About Bonterra

1829 Cleveland Avenue
Charlotte, NC 28203
View Larger Map

Bonterra is located in a renovated 100 year old church in the historic Southern District of Charlotte. Sommelier & Owner John Duncan has created a stunning array of 200 wines by-the-glass and an additional 300 selections from the cellar which comprises one of the largest wine lists in Charlotte. Featured in the November 15, 2000 issue of Wine Spectator Magazine as one of the New Wave Wine Bars in America. Winner of the prestigious AAA Four-Dimond Award and DiRoNA Award of Excellence. Complimenting John's selection of wines are the menu offerings of Executive Chef Blake Hartwick. Chef Hartwick's elegant approach to cooking shows nightly in his diverse menu of fresh seafood, Midwestern lamb, oven roasted filet mignon and the signature fried lobster tail.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Wine Bar, Contemporary Southern

Hours of Operation:
Open for Dinner

Monday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Friday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 11:00pm

Wine Bar open nightly @ 4:30pm

Cross Street:
South Blvd.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(704) 333-9463

Website:
http://www.bonterradining.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet

Public Transit:
Light Rail at West Blvd. Station

Executive Chef:
Blake Hartwick

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
Rehersal Dinners, Wedding Receptions, Corporate Meetings for up to 175 Guest

Restaurant Photos

Bonterra
Bonterra
Bonterra
Bonterra
Bonterra
Bonterra
Bonterra
Bonterra
Bonterra
Bonterra
Bonterra
Bonterra
Bonterra
Bonterra
Bonterra
Bonterra
Bonterra
fresh bread
Sliced Roast Lamb Loin
charcuterie
Roasted Beef Tenderloin
Jds Deep Fried Lobster
Pate Du Maison
Salmon
Caesar
Berkshire Roasted Pork Loin
Beet Salad
Roasted Game Hen !!
Arugula With Dried Tomatoes
Mount Veeder Cabernet Sauvignon
Conumdrum White Wine
Mussels in White Wine Sauce
Lump Crab Cake
Carrot Cake
Crispy Duck Breast
Fried Lobster Tail
Scallops
Caramel Pecan Praline Cheesecake

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Daily 5:00PM - 10:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Bonterra can accommodate a variety of parties, weddings, family reunions, social outings or your next corporate event for up to 175 guests.

Bonterra Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.4

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
Charlotte
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Charlotte
Notable Wine List
Charlotte
1 More
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Charlotte

notable wine list (37)
special occasion (32)
neighborhood gem (28)
See All
fit for foodies (27)
romantic (23)
good for groups (20)
late-night find (3)
hot spot (3)
vibrant bar scene (3)
great for outdoor dining (3)
great for brunch (2)
great for lunch (2)
kid-friendly (2)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1072 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Had a great time here during Charlotte r ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined 2 days ago

Had a great time here during Charlotte restaurant week. The food was delicious, and our server, Joel, was awesome! I'll definitely be returning to see the full menu soon. There's about 40 wines by the glass that I still need to try!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Everything about our experience was exce ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined 3 days ago

Everything about our experience was exceptional! The food choices and preparation/presentation were phenomenal! Service was absolutely impeccable and the atmosphere was very nice. We have been to Bonterra's many times over the years and we always continue to go back because we know we will get the same exceptional experience every time we go.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, great service, great atmosph ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined 5 days ago

Great food, great service, great atmosphere. Will be back for sure.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our waiter did not know anything about t ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined 6 days ago

Our waiter did not know anything about their wine list. He forgot to bring a steak knife for my steak and bread. It was restaurant week and busy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3

We checked out Bonterra for Charlotte re ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined 6 days ago

We checked out Bonterra for Charlotte restaurant week...The positives: food was good and I would dine here again. The negatives: Waitress was ok but nothing stellar, we waited WAY too long to get a drink (and another round) and she seemed clueless. We were also seated upstairs in a tiny room which felt like we were sitting in a church attic. Oh, and the bread? I prob shouldn't judge a restaurant on the bread but it is the first impression after all. It may have been rye bread from the local HT.

