About Boulevard Kitchen & Oyster Bar

845 Burrard St
Vancouver, BC V6Z 2K6
View Larger Map

Boulevard is connected to the iconic Gerard Lounge at Sutton Place Hotel in the heart of downtown Vancouver featuring an oyster bar, private dining room and a large outdoor patio. This restaurant is the new showcase for the legendary and artistic fare of Chef Alex Chen. His inspiration comes from French traditions with a respect for the past while staying both current and modern. Our goal is to deliver an ambiance, service and cuisine that speaks of who we are and where we are located.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:

Breakfast: Monday - Sunday: 6:30am - 11:00am

Brunch: Saturday - Sunday: 11:00am - 3:00pm

Lunch: Monday - Sunday: 11:00am - 3:00pm

Happy Hour: Monday - Sunday: 3:00pm - 6:00pm

Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Late Night: Monday - Sunday: 11:00pm - 12:30am

Cross Street:
Burrard at Smithe

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(604) 642-2900

Website:
http://www.boulevardvancouver.ca/

Catering:
We can accommodate all parties large or small and it would be our pleasure to cater your event. Please call the restaurant for more information.

Parking Details:
Leave your vehicle with our valet, or park yourself in the underground hotel pay parking.

Public Transit:
We are a 5 minute walk from the Burrard skytrain station. Exit toward Burrard Street and turn right (south) onto Burrard Street. We are located on Burrard between Robson and Smithe.

Executive Chef:
Alex Chen

Private Party Facilities:
Our private dining room boasts beautiful oak millwork, and spacious grand tables. Your dining experience can be completely or semi private.

Private Party Contact:
Eryne Ordel: 6046422932x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Boulevard Kitchen & Oyster Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.5

ambience

4.2

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Seafood
Vancouver / British Columbia
Seafood
Vancouver
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

fit for foodies (49)
special occasion (48)
great for lunch (25)
See All
good for groups (25)
notable wine list (24)
romantic (22)
neighborhood gem (16)
vibrant bar scene (14)
great for brunch (14)
hot spot (13)
late-night find (7)
great for outdoor dining (5)
kid-friendly (4)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
241 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The place was very elegant, we came here ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined 4 days ago

The place was very elegant, we came here for my friend's pre-wed dinner. We enjoyed our delicious bottle of Gewurztraminer, and seafood platter. We all really enjoyed the Hamachi dish, and the Prime NY Steak was like nothing we had before.

Our server was very friendly, and he was very patient when we asked him to take photos of us with the delicious food, for our special event.

We liked how an entire group of staff bussed the dishes at once, instead of having one server interrupt the customers several times to do the job.

I had also made a request to have the dessert decorated in a special manner for the soon-to-be bride. The decorations exceeded my expectations!

Overall, my experience at Boulevard was excellent, and I have already recommended it to several of my close family and friends.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic food. Great wine menu. Wonderf ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Fantastic food. Great wine menu. Wonderful service. A must visit for foodies and perfect place for 'name that famous person' people watchers.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Went there for their happy hour and was ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Went there for their happy hour and was not disappointed! Service was impeccable and value for what we ate was great! Definitely reccomend

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was terrible. Had to keep flaggi ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Service was terrible. Had to keep flagging our server for some attention. But they didn't hesitate to put automatic 18% gratuity and not mention to us so we paid more tip on top.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

Great spot in one of the top hotels in d ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Great spot in one of the top hotels in downtown Vancouver!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Go for the oysters and the service - bot ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Go for the oysters and the service - both were exceptional! The mains were good but did not live up to our expectations. I'd go again but only during oyster happy hour or for oysters.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Came back for happy hour. It was ok. The ...

vip
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Came back for happy hour. It was ok. The white wine happy hour choice is terrible. Had oysters. Overall, ok.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Good happy hr selection. Excellent food. ...

vip
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Good happy hr selection. Excellent food. Great service. Nice place for drinks and dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent service. Good food. Nice drink ...

vip
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Excellent service. Good food. Nice drinks. Chic place. Great for casual and formal dinners.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Attractive restaurant and lounge. The ba ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Attractive restaurant and lounge. The bartender was one of the most professional I have ever witnessed. Truly great.

