About Borgne

601 Loyola
New Orleans, LA 70113
View Larger Map

"When people ask where in New Orleans to go for great local seafood,
I want the answer to be Borgne." - Brian Landry, Executive Chef




Chefs John Besh and Brian Landry grew up fishing on Lake Borgne, the epicenter of coastal cuisine in Louisiana.
Their shared passion for Louisiana seafood brought them together to create Borgne, a celebration of coastal Louisiana with a touch of Isleño influence. Borgne will be a gathering place for locals and visitors alike, a CBD lunch spot, a quick bite before the game and a casual setting for a delicious dinner with friends.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Southern

Hours of Operation:
Sunday-Thursday 11 am - 10 pm
Friday-Saturday 11 am - 11 pm

Cross Street:
Between Poydras and Girod

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(504) 613-3860

Website:
http://www.borgnerestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Validated Valet parking with the Hyatt for a $10 flat rate fee

Executive Chef:
Chef Brian Landry

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Borgne
Duck Poppers
Black Drum à la Plancha
Louisiana Shrimp Dumplings With Pork Belly
Shrimp Toast
Fried Chicken with Homemade Pepper Jelly
Sun Belt Fried Chicken Special
Fried Pork Chop
Seared Divers Scallops
Salad With Fried Oysters
Lake Waters
Mahi In A Bag
Key Lime Dessert
Gumbo
Turkey Necks
Sangria
Raising Cane
Rosemary French Bread
Patatas Bravas
Oyster Spaghetti
Margarita
raw oysters
Turtle Soup
Local Greens Salad
Brussels Sprouts
Warm Apple Cake
Chocolate Hazelnut Pudding
Duck Poppers With Jalapeno And Bacon
Creamy Canary Island Goat Cheese À La Plancha, Chorizo And Pumpkin Marmalade
Adobo Marinated Hanger Steak
Blackened Swordfish
Twice Cooked Chicken Clemenceau
Whole Seafood Stuffed Flounder
Fried Eggplant Whipped Mahon Cheese
Fish In A Bag
Rum and Honey
Roast Pork Po' Boy
Fried P&J Oysters Amandine Salad
Pork Empanadas
Grilled Octopus
Broiled Louisiana Oystets With Spicy Garlic Butter
Roasted Onions With Blue Cheese
Oyster Pie
Brûlée Figs
Meatballs & Polenta
Presa Margarita
Spicy Grilled Okra
Duck Liver Ravioli
Pork & Peas
Bread and Butter
Onion Rings
Fried Des Allemands Catfish Poboy
Pulled Pork Empanada
Fried Oyster Sandwich
Crab Stuffed Pacific Flounder
Duck Jalapeno Poppers
Deconstructed Caesar Salad
Strawberry Crumble
Shrimp Remoulade
Marinated Crab Fingers
Seared Tuna - Italian Artichoke Salad
Charred Octopus (Spanish Wine Dinner)
Louisiana White Shrimp And White Bean Stew
fried catfish sandwich
Seared Grouper
Chocolate Hazelnut Flan
Garlic Shrimp
Duck Gumbo
Chicken Salad
Lemon Olive Oil Cake -- Buttermilk, Local Citrus, Mandarin Sorbet
Beet Salad - Jumbo Lump Crab, Grapefruit, Lavash
Goat Meatballs
Softshell Crab w/lemon grits, arugula pistou
Hummingbird Cake
Vidalia Onion Side
Twice-cooked Chicken
Hazelnut Pudding
Pork Cheeks
Broiled Oysters
Cochon De Leche
Crawfish Croquetas
10 Clove Shrimp
Mangrove Snapper A La Plancha - Sofrito Chutney, Black Valencia Rice (Spanish Wine Dinner)
Stuffed Flounder
Grilled Romaine Salad with House- Made Bacon Buttermilk and Blue Cheese Dressing, Grilled Croutons
Crab And Pork Belly Hot Pot
Shrimp Fritters
Cajun boiled crawfish
Shrimp Spicy Tomato Sauce And Pasta
Leroy's Oyster Stew
White Shrimp
Goat Cheese A La Plancha
Chicken
Filet Mignon
Rabbit Confit W/ Farmer's Pasta
Crawfish Cavatelli
Grilled Octopus Appetizer
Grilled Shrimp Pintxox
Shrimp Risotto
Red Snapper Crudo

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

At Borgne, Private Dining is available for social and corporate events whether in our private dining room or in the restaurant. Our private dining room seats 35 people, while the restaurant, available for buy-outs, seats 250 or 300 for your reception.

