About Bourbon House

144 Bourbon Street
New Orleans, LA 70130
View Larger Map

“Arguably the best oyster bar of any white tablecloth restaurant in New Orleans” per the Times Picayune, Dickie Brennan’s Bourbon House is all about local seafood. If it’s not in season, you won’t find it on the menu. Enjoy authentic New Orleans dishes and oysters on the halfshell in a lively atmosphere overlooking Bourbon Street.
Dickie Brennan and his culinary team have created an incredible menu of classic New Orleans dishes complemented by new favorites. Signature favorites include Gulf fish on the Halfshell and New Orleans style Barbeque Shrimp.
Bourbon is a central focus at the bar with 200 bourbons on the list. Bourbon House is the perfect place for a specialty cocktail or a straight pour of that hard to find small batch whiskey.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Creole

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Sunday
6:30 AM - 'til

Brunch
Sunday: 10AM - 3PM

Happy Hour
$1 Gulf Oysters & $3 Abita Amber
4PM - 6PM

Cross Street:
Iberville Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(504) 522-0111

Website:
http://www.bourbonhouse.com/

Parking Details:
A few short blocks away from the street car stop at Canal Street.

Public Transit:
A few short blocks away from the street car stop at Canal Street.

Private Party Facilities:
The second floor at Bourbon House is the perfect location for your next function with five private dining spaces. Bourbon House can accommodate parties of 10 to 200.

Private Party Contact:
Mary McGee Tilloy: 5045218310x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Cocktails, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Bourbon House is the official home of the New Orleans Bourbon Society (aka NOBS) -- a spirited society dedicated to the appreciation of fine bourbons. The society hosts regular whiskey events and tastings catered towards the bourbon enthusiast. More info: http://bourbonhouse.com/new_orleans_bourbon_society

Restaurant Photos

Bourbon House, New Orleans, LA
Bourbon House, New Orleans, LA
Bourbon House, New Orleans, LA
Bourbon House Upstairs Bar Alcove - Bourbon House, New Orleans, LA
Bourbon House - Bourbon House, New Orleans, LA
Bourbon House Upstairs Bar Alcove - Bourbon House, New Orleans, LA
Bourbon House Balcony Dining - Bourbon House, New Orleans, LA
Bourbon House, New Orleans, LA
Bourbon House, New Orleans, LA
Bourbon House Bbq Shrimp - Bourbon House, New Orleans, LA
Bourbon House Boiled Shrimp - Bourbon House, New Orleans, LA
Bourbon House Oysters Half Shell - Bourbon House, New Orleans, LA
Bourbon House Fruit De Mare - Bourbon House, New Orleans, LA
Bourbon House Bbq Shrimp Poboy - Bourbon House, New Orleans, LA
Bourbon House, New Orleans, LA
Bourbon House, New Orleans, LA
Bourbon House Bourbon Bottles - Bourbon House, New Orleans, LA

Specials

$1 Oysters!

Mondays - Fridays from 4:00 PM - 6:00 PM

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Select Oyster Program

Saturdays, Thursdays and Fridays from 11:30 AM - 10:00 PM

Happy Hour!

Mondays from 4:00 PM - 6:00 PM

Specials

$1 Oysters!

Mondays - Fridays from 4:00 PM - 6:00 PM

Details

Join us at the oyster bar for fresh $1 Gulf oysters and $3 local draft beer!. Excludes Tax and Tip. Bourbon House is home of the New Orleans Bourbon Society. Special valid Sep 12, 2016 - Jan 1, 2017 on Mondays - Fridays from 4:00 PM - 6:00 PM.

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Details

We are looking forward to ringing in the New Year with you!

Select Oyster Program

Saturdays, Thursdays and Fridays from 11:30 AM - 10:00 PM

Details

Compare, Contrast, Enjoy! Every Thursday, Bourbon House receives a fresh delivery of three different select oysters from various Gulf regions, get 'em before they sell out. Includes Tax and Tip. Visit our expanded Oyster Bar to try our delicious Gulf oysters. Special valid Oct 29, 2016 - Dec 31, 2016 on Saturdays, Thursdays and Fridays from 11:30 AM - 10:00 PM.

Happy Hour!

