Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.23mi
  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.23mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.23mi
  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.23mi

About Bouche Bistro (Santa Fe)

Bouche Bistro (Santa Fe) is a neighborhood French bistro located in the heart of Santa Fe, serving inspired rustic French cuisine prepared by award-winning chef Charles Dale. Bouche Bistro (Santa Fe) offers an exceptional variety of new and old world wine selections to accompany the menu. Seating is limited and reservations are recommended. Private parking lot available, with valet parking on weekends.
Beautiful outdoor patio, weather permitting.

451 W Alameda St
Santa Fe, NM 87501
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
French, Contemporary French

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Only:
Tuesday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 9:00pm
Friday and Saturday: 5:30pm - 9:30pm

Cross Street:
Guadalupe Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(505) 982-6297

Website:
http://www.bouchebistro.com/

Parking Details:
Parking lot for 14 cars adjacent to restaurant: extensive additional street parking.

Executive Chef:
Charles Dale

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Chef's Table, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Bouche Bistro (Santa Fe) Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (35)
Creative Cuisine (33)
Special Occasion (29)
See All
Good for a Date (26)
Neighborhood Gem (24)
Notable Wine List (23)
Great for Outdoor Dining (23)
Authentic (22)
Cozy (19)
Local Ingredients (19)
Romantic (18)
Good for Birthdays (17)
Good for Anniversaries (17)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Casual (9)
Worth the Drive (9)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Seasonal (7)
Business Meals (6)
Good for Groups (6)
Hot Spot (6)
Organic (6)
Comfort Food (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Fun (4)
Disabled Access (3)
Bar Seating (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
People Watching (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Late-night Find (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Tapas (1)
Vegan (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort By:
S
933 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined 3 days ago

We love Bouche Bistro.
We go there regularly and it's always wonderful.
The service is impeccable and the food is always excellent with organic and local ingredients . We like the small menu and the specials are fantastic.
We always feel at home there.
Thank you everyone at Bouche Bistro! 👏😊

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Healthy, Cozy, Disabled Access, Fun, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options, Hot Spot, Authentic, Good for a Date, Organic, Casual, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 4 days ago

We ate at Bouche two nights in a row because the food was delicious and the service great!

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on September 16, 2017

What an amazing restaurant! From the fabulous corn and crab soup down to the not to be missed lemon tart, The food was fabulous… We will definitely be back!

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on September 9, 2017

The lamb shank and Waygu hanger steak were both fork-tender. This was an excellent meal, and will be our go-to restaurant when we visit Santa Fe. The only negative was that the meal seemed a bit 'hurried'...for a three-course meal we placed our order and were out of there in 55 minutes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on September 9, 2017

We always enjoy Bouche Bistro however on this occasion, we found our server to be overly pretentious and affected, saying things like: How are we doing this evening? or Are we enjoying the wine? or Will we be having dessert? Totally artificial. It almost gave us the creeps...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
·Dined on September 6, 2017

Great food, great service. Sat outside. Chairs a little uncomfortable. Everything was perfect as far as the food and service went. Amazing desserts. We have eaten in many Santa Fe restaurants as we live about an hour away. Will definitely be returning here. Prices are a little high, but food is worth it and prices are in line with other Santa Fe restaurants.

Tags: Casual, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on August 30, 2017

Top-notch food in a comfortable bistro setting - we shared the very good heirloom tomato/burrata appetizer (just enough for 2), then enjoyed a pan-seared flounder special (excellent - perfectly cooked) and the ratatouille ravioli (also excellent). Service was timely and efficient and the atmosphere lively and comfortable. Prices match other higher-end Santa Fe restaurants.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on August 25, 2017

Getting together with friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on August 24, 2017

The prices have gone up, as the portions have gotten smaller. The food lacked seasoning, especially the spinach that was served with the calf's liver. Overall, not up to previous meals we're enjoyed there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on August 20, 2017

