About Bottega Napa Valley

6525 Washington Street Suite A9
Yountville, CA 94599
View Larger Map

Chef Michael Chiarello has returned to his culinary roots by creating seasonal farm-to-table Italian cuisine reflecting the bold flavors of Chiarello’s heritage in his signature style 1st made famous at Tra Vigne in the 90’s. An award winning chef/vintner & Food Network host, Chiarello celebrates his Italian roots and the Napa Valley with a menu echoing his long practice of using the finest locally/sustainably produced food. Located in Yountville, in the heart of the Napa Valley, Bottega’s extensive wine list represents hard-to-find favorites of the Valley and interesting Italian selections. Chiarello restored the integrity of an old 1800’s estate by uncovering beautiful hard wood floors, timber beams, old brick walls and windows. The inviting dining room is accented with reclaimed antiques, warm fabrics and eclectic light fixtures lending to the restaurant’s old world comfort.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday - Sunday: 11:30am -2:30pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm -

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(707) 945-1050

Website:
http://www.botteganapavalley.com/

Catering:
Please contact Kellie Magna at 707.754.4467 or email: kellie.magna@botteganapavalley.com

Parking Details:
There is plenty of parking available on both side of the V-Market building.

Executive Chef:
Michael Chiarello

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Private Dining

We have several rooms available. One is sure to be perfect for your event.

Bottega Napa Valley Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
San Francisco Bay Area
Italian
Wine Country
Most Booked
Wine Country
Best Restaurants in Yountville ›

fit for foodies (346)
special occasion (290)
notable wine list (233)
See All
romantic (214)
great for outdoor dining (202)
good for groups (167)
great for lunch (145)
hot spot (125)
neighborhood gem (91)
vibrant bar scene (69)
great for brunch (39)
scenic view (31)
late-night find (25)
kid-friendly (19)
Sort By:
Newest
7106 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience4
service5

Props for gracefully dealing with my ind ...

vip
Dined 4 days ago

Props for gracefully dealing with my indecisiveness. Ended up getting the buratta appetizer, which was a delightful departure from the usual balsamic dressing... and the grilled branzino. I would love to go back!

food5
ambience5
service5

This is a destination restaurant. My wo ...

vip
Dined 4 days ago

This is a destination restaurant. My work often requires me to eat out a lot. So I pretty much experienced many many restaurants. This place is a destination restaurant. Been here a couple of times. We split garden greens and our secondini . Fruti mare was fantastic, so was the dessert. Everything top flight, decor, ambiance, the $30 dinner napkins.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Some of the best food we've ever had, fr ...

Dined 4 days ago

Some of the best food we've ever had, from our octopus and meatball appetizers to two great pasta entrees. Dying to go back to try the short ribs that everyone was raving about. It's a pricey meal for sure, but worth every penny on a special occasion. We sat outside for lunch and enjoyed the surroundings, and our server could not have been more knowledgeable. Just awesome beginning to end.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service1

Food was excellent!

Dined 5 days ago

Food was excellent!

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

A lovely birthday celebration!

Dined 5 days ago

A long time friend and I chose to make a reservation at The Bottega for my birthday. I had been there before on several occasions and have always enjoyed it. The service and the food were both fabulous! We enjoyed the large raviolo with three fillings. The pasta was tender and we loved the creative, well balanced fillings. The chef on board last Saturday presented two beautiful plates for our little celebration, along with Michael's mother's salad (YUM!) . The chef's dessert offering was an incredible chocolate mousse (gorgeous plating and delicious), and my BFF ordered her favorite dessert, Panna cotta (also gorgeous and delicious). The only criticism is that it was so NOISY! Our attentive waiter and bus boy apologized profusely. We were champagned up and well fed in spite of the noise. Hope to be back soon!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best duck I've ever had!!!

Dined 7 days ago

We recently went to Bottega on a birthday trip to the wine country. I wasn't expecting to be so wowed with presentation and incredible food! Everything from the beautifully assembled salad, to perfectly crusted, melt-in-your-mouth duck, and house made pasta just kept amazing me! We stay in Yountville a couple times a year, and we will DEFINITELY be back!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our reservation was for 8:45pm on a week ...

Dined 7 days ago

Our reservation was for 8:45pm on a weeknight and the place was busy. We were seated immediately but quickly noticed a nearby table was loud. Our server moved us immediately and requested the people at the noisy table to keep it down. That was greatly appreciated and "above the call of duty." The rest of our evening there was excellent and of course we'll be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Unique and Delicious

Dined 7 days ago

The food at Bottega is outstanding. The Uova Verdi e Prosciutto, which is green eggs and ham is a favorite. How do you deep fry an egg? I can't imagine but this dish is a treat. My friend and I shared two appetizers and were full. We both love everything about Bottega.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Take your time to enjoy the ambiance and ...

