Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.24mi
  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.24mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.24mi
  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.24mi

About Bouchon - Santa Barbara

Fresh, local ingredients, prepared with care. Excellent wines that reflect the quality and character of our region and work in concert with the cuisine. Warm, inviting ambiance, service at a relaxed, leisurely pace.
Santa Barbara ‘Wine Country Cuisine’ means we source our ingredients using an ‘as-fresh-and-as-local-as-possible’ approach, with fish from the Santa Barbara Channel and produce from the surrounding countryside. We then take into account how these flavors can be presented in concert with our local wines. I believe you’ll taste the difference and see how well they work together.
We believe Santa Barbara is producing some of the finest Chardonnay, Pinot Noir and Syrah. Other locally produced varietals will surprise you with their quality, variety and approachability. Please ask your server for recommendations on how any of our 40+ wines by the glass match up with your selections. Bon Appètit!

9 West Victoria St.
Santa Barbara, CA 93101
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Californian, French

Hours of Operation:
Dinner nightly from 5:00 p.m.

Cross Street:
State

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(805) 730-1160

Website:
http://www.bouchonsantabarbara.com/

Parking Details:
Street and public lot parking available.

Executive Chef:
Greg Murphy

Private Party Facilities:
Private dining in the cork room available for groups of 10 – 20 people.

Private Party Contact:
Manager: (805) 730-1160

Additional:
Beer, Farm to Table, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
HOLIDAY EVENTS: Price fixe menus for Thanksgiving, Christmas Eve, Christmas Dinner, New Years Eve and Valentines Dinner

Bouchon - Santa Barbara Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (77)
Notable Wine List (76)
Good for a Date (76)
See All
Special Occasion (74)
Good for Anniversaries (74)
Local Ingredients (64)
Fit for Foodies (62)
Creative Cuisine (52)
Cozy (43)
Neighborhood Gem (41)
Quiet Conversation (40)
Good for Birthdays (33)
Authentic (31)
Pre/post Theatre (31)
Business Meals (29)
Worth the Drive (27)
Great for Outdoor Dining (22)
Seasonal (19)
Open Kitchen (18)
Healthy (16)
Private Room (15)
Fun (13)
Organic (12)
Casual (9)
People Watching (7)
Comfort Food (7)
Hot Spot (7)
Great for Lunch (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Late-night Find (4)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Disabled Access (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Historic (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Vegan (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Waterfront (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Family Style (1)
Sort By:
S
2263 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

Great restaurant with fabulous food. Our waiter was a long-timer (9 years) willing to share opinions when asked. The fois gras was the best I've had in a long time. The mushroom ragout was to die for and the rib eye was perfect.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined 6 days ago

The service by the wait staff was impeccable with a wealth of knowledge on wine. The appetizer was also outstanding; the foie gras and the pureed sauce were memorable. However, based on other positive reviews, I was expecting a wow factor from the main entree, and I felt that they came out a little short.

Tags: Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Everything was outstanding about this restaurant! From the food to the service to the ambiance. I went here with my fiance for our anniversary dinner and am so glad we chose this place. We ordered 3 appetizers - the bone marrow, fois gras and salad - 2 entrees (duck confit and sea bass), dessert wine and a dessert (tart). Everything was so incredibly delicious! Paired with excellent service, it was the perfect dinner. Highly recommended!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on May 13, 2017

I celebrated my birthday at Bouchon and was met with a table decorated with rose petals. Our waiter was an excellent host. The first courses were outstanding - the main courses good but not as impressive, perhaps a little high priced for the quality. Overall a great experience, though! :-)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Altogether it was a very nice restaurant, I can see why my friends recommend it

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on May 11, 2017

My favorite Santa Barbara restaurant. We've eaten there every time we go to Santa Barbara for the past few years, and never been disappointed. The service is friendly, the wine list impressive, and the food is wonderful and inventive. They are big on fresh, local ingredients - the salads taste like the ingredients were picked just before being served - and everything is superbly prepared, but what I especially like are the surprising and delightful ways they combine flavors.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Notable Wine List, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on May 8, 2017

The food was excellent in both ingredients and preparation as usual. I have never been disappointed at this restaurant.

Tags: Casual, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Food was excellent! Service is top notch - everyone was very friendly and warm. We will definitely go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Outstanding dining experience!!!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on May 6, 2017

We were visiting from Colorado and celebrating our daughter's college graduation. All the wait staff were very complimentary and gracious!
It was the best service, ambience and quality of food that our family has ever experienced.
Our sincere thanks to the restaurant and staff for making our celebration stellar!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Late-night Find, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Loved this restaurant! Great ambience, delicious food and wonderful service!!!

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on May 6, 2017

We had a wonderful evening. Service was excellent.
Thank you for a great meal.

Tags: Good for a Date, Seasonal, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Excellent go to place for a civilized meal in a comfortable and nice setting. Mitchell, the owner is a pleasant and welcoming presence. The service is professional quality and the food outstanding. This is one of the finest restaurants in Santa Barbara, known and appreciated by locals.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Open Kitchen, Local Ingredients, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on May 4, 2017

We were in Santa Barbara for the day and decided to try Bouchon for dinner. It was, by far, the best dinner we've had on our week long trip. I had the mushroom appetizer and my husband the crab cakes. I had the duck as my entree and my husband the rack of lamb. We had the most delicious dessert -- the lemon/blueberry cake with several scoops of the lemon/blueberry cream ice cream from McConnell's.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Jaime was awesome best sever ever, amazing food as well :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Absolutely superb in every way: food, service, ambiance, table settings , presentation. Excellent. Beautiful. Merci to everyone at Bouchon.

