Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 46 times today

Bouchon - Santa Barbara

4.6
2597 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$31 to $50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Californian
Top Tags:
  • Good for a Date
  • Notable Wine List
  • Romantic
Fresh, local ingredients, prepared with care. Excellent wines that reflect the quality and character of our region and work in concert with the cuisine. Warm, inviting ambiance, service at a relaxed, leisurely pace.
Santa Barbara ‘Wine Country Cuisine’ means we source our ingredients using an ‘as-fresh-and-as-local-as-possible’ approach, with fish from the Santa Barbara Channel and produce from the surrounding countryside. We then take into account how these flavors can be presented in concert with our local wines. I believe you’ll taste the difference and see how well they work together.
We believe Santa Barbara is producing some of the finest Chardonnay, Pinot Noir and Syrah. Other locally produced varietals will surprise you with their quality, variety and approachability. Please ask your server for recommendations on how any of our 40+ wines by the glass match up with your selections. Bon Appètit!
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Californian, French
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Dinner nightly from 5:00 p.m.
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(805) 730-1160
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Smart Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Greg Murphy
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private party facilities
Private dining in the cork room available for groups of 10 – 20 people.
icon/ic_contactCreated with Sketch.
Private party contact
Manager: (805) 730-1160
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
State
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Street and public lot parking available.
icon/ic_special_eventsCreated with Sketch.
Special events & promotions
HOLIDAY EVENTS: Price fixe menus for Thanksgiving, Christmas Eve, Christmas Dinner, New Years Eve and Valentines Dinner
Additional
Beer, Farm to Table, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 2597 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.6based on recent ratings
4.6
food
4.6
service
4.6
ambience
4.3
value
Noise · Moderate
92% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 2 days ago

Wonderful service provided by Justin... and the food was delicious. Local fare with local wine pairings

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 3 days ago

We celebrated our anniversary at Bouchon and they went out of their way to make it special. They called me prior to dinner to make sure that our names were spelled correctly, spread red rose petals on the table and comped us a fabulous chocolate dessert. Outstanding dining experience.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 3 days ago

FOOD AND SERVICE WERE OUTSTANDING. INNOVATIVE CUISINE. MANY NICE TOUCHES.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 5 days ago

Went on our honeymoon after I’d gone with my company a few years prior. Incredible food, great atmosphere, and top-notch service.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 5 days ago

We continue to visit Bouchon every time we are in Santa Barbara. This time, for a signifiant wedding anniversary, we had a wonderful and memorable meal. We very presented with a 'special table' with a personal greeting and rose pedals. Just delightful. We dined on a nectarine salad, and had halibut and sea bass as main courses. All fresh, with select vegetables and creative seasonings and accents. Service was helpful, insightful - there when we wanted them, not there when we didn't. Perfect is an over-used phrase - but dining at Bouchon is 'perfect';.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 7 days ago

Good food and wine selection, including foie gras and a petite syrah-based house wine that works well with the range of meat dishes.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 20, 2018

Great dinner out!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 20, 2018

Excellent food and service, everything was spot on. The Salad Layonaise was a subtle masterpiece and the venison was cooked to perfection. Crab cakes were delish and my wife’s local wild caught sea bass was also phenomenal. Can’t go wrong with Bouchon...

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 20, 2018

Love this restaurant! I would recommend to anyone who is local or traveling in Santa Barbara.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 18, 2018

Food was very good. Nothing special. Service can improve.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 15, 2018

the food was delicious and the service outstanding. We had looked the restaurant up and it seemed a good fit for us and it was better than expected. Most enjoyable meal. When I return to Santa Barbara I will definitely return to Bouchon!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 14, 2018

Bouchon might be one of the best restaurants in Santa Barbara.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Great atmosphere, gregarious, knowledgeable staff.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Everyone was very friendly and welcoming. Food was locally sourced and cooked to perfection. Staff was very attentive to everything we needed. Will definitely be back when we come back to Santa Barbara

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Excellent service and the wait staff and hostess were welcoming and helpful. Will return soon.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Bouchon is always great-- extremely consistent quality of food, service, and terrific wine list. Ask for seat where Tom is serving.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 12, 2018

Excellent wine pairings by owner.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on May 10, 2018

One always feel well attended to, satisfied, and happy after an evening at Bouchon.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 10, 2018

Absolutely fantastic! Upon arrival for our 31st anniversary there were rose pedals and a special note from the owner on the table. It's touches to detail like that which have kept this restaurant popular for 20 years.

Great Cali-french cuisine. The venison medallions were terrific and the pork shoulder was scrumptious having been slow cooked for 12 hours. We be returning again!

