Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.68mi
  3. Distance: 0.76mi
  4. Distance: 0.80mi
  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.68mi
  3. Distance: 0.76mi
  4. Distance: 0.80mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.68mi
  3. Distance: 0.76mi
  4. Distance: 0.80mi
  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.68mi
  3. Distance: 0.76mi
  4. Distance: 0.80mi

About Boulevard Bistro

Boulevard Bistro is a quaint upscale fine dining restaurant located in a 1908 bungalow style home.
Best known for our Regional American Cuisine and direct focus on Californias Foothill Wines with a list of over 50 selections. We embrace locally grown produce; fresh vegetables grown in the central valley, locally raised meat, and seafood from the cold waters of the coast of Northern California.

Bret Bohlmann, chef and owner, is a 1998 graduate of the California Culinary Academy. After several years of experience in the Bay area Bret has returned home to Elk Grove to open one of Elk Grove's finest restaurants.

8941 Elk Grove Boulevard
Elk Grove, CA 95624
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Californian, Contemporary French / American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Brunch: Sunday 10:00am - 2:00pm

Cross Street:
3rd Avenue

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(916) 685-2220

Website:
http://blvdbistro.com/

Parking Details:
Parkig lot behind restaurat, access from 3rd Aveue

Executive Chef:
Bret Bohlmann

Private Party Contact:
Debora: (916) 685-2220

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Liquor, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Boulevard Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (61)
Special Occasion (55)
Good for Anniversaries (53)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (50)
Romantic (47)
Quiet Conversation (38)
Cozy (37)
Fit for Foodies (35)
Creative Cuisine (34)
Good for Birthdays (29)
Worth the Drive (28)
Local Ingredients (27)
Notable Wine List (21)
Great for Brunch (20)
Seasonal (14)
Historic (12)
Authentic (12)
Sunday Lunch (11)
Tasting Menu (9)
Business Meals (9)
Disabled Access (8)
Casual (7)
Healthy (7)
Hot Spot (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Fireplace (5)
Outstanding Value (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Organic (4)
Comfort Food (3)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Great Beer (2)
Fun (2)
Family Style (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Good for Groups (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Private Room (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort By:
S
1618 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined 3 days ago

This is an excellent place for Sunday brunch. The food is incredible and it is a quaint setting.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Excellent service. Tasty food and wine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Everything about Blvd Bistro is outstanding and enjoying a special dining experience, it never disappoints. The food is exceptional every time.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Mother's Day.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Disabled Access, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 7, 2017

The food was spectacular! The service as usual was amazing. I would highly recommend the Bistro to anyone and I do very frequently.

Tags: Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Service was excellent. Wife mentioned at table that not too keen on asparagus and he picked up on that real quick and offered several options... he doubled checked about availability of syrah, came back with an "86" on that so went with very fine pinot.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 6, 2017

The owner and head chef Bret has created one of the best little restaurants in all of Sacramento county, right here in little sleepy Elk Grove.

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 6, 2017

not much for vegetarians, filet great flavor, but the size of a doughnut.service excellent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 5, 2017

It's been a while since we've been to the Boulevard. Even so, still such a wonderful dining experience. The service was tops. My husband had the filet (perfect) and I had the chicken. Both meals were above expectations. They even complimented me with a free birthday dessert! And boy was it good. Thanks for a great birthday evening!

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Excellent service and food. The best place to eat in Elk Grove! Can't wait to go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Absolutely superb meal. Wow! The good reviews are clearly well-deserved. The food was delectable, the service was perfect, the decor and ambiance were just beautiful. Definitely the best restaurant in the greater Sacramento area. Not to be missed.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Organic, Local Ingredients, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Excellent food, and service. Will definitely be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Brought some friends to Boulevard Bistro for their first time. Once again, it was perfect. Start to finish, everything was spot on. Service and food were great as always. We drive 50 miles just to eat here and it is worth it every time.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Love this restaurant. We went twice in one week. Once for our son's birthday and another time for our anniversary.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Not quite as good as the last visit. Extremely limited menu but doable. Portions pretty small so plan on a salad and perhaps dessert.

Tags: Seasonal, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 29, 2017

This is by far one of my favorite restaurants in the sacramento area. And quite possibly the best service of any restaurant I have frequented.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fireplace, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Always a wonderful experience! If you haven't been here, you need to go.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Fantastic food as always and the service was excellent. I highly recommend Boulevard Bistro.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Food was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Food was amazing and made to perfection! The service was excellent and the wine was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on April 23, 2017

The food was excellent. The only thing better was the service provided by our server, Laura. She was polite, friendly, attentive, explained the menu and specials well, and, just overall, a very pleasant person. She's getting married in August, so give her a raise!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Fantastic food, great service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 21, 2017

The restaurant was quant. The food was good but not great. Reasonable wine list.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 19, 2017

This is easily one of the best restaurants in the Sacramento area. It is head and shoulders above anything else in Elk Grove. Each time I eat here, I have one of the best dining experiences of the year. I cannot say enough about the food, and the service is excellent as well. My wife and I typically celebrate anniversaries here, but we will also stop by for brunch "just because." It is a moderately expensive restaurant for the area, but the same quality of food and presentation in San Francisco or New York City would cost double the price. That's a fact. I could go on and on but I'd just be repeating myself by heaping praise on this restaurant. All I'll say is "Try it!"

