About Boulevard Bistro

8941 Elk Grove Boulevard
Elk Grove, CA 95624
View Larger Map

Boulevard Bistro is a quaint upscale fine dining restaurant located in a 1908 bungalow style home.
Best known for our Regional American Cuisine and direct focus on Californias Foothill Wines with a list of over 50 selections. We embrace locally grown produce; fresh vegetables grown in the central valley, locally raised meat, and seafood from the cold waters of the coast of Northern California.

Bret Bohlmann, chef and owner, is a 1998 graduate of the California Culinary Academy. After several years of experience in the Bay area Bret has returned home to Elk Grove to open one of Elk Grove's finest restaurants.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Californian, Contemporary French / American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Brunch: Sunday 10:00am - 2:00pm

Cross Street:
3rd Avenue

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(916) 685-2220

Website:
http://blvdbistro.com/

Parking Details:
Parkig lot behind restaurat, access from 3rd Aveue

Executive Chef:
Bret Bohlmann

Private Party Contact:
Debora: (916) 685-2220

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Liquor, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Boulevard Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Anniversaries (51)
Good for a Date (50)
Special Occasion (49)
See All
Romantic (44)
Neighborhood Gem (35)
Cozy (34)
Good for Birthdays (32)
Creative Cuisine (31)
Worth the Drive (29)
Quiet Conversation (26)
Fit for Foodies (26)
Notable Wine List (24)
Local Ingredients (22)
Great for Brunch (17)
Business Meals (13)
Pre/post Theatre (11)
Historic (10)
Casual (10)
Disabled Access (9)
Sunday Lunch (9)
Seasonal (9)
Authentic (9)
Healthy (9)
Tasting Menu (7)
Outstanding Value (6)
Fireplace (5)
Modern Decor (5)
Comfort Food (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Fun (4)
Great for Lunch (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Great Beer (3)
Private Room (2)
Organic (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Family Style (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Tapas (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
1557 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined 3 days ago

My first time there and can't believe I haven't been there before! The food is outstanding and the service so friendly and professional. It's perfect fora small or larger gathering. A place to impress.

Tags: Fun, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined 5 days ago

A pleasant experience! Love the decor, food, and service. Four ladies out for a brunch/lunch date. Food was great, wish my salmon salad was bit larger, I could have had more, so good!

Can't wait to go back and try their dinner!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined 6 days ago

We had a very nice evening celebrating our anniversary. We did not care for the music as we prefer old jazz or classical however it was not too loud so that was good. I was hoping the tables would have white linens but runners instead. It is close seating so if there is a loud person in the room it can get stressful. However the food was superb, the waitress excellent, very enjoyable.

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Healthy, Afternoon Coffee, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined 6 days ago

Great service, fabulous meal. We licked our plates. Worth the drive to Elk Grove.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined 7 days ago

Attentive waitstaff, but had to wait a bit for the entree. Food tasted good, but a bit pricey.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Excellent place

We visited in 2011 and returned on vacation used it for anniversary

Tags: Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Disabled Access, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Have eaten here numerous times and the food and service are always amazing. The food seems to be better than the "last time" we were there. I would recommend dinning here at least once.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Authentic, Great Beer, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Historic, Tapas, Late-night Find, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Wine list was good, the food was good. Just Wish they had a Chicken option on the day we went. The Dessert was tasty but did need a sauce

Tags: Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 8, 2017

small restaurant, small menu excellent execution of dishes and responsive staff

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Looking forward to the next special day to celebrate at the Blvd Bistro!

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 5, 2017

I had a ladies night out at Boulevard Bistro on Saturday night. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We ordered a lovely bottle of local sparkling wine while waiting for our table. At our request, they were even able to fulfill a request for an alternate cheese plate when the goat cheese on the menu had been sold out. We enjoyed a few small plates and 2 entrees as well as 3 desserts among the three of us and were very satisfied. Each plate was well-prepared.

I am not sure I would call Boulevard Bistro "the most romantic," however, the relaxed ambiance, friendly service, and good food make this place an excellent choice.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 4, 2017

This is my absolute favorite restaurant anywhere. The food is amazing as are the service and staff. If you have a palette for great food and are willing to try new things, this place is for you.

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 4, 2017

The salmon was perfectly cooked and seasoned. The banana bread pudding was amazing....

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Always perfect in every way. Elegant, affordable fine dining.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Boulevard Bistro is fast becoming one of my favorite places to celebrate a special occasion with my wife. The fare is always both creative and delicious with a nod to French cuisine. The only thing I don't absolutely love about the place is that I can't order everything. There's often a dish or two that I regret not ordering. This is not fast food, but I highly recommend it for anyone who wants to make a good first impression.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Have dined here on several occasions. The service is always outstanding as is the food.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 2, 2017

By far Elk Grove's Best, The Food is 5 Star, Fantastic Wine Selection, Best Place in Town for a date nite.

