About Bourbon House

144 Bourbon Street
New Orleans, LA 70130
View Larger Map

“Arguably the best oyster bar of any white tablecloth restaurant in New Orleans” per the Times Picayune, Dickie Brennan’s Bourbon House is all about local seafood. If it’s not in season, you won’t find it on the menu. Enjoy authentic New Orleans dishes and oysters on the halfshell in a lively atmosphere overlooking Bourbon Street.
Dickie Brennan and his culinary team have created an incredible menu of classic New Orleans dishes complemented by new favorites. Signature favorites include Gulf fish on the Halfshell and New Orleans style Barbeque Shrimp.
Bourbon is a central focus at the bar with more than 100 American Whiskeys on the list. Bourbon House is the perfect place for a mint julep or a straight up shot of that hard to find small batch whiskey.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Creole

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Sunday
6:30am - 'til

Bunch
Saturday - Sunday
10:00am - 5:00pm

Cross Street:
Iberville Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(504) 522-0111

Website:
http://www.bourbonhouse.com/

Parking Details:
A few short blocks away from the street car stop at Canal Street.

Public Transit:
A few short blocks away from the street car stop at Canal Street.

Executive Chef:
Darin Nesbit

Private Party Facilities:
The second floor at Bourbon House is the perfect location for your next function with five private dining spaces. Bourbon House can accommodate parties of 10 to 200.

Private Party Contact:
Mary McGee Tilloy: 5045218310x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Bourbon House
  • Bourbon House
  • Bourbon House
  • Bourbon House
  • Bourbon House
Bourbon House
Bourbon House
Bourbon House
Bourbon House
Bourbon House

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Bourbon House Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

4.1

ambience

4.1

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

81% would recommend it to a friend

special occasion (55)
good for groups (52)
fit for foodies (45)
See All
romantic (26)
vibrant bar scene (23)
great for lunch (22)
neighborhood gem (21)
notable wine list (19)
hot spot (19)
great for brunch (13)
scenic view (13)
kid-friendly (9)
late-night find (6)
Sort By:
Newest
626 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

While the ambiance and food were quite g ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined 6 days ago

While the ambiance and food were quite good, our two person wait team was less than stellar. We're constantly searching for them and they didn't know the menu not drink selections very well. Glad to have gone but not especially impressed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

Excellent charred oysters on the half-sh ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Excellent charred oysters on the half-shell, tuna was done perfectly, and Konar was the best server in all of NOLA!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very disappointed in this restaurant. Ou ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Very disappointed in this restaurant. Our reservation for two people was for 7:30pm, we were finally seated at 7:50pm, after numerous complaints to the hostess. Once seated the noise level within the restaurant was such that I could barely hear my dining partner across the table.

The most egregious error happened when I ordered my entree. When it arrived I took one bite and knew that there was either peanut butter or sesame in the dish. When asked, the waitress had no idea which it was and had to go ask the chef. It was indeed peanut butter which I am very allergic to, not something that I want to eat ever. When given the menu to order a new entree I double checked the description for the original entree. Nowhere in the description was the information that the dish contained peanut butter. Luckily I don't have an anaphylactic reaction to peanut butter, but many people do. Unforgivable mistake on the restaurants part.

I do NOT recommend this restaurant, unless you're a fan of a noisy atmosphere and mediocre food in a setting similar to so many chain restaurants.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value1

All in all a good visit. Service started ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

All in all a good visit. Service started off kind of slow, like the waiters were sleep walking or something, but they eventually perked up. We had the Boozy Bourbon Brunch, which we love, but the 2nd course was cold, and I mean not luke warm, cold...Still good though. I will be back, because I love this menu so much. I just hope I get hot food and red hot service next time.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

This was such an amazing experience! Jaz ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

This was such an amazing experience! Jazz & all of the other servers were incredibly professional & provided stellar service. The Boozy Bourbon Brunch was the perfect balance of food & cocktails. The courses were paced perfectly! The crab deviled egg was such a delicious addition. Our first time to NOLA & the service & welcoming personalities at the Bourbon House will make this a place we will visit every trip.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This is the second or third time I have ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

This is the second or third time I have eaten at Bourbon House, this time with a colleague while in New Orleans for a conference. As always, the food was outstanding. We had charbroiled oysters, house salads, redfish on the half shell and then bread pudding. Everything was great. And, of course, the service was perfect, as usual. Can't go wrong with Bourbon House.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Service was great, my niece and nephew w ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Service was great, my niece and nephew wanted to try oyster and she made it happen

Plan on coming here when I next get to Mew Orleans.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value1

I had the pecan catfish, which seemed li ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

I had the pecan catfish, which seemed like it would be a light dish, compared with the other offerings. Unfortunately, it was way too salty. I had the peach salad as an appetizer, and it was pretty good. The restaurant is comfortable, but it's a little loud. Good for an expense account meal.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Very good service and very good food! W ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Very good service and very good food! We were there for our daughter's 21st birthday, and it was wonderful. She loved the bourbon milk punch!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The restaurant is in a great location an ...

