About Borgne

601 Loyola
New Orleans, LA 70113
View Larger Map

"When people ask where in New Orleans to go for great local seafood,
I want the answer to be Borgne." - Brian Landry, Executive Chef




Chefs John Besh and Brian Landry grew up fishing on Lake Borgne, the epicenter of coastal cuisine in Louisiana.
Their shared passion for Louisiana seafood brought them together to create Borgne, a celebration of coastal Louisiana with a touch of Isleño influence. Borgne will be a gathering place for locals and visitors alike, a CBD lunch spot, a quick bite before the game and a casual setting for a delicious dinner with friends.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Southern

Hours of Operation:
Sunday-Thursday 11 am - 10 pm
Friday-Saturday 11 am - 11 pm

Cross Street:
Between Poydras and Girod

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(504) 613-3860

Website:
http://www.borgnerestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Validated Valet parking with the Hyatt for a $10 flat rate fee

Public Transit:
On the soon to be completed Loyola Street Streetcar Line

Executive Chef:
Chef Brian Landry

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Borgne
Duck Poppers
Black Drum à la Plancha
Louisiana Shrimp Dumplings With Pork Belly
Sun Belt Fried Chicken Special
Shrimp Toast
Fried Chicken with Homemade Pepper Jelly
Fried Pork Chop
Seared Divers Scallops
Salad With Fried Oysters
Lake Waters
Mahi In A Bag
Patatas Bravas
Oyster Spaghetti
Gumbo
Turkey Necks
Sangria
Raising Cane
Rosemary French Bread
Key Lime Dessert
raw oysters
Margarita
Turtle Soup
Local Greens Salad
Brussels Sprouts
Warm Apple Cake
Chocolate Hazelnut Pudding
Duck Poppers With Jalapeno And Bacon
Creamy Canary Island Goat Cheese À La Plancha, Chorizo And Pumpkin Marmalade
Adobo Marinated Hanger Steak
Blackened Swordfish
Twice Cooked Chicken Clemenceau
Whole Seafood Stuffed Flounder
Fried Eggplant Whipped Mahon Cheese
Fish In A Bag
Rum and Honey
Roast Pork Po' Boy
Pork Empanadas
Fried P&J Oysters Amandine Salad
Grilled Octopus
Broiled Louisiana Oystets With Spicy Garlic Butter
Roasted Onions With Blue Cheese
Oyster Pie
Brûlée Figs
Meatballs & Polenta
Presa Margarita
Spicy Grilled Okra
Duck Liver Ravioli
Pork & Peas
Bread and Butter
Onion Rings
Fried Des Allemands Catfish Poboy
Pulled Pork Empanada
Fried Oyster Sandwich
Crab Stuffed Pacific Flounder
Duck Jalapeno Poppers
Deconstructed Caesar Salad
Strawberry Crumble
Shrimp Remoulade
Marinated Crab Fingers
Seared Tuna - Italian Artichoke Salad
Charred Octopus (Spanish Wine Dinner)
Louisiana White Shrimp And White Bean Stew
fried catfish sandwich
Seared Grouper
Chocolate Hazelnut Flan
Garlic Shrimp
Duck Gumbo
Chicken Salad
Lemon Olive Oil Cake -- Buttermilk, Local Citrus, Mandarin Sorbet
Beet Salad - Jumbo Lump Crab, Grapefruit, Lavash
Goat Meatballs
Softshell Crab w/lemon grits, arugula pistou
Hummingbird Cake
Vidalia Onion Side
Twice-cooked Chicken
Hazelnut Pudding
Pork Cheeks
Broiled Oysters
Cochon De Leche
Crawfish Croquetas
10 Clove Shrimp
Mangrove Snapper A La Plancha - Sofrito Chutney, Black Valencia Rice (Spanish Wine Dinner)
Stuffed Flounder
Grilled Romaine Salad with House- Made Bacon Buttermilk and Blue Cheese Dressing, Grilled Croutons
Crab And Pork Belly Hot Pot
Shrimp Fritters
Cajun boiled crawfish
Shrimp Spicy Tomato Sauce And Pasta
Leroy's Oyster Stew
White Shrimp
Goat Cheese A La Plancha
Chicken
Filet Mignon
Rabbit Confit W/ Farmer's Pasta
Crawfish Cavatelli
Grilled Octopus Appetizer
Grilled Shrimp Pintxox
Shrimp Risotto
Red Snapper Crudo

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

At Borgne, Private Dining is available for social and corporate events whether in our private dining room or in the restaurant. Our private dining room seats 35 people, while the restaurant, available for buy-outs, seats 250 or 300 for your reception.

