Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.22mi
  2. Distance: 0.31mi
  3. Distance: 0.38mi
  4. Distance: 0.42mi
  1. Distance: 0.22mi
  2. Distance: 0.31mi
  3. Distance: 0.38mi
  4. Distance: 0.42mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.22mi
  2. Distance: 0.31mi
  3. Distance: 0.38mi
  4. Distance: 0.42mi
  1. Distance: 0.22mi
  2. Distance: 0.31mi
  3. Distance: 0.38mi
  4. Distance: 0.42mi

About Bouquet Restaurant and Wine Bar

Bouquet Restaurant and Wine Bar, located in the heart of Mainstrasse Village in Covington, opened its doors in the fall of 2007 under the ownership of Chef Stephen Williams. Bouquet offers the unique experience of fine dining in a cozy and intimate atmosphere, serving a seasonal menu of contemporary American cuisine, which features fresh and locally grown ingredients. Recently presented with an Award of Excellence from Wine Spectator Magazine, we have an extensive list of over 200 wines from around the globe. Come and enjoy a glass of wine and dine with us, and see what you have been missing!

519 Main Street
Covington, KY 41011
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Vegetarian / Vegan

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 12:00am, Closed Sundays

Cross Street:
5th Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(859) 491-7777

Website:
http://www.bouquetrestaurant.com/

Executive Chef:
Stephen Williams

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Bouquet Restaurant and Wine Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (47)
Fit for Foodies (34)
Special Occasion (32)
See All
Local Ingredients (31)
Creative Cuisine (30)
Good for Anniversaries (29)
Romantic (27)
Quiet Conversation (24)
Neighborhood Gem (24)
Cozy (22)
Tasting Menu (21)
Handcrafted Cocktails (18)
Good for Birthdays (16)
Notable Wine List (15)
Healthy (14)
Worth the Drive (13)
Business Meals (11)
Seasonal (10)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Bar Seating (9)
Authentic (8)
Gluten Free Options (8)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Hot Spot (6)
Fun (6)
Vegan (5)
Historic (5)
Casual (5)
Paleo Friendly (5)
Organic (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Great Beer (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Outstanding Value (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Fireplace (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Tapas (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
People Watching (1)
Sort By:
S
984 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Everything was great! Starting with the service to the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Great local fare, expertly prepared! Hint: order the pickled things, or the cheese board, or the charcuterie. Or all of the above :)
Great service. Every time we go, the meal is excellent.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Cozy, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 18, 2017

One of my favorite restaurants. Most everything dish I've tried has excellent and interesting flavors. Been to Bouquet many times and plan to visit again

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 18, 2017

We went in for our anniversary dinner. The menu was spectacular and the server, John, was very knowledgable and outgoing. It did get a bit louder as the evening went on (6-8p) but it never felt overwhelming or annoying. Will definitely be back!

Tags: Local Ingredients, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Great ambiance, during reservation confirmation call mentioned that we were celebrating an anniversary and birthday so we both were given a complimentary glass of Cava upon being seated, very nice! Great parsley salad and Brussel sprouts to start and the duck entrée was delicious and cooked perfectly. The chicken risotto was good although maybe a bit too "acidic" with a citrus sauce involved. The staff was very friendly and got a little overwhelmed at one point but we were not in an hurry so not an issue. We will definitely go back, highly recommended.

Tags: Special Occasion, Historic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Fun, Tapas, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Gluten Free Options, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Quick Bite, Romantic, Healthy, Cozy, Authentic, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Seasonal, Paleo Friendly, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Upon arrival, we were not seated at the cozy table that had been promised earlier when making reservations with the gen mgr. Being a special occasion, we were of course disappointed. My wife's seafood arrived not rare, but raw....and had to be sent back to the kitchen. She watched as I continued eating. Awkward and not very romantic. A note I sent to the gen mgr has remained unanswered. Too many restaurant selections available to repeat this experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on March 9, 2017

I was truly impressed. We drove up to stay at the airport for an early morning flight and didn't want hotel food. Got lucky as we picked it from looking at menus of several restaurants. Small and very charming. We had a large charcuterie board and it was spectacular. Nice pour on the cocktail and a small but very good wine list. I would recommend to anyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Nice place, seated upstairs on a winter night was a plus. Small menu but good food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Anniversary

