About Bouquet Restaurant and Wine Bar

519 Main Street
Covington, KY 41011
View Larger Map

Bouquet Restaurant and Wine Bar, located in the heart of Mainstrasse Village in Covington, opened its doors in the fall of 2007 under the ownership of Chef Stephen Williams. Bouquet offers the unique experience of fine dining in a cozy and intimate atmosphere, serving a seasonal menu of contemporary American cuisine, which features fresh and locally grown ingredients. Recently presented with an Award of Excellence from Wine Spectator Magazine, we have an extensive list of over 200 wines from around the globe. Come and enjoy a glass of wine and dine with us, and see what you have been missing!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Vegetarian / Vegan

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 12:00am, Closed Sundays

Cross Street:
5th Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(859) 491-7777

Website:
http://www.bouquetrestaurant.com/

Executive Chef:
Stephen Williams

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Chicken Provence - Bouquet Restaurant and Wine Bar, Covington, KY
  • crab cake - Bouquet Restaurant and Wine Bar, Covington, KY

Report a photo problem

Chicken Provence - Bouquet Restaurant and Wine Bar, Covington, KY
crab cake - Bouquet Restaurant and Wine Bar, Covington, KY

Bouquet Restaurant and Wine Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (35)
Creative Cuisine (31)
Local Ingredients (28)
See All
Fit for Foodies (26)
Good for Anniversaries (26)
Cozy (25)
Special Occasion (25)
Neighborhood Gem (24)
Romantic (22)
Quiet Conversation (19)
Notable Wine List (17)
Handcrafted Cocktails (17)
Worth the Drive (15)
Authentic (11)
Pre/post Theatre (10)
Business Meals (10)
Casual (9)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Seasonal (9)
Historic (9)
Tasting Menu (8)
Bar Seating (8)
Healthy (8)
Organic (6)
Hot Spot (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Fun (4)
Vegan (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Great Beer (4)
Happy Hour (3)
Outstanding Value (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
People Watching (2)
Modern Decor (1)
Family Style (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Tapas (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Private Room (1)
Sort By:
S
925 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We used to live in the Mainstrasse neigh ...

 
·Dined 7 days ago

We used to live in the Mainstrasse neighborhood in the mid-90s. We don't get back, often. Really impressed to see all of the excellent drinking and eating options for grownups - not just Pachinkos, anymore. Parking is a problem. As a former resident, I get the need to protect resident parking, but I think the attractions are too numerous for the parking options, especially if the large lot is going away for a new apartment building. Bouquet was excellent, though it is cozy - loud-ish and tight quarters. Service, food, and drinks were all first-rate. Really easy to accommodate my Celiac wife.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Historic, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We have been to Bouquet quite a few time ...

 
·Dined on January 12, 2017

We have been to Bouquet quite a few times and it has become our favorite restaurant in the Cincinnati/Northern Kentucky area. During our most recent visit, my wife and I both opted for the tasting menu with the addition of the masterfully selected wine pairings. The portion sizes for this 5 course tasting could not have been more perfect and each dish was better than the one before it. We are looking forward to trying each months new tasting menu. I cannot recommend this place enough.

Tags: Seasonal, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Cozy, Good for a Date, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Organic, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic food and service. Has an optio ...

 
·Dined on January 8, 2017

Fantastic food and service.

Has an optional 5 course tasting menu that was superb.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Paleo Friendly, Hot Spot, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The cheese plate was wonderful. The duck ...

 
·Dined on January 7, 2017

The cheese plate was wonderful. The duck was cooked perfectly, tender not fatty. The curried soup was amazing. Well prepared and decent portions. Will definately return to try other items on current menu.

Have been going to pre-show dinners for 3 years at Cincinnati Magazine top 10 restaurants....Bouquet is top 5 for sure.

Tags: Cozy, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The location is convenient with ample pa ...

 
·Dined on December 31, 2016

The location is convenient with ample parking nearby. The decor and ambience are excellent. The food however is so-so. The brisket tasted like pot roast and the Pho was not even close to what you can get at much less pricey restaurants. It's unfortunate because the smokey old fashioned and the service are very good.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

Very attractive place. Food was excelle ...

 
·Dined on December 31, 2016

Very attractive place. Food was excellent and plentiful. Service was attentive but not intrusive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Server nice but could be more able to de ...

 
·Dined on December 30, 2016

Server nice but could be more able to describe and explain the dishes and preparation. A little pricey but good. Was better my first visit. Smallish portions. It great presentation.

Tags: Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

A date night w my husband to reconnect . ...

