Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.23mi
  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.23mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.23mi
  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.23mi

About Bouche Bistro (Santa Fe)

Bouche Bistro (Santa Fe) is a neighborhood French bistro located in the heart of Santa Fe, serving inspired rustic French cuisine prepared by award-winning chef Charles Dale. Bouche Bistro (Santa Fe) offers an exceptional variety of new and old world wine selections to accompany the menu. Seating is limited and reservations are recommended. Private parking lot available, with valet parking on weekends.
Beautiful outdoor patio, weather permitting.

451 W Alameda St
Santa Fe, NM 87501
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
French, Contemporary French

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Only:
Tuesday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 9:00pm
Friday and Saturday: 5:30pm - 9:30pm

Cross Street:
Guadalupe Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(505) 982-6297

Website:
http://www.bouchebistro.com/

Parking Details:
Parking lot for 14 cars adjacent to restaurant: extensive additional street parking.

Executive Chef:
Charles Dale

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Chef's Table, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Bouche Bistro (Santa Fe) Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (28)
Special Occasion (28)
Creative Cuisine (25)
See All
Notable Wine List (19)
Romantic (19)
Good for a Date (18)
Local Ingredients (17)
Neighborhood Gem (16)
Good for Anniversaries (15)
Authentic (15)
Good for Birthdays (14)
Great for Outdoor Dining (14)
Cozy (14)
Fun (9)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Seasonal (8)
Worth the Drive (8)
Open Kitchen (8)
Business Meals (6)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Hot Spot (5)
Organic (4)
Bar Seating (4)
People Watching (4)
Comfort Food (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Good for Groups (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Casual (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Fireplace (1)
Great Beer (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Healthy (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Sort By:
S
906 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 7 days ago

A very disappointing experience. This used to be one of my favorite restaurants. Used to be a great restaurant. No more.

The formerly fabulous mussels were bland and almost tasteless. The formerly brilliant crusty bread was pale and insipid. The formerly splendid soup du soir was thin and boring.

Our waiter forgot the champagne starter; he forgot the bottle of wine until the main course arrived at which point we had to flag down another waiter to get the wine. It took 40 minutes to serve the main course after we were done with the first course and we had to ask where our main courses were - to the same other waiter who brought them out immediately. Our water glasses were not refilled until the third time we asked. When our waiter collected the mussels dishes he came within millimeters of dumping the broth on one of our party; she caught the bowl in the nick of time.

Avoid the slender waiter who tries to entertain customers with the derivation of the word "bistro". He needs to retrain for a different occupation.

It pains me to say this but it's probably best to avoid the whole experience and eat elsewhere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined 7 days ago

A bustling restaurant, with excellent food. Our party of 4 had a variety of dishes all excellent. One diner's lamb was undercooked, and was corrected in kitchen, but not satisfactorily. The restaurant removed the charge for that dish from the meal, even though 90% of the dish was correct. I am happy to recommend this restaurant and look forward to our next meal there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 7 days ago

This was my first time dining at Bouche and it didn't disappoint! We both tried the Heirloom Tomato and Burrata salad with a Pistachio Pesto. It was so yummy and they were really kind to accommodate my slight nut allergy and created a different pesto for my salad! My friend had the warm Foie Gras which she loved and I had a wonderful Swordfish dish with a Beurre Blanc sauce served over Asparagus! For being a French bistro, the food is surprisingly clean and doesn't leave you feeling over-stuffed in a bad way. We ended the evening with a Lemon Meringue Tart which was the perfect balance of sweet and sour. I highly recommend Bouche to anyone visiting Santa Fe. You will need a reservation, since it's not a big place. Very cozy and intimate and easily walked to from most downtown hotels.

Tags: Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 11, 2017

We discovered Bouche Bistro by accident last year and couldn't wait to get back there again this year. We are from Texas and have told many of our friends to make it a "must do" for dinner. Doesn't matter what you order...everything is delicious!

Tags: Cozy, Seasonal, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Lovely evening to sit outside. Food was very fresh and "healthy" (in a good way) for a French restaurant. My fish and my husband's steak was not slathered in all the sauce I sometimes get. It was delicious! And oh that bread!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Fabulous quality food and outstanding service!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on June 30, 2017

First visit and I was wowed. Great service followed by great meal Will visit again when I am in town for the Opera

Tags: Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Bouche Bistro is one of our favorite restaurants in Santa Fe, and it is our go-to place before the opera. The food is terrific, mostly French bistro fare, service generally is outstanding, and the ambiance, whether inside or on the patio, enhances the experience. The wine list is creative and filled with wines we like.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on June 29, 2017

convivial atmosphere, generally well prepared food with good ingredients.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on June 27, 2017

The food was quite good, even though they were out of the dish I wanted. My only reservation is that the portions are small while the prices are high.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value1

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on June 27, 2017

Love this restaurant....a little bit of Paris in Santa Fe.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on June 24, 2017

My husband and I dine at Bouche Bistro regularly. The food is excellent. The service is friendly and impeccable. we love the small menu because everything in it is perfectly prepared. All ingredients are fresh, organic and picked locally when possible.
My mother recently moved to Santa Fe and she always raved about Bouche Bistro.
I highly recommend Bouche Bistro if you want to have a great experience!

