About Boulevard Kitchen & Oyster Bar

845 Burrard St
Vancouver, BC V6Z 2K6
View Larger Map

Boulevard is connected to the iconic Gerard Lounge at Sutton Place Hotel in the heart of downtown Vancouver featuring an oyster bar, private dining room and a large outdoor patio. This restaurant is the new showcase for the legendary and artistic fare of Chef Alex Chen. His inspiration comes from French traditions with a respect for the past while staying both current and modern. Our goal is to deliver an ambiance, service and cuisine that speaks of who we are and where we are located.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:

Breakfast: Monday - Sunday: 6:30am - 11:00am

Brunch: Saturday - Sunday: 11:00am - 3:00pm

Lunch: Monday - Sunday: 11:00am - 3:00pm

Happy Hour: Monday - Sunday: 3:00pm - 6:00pm

Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Late Night: Monday - Sunday: 11:00pm - 12:30am

Cross Street:
Burrard at Smithe

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(604) 642-2900

Website:
http://www.boulevardvancouver.ca/

Catering:
We can accommodate all parties large or small and it would be our pleasure to cater your event. Please call the restaurant for more information.

Parking Details:
Leave your vehicle with our valet, or park yourself in the underground hotel pay parking.

Public Transit:
We are a 5 minute walk from the Burrard skytrain station. Exit toward Burrard Street and turn right (south) onto Burrard Street. We are located on Burrard between Robson and Smithe.

Executive Chef:
Alex Chen

Private Party Facilities:
Our private dining room boasts beautiful oak millwork, and spacious grand tables. Your dining experience can be completely or semi private.

Private Party Contact:
Eryne Ordel: 6046422932x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

New Year's Eve Early Seating

Saturday Dec 31, 2016 from 5:00 PM - 6:30 PM

Specials

New Year's Eve Early Seating

Saturday Dec 31, 2016 from 5:00 PM - 6:30 PM

Details

3 Course New Year's Eve Special for $108 with. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid on Saturday Dec 31, 2016 from 5:00 PM - 6:30 PM.

Boulevard Kitchen & Oyster Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

78% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Seafood
Vancouver
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

Special Occasion (16)
Romantic (10)
Local Ingredients (9)
See All
Fit for Foodies (9)
Good for a Date (8)
Good for Anniversaries (7)
Notable Wine List (7)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Business Meals (7)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Good for Groups (5)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Modern Decor (5)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Happy Hour (4)
People Watching (4)
Casual (3)
Cozy (3)
Healthy (3)
Private Room (2)
Seasonal (2)
Fun (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Great Beer (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Authentic (1)
Sort By:
S
298 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

A very nice setting, large, comfy, casua ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined 2 days ago

A very nice setting, large, comfy, casual chic or formal. Nicely decorated. I had the linguine vongole (red sauce) which was a nice portion, not huge, not small. It was good, but thought the pasta was a bit sticky. My partner had the duo heritage pork, which was pretty good, small portions. Dessert was the Mont Blanc.It was excellent! Service was very good. It got quite noisy by 8:30, probably because there was a bridal rehearsal dinner.

Tags: Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Great except we went for the seafood tow ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 3 days ago

Great except we went for the seafood tower and as we were ordering it sold out.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food took to long.

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

Food took to long.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

Was a business meeting with 7 people. Sh ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined 6 days ago

Was a business meeting with 7 people. Shared the seafood tray, which was amazing - oysters, crab legs, mussels, etc. The special that day was a large prime rib and sides, which we also shared. Service was terrific - friendly, professional, immediate and entertaining. Overall, the whole group were impressed with the level of food, service and venue. Everything was perfect.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was great, but the dining room was ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 29, 2016

Food was great, but the dining room was a bit loud as there was another party going on. Service was quite good but my wife like to take pictures of the food and when the server brought the suffle she didn't give her chance to take a pic and just broke the suffle. Overall I would go back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We booked here for my 30th birthday brun ...

