About Bonterra

1829 Cleveland Avenue
Charlotte, NC 28203
View Larger Map

Bonterra is located in a renovated 100 year old church in the historic Southern District of Charlotte. Sommelier & Owner John Duncan has created a stunning array of 200 wines by-the-glass and an additional 300 selections from the cellar which comprises one of the largest wine lists in Charlotte. Featured in the November 15, 2000 issue of Wine Spectator Magazine as one of the New Wave Wine Bars in America. Winner of the prestigious AAA Four-Dimond Award and DiRoNA Award of Excellence. Complimenting John's selection of wines are the menu offerings of Executive Chef Blake Hartwick. Chef Hartwick's elegant approach to cooking shows nightly in his diverse menu of fresh seafood, Midwestern lamb, oven roasted filet mignon and the signature fried lobster tail.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Wine Bar, Contemporary Southern

Hours of Operation:
Open for Dinner

Monday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Wine Bar open nightly @ 4:30pm

Cross Street:
South Blvd.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(704) 333-9463

Website:
http://www.bonterradining.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet

Public Transit:
Light Rail at West Blvd. Station

Executive Chef:
Blake Hartwick

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Rehersal Dinners, Wedding Receptions, Corporate Meetings for up to 175 Guest

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Bonterra, Charlotte, NC
Bonterra, Charlotte, NC
Bonterra, Charlotte, NC
Bonterra, Charlotte, NC
Bonterra, Charlotte, NC
Bonterra, Charlotte, NC
Bonterra, Charlotte, NC
Bonterra, Charlotte, NC
Bonterra, Charlotte, NC
Bonterra, Charlotte, NC
Bonterra, Charlotte, NC
Bonterra, Charlotte, NC
fresh bread - Bonterra, Charlotte, NC
Sliced Roast Lamb Loin - Bonterra, Charlotte, NC
Roasted Beef Tenderloin - Bonterra, Charlotte, NC
Pate Du Maison - Bonterra, Charlotte, NC
Caesar  - Bonterra, Charlotte, NC
Salmon - Bonterra, Charlotte, NC
Jds Deep Fried Lobster - Bonterra, Charlotte, NC
charcuterie - Bonterra, Charlotte, NC
Berkshire Roasted Pork Loin - Bonterra, Charlotte, NC
Arugula With Dried Tomatoes - Bonterra, Charlotte, NC
Roasted Game Hen !!  - Bonterra, Charlotte, NC
Beet Salad - Bonterra, Charlotte, NC
Conumdrum White Wine - Bonterra, Charlotte, NC
Mount Veeder Cabernet Sauvignon - Bonterra, Charlotte, NC
Lump Crab Cake - Bonterra, Charlotte, NC
Mussels in White Wine Sauce - Bonterra, Charlotte, NC
Carrot Cake - Bonterra, Charlotte, NC
Fried Lobster Tail - Bonterra, Charlotte, NC
Crispy Duck Breast - Bonterra, Charlotte, NC
Scallops - Bonterra, Charlotte, NC
Caramel Pecan Praline Cheesecake - Bonterra, Charlotte, NC

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Daily 5:00PM - 10:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Bonterra can accommodate a variety of parties, weddings, family reunions, social outings or your next corporate event for up to 175 guests.

Bonterra Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Notable Wine List (18)
Special Occasion (15)
Good for a Date (11)
See All
Romantic (11)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Fit for Foodies (10)
Good for Anniversaries (10)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Cozy (8)
Local Ingredients (8)
Historic (7)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Business Meals (6)
Good for Groups (5)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Worth the Drive (4)
Seasonal (4)
Authentic (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Private Room (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Casual (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Healthy (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Outstanding Value (1)
Great Beer (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Fun (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
People Watching (1)
Organic (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
1178 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Family outing to celebrate a birthday. V ...

 
 (New England)·Dined 2 days ago

Family outing to celebrate a birthday. Very good, attentive service. Excellent food - possibly the best steak I have ever had. Very nice and high quality art on display and for sale.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We love Bonterra and try to go at least ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 2 days ago

We love Bonterra and try to go at least every month or so. The bar tender Heather is delightful and always remembers us (and our favorite drinks!). The food is always fresh. I especially love the lobster tails and the soufflé is amazing - I highly recommend it - worth the wait!

