Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.24mi
  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.24mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.24mi
  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.24mi

About Bouchon - Santa Barbara

Fresh, local ingredients, prepared with care. Excellent wines that reflect the quality and character of our region and work in concert with the cuisine. Warm, inviting ambiance, service at a relaxed, leisurely pace.
Santa Barbara ‘Wine Country Cuisine’ means we source our ingredients using an ‘as-fresh-and-as-local-as-possible’ approach, with fish from the Santa Barbara Channel and produce from the surrounding countryside. We then take into account how these flavors can be presented in concert with our local wines. I believe you’ll taste the difference and see how well they work together.
We believe Santa Barbara is producing some of the finest Chardonnay, Pinot Noir and Syrah. Other locally produced varietals will surprise you with their quality, variety and approachability. Please ask your server for recommendations on how any of our 40+ wines by the glass match up with your selections. Bon Appètit!

9 West Victoria St.
Santa Barbara, CA 93101
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Californian, French

Hours of Operation:
Dinner nightly from 5:00 p.m.

Cross Street:
State

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(805) 730-1160

Website:
http://www.bouchonsantabarbara.com/

Parking Details:
Street and public lot parking available.

Executive Chef:
Greg Murphy

Private Party Facilities:
Private dining in the cork room available for groups of 10 – 20 people.

Private Party Contact:
Manager: (805) 730-1160

Additional:
Beer, Farm to Table, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
HOLIDAY EVENTS: Price fixe menus for Thanksgiving, Christmas Eve, Christmas Dinner, New Years Eve and Valentines Dinner

Bouchon - Santa Barbara Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.6

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (69)
Romantic (63)
Good for a Date (62)
See All
Notable Wine List (59)
Fit for Foodies (56)
Good for Anniversaries (54)
Local Ingredients (52)
Creative Cuisine (47)
Quiet Conversation (37)
Cozy (33)
Neighborhood Gem (30)
Good for Birthdays (30)
Worth the Drive (30)
Authentic (27)
Business Meals (24)
Pre/post Theatre (22)
Open Kitchen (16)
Healthy (15)
Private Room (14)
Great for Outdoor Dining (12)
Seasonal (12)
Organic (12)
Fun (10)
Casual (8)
Outstanding Value (6)
Paleo Friendly (5)
People Watching (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Modern Decor (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Historic (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Waterfront (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Scenic View (1)
Family Style (1)
Fireplace (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
2202 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 4 days ago

This was our second time celebrating our anniversary and it was wonderful. They placed red camellia pedals on the table, a personal card and poured us a complimentary glass of rose brut, right after we sat down! The food is amazing! We plan to continue our tradition next year!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Paleo Friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 4 days ago

Not impressed. The food was mediocre at best and the price tag sure made it worse. Pretty good service except for the guy who tried to say the date on our cheese plate was a cracker.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined 5 days ago

We had a great experience! They were able to accommodate a slip in our reaeveration schedule and when we arrive Tony took great care of us. I had one guest who is a vegetarian and when looking at the menu, there were no immediate vegetarian options listed. When I spoke to Tony about that, he assured us the chef will make a custom meal based on likes/dislikes/allergies so every person with vegetarian needs ends up with a one of a kind meal. The wine options are a plenty and they offer pairing options based on your meals. Everyone was very satisfied with their meals and we'll definitely go back!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Vegan, Creative Cuisine, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 5 days ago

Hidden gem for an intimate dining experience. Greeted by the Chef we were seated and served in a very European and personal way. Like dining with an old friend we just met. A birthday experience that was quiet and friendly. We will definately return when we stay in SB again ! C&H

Tags: Open Kitchen, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined 6 days ago

Wonderful farm to table experience. Nice menu choices and wine pairing suggestions. The flavors were wonderful and we look forward to a return visit. Thank you!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Organic, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Engagement!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Wonderful meal and service yet again. Never disappointed. At that's tough to do with me!

Tags: People Watching, Fun, Private Room, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on March 18, 2017

The food and service were exceptional. When I go out for a meal that will run over 200/2people I want to know where that money went and it was absolutely clear what I was getting at Bouchon. The presentation, the flavor and texture combinations, the ingredient sourcing, and the preparation of the meal was exceptional. What really made the evening was the service. We selected wine based on the suggested pairing for our appetizer, a local white. Our server was knowledgeable about the wines and was comfortable making suggestions about the menu items. He checked in often and gave updates about when things would be ready and made experienced decisions on how to bring everything to ensure the best flow to the evening. When both of us had rich meat dishes he said he couldn't be responsible for us only having white wine with it and brought us two 1/2 glasses of red paired to our dinners for free. Following a discussion about dessert wine we ordered two wonderful glasses and, to follow up on the conversation he brought out another 1/2 glass of another for us to sample. We felt taken care of and like family. Worth every penny.

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 18, 2017

So great and the server was fantastic - very knowledgable, gave great recommendations for things to do in Santa Barbara, and even knew the Pandora station when he saw us trying to look it up!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 18, 2017

What can I say? In my opinion, Bouchon is one the best restaurants in Santa Barbara. The food is fantastic but the service is what makes this place special. I took my wife for our 10 year anniversary. We arrived to beautiful rose pedals on our table and a happy anniversary card from the owner and chef. Our waiter Tony took exceptional care of us and ensured our evening was a memorable one. Highly recommended for special occasions.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 18, 2017

We had a wonderful meal at Bouchon. We were seated promptly and the service was excellent. I had the Duck which was perfectly prepared and my husband had the sea bass. We shared a fabulous blood orange tart . We both found the wine list well stocked with wines by the glass as well as a wide range of local wines by the bottle. Excellent food and service.