 
 (London)·Dined on November 26, 2016

We booked here for my 30th birthday brunch after seeing Boulevard on many "best brunch in Vancouver" lists. Sadly, it was not what we were expecting. The menu online was completely different to the one in-house and the food was substandard hotel fare. The service was slow, shoddy and poor. I personally felt really disappointed and won't be recommending Boulevard to anyone I know.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

Our waiter made the evening!

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Our waiter made the evening!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent non rushed service, fabulous f ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 7, 2016

Excellent non rushed service, fabulous food, a great evening for catching up with friends.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went there on a recommendation a friend. ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 7, 2016

Went there on a recommendation a friend. The seafood tour looked and tasted delicious! Martinis were excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Hoping next time the food will be more c ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Hoping next time the food will be more consistent and worth the money!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Local seafood, creatively prepared and p ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Local seafood, creatively prepared and presented. Excellent service. No problem with separate checks for a party of 8.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best hospitality eveeerrrr!! Some othe ...

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 31, 2016

Best hospitality eveeerrrr!!

Some other customer took my favorite walking umbrella from the umbrella bucket by the door. I told the concierge lady about it. And the Service Manager, Nick, gave me a Sutton hotel umbrella and told me he will watch the surveillance video and figure out who took it. Nick later phoned me up and told me he got me a new umbrella for me from the store where I bought mine!

I am really grateful about it. As a matter of fact, I lost the same umbrella at Le Crocodile in May. I bought another one in July and was so sad that someone else took it again. I really appreciate their help!

Great dining experience, too. They have really good decor, comfortable seats that suits all your needs for being in a quiet and elegant high-end restaurant. Great food! Highly recommended to anyone.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Modern Decor, Comfort Food, Cozy, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Oysters were good. However the food was ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Oysters were good. However the food was so-so. Waitstaff was great, but food took too long to arrive. Was nearly 15-20 min just for my whiskey neat to be delivered. Was another 30 min for an appetizer seafood tower of cold elements to be delivered. Overall making it a longer dinner. Was expecting more but didn't get it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

Our group would have appreciated knowin ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 26, 2016

Our group would have appreciated knowing there was an 18% mandatory gratuity when we booked our table of 5.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My new favourite restaurant in Vancouver ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 22, 2016

My new favourite restaurant in Vancouver.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was my first time to visit this resta ...

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 16, 2016

It was my first time to visit this restaurant I went for brunch with a girlfriend the restaurant was almost empty except for three or four tables at 12 noon on a Sunday. Service was sub par asked for hot water with lemon of course they forgot the lemon then I ordered Earl Grey latte and they said that they had to make another one when it came it was Luke warm.

Everything was very slow in terms of the service and the food the food came to the table without any utensils for us to use so by the time the utensils came the food had cool down.

The raw Oysters were really delicious and fresh... The salmon Benedict was so so.

I was disappointed so I had to complain to the manager.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1

This was perfect for us to celebrate our ...

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 9, 2016

This was perfect for us to celebrate our wedding anniversary. Polite and prompt service. Good selection of oysters. The food was all very tasty and pleasing to the palette. A good place too if you appreciate being around an over 30 crowd.

Tags: People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Modern Decor, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Very rushed experience - we felt we were ...

 
 (London)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Very rushed experience - we felt we were on a time limit. All done in 30 minutes. Very uncomfortable and unenjoyable as a result. Food quality not at level expected. Try Hawkesworth or Five Sails for the right dining experience in Vancouver.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

We had a very enjoyable night with frien ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 7, 2016

We had a very enjoyable night with friends. Food and service was very good, comparable to other high end restaurants downtown. Would definitely go back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Dined here TWICE during a long weekend l ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 3, 2016

Dined here TWICE during a long weekend ladies' trip to Vancouver. We went on Friday for dinner and enjoyed it so much that we went back on Sunday night. Outstanding oysters and seafood tower. We couldn't get enough of the oysters! Other stand outs - the octopus appetizer and the foie gras terrine (we had the foie gras seared). The only dish we didn't particularly care for was the hamachi appetizer. The sommelier made the most amazing recommendations for local B.C. sparkling rosè (Bella - we had two bottles!) and Pinot noir. Who knew that Canada produced such lovely wines? We were pleasantly surprised. We ended both evenings with the chocolate soufflé. A must! I'd definitely go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Great food and service - we had a wonder ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Great food and service - we had a wonderful time and will definitely be back!

