Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.68mi
  3. Distance: 0.76mi
  4. Distance: 0.80mi
  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.68mi
  3. Distance: 0.76mi
  4. Distance: 0.80mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.68mi
  3. Distance: 0.76mi
  4. Distance: 0.80mi
  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.68mi
  3. Distance: 0.76mi
  4. Distance: 0.80mi

About Boulevard Bistro

Boulevard Bistro is a quaint upscale fine dining restaurant located in a 1908 bungalow style home.
Best known for our Regional American Cuisine and direct focus on Californias Foothill Wines with a list of over 50 selections. We embrace locally grown produce; fresh vegetables grown in the central valley, locally raised meat, and seafood from the cold waters of the coast of Northern California.

Bret Bohlmann, chef and owner, is a 1998 graduate of the California Culinary Academy. After several years of experience in the Bay area Bret has returned home to Elk Grove to open one of Elk Grove's finest restaurants.

8941 Elk Grove Boulevard
Elk Grove, CA 95624
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Californian, Contemporary French / American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Brunch: Sunday 10:00am - 2:00pm

Cross Street:
3rd Avenue

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(916) 685-2220

Website:
http://blvdbistro.com/

Parking Details:
Parkig lot behind restaurat, access from 3rd Aveue

Executive Chef:
Bret Bohlmann

Private Party Contact:
Debora: (916) 685-2220

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Liquor, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Boulevard Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (55)
Special Occasion (52)
Good for Anniversaries (51)
See All
Romantic (49)
Neighborhood Gem (44)
Quiet Conversation (36)
Cozy (35)
Creative Cuisine (33)
Fit for Foodies (32)
Good for Birthdays (31)
Worth the Drive (30)
Notable Wine List (24)
Local Ingredients (21)
Great for Brunch (13)
Historic (12)
Business Meals (11)
Sunday Lunch (10)
Authentic (10)
Seasonal (10)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Healthy (9)
Tasting Menu (8)
Disabled Access (7)
Outstanding Value (7)
Casual (6)
Comfort Food (4)
Fireplace (4)
Great Beer (3)
Fun (3)
Private Room (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Great for Lunch (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Organic (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Family Style (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Tapas (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Sort By:
S
1582 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined 5 days ago

I almost said "No" the the question "would you recommend Boulevard Bistro to a friend." I don't want this place to become too popular. It's by far my favorite place in the Greater Sacramento Area. But I do wish them continued success, and I don't think I have to worry about that.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Outstanding Value, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined 6 days ago

Totally enjoyed EVERYTHING! The ambiance was wonderful & the service was absolutely amazing!!! My husband & I just wanted to be in a nice place with a warm ambiance & great food & service. We got that & more! Perfect "Date Nite".

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Late-night Find, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on March 22, 2017

My wife and I consider this restaurant as "our restaurant". We love going here on romantic dates. The place is small but cozy and quiet. Good for quiet conversation. At least everytime we go there. We do not care much about the wine as we are not really wine drinkers but the wine list is decent. Food is absulutely great and taste and cooked really well. I first thought this place as a formal reataurant but it is more casual, people even wear jeans. It is actually great as I am not into formal clothes...I like to eat in comfortable but not tacky clothes.

The only issue I have is that they do not change their menu that much. Ive eaten everything in their menu for the past 5 years my wife and I have visited the place. I hope they add or change a few of what they serve every now and then to spice it up.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Went here for the first time to celebrate an anniversary. Made the reservation thru Open Table and could only get an early 5:45 time, but since we made it the same day, it worked out fine. We were greeted warmly at the front and shown to our table promptly. The wait staff was friendly and attentive, and was there to answer any questions. The menu was not vast, but the selections were varied enough that we felt satisfied. A small plate of melted camembert cheese and crostini was our appetizer, and the cheese was very good. The frizze that came with it was way too garlicky, so we didn't eat much of that. We spilt a delightful wedge salad, and chose a filet mignon and salmon for our main courses. Both were fabulous, tasty and perfectly cooked. The creme brulet and espresso pot au creme desserts finished off a great meal. We both felt that the portion sizes were exactly right, and the cost of the meal was fair.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on March 17, 2017

This was the first time my wife and I ate at Boulevard Bistro, but it will not be the last. We could find nothing in our experience that discouraged us. The food and the service were both excellent. The restaurant is not very large, so we had made reservations. We were seated as soon as we arrived. We had a melted Camembert cheese appetizer which was served very hot; it was delicious. The rest of the meal continued at that level from the soup and salad through the entree to desert.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Love this place...The food is amazing... Service off the charts!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on March 12, 2017

I am vegan and notified the restaurant ahead of time so they would be prepared. Although my dinner was quite tasty, it consisted of roasted vegetables with a chimichurri sauce, I was disappointed it didn't include a protein source. The service was excellent and the staff was very friendly and I would recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Seasonal, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Was very good as usual but was disappointed that the desert we wanted was not available but understand that the chef thought it was not up to his standards.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on March 5, 2017

I love this little old gem in Old Elk Grove. It looks kinda blah from the outside but the inside is really nice, cute, and cozy.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Historic, Good for a Date, Cozy, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on March 5, 2017

This place is simply amazing. I was there with my family to celebrate an anniversary. The service was very good and the food was great !. This place is at the top of my list when deciding for a family outing.

