About Bouche Bistro (Santa Fe)

451 W Alameda St
Santa Fe, NM 87501
View Larger Map

Bouche Bistro (Santa Fe) is a neighborhood French bistro located in the heart of Santa Fe, serving inspired rustic French cuisine prepared by award-winning chef Charles Dale. Bouche Bistro (Santa Fe) offers an exceptional variety of new and old world wine selections to accompany the menu. Seating is limited and reservations are recommended. Private parking lot available, with valet parking on weekends.
Beautiful outdoor patio, weather permitting.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
French, Contemporary French

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Only:
Tuesday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 9:00pm
Friday and Saturday: 5:30pm - 9:30pm

Cross Street:
Guadalupe Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(505) 982-6297

Website:
http://www.bouchebistro.com/

Parking Details:
Parking lot for 14 cars adjacent to restaurant: extensive additional street parking.

Executive Chef:
Charles Dale

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Chef's Table, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Bouche Bistro (Santa Fe) Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Service
New Mexico
Fit for Foodies
New Mexico
Best Overall
Santa Fe / Mountains
4 More
Best Food
Santa Fe / Mountains
Best Service
Santa Fe / Mountains
Fit for Foodies
Santa Fe / Mountains
Special Occasion
Santa Fe / Mountains
Best Restaurants in Santa Fe ›

Fit for Foodies (50)
Notable Wine List (37)
Special Occasion (35)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (28)
Good for a Date (23)
Creative Cuisine (23)
Good for Anniversaries (19)
Local Ingredients (19)
Authentic (18)
Good for Birthdays (18)
Romantic (18)
Great for Outdoor Dining (16)
Pre/post Theatre (11)
Worth the Drive (10)
Open Kitchen (10)
Cozy (9)
Fun (8)
Business Meals (7)
Casual (6)
People Watching (6)
Good for Groups (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Healthy (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Seasonal (2)
Organic (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Family Style (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Scenic View (1)
Sort By:
S
762 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Excellent food, service and ambiance...t ...

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined 4 days ago

Excellent food, service and ambiance...the seared foie gras is worth the trip alone!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Had a lovely meal at Bouche. Delicious! ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 7 days ago

Had a lovely meal at Bouche. Delicious! Highly recommend. Good vegetarian options.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Foie Gras, Osso Bucco, salads and desert ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined 7 days ago

Foie Gras, Osso Bucco, salads and desert were great. Unfortunately, my wife hates chicken and she ordered the Gnocchi special, which turns out had lots of chicken in it... the waitress failed to mention that the dish had chicken in it and my wife was too polite to send her main course back. I would hate to see this wait person's performance on a really busy night!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Always the most elegant treat eating at ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Always the most elegant treat eating at Bouche! The calf's liver was melt in your mouth heaven. The service is always impeccable. They make you feel like you're the most special guest and an old friend at the same time.

Tags: Cozy, Notable Wine List, Comfort Food, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One sign of greatness is - When the Che ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 26, 2016

One sign of greatness is -

When the Chef/Owner is off the premises and a restaurant can continue to deliver at a high level

is a solid indication of the strength of a GREAT place.

Our visit on Friday night had a large crowd that was handled perfectly by both the front of the house and the kitchen. The cod special was stunning in preparation and presentation. Our party of six had an age range of 6 to 70+ and everyone enjoyed the evening.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Casual, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We dine there often and will continue to ...

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We dine there often and will continue to do so. Great place, excellent food, outstanding staff,

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful food with excellent service. ...

vip
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Wonderful food with excellent service. Very highly recommended. Best in Santa Fe.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Cozy warm inviting atmosphere with fresh ...

 
 (Perthshire)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Cozy warm inviting atmosphere with fresh, tasty and expertly prepared food. Everyone very warm and friendly.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Terrific - clearly a local favorite

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Terrific - clearly a local favorite

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Creative French food with good service a ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Creative French food with good service and a nice laid back atmosphere.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The food was good but the service was la ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 5, 2016

The food was good but the service was lacking. There are too many other good choices in Santa Fe for me to recommend.

2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

We had such a nice time Great food and w ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on October 30, 2016

We had such a nice time Great food and wonderful service. We always look forward to our next visit.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Healthy, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a fabulous experience! Mikayla wa ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on October 30, 2016

We had a fabulous experience! Mikayla was our service and she was great. The manager gave us bread to go after we raved about it. Will return!

