About Borgne

601 Loyola
New Orleans, LA 70113
View Larger Map

"When people ask where in New Orleans to go for great local seafood,
I want the answer to be Borgne." - Brian Landry, Executive Chef




Chefs John Besh and Brian Landry grew up fishing on Lake Borgne, the epicenter of coastal cuisine in Louisiana.
Their shared passion for Louisiana seafood brought them together to create Borgne, a celebration of coastal Louisiana with a touch of Isleño influence. Borgne will be a gathering place for locals and visitors alike, a CBD lunch spot, a quick bite before the game and a casual setting for a delicious dinner with friends.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Southern

Hours of Operation:
Sunday-Thursday 11 am - 10 pm
Friday-Saturday 11 am - 11 pm

Cross Street:
Between Poydras and Girod

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(504) 613-3860

Website:
http://www.borgnerestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Validated Valet parking with the Hyatt for a $10 flat rate fee

Executive Chef:
Chef Brian Landry

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Borgne
Duck Poppers - Borgne
Black Drum à la Plancha - Borgne
Fried Chicken with Homemade Pepper Jelly - Borgne
Shrimp Toast - Borgne
Louisiana Shrimp Dumplings With Pork Belly - Borgne
Sun Belt Fried Chicken Special - Borgne
Peanut Butter Semifreddo - Borgne
Seared Divers Scallops - Borgne
Fried Pork Chop - Borgne
Salad With Fried Oysters - Borgne
Lake Waters - Borgne
Mahi In A Bag - Borgne
Gumbo - Borgne
Turkey Necks - Borgne
Sangria - Borgne
Rosemary French Bread - Borgne
Raising Cane - Borgne
Margarita - Borgne
Key Lime Dessert  - Borgne
Patatas Bravas - Borgne
Oyster Spaghetti - Borgne
raw oysters - Borgne
Local Greens Salad - Borgne
Turtle Soup - Borgne
Brussels Sprouts - Borgne
Chocolate Hazelnut Pudding - Borgne
Warm Apple Cake - Borgne
Duck Poppers With Jalapeno And Bacon - Borgne
Creamy Canary Island Goat Cheese À La Plancha, Chorizo And Pumpkin Marmalade - Borgne
Adobo Marinated Hanger Steak - Borgne
Blackened Swordfish - Borgne
Fish In A Bag - Borgne
Fried Eggplant Whipped Mahon Cheese - Borgne
Twice Cooked Chicken Clemenceau - Borgne
Whole Seafood Stuffed Flounder - Borgne
Rum and Honey - Borgne
Roast Pork Po' Boy - Borgne
Fried P&J Oysters Amandine Salad - Borgne
Brûlée Figs - Borgne
Meatballs & Polenta - Borgne
Presa Margarita - Borgne
Spicy Grilled Okra - Borgne
Duck Liver Ravioli - Borgne
Pork & Peas - Borgne
Bread and Butter - Borgne
Onion Rings - Borgne
Fried Des Allemands Catfish Poboy - Borgne
Pulled Pork Empanada - Borgne
Fried Oyster Sandwich - Borgne
Crab Stuffed Pacific Flounder - Borgne
Duck Jalapeno Poppers - Borgne
Deconstructed Caesar Salad - Borgne
Strawberry Crumble - Borgne
Shrimp Remoulade - Borgne
Marinated Crab Fingers - Borgne
Seared Tuna - Italian Artichoke Salad - Borgne
Charred Octopus (Spanish Wine Dinner) - Borgne
Louisiana White Shrimp And White Bean Stew  - Borgne
fried catfish sandwich - Borgne
Seared Grouper - Borgne
Chocolate Hazelnut Flan - Borgne
Garlic Shrimp - Borgne
Duck Gumbo - Borgne
Broiled Louisiana Oystets With Spicy Garlic Butter - Borgne
Lemon Olive Oil Cake -- Buttermilk, Local Citrus, Mandarin Sorbet - Borgne
Goat Meatballs - Borgne
Chicken Salad - Borgne
Beet Salad - Jumbo Lump Crab, Grapefruit, Lavash - Borgne
Softshell Crab w/lemon grits, arugula pistou - Borgne
Hummingbird Cake - Borgne
Pork Empanadas - Borgne
Vidalia Onion Side - Borgne
Oyster Pie - Borgne
Roasted Onions With Blue Cheese - Borgne
Grilled Octopus - Borgne
Twice-cooked Chicken - Borgne
Hazelnut Pudding - Borgne
Broiled Oysters - Borgne
Cochon De Leche - Borgne
Pork Cheeks - Borgne
Crawfish Croquetas - Borgne
10 Clove Shrimp - Borgne
Mangrove Snapper A La Plancha - Sofrito Chutney, Black Valencia Rice (Spanish Wine Dinner) - Borgne
Stuffed Flounder - Borgne
Crab And Pork Belly Hot Pot - Borgne
Grilled Romaine Salad with House- Made Bacon Buttermilk and Blue Cheese Dressing, Grilled Croutons  - Borgne
Shrimp Fritters - Borgne
Cajun boiled crawfish - Borgne
Shrimp Spicy Tomato Sauce And Pasta - Borgne
Leroy's Oyster Stew - Borgne
Goat Cheese A La Plancha - Borgne
Chicken - Borgne
Filet Mignon - Borgne
White Shrimp - Borgne
Crawfish Cavatelli - Borgne
Rabbit Confit W/ Farmer's Pasta - Borgne
Grilled Shrimp Pintxox - Borgne
Grilled Octopus Appetizer - Borgne
Shrimp Risotto - Borgne

