About Bouquet Restaurant and Wine Bar

519 Main Street
Covington, KY 41011
View Larger Map

Bouquet Restaurant and Wine Bar, located in the heart of Mainstrasse Village in Covington, opened its doors in the fall of 2007 under the ownership of Chef Stephen Williams. Bouquet offers the unique experience of fine dining in a cozy and intimate atmosphere, serving a seasonal menu of contemporary American cuisine, which features fresh and locally grown ingredients. Recently presented with an Award of Excellence from Wine Spectator Magazine, we have an extensive list of over 200 wines from around the globe. Come and enjoy a glass of wine and dine with us, and see what you have been missing!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Vegetarian / Vegan

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 12:00am, Closed Sundays

Cross Street:
5th Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(859) 491-7777

Website:
http://www.bouquetrestaurant.com/

Executive Chef:
Stephen Williams

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Chicken Provence
  • crab cake
Chicken Provence
crab cake

Bouquet Restaurant and Wine Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Fit for Foodies
Cincinnati / Dayton
American
Cincinnati / Dayton
Fit for Foodies
Cincinnati
1 More
American
Cincinnati
Best Restaurants in Covington ›

Fit for Foodies (52)
Neighborhood Gem (50)
Special Occasion (44)
See All
Romantic (31)
Notable Wine List (29)
Hot Spot (11)
Great for Outdoor Dining (9)
Good for Groups (9)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Local Ingredients (8)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Good for a Date (6)
Great for Lunch (5)
Cozy (5)
Late-night Find (4)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Casual (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Seasonal (2)
Business Meals (2)
Vegan (2)
Authentic (2)
People Watching (2)
Historic (1)
Private Room (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Organic (1)
Healthy (1)
Fun (1)
Sort By:
Newest
848 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We stopped there while traveling. Found ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined 6 days ago

We stopped there while traveling. Found the restaurant on the internet. Had a wonderful experience.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

don't want a review published--ok for #s ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on September 20, 2016

don't want a review published--ok for #s, but no name

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Took out town guests for dinner to Bouqu ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on September 19, 2016

Took out town guests for dinner to Bouquet. The overall experience was good with the food on the exceptional side. The service was not what is expected for a restaurant in this price category. We waited quite some time to order drinks and then too long for the drinks to arrive. The servers were not as attentive as they should have been and there was quite some time between the salad and the entrees with no acknowledgement of the delay. We had to flag the server down, so to speak, to order a second round of drinks. The restaurant was not overly busy but had a steady crowd for a Monday night.

We would return but will certainly be sensitive the service issues to make it a regular dining experience.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

Delicious food and perfect ambience! We ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Delicious food and perfect ambience! We ate outdoors and the menu was unique and versatile. The watermelon basil sorbet was a treat, and the wait staff was very attentive. Her recommendations were spot on! Would definitely go back!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, People Watching, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Waitress was very detached and aloof. ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Waitress was very detached and aloof. Three out of the four of us ordered the burger, waitress never asked how we wanted it served. We told her that two had to be medium and one medium rare. All three burgers came medium rare, we figured that since she didn't ask us how we wanted them served , the kitchen was going to give them to us how they wanted it done. The menu was all over the place, from an expensive salmon dish to a burger. The picked plate left a lot to be desired. We will not be returning. M

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value3

Had a wonderful lunch with my cousin. B ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Had a wonderful lunch with my cousin. Bouquet recently opened for lunch and boy am I glad! The food was delicious and they have a great house made smoothie selection. Our server was perfect and very knowledgable about the food, drinks and their source. Going back next week!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Organic, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Healthy, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent meal and service.

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Excellent meal and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was good, nothing to get super exci ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Food was good, nothing to get super excited over. Server wasn't very friendly. Seemed more interested in getting done with work .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

Very good cuisine. Attentive staff with ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

Very good cuisine. Attentive staff without being over bearing. Good suggestions and explanations of menu items and wine. The neighborhood scene it also worth walking through.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We found Bouquet at the last minute for ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

We found Bouquet at the last minute for dinner. We were planning on a restaurant on the Cincinnati side of the river but then drove over to Covington for Bouquet. The food was excellent - local source, nice presentation and the marriage of flavors unique but not "odd". Would highly recommend this "cross the river" gem.

