About Bouchon - Santa Barbara

9 West Victoria St.
Santa Barbara, CA 93101
View Larger Map

Fresh, local ingredients, prepared with care. Excellent wines that reflect the quality and character of our region and work in concert with the cuisine. Warm, inviting ambiance, service at a relaxed, leisurely pace.
Santa Barbara ‘Wine Country Cuisine’ means we source our ingredients using an ‘as-fresh-and-as-local-as-possible’ approach, with fish from the Santa Barbara Channel and produce from the surrounding countryside. We then take into account how these flavors can be presented in concert with our local wines. I believe you’ll taste the difference and see how well they work together.
We believe Santa Barbara is producing some of the finest Chardonnay, Pinot Noir and Syrah. Other locally produced varietals will surprise you with their quality, variety and approachability. Please ask your server for recommendations on how any of our 40+ wines by the glass match up with your selections. Bon Appètit!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Californian, French

Hours of Operation:
Dinner nightly from 5:00 p.m.

Cross Street:
State

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(805) 730-1160

Website:
http://www.bouchonsantabarbara.com/

Parking Details:
Street and public lot parking available.

Executive Chef:
Greg Murphy

Private Party Facilities:
Private dining in the cork room available for groups of 10 – 20 people.

Private Party Contact:
Manager: 805-730-1160x

Additional:
Beer, Farm to Table, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
HOLIDAY EVENTS: Price fixe menus for Thanksgiving, Christmas Eve, Christmas Dinner, New Years Eve and Valentines Dinner

Restaurant Photos

Bouchon - Santa Barbara
Bouchon - Santa Barbara
Bouchon - Santa Barbara
Bouchon - Santa Barbara
Duck Medallions
Veal
Lamb
Crab Cakes
Bread
Pan-Seared Venison
Lane Farms White Corn Puree Soup
Maple-Glazed California Duck Breast And Confit Of Thigh
Lemon-Blueberry Upside Down Cake
Mixed organic greens salad, fresh peaches, Marcona almonds, herbed goat cheese
Grilled New York Strip
Maple Glazed Duck Breast And Confit Duck Leg With Succotash
Chocolate Lava Cake
Waygu Corned Beef Appetizer And Montecito Salad
Chocolate Chip Cookie Bread Pudding With Mcconnells Vanilla Ice Cream
Wild Seabass
Molten Chocolate Cake
Pork Belly
Duck
Seared Yellowfin Tuna
Foie Gras W/ Berry Coulis
Grilled Flat Iron Wagyu Steak
Seared Scallops Trio
Roasted Chicken
Scallops trio - caramelized endive, fennel watercress salad, grapefuirt maramalade; ciabatta crouton, asparagus, gribiche; confit of red onion risotto, olives
Lyonnaise Salad
White Corn Soup
Blueberry-Lemon Upside-Down Cake
Iced tea
Grilled Waygu Flat Iron Steak
Chicken And Bacon Chive Waffles
French Onion Soup
Duck Confit
Lobster Pot Pie
Dungeness Crabcakes
Lemon Curd And Meyers Lemon Bread Pudding With Sweet Cream Ice Cream
Pan Seared Fois Gras With Berries Coulis And Quail Egg
Braised Short Ribs
Heirloom Tomato Salad
Mushroom And Spinach Salad
Chicken

Bouchon - Santa Barbara Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
California Central Coast
Best Food
California Central Coast
Best Value
California Central Coast
13 More
Notable Wine List
California Central Coast
Californian
California Central Coast
Most Booked
California Central Coast
Best Overall
Santa Barbara
Best Food
Santa Barbara
Best Service
Santa Barbara
Best Ambiance
Santa Barbara
Best Value
Santa Barbara
Notable Wine List
Santa Barbara
Romantic
Santa Barbara
Special Occasion
Santa Barbara
Californian
Santa Barbara
Most Booked
Santa Barbara
Best Restaurants in Santa Barbara ›

fit for foodies (135)
special occasion (135)
romantic (124)
See All
notable wine list (110)
neighborhood gem (67)
great for outdoor dining (28)
hot spot (23)
good for groups (21)
late-night find (7)
great for lunch (4)
kid-friendly (4)
great for brunch (4)
scenic view (2)
vibrant bar scene (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1872 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Excellent dinner and impeccable service. ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined 5 days ago

Excellent dinner and impeccable service. Thanks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

Excellent , Food was perfect.

vip
 (Central Coast)
·Dined 6 days ago

Excellent , Food was perfect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Food was good, service was great. We had ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Food was good, service was great. We had big expectations but were a bit disappointed with the value of our plates; prices are quite high for what you get. Nice staff and ambiance, the goat cheese and pecan tarte and the crème brûlée were excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

My wife and I have eaten around the worl ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

My wife and I have eaten around the world and this was one of our top 3 restaurants in the world! Go!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I just came back from 7 days ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

