About Botana

41618 Big Bear blvd.
Big Bear Lake, CA 92315
View Larger Map

"Italian-Mexican fusion Cuisine" Gourmet food in a casual environment at the lowest price. All recipes created by Master Chef Hector Uvence.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Mexican, Organic

Hours of Operation:


Lunch & Dinner:
Wednesday - Monday: 11:00am - 9:00pm

Closed Tuesdays

Cross Street:
Crane St.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(909) 758-8484

Additional:
Delivery, Takeout

Botana Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

2.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

1.0

service

1.0

ambience

1.0

value

1.0

noise

Moderate

0% would recommend it to a friend
Sort By:
Newest
67 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The restaurant is closed

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

The restaurant is closed

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

The restaurant was out of business when ...

vip
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

The restaurant was out of business when we arrived!! We even received a confirmation of our reservation the day before from Open Table... ouch! They had been OB for sometime...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Nice Experience

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on April 18, 2016

An unusual experience but nice. Service was excellent. The food was very good but there was almost too much of it. A good buy and interesting. Will return.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

We just had dinner here for 2-Valentine' ...

vip
 (Orange County)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

We just had dinner here for 2-Valentine's day. We walked in for our 6:15 reservation and wait at the bar for a table....ask for a wine list....does that seem odd?! No, we are told by the male server/host there is no list. No-can I get you some water or champagne?...its Valentine's Day for God's sake! We are seated and told ABSOLUTELY nothing about how it's a pre-fix menu. Nothing, they just start bringing things out. We have to ask about wine. 2.5 hours later of totally mediocre food and service we are done....which we have to ask for a stinking check. Really!?! The weirdest and most underwhelming dining experience EVER.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

Great fusion of italian and mexican food

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

The fixed menu was very good. It was a pleasant surprise. The food is nothing like I've ever had. The fusion of Italian and Mexican food was delicious.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Never Again

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on January 18, 2016

Our party of three left the restaurant after 75 min. because we had only gotten half-way through the prix fixe menu. The chef had "lost our ticket," and the server was stressed and over-burdened with too many tables. Our server didn't seem to know what course our table was on, or if she had delivered drinks to us. This place needs a restaurant make-over!!

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

Mexican Italian Prix fixe

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on January 17, 2016

A 5 course prix fixe meal that changes daily. Excellent flavors. Good wine selection. Reasonable price.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Good Effort but Not Quite There

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on January 14, 2016

I applaud Botana's ambition. I love the idea of a fixed menu, but to pull it off the food has to be outstanding, and it just wasn't the night we were there. Of the five courses only the salad was memorable. It was a pineapple, melon, cucumber, jicama salad with tamarind dressing, and it was really delicious and different. The other courses were certainly edible but nothing special. Also, the night we were there the head chef was not, which was the reason we were told there wasn't a wine pairing option, which I think is a necessity for the fixed menu concept. The service was very good, especially considering there was a total blackout just before we were served our entree. They kept things going by candlelight without missing a beat.

With a little more creativity and spot-on execution in the kitchen this could be a great restaurant. I think I would give it another chance, but first I'd check to see what was on the menu that night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Don't bother

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on December 28, 2015

The restaurant is promoted as Italian cuisine. We showed up expecting to see a menu of various Italian dishes. Instead they told us the dinner was already selected by chef. The dishes did not seem to be Italian, but just a mishmash of stuff: apple spice soup (luke warm), a chef's salad that was a mishmash of fruits and vegetables that had no distinctive taste. The hot dishes were lukewarm, even the water for tea was luke warm. The service was so slow, and the soup and salad so poor that we walked out. As we walked out, they admitted that they were short handed. I can't say enough bad things about this place. Don't bother.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Dinner was very enjoyable at Botana.

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on December 17, 2015

I have never before had a meal like this one. The waitress was very attentive and the chef came out several times to see how we were enjoying the meal. He also explained how he prepared the different dishes.

We will be eating there again on our next visit to Big Bear.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Terrible service, subpar food :( So disa ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on November 29, 2015

Terrible service, subpar food :( So disappointed. $85 for a mediocre meal. Also - don't allow them to seat you in front of the chimney if it is not lit - we were freezing from the draft the whole meal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1

The Chef/Owner had great enthusiasm towa ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on November 28, 2015

The Chef/Owner had great enthusiasm toward his charming little restaurant. Unfortunately the execution left much to the imagination. The food was unispired. Service was significantly subpar. The server we had was inexperienced and poorly trained.

We so wanted to love this place but just could not. Pass this one by.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

A great Thanksgiving dinner menu... With ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on November 27, 2015

A great Thanksgiving dinner menu... With surprising tastes and a fantastic host attitude... David and Maria are great and passionate in what they do ;-)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

This is a find!! If you looking for some ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on November 26, 2015

This is a find!! If you looking for something new and delicious, this is the place for you!