Tags: Late-night Find, Worth the Drive, Casual, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

As always .... Wonderful

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

As always .... Wonderful

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food selections weren't great. I used to ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

Food selections weren't great. I used to love everything, but this time was just okay. I had a hard time finding something that sounded good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Bouquet never dissappoints. We enjoyed a ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Bouquet never dissappoints. We enjoyed a delicious meal with good friends.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

enjoyed the restaurant...we had some con ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

enjoyed the restaurant...we had some confusion in the order and i wish they had the aperitif i like

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Casual, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Elegant dining in an intimate atmosphere ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Elegant dining in an intimate atmosphere.

Good drinks, good wine , good service and great food. It was our first trip to Bouquet. Many more dining experiences to come!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This restaurant is lovely - the staff is ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

This restaurant is lovely - the staff is amazing and is happy to share how dishes can be altered to meet dietary needs. My husband and I are gluten free and vegan and love the food here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic place and food. Staff are grea ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Fantastic place and food. Staff are great. Food is outstanding

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It was very small space but everything e ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

It was very small space but everything else made up for it

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Bouquet has attentive servers, with a fu ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Bouquet has attentive servers, with a full knowledge base of all the food, drinks, and sourcing of ingredients. The food is high quality, prepared by an exceedingly talented chef, and presented in a manner that is appealing without being pretentious. The special brews created at a local brewery by the owner are a divine treat. The wine selection is exquisite without being overwhelming and has a great variety of prices. Their charcuterie never fails to make the taste buds sing with all locally sourced items. And, who knew "PB&J" could be such a high quality, delicious dessert. We love going to Bouquet and have never had a negative experience. It is a Covington gem.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Bouquet proves Gluten-free can be outsta ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Bouquet proves Gluten-free can be outstanding. Flavors were wonderful and complex. It did not disappoint. So close to giving 5 stars.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

We were really looking forward to dining ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

We were really looking forward to dining at Bouquet since the reviews were great and were eager to try something new. We were really disappointed. We ordered the steak special that was supposed to come with greens and mushrooms. We could barely find any greens and very few mushrooms. The steak was cooked perfectly, but lacked the flavor and taste we would have expected from the description and price. We ordered the cheese board (nice) and squash blossoms (overrated) as appetizers. In the end we would have been just happy with the cheese board and a couple of glasses of wine and skipped the rest. Probably will not return.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

the steak was not worth the high price. ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

the steak was not worth the high price. You should consider offering bread and butter -- or a salad or soup to go with the meals.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

We chose Bouquet for our anniversary din ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

We chose Bouquet for our anniversary dinner and couldn't have been happier. The bartender was friendly and helpful with drink selections. The food was excellent from starter, main entree, to dessert. My only complaint was the main entree serving sizes were on the small side. The manager went out of his way in several ways to make our dinner truly special ( complimentary champagne, special seating by upstairs window, and even loaning umbrella to get car in rainstorm). Look forward to a return trip. Highly recommend to all.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The cute 2 top at the front was quite a ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

The cute 2 top at the front was quite a surprise. It was quiet so we could talk but we were also part of the action. The food. The food was really great. Why didn't we know how good the food was. We will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I have been to Bouquet a few times and w ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

I have been to Bouquet a few times and want to love it because it's so close and we need more fine dining options in KY, but it's always just pretty good. The restaurant itself is a cute place, especially the first floor; the second floor was sweltering on this past visit (it was during a heat wave and their A/C just isn't up to snuff). My salad was okay, nothing memorable, as was my pork chop, which would be downright bland if not for the tasty sauce and veggies on the plate. For a place that has some pricey entrees, Bouquet should at least offer some bread, but it doesn't--unless you buy the "toast" starter for 8 bucks. Very disappointing. Service was good. Water glasses were kept filled and staff were friendly. The best thing I ate was probably the house-made blueberry-lemon sorbet. Meanwhile, a brand new fine dining place has opened across the street, and I suspect that Bouquet will need to up its game.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

My wife and I went for our 7th anniversa ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

My wife and I went for our 7th anniversary. Overall, we thought the food was wonderful. I had the special, filet mignon from one of their local farms and she had the pork chops. We enjoyed the experience very much.

The only thing that we didn't enjoy about the experience was the table. Since we booked in advance, we thought we may have a nicer table, but our choices were the one pressed next to the door and host stand, the one wedged between the bathrooms or the one next to the kitchen door... We chose the kitchen door. It would have been nice if they would have given us a better table since we had reservations while some of the other people that night were walk-ins.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value1

Dined for 1st time on second floor. Food ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Dined for 1st time on second floor. Food was excellent as always but service was slower than usual due in part to server having to run up and down the stairs. The second floor needs window treatments to deal with glare in guest faces during traditional dinner times until the sun actually sets.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Excellent food and service in a neighbor ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Excellent food and service in a neighborhood that has many excellent restaurants. Parking was a bit of a problem but only because of a special event that night. Overall a really great restaurant with well prepared regional food items.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Cute and quaint little restaurant. The h ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Cute and quaint little restaurant. The hostess and servers were pleasant.

