About Bouquet Restaurant and Wine Bar

519 Main Street
Covington, KY 41011
View Larger Map

Bouquet Restaurant and Wine Bar, located in the heart of Mainstrasse Village in Covington, opened its doors in the fall of 2007 under the ownership of Chef Stephen Williams. Bouquet offers the unique experience of fine dining in a cozy and intimate atmosphere, serving a seasonal menu of contemporary American cuisine, which features fresh and locally grown ingredients. Recently presented with an Award of Excellence from Wine Spectator Magazine, we have an extensive list of over 200 wines from around the globe. Come and enjoy a glass of wine and dine with us, and see what you have been missing!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Vegetarian / Vegan

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 12:00am, Closed Sundays

Cross Street:
5th Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(859) 491-7777

Website:
http://www.bouquetrestaurant.com/

Executive Chef:
Stephen Williams

Additional:
Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Chicken Provence
  • crab cake
Chicken Provence
crab cake

Bouquet Restaurant and Wine Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.3

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

American
Cincinnati / Dayton
American
Cincinnati
Best Restaurants in Covington ›

Fit for Foodies (57)
Neighborhood Gem (56)
Special Occasion (47)
See All
Romantic (35)
Notable Wine List (30)
Great for Outdoor Dining (10)
Good for Groups (10)
Hot Spot (9)
Late-night Find (6)
Great for Lunch (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Good for a Date (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
834 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

enjoyed the restaurant...we had some con ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

enjoyed the restaurant...we had some confusion in the order and i wish they had the aperitif i like

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Casual, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Elegant dining in an intimate atmosphere ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Elegant dining in an intimate atmosphere.

Good drinks, good wine , good service and great food. It was our first trip to Bouquet. Many more dining experiences to come!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic place and food. Staff are grea ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Fantastic place and food. Staff are great. Food is outstanding

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It was very small space but everything e ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

It was very small space but everything else made up for it

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Bouquet has attentive servers, with a fu ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Bouquet has attentive servers, with a full knowledge base of all the food, drinks, and sourcing of ingredients. The food is high quality, prepared by an exceedingly talented chef, and presented in a manner that is appealing without being pretentious. The special brews created at a local brewery by the owner are a divine treat. The wine selection is exquisite without being overwhelming and has a great variety of prices. Their charcuterie never fails to make the taste buds sing with all locally sourced items. And, who knew "PB&J" could be such a high quality, delicious dessert. We love going to Bouquet and have never had a negative experience. It is a Covington gem.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Bouquet proves Gluten-free can be outsta ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Bouquet proves Gluten-free can be outstanding. Flavors were wonderful and complex. It did not disappoint. So close to giving 5 stars.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

We were really looking forward to dining ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

We were really looking forward to dining at Bouquet since the reviews were great and were eager to try something new. We were really disappointed. We ordered the steak special that was supposed to come with greens and mushrooms. We could barely find any greens and very few mushrooms. The steak was cooked perfectly, but lacked the flavor and taste we would have expected from the description and price. We ordered the cheese board (nice) and squash blossoms (overrated) as appetizers. In the end we would have been just happy with the cheese board and a couple of glasses of wine and skipped the rest. Probably will not return.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

the steak was not worth the high price. ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

the steak was not worth the high price. You should consider offering bread and butter -- or a salad or soup to go with the meals.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

We chose Bouquet for our anniversary din ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

We chose Bouquet for our anniversary dinner and couldn't have been happier. The bartender was friendly and helpful with drink selections. The food was excellent from starter, main entree, to dessert. My only complaint was the main entree serving sizes were on the small side. The manager went out of his way in several ways to make our dinner truly special ( complimentary champagne, special seating by upstairs window, and even loaning umbrella to get car in rainstorm). Look forward to a return trip. Highly recommend to all.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The cute 2 top at the front was quite a ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

The cute 2 top at the front was quite a surprise. It was quiet so we could talk but we were also part of the action. The food. The food was really great. Why didn't we know how good the food was. We will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I have been to Bouquet a few times and w ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

I have been to Bouquet a few times and want to love it because it's so close and we need more fine dining options in KY, but it's always just pretty good. The restaurant itself is a cute place, especially the first floor; the second floor was sweltering on this past visit (it was during a heat wave and their A/C just isn't up to snuff). My salad was okay, nothing memorable, as was my pork chop, which would be downright bland if not for the tasty sauce and veggies on the plate. For a place that has some pricey entrees, Bouquet should at least offer some bread, but it doesn't--unless you buy the "toast" starter for 8 bucks. Very disappointing. Service was good. Water glasses were kept filled and staff were friendly. The best thing I ate was probably the house-made blueberry-lemon sorbet. Meanwhile, a brand new fine dining place has opened across the street, and I suspect that Bouquet will need to up its game.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

My wife and I went for our 7th anniversa ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

My wife and I went for our 7th anniversary. Overall, we thought the food was wonderful. I had the special, filet mignon from one of their local farms and she had the pork chops. We enjoyed the experience very much.

