Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.02mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.22mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.02mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.22mi

About Boulevard Kitchen & Oyster Bar

Boulevard is connected to the iconic Gerard Lounge at Sutton Place Hotel in the heart of downtown Vancouver featuring an oyster bar, private dining room and a large outdoor patio. This restaurant is the new showcase for the legendary and artistic fare of Chef Alex Chen. His inspiration comes from French traditions with a respect for the past while staying both current and modern. Our goal is to deliver an ambiance, service and cuisine that speaks of who we are and where we are located.

845 Burrard St
Vancouver, BC V6Z 2K6
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:

Breakfast: Monday - Sunday: 6:30am - 11:00am

Brunch: Saturday - Sunday: 11:00am - 3:00pm

Lunch: Monday - Sunday: 11:00am - 3:00pm

Happy Hour: Monday - Sunday: 3:00pm - 6:00pm

Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Late Night: Monday - Sunday: 11:00pm - 12:30am

Cross Street:
Burrard at Smithe

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(604) 642-2900

Website:
http://www.boulevardvancouver.ca/

Catering:
We can accommodate all parties large or small and it would be our pleasure to cater your event. Please call the restaurant for more information.

Parking Details:
Leave your vehicle with our valet, or park yourself in the underground hotel pay parking.

Public Transit:
We are a 5 minute walk from the Burrard skytrain station. Exit toward Burrard Street and turn right (south) onto Burrard Street. We are located on Burrard between Robson and Smithe.

Executive Chef:
Alex Chen

Private Party Facilities:
Our private dining room boasts beautiful oak millwork, and spacious grand tables. Your dining experience can be completely or semi private.

Private Party Contact:
Eryne Ordel: (604) 642-2932

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Boulevard Kitchen & Oyster Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (55)
Good for Anniversaries (42)
Good for a Date (40)
See All
Romantic (38)
Fit for Foodies (37)
Creative Cuisine (36)
Business Meals (31)
Good for Birthdays (30)
Notable Wine List (30)
Good for Groups (23)
Local Ingredients (23)
Happy Hour (23)
Great for Lunch (19)
Modern Decor (19)
Bar Seating (17)
Hot Spot (16)
Quiet Conversation (16)
Seasonal (13)
Vibrant Bar Scene (13)
Worth the Drive (12)
Sunday Lunch (12)
Cozy (12)
Healthy (12)
Great for Brunch (11)
Handcrafted Cocktails (11)
Pre/post Theatre (11)
Fun (9)
People Watching (9)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Casual (8)
Authentic (8)
Late-night Find (7)
Tasting Menu (7)
Kid-friendly (6)
Private Room (5)
Molecular Gastronomy (5)
Outstanding Value (5)
Family Style (4)
Fireplace (4)
Great Beer (4)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Historic (2)
Organic (2)
Tapas (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Dancing (1)
Live Sports (1)
Spicy (1)
Scenic View (1)
Waterfront (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Live Music (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
383 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 2 days ago

Seafood tower was fantastic, fresh and delicious oysters, tuna and crab. Very impressive !

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined 6 days ago

Great food and great service. Our server was able to get security to open the gift shop after hours to help us grab a few Cubans!

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on August 16, 2017

excellent, attentive service. Good food but quite pricey

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined on August 10, 2017

Had a great dinner here, the sable fish was fantastic along with all the wine pairings. And the staff were excellent and made our anniversary that much better!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 8, 2017

The food was good but the overall experience was disappointing.

First off, we ate outside on the patio, which was the sidewalk adjoining busy Howe street. Not great ambiance. Even so, it was better than the tables they offered us inside.

Secondly, the service was slow. We had to wait quite awhile before a waiter took our order. Then when he did he informed us that they were out of the evening's special (local Halibut) which was what I was about to order. Out of Halibut at 7:30 pm during Halibut season?? They were also out of the wine I ordered.

My companion and I ordered two appetizers (which we shared): octopus and green & white asparagus salad. Both were tasty but also miniscule. When I order an asparagus salad I expect to get at least two or three asparagus spears. Not at Boulevard. I had to look long and hard to find the few shreds of asparagus under the duck egg.

For main courses we both ordered the wild sockeye salmon dish (after having to forego the Halibut). The salmon was good though not impressive.

Overall, Boulevard is not a good experience and a poor value. Go to Blue Water Cafe, Ancora or Yew for better seafood at comparable prices.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on August 7, 2017

Amazing service and amazing food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on August 2, 2017

Overall experience is great. Staff at Boulevard are all very helpful and friendly.

Tags: Seasonal, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Amazing service! Excellent food presentation! I am still thinking about the sable fish!!

