About Bourbon House

144 Bourbon Street
New Orleans, LA 70130
View Larger Map

“Arguably the best oyster bar of any white tablecloth restaurant in New Orleans” per the Times Picayune, Dickie Brennan’s Bourbon House is all about local seafood. If it’s not in season, you won’t find it on the menu. Enjoy authentic New Orleans dishes and oysters on the halfshell in a lively atmosphere overlooking Bourbon Street.
Dickie Brennan and his culinary team have created an incredible menu of classic New Orleans dishes complemented by new favorites. Signature favorites include Gulf fish on the Halfshell and New Orleans style Barbeque Shrimp.
Bourbon is a central focus at the bar with 200 bourbons on the list. Bourbon House is the perfect place for a specialty cocktail or a straight pour of that hard to find small batch whiskey.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Creole

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Sunday
6:30 AM - 'til

Brunch
Sunday: 10AM - 3PM

Happy Hour
$1 Gulf Oysters & $3 Abita Amber
4PM - 6PM

Cross Street:
Iberville Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(504) 522-0111

Website:
http://www.bourbonhouse.com/

Parking Details:
A few short blocks away from the street car stop at Canal Street.

Public Transit:
A few short blocks away from the street car stop at Canal Street.

Private Party Facilities:
The second floor at Bourbon House is the perfect location for your next function with five private dining spaces. Bourbon House can accommodate parties of 10 to 200.

Private Party Contact:
Mary McGee Tilloy: 5045218310x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Cocktails, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Bourbon House is the official home of the New Orleans Bourbon Society (aka NOBS) -- a spirited society dedicated to the appreciation of fine bourbons. The society hosts regular whiskey events and tastings catered towards the bourbon enthusiast. More info: http://bourbonhouse.com/new_orleans_bourbon_society

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Bourbon House Upstairs Bar Alcove - Bourbon House, New Orleans, LA
Bourbon House Upstairs Bar Alcove - Bourbon House, New Orleans, LA
Bourbon House Balcony Dining - Bourbon House, New Orleans, LA
Bourbon House Bbq Shrimp - Bourbon House, New Orleans, LA
Bourbon House Boiled Shrimp - Bourbon House, New Orleans, LA
Bourbon House Oysters Half Shell - Bourbon House, New Orleans, LA
Bourbon House Fruit De Mare - Bourbon House, New Orleans, LA
Bourbon House Bbq Shrimp Poboy - Bourbon House, New Orleans, LA
Bourbon House Bourbon Bottles - Bourbon House, New Orleans, LA

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Details

Valentine's Day Specials available for your Krewe of 2!

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Bourbon House Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (38)
Special Occasion (38)
Good for Anniversaries (31)
See All
People Watching (31)
Local Ingredients (29)
Handcrafted Cocktails (26)
Good for Birthdays (26)
Fit for Foodies (24)
Business Meals (24)
Good for Groups (22)
Vibrant Bar Scene (19)
Historic (18)
Creative Cuisine (18)
Romantic (17)
Authentic (17)
Neighborhood Gem (16)
Casual (16)
Fun (16)
Bar Seating (15)
Worth the Drive (14)
Hot Spot (14)
Pre/post Theatre (12)
Sunday Lunch (12)
Great for Lunch (11)
Comfort Food (11)
Tasting Menu (10)
Notable Wine List (8)
Modern Decor (8)
Family Style (7)
Happy Hour (7)
Great for Brunch (6)
Great Beer (6)
Outstanding Value (5)
Seasonal (5)
Scenic View (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Spicy (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Healthy (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Cozy (2)
Private Room (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Live Music (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
781 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Excellent food, ambiance, people watchin ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined 2 days ago

Excellent food, ambiance, people watching, drinks!!! Highly recommended.

