About Bourbon House

144 Bourbon Street
New Orleans, LA 70130
View Larger Map

“Arguably the best oyster bar of any white tablecloth restaurant in New Orleans” per the Times Picayune, Dickie Brennan’s Bourbon House is all about local seafood. If it’s not in season, you won’t find it on the menu. Enjoy authentic New Orleans dishes and oysters on the halfshell in a lively atmosphere overlooking Bourbon Street.
Dickie Brennan and his culinary team have created an incredible menu of classic New Orleans dishes complemented by new favorites. Signature favorites include Gulf fish on the Halfshell and New Orleans style Barbeque Shrimp.
Bourbon is a central focus at the bar with more than 100 American Whiskeys on the list. Bourbon House is the perfect place for a mint julep or a straight up shot of that hard to find small batch whiskey.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Creole

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Sunday
6:30am - 'til

Bunch
Saturday - Sunday
10:00am - 5:00pm

Cross Street:
Iberville Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(504) 522-0111

Website:
http://www.bourbonhouse.com/

Parking Details:
A few short blocks away from the street car stop at Canal Street.

Public Transit:
A few short blocks away from the street car stop at Canal Street.

Executive Chef:
Darin Nesbit

Private Party Facilities:
The second floor at Bourbon House is the perfect location for your next function with five private dining spaces. Bourbon House can accommodate parties of 10 to 200.

Private Party Contact:
Mary McGee Tilloy: 5045218310x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Bourbon House
  • Bourbon House
  • Bourbon House
  • Bourbon House
  • Bourbon House
Bourbon House
Bourbon House
Bourbon House
Bourbon House
Bourbon House

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Bourbon House Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4

ambience

4.1

noise

Moderate

81% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Seafood
New Orleans / Louisiana
Best Restaurants in French Quarter ›

good for groups (62)
special occasion (56)
fit for foodies (53)
See All
great for lunch (34)
romantic (31)
vibrant bar scene (29)
hot spot (23)
neighborhood gem (23)
notable wine list (21)
great for brunch (20)
scenic view (14)
kid-friendly (11)
late-night find (9)
Sort By:
Newest
613 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

We found the food to be bland and disapp ...

vip
Dined 3 days ago

We found the food to be bland and disappointing, especially for the price. We did enjoy drinks at the bar a few times while in NOLA.

food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Our server - I think his name was Antoni ...

vip
Dined 5 days ago

Our server - I think his name was Antonio - was excellent.

Tags: good for groups
food1
ambience1
service4
value1

Service was very good but was disappoint ...

Dined 6 days ago

Service was very good but was disappointed with everything else...made reservations day before...had to still wait for our table and then was seated at table next to a cabinet that the wait staff had to get in and out of the whole dinner...While people who had no reservations had much better tables....while we waited there was a couple (not college kids either), making out and groping each other for the entire wait.....my son order the crawfish alfredo....there was only about 4 crawfish, 4 red bellpeppers (i think to make it look like there were more crawfish) and very little sauce...i had a dozen raw oysters, we ordered the alligator boudin balls (which were good), one glass of wine and my son had a sprite and a desert (which was good)...cost almost $100 with tip....(tip was for the service).....My husband and I had eaten there once before, shortly after Katrina and had really enjoyed it...I was really looking forward to taking my son there....Bourbon House has become the restaurant that people go to after drinking all day in the quarter...

food4
ambience3
service3
value2

The food was delicious. However, I think ...

Dined on June 25, 2016

The food was delicious. However, I think it is a little expensive for what it is. I also found it interesting that there is wait staff specifically for beverages and another for food.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience5
service4

Check the bourbon flights out!

Dined on June 23, 2016

Check the bourbon flights out!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful meal. Highly recommend. Save r ...

Dined on June 23, 2016

Wonderful meal. Highly recommend. Save room for dessert the Banana Bread Pudding was delicious!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service3
value1

The difference between a good and a bad ...

vip
Dined on June 22, 2016

The difference between a good and a bad review can be so slim. My meal at Bourbon House is an example. I was in the midst of my meal, having just finished an appetizer. A server stopped at my table and placed a lagniappe on the table, which I took to be like an amuse bouche. I ate it, thinking that this was good southern hospitality. The meal went on as planned. Then, upon receiving the check, I saw that I was charged for the lagniappe that I didn't ask for, $1.50 additional. $1.50 swung what would have been a good experience to something else. As a note, I paid for the additional charge, but I did lessen the tip by the same amount. Furthermore, I had the same meal the next night at another restaurant just doors down from the Bourbon House. My entrée was $7 less than at Bourbon House, but the quantity of food was greater.

food4
ambience3
service1
value3

Based on past experience, I had high exp ...

