About Bouche Bistro

451 W Alameda St
Santa Fe, NM 87501
View Larger Map

Bouche is a neighborhood French bistro located in the heart of Santa Fe, serving inspired rustic French cuisine prepared by award-winning chef Charles Dale. Bouche offers an exceptional variety of new and old world wine selections to accompany the menu. Seating is limited and reservations are recommended. Private parking lot available, with valet parking on weekends.
Beautiful outdoor patio, weather permitting.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
French, Contemporary French

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Only:
Tuesday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 9:00pm
Friday and Saturday: 5:30pm - 9:30pm

Cross Street:
Guadalupe Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(505) 982-6297

Website:
http://www.bouchebistro.com/

Parking Details:
Parking lot for 14 cars adjacent to restaurant: extensive additional street parking.

Executive Chef:
Charles Dale

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Chef's Table, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Bouche Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

99% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
New Mexico
Best Food
New Mexico
Best Service
New Mexico
7 More
Fit for Foodies
New Mexico
Notable Wine List
New Mexico
Best Overall
Santa Fe / Mountains
Best Food
Santa Fe / Mountains
Best Service
Santa Fe / Mountains
Fit for Foodies
Santa Fe / Mountains
Notable Wine List
Santa Fe / Mountains
Best Restaurants in Santa Fe ›

fit for foodies (111)
special occasion (88)
notable wine list (56)
See All
neighborhood gem (51)
romantic (51)
hot spot (23)
great for outdoor dining (21)
late-night find (8)
good for groups (7)
great for lunch (4)
great for brunch (1)
kid-friendly (1)
scenic view (1)
vibrant bar scene (1)
Sort By:
Newest
650 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Bouche keeps getting better and delivers ...

vip
Dined 4 days ago

Bouche keeps getting better and delivers as a French bistro. We dine here often and 3 of us felt that this dinner was the best we have been served at Bouche. With the weather co-operating, the outdoor space is great.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Excellent food and service, perfect wine list.

vip
Dined 4 days ago

Every time I go here, sometimes alone, it gets better and better, which I can't imagine. For intimate dinners or a party, this is the perfect spot. We go once a week, at least!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing.....as usual!

vip
Dined on May 15, 2016

We brought our daughter and her new fiance' to Bouche Bistro for dinner, because it is our favorite place to dine and we thought they would love it too. We were RIGHT! Everyone enjoyed EVERYTHING! We started with the charcuterie plank with the added foie gras. Two of us had the lobster ravioli (a special of the night), one had a risotto special (he said it was the best he had ever eaten anywhere) and another got the special soft shell crab. The desserts were to die for and the wine was superb. We all highly recommend Bouche Bistro!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Good for Date Night

Dined on May 14, 2016

We dined at Bouche for the first time Friday night 5/13/16, and found the atmosphere pleasant and the service exceptional. The raw oysters my husband ordered were excellent and reasonably priced. The cold seafood platter that I ordered for a starter was skimpy and did not justify the price. The crab fingers, particularly, were a huge disappointment. The horseradish sauce was excellent. I had the lobster ravioli for my main course, and the dish and the sauce were excellent. My husband had the mussels in a chili-wine sauce, which he thought was very good and unusual. For dessert, he had the creme brûlée, and I had the lemon meringue tart. The tart was quite good, but the crust was tough. The creme brûlée was good, but not exceptional. The best aspect of the evening was the service, which was attentive without being fussy or irritating.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service5

Great evening!!

vip
Dined on May 14, 2016

Great evening!!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The server Elise was very helpful and ga ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

The server Elise was very helpful and gave us some champagne and a dessert complimentary. The food was extraordinary and plentiful. It is one of the top three restaurants in Santa Fe.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful Gem. Food was fresh and delici ...

vip
Dined on May 14, 2016

Wonderful Gem. Food was fresh and delicious. Best oysters in town. Lovely service. Don't miss this restaurant.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Formidable! Great restaurant!

