About Boulevard Bistro

8941 Elk Grove Boulevard
Elk Grove, CA 95624
View Larger Map

Boulevard Bistro is a quaint upscale fine dining restaurant located in a 1908 bungalow style home.
Best known for our Regional American Cuisine and direct focus on Californias Foothill Wines with a list of over 50 selections. We embrace locally grown produce; fresh vegetables grown in the central valley, locally raised meat, and seafood from the cold waters of the coast of Northern California.

Bret Bohlmann, chef and owner, is a 1998 graduate of the California Culinary Academy. After several years of experience in the Bay area Bret has returned home to Elk Grove to open one of Elk Grove's finest restaurants.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Californian, Contemporary French / American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Brunch: Sunday 10:00am - 2:00pm

Cross Street:
3rd Avenue

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(916) 685-2220

Website:
http://blvdbistro.com/

Parking Details:
Parkig lot behind restaurat, access from 3rd Aveue

Executive Chef:
Bret Bohlmann

Private Party Contact:
Debora: 916-685-2220

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Liquor, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Salmon - Boulevard Bistro, Elk Grove, CA
Fruit And Cheese Plate - Boulevard Bistro, Elk Grove, CA
Braised Lamb Hash - Boulevard Bistro, Elk Grove, CA
Apple Streudel & Vanilla Ice Cream - Boulevard Bistro, Elk Grove, CA
Deviled Eggs With Crispy Proscuitto - Boulevard Bistro, Elk Grove, CA
duck and waffles - Boulevard Bistro, Elk Grove, CA
Gorgonzola, Candied Walnuts, Honey, Crispy Prosciutto - Boulevard Bistro, Elk Grove, CA
Filet Mignon Hash (Egg Porn Shot) - Boulevard Bistro, Elk Grove, CA
Open Face Cheeseburger - Boulevard Bistro, Elk Grove, CA
Bloody Mary - Boulevard Bistro, Elk Grove, CA
Filet Mignon Hash - Boulevard Bistro, Elk Grove, CA
Bistro Cheeseburger - Boulevard Bistro, Elk Grove, CA
Boulevard Bistro Burger - Boulevard Bistro, Elk Grove, CA
Wedge Salad - Boulevard Bistro, Elk Grove, CA
Croque Madame - Boulevard Bistro, Elk Grove, CA
Oysters - Boulevard Bistro, Elk Grove, CA
Bread Service - Boulevard Bistro, Elk Grove, CA
Apple Strudle - Boulevard Bistro, Elk Grove, CA
French Fries - Boulevard Bistro, Elk Grove, CA
Chicken Sandwich - Boulevard Bistro, Elk Grove, CA
Almond French Toast - Boulevard Bistro, Elk Grove, CA
Omelette - Boulevard Bistro, Elk Grove, CA
French Toast - Boulevard Bistro, Elk Grove, CA
Filet Mignon - Boulevard Bistro, Elk Grove, CA
Passmore Ranch Sturgeon - Boulevard Bistro, Elk Grove, CA
Lamb Burger - Boulevard Bistro, Elk Grove, CA
Citrus Salad - Boulevard Bistro, Elk Grove, CA
Waffles - Boulevard Bistro, Elk Grove, CA
Spicy Bloody Mary - Boulevard Bistro, Elk Grove, CA
Lamb Shanks - Boulevard Bistro, Elk Grove, CA
California Olives and Crostini - Boulevard Bistro, Elk Grove, CA
White Wine - Boulevard Bistro, Elk Grove, CA
Corned Beef Hash and Eggs - Boulevard Bistro, Elk Grove, CA
Stella Artois - Boulevard Bistro, Elk Grove, CA
French Onion Soup - Boulevard Bistro, Elk Grove, CA
Braised Beef Cheek - Boulevard Bistro, Elk Grove, CA
Thai Curry Soup With Swordfish & Clams - Boulevard Bistro, Elk Grove, CA
Coffee - Boulevard Bistro, Elk Grove, CA
Fruit Plate - Boulevard Bistro, Elk Grove, CA
Pommes Frites - Boulevard Bistro, Elk Grove, CA
Deviled Eggs With Bacon - Boulevard Bistro, Elk Grove, CA
flourless chocolate cake - Boulevard Bistro, Elk Grove, CA
Duck Cassoulet - Boulevard Bistro, Elk Grove, CA
Raspberry Sorbet - Boulevard Bistro, Elk Grove, CA
Maple Bacon Cheesecake - Boulevard Bistro, Elk Grove, CA
Chicken Breast With pumpkin Ravioli - Boulevard Bistro, Elk Grove, CA
Smoked Trout Deviled eggs - Boulevard Bistro, Elk Grove, CA
Blue Cheese And Potato croquette - Boulevard Bistro, Elk Grove, CA
Roasted Bone Marrow - Boulevard Bistro, Elk Grove, CA
Bread - Boulevard Bistro, Elk Grove, CA
New York Steak - Boulevard Bistro, Elk Grove, CA
Beet Salad With Spoon Spinach And Goat Cheese - Boulevard Bistro, Elk Grove, CA
Mussles scallops Calamari Rissoto - Boulevard Bistro, Elk Grove, CA
Shrimp Cakes - Boulevard Bistro, Elk Grove, CA

