About Bonterra

1829 Cleveland Avenue
Charlotte, NC 28203
View Larger Map

Bonterra is located in a renovated 100 year old church in the historic Southern District of Charlotte. Sommelier & Owner John Duncan has created a stunning array of 200 wines by-the-glass and an additional 300 selections from the cellar which comprises one of the largest wine lists in Charlotte. Featured in the November 15, 2000 issue of Wine Spectator Magazine as one of the New Wave Wine Bars in America. Winner of the prestigious AAA Four-Dimond Award and DiRoNA Award of Excellence. Complimenting John's selection of wines are the menu offerings of Executive Chef Blake Hartwick. Chef Hartwick's elegant approach to cooking shows nightly in his diverse menu of fresh seafood, Midwestern lamb, oven roasted filet mignon and the signature fried lobster tail.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Wine Bar, Contemporary Southern

Hours of Operation:
Open for Dinner

Monday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Friday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 11:00pm

Wine Bar open nightly @ 4:30pm

Cross Street:
South Blvd.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(704) 333-9463

Website:
http://www.bonterradining.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet

Public Transit:
Light Rail at West Blvd. Station

Executive Chef:
Blake Hartwick

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
Rehersal Dinners, Wedding Receptions, Corporate Meetings for up to 175 Guest

Restaurant Photos

Bonterra
Bonterra
Bonterra
Bonterra
Bonterra
Bonterra
Bonterra
Bonterra
Bonterra
Bonterra
Bonterra
Bonterra
Bonterra
Bonterra
Bonterra
Bonterra
Bonterra
fresh bread
Sliced Roast Lamb Loin
charcuterie
Roasted Beef Tenderloin
Jds Deep Fried Lobster
Pate Du Maison
Salmon
Caesar
Berkshire Roasted Pork Loin
Beet Salad
Roasted Game Hen !!
Arugula With Dried Tomatoes
Mount Veeder Cabernet Sauvignon
Conumdrum White Wine
Mussels in White Wine Sauce
Lump Crab Cake
Carrot Cake
Crispy Duck Breast
Fried Lobster Tail
Scallops
Caramel Pecan Praline Cheesecake

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Bonterra can accommodate a variety of parties, weddings, family reunions, social outings or your next corporate event for up to 175 guests.

Bonterra Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
Charlotte
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Charlotte
Notable Wine List
Charlotte
1 More
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Charlotte

notable wine list (33)
special occasion (29)
fit for foodies (27)
See All
neighborhood gem (26)
romantic (25)
good for groups (15)
hot spot (2)
great for brunch (2)
great for outdoor dining (2)
vibrant bar scene (2)
late-night find (2)
great for lunch (1)
kid-friendly (1)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1054 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great find

Dined on June 11, 2016

Surprised I didn't find Bonterra on more Charlotte top10 lists. A great meal and excellent wine. I highly recommend it. Nice setting and excellent waitstaff. The fried lobster is a must try. Also, really enjoyed the soft shell crab paella.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Dining Experience

Dined on June 10, 2016

The service was impeccable, the wine list was amazing and the food and service were wonderful!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Beautiful interior

vip
Dined on June 5, 2016

A beautiful and romantic date night spot in a converted church. Our waiter was eager to answer our questions about the extensive wine list and the lamb was rave-worthy. Doughnuts and the buttermilk pie for dessert did not disappoint. I can't wait to go back and use the adorable patio!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Elegant setting with great food

vip
Dined on June 4, 2016

Salmon spread and salad starters with Sauvugnon blanc wine - fried lobster and lamb loin entrees and finished with charlotte Royale dessert Friendly and professional service in an elegant setting.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

not what we expected, lobster was overco ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

not what we expected, lobster was overcooked, service was not good, very unpleasant dining experience for the money.

food3
ambience5
service5

Delicious meat, but veggie and app porti ...

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

Delicious meat, but veggie and app portions too small.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was good But I didn't fee like the ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Food was good But I didn't fee like the charcuterie platter was up to bar with the rest of the meal The filet was amazing, as was the mahi mahi

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

You need to try the fried lobster! Tons ...

vip
Dined on May 7, 2016

You need to try the fried lobster! Tons of flavor! Also, great service!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding food and service

vip
Dined on April 16, 2016

Haven't been to Bontera in about A year because of travel but the menu changes were needed and turned out great. At the same time keeping some of the signature dishes like the fried lobster tail rounds out a great menu. Had the pork bell with fried oyster appetizer... Excellent

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

We enjoyed Bonterra very much. Nice wine ...

vip
Dined on March 31, 2016

We enjoyed Bonterra very much. Nice wine list.

