About Bouchon - Santa Barbara

9 West Victoria St.
Santa Barbara, CA 93101
View Larger Map

Fresh, local ingredients, prepared with care. Excellent wines that reflect the quality and character of our region and work in concert with the cuisine. Warm, inviting ambiance, service at a relaxed, leisurely pace.
Santa Barbara ‘Wine Country Cuisine’ means we source our ingredients using an ‘as-fresh-and-as-local-as-possible’ approach, with fish from the Santa Barbara Channel and produce from the surrounding countryside. We then take into account how these flavors can be presented in concert with our local wines. I believe you’ll taste the difference and see how well they work together.
We believe Santa Barbara is producing some of the finest Chardonnay, Pinot Noir and Syrah. Other locally produced varietals will surprise you with their quality, variety and approachability. Please ask your server for recommendations on how any of our 40+ wines by the glass match up with your selections. Bon Appètit!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Californian, French

Hours of Operation:
Dinner nightly from 5:00 p.m.

Cross Street:
State

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(805) 730-1160

Website:
http://www.bouchonsantabarbara.com/

Parking Details:
Street and public lot parking available.

Executive Chef:
Greg Murphy

Private Party Facilities:
Private dining in the cork room available for groups of 10 – 20 people.

Private Party Contact:
Manager: 805-730-1160x

Additional:
Beer, Farm to Table, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
HOLIDAY EVENTS: Price fixe menus for Thanksgiving, Christmas Eve, Christmas Dinner, New Years Eve and Valentines Dinner

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Duck Medallions - Bouchon - Santa Barbara, Santa Barbara, CA
Veal - Bouchon - Santa Barbara, Santa Barbara, CA
Crab Cakes - Bouchon - Santa Barbara, Santa Barbara, CA
Bread - Bouchon - Santa Barbara, Santa Barbara, CA
Pan-Seared Venison - Bouchon - Santa Barbara, Santa Barbara, CA
Lane Farms White Corn Puree Soup - Bouchon - Santa Barbara, Santa Barbara, CA
Maple-Glazed California Duck Breast And Confit Of Thigh - Bouchon - Santa Barbara, Santa Barbara, CA
Lemon-Blueberry Upside Down Cake - Bouchon - Santa Barbara, Santa Barbara, CA
Mixed organic greens salad, fresh peaches, Marcona almonds, herbed goat cheese - Bouchon - Santa Barbara, Santa Barbara, CA
Maple Glazed Duck Breast And Confit Duck Leg With Succotash - Bouchon - Santa Barbara, Santa Barbara, CA
Grilled New York Strip - Bouchon - Santa Barbara, Santa Barbara, CA
Chocolate Lava Cake - Bouchon - Santa Barbara, Santa Barbara, CA
Wild Seabass - Bouchon - Santa Barbara, Santa Barbara, CA
Waygu Corned Beef Appetizer And Montecito Salad - Bouchon - Santa Barbara, Santa Barbara, CA
Chocolate Chip Cookie Bread Pudding With Mcconnells Vanilla Ice Cream - Bouchon - Santa Barbara, Santa Barbara, CA
Molten Chocolate Cake - Bouchon - Santa Barbara, Santa Barbara, CA
Pork Belly - Bouchon - Santa Barbara, Santa Barbara, CA
Duck - Bouchon - Santa Barbara, Santa Barbara, CA
Seared Yellowfin Tuna - Bouchon - Santa Barbara, Santa Barbara, CA
Seared Scallops Trio - Bouchon - Santa Barbara, Santa Barbara, CA
Foie Gras W/ Berry Coulis - Bouchon - Santa Barbara, Santa Barbara, CA
Grilled Flat Iron Wagyu Steak - Bouchon - Santa Barbara, Santa Barbara, CA
Lamb - Bouchon - Santa Barbara, Santa Barbara, CA
Roasted Chicken - Bouchon - Santa Barbara, Santa Barbara, CA
Scallops trio - caramelized endive, fennel watercress salad, grapefuirt maramalade; ciabatta crouton, asparagus, gribiche; confit of red onion risotto, olives - Bouchon - Santa Barbara, Santa Barbara, CA
Blueberry-Lemon Upside-Down Cake - Bouchon - Santa Barbara, Santa Barbara, CA
Lyonnaise Salad - Bouchon - Santa Barbara, Santa Barbara, CA
White Corn Soup - Bouchon - Santa Barbara, Santa Barbara, CA
Iced tea - Bouchon - Santa Barbara, Santa Barbara, CA
Grilled Waygu Flat Iron Steak - Bouchon - Santa Barbara, Santa Barbara, CA
Chicken And Bacon Chive Waffles - Bouchon - Santa Barbara, Santa Barbara, CA
Duck Confit - Bouchon - Santa Barbara, Santa Barbara, CA
French Onion Soup - Bouchon - Santa Barbara, Santa Barbara, CA
Lobster Pot Pie - Bouchon - Santa Barbara, Santa Barbara, CA
Pan Seared Fois Gras With Berries Coulis And Quail Egg - Bouchon - Santa Barbara, Santa Barbara, CA
Lemon Curd And Meyers Lemon Bread Pudding With Sweet Cream Ice Cream - Bouchon - Santa Barbara, Santa Barbara, CA
Dungeness Crabcakes - Bouchon - Santa Barbara, Santa Barbara, CA
Braised Short Ribs - Bouchon - Santa Barbara, Santa Barbara, CA
Heirloom Tomato Salad - Bouchon - Santa Barbara, Santa Barbara, CA
Mushroom And Spinach Salad - Bouchon - Santa Barbara, Santa Barbara, CA
Chicken - Bouchon - Santa Barbara, Santa Barbara, CA

