About Bottega Napa Valley

Chef Michael Chiarello has returned to his culinary roots by creating seasonal farm-to-table Italian cuisine reflecting the bold flavors of Chiarello’s heritage in his signature style 1st made famous at Tra Vigne in the 90’s. An award winning chef/vintner & Food Network host, Chiarello celebrates his Italian roots and the Napa Valley with a menu echoing his long practice of using the finest locally/sustainably produced food. Located in Yountville, in the heart of the Napa Valley, Bottega’s extensive wine list represents hard-to-find favorites of the Valley and interesting Italian selections. Chiarello restored the integrity of an old 1800’s estate by uncovering beautiful hard wood floors, timber beams, old brick walls and windows. The inviting dining room is accented with reclaimed antiques, warm fabrics and eclectic light fixtures lending to the restaurant’s old world comfort.

6525 Washington Street Suite A9
Yountville, CA 94599
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday - Sunday: 11:30am -2:30pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm -

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(707) 945-1050

Website:
http://www.botteganapavalley.com/

Catering:
Please contact Kellie Magna at 707.754.4467 or email: kellie.magna@botteganapavalley.com

Parking Details:
There is plenty of parking available on both side of the V-Market building.

Executive Chef:
Michael Chiarello

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

We have several rooms available. One is sure to be perfect for your event.

Bottega Napa Valley Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (103)
Good for a Date (96)
Special Occasion (96)
See All
Creative Cuisine (92)
Worth the Drive (80)
Good for Anniversaries (73)
Notable Wine List (73)
Romantic (67)
Local Ingredients (63)
Good for Birthdays (62)
Authentic (44)
Great for Lunch (42)
Great for Outdoor Dining (41)
Fun (37)
Cozy (34)
Good for Groups (33)
Hot Spot (33)
Bar Seating (32)
Neighborhood Gem (32)
Fireplace (31)
Casual (29)
Business Meals (28)
Open Kitchen (27)
Comfort Food (27)
Seasonal (26)
People Watching (22)
Modern Decor (22)
Handcrafted Cocktails (21)
Wood Oven (20)
Healthy (17)
Vibrant Bar Scene (17)
Outstanding Value (16)
Private Room (15)
Quiet Conversation (13)
Scenic View (13)
Family Style (13)
Tasting Menu (12)
Organic (11)
Good Vegetarian Options (11)
Sunday Lunch (10)
Gluten Free Options (10)
Happy Hour (8)
Afternoon Coffee (7)
Paleo Friendly (5)
Kid-friendly (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Historic (5)
Great for Brunch (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Disabled Access (3)
Spicy (3)
Great Beer (3)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Tapas (2)
Vegan (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Live Music (1)
Waterfront (1)
Sort By:
S
8133 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Atmosphere was very good. Restaurant is ...

 
·Dined 2 days ago

Atmosphere was very good. Restaurant is gorgeous. Food was good, however, my entrée was very spicy and this was not indicated on the menu. They did replace the order with something else, but it was still disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

What a nice place ! Excellente food and ...

 
·Dined 2 days ago

What a nice place ! Excellente food and drinks ! Great experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We celebrated my daughter's birthday. T ...

 
·Dined 3 days ago

We celebrated my daughter's birthday. The staff and food were the best! We had great food in a warm environment. It was storming outside, but inside we were well taken care of.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Open Kitchen, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We booked a dinner for 8 people at Botte ...

 
·Dined 4 days ago

We booked a dinner for 8 people at Bottega for my girlfriends 24th birthday dinner and I'm saddened to say that it was a terrible experience. I ordered a cake through their reservation department and submitted it 4 days prior to us arriving. The cake was $90, supposed to be for 8-10 people, have a certain message on it, and was supposed to have chocolate hazelnut frosting -- as I requested in my form. This was all approved in advance by their pastry chef, so I figured it would go smoothly upon arrival. That was not the case as we sat through poor service, an incredibly long meal, and were ultimately provided a dessert menu. Upon receiving this menu, I immediately walked over to the waiter and told him about my cake -- he seemed as if he was never told about it. We wait 20+ minutes after finishing our entrees and never hear one word about the cake. Finally, the waiter says that a stove went down and they have to melt the chocolate for the cake and that's why it's taking so long. Well, there was no melted chocolate on the cake -- so that was a lie -- and another 15 minutes later my girlfriend receives a bare plate with a single candle stuck in place as a conciliatory birthday candle. I immediately said this was not acceptable and demanded the cake that I ordered. 5 minutes later, we receive a cake that had the wrong message on it and also the wrong frosting -- it also tasted like a store bought cake and all 8 of us were extremely underwhelmed. We essentially were told by the waiter that he thought we would want the cake to go since we waited so long for it. Overall, it was extremely embarrassing for me as I wanted it to be a special night for my girlfriend and friends, but it ended up being over 2 hours of poor service, a terrible Cake in every aspect, and an attempt to make us leave early since the cake took them so long. I would never recommend this restaurant for anyone visiting or enjoying a special occasion.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value1