Mondays from 4:00 PM - 6:00 PM

Details

$1 oysters, $3 Abita Amber draft. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Nov 7, 2016 - Dec 31, 2016 on Mondays from 4:00 PM - 6:00 PM.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Bourbon House Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

83% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Seafood
New Orleans / Louisiana
Seafood
New Orleans
Best Restaurants in French Quarter ›

Special Occasion (35)
Good for a Date (35)
People Watching (26)
See All
Handcrafted Cocktails (25)
Good for Anniversaries (23)
Local Ingredients (23)
Creative Cuisine (21)
Fit for Foodies (20)
Business Meals (20)
Vibrant Bar Scene (17)
Hot Spot (16)
Casual (16)
Good for Birthdays (15)
Neighborhood Gem (14)
Historic (13)
Great for Lunch (13)
Worth the Drive (12)
Romantic (12)
Bar Seating (12)
Fun (11)
Good for Groups (11)
Authentic (11)
Pre/post Theatre (10)
Sunday Lunch (9)
Tasting Menu (7)
Great for Brunch (7)
Comfort Food (7)
Modern Decor (6)
Seasonal (5)
Family Style (5)
Notable Wine List (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Scenic View (5)
Outstanding Value (4)
Great Beer (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Healthy (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Spicy (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Cozy (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Private Room (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Live Music (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
729 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Amazing food and amazing staff!!!

 
 (Miami)·Dined a day ago

Amazing food and amazing staff!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our food was fabulous. Chef Eric ordered ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined 3 days ago

Our food was fabulous. Chef Eric ordered for us. Our server (female) was great and recommend 2 great cocktails and we really enjoyed our wine. Lee, our other server...what a gem. Made us feel really special

Tags: Open Kitchen, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Local Ingredients, Family Style, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Second time in past three months to visi ...

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined 7 days ago

Second time in past three months to visit! Service is outstanding! Wonderful Caesar salad, homemade anchovy dressing. Fabulous burger, delicious oysters and cauliflower hummus are highly recommended.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Bourbon flights fun for those liking dif ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Bourbon flights fun for those liking different brands . They even had Pappy Van Winkle. Excellent food and great waiters. We enjoyed dinner there more than the next night at a famous restaurant. We always plan one night at Bourbon House when in NOLA.

Tags: Good for a Date, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

An energetic environment with tasty menu ...

 
 (Mobile)·Dined on November 30, 2016

An energetic environment with tasty menu items.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

1st Time to NOLA and this was our final ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 26, 2016

1st Time to NOLA and this was our final Dinner spot. Totally worth it!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, People Watching, Historic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Spicy, Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great place to celebrate any special occ ...

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Great place to celebrate any special occasion with love ones and friends.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Was there for Thanksgiving with my famil ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Was there for Thanksgiving with my family.

Renovation next door at the hotel created overpowering smell of paint intermittently throughout our meal which detracted from our experience, would ease have been remedied by closing the door to the hotel, no one cared enough to make that decision.

Meal Service was good enough, although the greeter insisted on seating us in a high traffic area when two similar sized tables were vacant nearby. When I protested the second time after being told that that section was closed and asked for the manager, miraculously the table that I requested was available.

The food was solid, albeit overpriced considering other options in the area. Grab a drink and snack at the bar and move on for dinner would be my recommendation.

Tags: Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

We went there for Thanksgiving and were ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We went there for Thanksgiving and were very disappointed. Even though we had a reservation we had to wait 15 minutes. The place is basically a tourist trap that serves substandard food with no special character or charm. Even though the wait staff was pleasant you had to wait for every order placed from a drink, to a fork, to your food. Of course they push dessert which was also disappointing. Would not recommend to others when there are so many great restaurants in New Orleans.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

Great service and amazing bourbon milk p ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Great service and amazing bourbon milk punch!! Had Thanksgiving lunch here and tried turducken for the first time. Everything was great!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Marc is amazing!

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Marc is amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, very flexible with the menu ...

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on November 22, 2016

Great food, very flexible with the menu items. However we didn't see our waiter again until it was time for the check. We would have liked refills on our condiments but never got the opportunity to ask. The dessert and drink person was great, very courteous, great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

Loud - very busy - food good but lot of ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 21, 2016

Loud - very busy - food good but lot of noise and very busy

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

We had a great meal at Bourbon House! Fo ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 20, 2016

We had a great meal at Bourbon House! Food was delicious. Service was good.

Tags: Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Authentic, Historic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We were there on business and ate at Bou ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 20, 2016

We were there on business and ate at Bourbon house many meals The fried oyster sardou for breakfast was delicious as well as beautifully served. The milk punch was over the top tasty.

There was a vegetarian in our group and she was well pleased with the selection.

Great experience.

Thank you,

Mac Sneed

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very loud and not conducive to a busines ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Very loud and not conducive to a business meeting.

Food was good albeit pricy for similar restaurants n

We saw a mouse run through the dining room -- I told the staff about it - they were courteous and comped our dessert but it was pretty obvious that they were used to mice running around.

Tags: Historic, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value2

In 10 years I've been going there , last ...

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 19, 2016

In 10 years I've been going there , last night was so bad that I'm not sure if I'm going back again.

