About Boulevard Bistro

8941 Elk Grove Boulevard
Elk Grove, CA 95624
View Larger Map

Boulevard Bistro is a quaint upscale fine dining restaurant located in a 1908 bungalow style home.
Best known for our Regional American Cuisine and direct focus on Californias Foothill Wines with a list of over 50 selections. We embrace locally grown produce; fresh vegetables grown in the central valley, locally raised meat, and seafood from the cold waters of the coast of Northern California.

Bret Bohlmann, chef and owner, is a 1998 graduate of the California Culinary Academy. After several years of experience in the Bay area Bret has returned home to Elk Grove to open one of Elk Grove's finest restaurants.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Californian, Contemporary French / American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Brunch: Sunday 10:00am - 2:00pm

Cross Street:
3rd Avenue

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(916) 685-2220

Website:
http://blvdbistro.com/

Parking Details:
Parkig lot behind restaurat, access from 3rd Aveue

Executive Chef:
Bret Bohlmann

Private Party Contact:
Debora: 916-685-2220

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Liquor, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Salmon
Fruit And Cheese Plate
Braised Lamb Hash
Apple Streudel & Vanilla Ice Cream
Deviled Eggs With Crispy Proscuitto
duck and waffles
Gorgonzola, Candied Walnuts, Honey, Crispy Prosciutto
Filet Mignon Hash (Egg Porn Shot)
Open Face Cheeseburger
Bloody Mary
Filet Mignon Hash
Bistro Cheeseburger
Boulevard Bistro Burger
Wedge Salad
Croque Madame
Oysters
Bread Service
Apple Strudle
French Fries
Chicken Sandwich
Almond French Toast
Omelette
French Toast
Filet Mignon
Passmore Ranch Sturgeon
Lamb Burger
Citrus Salad
Waffles
Spicy Bloody Mary
Lamb Shanks
California Olives and Crostini
White Wine
Corned Beef Hash and Eggs
Stella Artois
French Onion Soup
Braised Beef Cheek
Thai Curry Soup With Swordfish & Clams
Coffee
Fruit Plate
Pommes Frites
Deviled Eggs With Bacon
flourless chocolate cake
Duck Cassoulet
Raspberry Sorbet
Maple Bacon Cheesecake
Chicken Breast With pumpkin Ravioli
Smoked Trout Deviled eggs
Blue Cheese And Potato croquette
Roasted Bone Marrow
Bread
New York Steak
Beet Salad With Spoon Spinach And Goat Cheese
Mussles scallops Calamari Rissoto
Shrimp Cakes

Boulevard Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Neighborhood Gem
Sacramento / Sacramento Valley
Romantic
Sacramento / Sacramento Valley
Special Occasion
Sacramento / Sacramento Valley
6 More
Californian
Sacramento / Sacramento Valley
Best Value
Sacramento
Neighborhood Gem
Sacramento
Romantic
Sacramento
Special Occasion
Sacramento
Californian
Sacramento
Best Restaurants in Elk Grove ›

Special Occasion (79)
Romantic (55)
Neighborhood Gem (54)
See All
Fit for Foodies (49)
Great for Brunch (28)
Notable Wine List (27)
Good for Anniversaries (13)
Good for a Date (13)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Cozy (7)
Hot Spot (6)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Good for Groups (6)
Great for Lunch (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Worth the Drive (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Seasonal (2)
Casual (2)
Authentic (2)
Business Meals (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Historic (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Scenic View (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Family Style (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1398 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Always terrific! Looking forward to the ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined 7 days ago

Always terrific! Looking forward to the next visit.

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a good selection but limited. Fri ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined 7 days ago

Always a good selection but limited. Friendly staff, great presentation and VERY tasty food.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Family Style, Business Meals, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Casual, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Food was prepared and served well

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Food was prepared and served well

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

Excellent. We have never been disappoint ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Excellent. We have never been disappointed here. As always, the service and the food were top notch!