But, found the food to be highly salted to the point of being sent back. Even though we requested different items for the replacement, it, too, was over salted.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

For the price, it was not special at all ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

For the price, it was not special at all. This was a wedding anniversary dinner with my wife, and the dining room was not special at all, although the prices would have you think so. Not even a white table cloth. It had too casual a feel for a restaurant of this price. I don't want a place to feel stuffy, but I do want to feel special at these prices. Maybe this is the feel the restaurant is trying for, but it was too casual for the prices being charged. The food was good, the service very good, and while the room is nice, it was certainly not special as the prices would have you believe. I will not return, unless it is at happy hour, which I see gets rave reviews. Yes, Vancouver restaurant prices are a deal when compared to other international destinations, however when compared locally, I did not find this to be of good value for a special occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value2

Very good place for sea food. Service wa ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Very good place for sea food. Service was very attentionate and pleasant. The night we were there, it was very busy and very noisy. The wine list is extensive, and not particularly expensive. We would probably return ... but not on a Saturday night.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

Great service and great space. The seaf ...

vip
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Great service and great space. The seafood was amazing. Will be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Wonderful service and knowledgeable staf ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Wonderful service and knowledgeable staff. Seafood very fresh and octopus dish highly recommended.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Exceeded our expectations. The seafood t ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Exceeded our expectations. The seafood tower was delicious as was the Burrata dish. Save room for dessert. Not to miss. The service was professional and courteous. What a wonderful night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Remarkable!

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on June 6, 2016

Food was delicious. Service impeccable. Specialty drinks from the bar were delicious.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Don't Walk Past - Go IN

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

After walking (or driving) past successive restaurants in this location, the classic sophistication of the Boulevard signs caught my eye. I looked it up online, and read about what seemed to be an accomplished chef, a lovely (redecorated) space and an innovative interesting menu. I booked a lunch six months ago...and have gone back three times since.

What a great discovery! The space has struck a good balance between light and dark (with tall, white ceilings, light coloured floors and table tops - offset by dark walls and seats), and open space - but allowing for cozy nooks and 'set-aside' areas. The service has been outstanding each time, and the meals have been: 1) intriguing (to read on the menu), 2) visually beautiful (when they arrive at the table) and 3) delicious (when they hit the palate!)

So, make sure Chef Alex Chen, the Boulevard kitchen team and servers don't expend all their time and energy on Sutton Place Hotel guests alone! Quit walking/driving past...stop, and go in. If you do, like I did, I'll bet you won't be disappointed.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Fabulous weekend brunch

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Great food. Excellent service from Harry, Susie and Deana - always attentive, gracious and warm. Our favourite place for brunch...and happy hour!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A beautiful room with outstanding food. ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 24, 2016

A beautiful room with outstanding food. The octopus appetizer was perfect, and the Spot Prawns special was the best prawn dish I have ever eaten! Impeccable, friendly service. Our server even recommended some great activities for us in town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Been here many times but my first time f ...

vip
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on May 19, 2016

Been here many times but my first time for the happy hour and it did not disappoint. Oysters, salmon pate, Korean galbi dog, and crispy chicken wings all were great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Review is based on a recent Sat brunch. ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Review is based on a recent Sat brunch. We received great service throughout our meal - attentive but never intrusive. Started with the seafood platter for 2 as an appy for group of 6 - very fresh, flavours were not over bearing allowing the seafood to be tasted. I personally had the clamchowder - spot on but would have liked to taste more of the black cod as the star ingredient. My main was the smoke salmon Benny - smoke salmon was too salty for my taste and the hollandaise was a bit too custardy for me. But I'm a eggs Benny snob - my favourite Benny is at Au Comptoir right now. Overall pleasant experience, I would go back to YEW or West for comparables. All enjoyed as weekend brunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Chowder was ok, not much fish in it toug ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on May 10, 2016

Chowder was ok, not much fish in it tough. Surpisingly good pizza, just our waiter was bad, he did clearly not care and had no ideas about any promotions going on. Great food but terrible service.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

Good Ambiance

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

While great ambiance and lovely look decor, we thought the experience was low on the value scale. We went for Mother's day brunch at 12:30pm, the restaurant was steady but not busy or crowded. Reservation process was questionable, as we called initially and staff informed there was no table available at all at anytime (yet we found plenty of table & times on opentable shortly after). Food in general was as expected for hotel restaurant. Portions were small for a $59 set brunch menu - 3 courses. In general, our dishes (party of 3) was salty but not unbearable (I'm considered the salty type already). Food presentations were excellent. Server was very pleasant, but did mixed up our drinks within the table, mimosa and a non-alcoholic drink (both were similar looking). While we were okay with it, an offer to replace it would have been appreciated as we didn't realize and drank 1/3 of it. Wine markups were above average, $12 mimosa and $5 drip coffee was pricey in our minds by about 20-25%. Definitely a nice looking restaurant, but prices were above average .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value1

