About Bourbon House

144 Bourbon Street
New Orleans, LA 70130
View Larger Map

“Arguably the best oyster bar of any white tablecloth restaurant in New Orleans” per the Times Picayune, Dickie Brennan’s Bourbon House is all about local seafood. If it’s not in season, you won’t find it on the menu. Enjoy authentic New Orleans dishes and oysters on the halfshell in a lively atmosphere overlooking Bourbon Street.
Dickie Brennan and his culinary team have created an incredible menu of classic New Orleans dishes complemented by new favorites. Signature favorites include Gulf fish on the Halfshell and New Orleans style Barbeque Shrimp.
Bourbon is a central focus at the bar with more than 100 American Whiskeys on the list. Bourbon House is the perfect place for a mint julep or a straight up shot of that hard to find small batch whiskey.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Creole

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Sunday
6:30am - 'til

Bunch
Saturday - Sunday
10:00am - 5:00pm

Cross Street:
Iberville Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(504) 522-0111

Website:
http://www.bourbonhouse.com/

Parking Details:
A few short blocks away from the street car stop at Canal Street.

Public Transit:
A few short blocks away from the street car stop at Canal Street.

Executive Chef:
Darin Nesbit

Private Party Facilities:
The second floor at Bourbon House is the perfect location for your next function with five private dining spaces. Bourbon House can accommodate parties of 10 to 200.

Private Party Contact:
Mary McGee Tilloy: 5045218310x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Promotions

Happy Hour!

Special valid Feb 5, 2016 - Jun 5, 2016 all week from 4:00 PM - 6:00 PM

Promotions

Happy Hour!

Special valid Feb 5, 2016 - Jun 5, 2016 all week from 4:00 PM - 6:00 PM

Details
$1 oysters, 1/2 priced wine on tap, $3 Abita Amber draft! Buy a dozen oysters and a bottle of bubbles for $40!. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Feb 5, 2016 - Jun 5, 2016 all week from 4:00 PM - 6:00 PM.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Bourbon House Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.1

ambience

4.2

noise

Moderate

83% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Seafood
New Orleans / Louisiana
Best Restaurants in French Quarter ›

good for groups (69)
special occasion (61)
fit for foodies (60)
See All
great for lunch (37)
romantic (33)
vibrant bar scene (31)
hot spot (29)
neighborhood gem (25)
great for brunch (24)
notable wine list (19)
scenic view (15)
late-night find (12)
kid-friendly (8)
Sort By:
Newest
589 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The wine & dessert server/waiter Mike wa ...

Dined 4 days ago

The wine & dessert server/waiter Mike was OUTSTANDING! He gave excellent recommendations, could speak to the drinks, including which brands of liquor was used. He recommended ideas for the meal, dessert, & beverages. Antonio the actual waiter was not as visible, friendly, or accessible. Mike stood out as exceptional!

Tags: special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Excellent restaurant for outstanding foo ...

Dined 7 days ago

Excellent restaurant for outstanding food and drinks. Redfish and Oysters are terrific. Service is excellent and usually a team effort. Also has an Oyster bar for a fun experience. Bourbon Milk Punch is highly recommended and out of this world!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience5
service4

Food was only warm when served and somew ...

Dined 7 days ago

Food was only warm when served and somewhat bland. Servers were very attentive

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very nice restaurant in an old historic ...

Dined 7 days ago

Very nice restaurant in an old historic building on a Major corner on Bourbon street in the French Quarter in New Orleans. You can look out the window at the many tourist and locals walking in this wonderful unique City. The ambiance is genuine and has a nice historic feeling. My lunch was perfect. Everything was presented very well and the food tasted great! High quality!

Tags: fit for foodies, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service5

Service excellent as always, food as goo ...

Dined on May 16, 2016

Service excellent as always, food as good as always , split worthy!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent

Dined on May 13, 2016

I love this place. Great atmosphere, great food! Highly recommend

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Food was excellent. The service was goo ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

Food was excellent. The service was good except for the fact that we felt rushed to finish our meal. Multiple servers kept asking us if we were done with our meal.

