About Boulevard Bistro

8941 Elk Grove Boulevard
Elk Grove, CA 95624
View Larger Map

Boulevard Bistro is a quaint upscale fine dining restaurant located in a 1908 bungalow style home.
Best known for our Regional American Cuisine and direct focus on Californias Foothill Wines with a list of over 50 selections. We embrace locally grown produce; fresh vegetables grown in the central valley, locally raised meat, and seafood from the cold waters of the coast of Northern California.

Bret Bohlmann, chef and owner, is a 1998 graduate of the California Culinary Academy. After several years of experience in the Bay area Bret has returned home to Elk Grove to open one of Elk Grove's finest restaurants.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Californian, Contemporary French / American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Brunch: Sunday 10:00am - 2:00pm

Cross Street:
3rd Avenue

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(916) 685-2220

Website:
http://blvdbistro.com/

Parking Details:
Parkig lot behind restaurat, access from 3rd Aveue

Executive Chef:
Bret Bohlmann

Private Party Contact:
Debora: 916-685-2220

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, BYO Liquor, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Salmon
Fruit And Cheese Plate
Braised Lamb Hash
Apple Streudel & Vanilla Ice Cream
Deviled Eggs With Crispy Proscuitto
duck and waffles
Gorgonzola, Candied Walnuts, Honey, Crispy Prosciutto
Filet Mignon Hash (Egg Porn Shot)
Open Face Cheeseburger
Bloody Mary
Filet Mignon Hash
Bistro Cheeseburger
Boulevard Bistro Burger
Wedge Salad
Croque Madame
Oysters
Bread Service
Apple Strudle
French Fries
Chicken Sandwich
Almond French Toast
Omelette
French Toast
Filet Mignon
Passmore Ranch Sturgeon
Lamb Burger
Citrus Salad
Waffles
Spicy Bloody Mary
Lamb Shanks
California Olives and Crostini
White Wine
Corned Beef Hash and Eggs
Stella Artois
French Onion Soup
Braised Beef Cheek
Thai Curry Soup With Swordfish & Clams
Coffee
Fruit Plate
Pommes Frites
Deviled Eggs With Bacon
flourless chocolate cake
Duck Cassoulet
Raspberry Sorbet
Maple Bacon Cheesecake
Chicken Breast With pumpkin Ravioli
Smoked Trout Deviled eggs
Blue Cheese And Potato croquette
Roasted Bone Marrow
Bread
New York Steak
Beet Salad With Spoon Spinach And Goat Cheese
Mussles scallops Calamari Rissoto
Shrimp Cakes

Boulevard Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Neighborhood Gem
Sacramento / Sacramento Valley
Romantic
Sacramento / Sacramento Valley
Special Occasion
Sacramento / Sacramento Valley
8 More
Californian
Sacramento / Sacramento Valley
Best Food
Sacramento
Best Service
Sacramento
Best Value
Sacramento
Neighborhood Gem
Sacramento
Romantic
Sacramento
Special Occasion
Sacramento
Californian
Sacramento
Best Restaurants in Elk Grove ›

Special Occasion (82)
Neighborhood Gem (65)
Romantic (59)
See All
Fit for Foodies (53)
Great for Brunch (26)
Notable Wine List (21)
Hot Spot (7)
Great for Lunch (6)
Good for Groups (4)
Late-night Find (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Scenic View (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1381 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Too expensive for Elk Grove. It is a ni ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined 6 days ago

Too expensive for Elk Grove. It is a nice place but very hard to justify $150 for two for a Friday night dinner in Old Elk Grove.

I ate there several years ago w the same impression. Someone gave us a gift card his year or we would not have been back.

All that said, the food was very good and the people were nice. Although they were just trying too hard.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

We love it! We have yet to go here and n ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined 6 days ago

We love it! We have yet to go here and not be pleased.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

the restaurant is always busy because th ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

the restaurant is always busy because the food, ambience, and service is so good - we pick it for special occasions because it makes such a nice change to "go out" and enjoy conversation and company

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

A great evening out with friends! The ca ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

A great evening out with friends! The caprese salad was a huge hit at our table. The truffled goat cheese was probably our least favorite item of the evening - goat cheese with truffle oil, served with bread....for some reason, I expected more. It was, meh. But, the filet, lamb, and scallops were all amazing! The desserts were delicious as well - creme brulee, blackberry cobbler, and chocolate decadence were all devoured at our table. Will definitely go back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We found this great location while trave ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

We found this great location while traveling, and thoroughly enjoyed the food (bone marrow, boullebaise, seasonal peppers) and ambiance. The music sometimes did not match the setting and guests, but overall was great. Our server was wonderful!! Wondered about the electric connections, as the light above our table flickered throughout the meal.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Nice homey setting for an above average ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Nice homey setting for an above average meal. Saturday night service can get backed up. Plan on a wait even with res.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Wonderful food. Perfectly prepared and d ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Wonderful food. Perfectly prepared and delicious. Went for a relative's birthday celebration.

