About Bouchon - Santa Barbara

9 West Victoria St.
Santa Barbara, CA 93101
View Larger Map

Fresh, local ingredients, prepared with care. Excellent wines that reflect the quality and character of our region and work in concert with the cuisine. Warm, inviting ambiance, service at a relaxed, leisurely pace.
Santa Barbara ‘Wine Country Cuisine’ means we source our ingredients using an ‘as-fresh-and-as-local-as-possible’ approach, with fish from the Santa Barbara Channel and produce from the surrounding countryside. We then take into account how these flavors can be presented in concert with our local wines. I believe you’ll taste the difference and see how well they work together.
We believe Santa Barbara is producing some of the finest Chardonnay, Pinot Noir and Syrah. Other locally produced varietals will surprise you with their quality, variety and approachability. Please ask your server for recommendations on how any of our 40+ wines by the glass match up with your selections. Bon Appètit!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Californian, French

Hours of Operation:
Dinner nightly from 5:00 p.m.

Cross Street:
State

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(805) 730-1160

Website:
http://www.bouchonsantabarbara.com/

Parking Details:
Street and public lot parking available.

Executive Chef:
Greg Murphy

Private Party Facilities:
Private dining in the cork room available for groups of 10 – 20 people.

Private Party Contact:
Manager: (805) 730-1160

Additional:
Beer, Farm to Table, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
HOLIDAY EVENTS: Price fixe menus for Thanksgiving, Christmas Eve, Christmas Dinner, New Years Eve and Valentines Dinner

Bouchon - Santa Barbara Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (65)
Romantic (60)
Fit for Foodies (58)
See All
Good for a Date (55)
Local Ingredients (54)
Notable Wine List (51)
Good for Anniversaries (49)
Creative Cuisine (38)
Quiet Conversation (36)
Good for Birthdays (32)
Worth the Drive (29)
Cozy (29)
Business Meals (22)
Authentic (22)
Neighborhood Gem (21)
Organic (20)
Pre/post Theatre (20)
Healthy (14)
Seasonal (12)
Open Kitchen (12)
Private Room (11)
Fun (10)
Great for Outdoor Dining (9)
Casual (7)
Good for Groups (5)
Hot Spot (4)
People Watching (4)
Late-night Find (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Modern Decor (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Historic (1)
Fireplace (1)
Scenic View (1)
Waterfront (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
2168 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined 2 days ago

Forest mushroom ragout - outstanding

little gem and pink lady apple salad - outstanding

fresh local sea bass, rack of lamb - outstanding

creme brûlée - you guessed it

Of the dozen or so dinner dining experiences we've had thus far, this is my choice as Santa Barbara's best restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 5 days ago

It was our fifth time here and the restaurant did not disappoint. Everything was quite tasty!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined 5 days ago

An excellent experience from start to finish. We were treated like old friends upon our arrival. The menu selection was just right and we enjoyed every minute.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 6 days ago

Food was amazing. We got the scallops which were delicious and also the yellowfin tuna

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

The food is heavenly delicious. We had scallop trio for appetizer and maple-glazed duck breast for main course. Both were cooked to perfection. The service is just as it should be: very attentive yet unintrusive. My wife and I both thought that it was our best dining experience in California in 3 years that we live here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined 7 days ago

Really creative cuisine with presented exquisitely. Fabulous chef. The waiter was knowledgeable about the wines. The owner, Mitchell, was wonderful as well.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Private Room, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Paleo Friendly, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined 7 days ago

Great dinner before show at Arlington theater. Walking distance from parking and theater. A bit pricey but so is Santa Barbra

Tags: Open Kitchen, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Private Room, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Amazing food and service! What a great setting on a very rainy evening in Santa Barbara. We had the scallops and they may have been the best we ever had. We will certainly return to this gem of a restaurant!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Great spot, patio area is very comfortable, service was spot on a menu was inventive. Excellent wine selection.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Wonderful evening's experience.

Fantastic food!! The Brie en croute, onion soup, an Bass were terrific. Best ever!!

Server was outstanding.

