About Bouche Bistro

451 W Alameda St
Santa Fe, NM 87501
View Larger Map

Bouche is a neighborhood French bistro located in the heart of Santa Fe, serving inspired rustic French cuisine prepared by award-winning chef Charles Dale. Bouche offers an exceptional variety of new and old world wine selections to accompany the menu. Seating is limited and reservations are recommended. Private parking lot available, with valet parking on weekends.
Beautiful outdoor patio, weather permitting.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
French, Contemporary French

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Only:
Tuesday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 9:00pm
Friday and Saturday: 5:30pm - 9:30pm

Cross Street:
Guadalupe Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(505) 982-6297

Website:
http://www.bouchebistro.com/

Parking Details:
Parking lot for 14 cars adjacent to restaurant: extensive additional street parking.

Executive Chef:
Charles Dale

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Chef's Table, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Bouche Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
New Mexico
Best Food
New Mexico
Best Service
New Mexico
6 More
Fit for Foodies
New Mexico
Best Overall
Santa Fe / Mountains
Best Food
Santa Fe / Mountains
Best Service
Santa Fe / Mountains
Fit for Foodies
Santa Fe / Mountains
Notable Wine List
Santa Fe / Mountains
Best Restaurants in Santa Fe ›

fit for foodies (94)
special occasion (73)
notable wine list (46)
See All
neighborhood gem (43)
romantic (41)
great for outdoor dining (29)
hot spot (15)
good for groups (7)
late-night find (6)
great for lunch (4)
kid-friendly (2)
great for brunch (1)
scenic view (1)
vibrant bar scene (1)
Sort By:
Newest
662 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

This is the second time we went to Bouch ...

Dined 5 days ago

This is the second time we went to Bouche. The first time was fantastic - great waiter, great food - second time we went waitress was oversolicitous to point of annoyance - meal became about her which might be why i didn't send my food back but i shouldn't blame her - i should blame fact that i wanted to be alone with my husband, not in conversation with her about her life still, more importantly, the food was terrible - the rice in my risotto was not cooked through - it was barely cooked at all and there was almost none of it - it was inedible - the shrimp was overcooked - waitress said this dish was "refreshing" - it wasn't - the room was very hot - i felt sick and claustrophobic - realized even the bread, which i thought was excellent the first time - tasted slightly stale - my husband described it as being "wet" - it just wasn't good - my husband's lentils weren't cooked through in his lamb dish which he loved our first time here - someone in kitchen was lazy - i still am puzzled why we didn't send food back - i wish we had - my husband had a stomach ache for 2 days following - perhaps the uncooked lentils or his trying my uncooked rice or overcooked shrimp or too many combinations or just a bad experience which wouldn't quit.

food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Food choices were too eclectic for my ta ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

Food choices were too eclectic for my tastes, but the Lemon Meringue Tort was exceptional!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful food. Friendly service. Highly ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Wonderful food. Friendly service. Highly recommend.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Food always excellent. Fresh seafood pl ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Food always excellent. Fresh seafood plate--OUTSTANDING!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Owner/host friendly. Visits every table

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect night!

Dined on June 8, 2016

My husband and I were in Santa Fe for the week, and loved Bouche'! The ambience was lively and fun, but still cozy. Every course was perfectly executed, from the seared foie gras to the steak au poivre. Our server was knowledgeable about the wines, and we tried something new. We will definitely recommend this gem, and hope to return when visiting Santa Fe again.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

We were in Santa Fe for our anniversary. ...

Dined on June 7, 2016

We were in Santa Fe for our anniversary. Cancelled a reservation at Geronimo's when we found Bouche Bistro was close to our hotel. Our server was not very helpful in describing the entrees. She took our order then delivered the food, then disappeared. I found the steak au poivre to be very tough and chewy, but by the time the server returned, I had lost my appetite. She said oh, you should have let me know, I would've fixed that. Well, maybe if you had come back and checked, we could have substituted another entree. She did remove the charge for the steak au poivre, but that did not make up for the disappointing experience.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing As Usual!

vip
Dined on June 1, 2016

We live in Santa Fe, and Bouche Bistro is our FAVORITE restaurant. This evening we brought two couples that had never been to Bouche and we all sat at the Chef's Table. Charles Dale did it again with amazing items on the menu and the food was simply to die for. Our friends LOVED everything they ate, and the wine they loved as well. Bouche Bistro is consistently amazing, and we know when we go we won't be disappointed. We highly recommend Bouche Bistro. We think it's the best in Santa Fe!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Great food, dynamite waitress.