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Absolutely fabulous meal! The food was so fresh and prepared in such unique ways, but so different that you couldn't describe it to someone. Just elevated. Drinks were very good and service was just right. We sat upstairs. Their bar in that area has a really nice copper, hammered finish. One of the best meals we've had in awhile and will be back soon. Little gem with a big wow in flavor and flair.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Historic, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 3, 2017

This was our second dinner at this restaurant, and it was excellent once again.
We ate upstairs, which we found to be quiet and inviting. The interior furnishings were modern-retro and comfortable.
The service was first rate - our server fully explained the menu and wines, and the food was served promptly.
I enjoyed the 5-course tasting menu ($90 with good paired wines): white asparagus custards, onion, and green asparagus (remarkably light and tasty); Kentucky red claw, shoos, apple, puffed rice, shellfish cream (tasty but tiny); truffle ricotta cappellacci, arugula, lemon (great); woodland pork, sweet potato, mushroom, rhubarb (the best prom ever); carrot, spice bread, honey (tasty but small).
My wife enjoyed: the root veggie salad (fresh and tasty); beef brisket and potato; sponge cake with coconut ice cream. All were great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 28, 2017

Wonderful atmosphere, food is delicious, and very personable wait staff

Tags: Healthy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Food was ok. The issue was the 2 bartenders on the 2nd floor continuously involved themselves in our conversations without being asked. We would be talking about the menu or the building and we would hear the bartender answering our conversations. At one point one of them essentially told one of our party that she was wrong and we hadn't even involved him in our conversation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Interesting place! The food we had was really good, but the portions were small and they didn't come with or have side dishes available to complement them. Almost everything on the menu was already gluten free (great!) which we only learned from our server by asking about it.

On a Saturday evening, there is no such thing as a quiet table here; we had what may have been the quietest one, but it was right by the entrance and next to the hostess stand - which meant is was drafty and everyone looked at us & our food while standing inches away and removing their coats. The challenge of maximizing seating in a smallish space.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Gluten Free Options, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Had gone here with my daughters and enjoyed everything so I brought good friends and was not disappointed! We loved it all from appetizers to desert! Autumn was our waiter and she answered all our questions and was excellent! Will definitely go back.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Everything from being seated at our reservation time to the coffee with dessert was wonderful! The staff is very friendly and informative. My husband and I always split a meal and the staff split it for us and made it look wonderful! We had the brisket which melts in your mouth along with the roasted root salad that was wonderful! We split the pb&J dark chocolate brownie and topped off a great meal! We will definitely be back!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Paleo Friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Fun, Vegan, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Seasonal, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Had an issue with the first plate that was brought out but the staff was all over it and took care of the situation. We will be back. Friendly staff that is eager to please.

Tags: Bar Seating, Cozy, Good for a Date, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Fireplace, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 23, 2017

Excellent food, fantastic service. The portions are just the right size. Definitely enjoyed the farm to table approach.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Bouquet is a go to for special occasions and when we want to pamper ourselves. Michael and Jessica have built a tremendous dining experience. The food is local and the dishes are unique yet not so creative you don't know what you are eating. The flavors meld together beautifully in all dishes. I have yet to have a meal there that has not been anything but delectable! They do have a nice wine list and have staff that can help pair.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Authentic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Overall a very good restaurant. My fiancée and I went on Valentine's Day. We got the best seat in the house, overlooking the street with the cincinatti skyline in the background. The only thing that I can come up with that is keeping me from only coming here for anything but special occasions, is the price. A standard entree is 27 dollars, which is pretty steep. Now granted, it's prepared by a chef and the food is really amazing, that's just the only downfall for me. Overall though, a wonderful restaurant with an awesome staff, the food was delicious and full of flavor. Would highly recommend for a date night dinner location.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Had a wonderful Valentine's Day thanks to Bouquet!

