About Bouquet Restaurant and Wine Bar

519 Main Street
Covington, KY 41011
View Larger Map

Bouquet Restaurant and Wine Bar, located in the heart of Mainstrasse Village in Covington, opened its doors in the fall of 2007 under the ownership of Chef Stephen Williams. Bouquet offers the unique experience of fine dining in a cozy and intimate atmosphere, serving a seasonal menu of contemporary American cuisine, which features fresh and locally grown ingredients. Recently presented with an Award of Excellence from Wine Spectator Magazine, we have an extensive list of over 200 wines from around the globe. Come and enjoy a glass of wine and dine with us, and see what you have been missing!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Vegetarian / Vegan

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 12:00am, Closed Sundays

Cross Street:
5th Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(859) 491-7777

Website:
http://www.bouquetrestaurant.com/

Executive Chef:
Stephen Williams

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Bouquet Restaurant and Wine Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (41)
Creative Cuisine (31)
Local Ingredients (30)
See All
Fit for Foodies (29)
Good for Anniversaries (26)
Special Occasion (26)
Neighborhood Gem (25)
Cozy (22)
Romantic (22)
Quiet Conversation (21)
Notable Wine List (16)
Handcrafted Cocktails (15)
Worth the Drive (14)
Tasting Menu (13)
Healthy (11)
Seasonal (10)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Business Meals (9)
Bar Seating (9)
Casual (7)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Authentic (6)
Hot Spot (6)
Vegan (5)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Historic (5)
Comfort Food (4)
Organic (4)
Great Beer (4)
Fun (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
965 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Overall a very good restaurant. My fianc ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 5 days ago

Overall a very good restaurant. My fiancée and I went on Valentine's Day. We got the best seat in the house, overlooking the street with the cincinatti skyline in the background. The only thing that I can come up with that is keeping me from only coming here for anything but special occasions, is the price. A standard entree is 27 dollars, which is pretty steep. Now granted, it's prepared by a chef and the food is really amazing, that's just the only downfall for me. Overall though, a wonderful restaurant with an awesome staff, the food was delicious and full of flavor. Would highly recommend for a date night dinner location.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Had a wonderful Valentine's Day thanks t ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 5 days ago

Had a wonderful Valentine's Day thanks to Bouquet!

Tags: Seasonal, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Vegan, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Valentine's Day

 
 (Nashville)·Dined 5 days ago

Valentine's Day

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

friendly, helpful service. delicious foo ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 5 days ago

friendly, helpful service. delicious food and vegetarian duck plate was aMAZing! we even had dessert because it was Valentine's Day and PB&J dark chocolate brownie was delicious. Have all that with Pinot Noir, and Mmmm, you got yourself a great meal.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

As always, one of the best meals you can ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 5 days ago

As always, one of the best meals you can get in town. I highly recommend Bouquet to anyone who wants a fantastic meal with great ambiance and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I recently took my wife on our Valentine ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 5 days ago

I recently took my wife on our Valentine's Day date. The food was spectacular (I had a 48 hour brisket and she had chicken rissoto) and the wait staff are incredibly friendly and knowledgeable. It's not the most affordable food option, but well worth the price. If you're concerned about the sourcing of your food, they can tell you which farms each item originates.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Great Beer, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

A favorite of ours in the past, we made ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 5 days ago

A favorite of ours in the past, we made an early reservation for Valentine's Day. Our waitress arrived within a few minutes, brought us each the glass of wine we ordered. After our entrees arrived, we felt particularly ignored; we sat with empty wine glasses, empty water glasses for at least 10 minutes. Our food got cold during our wait for water refills. We would have had another glass of wine, but the waitress did not ask if we would like more until she was clearing our plates. Very poor service put quite the damper on our VD celebration. Service had been very good during visits the past few years; but this was not the case at all this time - we both wondered why this waitress ignored us for so long; we felt she was rather rude. Likely won't return to this former favorite for quite a while. Food was good but spoiled by very poor service.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value3

Duck was excellant. A bit expensive for ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 5 days ago

Duck was excellant. A bit expensive for weekly dining.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Mediocre, unfortunately. Visited Bouquet ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 5 days ago

Mediocre, unfortunately. Visited Bouquet years ago and loved it, so decided to revisit for Valentine's Day. Tables felt too close together, room was chilly, food, while good, was not elegantly presented. I had trout and it was literally laying skin side up with some toppings. No garnish, not the least bit artful. My date had duck and the skin was not crispy as it should be. Overall, just "eh" which is not what you'd expect for the prices. Too bad.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Food was fantastic and just as important ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 5 days ago

Food was fantastic and just as important, every member of the staff was extremely friendly and could carry a conversation beyond just the food and the menu. We felt very welcomed and I would definitely recommend Bouquet!

