About Boulevard Bistro

8941 Elk Grove Boulevard
Elk Grove, CA 95624
View Larger Map

Boulevard Bistro is a quaint upscale fine dining restaurant located in a 1908 bungalow style home.
Best known for our Regional American Cuisine and direct focus on Californias Foothill Wines with a list of over 50 selections. We embrace locally grown produce; fresh vegetables grown in the central valley, locally raised meat, and seafood from the cold waters of the coast of Northern California.

Bret Bohlmann, chef and owner, is a 1998 graduate of the California Culinary Academy. After several years of experience in the Bay area Bret has returned home to Elk Grove to open one of Elk Grove's finest restaurants.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Californian, Contemporary French / American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Brunch: Sunday 10:00am - 2:00pm

Cross Street:
3rd Avenue

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(916) 685-2220

Website:
http://blvdbistro.com/

Parking Details:
Parkig lot behind restaurat, access from 3rd Aveue

Executive Chef:
Bret Bohlmann

Private Party Contact:
Debora: 916-685-2220

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Liquor, Fireplace, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Boulevard Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Sacramento / Sacramento Valley
Best Food
Sacramento / Sacramento Valley
Best Value
Sacramento / Sacramento Valley
12 More
Neighborhood Gem
Sacramento / Sacramento Valley
Romantic
Sacramento / Sacramento Valley
Special Occasion
Sacramento / Sacramento Valley
Californian
Sacramento / Sacramento Valley
Best Overall
Sacramento
Best Food
Sacramento
Best Ambiance
Sacramento
Best Value
Sacramento
Neighborhood Gem
Sacramento
Romantic
Sacramento
Special Occasion
Sacramento
Californian
Sacramento
Best Restaurants in Elk Grove ›

special occasion (87)
romantic (76)
fit for foodies (69)
See All
neighborhood gem (66)
notable wine list (26)
great for brunch (24)
late-night find (9)
good for groups (8)
great for lunch (5)
hot spot (4)
great for outdoor dining (2)
kid-friendly (2)
 (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1338 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Have been here many times before and it ...

Dined 3 days ago

Have been here many times before and it doesn't disappoint. However, the night we dined, the desserts weren't up to their usual standard. For starters, no creme brûlée (even though we ate early), and the panna cotta was lacking in texture. Halibut and salmon were outstanding.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Small, intimate gem well worth the long drive

Dined 7 days ago

This was our second visit to Boulevard Bistro. Although it's 75 miles from our home, we enjoyed it so much the first time that we decided to invite family to celebrate their anniversary. We were not disappointed. The food was delicious, staff very attentive making it a truly delightful dining experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a great experience from the ambie ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Always a great experience from the ambience to the service to the food.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

Limited menu, No full bar. Seated imme ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

Limited menu, No full bar. Seated immediately over an air conditioning vent therefore my wife was uncomfortably cold. Service was nonchalant. Wedge salad was underwhelming. Pork chop was pretty good, as was the smoked trout starter.

food5
ambience5
service5

The entire experierence was wonderful. ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

The entire experierence was wonderful. The service was awesome. You can taste the care and passion that went into every dish. The setting was unique and personal. The restaurant is in an old house.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

You immediately know that you have ente ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

You immediately know that you have entered someplace special when you arrive. The menu is put together with thought and creativity. We suggest not changing a thing to the dishes that the chef creates for you. Just sit back and enjoy the foodie experience that you are about to have.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The food is always delicious and the ser ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

The food is always delicious and the service superb. Atmosphere is classy and elegant.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Nice ambiance, a bit pricey

Dined on May 8, 2016

I find it to be a bit over priced, but I love their filet mignon and don't mind paying the money on special occasions. It's a small quaint place, a bit romantic with a good wine selection.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely Meal

Dined on May 8, 2016

This is the truly the best restaurant in Elk Grove. The food, service and ambiance are terrific. We dined with friends last week and enjoyed the following dishes: salmon, duck confit, mussels. The salads were yummy as well. Recommend the crème brulee for dessert.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Will not disappoint

Dined on May 6, 2016

We've been to boulevard bistro several times and have not been disappointed. Every time we've gone the food and service has been excellent! We have recommended this restaurant to our friends. Love it!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Elk Grove's Best

