About Borgne

601 Loyola
New Orleans, LA 70113
View Larger Map

"When people ask where in New Orleans to go for great local seafood,
I want the answer to be Borgne." - Brian Landry, Executive Chef




Chefs John Besh and Brian Landry grew up fishing on Lake Borgne, the epicenter of coastal cuisine in Louisiana.
Their shared passion for Louisiana seafood brought them together to create Borgne, a celebration of coastal Louisiana with a touch of Isleño influence. Borgne will be a gathering place for locals and visitors alike, a CBD lunch spot, a quick bite before the game and a casual setting for a delicious dinner with friends.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Southern

Hours of Operation:
Sunday-Thursday 11 am - 10 pm
Friday-Saturday 11 am - 11 pm

Cross Street:
Between Poydras and Girod

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(504) 613-3860

Website:
http://www.borgnerestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Validated Valet parking with the Hyatt for a $10 flat rate fee

Executive Chef:
Chef Brian Landry

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Borgne
Duck Poppers
Black Drum à la Plancha
Fried Chicken with Homemade Pepper Jelly
Shrimp Toast
Sun Belt Fried Chicken Special
Louisiana Shrimp Dumplings With Pork Belly
Seared Divers Scallops
Fried Pork Chop
Salad With Fried Oysters
Lake Waters
Mahi In A Bag
Patatas Bravas
Oyster Spaghetti
Gumbo
Turkey Necks
Sangria
Rosemary French Bread
Raising Cane
Key Lime Dessert
Margarita
raw oysters
Local Greens Salad
Turtle Soup
Brussels Sprouts
Chocolate Hazelnut Pudding
Warm Apple Cake
Duck Poppers With Jalapeno And Bacon
Adobo Marinated Hanger Steak
Blackened Swordfish
Fish In A Bag
Fried Eggplant Whipped Mahon Cheese
Twice Cooked Chicken Clemenceau
Whole Seafood Stuffed Flounder
Creamy Canary Island Goat Cheese À La Plancha, Chorizo And Pumpkin Marmalade
Rum and Honey
Roast Pork Po' Boy
Fried P&J Oysters Amandine Salad
Brûlée Figs
Meatballs & Polenta
Presa Margarita
Spicy Grilled Okra
Duck Liver Ravioli
Pork & Peas
Bread and Butter
Onion Rings
Fried Des Allemands Catfish Poboy
Pulled Pork Empanada
Fried Oyster Sandwich
Crab Stuffed Pacific Flounder
Duck Jalapeno Poppers
Deconstructed Caesar Salad
Strawberry Crumble
Shrimp Remoulade
Marinated Crab Fingers
Seared Tuna - Italian Artichoke Salad
Charred Octopus (Spanish Wine Dinner)
Louisiana White Shrimp And White Bean Stew
fried catfish sandwich
Seared Grouper
Chocolate Hazelnut Flan
Garlic Shrimp
Duck Gumbo
Broiled Louisiana Oystets With Spicy Garlic Butter
Lemon Olive Oil Cake -- Buttermilk, Local Citrus, Mandarin Sorbet
Goat Meatballs
Chicken Salad
Beet Salad - Jumbo Lump Crab, Grapefruit, Lavash
Softshell Crab w/lemon grits, arugula pistou
Hummingbird Cake
Pork Empanadas
Vidalia Onion Side
Oyster Pie
Roasted Onions With Blue Cheese
Grilled Octopus
Twice-cooked Chicken
Hazelnut Pudding
Broiled Oysters
Cochon De Leche
Pork Cheeks
Crawfish Croquetas
10 Clove Shrimp
Mangrove Snapper A La Plancha - Sofrito Chutney, Black Valencia Rice (Spanish Wine Dinner)
Stuffed Flounder
Crab And Pork Belly Hot Pot
Grilled Romaine Salad with House- Made Bacon Buttermilk and Blue Cheese Dressing, Grilled Croutons
Shrimp Fritters
Cajun boiled crawfish
Shrimp Spicy Tomato Sauce And Pasta
Leroy's Oyster Stew
Goat Cheese A La Plancha
Chicken
Filet Mignon
White Shrimp
Crawfish Cavatelli
Rabbit Confit W/ Farmer's Pasta
Grilled Shrimp Pintxox
Grilled Octopus Appetizer
Shrimp Risotto
Red Snapper Crudo

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

At Borgne, Private Dining is available for social and corporate events whether in our private dining room or in the restaurant. Our private dining room seats 35 people, while the restaurant, available for buy-outs, seats 250 or 300 for your reception.