Dined on May 13, 2016

What a great restaurant run by Chef Charles Dale. The food is simply amazing. I had char which more was much more tender than salmon. Frites with truffles (not to be believed)! A very nice lemon tart for dessert. The restaurant has a wonderful ambiance and the service is terrific. If you visit Santa Fe, you must try out this restaurant.

Tags: romance, special occasions, neighbourhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

My favorite place in all of Santa Fe. Ch ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

My favorite place in all of Santa Fe. Charles Dale has created a true French bistro. which is second to none. In a city no less that is famous for its restaurant scene. I recommend it to friends all the time.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5

Absolutely LOVE Bouche! Small but well t ...

Dined on May 1, 2016

Absolutely LOVE Bouche! Small but well thought out wine list. Started with Oysters and champagne and went to a beautiful filet with Foie Gras and a delicious Arietta Cab. Our waitress Erin was adorable and so helpful and fun! We ended up taking to our surrounding tables and had a ball!! Highly recommend!

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Vive La France

vip
Dined on April 30, 2016

You enter the room and it is like walking into the neighborhood restaurant in any French town or City which is abuzz with conversation and the food which is then served continues to maintain that sense with all the classics on offer. If I lived in Santa Fe I would be a regular. Great!

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love, love, love!

vip
Dined on April 30, 2016

Bouche never fails to impress me! Everything was perfect and if I could eat here every week, I would!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Very good food, great service, nice atmosphere!

Dined on April 30, 2016

We went to Bouche to celebrate a birthday and from the moment we sat down, the evening was delightful. They had been apprised of the event and started us off with a glass of champagne. We then ordered appetizers and an main courses, followed by two excellent desserts for the three of us. The service was excellent and the atmosphere pleasant although a bit noisy from time to time. All in all, a very nice way to celebrate a special event.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

The food and service are always excellen ...

Dined on April 27, 2016

The food and service are always excellent.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Bouche is the Best

vip
Dined on April 23, 2016

Our experience was first rate...from the greeting at the door, attentive service, awesome food, and a great creme brûlée!! We dined at four restaurants while in Santa Fe and Bouche Bistro was number 1.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent, as usual! Thanks to Charles a ...

Dined on April 20, 2016

Excellent, as usual! Thanks to Charles and great staff!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love it. Casually elegant, french sensibility.

Dined on April 19, 2016

Consistently delicious, quality ingredients and a lovely uncomplicated wine list. You can get French staples prepared well, local ingredients where possible, creative and beautiful food.

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience4
service5

Always a good dinning experience!

vip
Dined on April 17, 2016

Always a good dinning experience!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely atmosphere and the food was incredible.

Dined on April 16, 2016

The service was top notch and the wait staff was very knowledgeable.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Very very good.

Dined on April 6, 2016

Exceptional food prepared in an exceptional manner. Reliably good, attentive but not intrusive service. Every course exce s.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

It's better

Dined on April 3, 2016

Our first two visits, some time ago, showed promise but nothing special. On this occasion, it felt like a bistro, and the food was very good. Cassoulet, for us, is the measure of a restaurant that chooses to make it. This one gets a "B" - just not enough flavor, not sufficiently married. The lamb shank and sausage textures were soft and flavors pale, not like lamb shoulder and the garlic sausages of France. But good. On the other hand, grilled octopus over hummus was a great idea and terrific tasting, and the food around us looked right, as well. Wines by the glass were good, and the list fine. We'll be back, soon.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5

Great intimate French bistro- fabulous s ...

vip
Dined on April 2, 2016

Great intimate French bistro- fabulous service, sumptuous food

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the best in Santa Fe!

