About Borgne

601 Loyola
New Orleans, LA 70113
View Larger Map

"When people ask where in New Orleans to go for great local seafood,
I want the answer to be Borgne." - Brian Landry, Executive Chef




Chefs John Besh and Brian Landry grew up fishing on Lake Borgne, the epicenter of coastal cuisine in Louisiana.
Their shared passion for Louisiana seafood brought them together to create Borgne, a celebration of coastal Louisiana with a touch of Isleño influence. Borgne will be a gathering place for locals and visitors alike, a CBD lunch spot, a quick bite before the game and a casual setting for a delicious dinner with friends.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Southern

Hours of Operation:
Sunday-Thursday 11 am - 10 pm
Friday-Saturday 11 am - 11 pm

Cross Street:
Between Poydras and Girod

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(504) 613-3860

Website:
http://www.borgnerestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Validated Valet parking with the Hyatt for a $10 flat rate fee

Public Transit:
On the soon to be completed Loyola Street Streetcar Line

Executive Chef:
Chef Brian Landry

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

At Borgne, Private Dining is available for social and corporate events whether in our private dining room or in the restaurant. Our private dining room seats 35 people, while the restaurant, available for buy-outs, seats 250 or 300 for your reception.

Borgne Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Seafood
New Orleans / Louisiana
Best Restaurants in Central Business District ›

fit for foodies (122)
good for groups (97)
great for lunch (60)
See All
special occasion (50)
hot spot (37)
vibrant bar scene (34)
neighborhood gem (24)
kid-friendly (17)
notable wine list (16)
great for brunch (14)
romantic (11)
late-night find (11)
scenic view (5)
 (3)
 (3)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1303 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience4
service5

Our server Will was very helpful and kno ...

vip
Dined 21 hours ago

Our server Will was very helpful and knowledgeable about the menu! He helped us with our decisions and was very friendly ! We ate at 3 Besh restaurants andthis was our best experience!❤️

food5
ambience5
service5

Nice surprise! Family of 5 on a holiday ...

Dined 3 days ago

Nice surprise! Family of 5 on a holiday Saturday in New Orleans the options were thin. Took a shot on Borgne based on John Besh's other restaurants. (Had we not gone to his other hotel based locations, we wouldn't have considered a Hyatt restaurant in NOLA.). We loved it. Crawfish and dumplings, flank steak, pasta w shrimp and salads were all very good. The kids loved the look and feel of the place. It was a little loud with big groups but it felt like a bustling city restaurant should. We will be back.

food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Fish in a bag

Dined 4 days ago

Fish in a bag of the daily catch is always great! Amberjack was slightly over cooked but was still slightly moist. Onions were very sweet and cherry tomatoes very good

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Borgne was okay but not one of those res ...

Dined on May 23, 2016

Borgne was okay but not one of those restaurants I would consider going back to in New Orleans. Clean environment, hard plastic chairs. Disappointing wine list. Food quality good - the oysters on the half shell were the best. The other appetizers and dinner meals were average.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

So Campy!

Dined on May 21, 2016

Once again John Besh has a hit! Borgne is a perfect spot for out of town guests to experience exceptional food & service. It never disappoints!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

If you go to Borgne, you must try the Em ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

If you go to Borgne, you must try the Empanadas....they were AMAZING! Service was excellent. I was a little surprised that this restaurant was inside a hotel, but the decor and ambiance was a fit. I wouldn't come here on a romantic date, but for a nice casual dinner with friends, it was perfect.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

food mixed, terrible accoustics

Dined on May 21, 2016

One dish was great trout with butter and pecan. The whole stuffed flounder was over cooked and dried out. Stuffing was just laid on top of fish. Crawfish bisque had three tiny crawfish and no stuffed head. Way overpriced and disappointment. Would not return.

food1
ambience3
service4
value2

Our server was very personable, welcomin ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Our server was very personable, welcoming and helpful, but our food was disappointing. And you go to a Besh restaurant for the food. We started with the Duck Poppers - a rarity for us to order something like this. Turned out to be the best dish of the night! Delicious! But hard to go wrong when bacon is involved! We shared the Grilled Octopus, as well - a typical favorite when we find it on a menu. Sadly, this octopus was overdone and chewy...such a shame! Our waiter told us they prepare it sous vide so it is especially tender. Not our experience, and we would not order it again. We also ordered Fish in a Bag (Amber Jack in parchment), which we hoped would be tender and juicy since all the flavors and juices are trapped in the bag...again, overcooked and dry. Literally we had to trim large pieces of hard fish off both ends - not enjoyable to eat. So, for this visit, two of three were misses. Not a great showing. To Borgne's credit, though, friends of ours dined the evening before. They had oysters, which they felt were the fattest, juiciest, briniest, most delicious oysters in all of New Orleans. So, perhaps stick with the oysters. Wish the news could be better.

food2
ambience3
service3

Wasn't impressed. Food was over cooked ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

Wasn't impressed. Food was over cooked.