Borgne Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.0

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Seafood
New Orleans / Louisiana
Best Restaurants in Central Business District ›

Fit for Foodies (80)
Good for Groups (62)
Special Occasion (43)
See All
Great for Lunch (43)
Hot Spot (25)
Vibrant Bar Scene (20)
Kid-friendly (16)
Neighborhood Gem (14)
Notable Wine List (12)
Scenic View (8)
Romantic (7)
Late-night Find (6)
Great for Brunch (5)
Sort By:
Newest
1355 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The Turkey Neck appetizer is a must try. ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

The Turkey Neck appetizer is a must try. Great cocktails and fantastic dishes throughout the menu. Service is good and attentive.

Tags: Modern Decor, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

I didn't realize that it was in a hotel

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

I didn't realize that it was in a hotel

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Got the Turkey necks and they were fanta ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Got the Turkey necks and they were fantastic!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Two of the girls were celebrating birthd ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Two of the girls were celebrating birthdays and they brought out three different desserts for the table to share - Gratis! Excellent food and impeccable service.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time dining at Borgne, and our par ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

First time dining at Borgne, and our party of four found all of our selections to be creative, but not fussy. Our server was warm and casual in demeanor, while appropriately attentive and professional. We were glad that in a city of so many restaurants, we chose Borgne.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Our favorite on the trip. Inside a hote ...

vip
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Our favorite on the trip. Inside a hotel, this place is a big time keeper. Duck poppers and BBQ shrimp poboy! The best.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My family and I was disappointed with th ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

My family and I was disappointed with the Borgne restaurant. In the past we have enjoyed Besh restaurants; August, Luke, cafe at the D-Day museum. However the food was not worthy and the prices were high: broiled oysters too much cheese, soft shell crab no flavor, fried chicken small portion and mushy crust; not crispy. The peanut butter bar desert was the best dish on the menu. Seems like they used the Besh name but not the quality. Will not recommend or return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

I had high expectations and they were ex ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

I had high expectations and they were exceeded. The appetizer, turkey necks, was surprisingly good. The entree, black drum with brown butter, pecans, and lump crab meat, was outstanding and even had a little heat. The dessert, a peanut butter semifreddo, also was outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a wonderful meal at Borgne--the f ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

We had a wonderful meal at Borgne--the food, particularly the salad and soup, were delicious new spins on classic fare. The golden gazpacho, made with yellow bell peppers and tomatoes and chunks of lump crabmeat, had a smooth, almost creamy texture, and the flavor was intense and bright. The salad of grilled peaches on greens with a tangy vinaigrette and soft, almost melted burrata was divine! Only drawback for us was that, as a restaurant to celebrate a wedding anniversary, it's not exactly conducive to quiet, romantic conversation--but we knew that going in, and the great food and service made up for it. We had been given a gift card for the occasion, and next time we visit Borgne it will be to celebrate the food, not an anniversary!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Overall excellent food. Flounder with se ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Overall excellent food. Flounder with seafood stuffing better than most as it was not overwhelmed by bread.

Grilled Caesar was different, but have had better.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Service and atmosphere was great. The c ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Service and atmosphere was great. The charbroiled oysters and the blackened drum were delicious.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Awesome wait staff and even better food. ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Awesome wait staff and even better food. This place is great!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The dining room tables are too small for ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

The dining room tables are too small for four guests.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Fantastic food, restaurant was packed du ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Fantastic food, restaurant was packed due to concert nearby and food and service was still exceptional.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Food was very disappointing. Fish was ra ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Food was very disappointing. Fish was raw. I could not cut it with a knife, literally. BBQ shrimp was very disappointing and I know what bbq shrimp is.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

The food was delicious and very fresh. ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

The food was delicious and very fresh. It is an interesting menu but definitely Creole/New Orleans style. Parking was very easy as they valet you for free.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good value during happy hour. Very good ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Good value during happy hour. Very good food and dessert, and attentive, knowledgeable and friendly service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

My husband and I decided to go to Borgne ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

My husband and I decided to go to Borgne because it was in the same hotel where he was attending a Seminar. Everything was decent, although we had to wait a long time for our food. There are so many outstanding restaurants in NOLA and this one was fine....not outstanding.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

The rabbit sausage special on Wednesday ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

The rabbit sausage special on Wednesday 's is awesome.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The drum topped with crab is outstanding ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

The drum topped with crab is outstanding.