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

At Borgne, Private Dining is available for social and corporate events whether in our private dining room or in the restaurant. Our private dining room seats 35 people, while the restaurant, available for buy-outs, seats 250 or 300 for your reception.

Borgne Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.0

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Seafood
New Orleans / Louisiana
Seafood
New Orleans
Best Restaurants in Central Business District ›

Fit for Foodies (50)
Good for Groups (41)
Special Occasion (36)
See All
Great for Lunch (32)
Vibrant Bar Scene (21)
Hot Spot (16)
Creative Cuisine (16)
Kid-friendly (15)
Local Ingredients (14)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Good for a Date (11)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Happy Hour (9)
Modern Decor (9)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Scenic View (7)
Good for Anniversaries (7)
Notable Wine List (7)
Bar Seating (6)
Great for Brunch (6)
Romantic (6)
Business Meals (5)
Fun (5)
People Watching (5)
Tapas (4)
Casual (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Outstanding Value (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Seasonal (2)
Spicy (2)
Great Beer (2)
Authentic (2)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Cozy (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1372 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We had a group of 9 and celebrated a co- ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined 4 days ago

We had a group of 9 and celebrated a co-worker's birthday at Borgne. The hostess and waitstaff were wonderful! We had a fantastic meal with perfect menu choices for everyone in our group. Our waiter, Michael, was great. We will definitely be back!! Thanks!!

Tags: People Watching, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Excellent service. Duck poppers were gr ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined 6 days ago

Excellent service. Duck poppers were great. Gumbo was fantastic. Had the peanut butter chocolate semifreddo dessert - yum!

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As indicated above, the food and service ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined 6 days ago

As indicated above, the food and service was outstanding, but it was extremely loud for us to fully enjoy our meal.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

We came for happy hour prior to the Beyo ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined 6 days ago

We came for happy hour prior to the Beyonce Concert. I called to let them know we would be late for a 4:30 reservation and we were met with kindness. The happy hour menu had 7 appetizers for $5 each and $7 white sangria carafes. Everything we tried was amazing and we left very full for a decent price.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Hot Spot, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, People Watching, Happy Hour, Modern Decor, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Daughters birthday. Service and food we ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined 6 days ago

Daughters birthday. Service and food were great. Limited selection but excellent. Happy hour $5 menu an awesome deal! Entrees nice size and taste great.