Tags: Healthy, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Family Style, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Will not be back...see yelp review for details

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on March 5, 2017

This place is fantastic. We drove to Elk Grove just to try The Boulevard Bistro for my wife's birthday. We have eaten at many different places in San Francisco and Sacramento. This place is on par with any of the top restaurants in those cities. The chef created a wonderful meal for us and the service was better than most. We will be returning often.

Tags: Organic, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Fireplace, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Have eaten here numerous time and always had a wonderful meal, unfortunately this occasion was different. I had the special a Rib Eye steak which was flavorful but uncharacteristically tough. The appetizer and salad were very good and my wife loved her veal dish.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 4, 2017

I took my sister here for her 60th birthday on a Friday evening. The food was great. The staff was great. It was not loud but it wasn't quiet either. Regardless, I'd go again and again.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on March 1, 2017

Delicious. Great environment. Great service. I recommend the shortrib but my husband loved his salmon.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on March 1, 2017

Fantastic service. They made changes to meal around my daughters's food allergy without comproming flavor!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 26, 2017

What a gem! I love this place. It was my first time visiting and it was such a wonderful place. The staff was so helpful and nice. The menu was unique. The food was wonderful. I love the quaint atmosphere, very comfortable. I will definitely visit this restraunt again.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Not worth making a reservation, the wait was over 30 minutes anyway

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 26, 2017

The garden in the fron and side yard was sweet. The meal was delicious and service attentive. Great expeeice for Sunday brunch!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Private Room, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Really wonderful brunch experience. The French press coffee is some of the best I've had. They also brought out an appetizer plate with some cheese, fruit, and pastries. Everyone at our table loved what they ordered.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 26, 2017

We have never been disappointed at Boukevard Bistro. The food and service are top notch. Bret is an amazing Chef. By far air favorite place for date night!! We are looking forward to going again soon!

Tags: Historic, Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Healthy, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Excellent experience! Super fancy, delicious and great service. Pricey, but totally worth it. Made my husband's birthday super special.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Cozy, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 22, 2017

My first time there and can't believe I haven't been there before! The food is outstanding and the service so friendly and professional. It's perfect fora small or larger gathering. A place to impress.

Tags: Fun, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 19, 2017

A pleasant experience! Love the decor, food, and service. Four ladies out for a brunch/lunch date. Food was great, wish my salmon salad was bit larger, I could have had more, so good!
Can't wait to go back and try their dinner!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 19, 2017

We had a very nice evening celebrating our anniversary. We did not care for the music as we prefer old jazz or classical however it was not too loud so that was good. I was hoping the tables would have white linens but runners instead. It is close seating so if there is a loud person in the room it can get stressful. However the food was superb, the waitress excellent, very enjoyable.

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Healthy, Afternoon Coffee, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Great service, fabulous meal. We licked our plates. Worth the drive to Elk Grove.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Attentive waitstaff, but had to wait a bit for the entree. Food tasted good, but a bit pricey.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Excellent place
We visited in 2011 and returned on vacation used it for anniversary

Tags: Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Disabled Access, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Have eaten here numerous times and the food and service are always amazing. The food seems to be better than the "last time" we were there. I would recommend dinning here at least once.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Authentic, Great Beer, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Historic, Tapas, Late-night Find, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Wine list was good, the food was good. Just Wish they had a Chicken option on the day we went. The Dessert was tasty but did need a sauce

Tags: Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 8, 2017

small restaurant, small menu excellent execution of dishes and responsive staff

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Looking forward to the next special day to celebrate at the Blvd Bistro!

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 5, 2017

I had a ladies night out at Boulevard Bistro on Saturday night. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We ordered a lovely bottle of local sparkling wine while waiting for our table. At our request, they were even able to fulfill a request for an alternate cheese plate when the goat cheese on the menu had been sold out. We enjoyed a few small plates and 2 entrees as well as 3 desserts among the three of us and were very satisfied. Each plate was well-prepared.
I am not sure I would call Boulevard Bistro "the most romantic," however, the relaxed ambiance, friendly service, and good food make this place an excellent choice.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 4, 2017

This is my absolute favorite restaurant anywhere. The food is amazing as are the service and staff. If you have a palette for great food and are willing to try new things, this place is for you.

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 4, 2017

The salmon was perfectly cooked and seasoned. The banana bread pudding was amazing....

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Always perfect in every way. Elegant, affordable fine dining.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Boulevard Bistro is fast becoming one of my favorite places to celebrate a special occasion with my wife. The fare is always both creative and delicious with a nod to French cuisine. The only thing I don't absolutely love about the place is that I can't order everything. There's often a dish or two that I regret not ordering. This is not fast food, but I highly recommend it for anyone who wants to make a good first impression.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Have dined here on several occasions. The service is always outstanding as is the food.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 2, 2017

By far Elk Grove's Best, The Food is 5 Star, Fantastic Wine Selection, Best Place in Town for a date nite.

Tags: Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Cozy, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Outstanding Value, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Disabled Access, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.