About Bouchon - Santa Barbara

9 West Victoria St.
Santa Barbara, CA 93101
View Larger Map

Fresh, local ingredients, prepared with care. Excellent wines that reflect the quality and character of our region and work in concert with the cuisine. Warm, inviting ambiance, service at a relaxed, leisurely pace.
Santa Barbara ‘Wine Country Cuisine’ means we source our ingredients using an ‘as-fresh-and-as-local-as-possible’ approach, with fish from the Santa Barbara Channel and produce from the surrounding countryside. We then take into account how these flavors can be presented in concert with our local wines. I believe you’ll taste the difference and see how well they work together.
We believe Santa Barbara is producing some of the finest Chardonnay, Pinot Noir and Syrah. Other locally produced varietals will surprise you with their quality, variety and approachability. Please ask your server for recommendations on how any of our 40+ wines by the glass match up with your selections. Bon Appètit!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Californian, French

Hours of Operation:
Dinner nightly from 5:00 p.m.

Cross Street:
State

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(805) 730-1160

Website:
http://www.bouchonsantabarbara.com/

Parking Details:
Street and public lot parking available.

Executive Chef:
Greg Murphy

Private Party Facilities:
Private dining in the cork room available for groups of 10 – 20 people.

Private Party Contact:
Manager: 805-730-1160x

Additional:
Beer, Farm to Table, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
HOLIDAY EVENTS: Price fixe menus for Thanksgiving, Christmas Eve, Christmas Dinner, New Years Eve and Valentines Dinner

Restaurant Photos

Bouchon - Santa Barbara
Bouchon - Santa Barbara
Bouchon - Santa Barbara
Bouchon - Santa Barbara
Duck Medallions
Veal
Lamb
Crab Cakes
Bread
Pan-Seared Venison
Lane Farms White Corn Puree Soup
Maple-Glazed California Duck Breast And Confit Of Thigh
Lemon-Blueberry Upside Down Cake
Mixed organic greens salad, fresh peaches, Marcona almonds, herbed goat cheese
Maple Glazed Duck Breast And Confit Duck Leg With Succotash
Grilled New York Strip
Chocolate Lava Cake
Wild Seabass
Waygu Corned Beef Appetizer And Montecito Salad
Chocolate Chip Cookie Bread Pudding With Mcconnells Vanilla Ice Cream
Molten Chocolate Cake
Pork Belly
Duck
Seared Yellowfin Tuna
Seared Scallops Trio
Foie Gras W/ Berry Coulis
Grilled Flat Iron Wagyu Steak
Roasted Chicken
Scallops trio - caramelized endive, fennel watercress salad, grapefuirt maramalade; ciabatta crouton, asparagus, gribiche; confit of red onion risotto, olives
Blueberry-Lemon Upside-Down Cake
Lyonnaise Salad
White Corn Soup
Iced tea
Grilled Waygu Flat Iron Steak
Chicken And Bacon Chive Waffles
Duck Confit
French Onion Soup
Lobster Pot Pie
Pan Seared Fois Gras With Berries Coulis And Quail Egg
Lemon Curd And Meyers Lemon Bread Pudding With Sweet Cream Ice Cream
Dungeness Crabcakes
Braised Short Ribs
Heirloom Tomato Salad
Mushroom And Spinach Salad
Chicken

Bouchon - Santa Barbara Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
California Central Coast
Notable Wine List
California Central Coast
Californian
California Central Coast
9 More
Most Booked
California Central Coast
Best Overall
Santa Barbara
Best Food
Santa Barbara
Best Service
Santa Barbara
Best Ambiance
Santa Barbara
Best Value
Santa Barbara
Romantic
Santa Barbara
Special Occasion
Santa Barbara
Most Booked
Santa Barbara
Best Restaurants in Santa Barbara ›

Fit for Foodies (148)
Special Occasion (146)
Romantic (129)
See All
Notable Wine List (118)
Neighborhood Gem (73)
Great for Outdoor Dining (40)
Hot Spot (30)
Good for Groups (22)
Late-night Find (5)
Great for Brunch (5)
Great for Lunch (4)
Kid-friendly (3)
Scenic View (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1921 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

A great find in an area noted for great ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined 6 days ago

A great find in an area noted for great food , Bouchon is one of the Best. Will come back.