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The menu listed a 2012 vintage of pinot ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 28, 2016

The menu listed a 2012 vintage of pinot noir. The waitress brought a 2013; /;when I said I'd take it with a discount, the maitre'd came over with a very arrogant attitude making a ton of excuses and said "just because I"m in a good mood I'll knock off five dollars," along with all kinds of explanations like the chef handn't updated the menu, etc. No apology, no free appetizer, just an arrogant attitude, topped off with "do you always ask for a disocunt if there's a discrepancy with the menu?" Yes, I do!!!! This was topped off only by the poor quality of the food. Escargot so bathed in garlic it was revolting, bland onion soup, followed by a seafood pasta advertised with lobster, crab, and prawns, in which only the prawnss were detectable. Liver was served in huge amount with limp, overcooked, bitter spinach under the slab of liver and a huge pile of crispy, rather than sauteed, onions that overwhelmed the plate. A side of mashed potatoes was acceptable but unevenly heated (I burned my tongue) and lack in the butter expected of a french restaurant. This place is existing on reviews that either are dishonest or that reflect a very different experience from ours.

2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

We enjoyed a special anniversary dinner ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 26, 2016

We enjoyed a special anniversary dinner with seared foie gras, escargot, coq au vin, chocolate mousse--all delicious.

Tags: Authentic, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Open Kitchen, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Extraordinaire dining, service and fun. ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Extraordinaire dining, service and fun. Perfect for a date, business meeting or even dining alone.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Authentic, Fun, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Service was excellent. The food is very ...

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Service was excellent. The food is very good--creative. The ambiance leaves something to be desired. Too many people squeezed into a relatively small place. It is a fine dining restaurant, but one would not know that because of the density of the crowd.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Best place to dine in Sante Fe - by far! ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Best place to dine in Sante Fe - by far! Food was outstanding and the atmosphere was fun and lively. I will definitely dine here again and AGAIN!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Authentic, Modern Decor, Hot Spot, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Organic, Comfort Food, Open Kitchen, Good for a Date, People Watching, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good as usual. One of our favorite ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Very good as usual. One of our favorites! Sometimes food is not excellent, but it is always good. Services is excellent and friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent French food.....really enjoyed ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Excellent French food.....really enjoyed the escargots.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Authentic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Outstanding food, ambience and service. ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Outstanding food, ambience and service. We all enjoyed our experience very much.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Organic, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Chef/owner Charles Dale is a consumate a ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Chef/owner Charles Dale is a consumate and gracious professional. His front of house and kitchen staff all adhere to his high level of standards. Bouche Bistro is a personal favorite of mine.

Tags: Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We loved it. They've got a well-represe ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on October 12, 2016

We loved it. They've got a well-represented wine selection, a good mix of tasty sounding dishes--ours were delicious--and, we thought, particularly good desserts, which included some lighter options following our meaty meal. Our waiters and servers were gracious, attentive, and informative. Go and have a good time, is our advice.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was very good and service was great ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Food was very good and service was great. Place is a bit small and tables are close to each other but is very pretty and cozy.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great meal, Mussels were good value, fre ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Great meal, Mussels were good value, fresh and tasty. Calves liver was wonderfull Onopn soup good as always

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Wonderful ambiance and excellent French ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Wonderful ambiance and excellent French food. The seared fois gras was prefect and the escargots were wonderfully garlicky & buttery. The wine list is manageable and not overpriced. The service was outstanding.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We enjoyed our meal and the service. I e ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 8, 2016

We enjoyed our meal and the service. I especially enjoyed the for gras.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Was a perfect evening with friends, food ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Was a perfect evening with friends, food, service and atmosphere made the night!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We really love this restaurant and altho ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 7, 2016

We really love this restaurant and although it's pricey, it's worth it. The food is some of the best in Santa Fe. I do think that $9 for a bottle of sparkling water is a bit much.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Excellent French Bistro, amiable and tal ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on October 7, 2016

Excellent French Bistro, amiable and talented chef with a well trained and attentive staff.

Best quality food, good wine selection. Expensive but very much worth it.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Bouche Bistro is one of our favorite res ...

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on October 6, 2016

Bouche Bistro is one of our favorite restaurants in Santa Fe. We had friends visiting from out of town and wanted to show them the best Santa Fe has to offer. We were not disappointed.

Tags: Business Meals, Cozy, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Always very special.

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Always very special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was fabulous as always . Service wa ...

