About Bouche Bistro (Santa Fe)

451 W Alameda St
Santa Fe, NM 87501
View Larger Map

Bouche Bistro (Santa Fe) is a neighborhood French bistro located in the heart of Santa Fe, serving inspired rustic French cuisine prepared by award-winning chef Charles Dale. Bouche Bistro (Santa Fe) offers an exceptional variety of new and old world wine selections to accompany the menu. Seating is limited and reservations are recommended. Private parking lot available, with valet parking on weekends.
Beautiful outdoor patio, weather permitting.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
French, Contemporary French

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Only:
Tuesday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 9:00pm
Friday and Saturday: 5:30pm - 9:30pm

Cross Street:
Guadalupe Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(505) 982-6297

Website:
http://www.bouchebistro.com/

Parking Details:
Parking lot for 14 cars adjacent to restaurant: extensive additional street parking.

Executive Chef:
Charles Dale

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Chef's Table, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Bouche Bistro (Santa Fe) Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (38)
Special Occasion (35)
Good for Anniversaries (29)
See All
Notable Wine List (28)
Good for a Date (27)
Creative Cuisine (26)
Neighborhood Gem (24)
Romantic (23)
Good for Birthdays (22)
Authentic (21)
Local Ingredients (15)
Open Kitchen (14)
Cozy (14)
Casual (10)
Healthy (10)
Business Meals (10)
Fun (9)
Worth the Drive (8)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Great for Outdoor Dining (7)
Comfort Food (7)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Hot Spot (5)
Organic (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Seasonal (4)
People Watching (4)
Outstanding Value (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Historic (2)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Fireplace (1)
Live Sports (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Vegan (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Great Beer (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
817 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined 2 days ago

Loved it, as always. Everyone loved everything they got.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Disabled Access, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined 3 days ago

Bouche is a wonderful restaurant with very knowledgeable staff who was ready to help with menu and wine questions!

A very enjoyable and well prepared dinner!

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Open Kitchen, People Watching, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined 3 days ago

Exquisite! We had an exceptional experience during SF restaurant week.

Tags: Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Disabled Access, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined 3 days ago

I am not a fan of sous vide. The pate de foil gras with pears was superb, but on the liquid side. The mussels felt undercooked and the sauce could have used some garlic and salt. I did enjoy them after they cooked them a bit more. The lemon tart was sublime, as was the service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined 3 days ago

Nothing unexpected for a French restaurant, but everything was perfectly prepared.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 5 days ago

What an amazing place! The food was so yummy, as was the wine. But most of all, the service was impeccable. Their team is a well oiled machine. Highly recommended!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined 5 days ago

Bouche remains for me one of the highlights of Santa Fe dining. Exquisitely prepared, great service, super friendly proprietor.

Tags: Fun, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Excellent meal in upscale somewhat out of the way restaurant less than a 10 minute walk from the Plaza. Fresh oysters, coq au vin, good wine by the glass and really good creme brûlée plus a lively atmosphere and attentive service.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Healthy, Romantic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Best meal in several years-superb Valentine's Day prix fixe

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fun, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We had great service but the food was not great

Have been before and had memorable meals but this time if felt like the kitchen was over worked . Husband fish was rubber and the desert had a stale texture and taste.

It is a small place and we have been before so we knew. It was valentines and so we wanted a little alone time, however, squeezing by our table on one side or the other seemed to be the way everyone wanted to pass leaving others in peace at other center tables. We could not have an uninterrupted discussion. Iwatched it happen and it became a joke with the staff.

We will not go back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service5
value2

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The best restaurant in town! The food is superior!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Excellent food, good wine by the glass, helpful waitress.

Tags: Fun, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Great but really noisy group at the table next to us made it difficult to talk together.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Authentic, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on February 11, 2017

First visit . . . certainly will return. Food and service were absolutely excellent. Could have made a meal with the escargot and bread alone! Seafood was superb. Save room for the deserts which are to die for (creme brulee was the best) :)

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Organic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Open Kitchen, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on February 9, 2017

nice cozy atmosphere - food was good but not exceptional - classic french - shared mussels, break was cold but good and then shared the fish dish of the night which was good but not really any special flavor combination

