About Bouche Bistro

451 W Alameda St
Santa Fe, NM 87501
View Larger Map

Bouche is a neighborhood French bistro located in the heart of Santa Fe, serving inspired rustic French cuisine prepared by award-winning chef Charles Dale. Bouche offers an exceptional variety of new and old world wine selections to accompany the menu. Seating is limited and reservations are recommended. Private parking lot available, with valet parking on weekends.
Beautiful outdoor patio, weather permitting.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
French, Contemporary French

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Only:
Tuesday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 9:00pm
Friday and Saturday: 5:30pm - 9:30pm

Cross Street:
Guadalupe Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(505) 982-6297

Website:
http://www.bouchebistro.com/

Parking Details:
Parking lot for 14 cars adjacent to restaurant: extensive additional street parking.

Executive Chef:
Charles Dale

Additional:
Beer, Chef's Table, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Bouche Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
New Mexico
Best Food
New Mexico
Best Service
New Mexico
9 More
Fit for Foodies
New Mexico
Notable Wine List
New Mexico
Best Overall
Santa Fe / Mountains
Best Food
Santa Fe / Mountains
Best Service
Santa Fe / Mountains
Best Value
Santa Fe / Mountains
Fit for Foodies
Santa Fe / Mountains
Notable Wine List
Santa Fe / Mountains
Special Occasion
Santa Fe / Mountains
Best Restaurants in Santa Fe ›

Fit for Foodies (101)
Special Occasion (78)
Notable Wine List (53)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (52)
Great for Outdoor Dining (48)
Romantic (37)
Hot Spot (11)
Good for Groups (6)
Late-night Find (5)
Great for Lunch (4)
Kid-friendly (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Scenic View (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Casual (1)
Good for a Date (1)
Fun (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Sort By:
Newest
710 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We had a very pleasant experience. Good ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 4 days ago

We had a very pleasant experience. Good food, good service, light and pleasant atmosphere.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Fun, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

OMG! The most wonderful halibut with as ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined 4 days ago

OMG! The most wonderful halibut with asparagus and fresh porcini mushrooms with a porcini mushroom sauce...a delicious dinner. The service was excellent and a wonderful wine recommendation by our server. Always love the food here at this classic French bistro.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great ambiance and professional service ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined 5 days ago

Great ambiance and professional service but the food leaves a lot to be desired.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

Delicious food but sadly an uncaring rea ...

vip
 (Austin)
·Dined 6 days ago

Delicious food but sadly an uncaring reaction to & unwillingness to help fix an Open Table mixup on reservation time.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

We've been going to Santa Fe for many ye ...

vip
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

We've been going to Santa Fe for many years and eaten at many of it's fine restaurants.

Bouche Bistro is definitely our new favorite!

A little off the beaten path, but worth the short walk from the plaza (no more than 10 minutes.)

The food, service and ambiance all exceeded our expectations. Treat yourself right, and book a table soon.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Second visit to Bouche Bistro. Another ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Second visit to Bouche Bistro. Another delightful meal. Had an outside table this time. Very pleasant. Charles always stops by to say hello and ensure everything was satisfactory.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Bouche Bistro is one of our favorite res ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Bouche Bistro is one of our favorite restaurants in Santa Fe. The food is consistently very good and in some cases is extraordinarily good. The wine list is full of excellent choices. Our server knew about and recommended specific wines for each dish. Our only suggestion would be to offer many more wines by the glass, as the trend today is to eat more small plates which often require different wines with each dish.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Open Kitchen, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We had an incredible dinner at Bouche Ag ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

We had an incredible dinner at Bouche Again!

The squash soup with crab salad was good til the last drop.

The ratatouille ravioli was my single best bite of the summer.

My husband had the pork Osso buco on a cool evening and it was wonderful .

A profiterole to finish .

Great friends ,great food ,vibrant atmosphere .