My wife and I just came back from 7 days in Santa Barbara. Lots of good restaurants. I would put Bouchon at the very top of my list. It was all around excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

fantastic spot. great for a date or any ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

fantastic spot. great for a date or any special occasion. wait staff was friendly and their service style was very helpful getting the most from the menu.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Bouchon never disappoints. It is a deli ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Bouchon never disappoints. It is a delightful dining experience to be savored.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food. Generous portions. Great ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Excellent food. Generous portions. Great service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The best restaurant in Santa Barbara. If ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

The best restaurant in Santa Barbara. If there is a better one, we have not been there. The food is off the hook (I had the pork chop...crazy good) The atmosphere is classy without being stuffy, energetic, but not loud. Our server, Dave, was outstanding. Personable, knowledgeable, and very observant of what his patrons want. We have been twice, and will return. Also, re: $ my entree was $29, the meal was so good, I considered it a bargain.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Bouchon is a gem. Outstanding food serve ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Bouchon is a gem. Outstanding food served with a smile. My wife and I were in Santa Barbara for a few days and were looking for a great meal. Someone at our hotel had recommended the restaurant and we were thrilled to be able to get a reservation. The atmosphere is ideal. Service was excellent and the food just exquisite! If you are ever in Santa Barbara, do your taste buds a favor and eat here!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent farm to table ingredients in a ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Excellent farm to table ingredients in a nice environment, though it can be costly.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

WE really enjoyed our meal. It was a sp ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

WE really enjoyed our meal. It was a special occasion and only in Santa Barbara for the night. Could not have picked a more perfect restaurant. Great meal and terrific service!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The best scallops we have ever had. Ever ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

The best scallops we have ever had. Everything we ordered was delicious. My wife had the duck and it was cooked perfectly. I had the pork shank. The sauce was outstanding. We will dine here again for sure.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I took a 10 day trip up t ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

My husband and I took a 10 day trip up the California Coast for our "babymoon" and this was the best meal we had. We sat outdoors on the lovely patio, and the food was fresh, locally sourced, and our server was knowledgeable about the menu and suggested some wine pairings to my husband. A very special spot!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

FANTASTIC! All around top notch. Great a ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

FANTASTIC! All around top notch. Great attention to detail on the food, wine, and pairings. Can't say enough good things.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect representation of California cui ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Perfect representation of California cuisine embracing all that is Santa Barbara. Loved it!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was good. Washroom had no hand soa ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Food was good.

Washroom had no hand soap, which was even more concerning since it was also used by staff (as I found their toothbrushes in the bottom drawer when looking for more soap) and the wallpaper was peeling... washrooms are a great indicator of the general health and sanitation practices of the overall operation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

Some good. Some bad. Started fantast ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Some good. Some bad.

Started fantastic. There was a great welcome for our anniversary. We had great wines recommended from our server to compliment a wonderful 1st course.

Then it went down hill. The entrees were lacking flavor and felt uninspired. Definitely didn't feel summer seasonal. The server took the rest of the evening off. And by the time the check came, our experience had rot to the point that we were ready to leave.

Sadly fell short of expectations and reputation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

First of all, my friends had pre-ordered ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

First of all, my friends had pre-ordered a fantastic bottle of wine as a birthday gift for me and that was sitting on the table with the lovely note, so that started everything off great. I had the salad and the chicken but it is not an ordinary salad and chicken; it was superb! The chicken was moist and juicy and cooked perfectly. It was a great evening!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My wife and I have eaten at Bouchon in t ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

My wife and I have eaten at Bouchon in the past and everything was excellent.

We have not eaten there for the past 4 years due to difficulty getting reservations.

We were very disappointed - way too crowded as they have crammed in too many tables to the point it is difficult to walk between tables. Noise level uncomfortable due to overcrowding.

Felt like the waiter was rushing us in order to turn the table. The food however remained very good

If you are looking for a quiet romantic spot this is no longer the place to go

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

Atmosphere was great, as was the service ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Atmosphere was great, as was the service. The problem was the food. It simply lacked flavor. My wife's cauliflower soup looked great, but it was nearly tasteless and she needed to add salt and pepper just to make it edible. I had a salad with grilled summer fruit, marcona almonds (they were delicious), burrata cheese (tasteless) and a peach vinaigrette (tasteless). My wife was so-so on her salmon entry. I ordered rack of lamb. They were beautifully cooked and could have easily erased the disappointment from the salad. But again, significantly under seasoned. The fava beans and risotto they came with were both excellent. We didn't chance dessert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

From the moment we walked in we loved th ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

From the moment we walked in we loved this place. The evening was perfect, great server and wonderful food. My husband loved the fois gras and we both enjoyed the fish. Joaquin was especially helpful in selecting wine. Just wish this was closer to where we live.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

So excited my husband I land I could hav ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

So excited my husband I land I could have another date night there. Found out that you had my hubby's wine (Brander Sauv Blanc Mesa Verde). Food is amazing and service great! We'll be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing evening at Bouchon! Delicious fo ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Amazing evening at Bouchon! Delicious food & wine plus attentive service.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The ambiance waslovely and the food was ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

The ambiance waslovely and the food was scrumptious. ServerJoaquin was the best waiter we ever encountered. A five star restaurant

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Two couples (both of whom have travel ex ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Two couples (both of whom have travel extensively in this country Europe and elsewhere) get-together for several days of gourmet dining in Santa Barbara. This was our third dinner and by far the best. Everyone loved their choices and would gladly have gone back a second night as there were other menu choices each of us would have liked to try. Many of the menu items were somewhat unusual. The wine list, while overly oriented towards the local areas wines and overly young, included many choices within these limitations at good prices. Service was prompt and attentive. We were very happy.

