About Bouche Bistro (Santa Fe)

451 W Alameda St
Santa Fe, NM 87501
View Larger Map

Bouche Bistro (Santa Fe) is a neighborhood French bistro located in the heart of Santa Fe, serving inspired rustic French cuisine prepared by award-winning chef Charles Dale. Bouche Bistro (Santa Fe) offers an exceptional variety of new and old world wine selections to accompany the menu. Seating is limited and reservations are recommended. Private parking lot available, with valet parking on weekends.
Beautiful outdoor patio, weather permitting.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
French, Contemporary French

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Only:
Tuesday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 9:00pm
Friday and Saturday: 5:30pm - 9:30pm

Cross Street:
Guadalupe Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(505) 982-6297

Website:
http://www.bouchebistro.com/

Parking Details:
Parking lot for 14 cars adjacent to restaurant: extensive additional street parking.

Executive Chef:
Charles Dale

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Chef's Table, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Bouche Bistro (Santa Fe), Santa Fe, NM
Bouche Bistro (Santa Fe), Santa Fe, NM
Bouche Bistro (Santa Fe), Santa Fe, NM
Bouche Bistro (Santa Fe), Santa Fe, NM
Bouche Bistro (Santa Fe), Santa Fe, NM
Bouche Bistro (Santa Fe), Santa Fe, NM
Bouche Bistro (Santa Fe), Santa Fe, NM
Bouche Bistro (Santa Fe), Santa Fe, NM

Bouche Bistro (Santa Fe) Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.4

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (37)
Special Occasion (31)
Good for a Date (24)
See All
Notable Wine List (24)
Creative Cuisine (23)
Good for Anniversaries (22)
Neighborhood Gem (19)
Local Ingredients (18)
Romantic (17)
Good for Birthdays (16)
Authentic (16)
Worth the Drive (11)
Pre/post Theatre (10)
Cozy (10)
Business Meals (8)
Great for Outdoor Dining (8)
Casual (8)
Fun (8)
Comfort Food (7)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Open Kitchen (7)
Healthy (6)
Hot Spot (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
People Watching (5)
Organic (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Seasonal (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Historic (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Fireplace (1)
Live Sports (1)
Vegan (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
788 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

First time at Bouche after being a fan o ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on January 8, 2017

First time at Bouche after being a fan of the chef when he was at a previous restaurant - delicious, unpretentious, relaxed dining with fantastic service.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

We were totally turned off by the high-p ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 7, 2017

We were totally turned off by the high-pressure up-selling. When we declined, our waitress became brusque. We hadn't been to Bouche in quite a while and wouldn't be in a hurry to go back. My favorite dish has been removed from the menu, apparently not to return. Our meals (mussels and a pasta special) were average at best. The lemon tart was sweeter than I care for and overloaded with meringue. My dining partners did like the creme brulee. We have friends who are regulars here and praise it for being consistent. Consistently what I'm not sure.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

Always a pleasure to spend time and dine ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Always a pleasure to spend time and dine at Bouche Bistro!!! Always!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food, service, and wines made ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Excellent food, service, and wines made for a special New year's Eve celebration with friends!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great food, one of the best in Santa Fe.

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Great food, one of the best in Santa Fe.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Bouche is a perfect mix of service and f ...

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Bouche is a perfect mix of service and food, delivered perfectly on every visit! It is always at the top of list for favorites in Santa Fe. Wine list a little expensive compared to other local restaurants but the quality of the list is above average! Bouche delivers Role Model behavior for what to do right in a restaurant!

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Authentic, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Number one on our list 'forever!' Our o ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Number one on our list 'forever!' Our out-or-town guests were simply taken with Bouche' and could not have enjoyed a table more than the Chief's table!!Not one thing that I would change, and love it that Charles is always greeting, meeting, and making everyone feel special!

Tags: Authentic, Healthy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have loved Bouche for years. It's a b ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 30, 2016

I have loved Bouche for years. It's a bit pricey but it's worth every penny. The food and service are both wonderful ( sort of country French, not stuffy French) and I love the rustic atmosphere. It's the best restaurant in Santa Fe in my opinion. This visit I departed from my usual sweetbreads or liver dishes and had the raw oysters and a serving of onion soup. With their incredible bread it made a great meal and one I shall repeat. My friends were extremely happy with their beef and fish dishes so all of us had a super time.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Outstanding dinner experience, from begi ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Outstanding dinner experience, from beginning to end. Food and service were outstanding.

We loved it so much that we came back the following day to finish our evening with the amazing creme brulee and a glass of champagne.

