About Boulevard Kitchen & Oyster Bar

845 Burrard St
Vancouver, BC V6Z 2K6
View Larger Map

Boulevard is connected to the iconic Gerard Lounge at Sutton Place Hotel in the heart of downtown Vancouver featuring an oyster bar, private dining room and a large outdoor patio. This restaurant is the new showcase for the legendary and artistic fare of Chef Alex Chen. His inspiration comes from French traditions with a respect for the past while staying both current and modern. Our goal is to deliver an ambiance, service and cuisine that speaks of who we are and where we are located.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:

Breakfast: Monday - Sunday: 6:30am - 11:00am

Brunch: Saturday - Sunday: 11:00am - 3:00pm

Lunch: Monday - Sunday: 11:00am - 3:00pm

Happy Hour: Monday - Sunday: 3:00pm - 6:00pm

Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Late Night: Monday - Sunday: 11:00pm - 12:30am

Cross Street:
Burrard at Smithe

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(604) 642-2900

Website:
http://www.boulevardvancouver.ca/

Catering:
We can accommodate all parties large or small and it would be our pleasure to cater your event. Please call the restaurant for more information.

Parking Details:
Leave your vehicle with our valet, or park yourself in the underground hotel pay parking.

Public Transit:
We are a 5 minute walk from the Burrard skytrain station. Exit toward Burrard Street and turn right (south) onto Burrard Street. We are located on Burrard between Robson and Smithe.

Executive Chef:
Alex Chen

Private Party Facilities:
Our private dining room boasts beautiful oak millwork, and spacious grand tables. Your dining experience can be completely or semi private.

Private Party Contact:
Eryne Ordel: 6046422932x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Boulevard Kitchen & Oyster Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Seafood
Vancouver / British Columbia
Seafood
Vancouver
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

Fit for Foodies (34)
Special Occasion (34)
Romantic (21)
See All
Good for Groups (19)
Great for Lunch (16)
Notable Wine List (14)
Great for Brunch (13)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Hot Spot (10)
Vibrant Bar Scene (8)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Kid-friendly (5)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Local Ingredients (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Business Meals (2)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Scenic View (1)
People Watching (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Seasonal (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Good for a Date (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Casual (1)
Fun (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Sort By:
Newest
271 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The food was outstanding and so was the ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined a day ago

The food was outstanding and so was the service. We will be back! Fantastic meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I was not impressed with Boulevard, espe ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined 6 days ago

I was not impressed with Boulevard, especially with the price. The portions are teeny tiny and none of the dishes really wowed me. I would probably only go back for the oysters and maybe some wine, but not for a full meal.

Tags: Romantic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

This is a wonderful place to dine in dow ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined 6 days ago

This is a wonderful place to dine in downtown Vancouver. The food was delicious and the presentation was outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Food quality has substantially lowered s ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Food quality has substantially lowered since opening.

Tags: Business Meals, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

All our dishes were in the saltier side

vip
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

All our dishes were in the saltier side

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

Fabulous as always. Great food and the ...

vip
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Fabulous as always. Great food and the service from the staff and especially our waiter who was awesome.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and bright clean and classy a ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Great food and bright clean and classy ambience.

Loved the drink menu and the food was great! The burger was incredible!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Special Occasion, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful restaurant. Nicely accommodate ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Beautiful restaurant. Nicely accommodated our party of four adults and three kids. Service good. Seafood quality was average and should have been better given the city's seaside location. Ordered seafood tower for four. Oysters had funny after taste and the shucking job was average at best(devoid of the briny juices). Entrees were slightly better. Had the bouillabaisse, vongalese (seafood pasta). Kids meals very generous portions and good quality (cx strip marinara pasta). Advise against ordering drinks for kids (pricey $6 per drink!) which we were surprised with at the end of the night via the bill.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

Loved the decor! Beautiful dining space. ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

Loved the decor! Beautiful dining space. Service a bit slow for a lunch break so not ideal if you are limited for time. Food was superb.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Lovely. Food delicious. Service pleasant ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

Lovely. Food delicious. Service pleasant, friendly. One service error, but staff apologized for it and made up for it with extra glasses of wine. Rather pricy but worth it. Would highly recommend this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Truely enjoyed the food and service. Pro ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

Truely enjoyed the food and service. Probably the best chowder I've ever had and the oysters and the seafood tower were excellent.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We enjoyed both our visits for lunch. Bo ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

We enjoyed both our visits for lunch. Both times shared the Smoked Black Cod Clam Chowder, OUTSTANDING Chef!

