About Bourbon House

144 Bourbon Street
New Orleans, LA 70130
View Larger Map

“Arguably the best oyster bar of any white tablecloth restaurant in New Orleans” per the Times Picayune, Dickie Brennan’s Bourbon House is all about local seafood. If it’s not in season, you won’t find it on the menu. Enjoy authentic New Orleans dishes and oysters on the halfshell in a lively atmosphere overlooking Bourbon Street.
Dickie Brennan and his culinary team have created an incredible menu of classic New Orleans dishes complemented by new favorites. Signature favorites include Gulf fish on the Halfshell and New Orleans style Barbeque Shrimp.
Bourbon is a central focus at the bar with 200 bourbons on the list. Bourbon House is the perfect place for a specialty cocktail or a straight pour of that hard to find small batch whiskey.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Creole

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Sunday
6:30 AM - 'til

Brunch
Sunday: 10AM - 3PM

Happy Hour
$1 Gulf Oysters & $3 Abita Amber
4PM - 6PM

Cross Street:
Iberville Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(504) 522-0111

Website:
http://www.bourbonhouse.com/

Parking Details:
A few short blocks away from the street car stop at Canal Street.

Public Transit:
A few short blocks away from the street car stop at Canal Street.

Private Party Facilities:
The second floor at Bourbon House is the perfect location for your next function with five private dining spaces. Bourbon House can accommodate parties of 10 to 200.

Private Party Contact:
Mary McGee Tilloy: 5045218310x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Cocktails, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Bourbon House is the official home of the New Orleans Bourbon Society (aka NOBS) -- a spirited society dedicated to the appreciation of fine bourbons. The society hosts regular whiskey events and tastings catered towards the bourbon enthusiast. More info: http://bourbonhouse.com/new_orleans_bourbon_society

Restaurant Photos

  • Bourbon House
  • Bourbon House
  • Bourbon House
  • Bourbon House
  • Bourbon House
Bourbon House
Bourbon House
Bourbon House
Bourbon House
Bourbon House

Specials

$1 Oysters!

Mondays - Fridays from 4:00 PM - 6:00 PM

Specials

$1 Oysters!

Mondays - Fridays from 4:00 PM - 6:00 PM

Details

Join us at the oyster bar for fresh $1 Gulf oysters and $3 local draft beer!. Excludes Tax and Tip. Bourbon House is home of the New Orleans Bourbon Society. Special valid Sep 12, 2016 - Jan 1, 2017 on Mondays - Fridays from 4:00 PM - 6:00 PM.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Bourbon House Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

83% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Seafood
New Orleans
Best Restaurants in French Quarter ›

Special Occasion (36)
Good for Groups (24)
Fit for Foodies (18)
See All
Great for Lunch (17)
Hot Spot (16)
Neighborhood Gem (15)
Vibrant Bar Scene (14)
Romantic (14)
Scenic View (13)
Great for Brunch (10)
Good for a Date (9)
Notable Wine List (8)
Casual (7)
Creative Cuisine (7)
People Watching (6)
Local Ingredients (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Bar Seating (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Business Meals (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Fun (2)
Historic (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Cozy (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Spicy (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Live Music (1)
Authentic (1)
Sort By:
Newest
665 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The atmosphere and services were very go ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined 3 days ago

The atmosphere and services were very good. My wife had the Red Fish was excellent. I had the Drum fish, but it was a little dry/over cooked. I would go there again and give them another try.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

Fried or grilled, sautéed or baked, ever ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined 4 days ago

Fried or grilled, sautéed or baked, everything we ordered was delicious. BBQ shrimp and cauliflower hummus were awesome starters. Fish was as fresh as could be. Oysters were ok but that's the time of the year and not the restaurant's fault. I'm a local and this is one of the tops for the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Great fish New Orleans style. The Bourbo ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 21, 2016

Great fish

New Orleans style. The Bourbon milk is a great after dinner drink...yummy

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Romantic, Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was okay, but service was terrible. ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 19, 2016

Food was okay, but service was terrible. We were barely seated when our waiter bombarded us for drink orders (even after telling him we had just sat down and hadn't yet had a chance to look at the drink menu). Apps came out quickly and we had barely eaten one piece when the waiter returned to take our plates and deliver our mains. The restaurant was barely half full, but they were acting like they had to turn over the table quickly. The only real plus was a great selection of bourbon (once we were finally able to look at a drink menu).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1

We make it to New Orleans about 5 times ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