C'mon Bonterra, you can do better.

Tags: notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

Ok. So we came here during Charlotte res ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined 6 days ago

Ok. So we came here during Charlotte restaurant week which may mean that they are just mass producing entrees to serve the masses. That being said, they did not live up to what I would have expected for a restaurant at this price point. First of all, when we arrived it was very obvious that the hostess had given our table to someone else ("Oh no what did I do? Where should we have them sit?" kind of gave that away). Secondly, they had a "Special Occasion" section when filling out the reservation. I let them know ahead of time that we were coming to celebrate my husband's 40th birthday. No one mentioned this the entire evening. So that alone to me was a complete customer service fail in my opinion. Appetizers were so-so. My husband enjoyed his salad and I had a shrimp dish that was also to include lump crabmeat. Having bought and worked with lump crabmeat a number of times, what little-to-no crabmeat they had in my dish was the cheapest grade crab you can purchase. We both had the filet for our entree. They had steak knives on the table for us but you literally had to saw through the meat to eat it. Again, I'm wondering if this was a byproduct of restaurant week. Our server Ashely was very nice and helpful, and our peanut butter chocolate mouse cake was tasty. Setting was very pretty, but sad to say we will not be back for a second visit. Too many other really good restaurants in Charlotte to make this worth our time and money again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Went for restaurant week with a party of ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined 6 days ago

Went for restaurant week with a party of 12. Great seating in the wine cellar....great food.....amazing waiter.

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The staff were accomodating and friendly ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined 6 days ago

The staff were accomodating and friendly. The food was average.

Tags: kid-friendly, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

We visited during Restaurant Week and it ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined 6 days ago

We visited during Restaurant Week and it was a lovely experience. The servers were attentive and pleasant, food was served at a good pace and the food was delicious. We tried the Raspberry Moscow Mules which were very good. The filet was perfect and everything was well-seasoned. Desserts were good and all the servings were just enough to not overstuff you.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Excellent in all areas Highly recommend ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined 6 days ago

Excellent in all areas Highly recommend. Service, food and atmosphere were exceptional.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had not been back to Bonterra for sev ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

We had not been back to Bonterra for several years, and we are very pleasantly reminded how nice it is. The ambience is very nice, and the quietness promotes pleasant, comfortable conversation. The food was wonderful and the service was outstanding. We agreed that we need to return to Bonterra more often.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Two of our groups entrees had to be sent ...

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Two of our groups entrees had to be sent back because they were cold and dry and the peas were rock hard. The replacement entrees were not much better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2

In fairness I've been to the bar at Bont ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

In fairness I've been to the bar at Bonterra often because of its tremendous wine-by-the-glass selection; probably close to 100 white-wines and an equal number of reds. It's also a unique bar, since the restaurant was once a church.

This was a rare treat to eat in the dining room. It has a great fine-dining feeling without being too high-brow. The service was top class, truly on point and our server was entirely helpful with both the menu and the wine list.

That said the food matched the expectation; while not and extensive menu, it would be an exceptional menu. You won't find many of the menu items in other Charlotte restaurants and each dish was executed perfectly. Try the fried lobster and, in my opinion, you must try the center-cut filet. On your next trip you can try the other main plates!

Overall a great experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic experience. Our waiter couldn' ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Fantastic experience. Our waiter couldn't have been more knowledgeable, professional, courteous, and attentive to every detail. The food was equally outstanding in both taste, texture and presentation. We also appreciate the chef accommodating our food allergies.

The only complaint would be that there was a large party gathered at the bar awaiting their seating in the upper level, whom were very loud. And for the first forty minutes of our quiet and romantic dinner we couldn't hear ourselves even though we were seated at the farthest point from the bar. By the expressions on the faces of those sitting at the other tables, we could tell that our thoughts were not isolated. Even when most of the large party moved to the upstairs, they were able to shout out over the balcony to their remaining party below, as if it were a private party. I might suggest that for such reservations that perhaps the restaurant since so small be rented out, to avoid insulting other paying patrons.

