About Bonterra

1829 Cleveland Avenue
Charlotte, NC 28203
View Larger Map

Bonterra is located in a renovated 100 year old church in the historic Southern District of Charlotte. Sommelier & Owner John Duncan has created a stunning array of 200 wines by-the-glass and an additional 300 selections from the cellar which comprises one of the largest wine lists in Charlotte. Featured in the November 15, 2000 issue of Wine Spectator Magazine as one of the New Wave Wine Bars in America. Winner of the prestigious AAA Four-Dimond Award and DiRoNA Award of Excellence. Complimenting John's selection of wines are the menu offerings of Executive Chef Blake Hartwick. Chef Hartwick's elegant approach to cooking shows nightly in his diverse menu of fresh seafood, Midwestern lamb, oven roasted filet mignon and the signature fried lobster tail.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Wine Bar, Contemporary Southern

Hours of Operation:
Open for Dinner

Monday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Friday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 11:00pm

Wine Bar open nightly @ 4:30pm

Cross Street:
South Blvd.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(704) 333-9463

Website:
http://www.bonterradining.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet

Public Transit:
Light Rail at West Blvd. Station

Executive Chef:
Blake Hartwick

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Rehersal Dinners, Wedding Receptions, Corporate Meetings for up to 175 Guest

Restaurant Photos

Bonterra
Bonterra
Bonterra
Bonterra
Bonterra
Bonterra
Bonterra
Bonterra
Bonterra
Bonterra
Bonterra
Bonterra
Bonterra
Bonterra
Bonterra
Bonterra
Bonterra
fresh bread
Sliced Roast Lamb Loin
Roasted Beef Tenderloin
Pate Du Maison
Caesar
Salmon
Jds Deep Fried Lobster
charcuterie
Berkshire Roasted Pork Loin
Arugula With Dried Tomatoes
Roasted Game Hen !!
Beet Salad
Conumdrum White Wine
Mount Veeder Cabernet Sauvignon
Lump Crab Cake
Mussels in White Wine Sauce
Carrot Cake
Fried Lobster Tail
Crispy Duck Breast
Scallops
Caramel Pecan Praline Cheesecake

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Daily 5:00PM - 10:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Bonterra can accommodate a variety of parties, weddings, family reunions, social outings or your next corporate event for up to 175 guests.

Bonterra Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Charlotte
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Charlotte

Notable Wine List (46)
Special Occasion (43)
Fit for Foodies (34)
See All
Romantic (32)
Neighborhood Gem (31)
Good for Groups (19)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Scenic View (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1082 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Had been looking forward to experiencing ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Had been looking forward to experiencing Bontera after reading several positive reviews. Decided to take a special person to share the experience.

Overall unsatisfied with the experience. Wait staff was barely attentive. Focused on refilling my wine glass at will but totally ignored my fiance.

Menu was limited...

Not much positive to say....actually nothing positive to say.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

We decided to check out Bonterra with so ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

We decided to check out Bonterra with some friends for CLT Restaurant Week. Overall, it was a very pleasant experience. The interior is beautiful and unique. The service was on top of things, even on a busy Friday night. We all enjoyed our food as well. Highlights were the filet and salted caramel cheesecake. Not sure I'd return to pay for another meal based on the food quality...very good, yet not incredible or flawless. I DO want to return to enjoy their stunning wine selection, though!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

The atmosphere and service was very good ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

