About Bouchon - Santa Barbara

9 West Victoria St.
Santa Barbara, CA 93101
View Larger Map

Fresh, local ingredients, prepared with care. Excellent wines that reflect the quality and character of our region and work in concert with the cuisine. Warm, inviting ambiance, service at a relaxed, leisurely pace.
Santa Barbara ‘Wine Country Cuisine’ means we source our ingredients using an ‘as-fresh-and-as-local-as-possible’ approach, with fish from the Santa Barbara Channel and produce from the surrounding countryside. We then take into account how these flavors can be presented in concert with our local wines. I believe you’ll taste the difference and see how well they work together.
We believe Santa Barbara is producing some of the finest Chardonnay, Pinot Noir and Syrah. Other locally produced varietals will surprise you with their quality, variety and approachability. Please ask your server for recommendations on how any of our 40+ wines by the glass match up with your selections. Bon Appètit!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Californian, French

Hours of Operation:
Dinner nightly from 5:00 p.m.

Cross Street:
State

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(805) 730-1160

Website:
http://www.bouchonsantabarbara.com/

Parking Details:
Street and public lot parking available.

Executive Chef:
Greg Murphy

Private Party Facilities:
Private dining in the cork room available for groups of 10 – 20 people.

Private Party Contact:
Manager: 805-730-1160x

Additional:
Beer, Farm to Table, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
HOLIDAY EVENTS: Price fixe menus for Thanksgiving, Christmas Eve, Christmas Dinner, New Years Eve and Valentines Dinner

Restaurant Photos

Bouchon - Santa Barbara
Bouchon - Santa Barbara
Bouchon - Santa Barbara
Bouchon - Santa Barbara
Duck Medallions
Veal
Lamb
Wild Seabass
French Onion Soup
Waygu Corned Beef Appetizer And Montecito Salad
Chocolate Chip Cookie Bread Pudding With Mcconnells Vanilla Ice Cream
Seared Yellowfin Tuna
Crab Cakes
Bread
Pan-Seared Venison
Lane Farms White Corn Puree Soup
Maple-Glazed California Duck Breast And Confit Of Thigh
Lemon-Blueberry Upside Down Cake
Mixed organic greens salad, fresh peaches, Marcona almonds, herbed goat cheese
Grilled New York Strip
Maple Glazed Duck Breast And Confit Duck Leg With Succotash
Chocolate Lava Cake
Molten Chocolate Cake
Pork Belly
Duck
Foie Gras W/ Berry Coulis
Grilled Flat Iron Wagyu Steak
Seared Scallops Trio
Roasted Chicken
Scallops trio - caramelized endive, fennel watercress salad, grapefuirt maramalade; ciabatta crouton, asparagus, gribiche; confit of red onion risotto, olives
Lyonnaise Salad
White Corn Soup
Blueberry-Lemon Upside-Down Cake
Iced tea
Grilled Waygu Flat Iron Steak
Chicken And Bacon Chive Waffles
Duck Confit
Lobster Pot Pie
Dungeness Crabcakes
Lemon Curd And Meyers Lemon Bread Pudding With Sweet Cream Ice Cream
Pan Seared Fois Gras With Berries Coulis And Quail Egg
Braised Short Ribs
Heirloom Tomato Salad
Mushroom And Spinach Salad
Chicken

Bouchon - Santa Barbara Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
California Central Coast
Californian
California Central Coast
Most Booked
California Central Coast
10 More
Best Overall
Santa Barbara
Best Service
Santa Barbara
Best Ambiance
Santa Barbara
Best Value
Santa Barbara
Fit for Foodies
Santa Barbara
Notable Wine List
Santa Barbara
Romantic
Santa Barbara
Special Occasion
Santa Barbara
Californian
Santa Barbara
Most Booked
Santa Barbara
Best Restaurants in Santa Barbara ›

special occasion (140)
fit for foodies (134)
romantic (129)
See All
notable wine list (110)
neighborhood gem (65)
great for outdoor dining (29)
good for groups (26)
hot spot (22)
late-night find (8)
great for brunch (4)
kid-friendly (3)
great for lunch (3)
scenic view (2)
vibrant bar scene (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1842 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience4
service5

Bathroom facilities were not very nice. ...

