About Boulevard Bistro

8941 Elk Grove Boulevard
Elk Grove, CA 95624
View Larger Map

Boulevard Bistro is a quaint upscale fine dining restaurant located in a 1908 bungalow style home.
Best known for our Regional American Cuisine and direct focus on Californias Foothill Wines with a list of over 50 selections. We embrace locally grown produce; fresh vegetables grown in the central valley, locally raised meat, and seafood from the cold waters of the coast of Northern California.

Bret Bohlmann, chef and owner, is a 1998 graduate of the California Culinary Academy. After several years of experience in the Bay area Bret has returned home to Elk Grove to open one of Elk Grove's finest restaurants.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Californian, Contemporary French / American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Brunch: Sunday 10:00am - 2:00pm

Cross Street:
3rd Avenue

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(916) 685-2220

Website:
http://blvdbistro.com/

Parking Details:
Parkig lot behind restaurat, access from 3rd Aveue

Executive Chef:
Bret Bohlmann

Private Party Contact:
Debora: (916) 685-2220

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Liquor, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Salmon - Boulevard Bistro, Elk Grove, CA
Apple Streudel & Vanilla Ice Cream - Boulevard Bistro, Elk Grove, CA
Deviled Eggs With Crispy Proscuitto - Boulevard Bistro, Elk Grove, CA
duck and waffles - Boulevard Bistro, Elk Grove, CA
Gorgonzola, Candied Walnuts, Honey, Crispy Prosciutto - Boulevard Bistro, Elk Grove, CA
Filet Mignon Hash (Egg Porn Shot) - Boulevard Bistro, Elk Grove, CA
Open Face Cheeseburger - Boulevard Bistro, Elk Grove, CA
Bloody Mary - Boulevard Bistro, Elk Grove, CA
Fruit And Cheese Plate - Boulevard Bistro, Elk Grove, CA
Filet Mignon Hash - Boulevard Bistro, Elk Grove, CA
Bistro Cheeseburger - Boulevard Bistro, Elk Grove, CA
Boulevard Bistro Burger - Boulevard Bistro, Elk Grove, CA
Wedge Salad - Boulevard Bistro, Elk Grove, CA
Braised Lamb Hash - Boulevard Bistro, Elk Grove, CA
Croque Madame - Boulevard Bistro, Elk Grove, CA
Oysters - Boulevard Bistro, Elk Grove, CA
Bread Service - Boulevard Bistro, Elk Grove, CA
Apple Strudle - Boulevard Bistro, Elk Grove, CA
French Fries - Boulevard Bistro, Elk Grove, CA
Chicken Sandwich - Boulevard Bistro, Elk Grove, CA
Almond French Toast - Boulevard Bistro, Elk Grove, CA
Omelette - Boulevard Bistro, Elk Grove, CA
French Toast - Boulevard Bistro, Elk Grove, CA
Filet Mignon - Boulevard Bistro, Elk Grove, CA
Passmore Ranch Sturgeon - Boulevard Bistro, Elk Grove, CA
Lamb Burger - Boulevard Bistro, Elk Grove, CA
Citrus Salad - Boulevard Bistro, Elk Grove, CA
Waffles - Boulevard Bistro, Elk Grove, CA
Spicy Bloody Mary - Boulevard Bistro, Elk Grove, CA
Lamb Shanks - Boulevard Bistro, Elk Grove, CA
California Olives and Crostini - Boulevard Bistro, Elk Grove, CA
White Wine - Boulevard Bistro, Elk Grove, CA
Corned Beef Hash and Eggs - Boulevard Bistro, Elk Grove, CA
Stella Artois - Boulevard Bistro, Elk Grove, CA
French Onion Soup - Boulevard Bistro, Elk Grove, CA
Braised Beef Cheek - Boulevard Bistro, Elk Grove, CA
Thai Curry Soup With Swordfish & Clams - Boulevard Bistro, Elk Grove, CA
Coffee - Boulevard Bistro, Elk Grove, CA
Fruit Plate - Boulevard Bistro, Elk Grove, CA
Pommes Frites - Boulevard Bistro, Elk Grove, CA
Deviled Eggs With Bacon - Boulevard Bistro, Elk Grove, CA
flourless chocolate cake - Boulevard Bistro, Elk Grove, CA
Duck Cassoulet - Boulevard Bistro, Elk Grove, CA
Raspberry Sorbet - Boulevard Bistro, Elk Grove, CA
Maple Bacon Cheesecake - Boulevard Bistro, Elk Grove, CA
Chicken Breast With pumpkin Ravioli - Boulevard Bistro, Elk Grove, CA
Smoked Trout Deviled eggs - Boulevard Bistro, Elk Grove, CA
Blue Cheese And Potato croquette - Boulevard Bistro, Elk Grove, CA
Roasted Bone Marrow - Boulevard Bistro, Elk Grove, CA
Bread - Boulevard Bistro, Elk Grove, CA
New York Steak - Boulevard Bistro, Elk Grove, CA
Beet Salad With Spoon Spinach And Goat Cheese - Boulevard Bistro, Elk Grove, CA
Mussles scallops Calamari Rissoto - Boulevard Bistro, Elk Grove, CA
Shrimp Cakes - Boulevard Bistro, Elk Grove, CA