The atmosphere and service was very good. We got the shrimp and ribs first course and they were delicious. Unfortunately the second course was a disappointment. My fiancé got a filet medium rare, and it was so tough and gristly that he couldn't chew most of it. He ended up having to spit out over half of it (which was embarrassing because this place was so fancy and no one wants to have to spit out their food.) We ended up having to go get fast food after a $140 meal because he was still hungry. I got the chicken and it was good but nothing amazing. For the price I would expect something a lot tastier. The dessert was decent. Again, I really don't think it's worth the expense for the sub par quality of food. If you're looking for an extensive wine list then it's definitely the place to go.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Dining at Bonterra's during the Charlott ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Dining at Bonterra's during the Charlotte Feast - Restaurant Week was a great way to try this restaurant and enjoy a lovely three course meal at a very reasonable price. The appetizers (shrimp and also the heirloom tomoatos) were both very good. My C.A.B. sirloin steak was very good and cooked exactly as ordered - medium rare. The potato rounds and green beans very tasty and the bourbon sauce to compliment the steak 'perfect'. My friend had the Low Country Paella with salmon served over 'gold' rice and 3 or 4 mussels. Both the fish and mussels - very good - the rice - rather average. She also ordered and totally enjoyed the fried lobster tail. Delicately battered and lightly fried the lobster was tasty, succulent and overall the highlight of her dinner. We both ordered the coconut cake with chocolate ganache - very, very good. Will definitely go back to Bonterra!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Went during restaurant week so they were ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Went during restaurant week so they were very busy. Had a nice meal. Wine list quite extensive including the longest by the glass I've seen in some time. Service was spotty at times but they did not rush us. Restaurant in a great space, very eye catching. Dessert with coconut roulade was surprising good.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

We had a very good experience

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

We had a very good experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

The food was very well presented and was ...

vip
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

The food was very well presented and was mostly prepared well. The pork tenderloin was a bit over cooked and slightly tougher than it should be, having said that, it had marvelous flavour.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Went for restaurant week so got a dumbed ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Went for restaurant week so got a dumbed down menu. Overall though, great atmosphere and quality of food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value5

Had a great time here during Charlotte r ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Had a great time here during Charlotte restaurant week. The food was delicious, and our server, Joel, was awesome! I'll definitely be returning to see the full menu soon. There's about 40 wines by the glass that I still need to try!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We went for the Queen's Feast but will c ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

We went for the Queen's Feast but will certainly be going back to dine at Bonterra!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Very nice, good wine selection, good foo ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Very nice, good wine selection, good food! Server very knowledgable in wine selection, good ambience!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything about our experience was exce ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Everything about our experience was exceptional! The food choices and preparation/presentation were phenomenal! Service was absolutely impeccable and the atmosphere was very nice. We have been to Bonterra's many times over the years and we always continue to go back because we know we will get the same exceptional experience every time we go.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, great service, great atmosph ...

 
 (Chiapas)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Great food, great service, great atmosphere. Will be back for sure.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our waiter did not know anything about t ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Our waiter did not know anything about their wine list. He forgot to bring a steak knife for my steak and bread. It was restaurant week and busy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3

We checked out Bonterra for Charlotte re ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

We checked out Bonterra for Charlotte restaurant week...The positives: food was good and I would dine here again. The negatives: Waitress was ok but nothing stellar, we waited WAY too long to get a drink (and another round) and she seemed clueless. We were also seated upstairs in a tiny room which felt like we were sitting in a church attic. Oh, and the bread? I prob shouldn't judge a restaurant on the bread but it is the first impression after all. It may have been rye bread from the local HT.

C'mon Bonterra, you can do better.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

Ok. So we came here during Charlotte res ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Ok. So we came here during Charlotte restaurant week which may mean that they are just mass producing entrees to serve the masses. That being said, they did not live up to what I would have expected for a restaurant at this price point. First of all, when we arrived it was very obvious that the hostess had given our table to someone else ("Oh no what did I do? Where should we have them sit?" kind of gave that away). Secondly, they had a "Special Occasion" section when filling out the reservation. I let them know ahead of time that we were coming to celebrate my husband's 40th birthday. No one mentioned this the entire evening. So that alone to me was a complete customer service fail in my opinion. Appetizers were so-so. My husband enjoyed his salad and I had a shrimp dish that was also to include lump crabmeat. Having bought and worked with lump crabmeat a number of times, what little-to-no crabmeat they had in my dish was the cheapest grade crab you can purchase. We both had the filet for our entree. They had steak knives on the table for us but you literally had to saw through the meat to eat it. Again, I'm wondering if this was a byproduct of restaurant week. Our server Ashely was very nice and helpful, and our peanut butter chocolate mouse cake was tasty. Setting was very pretty, but sad to say we will not be back for a second visit. Too many other really good restaurants in Charlotte to make this worth our time and money again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Went for restaurant week with a party of ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Went for restaurant week with a party of 12. Great seating in the wine cellar....great food.....amazing waiter.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The staff were accomodating and friendly ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