food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Blah Easter Brunch

Dined on March 27, 2016

I think the buffet should have offered more options. Compared to their peers for the price point (Upstream, Bistro La Bon, Nans and Byrons) their cooked to order menu options had no wow factor and there were limited options (omelets and benedicts (salmon and steak)), the fresh seafood option (shrimp, mussels, crab claws, oysters, etc.) did not exist, the dessert options had no imagination and effort, from what I can remember( two days ago) it was a brownie (boring). I don't feel like I experienced a $30 plush brunch as I walked away unimpressed which means I won't recommend their Easter Sunday brunch and would not return for brunch. Mimosas at $7 was relatively high, $5 should be the price and offer a bottomless option. What I thought was good was the Scottish salmon (offer eggs and capers too), shrimp and grits, prime rib and fried chicken.

Tags: kid-friendly, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Great Waiter.

Dined on March 27, 2016

Our Waiter was excellent. The food was good but not anything special. The pastries, for example, were marginal.

food4
ambience2
service2

Fried lobster tail, magnolia salad, ribe ...

Dined on March 22, 2016

Fried lobster tail, magnolia salad, ribeye & pimento cheese dishes were terrific.

food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Enjoyable evening

vip
Dined on March 11, 2016

The good news is that we had a nice dinner. A few cautions however. We felt like although we had a reservation for 2, we were shown to a table at the back of the restaurant overlooking the serving station that was set for 4, even though we passed several nicer booths for 2 that were open. They never filled while we were there from 7:30 to 9:30 so what's up with that? Is it because we made the reservation on open table? The white wine temperature seemed a bit warm to us but when we asked, we were told that they have it set at that temp. Finally, the menu selections were limited. One of us had the fish special (the only special) and I ended up ordering 2 appetizers because I just couldn't find anything else that sounded appealing to me. So in conclusion, though the menu options are a bit pedestrian , the food was good, the service fine, and it's a nice setting.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent!

Dined on February 27, 2016

We are return customers to Bonterra and this visit was excellent as expected! Bonterra is a "farm to table" restaurant. That is, the origin of all the food served is properly noted and celebrated. With the outstanding menu, this makes the experience exceptional. Maintain the excellent effort provided!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service3

We enjoyed our dinner very much. It was ...

vip
Dined on February 27, 2016

We enjoyed our dinner very much. It was very busy and services was a little slow but overall very good.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great experience AGAIN

Dined on February 27, 2016

Went to dinner with a dear friend who had never been there before. Was great good fun for me because I had been there many times and she thoroughly enjoyed the ambiance, the food and the service.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

Great food. Not so great service

Dined on February 21, 2016

Hostess was snapchatting while seating us. Waitress had a very strange over the top personality and was very awkward and uncomfortable. Food was very good. Quite loud restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very nice

Dined on February 18, 2016

We chose Bonterra's because of its reputation and we were not disappointed. The food was excellent and the service was amazing.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great date spot!

Dined on February 17, 2016

Parked in valet, which is mildly unnecessary, the parking lot is small. We arrived early for our reservation and were sat promptly. The noise level was a little higher than I expected due to a large group at the bar. I'm not complaining about that, I was just surprised, we just didn't know it was a place people went for happy hour. Overall, the experience was great! The restaurant is beautiful. Our server (Kerry) was awesome and gave us some great recommendations. Their wine list is huge, and most of the prices are fair. The food was excellent, would recommend the filet!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Good conservative restaurant

Dined on February 15, 2016

A little disappointed that limited option fixed price menu was only choice for Valentines Day. Food was good though

Tags: notable wine list
food2
ambience5
service4
value4

Unpleasantly surprised.

Dined on February 15, 2016

We have eaten at Bonterra many times, and have always loved it. But on Feb. 14, the food was lackluster (including a steak that was one-half fat, the other half mostly gristle...). We hope it isn't sliding downhill somehow, but we were pretty disappointed, and we aren't hard to please. Here's hoping Bonterra returns to what we've known over many years.

Tags: romantic
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Disappointing special occasion

Dined on February 14, 2016

I understand that restaurants have fixed menus and higher prices for special occasions. However, service should not be compromised and foodo quality should be commensurate with the price. While there was a bread plate set for each diner, no bread was ever brought to the table. Each time our course was served they did not get the order right. At one point the waiter promised to get dessert right. He didn't. The food was average and the portions not large. One of the desserts was dry - like a stale brownie. This was a very disappointing Valentines Day.

food3
ambience5
service3
value1

Disappointed

Dined on February 13, 2016

My husband and I tried this place the night before Valentine's Day. There was a special menu and that could explain our experience. The meal was overpriced and not at all memorable. The chocolate cake was dry and tasted like a Pepperidge Farm frozen cake. The service was slow, but the building really is beautiful. I would go back for drinks at the bar and skip the food.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Every time we go to Bonterra we always h ...