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 5, 2017

I've found my new favorite in Santa Fe. Both the food and service were outstanding. We shared West Coast oysters, the 3 beet salad, I had the swordfish (perfectly cooked) special with asparagus & endive salad and my husband had the calve's liver, we shared the made to order Lemon Meringue tart which was pure perfection. Our waitress recommended a fabulous Pinot Noir from California with the swordfish which was excellent. The atmosphere is vibrant and will make you feel like you have been transported to a tiny bistro in France. Easy walking distance from the Plaza and many of the downtown hotels.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Outstanding Value, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Open Kitchen, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 4, 2017

lovely food, a wonderful wait staff who found me terrific wines by the glass.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on January 29, 2017

We recently spent several months eating our way through France and our Bouche experience was truly authentic. We enjoyed the cozy atmosphere and commend the knowledgeable, friendly staff. Bravo!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on January 28, 2017

One of the best restaurants in Santa Fe. Charles and his team never disappoint. My wife and I really enjoy sitting at the chef's table to watch Charles "orchestrate" and his talented team produce top notch cuisine. My wife thoroughly enjoyed the pasta of the evening, and the frisée salad was straight out of ghe finiest bistros in Paris. Always outstanding.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Fun, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Absolutely incredible experience! We are so happy we stumbled upon Bouche during a recent trip. The staff, chef, and the food were all incredible! We are still salivating for the short rib risotto. Any time we are back in Santa Fe this will be a MUST VISIT for us.

Tags: Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Open Kitchen, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Good for a Date, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Fabulous. Absolutely fabulous.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Never fails to meet all of our expectations. We keep returning with friends and visitors from 'afar.' It is absolutely our 'go to place' when we want excellent food, superior service, and a 'nod from Chief Charles.'

Love that they always do their best to reserve our table of choice-Thanks Guys!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Open Kitchen, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Always amazing! Thank you Chef Charles!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Open Kitchen, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Everything we had was excellent. The waiter comped us a birthday creme brûlée.

We'll return!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on January 22, 2017

The food was delicious and the service was incredibly fast and friendly

Tags: Authentic, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Great Beer, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Organic, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Excellent food and staff. A definite return next trip.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Excellent service by a knowledgeable waitperson. Short wait time from order to table. The menu is seasonal. We ordered from the Fall Menu since the Winter Menu will not be available for two weeks. It was snowing outside, but the dining room was warmly lit and comfortable. For an amazing treat, order the lemon meringue tart. It is remarkable!

Tags: Good for a Date, Open Kitchen, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Cozy, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on January 8, 2017

First time at Bouche after being a fan of the chef when he was at a previous restaurant - delicious, unpretentious, relaxed dining with fantastic service.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 7, 2017

We were totally turned off by the high-pressure up-selling. When we declined, our waitress became brusque. We hadn't been to Bouche in quite a while and wouldn't be in a hurry to go back. My favorite dish has been removed from the menu, apparently not to return. Our meals (mussels and a pasta special) were average at best. The lemon tart was sweeter than I care for and overloaded with meringue. My dining partners did like the creme brulee. We have friends who are regulars here and praise it for being consistent. Consistently what I'm not sure.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Always a pleasure to spend time and dine at Bouche Bistro!!! Always!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Excellent food, service, and wines made for a special New year's Eve celebration with friends!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Great food, one of the best in Santa Fe.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Bouche is a perfect mix of service and food, delivered perfectly on every visit! It is always at the top of list for favorites in Santa Fe. Wine list a little expensive compared to other local restaurants but the quality of the list is above average! Bouche delivers Role Model behavior for what to do right in a restaurant!

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Authentic, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Number one on our list 'forever!' Our out-or-town guests were simply taken with Bouche' and could not have enjoyed a table more than the Chief's table!!Not one thing that I would change, and love it that Charles is always greeting, meeting, and making everyone feel special!

Tags: Authentic, Healthy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 30, 2016

I have loved Bouche for years. It's a bit pricey but it's worth every penny. The food and service are both wonderful ( sort of country French, not stuffy French) and I love the rustic atmosphere. It's the best restaurant in Santa Fe in my opinion. This visit I departed from my usual sweetbreads or liver dishes and had the raw oysters and a serving of onion soup. With their incredible bread it made a great meal and one I shall repeat. My friends were extremely happy with their beef and fish dishes so all of us had a super time.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Outstanding dinner experience, from beginning to end. Food and service were outstanding.

We loved it so much that we came back the following day to finish our evening with the amazing creme brulee and a glass of champagne.

