About Boulevard Bistro

8941 Elk Grove Boulevard
Elk Grove, CA 95624
View Larger Map

Boulevard Bistro is a quaint upscale fine dining restaurant located in a 1908 bungalow style home.
Best known for our Regional American Cuisine and direct focus on Californias Foothill Wines with a list of over 50 selections. We embrace locally grown produce; fresh vegetables grown in the central valley, locally raised meat, and seafood from the cold waters of the coast of Northern California.

Bret Bohlmann, chef and owner, is a 1998 graduate of the California Culinary Academy. After several years of experience in the Bay area Bret has returned home to Elk Grove to open one of Elk Grove's finest restaurants.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Californian, Contemporary French / American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Brunch: Sunday 10:00am - 2:00pm

Cross Street:
3rd Avenue

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(916) 685-2220

Website:
http://blvdbistro.com/

Parking Details:
Parkig lot behind restaurat, access from 3rd Aveue

Executive Chef:
Bret Bohlmann

Private Party Contact:
Debora: 916-685-2220

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Liquor, Fireplace, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Salmon
Fruit And Cheese Plate
Braised Lamb Hash
Apple Streudel & Vanilla Ice Cream
duck and waffles
Deviled Eggs With Crispy Proscuitto
Gorgonzola, Candied Walnuts, Honey, Crispy Prosciutto
Filet Mignon Hash (Egg Porn Shot)
Open Face Cheeseburger
Bloody Mary
Filet Mignon Hash
Bistro Cheeseburger
Boulevard Bistro Burger
Wedge Salad
Croque Madame
Oysters
Bread Service
Apple Strudle
French Fries
Chicken Sandwich
Almond French Toast
Omelette
Filet Mignon
French Toast
Passmore Ranch Sturgeon
Lamb Burger
Waffles
Citrus Salad
Spicy Bloody Mary
California Olives and Crostini
Lamb Shanks
White Wine
Corned Beef Hash and Eggs
Stella Artois
French Onion Soup
Thai Curry Soup With Swordfish & Clams
Braised Beef Cheek
Fruit Plate
Pommes Frites
Coffee
Deviled Eggs With Bacon
flourless chocolate cake
Chicken Breast With pumpkin Ravioli
Maple Bacon Cheesecake
Roasted Bone Marrow
Smoked Trout Deviled eggs
Blue Cheese And Potato croquette
Duck Cassoulet
Raspberry Sorbet
Bread
New York Steak
Beet Salad With Spoon Spinach And Goat Cheese
Shrimp Cakes
Mussles scallops Calamari Rissoto

Boulevard Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Sacramento / Sacramento Valley
Best Value
Sacramento / Sacramento Valley
Neighborhood Gem
Sacramento / Sacramento Valley
8 More
Romantic
Sacramento / Sacramento Valley
Californian
Sacramento / Sacramento Valley
Best Overall
Sacramento
Best Value
Sacramento
Neighborhood Gem
Sacramento
Romantic
Sacramento
Special Occasion
Sacramento
Californian
Sacramento
Best Restaurants in Elk Grove ›

special occasion (89)
neighborhood gem (68)
romantic (65)
See All
fit for foodies (62)
notable wine list (25)
great for brunch (24)
hot spot (9)
good for groups (7)
late-night find (5)
great for lunch (5)
kid-friendly (3)
great for outdoor dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1370 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

My wife said it was the best Salmon she ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

My wife said it was the best Salmon she had ever had, we will most certainly be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Unbelievable dining experience, we will ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Unbelievable dining experience, we will definitely become regulars.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous food and service . I had forgot ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Fabulous food and service . I had forgotten how awesome this place is. If your on a budget , you need to go elsewhere. About $30 a plate, not including appetizer or dessert . Worth every Penny!!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

We enjoyed a wonderful brunch. The atmos ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

We enjoyed a wonderful brunch. The atmosphere, food and SERVICE are second to none. I'll definitely be back.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I have been dining occasiona ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

My wife and I have been dining occasionally at Boulevard Bistro since it opened. Never a disappointment. All menu items that we have tried are great. My favorites are Steak au Poivre for dinner and Sunday Brunch. Nothing better in the Sacramento/Elk Grove area. More Brussel sprouts Bret.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Had brunch - so wonderful!!! The frui ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Had brunch - so wonderful!!! The fruit, bread and cheese plate presented to us (there were 3 friends dining) was spectacular - not only in quality but presentation, too. Gorgeous - not your typical fruit platter at all.