Sticky table. Food average.

vip
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on May 4, 2016

Sticky table. Food average.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3

Best of the Sea with a Vancouver Address

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on May 4, 2016

I travel to Vancouver often for both business and pleasure. I was thrilled to find this relatively new gem and quite glad I did. From greeting to departure, everything was top-notch with exceptionally high quality. Clam chowder that was among the best I have ever had...something to say for one growing up in New York and New England. The Arctic Char was superb. The only problem was that I had to choose between this and the other gems on the menu. Excellent selection of spirits for the pre-dinner festivities and the wine selections were diverse, especially by the glass.

Service was polished, professional, but not "over-the-top." I want to come here with my wife next time and expand our menu sampling. I have had excellent seafood in Vancouver for decades. Boulevard Kitchen and Oyster Bar is on my list for a return visit; sooner rather than later. I highly recommend it.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Favourite brunch restaurant

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

Delicious food and excellent service. Warm friendly atmosphere

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Slow Service

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on April 26, 2016

The service was very slow for happy hour. The restaurant wasn't entirely full yet, but the drinking and food took at least 10-20 mins to come out. The mix drinks tasted like virgin drinks and the waitress was slow to come around to all the guests to inquire if all the guests needed anything. The decor was great, but they need to amp up the service.

Tags: late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

Great Find

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

My friend had the clam chowder and said it was the best she ever had. I had the Hamachi and it was delicious. We both had the Louie salad and thought it was excellent.

We both love the way the restaurant is decorated and I think it will appeal to every generation - feels old world yet modern and very comfortable in an expensive sort of way.

Our server was attentive and pleasant. We had a leisurely dinner but never had to wait too long and weren't rushed either.

A little on the pricey side but the meal was excellent so I think we got good value.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

A very good evening

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

We attended Bloulevard for our wedding anniversary. The restaurant is very modern. Our waitress was very good and accommodating. The service was also very good. I would go back and highly recommend this restaurant. I will try them for brunch next time.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great seafood Great cocktails

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

Great seafood

Great cocktails

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

The booth table and vibe

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on April 22, 2016

When sitting in one of your large booths with the White Diamond tuft finish the guests in the corners have to reach to the table. Either the waiter should have pushed the table in or design a table that fits for this seating. Vibe was a little flat, no energy at all in the room.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value3

Excellent!

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

Several friends met for dinner during an international conference we were in town for. The food and service were wonderful and the wine list extraordinary! This will be top on my list next time I'm in town!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fantastic!

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on April 15, 2016

Came here for lunch and found the price points similar to Cactus Club and restaurants of that category. The food was good and the venue was very quiet which allowed my guest and I to carry on a conversation. The service was wonderful. I will be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The food was good, the server was super ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on April 15, 2016

The food was good, the server was super care of us, overall is 5 stars+!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Consistently satisfying.

vip
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on April 13, 2016

I have attended Boulevard several times a week for over half a year: for lunch, brunch, happy hour, dinner, and special events.

Each and every visit has been a culinary experience

The staff are welcoming: friendly, personable, proficient, and professional.

What more can one ask for?

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent for local selection of very fr ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on April 10, 2016

Excellent for local selection of very fresh oysters ! Waitstaff also excellent. Only downside is the place is relatively noisy with striding waitstaff all the time, so not a plus for an intimate meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Wine

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on April 10, 2016

Veal medallions over powered with bacon flavor which did not enhance other fabulous flavours in dish. Seafood boule aide small for price. Seafood Louie good value however too much mayonnaise. Great sommelier and wine list.

Tags: special occasion, late-night find, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Server was too Familiar.

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on April 8, 2016

WE sat outside in the beautiful sunshine. It was a business lunch with a very dear friend. Our server was very sweet but just too "familiar and palsy walsy" Too many interruptions and not done in a professional way. Bless her she was sweet but needed to know to be less intrusive!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Oysters was excellent. Lots of variety. ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on April 4, 2016

Oysters was excellent. Lots of variety. Our waitress was fantastic at looking after us. Definitely coming back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Beautiful night at Boulevard

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on April 3, 2016

My 4 girlfriends and I had a beautiful night at Boulevard! We walked in upon making reservations, and were seated at a very elegant big booth at a quieter corner of the restaurant. Everything from the impeccable service to the food presentation and taste was perfect. We could not be more pleased, and will most definitely be back whenever we are in Vancouver!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.