What is not to love.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a delight it is to dine here. The ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

What a delight it is to dine here. The service is always impeccable and the food is divine! The special of the evening...grouper was delicious! The salmon bruschetta was an interesting concept and very tasty. The Colorado peach cobbler a la mode was a great finish to a fantastic evening! Thank you Chef Charles and all your beautifully trained staff!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fourth time at Bouche Bistro. One of my ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Fourth time at Bouche Bistro. One of my favourite bistros in Santa Fe. I love calves liver a always order that. Great ambience, very easy vibe, casual/dressy whatever you want it to be. Excellent wine list. My wife is vegetarian and never fails to find something she loves. Great service. Our server tipped us off to another great spot in Santa Fe which I'm not going to share. Definitely not 401, do not go there

Well worth the visit.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Quick Bite, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Open Kitchen, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

A great restaurant than has wonderful am ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

A great restaurant than has wonderful ambience and dessert's

Tags: Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I had the foie gras and corn soup. My wi ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

I had the foie gras and corn soup. My wife had calf's liver. Unusual to find liver on the menu. Everything was very good. Service was excellent. Place was full, but only because the weather was a little cool and few people ate outside. Nice outdoor area. Good French food in Santa Fe.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

An amazing dining experience. Comparable ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

An amazing dining experience. Comparable to the best in NYC.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Perfect service, intimate dining experie ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Perfect service, intimate dining experience and absolutely wonderful food. Plan to return soon. A gem in SF. It's on the top of my restaurant favs in SF !

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful warm tomato soup; not very goo ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Wonderful warm tomato soup; not very good liver and bacon entree. A bit expensive given the quality of the entree.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

I ordered the Halibut with white wine an ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

I ordered the Halibut with white wine and butter sauce, although it tasted good I was very sick that night , Far to rich, possibly to much or spoiled butter.

My son ordered the cheese balls. this is a side dish. very small and it cost $17.00.

I used to love Bouche and recommend it to everyone. Entrees were $30.00! The prices have gone up.. its become just a little to special ..

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

I have dined at Bouche many times in the ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

I have dined at Bouche many times in the past. I found the service to be fantastic, but for the price I would elect to eat at Geronimo.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

I have very mixed feelings about our fir ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

I have very mixed feelings about our first (and only) experience at Bouche. We came to Santa Fe specifically to celebrate my husband's birthday and chose Bouche because of its high ratings. In my reservation I very specifically wrote what the occasion was, asking for a quiet table, etc. When we were seated I very specifically reminded the waiter that this was a special occasion and, that I hoped that there could be a candle in the dessert... Something special. Unfortunately, our table was far from special (located in the center of the room, with aisles on both sides, making it inevitable that our chairs would get jostled repeatedly). Worse was when dessert arrived, NOTHING... No candle, no good wishes from the waiter. Meanwhile, at the next table, a woman was celebrating her birthday and got the full treatment. Frankly, at this price point (as expensive or more expensive than restaurants in NYC or Philadelphia) I expect more than this.

As to the food, it was special, no question and incredibly expensive. (6 oysters for $24?!) The sweetbreads were outstanding, the entrees really fine (salmon bruschetta; steak-frites). Desserts were good, though I ordered the dessert special: Colorado peach cobbler... And the peaches were far from ripe.

At the end of the day we left quite disappointed.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

Food was great. Service very attentive. ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Food was great. Service very attentive. My wife needs gluten free and dairy free. They handled all very well and she was very pleased.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The mussels were returned to the kitche ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

The mussels were returned to the kitchen, the size of a mussel was strangely huge and either it was off and one bite was no good.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

As always, the food is authentically Fre ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

As always, the food is authentically French and impeccably prepared. Service is outstanding.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Chicken was dry and couldn't eat it but ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Chicken was dry and couldn't eat it but veggie were pretty strong. Tomatoes were suppose to have been from the chefs garden--hard to believe because not that flavored. . Lemon meringue was excellent. Asparagus appetizer also excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Very nice evening

vip
 (El Paso)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Very nice evening

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We made a last minute reservation, clear ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

We made a last minute reservation, clearly the restaurant was ready for a very busy night. My husband and I were not sure how hungry we were, so we ordered one dish at a time to share, not something waitstaff like much, but our waitress rolled with it.

