About Bouchon - Santa Barbara

9 West Victoria St.
Santa Barbara, CA 93101
View Larger Map

Fresh, local ingredients, prepared with care. Excellent wines that reflect the quality and character of our region and work in concert with the cuisine. Warm, inviting ambiance, service at a relaxed, leisurely pace.
Santa Barbara ‘Wine Country Cuisine’ means we source our ingredients using an ‘as-fresh-and-as-local-as-possible’ approach, with fish from the Santa Barbara Channel and produce from the surrounding countryside. We then take into account how these flavors can be presented in concert with our local wines. I believe you’ll taste the difference and see how well they work together.
We believe Santa Barbara is producing some of the finest Chardonnay, Pinot Noir and Syrah. Other locally produced varietals will surprise you with their quality, variety and approachability. Please ask your server for recommendations on how any of our 40+ wines by the glass match up with your selections. Bon Appètit!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Californian, French

Hours of Operation:
Dinner nightly from 5:00 p.m.

Cross Street:
State

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(805) 730-1160

Website:
http://www.bouchonsantabarbara.com/

Parking Details:
Street and public lot parking available.

Executive Chef:
Greg Murphy

Private Party Facilities:
Private dining in the cork room available for groups of 10 – 20 people.

Private Party Contact:
Manager: 805-730-1160x

Additional:
Beer, Farm to Table, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
HOLIDAY EVENTS: Price fixe menus for Thanksgiving, Christmas Eve, Christmas Dinner, New Years Eve and Valentines Dinner

Restaurant Photos

Bouchon - Santa Barbara Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
California Central Coast
Best Service
California Central Coast
Notable Wine List
California Central Coast
13 More
Californian
California Central Coast
Most Booked
California Central Coast
Best Overall
Santa Barbara
Best Food
Santa Barbara
Best Service
Santa Barbara
Best Ambiance
Santa Barbara
Best Value
Santa Barbara
Fit for Foodies
Santa Barbara
Notable Wine List
Santa Barbara
Romantic
Santa Barbara
Special Occasion
Santa Barbara
Californian
Santa Barbara
Most Booked
Santa Barbara
Best Restaurants in Santa Barbara ›

fit for foodies (132)
special occasion (125)
romantic (119)
See All
notable wine list (104)
neighborhood gem (63)
great for outdoor dining (30)
good for groups (28)
hot spot (18)
late-night find (9)
great for brunch (5)
great for lunch (4)
kid-friendly (2)
scenic view (2)
vibrant bar scene (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1803 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

Totally delicious meal. Crab cakes start ...

vip
Dined 3 days ago

Totally delicious meal. Crab cakes starter were brilliant followed by incredible venison cooked to perfection ! My husband's pork dinner also delicious . Molten chocolate cake was Devine . Perfect birthday celebration!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic food and service! The wine pa ...

Dined 3 days ago

Fantastic food and service! The wine pairing is an excellent touch. All of the dishes you prepare look spectacular.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Exceptional best describes every aspect ...

Dined 4 days ago

Exceptional best describes every aspect of our dining experience. Eric, the manager and Aaron our server were obviously experts in their field and particularly the nuances of Bouchon. They are number one for a reason. We had the scallop app, followed by lamb and salmon mains accompanied by recommended wine, finished with chocolate lava cake. Absolutely delicious and delightful. Highly recommended.

food5
ambience5
service5

What a great find in the best part of Sa ...

Dined 6 days ago

What a great find in the best part of Santa Barbara, Downtown Santa Barbara, which is right by all of the great shopping and bars. Parking was convenient as there is a parking lot in the back. Decor was very nice and heat lamps were on for those sitting in their more spacious covered outdoor patio area, but like many of the shops and restaurants in the area, it was still a little cramped. The service was second to none and our waiter was great and was always checking to make sure we were good without being annoying. For food, the seared foie gras and mushroom ragout were both delicious. The pan seared sea bass was good but not to be mean, was something I could do from home. The rack of lamb on the the hand was so memorable and so well cooked that I had to pick up the bones with my hands to finish them off. It's a must order. Dessert was the blueberry lemon cake which tasted like a Betty Crocker blueberry muffin with McConnels Blueberry ice cream(Local ice cream shop) which wasn't bad at all but not worth the code either. Great thing about this Bouchon is that they really focused on locally sourced foods from the produce and fish to even the ice cream they use which I applaud them for.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent all around

Dined 6 days ago

Dinner at Bouchon was wonderful. From the food to the service to the ambiance. Erin was our server and he was attentive ahd knowledgeable. Everyone on staff was friendly. Food was excellent, especially the mushroom ragout and the lemon blueberry dessert!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

A wonderful fun restaurant. We loved ou ...

Dined 6 days ago

A wonderful fun restaurant. We loved our visit. Only negative was that the steaks ordered were slightly tough. Great service and ambiance,

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was prepared perfectly and pres ...