Tags: Seasonal, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Open Kitchen, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Organic, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 30, 2017

I love this restaurant. And as an SB resident, I would like to dine at Bouchon regularly. However, I wish that the entrée menu were a little longer, or changed up frequently. The starters were amazing, but a more interesting selection for the entrée choices would get me coming back over and over again.

Tags: Private Room, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Romantic, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Best meal we have had at a restaurant in a long time. The presentation was beautiful and the food was delicious! Server was excellent as well. Highly recommend. We plan to go back often.

Tags: Business Meals, Cozy, Authentic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on April 30, 2017

We loved everything . Our waiter was very personable and helped us with our choices.
I ordered the salmon dinner which was perfectly plated with delicious asparagus and
potatoes. My husband enjoyed the pork which was tender and succulent. We shared a lemon blueberry dessert with blueberry ice cream. We each enjoyed generous glasses of wine.
We felt well fed and pampered. Perfect evening. Thanks, we will be back.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on April 29, 2017

All I can say is 5 Stars.. I love the restaurant. The owners and staff are very sincere and knowledgable with what they are serving and how they pair the food with wine and drink. The ambiance and atmosphere is very romantic with soft lighting and lovely music playing. I would definitely recommend this restaurant for a lovely and amazing dining experience.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Amazing food, the rack of lamb, the salmon with crispy skin, the forest mushroom ragout.......
The service is beyond first class,. Visiting from out of town and we had reservations for two evenings in a row. On our second evening, our waiter showed up with a bottle of wine that he found at another restaurant and delivered it for us because he knew we liked it on our first evening when we got their last bottle. And this was on his day off!!! And this was for a very moderately priced bottle of wine, but he made it very special. Thanks Joaquin, great times.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 29, 2017

The food was excellent and the service was great! We had the mushroom appetizer which was amazing and the French onion soup. I had the venison and my husband got the lamb, both were delicious!

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on April 29, 2017

We loved this restaurant! We brought our own wine from a stellar cellar and the waiter/sommelier Aaron was fantastic! He made our experience so much fun. The food was excellent as was our waiter. We will go back in a heartbeat. It was a memorable evening and really fun night!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Bouchon has a delectable menu and a courteous and enthusiastic staff. They are also knowledgeable and guided me in selecting my courses and pairing. Lastly, they demonstrated consideration when I informed them that I was attending a performance that evening. Overall, it was a wonderful dining experience and I would recommend Bouchon to anyone.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Special Occasion, Quick Bite, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Private Room, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Awesome food, service, and ambiance. Would highly recommend it.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on April 27, 2017

As always! Great food, fresh and well prepared. Excellent wine list. Super and attentive service. A favorite!!

Tags: Casual, Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 26, 2017

Sat in patio. A little noisy but food was Very nice. Excellent duck preparation. Good sea bass. Good wine list. Excellent Pinot Fiddlehead. Recommended

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 25, 2017

We had a wonderful time and so enjoyed sharing such a fine meal with our friends and family.

Tags: Business Meals, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 24, 2017

Took my girlfriend here for her birthday. Great ambiance, impeccable service, and the food was delicious. I HIGHLY recommend this restaurant for any occasion or even just to enjoy some high end dining.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Wood Oven, Good for Birthdays, Open Kitchen, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Hospitality was superb. Great selection of food and wine. Would highly recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 23, 2017

I recommend this charming restaurant for adult cupple. After enjoyed beautiful street walk in the evening, you will see the place. I had a bone mellow and a sea bass. My wife baked bone mellow in Europe, but we don't have bone mellow in US. I love it. The sea bass was baked perfectly and juicy.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Food and wine we're fantastic, loved the scallop trio

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Ok, but didn't deserve the excellent reviews that are on this site. Appetizer was very good. Entre, Rack of lamb, wasn't what I expect in a highly rated restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Excellent service, went out of their way to help us move a booking. Knowledgable staff, and great food and wine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 17, 2017

Great service(Louie), delicious food! Chicken was so good! Salad was great too! Dessert was outstanding! (Blueberry cake).

Tags: Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Healthy, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We're from Orange County and this was a great find. Excellent on all areas.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 11, 2017

Selected Bouchon for anniversary dinner while visiting Santa Barbara. All local wines featured on the wine list, also locally sourced foods. We had the ahi tuna, which was great!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 11, 2017

Nice menu selections - both local & global wine selections - attentive service - special birthday celebration - when I tried to pay the bill by slipping my credit card to the waiter he did not embarrass me with a fuss - he handed it back to me when he brought the bill to the table & gave it to the guest who had given him a card first - all gracious & professional -

Tags: Fun, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Historic, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on April 11, 2017

Hostess was very sweet. Congratulated us on our anniversary. Rose petals on the table. server was attentive and knowledgeable. Overall great experience.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 10, 2017

We dined at Bouchon - Santa Barbara for a special occasion, and the restaurant did not disappoint. The ambiance is lovely and low-key, and service was attentive without hovering too much. The farm-to-table approach results in delicious locally sourced fare, while wine recommendations were perfectly paired with our meal. I would definitely recommend Bouchon to others looking for a lovely meal in Santa Barbara.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.