Tags: Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene, People Watching, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Their flash fried

 
 (Nashville)·Dined 2 days ago

Their flash fried

Tags: Good for Groups, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful meal and wonderful service. ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined 2 days ago

Wonderful meal and wonderful service. We went for brunch and they had a variety of options for everyone. My husband had the fisherman's breakfast and I had the BBQ shrimp po boy. Delicious. We would definitely go back again.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Great for Brunch, People Watching, Spicy, Historic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Real New Orleans food. Nice dining setup ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 3 days ago

Real New Orleans food. Nice dining setup and atmosphere

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Surely host and server. Slow service. ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined 3 days ago

Surely host and server. Slow service. Had reservation but waited 40 minutes. Food was great but...

Tags: Bar Seating, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

Great food and service is outstanding... ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined 6 days ago

Great food and service is outstanding......Top notch New Orleans restaurant......

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Outstanding Value, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service, food and of course bu ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on January 9, 2017

Excellent service, food and of course burborn list. Will be back next time to New Orleans.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ate at the Bourbon House for my girlfrie ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Ate at the Bourbon House for my girlfriend's birthday before going to a play.

The food was amazing and the staff made the occasion fun.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was really friendly but the ...

vip
 (México)·Dined on January 3, 2017

The service was really friendly but the food was really disappointing, nothing to brag about.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4

Excellent service and food. Highly recom ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Excellent service and food. Highly recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

All of the food came out cold. The char ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on January 1, 2017

All of the food came out cold. The chargrilled oysters had no flavor, and are nothing like you get at Drago's. The Specialty, corn/crab bisque had no flavor, so required using all the seasoning on the table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

I was disappointed that the restaurant w ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 1, 2017

I was disappointed that the restaurant wasn't serving brunch on Sunday at 11am on New Year's Day, however, the food that we did have was good and our sever, Lee, made our visit a memorable experience. He was awesome. The drinks were a highlight- I enjoyed my bourbon milk punch and my husband had a very tasty bourbon cocktail with chicory and cherry liqueur.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

Great food, service, and décor. Wide var ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Great food, service, and décor. Wide variety of bourbon, bear, and wine. We had a great New Year's Eve there, but the only thing I didn't enjoy was that the table right next to us was so close that we could listen to them talking.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our first experience was wonderful. Not ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Our first experience was wonderful. Not a lot that a vegan can eat but they tried! The second time was so-so. I think the kitchen was overwhelmed and the food was just ok.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Glad we had a reservation and were taken ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Glad we had a reservation and were taken to a separate room from general dinning area as it was very loud and busy. Excellent service!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

We were in this evening for New Year's E ...

vip
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We were in this evening for New Year's Eve dinner. The gentleman who sat us was incredible! Very friendly and had an old school New Orleans air about him that we really enjoyed. Once seated James and Mary waited on us and both of them were extremely attentive and enjoyable. The food was incredible as well! We would absolutely be back. Great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was fantastic loved the corn flour ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Food was fantastic loved the corn flour cake and crab fingers oysters are fresh and delicious milk punch was creamy and so yummy

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great experience. Troydell and Konar wer ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Great experience. Troydell and Konar were fantastic and enhanced the experience.

Tags: Authentic, Fun, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great staff. Took our own cake and they ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Great staff. Took our own cake and they put it on their own plate and handwrote with chocolate reading Happy Birthday, even give us a candle!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Good for a Date, People Watching, Historic, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had to wait 20 minutes even with a re ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We had to wait 20 minutes even with a reservation which is irritating. My wife and sister ordered the entrée with crab legs in it and they had no crab in the entrée. They had the crablegs but nothing to crack the crablegs with. When asked for something to crack them with they were told the crab was already in the entrée which both could not find or taste the crab in it. The other entrees we had were good. The service was not as attentive as in years past at the Bourbon House. Usually it is awesome. The wine list is good and the ambiance is also good.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Historic, Sunday Lunch, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

Great food and service. We had Crab Eto ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Great food and service. We had Crab Etouffee and the Catfish platter. I had the vegetables instead of the fries with the platter. It was cauliflower cooked with onion. Very good. The Crab Etouffee was great! We also had crab fingers for an appetizer and they were great.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent meal. I had the Redfish and i ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Excellent meal. I had the Redfish and it was cooked perfect. My husband had the Gumbo and Oysters and he loved it. Service was too notch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent in all aspects.

