About Bonterra

1829 Cleveland Avenue
Charlotte, NC 28203
View Larger Map

Bonterra is located in a renovated 100 year old church in the historic Southern District of Charlotte. Sommelier & Owner John Duncan has created a stunning array of 200 wines by-the-glass and an additional 300 selections from the cellar which comprises one of the largest wine lists in Charlotte. Featured in the November 15, 2000 issue of Wine Spectator Magazine as one of the New Wave Wine Bars in America. Winner of the prestigious AAA Four-Dimond Award and DiRoNA Award of Excellence. Complimenting John's selection of wines are the menu offerings of Executive Chef Blake Hartwick. Chef Hartwick's elegant approach to cooking shows nightly in his diverse menu of fresh seafood, Midwestern lamb, oven roasted filet mignon and the signature fried lobster tail.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Wine Bar, Contemporary Southern

Hours of Operation:
Open for Dinner

Monday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Wine Bar open nightly @ 4:30pm

Cross Street:
South Blvd.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(704) 333-9463

Website:
http://www.bonterradining.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet

Public Transit:
Light Rail at West Blvd. Station

Executive Chef:
Blake Hartwick

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Rehersal Dinners, Wedding Receptions, Corporate Meetings for up to 175 Guest

Restaurant Photos

Bonterra, Charlotte, NC
Bonterra, Charlotte, NC
Bonterra, Charlotte, NC
Bonterra, Charlotte, NC
Bonterra, Charlotte, NC
Bonterra, Charlotte, NC
Bonterra, Charlotte, NC
Bonterra, Charlotte, NC
Bonterra, Charlotte, NC
Bonterra, Charlotte, NC
Bonterra, Charlotte, NC
Bonterra, Charlotte, NC
Bonterra, Charlotte, NC
Bonterra, Charlotte, NC
Bonterra, Charlotte, NC
Bonterra, Charlotte, NC
Bonterra, Charlotte, NC
fresh bread - Bonterra, Charlotte, NC
Sliced Roast Lamb Loin - Bonterra, Charlotte, NC
Roasted Beef Tenderloin - Bonterra, Charlotte, NC
Pate Du Maison - Bonterra, Charlotte, NC
Caesar  - Bonterra, Charlotte, NC
Salmon - Bonterra, Charlotte, NC
Jds Deep Fried Lobster - Bonterra, Charlotte, NC
charcuterie - Bonterra, Charlotte, NC
Berkshire Roasted Pork Loin - Bonterra, Charlotte, NC
Arugula With Dried Tomatoes - Bonterra, Charlotte, NC
Roasted Game Hen !!  - Bonterra, Charlotte, NC
Beet Salad - Bonterra, Charlotte, NC
Conumdrum White Wine - Bonterra, Charlotte, NC
Mount Veeder Cabernet Sauvignon - Bonterra, Charlotte, NC
Lump Crab Cake - Bonterra, Charlotte, NC
Mussels in White Wine Sauce - Bonterra, Charlotte, NC
Carrot Cake - Bonterra, Charlotte, NC
Fried Lobster Tail - Bonterra, Charlotte, NC
Crispy Duck Breast - Bonterra, Charlotte, NC
Scallops - Bonterra, Charlotte, NC
Caramel Pecan Praline Cheesecake - Bonterra, Charlotte, NC

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Daily 5:00PM - 10:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Bonterra can accommodate a variety of parties, weddings, family reunions, social outings or your next corporate event for up to 175 guests.

Bonterra Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.2

ambience

4.3

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Charlotte
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Charlotte

Notable Wine List (16)
Fit for Foodies (13)
Romantic (13)
See All
Special Occasion (11)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Good for Anniversaries (8)
Local Ingredients (8)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Good for a Date (7)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Business Meals (6)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Historic (6)
Cozy (5)
Bar Seating (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Seasonal (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Private Room (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Authentic (2)
Casual (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Healthy (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Sort By:
S
1107 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The bartender Heather made it a wonderfu ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 4 days ago

The bartender Heather made it a wonderful experience. 200 wines in house and a fantastic selection of food choices as well. The old church feeling was awesome. Well worth a shot if your in town.