Tags: Organic, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Romantic, Cozy, Good for Groups, Molecular Gastronomy, Authentic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Casual, Outstanding Value, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was a very memorable experience. My ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 7 days ago

This was a very memorable experience. My girlfriend loved it!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Sadly, we confused this Bouchon for Bouc ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined 7 days ago

Sadly, we confused this Bouchon for Bouchon Bistro. Our expectations were of Thomas Keller's Bouchon, so we were a bit disappointed. The food is okay. Nothing really stood out for us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

Tony, our server, was one of the best I' ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Tony, our server, was one of the best I've ever had anywhere. The food was outstanding. The ambiance was excellent for a romantic evening or dinner with friends who are looking for an upscale but friendly and down-to-earth atmosphere. I will recommend all who visit Santa Barbara to visit Bouchon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Bouchon has earned a reputation of being ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Bouchon has earned a reputation of being Santa Barbara's finest by a huge amount of care and attention over a very long period. So many restaurants talk about innovation on there menu,finest ingredients,comprehensive wine list etc...invariably the "talk is rarely walked"

Bouchon surpasses expectation and does so with earned excellence. The ownership/management team of Mitchell/Amy are exactly what you hope for in there commitment and knowledge, the kitchen team is brilliant and this is all represented in knowledgable,intelligent and professional wait staff.

My family and I could not recommend Bouchon any higher.

Tags: Neighbourhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasions, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was delicious, sea bass was beautif ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Food was delicious, sea bass was beautifully prepared as was the pork chop. Fois gras was melt in your mouth thank you Chef Greg and Aaron

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Justin was terrific! He guided us throug ...

vip
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Justin was terrific! He guided us through the menu and helped us make perfect choices in apps, mains, dessert and wine. Can't wait to return. Thanks for a great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

excellent food, service and atmosphere. ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

excellent food, service and atmosphere. We met someone in Ventura the day before who grew up in Santa Barbara and recommended Bouchan to us - thrilled we could make a reservation

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The foie gras (savory) was excellent and ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

The foie gras (savory) was excellent and the rack of Lamb was beautifully cooked to my preference. Loved the Longoria Pinot Noir , overall a great experience. We'll revisit this restaurant when we are back in Santa Barbara.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

I had the venison, my wife the rack of l ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

I had the venison, my wife the rack of lamb. We shared the corn soup. All was excellent — flavorful, wonderfully done, and had great plate appeal. We were too full for dessert and we do not drink alcohol. Service was as you would hope it to be. Frankly, hard to say enough nice things about Bouchon Santa Barbara.

Our only disappointment: the OpenTable website lists "smart casual" dress, but there was a man in his late 30s wearing shorts and a sleeveless shirt. Not my definition of "smart casual."

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Ordered the bacon salad which was odd to ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Ordered the bacon salad which was odd to begin with as it had grilled peaches/bacon/mozarella variant that completely clashed. My rack of lamb was cooled well but had some type of barbecue sauce dumped on top which made it taste like cheap barbeque for $38!! I could make better at home for a lamb rack for $15. The crab cakes were excellent however and the venison was decent as well. I expected more from a top notch rated place and feel this place is getting a bit too comfortable in this tourist town. Not sure why this is rated 4.5. Service was great but I come primarily for the food and this falls way flat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

Super pricey, not worth it! We had one n ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Super pricey, not worth it! We had one night in Santa Barbara and were hoping to have a great meal. It was edible, staff were friendly, however it was not worth the money.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

I chose this restaurant because of the g ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

I chose this restaurant because of the great reviews on Yelp. First time I disagree with all the reviews on this restaurant. My review is based on the following:

1- we were seated at a nice outside table but not seen by host until 15 mins after we were seated. No one came for us to order drinks even.

2- Our waiter finally came after 20 mins and took our order and brought drinks. He never came back because he was soo interested in serving a nearby table with a larger party of 12. We had 4 people in our party. Our meal was delivered by a manager .

