About Bottega Napa Valley

6525 Washington Street Suite A9
Yountville, CA 94599
View Larger Map

Chef Michael Chiarello has returned to his culinary roots by creating seasonal farm-to-table Italian cuisine reflecting the bold flavors of Chiarello’s heritage in his signature style 1st made famous at Tra Vigne in the 90’s. An award winning chef/vintner & Food Network host, Chiarello celebrates his Italian roots and the Napa Valley with a menu echoing his long practice of using the finest locally/sustainably produced food. Located in Yountville, in the heart of the Napa Valley, Bottega’s extensive wine list represents hard-to-find favorites of the Valley and interesting Italian selections. Chiarello restored the integrity of an old 1800’s estate by uncovering beautiful hard wood floors, timber beams, old brick walls and windows. The inviting dining room is accented with reclaimed antiques, warm fabrics and eclectic light fixtures lending to the restaurant’s old world comfort.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday - Sunday: 11:30am -2:30pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm -

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(707) 945-1050

Website:
http://www.botteganapavalley.com/

Catering:
Please contact Kellie Magna at 707.754.4467 or email: kellie.magna@botteganapavalley.com

Parking Details:
There is plenty of parking available on both side of the V-Market building.

Executive Chef:
Michael Chiarello

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Bottega Napa Valley, Yountville, CA
Bottega Napa Valley, Yountville, CA
Bottega Napa Valley, Yountville, CA
Bottega Napa Valley, Yountville, CA
Bottega Napa Valley, Yountville, CA
Bottega Napa Valley, Yountville, CA
Bottega Napa Valley, Yountville, CA
Bottega Napa Valley, Yountville, CA
Bottega Napa Valley, Yountville, CA
Bottega Napa Valley, Yountville, CA

Specials

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 24, 2016

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Specials

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 24, 2016

Details

Bottega will be featuring a 4 course, prix fixe "7 Blessings" menu.
Still accepting reservations!

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Details

Bottega will be featuring a 4 course Prix Fix honoring the "Festa di Sette Credenze" (Feast of Seven Sects)
$125/per person not including tax and gratuity
Optional wine pairing for $75/per person

Private Dining

We have several rooms available. One is sure to be perfect for your event.

Bottega Napa Valley Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Italian
Wine Country
Most Booked
Wine Country
Best Restaurants in Yountville ›

Fit for Foodies (133)
Special Occasion (122)
Good for a Date (114)
See All
Creative Cuisine (97)
Notable Wine List (92)
Romantic (85)
Great for Outdoor Dining (81)
Worth the Drive (80)
Good for Anniversaries (78)
Local Ingredients (77)
Good for Birthdays (64)
Great for Lunch (59)
Good for Groups (49)
Hot Spot (47)
Authentic (46)
Fun (37)
Neighborhood Gem (37)
Cozy (35)
Business Meals (32)
Fireplace (32)
Comfort Food (31)
Casual (31)
Bar Seating (30)
Seasonal (28)
Vibrant Bar Scene (27)
Handcrafted Cocktails (25)
People Watching (22)
Open Kitchen (21)
Modern Decor (21)
Sunday Lunch (20)
Healthy (19)
Outstanding Value (18)
Wood Oven (18)
Private Room (17)
Scenic View (15)
Good Vegetarian Options (13)
Quiet Conversation (12)
Organic (11)
Happy Hour (11)
Tasting Menu (10)
Afternoon Coffee (8)
Kid-friendly (7)
Disabled Access (7)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Great for Brunch (6)
Late-night Find (5)
Historic (5)
Family Style (5)
Molecular Gastronomy (5)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Spicy (4)
Quick Bite (3)
Vegan (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Tapas (1)
Waterfront (1)
Live Music (1)
Sort By:
S
7688 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Service not good

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 12 hours ago

Service not good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

Great ambiance and good food ...great fo ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined 3 days ago

Great ambiance and good food ...great food actually.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

My husband and I celebrated his 2015 and ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined 3 days ago

My husband and I celebrated his 2015 and 2016 birthday at Bottega. The food is exceptional and the service is outstanding. We make a night of it and enjoy the surroundings and the atmosphere. It is a treat to come to your restaurant. Thank you.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We liked the restaurant as it is relativ ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined 5 days ago