 
·Dined on December 29, 2016

A date night w my husband to reconnect ...we had a great time. I had the filet mignon w potatoes and veggies and my husband the brisket ...both very well cooked and tender ... it's a cozy place and we enjoyed the cocktails snd good and service ...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Enjoyed the food and the fact that it wa ...

 
·Dined on December 29, 2016

Enjoyed the food and the fact that it was not crowded. The service was good and can honestly say that it was a very nice evening.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

My husband and I went to Bouquet becaus ...

 
·Dined on December 24, 2016

My husband and I went to Bouquet because we received a gift certificate as a wedding gift. The food and beverages were phenomenal! We had the Rye Manhattan and Vesper as our pre-dinner cocktails - both highly recommended. The charcuterie was an incredibly delicious appetizer with very unique selections - we enjoyed every bit of that. The filets were excellent (although mine was slightly over-cooked). The prices were a little high, but for a nice night out it was well worth it. Overall, Bouquet was an excellent venue for a special occasion.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Cozy, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

If you're looking for the spot where ser ...

 
·Dined on December 22, 2016

If you're looking for the spot where service industry people in the area dine for special occasions; you found it. Food is fantastic. Service is casual yet attentive. My duck entree was cooked to perfection. They have a wonderful Bourbon selection. A friend recommended this place and I'm glad he did. Thanks bouquet!! We will be back. :)

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fifth time we have been and each dining ...

 
·Dined on December 17, 2016

Fifth time we have been and each dining experience has been excellent! Would highly recommend for any occasion. Food is delicious and the staff is attentive, knowledgeable and very friendly and accommodating!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent service and food with wonderfu ...

 
·Dined on December 16, 2016

Excellent service and food with wonderful atmosphere!

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love this restaurant for dinner and have ...

 
·Dined on December 16, 2016

Love this restaurant for dinner and have never had a bad experience so I wasn't surprised to find their lunch was just as exceptional. The menu is different, lighter fare and lighter priced but just as unique and delicious.

Will be back for both lunch and dinner...maybe I'll just stay for both!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Every time we go to Northern Ky, we try ...

 
·Dined on December 12, 2016

Every time we go to Northern Ky, we try to stop at Bouquet. Love the food and atmosphere.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Quick Bite, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Second time there. Just as good as the f ...

 
·Dined on December 11, 2016

Second time there. Just as good as the first time. The food was awesome! Love how the menu adjusts to the season. We tried their tasting menu this time and it was great. Can't go wrong with their regular menu either!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Fun, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The tasting menu with wine pairings was ...

 
·Dined on December 11, 2016

The tasting menu with wine pairings was delicious and original. The pacing of the pairings wasn't always perfect, but we would certainly return for the tasting menu. The fish dishes were particularly excellent.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Chris was awesome! We really had a fabu ...

 
·Dined on December 10, 2016

Chris was awesome! We really had a fabulous meal. The flounder on the tasting should go on the menu. Yummy!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Romantic, Seasonal, Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I said Paleo Friendly, I can't speak to ...

 
·Dined on December 10, 2016

I said Paleo Friendly, I can't speak to 100% but if you're mostly paleo and want to eat out and stick to that, I think you'll be happy with the choices.

Amazing food, everything was delicious.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is still in my top 2 places in Cinc ...

 
·Dined on December 6, 2016

This is still in my top 2 places in Cincinnati. Stephen never fails to amaze me with his combination of flavors and use of local ingredients. This is the first time I was there that the service was not outstanding but I think a large party upstairs may have been what slowed our food down. The entire staff here is warm, friendly and knowledgeable about the food and wines.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Last minute booking on wet Monday evenin ...

 
·Dined on November 29, 2016

Last minute booking on wet Monday evening for self and colleagues. Place was quieter than perhaps weekend traffic but still enough to feel lively.

Wait staff attentive. Informative. Helpful without being overbearing.

Food was interesting concoction of tastes, aromas and textures. Our group started with shared cheese platter then enjoyed individual plates (tho' we shared a taste of those too!): juicy burger; crisply cooked salmon (tasty); duck and brisket. Desserts were pickled apple pie and a pumpkin spice mousse like dish. Different for sure and worth trying.

Also liked the ability to order small (2oz) wine glasses that allowed one to create their own flight of wines!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed our time at Bouquet. Service ...

 
·Dined on November 26, 2016

We enjoyed our time at Bouquet. Service was excellent, food was unique and tasty, and ambiance was nice. It is dimly lit and a romantic place excellent for celebrating things like anniversaries (which was our reason). The only downside is that many of the tables are just too close to each other. Other than that, it was a nice experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Nice selection of farm-to-table dishes t ...