Dined 6 days ago

The food was prepared perfectly and presented equally as well. The chef watched the sous chefs and the tables. This is a loved and well run restaurant. We had three meals in the Santa Barbara area and this was the best by far...

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food1
ambience4
service2
value1

Very disappointing!

Dined on May 17, 2016

The atmosphere in this restaurant is very nice. However, the food and the service were very disappointing. The crab cakes were very good. The main entrees were not. A few of us had the lamb. I asked for it to be medium done and it was very rare! Also the sauce that it was prepared in was not very good. The trimmings were very average. One of us had the ahi entrée and it was very dry and with no flavor. The desserts were very small, mediocre presentation and taste. The service was not very attentive. We had to pour our own wine. We had ordered very expensive wines. There were 6 of us and the total cost was $1,000. Very pricey for the quality of food and service that we experienced.

food5
ambience5
service5

Great place for special occasion as is c ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

Great place for special occasion as is consistently good!

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Worth it

Dined on May 12, 2016

Usually happy with $9.95 chicken dinner, but splurged (about double) for better quality based on reviews. Not disappointed at all. Nice ambiance/character, good service and very tasty food. Not too pricey.

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Superb in every way. Would be top of my ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

Superb in every way. Would be top of my list in Santa Barbara.

Tags: brunch, fit for foodies, romance, special occasions, neighbourhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Sets the standard

vip
Dined on May 11, 2016

There is no shortage of great dining experiences in Santa Barbara so if you're going to operate a restaurant here you better have your A game every night. Bouchon has long been at the top and continues to set the standard for excellence among it's peers. Its quant, warm, approachable with a type of energy that only enhances your experience. Our waiter guided us through the menu, asked a few questions and then made informed recommendations that were spot on. On the wine side you not only enjoy but learn at the same time. If the weather is nice request a table on the patio. If you only have one night in Santa Barbara make sure you Bouchon is your choice for dinner.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5

Fantastic place for dinner before a show ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

Fantastic place for dinner before a show!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Bachelorette Dinner We Will Always Remember

Dined on May 8, 2016

My girlfriends and I took the bride-to-be out to Bouchon to celebrate her upcoming wedding day--our experience could not have been better! The amazing team at Bouchon made us feel special from the moment we walked in; rose petals scattered across the table and a card congratulating our friend on her upcoming marriage. The service was impeccable! The staff's recommendations were spot on and I felt as if we were being looked after with care, someone always checking to make sure we had everything we needed and everything was to our liking. The food--unbelievably delicious! From the cauliflower puree to the pan-seared sea bass to the creme brulee (even the bottle of Syrah that was recommended to us)--amazing flavors. If you are looking to celebrate a special occasions, I would highly recommend Bouchon! (PS. Mitch is the best, please make sure to coordinate with him for to make your dinner a special one)!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Santa Barbara Gem

Dined on May 8, 2016

Had a great dinner. Food was perfectly cooked and delicious. Service was excellent and had a great wine list. Would definitely return again!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Overall, we enjoyed Bouchon a lot. It w ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Overall, we enjoyed Bouchon a lot. It was my wife's birthday and the entire staff seemed to recognize that fact. I'm sure that it was because of the rose petals on the table. The 4 onion soup was O.K. The cauliflower soup was very nice. The rack of lamb was outstanding and the sea bass was good. The cherry crisp grew on us. The more we ate, the better we liked it. The only real negative was that their bathrooms are in an entirely different (near by) area and are inadequate for the number of diners that they serve.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Never miss a chance to go...

Dined on May 7, 2016

Heaven forbid that we visit Santa Barbara without a dinner at Bouchon. It is 4-star quality dining, yet I always am surprised that the bill is not higher, based on the quality of the experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5

Great food with an amazing local wine li ...

Dined on May 3, 2016

Great food with an amazing local wine list (along with some standouts from elsewhere), fresh, flavorful. Speed of service was disrupted by a large group - although we did not notice because we were having a great time with friends - but the server was apologetic and brought us extras, nice touch as it was a lemon blueberry dessert that we would never have ordered but adored.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous experience!

vip
Dined on May 2, 2016

From the moment the reservation was made, to the pre-dinner set up and attention to detail, our small dinner party at Bouchon was perfect in every way. Thank you for making this a memorable evening!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Did not meet expectations.

Dined on May 1, 2016

We have dined at Bouchon's on past trips to Santa Barbara and we looked forward to having another dinner there. Unfortunately my husband's entre was a miserable disappointment. He ordered the New York steak, and the meat was over-cooked and full of grizzle. Our waiter comped us with a dessert, but that did not remedy the experience. We have found another Santa Barbara restaurant that serves fabulous fresh food and wonderful wines, so will not book with Bouchon again.

Tags: notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the best restaurants in California

vip
Dined on May 1, 2016

Bouchon is fabulous. The food is incredible, and the service is perfect. One person in our party, who had recently eaten at The French Laundry, said her dinner was one of the two best in her entire life. Quite a comparison, and high praise indeed!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was amazing. Atmosphere was amazing ...