Tags: Historic, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Service was outstanding. Very accommoda ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Service was outstanding. Very accommodating to a party of 6 - some of whom are particular. First class start to finish - very much appreciated.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We ordered the cheese boards and they we ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 15, 2016

We ordered the cheese boards and they were fantastic. The wine here is also great. We will definitely return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great service, great wine and great food ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Great service, great wine and great food. As always.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Pretty good food and value, terrible ser ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Pretty good food and value, terrible service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

Good food. Great service. Complimentary ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Good food. Great service. Complimentary valet, incredible wine and drink list, and pretty ambiance makes Bonterra great for special occasions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We stopped for dinner and drinks before ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 26, 2016

We stopped for dinner and drinks before a concert. The service is good, but the food is great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Bonterra is a lovely restaurant; it is b ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 26, 2016

Bonterra is a lovely restaurant; it is beautiful inside and located in an old church. The food was good; my husband ordered the NC Grouper and said it was the best fish he has ever had. The rest of my family ordered steak, duck and the homemade pasta, all of which we agreed was good but not great. The wine list is extensive and the service is attentive. It is very pricey and for the money, there are better places to go in Charlotte.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

This was a casual date night for my husb ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 15, 2016

This was a casual date night for my husband and I, light dining with a selection of appetizers and wine.

Bonterra is know for their Fried Lobster dish. I eagerly ordered the appetizer portion for my husband, just certain that he'd love it too. To my dismay, it was overcooked and very rubbery. A huge disappointment considering the spend and the notoriety. The calamari was good. We also split the fettuccini entree. This was outstanding!

As for the wine, they have probably the largest by the glass selection in Charlotte. Our server was very knowledgeable and helpful in guiding our selection.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Bonterra is a well-known stop for anyone ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Bonterra is a well-known stop for anyone familiar with the food mise-en scene in Charlotte. The food is always good, the service first-rate, and the setting first-class. We began with the leak and goat cheese spread which cannot be described in words, je ne sais quoi! For entrees, I had rice grits and vegetables while my husband opted for the butternut squash fettuccine. Simply outstanding, and made all the more so as my husband bought a 2012 Clinet Pomerol to pair with whatever we had--marvelous. It's too bad we didn't get a pass on the $25 corkage fee even though it was his birthday but I guess you can't have everything. Bonterra does a great job on vegetarian options (my husband and both are) but the selections are rare and must be stitched together. In any event, we'll be back. Highly recommended.

Tags: Historic, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful date night with my husband!

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 7, 2016

Wonderful date night with my husband!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

There were a lot of positive reviews for ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 30, 2016

There were a lot of positive reviews for the fried lobster tail but I was not impressed. It was heavily breaded and seemed like it was fried for a bit too long. The lobster size was generous but I found myself taking off the coating and eating the lobster without it.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Great building, terrific service! Easy ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 27, 2016

Great building, terrific service! Easy to park through valet.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great dinner on a Friday night. Had no ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Great dinner on a Friday night. Had not been here in over 10 years and just moved into the neighborhood. Great food, drinks, and desert. Will definitely be back. The fried lobster tail is amazing.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Excellent food, atmosphere, service. Hig ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Excellent food, atmosphere, service. Highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was delicious and the waitress ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 24, 2016

The food was delicious and the waitress was so nice all throughout the meal. It wasn't until the end when she brought our checks and six out of the seven checks were incorrect. That wasn't so bad but her attitude when we asked her to change it was not polite. Overall, the atmosphere and the food was worth it.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

I've never been disappointed... great fo ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 22, 2016

I've never been disappointed... great food, service and an outstanding wine list. Wines are reasonably priced with a great mix.

