Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.24mi
  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.24mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.24mi
  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.24mi

About Bouchon - Santa Barbara

Fresh, local ingredients, prepared with care. Excellent wines that reflect the quality and character of our region and work in concert with the cuisine. Warm, inviting ambiance, service at a relaxed, leisurely pace.
Santa Barbara ‘Wine Country Cuisine’ means we source our ingredients using an ‘as-fresh-and-as-local-as-possible’ approach, with fish from the Santa Barbara Channel and produce from the surrounding countryside. We then take into account how these flavors can be presented in concert with our local wines. I believe you’ll taste the difference and see how well they work together.
We believe Santa Barbara is producing some of the finest Chardonnay, Pinot Noir and Syrah. Other locally produced varietals will surprise you with their quality, variety and approachability. Please ask your server for recommendations on how any of our 40+ wines by the glass match up with your selections. Bon Appètit!

9 West Victoria St.
Santa Barbara, CA 93101
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Californian, French

Hours of Operation:
Dinner nightly from 5:00 p.m.

Cross Street:
State

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(805) 730-1160

Website:
http://www.bouchonsantabarbara.com/

Parking Details:
Street and public lot parking available.

Executive Chef:
Greg Murphy

Private Party Facilities:
Private dining in the cork room available for groups of 10 – 20 people.

Private Party Contact:
Manager: (805) 730-1160

Additional:
Beer, Farm to Table, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
HOLIDAY EVENTS: Price fixe menus for Thanksgiving, Christmas Eve, Christmas Dinner, New Years Eve and Valentines Dinner

Bouchon - Santa Barbara Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.6

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Anniversaries (74)
Notable Wine List (69)
Local Ingredients (69)
See All
Fit for Foodies (68)
Good for a Date (67)
Special Occasion (64)
Romantic (63)
Creative Cuisine (56)
Neighborhood Gem (44)
Cozy (39)
Good for Birthdays (36)
Authentic (32)
Worth the Drive (32)
Quiet Conversation (32)
Business Meals (24)
Pre/post Theatre (23)
Seasonal (18)
Great for Outdoor Dining (18)
Organic (11)
Comfort Food (10)
Casual (9)
Fun (9)
Open Kitchen (8)
Good for Groups (8)
Tasting Menu (7)
Hot Spot (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
People Watching (5)
Private Room (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Historic (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Tapas (1)
Great Beer (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Sort By:
S
2338 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Adelaide)·Dined 4 days ago

We Ate at Bouchons 3 years go, it was an Amazing dinner. So amazing that we ate there 2 times during our last stay at Santa Barbara. We have since recommended Bouchons to our friends several times who travel through Santa Barbara. 3 years later we have returned to Bouchons, and were sadly disappointed with the overall experience. Service, food, and overall experience was fair. Not terribly bad but not exceptional either and we were expecting exceptional. I don't think we will be returning to Bouchon on our next Santa Barbara stay.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 4 days ago

Always a delicious meal, friendly and efficient host and staff. Blueberry Lemon upside down cake not to be missed so save room for dessert.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 5 days ago

Outstanding dining experience. Table service, presentation and quality of food were were as expected for an evening of fine dining.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 6 days ago

Entertaining friends and enjoyed the peaceful Patio area. We enjoyed talking and the food. Never felt rushed by the discreet staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 19, 2017

I had always wanted to eat at Bouchon. It is a great name in Santa Barbara. Two of us went and enjoyed the marrow appetizer and the Foix Gras. We then went on to the Pork Shank and the Venison. All extremely good, extremely filling and flavorful. Being that it was a warm day I would have loved to have had the choice of a lighter special of the day. With the skill of the kitchen staff I am sure they could come up with something daily that would wow even the most picky palates.

Thanks to the owners for having such a great place and excellent staff.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 19, 2017

My wife and I enjoyed sharing the generous heirloom tomato salad served with feta cheese smeared on toasted bread and drizzled with a balsamic reduction. The grilled lamb chops were the best I've ever had. We finished off the meal with a cheese platter of three different cheeses that we chose from a list of nine. Outstanding food and I was introduced to a very outstanding local red wine as well.

