About Boulevard Bistro

8941 Elk Grove Boulevard
Elk Grove, CA 95624
View Larger Map

Boulevard Bistro is a quaint upscale fine dining restaurant located in a 1908 bungalow style home.
Best known for our Regional American Cuisine and direct focus on Californias Foothill Wines with a list of over 50 selections. We embrace locally grown produce; fresh vegetables grown in the central valley, locally raised meat, and seafood from the cold waters of the coast of Northern California.

Bret Bohlmann, chef and owner, is a 1998 graduate of the California Culinary Academy. After several years of experience in the Bay area Bret has returned home to Elk Grove to open one of Elk Grove's finest restaurants.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Californian, Contemporary French / American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Brunch: Sunday 10:00am - 2:00pm

Cross Street:
3rd Avenue

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(916) 685-2220

Website:
http://blvdbistro.com/

Parking Details:
Parkig lot behind restaurat, access from 3rd Aveue

Executive Chef:
Bret Bohlmann

Private Party Contact:
Debora: 916-685-2220

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Liquor, Fireplace, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Salmon
Fruit And Cheese Plate
Braised Lamb Hash
Apple Streudel & Vanilla Ice Cream
duck and waffles
Deviled Eggs With Crispy Proscuitto
Gorgonzola, Candied Walnuts, Honey, Crispy Prosciutto
Filet Mignon Hash (Egg Porn Shot)
Open Face Cheeseburger
Bloody Mary
Filet Mignon Hash
Bistro Cheeseburger
Boulevard Bistro Burger
Wedge Salad
Croque Madame
Oysters
Bread Service
Apple Strudle
French Fries
Chicken Sandwich
Almond French Toast
Omelette
Filet Mignon
French Toast
Passmore Ranch Sturgeon
Lamb Burger
Waffles
Citrus Salad
Spicy Bloody Mary
California Olives and Crostini
Lamb Shanks
White Wine
Corned Beef Hash and Eggs
Stella Artois
French Onion Soup
Thai Curry Soup With Swordfish & Clams
Braised Beef Cheek
Fruit Plate
Pommes Frites
Coffee
Deviled Eggs With Bacon
flourless chocolate cake
Chicken Breast With pumpkin Ravioli
Maple Bacon Cheesecake
Roasted Bone Marrow
Smoked Trout Deviled eggs
Blue Cheese And Potato croquette
Duck Cassoulet
Raspberry Sorbet
Bread
New York Steak
Beet Salad With Spoon Spinach And Goat Cheese
Shrimp Cakes
Mussles scallops Calamari Rissoto

Boulevard Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Sacramento / Sacramento Valley
Best Food
Sacramento / Sacramento Valley
Best Value
Sacramento / Sacramento Valley
10 More
Neighborhood Gem
Sacramento / Sacramento Valley
Romantic
Sacramento / Sacramento Valley
Californian
Sacramento / Sacramento Valley
Best Overall
Sacramento
Best Food
Sacramento
Best Value
Sacramento
Neighborhood Gem
Sacramento
Romantic
Sacramento
Special Occasion
Sacramento
Californian
Sacramento
Best Restaurants in Elk Grove ›

special occasion (88)
neighborhood gem (70)
romantic (69)
See All
fit for foodies (65)
notable wine list (27)
great for brunch (21)
late-night find (7)
hot spot (6)
good for groups (6)
great for lunch (5)
kid-friendly (3)
great for outdoor dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1355 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and ambiance was exceptional. ...

Dined 3 days ago

The food and ambiance was exceptional. Very quaint and elegant.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My new favorite place to eat. The food ...

Dined 3 days ago

My new favorite place to eat. The food was wonderful, the service - outstanding!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Having a Kid friendly menu would be nice ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Having a Kid friendly menu would be nice . We had our Father's Day celebration at the Bistro. My kids ate French toast as this was the only option. Waiters/waitresses are very efficient. Very intimate , perfect for romantic evening

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoy this cozy restaurant. The food ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

We enjoy this cozy restaurant. The food is excellent and everyone is friendly.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

We requested a Happy Anniversary written ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

We requested a Happy Anniversary written on our plate for our dessert...we were denied because the chef said they couldnt do it...that's so disappointing as Im sure it was not a crazy request. Just some melted chocolate! Very disappointing.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Possibly the best meals we've ever had. ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Possibly the best meals we've ever had. Service great and meals (filet mignon and lamb) outstanding; bread delicious. The only negative would be the extremely small desserts at high prices.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Scallop dish was plain and only two scal ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

Scallop dish was plain and only two scallops on the dish. poor value, Lamb dish was much better a full rack of small chops. Foie gras turine on toast was very nice, topped with a balsamlic reduction.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Very nice little bistro, excellent food ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