 
·Dined on November 19, 2016

Nice selection of farm-to-table dishes that were well prepared and presented. Good selection of cocktails and bourbons. The wine list was average with normal variety. Our server explained menu well. Dishes were simple and did not have too many ingredients or flavors.

The old house made for excellent separated dining areas that kept the noise level reasonable. We really appreciated that.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Everything about the food at Bouquet is ...

 
·Dined on November 13, 2016

Everything about the food at Bouquet is creative and delicious. Their attention to detail is incredible. Several menu items are made in house and they are divine - pickled vegetables, housemate buttermilk dressing. Give them both a try. Creative cocktails too. I also love the intimate atmosphere as well.

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Everything was perfect. We did small bit ...

 
·Dined on November 11, 2016

Everything was perfect. We did small bites; our favorite was the 55 minute egg salad.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Vegan, Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As a starter, tried the Charcuterie, whi ...

 
·Dined on November 11, 2016

As a starter, tried the Charcuterie, which was presented so well. So fun to try. Not typically into pickles, but these tasted so fresh! Have to say, Waiter was very attentive. Was brought extra toasted bread without even asking. After that, more Kudos! Timing for bringing main course was at the exact right time. Prepared a little on the well done side, but not too much, and exactly as preferred. Great sauces, wanting more. A great first experience at Bouquet! Will definitely try again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

A very nice and intimate restaurant. We ...

 
·Dined on November 8, 2016

A very nice and intimate restaurant. We were there on a Monday evening and it was full. Service was relatively quick and the food was really very good. Somewhat pricey, but worth it.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

The food at Bouquet is as good as anywhe ...

 
·Dined on November 4, 2016

The food at Bouquet is as good as anywhere else in the Greater Cincinnati area. Chef Kyle is a creative force ! In many ways, Bouquet is a hidden gem.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Great date night spot. Service was good ...

 
·Dined on November 4, 2016

Great date night spot. Service was good and the food was spectacular.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

This place never disappoints. Food was a ...

 
·Dined on November 4, 2016

This place never disappoints. Food was amazing as always. Hands down the best restaurant in the area.

Tags: Authentic, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for a Date, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Only ok. We have been here several times ...

 
·Dined on November 2, 2016

Only ok. We have been here several times and the menu continues to decline in variety and variation the place was empty and I think people are finding value and options elsewhere

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Favorite restaurant in the city. Perfect ...

 
·Dined on October 29, 2016

Favorite restaurant in the city. Perfect for a romantic evening. Our waitress both times (cannot remember her name- slight, short brown hair) has been fantastic and friendly. The food is amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food, adult beverages and serv ...

 
·Dined on October 28, 2016

Excellent food, adult beverages and service as always. Will keep coming back!

Tags: Casual, Good Vegetarian Options, Notable Wine List, Historic, Healthy, Cozy, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Great Beer, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Organic, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dinner was the best!! Our server Paige w ...

 
·Dined on October 28, 2016

Dinner was the best!! Our server Paige was amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My colleagues and I return here on every ...

 
·Dined on October 24, 2016

My colleagues and I return here on every visit we make to Cincinnati

And are never disappointed! Great bourbon choices too.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very knowledgeable staff. Great rink cho ...

 
·Dined on October 22, 2016

Very knowledgeable staff. Great rink choices. Excellent choices.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was unique and very tasty. The ...

 
·Dined on October 22, 2016

The food was unique and very tasty. The server could not have been more knowledgeable, attentive and pleasant. A great place to go for that special occasion.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had heard so much hype about this restau ...

 
·Dined on October 22, 2016

Had heard so much hype about this restaurant. We were all excited to go. The food was terrible. Very salty. Undercooked burger. No meat in bowl. Salmon not tasty. And all food very salty. Flatbread awful. They comped some of the meal but they should have comped the whole thing. I doubt I will be able to give them a second chance. Wondered who was preparing this food. 🙁

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3

Sylbilka always pays attention to detail ...

 
·Dined on October 21, 2016

Sylbilka always pays attention to detail and the food never disappoints. And the art... is wonderful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Food was wonderful, I had duck but I cou ...

 
·Dined on October 21, 2016

Food was wonderful, I had duck but I couldn't chew the fatty skin. I eventually took it off. Brussels sprouts were the best I've ever had! Husband had lamb filet, which was recommended med/rare, but he went medium and should have taken recommendation as it was a little more done than he thought it would be, but he still said it was good. Service was a little slow, and it wasn't a busy night. There were many tables, we were seated by bathroom which is a personal issue for me, and I'm sure if I had asked they would have given us another table. I wasn't sure if open table reservations were seated in a less desirable place and was uncomfortable asking for another table. We have been here 2 other times, it is a quaint and always delicious restaurant, this just wasn't our best visit.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.