Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.02mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.22mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.02mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.22mi

About Boulevard Kitchen & Oyster Bar

Boulevard is connected to the iconic Gerard Lounge at Sutton Place Hotel in the heart of downtown Vancouver featuring an oyster bar, private dining room and a large outdoor patio. This restaurant is the new showcase for the legendary and artistic fare of Chef Alex Chen. His inspiration comes from French traditions with a respect for the past while staying both current and modern. Our goal is to deliver an ambiance, service and cuisine that speaks of who we are and where we are located.

845 Burrard St
Vancouver, BC V6Z 2K6
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:

Breakfast: Monday - Sunday: 6:30am - 11:00am

Brunch: Saturday - Sunday: 11:00am - 3:00pm

Lunch: Monday - Sunday: 11:00am - 3:00pm

Happy Hour: Monday - Sunday: 3:00pm - 6:00pm

Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Late Night: Monday - Sunday: 11:00pm - 12:30am

Cross Street:
Burrard at Smithe

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(604) 642-2900

Website:
http://www.boulevardvancouver.ca/

Catering:
We can accommodate all parties large or small and it would be our pleasure to cater your event. Please call the restaurant for more information.

Parking Details:
Leave your vehicle with our valet, or park yourself in the underground hotel pay parking.

Public Transit:
We are a 5 minute walk from the Burrard skytrain station. Exit toward Burrard Street and turn right (south) onto Burrard Street. We are located on Burrard between Robson and Smithe.

Executive Chef:
Alex Chen

Private Party Facilities:
Our private dining room boasts beautiful oak millwork, and spacious grand tables. Your dining experience can be completely or semi private.

Private Party Contact:
Eryne Ordel: (604) 642-2932

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Boulevard Kitchen & Oyster Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (15)
Good for a Date (13)
Good for Anniversaries (11)
See All
Romantic (10)
Notable Wine List (10)
Fit for Foodies (10)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Happy Hour (8)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Business Meals (6)
Local Ingredients (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Modern Decor (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Healthy (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
People Watching (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Authentic (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Fireplace (2)
Seasonal (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Great Beer (2)
Private Room (1)
Family Style (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Tapas (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Fun (1)
Casual (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Comfort Food (0)
Sort By:
S
363 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined 2 days ago

Food Was Very Good. Waiter was attentive and monitored the table well. One item I considered
a miss was when we ordered a caviar plate quoted At Market, the server failed to inform us of that quote, which on the final bill amounted to over 1/2 of the charge of the wine and meal or $150 CAD . It was a moment that dulled an otherewise good dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined 5 days ago

Everything at Boulevard Kitchen and Oyster Bar was great! However, would have appreciated if there was a larger Brunch selection, but it was still a great experience and a great fathers day Brunch!

Tags: Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 11, 2017

The food was very good and creative, the service was ok, but slow, very slow.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on June 3, 2017

This place never fails us ... always excellent food, service, drinks ... everything!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on June 3, 2017

The best in town.

Tags: Healthy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on June 1, 2017

Nice but no atmosphere to speak of. Excellent food!

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 1, 2017

Our first time at the Boulevard; it deserves the high rating for the dining experience. From the food to the service; the freshest of the ingredients, taste, plating, almost every dish were on point. Service was attentive without being obtrusive. Worth a revisit when we return to Vancouver.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 24, 2017

The seafood was wonderfully fresh and prepared and presented beautifully and appropriately.
Too many "hot" restaurants are pushing the envelope in ways that do not enhance the primary ingredient. This was not the case here, I am happy to report.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Second time there and it didn't disappoint. Was a set menu this time for Mother's Day but the options were good and the food wonderful. Service is always terrific as well.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Great food, service and atmosphere. Seafood Tower is Fantastic....

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Service was slow had to repeatedly ask for hot water for my tea. Took 45 min for food to come. Waiter was forgetful. Sunny side up was leathery and cooked on top of the soggy so called croque madame. Pulled pork was more like deli meat. Clam chowder is too salty. Bacon was good though.

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value2

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Good food. Seafood Tower is amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on May 5, 2017

I was disappointed that didn't any brand sparkling water like Perrier, Badoit or San Pellegrino. The only option was soda water or house sparkling Vancouver water. I like brand water because they usually have better nutrients. Also my friends oder some salmon Pâté and they were shocked to learn that it was farmed salmon. They sent it back and it wasn't charged.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on April 30, 2017

waiter was rude when we asked to sepeerate the bill, coffee is $5 tastes horrible

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on April 30, 2017

I was quite disappointed at my visit. We came for the caviar service but they ran out of Caviar. They also ran out of lobster and the oyster selection wasn't great. We ordered a dozen oysters and unfortunately one oyster was bad. I wouldn't recommend the seafood tower, there was nothing special about it. We also ordered the steak - medium rare. It was rare/blue. I could still see the muscle was white and wasn't cooked enough. I just sent it back without getting a new one.

The service was slow. Our server was Kelsey I believe. The restaurant wasnt too busy so I didn't understand why our service was slow. Initial drinks took 15-20 mins to come. I asked for olives which were forgotten about.

However, despite our bad dinner, the manager did make an effort to send free champagne and dessert to our table which was appreciated.

