Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.23mi
  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.23mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.23mi
  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.23mi

About Bouche Bistro (Santa Fe)

Bouche Bistro (Santa Fe) is a neighborhood French bistro located in the heart of Santa Fe, serving inspired rustic French cuisine prepared by award-winning chef Charles Dale. Bouche Bistro (Santa Fe) offers an exceptional variety of new and old world wine selections to accompany the menu. Seating is limited and reservations are recommended. Private parking lot available, with valet parking on weekends.
Beautiful outdoor patio, weather permitting.

451 W Alameda St
Santa Fe, NM 87501
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
French, Contemporary French

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Only:
Tuesday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 9:00pm
Friday and Saturday: 5:30pm - 9:30pm

Cross Street:
Guadalupe Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(505) 982-6297

Website:
http://www.bouchebistro.com/

Parking Details:
Parking lot for 14 cars adjacent to restaurant: extensive additional street parking.

Executive Chef:
Charles Dale

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Chef's Table, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Bouche Bistro (Santa Fe) Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.3

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (45)
Special Occasion (40)
Good for a Date (38)
See All
Creative Cuisine (32)
Notable Wine List (31)
Romantic (29)
Authentic (27)
Good for Anniversaries (27)
Cozy (26)
Good for Birthdays (26)
Open Kitchen (23)
Neighborhood Gem (22)
Local Ingredients (17)
Fun (15)
Casual (10)
Business Meals (9)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Worth the Drive (9)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Good Vegetarian Options (8)
Hot Spot (7)
Great for Outdoor Dining (7)
Comfort Food (6)
People Watching (5)
Seasonal (5)
Disabled Access (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Good for Groups (3)
Organic (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Healthy (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Outstanding Value (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Historic (1)
Vegan (1)
Fireplace (1)
Sort By:
S
879 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined 6 days ago

Food is good but over priced as well as wine by glass.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 19, 2017

We have been to Santa Fe a number of times in the last 9 months , this is if not the best restaurant one of two. There of us all had something very different all wonderful.

Try the Lemon Maringue Tart. Wonderful!!

We will go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Food grad was exquisite! People at the table had several sides, grouper, the steak tartare, ravioli, and Wagyu. All excellent. Desserts were very good!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Romantic, Authentic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 14, 2017

This favorite of ours is not the quality it was. The choices are limited. Not a lot of creativity or well-executed basics. Not an interesting chicken dish,lamb very "gamey". Why the heck can you not get a coke? I do not drink and the options are nonexistent. The chef was a notable talent who once made sophisticated comfort food. Has he just lost interest? They need to get back on their game. It took us 20 minutes to get a check after we asked for it. Oh well.....the breads is still good, even if the caesar salad is overwhelmed by an astringent lemon flavor

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 13, 2017

The food was exceptional as always. This is the best restaurant in Santa Fe!

Tags: Seasonal, Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on May 12, 2017

great french restaurant! service is good, and the food is delicious.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 7, 2017

One of favorite places to eat. Food is consistently excellent.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Best French food I've had in the 5 years I've lived in the USA.

In particular, the lemon meringue was superb.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Had been looking forward to dining at Bouche for awhile. Assisted by the steward, we four friends loved the recommended wine. The food was good, but I can't say great as compared to other similarly priced Santa Fe restaurants.

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Squid ink risotto was absolutely delicious. Waitress could not have been better.

Tags: Hot Spot, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on April 27, 2017

So wonderful! Great place for the freshest oysters.

Tags: Bar Seating, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on April 26, 2017

La Bouche never disappoints. Excellent preparation, cooked to order, with the owner/chef keeping a watchful eye on the entire process to assure continuity and quality. We dined with friends visiting from Singapore (Food capital of SE Asia) and they were appropriately impressed. As is the sign of great restaurants globally, the menu is limited with a couple of daily specials, all dishes receiving the individual attention required...No mass production here. A small but excellent wine list. The venue seats a limited number of diners therefore making individual quiet conversation a challenge, but you are there for the food. We are happy to drive the 60 miles from Albuquerque for a meal here. For early arrivers, suggest the elevated table facing the kitchen...Observe the magic in real time. Finally for the Santa Fe it is market excellent value.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on April 25, 2017

fantastic dining as usual! a santa fe treasure!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Food and service was impeccable. Fantastic wine list