Tags: Special Occasion, Private Room, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were celebrating our 20th wedding ann ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 14, 2016

We were celebrating our 20th wedding anniversary and were looking forward to a great meal and celebration. Although I called ahead to inform the restaurant that it was a special occasion, they did absolutely NOTHING in recognition of our special day. I was not expecting any free drinks or food, but some kind of recognition would have been nice. Other restaurants do far more for lesser celebrations. The food was good, as usual, but these days it is about the total experience, and that was only mediocre.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

Amazing food

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Amazing food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our first experience with Queen's Feast ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 7, 2016

Our first experience with Queen's Feast and we were happy to try again. However, we were disappointed in that is was too costly for value received. The near empty dining room indicated problems.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

Not as expected. Won't go again. Waiter ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 3, 2016

Not as expected. Won't go again. Waiter brought wrong cheese and charged us for it. Pork and steak came out very undercooked and bloody after asking for well done plus 5 minutes. Couldn't eat meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1

Awesome find! Decided to try this resta ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on September 3, 2016

Awesome find! Decided to try this restaurant even though the published ratings were mixed . . . the foods, service and overall atmosphere were all excellent. Bonterra reminded me of a fine restaurant in NYC.

Tags: Romantic, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was good, not stellar but the a ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 27, 2016

The food was good, not stellar but the ambiance made up for it. The Prime Ribeye was tasty but way too much fat and gristle. 50% waste. My wife had the fresh catch, can't remember what kind of fish, Halibut I think. She enjoyed it but said it was over seasoned...salty.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Had been looking forward to experiencing ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 7, 2016

Had been looking forward to experiencing Bontera after reading several positive reviews. Decided to take a special person to share the experience.

Overall unsatisfied with the experience. Wait staff was barely attentive. Focused on refilling my wine glass at will but totally ignored my fiance.

Menu was limited...

Not much positive to say....actually nothing positive to say.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

We decided to check out Bonterra with so ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 29, 2016

We decided to check out Bonterra with some friends for CLT Restaurant Week. Overall, it was a very pleasant experience. The interior is beautiful and unique. The service was on top of things, even on a busy Friday night. We all enjoyed our food as well. Highlights were the filet and salted caramel cheesecake. Not sure I'd return to pay for another meal based on the food quality...very good, yet not incredible or flawless. I DO want to return to enjoy their stunning wine selection, though!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

The atmosphere and service was very good ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 29, 2016

The atmosphere and service was very good. We got the shrimp and ribs first course and they were delicious. Unfortunately the second course was a disappointment. My fiancé got a filet medium rare, and it was so tough and gristly that he couldn't chew most of it. He ended up having to spit out over half of it (which was embarrassing because this place was so fancy and no one wants to have to spit out their food.) We ended up having to go get fast food after a $140 meal because he was still hungry. I got the chicken and it was good but nothing amazing. For the price I would expect something a lot tastier. The dessert was decent. Again, I really don't think it's worth the expense for the sub par quality of food. If you're looking for an extensive wine list then it's definitely the place to go.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Dining at Bonterra's during the Charlott ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 28, 2016

Dining at Bonterra's during the Charlotte Feast - Restaurant Week was a great way to try this restaurant and enjoy a lovely three course meal at a very reasonable price. The appetizers (shrimp and also the heirloom tomoatos) were both very good. My C.A.B. sirloin steak was very good and cooked exactly as ordered - medium rare. The potato rounds and green beans very tasty and the bourbon sauce to compliment the steak 'perfect'. My friend had the Low Country Paella with salmon served over 'gold' rice and 3 or 4 mussels. Both the fish and mussels - very good - the rice - rather average. She also ordered and totally enjoyed the fried lobster tail. Delicately battered and lightly fried the lobster was tasty, succulent and overall the highlight of her dinner. We both ordered the coconut cake with chocolate ganache - very, very good. Will definitely go back to Bonterra!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Went during restaurant week so they were ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 28, 2016

