kid-friendly (5)
Casual (5)
Historic (4)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Authentic (3)
Worth the Drive (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Business Meals (2)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Seasonal (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
People Watching (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Family Style (1)
Sort By:
Newest
193 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The grill overlooks the scenic Bow River ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

The grill overlooks the scenic Bow River Valley in Banff. The view is spectacular. I highly recommend the burger, believe it or not. It was one of the best I have tasted. The local beer was also ver good. My wife had salmon which was good, but would have been better if it was accompanied by more side dishes.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

This is the first time ever the waiter g ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

This is the first time ever the waiter greeted us by our names. She was lovely. I didn't want to overeat so only had one plate of food. When she saw this she encouraged me to fill another plate to fill a doggy bag.

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

For a 4-5 Star Hotel, the food is averag ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

For a 4-5 Star Hotel, the food is average. My husband's chicken was dried out. They had to substitute another meal for him. Just ok dining.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Receptionist was helpful during arrival ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Receptionist was helpful during arrival although I was beyond the reservation time. There were diverse food for selection. Our server, Jennifer was friendly and she delivered excellent guest services. It is priceless to enjoy a brunch in this historical site and stunning view.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Authentic, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great service, awesome view. Good food. ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Great service, awesome view. Good food. Happy they could accommodate our time limited schedule

Tags: Family Style, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Casual, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

The brunch at the Bow Valley Grill is re ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

The brunch at the Bow Valley Grill is remarkable. There are so many items from which to choose and the setting is beautiful.

Tags: Casual, Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

Overpriced and not very good. Portion si ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Overpriced and not very good. Portion size was brutal for the amount paid.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value1

Food and ambience were fabulous. Downsid ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Food and ambience were fabulous. Downside - we were asked to sit and wait for our table but there were only 2 X 2 sofas already taken. Neither gentlemen offered my mother a seat so I asked if I could take a chair from opposite the check in desk and this was agreed but I had to drag it in myself! Our party of 3 were later seated; the service was very very slow - we ordered a bottle of wine and starters and mains. Only once was our wine poured when it first arrived and then no more. The table wasn't properly cleared between courses and even when we ordered coffee we were still surrounded by empty glasses, side plates, empty bread basket. Not what we expected at all from the hotel.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value4

Nice meal with several good choices. It ...

vip
 (Austin)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Nice meal with several good choices. It is a bit pricey for what you get. Service was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

The service was terrific. The food was a ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

The service was terrific. The food was average to above average, unfortunately the Prime Rib was served at room temp and was sent back. Second time around it was warmer. Nice ombiance in a grant hotel.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Exceptional and lovely place to meet wit ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Exceptional and lovely place to meet with friends & family. for the future vacation I would like to spend a whole weekend. Thank you for your service.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server and the Chef made our 10th An ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Our server and the Chef made our 10th Anniversary dinner memorable. Attention to detail and personalized service were best we've ever experienced. Thank you!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We felt like we were having to hurry up ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

We felt like we were having to hurry up and eat and free up the table. Food was fair.

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value2

Make sure you are very hungry when you g ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Make sure you are very hungry when you go for Weekend Brunch! You will want to try every single dish!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We enjoy going to The Grill at Banff Spr ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

We enjoy going to The Grill at Banff Spring Hotel for all occasions. Good food and good service.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The food and service were excellent. The ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

The food and service were excellent. The restaurant was full. Food service was slow but well within acceptable wait times. The restaurant took the wine on them as a compensation. Nice attention!

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Been to brunches at bow valley grill man ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Been to brunches at bow valley grill many many times. Last time i was there 2 years ago and they still served carved roast beef and the egg benedict was way fresher tgan this time arond. Quality of food not as good as before. Hot wasnt hot enough like those mini french toasts and egg benedicts being the worst. Bacon not crispy and and the ribs tasted very very blend.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

My family of four enjoyed brunch at the ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

My family of four enjoyed brunch at the Bow Valley Grill while staying at the Fairmont Banff Springs. We arrived on a busy Sunday morning and were seated promptly. The food choices were overwhelming and ranged from standard breakfast fare (Belgian waffles, bacon, etc) to pizza to fondue. My two teenage boys were very satisfied with the quantity and variety, and my wife and I were impressed with the quality of the food. Definitely recommended, but be sure to come hungry.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The service, food, facilities and ambian ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

The service, food, facilities and ambiance were all very good at the Bow Valley Restaurant.