Tags: Healthy, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Authentic, Organic, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on June 23, 2017

One of Santa Fe's best all around. From seating, service, food and attention they do it all. And make it feel like neighborhood dining.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on June 20, 2017

Always amazing! The menu changes with the season... I seem to miss the previous dishes... and then! I fall for the new menu... I look forward to returning asap!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Great service/ wonderful specials/ good
Win list

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on June 16, 2017

A Kiss on The Bouche
This was an exquisite meal. The service is quiet, knowledgeable and makes you feel that they were so hoping you would show up tonight.
The food: creative, exciting, a trip to France without the jet lag.
Don't miss this restaurant!

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Organic, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Some friends recommended this place to us- they raved about the profiteroles!- so we gave it a try.
Loved all the food we had but were shocked at the price of the salads.
At $16 a plate, we were expecting gargantuan portions but they were actually quite modest. Having said that, they were delicious.
We followed with sweetbreads ( excellent) and calves liver dijonaise.. my husbands verdict was " cooked perfectly.. really good".
The place has a casual but easy vibe but the food is high quality.
A glass of wine was an average $12-14.. also steep. Sadly, profiteroles would have been too much but we are assured they are to die for.
Would return but maybe to share food or for a more significant occasion.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 16, 2017

It was a warm evening and it was too warm in the restaurant. Other than that, it was lovely. Perfectly prepared well seasoned food delivered by knowledgeable, helpful wait staff.
It was my third visit to this charming restaurant and I look forward to fourth.

Tags: Disabled Access, Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Great wine list

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Great food, bad service. Been here often... will go back. Server was over extended

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Lovely atmosphere, excellent service, delicious food, fashionable clientele.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on June 14, 2017

From bistro classics to innovative treatment of the freshest ingredients to a great selection of bottles and by-the-glass, a top rate experience. It is a destination dining experience for us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on June 14, 2017

Wonderful food and service. Eating on the patio was delightful. I've already picked my meal at my next visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on June 13, 2017

Consistently great -- fresh, seasonal, meticulously prepared food, perfect service, friendly management. I dine here frequently and have never been disappointed.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Disabled Access, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on June 6, 2017

This intimate charming restaurant has consistently excellent food and service.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on June 1, 2017

Great PEI oysters! Ravioli, chicken & steak tartare delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Excellent French dining. Will be back

Tags: Fun, Creative Cuisine, Great Beer, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Food is good but over priced as well as wine by glass.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 18, 2017

We have been to Santa Fe a number of times in the last 9 months , this is if not the best restaurant one of two. There of us all had something very different all wonderful.

Try the Lemon Maringue Tart. Wonderful!!

We will go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on May 16, 2017

Food grad was exquisite! People at the table had several sides, grouper, the steak tartare, ravioli, and Wagyu. All excellent. Desserts were very good!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Romantic, Authentic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 13, 2017

This favorite of ours is not the quality it was. The choices are limited. Not a lot of creativity or well-executed basics. Not an interesting chicken dish,lamb very "gamey". Why the heck can you not get a coke? I do not drink and the options are nonexistent. The chef was a notable talent who once made sophisticated comfort food. Has he just lost interest? They need to get back on their game. It took us 20 minutes to get a check after we asked for it. Oh well.....the breads is still good, even if the caesar salad is overwhelmed by an astringent lemon flavor

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 12, 2017

The food was exceptional as always. This is the best restaurant in Santa Fe!

Tags: Seasonal, Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on May 11, 2017

great french restaurant! service is good, and the food is delicious.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 6, 2017

One of favorite places to eat. Food is consistently excellent.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Best French food I've had in the 5 years I've lived in the USA.

In particular, the lemon meringue was superb.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Had been looking forward to dining at Bouche for awhile. Assisted by the steward, we four friends loved the recommended wine. The food was good, but I can't say great as compared to other similarly priced Santa Fe restaurants.

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Squid ink risotto was absolutely delicious. Waitress could not have been better.

Tags: Hot Spot, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on April 27, 2017

So wonderful! Great place for the freshest oysters.

Tags: Bar Seating, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on April 26, 2017

La Bouche never disappoints. Excellent preparation, cooked to order, with the owner/chef keeping a watchful eye on the entire process to assure continuity and quality. We dined with friends visiting from Singapore (Food capital of SE Asia) and they were appropriately impressed. As is the sign of great restaurants globally, the menu is limited with a couple of daily specials, all dishes receiving the individual attention required...No mass production here. A small but excellent wine list. The venue seats a limited number of diners therefore making individual quiet conversation a challenge, but you are there for the food. We are happy to drive the 60 miles from Albuquerque for a meal here. For early arrivers, suggest the elevated table facing the kitchen...Observe the magic in real time. Finally for the Santa Fe it is market excellent value.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on April 25, 2017

fantastic dining as usual! a santa fe treasure!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.