About Bouquet Restaurant and Wine Bar

519 Main Street
Covington, KY 41011
View Larger Map

Bouquet Restaurant and Wine Bar, located in the heart of Mainstrasse Village in Covington, opened its doors in the fall of 2007 under the ownership of Chef Stephen Williams. Bouquet offers the unique experience of fine dining in a cozy and intimate atmosphere, serving a seasonal menu of contemporary American cuisine, which features fresh and locally grown ingredients. Recently presented with an Award of Excellence from Wine Spectator Magazine, we have an extensive list of over 200 wines from around the globe. Come and enjoy a glass of wine and dine with us, and see what you have been missing!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Vegetarian / Vegan

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 12:00am, Closed Sundays

Cross Street:
5th Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(859) 491-7777

Website:
http://www.bouquetrestaurant.com/

Executive Chef:
Stephen Williams

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

  • Chicken Provence
  • crab cake
Chicken Provence
crab cake

Bouquet Restaurant and Wine Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Fit for Foodies
Cincinnati / Dayton
American
Cincinnati / Dayton
Fit for Foodies
Cincinnati
1 More
American
Cincinnati
Best Restaurants in Covington ›

fit for foodies (64)
neighborhood gem (59)
special occasion (47)
See All
romantic (37)
notable wine list (34)
good for groups (10)
great for outdoor dining (8)
hot spot (6)
late-night find (4)
great for lunch (2)
vibrant bar scene (1)
great for brunch (1)
scenic view (1)
kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
807 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We loved it! It was our first visit the ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

We loved it! It was our first visit there and everything was wonderful. We shall return :-)

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I stopped in while he was ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

My husband and I stopped in while he was in town on business. It was a very nice place. Menu was varied and specials were excellent. We had the goat sausage appetizer which was a nice starter. Service was excellent. Over all great experience - we would certainly go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a wonderful restaurant! We absolute ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

What a wonderful restaurant! We absolutely loved the motherboard. The meats and cheeses were great, and all the pickled items were delicious. Our server was excellent. She was very attentive, and yet relaxed and warm. We will definitely be returning soon.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Staff was extremely knowledgeable about ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Staff was extremely knowledgeable about vegan and gluten free options! Food was incredible! New favorite spot!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Looking for a gem, found a diamond!

Dined on June 7, 2016

Took a group of (8) associates out for business dinner and as the group foodie I scored big yet again!! Boutique is incredible! The food is unique to the chef and wonderful in every way! Our server, Sybilka was absolutely icing on a wonderful cake! Passionate about their food and eager to match you up with something you will love! The vegetable soup was to die for....a touch of curry that made it so good!! I had the pork chop which cooked perfectly and so tender...the smoked strawberries brought just enough sweet and then the orange reduction just knocked me backwards!! Wonderful meal and such a cool vibe! Take a friend, a business associate, a Romantic other...or go alone....just go there!! Almost forgot...outstanding wine list and beer selection as well!! Covington's finest, but this place would rock Indianapolis where we are from!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing Food, Great Appetizer and Good Wine!

Dined on June 4, 2016

The food was unique. Got the specials for appetizer and dinner and we loved it. My wife is big into wine so she loved the selection. Went for our anniversary.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Overall great place to have a couples di ...

Dined on June 1, 2016

Overall great place to have a couples dinner. We had the meat and cheese plate with various jams, fruit and pickled veggies. It was excellent. Wine selection. Is small but good.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Something special.

Dined on May 31, 2016

Personal greetings at the door, REAL food prepared creatively and well, and a romantic atmosphere! Love it.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Go to Bouquet!

Dined on May 26, 2016

Bouquet is a wonderful restaurant with creative dishes, presented in imaginative way by a pleasant, thoughtful staff.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

This is my new favorite Cincinnati resta ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

This is my new favorite Cincinnati restaurant. I was very excited about finally trying Bouquet so there was a lot to live up to. It ended up being better than I expected. Our first course was the charcuterie board which featured mortadella and finocchiona along with a nice assortment of cheeses. I didn't want the course to end. I ordered the pork chop based on the recommendation of our excellent server and had no regrets. My wife ordered the crab cake and asparagus salad as her entree and enjoyed it all. She also had the potato soup which looked nice but I am not a soup guy so I didn't try any. The desert was some kind of bread pudding with homemade ice cream. I have never had bread pudding like this before. It had a somewhat crispy outer layer which contrasted nicely with the warm interior and ice cream. It's nice to be excited about trying a new restaurant and its even better when it far exceeds your expectations. We are going back again this Friday.

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Adorable establishment with an impeccabl ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Adorable establishment with an impeccable menu and outstanding service. Highly recommended.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is a very nice and quite place with ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

This is a very nice and quite place with an excellent chef. We were early for any type bar scene.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent place to eat a craft meal! It' ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

Excellent place to eat a craft meal! It's not a large place but it was well dcorated and felt just the right size. We had a prty of 6 and were abl to talk and eat and feel comfortable. There is a small bar area which looked very welcoming. The service was superb. Friendly and very knowledgable. The recommendation of the brussel sprouts was a great addition to my meal. The food choices were limited but covered several excellent tastes. We all had something different and everyone commeted on the high quality of taste. I would dine here with confidence and look forward to returning to see what new gems are on the menu.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

The food was wonderfully made and presen ...

vip
Dined on May 13, 2016

The food was wonderfully made and presented, but very expensive for what it was. We shared the meat and cheese board, but it was $23. That's just too much for a smidge of this and that. My main course of scallops and English peas was delicious but there were two scallops and a small bit of peas. I left hungry, and $140 poorer (for 2). The dessert was the most substantial portion of anything we had. I would go back but probably have a snack first!