Borgne Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.1

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Seafood
New Orleans / Louisiana
Best Restaurants in Central Business District ›

fit for foodies (107)
good for groups (81)
great for lunch (52)
See All
special occasion (50)
hot spot (33)
vibrant bar scene (26)
kid-friendly (20)
neighborhood gem (16)
notable wine list (12)
romantic (8)
great for brunch (8)
late-night find (7)
scenic view (7)
Sort By:
Newest
1337 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

My husband and I decided to go to Borgne ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined 4 days ago

My husband and I decided to go to Borgne because it was in the same hotel where he was attending a Seminar. Everything was decent, although we had to wait a long time for our food. There are so many outstanding restaurants in NOLA and this one was fine....not outstanding.

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

The rabbit sausage special on Wednesday ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

The rabbit sausage special on Wednesday 's is awesome.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The drum topped with crab is outstanding ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

The drum topped with crab is outstanding.

The de-constructed "Caesar" salad is just too good to pass.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was very enjoyable. A bit noisy bu ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Food was very enjoyable. A bit noisy but was also amused by the # of busses of teens unloading to the hotel

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The perfect place to catch dinner before ...

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

The perfect place to catch dinner before a show at Champions Square! Food was incredible, service was perfect and the bar makes a mean cocktail!

Only draw back is that the space is quite noisy...but you kind of expect that with such a popular place.

Highly recommend!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was outstanding , service was the b ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Food was outstanding , service was the best and our server was training another employee too!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

The wife and I stopped by Borgne before ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

The wife and I stopped by Borgne before a concert at Champions Square.

The atmostphere was a little loud, but no overly so. The $5 tapas menu was excellent.

We shared the catfish slammer and the flat bread. After eating the tapas, I only wanted a salad. I loved the grilled salad with shrimp. My wife's gumbo was a little spicy for her tastes, but still very good.

Tags: kid-friendly, great for lunch, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Not what you would expect from an Open T ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Not what you would expect from an Open Table restaurant.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value4

The total experience was very memorable. ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

The total experience was very memorable. The service was timely. The food was outstanding. We are from out of town but will return soon to try other dishes.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Pros Food very fresh Nice decor Good p ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Pros

Food very fresh

Nice decor

Good portions

Cons

Limited menu

Pricey for what you get

Nothing offered for Birthday occasions

(If you have a kids menu, offering something for Birthday is a must)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Great food, excellent service. Small bu ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Great food, excellent service. Small but decent wine list.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Went on a quiet Sunday afternoon, and ca ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Went on a quiet Sunday afternoon, and caught happy hour. Friendly, upbeat server. Turkey necks were worth having again. Good selection of wines.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Our food was delicious. For me, my perso ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Our food was delicious. For me, my personal preference for my order, seafood pasta, I would have liked the oysters cooked a little bit more. Although I love oysters, I don't care for them raw. This will not deferr us from eating at Borgne again.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

The meal was full of unique flavors. T ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

The meal was full of unique flavors. The fusion of cultures into beautiful music in our mouths. The shrimp toast and ducK poppers were awesome example

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Borgne was a selection for a business di ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Borgne was a selection for a business dinner and recommended by the hotel. The food was excellent and so was our waiter. Every item screamed New Orleans and you could tell it was prepared by a REAL chef and not just a cook. I recommended Borgne to people all week long. Wonderful place to eat.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The servers and food was great

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

The servers and food was great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I thought the meal was excellent, had 6 ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

I thought the meal was excellent, had 6 people from out of town, raved about the food. However, the place was a busy but the service was poor. The waitress seemed totally disinterested in serving us. Had to call her over several times to get drink orders, had to ask for bread, 8 people at the table was able to basically beg for one small loaf. Very slow in taking our orders, apps seemed to arrive in reasonable time, but entrees were a bit slow.

