Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.02mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.22mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.02mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.22mi

About Boulevard Kitchen & Oyster Bar

Boulevard is connected to the iconic Gerard Lounge at Sutton Place Hotel in the heart of downtown Vancouver featuring an oyster bar, private dining room and a large outdoor patio. This restaurant is the new showcase for the legendary and artistic fare of Chef Alex Chen. His inspiration comes from French traditions with a respect for the past while staying both current and modern. Our goal is to deliver an ambiance, service and cuisine that speaks of who we are and where we are located.

845 Burrard St
Vancouver, BC V6Z 2K6
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:

Breakfast: Monday - Sunday: 6:30am - 11:00am

Brunch: Saturday - Sunday: 11:00am - 3:00pm

Lunch: Monday - Sunday: 11:00am - 3:00pm

Happy Hour: Monday - Sunday: 3:00pm - 6:00pm

Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Late Night: Monday - Sunday: 11:00pm - 12:30am

Cross Street:
Burrard at Smithe

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(604) 642-2900

Website:
http://www.boulevardvancouver.ca/

Catering:
We can accommodate all parties large or small and it would be our pleasure to cater your event. Please call the restaurant for more information.

Parking Details:
Leave your vehicle with our valet, or park yourself in the underground hotel pay parking.

Public Transit:
We are a 5 minute walk from the Burrard skytrain station. Exit toward Burrard Street and turn right (south) onto Burrard Street. We are located on Burrard between Robson and Smithe.

Executive Chef:
Alex Chen

Private Party Facilities:
Our private dining room boasts beautiful oak millwork, and spacious grand tables. Your dining experience can be completely or semi private.

Private Party Contact:
Eryne Ordel: (604) 642-2932

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Boulevard Kitchen & Oyster Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (23)
Romantic (20)
Good for Anniversaries (18)
See All
Good for a Date (17)
Fit for Foodies (14)
Good for Birthdays (14)
Creative Cuisine (13)
Notable Wine List (12)
Business Meals (12)
Happy Hour (10)
Good for Groups (8)
Modern Decor (8)
Bar Seating (8)
Seasonal (7)
Cozy (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Great for Lunch (6)
Hot Spot (6)
Local Ingredients (5)
Great for Brunch (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Fun (5)
Healthy (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Family Style (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Casual (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
People Watching (3)
Authentic (3)
Great Beer (3)
Fireplace (3)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Private Room (2)
Tapas (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Waterfront (1)
Spicy (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Live Music (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Live Sports (1)
Scenic View (1)
Dancing (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Organic (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Vegan (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Historic (1)
Sort By:
S
347 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined 6 days ago

Everything about this place is amazing! The hostess was very friendly & our server was very attentive! Let me start by saying that their in-house corn bread was out of this world! The steak was cooked to perfection & the sablefish melts in your mouth! Will be back for sure! Hopefully they'll have a chef's tasting menu soon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined 6 days ago

Excellent as always. Great place for Brunch, Happy Hour and dinner. Heard Chef created a delightful 2 course duck entree one weekend - I will be sure not to miss it next time.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Easter gathering

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Below average food for the price. Went in for brunch. Ordered the omelette and was pretty disappointed that I make a better one myself. Wine list was decent. Atmosphere and service were pretty good.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on April 2, 2017

It was good. Unfortunately they sat us in a back room that had nobody else in it. I think it was because we were not dressed very wel

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Hit and miss..been before when things were excellent. This time around the fish and chips were off. Fish was soggy and chips were over fried. Refill of drink came as I was paying the bill.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on March 26, 2017