Bouchon - Santa Barbara Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (63)
Special Occasion (63)
Fit for Foodies (56)
See All
Good for a Date (54)
Notable Wine List (51)
Local Ingredients (51)
Good for Anniversaries (48)
Creative Cuisine (42)
Good for Birthdays (33)
Cozy (33)
Quiet Conversation (26)
Neighborhood Gem (23)
Organic (20)
Authentic (18)
Worth the Drive (18)
Pre/post Theatre (18)
Business Meals (18)
Open Kitchen (17)
Healthy (16)
Great for Outdoor Dining (13)
Seasonal (11)
Fun (10)
Private Room (9)
Casual (6)
Outstanding Value (6)
Good for Groups (6)
Hot Spot (5)
Comfort Food (4)
Modern Decor (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
People Watching (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Historic (2)
Great Beer (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Family Style (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Scenic View (1)
Sort By:
S
2123 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Bouchon is hands down my favorite restra ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined 2 days ago

Bouchon is hands down my favorite restraint in SB. Amazing wine list and food. It was my best friends birthday and they even decorated our table with a card. Thank you Bouchon

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food enjoyed the night

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

Great food enjoyed the night

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The meal and service was really great! I ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 8, 2017

The meal and service was really great! I highly recommend Bouchon for regular dining or a special occation.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Healthy, Good for a Date, Open Kitchen, Authentic, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was of course top notch and the des ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Food was of course top notch and the dessert was exceptional

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I brought someone special here for his b ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 7, 2017

I brought someone special here for his birthday and it couldn't have turned out better. The staff made an obvious, but elegant, effort to make us feel special and bring our romantic dinner to life. One of the best dining experiences I have ever had...it truly exceeded my expectations.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good creative CA food. Large selection o ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Good creative CA food. Large selection of local wines by the glass is great for those wanting to know something about this wine region (Santa Barbara).