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Seasonal, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We travel to Santa Fe at least once a ye ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 28, 2016

We travel to Santa Fe at least once a year and I always make a reservation here. Food is always great as is the service. I tend to find something I like and then order it again and again. For me the consistency is proof of a well run kitchen. Boucher never fails.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We had an absolutely fabulous meal here ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 25, 2016

We had an absolutely fabulous meal here for Christmas Eve.

Food was excellently prepared and presented.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Christmas Eve at Bouche is a very specia ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Christmas Eve at Bouche is a very special event. Great food and bar menus, festive atmosphere, and excellent service. Everyone is in a joyous mood. Pricey but great fun.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

I had come for Christmas Eve Dinner the ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 25, 2016

I had come for Christmas Eve Dinner the year before and there was a special menu and you could also order from that or the regular menu--which was not available this time. I didn't check the price for the 3-course dinner and felt at $99 it was a tad overpriced--last year it was a great deal less. Great French food. There were 4 selections for appetizer and the main course and two for the dessert. My 6 oysters for appetizer were great, the beef tenderloin main course was cooked to perfection and the taste of creme brulee, sorbet and ice-cream-filled puff pastry was good. My two neighboring tables, as we got to talking, were not as good as mine. One of the 3, 1/2 lobster tails over the pasta next door was raw, in the next table over, the tenderloin was over-cooked. I attribute that to James not cooking in the kitchen and subbing for Chef Charles who was off-restaurant tending to two parties. I think that all things considered, it was really nice but pricey...the other tables might have rated it a little different.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Paleo Friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

Was the first time that we had eaten her ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Was the first time that we had eaten here and were impressed with the serice and the food. Tables are pretty close together, but it was not a problem. Would go back when we are in Santa Fe again, which is usually two to three times a year.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Small place, short menu of small plates ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Small place, short menu of small plates and a few entrées, a limited list of wines and beers, and high prices -- but what exciting well-prepared food and delightfully attentive service! Its a lot to crowd into an attractive small inviting space. The menu reads like a traditional French brasserie: excellent breads, onion soup, escargot, sweetbreads (!), calves liver, mussels but each dish is excellently conceived with unique flavor combinations which highlight the locally-sourced ingredients and seasonings. Our waitress made astute recommendations of wine which excellently complimented the food. Desserts were equally pleasing along with well-prepared coffee. This was probably the best meal we had in a week of sampling a broad array of the restaurants of Santa Fe.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Lovely setting, albeit a small space tha ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Lovely setting, albeit a small space that is quite tight and a wee bit noisy if restaurant is busy. Chairs are not very comfortable. Staff was welcoming, service attentive and professional, and the food was well prepared and as advertised. Bread and butter are excellent additions.

I actually visited a few days before and selected the table I wanted for our small party. However, when we arrived they had changed our table and about a half hour later, placed a couple in our requested space. This couple were clearly regulars and friends with the staff. I guess I understand this decision to reward regulars, but is did detract a bit.

All in all a good choice, among many in Santa Fe.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Loved the bistro. Great waitstaff & deli ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Loved the bistro. Great waitstaff & delicious food. Favorite was the warm arugula salad with calamari & delicate slices of octopus on a creamy bed of tangy dressing. The pappardelle with creamy sauce & lobster/seafood was to die for!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I was visiting Santa Fe from Los Angeles ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 21, 2016

I was visiting Santa Fe from Los Angeles. Love Bouche Bistro. This will be one of my go to restaurants whenever I visit Santa Fe.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Four of us had a wonderful business dinn ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Four of us had a wonderful business dinner. Bouche is a small French bistro-style restaurant, quaint and charming. Don't let the term bistro fool you: the food is exquisite, the wine list is diverse and offers some great wines (We drank a Chinon - cabernet franc from the Loire Valley and a Vivier Pinot Noir from Sonoma: both outstanding picks). The service was excellent, with the right touch whenever necessary throughout the night. The desserts topped it all off: the creme brulee, lemon meringue pie and nutella chocolate mousse were to die for. We were so into our conversation and our food that we ended up being the last table in the restaurant. Bouche was a WOW! experience.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Open Kitchen, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of our FAVORITE PLACES here in Santa ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on December 11, 2016

One of our FAVORITE PLACES here in Santa Fe, N.M.!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Consistently one of the best restaurants ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Consistently one of the best restaurants in Santa Fe. Service is exceptional and the food is exquisite.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We've been wanting to try Bouche for a w ...