Dined 7 days ago

Take your time to enjoy the ambiance and food !!!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A lovely, relaxing meal, well worth the ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

A lovely, relaxing meal, well worth the overnight trip!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

This was not our first visit to Bottega, ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

This was not our first visit to Bottega, nor will it be our last. It is consistent, the staff attentive, and the food very good. Of our party of four, three had the steak, and one had the ravioli. We shared a starter of green beans and a few desserts.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience3
service5

Pretty good Italian food. Duck was a lit ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

Pretty good Italian food. Duck was a little dry. Many large business groups were there for dinner making it a little loud. Our server was excellent.

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Excellent lunch

Dined on May 17, 2016

We were two couples getting together for lunch --which we thoroughly enjoyed. The food and service were excellent. Two of us order shaved radicchio and artichoke salad. We wouldn't order that again because we couldn't find any artichokes. What we had was good but not what we expected.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great restaurant

vip
Dined on May 17, 2016

I've been to Bottega many times, and it seems to get better and better. This time was my best meal there ever. I had the risotto special, which was absolutely sensational. Bottega is always my first dining recommendation to friends and family who are visiting the Wine Country for the first time. It's a fabulous place.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was the first restaurant we went to ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

This was the first restaurant we went to when we arrived in California for our vacation. It was recommended to us by a friend who lives nearby- we had a great time there enjoying the gorgeous outdoor area and delicious food and wine. wonderful start to our vacation!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Will be returning

Dined on May 17, 2016

We came here to celebrate my husband's birthday with a nice dinner and we're not disappointed! Everything was excellent. This is a new favorite of ours and we look forward to returning.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Food was ok, not excellent! Service was ...

Dined on May 16, 2016

Food was ok, not excellent! Service was great & ambiance was outstanding!! Very nice wine list too. Would go back just to enjoy the outdoor patio!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience3
service3
value5

Fantastic food. Our only problem was ar ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Fantastic food. Our only problem was arriving 20 minutes late. They gave our table away. They found another spot after ten min., but out us next to the door...three at a two man table. The two man table next to us remained empty. ( our reservation was for 8., and we got there at 8:20). Alsoa we were out next to a very loud party of 12-15 guests. Otherwwise the foods was great.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service4

Delicious. They offer GF options, but n ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Delicious. They offer GF options, but not GF pasta or bread which was slightly disappointing. I had fried calamari, yes GF fried calamari. It was beyond my expectations! The short ribs...YUM!!! Sat on patio & had panna cotta for dessert. Service was ok. Not good, but not bad. It was all so good we canceled our dinner 3 nights later elsewhere just to go back to Bottega. We had to sit at the bar since half the place was booked for a company event, but we got there early enough the noise level was good & service at bar very attentive. Will absolutely return next time we are in Napa. Had gelato this time for dessert & best of 3 was apricot!

food5
ambience5
service4
value4

The best short rib EVER! I don't know if ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

The best short rib EVER! I don't know if I could eat anything else on the menu after eating the short rib. It was absolutely divine. The calamari was also wonderful, and the meatball appetizer was a great new spin on an old favorite. We were wined out that day, and luckily Bottega has an excellent bar staff that makes great cocktails. As it was a birthday, the hand written note was a great start to the evening. Thank you. We will definitely be returning.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Another Amazing Dinner!

Dined on May 15, 2016

We (two couples) ate at Bottega after a day of wine tasting around the Valley. Our waiter was very friendly and knowledgeable. We could not decide what to choose from the menu because it all sounded so good, so our waiter offered to pick several dishes for us to share. It was one of the best dining experiences we have had! We were able to have a taste of many things and left very satisfied but not completely stuffed! The Raviolo di Uovo was incredible. And the Braised Short Ribs amazing. The wine list was extensive but not overwhelming. This was our second visit to Bottega - and we would dine there every time we visit Napa!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

This is our second time at Bottega. As ...

vip
Dined on May 14, 2016

This is our second time at Bottega. As Top Chef fans we gave it another try but the food was not good--uninspiring. The sauces were mediocre, the pasta too al dente, the salad dressing so potent could tell I was eating kale, and the other pasta so doughy it was distasteful. We will not return--there are so many good Italian restaurants in Napa--this one needs a make-over in the kitchen.

Tags: great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Beautiful outdoor patio for sipping some ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Beautiful outdoor patio for sipping some of the best wines in Napa. Chiarello vineyard wines are fantastic - recommend the Cab - Bambino.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Enjoyed our meal at Bottega very much. ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Enjoyed our meal at Bottega very much. The calamari and Insalata di Cavolini di Bruxelles were both delicious appetizers. Our main courses were also excellent but special mention has to be made for the Ricotta Gnocchi della Nonna. These were some of the most delicious and delicate (almost like gnudis) gnocchis we've ever had. My mouth starts watering thinking about them again! Very enjoyable experience; we'd go back!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fun Mother and Daughter dinner

Dined on May 14, 2016

We enjoyed outdoor seating with great service. We shared several small plates to try the different selections. Well done presentations. We enjoy including this restaurant on our wine tasting itinerary.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Good but not great!