We started with the shrimp cocktail, it was perfect! Then we had the oysters on the half shell, again perfect! Next was a Caesar salad, so fresh, lemony yet rich. Finding our selves hungry because every thing tasted so good, we ordered the stake tartar, which was again fantastic!

We finished our meal with James's tiramisu, next time we eat at Bouche we may just order 4 of those for diner. We would like to thank James's grandma!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great for omnivores all year long. OK fo ...

vip
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Great for omnivores all year long.

OK for vegetarians in the winter, spring and summer, but they TRY.

Summer, for vegetarians, heaven.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My best meal in Santa Fe. Beat an excel ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

My best meal in Santa Fe. Beat an excellent dinner at Geronimo. True localvore take on French classics. LOVED it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I had high expectations but came away un ...

vip
 (Tulsa)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

I had high expectations but came away unimpressed. The bread and salad were great, as was the appetizer but the entrees were simply good. They did not live up to the hype.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Bouche Bistro is our favorite restaurant ...

vip
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

Bouche Bistro is our favorite restaurant in Santa Fe. Every time we go we are NOT disappointed. Their friendly wait staff are always on top of things and make sure that everything is how you ordered it. The food is amazing! The chef uses fresh, local ingredients and always has several specials to chose from. If you're visiting Santa Fe and want an amazing dining experience, do NOT skip Bouche Bistro.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Highly recommend. Best bread I have ever ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

Highly recommend. Best bread I have ever tasted. Steak au povoivre outstanding. Fish of the day likewise. Lemon tart likewise.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great restaurant! My husband loves sweet ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

Great restaurant! My husband loves sweetbreads and will go back any chance he gets! Jennifer is my fav waitress, superb service. Of all restaurants in S F we have a new favorite

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Sat @ the Chefs table & watched in amaze ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Sat @ the Chefs table & watched in amazement. Have had the Foie Gras here on several occasions & is always exceptional & prepared differently each time

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We love to have dinner at Bouche! We wi ...

vip
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

We love to have dinner at Bouche! We will visit again before too long! We really enjoyed our dinner on the patio the last time we were there. Also, the wait staff was outstanding!

Caroline Beckner

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Bouche Bistro never disappoints. Chef C ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Bouche Bistro never disappoints. Chef Charles Dale and his staff are friendly and hospitable, but never take their eye off the raison d'etre.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best place in Santa Fe! Excellent food, ...

vip
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Best place in Santa Fe! Excellent food, inviting patio, and attentive/friendly service. Love it!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Charles (chef/owner) is one of America's ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Charles (chef/owner) is one of America's top chefs. It is a classic bistro menu with some intriguing specials, all executed perfectly. A lovely, value-based wine list. Top notch dining in a relaxed, friendly atmosphere.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The food was fantastic as usual!

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

The food was fantastic as usual!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

We were there for our 34th anniversary d ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

We were there for our 34th anniversary dinner. From the time we arrived until we left we were treated extraordinarily. The food was fabulous. The service great.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Easily walkable from downtown hotels, bu ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Easily walkable from downtown hotels, but a little off the beaten track, this restaurant particularly appears to attract knowledgeable locals. Comfortably full on two recent locations, but with a sound level that permits discussion without raising one's voice. The food is reasonably innovative and sophisticated without being "gimmicky". Nice outdoor patio. I took two friends in the travel business there, who cater to up-scale, sophisticated, clients who travel all over the world, and they loved it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Superb and imaginative food, excellent w ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Superb and imaginative food, excellent wine with exceptional, attentive service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Had authentic French bistro feel, howeve ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Had authentic French bistro feel, however our dining experience was compromised by the table location by a busy passageway and unstable wood deck that caused the table to sway like a simulated earthquake every time someone walked past. We finally asked to be reseated.

Food was above average but other pricey restaurants in town exceed Bouche.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.