The only thing that we didn't enjoy about the experience was the table. Since we booked in advance, we thought we may have a nicer table, but our choices were the one pressed next to the door and host stand, the one wedged between the bathrooms or the one next to the kitchen door... We chose the kitchen door. It would have been nice if they would have given us a better table since we had reservations while some of the other people that night were walk-ins.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value1

Dined for 1st time on second floor. Food ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Dined for 1st time on second floor. Food was excellent as always but service was slower than usual due in part to server having to run up and down the stairs. The second floor needs window treatments to deal with glare in guest faces during traditional dinner times until the sun actually sets.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Excellent food and service in a neighbor ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Excellent food and service in a neighborhood that has many excellent restaurants. Parking was a bit of a problem but only because of a special event that night. Overall a really great restaurant with well prepared regional food items.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Cute and quaint little restaurant. The h ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Cute and quaint little restaurant. The hostess and servers were pleasant.

My daughter and I went for dinner and chose a variety of small plates. They were good but pricey. I do not mind paying for high quality, and the quality was good, but flavors could have been executed better. I will say the PB&J dessert was delightful and probably our favorite thing.

One note - I ordered a very expensive wine by the glass and literally received 3 swallows per glass. Again, very pricey for what you get. The wine was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

Once we were seated the service was grea ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Once we were seated the service was great.The initial welcome was a tad odd. The bartender stepped out from the bar and after asking us if we had a reservation pointed to 4 or 5 tables and said sit anywhere.There was no attempt to "seat us"and it was more like sitting at the family fast food restaurant.The seat we chose was between the door to men's and women's room which we did not know at time but there should not be able table there.Once seated food/service great.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Wonderful experience. The wait staff was ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Wonderful experience. The wait staff was extremely knowledgeable. Great recommendations. Love the dining room.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The bass we ordered to split ( the waite ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

The bass we ordered to split ( the waiter seemed very put off that we were splitting an entree and pretty much ignored us after that) was tasteless and the root vegetables and beans that it was served with were pretty much uncooked. The waiter never asked how it was leading me to believe that he knew it was bad. Have been to bouquet years ago and had a decent dinner but this was the last trip for me

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

Great food and the ambiance of Mainstrau ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Great food and the ambiance of Mainstrauss area is great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

High cost for the value. High cost forth ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

High cost for the value. High cost forth value. High cost for the value. High cost for the value.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

This special occaision dinner started ou ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

This special occaision dinner started out with a botlle of white wine arriving at the table barely chilled to less than room temperature. No explanation no excuse. We chilled it ourselves with the ice waterfrom our glasses and a chiller. How does a bartender hand a barely chilled bottle of wine to a server and a server open and pour it and not notice or at least say anything? No problem leave a chiller.

Sat and watched my date eat her entree while they did additional cooking to my steak. It was ordered meduim rare, and arrived not rare but very rare. Came back out medium rare and it was quite tasty.

So, Why did it take another 15 minutes when it was the same piece of meat?

I think the steak was around $45. Bascially a steak on a plate with enough garnish to make it interesting. No vegatable sides. So a meal of steak and wine and that's it. Would a few braised baby carrots break the bank?

Could have saved the day with a complimentary dessert offered. Nope. After dinner drink? Naw.

Either she didnt notice or thought better to ignore.

The food was good and we had heard good things but who trained the staff and who is running this place?

At around $150-175 for two, there are lot of options. In fact it seems like every month something else opens up in OTR.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

A Gem of a restaurant! The food is incre ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

A Gem of a restaurant! The food is incredibly creative, locally sourced, and delicious. Same goes for the drinks menu. Waitstaff was helpful and very attentive. I'm going back and have already recommended Bouquet to several of my friends!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The "Motherboard" was outstanding, as we ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

The "Motherboard" was outstanding, as were the entree's. The service was first class, and the waiter was knowledgeable about the food and wine. It is a bit pricy, so this restaurant is for a special occasion or date. Our bottle of wine, shared appetizer, and two entrees were $140, plus $30 gratuity which was well deserved. We've been several times, and never disappointed.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Unique atmosphere and menu. Food was ve ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Unique atmosphere and menu. Food was very good and the waitress was very helpful and friendly.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Had to flag down person to wait on the t ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Had to flag down person to wait on the table 20 minutes after being seated, but management more than made up for this mistake. Very apologetic and service was very good after that. Management offered to comp appetizer and drinks. My husband and I always order a bottle of wine with dinner. We had no expectations of the bottle of wine being comped 100% so we were a little surprised when they did. This overture won us over on the service component and the food was very good too. We would come back again. thank you for the extra attention....it was my birthday that night and what could have turned into a very bad experience ended up being one to remember.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