Excellent service by waitstaff.

The location of the restaurant can be easy to miss for first time guests.

It looks like a small house from the street, but don't let appearances stop you from enjoying a fine dining experience.

A little pricey but worth the quality of the food & service.

Portions could be just a little larger.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food and atmosphere but portion si ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Great food and atmosphere but portion size does not equate to the price of the meals.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Every bit as wonderful as ever. Not our ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Every bit as wonderful as ever. Not our 1st time there (5 or 6 I think) but we will continue to be patrons. The service is wonderful, very friendly and accommodating ... The chef is fabulous, we each had something different and we shared bits, realizing all 4 of us had delicious meals!!! Can't say enough about how much we enjoy dining there!!! Keep up this place as wonderful as it's been every time we've dined there!!!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful food presented very nicely wit ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Wonderful food presented very nicely with a friendly, outgoing staff. My wife and I both had steaks cooked perfectly. They had a very nice selection of wines to compliment several different dinner choices. Definitely have reservations in advance as that the seating area is quite small--it is a converted house. Also, you will want to use a GPS the first time that you go as that it is a converted house, it is easy to miss until you realize that it is a restaurant and not just a house.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed everything about Boulevard Bi ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

We enjoyed everything about Boulevard Bistro. It is our favorite go-to restaurant.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife said it was the best Salmon she ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

My wife said it was the best Salmon she had ever had, we will most certainly be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Unbelievable dining experience, we will ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Unbelievable dining experience, we will definitely become regulars.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous food and service . I had forgot ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Fabulous food and service . I had forgotten how awesome this place is. If your on a budget , you need to go elsewhere. About $30 a plate, not including appetizer or dessert . Worth every Penny!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

We enjoyed a wonderful brunch. The atmos ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

We enjoyed a wonderful brunch. The atmosphere, food and SERVICE are second to none. I'll definitely be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I have been dining occasiona ...

vip
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

My wife and I have been dining occasionally at Boulevard Bistro since it opened. Never a disappointment. All menu items that we have tried are great. My favorites are Steak au Poivre for dinner and Sunday Brunch. Nothing better in the Sacramento/Elk Grove area. More Brussel sprouts Bret.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Had brunch - so wonderful!!! The frui ...

vip
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Had brunch - so wonderful!!! The fruit, bread and cheese plate presented to us (there were 3 friends dining) was spectacular - not only in quality but presentation, too. Gorgeous - not your typical fruit platter at all.

Hubby had the french toast - beautiful and delicious!

I had the special short rib hash with perfectly poached egg - DELICIOUS !

Friend had the salmon benedict - DELICIOUS !

A couple french presses of coffee to share among the three of us - no rushing - upscale dinner- hour worthy service.

Don't miss out - for a few $$$ more than a chain restaurants brunch, you will have a brunch experience, not just brunch.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Terrific - consistently provide wonderfu ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Terrific - consistently provide wonderful dishes and good service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We went to the Boulevard Bistro to celeb ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

We went to the Boulevard Bistro to celebrate our wedding Anniversary. We selected it based on the glowing reviews from several close friends — it was good advice! We enjoyed everything about the meal from the appetizer we selected to the desert we split with our coffee. All were lovingly plated and delicious. The attentive service was excellent throughout.

This is not an inexpensive venue, but it is well worth the price in terms of the quality of the food and the level of service. We plan to turn to this restaurant often.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Our first time and we really enjoyed it. ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Our first time and we really enjoyed it. Small, but quality portions.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This is our go-to restaurant for Sunday ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

This is our go-to restaurant for Sunday brunch, but dinner is also five stars. Our favorite server, Brandon, has left to finish college in San Diego, but all of the staff are very attentive and friendly. Best eggs benedict and creme brulee we have every eaten!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We dined there to celebrate our Wedding ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

We dined there to celebrate our Wedding Anniversary, and were not disappointed.

The food was excellent in every way, i.e. The quality, the preparation, and the presentation.

The service was also excellent. Our server was a young woman named Candace who was the prefect host. She was friendly, professional, attentive, and took excellent care of us.

