Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.68mi
  3. Distance: 0.76mi
  4. Distance: 0.80mi
  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.68mi
  3. Distance: 0.76mi
  4. Distance: 0.80mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.68mi
  3. Distance: 0.76mi
  4. Distance: 0.80mi
  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.68mi
  3. Distance: 0.76mi
  4. Distance: 0.80mi

About Boulevard Bistro

Boulevard Bistro is a quaint upscale fine dining restaurant located in a 1908 bungalow style home.
Best known for our Regional American Cuisine and direct focus on Californias Foothill Wines with a list of over 50 selections. We embrace locally grown produce; fresh vegetables grown in the central valley, locally raised meat, and seafood from the cold waters of the coast of Northern California.

Bret Bohlmann, chef and owner, is a 1998 graduate of the California Culinary Academy. After several years of experience in the Bay area Bret has returned home to Elk Grove to open one of Elk Grove's finest restaurants.

8941 Elk Grove Boulevard
Elk Grove, CA 95624
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Californian, Contemporary French / American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Brunch: Sunday 10:00am - 2:00pm

Cross Street:
3rd Avenue

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(916) 685-2220

Website:
http://blvdbistro.com/

Parking Details:
Parkig lot behind restaurat, access from 3rd Aveue

Executive Chef:
Bret Bohlmann

Private Party Contact:
Debora: (916) 685-2220

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Liquor, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Boulevard Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.6

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

99% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (43)
Good for Anniversaries (43)
Good for a Date (38)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (37)
Romantic (33)
Creative Cuisine (31)
Cozy (31)
Fit for Foodies (30)
Quiet Conversation (28)
Notable Wine List (25)
Good for Birthdays (24)
Local Ingredients (23)
Worth the Drive (22)
Great for Brunch (21)
Seasonal (11)
Authentic (10)
Business Meals (10)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Casual (7)
Organic (7)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
Comfort Food (5)
Disabled Access (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Great Beer (4)
Great for Lunch (3)
Fun (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
People Watching (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Tapas (2)
Fireplace (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort By:
S
1666 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 4 days ago

It's a great place to celebrate special occasions. My wife and I always enjoyed our dining there. We want to try every dish that the bistro chef's specials. we are thinking about what's next dishes that we like already to enjoy. Keep up the delicious work! Cheers!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
·Dined 6 days ago

To celebrate my birthday, I requested having dinner at Boulevard Bistro. The food, wine and service was excellent. My mother ordered the pork chop which was a generous cut and super tender. My father ordered the fillet which was cooked to perfection. We all enjoyed ourselves and will definitely return soon.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Exceptional food and service. Highly recommended.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on August 13, 2017

A bit disappointed.

They've changed their bread recipe. It was bland and had no impact. Butter was almost melted when served.

Salmon was fine, but small. Veggies on the side we're drowning in a non-descript chicjen broth.

Wife's pork chop was tasty, but undercooked.

Dessert menu was non inspired - creme brûlée, pot de crime, and all the usual boring stuff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Birthdays for both.
Great meal & service. Never disappoints.
This is our 6th time and it was as good as ever.
Kudos to all.
We'll be back again soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 10, 2017

This is, hands down, our favorite restaurant! We've been coming here for years and we have never, ever been disappointed! The food is always prepared perfectly and the service is impeccable. We love that their menu changes depending on what is available locally and in season. We are thankful for Brett and his staff every time we go there.

Tags: Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Great for Brunch, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on August 10, 2017

Absolutely outstanding food, wonderful service, terrific ambience. My favourite restaurant in California by far.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Good Vegetarian Options, Quiet Conversation, Seasonal, Paleo Friendly, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Organic, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 9, 2017

Wife and I celebrated our 15th wedding anniversary. We had a small table which felt crowded and too close to another table. However, the service was great, my wife enjoyed the fillet minion and I loved the pork chop. I made reservations through Open Table, indicating it was our anniversary, however, there was no acknowledgment at the restaurant. Maybe the notes don't get forwarded. All in all, we had a great time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

A wonderful Elk Grove gem. Why go to the big city when a wonderful experience for your taste buds can be fulfilled here! A wonderful anniversary dinner.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Always good and this was the case on Sunday. Loved the brunch choices. Service is excellent.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Service wat attentive though the gaps were noticeably long this time. On most services it is prompt and professional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on July 29, 2017

One of the places I have had a dinner in a long time. They can only seat about 30 people at a time, very intimate. I recommend Blvd. Bistro to anyone.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

Fantastic food! Some if the best I've had in years. Maybe the best salmon I've EVER had.
Waiter was ok, but food was exceptional!