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience4
service4

Bouquet is a great date night spot in Co ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

Bouquet is a great date night spot in Covington! My wife and I went there for our anniversary dinner and had a great dining experience!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Outstanding all aroung

Dined on May 1, 2016

We had great service all around, from Chris the bartender (who had also called to confirm our reservation) to Angela our server. Everyone was friendly, knowledgeable and FUN! And the food was excellent. We had scallops for an app, my husband had the special KY Largemouth Bass and I had lamb risotto. Will definitely recommend and will definitely be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Foodie Heaven

Dined on April 30, 2016

The food is amazing! Such artistry with texture, complexity of flavors and presentation! Grace steered us to good wine choices. The sweet potatoe flat bread is outstandingly! The fish special was superb, as was the tofu dish. If you are a foodie, this place is a must eat here!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Quite, relaxed spot with decent fare

Dined on April 28, 2016

I enjoyed my time at Bouquet. The wine list wasn't exhaustive but reasonably priced. We started with the diver scallops which were cooked to melt in your mouth perfection. I had the Kentucky bass which I found to be a bit over salted; however, the dish was balanced with sweet pearl onions and delightful savory reduction. My date had the Hen, which was a bit odd. Both grill and fried chicken with potatoes and peas. They certainly tried to keep the southern palate satisfied here. We finished with these wonderful chocolate tarts, the (banana cream?) filling was perfectly sweetened. Altogether, the meal was good but you can certainly find better food at the same price point elsewhere in the area or across the bridge.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food2
ambience4
service5

The place is nice and cozy. For its loca ...

Dined on April 15, 2016

The place is nice and cozy. For its location its a great place to fine and walk around afterwards. The halibut, which was very appealing to the eye, was unfortunately on the bland side, and over priced when comparing the portion and taste. Could use some seasoning versus the after taste flavor of whatever was used, and definitely some sides. The staff is super nice, so we just took the experience on the chin. It's hard to blame or short someone on the tip when they have clearly done their job in an outstanding performance. We may come back, but it will be a little while. I'm hoping to keep this little romantic spot on my list!

food4
ambience4
service3
value4

We love the food. Service is never great

Dined on April 14, 2016

Food has been and is still great except that they don't give bread anymore on the pretext they serve it with olive oil that costs a lot. Who cares about the olive oil? give me the bread... Service is not great. You come in or leave, no welcome or no goodbye! And you waiter, only nice until the check is delivered...then he disappeared! So it is a GO for the food only!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always, excellent service, and delicious menu

Dined on April 2, 2016

Been there several times in the past year. Always a wonderful experience. Much better than going to OTR!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

The food was well prepared, the service was fine.

Dined on April 2, 2016

They do not serve any bread or even offer for purchase. The explanation of catering to gluten free clients was not credible. Maybe 3% are truly gluten intolerant and they always have the option of not eating the bread. It seemed cheap.

food4
ambience3
service2
value2

Gary and Bobbie

Dined on March 26, 2016

Food was good. Service ok, BUT. Waitress Kathy did not return our credit card after we paid. We were in restaurant another 15 minutes talking with friends and walked around Covington Ky another 45 minutes then headed home to Mason Ohio when Kathy called about the card (over an hour after we left). Had to drive all the way back to Covington (45-50 minutes one way) to get our card. Asked for some type of recognition for our troubles and the Chef owner said they don't have the resources for this. Our bill was approximately $125 for 2 people and our tip $24. Honestly, we would have been happy with anything, appetizer, dessert, etc on the house our next visit. It was very short sighted and lacked good will to offer ZERO. We will not go back and we will not recommend the restaurant. There are too many good restaurant offerings in the area to return after leaving a bad impression such as this.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

No shame in their game!

Dined on March 25, 2016

It is not very often that you have a great experience from beginning to end, but I can now say that I have! From the prompt seating service , attentive hostess , great meal, and perfect ambiance. Bouquet delivered it all. Definitely a go to for any occasion , no wonder they were voted the best restaurant in the state of Kentucky!