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Food was fabulous as always . Service was excellent. Bouche is a Santa Fe treasure.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great... best people, great service and ...

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Great... best people, great service and fantastic menu and preparation

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We spent 4 days in Santa Fe and this was ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 28, 2016

We spent 4 days in Santa Fe and this was our favorite restaurant and definitely the best meal. We shared the seafood risotto and it was outstanding and plenty for both of us. The foi gras was the best I've ever had. Wish I could have tried everything. Oh and yes, the best bread in town!

Tags: Casual, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This French restaurant needs to pay a vi ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 25, 2016

This French restaurant needs to pay a visit to Clafoutis , a lovely French restaurant close by.

They may learn a lot about how to make a customer feel welcome and a lot more.

I would never eat here again. Hated the service, food and the hideous decor.

Way overpriced and way over rated. I have no idea why people go there.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

Sad to say, last trip to Bouche. Visite ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Sad to say, last trip to Bouche. Visited during the wine festival. Dined there 4 times previously. Be aware the indoor area is small and there is an outdoor patio that is poorly suited for cool weather. We arrived on a cold/cool night and were seated outside without asking "will this be suitable". We looked around and saw the propane heating towers so we thought we would be OK. First step, wine order. Not available, out due to wine festival. Let's see, wine festival attendees might order lots of wine - stock up. Substituted bottle with no mention of price differential (or none as it turned out). Then a power outage (OK - not their fault). Then the propane tower went off. We asked if it could be restarted with no follow-up from staff. It's getting cold, we had several layers and people around us were in warm coats. Then the manager/floor manager/assistant manager (?) came to the table next to us to run their check. They strongly voiced their concerns and were told the propane had run out in all the towers (yes, their fault. Maybe provided by the wine distributor too?). The manager told them the overhead heaters would keep them warm. They were so ineffective we hadn't even noticed them. When I said there wasn't one over our table we were ignored. Very poorly handled. This is Santa Fe. Very competitive market. This restaurant has very good food, but on the high price side. Customer service can make the difference and they failed. We consider ourselves to be foodies, frequent visitors to Santa Fe. We were dining with a local foodie who knows the scene. He was adamant that he will be sharing his opinion with his local dining partners. A few apologies and accomodations would have probably gone a long way but there were only excuses. We were given the option of a free dessert long after the harm had been done and at a point where our numb fingers would have made lifting a fork difficult.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

Very good experience. First time in Sant ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Very good experience. First time in Santa Fe, and first time at Bouche. We ate French bistro classics and were not disappointed. A reasonably sized wine list offered a good variety of wines within a vintage window of roughly seven years. You shouldn't have to work too hard to find somethings that will pair well. If your heart is set on some obscure vintage, check ahead. Wait staff was friendly and knowledgeable. Pace of service was bistro - not rushed, but not a lot of "dead time". We will make it a feature of our Santa Fe visits in the future.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Very charming bistro with imaginative cu ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Very charming bistro with imaginative cuisine very much attentive to local tastes and food sourcing. Friendly proprietor and good service made this a special occasion.

Tags: Good for a Date, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

I dropped in at Bouche Bistro on W. Alam ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 21, 2016

I dropped in at Bouche Bistro on W. Alameda to see what Chef/Owner Charles Dale was cooking up. Bouche is currently the only restaurant in Santa Fe to hold a coveted 4-chile rating.

I had seen Chef Dale’s cooking demonstration at the Santa Fe School of Cooking on an earlier trip and also tasted some of his appetizers at the Grand Tastings but every time I had tried to get in to the restaurant to eat they were sold out. Tuesday night before the crowds descended on Santa Fe for the Wine and Chile Fiesta was the right time, it was quiet and less busy and I met Chef Dale on his way out the door, as he said “the calm before the storm.”

Antonio seated me at a bar table near what appeared to be a chef’s table looking into the kitchen and he took care of me like a VIP all evening.

I knew I had to have Chef Dale's Classic Escargots à la Bourguignonne, using all the same ingredients as I do in my Parisian recipe yet mine can’t compare to his flavors. With that Antonio recommended the Z.D. 45th Anniversary 2013 Carneros Pinot Noir, perfect, absolutely perfect.

Then I was on to their seared fresh Hudson Valley foie gras with grilled Freestone peaches and fresh greens from Chef’s own garden. This may top the list of the best foie gras dishes ever. Of course with that I had a great classic Sauterne.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Disabled Access, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.