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Great Easter brunch.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We eat here 2-3 times a year. Never had a bad meal, waiters and waitress are professional . Once my wife asked for a Bailey's and the Bistro relayed they did not have it. So they when out purchased and brought a serving to her.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Always a unique menu at Boulevard Bistro. The plates are beautifully presented with a country French style.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Nothing special. The setting was nice. Not crazy about the table location but they were unable to change it. We were a bit early, no problem but I still felt a little rushed. The people next to us bought the birthday person at our table a beer. The restaurant (waiter) said happy birthday. That's all, the food was great!! Wait staff, hostesses very friendly.

Tags: Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Excellent cozy restaurant. Their menu is small, but everything is executed really well; that's how it should be. Their price is very reasonable for the high quality of food you'll get. I would love to come back and try their Sunday brunch. This is a gem in Elk Grove!!!

Tags: Seasonal, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Cozy, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Very good service. Very good food. Duck Confit excellent! Lamb shank could have been served have been served with more sauce/aujus.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Delicious as always!!

Tags: Cozy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Excellent, as always. Sampled several dishes, all delicious.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 8, 2017

This was a wonderful dining experience. Everything was perfect!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 2, 2017

when we arrived we were told we has to wait until 12:30 to be seated inside so we had to sit on the walkway deck with everyone walking past us into the restaurant in the sun, My husband is going thru cancer treatment and is not suppose to be in the sun that much. All in all it was not the pleasant experience we hoped for.I was very unimpressed We did have reservations for 10:15. Our server was polite but we waited very long times to be served. It took 25 minutes for them to bring coffee after it was ordered. I would not recommend to go there for special outing with friends or family. Big disappointment!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Chose this spot for birthday brunch. Service was excellent and they were incredibly accommodating to our party of 8. Ordered salmon eggs Benedict. Only critique was that out of the five Benedicts ordered, none had a runny yolk, in fact, they were all set, which was a bit of a disappointment. Besides that, the food was cooked perfectly and it was a wonderful and successful brunch. Will be coming back!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Afternoon Coffee, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good Vegetarian Options, Sunday Lunch, Historic, Good for a Date, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on March 31, 2017

we loved our first time here...food was wonderful and so was the service. both the filet and salmon was perfectly prepared. wedge salad was very good and well, the crack pie is must!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on March 26, 2017

I almost said "No" the the question "would you recommend Boulevard Bistro to a friend." I don't want this place to become too popular. It's by far my favorite place in the Greater Sacramento Area. But I do wish them continued success, and I don't think I have to worry about that.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Outstanding Value, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Totally enjoyed EVERYTHING! The ambiance was wonderful & the service was absolutely amazing!!! My husband & I just wanted to be in a nice place with a warm ambiance & great food & service. We got that & more! Perfect "Date Nite".

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Late-night Find, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on March 22, 2017

My wife and I consider this restaurant as "our restaurant". We love going here on romantic dates. The place is small but cozy and quiet. Good for quiet conversation. At least everytime we go there. We do not care much about the wine as we are not really wine drinkers but the wine list is decent. Food is absulutely great and taste and cooked really well. I first thought this place as a formal reataurant but it is more casual, people even wear jeans. It is actually great as I am not into formal clothes...I like to eat in comfortable but not tacky clothes.

The only issue I have is that they do not change their menu that much. Ive eaten everything in their menu for the past 5 years my wife and I have visited the place. I hope they add or change a few of what they serve every now and then to spice it up.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Went here for the first time to celebrate an anniversary. Made the reservation thru Open Table and could only get an early 5:45 time, but since we made it the same day, it worked out fine. We were greeted warmly at the front and shown to our table promptly. The wait staff was friendly and attentive, and was there to answer any questions. The menu was not vast, but the selections were varied enough that we felt satisfied. A small plate of melted camembert cheese and crostini was our appetizer, and the cheese was very good. The frizze that came with it was way too garlicky, so we didn't eat much of that. We spilt a delightful wedge salad, and chose a filet mignon and salmon for our main courses. Both were fabulous, tasty and perfectly cooked. The creme brulet and espresso pot au creme desserts finished off a great meal. We both felt that the portion sizes were exactly right, and the cost of the meal was fair.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.