Overall I don't think I would be returning to this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on April 28, 2017

We try to eat here whenever we come into Vancouver
Such a great food experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Everything about this place is amazing! The hostess was very friendly & our server was very attentive! Let me start by saying that their in-house corn bread was out of this world! The steak was cooked to perfection & the sablefish melts in your mouth! Will be back for sure! Hopefully they'll have a chef's tasting menu soon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Excellent as always. Great place for Brunch, Happy Hour and dinner. Heard Chef created a delightful 2 course duck entree one weekend - I will be sure not to miss it next time.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Easter gathering

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Below average food for the price. Went in for brunch. Ordered the omelette and was pretty disappointed that I make a better one myself. Wine list was decent. Atmosphere and service were pretty good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on April 2, 2017

It was good. Unfortunately they sat us in a back room that had nobody else in it. I think it was because we were not dressed very wel

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Hit and miss..been before when things were excellent. This time around the fish and chips were off. Fish was soggy and chips were over fried. Refill of drink came as I was paying the bill.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on March 26, 2017

I wanted to like this restaurant but I likely will not be back. I'm not super severe but the service here was quite bad. We had Sunday brunch for 8 people. Not super complicated but what we received wasn't very good. We ordered and one couple had to leave early. They ordered and received it. They didn't receive(completely) what they ordered. They seemed to like it but this was just the start. The rest of us ordered . Well half of us didn't get what we had communicated to the server. Mine was a spinach omelette but I asked to hold the spinach and sub with tomatoes, and peppers. What I got was a spinach omelette with tomatoes and peppers. Not the end of the world but it's not what i requested. 2 others were not made correctly. Another thing, it took 10-15 mins for my latte. It turned out it was dropped off at the wrong table. The server never gave us waters and my friend had to serve us waters from the bussing stand.
Overall the food was good but the service was pretty bad. I don't think the server was very organized and seemed confused. The manager on duty did rectify the situation by comping 2 of the dishes, so that was a nice gesture.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on March 25, 2017

We came here for a birthday dinner and it was my second visit to Boulevard. Even though it appeared busy for a Saturday night, reservations were easily made with many availabilities within an hour of arriving.

Boulevard has a modern, upscale, dimly-lit ambiance with house music playing in the background. The server was attentive and on-the-ball, and water glasses were constantly topped-up. We had both ordered the special Lobster Bisque en Crôute and I had the Sablefish while my friend had the special Halibut. The food and portions were good and we passed on dessert.

Although not a deal breaker but would have been nice, the birthday was noted in the reservations request but was never acknowledged during our dining experience, especially considering the calibre of venue. Otherwise, I would have given 5 stars on some areas.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on March 11, 2017

loved the brunch menu! great service and ambiance. I will be back.

Tags: Romantic, People Watching, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 10, 2017

We had a wonderful seafood tower with their very engaging staff. Would recommend this to all of our friends!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on March 4, 2017

I like the food & the service. However, it lacks of assistants.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (London)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Nice food, good service but there are far too many tables packed in. We felt like we were sat with the table next to us and had to shout to hear each other. Good for a few mates getting together but not for a special meal for 2

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Shared an anniversary "happy hour/tapas" evening with our close friends. It was fabulous by the fireplace! Thoroughly enjoyed our evening!

We will come again.

Thank you!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Fireplace, Happy Hour, Great Beer, Romantic, Tapas, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 24, 2017

We came for our anniversary and thoroughly enjoyed the artfully designed food and fabulous flavors as well as the great service. We enjoyed it so much that we are coming again with another couple!

Thank you!

Tags: Modern Decor, Romantic, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Great Beer, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Fabulous service and food..!!! Will be back for sure..

Tags: Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Beef quality is poor, portion served is small especially true to the lobster. That one oyster is good though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Great experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Excellent restaurant. The pork entree dish was absolutely amazing as was the chicken dish. Service was very friendly and definitely made me and my girlfriend feel very welcomed. Wait time for the courses is about what you would expect from a high end restaurant such as this one, maybe a bit faster then most restaurants of this scale.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Fine dining experience was very good. Ordered the wagyu carpecchio fois gras terrine and tuna tataki all excellent appies. Service was good and the food came out in a timely manner. Overall experience very good.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Celebrated my birthday here. Had a great meal and drinks.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 30, 2017

We were here for the dine out menu and it didn't disappoint. Dishes came out relatively quick. We ordered everything from the dine out menu, all of them tasted great. My fav was the pork loin that was cooked perfectly. The passion fruit mousse was delicious. Service was prompt and fantastic. I have been here a few times and each time I have a pleasant experience.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 29, 2017

We had read that this place was one of the best restaurants in town. Unfortunately we didn't think so. Two of us tried the dining out menu and we're dissatisfied. The starter was a flatten shrimp press, only about three bites total. For the main dish one of us had the Sablefish which was very fishy and had little to no flavor. We also tried the Rigatoni which was good. For dessert we got the cake which was again about three bites. We'll probably skip this place next time.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Service and ambiance was perfect, will definitely come back!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Outstanding Value, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Very good food and atmosphere, particularly enjoyed the dine out dessert menu!

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.