About Bouche Bistro (Santa Fe)

451 W Alameda St
Santa Fe, NM 87501
View Larger Map

Bouche Bistro (Santa Fe) is a neighborhood French bistro located in the heart of Santa Fe, serving inspired rustic French cuisine prepared by award-winning chef Charles Dale. Bouche Bistro (Santa Fe) offers an exceptional variety of new and old world wine selections to accompany the menu. Seating is limited and reservations are recommended. Private parking lot available, with valet parking on weekends.
Beautiful outdoor patio, weather permitting.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
French, Contemporary French

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Only:
Tuesday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 9:00pm
Friday and Saturday: 5:30pm - 9:30pm

Cross Street:
Guadalupe Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(505) 982-6297

Website:
http://www.bouchebistro.com/

Parking Details:
Parking lot for 14 cars adjacent to restaurant: extensive additional street parking.

Executive Chef:
Charles Dale

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Chef's Table, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Bouche Bistro (Santa Fe) Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Service
New Mexico
Fit for Foodies
New Mexico
Notable Wine List
New Mexico
6 More
Best Overall
Santa Fe / Mountains
Best Food
Santa Fe / Mountains
Best Service
Santa Fe / Mountains
Fit for Foodies
Santa Fe / Mountains
Notable Wine List
Santa Fe / Mountains
Special Occasion
Santa Fe / Mountains
Best Restaurants in Santa Fe ›

Fit for Foodies (96)
Special Occasion (64)
Notable Wine List (55)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (46)
Great for Outdoor Dining (38)
Romantic (33)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Local Ingredients (9)
Good for a Date (9)
Hot Spot (8)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Good for Anniversaries (7)
Worth the Drive (5)
Authentic (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Open Kitchen (5)
Great for Lunch (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Business Meals (4)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Casual (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Cozy (3)
Kid-friendly (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Scenic View (2)
Fun (2)
Seasonal (2)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Family Style (1)
People Watching (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Sort By:
Newest
725 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

This French restaurant needs to pay a vi ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined 6 days ago

This French restaurant needs to pay a visit to Clafoutis , a lovely French restaurant close by.

They may learn a lot about how to make a customer feel welcome and a lot more.

I would never eat here again. Hated the service, food and the hideous decor.

Way overpriced and way over rated. I have no idea why people go there.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

Sad to say, last trip to Bouche. Visite ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined 6 days ago

Sad to say, last trip to Bouche. Visited during the wine festival. Dined there 4 times previously. Be aware the indoor area is small and there is an outdoor patio that is poorly suited for cool weather. We arrived on a cold/cool night and were seated outside without asking "will this be suitable". We looked around and saw the propane heating towers so we thought we would be OK. First step, wine order. Not available, out due to wine festival. Let's see, wine festival attendees might order lots of wine - stock up. Substituted bottle with no mention of price differential (or none as it turned out). Then a power outage (OK - not their fault). Then the propane tower went off. We asked if it could be restarted with no follow-up from staff. It's getting cold, we had several layers and people around us were in warm coats. Then the manager/floor manager/assistant manager (?) came to the table next to us to run their check. They strongly voiced their concerns and were told the propane had run out in all the towers (yes, their fault. Maybe provided by the wine distributor too?). The manager told them the overhead heaters would keep them warm. They were so ineffective we hadn't even noticed them. When I said there wasn't one over our table we were ignored. Very poorly handled. This is Santa Fe. Very competitive market. This restaurant has very good food, but on the high price side. Customer service can make the difference and they failed. We consider ourselves to be foodies, frequent visitors to Santa Fe. We were dining with a local foodie who knows the scene. He was adamant that he will be sharing his opinion with his local dining partners. A few apologies and accomodations would have probably gone a long way but there were only excuses. We were given the option of a free dessert long after the harm had been done and at a point where our numb fingers would have made lifting a fork difficult.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

Very good experience. First time in Sant ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on September 24, 2016

Very good experience. First time in Santa Fe, and first time at Bouche. We ate French bistro classics and were not disappointed. A reasonably sized wine list offered a good variety of wines within a vintage window of roughly seven years. You shouldn't have to work too hard to find somethings that will pair well. If your heart is set on some obscure vintage, check ahead. Wait staff was friendly and knowledgeable. Pace of service was bistro - not rushed, but not a lot of "dead time". We will make it a feature of our Santa Fe visits in the future.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Very charming bistro with imaginative cu ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 24, 2016

Very charming bistro with imaginative cuisine very much attentive to local tastes and food sourcing. Friendly proprietor and good service made this a special occasion.