Dined on April 1, 2016

I've seen many rise and fall in the 20+ years I've lived here, and Bouce strikes the balance will hitting the bulls-eye. The onion soup was not too salty, the broth for the ravioli mingled the flavors perfectly--and I was so well full that I skipped desert--but I'll have revenge next time with the relatively low prices! Go!!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great New Find

Dined on March 31, 2016

My wife loves French food and is a bit of a foodie. She is pretty selective about restaurants and definitely wants to return. This tells me I surprised her in a great way with my choice of restaurants for her birthday. Only disappointment was no souffles.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Best appetizers in Santa Fe

vip
Dined on March 27, 2016

Bouche Bistro did not disappoint once again. It is our special place to celebrate birthdays and to bring out of town guests who like French style bistro fare. They have the best grilled octopus in Santa Fe and the only time I've had better was in Lisbon, Portugal. The mussels with a side of French fries were excellent. The mussels were cooked perfectly with no mussels that had not opened up. Only improvement would be some grilled toast to soak up the broth.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Authentic, creative French

Dined on March 23, 2016

Real French bistro atmosphere and fabulous creative dishes, great ambience and excellent service.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

In a town of great restaurants...

Dined on March 20, 2016

this one is a treasure. We've lived here sixteen years and enjoyed the food from many outstanding local restaurant. And Bouche is one of the best. You should try it.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent French food

Dined on March 16, 2016

We chose this restaurant because we had eaten at mr dales restaurant in aspen years ago.he has not his touch. The only negative was dessert toomuch cream,! Sweetbreads were delicious I I had two small plates which was more than enough

Tags: fit for foodies, romance, special occasions, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful!

Dined on March 13, 2016

The best place to celebrate an intimate birthday dinner!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Cozy restaurant with very fine service ( ...

Dined on March 12, 2016

Cozy restaurant with very fine service (hard to find in Santa Fe). They were helpful with our questions, our slight delay and kind to the youngest member of the party. And the food was very tasty.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great birthday celebration for my wife

Dined on March 10, 2016

Bouche is one of our inSanta Fe. Very creative chef. Excellent knowledgeable wait staff. We both went with fresh seafood dishes and were not disappointed. She had shrimp cocktail, followed by steamed mussels. I had raw osters followed by Atlantic salmon. We shared the amazing sauted spinich.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best meal we've had in a Santa Fe restaurant!

Dined on March 5, 2016

The food was delicious, creatively prepared and enthusiastically served. We will be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had an amazing dinner during restaura ...

Dined on February 28, 2016

We had an amazing dinner during restaurant week. The swordfish was outstanding! The owner greeted us when we arrived and was attentive throughout the meal.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great French food in the heart of chile country!

Dined on February 28, 2016

We've dined here many times. Always a pleasure. Great food, great service, great wine: a real bouchon!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Best Appetizer ever!

Dined on February 28, 2016

Grilled Asparagus with Hollandaise was the best appetizer I've ever had. Entre was very good but the desserts again were excellent. Wait servers were outstanding!

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Santa Fe Restaurant Week Gem

Dined on February 27, 2016

Six of us from our local SF neighborhood experienced Bouche during Friday of restaurant week - excellent meal, great choice - recommend this place highly.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

The food is outstanding!!!!! Everything ...

Dined on February 27, 2016

The food is outstanding!!!!! Everything on the menu IS GOOD! Make room for dessert! Very busy on Restaurant Week and still the service was great.

food5
ambience4
service5

The food was excellent; perfectly prepar ...

Dined on February 27, 2016

The food was excellent; perfectly prepared. We had mussels and pomme fritte. And swordfish. Service was just right. It is an intimate setting.

food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Delicious french food

Dined on February 26, 2016

We went during restaurant week, so it was packed. We sat for a bit before someone came to our table, once our waiter appeared, things were smooth. The dinner was a 3 course, appetizer, main entrée, and dessert. Everything was fantastic. Smiles all around our table. It was a bit loud, but so exciting. The chef/owner came out and helped serve too. That guy is always smiling,you've got to love that! Always a gi backer for us.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Superb meal

vip
Dined on February 26, 2016

The asparagus appetizer was simply superb the charred asparagus was well balanced by hollandaise sauce and the crispy prosciutto. The cassoulet was the best I ever had well integrated blending of garlic sausage duck confit and lamb the white beans meltingly beautifully cooked.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.