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Hot Spot, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 30, 2017

The staff were just incredible and made the evening so great for the whole family. Food was very good and even if you don't think you can fit it in do at least have one desert to share. Thanks to everyone there

Tags: Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 28, 2017

Food was amazing and our server was polite, friendly and one of the most knowledgeable I've ever had. Management checked on us a couple of times also. I give this place an A for top notch service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 24, 2017

Fabulous food every time! Best Sablefish in the city! Excellent service too!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Our server was absolutely wonderful and the front of house was (generally) nice. One gal was a touch snarky but she did a wonderful recovery and kept it in check. The seafood tower is nice but overpriced

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Came here for Sunday brunch for my birthday. The oysters were great. Pastries were average. Salmon pate was disappointing. It was very thin. Not like a pate at all. More like blended, then whipped salmon with oil.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 14, 2017

The sablefish is amazing. Service was friendly and attentive. Save room for the souffle!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on June 29, 2017

Best dining experience we've had in a long time. Thanks to Bryan, JP and Aliki for making my boyfriend feel special on his birthday! Amazing food and service. Will definitely visit again when we're back to Vancouver!!

Lynn

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Our party of 9 was seated in one of the more private rooms at the rear of the restaurant. Lovely room but one of our guests stepped on a potato underneath the table. This should have been cleaned up after the previous guests. The food was extremely salty, but good. The service was very good. I will come back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on June 20, 2017

Food Was Very Good. Waiter was attentive and monitored the table well. One item I considered
a miss was when we ordered a caviar plate quoted At Market, the server failed to inform us of that quote, which on the final bill amounted to over 1/2 of the charge of the wine and meal or $150 CAD . It was a moment that dulled an otherewise good dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Everything at Boulevard Kitchen and Oyster Bar was great! However, would have appreciated if there was a larger Brunch selection, but it was still a great experience and a great fathers day Brunch!

Tags: Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Other than the delay in seating us even though we had a reservation and it wasn't busy - the brunch was very good. The manager was very professional and rectified the situation.

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 14, 2017

Kudos to the entire Boulevard team everything was exceptional from start to finish. Not to be missed.

Tags: Cozy, Bar Seating, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Authentic, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 10, 2017

The food was very good and creative, the service was ok, but slow, very slow.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on June 2, 2017

This place never fails us ... always excellent food, service, drinks ... everything!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on June 2, 2017

The best in town.

Tags: Healthy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on June 1, 2017

Nice but no atmosphere to speak of. Excellent food!

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 31, 2017

Our first time at the Boulevard; it deserves the high rating for the dining experience. From the food to the service; the freshest of the ingredients, taste, plating, almost every dish were on point. Service was attentive without being obtrusive. Worth a revisit when we return to Vancouver.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 23, 2017

The seafood was wonderfully fresh and prepared and presented beautifully and appropriately.
Too many "hot" restaurants are pushing the envelope in ways that do not enhance the primary ingredient. This was not the case here, I am happy to report.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Second time there and it didn't disappoint. Was a set menu this time for Mother's Day but the options were good and the food wonderful. Service is always terrific as well.

Tags: Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Great food, service and atmosphere. Seafood Tower is Fantastic....

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Service was slow had to repeatedly ask for hot water for my tea. Took 45 min for food to come. Waiter was forgetful. Sunny side up was leathery and cooked on top of the soggy so called croque madame. Pulled pork was more like deli meat. Clam chowder is too salty. Bacon was good though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value2

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Good food. Seafood Tower is amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on May 4, 2017

I was disappointed that didn't any brand sparkling water like Perrier, Badoit or San Pellegrino. The only option was soda water or house sparkling Vancouver water. I like brand water because they usually have better nutrients. Also my friends oder some salmon Pâté and they were shocked to learn that it was farmed salmon. They sent it back and it wasn't charged.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on April 30, 2017

waiter was rude when we asked to sepeerate the bill, coffee is $5 tastes horrible

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on April 29, 2017

I was quite disappointed at my visit. We came for the caviar service but they ran out of Caviar. They also ran out of lobster and the oyster selection wasn't great. We ordered a dozen oysters and unfortunately one oyster was bad. I wouldn't recommend the seafood tower, there was nothing special about it. We also ordered the steak - medium rare. It was rare/blue. I could still see the muscle was white and wasn't cooked enough. I just sent it back without getting a new one.

The service was slow. Our server was Kelsey I believe. The restaurant wasnt too busy so I didn't understand why our service was slow. Initial drinks took 15-20 mins to come. I asked for olives which were forgotten about.

However, despite our bad dinner, the manager did make an effort to send free champagne and dessert to our table which was appreciated.

Overall I don't think I would be returning to this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on April 27, 2017

We try to eat here whenever we come into Vancouver
Such a great food experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Everything about this place is amazing! The hostess was very friendly & our server was very attentive! Let me start by saying that their in-house corn bread was out of this world! The steak was cooked to perfection & the sablefish melts in your mouth! Will be back for sure! Hopefully they'll have a chef's tasting menu soon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Excellent as always. Great place for Brunch, Happy Hour and dinner. Heard Chef created a delightful 2 course duck entree one weekend - I will be sure not to miss it next time.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Easter gathering

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Below average food for the price. Went in for brunch. Ordered the omelette and was pretty disappointed that I make a better one myself. Wine list was decent. Atmosphere and service were pretty good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on April 1, 2017

It was good. Unfortunately they sat us in a back room that had nobody else in it. I think it was because we were not dressed very wel

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Hit and miss..been before when things were excellent. This time around the fish and chips were off. Fish was soggy and chips were over fried. Refill of drink came as I was paying the bill.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.