Always fabulous. Most all dishes are ex ...

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Always fabulous. Most all dishes are exceptional.

Tags: Modern Decor, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Private Room, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

All of our meals were amazing and the se ...

 
·Dined 4 days ago

All of our meals were amazing and the service was excellent. Great place for a celebration!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Botega has been our "go-to" restaurant f ...

 
·Dined 5 days ago

Botega has been our "go-to" restaurant for special occasions. Of course, we could spend more for dinner at more formal locations (especially in the Napa area,) but at Botega we've consistently received attentive service, and delicious, masterful menu choices. Recently, we've celebrated a "mile-stone" birthday, a 40th Wedding Anniversary and a retirement at Botega. Our group has always consisted of small parites, but the staff and the floor-manager ALWAYS took the time to acknowledge our occasion. Everyone was friendly and welcoming. We highly recommend Botega, and if you want to sample some incredible, Napa Valley inspired cuisine, you can't go wrong here.

Tags: Spicy, Wood Oven, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Casual, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Open Kitchen, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was lax after we quit ordering w ...

 
·Dined 5 days ago

Service was lax after we quit ordering wine. Food was great!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

We would go back.... perhaps a meat dis ...

 
·Dined 7 days ago

We would go back.... perhaps a meat dish... filet of some sort would be nice addition to menu

Tags: Family Style, Tasting Menu, Scenic View, Gluten Free Options, Comfort Food, Casual, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Food food, service not good. No checking ...

 
·Dined on January 15, 2017

Food food, service not good. No checking back, just poor service all around. Go to Brix

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value4

Had a wonderful meal here. My wife ha d ...

 
·Dined on January 15, 2017

Had a wonderful meal here. My wife ha duck and it was the preparation was the best she'd ever had. Starts were excellent as were the entrees. Never put a bite in our mouths that wasn't delicious. One of our best dining experiences in a long time. Had already rebooked a visit while we're still in town

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Bottega creates food that is art. The ca ...

 
·Dined on January 14, 2017

Bottega creates food that is art. The care, local ingredients, and skill that go into this culinary experience take eating to a whole different level.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Wood Oven, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We took a friend visiting from the U.K. ...

 
·Dined on January 14, 2017

We took a friend visiting from the U.K. She (and we) loved the food, great service and wine

Tags: Great for Lunch, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Both food and service was phenomenal. Lo ...

 
·Dined on January 14, 2017

Both food and service was phenomenal. Lovely atmosphere, great menu options...would absolutely love to return!

Tags: Good for Groups, Fun, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Hot Spot, Authentic, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding appetizers which were shared ...

 
·Dined on January 14, 2017

Outstanding appetizers which were shared; excellent service; all seven guests enjoyed their entres.

Tags: Organic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food! My sister and I visited two ...

 
·Dined on January 13, 2017

Great food! My sister and I visited two wineries that day and were in need of some food! The bread with garlic and lemon spread was amazing, as were the Parmesan fries and pasta selection. Delicious food in a relaxed atmosphere.

Tags: Casual, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was creative and very good. The win ...

 
·Dined on January 13, 2017

Food was creative and very good. The wine list is excellent but there was a breakdown in service during the second half of the meal. We wanted a second bottle of wine but it took forever to get the sommelier to the table, to the point we were half way through the meal. Finally we just placed the order through the server.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

We received a gift certificate for Chris ...

 
·Dined on January 13, 2017

We received a gift certificate for Christmas. We went on a Thursday night and it was bustling. The food was amazing and we thoroughly enjoyed the ambience and the setting. Will be going back again with friends.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

The description for every offered food i ...

