Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.24mi
  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.24mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.24mi
  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.24mi

About Bouchon - Santa Barbara

Fresh, local ingredients, prepared with care. Excellent wines that reflect the quality and character of our region and work in concert with the cuisine. Warm, inviting ambiance, service at a relaxed, leisurely pace.
Santa Barbara ‘Wine Country Cuisine’ means we source our ingredients using an ‘as-fresh-and-as-local-as-possible’ approach, with fish from the Santa Barbara Channel and produce from the surrounding countryside. We then take into account how these flavors can be presented in concert with our local wines. I believe you’ll taste the difference and see how well they work together.
We believe Santa Barbara is producing some of the finest Chardonnay, Pinot Noir and Syrah. Other locally produced varietals will surprise you with their quality, variety and approachability. Please ask your server for recommendations on how any of our 40+ wines by the glass match up with your selections. Bon Appètit!

9 West Victoria St.
Santa Barbara, CA 93101
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Californian, French

Hours of Operation:
Dinner nightly from 5:00 p.m.

Cross Street:
State

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(805) 730-1160

Website:
http://www.bouchonsantabarbara.com/

Parking Details:
Street and public lot parking available.

Executive Chef:
Greg Murphy

Private Party Facilities:
Private dining in the cork room available for groups of 10 – 20 people.

Private Party Contact:
Manager: (805) 730-1160

Additional:
Beer, Farm to Table, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
HOLIDAY EVENTS: Price fixe menus for Thanksgiving, Christmas Eve, Christmas Dinner, New Years Eve and Valentines Dinner

Bouchon - Santa Barbara Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.6

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (68)
Special Occasion (68)
Good for Anniversaries (66)
See All
Notable Wine List (65)
Good for a Date (63)
Local Ingredients (53)
Fit for Foodies (51)
Creative Cuisine (46)
Neighborhood Gem (37)
Cozy (36)
Quiet Conversation (32)
Good for Birthdays (29)
Worth the Drive (27)
Authentic (26)
Pre/post Theatre (24)
Business Meals (23)
Open Kitchen (15)
Seasonal (13)
Great for Outdoor Dining (13)
Private Room (12)
Healthy (12)
Fun (10)
Organic (10)
Casual (7)
Comfort Food (6)
Hot Spot (6)
Modern Decor (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Historic (4)
People Watching (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Disabled Access (3)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Scenic View (1)
Fireplace (1)
Family Style (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Waterfront (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Vegan (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
2232 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 2 days ago

Hospitality was superb. Great selection of food and wine. Would highly recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 4 days ago

Food and wine we're fantastic, loved the scallop trio

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 4 days ago

Ok, but didn't deserve the excellent reviews that are on this site. Appetizer was very good. Entre, Rack of lamb, wasn't what I expect in a highly rated restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

Excellent service, went out of their way to help us move a booking. Knowledgable staff, and great food and wine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 17, 2017

Great service(Louie), delicious food! Chicken was so good! Salad was great too! Dessert was outstanding! (Blueberry cake).

Tags: Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Healthy, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We're from Orange County and this was a great find. Excellent on all areas.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 11, 2017

Selected Bouchon for anniversary dinner while visiting Santa Barbara. All local wines featured on the wine list, also locally sourced foods. We had the ahi tuna, which was great!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 11, 2017

Nice menu selections - both local & global wine selections - attentive service - special birthday celebration - when I tried to pay the bill by slipping my credit card to the waiter he did not embarrass me with a fuss - he handed it back to me when he brought the bill to the table & gave it to the guest who had given him a card first - all gracious & professional -

Tags: Fun, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Historic, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on April 11, 2017

Hostess was very sweet. Congratulated us on our anniversary. Rose petals on the table. server was attentive and knowledgeable. Overall great experience.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 10, 2017

We dined at Bouchon - Santa Barbara for a special occasion, and the restaurant did not disappoint. The ambiance is lovely and low-key, and service was attentive without hovering too much. The farm-to-table approach results in delicious locally sourced fare, while wine recommendations were perfectly paired with our meal. I would definitely recommend Bouchon to others looking for a lovely meal in Santa Barbara.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 9, 2017

We loved the food and service. The staff was very helpful and engaged throughout the evening. The recommended wine pairings with the food was a nice touch and introduced us to a lovely Sta. Rita Hills wine. A really great evening out to celebrate our anniversary.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Amazing meal and great service. Highly recommend!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on April 8, 2017

With the exception of the extremely loud, drunk, obnoxious women seated next to me who either could not or would not stop delivering expletives that would make a sailor blush it was a very enjoyable experience. Had she been there 5 more minutes I would have insisted to be moved. Of course the management can't control the language of their patrons. I don't know who she was but what a disgrace to the female population. With that said the food was WONDERFUL and the service was OUTSTANDING. I loved it and would return again.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 8, 2017

The food, service and ambience was wonderful. The bread was so good I'm still craving it. Everything was wonderful

Tags: Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Great food. Wonderful service. Our waiter Joaquin read our OpenTable request for a gluten free meal and gave us several options or substitutions. He also recommended an excellent bottle of local Pinot. Had a great meal and will go back on our next trip to Santa Barbara.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Great night!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 3, 2017

Only thing better than the food was the staff & service. Outstanding experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Bouchon is always amazing. We had the Wagyu Ribeye, Lamb Chops and the Pork Shank...all were absolutely spectacular.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on April 2, 2017

One of the top restaurants in Santa Barbara. Food quality was outstanding. The dinner was for a birthday celebration and the staff did everything to make it memorable. Thank you.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Special Occasion, Casual, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Food and service were absolutely amazing. Head chef served us main course and was very friendly. This is a great place and highly recommended.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Fantastic! A memorable experience! Will return next time in Santa Barbara.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 31, 2017

I love it!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 30, 2017

21st wedding anniversary and we were greeted with our table full of rose petals. The meal was outstanding and the service was top notch! We will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on March 30, 2017

Great place for a special meal. Excellent dishes and good service.