Tags: Authentic, Healthy, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

 
·Dined on July 28, 2017

Their lamb was excellent. Cooked just the way my daughter asked

Tags: Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on July 23, 2017

I enjoyed Boulevard Bistro. The food, ambiance and service was good. I only wish they had more choices on their menu. The night I was there they only had 5 entree choices available, and none were particularly appealing to me. I chose the duck, and it was very good, if not amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 22, 2017

Boulevard Bistro never disappoints the food is always delicious the service is superior to any other place I've ever been this is what keeps me coming back the creme brulee is unbelievable on this occasion it was a little louder than usual as they had a last-minute crowd with kids that came in but they left really quickly I will definitely come back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on July 21, 2017

Service was on point. Food was fantastic. Limited menu but what is on there is fantastic

Tags: Good for a Date, Disabled Access, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on July 19, 2017

As usual the food was tip top although the amounts of the side dishes were skimpy.
The quality of the waitering as declined since our last visit. The blasts of cold air from the floor vents can be uncomfortable if you get seated at the wrong table. The waiter tried to remedy the problem with a menu laid across the vent but it didn't work too well. I would suggest they have some deflectors attached to direct the air in a different direction.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on July 15, 2017

As always, our dining experience at Boulevard Bistro was excellent! Food's great, super friendly & accomodating staff, & the place is great! Prices are reasonable too!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 14, 2017

The service was great, as usual. Unfortunately, my swordfish was super dry as was my friend's. I understand the timing is a challenge, but I expect a restaurant to be able to time things better than I do. My husband's duck confit was excellent as were the mussels and oysters we has as appetizers.

The corkage fee was higher than the website indicated ($20 instead of $15).

I used to love Boulevard Bistro, but the last two visits have been just okay which isn't enough for a "nice" meal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Went for birthday dinner for a friend - good food - good service very nice evening!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Special Occasion, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on July 2, 2017

The best Salmon Benedict ever!! The Russian Mimosas are wonderful.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Another wonderful dinner at Boulevard Bistro! Consistently great food, good service, wonderful ambiance, and a good price. Thanks for a great anniversary dinner!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Eating at boulevard Bistro has become an Anniversary tradition for my wife and me. This last visit was very special. We were so pleased at how we were treated by all the staff, and the food was over-the-top wonderful in terms of preparation, presentation, and taste! We tried two main entrees that we had never eaten before, and they were excellent! They made our Anniversary dining experience extremely special.

We were commenting to each other that we need to tr their brunch as we love Eggs Benedict.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on June 29, 2017

Love this hidden gem in EG. Friendly staff and great food.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 29, 2017

Boulevard bistro is a very nice special occassion restaurant. The service is spot on, the ambiance delightful. The only hold back on a full 5-star rating was because the lamb i ordered was not cooked to the temperature i requested.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on June 27, 2017

The food was delicious, ambiance okay.
We sat in the back for private space my husband and a special friend that is re-locating in his professional job. I would of loved to have been told by the hostess when we arrived that the air-conditioner wasn't working. I didn't know this and thought it would be nice to sit in the back for more privacy the table I selected was adjacent to the kitchen, which added to the uncomfortable heat. the whole time I was wiping my forehead and neck from dripping sweat. Not a good thing at all if it wasn't for the delicious meal I would of left after the appetizer. We asked if they could open the windows for circulation and they couldn't.
Not good accommodations for guest to return.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3
value2

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on June 27, 2017

Still my favorite place. The food was great, as always. The air conditioner went out, but I'm still giving 5 stars since it was fortunately a mild day.

Bone marrow - so yummy!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on June 25, 2017

Our meal options were plentiful and the specials offered for brunch was wonderful. The food was delicious. The service was exceptional. It was a great experience to share with my out-of-town friend.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Great service, great food

Tags: Seasonal, Special Occasion, Cozy, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on June 24, 2017

The good was awesome and the service was great! I always love coming to dine at Boulevard Bistro!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Outstanding little gem in Elk Grove

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 23, 2017

First time in. Really enjoyed food, service and atmosphere. We will be back!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on June 22, 2017

As usual, amazing meals and service. Very knowledgeable. Our favorite restaurant by far - anywhere. The food and service is 10 stars!! I have Celiac, and they always make my meal gluten free and it tastes nothing less than perfect!! We will be back again very soon!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Organic, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Gluten Free Options, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Romantic, Healthy, Great Beer, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Another excellent meal at the Bistro. We went for Fathers Day and the brunch was great. The smoked trout was a wonderful starter. The mushrooms on toast with a poached egg and hollandaise sauce was perfect. My wife had the salmon over salad and it too was perfect. Try the bloody Mary...just the right amount of heat! We love this place and although their menu is somewhat limited it is always first class!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on June 15, 2017

We had wanted to try the Boulevard Bistro for a long time. We were not disappointed. The food was delicious. The wine list is long and impressive from a lot of local wineries. The service was excellent, also. It was my husband's birthday and was an awesome night that we both enjoyed very much.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Excellent food, wonderful ambiance, better than most other restaurants in this price range. Very intimate setting. Must get a reservation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on June 10, 2017

We've been coming here for over 5 years and we have never once been disappointed! The food is amazing and the atmosphere is perfect! We have decided to quit telling our friends that this is such a great place because it's getting harder and harder to get last minute reservations!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on June 3, 2017

My husband and I recently dined at Boulevard Bistro to celebrate our 34th anniversary. Although the food was fantastic, the noise level in the dining room was deafening, as the people seated at the table of 8 near us were extremely loud throughout their meal. We will hesitate to return to Boulevard Bistro, because we were looking forward to a nice, quiet, relaxing dinner.

Tags: Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on June 2, 2017

Great restaurant. First time there and will definitely go back

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Great Beer, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.