Dined on June 21, 2016

Based on past experience, I had high expectations of our dinner choice this evening. The food and service were very good on my last visit. This visit could only be described as average at best. The food was very good. Prepared very well and not too overpowering. The service and the atmosphere were the issues this evening. Our server was not helpful with menu recommendations. Our party asked him his opinion about multiple dishes and he gave very poor, or no responses at all. Even so far to say that he has never tried the gumbo because he only eats his grandmothers. Drinks also took a long time to come to the table when we were originally seated. Overall the food is worth a try, but service was not at it's best tonight.

food5
ambience3
service2
value2

Loved the food. Our waitress seemed very ...

Dined on June 20, 2016

Loved the food. Our waitress seemed very perturbed to serve us...after we asked for a table in her section by the window. It was 9pm and I guess she wanted to go home. Despite our waitress we enjoyed it very much.

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

I've been to Bourbon House quite a few t ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

I've been to Bourbon House quite a few times. (As a matter of fact I've recommended this place to client reps.) I'm sure other foods are great but I can't get past the grilled redfish with lump crabmeat. Only thing with recent visit is that I don't recall it being so expensive. (Come on... $40 for fish with crabmeat!). I/we will definitely be back and will try something different. All in all I do recommend Bourbon House.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were at the Bourbon House Sunday cele ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

We were at the Bourbon House Sunday celebrating our 4th wedding anniversary. The food, scenery, and service ad great!!..I would recommend this place to anyone!!

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

We are locals so many food spots are bet ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

We are locals so many food spots are better but tourist & young hips probably think food & social scene are great here.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely loved this restaurant. The fo ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

Absolutely loved this restaurant. The food was amazing and the service was fantastic. Highly recommend to others and will definitely be back again for dinner next time I am in New Orleans!!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Every one had something different and ev ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

Every one had something different and every dish was fantastic. The service was prompt ,helpful, and accurate. One person in our party has food allergies and was accommodated well.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5

Bourbon House was incredible! Great food ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Bourbon House was incredible! Great food and great service!

food5
ambience2
service3
value3

PICTURE TIME SQUARE! NEW YEAR'S EVE---

Dined on May 31, 2016

Then imagine youu are eating at a two top in the middle of it. That was my late night experience, upstairs , on 5/29. Even that description doesn't do justice to the decibel level. Food and service were still good, which was amazing considering the mayhem. Was told it was unusual for ten pm. Oysters were wonderful. Roasted beet salad was especially good with both red and golden beets must say I enjoyed my lunch experiences there much more. Partly my fault. When I saw I was being seated with back to rush hour service area and next to a table of eight college boys who were having an exuberantly good time, I should have inquired if there was ANYWHERE else I could sit. Think I may stick to lunch. Sad but true that a single diner oftens draws the short straw on seating. That's just SOP many places.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

A great time was had by all. The food wa ...

Dined on May 31, 2016

A great time was had by all. The food was awesome and the staff was super friendly and attentive. Great atmosphere with the best bourbons Kentucky (my home state) has to offer.

food1
ambience3
service2
value1

No return trips

Dined on May 29, 2016

We have dined at Bourbon House on numerous occasions. But, no more. Our entres came 5 minutes after our appetizers. The broiled oysters were cold. When sent back, they were returned within 5 minutes. The serving dishes were hot but the oysters were the same ones originally returned. They were not cold but were cool. The wait staff was okay at best. Sorry, Bourbon House

food3
ambience4
service1
value2

Dickie Brennan's Bourbon House - Slow Service

Dined on May 28, 2016

I will not dine at this restaurant again. We had a very poor experience with the service. Very slow, and they were not properly staffed or managed. We had to ask for our bills to be revised four times, and they still weren't accurate. I had very high expectations given the reputation (and prices) at this restaurant, and I was very disappointed. Food was good, but not mind blowing.

food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Food was pretty good, including two fish ...

Dined on May 25, 2016

Food was pretty good, including two fish entrees. Really enjoyed the bourbon flights and discussions with staff regarding tastings.

food3
ambience3
service3

Good but not great. The grilled oysters ...

Dined on May 25, 2016

Good but not great. The grilled oysters were the highlight

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I come to New Orleans once a quarter fo ...