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

The restaurant is in a great location and has a great atmosphere. The oysters were great, but the rest of our food was not very good, certainly not for the price. The service was friendly but very slow. We often ran out of water and other beverages and and to wait on our server to return or try to hunt her down. They also didn't do a great job of clearing the table after appetizers and before bringing out entrees.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

My dining companions and I had an enjoya ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

My dining companions and I had an enjoyable experience from start to finish the services to the food itself.

Our wait staff (Luis and Jacob) were friendly and helpful. They were gracious when we made an ordering mistake with the food and didn't seem like we were bothering them.

Our entrees were delicious and well prepared.

Bourbon House is a hidden jewel among the hustle bustle and shenanigans of Bourbon street(typed with a smile), I highly recommend it.

The Chargrilled Oysters topped with crab are too die for!!

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We found the food to be bland and disapp ...

vip
 (Columbus)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

We found the food to be bland and disappointing, especially for the price. We did enjoy drinks at the bar a few times while in NOLA.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Our server - I think his name was Antoni ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Our server - I think his name was Antonio - was excellent.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

I always enjoy my meal when I eat at the ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

I always enjoy my meal when I eat at the Bourbon House. Make sure to try the Bourbon Milk Punch, it's the best you'll ever try!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was very good but was disappoint ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Service was very good but was disappointed with everything else...made reservations day before...had to still wait for our table and then was seated at table next to a cabinet that the wait staff had to get in and out of the whole dinner...While people who had no reservations had much better tables....while we waited there was a couple (not college kids either), making out and groping each other for the entire wait.....my son order the crawfish alfredo....there was only about 4 crawfish, 4 red bellpeppers (i think to make it look like there were more crawfish) and very little sauce...i had a dozen raw oysters, we ordered the alligator boudin balls (which were good), one glass of wine and my son had a sprite and a desert (which was good)...cost almost $100 with tip....(tip was for the service).....My husband and I had eaten there once before, shortly after Katrina and had really enjoyed it...I was really looking forward to taking my son there....Bourbon House has become the restaurant that people go to after drinking all day in the quarter...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service4
value1

The food was delicious. However, I think ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

The food was delicious. However, I think it is a little expensive for what it is. I also found it interesting that there is wait staff specifically for beverages and another for food.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

Check the bourbon flights out!

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Check the bourbon flights out!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Wonderful meal. Highly recommend. Save r ...

 
 (Omaha)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Wonderful meal. Highly recommend. Save room for dessert the Banana Bread Pudding was delicious!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The difference between a good and a bad ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

The difference between a good and a bad review can be so slim. My meal at Bourbon House is an example. I was in the midst of my meal, having just finished an appetizer. A server stopped at my table and placed a lagniappe on the table, which I took to be like an amuse bouche. I ate it, thinking that this was good southern hospitality. The meal went on as planned.

Then, upon receiving the check, I saw that I was charged for the lagniappe that I didn't ask for, $1.50 additional. $1.50 swung what would have been a good experience to something else. As a note, I paid for the additional charge, but I did lessen the tip by the same amount.

Furthermore, I had the same meal the next night at another restaurant just doors down from the Bourbon House. My entrée was $7 less than at Bourbon House, but the quantity of food was greater.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value1

Based on past experience, I had high exp ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

Based on past experience, I had high expectations of our dinner choice this evening. The food and service were very good on my last visit.

This visit could only be described as average at best. The food was very good. Prepared very well and not too overpowering.

The service and the atmosphere were the issues this evening. Our server was not helpful with menu recommendations. Our party asked him his opinion about multiple dishes and he gave very poor, or no responses at all. Even so far to say that he has never tried the gumbo because he only eats his grandmothers. Drinks also took a long time to come to the table when we were originally seated.

Overall the food is worth a try, but service was not at it's best tonight.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

Loved the food. Our waitress seemed very ...

 
 (El Paso)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

Loved the food. Our waitress seemed very perturbed to serve us...after we asked for a table in her section by the window. It was 9pm and I guess she wanted to go home. Despite our waitress we enjoyed it very much.

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value2

I've been to Bourbon House quite a few t ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

I've been to Bourbon House quite a few times. (As a matter of fact I've recommended this place to client reps.) I'm sure other foods are great but I can't get past the grilled redfish with lump crabmeat. Only thing with recent visit is that I don't recall it being so expensive. (Come on... $40 for fish with crabmeat!). I/we will definitely be back and will try something different. All in all I do recommend Bourbon House.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

We were at the Bourbon House Sunday cele ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We were at the Bourbon House Sunday celebrating our 4th wedding anniversary. The food, scenery, and service ad great!!..I would recommend this place to anyone!!