food4
ambience3
service4

I felt like I was in a very large cafete ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

I felt like I was in a very large cafeteria, almost institutional. My wife's brown butter with pecans drum fish was very good. My crawfish etouffe with dumplings was intriguing and delicious. We had a nicely paired wine and a server who warmed up as our dining continued. Our duck and andouille sausage gumbo was very flavorful. And the complimenting sauces with our raw oysters were some of the very best. I just can't get over the cafeteria feeling.

food5
ambience3
service5

Food was great,. Place was loud

Dined on May 18, 2016

Food was great,. Place was loud

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

John Besh never disappoints

Dined on May 15, 2016

We love Lukes, so decided to check out Borgne. Our server Joe was not only knowledgeable but really interactive and fun. The fish was superbly prepared and served. Great fun!

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Festive and delicious

Dined on May 15, 2016

Had a wonderful meal with my extended family (a party of 7) to celebrate my daughter's graduation. The decor and buzz of so many diners makes for a festive atmosphere. We had 3 generations present and all thoroughly enjoyed their meals, including the whole scrumptious stuffed flounder (serves 2 easily,) fish in a bag (not a pretty presentation but certainly tasty) the pasta with shrimp (smelled amazing and so good my son wouldn't part with a single bite,) local drum and the most succulent fried chicken ever. My favorite was actually a first course salad with shrimp and fresh asparagus and snap peas; a must try. Service was very professional and also friendly and our only complaint was that the noise level is high and thus impossible for us to hear one another from opposite ends of the table, especially since we were a larger group. I'll return but perhaps with a smaller group.

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

You cannot find a better plate of food i ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

You cannot find a better plate of food in the world than at any John Besh restaurant, and Borgne is one of his best. The banana creme pie dessert is superb.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

Service was poor-waiter had no energy an ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Service was poor-waiter had no energy and was very slow and forgetful. Sandwiches were good and filling. Shrimp and asparagus salad(entree salad) was very small with only 2 shrimps. French fries were cold. Convenient to the SuperDome after Graduation.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Tulane graduation celebration

Dined on May 14, 2016

Borgne was the perfect venue for our family luncheon after Tulane's graduation ceremony at the Superdome. Service was efficient and friendly. Food was excellent. Heartily recommended!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best Meal this year!!!

Dined on May 14, 2016

We ordered half the menu- and everything was awesome :) The shrimp toast is a must. The food was fresh and unique. The service was great. Over all an amazing experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

try the duck poppers. Sounds weird but r ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

try the duck poppers. Sounds weird but really good. Ceviche is fresh and tasty but not really special. Gumbo was delicious.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent service, food was delicious, t ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

Excellent service, food was delicious, try the shrimp toast, unique and awesome.

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Overall, our experience was great. It to ...

vip
Dined on May 13, 2016

Overall, our experience was great. It took a while to be seated even with a reservation. There was also extended periods of time between receiving our drinks, appetizers and entrées.

Tags: special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent dinner, great dining experienc ...

Dined on May 9, 2016

Excellent dinner, great dining experience

food4
ambience5
service5

The fish in a bag and the crawfish and d ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

The fish in a bag and the crawfish and dumplings were excellent. The previous meal bread seemed a bit overcooked, but, overall it was an excellent experience.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great Mother's Day Celebration

Dined on May 8, 2016

Gathered 3 generations to celebrate mother's day. Had the same waiter that served us for birthdays - very friendly and provided lots of attention to us. Menu included many gluten free options so everyone was covered - appetizers of turkey necks and the duck poppers were both great. Nothing but great comments from all on their entrees including chicken, drum, and mahi in the bag. I see I failed to mention the drinks - a very talented bar staff provided drinks just the way you like them. Desserts were also good. We will be back!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Overpriced, salty. Not worth the hype

Dined on May 8, 2016

Overpriced food too salty. Was expecting more from a Beth restaurant.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome meal and service

Dined on May 8, 2016

I would definitely recommend this to others. My next visit to town will include dinner here. The oysters were phenomenal. The fried chicken was amazing.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

The favorite's... Grilled Romaine Salad, ...

Dined on May 6, 2016

The favorite's... Grilled Romaine Salad, fantastic, Daily catch of the day in a bag, unbelievable flavors, and an absolute bragging right, the key lime and I think rum ice cream. Deconstructed key lime pie with a perfect pairing of ice cream. Only dislike... I had the drum fish (I think that was the fish, anyway it had pecans on it, way too many of the nuts on top and seriously lacked acid and flavor for my taste. That was the only item that was not my liking. Wine list is wonderful. Can't go wrong with this selecting this restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, late-night find
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Great seafood restaurant

