Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.24mi
  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.24mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.24mi
  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.24mi

About Bouchon - Santa Barbara

Fresh, local ingredients, prepared with care. Excellent wines that reflect the quality and character of our region and work in concert with the cuisine. Warm, inviting ambiance, service at a relaxed, leisurely pace.
Santa Barbara ‘Wine Country Cuisine’ means we source our ingredients using an ‘as-fresh-and-as-local-as-possible’ approach, with fish from the Santa Barbara Channel and produce from the surrounding countryside. We then take into account how these flavors can be presented in concert with our local wines. I believe you’ll taste the difference and see how well they work together.
We believe Santa Barbara is producing some of the finest Chardonnay, Pinot Noir and Syrah. Other locally produced varietals will surprise you with their quality, variety and approachability. Please ask your server for recommendations on how any of our 40+ wines by the glass match up with your selections. Bon Appètit!

9 West Victoria St.
Santa Barbara, CA 93101
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Californian, French

Hours of Operation:
Dinner nightly from 5:00 p.m.

Cross Street:
State

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(805) 730-1160

Website:
http://www.bouchonsantabarbara.com/

Parking Details:
Street and public lot parking available.

Executive Chef:
Greg Murphy

Private Party Facilities:
Private dining in the cork room available for groups of 10 – 20 people.

Private Party Contact:
Manager: (805) 730-1160

Additional:
Beer, Farm to Table, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
HOLIDAY EVENTS: Price fixe menus for Thanksgiving, Christmas Eve, Christmas Dinner, New Years Eve and Valentines Dinner

Bouchon - Santa Barbara Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Quiet

94% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (66)
Local Ingredients (64)
Romantic (63)
See All
Fit for Foodies (61)
Notable Wine List (61)
Good for a Date (61)
Good for Anniversaries (60)
Creative Cuisine (53)
Good for Birthdays (40)
Neighborhood Gem (39)
Worth the Drive (36)
Authentic (30)
Cozy (28)
Quiet Conversation (24)
Seasonal (21)
Business Meals (17)
Pre/post Theatre (14)
Organic (11)
Casual (9)
Good for Groups (9)
Hot Spot (9)
Great for Outdoor Dining (9)
Tasting Menu (9)
Fun (8)
Comfort Food (7)
People Watching (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Disabled Access (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Great Beer (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Bar Seating (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort By:
S
2396 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 7 days ago

We visited Santa Barbara for a long weekend and included a dinner at Bouchon as we always do. I has the rack of lamb and molten chocolate cake, and my wife had sea bass and a peach crisp. Both entrees were well prepared. The portions were generous. Our server was excellent and served our Chardonnay warm enough that we could enjoy it rather than being numbed by a 40 degree serving temperature. The evening was enhanced by good food and superior service. We will continue to keep Bouchon on our preferred list.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 7 days ago

Boy hon had everything I like in a restaurant; fabulous food, wonderful wine, a waiter who was attentive and who gave great recommendations for food and wine, beautiful atmosphere.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 7 days ago

The reviews on line were excellent. The place was packed (it is small) and there were people waiting for tables. Why? There are so many better restaurants in Santa Barbara. The fish was over cooked and dry. The crab cakes were tasteless goo. The service was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 17, 2017

One my faves in the city. Always a delicious meal. They have some of the best food available in town.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 17, 2017

My date and I visited Bouchon on a Saturday night at 6. It wasn't too busy. Service at Bouchon is a "team effort". The chef delivers dishes, and apparently isn't focused on the food as I will address later. The waiters are distracted and literally running around the restaurant to different groups.

My date and I waited 10-15 minutes before anyone came to take our drink order or offer us water. I finished my first glass of wine, and my glass sat empty for about 10 minutes before I flagged down a waiter (a random waiter)to order another glass. Then I waited 10-15 minutes before that glass arrived.

When I eat at French restaurants, which I do regularly, I order several courses - a starter, an appetizer, the main course, and dessert or a cheese plate to finish. When I began to order, our waiter (one of them) tried several times to dissuade me from ordering what I wished to. He said "the rack of lamb was enough for two people to eat, and he wished he could show me an example on another table". I ordered everything I wanted anyways. None of the portions were overly large - they were normal. I am about 110 pounds, so I am not sure if I looked too small to eat it all???

For the main course, I ordered the "rack" of lamb and was presented with three lamb chops over undersalted rice and undercooked brocolini. There was no rack. Additionally, it was cooked medium well, which is too much for lamb as it was lean. I always order medium rare, but there was no option - the waiter said it was always cooked medium (which it wasn't - it was overcooked). I ate about three bites. I couldn't cut through the meat.

The kitchen is prominent in the restaurant, and when it is beautiful, as this was with the copper finishing, that is normally a nice feature. However the ventilation in the building is very poor which caused the air to be heavy with grease. The air is very still.