My daughter and I went for dinner and chose a variety of small plates. They were good but pricey. I do not mind paying for high quality, and the quality was good, but flavors could have been executed better. I will say the PB&J dessert was delightful and probably our favorite thing.

One note - I ordered a very expensive wine by the glass and literally received 3 swallows per glass. Again, very pricey for what you get. The wine was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

Once we were seated the service was grea ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Once we were seated the service was great.The initial welcome was a tad odd. The bartender stepped out from the bar and after asking us if we had a reservation pointed to 4 or 5 tables and said sit anywhere.There was no attempt to "seat us"and it was more like sitting at the family fast food restaurant.The seat we chose was between the door to men's and women's room which we did not know at time but there should not be able table there.Once seated food/service great.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Wonderful experience. The wait staff was ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Wonderful experience. The wait staff was extremely knowledgeable. Great recommendations. Love the dining room.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The bass we ordered to split ( the waite ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

The bass we ordered to split ( the waiter seemed very put off that we were splitting an entree and pretty much ignored us after that) was tasteless and the root vegetables and beans that it was served with were pretty much uncooked. The waiter never asked how it was leading me to believe that he knew it was bad. Have been to bouquet years ago and had a decent dinner but this was the last trip for me

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

Great food and the ambiance of Mainstrau ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Great food and the ambiance of Mainstrauss area is great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

High cost for the value. High cost forth ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

High cost for the value. High cost forth value. High cost for the value. High cost for the value.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

This special occaision dinner started ou ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

This special occaision dinner started out with a botlle of white wine arriving at the table barely chilled to less than room temperature. No explanation no excuse. We chilled it ourselves with the ice waterfrom our glasses and a chiller. How does a bartender hand a barely chilled bottle of wine to a server and a server open and pour it and not notice or at least say anything? No problem leave a chiller.

Sat and watched my date eat her entree while they did additional cooking to my steak. It was ordered meduim rare, and arrived not rare but very rare. Came back out medium rare and it was quite tasty.

So, Why did it take another 15 minutes when it was the same piece of meat?

I think the steak was around $45. Bascially a steak on a plate with enough garnish to make it interesting. No vegatable sides. So a meal of steak and wine and that's it. Would a few braised baby carrots break the bank?

Could have saved the day with a complimentary dessert offered. Nope. After dinner drink? Naw.

Either she didnt notice or thought better to ignore.

The food was good and we had heard good things but who trained the staff and who is running this place?

At around $150-175 for two, there are lot of options. In fact it seems like every month something else opens up in OTR.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

A Gem of a restaurant! The food is incre ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

A Gem of a restaurant! The food is incredibly creative, locally sourced, and delicious. Same goes for the drinks menu. Waitstaff was helpful and very attentive. I'm going back and have already recommended Bouquet to several of my friends!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The "Motherboard" was outstanding, as we ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

The "Motherboard" was outstanding, as were the entree's. The service was first class, and the waiter was knowledgeable about the food and wine. It is a bit pricy, so this restaurant is for a special occasion or date. Our bottle of wine, shared appetizer, and two entrees were $140, plus $30 gratuity which was well deserved. We've been several times, and never disappointed.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Unique atmosphere and menu. Food was ve ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Unique atmosphere and menu. Food was very good and the waitress was very helpful and friendly.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Had to flag down person to wait on the t ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Had to flag down person to wait on the table 20 minutes after being seated, but management more than made up for this mistake. Very apologetic and service was very good after that. Management offered to comp appetizer and drinks. My husband and I always order a bottle of wine with dinner. We had no expectations of the bottle of wine being comped 100% so we were a little surprised when they did. This overture won us over on the service component and the food was very good too. We would come back again. thank you for the extra attention....it was my birthday that night and what could have turned into a very bad experience ended up being one to remember.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

A new favorite destination. As it's a re ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

A new favorite destination. As it's a relatively small place, the entree menu isn't huge (around 6 entrees or so), but every one is very different (fish/fowl/beef/vegetarian), and based on the two we tried, you absolutely can't go wrong with any of them. The Spring Peas is an amazingly good "small plate." If you like Campari, you must try the cocktail they make out of that. Ingenious.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.