About Boulevard Kitchen & Oyster Bar

845 Burrard St
Vancouver, BC V6Z 2K6
View Larger Map

Boulevard is connected to the iconic Gerard Lounge at Sutton Place Hotel in the heart of downtown Vancouver featuring an oyster bar, private dining room and a large outdoor patio. This restaurant is the new showcase for the legendary and artistic fare of Chef Alex Chen. His inspiration comes from French traditions with a respect for the past while staying both current and modern. Our goal is to deliver an ambiance, service and cuisine that speaks of who we are and where we are located.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:

Breakfast: Monday - Sunday: 6:30am - 11:00am

Brunch: Saturday - Sunday: 11:00am - 3:00pm

Lunch: Monday - Sunday: 11:00am - 3:00pm

Happy Hour: Monday - Sunday: 3:00pm - 6:00pm

Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Late Night: Monday - Sunday: 11:00pm - 12:30am

Cross Street:
Burrard at Smithe

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(604) 642-2900

Website:
http://www.boulevardvancouver.ca/

Catering:
We can accommodate all parties large or small and it would be our pleasure to cater your event. Please call the restaurant for more information.

Parking Details:
Leave your vehicle with our valet, or park yourself in the underground hotel pay parking.

Public Transit:
We are a 5 minute walk from the Burrard skytrain station. Exit toward Burrard Street and turn right (south) onto Burrard Street. We are located on Burrard between Robson and Smithe.

Executive Chef:
Alex Chen

Private Party Facilities:
Our private dining room boasts beautiful oak millwork, and spacious grand tables. Your dining experience can be completely or semi private.

Private Party Contact:
Eryne Ordel: (604) 642-2932

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Boulevard Kitchen & Oyster Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (17)
Good for Anniversaries (17)
Good for a Date (13)
See All
Romantic (13)
Fit for Foodies (12)
Business Meals (12)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Modern Decor (10)
Notable Wine List (10)
Great for Lunch (9)
Hot Spot (8)
Local Ingredients (8)
Happy Hour (8)
Good for Groups (8)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Healthy (6)
Great for Brunch (6)
People Watching (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Cozy (5)
Private Room (4)
Fun (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Seasonal (4)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Casual (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Family Style (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Tasting Menu (2)
Authentic (2)
Historic (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Fireplace (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Live Sports (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Live Music (1)
Vegan (1)
Great Beer (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Organic (1)
Dancing (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Spicy (1)
Scenic View (1)
Waterfront (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Tapas (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Sort By:
S
321 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Tried the restaurant during dine in Vanc ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined 2 days ago

Tried the restaurant during dine in Vancouver and glad I did. It was a family affair so we were able to try a number of dishes.

The food was excellent both in quality and visual appearance. The service was outstanding - just the right amount of attention at the right time.

A very enjoyable experience.

Tags: Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

This is the worse dine out vancouver for ...

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined 3 days ago

This is the worse dine out vancouver for the most expensive category. (I've tried out so many dine out and fine restaurants in the world). The appetitzer is too mild in taste. The rocky fish is really salty and yet the pork dish is too mild and tasted like ham. The desserts are only OK. The presentation of the food on the plate is very nice, but the taste is substandard for this price.

I would not recommend anyone to try out their dine out. Maybe they will fair better with the regular menu... but that we have to see.

The environment and the service are nice though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

Excellent meal in comfortable setting. H ...

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined 3 days ago

Excellent meal in comfortable setting. Highly recommend as good quality location without excessive pricing.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

I have been there just for drinks ans oy ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined 4 days ago

I have been there just for drinks ans oysters and that is an excellent option there. Service is well above par and the oysters and cocktails are great.

I sent my in laws there for a special occasion and they both raved about the food and the service. Both said it was one of the best dining experience they ever had.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

We celebrated my husband's birthday at B ...

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 17, 2017

We celebrated my husband's birthday at Boulevard. The heirloom beet salad was creative but not at all what we expected. The bouillabaisse and the Parisienne gnocchi mains were good but both were more like an appetizer in size, and the mont-blanc meringue dessert was interesting. Breakfast the next morning was okay, and I really appreciate being able to order a half Benedict. The restaurant is attractive and service at both dinner and breakfast was good. As for the food, we have actually been more impressed with some of the Happy Hour specials.

Tags: Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

I have always enjoyed the Boulevard Kitc ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 13, 2017

I have always enjoyed the Boulevard Kitchen & Oyster Bar having been for business lunches many times. Both the food and service are exceptional, which also makes this restaurant an exceptional value. I would recommend this restaurant for business or social occasions.