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

It is still my favorite restaurant in Sa ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 2, 2017

It is still my favorite restaurant in Santa Barbara because of the quality of the service and food. The service is excellent; it takes no time to get service and a nice bottle of wine opened and poured, unlike San Ysidro Ranch Stone House restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Service was top notch, and food was equa ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Service was top notch, and food was equally as good. Celebrated two seventieth birthdays, and we were treated like royalty. Take your time and savor the experience; great locals date night venue, or equally as fitting for visitors looking for one of Santa Barbara's finest. Enjoy!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful trio Of scallops shared appeti ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Wonderful trio Of scallops shared appetizer with wine pairing. Local sea bass was excellent. Salmon was nothing special, lentils were almost raw. Overall attentive service and pretty venue, food was tasty.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

The food was great although we did order ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The food was great although we did order an appetizer that never came-mentioned it to the waiter he apologized yet didn't offer anything. Overall a nice dinner. As an aside, the restaurant is NOT related to the Buchón in Napa and the food/service reflects that.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We had a wonderful meal at Bouchon. Ever ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We had a wonderful meal at Bouchon. Everything from the Santa Barbara wines to the food was wonderful. We had the trio of scallops, crab cakes, venison and sea bass. The blueberry cake and chocolate lava cake for dessert. Great service too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is a great restaurant and our serv ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 31, 2016

This is a great restaurant and our server Tony was wonderful. The food was excellent and the atmosphere was lovely.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Food, service, wine list all exceptional ...

vip
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Food, service, wine list all exceptional. Highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding! Incredible food, incredibl ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Outstanding! Incredible food, incredible staff, nice ambiance. The very friendly and humorous owner even sang a German song to my husband for his birthday!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were visiting Santa Barbara and had n ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 30, 2016

We were visiting Santa Barbara and had no idea where to eat. As a stroke of luck, I read the reviews for the restaurant, and made reservations. It was excellent. The best scallops I've had in years!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

There is no good wine

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 29, 2016

There is no good wine

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

We had a great date night in SB by reser ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 28, 2016

We had a great date night in SB by reserving a table at Bouchon. Every dish was a treat to eat and we had a relaxing evening. Highly recommend it!

Tags: Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Authentic, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

One of the best meals we have shared in ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 27, 2016

One of the best meals we have shared in a very long time.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Fun, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Terrific restaurant! Wonderful food (th ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Terrific restaurant! Wonderful food (the venison medallions were terrific, as was the onion soup; the ice-creams are to die for), plus an unbelievable local wine list to explore. Definitely a worthwhile destination. Expensive, sure, but given the quality of the food and wine, a better value than others in town.

Treat yourselves!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We went to Bouchon for our anniversary d ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 23, 2016

We went to Bouchon for our anniversary dinner while visiting Santa Barbara. It is a small venue but, well appointed with excellent staff. We were seated quickly upon arrival for our reservation. Food was high quality and tasty. Service was prompt and unobtrusive. Definitely worthwhile if you are in Santa Barbara and enjoy good food.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Un restaurante muy agradable. Lista de v ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Un restaurante muy agradable. Lista de vinos de la región muy completa. Comida y servicio de alta calidad. Una excelente opción en Santa Barbara

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My favorite Santa Barbara restaurant. Th ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on December 22, 2016

My favorite Santa Barbara restaurant. Three of us shared the delicious and varied scallop-trio appetizer. I stuck with my favorite entree, the duck, while my son enjoyed my runner-up, the venison. The sea bass, per my wife, was "good but nothing memorable." Excellent waiter service included a fine pinot recommendation from the extensive wine menu. We sat in the covered area past the entrance and it was plenty warm thanks to the overhead heaters. Looking forward to the next special event.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Authentic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Not a memorable restaurant. Service was ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Not a memorable restaurant. Service wasn't that great and the food was ok, but not what I was expecting for this highly rated restaurant. Maybe tge one in Napa/Yountville is better?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Great food, equally great staff. Informa ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Great food, equally great staff. Informative, helpful, and very personable. The restaurant had great atmosphere and the overall experience was extremely pleasing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

As always, my husband and I had a great ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on December 20, 2016

As always, my husband and I had a great dining experience. The food is top quality and the acoustics are perfectly suited for having a conversation without having to raise our voice.

The service is always exceptional, except this time I felt a bit rushed by the server, other than

that he was quite helpful.

Tags: Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Amazing. Just amazing. Everything we at ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Amazing. Just amazing. Everything we ate from starters to dessert was amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always top notch service, food, and wine ...

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on December 19, 2016

Always top notch service, food, and wine. Triple scallops appetizer was superb.

