About Boulevard Kitchen & Oyster Bar

845 Burrard St
Vancouver, BC V6Z 2K6
View Larger Map

Boulevard is connected to the iconic Gerard Lounge at Sutton Place Hotel in the heart of downtown Vancouver featuring an oyster bar, private dining room and a large outdoor patio. This restaurant is the new showcase for the legendary and artistic fare of Chef Alex Chen. His inspiration comes from French traditions with a respect for the past while staying both current and modern. Our goal is to deliver an ambiance, service and cuisine that speaks of who we are and where we are located.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:

Breakfast: Monday - Sunday: 6:30am - 11:00am

Brunch: Saturday - Sunday: 11:00am - 3:00pm

Lunch: Monday - Sunday: 11:00am - 3:00pm

Happy Hour: Monday - Sunday: 3:00pm - 6:00pm

Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Late Night: Monday - Sunday: 11:00pm - 12:30am

Cross Street:
Burrard at Smithe

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(604) 682-5511

Website:
http://www.boulevardvancouver.ca/

Catering:
We can accommodate all parties large or small and it would be our pleasure to cater your event. Please call the restaurant for more information.

Parking Details:
Leave your vehicle with our valet, or park yourself in the underground hotel pay parking.

Public Transit:
We are a 5 minute walk from the Burrard skytrain station. Exit toward Burrard Street and turn right.

Executive Chef:
Alex Chen

Private Party Facilities:
Our private dining room boasts beautiful oak millwork, and spacious grand tables. Your dining experience can be completely or semi private.

Private Party Contact:
Camila Blades: 6046825511x5221

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Boulevard Kitchen & Oyster Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.2

ambience

4

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Seafood
Vancouver
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

special occasion (51)
fit for foodies (49)
romantic (29)
See All
notable wine list (21)
good for groups (20)
great for lunch (18)
vibrant bar scene (16)
hot spot (16)
great for brunch (11)
late-night find (8)
neighborhood gem (7)
kid-friendly (5)
great for outdoor dining (4)
 (1)
Sort By:
Newest
222 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

A beautiful room with outstanding food. ...

vip
Dined 7 days ago

A beautiful room with outstanding food. The octopus appetizer was perfect, and the Spot Prawns special was the best prawn dish I have ever eaten! Impeccable, friendly service. Our server even recommended some great activities for us in town.

food5
ambience5
service5

Been here many times but my first time f ...

vip
Dined on May 19, 2016

Been here many times but my first time for the happy hour and it did not disappoint. Oysters, salmon pate, Korean galbi dog, and crispy chicken wings all were great

food4
ambience4
service5

Review is based on a recent Sat brunch. ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Review is based on a recent Sat brunch. We received great service throughout our meal - attentive but never intrusive. Started with the seafood platter for 2 as an appy for group of 6 - very fresh, flavours were not over bearing allowing the seafood to be tasted. I personally had the clamchowder - spot on but would have liked to taste more of the black cod as the star ingredient. My main was the smoke salmon Benny - smoke salmon was too salty for my taste and the hollandaise was a bit too custardy for me. But I'm a eggs Benny snob - my favourite Benny is at Au Comptoir right now. Overall pleasant experience, I would go back to YEW or West for comparables. All enjoyed as weekend brunch.

food4
ambience3
service1
value3

Chowder was ok, not much fish in it toug ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

Chowder was ok, not much fish in it tough. Surpisingly good pizza, just our waiter was bad, he did clearly not care and had no ideas about any promotions going on. Great food but terrible service.

Tags: fit for foodies
food3
ambience5
service3
value1

Good Ambiance

Dined on May 8, 2016

While great ambiance and lovely look decor, we thought the experience was low on the value scale. We went for Mother's day brunch at 12:30pm, the restaurant was steady but not busy or crowded. Reservation process was questionable, as we called initially and staff informed there was no table available at all at anytime (yet we found plenty of table & times on opentable shortly after). Food in general was as expected for hotel restaurant. Portions were small for a $59 set brunch menu - 3 courses. In general, our dishes (party of 3) was salty but not unbearable (I'm considered the salty type already). Food presentations were excellent. Server was very pleasant, but did mixed up our drinks within the table, mimosa and a non-alcoholic drink (both were similar looking). While we were okay with it, an offer to replace it would have been appreciated as we didn't realize and drank 1/3 of it. Wine markups were above average, $12 mimosa and $5 drip coffee was pricey in our minds by about 20-25%. Definitely a nice looking restaurant, but prices were above average .

food2
ambience2
service3

Sticky table. Food average.