Dined on May 29, 2016

My lamb shank fell off the bone, my dates Halibut was cooked to perfection. And their freshly baked sour dough bread ( baked daily) is the closest you'll find to San Francisco! Having just moved here from San Francisco, this is one of my 2 favorite French bistros. Unfortunately , we were seated on the back patio next to a table of inebriated women laughing so loudly we couldn't hear ourselves talk. These inconsiderate women ruined what would have been a perfect dining experience!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

A wonderful find. Small, intimate and f ...

Dined on May 27, 2016

A wonderful find. Small, intimate and fabulous food. Service impeccable from Ian

Tags: fit for foodies
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

From our experience, this restaurant has ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

From our experience, this restaurant has declined.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Bouche keeps getting better and delivers ...

vip
Dined on May 21, 2016

Bouche keeps getting better and delivers as a French bistro. We dine here often and 3 of us felt that this dinner was the best we have been served at Bouche. With the weather co-operating, the outdoor space is great.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Excellent food and service, perfect wine list.

vip
Dined on May 20, 2016

Every time I go here, sometimes alone, it gets better and better, which I can't imagine. For intimate dinners or a party, this is the perfect spot. We go once a week, at least!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing.....as usual!

vip
Dined on May 15, 2016

We brought our daughter and her new fiance' to Bouche Bistro for dinner, because it is our favorite place to dine and we thought they would love it too. We were RIGHT! Everyone enjoyed EVERYTHING! We started with the charcuterie plank with the added foie gras. Two of us had the lobster ravioli (a special of the night), one had a risotto special (he said it was the best he had ever eaten anywhere) and another got the special soft shell crab. The desserts were to die for and the wine was superb. We all highly recommend Bouche Bistro!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great for celebrations!

vip
Dined on May 15, 2016

Took some friends here to celebrate a birthday. We sampled and shared lots of different dishes along with an outstanding bottle of wine. The crab appetizer and lobster ravioli were particularly good. And, yes, we managed to save room for dessert - the tira misu was excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Good for Date Night

Dined on May 14, 2016

We dined at Bouche for the first time Friday night 5/13/16, and found the atmosphere pleasant and the service exceptional. The raw oysters my husband ordered were excellent and reasonably priced. The cold seafood platter that I ordered for a starter was skimpy and did not justify the price. The crab fingers, particularly, were a huge disappointment. The horseradish sauce was excellent. I had the lobster ravioli for my main course, and the dish and the sauce were excellent. My husband had the mussels in a chili-wine sauce, which he thought was very good and unusual. For dessert, he had the creme brûlée, and I had the lemon meringue tart. The tart was quite good, but the crust was tough. The creme brûlée was good, but not exceptional. The best aspect of the evening was the service, which was attentive without being fussy or irritating.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service5

Great evening!!

vip
Dined on May 14, 2016

Great evening!!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The server Elise was very helpful and ga ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

The server Elise was very helpful and gave us some champagne and a dessert complimentary. The food was extraordinary and plentiful. It is one of the top three restaurants in Santa Fe.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful Gem. Food was fresh and delici ...

vip
Dined on May 14, 2016

Wonderful Gem. Food was fresh and delicious. Best oysters in town. Lovely service. Don't miss this restaurant.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Formidable! Great restaurant!

Dined on May 13, 2016

What a great restaurant run by Chef Charles Dale. The food is simply amazing. I had char which more was much more tender than salmon. Frites with truffles (not to be believed)! A very nice lemon tart for dessert. The restaurant has a wonderful ambiance and the service is terrific. If you visit Santa Fe, you must try out this restaurant.

Tags: romance, special occasions, neighbourhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

My favorite place in all of Santa Fe. Ch ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

My favorite place in all of Santa Fe. Charles Dale has created a true French bistro. which is second to none. In a city no less that is famous for its restaurant scene. I recommend it to friends all the time.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5

Absolutely LOVE Bouche! Small but well t ...

Dined on May 1, 2016

Absolutely LOVE Bouche! Small but well thought out wine list. Started with Oysters and champagne and went to a beautiful filet with Foie Gras and a delicious Arietta Cab. Our waitress Erin was adorable and so helpful and fun! We ended up taking to our surrounding tables and had a ball!! Highly recommend!