Boulevard Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Sacramento / Sacramento Valley
Best Food
Sacramento / Sacramento Valley
Best Service
Sacramento / Sacramento Valley
11 More
Best Value
Sacramento / Sacramento Valley
Special Occasion
Sacramento / Sacramento Valley
Californian
Sacramento / Sacramento Valley
Best Overall
Sacramento
Best Food
Sacramento
Best Service
Sacramento
Best Value
Sacramento
Neighborhood Gem
Sacramento
Romantic
Sacramento
Special Occasion
Sacramento
Californian
Sacramento
Best Restaurants in Elk Grove ›

Special Occasion (48)
Good for a Date (39)
Good for Anniversaries (36)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (33)
Romantic (32)
Cozy (28)
Fit for Foodies (28)
Good for Birthdays (21)
Great for Brunch (20)
Creative Cuisine (20)
Quiet Conversation (19)
Notable Wine List (17)
Local Ingredients (13)
Worth the Drive (12)
Sunday Lunch (12)
Casual (9)
Business Meals (7)
Seasonal (7)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Historic (6)
Modern Decor (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Good for Groups (5)
Disabled Access (5)
Healthy (4)
Fireplace (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Authentic (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Family Style (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Organic (1)
Fun (1)
Sort By:
S
1440 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Boulevard Bistro was excellent!! My wif ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined 3 days ago

Boulevard Bistro was excellent!! My wife and I have celebrated our 25th and 26th wedding anniversary there and we love it. The service is top notch and the food is incredible. .. we'll be there for number 27 next year.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Trout rillettes were out of this world.

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Trout rillettes were out of this world.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We always have a great time coming here. ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on November 27, 2016

We always have a great time coming here. Food's excellent, ambiance is great, & the hospitality's superb! We'll definitely come back! 5 stars!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

After many years, Boulevard Bistro is st ...

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on November 27, 2016

After many years, Boulevard Bistro is still the best. Brunch was fabulous (as usual). Chef Brett was in the kitchen and daughter Candice was out front. Excellent service. This is truly a first-class restaurant. We'll be back for brunch or dinner again soon.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Was visiting from out of town, and chose ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Was visiting from out of town, and chose this place for dinner. Food was delicious, great service and nice ambiance.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

My husband and I were looking forward to ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 27, 2016

My husband and I were looking forward to a night out and hoped for nice dinner. We were very pleasantly surprised with a fantastic experience! Service was attentive, friendly and prompt, food was delicious and a atmosphere was quite nice. A great surprise for us and we look forward to another visit soon.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My husband and I went for our wedding an ...

 
·Dined on November 24, 2016

My husband and I went for our wedding anniversary and had a wonderful time. The food was sensational and the service top notch. Everyone went above and beyond to make it a special evening.

Tags: Fun, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We've been to Boulevard Bistro many time ...