Thank you, Boulevard Bistro for making our Anniversary Celebration a memorable one! (smile)

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was delicious. My husband is a ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

The food was delicious. My husband is a big eater so the portions seemed small at first but the richness and taste of the food overwhelmed us! And we were nicely filled at the end of the meal. We had recently been treated to Ruth Chris Steakhouse but my husband said his filet at Boulevard Bistro was far superior to the one he had just had at Ruth Chris. My rack of lamb was divine as was the delicious chocolate decadent dessert!

We plan to visit again.

Thanks for a wonderful dining experience.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

We need to come here more often. The men ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

We need to come here more often. The menu changes frequently and we need to try everything. We have never been disappointed. The ambiance is intimate and relaxing, and even the taped music is nostalgic. I had scallops and they were perfect. Scallops I buy never come out like these! I can't say enough good things about this place.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

It had been some time since we had been ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

It had been some time since we had been to the Bistro and decided to celibate our anniversary there. The staff and food was wonderful. Thank you for a memorable evening.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Always a pleasure coming here. Food is ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Always a pleasure coming here. Food is always excellent and the wait staff is very respectful and classy.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The food and ambiance was exceptional. ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

The food and ambiance was exceptional. Very quaint and elegant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My new favorite place to eat. The food ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

My new favorite place to eat. The food was wonderful, the service - outstanding!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Having a Kid friendly menu would be nice ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Having a Kid friendly menu would be nice . We had our Father's Day celebration at the Bistro. My kids ate French toast as this was the only option.

Waiters/waitresses are very efficient.

Very intimate , perfect for romantic evening

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoy this cozy restaurant. The food ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We enjoy this cozy restaurant. The food is excellent and everyone is friendly.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We requested a Happy Anniversary written ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

We requested a Happy Anniversary written on our plate for our dessert...we were denied because the chef said they couldnt do it...that's so disappointing as Im sure it was not a crazy request. Just some melted chocolate! Very disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

Possibly the best meals we've ever had. ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Possibly the best meals we've ever had. Service great and meals (filet mignon and lamb) outstanding; bread delicious. The only negative would be the extremely small desserts at high prices.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Scallop dish was plain and only two scal ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Scallop dish was plain and only two scallops on the dish. poor value, Lamb dish was much better a full rack of small chops. Foie gras turine on toast was very nice, topped with a balsamlic reduction.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Very nice little bistro, excellent food ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Very nice little bistro, excellent food and presentation

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The bistro is always the best meal I've ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

The bistro is always the best meal I've ever had. Ever ever ever.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was fun to try the Boulevard Bistro. ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

It was fun to try the Boulevard Bistro. We went because we were given a gift to go there, it was like having a Gordan Ramsey Restaurant experience (by far the most upscale restaurant I have eaten at). The ambiance was great, the service was superb. However, we spent $125 on two entrees, two salads, two desserts, and an appetizer. The desserts were the best part (creme brulee and lemon panna cotta...yum!) but the main courses and salads--though beautiful--tasted no better/worse than a moderately priced restaurant (ala elephant bar, etc). Maybe I'm no foodie, I just can't just the price to return. Thank you for the experience though!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

Chef Bret does not disappoint. Fabulous ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Chef Bret does not disappoint. Fabulous fillet and scintillating scallops! Wonderful meal!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

My wife and I love this place! Food is ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

My wife and I love this place! Food is fantastic and everyone is so nice. Laura is great.

The eggs Benedict is the best anywhere!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

best in town.

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Best restaurant in Sacramento valley, Brett the owner is a gracious host.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent as Always

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

This restaurant is on a par with the finest restaurants in Northern California, such as The Kitchen or The French Laundry, but at half the cost. Don't get me wrong, with a bottle of wine, we ran into the $160 range for two, but that's still half of what you'll pay at those other restaurants.

I started with a very good wedge salad. The lettuce & tomatoes fresh; the bacon crisp, the bleu cheese dressing flavorful. Hubby had the better appetizer, smoked trout rillette that was smokey & almost creamy in texture, served with crisp croutons and wonderfully vinegary, spicy & sweet pickled green beans & cauliflower.

Entrees were also amazing, my very tender pork chop in a delicious Madeira reduction, which had too much black pepper for my taste, however would be to most folks tastes, with smashed fingerling potatoes, roasted sweet carrots & green beans. Hubby had the always excellent Filet Mignon, which was very tender in sauce au poivre, with mashed potatoes and the same roasted vegetables. We had no room for dessert. I had to take half my entree home. Service was attentive but not hovering. Always a special experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.