We liked the restaurant as it is relatively quiet and you can actually carry on a conversation. Several interesting things on the menu and a good wine list. However, we waited 75 minutes between our soup and the entrée. Extremely slow and when the lamb arrived, I had to send it back twice as very undercooked. The waiter and manager ending up comping us the entrees but the slow delivery ruined the evening. They must have had some new chefs but no one did anything to fix the very slow service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value4

Service and food was great. Special tha ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 5 days ago

Service and food was great. Special thanks to the bartender for the great mixology - the bellini with grape bubbles was fabulous - and he took good care of us.

Tags: Fun, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent food, accommodating and impecc ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined 5 days ago

Excellent food, accommodating and impeccable service. Made yummy sounds with every bite!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing! A must when in the wine country ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined 6 days ago

Amazing! A must when in the wine country!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We are locals and have enjoyed the resta ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 3, 2016

We are locals and have enjoyed the restaurant for many years. It just seems to be getting better and better. Our preference is being seated in enchanting Cucina Room.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, People Watching, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing food! I love this restaurant! I ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Amazing food! I love this restaurant! I am an avid cook and would. It miss going to this restaurant while passing through Yountville.

The server had a lot of knowledge about the food prepared. We all liked the dishes she recommended. The handicapped mushrooms with shaved Brussels sprouts and maple syrup glaze was amazing. Also, loved the short ribs. There is nothing on the menu I would not eat.

If you have a chance check out the Botegga cool book. I love to cook and enjoyed it very much! Interesting story about octopus.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

One of the best Napa valley restaurants. ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 2, 2016

One of the best Napa valley restaurants. Superb food, beautifully presented, local and sustainable food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was outstanding. Food was even b ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Service was outstanding. Food was even better. Thanks for great experience!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious cuisine that is paired with al ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on November 29, 2016

Delicious cuisine that is paired with almost every wine available. Such vibrant flavors present when it is unexpected gives such unique experience. Seafood is fresh and everything available is done by season. Guaranteed a hit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Restaurant was difficult to find. Beauti ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 29, 2016

Restaurant was difficult to find. Beautiful space, gracious service. Spaghetti bolognese was great. Calamari very good as well. I would try again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We really enjoyed the crudo of scallops ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 28, 2016

We really enjoyed the crudo of scallops on frozen Himalayan salt; the fried calamari; the risotto with matsutake; the filleted grilled branzino was wonderful. Had a great negroni cocktail. Great ambience. A great first experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Consistently a great dinning experience.

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on November 28, 2016

Consistently a great dinning experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The dishes were excellent. Our party of ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 28, 2016

The dishes were excellent. Our party of 5 ordered a variety of different dishes--salads, appetizers, pasta and meat dishes. Everything was wonderful. My grilled fish was cooked perfectly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My wife and I sat on the patio by a roar ...

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 28, 2016

My wife and I sat on the patio by a roaring fire (plus had the heat lamp on the other side of the table) - wonderfully relaxing. The bread (from Panorama and Acme) and the accompanying spread was fantastic. Grilled octopus, pork shoulder, pasta ... all delicious and served piping hot (not always the case in these larger restaurants it seems). Great wine list too. We'll be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My favorites are still great here. All t ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 28, 2016

My favorites are still great here. All the pastas are fantastic and the shaved Brussel sprouts w Meyer lemon dressing are not to be missed either. This specials were also very well prepared.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

I live in Napa, and this is one of my fa ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 27, 2016

I live in Napa, and this is one of my favorite places for a special meal. It starts with the olive oil, garlic and parmegiano reggiano dip, with warm, crunchy crusted bread and just keeps going up from there. Portions are perfect, though the calamari appetizer seemed to have gotten a lot smaller (server said they weigh it out, and it hasn't changed in 4 years).