vip
Dined on May 4, 2016

Sticky table. Food average.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best of the Sea with a Vancouver Address

vip
Dined on May 4, 2016

I travel to Vancouver often for both business and pleasure. I was thrilled to find this relatively new gem and quite glad I did. From greeting to departure, everything was top-notch with exceptionally high quality. Clam chowder that was among the best I have ever had...something to say for one growing up in New York and New England. The Arctic Char was superb. The only problem was that I had to choose between this and the other gems on the menu. Excellent selection of spirits for the pre-dinner festivities and the wine selections were diverse, especially by the glass. Service was polished, professional, but not "over-the-top." I want to come here with my wife next time and expand our menu sampling. I have had excellent seafood in Vancouver for decades. Boulevard Kitchen and Oyster Bar is on my list for a return visit; sooner rather than later. I highly recommend it.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Favourite brunch restaurant

Dined on April 30, 2016

Delicious food and excellent service. Warm friendly atmosphere

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

Slow Service

Dined on April 26, 2016

The service was very slow for happy hour. The restaurant wasn't entirely full yet, but the drinking and food took at least 10-20 mins to come out. The mix drinks tasted like virgin drinks and the waitress was slow to come around to all the guests to inquire if all the guests needed anything. The decor was great, but they need to amp up the service.

Tags: late-night find
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Great Find

Dined on April 24, 2016

My friend had the clam chowder and said it was the best she ever had. I had the Hamachi and it was delicious. We both had the Louie salad and thought it was excellent. We both love the way the restaurant is decorated and I think it will appeal to every generation - feels old world yet modern and very comfortable in an expensive sort of way. Our server was attentive and pleasant. We had a leisurely dinner but never had to wait too long and weren't rushed either. A little on the pricey side but the meal was excellent so I think we got good value.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A very good evening

Dined on April 24, 2016

We attended Bloulevard for our wedding anniversary. The restaurant is very modern. Our waitress was very good and accommodating. The service was also very good. I would go back and highly recommend this restaurant. I will try them for brunch next time.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service4

Great seafood Great cocktails

Dined on April 23, 2016

Great seafood Great cocktails

food5
ambience2
service5
value3

The booth table and vibe

Dined on April 22, 2016

When sitting in one of your large booths with the White Diamond tuft finish the guests in the corners have to reach to the table. Either the waiter should have pushed the table in or design a table that fits for this seating. Vibe was a little flat, no energy at all in the room.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent!

Dined on April 17, 2016

Several friends met for dinner during an international conference we were in town for. The food and service were wonderful and the wine list extraordinary! This will be top on my list next time I'm in town!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Fantastic!

Dined on April 15, 2016

Came here for lunch and found the price points similar to Cactus Club and restaurants of that category. The food was good and the venue was very quiet which allowed my guest and I to carry on a conversation. The service was wonderful. I will be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Consistently satisfying.

vip
Dined on April 13, 2016

I have attended Boulevard several times a week for over half a year: for lunch, brunch, happy hour, dinner, and special events. Each and every visit has been a culinary experience The staff are welcoming: friendly, personable, proficient, and professional. What more can one ask for?

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service5

Excellent for local selection of very fr ...

vip
Dined on April 10, 2016

Excellent for local selection of very fresh oysters ! Waitstaff also excellent. Only downside is the place is relatively noisy with striding waitstaff all the time, so not a plus for an intimate meal.

food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Wine

Dined on April 10, 2016

Veal medallions over powered with bacon flavor which did not enhance other fabulous flavours in dish. Seafood boule aide small for price. Seafood Louie good value however too much mayonnaise. Great sommelier and wine list.

Tags: special occasion, late-night find, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Server was too Familiar.

Dined on April 8, 2016

WE sat outside in the beautiful sunshine. It was a business lunch with a very dear friend. Our server was very sweet but just too "familiar and palsy walsy" Too many interruptions and not done in a professional way. Bless her she was sweet but needed to know to be less intrusive!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Oysters was excellent. Lots of variety. ...

Dined on April 4, 2016

Oysters was excellent. Lots of variety. Our waitress was fantastic at looking after us. Definitely coming back again.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful night at Boulevard

Dined on April 3, 2016

My 4 girlfriends and I had a beautiful night at Boulevard! We walked in upon making reservations, and were seated at a very elegant big booth at a quieter corner of the restaurant. Everything from the impeccable service to the food presentation and taste was perfect. We could not be more pleased, and will most definitely be back whenever we are in Vancouver!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Mediocre

Dined on April 2, 2016

Cinzano on the rocks is not scotch and should not be poured and priced like scotch. The food was luke warm and aggressively priced.

food4
ambience3
service5
value3

good food, pricey, a bit noisy

Dined on March 31, 2016

Food was nice, waitstaff very pleasant and gave us time to chat and make choices, had good suggestions (thanks for talking me into the sable fish-black cod). The portions were refreshingly modest, and very beautifully presented. The noise level was not pleasant with a large raucous group near by and even after they left, it was noisy. there was seating in another area removed from them which might have been nicer. Seems to be a fairly '30-40 something' orientation, which is ok, but if you want a quite dining experience this is not the place. We chose the place because one of us was a vegetarian, and there were some options, but fairly limited.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

No complaints.