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Excellent in all aspects.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My group of 6 adults had dinner at Bourb ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on December 29, 2016

My group of 6 adults had dinner at Bourbon House over the holidays. All I can say is the food was truly subpar and I cannot recommend eating there. Among our group of 20 to 50-year-olds we shared various seafood dishes, a "pork special," a "steak," redfish and tried other appetizers and dishes. The seafood was average; pork special inedible; redfish only ok compared to other restaurants we ate at; steak a very poor choice of meat with crunchy char from the grill on it. No one in our group found the food appetizing. If you like large portions of generically-fried seafood, then this may be your restaurant.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value3

With a party of four, they still found t ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 28, 2016

With a party of four, they still found time to sit us a couple minutes early. However, this did not make up for the food. I ordered the gumbo which had a muddy after taste and a fried seafood platter which had cold fries when it arrived at the table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

This place is probably not usually so qu ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 26, 2016

This place is probably not usually so quiet, but we were there on the day after Christmas. Food was superb. Best spicy shrimp po-boy we've ever had. Definitely order that, if you like po-boys. My husband gave the frozen brandy milk punch 2 thumbs up.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fun, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

Ok everyone, this place had THE BEST oys ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Ok everyone, this place had THE BEST oysters in the French Quarter. The plumpest, juiciest freshest, and I tried them all over. Raw were great, BBQed were outrageously delicious. The bourbon was fun. My son loved his steak. I really loved the bar area, better than the dining room. Recommend the bar for oysters & bourbon. You can order from the menu there. You won't be disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

Great for a Date! Food excellent! Servic ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Great for a Date! Food excellent! Service is grand!

Tags: Happy Hour, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Christmas Eve Dinner was amazing!

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Christmas Eve Dinner was amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went this evening for xmas eve dinner wi ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Went this evening for xmas eve dinner with our daughter. Excellent service, drinks and desserts. However, our meals were all cold and the soup, luke warm. My husband immediately before we left felt ill from his fish. Overall food was such a disappointment for $135 and a $240 bill that included the tip. Had much higher expectations, worst meal on our trip.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

Good food, good atmosphere with great se ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Good food, good atmosphere with great service especially in the middle of the French quarter.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Great food, great atmosphere, excellent ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Great food, great atmosphere, excellent service. i ordered a side vegetable that was not prepared to the same exacting standard as the rest of the meal, it tasted awful and presentation was appalling. The waitress immediately removed the charge from our bill. This restaurant is $$$ in terms of price. Be prepared for a family of four to drop $200. We had two cocktails, oyster appetizer, three entrees and no dessert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

The food and drinks were wonderful, only ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 22, 2016

The food and drinks were wonderful, only surpassed by the service. Our waiters were very attentive and well-versed in the menus. A must "go to" when visiting New Orleans.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

If your in the french quarter this is th ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 22, 2016

If your in the french quarter this is the place to eat, the staff was amazing and the food was awesome.

Tags: Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Casual, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent overall. Charbroiled oysters p ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Excellent overall. Charbroiled oysters perfect. Staff was excellent. Beautiful setting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great place with first rate food and ser ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Great place with first rate food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Waiter was great and we loved the food

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Waiter was great and we loved the food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great service ! Very nice

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Great service ! Very nice

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4

We usually visit New Orleans in December ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 16, 2016

We usually visit New Orleans in December every year. We first dined at Bourbon House approximately 5 years ago. Since then, we head to Bourbon House on our first night in town. It seems like a good way to start our trip. I love the cauliflower hummus and the pita bread served with it. Of course, the bourbon selection is incredible. I am from KY. So, I appreciate the bourbon selection. We often make it back for a second visit before we leave to return home. The service and ambience is excellent and the food is served as ordered.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Char-broiled oysters great way to start ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 14, 2016

Char-broiled oysters great way to start the meal. The Gulf Fish on the half shell is one of my favorites.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.