Dined on May 1, 2016

My wife and I have eaten here, a couple of times for special occasions, and have been amazed how good the food is here. The service here is amazing, very well informed, polite, and as friendly as ever. We even had a chance to talk to the owner, Bret, who came by to ask how everything was. We split the wedge salad, fantastic, then moved on to the main course. She had the pork chops, which you could cut with a butter knife, and I had the filet mignon, again. This is the best steak I have had in ...well, since the last time I ate here. The peppercorn sauce, and mashed potatoes, were a great compliment to that tasty piece of meat. I really should try something different, but, it is hard to pass on something this good. I finished it off with a fantastic crème brulee. We left with smiles on our face, and a happy tummy.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Hidden Neighborhood Gem

Dined on April 30, 2016

You had better know where you are going because the only signage is almost non-existent. Unpretensious old Elk Grove house converted into a 34 seat restaurant. Limited menu, should have more salt-water seafood and shellfish. Great service but a bit over-bearing: someone is always there doing something. A more casual approach would be better. Food was good but the menu is very limited. A bit pricey but a pleasant dining experience. This is not an every day establishment. Probably best for special occasions.

Tags: special occasion
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

My halibut was over cooked, when it says ...

Dined on April 27, 2016

My halibut was over cooked, when it says seared I was expecting it to be seared not cooked through in through. Also, the fillet mignon was over cooked as well. Yes, we ordered medium should've ordered med - rare but didn't get what we wanted. The service was fantastic the overall food was good but had a little more expectation for the price they are charging. I'll pay 50$ for a fillet anywhere as long as we get what we want. Thinkin 38$ might have been a little cheap since maybe it was Elk Grove. Still a great restaurant to have one in town.

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great presentation and service

Dined on April 24, 2016

This was our third visit. The service and presentation remain impeccable. The food is normally fantastic; however, our apps were a little disappointing - the bone marrow was fatty in regards to substance and the trout rillettes was a little dry. The Halibut entree was prepared to perfection. The Pork chop was slightly overcooked (medium well). The Panna Cotta was a very good capper to our meal. French press coffee always a nice touch. For the price ($125.00 for two), I expect near perfection and as a result only four stars on this visit. A large party in the other room was very loud at times - I believe this to be unusual for this restaurant and would still recommend for a special occasion.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food4
ambience3
service4

The filet mignon was delicious. Cooked p ...

Dined on April 23, 2016

The filet mignon was delicious. Cooked perfectly and the sauce was tasty. The rabbit confit was equally delicious. Our server was kind and his assistants were attentive. Very pleased. We will return.

food5
ambience4
service5

My favorite is the beet salad for the sa ...

Dined on April 23, 2016

My favorite is the beet salad for the salad course. I had the halibut for my entree and it was outstanding!

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

very nice

Dined on April 23, 2016

Customer service was great. Food was delicious. Would recommend and come back. I figured they would do something special for a special occassion. Like dessert?

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Restaurant!

Dined on April 23, 2016

My Family and I had a wonderful time at Boulevard Bistro. The entrées were absolutely delicious and the service was top notch! We will definitely return for any special occasion in the future !

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding food and wine list.

Dined on April 17, 2016

My wife and I don't get to get out often so when we do we look for a really special place to have a fantastic dinner and experience. We finally got the opportunity to go back to boulevard bistro and just like the first time, we loved it.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A friendly place

Dined on April 17, 2016

Great friendly staff from the hostess to every single wait staff that saw to every need. You'll like the creative thoughtful menu. The restaraunt is laid out in so you can choose a private table or have friendly conversation with some of the regulars. Best filet I've had in a while. Any attire works there.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always great

vip
Dined on April 16, 2016

Not much more I can say about Boulevard Bistro. We eat here several times per year and it just keeps excelling. We drive an hour just to dine here and it is well worth it.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Boulevard Bistro is our restaurant of ch ...

Dined on April 14, 2016

Boulevard Bistro is our restaurant of choice when going out for a special meal. Service, food all wonderful each and every time. Owner Brett Bohlmann is a master.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Chef Ray

Dined on April 10, 2016

Service was a little slow before they took our order, but back on track after that. Seemed a little chilly in the room.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I would recommend boulevard bistro to an ...

Dined on April 9, 2016

I would recommend boulevard bistro to anyone looking for a great meal, excellent service or a romantic meal.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

5 star dining

Dined on April 9, 2016

This is a 5 star dining establishment. The food and the service were outstanding. We definitely felt pampered. The prices averaged around $30 to $35, plus extra for salads or soup. Reservations are the only way you will get into Boulevard Bistro. This is a very small restaurant with 10 tables. The noise level is very low with ambient music in the background. It was very nice to be able to converse in a normal volume. Boulevard Bistro is the perfect special occasion restaurant for a romantic setting. I highly recommend Boulevard Bistro.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

It is always nice

Dined on April 3, 2016

The food is always good. The service was not good this time. But we would go back another time.