The hostess was genuinely friendly and greeted us nicely.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

So - This is a bit of a one-off review. I wasn't actually able to ever eat at Bouchon. We did have reservations, made about 4 weeks early. I had received all confirmation and reminder emails leading up to the night. On the day off I called in to Bouchon to double check our reservation and everything was good to go!
3 hours later when we showed up at the restaurant there was a paper sign stuck to the door saying Power Out - sorry for the inconvenience.
I understand these things happen and there probably wasn't a plan of action to let the people know that the power was out ( on the whole block ).
BUT, seeing how the reservation was made on OpenTable - I would have thought that management at Bouchon would have been able to get in contact with Opentable to get some sort of word out to all those people who made reservations. Perhaps they would have had to had a few hours to make other plans. I was there for my 30th birthday, party of 2. We managed to get in after a lengthy wait at another restaurant. If you had 4 or 5, good luck - 2 hour waits everywhere on a Sat night without Res.
Lastly, I expected to get an email, or a text or even phone call from the restaurant the following day. Unfortunately they did not see that as a logical customer service step.
I have no idea what the food or actual service was like there that night...but I did find a great other place that I would gladly go back to over Bouchon after this unfortunate and mishandled situation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 16, 2017

We love this place. Although we only get here roughly once a year, it always is a terrific experience. Fabulous food, service, great wine combine for a hard-to-beat experience. This time, we had reservations for our anniversary on a Friday. An area wide power outage shut the restaurant for the night. The restaurant manager called on her cell phone to let me know. I mentioned that we’d be happy to come on Saturday if they had room. Because they had no power, she did not know if they would have room. I got a call on Saturday to inform us they could find us a spot that evening. This sort of exceptional experience will keep us coming back forever.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Fun, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, People Watching, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Food/service once inside were great
However, took 20 minutes to be seated despite reservation This compensated for by complementary champagne & dessert

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value2

 
·Dined on September 8, 2017

The first time I came here was an amazing experience...Food was delicious, service was perfect, everyone was so friendly...I can't say the same this time around. Everything was just mediocre, which was very disappointing. For a $96 meal with no alcohol, I could have made a nicer home cooked meal at home for a quarter of the price with alcohol. The tomatoe and goat cheese was average, the chicken was basic, the risotto was slimy, the lamb was tough, didn't seem fresh. While service is everything at a restaurant, outside taste. The service was as mediocre as the food, over salted, basic, not welcoming. Very disappointing.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 7, 2017

The wait staff was superb, the knowledge of accompanying wine choices unmatched and the food is outstanding in taste and presentation. We were there on a week night and glad to have had a reservation. A meal at this restaurant should be a must for everyone with an appetite.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 6, 2017

Went here for my girlfriend's birthday. When we arrived for our reservation our table was decorated with petals and had a little birthday note for her. It definitely made my girlfriend feel special. Overall, It was a great experience filled with delicious food and fantastic customer service!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Great Beer, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 6, 2017

Always an excellent dining experience at Bouchon. We have been coming here for nearly 15 years and still appreciate the delicious, well executed food and attentive service. Extensive local wine list is a plus!

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 4, 2017

I had high hopes for Bouchon, but unfortunately they failed to deliver. It was sweltering hot inside, just fans on everywhere. Our Wagyu steak was so hard I couldn't cut through it, my husband had to do it for me (i'm a strong girl), not to mention came with bacon the first time around (which we specifically requested it without). When you get wagyu, you expect a soft and moist cut. It was thin and hard.

We didn't get bread like everyone else and had to request it after 20 mins. The Fois was great, but the crostini it was served on was extremely buttery and overpowering. This was a common trend in the food, items weren't paired well.

All in all, the sheer excitement I had for Bouchon Santa Barbara was sadly deflated.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service5
value1

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Great anniversary dinner! Aaron was a terrific waiter! Thanks for keeping us cool!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on September 3, 2017

No AC in main area. Later found side room with AC was available and we were not seated there even after asking about AC. waiter surly. Food overpriced. Lower end wines pathetic. Even basic bistros in Provence will beat this old has been place. Wasted $200.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 1, 2017

Thanks to all the staff at Bouchon for a lovely Anniversary dinner. They helped make it a truly memorable occasion. Excellent food, the venison was a stand out. The matching wine perfect and the pours generous. Overall excellent service and we will certainly be back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on August 28, 2017

Wonderful service and food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 26, 2017

The crab cakes were out of this world

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on August 26, 2017

We took a chance on the reviews, and were happy we did. We appreciated the fact so much effort was made to base the food offered on local seasonal produce. Our sommelier was knowledgeable, but not pushy. He cautioned our choice of a syrah blend might overpower one of the dishes offered that evening, but allowed that it would serve the other dishes well. Overall, we were pleased that we could truly enjoy a nice meal for our anniversary. The staff were all personable, accessible, and a pleasure to interact with. We were so busy enjoying our meal and each other, we failed utterly to take any photos of the food, but it was ALL outstanding. Thank You, Bouchon!