Very nice little bistro, excellent food and presentation

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The bistro is always the best meal I've ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

The bistro is always the best meal I've ever had. Ever ever ever.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

It was fun to try the Boulevard Bistro. ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

It was fun to try the Boulevard Bistro. We went because we were given a gift to go there, it was like having a Gordan Ramsey Restaurant experience (by far the most upscale restaurant I have eaten at). The ambiance was great, the service was superb. However, we spent $125 on two entrees, two salads, two desserts, and an appetizer. The desserts were the best part (creme brulee and lemon panna cotta...yum!) but the main courses and salads--though beautiful--tasted no better/worse than a moderately priced restaurant (ala elephant bar, etc). Maybe I'm no foodie, I just can't just the price to return. Thank you for the experience though!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Chef Bret does not disappoint. Fabulous ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Chef Bret does not disappoint. Fabulous fillet and scintillating scallops! Wonderful meal!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

My wife and I love this place! Food is ...

Dined on May 29, 2016

My wife and I love this place! Food is fantastic and everyone is so nice. Laura is great. The eggs Benedict is the best anywhere!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

best in town.

Dined on May 29, 2016

Best restaurant in Sacramento valley, Brett the owner is a gracious host.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent as Always

Dined on May 29, 2016

This restaurant is on a par with the finest restaurants in Northern California, such as The Kitchen or The French Laundry, but at half the cost. Don't get me wrong, with a bottle of wine, we ran into the $160 range for two, but that's still half of what you'll pay at those other restaurants. I started with a very good wedge salad. The lettuce & tomatoes fresh; the bacon crisp, the bleu cheese dressing flavorful. Hubby had the better appetizer, smoked trout rillette that was smokey & almost creamy in texture, served with crisp croutons and wonderfully vinegary, spicy & sweet pickled green beans & cauliflower. Entrees were also amazing, my very tender pork chop in a delicious Madeira reduction, which had too much black pepper for my taste, however would be to most folks tastes, with smashed fingerling potatoes, roasted sweet carrots & green beans. Hubby had the always excellent Filet Mignon, which was very tender in sauce au poivre, with mashed potatoes and the same roasted vegetables. We had no room for dessert. I had to take half my entree home. Service was attentive but not hovering. Always a special experience.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Boulevard Bistro

Dined on May 29, 2016

The Boulevard Bistro had a very comfortable, homey feeling. The asparagus salad was as pretty as it was tasty. My husband and I went to celebrate our 15th anniversary and would like to go back and try their Sunday Brunch. Also, the crème brulee was the best I've ever tasted. It was perfect all the way around.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

This is a very lovely restaurant with ex ...

Dined on May 28, 2016

This is a very lovely restaurant with exceptional food. We brought out of town guests and we were all extremely happy with our appetisers, wine, dinner, and dessert choices. A must go to little gem of a restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Have been here many times before and it ...

Dined on May 26, 2016

Have been here many times before and it doesn't disappoint. However, the night we dined, the desserts weren't up to their usual standard. For starters, no creme brûlée (even though we ate early), and the panna cotta was lacking in texture. Halibut and salmon were outstanding.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Lovely experience so close to home! Att ...

Dined on May 25, 2016

Lovely experience so close to home! Attentive staff and delicious food--can't wait to go back!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Small, intimate gem well worth the long drive

vip
Dined on May 22, 2016

This was our second visit to Boulevard Bistro. Although it's 75 miles from our home, we enjoyed it so much the first time that we decided to invite family to celebrate their anniversary. We were not disappointed. The food was delicious, staff very attentive making it a truly delightful dining experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a great experience from the ambie ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Always a great experience from the ambience to the service to the food.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

Limited menu, No full bar. Seated imme ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

Limited menu, No full bar. Seated immediately over an air conditioning vent therefore my wife was uncomfortably cold. Service was nonchalant. Wedge salad was underwhelming. Pork chop was pretty good, as was the smoked trout starter.

food5
ambience5
service5

The entire experierence was wonderful. ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

The entire experierence was wonderful. The service was awesome. You can taste the care and passion that went into every dish. The setting was unique and personal. The restaurant is in an old house.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

You immediately know that you have ente ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

You immediately know that you have entered someplace special when you arrive. The menu is put together with thought and creativity. We suggest not changing a thing to the dishes that the chef creates for you. Just sit back and enjoy the foodie experience that you are about to have.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The food is always delicious and the ser ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

The food is always delicious and the service superb. Atmosphere is classy and elegant.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Nice ambiance, a bit pricey

Dined on May 8, 2016

I find it to be a bit over priced, but I love their filet mignon and don't mind paying the money on special occasions. It's a small quaint place, a bit romantic with a good wine selection.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely Meal