Tags: Healthy, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, People Watching, Molecular Gastronomy, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent quinoa salad!! We needed a qu ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Excellent quinoa salad!! We needed a quiet place to have a meeting in a nice ambience and good food. This worked very well for us and didn't break the bank!

Tags: Casual, Afternoon Tea, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Impeccable service from our server whose ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Impeccable service from our server whose name I wish I asked for.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was very good and the decor is ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 30, 2016

The food was very good and the decor is nice. However, the overall experience was not superb. The restaurant was quite loud and the service was mediocre. For the price, I expected more of a fine dining experience, but it seemed more casual.

Tags: People Watching, Casual, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

The was terrible. Had a really nasty sa ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on September 26, 2016

The was terrible. Had a really nasty sauce on it that looked like lard

Tags: Happy Hour, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5
value1

The food was outstanding and so was the ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 24, 2016

The food was outstanding and so was the service. We will be back! Fantastic meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We were very impressed with the food and ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 23, 2016

We were very impressed with the food and presentation as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I was not impressed with Boulevard, espe ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 19, 2016

I was not impressed with Boulevard, especially with the price. The portions are teeny tiny and none of the dishes really wowed me. I would probably only go back for the oysters and maybe some wine, but not for a full meal.

Tags: Romantic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

This is a wonderful place to dine in dow ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 19, 2016

This is a wonderful place to dine in downtown Vancouver. The food was delicious and the presentation was outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Food quality has substantially lowered s ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Food quality has substantially lowered since opening.

Tags: Business Meals, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

All our dishes were in the saltier side

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on September 17, 2016

All our dishes were in the saltier side

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

Fabulous as always. Great food and the ...

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Fabulous as always. Great food and the service from the staff and especially our waiter who was awesome.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and bright clean and classy a ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on September 4, 2016

Great food and bright clean and classy ambience.

Loved the drink menu and the food was great! The burger was incredible!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Special Occasion, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful restaurant. Nicely accommodate ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 4, 2016

Beautiful restaurant. Nicely accommodated our party of four adults and three kids. Service good. Seafood quality was average and should have been better given the city's seaside location. Ordered seafood tower for four. Oysters had funny after taste and the shucking job was average at best(devoid of the briny juices). Entrees were slightly better. Had the bouillabaisse, vongalese (seafood pasta). Kids meals very generous portions and good quality (cx strip marinara pasta). Advise against ordering drinks for kids (pricey $6 per drink!) which we were surprised with at the end of the night via the bill.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

Excellent seafood, especially oysters. V ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on September 3, 2016

Excellent seafood, especially oysters. Very good cocktails and wine list.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Loved the decor! Beautiful dining space. ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on September 1, 2016

Loved the decor! Beautiful dining space. Service a bit slow for a lunch break so not ideal if you are limited for time. Food was superb.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Lovely. Food delicious. Service pleasant ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 25, 2016

Lovely. Food delicious. Service pleasant, friendly. One service error, but staff apologized for it and made up for it with extra glasses of wine. Rather pricy but worth it. Would highly recommend this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Truely enjoyed the food and service. Pro ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on August 24, 2016

Truely enjoyed the food and service. Probably the best chowder I've ever had and the oysters and the seafood tower were excellent.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We enjoyed both our visits for lunch. Bo ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 23, 2016

We enjoyed both our visits for lunch. Both times shared the Smoked Black Cod Clam Chowder, OUTSTANDING Chef!

The seafood tower was vey nice and full of variety. The seared cod was outstanding!

Quite great and local BC wine list to enjoy.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Amazing meal. You have to try the seafoo ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 15, 2016

Amazing meal. You have to try the seafood towers- everything is gorgeously flavored and delicious. We also had the chowder, octopus, Louie salad and tomato salad. All divine! Impeccable service and wine!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.