Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.68mi
  3. Distance: 0.76mi
  4. Distance: 0.80mi
  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.68mi
  3. Distance: 0.76mi
  4. Distance: 0.80mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.68mi
  3. Distance: 0.76mi
  4. Distance: 0.80mi
  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.68mi
  3. Distance: 0.76mi
  4. Distance: 0.80mi

About Boulevard Bistro

Boulevard Bistro is a quaint upscale fine dining restaurant located in a 1908 bungalow style home.
Best known for our Regional American Cuisine and direct focus on Californias Foothill Wines with a list of over 50 selections. We embrace locally grown produce; fresh vegetables grown in the central valley, locally raised meat, and seafood from the cold waters of the coast of Northern California.

Bret Bohlmann, chef and owner, is a 1998 graduate of the California Culinary Academy. After several years of experience in the Bay area Bret has returned home to Elk Grove to open one of Elk Grove's finest restaurants.

8941 Elk Grove Boulevard
Elk Grove, CA 95624
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Californian, Contemporary French / American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Brunch: Sunday 10:00am - 2:00pm

Cross Street:
3rd Avenue

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(916) 685-2220

Website:
http://blvdbistro.com/

Parking Details:
Parkig lot behind restaurat, access from 3rd Aveue

Executive Chef:
Bret Bohlmann

Private Party Contact:
Debora: (916) 685-2220

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Liquor, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Boulevard Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.6

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (51)
Good for Anniversaries (48)
Special Occasion (43)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (40)
Romantic (38)
Quiet Conversation (36)
Fit for Foodies (32)
Cozy (32)
Creative Cuisine (31)
Good for Birthdays (29)
Local Ingredients (24)
Worth the Drive (19)
Notable Wine List (18)
Great for Brunch (18)
Seasonal (11)
Authentic (10)
Historic (9)
Sunday Lunch (9)
Tasting Menu (7)
Casual (7)
Business Meals (7)
Organic (6)
Hot Spot (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Comfort Food (5)
Healthy (5)
Disabled Access (4)
Modern Decor (3)
Fun (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Bar Seating (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Family Style (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Fireplace (2)
Great Beer (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
People Watching (1)
Private Room (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Sort By:
S
1631 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined 6 days ago

Another excellent meal at the Bistro. We went for Fathers Day and the brunch was great. The smoked trout was a wonderful starter. The mushrooms on toast with a poached egg and hollandaise sauce was perfect. My wife had the salmon over salad and it too was perfect. Try the bloody Mary...just the right amount of heat! We love this place and although their menu is somewhat limited it is always first class!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on June 16, 2017

We had wanted to try the Boulevard Bistro for a long time. We were not disappointed. The food was delicious. The wine list is long and impressive from a lot of local wineries. The service was excellent, also. It was my husband's birthday and was an awesome night that we both enjoyed very much.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Excellent food, wonderful ambiance, better than most other restaurants in this price range. Very intimate setting. Must get a reservation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on June 11, 2017

We've been coming here for over 5 years and we have never once been disappointed! The food is amazing and the atmosphere is perfect! We have decided to quit telling our friends that this is such a great place because it's getting harder and harder to get last minute reservations!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on June 4, 2017

My husband and I recently dined at Boulevard Bistro to celebrate our 34th anniversary. Although the food was fantastic, the noise level in the dining room was deafening, as the people seated at the table of 8 near us were extremely loud throughout their meal. We will hesitate to return to Boulevard Bistro, because we were looking forward to a nice, quiet, relaxing dinner.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Great restaurant. First time there and will definitely go back

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Great Beer, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Amazing!!! Thank you for such a great anniversary brunch. It felt special to see the menu say "happy one year anniversary". It was a perfect quaint brunch and cannot thank you enough.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Organic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Seasonal, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Still the best place to go with in a hour drive! We have been coming here for years, and it never disappoints

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Organic, Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal, People Watching, Authentic, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Casual, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 27, 2017