Thank you

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Been coming to Boulevard Bistro for year ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

Been coming to Boulevard Bistro for years and always enjoy the food, service and ambiance.

I always recommend Blvd. Bistro to people!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Excellent pear bread pudding was the per ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

Excellent pear bread pudding was the perfect way to end the meal

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I came here with my boyfriend and the se ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

I came here with my boyfriend and the service and food were both superb! The bone marrow with escargot was delicious and the filet mignon was cooked perfectly. I would definitely return!

Tags: Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and service was excellent. Both fo ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Food and service was excellent. Both food and wine were a bit over priced, but the quality and presentation was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Simply awesome experience, as always. F ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Simply awesome experience, as always. Food is just exquisite, ambiance perfect. Just a lovely, lovely time all the way around.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food, they did not however ack ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

Excellent food, they did not however acknowledge a "going away" celebration.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed our brunch at boulevard. Grea ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

We enjoyed our brunch at boulevard. Great food and services.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Too expensive for how good the food was. ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Too expensive for how good the food was. Will never come back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Boulevard Bistro is a favorite local res ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Boulevard Bistro is a favorite local restaurant. The menu is always changing and part of the fun is seeing what's being prepared. Everything is amazing. Even the bloody Mary's have house pickled vegetables.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was good, moderate price. menu ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

The food was good, moderate price. menu choices was rather limited.

The house can be missed easily, the sign is rather small, however there

is parking in the rear.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Once again, everything was great. Food, ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Once again, everything was great. Food, service, atmosphere. It almost gets boring to review Boulevard Bistro because they are always so fantastic. We drive an hour just to eat here and it is always worth it.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What made the evening great was our serv ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

What made the evening great was our server. He was always there but "not there" when needed. He ensured everything was proper. His professionalism and his service was probably one of the best I have ever received. I have always received great service but this was the best.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Portion size was really too small. Othe ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Portion size was really too small. Otherwise a pleasant dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

Very nice place the food was excellent! ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

Very nice place the food was excellent! The service was very attentive! Wine list was nice.

But, it was not cheap so be prepared? That being said, it was worth the special occasion.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Too expensive for Elk Grove. It is a ni ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Too expensive for Elk Grove. It is a nice place but very hard to justify $150 for two for a Friday night dinner in Old Elk Grove.

I ate there several years ago w the same impression. Someone gave us a gift card his year or we would not have been back.

All that said, the food was very good and the people were nice. Although they were just trying too hard.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

We love it! We have yet to go here and n ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

We love it! We have yet to go here and not be pleased.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

the restaurant is always busy because th ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

the restaurant is always busy because the food, ambience, and service is so good - we pick it for special occasions because it makes such a nice change to "go out" and enjoy conversation and company

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

A great evening out with friends! The ca ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

A great evening out with friends! The caprese salad was a huge hit at our table. The truffled goat cheese was probably our least favorite item of the evening - goat cheese with truffle oil, served with bread....for some reason, I expected more. It was, meh. But, the filet, lamb, and scallops were all amazing! The desserts were delicious as well - creme brulee, blackberry cobbler, and chocolate decadence were all devoured at our table. Will definitely go back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We found this great location while trave ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

We found this great location while traveling, and thoroughly enjoyed the food (bone marrow, boullebaise, seasonal peppers) and ambiance. The music sometimes did not match the setting and guests, but overall was great. Our server was wonderful!! Wondered about the electric connections, as the light above our table flickered throughout the meal.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Nice homey setting for an above average ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Nice homey setting for an above average meal. Saturday night service can get backed up. Plan on a wait even with res.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Wonderful food. Perfectly prepared and d ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Wonderful food. Perfectly prepared and delicious. Went for a relative's birthday celebration.

Excellent service by waitstaff.

The location of the restaurant can be easy to miss for first time guests.

It looks like a small house from the street, but don't let appearances stop you from enjoying a fine dining experience.

A little pricey but worth the quality of the food & service.