Service is part of the meal, we would have given our experience 5 stars but the service held us back and it appears that the wait staff could use some training.

Tags: fit for foodies, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

Would eat here every night if I could!!

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Would eat here every night if I could!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We love Borgne and have dined there many ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

We love Borgne and have dined there many times. The food and service are consistently good. We have celebrated a couple of family birthdays there and also gathered with friends for a casual get together. We are never disappointed!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Happy hour menu was top notch! Really en ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

Happy hour menu was top notch! Really enjoyed the Sangria as well. Chef seems to like spicy flavors which was fabulous!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Delicious appetizers. Great ambiance. At ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Delicious appetizers. Great ambiance. Attentive server. Will definitely be back!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

very good place to eat. our server was ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

very good place to eat. our server was great drinks from bar delicious

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was amazing and service spectacular ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Food was amazing and service spectacular. Great for a date or families.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I liked everything about my dining exper ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

I liked everything about my dining experience . The only negative was that the menu needs to be updated a little.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, late-night find, scenic view, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The restaurant and the food were excelle ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

The restaurant and the food were excellent. We experienced a parking lot problem. We waited almost 90 minutes in line on the 5th floor of the parking garage to exit the garage. The Hyatt knew they had booked some wedding related group in one of their conference rooms the night we dined at Borgne but there were no provisions made for clearing out a group that would obviously be leaving at the same time. Pre-selling parking for the evening as if there were a Saints or Pelicans game would have eliminated the horrific garage back- up. Having all three exit bays opened would have helped. Only two bays were open. If the valet hotel entrance had not been blocked by cars and taxis we would have parked valet. We could not enter there. If someone at the restaurant had alerted us to a potential exit problem we could have made other parking plans. I do not foresee a return visit to Borgne due to the parking fiasco. There are so many other restaurants where parking is available just outside of the restaurant that we need not return to Borgne. The Hyatt must accept at least partial blame for extremely poor planning . Claiming no association with the parking garage is no excuse for their poor planning or lack of coordination on the part of the hotel to avoid the fiasco that we were forced to endure in that miserable parking garage.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Did not live up to the hype.

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Having been recommended by friends and generally well-reviewed, we were hoping for much more from this John Besh seafood spot. Unfortunately, we were underwhelmed. Cocktails were great and the warm bread with fennel seeds served immediately was top notch. So, we looked forward to the starters. Duck poppers, a popular Borgne signature starter, were little more than typical wedding-style passed bacon-wrapped hors d'oeuvres. The Pepper Jelly Turkey Necks were a great value, but lacked pop - a bit under-seasoned, strange for a crab-boiled, pepper-jellied item! Bland grilled octopus marred a delicious black-eyed pea/olive base. Black Drum with tasteless crabmeat was overcooked and sadly overpowered by brown butter and pecans. But for a couple of misses, the highlight of the evening could have been the grilled romaine heart with fried oysters. The oysters were fresh, tangy, and perfectly fried. But the ham chips were bland, the romaine under-grilled, and the garlic/white anchovy dressing revealed one lone anchovy. The check for three exceeded $180.00 with only one drink per person.

Perhaps this was an off night, but for us, all in all, the under-seasoning, uneven cooking, and imperfect ingredients added up to a fair meal, not worth the price tag in a city where fabulous food abounds.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

You cannot go wrong with Borgne...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Absolutely fabulous! Dined with my husband and eleven year old daughter. We have dined at Borgne many times. It has always been a culinary delight. My husband's favorite in the past was the garlic shrimp. It is no longer on the menu. However, we inquired about it specifically with our server. To our surprise, David appeared from the kitchen to discuss that request. To my husband's delight, David made the garlic shrimp just for him and it was even better than the original!! My husband had his own personal chef!! Great experience all around. Thanks David for going the extra mile to make our meal special!!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Another Besh's winner!