Tags: People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Really love this place...it's my first r ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 19, 2016

Really love this place...it's my first recommendation when friends ask 'where to eat in SB that's delicious/really nice...

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Private Room, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lamb chip outstanding

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Lamb chip outstanding

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We come thru Santa Barbara once a year a ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on December 16, 2016

We come thru Santa Barbara once a year at Christmas time and we always eat at Bouchon. Difficult to try anywhere else because it is always so delicious.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful meal, gorgeous setting and att ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on December 13, 2016

Wonderful meal, gorgeous setting and attentive staff! We loved every minute of our evening out. This is the place to go for a special evening. Thank you Bouchon!

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food here is always incredible. The 3 sc ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 12, 2016

Food here is always incredible. The 3 scallop taster plate is great to share for 2 people. Bouchon is one of my favorite restaurants in Santa Barbara. I would eat here every week if I could.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Delicious scallop appetizer. Great wine ...

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Delicious scallop appetizer. Great wine. Rib eye steak was a little tough but very tasty. Crispy skin salmon was delicious. Our server was excellent!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

This restaurant is well thought out. The ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on December 8, 2016

This restaurant is well thought out. The staff well trained. The menu eclectic. Food delicious. Wine fine.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I always try to visit this restaurant wh ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 8, 2016

I always try to visit this restaurant when traveling thru Santa Barbara. They never fail to deliver a superior dining experience. The servers are outstanding. Friendly, professional, knowledgeable and well aware of just how much time they need to spend with you, and then remain just out of site. If your server is out of sight, there is always a co worker ready to step in, if you look in need of anything.

Their food is simply prepared to perfection. It is always fresh, and local when possible.

On my last visit I had the Dungenous Crabcake appetizer and the Sea Bass Entre. The server volunteered to explain the difference between the local sea bass and Chilean Sea Bass in the event that I was not familiar with the local fish. Both my appetizer and entre were excellent. We also ordered the Onion Soup followed by the Wagu Rib Eye. Both outstanding and perfectly prepared.

Dessert was the lemon blueberry upside down cake with Mc Connell's blueberry ice cream. It was one of the best desserts I have ever eaten.

You will never go wrong eating here.

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Organic, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A magical night on the brick patio decke ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 6, 2016

A magical night on the brick patio decked with holiday twinkle lights and warm candles. Wine and entrees were outstanding and cooked to perfection! Our waiter was personable and knowledgeable and let us enjoy our dinner with manners and grace. We will be back!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options, Healthy, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We ate at Bouchon to celebrate a special ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 6, 2016

We ate at Bouchon to celebrate a special birthday. We loved it! The service was impeccable. Our waiter Justin saw to our every need. The ambiance (including the Christmas music) was festive and warm. The food was absolutely delicious. I had the Venison (yum!) and my friend, who is a vegetarian, had the Goat cheese and Pecan Tart and an Organic Mixed Green Salad. We each started with a classic French Onion Soup. We loved every bite and were pleasantly surprised by the cost when the bill arrived. We will definitely go back next time we're in Santa Barbara.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have been here for business & date nig ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 4, 2016

I have been here for business & date nights now.

Service is excellent as is the food.

Great local wine list.

Wait staff is very attentive while not rushing things.

Tags: Private Room, Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive, Open Kitchen, Casual, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Good for a Date, Romantic, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Organic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I entertained two friends from abroad wh ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 3, 2016

I entertained two friends from abroad who wanted to dine on French food, and Bouchon

was recommended. -We walked in to a petite room with beautiful decor one might find in a small village in France. The restaurant lived up to expectations, the friendly staff were totally accommodating to non-English patrons who felt very comfortable. My two guests had the incredible Wagyu beef ribeye - I had the scrumptious maple-glazed duck over succotash which I would highly recommend. Great varied appetizers and desserts, and of course a great wine list

representing local wineries.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We went for our anniversary and the food ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 2, 2016

We went for our anniversary and the food was good and the service was excellent. They had a large variety of wine both locally and out of state selection. The server was helpful explaining the different types of wine and pairing with food selection.

Tags: Cozy, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.