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Organic, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Tahoe)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Great food in Santa Barbara in an intimate setting. Despite close tables, sound was reduced by ceiling and wall coverings. Received a personal note from the owner and chef and rose petals on arrival for our 38th wedding anniversary. Both seafood dishes were perfectly done and service was personal and timely.
We'll go back next time in SB.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Always eat here when staying in SB. Never disappoints. My steak was absolutely incredible. Scallops are always interesting and delicious. Can't miss here. Love this restaurant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 25, 2017

By far the best meal we had in Santa Barbara. The restaurant is quiet enough to carry on a civil conversation. Wonderful experience!

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on August 25, 2017

This was our second time at Bouchon and unfortunately it was not anywhere as good as the first time. We arrived at 5:50 for our 6 pm reservation and were seated immediately. Our server, a younger guy asked if we'd be here before, so he skipped the intro. We ordered a Siduri Pinot which appeared to be out of stock but gave us a higher priced Siduri for the same price. We ordered the rack of lamb and the duck for entrees and they were both satisfactory but not great. The bad part was that it took 45 minutes to be served the two entrees. When we inquired of our server he said "oh, that always happens when the restaurant gets busy". He never came around during those 45 minutes, never poured the wine. He kept running to the kitchen to check on items coming out late, but never returned to our table to check on us or let us know the status of our meal. We had the blueberry upside down cake for dessert which was changed somewhat and was now served with a marionberry vs. blueberry and it was not great. We will not be back to Bouchon when there are so many other options.

Tags: Seasonal, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 25, 2017

Truly a special occasion place, premised on innovative takes on local produce and wine. The food was exceptionally nuanced, from the roasted piquillo peppers to the tangy blackberry-lemon upside-down cake. The walls are cork (Bouchon means 'wine cork'), which muffled sound and keeps the venue intimate despite the closely spaced tables.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on August 25, 2017

Always a lovely time at Bouchon. The food is fresh and delicious, service attentive and the atmosphere cozy and sophisticated. A must do in Santa Barbara.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 24, 2017

We are SB locals and have dined here often. While the dishes were cooked perfect, scallops and crab cake, the sauces/accompaniments didn't work. We both wanted different sauces.

Tags: Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 24, 2017

Was just wonderful!! This was our third visit to Santa Barbara and our third visit to Bouchon. Love it and will continue to go back:)

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Organic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on August 24, 2017

Our favorite restaurant in Santa Barbara, and one of the top five favorites anywhere. We've eaten there on every trip to SB since the first time we tried it, and on our last two trips we ate there the first and last nights of the visit. Great food: inventive combinations, fresh local ingredients, consistently excellent. A little pricy, I suppose, but well worth it if you like great food.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on August 23, 2017

Excellently prepared dishes. Server knew all the details so we could make great choices. Love the outdoor enclosed seating. Superb!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on August 20, 2017

First time there today. Highly negative experience. Here's why. Ordered Ahi Tuna for main course. The quinoa crust was overcooked to the solid sand firmness and texture. Fractured my tooth chewing on that quinoa - that's how badly overcooked it was! Even though our waiter (Louis) was nice and courteous the food turned out to be a complete disaster. Do not go there, but if you still dare - definitely don't order the ahi tuna, which will likely turn into a $1.4K dental job.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on August 20, 2017

We had a great dinner. Local wine prices were reasonable. At a table for five we had venison, salmon, duck, and ahi. Everyone was very pleased with their meal. First courses were delicious as was dessert. I was very impressed-I'm a local. Service was good and not too much. Would recommend this for any occasion. The only small criticism was noise level was a little much for the middle aged hearing impaired.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 19, 2017

This is easily the best restaurant in Santa Barbara. The food, service, and atmosphere are perfect. We have dined here for years and have never been disappointed. Excellent wine list too!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Healthy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 16, 2017

One of my favorite restaurants in Santa Barbara. While it is a bit meat-centric, the local seabass was excellent as was the duck. The service is always great.

Tags: Business Meals, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 15, 2017

The food is great, the staff attentive, the setting lovely. All around a great place for a special dinner

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 14, 2017

Excellent Meal. Everything was PERFECT.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 11, 2017

I enjoy visiting Boucher every time we are in Santa Barbara; the food is excellent and the service is always impecable. The wine list highlights the region which is fun and I have never been misled by the staff. Always a great meal and this time was no exception.

Tags: Cozy, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Great meal and experience. Restaurant was a little warm.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 9, 2017

Once again we enjoyed an absolutely incredible dinner @ Bouchon!
The heirloom tomato & watermelon salad was a refreshing starter for the warm summer evening which was followed by the unctuous Dungeness Crab cakes. Both entrees (duck w/ roasted corn & fresh fave succatish; and rack of lamb on a bed of Swiss chard & risotto) were cooked to perfection.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on August 9, 2017

Celebrated our wedding anniversary and the restaurant management went out of their way to acknowledge us. We felt special from the moment we took a seat. The service was extremely attentive. The food was remarkable for every course. The wines were plentiful and priced right. We had a terrific experience. Don't hesitate. Book the table

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 9, 2017

We had a delightful dinner and my wife was elated with "the best restaurant meal she has ever had" bar none.

We were celebrating our 48th wedding anniversary so we were delighted with the service, food, and ambiance.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.