I wanted to like this restaurant but I likely will not be back. I'm not super severe but the service here was quite bad. We had Sunday brunch for 8 people. Not super complicated but what we received wasn't very good. We ordered and one couple had to leave early. They ordered and received it. They didn't receive(completely) what they ordered. They seemed to like it but this was just the start. The rest of us ordered . Well half of us didn't get what we had communicated to the server. Mine was a spinach omelette but I asked to hold the spinach and sub with tomatoes, and peppers. What I got was a spinach omelette with tomatoes and peppers. Not the end of the world but it's not what i requested. 2 others were not made correctly. Another thing, it took 10-15 mins for my latte. It turned out it was dropped off at the wrong table. The server never gave us waters and my friend had to serve us waters from the bussing stand.
Overall the food was good but the service was pretty bad. I don't think the server was very organized and seemed confused. The manager on duty did rectify the situation by comping 2 of the dishes, so that was a nice gesture.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on March 25, 2017

We came here for a birthday dinner and it was my second visit to Boulevard. Even though it appeared busy for a Saturday night, reservations were easily made with many availabilities within an hour of arriving.

Boulevard has a modern, upscale, dimly-lit ambiance with house music playing in the background. The server was attentive and on-the-ball, and water glasses were constantly topped-up. We had both ordered the special Lobster Bisque en Crôute and I had the Sablefish while my friend had the special Halibut. The food and portions were good and we passed on dessert.

Although not a deal breaker but would have been nice, the birthday was noted in the reservations request but was never acknowledged during our dining experience, especially considering the calibre of venue. Otherwise, I would have given 5 stars on some areas.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on March 11, 2017

loved the brunch menu! great service and ambiance. I will be back.

Tags: Romantic, People Watching, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 10, 2017

We had a wonderful seafood tower with their very engaging staff. Would recommend this to all of our friends!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on March 4, 2017

I like the food & the service. However, it lacks of assistants.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (London)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Nice food, good service but there are far too many tables packed in. We felt like we were sat with the table next to us and had to shout to hear each other. Good for a few mates getting together but not for a special meal for 2

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Shared an anniversary "happy hour/tapas" evening with our close friends. It was fabulous by the fireplace! Thoroughly enjoyed our evening!

We will come again.

Thank you!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Fireplace, Happy Hour, Great Beer, Romantic, Tapas, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 24, 2017

We came for our anniversary and thoroughly enjoyed the artfully designed food and fabulous flavors as well as the great service. We enjoyed it so much that we are coming again with another couple!

Thank you!

Tags: Modern Decor, Romantic, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Great Beer, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Fabulous service and food..!!! Will be back for sure..

Tags: Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Beef quality is poor, portion served is small especially true to the lobster. That one oyster is good though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Great experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Excellent restaurant. The pork entree dish was absolutely amazing as was the chicken dish. Service was very friendly and definitely made me and my girlfriend feel very welcomed. Wait time for the courses is about what you would expect from a high end restaurant such as this one, maybe a bit faster then most restaurants of this scale.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Fine dining experience was very good. Ordered the wagyu carpecchio fois gras terrine and tuna tataki all excellent appies. Service was good and the food came out in a timely manner. Overall experience very good.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Celebrated my birthday here. Had a great meal and drinks.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 30, 2017

We were here for the dine out menu and it didn't disappoint. Dishes came out relatively quick. We ordered everything from the dine out menu, all of them tasted great. My fav was the pork loin that was cooked perfectly. The passion fruit mousse was delicious. Service was prompt and fantastic. I have been here a few times and each time I have a pleasant experience.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 29, 2017

We had read that this place was one of the best restaurants in town. Unfortunately we didn't think so. Two of us tried the dining out menu and we're dissatisfied. The starter was a flatten shrimp press, only about three bites total. For the main dish one of us had the Sablefish which was very fishy and had little to no flavor. We also tried the Rigatoni which was good. For dessert we got the cake which was again about three bites. We'll probably skip this place next time.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Service and ambiance was perfect, will definitely come back!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Outstanding Value, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Very good food and atmosphere, particularly enjoyed the dine out dessert menu!

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Prompt service. Friendly staff. Classic cocktails and extended wine list. Great menu and delicious food. Chocolate dessert is to die for. Chic place for romantic evening dates and cozy group dinners. A gem in the heart of town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 23, 2017

Tried the restaurant during dine in Vancouver and glad I did. It was a family affair so we were able to try a number of dishes.

