About Bourbon House

144 Bourbon Street
New Orleans, LA 70130
View Larger Map

“Arguably the best oyster bar of any white tablecloth restaurant in New Orleans” per the Times Picayune, Dickie Brennan’s Bourbon House is all about local seafood. If it’s not in season, you won’t find it on the menu. Enjoy authentic New Orleans dishes and oysters on the halfshell in a lively atmosphere overlooking Bourbon Street.
Dickie Brennan and his culinary team have created an incredible menu of classic New Orleans dishes complemented by new favorites. Signature favorites include Gulf fish on the Halfshell and New Orleans style Barbeque Shrimp.
Bourbon is a central focus at the bar with nearly 200 bourbons on the list. Bourbon House is the perfect place for a mint julep or a straight pour of that hard to find small batch whiskey.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Creole

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Sunday
6:30am - 'til

Bunch
Saturday - Sunday
10:00am - 5:00pm

Cross Street:
Iberville Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(504) 522-0111

Website:
http://www.bourbonhouse.com/

Parking Details:
A few short blocks away from the street car stop at Canal Street.

Public Transit:
A few short blocks away from the street car stop at Canal Street.

Private Party Facilities:
The second floor at Bourbon House is the perfect location for your next function with five private dining spaces. Bourbon House can accommodate parties of 10 to 200.

Private Party Contact:
Mary McGee Tilloy: 5045218310x

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Bourbon House
  • Bourbon House
  • Bourbon House
  • Bourbon House
  • Bourbon House
Bourbon House
Bourbon House
Bourbon House
Bourbon House
Bourbon House

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Bourbon House Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.2

ambience

4.2

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

84% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Seafood
New Orleans / Louisiana
Best Restaurants in French Quarter ›

Special Occasion (48)
Good for Groups (44)
Fit for Foodies (36)
See All
Great for Lunch (22)
Romantic (19)
Vibrant Bar Scene (19)
Hot Spot (18)
Neighborhood Gem (18)
Scenic View (16)
Notable Wine List (16)
Great for Brunch (13)
Kid-friendly (8)
Late-night Find (5)
Sort By:
Newest
640 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The entire experience was great we start ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

The entire experience was great we started with the broiled oysters , they were cooked just right. They had the right amount of seasoning with a buttery flavor. They were soft and creamy and melted in your mouth. The steak was out of this world cooked to perfection with a beautifully tasting sauce. This place is well worth the trip here. Not over priced and a staff that hustles. They also take reservations

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was Delish! Got both the raw ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Everything was Delish! Got both the raw and roasted oysters. Then just dabbled with the bourbon shrimp app and crab cake. Also opted for the white bourbon Milk Punch. SOOOOO GUUUD!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Convenient location to most hotels. Very ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Convenient location to most hotels. Very polite staff with true southern hospitality

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

I really like the Bourbon House for lunc ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

I really like the Bourbon House for lunch. I find it easy to find a yummy salad with shrimp or chicken. After all the other rich food served in the French Quarter, it's nice to find something tasty and healthy. The po-boys and entrees are also good, but I go there for the salads.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was cooked to perfection! The wait ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Food was cooked to perfection! The waiters went out of their way to make it extra special for our anniversary! Loved it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Overall the food was very good. One dish ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Overall the food was very good. One dish was very heavy on butter.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We had two waitresses. One for drinks an ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

We had two waitresses. One for drinks and one for food. Don't dare ask the food girl for a refill. That just is not going to happen!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3

Excellent crab cakes and BBQ shrimp. Th ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

Excellent crab cakes and BBQ shrimp. The cocktails were also great.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Great food but bourbon list wasn't updat ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

Great food but bourbon list wasn't updated - took three tries to get a bourbon that was in stock and then when I went up to the bar, they had others that were not on the list.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

This was one of the best dining experien ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

This was one of the best dining experiences I have ever had. Our waitress Amber was awesome as well as our food. James was great too.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Took my Dad for his 82nd Birthday Celebr ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Took my Dad for his 82nd Birthday Celebration. Everything was AWESOME. Don't know what could have been better. My parents loved every second of it and that's all that mattered.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful place to dine. Service was ex ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Wonderful place to dine. Service was excellent as was the food!!!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was impeccable. We had two peopl ...