Borgne Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Seafood
New Orleans / Louisiana
Best Restaurants in Central Business District ›

fit for foodies (114)
good for groups (90)
great for lunch (53)
See All
special occasion (48)
hot spot (36)
vibrant bar scene (28)
kid-friendly (20)
neighborhood gem (17)
notable wine list (15)
late-night find (11)
great for brunch (10)
scenic view (7)
romantic (6)
Sort By:
Newest
1321 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The servers and food was great

vip
Dined 4 days ago

The servers and food was great

food5
ambience4
service1
value4

I thought the meal was excellent, had 6 ...

Dined 5 days ago

I thought the meal was excellent, had 6 people from out of town, raved about the food. However, the place was a busy but the service was poor. The waitress seemed totally disinterested in serving us. Had to call her over several times to get drink orders, had to ask for bread, 8 people at the table was able to basically beg for one small loaf. Very slow in taking our orders, apps seemed to arrive in reasonable time, but entrees were a bit slow. Service is part of the meal, we would have given our experience 5 stars but the service held us back and it appears that the wait staff could use some training.

Tags: fit for foodies, late-night find
food5
ambience4
service5

Would eat here every night if I could!!

Dined 6 days ago

Would eat here every night if I could!!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love Borgne and have dined there many ...

Dined 6 days ago

We love Borgne and have dined there many times. The food and service are consistently good. We have celebrated a couple of family birthdays there and also gathered with friends for a casual get together. We are never disappointed!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service4

Happy hour menu was top notch! Really en ...

Dined on June 21, 2016

Happy hour menu was top notch! Really enjoyed the Sangria as well. Chef seems to like spicy flavors which was fabulous!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious appetizers. Great ambiance. At ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Delicious appetizers. Great ambiance. Attentive server. Will definitely be back!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

very good place to eat. our server was ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

very good place to eat. our server was great drinks from bar delicious

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was amazing and service spectacular ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Food was amazing and service spectacular. Great for a date or families.

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

I liked everything about my dining exper ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

I liked everything about my dining experience . The only negative was that the menu needs to be updated a little.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, late-night find, scenic view, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The restaurant and the food were excelle ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

The restaurant and the food were excellent. We experienced a parking lot problem. We waited almost 90 minutes in line on the 5th floor of the parking garage to exit the garage. The Hyatt knew they had booked some wedding related group in one of their conference rooms the night we dined at Borgne but there were no provisions made for clearing out a group that would obviously be leaving at the same time. Pre-selling parking for the evening as if there were a Saints or Pelicans game would have eliminated the horrific garage back- up. Having all three exit bays opened would have helped. Only two bays were open. If the valet hotel entrance had not been blocked by cars and taxis we would have parked valet. We could not enter there. If someone at the restaurant had alerted us to a potential exit problem we could have made other parking plans. I do not foresee a return visit to Borgne due to the parking fiasco. There are so many other restaurants where parking is available just outside of the restaurant that we need not return to Borgne. The Hyatt must accept at least partial blame for extremely poor planning . Claiming no association with the parking garage is no excuse for their poor planning or lack of coordination on the part of the hotel to avoid the fiasco that we were forced to endure in that miserable parking garage.

Tags: good for groups
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Did not live up to the hype.

Dined on June 12, 2016

Having been recommended by friends and generally well-reviewed, we were hoping for much more from this John Besh seafood spot. Unfortunately, we were underwhelmed. Cocktails were great and the warm bread with fennel seeds served immediately was top notch. So, we looked forward to the starters. Duck poppers, a popular Borgne signature starter, were little more than typical wedding-style passed bacon-wrapped hors d'oeuvres. The Pepper Jelly Turkey Necks were a great value, but lacked pop - a bit under-seasoned, strange for a crab-boiled, pepper-jellied item! Bland grilled octopus marred a delicious black-eyed pea/olive base. Black Drum with tasteless crabmeat was overcooked and sadly overpowered by brown butter and pecans. But for a couple of misses, the highlight of the evening could have been the grilled romaine heart with fried oysters. The oysters were fresh, tangy, and perfectly fried. But the ham chips were bland, the romaine under-grilled, and the garlic/white anchovy dressing revealed one lone anchovy. The check for three exceeded $180.00 with only one drink per person. Perhaps this was an off night, but for us, all in all, the under-seasoning, uneven cooking, and imperfect ingredients added up to a fair meal, not worth the price tag in a city where fabulous food abounds.

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

You cannot go wrong with Borgne...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Absolutely fabulous! Dined with my husband and eleven year old daughter. We have dined at Borgne many times. It has always been a culinary delight. My husband's favorite in the past was the garlic shrimp. It is no longer on the menu. However, we inquired about it specifically with our server. To our surprise, David appeared from the kitchen to discuss that request. To my husband's delight, David made the garlic shrimp just for him and it was even better than the original!! My husband had his own personal chef!! Great experience all around. Thanks David for going the extra mile to make our meal special!!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Another Besh's winner!

