About Bottlefork

441 North Clark Street
Chicago, IL 60654
View Larger Map

Bottlefork, from Rockit Ranch Productions partners Billy Dec, Brad Young and Arturo Gomez, and former Four Seasons Executive Chef Kevin Hickey, is a comfortably stylish New American bar and kitchen offering modern interpretations of both familiar and new American dishes that feature local and global ingredients. The food and beverage programs work together seamlessly at Bottlefork with an emphasis on all things seasonal.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service

Hours of Operation:
DINNER MENU
MON-WED: 4pm-10pm
THURS-SAT: 4pm-11pm
SUNDAY: 4pm-10pm

LUNCH MENU
MONDAY TO FRIDAY: 11:30am-3pm

BRUNCH MENU
SAT & SUN: 10am-3pm

Cross Street:
Illinois

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa

Phone Number:
(312) 955-1900

Website:
http://www.bottlefork.com/

Executive Chef:
Kevin Hickey

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Outdoor dining, View, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Bottlefork loves to host private events, parties, and marketing/promotional events. Please contact Scott Keuer or Nicholas Gaspar for further details.

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 5:00PM - 6:45PM

Mon - Tue 4:30PM - 6:30PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Bottlefork Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Handcrafted Cocktails (33)
Fit for Foodies (27)
Good for a Date (27)
See All
Creative Cuisine (26)
Fun (21)
Casual (19)
Bar Seating (14)
Cozy (13)
Vibrant Bar Scene (12)
Happy Hour (12)
Hot Spot (12)
Special Occasion (11)
Comfort Food (10)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Authentic (9)
Modern Decor (8)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Quick Bite (8)
Good for Groups (8)
Late-night Find (7)
Local Ingredients (7)
Great for Lunch (6)
Romantic (6)
Healthy (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
People Watching (5)
Great for Brunch (5)
Business Meals (5)
Open Kitchen (5)
Tapas (5)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Great Beer (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Seasonal (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Organic (2)
Spicy (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Scenic View (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Private Room (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Sort By:
S
616 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

This is a very enjoyable place. It's sma ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined 20 hours ago

This is a very enjoyable place. It's small enough to feel cozy and has a great range of food items to really appease anybody who wants to eat there. The drinks are crazy creative and even though I don't typically like those types of drinks, I really enjoy some of their crazy gin and tonics. They have some very good bottles of wine at very affordable prices. Great food overall and a neat spot if you're visiting Chicago.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Our food server was informative and effi ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 3 days ago

Our food server was informative and efficient. The food was well executed and thoughtful. The sous vide egg tossed tableside in a bag of chips with malt vin powder was a very fun snack. Will be back, would recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

As always, Bottlefork did not disappoint ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 6 days ago

As always, Bottlefork did not disappoint! Definitely my go to place.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was average. I would not go bac ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 8, 2017

The food was average. I would not go back as there are better options nearby.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Service was good and ambiance is fine to ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Service was good and ambiance is fine too. Overall, just wasn't a fan of the menu. My dish didn't have the bold flavor that the menu stated and there wasn't much that peaked my taste buds. The most memorable part of Bottlefork was the drink menu. Lots of cocktail options that sound interesting!

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

Everything was really great. Was with m ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Everything was really great. Was with my daughter and two other women and shared plates. Our waitress made great suggestions. We had a table in the corner so the noise wasn't an issue. I will definitely go back.

Tags: Fun, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Excellent food and creative drinks. Ever ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Excellent food and creative drinks. Everyone in the restaurant was very friendly and serviceable. The only weird quip I have is that the music was loud and.... Incorrect for the scene of the restaurant. It was pretty loud lounge music, with a drum and bass feel. Strange during an excellent dinner service. Maybe it was just me!

Tags: Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Had a reservation at 9:00pm. Arrived at ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Had a reservation at 9:00pm. Arrived at 8:55 and table wasn't available till 9:15. 20 minute wait when you have a reservation. Drink prices were too high. Food prices were fair.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

Great service, fast yet quality food. Wi ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Great service, fast yet quality food. With strong drinks be cautious of the drink call "look down below". I'll be back for the salmon dish.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Very lovely ambiance and our server was ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Very lovely ambiance and our server was super nice. However, for the value, it would have been nice to have a small side with our brunch... Perhaps toast or muffin or potato side. Probably won't return. Good food tho.