We had a wonderful meal and are sure to return.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Dinner at Bouchon is always a delight. Friendly and very attentive staff and wonderfully prepared and presented food keeps us coming back for more.

Tags: Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Excellent food and wine. Great service and ambiance, Will definitely go back!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 12, 2017

I had high expectations and Bouchon easily past those expectations. One of the best meals I have ever had. But the experience didn't just stop with the food. It continued with the ambience and the very friendly and knowlegble non pushy wait staff. It's been two days and my girlfriend and I still find our selves talking about. If you want to splurge a bit on a high quality dinner, Bouchon in the place to go! Could not be happier with my experience!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Organic, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Private Room, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Waiter gave wonderful recommendations on wine and food. Everything was delicious. The whole staff was friendly. They made the occasion memorable!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Service was great, decor a bit dated. Rack of lamb a bit too gamey though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Concise but good menu always prepared with quality indigents and with taste in mind. My wife and I usually eat at Bouchon when we travel to Santa Barbara a few times a year. Friendly and knowledgeable staff.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Best meal in a long time. Foie Gras, lyonnaise salad, salmon and venison were all excellent. Service impeccable. Bread although a side thought at many restaurants was worth going in and of itself.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Open Kitchen, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on February 5, 2017

This is a real gem! We were very lucky to get a table, very last minute. It was delicious! Wait staff is wonderful and knowledgeable!! We were well taken care of! Foie gras was delicious as were our entrees.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Lovely as always in every way.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Cozy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Wonderful meal in Santa Barbara. The room is romantic, cork walls funky ceiling open kitchen. Food very good. My husband foi gras and venison. I ordered off the specials so don't know if they would be available but the crispy skin salmon with smoky lentils roasted beets and porcini was wonderful. Split dessert was plenty for two. Abe was great the wine he suggested was perfect introduced us to a great local winemaker. thanks

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Service was very attentative😊😊😊Food was marvellous had the scallops and the sea bass

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 31, 2017

superb as always

best in town

highly recommended

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Our experience at Bouchon was truly incredible. It was my fiancées birthday and when we arrived the hostess said happy birthday to her as she was walking us to our table. The table was decorated with rose peddles and had a nice card from the head chef. From that point the stage was set for a very special dinner. The waiter was professional and friendly and the food was incredible. The duck is the best thing I have ever tasted. We finished the dinner with the lava cake, which was amazing, and they even put a little candle on the plate for her to blow out. Overall it was the best dining experience I have had in Santa Barbara after living there for 30 years and one of the best I have had anywhere else. Thank you!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 31, 2017

A special weekend in Santa Barbara with my niece. She's a foodie as am I, and there is simply no better experience than Bouchon. Fabulous, lovely wait staff, and outstanding food! Best!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 31, 2017

We had the venison medallions and the pork shank...both cooked perfectly for each type of meat. The dishes were not over-salted, which is often a problem for us. Our waitperson was well informed and efficient, and recommeded wines that complimented each protein. I want to return for the duck. Order envy.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Good but not great. I had the salad Lyonaise and was greatly disappointed, it was actually a spinach salad with a poached egg. Venison was terrific but missing a sauce. My wife had the sea bass, again cooked to perfection but missing something which would make the meal great. Good selection of wines and very helpful wait staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Another fantastic meal at Bouchon. This time it was for a birthday. They prepared a n especially nice table with rose petals. Our meal of sea bass and duck were divine. The mushroom appetizer was wonderful. We order a great local wine and tasty dessert. Don't miss it on you trip to Santa Barbara.

Tags: Seasonal, Authentic, Fun, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 30, 2017

We live on the East Coast and whenever we are in town, we always make Bouchon a must stop. Never disappointed in food and service. Thanks again for a great evening of relaxation.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Organic, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Food was ok. Waiter acted like he couldn't be bothered with recommending a good "value" for a bottle of Pinot. He finally recommended something that we felt was less than stellar. We just didn't feel like we got the best service overall.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Pork belly and little gem salad for starters, lamb chops done to perfection and the best bass that ever crossed a plate and disappear. Wine by the glass for the starters (local riesling) and a fine, local viognier for the fish and a local Pinot Noir for the lamb. A cheese plate with 3 fine, local cheeses and ice viognier and 20 year old port for desert, and a very drunk young couple next to us who asked how many great grand children we had (none; you have to have children first) and then tried to sneak off without paying made for amusing dinner theater. Service was excellent, helpful and not the least bit intrusive. An outstanding dining experience. Looking forward to repeating it.