The food was excellent both in quality and visual appearance. The service was outstanding - just the right amount of attention at the right time.

A very enjoyable experience.

Tags: Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 22, 2017

This is the worse dine out vancouver for the most expensive category. (I've tried out so many dine out and fine restaurants in the world). The appetitzer is too mild in taste. The rocky fish is really salty and yet the pork dish is too mild and tasted like ham. The desserts are only OK. The presentation of the food on the plate is very nice, but the taste is substandard for this price.

I would not recommend anyone to try out their dine out. Maybe they will fair better with the regular menu... but that we have to see.

The environment and the service are nice though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Excellent meal in comfortable setting. Highly recommend as good quality location without excessive pricing.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 21, 2017

I have been there just for drinks ans oysters and that is an excellent option there. Service is well above par and the oysters and cocktails are great.

I sent my in laws there for a special occasion and they both raved about the food and the service. Both said it was one of the best dining experience they ever had.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 17, 2017

We celebrated my husband's birthday at Boulevard. The heirloom beet salad was creative but not at all what we expected. The bouillabaisse and the Parisienne gnocchi mains were good but both were more like an appetizer in size, and the mont-blanc meringue dessert was interesting. Breakfast the next morning was okay, and I really appreciate being able to order a half Benedict. The restaurant is attractive and service at both dinner and breakfast was good. As for the food, we have actually been more impressed with some of the Happy Hour specials.

Tags: Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 13, 2017

I have always enjoyed the Boulevard Kitchen & Oyster Bar having been for business lunches many times. Both the food and service are exceptional, which also makes this restaurant an exceptional value. I would recommend this restaurant for business or social occasions.

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Best food and service as usual. Thank you.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Although it was new years day and therefore a hectic brunch buffet time, it is still not OK to bring a cappuccino when a latte was ordered. Or to bring cream and sugar when it was specifically refused. Or to resort to stacking one's second plate of food atop the first, dirty one.

The food was deliciously prepared, but some of the fruit was unripe. I suggest the chef taste that too, before serving it.

Tags: Family Style, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Boulevard is the best reataurant in all of Vancouver BC Canada. It has the best seasonaly fresh ingredients. The oysters are always delicious. A must try restaurant.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies, Live Music, Hot Spot, Open Kitchen, Afternoon Coffee, Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Healthy, Good for a Date, Fun, Private Room, Quick Bite, Great for Brunch, Business Meals, Vibrant Bar Scene, Sunday Lunch, Modern Decor, Vegan, Great Beer, Paleo Friendly, Organic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Dancing, Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Historic, Bar Seating, Live Sports, Worth the Drive, Afternoon Tea, Creative Cuisine, Spicy, Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Pre/post Theatre, Waterfront, Tasting Menu, Authentic, Outstanding Value, Cozy, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Wood Oven, Molecular Gastronomy, Casual, Notable Wine List, Late-night Find, Tapas, Good Vegetarian Options, Family Style, People Watching, Happy Hour, Disabled Access, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Though the food was delicious, I was unhappy with the fact that the regular menu was not available. The online breakfast menu was replaced with a special New Year's buffet at double the price - a surprise that was not budgeted for. I think Open Table should be able to note menu changes in the booking app.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Elegant and refined fish and oyster restaurant in downtown area.
Had excellent and fresh oysters paired with a great white dry wine.
Service was polite and expeditious.
Thank you

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 26, 2016

There was a mistake on the bill but it all was fixed up!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 25, 2016

The food was quite good but very expensive. Granted we were there on Christmas day for lunch. However, $50.00 for Smoked Salmon Eggs Benny is a bit much even on Christmas Day. Anything extra was charged as well, $3.00 for extra hollandaise. Pretty good, but nothing exceptional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Delicious Christmas Day brunch. Terrific service, not too noisy, and the food was astonishingly good. Excellent value for money, whilst still being very special.

Tags: Modern Decor, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 25, 2016

We had a wonderful Christmas Eve dinner, the food was delicious and the ambiance lovely. Will definitely come back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.