Tags: People Watching, Organic, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Bonterra' food was incredible and the se ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 3 days ago

Bonterra' food was incredible and the service was amazing! Paul was our server and was super knowledgeable and very nice! We will be back!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Molecular Gastronomy, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Seasonal, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food. Pricey but worth it. No comp ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 4 days ago

Great food. Pricey but worth it. No complaints. Service was great

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The atmosphere is classy without being p ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 8, 2017

The atmosphere is classy without being pretentious and the food is phenomenal. I would recommend this place for a romantic date or a special meeting of friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great date night spot. We went for fianc ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Great date night spot. We went for fiance's 30th birthday dinner and had a great time.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Great time at this restaurant. Server wa ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Great time at this restaurant. Server was excellent. Meal was very good...not to notch but very good. Dessert was disappointing. Caramel pie with an enticing description was actually a teeny tart.

Tags: Historic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Steak was fantastically tender. Service ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Steak was fantastically tender. Service awesome. Wine selection is great. Bench seat was very uncomfortable. Otherwise great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

We were there for New Years Eve. Servic ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We were there for New Years Eve. Service (Joel) was great. Attentive and approachable. Drinks and food came out in a timely manner. Lobster bisque was not that great, but everything else was good. Portions were a little too small so I had to give a lower rating on Value. We will be back.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Historic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

News Years Eve Price Fix was way too exp ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 1, 2017

News Years Eve Price Fix was way too expensive. $75 a person. No sharing allowed; Could not split the price fix. No other menus options. We were not aware of this until we sat down at our table. We would not have dined here on New Years Eve if we had know about the very strict price fix menu. Huge disappointment.

Service & food was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

The food was amazing! We will definitel ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 29, 2016

The food was amazing! We will definitely go back.

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Never again

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Never again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

We had a fabulous meal at Bonterra. I h ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 17, 2016

We had a fabulous meal at Bonterra. I had the crispy duck, and it was cooked to perfection. Crispy on the outside and perfect tender and juicy on the inside. Desserts were also excellent, especially the warm berry compote.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We had the filet and New York strip, I w ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 11, 2016

We had the filet and New York strip, I was dissapinted at first because it was not a thick cut of meat. As soon as we took our first bite, our eyes rolled in the back of our head. I've never had thin cut of meat taste so yummy. The collards and oysters were the same. This atmosphere,service,food and all around experience was amazing. We can't wait to go back

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Cozy, Casual, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Took my grandsons and their special girl ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Took my grandsons and their special girlfriends. It was wonderful. The food (we had grouper, duck, steak, special pasta) was outstanding. Wine was excellent and affordable. The appetizer was the 'Southern Plate' with cheeses, meats, and more - just awesome. Service was just right; not over bearing, but never missed a beat. The atmosphere (a converted old church) was special. Two generations, One great night. We will be back!

Tags: Healthy, Great Beer, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Historic, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Disabled Access, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a really good meal, seamed a bit und ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 7, 2016

Had a really good meal, seamed a bit understaffed. It was an anniversary and they didn't really do anything special but mention it when we walked in considering we had our rehearsal dinner there and had mentioned that in our reservation.

It's a really nice dining experience though!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Yes, my pork chop was beautifully plated ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 6, 2016

Yes, my pork chop was beautifully plated, juicy, and delicious. All the appetizers were great, the squash soup, deviled eggs, and cornbread.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Went there for a special birthday dinner ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 30, 2016

Went there for a special birthday dinner. Seated next to a very large party. Very noisy. Waiter attentive at first, then distracted by the large party. He needed help. There was also a large party in the balcony which made it even louder. My grouper was good, but my husband's duck left much to be desired. Small portion for large price. We have dined at Bonterra several times in the past, but they were off their game that night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

The bartender Heather made it a wonderfu ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 30, 2016

The bartender Heather made it a wonderful experience. 200 wines in house and a fantastic selection of food choices as well. The old church feeling was awesome. Well worth a shot if your in town.