Boulevard Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.6

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Anniversaries (42)
Good for a Date (40)
Special Occasion (40)
See All
Cozy (33)
Romantic (32)
Neighborhood Gem (30)
Good for Birthdays (26)
Quiet Conversation (26)
Creative Cuisine (25)
Fit for Foodies (21)
Local Ingredients (17)
Worth the Drive (17)
Great for Brunch (16)
Notable Wine List (15)
Sunday Lunch (11)
Business Meals (10)
Pre/post Theatre (10)
Casual (10)
Historic (8)
Seasonal (7)
Disabled Access (7)
Healthy (6)
Modern Decor (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Outstanding Value (5)
Tasting Menu (3)
Fun (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Fireplace (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Authentic (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Organic (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Great Beer (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Private Room (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Family Style (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
1530 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Awesome service. Wonderful staff!

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined 6 days ago

Awesome service. Wonderful staff!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Boulevard bistro is a wonderful place fo ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Boulevard bistro is a wonderful place for a quiet evening dinner for any occasion. Price is appropriate for finer dining. Every dish is made perfectly and can be complimented with a lovely selection of wines. If you haven't ever had bone marrow, you've got to give it a try. So worth it.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Another great birthday meal for hubby an ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Another great birthday meal for hubby and I. Food was delicious as usual.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

As usual the service was outstanding but ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 7, 2017

As usual the service was outstanding but also as usual the vegetables were minimal. The broccoli that came with the delicious lamb T-bones was burnt.

The bread that is served when you first come in was as always very good, but this time the bread was very cold. It was a cold rainy night and warm bread would have been much appreciated.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Great Beer, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Our first time to have dinner there, it ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Our first time to have dinner there, it was superb. Food was delicious, the staff was amazing. We even got to meet the chef, he was great! Everyone went out of their way to make it a special experience. The only thing I would say is fire up that fireplace but the candles in there were very nice.

We would definitely go again, huge thanks for a wonderful birthday celebration. Parking in rear which was nice since it was raining and windy.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Organic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

No surprises! Excellent as always.

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 31, 2016

No surprises! Excellent as always.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

This place has never disappointed the fo ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 30, 2016

This place has never disappointed the food portions are small but very filling the service is the best

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Only thing missing is a full bar menu. ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Only thing missing is a full bar menu. Only wine, beer and one type vodka available.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This is the best restaurant in Elk Grove ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 22, 2016

This is the best restaurant in Elk Grove. We eat here for any special occasion. Never disappoints

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was my first time to visit and dine ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 18, 2016

This was my first time to visit and dine at the Boulevard Bistro, but it will not be my last! It is small and intimate, the food is just outstanding and the service is outstanding, without hovering.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had forgotten how wonderful the brunch ...