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Service was impeccable. We had two people who didn't know how to taste bourbon and our beverage server was very helpful and was able to offer great suggestions on tastings. The boozy brunch was amazing and the fruits de mers did not disappoint. Best bourbon milk punch ever!!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

While the ambiance and food were quite g ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

While the ambiance and food were quite good, our two person wait team was less than stellar. We're constantly searching for them and they didn't know the menu not drink selections very well. Glad to have gone but not especially impressed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

Excellent charred oysters on the half-sh ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Excellent charred oysters on the half-shell, tuna was done perfectly, and Konar was the best server in all of NOLA!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very disappointed in this restaurant. Ou ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Very disappointed in this restaurant. Our reservation for two people was for 7:30pm, we were finally seated at 7:50pm, after numerous complaints to the hostess. Once seated the noise level within the restaurant was such that I could barely hear my dining partner across the table.

The most egregious error happened when I ordered my entree. When it arrived I took one bite and knew that there was either peanut butter or sesame in the dish. When asked, the waitress had no idea which it was and had to go ask the chef. It was indeed peanut butter which I am very allergic to, not something that I want to eat ever. When given the menu to order a new entree I double checked the description for the original entree. Nowhere in the description was the information that the dish contained peanut butter. Luckily I don't have an anaphylactic reaction to peanut butter, but many people do. Unforgivable mistake on the restaurants part.

I do NOT recommend this restaurant, unless you're a fan of a noisy atmosphere and mediocre food in a setting similar to so many chain restaurants.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value1

All in all a good visit. Service started ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

All in all a good visit. Service started off kind of slow, like the waiters were sleep walking or something, but they eventually perked up. We had the Boozy Bourbon Brunch, which we love, but the 2nd course was cold, and I mean not luke warm, cold...Still good though. I will be back, because I love this menu so much. I just hope I get hot food and red hot service next time.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

This was such an amazing experience! Jaz ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

This was such an amazing experience! Jazz & all of the other servers were incredibly professional & provided stellar service. The Boozy Bourbon Brunch was the perfect balance of food & cocktails. The courses were paced perfectly! The crab deviled egg was such a delicious addition. Our first time to NOLA & the service & welcoming personalities at the Bourbon House will make this a place we will visit every trip.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This is the second or third time I have ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

This is the second or third time I have eaten at Bourbon House, this time with a colleague while in New Orleans for a conference. As always, the food was outstanding. We had charbroiled oysters, house salads, redfish on the half shell and then bread pudding. Everything was great. And, of course, the service was perfect, as usual. Can't go wrong with Bourbon House.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Service was great, my niece and nephew w ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Service was great, my niece and nephew wanted to try oyster and she made it happen

Plan on coming here when I next get to Mew Orleans.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value1

I had the pecan catfish, which seemed li ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

I had the pecan catfish, which seemed like it would be a light dish, compared with the other offerings. Unfortunately, it was way too salty. I had the peach salad as an appetizer, and it was pretty good. The restaurant is comfortable, but it's a little loud. Good for an expense account meal.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Very good service and very good food! W ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Very good service and very good food! We were there for our daughter's 21st birthday, and it was wonderful. She loved the bourbon milk punch!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The restaurant is in a great location an ...

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

The restaurant is in a great location and has a great atmosphere. The oysters were great, but the rest of our food was not very good, certainly not for the price. The service was friendly but very slow. We often ran out of water and other beverages and and to wait on our server to return or try to hunt her down. They also didn't do a great job of clearing the table after appetizers and before bringing out entrees.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

My dining companions and I had an enjoya ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

My dining companions and I had an enjoyable experience from start to finish the services to the food itself.

Our wait staff (Luis and Jacob) were friendly and helpful. They were gracious when we made an ordering mistake with the food and didn't seem like we were bothering them.

Our entrees were delicious and well prepared.

Bourbon House is a hidden jewel among the hustle bustle and shenanigans of Bourbon street(typed with a smile), I highly recommend it.