Hubby had the french toast - beautiful and delicious!

I had the special short rib hash with perfectly poached egg - DELICIOUS !

Friend had the salmon benedict - DELICIOUS !

A couple french presses of coffee to share among the three of us - no rushing - upscale dinner- hour worthy service.

Don't miss out - for a few $$$ more than a chain restaurants brunch, you will have a brunch experience, not just brunch.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Terrific - consistently provide wonderfu ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Terrific - consistently provide wonderful dishes and good service.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We went to the Boulevard Bistro to celeb ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

We went to the Boulevard Bistro to celebrate our wedding Anniversary. We selected it based on the glowing reviews from several close friends — it was good advice! We enjoyed everything about the meal from the appetizer we selected to the desert we split with our coffee. All were lovingly plated and delicious. The attentive service was excellent throughout.

This is not an inexpensive venue, but it is well worth the price in terms of the quality of the food and the level of service. We plan to turn to this restaurant often.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Our first time and we really enjoyed it. ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Our first time and we really enjoyed it. Small, but quality portions.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This is our go-to restaurant for Sunday ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

This is our go-to restaurant for Sunday brunch, but dinner is also five stars. Our favorite server, Brandon, has left to finish college in San Diego, but all of the staff are very attentive and friendly. Best eggs benedict and creme brulee we have every eaten!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We dined there to celebrate our Wedding ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

We dined there to celebrate our Wedding Anniversary, and were not disappointed.

The food was excellent in every way, i.e. The quality, the preparation, and the presentation.

The service was also excellent. Our server was a young woman named Candace who was the prefect host. She was friendly, professional, attentive, and took excellent care of us.

Thank you, Boulevard Bistro for making our Anniversary Celebration a memorable one! (smile)

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was delicious. My husband is a ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

The food was delicious. My husband is a big eater so the portions seemed small at first but the richness and taste of the food overwhelmed us! And we were nicely filled at the end of the meal. We had recently been treated to Ruth Chris Steakhouse but my husband said his filet at Boulevard Bistro was far superior to the one he had just had at Ruth Chris. My rack of lamb was divine as was the delicious chocolate decadent dessert!

We plan to visit again.

Thanks for a wonderful dining experience.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

We need to come here more often. The men ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

We need to come here more often. The menu changes frequently and we need to try everything. We have never been disappointed. The ambiance is intimate and relaxing, and even the taped music is nostalgic. I had scallops and they were perfect. Scallops I buy never come out like these! I can't say enough good things about this place.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

It had been some time since we had been ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

It had been some time since we had been to the Bistro and decided to celibate our anniversary there. The staff and food was wonderful. Thank you for a memorable evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Always a pleasure coming here. Food is ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Always a pleasure coming here. Food is always excellent and the wait staff is very respectful and classy.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The food and ambiance was exceptional. ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

The food and ambiance was exceptional. Very quaint and elegant.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My new favorite place to eat. The food ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

My new favorite place to eat. The food was wonderful, the service - outstanding!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Having a Kid friendly menu would be nice ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Having a Kid friendly menu would be nice . We had our Father's Day celebration at the Bistro. My kids ate French toast as this was the only option.

Waiters/waitresses are very efficient.

Very intimate , perfect for romantic evening

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoy this cozy restaurant. The food ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We enjoy this cozy restaurant. The food is excellent and everyone is friendly.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We requested a Happy Anniversary written ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

We requested a Happy Anniversary written on our plate for our dessert...we were denied because the chef said they couldnt do it...that's so disappointing as Im sure it was not a crazy request. Just some melted chocolate! Very disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

Possibly the best meals we've ever had. ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Possibly the best meals we've ever had. Service great and meals (filet mignon and lamb) outstanding; bread delicious. The only negative would be the extremely small desserts at high prices.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Scallop dish was plain and only two scal ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Scallop dish was plain and only two scallops on the dish. poor value, Lamb dish was much better a full rack of small chops. Foie gras turine on toast was very nice, topped with a balsamlic reduction.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Very nice little bistro, excellent food ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Very nice little bistro, excellent food and presentation

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The bistro is always the best meal I've ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