Dined 3 days ago

Bathroom facilities were not very nice. Everything else was excellent.

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The service and the atmosphere were fant ...

Dined 4 days ago

The service and the atmosphere were fantastic, as were the desserts, port and vino. My chicken was dry and my husband's sea bass was also over cooked. Otherwise, it was lovely!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was our second time visiting Boucho ...

Dined 5 days ago

This was our second time visiting Bouchon. The scallop appetizer is worth every penny and our meals were delicious as well. Can't wait to go back!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had our 45 wedding anniversary dinner ...

Dined 5 days ago

We had our 45 wedding anniversary dinner there!!!!!!!!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Want to feel special? Enjoy superb cuisi ...

vip
Dined 5 days ago

Want to feel special? Enjoy superb cuisine and wine? Think Bouchon! Bouchon est magnifique! We enjoyed a special dinner for our 57th anniversary and were attended to with the utmost professionalism and caring. We have been here before and return regularly for those "special occasions" when we desire cuisine with class. Our waiter, Joaquin, was absolutely the best! His sensitivity to our wine desire provided us an excellent choice. His recommendations of menu choices and attention to us throughout the entire meal was superb! Throughout the evening, as he always does for his patrons, the proprietor showed us his special courtesy and attention making certain we were completely satisfied.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious and kid approved - the good is ...

vip
Dined 5 days ago

Delicious and kid approved - the good is consistently flavorful and well presented. Blueberry upside down cake and ice cream are not to be missed.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food and staff at Bouchon were great ...

vip
Dined 5 days ago

The food and staff at Bouchon were great. Me and my wife went there for our 1st wedding anniversary and we were treated to a wonderful evening. The staff and management went out of their way to congratulate us on our special occasion, and the food was beautifully prepared and delicious.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Probably the best French Restaurant expe ...

Dined 6 days ago

Probably the best French Restaurant experience I have ever had. While expensive, the quality and value were amazing. Will definitly come back again for a special occasion.

Tags: romantic
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

My wife and I came to Bouchon for our we ...

Dined 7 days ago

My wife and I came to Bouchon for our wedding anniversary. We wanted very much to like the place, and it was good. But for the price and after reading so many very favorable reviews, we thought it should have been better. The table itself was very nicely decorated with fresh rose petals, and we received a personalized card of congratulations. The presentation of the dishes was very good, in the case of the scallops even beautiful. But the food itself was, at best, just a little better than average. We shared the scallops, very delicious in themselves, but prepared with sauces and greens that did little to enhance them. I ate the "savory" foie gras, and it was sorely disappointing, with not much more flavor than is offered by the oil in which it was allegedly seared. We also had the duck breast, which was recommended by the waiter as one of the signature dishes, and it, too, was not above average, the skin not crispy, the flesh not especially succulent. The service was good but, again, not excellent. I was unpleasantly surprised to see the wine served in smallish and ill-shaped glasses, especially as Bouchon is famed for its wine list. Our waiter was eager to please, but his knowledge of the food and wine contributed little to our pleasure. I should say that my wife and I have enjoyed meals in some of the best restaurants in San Francisco, including Chez Panisse, Fleur de Lys, and Boulevard, so maybe our standards are inappropriate.

Tags: good for groups, romantic
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Bouchon consistently delivers fine dinin ...

vip
Dined 7 days ago

Bouchon consistently delivers fine dining and great service. They are constantly mixing up their menu with new selections and ideas, and even regular selections like the scallop trio undergo changes to explore and enjoy. (That trio makes an excellent entree, by the way.) Management and staff always bend over backwards to ensure an enjoyable experience. Highly-recommended.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We had a fabulous experience. Fabulous f ...

Dined on June 24, 2016

We had a fabulous experience. Fabulous food, great service.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Was a fabulous experience can't wait to ...

Dined on June 22, 2016

Was a fabulous experience can't wait to go back

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food, wine and wait staff, were amaz ...