Tags: Cozy, Organic, Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

This was a great place and the only reas ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 31, 2016

This was a great place and the only reason I didn't give 5 stars across the board was due to my food allergies. Highly allergic to nuts (all nuts) which I alerted the wait staff as I was ordering. The manager was very accommodating. My only issue was when I ordered a drink. I asked for a suggestion and that I like rum. He said he would take care of it. The drink they brought me had coconut foam. I found out later from a person sitting at the bar at the time my drink order was placed that the bartender asked the barstaff if coconut was a nut and they both decided it wasn't..... and to not ask me. Thankfully the waitress brought the drink out and stated what was in the drink. I was able to send it back without having an allergic reaction!

Tags: Fun, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice wine options and a very good menu. ...

vip
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Nice wine options and a very good menu. You must try the bag of crisps with the truffle oil. Amazing. The bacon burger was a good option for something a little different in the burger category. I would also say that the brussels sprouts are a must have. The Rich Mans Po' Boy fell a bit flat on flavor when compared to the other items.

The Bottlefork has a great ambiance. The lighting is perfect in that you can see what is around you and your other guests, yet it is dim enough to create a comfortable feel. The music level is also perfect. Not too loud to prevent conversation but you can still hear it and enjoy it. Both of these are difficult to get right and they are spot on.

Service was ok but a bit slow. The greeting of the table and getting the experience started seemed to take far too long. It was almost as if no one realized that the table had been seated even though several servers seemed to be in the area. Once that was figured out the service as pretty good but the table should have been checked in with more then took place. This is likely me just being too picky but if you are a high maintenance person (and we all know when we are) this will not work for you.

The overall experience was very good and I would recommend Bottlefork to friends. Excellent ambiance, very good food that is worth the visit and friendly service. I would visit again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Hostess had an attitude. Evening began ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Hostess had an attitude.

Evening began on an unpleasant note.

It did get better and overall was a good experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

This was not my first time at bottle for ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 31, 2016

This was not my first time at bottle fork and will not be my last. We went with our kids this time and we all have some sort of food alergies. Nicholas and the staff accommodated everything flawlesly. My kids(9&7) had a great time with some new food. Nicholas was fantastic, he made the experience for us and the kids great, he is definitely a top notch guy and I look forward to eating there again.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fun, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time having food here and did not ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 31, 2016

First time having food here and did not disappoint!!! Have only gone for drinks, and the Bill Brasky is a bourbon/scotch lovers Long Island ice tea. Nice added touch with the chocolate Santa frozen in the large square ice cube. :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A terrific place for our team's holiday ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 21, 2016

A terrific place for our team's holiday lunch, great service and patient staff!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

So impressive! Great variety of food- ex ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 17, 2016

So impressive! Great variety of food- excellent quality too.

Service was speedy and attentive- everyone who worked there seemed to enjoy it!

Booked his place for 6 of our friends- they were all impressed!

Oh and can't forget the drinks - they were out of this world!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food and service were fantastic, but the ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Food and service were fantastic, but the music was quite loud and the tables are very close together

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Fun, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Salmon was really good but the sweet pot ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Salmon was really good but the sweet potato hash that came with it was fantastic. The signature Bag of chips is just so-so.

Tags: Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

This place has the best bar staff, bar s ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 16, 2016

This place has the best bar staff, bar specials, and tremendously satisfying, inventive-but-not-crazy food. Their burgers are the best in the city, and when we stray to their other entrees, we are never disappointed! The bag of crisps are addictive and is a requirement at $7, and the grilled octopus with housemade spam and "kim chee" brussels sprouts were off the hook. Next time: Rich Man's Po Boy!!! Can't wait!! Thanks, Bottlefork, for yet ANOTHER memorable night!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a jem, food was excellent and servi ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 14, 2016

What a jem, food was excellent and service was great. Will be back again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had the BEST night with co-workers/fr ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 12, 2016

We had the BEST night with co-workers/friends. Food was outstanding be sure to ask for Nick BEST SERVER EVER!!! Bourbon cocktails were amazing!!!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoyed brunch very much! Great innovat ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Enjoyed brunch very much! Great innovative food menu and service was fantastic!

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

This was our first visit to Bottlefork a ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 11, 2016

This was our first visit to Bottlefork and will definitely return! The menu is small but very unique and great wine list. The service was outstanding!