3- The best thing that we ordered was the Savory Foie Gras and the molten lava cake. The corn bisque was bland and the appetizer crab cakes was ok. But the most dissapointing was the Wagyu ribeye steak. Nothing better than an average steak. That's probably why it on costs $34.

I looked forward to dining at this restaurant as a family night passing through Santa Barbara but was totally disappointed. Will NOT recommend this restaurant for future customers .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value2

If you love attention to detail, Boucho ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

If you love attention to detail, Bouchon never disappoints. The amazing factor starts at the door when you are greeted until you finish your meal and walk out the door.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a repeat when we visit SB.

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Always a repeat when we visit SB.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Such a great place for dinner. This is h ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Such a great place for dinner. This is hands down my favorite place for dinner in downtown Santa Barbara. Everything we had was cooked to perfection and well seasoned. The deserts (lava cake & peach crisp) were a great way to finish off a wonderful evening. Can't say enough about the staff who was very attentive - they are all wonderful!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Appetizers, soup, salad, and entrees wer ...

vip
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Appetizers, soup, salad, and entrees were delicious. Bouchon label Syrah was excellent. Peach cobbler was underwhelming and a disappointing way to end the meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

The duck and the lamb rack are exquisite ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

The duck and the lamb rack are exquisite, service very nice and efficient, definitly a great value

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time and very happy. Everything w ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

First time and very happy.

Everything was beyond excellent.

Only one comment: I had the wagyu main dish and it was overly salted. Delicious but couldn't finish.

If that's the method of prep I would recommend another dish.

My wife's salmon was exceptional.

Presentation great.

Service excellent.

Be back again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

One of the best meals we've had! Everyth ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

One of the best meals we've had! Everything was delicious, flavors were inventive and portions were generous. It's a beautiful, warmly lit space that was very enjoyable to dine in. Our table wasn't ready when we arrived for our reservation, but the staff was apologetic and brought us champagne while we waited. Loved everything about our experience here and would definitely return! Thanks Bouchon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My boyfriend and I were celebrating our ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

My boyfriend and I were celebrating our anniversary and decided to spend it at Bouchon Santa Barbara. It definitely did not disappoint. Every aspect of the meal was great! We will definitely return the next time both of us are in town.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Michael, owner, was very gracious!!

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Michael, owner, was very gracious!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The servers are polite, aware of your ne ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

The servers are polite, aware of your needs, and can speak in detail about the cooking process.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Very attentive service and nice location ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Very attentive service and nice location. The onion soup was good though missing some salt. The goat cheese tart was really satisfying and tasteful. The tuna was nearly raw but melted in the mouth and the whole dish with cherry tomatoes and beans had a delightful mediterranean taste that made me love it. Great wine (Pinot noir) by the glass. The restaurant is quite pricey but valuable. I would definitely recommend it!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Sad to report that Bouchon was a big dis ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Sad to report that Bouchon was a big disappointment. Service was fast and food was so-so. As it was our first visit, can't tell if it was a bad night or a restaurant in decline. Time will tell. Not a place we'll keep on our list.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Bouchon is the total package. It has out ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Bouchon is the total package. It has outstanding food, a great wine list, though we brought our own at a reasonable $25.00 corkage. Service is superb with professional and knowledgeable waiters. The seating outside is covered and the lighting and ambience perfect. Known for it's farm to table, the food was excellent. My wife had the Goat Cheese tart with was excellent and I had the Crab Cake which was also excellent--mostly because they didn't fill the cake with bread crumbs, just crab! The mail courses: Chicken was quintessentially French and made wot perfection. The pork was great, but I would have preferred it a little less done. It was a touch dry, but still very flavorful.

Our waiter was excellent and there as needed and full of information that was useful and helpful in making the right dinner decisions.