The staff were accomodating and friendly. The food was average.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

We visited during Restaurant Week and it ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

We visited during Restaurant Week and it was a lovely experience. The servers were attentive and pleasant, food was served at a good pace and the food was delicious. We tried the Raspberry Moscow Mules which were very good. The filet was perfect and everything was well-seasoned. Desserts were good and all the servings were just enough to not overstuff you.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Excellent in all areas Highly recommend ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Excellent in all areas Highly recommend. Service, food and atmosphere were exceptional.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had not been back to Bonterra for sev ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

We had not been back to Bonterra for several years, and we are very pleasantly reminded how nice it is. The ambience is very nice, and the quietness promotes pleasant, comfortable conversation. The food was wonderful and the service was outstanding. We agreed that we need to return to Bonterra more often.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Two of our groups entrees had to be sent ...

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Two of our groups entrees had to be sent back because they were cold and dry and the peas were rock hard. The replacement entrees were not much better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2

In fairness I've been to the bar at Bont ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

In fairness I've been to the bar at Bonterra often because of its tremendous wine-by-the-glass selection; probably close to 100 white-wines and an equal number of reds. It's also a unique bar, since the restaurant was once a church.

This was a rare treat to eat in the dining room. It has a great fine-dining feeling without being too high-brow. The service was top class, truly on point and our server was entirely helpful with both the menu and the wine list.

That said the food matched the expectation; while not and extensive menu, it would be an exceptional menu. You won't find many of the menu items in other Charlotte restaurants and each dish was executed perfectly. Try the fried lobster and, in my opinion, you must try the center-cut filet. On your next trip you can try the other main plates!

Overall a great experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic experience. Our waiter couldn' ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Fantastic experience. Our waiter couldn't have been more knowledgeable, professional, courteous, and attentive to every detail. The food was equally outstanding in both taste, texture and presentation. We also appreciate the chef accommodating our food allergies.

The only complaint would be that there was a large party gathered at the bar awaiting their seating in the upper level, whom were very loud. And for the first forty minutes of our quiet and romantic dinner we couldn't hear ourselves even though we were seated at the farthest point from the bar. By the expressions on the faces of those sitting at the other tables, we could tell that our thoughts were not isolated. Even when most of the large party moved to the upstairs, they were able to shout out over the balcony to their remaining party below, as if it were a private party. I might suggest that for such reservations that perhaps the restaurant since so small be rented out, to avoid insulting other paying patrons.

Otherwise, it was a wonderful experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Bonterra never disappoints, (except for ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Bonterra never disappoints, (except for dessert portions & prices )

It has been awhile since dining here, and enjoyed it again. Their menu always changes, we were told almost weekly, with some staples staying. The seasonings are always just right. We have never had a "bad" dish here and have gone for many years. Many restaurants over season or use strange spices trying to be trendy, not Bonterra they are spot on!

Only gripe is desserts are $10 and their portion size small. Tasty, but small. If you are going to charge $10 make it big enough to share, or reduce your price a couple of bucks to end the meal not feeling like you were gouged at the end of a nice experience.

4 people, 2 new to Bonterra, all of us happy with meal.