Tags: Good for Groups, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The eggs benedict were to die for. They ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

The eggs benedict were to die for. They has a special of shawarma. They were delish! And my goodness, the dessert station was breathtaking. Service was very attentive. I highly recommend making reservations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

overall great ambiance, good food selec ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

overall great ambiance, good food selection and value for money

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything from ambiance to menu was sup ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Everything from ambiance to menu was superb.

The waitress was excellent.

Thank you.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Visiting from overseas. First night in ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

Visiting from overseas. First night in Banff. Disappointed at the quality of the food. Had run out of some dishes on the menu. Nice room and staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Fantastic service and food. Very accomod ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Fantastic service and food. Very accomodating and provided a lovely surprise for my girlfriends birthday. If we ever come back to the Fairmont we will be eating there again for sure!!!

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mountain views,beautiful hotel,excellent ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Mountain views,beautiful hotel,excellent clean food.............

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Do not try any seafood. The quality of t ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Do not try any seafood. The quality of their food was suprigingly terrible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value5

We both enjoyed the Caesar salad and pri ...

vip
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on June 6, 2016

We both enjoyed the Caesar salad and prime rib, and inhaled every bite. Delicious! Jeff was our waiter and was helpful, friendly and attentive. We watched the kitchen and wait staff as they scurried about, making sure every detail was perfect for each and every diner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Not for Those Who Dine

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

While the service was well above and beyond, we found that for the caliber of the hotel, the selections for fine dining is sorely lacking. The food is not bad, but it lines up roughly with The Keg or another relatively common mid range dinning establishment. That said, the menu is less comprehensive and is cheapened further by the attempt to use frites as a side to every second item on the menu. The food itself is actually quite decent, but simply not of the fit and form expected.

The cocktails we ordered were terrible. They were filled with thin chips of ice that melted and diluted the drink immediately and used fruit twists (in this case, orange) improperly - using the slice of orange peel as decoration instead of in the drink for flavor, and the peel itself was too think and using the wrong part. The measures of the drinks were also poorly done.

Our server, Maryiam, was absolutely wonderful and saved the night. We could not have been more fortunate. She is an absolute gem.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service5
value1

Brilliant as usual

vip
 (Calgary)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Brilliant as usual

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We booked online the morning of the day ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

We booked online the morning of the day we wanted to have brunch. We had been thinking about going, but booked late. When we arrived, we were very happy to see that the Bow Valley Bar & Grill reception had everything in line, even though we had booked at the last minute. They were even able to give us a table by the window. I was very impressed...on the long weekend no less. Excellent service, and food. Our two out of country guests thought it was wonderful - the view and the food. We were very pleased. :). Thank you.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The brunch is exceptional though the cos ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

The brunch is exceptional though the cost is $$$. Our waitress is not so friendly, may be a little tired at the end of her shift. I paid with gift card and she made a face!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

Everything was 110% except for our serve ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

Everything was 110% except for our server who seemed very new - water was not brought to the table, we waited what seemed like 10 minutes for him to take drink orders and then another 10 minutes to get the drinks. He was slow to refill our glasses and slow to take away used plates. II rated service high because the head chef went above and beyond to make us feel welcome. We noted that he walked around to the different tables and asked about the food. When they were out of the dish I had wanted to try, he asked us where we were sitting and that he would bring it to us - which he did! Wonderful!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Always excellent, more vegetarian option ...

vip
 (Calgary)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

Always excellent, more vegetarian options would be nice :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Usual great brunch

 
 (Kent)
·Dined on April 3, 2016

Visited for brunch after a 5 year stint elsewhere for our annual ski trip. Still as good as ever with more selections than you would think possible for brunch. Good quality as well. Will be back again next year.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Fantastic Easter Brunch!