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Vive La France

vip
Dined on April 30, 2016

You enter the room and it is like walking into the neighborhood restaurant in any French town or City which is abuzz with conversation and the food which is then served continues to maintain that sense with all the classics on offer. If I lived in Santa Fe I would be a regular. Great!

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love, love, love!

vip
Dined on April 30, 2016

Bouche never fails to impress me! Everything was perfect and if I could eat here every week, I would!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Very good food, great service, nice atmosphere!

Dined on April 30, 2016

We went to Bouche to celebrate a birthday and from the moment we sat down, the evening was delightful. They had been apprised of the event and started us off with a glass of champagne. We then ordered appetizers and an main courses, followed by two excellent desserts for the three of us. The service was excellent and the atmosphere pleasant although a bit noisy from time to time. All in all, a very nice way to celebrate a special event.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

The food and service are always excellen ...

Dined on April 27, 2016

The food and service are always excellent.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Bouche is the Best

vip
Dined on April 23, 2016

Our experience was first rate...from the greeting at the door, attentive service, awesome food, and a great creme brûlée!! We dined at four restaurants while in Santa Fe and Bouche Bistro was number 1.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent, as usual! Thanks to Charles a ...

Dined on April 20, 2016

Excellent, as usual! Thanks to Charles and great staff!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love it. Casually elegant, french sensibility.

Dined on April 19, 2016

Consistently delicious, quality ingredients and a lovely uncomplicated wine list. You can get French staples prepared well, local ingredients where possible, creative and beautiful food.

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience4
service5

Always a good dinning experience!

vip
Dined on April 17, 2016

Always a good dinning experience!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely atmosphere and the food was incredible.

Dined on April 16, 2016

The service was top notch and the wait staff was very knowledgeable.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Very very good.

Dined on April 6, 2016

Exceptional food prepared in an exceptional manner. Reliably good, attentive but not intrusive service. Every course exce s.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

It's better

Dined on April 3, 2016

Our first two visits, some time ago, showed promise but nothing special. On this occasion, it felt like a bistro, and the food was very good. Cassoulet, for us, is the measure of a restaurant that chooses to make it. This one gets a "B" - just not enough flavor, not sufficiently married. The lamb shank and sausage textures were soft and flavors pale, not like lamb shoulder and the garlic sausages of France. But good. On the other hand, grilled octopus over hummus was a great idea and terrific tasting, and the food around us looked right, as well. Wines by the glass were good, and the list fine. We'll be back, soon.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5

Great intimate French bistro- fabulous s ...

vip
Dined on April 2, 2016

Great intimate French bistro- fabulous service, sumptuous food

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the best in Santa Fe!

Dined on April 1, 2016

I've seen many rise and fall in the 20+ years I've lived here, and Bouce strikes the balance will hitting the bulls-eye. The onion soup was not too salty, the broth for the ravioli mingled the flavors perfectly--and I was so well full that I skipped desert--but I'll have revenge next time with the relatively low prices! Go!!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great New Find

Dined on March 31, 2016

My wife loves French food and is a bit of a foodie. She is pretty selective about restaurants and definitely wants to return. This tells me I surprised her in a great way with my choice of restaurants for her birthday. Only disappointment was no souffles.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Best appetizers in Santa Fe

vip
Dined on March 27, 2016

Bouche Bistro did not disappoint once again. It is our special place to celebrate birthdays and to bring out of town guests who like French style bistro fare. They have the best grilled octopus in Santa Fe and the only time I've had better was in Lisbon, Portugal. The mussels with a side of French fries were excellent. The mussels were cooked perfectly with no mussels that had not opened up. Only improvement would be some grilled toast to soak up the broth.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Authentic, creative French

Dined on March 23, 2016

Real French bistro atmosphere and fabulous creative dishes, great ambience and excellent service.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

In a town of great restaurants...

Dined on March 20, 2016

this one is a treasure. We've lived here sixteen years and enjoyed the food from many outstanding local restaurant. And Bouche is one of the best. You should try it.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent French food

Dined on March 16, 2016

We chose this restaurant because we had eaten at mr dales restaurant in aspen years ago.he has not his touch. The only negative was dessert toomuch cream,! Sweetbreads were delicious I I had two small plates which was more than enough

Tags: fit for foodies, romance, special occasions, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful!

Dined on March 13, 2016

The best place to celebrate an intimate birthday dinner!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.