Otherwise, it was a wonderful experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Bonterra never disappoints, (except for ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Bonterra never disappoints, (except for dessert portions & prices )

It has been awhile since dining here, and enjoyed it again. Their menu always changes, we were told almost weekly, with some staples staying. The seasonings are always just right. We have never had a "bad" dish here and have gone for many years. Many restaurants over season or use strange spices trying to be trendy, not Bonterra they are spot on!

Only gripe is desserts are $10 and their portion size small. Tasty, but small. If you are going to charge $10 make it big enough to share, or reduce your price a couple of bucks to end the meal not feeling like you were gouged at the end of a nice experience.

4 people, 2 new to Bonterra, all of us happy with meal.

Will definitely go back, but next time probably skip dessert.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

So incredibly disappointed! We were so e ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

So incredibly disappointed! We were so excited to visit Bonterra for our 5 year anniversary. It's a good thing we both have a good sense of humor because our experience at this restaurant ended up being awful. To start the night off on the wrong foot, we had requested a table on the upper level that we had heard was a great place to sit. It wasn't a big deal, however I had called the restaurant and was ensured we would be seated there. When we arrived at the restaurant, they put us at a tiny table directly next to the kitchen. When we asked about the table we reserved, they at first tried to make it out like this was the best table in the house (insert eye rolling here) and when we questioned that, they finally said the upstairs was booked for a special occasion so they moved us here. Again, not a big deal, but don't treat us like idiots and try to pass off a table next to the kitchen as your "most romantic table". Our server was nice, but you could tell he had a lot of tables and it took a while to order our drinks and meal. When the food finally came out, the appetizer was so small it was just funny and my medium rare steak was medium well. I will say that my husbands fish was very good. There was no acknowledgement of our anniversary or any attempt to make the night special. After spending over $300, it was just a shock how bad the food was! We ended up heading to a nearby steakhouse for dessert and were given 2 free glasses of champagne, a rose and a dessert that actually had "Happy Anniversary" written on the plate...all for free. We absolutely did not expect that, but I think the server felt bad for us after we told her about our experience. We really are not high maintenance, picky eaters, however we just expected more from a restaurant of this caliber. So disappointed and will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

Deep-fried lobster tail is outstanding

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Deep-fried lobster tail is outstanding

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Steak was outstanding. Table service was ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Steak was outstanding. Table service was good .. little too pushy for me.

my TOP 3 BEER SELECTIONS WERE OUT. Understand Bonterra does not have a wide selection of beers, but the ones on the list( that I requested -Boston IPA, Bud or Miller lite) were unavailable.

For a $359 meal( for 4) THIS IS not ACCEPTABLE.

Tags: neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Great find

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Surprised I didn't find Bonterra on more Charlotte top10 lists. A great meal and excellent wine. I highly recommend it. Nice setting and excellent waitstaff. The fried lobster is a must try. Also, really enjoyed the soft shell crab paella.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Dining Experience

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

The service was impeccable, the wine list was amazing and the food and service were wonderful!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful interior

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

A beautiful and romantic date night spot in a converted church. Our waiter was eager to answer our questions about the extensive wine list and the lamb was rave-worthy. Doughnuts and the buttermilk pie for dessert did not disappoint. I can't wait to go back and use the adorable patio!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Elegant setting with great food

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Salmon spread and salad starters with Sauvugnon blanc wine - fried lobster and lamb loin entrees and finished with charlotte Royale dessert

Friendly and professional service in an elegant setting.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

not what we expected, lobster was overco ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

not what we expected, lobster was overcooked, service was not good, very unpleasant dining experience for the money.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

Delicious meat, but veggie and app porti ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Delicious meat, but veggie and app portions too small.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

Food was good But I didn't fee like the ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Food was good

But I didn't fee like the charcuterie platter was up to bar with the rest of the meal

The filet was amazing, as was the mahi mahi

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

You need to try the fried lobster! Tons ...

vip
 (Caribbean)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

You need to try the fried lobster! Tons of flavor! Also, great service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding food and service