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on November 23, 2016

We've been to Boulevard Bistro many times and they never fail to please. Comfortable yet upscale ambiance, world class food, great wine list. So great to have this caliber restaurant right here in Elk Grove!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a fantastic experience

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Always a fantastic experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was an absolutely delightful dining ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on November 19, 2016

This was an absolutely delightful dining experience!

Tags: Historic, Good for a Date, Outstanding Value, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Boulevard Bistro is a quaint restaurant ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Boulevard Bistro is a quaint restaurant in Elk Grove - hands down the best restaurant in the city. It is located in a refurbished 1920's bungalow and the decor is clean and modern making the spot a quiet little getaway for the evening. From appetizer to salad, entree, and dessert, the food was amazing!

Tags: Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Good for a Date, Organic, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time I'd been there. It was wonder ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on November 16, 2016

First time I'd been there. It was wonderful. I really appreciated the service and the food was delicious.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fireplace, Good for a Date, Romantic, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always perfect in every way, a genuine w ...

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Always perfect in every way, a genuine wonderful experience.

Tags: Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always awesome. Never a bad dish, let a ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Always awesome. Never a bad dish, let alone a bad experience.

Tags: Seasonal, Cozy, Good for a Date, Outstanding Value, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love the Bistro! We always seem to get t ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Love the Bistro!

We always seem to get the seat right in the corridor. The couple next to us asked to move because it was a little too close for comfort. Nonetheless - no matter where you sit, your Bistro experience is certain to be great. Can't wait to go back.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Sevice was quite attentive, but not intr ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on November 9, 2016

Sevice was quite attentive, but not intrusive, checking in & still giving us enough time to peruse the menu full of delicious choices. We were served an unexpected complimentary mild (goat?) cheese & bread plate to start. Then came the beautifully melty camembert & crouton appetizer, ordered by our friend. Hubby & I both had the filet mignon entree, perfectly cooked nedium rare with drool-inducing char on the outside. I don't know how the chefs get so much flavor & perfect moist texture into such a lean cut, but the demiglacě added more juicy flavor without overwhelming. The mashed potatos were a smooth & creamy accompaniment. Our frind had the salmon, which I didn't taste, but he said it was excellent, high praise from a Bay area foodie transplant. Desserts were amazing. Hubby had rich, intense espresso-infused pot de creme. I had an absolutely classic vanilla creme brulee with 3 ripe blueberries & an edible flower (tiny pansy? violet?) Our friend finished with thewarm bread pudding, and couldn't stop complimenting the companion ice cream. All in all an excellent meal, as always.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Was looking forward to a new place with ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Was looking forward to a new place with high reviews. I was sadly mistaken. Horrible service. Food was far from amazing. Just mediocre.

What really upset us was the slow service and lack of attention. My waiter w not missing for about 20 minutes. When I asked someone to place a drink order, it seemed like the staff didn't even know where he went.

I won't be coming back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

A must try outstanding service and excel ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 6, 2016

A must try outstanding service and excellent foods. Definitely will go again.

Tags: Disabled Access, Great for Brunch, Casual, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Sunday Lunch, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of my favorite restaurants and my #1 ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on November 6, 2016

One of my favorite restaurants and my #1 choice for my birthday dinner with my family.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Great for Brunch, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great service. Salmon was amazing. Our w ...

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Great service. Salmon was amazing. Our waiter knew a lot about the wines and helped us make a great choice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always perfection. It is so nice to make ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Always perfection. It is so nice to make a reservation and have our special iced coffee waiting for us. Food has always been delicious and beautifully presented.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service in a small setting. It wa ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Great service in a small setting. It was a bit loud for my taste Food was simply outstanding. Will go back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

An excellent restaurant with superior fo ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on October 30, 2016

An excellent restaurant with superior food and friendly, knowledgeable service.

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall our experience was good. Food wa ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Overall our experience was good. Food was delicious - duck was tender with crispy skin, very fresh. Husband had the lamb sirloin special. Pork belly and goat cheese appetizers were both good. Corking fee was $20, which I found very reasonable. Creme brulee was exceptional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

As always, the food and service were gre ...