Tags: Tapas, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Great Beer, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Freaking Fenomenal Food. Fantastic. Fabu ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on September 24, 2016

Freaking Fenomenal Food. Fantastic. Fabulous. First Rate. Service was wonderful, no complaints EXCEPT.....it was a little noisy. However, for that wonderful meal again, I would dine in a jet engine.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

The food at this location was quite good ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 19, 2016

The food at this location was quite good. Duck poppers were awesome, a local greens pear salad, a gorgeous ceviche and slow roasted empanadas were our starters.

To finish out lunch, we had a bowl of their terrific Duck and Andouille Gumbo and a Roast Beef Poboy. Their Poboy was unfortunately a bit unimpressive considering it's New Orleans. Other than that - all the other food was very impressive.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

The food was great, but our waiter was t ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

The food was great, but our waiter was totally off. We ordered and waited forever for drinks. Which were brought out after our oysters. One drink was missing. These were all brought out what appeared to be a manager. The waiter showed up much later and started setting up the table for oysters. We told him that we had already gotten them. The table was even cleared away by the time he finally showed back up. This dude was completely clueless. Since we had been there before, we knew we should have received bread and butter. Which is excellent at this place. So once our entrees showed up, I had to ask for some since it had never showed. Never did get a refill on my tea. So overall, the food tasted great. The service on the otherhand was just downright laughable.

Tags: Modern Decor, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

Very pricey. Personnel were friendly but ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Very pricey. Personnel were friendly but overpriced and food was so so

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

Service was a little slow but the place ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Service was a little slow but the place was packed! Festival Lemonade cocktail was fantastic. Shrimp Toast app is really great. Nice place to go before an event at the arena or the dome as it is within walking distance.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Happy hour before a concert was fabulous ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Happy hour before a concert was fabulous. Catfish sliders were very tasty.

Tags: Casual, Happy Hour, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

So much fun! Food was divine & very cre ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

So much fun! Food was divine & very creative! Ambiance was delightful (especially loved the columns clad in oyster shells & hard wire!) Really enjoyed the organic feel like the menu on the clipboard & the bread served in a paper bag! The carafe of homemade Sangria was especially addictive! The waiter was pleasant & helpful & attentive! Perfect evening!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place for pre Smoothie King event! ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Great place for pre Smoothie King event! Best service and great food!

Tags: Tapas, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Understand farm to table concept, but th ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Understand farm to table concept, but the choices were very few. Along with the high price of only a protein . Then having to order a veg and a starch separate at that price point was not a good thing. We ordered a side of broccoli and told the waitress please cook soft because that is the only way we could eat it. So it came out el dente and we informed waitress it needed to be soft like we told her when we ordered it. She apologized and offered to send out another order. We excepted, and I even showed her what I meant by trying to insert my fork into the broccoli that didn't happen. Told her when the fork goes in without restriction, that is the way it needed to be cooked. Well second order came out more el dente than the first. So she went back into kitchen to talk with cooks and came out and told us the is the only way to prepare fresh farm to table broccoli. And offer not to charge us for food we couldn't eat. Naturally we excepted.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Went for the lunch special which happene ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

Went for the lunch special which happened to be the Fried Chicken. So delicious and a great price!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Disabled Access, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Everything was great. The best soft shel ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

Everything was great. The best soft shell crab in town

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

I have been there many times and this ti ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

I have been there many times and this time everything was as good as before.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Modern Decor, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

The Turkey Neck appetizer is a must try. ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

The Turkey Neck appetizer is a must try. Great cocktails and fantastic dishes throughout the menu. Service is good and attentive.