Tags: Good for a Date, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Outstanding cuisine from a renowned chef ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on September 21, 2016

Outstanding cuisine from a renowned chef. Very professional and knowledgeable staff. Chef Dale made the rounds. Great!

Tags: Authentic, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We went to Bouche for my sisters birthda ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

We went to Bouche for my sisters birthday .

We were seated in a cozy booth for three and had a wonderful server.

She took care of our every needs.

The pasta special was our favorite dish .

A wonderful night at Bouche!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The restaurant was very loud and the tab ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

The restaurant was very loud and the tables were packed together. If you don't mind hearing everyone's conversation but your own and having geriatric butts against your arm throughout the dinner, this place is perfect.

The food was prepared well (I had the swordfish). The server was OK, she did let our wine glasses sit empty for at least five minutes before inquiring whether we wanted to buy another glass, which we did. The desert was boring.

Overall, if you are going to pay for a top-dollar dining experience, I would suggest another place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

The best veal chop ever with perfectly p ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

The best veal chop ever with perfectly prepared saffron risotto! Attentive service, excellent wine list...such a special dining experience in Santa Fe.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Noise level to the point that it was har ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

Noise level to the point that it was hard to hear our dinner companions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

this was my first dinner @Bouche, and it ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

this was my first dinner @Bouche, and it will NOT be my last!! I loved the food, the service, and the vibrant atmosphere........BRAVO to Chef Dale and staff!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Close your eyes and pretend you are in P ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

Close your eyes and pretend you are in Paris. It's that good!

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had a very pleasant experience. Good ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

We had a very pleasant experience. Good food, good service, light and pleasant atmosphere.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Fun, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

OMG! The most wonderful halibut with as ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

OMG! The most wonderful halibut with asparagus and fresh porcini mushrooms with a porcini mushroom sauce...a delicious dinner. The service was excellent and a wonderful wine recommendation by our server. Always love the food here at this classic French bistro.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great ambiance and professional service ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Great ambiance and professional service but the food leaves a lot to be desired.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

Delicious food but sadly an uncaring rea ...

vip
 (Austin)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

Delicious food but sadly an uncaring reaction to & unwillingness to help fix an Open Table mixup on reservation time.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

Always awesome and delicious!

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

Always awesome and delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We've been going to Santa Fe for many ye ...

vip
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

We've been going to Santa Fe for many years and eaten at many of it's fine restaurants.

Bouche Bistro is definitely our new favorite!

A little off the beaten path, but worth the short walk from the plaza (no more than 10 minutes.)

The food, service and ambiance all exceeded our expectations. Treat yourself right, and book a table soon.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Second visit to Bouche Bistro. Another ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Second visit to Bouche Bistro. Another delightful meal. Had an outside table this time. Very pleasant. Charles always stops by to say hello and ensure everything was satisfactory.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Bouche Bistro is one of our favorite res ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Bouche Bistro is one of our favorite restaurants in Santa Fe. The food is consistently very good and in some cases is extraordinarily good. The wine list is full of excellent choices. Our server knew about and recommended specific wines for each dish. Our only suggestion would be to offer many more wines by the glass, as the trend today is to eat more small plates which often require different wines with each dish.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Open Kitchen, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We had an incredible dinner at Bouche Ag ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

We had an incredible dinner at Bouche Again!

The squash soup with crab salad was good til the last drop.

The ratatouille ravioli was my single best bite of the summer.

My husband had the pork Osso buco on a cool evening and it was wonderful .

A profiterole to finish .

Great friends ,great food ,vibrant atmosphere .

What is not to love.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a delight it is to dine here. The ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

What a delight it is to dine here. The service is always impeccable and the food is divine! The special of the evening...grouper was delicious! The salmon bruschetta was an interesting concept and very tasty. The Colorado peach cobbler a la mode was a great finish to a fantastic evening! Thank you Chef Charles and all your beautifully trained staff!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fourth time at Bouche Bistro. One of my ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Fourth time at Bouche Bistro. One of my favourite bistros in Santa Fe. I love calves liver a always order that. Great ambience, very easy vibe, casual/dressy whatever you want it to be. Excellent wine list. My wife is vegetarian and never fails to find something she loves. Great service. Our server tipped us off to another great spot in Santa Fe which I'm not going to share. Definitely not 401, do not go there

Well worth the visit.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Quick Bite, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Open Kitchen, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

A great restaurant than has wonderful am ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