Dined on May 14, 2016

Not a great experience for a restaurant with a great reputation. The food was fine, again, not great. Our server (as an example) was very nice but wine was accidentally spilled when pouring refills for ourselves instead of the waiter.....because the waiter was busy elsewhere. Again, not great service. The ambience......pretty restaurant. Value......ok I guess. My husband and I liked my salad the best, which we ended up sharing because it was that good. Not good when a salad is the high point of a meal. I think Bottega is a hot tourist spot and can get by on it's laurels rather than being outstanding all the time to keep local folk coming back.

food5
ambience5
service5

From the food to the service, it was all ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

From the food to the service, it was all fantastic. Ordered the Polenta under Glass (amazing) Raviolo (amazing) risotto (couldn't stop eating it) and the chicken dish (must have...actually they are all a must have). Fabulous home style Italian cooking brought to another level. A must when visiting Yountville.

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Food was spectacular, wine list was dece ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

Food was spectacular, wine list was decent but I did expect to see more on the list. Definitely get the gnocchi, also the pork and short ribs were phenomenal!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

Why so salty?

Dined on May 13, 2016

Loved the mushroom polenta, beautiful custard size appetizer with wonderful parm/cheese flavor and good consistency. Loved the crusty french bread and cheesy-garlic butter. When it came to the special shellfish risotto, the shellfish clams, mussels and shrimp were perfectly cooked, but the risotto was sooo salty. The short ribs my husband ordered looked fantastic, but the sample he gave me was also so salty, I couldn't enjoy the taste of the meat. My local fish meat was delicious, but again too much salt on the skin which I usually like to eat as well. Does anyone taste the food they cook? Otherwise, the service, drinks and appetizers were outstanding.

Tags: good for groups, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Very Good

Dined on May 13, 2016

Its one of those places that the food is so good you tend to overeat. My wife and I ordered different appetizers and main courses and all the food came out hot and delicious. My wife had the Short Rib andI had the pork. We also had the cauliflower to share. Would definitely go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a wonderful experience to dine at B ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

What a wonderful experience to dine at Bottega. It was all that I expected it to be and more. The atmosphere, service and food made for a very delightful dining experience. From start to finish, it was very satisfying. I wish we lived closer so that we could dine there more often.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a great restaurant to start our Nap ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

What a great restaurant to start our Napa Trip!!! Great portions and flavors!!! Everything from appetizers to Dessert!! Definitely make it a restaurant stop on your way eating and drining theough the wine country!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

An accident happen during dinner

Dined on May 12, 2016

We asked to split a salad. Waiter should have told us it was too small to split. We both received a very small 'a few bites' but very tasty salad. When my entre of mixed sea food 'cioppino' was being served, the waiter spilled some of the liquid on my pants and some hit my shirt. He was very apologetic as well as other staff people. Both entries were removed and staff came with towels to clean my pants, etc. The table cloth was replaced to remove the stains. Both entres were again served with greater care not to again spill the contents on me. I expected something to be taken off the rather expensive dinner, but other than 'I'm sorry" the dinner check was giving to me and paid as if nothing happen. Just saying........

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It exceeded our expectations. Very spec ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

It exceeded our expectations. Very special! Looking forward to our return

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing dinner & great wine ...loved the ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

Amazing dinner & great wine ...loved the rabbit , short ribs, pork...we did it tapas style...Matthew was an attentive knowledgable waiter that made the meal really special !

food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Very good overall.

Dined on May 8, 2016

The restaurant has an open, comfortable, well-lit and rustic feel to it. Several service staff visited our table making sure we were taken care of. The server was sharp, positive energy, courteous and knowledgeable about the food and wine pairings. The hearty homemade bread I enjoyed with the roasted garlic and olive oil. The calamari fritti was near perfect served with a beautiful black squid ink aioli. My vegetarian lasagna of baked zucchini and potato was well presented with a subtle-flavored tomato marina. The salad it came with had too much arugula which overpowered the other vegetables including the flavor of the vinaigrette. Also, the portions seemed a bit small for the price. It felt like there was more pretty ceramic plate than food. The caramel and chocolate panna cotta for dessert was excellent in flavor and presentation but the cherries tasted watery and sour and some were slightly brown and bruised. The table service couldn't have been much better yet the food has some room for improvement. Overall, I had a fun time bringing my mother here and we enjoyed our Mother's Day lunch.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great atmosphere and great food

Dined on May 8, 2016

Great atmosphere and great food

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Delicious

Dined on May 8, 2016

Start with a Bellini at the bar. Then stay for dinner. The Pesco Crudo was Hamachi sashimi with topped with a dab of mild aioli and a pine nut. It was remarkable how much that single pine nut added to the flavor and texture. The shaved artichoke salad was unlike anything I've ever eaten, especially with respect to texture. Another artichoke antipasto was also delightful. The duck was delicious, with delightful smokey flavors. The Frutti del Mare had a wonderful red-wine sauce with delicate and complex flavors. Everything we ate was wonderful.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Awesome food. Great atmosphere

Dined on May 7, 2016

Loved the ambiance. Bottega is everything that's right about the awesome town of yountville.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A must stop

Dined on May 7, 2016

During your visit to the wine country you must stop and take time to enjoy a spectacular dining experience. The service was great and the food was as much a treat as a reserved wine tasting.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.