Tags: late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Must excellent dinner!

Dined on March 27, 2016

Found this hidden gem purely by luck. My daughter was visiting from San Francisco so we googled "best restaurants in Elk Grove". We were not disappointed. My daughter actually stated this was way better than most SF bistros! We both ordered the fillet mignon, which turned out to be the most exquisite we've ever had! The service and ambience was perfect, as was the wine! I look forward to my next visit to the Bistro! Be sure to make a reservation in advance, since the bistro is an old converted Victorian house, and accommodates approx. 30-40 people at a time.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great service excellent food , wine and desert

Dined on March 26, 2016

This is a hidden gem. The staff is trained excellently and work as a team . The food is prepared perfectly. The wine was unique and the desert a perfect fit

Tags: romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Delicious Food

Dined on March 26, 2016

As usual, the food was delicious. We usually go here for special occasions and the food never disappoints. This last visit, they ran out of the wine that I was drinking. They offered a replacement glass, but neglected to tell me that they were charging me $14 for it, $6 more than the one I had. They also did not offer to let me taste it since I was not familiar with it. I did not like the wine at all, but felt obligated to drink it. Live and learn!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

We had brunch, my husband really enjoyed ...

Dined on March 20, 2016

We had brunch, my husband really enjoyed his mimosa and we were very happy with the freshness and flavors of our dishes!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great as always

vip
Dined on March 19, 2016

Not much more I can say at Boulevard Bistro. This is our go to place when we want to be guaranteed we will have a great dining experience. It never fails to live up to our expectations.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

I couldn't have gone to a better place f ...

vip
Dined on March 18, 2016

I couldn't have gone to a better place for my birthday! Food and service are always top notch!! I always look forward to their excellent food choices, and the great atmosphere!! IF you are ever in the Sacramento area, this IS the best place to eat!!!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had a lovely evening. We will definitely return

Dined on March 13, 2016

The food was excellent. The atmosphere and music were very enjoyable. We went there kind of late and the service and freshness of the food were outstanding. It is worth a second and third visit and more.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Degrees of Five Stars

Dined on March 13, 2016

Perfect place for a birthday/anniversary/proposal celebration. We have had so many superlative dining experiences here it's difficult to top, but this was up there.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Suburban Surprise

Dined on March 13, 2016

My wife and I had dinner at Boulevard Bistro to celebrate my recovery from major surgery. The restaurant is very quaint with a limited number of tables that adds to its ambiance. The service was very good. The main courses were excellent. My wife had rack of lamb that I tasted. It was excellent. I had the halibut that was also excellent. My only reservation was the cost of drinks which I thought for the location was quite high. My wife had two glasses of wine that cost as much as her entree. However, even given that concern, we would gladly return and expect to in the near future.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

The food was great, but the wait time of ...

Dined on March 12, 2016

The food was great, but the wait time of an hour to get our food was a little much considering it's a small restaurant with not a lot of people at the time. I finished my drink, ordered another one that I wasn't planning on getting because of the wait time, and the waiter didn't bother to check on us or let us know it'd be a while.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

My wife and I love this place! They have ...

Dined on March 12, 2016

My wife and I love this place! They have great food and great service!

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great find

vip
Dined on March 6, 2016

I was looking for a nice place for brunch in the Sacramento area when I came upon this place on opentable. I read many great reviews and decided too give it a try. Boy I was not dissapointed. The restaurant is housed in a cute restored bungalow. It is very comfortable and intament. Service was ok,our server was very interested in another couple who brought 2 bottles of their own. I assume that they allow it , however I saw no mention of that any where. Now for the food. 5 stars. It is obvious that the chef knows how to cook. I ordered the pot roast hash that comes with seasoned potatoes and a poached egg. This is the best hash I have ever had ,period. Did I mention that that the dish was covered in home made redeye gravy, delicious! My wife had the eggs benedict, marvelous. She could not rave enough about the ham that was sliced right off the bone. Another nice touch was a lovely plate of fresh fruit that was served to us before our meal came. This place is wine and beer only but they were able to make bloody Mary's and other vodka drinks using a lower alcohol rice wine vodka. I look forward to trying this place for dinner soon.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Excellent, As Usual

Dined on March 4, 2016

This has become my go-to spot when I have special guests. As usual Boulevard Bistro did not let me down. Our meals were prepared to perfection. The wine was a great complement to our meals. Dessert was sublime.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Always a treat to go to Boulevard.

Dined on March 4, 2016

Always a treat to go to Boulevard.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.