Portions could be just a little larger.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food and atmosphere but portion si ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Great food and atmosphere but portion size does not equate to the price of the meals.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Every bit as wonderful as ever. Not our ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Every bit as wonderful as ever. Not our 1st time there (5 or 6 I think) but we will continue to be patrons. The service is wonderful, very friendly and accommodating ... The chef is fabulous, we each had something different and we shared bits, realizing all 4 of us had delicious meals!!! Can't say enough about how much we enjoy dining there!!! Keep up this place as wonderful as it's been every time we've dined there!!!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful food presented very nicely wit ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Wonderful food presented very nicely with a friendly, outgoing staff. My wife and I both had steaks cooked perfectly. They had a very nice selection of wines to compliment several different dinner choices. Definitely have reservations in advance as that the seating area is quite small--it is a converted house. Also, you will want to use a GPS the first time that you go as that it is a converted house, it is easy to miss until you realize that it is a restaurant and not just a house.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed everything about Boulevard Bi ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

We enjoyed everything about Boulevard Bistro. It is our favorite go-to restaurant.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife said it was the best Salmon she ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

My wife said it was the best Salmon she had ever had, we will most certainly be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Unbelievable dining experience, we will ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Unbelievable dining experience, we will definitely become regulars.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous food and service . I had forgot ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Fabulous food and service . I had forgotten how awesome this place is. If your on a budget , you need to go elsewhere. About $30 a plate, not including appetizer or dessert . Worth every Penny!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

We enjoyed a wonderful brunch. The atmos ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

We enjoyed a wonderful brunch. The atmosphere, food and SERVICE are second to none. I'll definitely be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I have been dining occasiona ...

vip
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

My wife and I have been dining occasionally at Boulevard Bistro since it opened. Never a disappointment. All menu items that we have tried are great. My favorites are Steak au Poivre for dinner and Sunday Brunch. Nothing better in the Sacramento/Elk Grove area. More Brussel sprouts Bret.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Had brunch - so wonderful!!! The frui ...

vip
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Had brunch - so wonderful!!! The fruit, bread and cheese plate presented to us (there were 3 friends dining) was spectacular - not only in quality but presentation, too. Gorgeous - not your typical fruit platter at all.

Hubby had the french toast - beautiful and delicious!

I had the special short rib hash with perfectly poached egg - DELICIOUS !

Friend had the salmon benedict - DELICIOUS !

A couple french presses of coffee to share among the three of us - no rushing - upscale dinner- hour worthy service.

Don't miss out - for a few $$$ more than a chain restaurants brunch, you will have a brunch experience, not just brunch.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Terrific - consistently provide wonderfu ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Terrific - consistently provide wonderful dishes and good service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We went to the Boulevard Bistro to celeb ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

We went to the Boulevard Bistro to celebrate our wedding Anniversary. We selected it based on the glowing reviews from several close friends — it was good advice! We enjoyed everything about the meal from the appetizer we selected to the desert we split with our coffee. All were lovingly plated and delicious. The attentive service was excellent throughout.

This is not an inexpensive venue, but it is well worth the price in terms of the quality of the food and the level of service. We plan to turn to this restaurant often.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Our first time and we really enjoyed it. ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Our first time and we really enjoyed it. Small, but quality portions.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This is our go-to restaurant for Sunday ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

This is our go-to restaurant for Sunday brunch, but dinner is also five stars. Our favorite server, Brandon, has left to finish college in San Diego, but all of the staff are very attentive and friendly. Best eggs benedict and creme brulee we have every eaten!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We dined there to celebrate our Wedding ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

We dined there to celebrate our Wedding Anniversary, and were not disappointed.

The food was excellent in every way, i.e. The quality, the preparation, and the presentation.

The service was also excellent. Our server was a young woman named Candace who was the prefect host. She was friendly, professional, attentive, and took excellent care of us.

Thank you, Boulevard Bistro for making our Anniversary Celebration a memorable one! (smile)

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.