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

The pork shoulder and raviolo di uovo we ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on November 27, 2016

The pork shoulder and raviolo di uovo were the best meal my girlfriend and I have ever eaten. Hands down!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Lobster pasta was outstanding, other dis ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Lobster pasta was outstanding, other dishes were interesting but some missed the mark. Service ranged from good to great. Overall very good restaurant, but not 5 star worthy

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I was disappointed when our bill came an ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 27, 2016

I was disappointed when our bill came and there was a surcharge on an ingredient substitution we weren't informed of. The server apologized and said he mentioned the surcharge at the beginning but my husband and I are sure he didn't mention it. Ruined an otherwise great evening. The plate went from being $18 to $75.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

Every dish was executed perfectly. One o ...

vip
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Every dish was executed perfectly. One of our finest restaurant experiences. Would return in a New York minute.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I have dined at Bottega several times ov ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 26, 2016

I have dined at Bottega several times over many years. I took my foodie friend, visiting from Boston, for lunch confident that we would have a lovely experience. Taylor, our wait person, was very eager and helpful. The Sommelier was outstanding and recommended the PERFECT red wine for us to enjoy. Another highlight was the always delicious brussel sprout salad. I regret, however, ordering the tuna salad main course because the tuna on the plate was a "blob" and, while the beans were good, the olive accompaniment made no sense to me in terms of blending flavors. Big disappointment. My friend enjoyed the ravioli with egg offering.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Food quality went significantly down vs ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Food quality went significantly down vs last year same time

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

The food was impeccable. Creative and in ...

 
·Dined on November 24, 2016

The food was impeccable. Creative and interesting with new flavors on what would be classic dishes. I hands down can say it has been some of the best food I have ever had. Still blown away.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing as always great selection superb ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Amazing as always great selection superbly cooked highly recommend

Tags: Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The food and service were both excellent ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 24, 2016

The food and service were both excellent, but when we arrived with our 2 teenage sons, we were seated in the back room that felt like overflow seating even though there were plenty of open tables in the main dining room. We made our reservations 2 months in advance, so we weren't walk-ins where you take what you get if lucky enough to get a table. Mostly families with young children were in that back room, and the lighting was turned up. It was a completely different vibe than the main dining room with dim lighting and views to the open kitchen. It was very disappointing given the overall price point of the meal. We should have asked to be re-seated. You shouldn't judge families with kids as we are giving your next generation of diners the exposure to your food. Our kids are extremely polite and well behaved and could handle sitting in a fine dining establishment when they were much younger, let alone the well mannered teenagers they are today. My husband and I dined at your restaurant for our 15 year wedding anniversary and looked forward to dining there again 6 years later with our family. It was disappointing. The food did not disappoint, but the overall experience was not as memorable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value2

It was clear from this, our first visit ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 24, 2016

It was clear from this, our first visit to Bottega, why Michael Chiarello has earned such a strong reputation. Following a fresh salad, my wife had the "brick" chicken, which she declared to be the best chicken she ever ate. Moist, tender with a sauce enhanced with a light touch of Italian peppers, the chicken truly was memorable. My whole branzino was also perfectly cooked. The pumpkin bread pudding for dessert was nothing special, but our service and the beautiful dining room made this dinner worth remembering. Book early because this place fills up quickly, and for good reason.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had an awesome experience. It was our fi ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Had an awesome experience. It was our first time there. We were in town for Thanksgiving.

The food was excellent. The service was superb. We ended up staying and eating at the bar.

We will definitely be back.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent and our favorite restaurant in ...

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on November 22, 2016

Excellent and our favorite restaurant in Yountville!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Reservation thru OpenTable was quick and ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 21, 2016

Reservation thru OpenTable was quick and easy. Arrived and were seated promptly. Server was friendly, and took cocktail order while we studied the menu. We ordered and meals were prepared and served in an acceptable time frame - no issues. We liked the venue, and there was no problem with noise; conversation levels were normal and fellow diners seemed to enjoy the restaurant as much as we did.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I love the food. But if you are female a ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 20, 2016

I love the food. But if you are female and going with a female friend be prepared to be overlooked, treated dismissively, told to wait for a table as couples who come after you with the same reservation time are apologized to for having to wait and then seated before you.

Tags: Hot Spot
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

Had an amazing time at Bottega! The shor ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Had an amazing time at Bottega! The short ribs and ricotta "pillows" are amazing. Murph, our waiter, was fabulous! Will be back next time we're in Napa!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This restaurant was awesome and our serv ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 20, 2016

This restaurant was awesome and our server was the best. I forgot my glasses at home he even provided me with a pair and for that we gave him an extra tip

Tags: Fun, Fireplace, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was excellent and service outstandi ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Food was excellent and service outstanding. It was raining when we we there, but it was still good to drive there.