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Casual, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous food and customer service. What ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 6 days ago

Fabulous food and customer service. What a find! I can't wait to go back and have the root vegetable salad again. I am planning that soon.

Tags: Casual, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our 3rd visit to Bouquet. Each ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on February 11, 2017

This was our 3rd visit to Bouquet. Each time we travel toward Cincinnati/ northern Kentucky, we discuss dining at Bouquet, and we wonder if it was as good as we remember each meal being. The short answer is, very much yes, and more so. The service was spectacular, the pacing and portion sizes were excellent. The well-curated wine, beer, and spirit lists and the crafted cocktails make it a destination without the food. The servers make educated recommendations for pairings, modifications (if needed), and most importantly, are friendly and know the menu well.

This place deserves its accolades and remains a hidden gem even with them.

Tags: Happy Hour, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Cozy, Hot Spot, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice ambiance and an interesting menu. ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Nice ambiance and an interesting menu. The salad was delicious, and the brisket of beef and chicken risotto were very tasty, although the risotto was a bit too rich for me. Service was terrific and the restaurant has an excellent wine list as well as an extensive choice of bourbons. The place feels like it belongs in New York or Chicago.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Good food prepared with creative simplic ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Good food prepared with creative simplicity and wonderful flavor. We tend to enjoy the small plates. ..and the great cocktails. Service is always professional and warm.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is the best restaurant experience i ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 8, 2017

This is the best restaurant experience in the Cincy region. Best food. Best service. Best experience. Your missing the best Cincy has to offer until you try Bouquet!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the best places in the city...gre ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 4, 2017

One of the best places in the city...great food. Great service. Great atmosphere. Perfect for a quiet night out!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was excellent from the soup to the ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Food was excellent from the soup to the fish dinner. We all enjoyed it very much and would highly recommend it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Do not get to Bouquet as often as I woul ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Do not get to Bouquet as often as I would like, but have always had a great meal that focuses on local ingredients. Like to take international visitors to Bouquet for this reason.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

I was interested to walk along Main Stre ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 1, 2017

I was interested to walk along Main Street in Covington to see all of the developments of bars and restaurants in the past few years. Bouquet is one of the restaurants which is getting a good play. It was a nice place, quite small, as most of the other locations in Covington are. I am believe that Bouquet certainly has inventive food. The problem was that I wasn't quite on the same wavelength as the chef. Consequently, I have not graded the food as high as some of the other aspects of the restaurant. It may be just that that they were trying too hard to be "inventive", rather than concentrating on good cooking. I usually like fully flavored dishes, but here the flavors were a little "too, too much". One man's opinion, of course.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

The service in general was very good and ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 29, 2017

The service in general was very good and attentive, however the food was not as good as we expected. No good recommendations on wine, Please do not serve wine from a bottle that does not have a cork.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Afternoon Coffee, Fit for Foodies
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

The food is absolutely delicious! The ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 29, 2017

The food is absolutely delicious! The tasting menu is a great value and lets you try things we might never try and each dish is better than the next--the flavors are awesome! Wish there was a Cincinnati location.....

Tags: Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Terrific experience. The bartender was ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Terrific experience. The bartender was engaging, our server (Page) was perfect, and the food was great.

Tags: Bar Seating, Vegan, Authentic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Server was very good (Autumn Rose) as wa ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Server was very good (Autumn Rose) as was the food.