The people were so friendly and the food was delicious and different. I definitely will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We found the Botana to be a unique resta ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on November 23, 2015

We found the Botana to be a unique restaurant in Big Bear Lake, no menu, just the 5 course meal the chef /owner has lovingly prepare for the evenings meal. The food was excellent and for $30 per person very reasonable for the quantity. The chef stopped by our table several times and recommend a great wine to compliment our dinner. The restaurant was very clean, but needs a designer's touch. Our only complaint was that the food wasn't served as hot as we would have preferred.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5

Botana is AMAZING!

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on October 27, 2015

Be aware that this is not your typical restaurant. You only have a choice between two entrees. Everything else is the chef's choice. But that is fine, because the chef is excellent, and every course tasted great. One in our party was gluten intolerant, and she was easily accommodated. When we went, the cost was about $30/person. I didn't notice the price posted in the restaurant, so if you are concerned about it, ask first. All of the food is organic, the service is very personalized, and I have already recommended this restaurant to several people. I just wish I lived closer than 2.5 hours, so I could go back more often.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

New Dining Experience Must Visit !

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on October 25, 2015

Get Greeted by owner Master Chef David.

5-6 Course Pre fix menu amazing

Great wine parings from Italy and Chile

Can't go wrong... Will be back !

Very fresh unique dishes that will have you begging for more

Large servings , creative food flair , Fusion Mexican meets Italy

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I never would have ordered it, but...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 7, 2015

There was kind of a nervous excitement while we waited for the first course. It's not easy to not have much of a say in what I'll have for dinner, but I was curious.

Each course was an experience in creativity. The cauliflower soup was surprising good - I would have passed if I saw it on a menu, and missed out. I couldn't tell you what was in the stuffed chicken, but I ate every bite - and some of my wife's.

The only downside was the difficulty in understanding the waitress; but she was attentive.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Great food in Big Bear

vip
 (Orange County)
·Dined on September 6, 2015

Botana was a great find in Big Bear. The owner/chef personally greeted everyone who came in. He also spent time talking to everyone. There's no menu - just a 5 course meal brought out to each table. You do have a choice of protein with the main entree. The food was delicious. It was definitely a bargain for the $30 per person charge. The space is nice, though there were lots of families with small children. We sat by the bar, so it wasn't noisy. I'll be back next time we're in Big Bear!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Great food!

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 8, 2015

We went to Botana for dinner on a Friday evening. I was a little apprehensive about just having what the chef prepares but all was delicious. The bread and dip was yummy. Then we had a delicious soup and a great summer salad with pineapple. We were also each served an appetizer of mozzarella di bufala (I believe that was the cheese), tomato, and a splash of pesto. This was really yummy! My husband had the beef for dinner and I had the chicken. Both were good. Dessert was a sorbet. It was good but I prefer chocolate! All in all it was good and I would return.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Quiet and romance, no. Food and parties, yes.

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 2, 2015

Made reservations for two, weeks ahead; arrived to find a big, noisy party. Seated, then ignored for quite awhile. Then, great food arrived and good service. Many without weekend reservations were turned away. The food was a really Interesting dining experience, but will look for quiet elsewhere.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3

Best food in Big Bear Lake

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 13, 2015

We were greeted by the owner and Chef, David. This is a unique restaurant with a single full meal option. David offers a blend of Italian and Mexican flavors and dishes. The course selections were fantastic, fresh watermelon and mixed greens salad with delicious balsamic vinaigrette was superb. Every item was carefully prepared and cooked to perfection. He also has a very fine Italian wine selection. Great value for the quality of the food served.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Tasty, friendly

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 18, 2015

We eat here when we visit Big Bear and have not been disappointed. Love the food & David the owner is pleasant & willing to please. They use fresh ingredients and adjust for can adjust to food allergies. No soy is used & most items are gluten free. There is a set menu and we enjoy being surprised! Always good.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Had higher expectations based on the rev ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 25, 2015

Had higher expectations based on the reviews that I read. No menu, just verbal prix fixed of the day. Food was good, nothing special. Service was a bit slow, they looked short handed and the owner was doing quite a lot. Expected more...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

The food, wine, beer and staff are amazing

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on May 25, 2015

This was our second time to Botana....this time we brought along two friends with us. They loved it as much as we did. All 5 courses were of the best quality food and the taste is out of this world. We went on Sunday of Memorial Day weekend but knew we needed reservations. The place was packed with a entry way full of people waiting!!! We cannot wait to go again!!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing food found in Big Bear Lake.

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on May 8, 2015

Chef prepares menu every day based on what he finds interesting and fresh. Several choices for each of 5 courses provided. Didn't expect such a fine restaurant in a vacation resort location in the mountains.

If it were in Las Vegas or Los Angeles it would be a top draw!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

This is a Hidden Gem!!