A new favorite destination. As it's a re ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

A new favorite destination. As it's a relatively small place, the entree menu isn't huge (around 6 entrees or so), but every one is very different (fish/fowl/beef/vegetarian), and based on the two we tried, you absolutely can't go wrong with any of them. The Spring Peas is an amazingly good "small plate." If you like Campari, you must try the cocktail they make out of that. Ingenious.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was a great find. Very much of a fa ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

This was a great find. Very much of a farm to fork type of establishment.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We loved it! It was our first visit the ...

 
·Dined on June 18, 2016

We loved it! It was our first visit there and everything was wonderful. We shall return :-)

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

My husband and I stopped in while he was ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

My husband and I stopped in while he was in town on business. It was a very nice place. Menu was varied and specials were excellent. We had the goat sausage appetizer which was a nice starter. Service was excellent. Over all great experience - we would certainly go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a wonderful restaurant! We absolute ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

What a wonderful restaurant! We absolutely loved the motherboard. The meats and cheeses were great, and all the pickled items were delicious. Our server was excellent. She was very attentive, and yet relaxed and warm. We will definitely be returning soon.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Staff was extremely knowledgeable about ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Staff was extremely knowledgeable about vegan and gluten free options! Food was incredible! New favorite spot!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Looking for a gem, found a diamond!

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on June 7, 2016

Took a group of (8) associates out for business dinner and as the group foodie I scored big yet again!! Boutique is incredible! The food is unique to the chef and wonderful in every way! Our server, Sybilka was absolutely icing on a wonderful cake! Passionate about their food and eager to match you up with something you will love! The vegetable soup was to die for....a touch of curry that made it so good!! I had the pork chop which cooked perfectly and so tender...the smoked strawberries brought just enough sweet and then the orange reduction just knocked me backwards!! Wonderful meal and such a cool vibe! Take a friend, a business associate, a Romantic other...or go alone....just go there!! Almost forgot...outstanding wine list and beer selection as well!! Covington's finest, but this place would rock Indianapolis where we are from!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing Food, Great Appetizer and Good Wine!

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

The food was unique. Got the specials for appetizer and dinner and we loved it. My wife is big into wine so she loved the selection. Went for our anniversary.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall great place to have a couples di ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on June 1, 2016

Overall great place to have a couples dinner. We had the meat and cheese plate with various jams, fruit and pickled veggies. It was excellent. Wine selection. Is small but good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Something special.

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on May 31, 2016

Personal greetings at the door, REAL food prepared creatively and well, and a romantic atmosphere! Love it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Go to Bouquet!

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

Bouquet is a wonderful restaurant with creative dishes, presented in imaginative way by a pleasant, thoughtful staff.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is my new favorite Cincinnati resta ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

This is my new favorite Cincinnati restaurant. I was very excited about finally trying Bouquet so there was a lot to live up to. It ended up being better than I expected. Our first course was the charcuterie board which featured mortadella and finocchiona along with a nice assortment of cheeses. I didn't want the course to end. I ordered the pork chop based on the recommendation of our excellent server and had no regrets. My wife ordered the crab cake and asparagus salad as her entree and enjoyed it all. She also had the potato soup which looked nice but I am not a soup guy so I didn't try any. The desert was some kind of bread pudding with homemade ice cream. I have never had bread pudding like this before. It had a somewhat crispy outer layer which contrasted nicely with the warm interior and ice cream. It's nice to be excited about trying a new restaurant and its even better when it far exceeds your expectations. We are going back again this Friday.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Adorable establishment with an impeccabl ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Adorable establishment with an impeccable menu and outstanding service. Highly recommended.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

This is a very nice and quite place with ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

This is a very nice and quite place with an excellent chef. We were early for any type bar scene.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent place to eat a craft meal! It' ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on May 17, 2016

Excellent place to eat a craft meal! It's not a large place but it was well dcorated and felt just the right size. We had a prty of 6 and were abl to talk and eat and feel comfortable. There is a small bar area which looked very welcoming. The service was superb. Friendly and very knowledgable. The recommendation of the brussel sprouts was a great addition to my meal. The food choices were limited but covered several excellent tastes. We all had something different and everyone commeted on the high quality of taste. I would dine here with confidence and look forward to returning to see what new gems are on the menu.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.