Tags: neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The Bourbon House is one of my favorites ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

The Bourbon House is one of my favorites in New Orleans. It is only one block from Canal Street so I can enjoy a meal and a drink without having to venture too far down the road. The front bar also features a renowned Oyster Bar and is excellent for a quick visit. My only negative is that the place does get busy. You have to time your meal accordingly or make a reservation well in advance. The food is good (yes, there is better in New Orleans), but the bourbon is better with a selection that is unmatched in New Orleans. I rate the service outstanding because they divide the work between a drink/dessert waiter and a meal/app waiter. The balance works well. Regardless, anyone we asked was willing to help us with our specific needs.

Tags: good for groups, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoyed Mother's Day at Bourbon House an ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Enjoyed Mother's Day at Bourbon House and the food was excellent and the service was good. We all had a great time.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food1
ambience1
service1

Went there with two other mom's for Moth ...

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

Went there with two other mom's for Mother's Day brunch. My French toast arrived to the table cold and my two friends eggs Benedict was like warm at best. Told my waitress and a women that she indicated was the "manager". The manager begrudgingly took my plate while my companions eat there meal. The manager proceed to serve other tables French toast while I say there waiting. I was not served again (with attitude to boot) by the same manager until my companions finished their meal. I could go on, but I think suffice it to say we were in New Orleans for five days and this was the WORST restaurant and meal we ALL had!!!!

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Super Yummy dinner

Dined on May 8, 2016

Great dinner, except I would have liked if our server had made some menu recommendations.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service5

Great seafood in a town known for great ...

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

Great seafood in a town known for great seafood!

food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Unfortunately, I was not very impressed ...

vip
Dined on May 7, 2016

Unfortunately, I was not very impressed overall with my dining experience. The food was warm at best and I am not sure if that was secondary to the volume or not, but I that does not excuse the issue.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

First time dining at Bourbon House and n ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

First time dining at Bourbon House and not disappointed. Will return when we go back to New Orleans.

food3
ambience5
service5

My Veal was undercooked. They took it ba ...

Dined on May 4, 2016

My Veal was undercooked. They took it back and returned it nice and crispy with extra crab meat.

food4
ambience3
service3

Food was delicious, but the service felt ...

vip
Dined on May 3, 2016

Food was delicious, but the service felt rushed. We ordered a seafood/raw tower as an appetizer and weren't even halfway through when our server brought out our entrees. Still a great place, though.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding food and service

Dined on April 30, 2016

I am a chef and have a very critical eye when visiting other restaurants. Bourbon House is the whole package. From the great cocktails to dessert the food is amazing and the service was awesome. I highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good choice in the French Quarter

Dined on April 30, 2016

Excellent service, delicious food and a wonder New Orleans atmosphere. Though it is noisy the lively ambiance added to the memorable experience

Tags: good for groups, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service4

The food was delicious... and so was the ...

Dined on April 30, 2016

The food was delicious... and so was the bourbon sidecar I had to drink . They don't rush you so don't eat here if you have some place you need to be soon after dinner.

food3
ambience3
service4

Our servers were pretty nice and attenti ...

Dined on April 29, 2016

Our servers were pretty nice and attentive. The food was good.

food2
ambience3
service1

If you are looking for exceptional custo ...

Dined on April 29, 2016

If you are looking for exceptional customer Service this place is not for you. If you like your water and coffee in your glass and not on the table this place is not for you. And if you think they are coming back to wipe up that spill or to see how everything is or to check and make sure your cheese cake is nice and creamy or a cardboard crumble, not for you. The service was terrible.

food1
ambience4
service1

We were an inconvenience to our waiter. ...

Dined on April 25, 2016

We were an inconvenience to our waiter. Didn't know there specials until after we ordered and overheard a different waiter at a table next to us. Worst thing was not that our entrees came out way before our appetizers but that they took them back and stuck them under a heat lamps LIKE MCDONALDS. I asked them to send them back but given the barely warm temp of my fish they didn't. So disappointed not what I expected from such a highly rated establishment

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

wonderful food, excellent atmosphere

Dined on April 24, 2016

We had such a wonderful time at Bourbon House after the Jazz Festival. The food, service and value were all excellent!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service4

Enjoyed our dinner. Friendly ambience an ...

Dined on April 24, 2016

Enjoyed our dinner. Friendly ambience and waiter. Appetizer dishes were awesome, especially the new shrimp. The entrees were good but not awesome.

food4
ambience3
service1
value3

Poor attitude from waiter

Dined on April 23, 2016

Thankfully the Bourbon House still has amazing food- the server had a corncob in the wrong place. He was rude and his negative energy was unwelcome for our Jazzfest celebration.

food3
ambience4
service5

Great service as you would expect in New ...