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on December 8, 2016

We've been wanting to try Bouche for a while now, but just couldn't line up a date when our party of six could get together in Santa Fe. We are SO glad that we finally did get there. It was a spectacular meal for all of us. We each had a different entree, shared three bottles of wine from their great wine list, and shared three delectable desserts since we couldn't decide on one. Bouche will now go on our list as our Santa Fe favorite, and that is saying something, given the array of excellent choices in the "City Different." Bouche is a "foodies" delight. I can't recommend it enough!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food, service and ambiance...t ...

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Excellent food, service and ambiance...the seared foie gras is worth the trip alone!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Had a lovely meal at Bouche. Delicious! ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 1, 2016

Had a lovely meal at Bouche. Delicious! Highly recommend. Good vegetarian options.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Foie Gras, Osso Bucco, salads and desert ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 1, 2016

Foie Gras, Osso Bucco, salads and desert were great. Unfortunately, my wife hates chicken and she ordered the Gnocchi special, which turns out had lots of chicken in it... the waitress failed to mention that the dish had chicken in it and my wife was too polite to send her main course back. I would hate to see this wait person's performance on a really busy night!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Always the most elegant treat eating at ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Always the most elegant treat eating at Bouche! The calf's liver was melt in your mouth heaven. The service is always impeccable. They make you feel like you're the most special guest and an old friend at the same time.

Tags: Cozy, Notable Wine List, Comfort Food, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One sign of greatness is - When the Che ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 26, 2016

One sign of greatness is -

When the Chef/Owner is off the premises and a restaurant can continue to deliver at a high level

is a solid indication of the strength of a GREAT place.

Our visit on Friday night had a large crowd that was handled perfectly by both the front of the house and the kitchen. The cod special was stunning in preparation and presentation. Our party of six had an age range of 6 to 70+ and everyone enjoyed the evening.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Casual, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We dine there often and will continue to ...

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We dine there often and will continue to do so. Great place, excellent food, outstanding staff,

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful food with excellent service. ...

vip
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Wonderful food with excellent service. Very highly recommended. Best in Santa Fe.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Cozy warm inviting atmosphere with fresh ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Cozy warm inviting atmosphere with fresh, tasty and expertly prepared food. Everyone very warm and friendly.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Terrific - clearly a local favorite

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Terrific - clearly a local favorite

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Creative French food with good service a ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Creative French food with good service and a nice laid back atmosphere.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The food was good but the service was la ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 5, 2016

The food was good but the service was lacking. There are too many other good choices in Santa Fe for me to recommend.

2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

We had such a nice time Great food and w ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on October 30, 2016

We had such a nice time Great food and wonderful service. We always look forward to our next visit.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Healthy, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a fabulous experience! Mikayla wa ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on October 30, 2016

We had a fabulous experience! Mikayla was our service and she was great. The manager gave us bread to go after we raved about it. Will return!

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The menu listed a 2012 vintage of pinot ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 28, 2016

The menu listed a 2012 vintage of pinot noir. The waitress brought a 2013; /;when I said I'd take it with a discount, the maitre'd came over with a very arrogant attitude making a ton of excuses and said "just because I"m in a good mood I'll knock off five dollars," along with all kinds of explanations like the chef handn't updated the menu, etc. No apology, no free appetizer, just an arrogant attitude, topped off with "do you always ask for a disocunt if there's a discrepancy with the menu?" Yes, I do!!!! This was topped off only by the poor quality of the food. Escargot so bathed in garlic it was revolting, bland onion soup, followed by a seafood pasta advertised with lobster, crab, and prawns, in which only the prawnss were detectable. Liver was served in huge amount with limp, overcooked, bitter spinach under the slab of liver and a huge pile of crispy, rather than sauteed, onions that overwhelmed the plate. A side of mashed potatoes was acceptable but unevenly heated (I burned my tongue) and lack in the butter expected of a french restaurant. This place is existing on reviews that either are dishonest or that reflect a very different experience from ours.

2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

We enjoyed a special anniversary dinner ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 26, 2016

We enjoyed a special anniversary dinner with seared foie gras, escargot, coq au vin, chocolate mousse--all delicious.

Tags: Authentic, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Open Kitchen, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Extraordinaire dining, service and fun. ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Extraordinaire dining, service and fun. Perfect for a date, business meeting or even dining alone.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Authentic, Fun, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Best place to dine in Sante Fe - by far! ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Best place to dine in Sante Fe - by far! Food was outstanding and the atmosphere was fun and lively. I will definitely dine here again and AGAIN!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Authentic, Modern Decor, Hot Spot, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Organic, Comfort Food, Open Kitchen, Good for a Date, People Watching, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was excellent. The food is very ...

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Service was excellent. The food is very good--creative. The ambiance leaves something to be desired. Too many people squeezed into a relatively small place. It is a fine dining restaurant, but one would not know that because of the density of the crowd.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.