Dined on February 13, 2016

Every time we go to Bonterra we always have a great meal. We live about 45 minutes to an hour away so we go on special occasions only or if friends are in town and we want to look good and take them to a nice place. Kerry our waiter was most helpful with fast service and was funny too. We've never had a bad meal.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

away from the crowd gem

Dined on February 11, 2016

Had a wonderful diner. You must get a spread and crisps for the table. They were fantastic. Food was delicious and presented very well. Enjoyed everything about the restaurant

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great experience

vip
Dined on February 7, 2016

Food was fantastic, service was great, and have always liked the atmosphere. 5 stars all the way around....

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food2
ambience2
service2

Food was delicious but the portions were ...

Dined on February 7, 2016

Food was delicious but the portions were really small for the price. The cushions in the booth were very uncomfortable; it's time to refurbish.

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

awesome wine selectin

Dined on February 6, 2016

My wife and I had a great dinner here. The waiter was very knowledgeable about the wines and we tasted a few before settling on a nice Italian. Petit portions but well executed.

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Great food, small portions

Dined on February 3, 2016

While I gave the restaurant high marks for service quality, food quality (excellent quality, small portions for the price), and ambience, I was most uncomfortable, as was my companion, in the booth seating. The cushion was lumpy and by the end of the meal my hind quarters were aching. It's time to change out the cushions.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A Shining Star***

Dined on February 1, 2016

The atmosphere was perfect! I was tasked with deciding the location for a recent company event. I have always enjoyed Bonterra, especially the wine list, and thought it appropriate for our evening together. The staff was very accommodating and set up the loft area just for us. The attendees did not know each other and we had a very pleasant experience picking Starters and discussing the menu items together. The waiter was patient and had excellent recommendations. overall, the location, food and wine were a hit with the attendees.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5

Valet service was nice. Hostess was warm ...

Dined on January 31, 2016

Valet service was nice. Hostess was warm and inviting. We had a great cocktail at the bar before dinner and the bartender made several good recommendations. Restaurant Week menu had interesting options. I chose ribs for an appetizer (tender and tasty), catfish for an entree (very good with a spicy kick). Rum raisin bread for dessert... divine. Service was excellent. Will try again for sure.

food4
ambience4
service2

We went during restaurant week and servi ...

Dined on January 30, 2016

We went during restaurant week and service was very slow. They were very busy and guess it's understandable; however, the waitress was very defensive and not keeping us informed on the status of the food. The manager compensated with a glass of wine. I would try again when it's not restaurant week. The food was good.

food2
ambience3
service1
value1

The server was awful. He had too many ta ...

vip
Dined on January 30, 2016

The server was awful. He had too many tables to wait on and we had to call for his attention twice. This does not seem acceptable in a restaurant of this level. The meal was average. The wine was good but certainly is not enough to bring us back to this place.

food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Very nice

Dined on January 28, 2016

I've been to there numerous times. The most recent experience was during Restaurant Week. The food was very good, atmosphere was very nice. Because it was restaurant week it was super busy and I think the waitress was alittle overwhelmed..

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was amazing !! Service was supe ...

Dined on January 28, 2016

The food was amazing !! Service was superb! The only reason I didn't give it a 5 star overall was because we had to wait 45 mins to be seated and we had reservations . I assuming it was because of the restaurant week crowd .. Overall great experience ..

food1
ambience3
service3
value1

First course was not edible, tasted terr ...

Dined on January 28, 2016

First course was not edible, tasted terrible! We laughed as we watched others around the restaurant try the first course in particular. All potions were super small, 2nd and 3rd course we're okay at best. Unfortunately, Bonterra did not meet our expectations. We had high hopes, but the food was really not good. Interior decor is not what we imagined either...ceiling tiles look unauthentic, did not fit the decor...boring!

food5
ambience5
service5

I really enjoyed the overall experience ...

vip
Dined on January 28, 2016

I really enjoyed the overall experience at Bonterra. I look forward to going back there!

food5
ambience4
service5

So glad the sun came out and melted the ...

Dined on January 23, 2016

So glad the sun came out and melted the ice so I could make my reservation tonight! Alway enjoy Dining at Bonterra😍

food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Although my trout was very good my husba ...

Dined on January 23, 2016

Although my trout was very good my husband had fried catfish and he said it was like eating fish sticks . Very disappointed because it was $35 for restaurant week.

Tags: romantic, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.