The Chargrilled Oysters topped with crab are too die for!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We found the food to be bland and disapp ...

vip
 (Columbus)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

We found the food to be bland and disappointing, especially for the price. We did enjoy drinks at the bar a few times while in NOLA.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Our server - I think his name was Antoni ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Our server - I think his name was Antonio - was excellent.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

I always enjoy my meal when I eat at the ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

I always enjoy my meal when I eat at the Bourbon House. Make sure to try the Bourbon Milk Punch, it's the best you'll ever try!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was very good but was disappoint ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Service was very good but was disappointed with everything else...made reservations day before...had to still wait for our table and then was seated at table next to a cabinet that the wait staff had to get in and out of the whole dinner...While people who had no reservations had much better tables....while we waited there was a couple (not college kids either), making out and groping each other for the entire wait.....my son order the crawfish alfredo....there was only about 4 crawfish, 4 red bellpeppers (i think to make it look like there were more crawfish) and very little sauce...i had a dozen raw oysters, we ordered the alligator boudin balls (which were good), one glass of wine and my son had a sprite and a desert (which was good)...cost almost $100 with tip....(tip was for the service).....My husband and I had eaten there once before, shortly after Katrina and had really enjoyed it...I was really looking forward to taking my son there....Bourbon House has become the restaurant that people go to after drinking all day in the quarter...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service4
value1

The food was delicious. However, I think ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

The food was delicious. However, I think it is a little expensive for what it is. I also found it interesting that there is wait staff specifically for beverages and another for food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

Check the bourbon flights out!

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Check the bourbon flights out!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Wonderful meal. Highly recommend. Save r ...

 
 (Nebraska)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Wonderful meal. Highly recommend. Save room for dessert the Banana Bread Pudding was delicious!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The difference between a good and a bad ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

The difference between a good and a bad review can be so slim. My meal at Bourbon House is an example. I was in the midst of my meal, having just finished an appetizer. A server stopped at my table and placed a lagniappe on the table, which I took to be like an amuse bouche. I ate it, thinking that this was good southern hospitality. The meal went on as planned.

Then, upon receiving the check, I saw that I was charged for the lagniappe that I didn't ask for, $1.50 additional. $1.50 swung what would have been a good experience to something else. As a note, I paid for the additional charge, but I did lessen the tip by the same amount.

Furthermore, I had the same meal the next night at another restaurant just doors down from the Bourbon House. My entrée was $7 less than at Bourbon House, but the quantity of food was greater.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value1

Based on past experience, I had high exp ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

Based on past experience, I had high expectations of our dinner choice this evening. The food and service were very good on my last visit.

This visit could only be described as average at best. The food was very good. Prepared very well and not too overpowering.

The service and the atmosphere were the issues this evening. Our server was not helpful with menu recommendations. Our party asked him his opinion about multiple dishes and he gave very poor, or no responses at all. Even so far to say that he has never tried the gumbo because he only eats his grandmothers. Drinks also took a long time to come to the table when we were originally seated.

Overall the food is worth a try, but service was not at it's best tonight.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

Loved the food. Our waitress seemed very ...

 
 (El Paso)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

Loved the food. Our waitress seemed very perturbed to serve us...after we asked for a table in her section by the window. It was 9pm and I guess she wanted to go home. Despite our waitress we enjoyed it very much.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value2

I've been to Bourbon House quite a few t ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

I've been to Bourbon House quite a few times. (As a matter of fact I've recommended this place to client reps.) I'm sure other foods are great but I can't get past the grilled redfish with lump crabmeat. Only thing with recent visit is that I don't recall it being so expensive. (Come on... $40 for fish with crabmeat!). I/we will definitely be back and will try something different. All in all I do recommend Bourbon House.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

We were at the Bourbon House Sunday cele ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We were at the Bourbon House Sunday celebrating our 4th wedding anniversary. The food, scenery, and service ad great!!..I would recommend this place to anyone!!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We are locals so many food spots are bet ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We are locals so many food spots are better but tourist & young hips probably think food & social scene are great here.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Absolutely loved this restaurant. The fo ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Absolutely loved this restaurant. The food was amazing and the service was fantastic. Highly recommend to others and will definitely be back again for dinner next time I am in New Orleans!!

Tags: Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Every one had something different and ev ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

Every one had something different and every dish was fantastic. The service was prompt ,helpful, and accurate. One person in our party has food allergies and was accommodated well.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Bourbon House was incredible! Great food ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Bourbon House was incredible! Great food and great service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.