Tags: Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Cozy, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Outstanding Value, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Disabled Access, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 28, 2017

The ambience was good, the service was first class and the food was exceptional. It was an enjoyable experience all around and would heartily recommend a visit

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 28, 2017

It is hard to find a quiet intimate restaurant at this time of big dining rooms, breweries and pubs so The Boulevard Bistro is a delight. Our meal was excellent but wish there might have been a few more choices for the plated entree other than swiss chard or brussel sprouts. Melt in your mouth fillet though but should have a warm share plate (ice cold plate doesn't seem in line with such a nice restaurant)

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Disabled Access, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 28, 2017

This is one of our favorite restaurants - food is great, staff are very good - the atmosphere is conversation friendly and the service is well paced - respecting the time for conversation rather than churning the tables

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Always a good menu and great food. One of our favorite restaurants

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Private Room, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Had a great dinner. Great service. Enjoyed the evening

Tags: Authentic, Sunday Lunch, Healthy, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Always a great place for a special dinner with excellent service, food, and ambience

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Awesome service. Wonderful staff!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Boulevard bistro is a wonderful place for a quiet evening dinner for any occasion. Price is appropriate for finer dining. Every dish is made perfectly and can be complimented with a lovely selection of wines. If you haven't ever had bone marrow, you've got to give it a try. So worth it.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Another great birthday meal for hubby and I. Food was delicious as usual.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 7, 2017

As usual the service was outstanding but also as usual the vegetables were minimal. The broccoli that came with the delicious lamb T-bones was burnt.

The bread that is served when you first come in was as always very good, but this time the bread was very cold. It was a cold rainy night and warm bread would have been much appreciated.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Great Beer, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Our first time to have dinner there, it was superb. Food was delicious, the staff was amazing. We even got to meet the chef, he was great! Everyone went out of their way to make it a special experience. The only thing I would say is fire up that fireplace but the candles in there were very nice.

We would definitely go again, huge thanks for a wonderful birthday celebration. Parking in rear which was nice since it was raining and windy.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Organic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 31, 2016

No surprises! Excellent as always.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 30, 2016

This place has never disappointed the food portions are small but very filling the service is the best

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Only thing missing is a full bar menu. Only wine, beer and one type vodka available.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 22, 2016

This is the best restaurant in Elk Grove. We eat here for any special occasion. Never disappoints

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 18, 2016

This was my first time to visit and dine at the Boulevard Bistro, but it will not be my last! It is small and intimate, the food is just outstanding and the service is outstanding, without hovering.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 18, 2016

I had forgotten how wonderful the brunch selections are. We normally go to dinner here, and had Sunday Brunch over a year ago. We will do brunch more frequently.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 18, 2016

When having brunch in December the last two times prior to this December, the dining area with fireplace has been decorated very nice for the holiday season. I told me friend (who had never been there) about what a delight it is to go to brunch there in December. The front check-in area was decorated but the rest of the restaurant was not. It disappointed me but the service and food was delicious all the same.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 18, 2016

This is the third, maybe fourth time that my husband & I have eaten here. We absolutely LOVE the food, wine, ambiance & service....all outstanding!! The only drawback that we can see is the noise level. The setting is so very quaint, which is lovely but it doesn't lend towards a QUIET evening. And because my husband is deaf in one ear, it makes our quiet evening even harder! But, believe me, it won't stop us from going back!!

Might I suggest a few of the Asian style folding screens between the two rooms & tables to help with the noise level?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 18, 2016

The food and the service is top notch! By far mine and my husbands favorite restaurant anywhere!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Boulevard Bistro is such a special place. Their food never disappoints and the service is outstanding. This is where my husband and I come for special occasions as it is a special place. I just cannot say enough about the food. No matter what you decide, you will be happy you ordered it. The way they put flavors together is just unmatched! Thanks for being so awesome Boulevard Bistro.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 17, 2016

I almost hate to rave about this place because it is already hard enough to get a reservation. BUT, truth be told, this is one of the best restaurants in the Elk Grove/Sacramento and surrounding areas. I have been here several times and have NEVER left the restaurant disappointed.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Private Room, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Disabled Access, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 14, 2016

Our experience there was great the only issue we had was portion size. The fish and meat were a good size but the sides were very small.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 14, 2016

My nephew was in town for business. We came here and loved it, so I brought two more friends here the very next week. The service was exceptionally attentive, yet not overbearing. Our waiter overheard us express a bit of hesitancy over a wine choice we had made and came to our table to present us a few more options. The ambiance is warm and inviting.

I am new to Elk Grove and was happy to find a fine dining experience right here.

Tags: Business Meals, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 11, 2016

This is the third time we have eaten at the bistro and each time it has been a wonderful experience. The food, service, and ambiance are all excellent. We highly recommend this gem of a restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 8, 2016

This is our go-to place for special meals. Wouldn't recommend it for families with young children. Very cozy atmosphere. What sets it apart is the food. It couldn't be any better. I had the pork chop. It was huge but cooked to perfection, so tender I could've cut it with a fork. The sauce and mushroom bed was over the top. My friend had the steak - again, cooked to perfection with the most amazing taste. And, of course, we finished the meal with some of the best crème brulee ever.

Service, as always, was over the top.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Special Occasion, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 7, 2016

I really enjoy dining at Boulevard Bistro. The ambience is comfortable and cozy. The service is attentive. The food is consistently high quality. The wine we had was fabulous. Great time again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Second time there, great food and service both times

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Staff was well versed about the menu and specials. Our waitress was very warm and friendly to talk to. Loved her...She also made good recommendations for wine. Very enjoyable evening.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Boulevard Bistro was excellent!! My wife and I have celebrated our 25th and 26th wedding anniversary there and we love it. The service is top notch and the food is incredible. .. we'll be there for number 27 next year.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on November 30, 2016

The dining experience was superb as usual. Looking forward to doing it again soon.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Authentic, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Trout rillettes were out of this world.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.