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Seasonal, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 28, 2016

We travel to Santa Fe at least once a year and I always make a reservation here. Food is always great as is the service. I tend to find something I like and then order it again and again. For me the consistency is proof of a well run kitchen. Boucher never fails.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 25, 2016

We had an absolutely fabulous meal here for Christmas Eve.

Food was excellently prepared and presented.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Christmas Eve at Bouche is a very special event. Great food and bar menus, festive atmosphere, and excellent service. Everyone is in a joyous mood. Pricey but great fun.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 25, 2016

I had come for Christmas Eve Dinner the year before and there was a special menu and you could also order from that or the regular menu--which was not available this time. I didn't check the price for the 3-course dinner and felt at $99 it was a tad overpriced--last year it was a great deal less. Great French food. There were 4 selections for appetizer and the main course and two for the dessert. My 6 oysters for appetizer were great, the beef tenderloin main course was cooked to perfection and the taste of creme brulee, sorbet and ice-cream-filled puff pastry was good. My two neighboring tables, as we got to talking, were not as good as mine. One of the 3, 1/2 lobster tails over the pasta next door was raw, in the next table over, the tenderloin was over-cooked. I attribute that to James not cooking in the kitchen and subbing for Chef Charles who was off-restaurant tending to two parties. I think that all things considered, it was really nice but pricey...the other tables might have rated it a little different.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Paleo Friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Was the first time that we had eaten here and were impressed with the serice and the food. Tables are pretty close together, but it was not a problem. Would go back when we are in Santa Fe again, which is usually two to three times a year.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Small place, short menu of small plates and a few entrées, a limited list of wines and beers, and high prices -- but what exciting well-prepared food and delightfully attentive service! Its a lot to crowd into an attractive small inviting space. The menu reads like a traditional French brasserie: excellent breads, onion soup, escargot, sweetbreads (!), calves liver, mussels but each dish is excellently conceived with unique flavor combinations which highlight the locally-sourced ingredients and seasonings. Our waitress made astute recommendations of wine which excellently complimented the food. Desserts were equally pleasing along with well-prepared coffee. This was probably the best meal we had in a week of sampling a broad array of the restaurants of Santa Fe.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Lovely setting, albeit a small space that is quite tight and a wee bit noisy if restaurant is busy. Chairs are not very comfortable. Staff was welcoming, service attentive and professional, and the food was well prepared and as advertised. Bread and butter are excellent additions.

I actually visited a few days before and selected the table I wanted for our small party. However, when we arrived they had changed our table and about a half hour later, placed a couple in our requested space. This couple were clearly regulars and friends with the staff. I guess I understand this decision to reward regulars, but is did detract a bit.

All in all a good choice, among many in Santa Fe.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Loved the bistro. Great waitstaff & delicious food. Favorite was the warm arugula salad with calamari & delicate slices of octopus on a creamy bed of tangy dressing. The pappardelle with creamy sauce & lobster/seafood was to die for!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 21, 2016

I was visiting Santa Fe from Los Angeles. Love Bouche Bistro. This will be one of my go to restaurants whenever I visit Santa Fe.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Four of us had a wonderful business dinner. Bouche is a small French bistro-style restaurant, quaint and charming. Don't let the term bistro fool you: the food is exquisite, the wine list is diverse and offers some great wines (We drank a Chinon - cabernet franc from the Loire Valley and a Vivier Pinot Noir from Sonoma: both outstanding picks). The service was excellent, with the right touch whenever necessary throughout the night. The desserts topped it all off: the creme brulee, lemon meringue pie and nutella chocolate mousse were to die for. We were so into our conversation and our food that we ended up being the last table in the restaurant. Bouche was a WOW! experience.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Open Kitchen, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on December 11, 2016

One of our FAVORITE PLACES here in Santa Fe, N.M.!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Consistently one of the best restaurants in Santa Fe. Service is exceptional and the food is exquisite.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on December 8, 2016

We've been wanting to try Bouche for a while now, but just couldn't line up a date when our party of six could get together in Santa Fe. We are SO glad that we finally did get there. It was a spectacular meal for all of us. We each had a different entree, shared three bottles of wine from their great wine list, and shared three delectable desserts since we couldn't decide on one. Bouche will now go on our list as our Santa Fe favorite, and that is saying something, given the array of excellent choices in the "City Different." Bouche is a "foodies" delight. I can't recommend it enough!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Excellent food, service and ambiance...the seared foie gras is worth the trip alone!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.