A great restaurant than has wonderful ambience and dessert's

Tags: Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Charles Dale continues to prepare the fi ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Charles Dale continues to prepare the finest French cuisine in Santa Fe, or, for me, just the finest food, period. Here you will find bistro classics like escargots and Osso Buco, yes, but also a rich variety of locally-sourced herbs and vegetables from Charles's garden as well as the finest meats and seafood prepared exquisitely. Go on a warm night an enjoy the splendid patio outside. And just when you think you are full, order the Porfiterole au Chocolat for a heavenly ending. Superb service as well.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had the foie gras and corn soup. My wi ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

I had the foie gras and corn soup. My wife had calf's liver. Unusual to find liver on the menu. Everything was very good. Service was excellent. Place was full, but only because the weather was a little cool and few people ate outside. Nice outdoor area. Good French food in Santa Fe.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

An amazing dining experience. Comparable ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

An amazing dining experience. Comparable to the best in NYC.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Perfect service, intimate dining experie ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Perfect service, intimate dining experience and absolutely wonderful food. Plan to return soon. A gem in SF. It's on the top of my restaurant favs in SF !

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful warm tomato soup; not very goo ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Wonderful warm tomato soup; not very good liver and bacon entree. A bit expensive given the quality of the entree.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

I ordered the Halibut with white wine an ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

I ordered the Halibut with white wine and butter sauce, although it tasted good I was very sick that night , Far to rich, possibly to much or spoiled butter.

My son ordered the cheese balls. this is a side dish. very small and it cost $17.00.

I used to love Bouche and recommend it to everyone. Entrees were $30.00! The prices have gone up.. its become just a little to special ..

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

I have dined at Bouche many times in the ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

I have dined at Bouche many times in the past. I found the service to be fantastic, but for the price I would elect to eat at Geronimo.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

I have very mixed feelings about our fir ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

I have very mixed feelings about our first (and only) experience at Bouche. We came to Santa Fe specifically to celebrate my husband's birthday and chose Bouche because of its high ratings. In my reservation I very specifically wrote what the occasion was, asking for a quiet table, etc. When we were seated I very specifically reminded the waiter that this was a special occasion and, that I hoped that there could be a candle in the dessert... Something special. Unfortunately, our table was far from special (located in the center of the room, with aisles on both sides, making it inevitable that our chairs would get jostled repeatedly). Worse was when dessert arrived, NOTHING... No candle, no good wishes from the waiter. Meanwhile, at the next table, a woman was celebrating her birthday and got the full treatment. Frankly, at this price point (as expensive or more expensive than restaurants in NYC or Philadelphia) I expect more than this.

As to the food, it was special, no question and incredibly expensive. (6 oysters for $24?!) The sweetbreads were outstanding, the entrees really fine (salmon bruschetta; steak-frites). Desserts were good, though I ordered the dessert special: Colorado peach cobbler... And the peaches were far from ripe.

At the end of the day we left quite disappointed.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

Food was great. Service very attentive. ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Food was great. Service very attentive. My wife needs gluten free and dairy free. They handled all very well and she was very pleased.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The mussels were returned to the kitche ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

The mussels were returned to the kitchen, the size of a mussel was strangely huge and either it was off and one bite was no good.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

As always, the food is authentically Fre ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

As always, the food is authentically French and impeccably prepared. Service is outstanding.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Chicken was dry and couldn't eat it but ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Chicken was dry and couldn't eat it but veggie were pretty strong. Tomatoes were suppose to have been from the chefs garden--hard to believe because not that flavored. . Lemon meringue was excellent. Asparagus appetizer also excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Very nice evening

vip
 (El Paso)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Very nice evening

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We made a last minute reservation, clear ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

We made a last minute reservation, clearly the restaurant was ready for a very busy night. My husband and I were not sure how hungry we were, so we ordered one dish at a time to share, not something waitstaff like much, but our waitress rolled with it.

We started with the shrimp cocktail, it was perfect! Then we had the oysters on the half shell, again perfect! Next was a Caesar salad, so fresh, lemony yet rich. Finding our selves hungry because every thing tasted so good, we ordered the stake tartar, which was again fantastic!

We finished our meal with James's tiramisu, next time we eat at Bouche we may just order 4 of those for diner. We would like to thank James's grandma!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great for omnivores all year long. OK fo ...

vip
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Great for omnivores all year long.

OK for vegetarians in the winter, spring and summer, but they TRY.

Summer, for vegetarians, heaven.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My best meal in Santa Fe. Beat an excel ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

My best meal in Santa Fe. Beat an excellent dinner at Geronimo. True localvore take on French classics. LOVED it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I had high expectations but came away un ...

vip
 (Tulsa)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

I had high expectations but came away unimpressed. The bread and salad were great, as was the appetizer but the entrees were simply good. They did not live up to the hype.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.