Tags: Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Once again the folks at Bouquet exceeded ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Once again the folks at Bouquet exceeded our dinning expectations with great food and great service. The Red Snapper was to die for and the Brussel Sprouts are a must have. This was the first time we were sat upstairs, its open and bright. It is now our favorite seating area.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very nice restaurant, the food was a lit ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Very nice restaurant, the food was a little dried out but I would definitely go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

Excellent food, great experience

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Excellent food, great experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome! Will be back soon!

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 19, 2017

Awesome! Will be back soon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We used to live in the Mainstrasse neigh ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 15, 2017

We used to live in the Mainstrasse neighborhood in the mid-90s. We don't get back, often. Really impressed to see all of the excellent drinking and eating options for grownups - not just Pachinkos, anymore. Parking is a problem. As a former resident, I get the need to protect resident parking, but I think the attractions are too numerous for the parking options, especially if the large lot is going away for a new apartment building. Bouquet was excellent, though it is cozy - loud-ish and tight quarters. Service, food, and drinks were all first-rate. Really easy to accommodate my Celiac wife.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Historic, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We have been to Bouquet quite a few time ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 12, 2017

We have been to Bouquet quite a few times and it has become our favorite restaurant in the Cincinnati/Northern Kentucky area. During our most recent visit, my wife and I both opted for the tasting menu with the addition of the masterfully selected wine pairings. The portion sizes for this 5 course tasting could not have been more perfect and each dish was better than the one before it. We are looking forward to trying each months new tasting menu. I cannot recommend this place enough.

Tags: Seasonal, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Cozy, Good for a Date, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Organic, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was the perfect space for a dinner ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 12, 2017

This was the perfect space for a dinner with my friend. Would go back.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic food and service. Has an optio ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Fantastic food and service.

Has an optional 5 course tasting menu that was superb.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Paleo Friendly, Hot Spot, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The cheese plate was wonderful. The duck ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 7, 2017

The cheese plate was wonderful. The duck was cooked perfectly, tender not fatty. The curried soup was amazing. Well prepared and decent portions. Will definately return to try other items on current menu.

Have been going to pre-show dinners for 3 years at Cincinnati Magazine top 10 restaurants....Bouquet is top 5 for sure.

Tags: Cozy, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The location is convenient with ample pa ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The location is convenient with ample parking nearby. The decor and ambience are excellent. The food however is so-so. The brisket tasted like pot roast and the Pho was not even close to what you can get at much less pricey restaurants. It's unfortunate because the smokey old fashioned and the service are very good.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

Very attractive place. Food was excelle ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Very attractive place. Food was excellent and plentiful. Service was attentive but not intrusive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Server nice but could be more able to de ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Server nice but could be more able to describe and explain the dishes and preparation. A little pricey but good. Was better my first visit. Smallish portions. It great presentation.

Tags: Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

A date night w my husband to reconnect . ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 29, 2016

A date night w my husband to reconnect ...we had a great time. I had the filet mignon w potatoes and veggies and my husband the brisket ...both very well cooked and tender ... it's a cozy place and we enjoyed the cocktails snd good and service ...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Enjoyed the food and the fact that it wa ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Enjoyed the food and the fact that it was not crowded. The service was good and can honestly say that it was a very nice evening.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

My husband and I went to Bouquet becaus ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 24, 2016

My husband and I went to Bouquet because we received a gift certificate as a wedding gift. The food and beverages were phenomenal! We had the Rye Manhattan and Vesper as our pre-dinner cocktails - both highly recommended. The charcuterie was an incredibly delicious appetizer with very unique selections - we enjoyed every bit of that. The filets were excellent (although mine was slightly over-cooked). The prices were a little high, but for a nice night out it was well worth it. Overall, Bouquet was an excellent venue for a special occasion.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Cozy, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

If you're looking for the spot where ser ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 22, 2016

If you're looking for the spot where service industry people in the area dine for special occasions; you found it. Food is fantastic. Service is casual yet attentive. My duck entree was cooked to perfection. They have a wonderful Bourbon selection. A friend recommended this place and I'm glad he did. Thanks bouquet!! We will be back. :)

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fifth time we have been and each dining ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Fifth time we have been and each dining experience has been excellent! Would highly recommend for any occasion. Food is delicious and the staff is attentive, knowledgeable and very friendly and accommodating!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.