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

Staff were excellent, friendly, polite and always available. Food was outstanding, something for everyone, and the presentation was beautiful. Tonnes of activities for the kids, face painting, their own kids buffet, colouring station, and regular visits from the Easter bunny! We had a wonderful time.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Inadequate

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

The set menu was inadequate and unimaginative. The salad was just chopped up lettuce with bits of bacon and cheese. The salmon main course was just salmon sitting in a grey tasteless liquid, with half a baby potatoe and 2 peas. The chef came to talk to us about the dessert. The piñata colada panacote was frozen. We were offered the frozen (as it was just like ice cream or wait for a similar one to be sourced elsewhere in the hotel. I waited for the dessert to be delivered from another restaurant and that at least was quite nice.

After returning home I needed to make myself something to eat.

Tags: Good for Groups, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

Good food, but poor service ruined everything.

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on March 6, 2016

I was excited to go to the bow valley grill as it's in the Banff Springs Hotel, I love the food outlets at Fairmont properties, and it's always nice to treat yourself to some good food. However, my experience was on the lower side of acceptable. My friend and I had a later lunch (it was a filling lunch too), and we found that come dinner time, we weren't as hungry as we expected ourselves to be, so we decided on sharing a small appetizer, a glass of wine, and some dessert. Our server, however, made it seem like we murdered someone at the table when we asked for just one appetizer, and then subjected us to some of the worst service I have ever seen. Now, I do know that this is a higher end restaurant, so service isn't exactly the same as a family restaurant, but it was at the point of ridiculous. The server would walk beside our table, see the empty dishes and do nothing about it, only to come back five minutes later to clear our plates.

When we were served, the usual hospitality I expect from a Fairmont restaurant was gone, making me feel like we were wasting his time. I will say that the food we had was great, but I won't go back because of the cold approach the server had to our table. There's enough nice places in Banff that you can avoid this one.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service1
value2

Decent food, but overpriced

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on February 21, 2016

I understand that there is a price tag to be put on dining in the iconic Banff Springs hotel, and when you put that with an endless brunch buffet, one might think ~$50 a person is a perfect price tag. But when you step back and take a look at the fact that your endless eggs Benedict have little sauce on them (which isn't the hollandaise sauce the entire point of eggs Benedict?), you begin to wonder if the cost of brunch is really worth it.

Obviously the lacking amount of sauce can be accommodated - by asking your server if you could possibly get a little more. Which is no problem if you want to wait an extra 10 minutes, because he's so busy. I don't want to say that I had a horrible experience, because I didn't. I suppose I was just disappointed.

We were shoved to the back of the restaurant - beside a wall, and our server was dealing with too many big tables to adequately serve us as well. We felt like our little party of 2 was an afterthought after walking by and serving the larger parties. I'm not one to demand attention, so some of that rests on me for not speaking out.

The views were beautiful - as it's hard not to achieve that when you're sitting in a castle-like hotel nestled in one of the most breathtaking national parks in the world.

The servers were rigid and lacked humor - but that's something I suppose I could understand again, with it being a world-class hotel, you need to upkeep a certain image, you're not a fun and outgoing establishment. You're a high-class legacy, with an image to uphold... But it can make some people feel like a fish out of water.

At the end of it all though, it was ok.

The food was not outstanding, but it was far from unbearable. Plus, it's practically all you can eat, and some people can eat well over their $50 worth - and to those people, this experience might be worth it.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

FABULOUS experience. Love coming here fo ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on February 20, 2016

FABULOUS experience. Love coming here for brunch. Favourite place in Alberta

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Family day brunch

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

We came to the hotel for the weekend and joined in the Family Day brunch. We didn't have to wait too long for our reservation. The host Barrie was lots of fun. He showed us around, talked about the food, gave us tips and sat us down. The server was ok. Came only when needed. The food was good. Lots of options and variety. Not sure if it was because of the holiday, but buffet for 2 was $100. I thought this was a bit much. Comparable to Vegas buffets that are much larger. Nonetheless, we enjoyed. Thanks

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.