Tags: Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 18, 2017

Best CA King Salmon I have ever had, I'm a total food snob so a 5 star review means something;) I highly recommend this place.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Gluten Free Options, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 17, 2017

Amazing food, great service, ambiance is wonderful, however, their approach to cooling the restaurant undermined what should have been an otherwise exceptional experience which is why I am leaving a lower score for the review. We had a 5.45pm reservation. They opened the covered front of the restaurant to let air flow in however, it was a hot day and their failing to have air conditioned the restaurant properly and then having hot air blow in, undermined the experience. You shouldn't have to sweat through a meal at this price point - keep in mind you are also eating warm/hot food as well. I called and spoke to the manager who apologized and understand and was generally nice, expressing that he hoped we would give them another try. He stopped short of extending an offer to do something nice for us the next time if we came back- a comp on a glass of wine, free dessert, whatever, to actually do right. We took the time to call and share feedback- 2 other tables had the same complaint they discussed among themselves even as there would not be a way to cool the place in time for any of our meals that night nor any place in the restaurant where it would not also be uncomfortably hot. Hospitality means doing right by customers and the manager, while appreciative and nice, did not do right by us by having the restaurant properly cooled nor in giving us a reason to return.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Everything was superb, food, waiter, manager all added to the perfection!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Divine! Fantastic food. Seamless service. Extensive and carefully selected wine selection. We so enjoyed the food and wine. Also appreciate the attention to pairing such.
We will happily return!

Tags: Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Lovely ambiance. Great wine pairings. Very accommodating to sharing dishes. I recommend outdoor dining for natural light and it's quieter.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Knowledgeable waiter about local vineyards and 🍷. Loved the pairings of food and wine. Fabulous dinner.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Bouchon hit all the high points, with great food, attentive service, relaxing ambiance and a nice wine list. The Dungeness crab appetizer and rack of lamb were both worth a return trip. Definitely recommended, just make sure to plan ahead.

Tags: Cozy, Authentic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Really enjoyed this evening meal here. The food was very good, and the menu was a nice mix of varied (mostly local) ingredients. Only beer and wine however, but both seemed to be a nice mixture of varied wines and beers each of which might compliment the meal.

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on July 15, 2017

The Tomato Puree was outstanding, as was my salmon. Every meal here has been delicious. The staff is very helpful, knowledgeable, and the chef came to our table to answer questions about the tomato puree. We'll return to Bouchon!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 15, 2017

If you want to pay extra to see, be seen, and practice your air kisses then this may be your destination. If you were thinking of paying extra in expectation of inspired and creative food bursting with taste bud rewards, then maybe not so much. The trio of scallops was visually impressive and they were cooked exactly right, but the taste unrewarding in each case. The stuffed peppers were a delight to see and also provided a rich blend of flavors. The Salad 'Lyonnaise' was so overly wilted & mushy and dripping with dressing that it was sent back. This quite obviously resulted in some sort of "trouble at table 3" buzz. The sea bass was over cooked and bland with forgettable sides. The duck was amazingly over cooked and the thy portion was so tough and dried out as to be almost jerky like. It's just not that hard to get premium food in Santa Barbara. We wasted our time on this place.

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value1

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Birthday dinner with boyfriend. Food was amazing. Salad was so tangy and wonderful, tasted like a dessert. Main dishes were also amazing- had venison and ahi tuna and both were superb. Wine pairing was great, as was dessert.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Our favorite restaurant in the world! We recommend it to everyone we know visiting Santa Barbara! Great atmosphere, wonderful hospitality, delicious food and wine and the best people running the show!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Overall, We enjoyed Bouchon. They were out of one of the wines we selected and an alternate was offered. It was a nice acceptable alternative. Our first course was incorrect. The staff handled very quickly and the correct order was sent from the kitchen. However when the check arrived we were charged for both. After I pointed out the error, it was corrected. Overall the services errors did not impact our experience, but we were disappointed that the staff was not more apologetic nor did they offer a gift from the house for the errors of the evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on July 13, 2017

We had a wonderful table on the outdoor enclosed patio with fresh breeze from the street. Great service (not too fast or slow. Be sure and order the Three Scallops; they are the bomb! The lamb shank was also outstanding as was the duck.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 12, 2017

Celebrating a birthday and move to California. Staff went out of their way to help celebrate; flowers in the table, greeting card for the celebrant and a candle in the desert. Food was locally sourced and fresh, although the duck leg and rack of lamb meats were a little tough.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 11, 2017

We come here once a year when we visit Santa Barbara. Always the highlight of the trip. Always a joy to eat good French food that is original and inspired by local ingredients and wine. Love Bouchon!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on July 9, 2017

All the servers were very nice and patient with my family - they don't speak English - and they kindly made a pasta with butter and parmesan cheese for my little brother.