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 18, 2016

I had forgotten how wonderful the brunch selections are. We normally go to dinner here, and had Sunday Brunch over a year ago. We will do brunch more frequently.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

When having brunch in December the last ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 18, 2016

When having brunch in December the last two times prior to this December, the dining area with fireplace has been decorated very nice for the holiday season. I told me friend (who had never been there) about what a delight it is to go to brunch there in December. The front check-in area was decorated but the rest of the restaurant was not. It disappointed me but the service and food was delicious all the same.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

This is the third, maybe fourth time tha ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 18, 2016

This is the third, maybe fourth time that my husband & I have eaten here. We absolutely LOVE the food, wine, ambiance & service....all outstanding!! The only drawback that we can see is the noise level. The setting is so very quaint, which is lovely but it doesn't lend towards a QUIET evening. And because my husband is deaf in one ear, it makes our quiet evening even harder! But, believe me, it won't stop us from going back!!

Might I suggest a few of the Asian style folding screens between the two rooms & tables to help with the noise level?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food and the service is top notch! ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 18, 2016

The food and the service is top notch! By far mine and my husbands favorite restaurant anywhere!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Boulevard Bistro is such a special place ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Boulevard Bistro is such a special place. Their food never disappoints and the service is outstanding. This is where my husband and I come for special occasions as it is a special place. I just cannot say enough about the food. No matter what you decide, you will be happy you ordered it. The way they put flavors together is just unmatched! Thanks for being so awesome Boulevard Bistro.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I almost hate to rave about this place b ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 17, 2016

I almost hate to rave about this place because it is already hard enough to get a reservation. BUT, truth be told, this is one of the best restaurants in the Elk Grove/Sacramento and surrounding areas. I have been here several times and have NEVER left the restaurant disappointed.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Private Room, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Disabled Access, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our experience there was great the only ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 14, 2016

Our experience there was great the only issue we had was portion size. The fish and meat were a good size but the sides were very small.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

My nephew was in town for business. We c ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 14, 2016

My nephew was in town for business. We came here and loved it, so I brought two more friends here the very next week. The service was exceptionally attentive, yet not overbearing. Our waiter overheard us express a bit of hesitancy over a wine choice we had made and came to our table to present us a few more options. The ambiance is warm and inviting.

I am new to Elk Grove and was happy to find a fine dining experience right here.

Tags: Business Meals, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This is the third time we have eaten at ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 11, 2016

This is the third time we have eaten at the bistro and each time it has been a wonderful experience. The food, service, and ambiance are all excellent. We highly recommend this gem of a restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This is our go-to place for special meal ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 8, 2016

This is our go-to place for special meals. Wouldn't recommend it for families with young children. Very cozy atmosphere. What sets it apart is the food. It couldn't be any better. I had the pork chop. It was huge but cooked to perfection, so tender I could've cut it with a fork. The sauce and mushroom bed was over the top. My friend had the steak - again, cooked to perfection with the most amazing taste. And, of course, we finished the meal with some of the best crème brulee ever.

Service, as always, was over the top.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Special Occasion, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I really enjoy dining at Boulevard Bistr ...

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 7, 2016

I really enjoy dining at Boulevard Bistro. The ambience is comfortable and cozy. The service is attentive. The food is consistently high quality. The wine we had was fabulous. Great time again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Second time there, great food and servic ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Second time there, great food and service both times

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Staff was well versed about the menu and ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Staff was well versed about the menu and specials. Our waitress was very warm and friendly to talk to. Loved her...She also made good recommendations for wine. Very enjoyable evening.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Boulevard Bistro was excellent!! My wif ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Boulevard Bistro was excellent!! My wife and I have celebrated our 25th and 26th wedding anniversary there and we love it. The service is top notch and the food is incredible. .. we'll be there for number 27 next year.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The dining experience was superb as usua ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on November 30, 2016

The dining experience was superb as usual. Looking forward to doing it again soon.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Authentic, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Trout rillettes were out of this world.