Dined on March 26, 2016

The seafood tower is a must - a must! We also had the sablefish, foie gras terrine & the coffee/hazenut parfait and they were all phenomenal.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Hated it.

Dined on March 26, 2016

Manager served us, he was unfriendly. Service was slow. Waited a long time for drinks. Never again.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service4

Probably the best sable fish dish ever a ...

vip
Dined on March 19, 2016

Probably the best sable fish dish ever anywhere!

food3
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent service, good food.

Dined on February 28, 2016

I took my wife there for her birthday as she loves seafood. I found Boulevard through Yelp as I was looking for excellent customer service, which is in short supply in Vancouver. The entire staff was attentive and professional, took time to explain the courses and were altogether welcoming and kind. We thought the food was 'very good,' and if they were located in any less food savvy city, I would have said 'excellent.' The bouillabaisse was oversalted, however the portions were appropriate and the seafood was fresh and of high quality. I would certainly recommend it to friends...if I had any....

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

Good but better before

Dined on February 23, 2016

I remember the food being exquisite before, but this time around (about a year since the last time) the food was much saltier than I remembered. Nevertheless, everything else lived up to the standard I remember it having.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot
food3
ambience4
service3

Not the most child friendly restaurant W ...

Dined on February 21, 2016

Not the most child friendly restaurant We booked for lunch it turned out that they only serve brunch on Sundays which was a bit of disappointment as I particularly looked for restaurants that serve Sunday lunch We had two children with us and did not feel welcomed I was expecting a better attitude considering that the restaurant comes up under child friendly category

food2
ambience4
service2

Average food, no service.

Dined on February 16, 2016

Average food, no service.

food4
ambience2
service2
value1

When I first went to Bouelevard, shortly ...

vip
Dined on February 15, 2016

When I first went to Bouelevard, shortly after it opened, I was amazed and in love (with the restaurant). I have since dined there four or five times, and always been pleased. Sadly, my dining experience Feb. 14th there this year was sub par. The front door hostess was rude, forgetful and just out of her league. We were seated in a musty room way at the back off the side of the bar, our server couldn't explain the way the menu worked properly, didn't offer the wine flight, then the wine flight offerings arrived out of order!!!leaving us with a glass of white that had no place to go. But a nod to the chefs (not for the risotto tho), th efood was good, and a nod to the sommelier, the wines were delicious. The bill was something like $400 :(

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5

Great service and food. My one big gripe ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

Great service and food. My one big gripe was the table spacing. We were sitting at two top which you couldn't even get out of without moving the table.

food5
ambience2
service5
value4

I enjoyed the service and food. It was top notch.

Dined on February 14, 2016

Despite the great service and food, the lighting was horrible. We felt we were disappointed in truly experiencing the food fully. It was dark when we started dinner but it got even darker as we went through our meal.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Boulevard did not disappoint!

Dined on February 8, 2016

Great, attentive service. Food delivered in a timely manner. Every dish we had was scrumptuous!!! The chicken wings are amazing

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service5

Had a great server. Good was very good ...

Dined on February 4, 2016

Had a great server. Good was very good but not a 10

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dineout-good value and great service

Dined on February 1, 2016

My boyfriend and I had dine-out menu. It was amazing. The staffs were nice. The food was amazing and fresh. I had ling cod. The fish was cooked perfectly. This is one of few restaurants i don't mind spending money on.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Great Food & Service... But Noisy

vip
Dined on January 31, 2016

I took my best friend here for his 50th birthday based on the recommendation of a colleague. The service throughout the evening was exceptional! We enjoyed the "seafood tower" as an appetizer and it was amazing! It comes with generous portions of different shellfish and ceviche. For my main course, but I enjoyed a delicious salmon. Throughout our entire meal, our waiter was attentive and friendly, without being overbearing. He even brought a complementary birthday dessert to my friend. It was a lovely gesture! My only "complaint" about this restaurant was the noise level. The restaurant was very crowded and very loud. We had to speak to one another in a much higher volume than I would have preferred. In addition, there was a table of very loud, very intoxicated men next to us, one of whom continuously said the "f" word as an adjective in every sentence he spoke. We were not the only table who was slightly irritated by this. I am surprised the waiter or floor manager did not address this with that table. Despite the noise level, I thoroughly enjoyed Boulevard. I would definitely return!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Over priced wine, food just OK

Dined on January 31, 2016

The food was fine, but not notable. I'm glad it was Dine Out and I didn't pay full price. I found the wine prices high. I realize they're going for a high end experience but the food didn't back it up. I've noticed this at more than one hotel restaurant in town, Yew comes to mind. I can only guess they're making their money from tourists because there are plenty of equally good, if not better, restaurants in town with more reasonable wine prices.

food5
ambience5
service4

Delicious food! And great ambiance. Love ...

Dined on January 30, 2016

Delicious food! And great ambiance. Loved it. Will come back for sure.

food3
ambience2
service3

Good place for a casual business lunch.

vip
Dined on January 29, 2016

Good place for a casual business lunch.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.