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on October 30, 2016

As always, the food and service were great. Will continue to frequent our neighborhood restaurant.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I love this place. Great food and very ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on October 27, 2016

I love this place. Great food and very nice wine selection. I would recommend for any occasion. Make reservations well in advance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

My daughter and I enjoyed a very nice br ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on October 23, 2016

My daughter and I enjoyed a very nice brunch this past Sunday. Service was great! The French press coffee is always a nice treat. There was a table of people nearby who celebrating something was a little noisy, but manageable.

Tags: Cozy, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

I took my husband to dinner there for hi ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on October 21, 2016

I took my husband to dinner there for his birthday and we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves . We hadn't been in about seven years. But it seemed liked yesterday. The atmosphere was quite and the food wine and service was amazing

They were very nice about acknowledging my husband's birthday by giving him dessert in the house. Our hats off till them for another memorable celebration

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Historic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Disabled Access, Good Vegetarian Options, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Casual, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Boulevard Bistro has always been a favor ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Boulevard Bistro has always been a favorite. They have a small intimate dining environment. The menu is small but ever changing so your not going to see the same thing all the time. The presentations are always fabulous as are all the selections. It is primarily more suited to adults but a well behaved child would not be a disturbance. My wife had the Pot Roast Hash and I had the Polenta and Kale both were delicious. To cap of the meal we shared the upside down cheese cake. That was the crown of the whole experience. The service staff is excellent and while attentive are not bothersome. Some reviewer said it was over priced but I find it quite normally priced for the quality of the food, the selections, the service and the environment. Well Done Boulevard Bistro

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Local Ingredients, Quick Bite
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The building appears to be an old 2 bedr ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on October 16, 2016

The building appears to be an old 2 bedroom house converted to a quaint restaurant. Great romantic and quite location serving 5 star meals. It's on the expensive end of the scale.

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Staff are very friendly & helpful. The ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Staff are very friendly & helpful. The food is always very good. Best place in Elk Grove for a nice romantic dinner

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

This place was a recommendation from ano ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on October 9, 2016

This place was a recommendation from another friend. She said it was really good and she wasn't kidding! My girlfriend & I went for their Sunday brunch and everything was fresh, hot and super delicious. The service was impeccable as well.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Afternoon Tea, Cozy, Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been many times and they never f ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on October 9, 2016

We have been many times and they never fail to impress. The filet mignon was outstanding as always and I ordered a chicken breast with mushroom sauce that was so juicy and flavorful. I never order chicken

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful ambiance, excellent and friend ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Wonderful ambiance, excellent and friendly staff, and the BEST food in Elk Grove.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was delicious, unique and savor ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on September 29, 2016

The food was delicious, unique and savory!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Went for Sunday Brunch. The staff was ve ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Went for Sunday Brunch. The staff was very attentive, and pleasant. I had Eggs Benedict and it came with fried potatoes. The food was as expected. They should offer regular coffee as the only coffee on the menu was French Press. Otherwise, I was happy with the experience.

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Excellent service and a wonderful Sunday ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Excellent service and a wonderful Sunday Brunch experience. One of our favorite places to dine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Blvd Bistro is by far my favorite restau ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Blvd Bistro is by far my favorite restaurant. I love ordering their delicious wedge salad and their "melt in your mouth" Filet Mignon. My husband had their duck and said it was the best he's ever had.

Tags: Cozy, Great for Brunch, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing meal the flavors were amazing. G ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Amazing meal the flavors were amazing. Great atmosphere and the service was fantastic.

Tags: Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Higher priced restaurant but the food w ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Higher priced restaurant but the food was fantastic. The most impressive for me was the service staff. Will they were all young they were all very professional. The hostess, server and server assistants were respectful and courteous. The pricing of wine by the glass was a bit high given the amount wine served but a very nice selection. Our food was great. Limited menu but offered several different dishes for taste. i.e. meat, seafood, etc.

I would very much recommend this restaurant.

Hard to find, looks like a house with a small sign in front yard. Parking in rear only.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.