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 20, 2017

The place lacks ambience. No votive candles. No music. I had to hear a very obnoxious customer's conversation

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3
value3

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Always a treat.
Bouche is one of my favorite restaurants in Santa Fe. The atmosphere is convivial, though the tables can feel too close together at times. It can be a little noisy. But the food is always really good and the service is always great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We were expecting an exceptional meal. The meal was tasty -- good sauces -- but not exceptional. The portions were ample and well cooked.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on April 15, 2017

They had just changed over to their spring menu so a couple items I really enjoy weren't available but what I did have was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 14, 2017

True bistro feel.Flavorful dishes across the board with a fresh fish option.Reasonable values in the wine list with knowledgeable staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on April 8, 2017

I dined twice at bistro two days in a row. You just can't beat it! Number one in my book! I had two guests last evening and the rave reviews around the table was that this was the finest meal we have ever had in Santa Fe. It is a MUST. The entire staff is very professional yet warm and gracious....very much like the chef/owner Charles Dale.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Organic, Open Kitchen, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Food was not up to our standards. Very over priced.
Steak was not chewable. They did take it off the bill
Noisy and tables are much to close together

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Bouche is sweet. Food is wonderful and bread is famous. They do not have a full bar license and the room can get loud for fine dining.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Great as usual!!! Service was extrodinary as usual!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 2, 2017

The decor and service was great. We started with a cheese course and moved onto salads and entrees. The cheese and bread where great but the salads and main courses where not of the quality I would expect. My wife had the Sea bass and I had the short ribs, they both where OK but nothing to write home about.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 1, 2017

The food is generally excellent but somewhat pricey; noise level is problematic so go later in the evening; wait staff are skilled and helpful without being intrusive; I would recommend moving to a larger space

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on April 1, 2017

This neighborhood bistro never disappoints. The home made bread is outstanding, and trust me, it's hard to find great bread in Santa Fe restaurants. I've never had a bad meal here.
Try the daily specials, the mussels, the frites - you just can't go wrong.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Fireplace, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 1, 2017

We go to Bouche whenever we want to enjoy an occasion. The food is always excellent and the service friendly and well executed. The room is very French in its ambiance. We always have a wonderful evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on March 29, 2017

CHEF CHARLES DALE ONCE AGAIN PROVED THAT HE COULD WORK THE LINE And turn out outstanding meals. The branzino was exemplary as were the mussels. The lemon tart with meringue was enough for the three of us after the filling meal.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Open Kitchen, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Short ribs are excellent, as we're all dishes of our party.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Love the French bistro atmosphere with food that is superb in presentation and taste combined with nice wine list.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Fun, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Casual, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Bouche Bistro has fabulous!! The dinner was delicious! The staff takes excellent care ...
The dining experience makes for a great evening... Feels good to be there... Looking forward to a quick return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Wonderful restaurant. Superb food. A good experience.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on March 19, 2017

This restaurant is a treasure... the food is delicious, the service gracious, and the atmosphere is like being in Paris! A happy addition to the Santa Fe dining scene!

Tags: Authentic, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 18, 2017

I love French food and this seemed authentic (lived in France for a couple years). Food was good but not worth the price (about $75 per person). Ambience was good and quiet. I think they would have more customers if they lowered prices a little.

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Second visit. Becoming our favorite restaurant. Great food and service.

Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on March 18, 2017

A wonderful Santa Fe restaurant. I would highly recommend it to visitors and locals alike.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Absolutely wonderful! Ate there two nights in a row!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Probably the best meal we've had in Santa Fe. Delightful and creative cuisine. Everything was perfect

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Seasonal, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Unimpressive menu. Liver, coq au vin unremarkable. Best items were bread and lemon meringue desert. Expensive and little value.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 8, 2017

While visiting in Santa Fe my husband and I ate dinner at Bouche Bistro and were very pleased with our meal. The menu has a lot of outstanding choices -- I had the sweetbreads and the calf liver -- both were outstanding. My husband had the Coq au Vin which was excellent. The portions were generous. The atmosphere was comfortable and our server was outstanding. Can think of a negative -- would definitely go again next time we are in Santa Fe. If you enjoy French food Bouche Bistro will not disappoint you.

Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.