Dined on April 23, 2016

Great service as you would expect in New Orleans. Food was good. None of our dishs were crazy amazing, but I think you get the quality & quantity you pay for though. It's definitely among the best you'll find in the Quarter.

food1
ambience1
service3
value1

AVOID

vip
Dined on April 21, 2016

Tourist trap with poor food. Plastic over the menus. Paper over the table clothes. Food unimaginative and sub-standard

food4
ambience3
service1
value3

Everything was good to very good except ...

vip
Dined on April 20, 2016

Everything was good to very good except the service. Our food server was disinterested. We had to ask for refills, and even then, he would disappear and not return for a while. Not up to par with Dickie Brennan's other restaurants.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch
food2
ambience3
service5

It's a very large restaurant on Bourbon ...

Dined on April 17, 2016

It's a very large restaurant on Bourbon Street and has character to it. But because it is large it is also loud and due to location busy. We dined there with 4 people and had good service. The food was ok but not excellent and I certainly had better in NOLA. We had appetizers, the crab cake which was nothing special and the crawfish Mac and Cheese which were good. I had the fish of the day as an entree which was a red fish and prepared ok - blackened and seasoned, maybe a hint too salty but still moist and not super dry. The potatoes were extremely salty. We shared dessert, and those were good. The wine we had was good and all in all we were not rushed out the restaurant after dinner. It's an ok place to go but certainly not my top contender and with all restaurant choices in the city I will try a different one the next time I am there.

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

A lovely business dinner

vip
Dined on April 16, 2016

I had two appetizers so I can't rate the entrees but what I had was excellent and my colleagues enjoyed their dinners as well. The service was prompt and non-intrusive.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Brunch Munch

Dined on April 16, 2016

Pre Fixe brunch menu with cocktail pairings was fantastic. Especially for the price.

Tags: great for brunch
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Mediocre seafood platters

Dined on April 15, 2016

designed for tourists who will only dine there once. Service was good.

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Very much enjoyed the experience.

Dined on April 12, 2016

Very much enjoyed dining at Bourbon House. The service was excellent and the wait staff were attentive and friendly. We finished off with a small drink they brought us to enjoy on the house. Would definitely go back.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

EXCELLENT FOOD & SERVICE

Dined on April 11, 2016

Dined on Cucumber & Crab salad for starters. Entrees, ate Crab Crusted Fish. Absolutely delicious, fresh & prepared to perfection. My husband had Soup du Jour said it was excellent. Fried Seafood Platter came w/10 shrimp, fries, coleslaw, garlic bread. Enough for two ppl. Excellent wine list. We had to pass on dessert as had more than enough to eat. Certainly would recommend Bourbon House. Also, the restaurant is extremely clean as was the bathrooms. Like an oasis on Bourbon Street. Staff very welcoming, knowledgeable, & polite.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We would return again and again!

Dined on April 10, 2016

This is a must-do every time we come to NOLA. Great fun, amazing bourbon selection. And the charbroiled oysters are excellent!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience1
service2
value3

A decent facsimile of a New Orleans restaurant

Dined on April 10, 2016

Bourbon house is too corporate and sterile. It has neither hip nor local character appeal. The restaurant seems like a plastic agglomeration of a generic NO restaurant (the food) and a generic southern restaurant (the bourbon). The bourbon list and pour size/pricing is commendable. However, I won't be back. This restaurant is for folks who want the stereotypical French Quarter experience.

food5
ambience5
service5

Chargrilled oysters were delicious Peca ...

Dined on April 9, 2016

Chargrilled oysters were delicious Pecan in crusted tuna a real treat Wait staff high marks Personable knowledgable Fun

food2
ambience3
service4
value2

not impressed

Dined on April 8, 2016

average restaurant with high prices...nothing special here considering all the top notch restaurants in new Orleans..

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food

Dined on April 8, 2016

We had excellent service. The food was great. And the desserts were to die for. Will for sure go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Bourbon and More

vip
Dined on April 4, 2016

Went to this establishment to try out their different bourbons and was not disappointed. The food was great and the service even better. The staff was well versed in their bourbons and wines and they had plenty of people to ensure your care. Will return again when I am in the area.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, vibrant bar scene

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.