Dined on June 20, 2016

The food, wine and wait staff, were amazing as always!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome meal. Great service. Even with t ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

Awesome meal. Great service. Even with the lofty reviews, still one our our favorite meals!

food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Outstanding customer service. My wife wa ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

Outstanding customer service. My wife was not happy with her entree and it was replaced (quickly) and with a smile and complete reassurance that our satisfaction with the meal was of paramount importance to them. As a bonus, our wineglasses were topped off while we waited. All of the staff was personable without being overbearing. I would eat here again. The convenience to the central part of State street is also a plus.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Impeccable

Dined on June 11, 2016

From start to finish, indeniably impressive. Having worked in the industry for years and lived in NYC for many moons, I have high standards. The surprise wasn't ruined, the ambience and noise level perfectly suited to environment, and the patience of our server and, impressively, the hostess, wasn't even remotely pandering or impatient. Absolutely worth it. Will go back every time I'm in the area. Thank you for reviving my faith!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Super local fresh food, with French ambi ...

Dined on June 10, 2016

Super local fresh food, with French ambience.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Birthday Celebration

Dined on June 10, 2016

Bouchon goes the extra effort to make the table look special. The mushroom ragout was amazing and everyone liked the duck--both nicely prepared and generously portioned.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience4
service5

It was a wonderful dining experience and ...

Dined on June 9, 2016

It was a wonderful dining experience and I can't wait to ear here again

food5
ambience5
service5

Superb across the boards. Highly recomme ...

Dined on June 9, 2016

Superb across the boards. Highly recommended.

food5
ambience5
service5

One of the best meals of our lives!!! U ...

vip
Dined on June 9, 2016

One of the best meals of our lives!!! Utterly fantastic in all regards including the food, the service and the ambience. Abe our waiter was fantastic. An absolute must visit for fine dining in Santa Barbara and can't recommend highly enough.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always an outstanding experience.

Dined on June 8, 2016

The food is well crafted and delicious, with a wine list that compliments the meal. Our server, Byron, was welcoming and knowledgeable, and he enhanced the dining experience. If you are ever in Santa Barbara, this is a "Must Go To" restaurant.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

best service ever!

vip
Dined on June 8, 2016

we enjoyed a terrific meal at Bouchon. Our server, Tony, was off-the-charts excellent. He recommended beer and wine pairings to suit our tastes and our entrees -- and he was spot on in every case.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Wonderful evening out

Dined on June 7, 2016

we totally enjoyed the romantic atmosphere; knowledgeable service and perfectly prepared food. The crab cakes were the best I have ever had, the cauliflower soup very tasty and the main courses we selected were spot on excellent. would definitely return!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Anniversary Dinner

Dined on June 6, 2016

I came here with my husband for our one year anniversary and they had rose petals on our table and a personalized Happy Anniversary card for us. Also, the hostess, our waiter, and one other employee came up to us to wish us a happy anniversary. It was a really nice touch and made us feel really special. The food was absolutely amazing as well.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great place to celebrate

vip
Dined on June 6, 2016

The staff went out of there way to make our celebration dinner special Food was so fresh and delicious

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great Food & Extensive Wine List

Dined on June 5, 2016

Was only in town for a few days. We wanted to find a nice place to go for a birthday celebration on a Sat night. There are so many good looking places to eat on State street that it was difficult to choose, but we finally settled on Bouchon as the food looked interesting. Honestly, we ended up being very happy we decided on this one. The food was spot on and local, the wine list was substantial and also mostly local and the service was attentive and pleasant. We even arrived very early(about 30 mins) and they were still able to seat us right away. Not cheap, but would definitely go back if given the chance.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Great dining

Dined on June 5, 2016

Excellent food and attentive waitstaff. Tables for 2 are closely spaced so conversation privacy could be an issue.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Bouchon was lovely. Our plates were full ...

Dined on June 4, 2016

Bouchon was lovely. Our plates were full of good flavors and the camaraderie among the guests in the dining room was wonderful. Our dinner was a little slow coming out, so we were offered an additional free pour of the wines we were drinking, by the glass). This is a gregarious restaurant with well-prepared, tasty meals. (We were charged for a bottle of wine instead of a glass of the wine, but we caught it and our server apologized.)