Tags: Romantic, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 7, 2017

We dined here for our anniversary. It was very romantic, the food was amazing and had a great wine list! The service was also very good. Would highly recommend!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Good Vegetarian Options, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on July 7, 2017

We "do" Bouchon for special occasions and this was the first time the restaurant was NOT excellent. I ordered rack of lamb and it was tough and grizzly. On many prior occasions the entree had been excellent. Do not know the lamb supplier but they would have been better off at Trader Joe's or Costco.

Tags: Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 6, 2017

Our first choice for dining out in Santa Barbara. What a great dining experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on July 5, 2017

Excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 4, 2017

Dinner at bouchon is a beautiful experience - you'd never know you were a mere block away from busy State Street, the lighting is low and warm, and the food, despite seeming like standard fancy restaurant fare, is genuinely amazing.

When making reservations, I apparently noted that dinner would be in celebration of a one-year anniversary with the boyfriend. When we got to the restaurant, we were greeted by name and shown to a table covered with rose petals and bearing a card signed by the management team. I was over the moon then, and I still am now. If you have the opportunity to let bouchon know that you're celebrating something, they will make it worth your while!

Growing up in California, you get used to seeing the same handful of menu options nearly everywhere you go, and bouchon definitely has the same ones. But I've never had such incredible steak with broccoli/cauliflower/mashed potatoes, and both the boyfriend and I agree that the blueberry lemon cake will be in the Top Five Desserts we've ever had in our lives, ever.

Santa Barbara does not lack for excellent dinner places, but bouchon should definitely top the list! :)

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on July 3, 2017

We enjoyed a wonderful meal on the patio. Cannot recommend the lyonnaise salad and rack of lamb enough. Both were phenomenal! Only regret is we did not save room for dessert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Intimate atmosphere, great menu, great wine menu. Efficient, friendly staff, great sommelier!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 2, 2017

We just went to Bouchon on our get away weekend to Santa Barbara. What a special find! We loved the atmosphere, service, and food. Our waiter was very attentive and he made our evening very enjoyable. The owner made sure he went by each table to enquire about the dining experience. I would come back to this restaurant in a heart beat and I will recommend it to our friends.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Perfect meal, excellent service (the wine recommendations were spot on) -- could not have been better.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on July 1, 2017

This was our second visit, this time to celebrate a birthday. Bouchon decorated the table with rose petals and a personalized greeting card. The staff are friendly yet thoroughly professional. The food superb. Lovely ambiance. Even the table settings are lovely. Bouchon is a true gem.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date, Authentic, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Organic, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 29, 2017

They treated us as if they were really too busy for us, and didn't want to give us a good table. We got a table in the middle of the room that was too busy for us and they ran around on both sides of us and got in the way. We made it very clear what kind of table we wanted, but they acted as if they didn't understand.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value4

 
 (Naples)·Dined on June 29, 2017

Excellent food and service one of the best dinners I have had

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on June 28, 2017

This is our special occasion site and we had out-of-town guests that were duly impressed

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 27, 2017

Fabulous food , great friendly service, good ambience, recommend booking a table outside

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on June 26, 2017

Absolutely fabulous. Had the heirloom tomato salad, bone marrow, and mushroom ragout. My only regret was not trying the foie gras while I was there. Wine pairing suggestions were wonderful.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 26, 2017

Bouchon has been consistently delicious every time I've been there! The service is excellent and you can tell that the waiters are familiar with the food they're serving and proud of it. They also give on-point wine recommendations, whether everyone at the table is having their own glass or sharing a bottle. Make sure to get the crab cakes with the wine pairing! My entree (venison) was wonderful, but the crab cakes steal the show every time! The prices may seem intimidating, but I promise that it's worth every penny for the taste and experience.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 26, 2017

Bouchon was lovely night out. The menu, food and service are reliably creative, fresh and exceptional. Our favorite surprises were the potato leek soup, heirloom tomato salad, duck main course and the cheese plate. I ordered the sea bass and while the fish was perfect it seemed the potato cubes weren't fresh cooked, but tasted reheated, and I didn't expect Bouchon standards to use reheated potato. This was our second visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.