We make it to New Orleans about 5 times a year and always like to try new places. We chose Bourbon House because it's more casual and we were able to bring our child along with us. The service left much to be desired and the food was nothing to write home about. Our waiter spilled a full drink all over my husband leaving him soaked and the only response we received was, "I'm so glad my manager isn't here tonight to see this. He would kill me." I was actually surprised there was no offer to comp the spilled drink or launder clothes. Long story short- we'll never dine here again with so many better option in New Orleans.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

Very nice restaurant. Great staff. I wis ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Very nice restaurant. Great staff. I wish more places offered MORE gluten free options. I wanted more brunch options that were gluten free. We were there for Sunday brunch and I had to have their catfish. It was very good but I was hoping for more choices of GF brunch items. Eggs Benedict can be served on GF bread.

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic, Casual, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Food and service was great. Would recom ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Food and service was great. Would recommend for special occasion because it is pricey for seafood. However, it was worth the price.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The wait staff handling our table were o ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

The wait staff handling our table were outstanding. And as usual, the food was delicious.

Tags: Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Great for Lunch, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food and service was excellent although ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Food and service was excellent although a little pricey

Amazing selection of bourbons

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

I had what was probably the best salad I ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

I had what was probably the best salad I've ever had, this spinach salad with sliced peaches. The caramel upside down cake was excellent, too. And what I went there for--a dozen raw oysters. Fresh tasting, and perfect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I chose this restaurant for a Saturday l ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

I chose this restaurant for a Saturday lunch based on past experience and their participation in New Orleans Restaurant Week. As the hostess led us to the table, I asked about the prix fixe menu for lunch. She told me that Restaurant Week had ended on Friday (not true, as it was set to end on Sunday). I then asked the server who poured water for the table the same thing and she told me that they had printed special Restaurant Week menus, but they were all out of them (really?).

When I asked our waiter the same question, he claimed not to know anything about it, even though his name tag indicated that he was also a Trainer. At least though he said he would find out. Finally he came back to the table armed with the information about the RW menu items.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

One my family's favorite places to eat i ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

One my family's favorite places to eat in NOLA

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I have eaten here several times, and spe ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

I have eaten here several times, and spent my last 2 birthdays here. This is the first time it was less than spectacular. We were not allowed to make special requests or substitutions in our meals. One person's food came out cold, while another person's expensive seafood special had been sitting under a heat lamp too long.

Hopefully, this was an isolated event!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

The food was excellent and the service w ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

The food was excellent and the service was very attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great waiters. Service was outstanding. ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

Great waiters. Service was outstanding. BarBque Shrimp po boy is the best.

Tags: People Watching, Great for Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Nice location and good food. Hostess ver ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

Nice location and good food. Hostess very distracted and slow service

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

Oysters on the Half-Shell were great as ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Oysters on the Half-Shell were great as always. Crab cake appetizer was outstanding as well. Gulf Shrimp entree was super salty, and the Canun Redfish entree was a bit small for the price. The service was extremely slow, and our table had dirty plates and discarded oyster shells on it before and after the entrees were delivered. Best bet, sit at the oyster bar...better service there and more fun!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

This restaurant had great food selection ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

This restaurant had great food selections, I recommend checking out the menu beforehand to get an idea of what you would like to order. The bourbon was great, I highly recommend trying a flight. Their cocktails are delicious as well. I am not sure if you always have 2 different servers, but we had one that took care of our drinks and the other that took care of our food. So definitely great service!

Tags: Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

We usually love the food at Bourbon hous ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

We usually love the food at Bourbon house, but this experience was not good. We had a party of 8 and ordered appetizers and almost everything was bad. It seemed like there was an Asian flare to this menu and it was not executed well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value3

My wife and I were in NOLA for vacation ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

My wife and I were in NOLA for vacation and made a reservation based on other feedback we had read. We were not disappointed! The food was delicious, the atmosphere was cozy and the staff was excellent.

I ordered the brunch special where each course is paired with a specialty bourbon based cocktail. Every course was excellent and the cocktails were awesome!

My wife ordered the shrimp BLT and noticed there was no bacon. We brought it to the attention of our server and he took care of it right away. He brought out an extra bananna's foster on the house to make up for the error, which was not necessary, but very thoughtful.