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic, one of the best meals we have ever had

Dined on June 2, 2016

Celebrated our son's 40th birthday. Brought a magnum of French burgundy from 2003. Staff poured it perfectly after asking us if we wanted it decanted. The four of us had different dishes and all were perfect-tasty, nice presentation, perfect temperature. Portions were more than sufficient. Service was very attentive but in the background so as not to disturb our occasion. We will remember this occasion for a very long time. Reservations are a must. Prices were what one would expect for a restaurant of this caliber. Fantastic

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The occasion was my husband's 89th birthday.

Dined on June 2, 2016

The service was outstanding and a Birthday Card was on the table with rose petals scattered about. The food excellent and my favorite pork chop was hands down the most delicious I have ever tasted. My husband chose Lamb chops and they were done to perfection which seems to be hard to find in the finest restaurants today. High praise for this establishment.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food2
ambience3
service2

We had an incredible first experience a ...

vip
Dined on May 29, 2016

We had an incredible first experience a few months ago. But, the second time around was forgettable! The chicken I ordered was very salty. There was a lack of genuine engagement from the service team.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went to Bouchon to celebrate our anni ...

Dined on May 28, 2016

We went to Bouchon to celebrate our anniversary. Dinner was delicious, and the service was attentive. We shared a salad. I had the scallop appetizer as my entree, and my husband had the duck. We both thought the preparation was impeccable. This was a great choice for our anniversary dinner.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great meal great service!

Dined on May 28, 2016

This is a grey choice for a special occasion. The service was excellent the mushroom appetizer was the best I have ever tried. We had the tuna and the sea bass both were well prepared. For desert we ordered the cherry compont with vanilla ice cream. It had more cherries than two of us could eat.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

Consistently good food. Exclusively local wines.

Dined on May 26, 2016

The food is and ambience have a definite French influence. We have dined at Bouchon several times and the food is consistently good with sufficient choice for all tastes. The wines are all local from the Santa Barbara region. It's good the restaurant supports local vineyards but it can be a little restrictive for those who look for a more worldly choice in their wines. That said, all the wines we have tried have been good. It's wine or beer only, no cocktails. The service was excellent but this time our waiter was inattentive once we had paid. I would recommend this restaurant for those who enjoy consistently good food.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

So much better

Dined on May 25, 2016

We have a Bouchon by Thomas Keller in Las Vegas however it does not compare at all to Bouchon in Santa Barbara. Chef Greg Murphy knows what he is doing. This location is so cute, the food was great and the ambiance was perfect! Loved it and whenever I'm back in SB I will definitely visit.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Totally delicious meal. Crab cakes start ...

vip
Dined on May 25, 2016

Totally delicious meal. Crab cakes starter were brilliant followed by incredible venison cooked to perfection ! My husband's pork dinner also delicious . Molten chocolate cake was Devine . Perfect birthday celebration!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic food and service! The wine pa ...

Dined on May 25, 2016

Fantastic food and service! The wine pairing is an excellent touch. All of the dishes you prepare look spectacular.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Exceptional best describes every aspect ...

Dined on May 24, 2016

Exceptional best describes every aspect of our dining experience. Eric, the manager and Aaron our server were obviously experts in their field and particularly the nuances of Bouchon. They are number one for a reason. We had the scallop app, followed by lamb and salmon mains accompanied by recommended wine, finished with chocolate lava cake. Absolutely delicious and delightful. Highly recommended.

food5
ambience5
service5

What a great find in the best part of Sa ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

What a great find in the best part of Santa Barbara, Downtown Santa Barbara, which is right by all of the great shopping and bars. Parking was convenient as there is a parking lot in the back. Decor was very nice and heat lamps were on for those sitting in their more spacious covered outdoor patio area, but like many of the shops and restaurants in the area, it was still a little cramped. The service was second to none and our waiter was great and was always checking to make sure we were good without being annoying. For food, the seared foie gras and mushroom ragout were both delicious. The pan seared sea bass was good but not to be mean, was something I could do from home. The rack of lamb on the the hand was so memorable and so well cooked that I had to pick up the bones with my hands to finish them off. It's a must order. Dessert was the blueberry lemon cake which tasted like a Betty Crocker blueberry muffin with McConnels Blueberry ice cream(Local ice cream shop) which wasn't bad at all but not worth the code either. Great thing about this Bouchon is that they really focused on locally sourced foods from the produce and fish to even the ice cream they use which I applaud them for.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.