Tags: Seasonal, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Vegan, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Valentine's Day

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 15, 2017

friendly, helpful service. delicious food and vegetarian duck plate was aMAZing! we even had dessert because it was Valentine's Day and PB&J dark chocolate brownie was delicious. Have all that with Pinot Noir, and Mmmm, you got yourself a great meal.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 14, 2017

I recently took my wife on our Valentine's Day date. The food was spectacular (I had a 48 hour brisket and she had chicken rissoto) and the wait staff are incredibly friendly and knowledgeable. It's not the most affordable food option, but well worth the price. If you're concerned about the sourcing of your food, they can tell you which farms each item originates.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Great Beer, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 14, 2017

As always, one of the best meals you can get in town. I highly recommend Bouquet to anyone who wants a fantastic meal with great ambiance and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 14, 2017

A favorite of ours in the past, we made an early reservation for Valentine's Day. Our waitress arrived within a few minutes, brought us each the glass of wine we ordered. After our entrees arrived, we felt particularly ignored; we sat with empty wine glasses, empty water glasses for at least 10 minutes. Our food got cold during our wait for water refills. We would have had another glass of wine, but the waitress did not ask if we would like more until she was clearing our plates. Very poor service put quite the damper on our VD celebration. Service had been very good during visits the past few years; but this was not the case at all this time - we both wondered why this waitress ignored us for so long; we felt she was rather rude. Likely won't return to this former favorite for quite a while. Food was good but spoiled by very poor service.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value3

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Duck was excellant. A bit expensive for weekly dining.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Mediocre, unfortunately. Visited Bouquet years ago and loved it, so decided to revisit for Valentine's Day. Tables felt too close together, room was chilly, food, while good, was not elegantly presented. I had trout and it was literally laying skin side up with some toppings. No garnish, not the least bit artful. My date had duck and the skin was not crispy as it should be. Overall, just "eh" which is not what you'd expect for the prices. Too bad.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Food was fantastic and just as important, every member of the staff was extremely friendly and could carry a conversation beyond just the food and the menu. We felt very welcomed and I would definitely recommend Bouquet!

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Casual, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Fabulous food and customer service. What a find! I can't wait to go back and have the root vegetable salad again. I am planning that soon.

Tags: Casual, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on February 11, 2017

This was our 3rd visit to Bouquet. Each time we travel toward Cincinnati/ northern Kentucky, we discuss dining at Bouquet, and we wonder if it was as good as we remember each meal being. The short answer is, very much yes, and more so. The service was spectacular, the pacing and portion sizes were excellent. The well-curated wine, beer, and spirit lists and the crafted cocktails make it a destination without the food. The servers make educated recommendations for pairings, modifications (if needed), and most importantly, are friendly and know the menu well.

This place deserves its accolades and remains a hidden gem even with them.

Tags: Happy Hour, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Cozy, Hot Spot, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Nice ambiance and an interesting menu. The salad was delicious, and the brisket of beef and chicken risotto were very tasty, although the risotto was a bit too rich for me. Service was terrific and the restaurant has an excellent wine list as well as an extensive choice of bourbons. The place feels like it belongs in New York or Chicago.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Good food prepared with creative simplicity and wonderful flavor. We tend to enjoy the small plates. ..and the great cocktails. Service is always professional and warm.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 8, 2017

This is the best restaurant experience in the Cincy region. Best food. Best service. Best experience. Your missing the best Cincy has to offer until you try Bouquet!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 4, 2017

One of the best places in the city...great food. Great service. Great atmosphere. Perfect for a quiet night out!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Food was excellent from the soup to the fish dinner. We all enjoyed it very much and would highly recommend it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Do not get to Bouquet as often as I would like, but have always had a great meal that focuses on local ingredients. Like to take international visitors to Bouquet for this reason.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 1, 2017

I was interested to walk along Main Street in Covington to see all of the developments of bars and restaurants in the past few years. Bouquet is one of the restaurants which is getting a good play. It was a nice place, quite small, as most of the other locations in Covington are. I am believe that Bouquet certainly has inventive food. The problem was that I wasn't quite on the same wavelength as the chef. Consequently, I have not graded the food as high as some of the other aspects of the restaurant. It may be just that that they were trying too hard to be "inventive", rather than concentrating on good cooking. I usually like fully flavored dishes, but here the flavors were a little "too, too much". One man's opinion, of course.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 29, 2017

The service in general was very good and attentive, however the food was not as good as we expected. No good recommendations on wine, Please do not serve wine from a bottle that does not have a cork.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Afternoon Coffee, Fit for Foodies
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 29, 2017

The food is absolutely delicious! The tasting menu is a great value and lets you try things we might never try and each dish is better than the next--the flavors are awesome! Wish there was a Cincinnati location.....

Tags: Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.