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

The best ever.

vip
Dined on March 17, 2016

The best ever.

food5
ambience3
service5

Really loud. But food & service is ALWAY ...

vip
Dined on March 14, 2016

Really loud. But food & service is ALWAYS GREAT!!

food5
ambience5
service5

Creative menu, terrific ambience and top ...

vip
Dined on March 13, 2016

Creative menu, terrific ambience and top notch service.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love Kentucky Large-Mouthed Bass

Dined on March 12, 2016

I'm an attorney and the only large-mouthed Kentuckians I know are opposing counsel whom I wouldn't recommend becoming acquainted with. : ) HOWEVER, Chef Steven Williams' Kentucky large-mouthed bass is worth getting to know -- in fact, my husband and I hope to have several more visits to eat the bass and whatever else the Chef cooks up. Fresh, farm-to-table, everything gluten-free. It 's hard to have excellence in front of the house and in the kitchen but Bouquet succeeds. I have already recommended the restaurant to several friends.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Hard to Beat

Dined on February 28, 2016

We like a chef who cares about spotlighting local farm goods, and this place does it as well as any we've tried...the menu was different than our last visit, so we asked why. Answer: different items available from the area's farms, so they go with the flow and capitalize. The creativity of the preparation and presentation of the food were both wonderful, and the portions were sensible. AND we could hear one another across the table - something that is becoming rare anymore. Our server was knowledgeable about the menu, and engaging (without becoming a member of the family). We were seated in the upstairs dining room, which did seem a little calmer than the main dining room...exactly what we were after, so we were happy about that. All & all - we would recommend to any of our friends as a must-stop when in the area!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

Food was good but our waitress was not

Dined on February 27, 2016

This was the fourth time I have been to Bouquet and the first three times were excellent! Great food, amazing service, great atmosphere. However on the fourth visit we were seated upstairs which doesn't quite have the charm as the downstairs and our server was not good. She was young, definitely inexperienced and was not comfortable with the menu or drink menu. The crab cake appetizer was excellent. The lamb risotto was very good, although really rich, I wish I had shared it, and the pork chop was exclellent but a lot of bone. I will definitely be back though but will make sure to sit downstairs and not have the same waitress.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience2
service3

Awesome bartender and certain staff - lo ...

vip
Dined on February 27, 2016

Awesome bartender and certain staff - loved the specialty cocktails, though getting our exact order delivered was a challenge - multiple reorders. Overall, Inconsistent service and food and a lot of noise. Bass special was tasteless. Pot pie soup was bland and lacked ingredients. The crust was over-cooked and hardened to the bowl like enamel. Very impressed with Sybilka...very charming and customer oriented. Seafood risotto was amazing, but overall, I'm being generous with 3 stars.

food5
ambience3
service4
value5

Plant Based options

Dined on February 27, 2016

It's always nice to find a spot that plant based people like me can enjoy. This place had some great options, and it was easy to try all of them. In particular, the pickled platter was a standout, because it was fun and had some neat things to try. It can be a little noisy, but it is a wine bar, which is part of what you're getting. I will say that the wine list is extensive, but 10+ dollars for a glass of wine and 35+ for bottles defeats the purpose, to me, of enjoying alcohol with dinner--I have purchased some of those same bottles for 10-15 dollars, and I just can't justify it. This happens everywhere, but might as well make the point.

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

poor service

Dined on February 27, 2016

our reservations were at 7:30 and we almost immediately ordered an appetizer for the table. we ordered our main courses after our appetizer was delivered to the table. we were promptly served our salads/soups but we then had at least an hour wait before our main courses were delivered. our waitress apologized twice for the delay but no explanation was ever given.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great First Date!

Dined on February 21, 2016

First date. Perfect location. Perfect food. Great drinks and the service was first rate and friendly.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5

Lovely food and perfect service. Really ...

Dined on February 19, 2016

Lovely food and perfect service. Really good night out.

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Dinner with coworkers

Dined on February 17, 2016

Dinner with five if us and new boss. Quiet Wednesday night, service was very polite, engaging, attentive, but not intrusive.Server had time for some extra conversation which was great, some others might have spent their time hiding out in the kitchen or at the bar. She explained the connection of the menu with local sources. Most of us followed servers recommendations after some Q&A . Everyone was very happy with their choices and the preparation. Made for a very enjoyable evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

On a snowy Valentine's evening

vip
Dined on February 14, 2016

My husband and I termed out on a horrible Valentine evening determined to try Bouquet for the first time . We slogged through the snow and opened the door to find a warm comfortable bar area and a great waitress. They took our refusal to sit at the table by the door with good attitude and seated us at a table in the back where our waitper son managed that hardest of arts- being there and friendly when we wanted her, advising without pushing, friendly but not intrusive . Yes the food was great - a creative cheese tray that kept us discovering new tastes and the local fish that was so local you could really believe it was in the water that day ( in the winter , yet) . My husband's jambalaya bowl probably did not need to be washed. The desserts were yummy . Just the best evening in spite of the snow!!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely dining

Dined on February 14, 2016

We had a wonderful meal, the beet salad was one of the best salads I have ever had and a lovely time. The service was impeccable. We will return. Louisville, KY

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

FOOD IS INCREDIBLE!

Dined on February 13, 2016

This was our third time at Bouquet and it never disappoints. When you are still talking about the food the next day, you know it's good! We had the Sweet Potato Flatbread, Crab Cake, Beet Salad, and Chicken Risotto and all the dishes were fabulous. One of my favorite restaurants in the Tri-State.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Never disappoints.

Dined on February 12, 2016

Another fantastic meal. Sweet potato flatbread was delectable. I wanted to order another one! The filet special was perfection.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.