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We are locals so many food spots are bet ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We are locals so many food spots are better but tourist & young hips probably think food & social scene are great here.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Absolutely loved this restaurant. The fo ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Absolutely loved this restaurant. The food was amazing and the service was fantastic. Highly recommend to others and will definitely be back again for dinner next time I am in New Orleans!!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Every one had something different and ev ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

Every one had something different and every dish was fantastic. The service was prompt ,helpful, and accurate. One person in our party has food allergies and was accommodated well.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Bourbon House was incredible! Great food ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Bourbon House was incredible! Great food and great service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

PICTURE TIME SQUARE! NEW YEAR'S EVE---

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 31, 2016

Then imagine youu are eating at a two top in the middle of it. That was my late night experience, upstairs , on 5/29. Even that description doesn't do justice to the decibel level. Food and service were still good, which was amazing considering the mayhem. Was told it was unusual for ten pm. Oysters were wonderful. Roasted beet salad was especially good with both red and golden beets must say I enjoyed my lunch experiences there much more.

Partly my fault. When I saw I was being seated with back to rush hour service area and next to a table of eight college boys who were having an exuberantly good time, I should have inquired if there was ANYWHERE else I could sit.

Think I may stick to lunch. Sad but true that a single diner oftens draws the short straw on seating. That's just SOP many places.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3
value3

A great time was had by all. The food wa ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on May 31, 2016

A great time was had by all. The food was awesome and the staff was super friendly and attentive. Great atmosphere with the best bourbons Kentucky (my home state) has to offer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

No return trips

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

We have dined at Bourbon House on numerous occasions. But, no more. Our entres came 5 minutes after our appetizers. The broiled oysters were cold. When sent back, they were returned within 5 minutes. The serving dishes were hot but the oysters were the same ones originally returned. They were not cold but were cool. The wait staff was okay at best. Sorry, Bourbon House

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

Dickie Brennan's Bourbon House - Slow Service

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

I will not dine at this restaurant again. We had a very poor experience with the service. Very slow, and they were not properly staffed or managed. We had to ask for our bills to be revised four times, and they still weren't accurate. I had very high expectations given the reputation (and prices) at this restaurant, and I was very disappointed. Food was good, but not mind blowing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

Food was pretty good, including two fish ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on May 25, 2016

Food was pretty good, including two fish entrees. Really enjoyed the bourbon flights and discussions with staff regarding tastings.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Good but not great. The grilled oysters ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on May 25, 2016

Good but not great. The grilled oysters were the highlight

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

I come to New Orleans once a quarter fo ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on May 24, 2016

I come to New Orleans once a quarter for a week and though I do take my clients to many places I have never once not picked Bourbon House for at least two of our outings. Always a great choice and always a great meal.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The wine & dessert server/waiter Mike wa ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

The wine & dessert server/waiter Mike was OUTSTANDING! He gave excellent recommendations, could speak to the drinks, including which brands of liquor was used. He recommended ideas for the meal, dessert, & beverages. Antonio the actual waiter was not as visible, friendly, or accessible. Mike stood out as exceptional!

Tags: special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Think Twice

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

We went to Bourbon House with a reservation at 7:30. We ordered a bottle of wine, oysters on the half shell and then dinner. Our wine and oysters arrived and then our entree's arrived before we had a chance to eat our oysters. All our food was on the table by 8:05. The exact same thing happened to the table next to us. On top of that, the crab cake had several pieces of shell in it. I will not go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Excellent restaurant for outstanding foo ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on May 18, 2016

Excellent restaurant for outstanding food and drinks. Redfish and Oysters are terrific.

Service is excellent and usually a team effort.

Also has an Oyster bar for a fun experience.

Bourbon Milk Punch is highly recommended and out of this world!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Food was only warm when served and somew ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on May 18, 2016

Food was only warm when served and somewhat bland. Servers were very attentive

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

Very nice restaurant in an old historic ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on May 18, 2016

Very nice restaurant in an old historic building on a Major corner on Bourbon street in the French Quarter in New Orleans. You can look out the window at the many tourist and locals walking in this wonderful unique City. The ambiance is genuine and has a nice historic feeling. My lunch was perfect. Everything was presented very well and the food tasted great! High quality!

Tags: fit for foodies, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was not very tasty. Took to long to ...

 
 (Caribbean)
·Dined on May 18, 2016

Food was not very tasty. Took to long to be served. My wife ordered the gumbo. Is was served with no Seafood. Had to have our waiter take it back. This time the gumbo had some seafood, but the mood had been sullied. My meal was the fried seafood platter. For a New Orleans restaurant, this dish had no taste. Lately I've been told not to eat on Bourbon Street. Most of the restaurants are there for the tourist.

Tags: hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.