Dined on May 3, 2016

Had a great time. Came here with a large group and they handled it like pros which you come to expect from a John Besh restaurant. Excellent from start to finish. We all had fish entrees but the appetizers were great as well. Highly recommend the duck poppers and smoked turkey necks. Dessert was also wonderful.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Beautiful Decor begins dining pleasure

vip
Dined on May 2, 2016

From the chalk art drawings to the wooden wave walls with mounted fish, this restaurant starts our dining experience with an artful feast. The menu is presented on a clipboard with $10 daily lunch specials. The red beans and rice/pork chop lunch was very delicious in its iron skillet. My shrimp asparagus salad was light and enjoyable. And my companions shimp poboy was huge and tasty. We noted that the fish in a bag was very popular at lunch time. It's definitely worth a repeat visit.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

2nd time too the restaurant, everything wonderful

Dined on May 2, 2016

Second time at the restaurant, everything wonderful except for the deserts. We ordered 3 of the deserts and none of them Wowed us. That part of the meal need to be improved.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food3
ambience4
service5
value5

Reservation

Dined on May 2, 2016

Our reservation was for 915pm. We arrived at that time....our table was not ready until 10! Service with Stephanie was great!

Tags: good for groups, late-night find, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Outstanding!

Dined on May 2, 2016

Outstanding meal from start to finish. The bread - served in a brown paper bag - was enhanced by the caraway seeds on top. The delicious green salad with manchego cheese, pears and hazelnuts was large enough for my companion and I to share. Both the fish in a bag and hanger steak were excellent . The wine list was quite comprehensive and Don our waiter was very attentive. The atmosphere is somewhat sterile, but the space is large enough that we did not feel crowded.

Tags: fit for foodies
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

32.00 black drum

Dined on May 1, 2016

The chilled lemon fish and bbq pork empanadas were really good. My wife ordered the mahi cooked in a bag on a bed of fennel. The fennel over powered the fish. Licorice and fish isn't a good mix. I ordered the black drum sautéed in butter with pecans and lump crabmeat. Now I'm from Galveston and fish for a living so I knew going in what the black drum was and thought 32.00 was crazy high but maybe they did some magic. Nope, just drum with pecans and about a tablespoon of crab sprinkled on top. We split a side of grilled baby carrots. They were really good too. No desert. Our waiter was fair at best. Sat us down, took our drink orders(iced tea) and appetizers. Took our meal order, didn't ask about salads or sides. I realized after the fact that we didn't order a side and called him back. Just had a whatever attitude. The restaurant is in the lobby of the Wyndham hotel and was very noisy. This was the first John Besh restaurant we've been to. We've enjoyed all of Emerils places in Nola, commanders palace, Paul prudhommes place. We were really disappointed with this experience. I have 3 of his cookbooks and really expected more.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent!

Dined on April 29, 2016

They created a vegan meal for me that I will crave!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

High quality

Dined on April 27, 2016

The food was well prepared and delicious. The black drum with crabmeat and pecans was especially good. There are many restaurants in New Orleans with similar food, so I felt the price was a bit higher than these others.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We had a lovely lunch while staying in t ...

vip
Dined on April 25, 2016

We had a lovely lunch while staying in the hotel. Impressed with servers knowledge of menu options and wine. We had crawfish bisque with jalapeño hush puppies. Washed down with wonderful rose. Just perfect.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Borgne to Win

Dined on April 25, 2016

My wife and I took our first trip to New Orleans, driving in from Houston. After a long day on the road and several hours of walking the French Quarter, we showed up at Borgne hungry and thirsty. We were shown to a great window table near the front of the restaurant, and our server, Steph, showed up immediately and gave us five star treatment all evening. She was knowledgeable about the wine and the food, and recommended several dishes to try, including the incredible fried turkey necks. We thoroughly enjoyed our bottle of Albarino that paired perfectly with the oysters, scallops and fish we ordered. The quality of the food was superb, with just the right balance of seasonings and spices. Our dinner was so memorable that we went back a week later when we were passing back through New Orleans. Love John Besh's restaurants!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious!

Dined on April 24, 2016

I have eaten at Bourgne 4 times now. Every time the food has been delicious and the staff have been top notch. I love to eat at Bourgne and look forward to eating there each time I travel to NOLA. My favorite is the Black Drum with brown butter, pecans and crabmeat and the Pear salad is amazing! I think I just about licked my plate clean :)

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

Good kitchen/poor dining ambience

Dined on April 17, 2016

Off the lobby of the Hyatt Regency the glass wall provides an unobstructed view of the drive and valet parking service. With its high ceilings, tile floors, utilitarian tables and chairs and Spartan décor I felt like I was dining in a school cafeteria. Add to that a wait staff that is in need of some pointers in appropriate dress (baggy, worn blue jeans and wrinkled shirts) and grooming (won't even go there) and the overall ambiance of Borgne is not appealing. The food was very good although the portions matched the décor - Spartan. I would book a business dinner here but would not recommend it for a couple's special night out or to get together with friends. Many other great places to dine in New Orleans that are much more inviting.

food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Good

Dined on April 16, 2016

Was interesting. Good, not amazing but good. Would definitely go again!

food4
ambience3
service4

Nice place with good selection of seafoo ...

Dined on April 16, 2016

Nice place with good selection of seafood items.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.