Tags: Modern Decor, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Happy Hour, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

I didn't realize that it was in a hotel

vip
 (Charleston)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

I didn't realize that it was in a hotel

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Got the Turkey necks and they were fanta ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Got the Turkey necks and they were fantastic!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Two of the girls were celebrating birthd ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Two of the girls were celebrating birthdays and they brought out three different desserts for the table to share - Gratis! Excellent food and impeccable service.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time dining at Borgne, and our par ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

First time dining at Borgne, and our party of four found all of our selections to be creative, but not fussy. Our server was warm and casual in demeanor, while appropriately attentive and professional. We were glad that in a city of so many restaurants, we chose Borgne.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Our favorite on the trip. Inside a hote ...

vip
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Our favorite on the trip. Inside a hotel, this place is a big time keeper. Duck poppers and BBQ shrimp poboy! The best.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My family and I was disappointed with th ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

My family and I was disappointed with the Borgne restaurant. In the past we have enjoyed Besh restaurants; August, Luke, cafe at the D-Day museum. However the food was not worthy and the prices were high: broiled oysters too much cheese, soft shell crab no flavor, fried chicken small portion and mushy crust; not crispy. The peanut butter bar desert was the best dish on the menu. Seems like they used the Besh name but not the quality. Will not recommend or return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

I had high expectations and they were ex ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

I had high expectations and they were exceeded. The appetizer, turkey necks, was surprisingly good. The entree, black drum with brown butter, pecans, and lump crab meat, was outstanding and even had a little heat. The dessert, a peanut butter semifreddo, also was outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a wonderful meal at Borgne--the f ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

We had a wonderful meal at Borgne--the food, particularly the salad and soup, were delicious new spins on classic fare. The golden gazpacho, made with yellow bell peppers and tomatoes and chunks of lump crabmeat, had a smooth, almost creamy texture, and the flavor was intense and bright. The salad of grilled peaches on greens with a tangy vinaigrette and soft, almost melted burrata was divine! Only drawback for us was that, as a restaurant to celebrate a wedding anniversary, it's not exactly conducive to quiet, romantic conversation--but we knew that going in, and the great food and service made up for it. We had been given a gift card for the occasion, and next time we visit Borgne it will be to celebrate the food, not an anniversary!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Overall excellent food. Flounder with se ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Overall excellent food. Flounder with seafood stuffing better than most as it was not overwhelmed by bread.

Grilled Caesar was different, but have had better.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Service and atmosphere was great. The c ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Service and atmosphere was great. The charbroiled oysters and the blackened drum were delicious.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Awesome wait staff and even better food. ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Awesome wait staff and even better food. This place is great!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The dining room tables are too small for ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

The dining room tables are too small for four guests.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Fantastic food, restaurant was packed du ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Fantastic food, restaurant was packed due to concert nearby and food and service was still exceptional.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Food was very disappointing. Fish was ra ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Food was very disappointing. Fish was raw. I could not cut it with a knife, literally. BBQ shrimp was very disappointing and I know what bbq shrimp is.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

The food was delicious and very fresh. ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

The food was delicious and very fresh. It is an interesting menu but definitely Creole/New Orleans style. Parking was very easy as they valet you for free.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good value during happy hour. Very good ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Good value during happy hour. Very good food and dessert, and attentive, knowledgeable and friendly service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

My husband and I decided to go to Borgne ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

My husband and I decided to go to Borgne because it was in the same hotel where he was attending a Seminar. Everything was decent, although we had to wait a long time for our food. There are so many outstanding restaurants in NOLA and this one was fine....not outstanding.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

The rabbit sausage special on Wednesday ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

The rabbit sausage special on Wednesday 's is awesome.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The drum topped with crab is outstanding ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

The drum topped with crab is outstanding.

The de-constructed "Caesar" salad is just too good to pass.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was very enjoyable. A bit noisy bu ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Food was very enjoyable. A bit noisy but was also amused by the # of busses of teens unloading to the hotel

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The perfect place to catch dinner before ...

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

The perfect place to catch dinner before a show at Champions Square! Food was incredible, service was perfect and the bar makes a mean cocktail!

Only draw back is that the space is quite noisy...but you kind of expect that with such a popular place.

Highly recommend!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was outstanding , service was the b ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Food was outstanding , service was the best and our server was training another employee too!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.