Tags: Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

The food here was incredible. I'm from N ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 10, 2016

The food here was incredible. I'm from New York City, and I eat out a lot. This brunch would be absolutely famous there. A must have are the big, blocky "tots". We couldn't stop talking about them for an hour. Cannot stress this enough, come here!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Awful costumer service! They do not hono ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Awful costumer service! They do not honor reservations! I made a reservation for 15 people 2 months in advance. We arrived at the restaurant on time, but they told us they could only seat us at 2 separate tables and 3 people would have to stand at the bar for 45 minutes until another table opened up. Horrible consumer service and really annoying that they did nothing to honor the reservation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

Always a great meal and incredible servi ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on December 6, 2016

Always a great meal and incredible service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

wow...the specialized drink menu attract ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 4, 2016

wow...the specialized drink menu attracted me simply by the TITLES of the DRINKS,,,but beside the fact that the drinks names and compositions were excellent, the FOOD was AMAZING, i mean , SPECTACULAR. wow....like in, i WILL be going back!

the fries shaken with an egg? beyond description, the burger???so good and so big i could NOT eat it all, etc,,,

so needless to say, RAVE RAVE RAVE....about this place,,it is worth it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic food!! Great atmosphere!!

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Fantastic food!! Great atmosphere!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I'm not usually a fan of the River North ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 4, 2016

I'm not usually a fan of the River North scene but Bottlefork blew my expectations out of the water. The food was delicious, the ambiance was cool and not touristy and the drinks were excellent. Also I have celiac disease and our waiter was awesome and was really helpful with finding gluten free options that were tasty.

Tags: Late-night Find, Romantic, Private Room, Modern Decor, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was amazing--creative options t ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 4, 2016

The food was amazing--creative options that were outstanding (gnocci with duck confit and crispy brussel sprouts were fantastic). The dessert was also excellent (gooey cheesecake). The atmosphere is cozy though you do sit quite close to other patrons. Overall, it was a great experience and I will definitely go again.

Tags: Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Casual, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I made a reservation here ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 3, 2016

My husband and I made a reservation here to celebrate my 30th birthday. The wait time was longer than expected due to the popularity of the place and the small amount of seating. But our waiter comped us each a cocktail of our choosing and also sent us a free appetizer once we were seated. They took such good care of us. Service was polite and friendly. I felt they went out of their way to ensure we had a great experience. And we did! I loved my birthday dinner. Highly recommend if you are good in small, high energy places. The food and drinks will not disappoint.

Tags: Late-night Find, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Incredible. Memorable. I wanted to steal ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 1, 2016

Incredible. Memorable. I wanted to steal the chandelier so bad haha. The service was amazing and the drinks were out of this world. Definitely going back 110%. Smoky bourbon cocktails && wagyu beef jerky melted this gals heart. This place rules.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Unique food and great wait staff!

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on November 29, 2016

Unique food and great wait staff!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Very cool vibe inside, loved the atmosph ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Very cool vibe inside, loved the atmosphere. Cocktails were amazing, so was the food. Had the lobster po boy. Others in my party loved their food as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We came for brunch and the best thing th ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 26, 2016

We came for brunch and the best thing that our group ate was the donuts - they are delicious, especially with a cup of coffee. Bottlefork needs to add better descriptors to their menu. We ordered the french toast which was ok, but according to the menu, it only came with berry compote and sweet cream. But really, the french toast was baked in a good amount of caramel sauce and there's no mention of caramel in the description. It's basically caramel french toast. We also got the eggs and toast which was supposed to come with tots according to the menu, but the dish was served with three square hash browns. Hash browns and tots are different. Lastly, the sausage was just not your normal breakfast sausage. It was more like an extremely bland patty of meat without all of the tasty spices and flavors that make sausage sausage.

Tags: Happy Hour, Casual
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

From a quality to expense perspective, p ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 23, 2016

From a quality to expense perspective, probably the worst lunch experience we have had in Chicago in 25 years. Remarkably, as the waitress admitted, the actual menu for no resemblance to the one posted on their website. My wife's entrée salad, which was supposed to have a layer of saganaki cheese on top, was congealed. I had a pasta with chicken sausage dish that had some sort of spice dump all over the top of it. I ate about a third of the dish and regretted it the rest of the day.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2

Weird food pairings. Put an egg on chips ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Weird food pairings. Put an egg on chips just equals soggy chips. Service slow, terrible

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

Went to Bottlefork for a post-theater di ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Went to Bottlefork for a post-theater dinner with my parents. Great food, great wait staff, and a fantastic experience. AMAZING bacon burger.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Went to Bottlefork for a second date. Ev ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Went to Bottlefork for a second date. Everything was perfect, albeit a bit noisy. The food and service were excellent. It's a rather small space so, while appropriately intimate for a date, it was a bit noisier than I usually prefer, though it wasn't too difficult to carry on a conversation. I will definitely return and suggest the restaurant wholeheartedly.

Tags: Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.