It's pretty expensive for the product. I was not overwhelmed by the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Reservation time honored immediately by courteous and pert people. Menu was varied and ample to any taste. Personable and caring owner of restaurant circulated and insured over-all quality providing a personal touch to an already pleasant evening. Wait person was efficient but not intrusive. A very pleasant and satisfying evening.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Nice atmosphere. A little warm inside so requested outside table and was able to meet our needs. Excellent food. Fantastic salads.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 18, 2017

Great experience start to finish. Excellent service. Wonderful wine list. Outstanding food. We had a group of 3 and sat outside. No view, but still a nice atmosphere. For our main courses we had lamb shank, wagyu steak w/ truffle frites and halibut special--all were excellent. We will be back on our next visit to Santa Fe!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 17, 2017

Excellent food and ambiance, at NYC prices
$39 for a rather small piece of halibut plus four asparagus spears is pretty aggressive pricing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on August 17, 2017

We are regulars at Bouche Bistro for the past4 years and we have never been disappointed.
We love having dinner there!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 17, 2017

This was our first time to dine at this restaurant and it was a thoroughly delightful experience. Be forewarned, the prices mean heavy use of your plastic and the size of the dining room (probably seats around 40) dictates advance reservations...although, in the summer, the patio offers additional seating (we dined there) so the venue is less crowded. Also be forewarned that the portions are very generous so be careful how much you order...the food is excellent and of the highest quality but it's a shame not to be able to finish each course (we were staying at a nearby hotel so a take-home box was not an option).

We drank an great chardonnay and had excellent starters (a Caesar salad a salad composed of 3 different beets). Main courses were fresh Alaskan halibut and a wonderful roasted lamb shank. Couldn't finish it all. We shared a creme brûlée for dessert. More than enough!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on August 10, 2017

It is pricey but good. The tuna carpaccio tonnato is outstanding

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 6, 2017

I think they were having an off night after a very early and busy dinner on a Saturday. Both the food and the service were not as terrific as the other times we've eaten at Bouche. We will be back and hope that this was a fluke.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Excellent food, service, and wine list. Never disappoints.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 4, 2017

We always eat here when in Santa Fe, sometimes twice if the visit is over a week. Never anything but first rate. Consistently well-conceived, harmonized tastes and textures. Both fish plates this time -salmon, ruby trout - nicely done, and an accompanying risotto perfect. Indulged with the starter truffled frites and this time also the crispy onions. Escargots simple and spot on. Brandade of cod clever in a sauteed cake, accompanied by marinated bites of octopus on a bed of greens dressed lightly, nice combination (my only thought is that a dash of a light noncompetitive sauce - sorrel? cilantro? tarragon? - would better have shown off the brandade). It's nice to find Hermitage blanc on a wine list, and this one was very nice. Love this place; it would compete in Paris. Cudos to all.

Tags: Authentic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Casual, Cozy, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Tapas, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 3, 2017

An incredible dining experience. Gracious attentive staff. Excellent food. Best Escargoti have ever had!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Cozy, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 2, 2017

Good bistro food, interesting menu, reservations honored on time, nice service, decent wine list. Appetizers, small plates, salads, main courses, dessert--your choice. This is as close to a French bistro as one is likely to find in Santa Fe. It's also a short walk from most downtown hotels, though there's also sufficient parking.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on July 28, 2017

Branzino was perfectly done. Gazpacho lacked pizzazz and was a little boring with only the crabmeat in the middle of a highly pureed tomato concoction.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on July 28, 2017

We went for an anniversary dinner. First time there but we will be back soon. Food choices were excellent and interesting. Service was knowledgeable. Owner made a point of visiting our table and talking to us. Great evening.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on July 26, 2017

Bouche Bistro was better than ever, and we have dined there many times. 2 Entrees - Liver Dijonaisse and Braised Lamb Shank were exquisitely prepared and presented. Service was attentive but not overpowering. Great evening.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 26, 2017

My wife had the hanger steak and I had the calf's liver and onions. Both were outstanding. The food is innovative, the staff is knowledgeable, friendly, and helpful. Since it is a smaller restaurant the owner/chef tours the tables himself. Highly recommended and make your reservation.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Great restaurant with a great staff! The food is top notch and the service is great. I had the seafood pasta special and it was delicious. My wife had the mussels with frites that are always good. Chef Dale always stops by the table to check on food and service. This is a very nice touch that shows how much he cares. We will be back to this gem!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 13, 2017

A very disappointing experience. This used to be one of my favorite restaurants. Used to be a great restaurant. No more.