Food came before the drinks and

Raw oysters were warm and BBQ shrimp was under cooked, hard

It was just terrible, we paid $140 for food and left hungry , couldn't eat that

Very disappointed, no more quality just fast service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5

Don't order peel and eat BBQ shrimp unle ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Don't order peel and eat BBQ shrimp unless you like to get messy! Tasted god but should be peeled with all the sauce on it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

I've been to Bourbon House for lunch and ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 17, 2016

I've been to Bourbon House for lunch and dinner, and both times it felt busy but not too crowded or loud. The dining room is beautiful. The bourbon selection and special cocktails are impressive. The bourbon milk punch is so delicious, and the food... I honestly think they have the best chargrilled oysters in the city. The gulf fish with crabmeat and lemon beurre blanc is amazing. They have great service and great chefs!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food. Nice atmosphere. Regret that ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Good food. Nice atmosphere. Regret that the server was not friendly and slow. Wish he could smile at least.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

Mussels were great! Tuna I ordered had ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Mussels were great! Tuna I ordered had very little flavor and sat atop a VERY dry potato pancake. Desperately needed sauce of some sort!! (Would probably not go back.)

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

The Bourbon House never disappoints! Gr ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 16, 2016

The Bourbon House never disappoints! Great food, atmosphere and staff.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Delicious Redfish meal

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 15, 2016

Delicious Redfish meal

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great regional food such as pompano serv ...

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on November 15, 2016

Great regional food such as pompano served with an excellent sauce and red fish. The barbecue gulf shrimp is the best around. Their crusty and light bread is perfect for enjoying the barbecue sauce. They even give you recipe on a postcard. Our waiter Tom was a delight, a perfect balance of professional efficiency and friendliness. A trip to New Orleans always includes a lunch or dinner at Bourbon House.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Service and food was over the top. Highl ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Service and food was over the top. Highly recommend this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food, yuge drink selection, and ex ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 9, 2016

Great food, yuge drink selection, and exceptional service without all the stuffiness.

Tags: Great Beer, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Meal was warm at best

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 7, 2016

Meal was warm at best

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

I was disappointed to say the least. Fe ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 30, 2016

I was disappointed to say the least. Felt very rushed. Small details overlooked altogether. Way better options in a city full of great food.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

We have long been fan's of Dickie Brenna ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on October 30, 2016

We have long been fan's of Dickie Brennan's Steaks, but we decided to give his Bourbon House a try. Since it in the first block of Bourbon Street, it draws a very tourist-heavy crowd, which makes the wait for a table long, even with a reservation. The staff was friendly and service was excellent, as was the food, though the pricing was a little high, no doubt in part to the extra overhead from the location. If I do return, it will be at an off peak time.

Tags: Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Dickie Brennan never disapoints. Food w ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Dickie Brennan never disapoints. Food was great, service superb. A bit noisy, but it was Saturday night on Halloween weekend.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service, delicious food. The staf ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Great service, delicious food. The staff, especially Mike, our waiter and Chef Chris went out of their way to ensure our evening was perfect!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Seasonal, Great for Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Very good food and service, I will defin ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Very good food and service, I will definitely go back there the next time I'm in NOLA.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We've been here three times, each time w ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 28, 2016

We've been here three times, each time we visit New Orleans we make sure to have reservations. We love the food, so many delicious choices, and the bourbon specialty drinks are worth the trip alone. Perfect location, friendly service, and mouth watering food. Not to be missed.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Service was great, the waiter knew the m ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 26, 2016

Service was great, the waiter knew the menu well and made great recommendations. Had a great time, the staff had great timing, not rushed, not too slow. Food was very good. Very convenient to our French Quarter Hotel.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Modern Decor, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Server was highly articulate and persona ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 25, 2016

Server was highly articulate and personable but did not attend well. (no food check our status check. ) Only saw him at order, delivery and check delivery/pickup. Food was good but outside of the plethora of seafood bar options, felt limited. The meal I chose was excellent but surprising add it was not described as spicy and was pretty spicy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value4

the barbecue shrimp was great along with ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on October 25, 2016

the barbecue shrimp was great along with all of the other seafood that we ate.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place and location. Table location ...

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on October 25, 2016

Great place and location. Table location was perfect and waitstaff was very attentive and accomodating. The bourbon selection is great! Food was excellent and each course was timed perfectly. This place is now on my list everytime I go to NOLA.

Tags: Authentic, Historic, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Over rated, poor quality, service was la ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Over rated, poor quality, service was lacking..pumpkin pie was inedible

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

Amazing selection of bourbons, whiskeys ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on October 17, 2016

Amazing selection of bourbons, whiskeys and rye. Best Fried oysters I have had in New Orleans.

Staff was spot on and extremely efficient.

Tags: Good for a Date, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We were dining with friends who met us i ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 17, 2016

We were dining with friends who met us in New Orleans for a few days. Our dinner was marred by slow and spotty service, one of my husbands appetizers never arrived and our waiter just plain disappeared for long long periods of time. It was not a pleasant experience and I was sorry that I recommended it to our friends. I know they did not enjoy their dinners either.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.