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our second visit to Bouchon was equally ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Our second visit to Bouchon was equally as outstanding as our first.

What we ordered: Crab Cakes - heavy on the crab, good crunch on the outside, lovely sauce

Organic Mixed Greens Salad - delicious salad - you rarely see Burrata in a salad and the Marcona Almonds added a great flavor

Rack of Lamb - cooked to perfection, yum!

Herbes de Provence crusted Ahi - I loved this dish. There were so many great flavors on one plate - sweet (sauce) - savory, (the ahi), salty (Olives), tart - (tomatoes) - simply delicious!

Expensive but so worth it - the service is great, the decor charming and the experience was just excellent overall.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very nice and knowledgeable staff. Was t ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Very nice and knowledgeable staff. Was there with my girlfriend for a special occasion dinner and were well taken care of. Sommelier went beyond to give us info and hints about visiting the wine country. Good was delicious, we had the scallop trio and sweet foie gras. Outside seating is very romantic. Would definitely return when back in town. Thanks to the team.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic ambiance, service, meal and wi ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Fantastic ambiance, service, meal and wine list

Highly recommend

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Gave it just the 4 stars for 'overall' e ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Gave it just the 4 stars for 'overall' experience as the atmosphere is a bit outdated and rustic. However, the food was incredible and service was spot on. I would recommend and definitely return when I'm in the area.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Bathroom facilities were not very nice. ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Bathroom facilities were not very nice. Everything else was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The service and the atmosphere were fant ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

The service and the atmosphere were fantastic, as were the desserts, port and vino. My chicken was dry and my husband's sea bass was also over cooked. Otherwise, it was lovely!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

This was our second time visiting Boucho ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

This was our second time visiting Bouchon. The scallop appetizer is worth every penny and our meals were delicious as well. Can't wait to go back!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had our 45 wedding anniversary dinner ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

We had our 45 wedding anniversary dinner there!!!!!!!!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Want to feel special? Enjoy superb cuisi ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Want to feel special? Enjoy superb cuisine and wine? Think Bouchon! Bouchon est magnifique! We enjoyed a special dinner for our 57th anniversary and were attended to with the utmost professionalism and caring. We have been here before and return regularly for those "special occasions" when we desire cuisine with class. Our waiter, Joaquin, was absolutely the best! His sensitivity to our wine desire provided us an excellent choice. His recommendations of menu choices and attention to us throughout the entire meal was superb! Throughout the evening, as he always does for his patrons, the proprietor showed us his special courtesy and attention making certain we were completely satisfied.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious and kid approved - the good is ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Delicious and kid approved - the good is consistently flavorful and well presented. Blueberry upside down cake and ice cream are not to be missed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food and staff at Bouchon were great ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

The food and staff at Bouchon were great. Me and my wife went there for our 1st wedding anniversary and we were treated to a wonderful evening. The staff and management went out of their way to congratulate us on our special occasion, and the food was beautifully prepared and delicious.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Probably the best French Restaurant expe ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Probably the best French Restaurant experience I have ever had. While expensive, the quality and value were amazing. Will definitly come back again for a special occasion.

Tags: romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I came to Bouchon for our we ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

My wife and I came to Bouchon for our wedding anniversary. We wanted very much to like the place, and it was good. But for the price and after reading so many very favorable reviews, we thought it should have been better.

The table itself was very nicely decorated with fresh rose petals, and we received a personalized card of congratulations. The presentation of the dishes was very good, in the case of the scallops even beautiful.

But the food itself was, at best, just a little better than average. We shared the scallops, very delicious in themselves, but prepared with sauces and greens that did little to enhance them. I ate the "savory" foie gras, and it was sorely disappointing, with not much more flavor than is offered by the oil in which it was allegedly seared. We also had the duck breast, which was recommended by the waiter as one of the signature dishes, and it, too, was not above average, the skin not crispy, the flesh not especially succulent.

The service was good but, again, not excellent. I was unpleasantly surprised to see the wine served in smallish and ill-shaped glasses, especially as Bouchon is famed for its wine list. Our waiter was eager to please, but his knowledge of the food and wine contributed little to our pleasure.

I should say that my wife and I have enjoyed meals in some of the best restaurants in San Francisco, including Chez Panisse, Fleur de Lys, and Boulevard, so maybe our standards are inappropriate.

Tags: good for groups, romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Bouchon consistently delivers fine dinin ...

vip
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Bouchon consistently delivers fine dining and great service. They are constantly mixing up their menu with new selections and ideas, and even regular selections like the scallop trio undergo changes to explore and enjoy. (That trio makes an excellent entree, by the way.) Management and staff always bend over backwards to ensure an enjoyable experience. Highly-recommended.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.