The seafood tower was vey nice and full of variety. The seared cod was outstanding!

Quite great and local BC wine list to enjoy.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Amazing meal. You have to try the seafoo ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Amazing meal. You have to try the seafood towers- everything is gorgeously flavored and delicious. We also had the chowder, octopus, Louie salad and tomato salad. All divine! Impeccable service and wine!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I am pretty sure I had a long hair in th ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

I am pretty sure I had a long hair in the shrimp cerviche. I did not want to say anything to my wife and spoil our anniversary dinner. I pulled it out of my mouth and wiped it off my fingers. It was not as good as I was hoping for our special dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

made reservations via open table for Sat ...

vip
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

made reservations via open table for Sat Aug 13th as we were excited about celebrating our son's birthday party at your restaurant. The main reason we chose your establishment was that we had been there a few times before and were looking fwd to the oysters, specifically the buck a shuck that you have listed on your menu from 3-6pm. (See below for copy of your menu online) When we arrived we asked our server what type of oysters you would be featuring for the happy hour and we were advised that there were none for the happy hour. However we could buy oysters at $3.5 each off the regular menu. This made no sense to us and this was very poor customer service. Not sure why you would advertise this on the happy hour menu and not have it available for your customers. We will not be back as we will not be wanting to make the trek all the way from New West to Vancouver only to discover that menu items will be missing once we arrive.

*happy hour 3:00 to 6:00 pm daily small platebuck-a-shuck oysters1shallot mignonette, fresh horseradish

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value1

Great location, interior design, service ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Great location, interior design, service, food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

The ambiance and atmosphere were good bu ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

The ambiance and atmosphere were good but the service was ok and the food was ok. nothing too special.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

Beautiful artistic light fixture and lov ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Beautiful artistic light fixture and lovely music, we enjoyed the ambiance very much. Appreciate more time settling into your restaurant, waitress came twice to see if we were ready to order. Saw a friend, chatted with him, waitress barged in again, what's the rush? Couple next to our table was doing exactly what we were doing, turning on iPhone flashlight to look at menu, if your restaurant is catered for customers our age, 50 and above, words in menu too small. Would you consider upgrading your menu with iPad? Appetizers were outstanding, soup was tasty and filling. I would like to see it not as thick, personal taste though. We ordered red snapper for 2, to our surprise, a huge fish in whole came on a hot plate. The fish was so big that 4 of us couldn't finish, still plenty of left over to bring home! If we knew this in the first place, we would definitely not have ordered the fish, we could rather try more other dishes. To solve this misunderstanding problem, I suggest you could consider printing a separate daily special menu sheet to go with the main menu so that we know exactly what we were ordering, or was your waitress supposed to tell us? When I called to request a table, I told the receptionist that it was my daughter's birthday, any restaurant would surprise her with something special for her memory, a small piece of cake, a few strawberries, whatever. With special occasions like this, even if you want to put this piece of cake in the bill, I am willing to pay but nothing happened. We left in disappointment without even ordering dessert, coffee nor tea.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Fantastic service, out waitress was fant ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Fantastic service, out waitress was fantastic and very relatable. Delicious food and adorable decor.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We're returning customers, this is a ver ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

We're returning customers, this is a very good restaurant .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food and the presentation of the foo ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

The food and the presentation of the food was fantastic.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place to dine downtown with excell ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

Great place to dine downtown with excellent service and good food. Even though the chicken wings are a signature for them, it's not my favorite. Their NY steak and sablefish were good but clam pasta was very mediocre. Personally, I much prefer an aglio e olio based clam pasta, but theirs is a tomato based one. Their happy hour menu is excellent - very good buck a shuck (normally buck-a-shuck oysters are not good but at this place it's very good) and great happy hour cocktail choices.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

The food was good but the service sucked ...

vip
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

The food was good but the service sucked.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1

Our server was very nice.i didnt catch h ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Our server was very nice.i didnt catch her name but she from overseas i belief she's taking up education.. Our experience was doing well just all of the sudden ur staff was asking if we are ordering any food or just here to drink .what and inappropriate question... We will appreciate if ever meal you will change our utensils...love ur food but need to work put ur aparagus menu...they are over cooked

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value5

I've had good and bad meals here. The a ...

vip
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

I've had good and bad meals here. The ambience is great, and the food is beautifully plated and tasty, but they often have issues with food temperature. Looks great, but hot dishes need to be hot!