Went during restaurant week so they were very busy. Had a nice meal. Wine list quite extensive including the longest by the glass I've seen in some time. Service was spotty at times but they did not rush us. Restaurant in a great space, very eye catching. Dessert with coconut roulade was surprising good.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

We had a very good experience

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 28, 2016

We had a very good experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

This place is so wonderful. Very beauti ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 28, 2016

This place is so wonderful. Very beautiful on the inside and out!! The atmosphere is great and just makes you feel comfortable and cozy. Food is always great. Service is good too. Really good happy hour specials!!! I can't wait to go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

The food was very well presented and was ...

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on July 28, 2016

The food was very well presented and was mostly prepared well. The pork tenderloin was a bit over cooked and slightly tougher than it should be, having said that, it had marvelous flavour.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Went for restaurant week so got a dumbed ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 28, 2016

Went for restaurant week so got a dumbed down menu. Overall though, great atmosphere and quality of food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value5

Had a great time here during Charlotte r ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 27, 2016

Had a great time here during Charlotte restaurant week. The food was delicious, and our server, Joel, was awesome! I'll definitely be returning to see the full menu soon. There's about 40 wines by the glass that I still need to try!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We went for the Queen's Feast but will c ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 27, 2016

We went for the Queen's Feast but will certainly be going back to dine at Bonterra!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Very nice, good wine selection, good foo ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 27, 2016

Very nice, good wine selection, good food! Server very knowledgable in wine selection, good ambience!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything about our experience was exce ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 27, 2016

Everything about our experience was exceptional! The food choices and preparation/presentation were phenomenal! Service was absolutely impeccable and the atmosphere was very nice. We have been to Bonterra's many times over the years and we always continue to go back because we know we will get the same exceptional experience every time we go.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, great service, great atmosph ...

 
 (Chiapas)·Dined on July 24, 2016

Great food, great service, great atmosphere. Will be back for sure.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our waiter did not know anything about t ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 24, 2016

Our waiter did not know anything about their wine list. He forgot to bring a steak knife for my steak and bread. It was restaurant week and busy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3

We checked out Bonterra for Charlotte re ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 23, 2016

We checked out Bonterra for Charlotte restaurant week...The positives: food was good and I would dine here again. The negatives: Waitress was ok but nothing stellar, we waited WAY too long to get a drink (and another round) and she seemed clueless. We were also seated upstairs in a tiny room which felt like we were sitting in a church attic. Oh, and the bread? I prob shouldn't judge a restaurant on the bread but it is the first impression after all. It may have been rye bread from the local HT.

C'mon Bonterra, you can do better.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

Ok. So we came here during Charlotte res ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 23, 2016

Ok. So we came here during Charlotte restaurant week which may mean that they are just mass producing entrees to serve the masses. That being said, they did not live up to what I would have expected for a restaurant at this price point. First of all, when we arrived it was very obvious that the hostess had given our table to someone else ("Oh no what did I do? Where should we have them sit?" kind of gave that away). Secondly, they had a "Special Occasion" section when filling out the reservation. I let them know ahead of time that we were coming to celebrate my husband's 40th birthday. No one mentioned this the entire evening. So that alone to me was a complete customer service fail in my opinion. Appetizers were so-so. My husband enjoyed his salad and I had a shrimp dish that was also to include lump crabmeat. Having bought and worked with lump crabmeat a number of times, what little-to-no crabmeat they had in my dish was the cheapest grade crab you can purchase. We both had the filet for our entree. They had steak knives on the table for us but you literally had to saw through the meat to eat it. Again, I'm wondering if this was a byproduct of restaurant week. Our server Ashely was very nice and helpful, and our peanut butter chocolate mouse cake was tasty. Setting was very pretty, but sad to say we will not be back for a second visit. Too many other really good restaurants in Charlotte to make this worth our time and money again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.