Highly recommend and rated by many as the #1 restaurant in Santa Barbara. Hard to argue with that.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was excellent, wine was outstand ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

Service was excellent, wine was outstanding, food was well above average but sadly not the truly five star dining i was expecting. It seemed the chef was trying too hard to make unique, unexpected dishes, perhaps trying too hard to appeal to a snobbish foodie crowd, maybe trying too hard to make a mark in an already crowded upscale restaurant market, but definitely trying too hard for something. Whatever the case, our meals were very good, just not the best I've ever had. I would recommend Bouchon to others, and I would eat there again, but I think we might sample some other place before falling back on a solid 4-star like this.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Phenomenal service, wine and food. Than ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

Phenomenal service, wine and food. Thanks again for doing all the little things that helped make our anniversary special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My experience with Bouchon was great! T ...

 
 (Dubai)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

My experience with Bouchon was great! The food was amazing.....very fresh, healthy, and cooked to perfection. I had an Organic Salad with peaches that was delicious. For the main dish I had the Crispy Skin Salmon that was very delicous and cooked perfectly. The skin was very crispy and the center was tender and moist, it was delicous. There were many great options on the menu. Our server, Joaquin, was very pleasant and did a great job. I would definitely recommend this restaurant. I'm happy we found it and would visit again. Wish there more restaurants like this one.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding from beginning to end. Bouch ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Outstanding from beginning to end. Bouchon surpassed our expectations and we are still reveling in the moment. Hostess and more Leanne, Sommelier Mitchell, Waiter Tony are all amazing. We started with the goat cheese tart and onion soup which were delicious. Entrees were the pork chop, tuna, and sea bass... The pork chop with corn bread was the standout but everyone loved their meal. I'm doing a disservice to write this in haste. We loved it all and highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful evening! Celebrated my husban ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Wonderful evening! Celebrated my husband's birthday - it was nice to have a birthday card on the table. We had gone wine tasting earlier in the day and weren't in the mood to drink more and the server took it all in stride. Looking forward to going back and having wine from their nice wine list.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Bouchon was absolutely splendid. My boyf ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Bouchon was absolutely splendid. My boyfriend & I were in Santa Barbara celebrating his birthday weekend & was in need of a romantic getaway! The restaurant was everything & more. From the time we walked in to my boyfriend's celebratory dessert, we couldn't ask for anything more. The table was placed with beautiful rose petals & a beautiful birthday card placed for my boyfriend. I highly recommend Bouchon for a romantic atmosphere. Thank you again for your hospitality. Incredible!!

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Hostess was gracious and lovely. Waiter ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Hostess was gracious and lovely. Waiter was a good sport with our 11 year old's request to leave certain ingredients off the dish - claiming that it was quite the thing to 'deconstruct' dishes. We let them pair our courses with local Santa Barbara wines - best route to go. Food was delicious. Overall lovely evening.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Went here for my son's 16th birthday. T ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Went here for my son's 16th birthday. They greeted us with rose petals and bday card on our beautifully set table. The service was amazing and they really made my son feel special (who does that for a 16 year old????).

The food was amazing. The wine choices were endless. The service was perfection.

Thank you for making my son's 16th bday dinner amazing.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and service was very good. However ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Food and service was very good. However, wine by the glass was way over priced. It was shame because this could have been an excellent review. Alas, it is rated as only very good.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent food and wine. We shared sever ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Excellent food and wine. We shared several items with wine pairings suggested by the server. Eclectic menu with locally grown products and wines. Ample portions.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Had an absolutely amazing time! The food ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Had an absolutely amazing time! The food was amazing & Byron's service was fantastic!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I made a note in my reservation that my ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

I made a note in my reservation that my wife and I were celebrating our 10th anniversary. The restaurant contacted me the day before to ask my wife's name, and to see if there was anything they could do to make the meal more special. They picked a wonderful, quiet spot for us. When we arrived we found rose petals spread over the table, and a nice card from the manager. The attention from the hostess was excellent, and our server's wine recommendations were spot-on. The food was exquisite. My Wagyu ribeye rivaled the best steaks I've had here in Chicago, and my wife's pork chop with cornbread panzanella and grilled peaches made me consider skipping dessert in favor of a second entree.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding service matched with creativ ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Outstanding service matched with creative and perfectly executed local sourced cuisine. The best meal of our 7 day trip.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and service. French bistro ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

Great food and service. French bistro feel. Good wine by the glass recommendations. Generous servings.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.