Will definitely go back, but next time probably skip dessert.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

So incredibly disappointed! We were so e ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

So incredibly disappointed! We were so excited to visit Bonterra for our 5 year anniversary. It's a good thing we both have a good sense of humor because our experience at this restaurant ended up being awful. To start the night off on the wrong foot, we had requested a table on the upper level that we had heard was a great place to sit. It wasn't a big deal, however I had called the restaurant and was ensured we would be seated there. When we arrived at the restaurant, they put us at a tiny table directly next to the kitchen. When we asked about the table we reserved, they at first tried to make it out like this was the best table in the house (insert eye rolling here) and when we questioned that, they finally said the upstairs was booked for a special occasion so they moved us here. Again, not a big deal, but don't treat us like idiots and try to pass off a table next to the kitchen as your "most romantic table". Our server was nice, but you could tell he had a lot of tables and it took a while to order our drinks and meal. When the food finally came out, the appetizer was so small it was just funny and my medium rare steak was medium well. I will say that my husbands fish was very good. There was no acknowledgement of our anniversary or any attempt to make the night special. After spending over $300, it was just a shock how bad the food was! We ended up heading to a nearby steakhouse for dessert and were given 2 free glasses of champagne, a rose and a dessert that actually had "Happy Anniversary" written on the plate...all for free. We absolutely did not expect that, but I think the server felt bad for us after we told her about our experience. We really are not high maintenance, picky eaters, however we just expected more from a restaurant of this caliber. So disappointed and will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

Deep-fried lobster tail is outstanding

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Deep-fried lobster tail is outstanding

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Steak was outstanding. Table service was ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Steak was outstanding. Table service was good .. little too pushy for me.

my TOP 3 BEER SELECTIONS WERE OUT. Understand Bonterra does not have a wide selection of beers, but the ones on the list( that I requested -Boston IPA, Bud or Miller lite) were unavailable.

For a $359 meal( for 4) THIS IS not ACCEPTABLE.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Great find

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Surprised I didn't find Bonterra on more Charlotte top10 lists. A great meal and excellent wine. I highly recommend it. Nice setting and excellent waitstaff. The fried lobster is a must try. Also, really enjoyed the soft shell crab paella.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Dining Experience

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

The service was impeccable, the wine list was amazing and the food and service were wonderful!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful interior

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

A beautiful and romantic date night spot in a converted church. Our waiter was eager to answer our questions about the extensive wine list and the lamb was rave-worthy. Doughnuts and the buttermilk pie for dessert did not disappoint. I can't wait to go back and use the adorable patio!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Elegant setting with great food

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Salmon spread and salad starters with Sauvugnon blanc wine - fried lobster and lamb loin entrees and finished with charlotte Royale dessert

Friendly and professional service in an elegant setting.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

not what we expected, lobster was overco ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

not what we expected, lobster was overcooked, service was not good, very unpleasant dining experience for the money.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

Delicious meat, but veggie and app porti ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Delicious meat, but veggie and app portions too small.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

Food was good But I didn't fee like the ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Food was good

But I didn't fee like the charcuterie platter was up to bar with the rest of the meal

The filet was amazing, as was the mahi mahi

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

You need to try the fried lobster! Tons ...

vip
 (Caribbean)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

You need to try the fried lobster! Tons of flavor! Also, great service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding food and service

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

Haven't been to Bontera in about A year because of travel but the menu changes were needed and turned out great. At the same time keeping some of the signature dishes like the fried lobster tail rounds out a great menu. Had the pork bell with fried oyster appetizer... Excellent

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed Bonterra very much. Nice wine ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on March 31, 2016

We enjoyed Bonterra very much. Nice wine list.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Blah Easter Brunch

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

I think the buffet should have offered more options. Compared to their peers for the price point (Upstream, Bistro La Bon, Nans and Byrons) their cooked to order menu options had no wow factor and there were limited options (omelets and benedicts (salmon and steak)), the fresh seafood option (shrimp, mussels, crab claws, oysters, etc.) did not exist, the dessert options had no imagination and effort, from what I can remember( two days ago) it was a brownie (boring). I don't feel like I experienced a $30 plush brunch as I walked away unimpressed which means I won't recommend their Easter Sunday brunch and would not return for brunch. Mimosas at $7 was relatively high, $5 should be the price and offer a bottomless option. What I thought was good was the Scottish salmon (offer eggs and capers too), shrimp and grits, prime rib and fried chicken.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Great Waiter.

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

Our Waiter was excellent. The food was good but not anything special. The pastries, for example, were marginal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.