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Trout rillettes were out of this world.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We always have a great time coming here. ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on November 27, 2016

We always have a great time coming here. Food's excellent, ambiance is great, & the hospitality's superb! We'll definitely come back! 5 stars!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

After many years, Boulevard Bistro is st ...

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on November 27, 2016

After many years, Boulevard Bistro is still the best. Brunch was fabulous (as usual). Chef Brett was in the kitchen and daughter Candice was out front. Excellent service. This is truly a first-class restaurant. We'll be back for brunch or dinner again soon.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Was visiting from out of town, and chose ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Was visiting from out of town, and chose this place for dinner. Food was delicious, great service and nice ambiance.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

My husband and I were looking forward to ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 27, 2016

My husband and I were looking forward to a night out and hoped for nice dinner. We were very pleasantly surprised with a fantastic experience! Service was attentive, friendly and prompt, food was delicious and a atmosphere was quite nice. A great surprise for us and we look forward to another visit soon.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My husband and I went for our wedding an ...

 
·Dined on November 24, 2016

My husband and I went for our wedding anniversary and had a wonderful time. The food was sensational and the service top notch. Everyone went above and beyond to make it a special evening.

Tags: Fun, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We've been to Boulevard Bistro many time ...

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on November 23, 2016

We've been to Boulevard Bistro many times and they never fail to please. Comfortable yet upscale ambiance, world class food, great wine list. So great to have this caliber restaurant right here in Elk Grove!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a fantastic experience

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Always a fantastic experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was an absolutely delightful dining ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on November 19, 2016

This was an absolutely delightful dining experience!

Tags: Historic, Good for a Date, , Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Boulevard Bistro is a quaint restaurant ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Boulevard Bistro is a quaint restaurant in Elk Grove - hands down the best restaurant in the city. It is located in a refurbished 1920's bungalow and the decor is clean and modern making the spot a quiet little getaway for the evening. From appetizer to salad, entree, and dessert, the food was amazing!

Tags: Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Good for a Date, Organic, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time I'd been there. It was wonder ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on November 16, 2016

First time I'd been there. It was wonderful. I really appreciated the service and the food was delicious.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fireplace, Good for a Date, Romantic, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always perfect in every way, a genuine w ...

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Always perfect in every way, a genuine wonderful experience.

Tags: Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always awesome. Never a bad dish, let a ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Always awesome. Never a bad dish, let alone a bad experience.

Tags: Seasonal, Cozy, Good for a Date, , Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love the Bistro! We always seem to get t ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Love the Bistro!

We always seem to get the seat right in the corridor. The couple next to us asked to move because it was a little too close for comfort. Nonetheless - no matter where you sit, your Bistro experience is certain to be great. Can't wait to go back.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Sevice was quite attentive, but not intr ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on November 9, 2016

Sevice was quite attentive, but not intrusive, checking in & still giving us enough time to peruse the menu full of delicious choices. We were served an unexpected complimentary mild (goat?) cheese & bread plate to start. Then came the beautifully melty camembert & crouton appetizer, ordered by our friend. Hubby & I both had the filet mignon entree, perfectly cooked nedium rare with drool-inducing char on the outside. I don't know how the chefs get so much flavor & perfect moist texture into such a lean cut, but the demiglacě added more juicy flavor without overwhelming. The mashed potatos were a smooth & creamy accompaniment. Our frind had the salmon, which I didn't taste, but he said it was excellent, high praise from a Bay area foodie transplant. Desserts were amazing. Hubby had rich, intense espresso-infused pot de creme. I had an absolutely classic vanilla creme brulee with 3 ripe blueberries & an edible flower (tiny pansy? violet?) Our friend finished with thewarm bread pudding, and couldn't stop complimenting the companion ice cream. All in all an excellent meal, as always.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.