Dined on May 24, 2016

I come to New Orleans once a quarter for a week and though I do take my clients to many places I have never once not picked Bourbon House for at least two of our outings. Always a great choice and always a great meal.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The wine & dessert server/waiter Mike wa ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

The wine & dessert server/waiter Mike was OUTSTANDING! He gave excellent recommendations, could speak to the drinks, including which brands of liquor was used. He recommended ideas for the meal, dessert, & beverages. Antonio the actual waiter was not as visible, friendly, or accessible. Mike stood out as exceptional!

Tags: special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Think Twice

vip
Dined on May 22, 2016

We went to Bourbon House with a reservation at 7:30. We ordered a bottle of wine, oysters on the half shell and then dinner. Our wine and oysters arrived and then our entree's arrived before we had a chance to eat our oysters. All our food was on the table by 8:05. The exact same thing happened to the table next to us. On top of that, the crab cake had several pieces of shell in it. I will not go back.

food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Excellent restaurant for outstanding foo ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

Excellent restaurant for outstanding food and drinks. Redfish and Oysters are terrific. Service is excellent and usually a team effort. Also has an Oyster bar for a fun experience. Bourbon Milk Punch is highly recommended and out of this world!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience5
service4

Food was only warm when served and somew ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

Food was only warm when served and somewhat bland. Servers were very attentive

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very nice restaurant in an old historic ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

Very nice restaurant in an old historic building on a Major corner on Bourbon street in the French Quarter in New Orleans. You can look out the window at the many tourist and locals walking in this wonderful unique City. The ambiance is genuine and has a nice historic feeling. My lunch was perfect. Everything was presented very well and the food tasted great! High quality!

Tags: fit for foodies, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service5

Service excellent as always, food as goo ...

Dined on May 16, 2016

Service excellent as always, food as good as always , split worthy!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent

Dined on May 13, 2016

I love this place. Great atmosphere, great food! Highly recommend

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Food was excellent. The service was goo ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

Food was excellent. The service was good except for the fact that we felt rushed to finish our meal. Multiple servers kept asking us if we were done with our meal.

Tags: neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The Bourbon House is one of my favorites ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

The Bourbon House is one of my favorites in New Orleans. It is only one block from Canal Street so I can enjoy a meal and a drink without having to venture too far down the road. The front bar also features a renowned Oyster Bar and is excellent for a quick visit. My only negative is that the place does get busy. You have to time your meal accordingly or make a reservation well in advance. The food is good (yes, there is better in New Orleans), but the bourbon is better with a selection that is unmatched in New Orleans. I rate the service outstanding because they divide the work between a drink/dessert waiter and a meal/app waiter. The balance works well. Regardless, anyone we asked was willing to help us with our specific needs.

Tags: good for groups, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoyed Mother's Day at Bourbon House an ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Enjoyed Mother's Day at Bourbon House and the food was excellent and the service was good. We all had a great time.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food1
ambience1
service1

Went there with two other mom's for Moth ...

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

Went there with two other mom's for Mother's Day brunch. My French toast arrived to the table cold and my two friends eggs Benedict was like warm at best. Told my waitress and a women that she indicated was the "manager". The manager begrudgingly took my plate while my companions eat there meal. The manager proceed to serve other tables French toast while I say there waiting. I was not served again (with attitude to boot) by the same manager until my companions finished their meal. I could go on, but I think suffice it to say we were in New Orleans for five days and this was the WORST restaurant and meal we ALL had!!!!

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Super Yummy dinner

Dined on May 8, 2016

Great dinner, except I would have liked if our server had made some menu recommendations.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service5

Great seafood in a town known for great ...

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

Great seafood in a town known for great seafood!

food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Unfortunately, I was not very impressed ...

vip
Dined on May 7, 2016

Unfortunately, I was not very impressed overall with my dining experience. The food was warm at best and I am not sure if that was secondary to the volume or not, but I that does not excuse the issue.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

First time dining at Bourbon House and n ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

First time dining at Bourbon House and not disappointed. Will return when we go back to New Orleans.

food3
ambience5
service5

My Veal was undercooked. They took it ba ...

Dined on May 4, 2016

My Veal was undercooked. They took it back and returned it nice and crispy with extra crab meat.

food4
ambience3
service3

Food was delicious, but the service felt ...

vip
Dined on May 3, 2016

Food was delicious, but the service felt rushed. We ordered a seafood/raw tower as an appetizer and weren't even halfway through when our server brought out our entrees. Still a great place, though.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding food and service

Dined on April 30, 2016

I am a chef and have a very critical eye when visiting other restaurants. Bourbon House is the whole package. From the great cocktails to dessert the food is amazing and the service was awesome. I highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.