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on April 19, 2015

We happened across some great reviews on Botana on the internet but had never heard of it before. We stopped by to take a look and find out more. We were intrigued after speaking to the chef, so we made reservations for the following evening. Summary: THIS IS AN ABSOLUTE MUST FOR ANYONE WHO WANTS A FINE DINING EXPERIENCE IN BIG BEAR!! Don't let the ho-hum building exterior fool you. Below is a definition of a 4-star dining experience copied from elsewhere on the internet: Botana fits every bit of this description:

"Four stars indicate exceptional food that is rare to encounter. It is food that is made with an exceptional attention to ingredient sourcing, respect for seasons, offers sensational taste calibration and magic touch of the chef, careful execution of the cuisine and a high level of originality or style."

If Botana were located in West LA, La Jolla or similar place, you would be paying 3-4 times the price for this experience and still think you got a great deal. David, the owner is clearly passionate about his restaurant and it shows in every bit. Can't wait to return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A Find in Big Bear

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on April 5, 2015

A different kind of restaurant' one that not everyone will like. But for the person with a flair for something new and different do not miss this and Owner David.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We enjoyed everything about this restaurant.

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on March 27, 2015

Everything about the pre fix menu was amazing. All five courses were above all expectations. The owner, David, was a great host. The price was such a bargain!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on March 20, 2015

I love this place! We finally went this week and had a great experience. The Owner/chef David is a master at his craft. The restaurant is a European model, without a menu. He goes to the market and sees what is fresh. The food is organic, fresh and an amazing price! We loved each of the five courses. The bread was homemade with "year old" dough. It is classified as Mexican Italian, but it works! Really!! The soup was so tasty. We had a choice of soup and of the main dish. We were also asked about dietary restrictions. My husband picked one and I picked the other of both the soup and main. You will want to lick the plate!!! The salad was a gorgeous pineapple with flower vinagrette. The mains were tasty also. I had the cioppino and my husband had the steak mole. Delish!!! We were then given the Italian beef. Wow! It was a phyllo dough filled with ground beef and a caper cream sauce. The dessert was amazing as well.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

FAMILY OWNED, THERE IS NO MENU, NEW FOOD DAILY.

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on February 15, 2015

It was wonderful, family owned, all organic ingredients, he makes a new menu every day. He will of course work around allergies.

Very small and intimate. The food was delicious, very light too. Plenty of food though, you were not left hungry.

Highly recommend it!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great suprise!!!!!!!!!!!

vip
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on January 26, 2015

We walked into the restaurant not knowing what to expect. We were the only 6 there and a little worried. We had the most wonderful experience!!!!!!! The food was amazing and the owner chef was great because there was no menu or prices. So you put your trust in the chef, he was able to create food for everyone's food likes, dislikes and also a vegan in the group. Every dish had creativity and amazing taste. We look forward to gong to this dining experience again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Unique dinning experience!

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on January 18, 2015

Fixed 5-course meal (w/ vegitarian option for main course) that changes nightly. There are no menus. You just ask and the staff will tell you. The owner, David, was great. We had reservations and David greeted us at the door. David made frequent trips to the table to make sure everything was to our satisfaction. The food was unique and excellent. The only critique was that the main course (beef ribs) didn't really have much meat on it.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Average at best

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on December 30, 2014

Botana is one of the few restaurants on OpenTable in Big Bear and the only one with availability the night we wanted to go out. Allegedly, voted "The Best", there is no menu, dinner is fixed price and fixed menu based on the chef's selection for the day. The food is Italian/Mexican "fusion" but in reality it was nothing more than average. Thankfully the owner was able to accommodate children. Service was slow and inattentive, way too expensive for the food. Ambiance is pretty bare. The best part was the music.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3

Unusual model delivering excellent food

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on December 29, 2014

A five course fixed menu of exotic tastes delivering excellently prepared food at a reasonable price.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

Outstanding Christmas Dinner

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on December 26, 2014

Exceeded all expectations. Delicious 5-course, set menu. Every course was memorable. And at $40 per person on Christmas Day, I can't say enough good things about this place.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Maybe we caught them on a bad night but ...

vip
 (Orange County)
·Dined on November 27, 2014

Maybe we caught them on a bad night but I don't understand the good reviews. The food was decent but a few of the dishes were lukewarm. They need an actual wait staff so you don't get neglected. We won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

Wonderful place to eat

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on November 21, 2014

Owner David makes eating at his restaurant truly enjoyable = his personality, attention to detail, friendliness make this place so enjoyable. The food is unique for Big Bear and reasonalbly priced. Every course is delicious and beautifully presented. We come again and again and have never had the same thing twice.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Unique local gem

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on November 10, 2014

My wife and I were looking for a nice quiet evening meal and found Botana. There is no menu, and the meal is price fixed ($54 for two). We had a five course meal, which was a lot of food. It was very good: soup, salad, pasta, entre, and desert. The personal and engaging service was outstanding. We asked about wine (no wine menu), and were offered a reasonably priced, outstanding red to match our meal. The lack of a menu may not be everyone's cup of tea, but it worked for us, and we enjoyed our dinner experience there.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Great Addition to Big Bear

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on November 9, 2014

A reasonably priced prix fixe menu that delivered fabulous tastes. David takes time to chat with customers about his background and passion for the food. I will look forward the seasonal changes in the menu.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.