Tags: Historic, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Service was outstanding. Very accommoda ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Service was outstanding. Very accommodating to a party of 6 - some of whom are particular. First class start to finish - very much appreciated.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We ordered the cheese boards and they we ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 15, 2016

We ordered the cheese boards and they were fantastic. The wine here is also great. We will definitely return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great service, great wine and great food ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Great service, great wine and great food. As always.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Pretty good food and value, terrible ser ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Pretty good food and value, terrible service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

Good food. Great service. Complimentary ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Good food. Great service. Complimentary valet, incredible wine and drink list, and pretty ambiance makes Bonterra great for special occasions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We stopped for dinner and drinks before ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 26, 2016

We stopped for dinner and drinks before a concert. The service is good, but the food is great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Bonterra is a lovely restaurant; it is b ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 26, 2016

Bonterra is a lovely restaurant; it is beautiful inside and located in an old church. The food was good; my husband ordered the NC Grouper and said it was the best fish he has ever had. The rest of my family ordered steak, duck and the homemade pasta, all of which we agreed was good but not great. The wine list is extensive and the service is attentive. It is very pricey and for the money, there are better places to go in Charlotte.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

This was a casual date night for my husb ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 15, 2016

This was a casual date night for my husband and I, light dining with a selection of appetizers and wine.

Bonterra is know for their Fried Lobster dish. I eagerly ordered the appetizer portion for my husband, just certain that he'd love it too. To my dismay, it was overcooked and very rubbery. A huge disappointment considering the spend and the notoriety. The calamari was good. We also split the fettuccini entree. This was outstanding!

As for the wine, they have probably the largest by the glass selection in Charlotte. Our server was very knowledgeable and helpful in guiding our selection.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Bonterra is a well-known stop for anyone ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Bonterra is a well-known stop for anyone familiar with the food mise-en scene in Charlotte. The food is always good, the service first-rate, and the setting first-class. We began with the leak and goat cheese spread which cannot be described in words, je ne sais quoi! For entrees, I had rice grits and vegetables while my husband opted for the butternut squash fettuccine. Simply outstanding, and made all the more so as my husband bought a 2012 Clinet Pomerol to pair with whatever we had--marvelous. It's too bad we didn't get a pass on the $25 corkage fee even though it was his birthday but I guess you can't have everything. Bonterra does a great job on vegetarian options (my husband and both are) but the selections are rare and must be stitched together. In any event, we'll be back. Highly recommended.

Tags: Historic, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful date night with my husband!

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 7, 2016

Wonderful date night with my husband!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

There were a lot of positive reviews for ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 30, 2016

There were a lot of positive reviews for the fried lobster tail but I was not impressed. It was heavily breaded and seemed like it was fried for a bit too long. The lobster size was generous but I found myself taking off the coating and eating the lobster without it.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Great building, terrific service! Easy ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 27, 2016

Great building, terrific service! Easy to park through valet.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great dinner on a Friday night. Had no ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Great dinner on a Friday night. Had not been here in over 10 years and just moved into the neighborhood. Great food, drinks, and desert. Will definitely be back. The fried lobster tail is amazing.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Excellent food, atmosphere, service. Hig ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Excellent food, atmosphere, service. Highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was delicious and the waitress ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 24, 2016

The food was delicious and the waitress was so nice all throughout the meal. It wasn't until the end when she brought our checks and six out of the seven checks were incorrect. That wasn't so bad but her attitude when we asked her to change it was not polite. Overall, the atmosphere and the food was worth it.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

I've never been disappointed... great fo ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 22, 2016

I've never been disappointed... great food, service and an outstanding wine list. Wines are reasonably priced with a great mix.

Tags: Special Occasion, Private Room, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were celebrating our 20th wedding ann ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 14, 2016

We were celebrating our 20th wedding anniversary and were looking forward to a great meal and celebration. Although I called ahead to inform the restaurant that it was a special occasion, they did absolutely NOTHING in recognition of our special day. I was not expecting any free drinks or food, but some kind of recognition would have been nice. Other restaurants do far more for lesser celebrations. The food was good, as usual, but these days it is about the total experience, and that was only mediocre.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

Amazing food

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Amazing food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our first experience with Queen's Feast ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 7, 2016

Our first experience with Queen's Feast and we were happy to try again. However, we were disappointed in that is was too costly for value received. The near empty dining room indicated problems.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

Not as expected. Won't go again. Waiter ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 3, 2016

Not as expected. Won't go again. Waiter brought wrong cheese and charged us for it. Pork and steak came out very undercooked and bloody after asking for well done plus 5 minutes. Couldn't eat meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1

Awesome find! Decided to try this resta ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on September 3, 2016

Awesome find! Decided to try this restaurant even though the published ratings were mixed . . . the foods, service and overall atmosphere were all excellent. Bonterra reminded me of a fine restaurant in NYC.

Tags: Romantic, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.