Tags: Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Disabled Access, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 27, 2017

Bouchon was excellent for an anniversary dinner. Reservation at 7:30 the day before, so it gets busy, but not too crazy. We were seated immediately upon arriving, and waiting service was prompt. The french onion soup was excellent, as was the complimentary bread and butter. My fiancee had the duck, and I had the venison (medium rare). Both had excellent flavor, and we both ended up finishing our dinners with only a small portion left (no room for appetizers or dessert). Price was reasonable for the quality and quantity of food. Would definitely go back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on March 27, 2017

They asked if it was a special occasion and when the learned it was a proposal celebration they made the table beautiful and had a chilled bottle of champs waiting❤❤❤

Tags: Cozy, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Had a wonderful dinner at Bouchon. It was my husbands birthday and they went out of their way to make it a special time. The scallop and crab cake appetizers were our favorite part. So good! It is on the higher priced side, but worth it for a special occasion.

Tags: Authentic, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Beautiful dining! Thank you for the experience. I will be back for the duck and toasted table bread. After meal cappuccino and lemon cake with blueberries we're both unforgettable.

Tags: Romantic, Business Meals, Afternoon Coffee, Kid-friendly, Open Kitchen, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 24, 2017

We had an absolutely lovely meal here. Everything was wonderful! Would highly recommend.

Tags: Late-night Find, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 22, 2017

This was our second time celebrating our anniversary and it was wonderful. They placed red camellia pedals on the table, a personal card and poured us a complimentary glass of rose brut, right after we sat down! The food is amazing! We plan to continue our tradition next year!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Paleo Friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 22, 2017

Not impressed. The food was mediocre at best and the price tag sure made it worse. Pretty good service except for the guy who tried to say the date on our cheese plate was a cracker.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on March 21, 2017

We had a great experience! They were able to accommodate a slip in our reaeveration schedule and when we arrive Tony took great care of us. I had one guest who is a vegetarian and when looking at the menu, there were no immediate vegetarian options listed. When I spoke to Tony about that, he assured us the chef will make a custom meal based on likes/dislikes/allergies so every person with vegetarian needs ends up with a one of a kind meal. The wine options are a plenty and they offer pairing options based on your meals. Everyone was very satisfied with their meals and we'll definitely go back!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Vegan, Creative Cuisine, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 21, 2017

Hidden gem for an intimate dining experience. Greeted by the Chef we were seated and served in a very European and personal way. Like dining with an old friend we just met. A birthday experience that was quiet and friendly. We will definately return when we stay in SB again ! C&H

Tags: Open Kitchen, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on March 20, 2017

Wonderful farm to table experience. Nice menu choices and wine pairing suggestions. The flavors were wonderful and we look forward to a return visit. Thank you!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Organic, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 19, 2017

A restaurant is a lot of moving pieces and for a restaurant to be great, everything must on point. I expected that from Bouchon, but the service came up short as did the meal. We asked the server to recommend an appetizer, wine, and main dishes and he was insipid, or "wishy washy" about it all and unfortunately so was the meal. The location, look, and feel of the restaurant provide and amazing atmosphere. The owners stopped by the table and they were charming and pleasant. The dishes get an "A" for presentation. The taste of the meals leave something to be desired. The food was bland, when it needed to be bold. We had the Sea Scallops and Roasted Bone Marrow for an appetizer. The Lyonnaise Salad along with the Ribeye, the venison medallions, the pork shank and the medallions. At the end of the night, it was the bottle of Ken Brown Pinot Noir that impressed me the most. I hope that the servers and the chef here will go for greatness in the future, instead of resting on presentation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Engagement!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Wonderful meal and service yet again. Never disappointed. At that's tough to do with me!

Tags: People Watching, Fun, Private Room, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on March 18, 2017

The food and service were exceptional. When I go out for a meal that will run over 200/2people I want to know where that money went and it was absolutely clear what I was getting at Bouchon. The presentation, the flavor and texture combinations, the ingredient sourcing, and the preparation of the meal was exceptional. What really made the evening was the service. We selected wine based on the suggested pairing for our appetizer, a local white. Our server was knowledgeable about the wines and was comfortable making suggestions about the menu items. He checked in often and gave updates about when things would be ready and made experienced decisions on how to bring everything to ensure the best flow to the evening. When both of us had rich meat dishes he said he couldn't be responsible for us only having white wine with it and brought us two 1/2 glasses of red paired to our dinners for free. Following a discussion about dessert wine we ordered two wonderful glasses and, to follow up on the conversation he brought out another 1/2 glass of another for us to sample. We felt taken care of and like family. Worth every penny.

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 18, 2017

So great and the server was fantastic - very knowledgable, gave great recommendations for things to do in Santa Barbara, and even knew the Pandora station when he saw us trying to look it up!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 18, 2017

What can I say? In my opinion, Bouchon is one the best restaurants in Santa Barbara. The food is fantastic but the service is what makes this place special. I took my wife for our 10 year anniversary. We arrived to beautiful rose pedals on our table and a happy anniversary card from the owner and chef. Our waiter Tony took exceptional care of us and ensured our evening was a memorable one. Highly recommended for special occasions.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.