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Best food and service as usual. Thank yo ...

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Best food and service as usual. Thank you.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Although it was new years day and theref ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Although it was new years day and therefore a hectic brunch buffet time, it is still not OK to bring a cappuccino when a latte was ordered. Or to bring cream and sugar when it was specifically refused. Or to resort to stacking one's second plate of food atop the first, dirty one.

The food was deliciously prepared, but some of the fruit was unripe. I suggest the chef taste that too, before serving it.

Tags: Family Style, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

Boulevard is the best reataurant in all ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Boulevard is the best reataurant in all of Vancouver BC Canada. It has the best seasonaly fresh ingredients. The oysters are always delicious. A must try restaurant.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies, Live Music, Hot Spot, Open Kitchen, Afternoon Coffee, Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Healthy, Good for a Date, Fun, Private Room, Quick Bite, Great for Brunch, Business Meals, Vibrant Bar Scene, Sunday Lunch, Modern Decor, Vegan, Great Beer, Paleo Friendly, Organic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Dancing, Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Historic, Bar Seating, Live Sports, Worth the Drive, Afternoon Tea, Creative Cuisine, Spicy, Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Pre/post Theatre, Waterfront, Tasting Menu, Authentic, , Cozy, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Wood Oven, Molecular Gastronomy, Casual, Notable Wine List, Late-night Find, Tapas, Good Vegetarian Options, Family Style, People Watching, Happy Hour, Disabled Access, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Though the food was delicious, I was unh ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Though the food was delicious, I was unhappy with the fact that the regular menu was not available. The online breakfast menu was replaced with a special New Year's buffet at double the price - a surprise that was not budgeted for. I think Open Table should be able to note menu changes in the booking app.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

There was a mistake on the bill but it a ...

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 26, 2016

There was a mistake on the bill but it all was fixed up!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

The food was quite good but very expensi ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 25, 2016

The food was quite good but very expensive. Granted we were there on Christmas day for lunch. However, $50.00 for Smoked Salmon Eggs Benny is a bit much even on Christmas Day. Anything extra was charged as well, $3.00 for extra hollandaise. Pretty good, but nothing exceptional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value1

Delicious Christmas Day brunch. Terrifi ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Delicious Christmas Day brunch. Terrific service, not too noisy, and the food was astonishingly good. Excellent value for money, whilst still being very special.

Tags: Modern Decor, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We had a wonderful Christmas Eve dinner, ...

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 25, 2016

We had a wonderful Christmas Eve dinner, the food was delicious and the ambiance lovely. Will definitely come back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Poor service.

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Poor service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

Service was top-notch. Room is nice with ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Service was top-notch. Room is nice without being too precious..Oyster selection from the fresh bar was excellent with good presentation and accoutrements. Beet Salad was particularly special with very good Burrata cheese, small heirloom tomatoes, mandarin orange slices and walnuts creating all kinds of interesting flavours

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had a fantastic evening! Can't wait t ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 22, 2016

We had a fantastic evening! Can't wait to go back!

Tags: Authentic, Historic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Late-night Find, Fireplace, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Modern Decor, Healthy, Hot Spot, People Watching, Business Meals, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Open Kitchen, Romantic, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Terrible service. Mediocre food. I'd nev ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Terrible service. Mediocre food. I'd never go back

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

Stayed at the Sutton, first met a friend ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Stayed at the Sutton, first met a friend for happy hour and then moved to restaurant to meet a different group of friends for dinner, I love the restaurant has different atmospheres based on where you are seated, I have been in the cigar area for happy hour in the past too. Service is excellent, they are fast, efficient and non interfering, I'm not one for fake chit chat, although other guests were chatting away with the bartender, seems like they get a good read on guests. Food was great, nothing world changing but classic delicious flavours.

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Amazing oysters! The sauce is delicious.

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Amazing oysters! The sauce is delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

I always love treating clients to lunch ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 13, 2016

I always love treating clients to lunch at Boulevard. The room is beautiful and you know that the oysters are going to be fresh and divine. The service is nice and understated.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

My server was absent minded and made mis ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 9, 2016

My server was absent minded and made mistake on my order. The manager deducted the amount for what I had but the dish delivered to my table by mistake was an over cooked pasta.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

A very nice setting, large, comfy, casua ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 4, 2016

A very nice setting, large, comfy, casual chic or formal. Nicely decorated. I had the linguine vongole (red sauce) which was a nice portion, not huge, not small. It was good, but thought the pasta was a bit sticky. My partner had the duo heritage pork, which was pretty good, small portions. Dessert was the Mont Blanc.It was excellent! Service was very good. It got quite noisy by 8:30, probably because there was a bridal rehearsal dinner.