We love going here for various special occasions. Friendly owner and wife. Small dining. Close knit, but still able to talk and be heard.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Anniversary. Nothing special was done other than server saying happy anniversary.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Best food in the entire Central Valley!!
Every chance I get, I eat at Blvd Bistro. Small and intimate, reservations needed!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 25, 2017

A great little spot in Elk Grove. Definitely try it. The food and staff are really good.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Fun, Healthy, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 25, 2017

Service and food were excellent. Great dining experience.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 21, 2017

This is an excellent place for Sunday brunch. The food is incredible and it is a quaint setting.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Excellent service. Tasty food and wine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Everything about Blvd Bistro is outstanding and enjoying a special dining experience, it never disappoints. The food is exceptional every time.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Mother's Day.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Disabled Access, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 7, 2017

The food was spectacular! The service as usual was amazing. I would highly recommend the Bistro to anyone and I do very frequently.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Service was excellent. Wife mentioned at table that not too keen on asparagus and he picked up on that real quick and offered several options... he doubled checked about availability of syrah, came back with an "86" on that so went with very fine pinot.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 6, 2017

The owner and head chef Bret has created one of the best little restaurants in all of Sacramento county, right here in little sleepy Elk Grove.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 6, 2017

not much for vegetarians, filet great flavor, but the size of a doughnut.service excellent

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 5, 2017

It's been a while since we've been to the Boulevard. Even so, still such a wonderful dining experience. The service was tops. My husband had the filet (perfect) and I had the chicken. Both meals were above expectations. They even complimented me with a free birthday dessert! And boy was it good. Thanks for a great birthday evening!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Excellent service and food. The best place to eat in Elk Grove! Can't wait to go back.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Absolutely superb meal. Wow! The good reviews are clearly well-deserved. The food was delectable, the service was perfect, the decor and ambiance were just beautiful. Definitely the best restaurant in the greater Sacramento area. Not to be missed.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Organic, Local Ingredients, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Excellent food, and service. Will definitely be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Brought some friends to Boulevard Bistro for their first time. Once again, it was perfect. Start to finish, everything was spot on. Service and food were great as always. We drive 50 miles just to eat here and it is worth it every time.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Love this restaurant. We went twice in one week. Once for our son's birthday and another time for our anniversary.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Not quite as good as the last visit. Extremely limited menu but doable. Portions pretty small so plan on a salad and perhaps dessert.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Seasonal, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 29, 2017

This is by far one of my favorite restaurants in the sacramento area. And quite possibly the best service of any restaurant I have frequented.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fireplace, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Always a wonderful experience! If you haven't been here, you need to go.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Fantastic food as always and the service was excellent. I highly recommend Boulevard Bistro.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Food was excellent.

Dining Occasion:Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Food was amazing and made to perfection! The service was excellent and the wine was delicious.

Dining Occasion:Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on April 23, 2017

The food was excellent. The only thing better was the service provided by our server, Laura. She was polite, friendly, attentive, explained the menu and specials well, and, just overall, a very pleasant person. She's getting married in August, so give her a raise!!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Fantastic food, great service!

Dining Occasion:Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 21, 2017

The restaurant was quant. The food was good but not great. Reasonable wine list.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 19, 2017

This is easily one of the best restaurants in the Sacramento area. It is head and shoulders above anything else in Elk Grove. Each time I eat here, I have one of the best dining experiences of the year. I cannot say enough about the food, and the service is excellent as well. My wife and I typically celebrate anniversaries here, but we will also stop by for brunch "just because." It is a moderately expensive restaurant for the area, but the same quality of food and presentation in San Francisco or New York City would cost double the price. That's a fact. I could go on and on but I'd just be repeating myself by heaping praise on this restaurant. All I'll say is "Try it!"

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Great Easter brunch.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We eat here 2-3 times a year. Never had a bad meal, waiters and waitress are professional . Once my wife asked for a Bailey's and the Bistro relayed they did not have it. So they when out purchased and brought a serving to her.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Always a unique menu at Boulevard Bistro. The plates are beautifully presented with a country French style.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.