The formerly fabulous mussels were bland and almost tasteless. The formerly brilliant crusty bread was pale and insipid. The formerly splendid soup du soir was thin and boring.

Our waiter forgot the champagne starter; he forgot the bottle of wine until the main course arrived at which point we had to flag down another waiter to get the wine. It took 40 minutes to serve the main course after we were done with the first course and we had to ask where our main courses were - to the same other waiter who brought them out immediately. Our water glasses were not refilled until the third time we asked. When our waiter collected the mussels dishes he came within millimeters of dumping the broth on one of our party; she caught the bowl in the nick of time.

Avoid the slender waiter who tries to entertain customers with the derivation of the word "bistro". He needs to retrain for a different occupation.

It pains me to say this but it's probably best to avoid the whole experience and eat elsewhere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on July 13, 2017

A bustling restaurant, with excellent food. Our party of 4 had a variety of dishes all excellent. One diner's lamb was undercooked, and was corrected in kitchen, but not satisfactorily. The restaurant removed the charge for that dish from the meal, even though 90% of the dish was correct. I am happy to recommend this restaurant and look forward to our next meal there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 13, 2017

This was my first time dining at Bouche and it didn't disappoint! We both tried the Heirloom Tomato and Burrata salad with a Pistachio Pesto. It was so yummy and they were really kind to accommodate my slight nut allergy and created a different pesto for my salad! My friend had the warm Foie Gras which she loved and I had a wonderful Swordfish dish with a Beurre Blanc sauce served over Asparagus! For being a French bistro, the food is surprisingly clean and doesn't leave you feeling over-stuffed in a bad way. We ended the evening with a Lemon Meringue Tart which was the perfect balance of sweet and sour. I highly recommend Bouche to anyone visiting Santa Fe. You will need a reservation, since it's not a big place. Very cozy and intimate and easily walked to from most downtown hotels.

Tags: Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 11, 2017

We discovered Bouche Bistro by accident last year and couldn't wait to get back there again this year. We are from Texas and have told many of our friends to make it a "must do" for dinner. Doesn't matter what you order...everything is delicious!

Tags: Cozy, Seasonal, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Lovely evening to sit outside. Food was very fresh and "healthy" (in a good way) for a French restaurant. My fish and my husband's steak was not slathered in all the sauce I sometimes get. It was delicious! And oh that bread!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Fabulous quality food and outstanding service!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on June 30, 2017

First visit and I was wowed. Great service followed by great meal Will visit again when I am in town for the Opera

Tags: Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Bouche Bistro is one of our favorite restaurants in Santa Fe, and it is our go-to place before the opera. The food is terrific, mostly French bistro fare, service generally is outstanding, and the ambiance, whether inside or on the patio, enhances the experience. The wine list is creative and filled with wines we like.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on June 29, 2017

convivial atmosphere, generally well prepared food with good ingredients.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on June 27, 2017

The food was quite good, even though they were out of the dish I wanted. My only reservation is that the portions are small while the prices are high.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value1

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on June 27, 2017

Love this restaurant....a little bit of Paris in Santa Fe.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on June 24, 2017

My husband and I dine at Bouche Bistro regularly. The food is excellent. The service is friendly and impeccable. we love the small menu because everything in it is perfectly prepared. All ingredients are fresh, organic and picked locally when possible.
My mother recently moved to Santa Fe and she always raved about Bouche Bistro.
I highly recommend Bouche Bistro if you want to have a great experience!

Tags: Healthy, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Authentic, Organic, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on June 23, 2017

One of Santa Fe's best all around. From seating, service, food and attention they do it all. And make it feel like neighborhood dining.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.