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on May 10, 2018

Weird Experience

My husband and I decided to try Le Bouchon. I made a reservation using Open Table for a weekday around 6:00 pm. The waiter put us on a table on the terrace area. I ordered the Foie Gras and the Sea Bass, and My husband ordered the Cauliflower Soup and the Duck Confit.
As our appetizer came and we started eating it, a little bird entered in the terrace area and started singing. The hostess and one waiter got a huge tall broom and a large stick and started chasing the bird as we were eating our appetizer.We could see all the dust falling over our for as we were eating. There was also another couple in the terrace area and I could notice how they were also feeling uncomfortable with what was happening.
Plus, the food was not great. I do NOT recommend this restaurant.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 8, 2018

We were visiting from out of town and were in Santa Barbara to finalize plans for our son's wedding. We are having our son's rehearsal dinner at Bouchon's sister restaurant, The Wine Cask, and wanted to try Bouchon. Our dinner was outstanding from beginning to end...food was all locally grown, wine was fantastic, and our waiter was knowledgeable and timed everything perfectly. We were not rushed in the least, and were able to enjoy the entire evening. We would definitely return and have recommended Bouchon (already!) to friends who will visit Santa Barbara in the near future. Thanks!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 8, 2018

We celebrated our daughter’s 50th birthday. Everything was wonderful. The service, food and ambiance were perfect for a very joyous event.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 6, 2018

On our 19 anniversary at Bouchon Santa Barbara:
Service great!
Steak was very bad, Potato's not done, Belgian sprouts no taste they charged the steak after complain. We will not go back there anymore. After a great beautiful wine tour, bad at Bouchon.
Johannes H.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 5, 2018

I loved this place. Great service, even better food. They had a special note for my fiance on her birthday, and made sure the servers were aware. Everything we ordered was delicious but the rack of lamb was particularly amazing. I would definitely comeback to try more!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 5, 2018

A wonderful, tasty meal. Food was perfectly prepared and plated in an appealing manner. Wine recommendations, local Santa Barbara wines, were nicely paired with our food selections.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 3, 2018

We had heard that Bouchon is one of the best restaurants in Santa Barbara and were not disappointed. The fois gras was superb, the braised pork shank and the rack of lamb perfectly done. The waiter was highly knowledgeable but not snobbish. Highly recommended.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 3, 2018

Our favorite restaurant. We don't live in SB, but we go to Bouchon at least twice every time we visit, even it's only for 3 days. Have never had anything other than a great meal and a great experience. It's not cheap, but it's worth it to us. Wonderfully inventive flavor combinations, and excellent, friendly service, the ingredients taste fresh, and the food is prepared skillfully and consistently.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 2, 2018

The food experience was outstanding. The chef is extremely creative with presentation and quality making the meal extremely enjoyable. There are great options for wine pairing taking the experience to another level. Cannot wait to return.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 2, 2018

Food was just ok. the sea bass had a strong lemon taste and the lamb lacked flavor. We asked the waiter for ice and when he brought it after awhile he apologized and said he had other priorities. Bummer for our 30th anniversary. Went there years ago and food and staff were much more professional.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 1, 2018

The food was great and the staff was extremely knowledgeable

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 1, 2018

Excellent dinner. I had the signature duck for my main course with a special califlower soup. My wife had the crispy skin salmon and ate it all which is a high recommendation. Special occasion with rose petals on the table.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 27, 2018

It was very busy with the dining room was mainly booked by a large (loud) party. The server was quite personable but the food was slow to arrive.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 26, 2018

By far one of the best restaurants in the Santa Barbara area hands down.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 26, 2018

Bouchon has long been one of our favorites, particularly for special occasions. The warm & inviting ambiance and the attentive staff welcome you to an exquisite dining experience. Chef Greg Murphy's creations are widely varied but always excellent in flavor and choices. On our recent visit my wife and I enjoyed the Polenta-seared yellowfin tuna and the Maple-glazed Duck breast and confit of thigh. Both were delicious and we eagerly shared tastes. Bouchon is a tru Santa Barbara gem, and though it is a bit pricey, is worth every penny.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 25, 2018

Excellent service across the board. Food was spectacular. Great way to celebrate a birthday with the family.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 25, 2018

Lovely atmosphere, delicious, inventive entrees (sea bass and salmon) mmm... and that molten lava cake! ...waiter was accommodating to my husband's dietary restrictions and so pleasant and attentive as were others on the wait staff. A very special evening. Kudos to the chef!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 23, 2018

Salmon was great.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 22, 2018

Bouchon was a wonderful surprise and experience. I had called ahead and mentioned it was my wife's birthday and they had rose petals on the table and a welcoming note awaiting our arrival. the service is professional, attentive, and helpful with food and wine choices. The food was outstanding and we enjoyed every bite.

We will be back for another special occaision

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 22, 2018

The server was wonderful and we liked the restaurant ambience. Very disappointed in the French Onion soup; it was very bland. We had the free range chicken, which was delicious. The entrees are limited for our tastes, so we probably won't be back. I would check the menu online to make sure it's appealing to you.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 21, 2018

Great food and great service

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
65