 
·Dined on January 13, 2017

The description for every offered food item is wonderful reading, and the food tastes even better. Although the main courses looked fantastic, every appetizer and side item was so appealing that we ate small plates - each bite was a flavor explosion. The wines were very reasonably priced (for a nice restaurant) and the quality per dollar rates this one of best 5 restaurants I've ever experienced,

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Organic, Healthy, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Great food, service, and ambiance. Would ...

 
·Dined on January 13, 2017

Great food, service, and ambiance. Would definitely go again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Chef selected my birthday menu - fabulou ...

 
·Dined on January 10, 2017

Chef selected my birthday menu - fabulous!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mr. Gotti the bar manager made us feel v ...

 
·Dined on January 7, 2017

Mr. Gotti the bar manager made us feel very uncomfortable. He came to us and shared a neighboring table complained about my daughter using an iPhone to keep herself occupied. The noise level was extremely loud. We were sitting next to her and could not hear the phone. The waiter at a neighboring table kept looking over at us. Obviously, this place frowns on families. My guess is that the waiter who was carrying on much louder than anything coming from our side if the dining room was the real complainer. Obviously tips were his only agenda. We are so extremely disappointed. We are huge fans of Mr. Chiarello. We were ready to post pictures and comments in social media. Now you can guess what we'll post. Beware families!!!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1

Good food. A few more vegetarian option ...

 
·Dined on January 7, 2017

Good food. A few more vegetarian options would be good. Some pastas were vegetarian, but were not main course size servings. Great service; allowed us to set the pace.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

We had a reservation for 5:30 for a par ...

 
·Dined on January 7, 2017

We had a reservation for 5:30 for a party of six, and we were rushed from the minute we sat down until we paid. The waiters hovered over us while we were finishing each course and then removed our plates while we were still eating! After receiving our check at the end of the meal the waiter hovered impatiently and even adjusted the position of the bill on the table to get our attention to pay. After signing, the cc receipt was quickly removed before we left the table which I consider a major faux pas in this caliber of a restaurant!

We Brought our own bottle of wine and were told we could not use it because it was on the restaurants wine list. We had looked previously on their website for a wine list and there was not one displayed. We ordered the same wine from them and paid three times the retail price of our wine. We live in Napa Valley and frequent the restaurants in this valley; we have never had a worse experience then we had at Bottega Friday night !!

We will not be back and will never recommend it to our friends .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

Bottega never disappoints! We get up to ...

 
·Dined on January 6, 2017

Bottega never disappoints! We get up to Napa Valley once or twice a year, and are always interested in trying new places (we tried three new spots this trip)...with the exception that Bottega is ALWAYS on the list. And based on the incredible meal and great service we just had on this trip, it will be on the list again next time!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Open Kitchen, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Fun, Worth the Drive, Private Room, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Gluten Free Options, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Outstanding Value, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The meal portions were small. However fl ...

 
·Dined on January 6, 2017

The meal portions were small. However flavor and quality were excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Very nice evening. Food was very good, c ...

 
·Dined on January 6, 2017

Very nice evening. Food was very good, crudo was excellent! Service was very good and the grounds were wonderful for a romantic walk. There is better Italian food but this is still on the high end without question.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

We dined at Bottega on New Years Day eve ...

 
·Dined on January 2, 2017

We dined at Bottega on New Years Day evening. Upon entering the ambiance was warm and inviting, mixing rustic brick walls and wood floors with elegant lighting. Service was prompt and very kind. We had just eaten at Redd hours ago so we weren't too hungry. We loved the bread and parmesan topping to start. We wouldve been happy just having that all night! We ordered the meatballs and the single egg ravioli. My bf said the meatballs were pretty good. The egg ravioli was delicious and decadent BUT maybe I'm just a big pasta fan but for $24 I could've eaten two! For dessert we ordered the espresso donuts, definite must try, especially if you like coffee. I don't and still enjoyed it. Overall great experience, lucky my bf took me, its nice for a special occasion or date night.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Tapas, Hot Spot, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Romantic, Cozy, Open Kitchen, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food and drink are phenomenal. Would hav ...

 
·Dined on January 2, 2017

Food and drink are phenomenal. Would have been five stars, but there is no cell service around the restaurant, which staff knew, and they refused to share their wifi password. Thus, we couldn't call an uber or lyft but had to rely on the really terrible, overpriced cab company they called us (the driver drove like a maniac on the way home). Almost ruined our evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

I have eaten at this restaurant many tim ...