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

Haven't been to Bontera in about A year because of travel but the menu changes were needed and turned out great. At the same time keeping some of the signature dishes like the fried lobster tail rounds out a great menu. Had the pork bell with fried oyster appetizer... Excellent

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed Bonterra very much. Nice wine ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on March 31, 2016

We enjoyed Bonterra very much. Nice wine list.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Blah Easter Brunch

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

I think the buffet should have offered more options. Compared to their peers for the price point (Upstream, Bistro La Bon, Nans and Byrons) their cooked to order menu options had no wow factor and there were limited options (omelets and benedicts (salmon and steak)), the fresh seafood option (shrimp, mussels, crab claws, oysters, etc.) did not exist, the dessert options had no imagination and effort, from what I can remember( two days ago) it was a brownie (boring). I don't feel like I experienced a $30 plush brunch as I walked away unimpressed which means I won't recommend their Easter Sunday brunch and would not return for brunch. Mimosas at $7 was relatively high, $5 should be the price and offer a bottomless option. What I thought was good was the Scottish salmon (offer eggs and capers too), shrimp and grits, prime rib and fried chicken.

Tags: kid-friendly, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Great Waiter.

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

Our Waiter was excellent. The food was good but not anything special. The pastries, for example, were marginal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Fried lobster tail, magnolia salad, ribe ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 22, 2016

Fried lobster tail, magnolia salad, ribeye & pimento cheese dishes were terrific.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2

Enjoyable evening

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on March 11, 2016

The good news is that we had a nice dinner. A few cautions however. We felt like although we had a reservation for 2, we were shown to a table at the back of the restaurant overlooking the serving station that was set for 4, even though we passed several nicer booths for 2 that were open. They never filled while we were there from 7:30 to 9:30 so what's up with that? Is it because we made the reservation on open table? The white wine temperature seemed a bit warm to us but when we asked, we were told that they have it set at that temp. Finally, the menu selections were limited. One of us had the fish special (the only special) and I ended up ordering 2 appetizers because I just couldn't find anything else that sounded appealing to me. So in conclusion, though the menu options are a bit pedestrian , the food was good, the service fine, and it's a nice setting.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Excellent!

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on February 27, 2016

We are return customers to Bonterra and this visit was excellent as expected! Bonterra is a "farm to table" restaurant. That is, the origin of all the food served is properly noted and celebrated. With the outstanding menu, this makes the experience exceptional. Maintain the excellent effort provided!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed our dinner very much. It was ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on February 27, 2016

We enjoyed our dinner very much. It was very busy and services was a little slow but overall very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Great experience AGAIN

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on February 27, 2016

Went to dinner with a dear friend who had never been there before. Was great good fun for me because I had been there many times and she thoroughly enjoyed the ambiance, the food and the service.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food. Not so great service

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on February 21, 2016

Hostess was snapchatting while seating us. Waitress had a very strange over the top personality and was very awkward and uncomfortable. Food was very good. Quite loud restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

Very nice

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on February 18, 2016

We chose Bonterra's because of its reputation and we were not disappointed. The food was excellent and the service was amazing.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great date spot!

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on February 17, 2016

Parked in valet, which is mildly unnecessary, the parking lot is small. We arrived early for our reservation and were sat promptly. The noise level was a little higher than I expected due to a large group at the bar. I'm not complaining about that, I was just surprised, we just didn't know it was a place people went for happy hour. Overall, the experience was great! The restaurant is beautiful. Our server (Kerry) was awesome and gave us some great recommendations. Their wine list is huge, and most of the prices are fair. The food was excellent, would recommend the filet!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Good conservative restaurant

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

A little disappointed that limited option fixed price menu was only choice for Valentines Day. Food was good though

Tags: notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Unpleasantly surprised.

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

We have eaten at Bonterra many times, and have always loved it. But on Feb. 14, the food was lackluster (including a steak that was one-half fat, the other half mostly gristle...). We hope it isn't sliding downhill somehow, but we were pretty disappointed, and we aren't hard to please. Here's hoping Bonterra returns to what we've known over many years.

Tags: romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.