Tags: Organic, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 24, 2017

Great place with extraordinarily good food. Waiters are on it. Would go back for sure.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Late-night Find, Fireplace, Scenic View, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Our waiter was absolutely fabulous! Best service we've had in years! Food and ambience were excellent as well.

Tags: Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on January 22, 2017

The food was absolutely delicious. The service was great. We will definitely return.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Organic, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Overall dining experience is very good, but food is under expectation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Disappointed in the waitstaff. I hosted a professional dinner for 6 physicians colleagues - but the waiter humiliated me in front of my guests. Although he rapidly spurted, "if there is anything we can do for you..." and I asked if I could place a 1/2 order for anything on the menu, he took it as an opportunity to make fun of me (a lady). In his jest, at my expense, he thought he could put part of my order in the middle of the table for others. Although I never agreed, he did just that. No one sampled it. I requested the lamb be prepared medium and it was rare. He never returned to check on our orders. The cauliflower soup was watery - no taste. He knew that he would get the auto 20% gratuity since we were a table of 6. One of my colleagues offered to pay the wine tab - since he could see how poorly I was treated. Although I've eaten at Bouchon in the past - NEVER again. I made the reservation on OpenTable and paid the $600+ tab - but the food couldn't make up for the poor 'front of the house.'

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 17, 2017

Our experience was excellent. The venison was very well prepared and beautifully presented. My guests, two petite ladies, ate every bite of their salmon sea food dinners and enjoyed every bite. Very nice ambiance.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 16, 2017

We've been to Bouchon for several times and we truly enjoy it every time we come back to this place.

Food is always delicious and great presentation. Service is excellent. The Ambiance is wonderful.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 15, 2017

AMAZINGLY GREAT FOOD! Definitely going there again!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Bouchon is hands down my favorite restraint in SB. Amazing wine list and food. It was my best friends birthday and they even decorated our table with a card. Thank you Bouchon

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Great food enjoyed the night

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 8, 2017

The meal and service was really great! I highly recommend Bouchon for regular dining or a special occation.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Healthy, Good for a Date, Open Kitchen, Authentic, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Food was of course top notch and the dessert was exceptional

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 7, 2017

I brought someone special here for his birthday and it couldn't have turned out better. The staff made an obvious, but elegant, effort to make us feel special and bring our romantic dinner to life. One of the best dining experiences I have ever had...it truly exceeded my expectations.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Good creative CA food. Large selection of local wines by the glass is great for those wanting to know something about this wine region (Santa Barbara).

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 2, 2017

It is still my favorite restaurant in Santa Barbara because of the quality of the service and food. The service is excellent; it takes no time to get service and a nice bottle of wine opened and poured, unlike San Ysidro Ranch Stone House restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Service was top notch, and food was equally as good. Celebrated two seventieth birthdays, and we were treated like royalty. Take your time and savor the experience; great locals date night venue, or equally as fitting for visitors looking for one of Santa Barbara's finest. Enjoy!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Wonderful trio Of scallops shared appetizer with wine pairing. Local sea bass was excellent. Salmon was nothing special, lentils were almost raw. Overall attentive service and pretty venue, food was tasty.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The food was great although we did order an appetizer that never came-mentioned it to the waiter he apologized yet didn't offer anything. Overall a nice dinner. As an aside, the restaurant is NOT related to the Buchón in Napa and the food/service reflects that.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We had a wonderful meal at Bouchon. Everything from the Santa Barbara wines to the food was wonderful. We had the trio of scallops, crab cakes, venison and sea bass. The blueberry cake and chocolate lava cake for dessert. Great service too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 31, 2016

This is a great restaurant and our server Tony was wonderful. The food was excellent and the atmosphere was lovely.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.