 
·Dined on January 2, 2017

I have eaten at this restaurant many times and it was excellent. We ere there on January 1st and maybe the regular chef was off. I couldn't get a drink served to us before dinner and had to go to the bar to order and carry it back to a cold outdoor room.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

We've wanted to visit Bottega for a whil ...

 
·Dined on January 2, 2017

We've wanted to visit Bottega for a while now and finally were able to make a visit on NY Day. I went into it expecting a bit of a let down compared to the hype. I admit, I was mistaken. The decor was wonderful with almost a medieval feel to it. Clean, subdued lighting, bustling but not too noisy. Music was very odd but not blaring.

Menu was simple but had a decent selection. I always prefer a place with few choices rather than one with an expansive menu which leads to less quality control.

We loved the homemade, crusty, warm bread and rustic garlic butter. We shared the spring green salad that had a wonderful, light zinfandel vinaigrette dressing.

My wife had the Butternut Squash with Turkey and Cranberries. I had the Calabrian Cornish Hen. Both were perfectly cooked and had tremendous flavor.

Hope & Grace Lagrein wine was a great find, Track & IPA was terrific as always.

For dessert, we split the sorbetto trio, Prosecco, Pear and Cranberry. Excellent palate cleanser for the end of the meal.

Overall I was expecting a 6.5. But I give the experience a big thumb's up with an 8.8 rating.

Definitely would recommend and we will be making a repeat visit. Good bang for the buck too.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Wood Oven, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Cozy, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Family Style, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Memorable meal, with all food items exce ...

 
·Dined on December 31, 2016

Memorable meal, with all food items excellently prepared. Waited ~20 mins past reservation time to be seated. Short-rib meatballs were to-die-for, among the best items eaten all year. Bolognese, rigatoni, spaghetti and short ribs were all outstanding as well. '04 Dom poured by the glass was generous in size, and corkage for BYO bottle was waived after the glass shared with the Somm exposed him to a new wine. Very worthwhile.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Wonderful dinner. Loved the antipasti pl ...

 
·Dined on December 31, 2016

Wonderful dinner. Loved the antipasti platter of cheese and meats. Sophia Loren spaghetti and butternut squash ravioli were memorable. Service was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious food! Great experience! A must ...

 
·Dined on December 31, 2016

Delicious food! Great experience! A must while visiting Napa.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Take advice from the waiter.. food is ri ...

 
·Dined on December 31, 2016

Take advice from the waiter.. food is ridiculously good!

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our second visit, and as before ...

 
·Dined on December 30, 2016

This was our second visit, and as before, they did not disappoint. This was hands-down the best meal we had in the Napa Valley this week, truly delicious and special! And our waiter Murph, the best ever, made the entire night even more special with his stories, food suggestions, and service. I cannot recommend Bottega highly enough - and we cannot wait to go back again!

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Paleo Friendly, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, People Watching, Casual, Open Kitchen, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Was on vacation in Napa Valley and had a ...

 
·Dined on December 29, 2016

Was on vacation in Napa Valley and had a mid afternoon lunch. Food and service were amazing. Outstanding wine list. Everything we had was better than the prior thing. Would recommend to anyone.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Organic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great Place to meet and eat. A little p ...

 
·Dined on December 29, 2016

Great Place to meet and eat. A little pricey and not quite enough to eat for the price

Tags: Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

After living in Napa for five years, we ...

 
·Dined on December 29, 2016

After living in Napa for five years, we finally visited Bottega. What took us so long? This is a great Napa Valley dining location ! We will be back.

Music was way too loud when we were seared but one word to the waiter resulted in a change to the perfect volume.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

It's an annual event for my sister who v ...

 
·Dined on December 29, 2016

It's an annual event for my sister who visits at Christmas from NV , I live in SF :)

Thank you. See you soon, & next year with my Sister.

Cheryl

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fireplace, Modern Decor, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Fun, Outstanding Value, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Great Beer, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Open Kitchen, Scenic View, Business Meals, Afternoon Coffee, Quiet Conversation, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Creative Cuisine, Family Style, Comfort Food, Tasting Menu, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Cozy, Tapas, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.