Tags: Live Music, Organic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Scenic View, Authentic, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Afternoon Tea, Good Vegetarian Options, Tasting Menu, Afternoon Coffee, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fabulous evening. Thank you to Matt for ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Fabulous evening. Thank you to Matt for an extra special experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Overall the restaurant was very pleasant ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Overall the restaurant was very pleasant. Good food and ambiance. The only disappointing thing was the service. They need to do a better job training their staff. We received the lunch menu instead of the dinner menu. When we showed the waiter he snapped it shut in my face without apology and got the correct menu. Then when giving the specials he didn't say the price of anything and I had to ask which I hate doing. Then when we asked questions about the menu he used verbiage that was very "foodie" and although I am not completely ignorant of "foodie" language, his explanations were unclear and his attitude was a bit pretentious throughout the night. Then the other staff twice asked if they could clear my plate while I was still chewing my food. Felt rushed and underappreciated as a patron.

Tags: Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Good for Groups
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value4

For years, Chef Michael Chiarella's Bot ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 18, 2016

For years, Chef Michael Chiarella's Bottega Napa Valley has been our evening out of choice and our latest visit was another great, and somewhat different experience. As it was my wife's birthday, we had the good fortune to be served and entertained by an experienced server, Murph, and with his vast experience and intimate knowledge of the menu and wine list, we gave him creative control.

An entree special was reduced in size to an appetizer portion, cheese gnocci with a truffle drizzle. Then we shared a duck special and a wild boar offering. The portions were quite generous and the desserts were also very good. The evening was Exceptional!

Murph a.k.a., John, Giovanni...., paired wines with our offerings and they were a perfect fit. I will say that given the occasion, I never looked at the economics of the evening. Regardless the total with gratuity, the evening was worth every penny.

The assistant server was very attentive but not intrusive. Our water glasses were always full and dishes were whisked away quickly. The entire staff, from when we were greeted upon entry, seated and served were very cordial, welcoming and smiling and we were made to feel that our presence was appreciated and valued. That is the way it should be, everywhere.

In all the years we have visited Bottega, we have never been disappointed or felt that it was an "off night'. Now we have another fond memory of a great dining experience at Bottega and we're already looking forward to the next time we can get away to Yountville for the fresh, locally grown and organic offerings that Michael creates.

And while it may sound that we know him personally, we do not. He has, on occasion, visited our table and gladly accommodated our daughter for pictures once and an autographed menu another time. So, his good nature will skew our feelings. So what. We love Bottega! Thanks, Michael!

John & Wanda

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Creative Cuisine, Fireplace, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Organic, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Open Kitchen, Molecular Gastronomy, Special Occasion, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Paleo Friendly, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Dining at Bottega is always such a pleas ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Dining at Bottega is always such a pleasurable experience. I've enjoyed everything from a casual lunch with friends to a nice date night and dining solo to a productive business lunch. The food is creative, comforting and delicious. This is a place where every bite is savored. The duck is a favorite along with a number of the pasta dishes including the Orecchiette dish stuffed with salami (Yes, I said salami). Amazingly creative! The menu reads: Orrechietti Piene di Nduja con Mais Calabrian salami filled pasta in pork jus over buttered cream corn puree with fresh corn and ricotta salata. This dish is outstanding, provided you're good with a little spice! Seriously, one of my top three favorite dishes to come out of this kitchen. On my most recent visit, solo dining at the bar, I was surprised to discover they currently have white truffles. The chef prepared grilled, buttered bread and shaved an ounce of white truffle on top - simple and absolutely perfect! Can you tell I love it here? The ambiance is sophisticated and rustic. My favorite is dining near or in view of the outdoor wood burning fireplaces. Such a calming and relaxed environment. Perfect for sipping an awesome red or trying a new cocktail. The staff goes out of their way to create a lovely experience. I highly recommend Bottega for any occasion or just because!

Tags: Private Room, Comfort Food, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fireplace, Quick Bite, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Fun, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.