Tags: Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Great except we went for the seafood tow ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Great except we went for the seafood tower and as we were ordering it sold out.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food took to long.

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Food took to long.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

Was a business meeting with 7 people. Sh ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 30, 2016

Was a business meeting with 7 people. Shared the seafood tray, which was amazing - oysters, crab legs, mussels, etc. The special that day was a large prime rib and sides, which we also shared. Service was terrific - friendly, professional, immediate and entertaining. Overall, the whole group were impressed with the level of food, service and venue. Everything was perfect.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was great, but the dining room was ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 29, 2016

Food was great, but the dining room was a bit loud as there was another party going on. Service was quite good but my wife like to take pictures of the food and when the server brought the suffle she didn't give her chance to take a pic and just broke the suffle. Overall I would go back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We booked here for my 30th birthday brun ...

 
 (London)·Dined on November 26, 2016

We booked here for my 30th birthday brunch after seeing Boulevard on many "best brunch in Vancouver" lists. Sadly, it was not what we were expecting. The menu online was completely different to the one in-house and the food was substandard hotel fare. The service was slow, shoddy and poor. I personally felt really disappointed and won't be recommending Boulevard to anyone I know.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

Our waiter made the evening!

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Our waiter made the evening!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent non rushed service, fabulous f ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 7, 2016

Excellent non rushed service, fabulous food, a great evening for catching up with friends.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went there on a recommendation a friend. ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 7, 2016

Went there on a recommendation a friend. The seafood tour looked and tasted delicious! Martinis were excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Hoping next time the food will be more c ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Hoping next time the food will be more consistent and worth the money!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Local seafood, creatively prepared and p ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Local seafood, creatively prepared and presented. Excellent service. No problem with separate checks for a party of 8.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best hospitality eveeerrrr!! Some othe ...

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 31, 2016

Best hospitality eveeerrrr!!

Some other customer took my favorite walking umbrella from the umbrella bucket by the door. I told the concierge lady about it. And the Service Manager, Nick, gave me a Sutton hotel umbrella and told me he will watch the surveillance video and figure out who took it. Nick later phoned me up and told me he got me a new umbrella for me from the store where I bought mine!

I am really grateful about it. As a matter of fact, I lost the same umbrella at Le Crocodile in May. I bought another one in July and was so sad that someone else took it again. I really appreciate their help!

Great dining experience, too. They have really good decor, comfortable seats that suits all your needs for being in a quiet and elegant high-end restaurant. Great food! Highly recommended to anyone.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Modern Decor, Comfort Food, Cozy, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Oysters were good. However the food was ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Oysters were good. However the food was so-so. Waitstaff was great, but food took too long to arrive. Was nearly 15-20 min just for my whiskey neat to be delivered. Was another 30 min for an appetizer seafood tower of cold elements to be delivered. Overall making it a longer dinner. Was expecting more but didn't get it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

Our group would have appreciated knowin ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 26, 2016

Our group would have appreciated knowing there was an 18% mandatory gratuity when we booked our table of 5.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My new favourite restaurant in Vancouver ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 22, 2016

My new favourite restaurant in Vancouver.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was my first time to visit this resta ...

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 16, 2016

It was my first time to visit this restaurant I went for brunch with a girlfriend the restaurant was almost empty except for three or four tables at 12 noon on a Sunday. Service was sub par asked for hot water with lemon of course they forgot the lemon then I ordered Earl Grey latte and they said that they had to make another one when it came it was Luke warm.

Everything was very slow in terms of the service and the food the food came to the table without any utensils for us to use so by the time the utensils came the food had cool down.

The raw Oysters were really delicious and fresh... The salmon Benedict was so so.

I was disappointed so I had to complain to the manager.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1

This was perfect for us to celebrate our ...

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 9, 2016

This was perfect for us to celebrate our wedding anniversary. Polite and prompt service. Good selection of oysters. The food was all very tasty and pleasing to the palette. A good place too if you appreciate being around an over 30 crowd.

Tags: People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Modern Decor, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Very rushed experience - we felt we were ...

 
 (London)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Very rushed experience - we felt we were on a time limit. All done in 30 minutes. Very uncomfortable and unenjoyable as a result. Food quality not at level expected. Try Hawkesworth or Five Sails for the right dining experience in Vancouver.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.