Dined on June 11, 2016

We've been to 4 Besh's places, and each is unique, with the common elements of excellent food, great service, value, and fun. The drum and stuffed flounder were well-prepared, cooked properly, and tasted great. We also visited Willa Jean the next morning for breakfast, a low-key winner in its own right. We're going to get to each of his places somehow.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

We went for an anniversary dinner and we ...

Dined on June 9, 2016

We went for an anniversary dinner and we were pleasantly surprised that it was as good for a restaurant in a hotel. But Chef John Besh wouldn't disappoint. We both had excellent fish dishes mine was cooked in a paper bag type preparation. It was very good. And for dessert we had a key lime ice box pie. Also very good. We did make it in time for the end of happy hour so our first 2 glasses of wine were half off!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Favorite Besh restaurant

Dined on June 4, 2016

Menu is very inventive without being too far out there. Went with friends and we couldn't decide on apps so we just ordered 1 of everything and shared. The duck poppers were the best! Ordered frog legs for dinner and also tried a bite of everyone's food and, per usual, Borgne did not disappoint.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

Didn't live up to expectations

Dined on June 4, 2016

We expected more based on the reputation of it being a John Besh restaurant. It just didn't deliver. We had a bad feeling from the get go when we walked in at 7PM on a Friday evening for our reserved time and saw the restaurant almost empty. We both ordered the black drum fish and found it uninspired and mostly bland. The deconstructed key lime desert failed to redeem the meal as the "filling" was mostly a frothy foam. Our server was inattentive and had an air of disinterest the entire time we were there. His answer to our question of "how's the black drum" was, "if you like drum, it's good". Our check came to over $150 for my wife and I and we both commented about how overpriced it truly was. The best thing I had there was the Pimm's Cup Cocktail I ordered. It was well mixed and balanced and served in a nice stainless steel mug. I wish we had stuck to drinks and gone elsewhere to dine. By contrast, we had dined earlier in the week at Luke, another Besh restaurant. Though we only had lunch, it was very good and we left fully satisfied and ready for a return visit. Too bad Borgne didn't carry over the Besh magic we had experienced at Luke.

food5
ambience5
service5

The duck poppers and the black drum are ...

Dined on June 1, 2016

The duck poppers and the black drum are to die for!

food5
ambience4
service5

Our server Will was very helpful and kno ...

vip
Dined on May 30, 2016

Our server Will was very helpful and knowledgeable about the menu! He helped us with our decisions and was very friendly ! We ate at 3 Besh restaurants andthis was our best experience!❤️

food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Parking a problem

Dined on May 28, 2016

We all had a wonderful time and enjoyed the food...then we went to retrieve our cars...paying $10 plus tip to park for the privilege of eating at Borgne will have us thinking twice about going again.....

food5
ambience5
service5

Nice surprise! Family of 5 on a holiday ...

Dined on May 28, 2016

Nice surprise! Family of 5 on a holiday Saturday in New Orleans the options were thin. Took a shot on Borgne based on John Besh's other restaurants. (Had we not gone to his other hotel based locations, we wouldn't have considered a Hyatt restaurant in NOLA.). We loved it. Crawfish and dumplings, flank steak, pasta w shrimp and salads were all very good. The kids loved the look and feel of the place. It was a little loud with big groups but it felt like a bustling city restaurant should. We will be back.

food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Fish in a bag

Dined on May 28, 2016

Fish in a bag of the daily catch is always great! Amberjack was slightly over cooked but was still slightly moist. Onions were very sweet and cherry tomatoes very good

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Borgne was okay but not one of those res ...

Dined on May 23, 2016

Borgne was okay but not one of those restaurants I would consider going back to in New Orleans. Clean environment, hard plastic chairs. Disappointing wine list. Food quality good - the oysters on the half shell were the best. The other appetizers and dinner meals were average.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

So Campy!