Tags: Authentic, Romantic, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Open Kitchen, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Excellent as always.....good food, good wine, good service....

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 17, 2017

I had heard good things about this place so I was anxious to give it a try while in Santa Barbara. The waiter was a former hockey player so we hit it off immediately. He was very knowledgable about the wines and expertly explained the menu. I had the duck and it was the best I've ever had.

Tags: Historic, Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Good food, service, ambiance, great restaurant!!! Went to the Wine Cask the weekend before only because we couldn't get into Bouchon, it was a BIG disappointment. Bouchon is so much better! One of the nicer, more consistent restaurants in Santa Barbara!

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 13, 2017

It was easy to change our reservation time and 9pm on Sunday was the last seating, not when the restaurant closed. They didn't rush us and put flower petals on our table and made excellent recs. It was wonderful for our special occasion. We loved the bone marrow, the scallop trio, the mushroom ragout, and the ribeye was fantastic.

Tags: Authentic, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Fantastic restaurant with really great service! We had a birthday and they placed rose pedals on the table. Really romantic spot with great food.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Very good food and very good service. Upscale without being pretensious

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 11, 2017

We went out for a family meal for my wife's birthday and the whole experience was amazing. Great staff service, outstanding food quality and wine list. We tried the venison medallions, duck and ribeye, all of them excellent.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Authentic, Healthy, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Service was first rate-our server was knowledgeable about menu and his recommendations were spot on-sommelier knew his juice! Food was excellent-next time we're in SB we'll make a point to go back

Tags: Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on March 9, 2017

We have never been disappointed at Bouchon. It is our go-to restaurant when we visit Santa Barbara.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Casual, Molecular Gastronomy, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Got the duck and the lamb. Both were good, but it wasn't mind-blowing. With that said, dessert was amazing. The blood orange tart was so so good, it changed my mind about the whole meal. I think there was a movie quote about how dessert always steals the show of a meal, and this was probably the first time I've felt that way. The tartness of the orange tart prevents you from feeling sick and the coconut sorbet on the side was so refreshing as well. I want to just go there for this dessert, everything else was alright. Service was wonderful though.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 6, 2017

Bouchon is one of the finest restaurants anywhere. Their food and service is over-the-top every time we eat there (2 or 3 times a year).

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Authentic, Romantic, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Bouchon is one of the gastronomic delights in Santa Barbara. They present a creative menu selection with locally grown vegetables and an extensive wine list. Standards such as herb-baked wild salmon and filet mignon are beautifully presented. The ambiance is warm and romantic with a large display of tiered candles. The servers are knowledgeable and helpful. Would definitely recommend to anyone wishing to dine out in style in Santa Barbara.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Disabled Access, Creative Cuisine, Private Room, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Lovely restaurant, great service and really really wonderful collection of local wines.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on March 3, 2017

The food was outstanding, truly some of the best food in Santa Barbara. Prepared superbly and presented beautifully. Authentic, rustic French onion soup and the best salmon I've ever tasted!

Tags: Business Meals, Authentic, Seasonal, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on March 2, 2017

The Bouchon has quickly become our favorite date night restaurant in Santa Barbara. Elegant food presentation and exceptional service. The price is very reasonable for the meal and experience.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on March 2, 2017

Had another excellent meal at Bouchon. The service was very attentive and friendly. Great spot for an early evening meal. Excellent menu choices and locally sourced! Will go back again to try another item on the menu! Dessert was perfect.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 28, 2017

too much food in orders. uninterested wait staff. food ok.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 27, 2017

We love dining at Bouchon. We had family visiting, and it was our first choice for a very special evening -- great food and service, and a lovely way to show off Santa Barbara.

Thank you for our lovely dinner.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Excellent meal. Service, friendly and attentive without being intrusive.
The trio of scallops is not only incredibly well prepared and delicious, the presentation is a work of art.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Private Room, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 25, 2017

I was a little disappointed in the food, but overall very good. Cauliflower soup was meh and the sea bass was dry.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Forest mushroom ragout - outstanding
little gem and pink lady apple salad - outstanding
fresh local sea bass, rack of lamb - outstanding
creme brûlée - you guessed it

Of the dozen or so dinner dining experiences we've had thus far, this is my choice as Santa Barbara's best restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 21, 2017

It was our fifth time here and the restaurant did not disappoint. Everything was quite tasty!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 21, 2017

An excellent experience from start to finish. We were treated like old friends upon our arrival. The menu selection was just right and we enjoyed every minute.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Food was amazing. We got the scallops which were delicious and also the yellowfin tuna

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 20, 2017

The food is heavenly delicious. We had scallop trio for appetizer and maple-glazed duck breast for main course. Both were cooked to perfection. The service is just as it should be: very attentive yet unintrusive. My wife and I both thought that it was our best dining experience in California in 3 years that we live here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 20, 2017

The food and atmosphere as well as our server were great. The only issue was when seated at the 2 person table we were very close to other 2 seater customers. Typically this is fine but we had a fairly rude couple next to us who were vegetarians and were verbally horrified at our lamb chops and steak. They stared and commented to each other about us eating meat. Luckily we could laugh at them and continue our delicious meal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Really creative cuisine with presented exquisitely. Fabulous chef. The waiter was knowledgeable about the wines. The owner, Mitchell, was wonderful as well.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Private Room, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Paleo Friendly, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Great dinner before show at Arlington theater. Walking distance from parking and theater. A bit pricey but so is Santa Barbra

Tags: Open Kitchen, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Private Room, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Amazing food and service! What a great setting on a very rainy evening in Santa Barbara. We had the scallops and they may have been the best we ever had. We will certainly return to this gem of a restaurant!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.