The service and location are great though, great place for an upscale dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4

Great oysters and over the top clam chow ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Great oysters and over the top clam chowder. Christopher is a great waiter. Would return here, but it is noisy so be prepared for that.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Excellent seafood in Vancouver! We were ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Excellent seafood in Vancouver! We were on vacation and made a reservation at Boulevard when we could not get into a more famous Vancouver seafood restaurant. What a hidden gem! The oysters were incredible...such an interesting and diverse assortment and the rest of the meal was exceptional as well. Absolutely perfect service (ask for Christopher, he really made our evening delightful), terrific cocktails and a very thoughtful wine list all made for a memorable last night in Vancouver. Don't be put off by the fact this restaurant is in a hotel...this is top class dining.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful restaurant Excellent service 1 ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Beautiful restaurant

Excellent service

16$$ for 6 chicken wings-too expensive :(

nice non-alcoholic drink selection

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

Reservation as for 5pm - arrived on time ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Reservation as for 5pm - arrived on time. Seated and given water. 20 minutes later and still no sign of a server, had to go to hostess to ask for a server to at least place a drink order. Three of us ordered oysters which were served with no accompanying sauces. Had to specifically request some cocktail sauce. Food was okay but small portions. Paid alot for very little and so-so presentation. Our server was new and very nervous, but pleasant. However, when food was being delivered to our table but the chef and an assistant, the chef was quite rude to the assistant, barking at him to move side plates off to the side, when the assistant was in the process of speaking to one of the guests. Felt embarrassed for the assistant. At the end of the meal, all four of us decided we would not be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

love, love, love the décor of this resta ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

love, love, love the décor of this restaurant. the atmosphere is great and the food is great, too!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

The place was very elegant, we came here ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

The place was very elegant, we came here for my friend's pre-wed dinner. We enjoyed our delicious bottle of Gewurztraminer, and seafood platter. We all really enjoyed the Hamachi dish, and the Prime NY Steak was like nothing we had before.

Our server was very friendly, and he was very patient when we asked him to take photos of us with the delicious food, for our special event.

We liked how an entire group of staff bussed the dishes at once, instead of having one server interrupt the customers several times to do the job.

I had also made a request to have the dessert decorated in a special manner for the soon-to-be bride. The decorations exceeded my expectations!

Overall, my experience at Boulevard was excellent, and I have already recommended it to several of my close family and friends.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic food. Great wine menu. Wonderf ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Fantastic food. Great wine menu. Wonderful service. A must visit for foodies and perfect place for 'name that famous person' people watchers.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Went there for their happy hour and was ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Went there for their happy hour and was not disappointed! Service was impeccable and value for what we ate was great! Definitely reccomend

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was terrible. Had to keep flaggi ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Service was terrible. Had to keep flagging our server for some attention. But they didn't hesitate to put automatic 18% gratuity and not mention to us so we paid more tip on top.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

Great spot in one of the top hotels in d ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Great spot in one of the top hotels in downtown Vancouver!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Go for the oysters and the service - bot ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Go for the oysters and the service - both were exceptional! The mains were good but did not live up to our expectations. I'd go again but only during oyster happy hour or for oysters.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Came back for happy hour. It was ok. The ...

vip
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Came back for happy hour. It was ok. The white wine happy hour choice is terrible. Had oysters. Overall, ok.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Good happy hr selection. Excellent food. ...

vip
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Good happy hr selection. Excellent food. Great service. Nice place for drinks and dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent service. Good food. Nice drink ...

vip
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Excellent service. Good food. Nice drinks. Chic place. Great for casual and formal dinners.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Attractive restaurant and lounge. The ba ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Attractive restaurant and lounge. The bartender was one of the most professional I have ever witnessed. Truly great.

But, found the food to be highly salted to the point of being sent back. Even though we requested different items for the replacement, it, too, was over salted.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.