Dined on April 27, 2016

Food was amazing. Atmosphere was amazing. Our server made an excellent wine selection for us. I told him I was looking for something red, full bodied, with peppery spice and he totally nailed it. Very impressed!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

What a special place. We absolutely LOVE ...

vip
Dined on April 26, 2016

What a special place. We absolutely LOVED it

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great dining in Santa Barbara

Dined on April 25, 2016

The Restaurant is located in downtown Santa Barbara so parking is difficult on the street. However there is a public lot behind the restaurant with a per hour fee. While the restaurant is not very large it is warm and inviting overall. We had a party of 9 so reservations are a must and are recommended due to the size of the restaurant. We were greeted by a hostess and seated right away. I really enjoyed the diversity of the menu, everything from venison to fish, chicken dishes, steaks and lamb. Something for everyone! It was a very enjoyable dining experience and would recommend this place to anyone spending time in Santa Barbara.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful dining at Bouchon!

Dined on April 23, 2016

We had a gorgeous meal here celebrating our 16th wedding anniversary. The food was exquisite as was the presentation. The crab cake appetizer was enough for a meal.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Everything was wonderful!

Dined on April 19, 2016

I couldn't have asked for a better night. Everything from the food, the ambiance and the service was extraordinary

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Birthday Made Special

Dined on April 17, 2016

We had a group of four celebrating a friend's special birthday, and we chose Bouchon from past experience. We always found the food to be top notch, locally grown or purveyed. The wine list as well was stocked with local vintages, and a wine could be found for any entree at a reasonable price. Our entire meal was fresh, flavorful, and very satisfying. We all traded bites to be able to gain the full "tasting" experience. Of note, our wait person, Tony, was a cut above most wait staff. He was friendly, knowledgeable, and no detail was too small for him to address. He really gelled the entire evening. Overall, if you are in Santa Barbara as a local, or just visiting on vacation....you must come to Bouchon!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Tough steak

Dined on April 15, 2016

Had tried two steak knifes and finally gave up. The spinach and potatoes served with the steak were wonderful, along with the best bread we had during our 3 month stay in SB. The waiter was one of the best we have experienced. I then ordered the dungenous crab after the waiter asked me if I could order anything else. I tried the dungenous crab cakes. I expected lump meat, but they had a blended consistently that was missing the rich and sweet taste typical of dungenous.

food5
ambience4
service5

The waiter was great. Just the right am ...

vip
Dined on April 13, 2016

The waiter was great. Just the right amount of attention and was well versed with the menu

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful local focus

Dined on April 13, 2016

Wonderful business meal. Wine list fabulous also with great local choices accommodated our vegan guest wonderfully

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Celebrated my birthday at Bouchon and ev ...

Dined on April 13, 2016

Celebrated my birthday at Bouchon and everything was perfect! The chicken, venison and lamb were all spectacular! And the blueberry lemon upside cake was unbelievable! Incredible service!

food5
ambience5
service5

First time here. Excellent, quaint littl ...

vip
Dined on April 8, 2016

First time here. Excellent, quaint little restaurant with amazing food, service and wine. Super kind and attentive staff. We will definitely return on our next visit to Santa Barbara.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely no complaints!

vip
Dined on April 6, 2016

My closest friend and I took a trip to Santa Barbara to celebrate our birthdays and to spend time together. After researching the best restaurants in the area and reading reviews, Bouchon sounded wonderful. Our experience was fabulous, Erin, our server, was the best, amazing wine and menu selections. With Erin's guidance, everything we experienced was incredible! I will highly recommend Bouchon to others and will return if I visit Santa Barbara again.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

This is a great restaurant in a town ful ...

Dined on April 3, 2016

This is a great restaurant in a town full of restaurants. Outstanding wine list, gracious service and very special menu

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing service and amazing food! Defini ...

Dined on April 1, 2016

Amazing service and amazing food! Definitely going back next time we are in town!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Such good food

Dined on April 1, 2016

The food at Bouchon was wonderful. The chef is top notch, and the servers are knowledgeable and friendly. There are wine pairings available for every dish. Just a wonderful restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Extraordinary service

vip
Dined on March 31, 2016

I eat dinner out at least 100 times a year. I have not had service as professional as this for several years. And, the food was excellent and interesting. It was not trendy, but rather an excellently conceived menu expertly executed. This restaurant deserved Michelin attention.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Always memorable, always leave anticipat ...

Dined on March 31, 2016

Always memorable, always leave anticipating return !

food5
ambience5
service5

This is a true dining experience! This w ...

Dined on March 27, 2016

This is a true dining experience! This was our second time and they just keep getting better and better.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Consistently Outstanding

Dined on March 26, 2016

Outstanding dining experience. Not much more can be said of this jewel

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.