Dined on May 8, 2016

This is the truly the best restaurant in Elk Grove. The food, service and ambiance are terrific. We dined with friends last week and enjoyed the following dishes: salmon, duck confit, mussels. The salads were yummy as well. Recommend the crème brulee for dessert.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Will not disappoint

Dined on May 6, 2016

We've been to boulevard bistro several times and have not been disappointed. Every time we've gone the food and service has been excellent! We have recommended this restaurant to our friends. Love it!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Elk Grove's Best

Dined on May 1, 2016

My wife and I have eaten here, a couple of times for special occasions, and have been amazed how good the food is here. The service here is amazing, very well informed, polite, and as friendly as ever. We even had a chance to talk to the owner, Bret, who came by to ask how everything was. We split the wedge salad, fantastic, then moved on to the main course. She had the pork chops, which you could cut with a butter knife, and I had the filet mignon, again. This is the best steak I have had in ...well, since the last time I ate here. The peppercorn sauce, and mashed potatoes, were a great compliment to that tasty piece of meat. I really should try something different, but, it is hard to pass on something this good. I finished it off with a fantastic crème brulee. We left with smiles on our face, and a happy tummy.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Hidden Neighborhood Gem

Dined on April 30, 2016

You had better know where you are going because the only signage is almost non-existent. Unpretensious old Elk Grove house converted into a 34 seat restaurant. Limited menu, should have more salt-water seafood and shellfish. Great service but a bit over-bearing: someone is always there doing something. A more casual approach would be better. Food was good but the menu is very limited. A bit pricey but a pleasant dining experience. This is not an every day establishment. Probably best for special occasions.

Tags: special occasion
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

My halibut was over cooked, when it says ...

Dined on April 27, 2016

My halibut was over cooked, when it says seared I was expecting it to be seared not cooked through in through. Also, the fillet mignon was over cooked as well. Yes, we ordered medium should've ordered med - rare but didn't get what we wanted. The service was fantastic the overall food was good but had a little more expectation for the price they are charging. I'll pay 50$ for a fillet anywhere as long as we get what we want. Thinkin 38$ might have been a little cheap since maybe it was Elk Grove. Still a great restaurant to have one in town.

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great presentation and service

Dined on April 24, 2016

This was our third visit. The service and presentation remain impeccable. The food is normally fantastic; however, our apps were a little disappointing - the bone marrow was fatty in regards to substance and the trout rillettes was a little dry. The Halibut entree was prepared to perfection. The Pork chop was slightly overcooked (medium well). The Panna Cotta was a very good capper to our meal. French press coffee always a nice touch. For the price ($125.00 for two), I expect near perfection and as a result only four stars on this visit. A large party in the other room was very loud at times - I believe this to be unusual for this restaurant and would still recommend for a special occasion.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food4
ambience3
service4

The filet mignon was delicious. Cooked p ...

Dined on April 23, 2016

The filet mignon was delicious. Cooked perfectly and the sauce was tasty. The rabbit confit was equally delicious. Our server was kind and his assistants were attentive. Very pleased. We will return.

food5
ambience4
service5

My favorite is the beet salad for the sa ...

Dined on April 23, 2016

My favorite is the beet salad for the salad course. I had the halibut for my entree and it was outstanding!

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

very nice

Dined on April 23, 2016

Customer service was great. Food was delicious. Would recommend and come back. I figured they would do something special for a special occassion. Like dessert?

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Restaurant!

Dined on April 23, 2016

My Family and I had a wonderful time at Boulevard Bistro. The entrées were absolutely delicious and the service was top notch! We will definitely return for any special occasion in the future !

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding food and wine list.

Dined on April 17, 2016

My wife and I don't get to get out often so when we do we look for a really special place to have a fantastic dinner and experience. We finally got the opportunity to go back to boulevard bistro and just like the first time, we loved it.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A friendly place

Dined on April 17, 2016

Great friendly staff from the hostess to every single wait staff that saw to every need. You'll like the creative thoughtful menu. The restaraunt is laid out in so you can choose a private table or have friendly conversation with some of the regulars. Best filet I've had in a while. Any attire works there.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always great

vip
Dined on April 16, 2016

Not much more I can say about Boulevard Bistro. We eat here several times per year and it just keeps excelling. We drive an hour just to dine here and it is well worth it.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Boulevard Bistro is our restaurant of ch ...

Dined on April 14, 2016

Boulevard Bistro is our restaurant of choice when going out for a special meal. Service, food all wonderful each and every time. Owner Brett Bohlmann is a master.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Chef Ray

Dined on April 10, 2016

Service was a little slow before they took our order, but back on track after that. Seemed a little chilly in the room.

Tags: romantic, special occasion

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.