The de-constructed "Caesar" salad is just too good to pass.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was very enjoyable. A bit noisy bu ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Food was very enjoyable. A bit noisy but was also amused by the # of busses of teens unloading to the hotel

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The perfect place to catch dinner before ...

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

The perfect place to catch dinner before a show at Champions Square! Food was incredible, service was perfect and the bar makes a mean cocktail!

Only draw back is that the space is quite noisy...but you kind of expect that with such a popular place.

Highly recommend!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was outstanding , service was the b ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Food was outstanding , service was the best and our server was training another employee too!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

The wife and I stopped by Borgne before ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

The wife and I stopped by Borgne before a concert at Champions Square.

The atmostphere was a little loud, but no overly so. The $5 tapas menu was excellent.

We shared the catfish slammer and the flat bread. After eating the tapas, I only wanted a salad. I loved the grilled salad with shrimp. My wife's gumbo was a little spicy for her tastes, but still very good.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Not what you would expect from an Open T ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Not what you would expect from an Open Table restaurant.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value4

The total experience was very memorable. ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

The total experience was very memorable. The service was timely. The food was outstanding. We are from out of town but will return soon to try other dishes.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Pros Food very fresh Nice decor Good p ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Pros

Food very fresh

Nice decor

Good portions

Cons

Limited menu

Pricey for what you get

Nothing offered for Birthday occasions

(If you have a kids menu, offering something for Birthday is a must)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Great food, excellent service. Small bu ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Great food, excellent service. Small but decent wine list.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Went on a quiet Sunday afternoon, and ca ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Went on a quiet Sunday afternoon, and caught happy hour. Friendly, upbeat server. Turkey necks were worth having again. Good selection of wines.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Our food was delicious. For me, my perso ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Our food was delicious. For me, my personal preference for my order, seafood pasta, I would have liked the oysters cooked a little bit more. Although I love oysters, I don't care for them raw. This will not deferr us from eating at Borgne again.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

The meal was full of unique flavors. T ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

The meal was full of unique flavors. The fusion of cultures into beautiful music in our mouths. The shrimp toast and ducK poppers were awesome example

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Borgne was a selection for a business di ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Borgne was a selection for a business dinner and recommended by the hotel. The food was excellent and so was our waiter. Every item screamed New Orleans and you could tell it was prepared by a REAL chef and not just a cook. I recommended Borgne to people all week long. Wonderful place to eat.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The servers and food was great

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

The servers and food was great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I thought the meal was excellent, had 6 ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

I thought the meal was excellent, had 6 people from out of town, raved about the food. However, the place was a busy but the service was poor. The waitress seemed totally disinterested in serving us. Had to call her over several times to get drink orders, had to ask for bread, 8 people at the table was able to basically beg for one small loaf. Very slow in taking our orders, apps seemed to arrive in reasonable time, but entrees were a bit slow.

Service is part of the meal, we would have given our experience 5 stars but the service held us back and it appears that the wait staff could use some training.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

Would eat here every night if I could!!

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Would eat here every night if I could!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We love Borgne and have dined there many ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

We love Borgne and have dined there many times. The food and service are consistently good. We have celebrated a couple of family birthdays there and also gathered with friends for a casual get together. We are never disappointed!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Happy hour menu was top notch! Really en ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

Happy hour menu was top notch! Really enjoyed the Sangria as well. Chef seems to like spicy flavors which was fabulous!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Delicious appetizers. Great ambiance. At ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Delicious appetizers. Great ambiance. Attentive server. Will definitely be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

very good place to eat. our server was ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

very good place to eat. our server was great drinks from bar delicious

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was amazing and service spectacular ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Food was amazing and service spectacular. Great for a date or families.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.