The bistro is always the best meal I've ever had. Ever ever ever.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was fun to try the Boulevard Bistro. ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

It was fun to try the Boulevard Bistro. We went because we were given a gift to go there, it was like having a Gordan Ramsey Restaurant experience (by far the most upscale restaurant I have eaten at). The ambiance was great, the service was superb. However, we spent $125 on two entrees, two salads, two desserts, and an appetizer. The desserts were the best part (creme brulee and lemon panna cotta...yum!) but the main courses and salads--though beautiful--tasted no better/worse than a moderately priced restaurant (ala elephant bar, etc). Maybe I'm no foodie, I just can't just the price to return. Thank you for the experience though!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

Chef Bret does not disappoint. Fabulous ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Chef Bret does not disappoint. Fabulous fillet and scintillating scallops! Wonderful meal!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

My wife and I love this place! Food is ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

My wife and I love this place! Food is fantastic and everyone is so nice. Laura is great.

The eggs Benedict is the best anywhere!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

best in town.

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Best restaurant in Sacramento valley, Brett the owner is a gracious host.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent as Always

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

This restaurant is on a par with the finest restaurants in Northern California, such as The Kitchen or The French Laundry, but at half the cost. Don't get me wrong, with a bottle of wine, we ran into the $160 range for two, but that's still half of what you'll pay at those other restaurants.

I started with a very good wedge salad. The lettuce & tomatoes fresh; the bacon crisp, the bleu cheese dressing flavorful. Hubby had the better appetizer, smoked trout rillette that was smokey & almost creamy in texture, served with crisp croutons and wonderfully vinegary, spicy & sweet pickled green beans & cauliflower.

Entrees were also amazing, my very tender pork chop in a delicious Madeira reduction, which had too much black pepper for my taste, however would be to most folks tastes, with smashed fingerling potatoes, roasted sweet carrots & green beans. Hubby had the always excellent Filet Mignon, which was very tender in sauce au poivre, with mashed potatoes and the same roasted vegetables. We had no room for dessert. I had to take half my entree home. Service was attentive but not hovering. Always a special experience.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Boulevard Bistro

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

The Boulevard Bistro had a very comfortable, homey feeling. The asparagus salad was as pretty as it was tasty. My husband and I went to celebrate our 15th anniversary and would like to go back and try their Sunday Brunch. Also, the crème brulee was the best I've ever tasted. It was perfect all the way around.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

This is a very lovely restaurant with ex ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

This is a very lovely restaurant with exceptional food. We brought out of town guests and we were all extremely happy with our appetisers, wine, dinner, and dessert choices. A must go to little gem of a restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Have been here many times before and it ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

Have been here many times before and it doesn't disappoint. However, the night we dined, the desserts weren't up to their usual standard. For starters, no creme brûlée (even though we ate early), and the panna cotta was lacking in texture. Halibut and salmon were outstanding.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely experience so close to home! Att ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on May 25, 2016

Lovely experience so close to home! Attentive staff and delicious food--can't wait to go back!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Small, intimate gem well worth the long drive

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

This was our second visit to Boulevard Bistro. Although it's 75 miles from our home, we enjoyed it so much the first time that we decided to invite family to celebrate their anniversary. We were not disappointed. The food was delicious, staff very attentive making it a truly delightful dining experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Always a great experience from the ambie ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Always a great experience from the ambience to the service to the food.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Limited menu, No full bar. Seated imme ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

Limited menu, No full bar. Seated immediately over an air conditioning vent therefore my wife was uncomfortably cold. Service was nonchalant. Wedge salad was underwhelming. Pork chop was pretty good, as was the smoked trout starter.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

The entire experierence was wonderful. ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

The entire experierence was wonderful. The service was awesome. You can taste the care and passion that went into every dish. The setting was unique and personal. The restaurant is in an old house.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

You immediately know that you have ente ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

You immediately know that you have entered someplace special when you arrive. The menu is put together with thought and creativity. We suggest not changing a thing to the dishes that the chef creates for you. Just sit back and enjoy the foodie experience that you are about to have.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is always delicious and the ser ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

The food is always delicious and the service superb. Atmosphere is classy and elegant.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Nice ambiance, a bit pricey

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

I find it to be a bit over priced, but I love their filet mignon and don't mind paying the money on special occasions. It's a small quaint place, a bit romantic with a good wine selection.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.