We would definitely recommend the Bourbon House anytime!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Cozy, Hot Spot, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Brought a group of people for a dinner a ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Brought a group of people for a dinner and they all loved it.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, People Watching, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was average. Service was exception ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Food was average. Service was exceptional. Overall not bad if you're on trip, but there are much better options in N.O.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

The bourbon selection is second to none. ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

The bourbon selection is second to none. I had two flights of bourbon,the small batch and the single barrel.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Outstanding Value, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

My wife ordered BBQ'd peel your own shri ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

My wife ordered BBQ'd peel your own shrimp. Both the food waitress and the drink hostess asked her if she wanted the shrimp unpeeled and she assured them she did not want the shrimp peeled. Her shrimp came peeled and floating in a french sauce. My meal was to be Shrimp Scampi with a side of pasta. The pasta came with sausage which was not mentioned on the menu and which was totaling unappetizing and unacceptable. My wife ate her meal as it came and I sent my meal back and chose not to eat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

The entire experience was great we start ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

The entire experience was great we started with the broiled oysters , they were cooked just right. They had the right amount of seasoning with a buttery flavor. They were soft and creamy and melted in your mouth. The steak was out of this world cooked to perfection with a beautifully tasting sauce. This place is well worth the trip here. Not over priced and a staff that hustles. They also take reservations

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was Delish! Got both the raw ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Everything was Delish! Got both the raw and roasted oysters. Then just dabbled with the bourbon shrimp app and crab cake. Also opted for the white bourbon Milk Punch. SOOOOO GUUUD!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Convenient location to most hotels. Very ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Convenient location to most hotels. Very polite staff with true southern hospitality

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

I really like the Bourbon House for lunc ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

I really like the Bourbon House for lunch. I find it easy to find a yummy salad with shrimp or chicken. After all the other rich food served in the French Quarter, it's nice to find something tasty and healthy. The po-boys and entrees are also good, but I go there for the salads.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was cooked to perfection! The wait ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Food was cooked to perfection! The waiters went out of their way to make it extra special for our anniversary! Loved it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Overall the food was very good. One dish ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Overall the food was very good. One dish was very heavy on butter.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We had two waitresses. One for drinks an ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

We had two waitresses. One for drinks and one for food. Don't dare ask the food girl for a refill. That just is not going to happen!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3

Excellent crab cakes and BBQ shrimp. Th ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

Excellent crab cakes and BBQ shrimp. The cocktails were also great.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Great food but bourbon list wasn't updat ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

Great food but bourbon list wasn't updated - took three tries to get a bourbon that was in stock and then when I went up to the bar, they had others that were not on the list.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

This was one of the best dining experien ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

This was one of the best dining experiences I have ever had. Our waitress Amber was awesome as well as our food. James was great too.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Took my Dad for his 82nd Birthday Celebr ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Took my Dad for his 82nd Birthday Celebration. Everything was AWESOME. Don't know what could have been better. My parents loved every second of it and that's all that mattered.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful place to dine. Service was ex ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Wonderful place to dine. Service was excellent as was the food!!!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was impeccable. We had two peopl ...

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Service was impeccable. We had two people who didn't know how to taste bourbon and our beverage server was very helpful and was able to offer great suggestions on tastings. The boozy brunch was amazing and the fruits de mers did not disappoint. Best bourbon milk punch ever!!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

While the ambiance and food were quite g ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

While the ambiance and food were quite good, our two person wait team was less than stellar. We're constantly searching for them and they didn't know the menu not drink selections very well. Glad to have gone but not especially impressed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

Excellent charred oysters on the half-sh ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Excellent charred oysters on the half-shell, tuna was done perfectly, and Konar was the best server in all of NOLA!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very disappointed in this restaurant. Ou ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Very disappointed in this restaurant. Our reservation for two people was for 7:30pm, we were finally seated at 7:50pm, after numerous complaints to the hostess. Once seated the noise level within the restaurant was such that I could barely hear my dining partner across the table.

The most egregious error happened when I ordered my entree. When it arrived I took one bite and knew that there was either peanut butter or sesame in the dish. When asked, the waitress had no idea which it was and had to go ask the chef. It was indeed peanut butter which I am very allergic to, not something that I want to eat ever. When given the menu to order a new entree I double checked the description for the original entree. Nowhere in the description was the information that the dish contained peanut butter. Luckily I don't have an anaphylactic reaction to peanut butter, but many people do. Unforgivable mistake on the restaurants part.

I do NOT recommend this restaurant, unless you're a fan of a noisy atmosphere and mediocre food in a setting similar to so many chain restaurants.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.