Dined on May 21, 2016

Once again John Besh has a hit! Borgne is a perfect spot for out of town guests to experience exceptional food & service. It never disappoints!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

If you go to Borgne, you must try the Em ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

If you go to Borgne, you must try the Empanadas....they were AMAZING! Service was excellent. I was a little surprised that this restaurant was inside a hotel, but the decor and ambiance was a fit. I wouldn't come here on a romantic date, but for a nice casual dinner with friends, it was perfect.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

food mixed, terrible accoustics

Dined on May 21, 2016

One dish was great trout with butter and pecan. The whole stuffed flounder was over cooked and dried out. Stuffing was just laid on top of fish. Crawfish bisque had three tiny crawfish and no stuffed head. Way overpriced and disappointment. Would not return.

food1
ambience3
service4
value2

Our server was very personable, welcomin ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Our server was very personable, welcoming and helpful, but our food was disappointing. And you go to a Besh restaurant for the food. We started with the Duck Poppers - a rarity for us to order something like this. Turned out to be the best dish of the night! Delicious! But hard to go wrong when bacon is involved! We shared the Grilled Octopus, as well - a typical favorite when we find it on a menu. Sadly, this octopus was overdone and chewy...such a shame! Our waiter told us they prepare it sous vide so it is especially tender. Not our experience, and we would not order it again. We also ordered Fish in a Bag (Amber Jack in parchment), which we hoped would be tender and juicy since all the flavors and juices are trapped in the bag...again, overcooked and dry. Literally we had to trim large pieces of hard fish off both ends - not enjoyable to eat. So, for this visit, two of three were misses. Not a great showing. To Borgne's credit, though, friends of ours dined the evening before. They had oysters, which they felt were the fattest, juiciest, briniest, most delicious oysters in all of New Orleans. So, perhaps stick with the oysters. Wish the news could be better.

food2
ambience3
service3

Wasn't impressed. Food was over cooked ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

Wasn't impressed. Food was over cooked.

food4
ambience3
service4

I felt like I was in a very large cafete ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

I felt like I was in a very large cafeteria, almost institutional. My wife's brown butter with pecans drum fish was very good. My crawfish etouffe with dumplings was intriguing and delicious. We had a nicely paired wine and a server who warmed up as our dining continued. Our duck and andouille sausage gumbo was very flavorful. And the complimenting sauces with our raw oysters were some of the very best. I just can't get over the cafeteria feeling.

food5
ambience3
service5

Food was great,. Place was loud

Dined on May 18, 2016

Food was great,. Place was loud

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

John Besh never disappoints

Dined on May 15, 2016

We love Lukes, so decided to check out Borgne. Our server Joe was not only knowledgeable but really interactive and fun. The fish was superbly prepared and served. Great fun!

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Festive and delicious

Dined on May 15, 2016

Had a wonderful meal with my extended family (a party of 7) to celebrate my daughter's graduation. The decor and buzz of so many diners makes for a festive atmosphere. We had 3 generations present and all thoroughly enjoyed their meals, including the whole scrumptious stuffed flounder (serves 2 easily,) fish in a bag (not a pretty presentation but certainly tasty) the pasta with shrimp (smelled amazing and so good my son wouldn't part with a single bite,) local drum and the most succulent fried chicken ever. My favorite was actually a first course salad with shrimp and fresh asparagus and snap peas; a must try. Service was very professional and also friendly and our only complaint was that the noise level is high and thus impossible for us to hear one another from opposite ends of the table, especially since we were a larger group. I'll return but perhaps with a smaller group.

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

You cannot find a better plate of food i ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

You cannot find a better plate of food in the world than at any John Besh restaurant, and Borgne is one of his best. The banana creme pie dessert is superb.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

Service was poor-waiter had no energy an ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Service was poor-waiter had no energy and was very slow and forgetful. Sandwiches were good and filling. Shrimp and asparagus salad(entree salad) was very small with only 2 shrimps. French fries were cold. Convenient to the SuperDome after Graduation.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Tulane graduation celebration

Dined on May 14, 2016

Borgne was the perfect venue for our family luncheon after Tulane's graduation ceremony at the Superdome. Service was efficient and friendly. Food was excellent. Heartily recommended!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best Meal this year!!!

Dined on May 14, 2016

We ordered half the menu- and everything was awesome :) The shrimp toast is a must. The food was fresh and unique. The service was great. Over all an amazing experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

try the duck poppers. Sounds weird but r ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

try the duck poppers. Sounds weird but really good. Ceviche is fresh and tasty but not really special. Gumbo was delicious.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent service, food was delicious, t ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

Excellent service, food was delicious, try the shrimp toast, unique and awesome.

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Overall, our experience was great. It to ...

vip
Dined on May 13, 2016

Overall, our experience was great. It took a while to be seated even with a reservation. There was also extended periods of time between receiving our drinks, appetizers and entrées.

Tags: special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent dinner, great dining experienc ...

Dined on May 9, 2016

Excellent dinner, great dining experience

food4
ambience5
service5

The fish in a bag and the crawfish and d ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

The fish in a bag and the crawfish and dumplings were excellent. The previous meal bread seemed a bit overcooked, but, overall it was an excellent experience.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.