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

We've been to 4 Besh's places, and each is unique, with the common elements of excellent food, great service, value, and fun. The drum and stuffed flounder were well-prepared, cooked properly, and tasted great. We also visited Willa Jean the next morning for breakfast, a low-key winner in its own right. We're going to get to each of his places somehow.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went for an anniversary dinner and we ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

We went for an anniversary dinner and we were pleasantly surprised that it was as good for a restaurant in a hotel. But Chef John Besh wouldn't disappoint. We both had excellent fish dishes mine was cooked in a paper bag type preparation. It was very good. And for dessert we had a key lime ice box pie. Also very good. We did make it in time for the end of happy hour so our first 2 glasses of wine were half off!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Favorite Besh restaurant

 
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Menu is very inventive without being too far out there. Went with friends and we couldn't decide on apps so we just ordered 1 of everything and shared. The duck poppers were the best! Ordered frog legs for dinner and also tried a bite of everyone's food and, per usual, Borgne did not disappoint.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Didn't live up to expectations

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

We expected more based on the reputation of it being a John Besh restaurant. It just didn't deliver. We had a bad feeling from the get go when we walked in at 7PM on a Friday evening for our reserved time and saw the restaurant almost empty. We both ordered the black drum fish and found it uninspired and mostly bland. The deconstructed key lime desert failed to redeem the meal as the "filling" was mostly a frothy foam. Our server was inattentive and had an air of disinterest the entire time we were there. His answer to our question of "how's the black drum" was, "if you like drum, it's good". Our check came to over $150 for my wife and I and we both commented about how overpriced it truly was. The best thing I had there was the Pimm's Cup Cocktail I ordered. It was well mixed and balanced and served in a nice stainless steel mug. I wish we had stuck to drinks and gone elsewhere to dine. By contrast, we had dined earlier in the week at Luke, another Besh restaurant. Though we only had lunch, it was very good and we left fully satisfied and ready for a return visit. Too bad Borgne didn't carry over the Besh magic we had experienced at Luke.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

The duck poppers and the black drum are ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 1, 2016

The duck poppers and the black drum are to die for!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our server Will was very helpful and kno ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

Our server Will was very helpful and knowledgeable about the menu! He helped us with our decisions and was very friendly ! We ate at 3 Besh restaurants andthis was our best experience!❤️

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Parking a problem

 
 (Cancún)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

We all had a wonderful time and enjoyed the food...then we went to retrieve our cars...paying $10 plus tip to park for the privilege of eating at Borgne will have us thinking twice about going again.....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Nice surprise! Family of 5 on a holiday ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Nice surprise! Family of 5 on a holiday Saturday in New Orleans the options were thin. Took a shot on Borgne based on John Besh's other restaurants. (Had we not gone to his other hotel based locations, we wouldn't have considered a Hyatt restaurant in NOLA.). We loved it. Crawfish and dumplings, flank steak, pasta w shrimp and salads were all very good. The kids loved the look and feel of the place. It was a little loud with big groups but it felt like a bustling city restaurant should. We will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fish in a bag

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Fish in a bag of the daily catch is always great! Amberjack was slightly over cooked but was still slightly moist. Onions were very sweet and cherry tomatoes very good

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Borgne was okay but not one of those res ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on May 23, 2016

Borgne was okay but not one of those restaurants I would consider going back to in New Orleans. Clean environment, hard plastic chairs. Disappointing wine list. Food quality good - the oysters on the half shell were the best. The other appetizers and dinner meals were average.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

So Campy!

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Once again John Besh has a hit! Borgne is a perfect spot for out of town guests to experience exceptional food & service. It never disappoints!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

If you go to Borgne, you must try the Em ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

If you go to Borgne, you must try the Empanadas....they were AMAZING! Service was excellent. I was a little surprised that this restaurant was inside a hotel, but the decor and ambiance was a fit. I wouldn't come here on a romantic date, but for a nice casual dinner with friends, it was perfect.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

food mixed, terrible accoustics

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

One dish was great trout with butter and pecan. The whole stuffed flounder was over cooked and dried out. Stuffing was just laid on top of fish. Crawfish bisque had three tiny crawfish and no stuffed head. Way overpriced and disappointment.

Would not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.