About Bonfyre American Grille

2601 West Beltline Hwy
Madison, WI 53713
View Larger Map

Bonfyre features Contemporary American Cuisine in an upscale casual environment. In addition to our hand-cut, wood-fired Steaks, guests can enjoy fresh Seafood, Rotisserie Chicken, Pastas, Signature Salads and so much more from our seasonally changing menu.

To compliment the cuisine, Bonfyre’s bar features classic cocktails with a modern twist, creative new libations, domestic craft beer selections and a wine list consisting of 60 labels from both North and South America.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Everyday: 11:00pm - 4:00pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm
Saturdays open at 12 noon.
SUNDAY BRUNCH MENU from 10:00AM to 2:00PM

Cross Street:
Todd Drive

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(608) 273-3973

Website:
http://www.bonfyregrille.net/

Catering:
Bonfyre American Grille is available for both on and off premise events. Please contact our event coordinator to arrange your next party.

Parking Details:
Parking is available immediatly in front of the building, behind the restaurant in the parking garage, or across the street (behind Citgo)

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

Bonfyre American Grille Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.1

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Wisconsin
Most Booked
Madison
Best Restaurants in Madison ›

special occasion (74)
fit for foodies (53)
good for groups (53)
See All
great for lunch (43)
romantic (38)
hot spot (34)
vibrant bar scene (31)
neighborhood gem (26)
notable wine list (18)
great for brunch (17)
late-night find (12)
kid-friendly (11)
great for outdoor dining (9)
Sort By:
Newest
1613 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food3
ambience1
service3
value2

Very noisy and felt pressure to eat and leave

Dined on May 21, 2016

Our table was very close to the door. A lot going on in the entry way. Wanted a 5:30 reservation but could only get 5:15 or 5:45 yet when we arrived at 5:15 we could be seated right away. We were never asked if we wanted one or two checks. If two checks were not an option there wasn't anything that told us that. We felt some pressure to leave once we had completed eating but still had drinks.

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Ribs were delicious

Dined on May 19, 2016

Food was fantastic. Service was slightly above average.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Great steak prepared to perfection. Love ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Great steak prepared to perfection. Lovely experience

food1
ambience3
service3
value3

Meh

Dined on May 14, 2016

We've been here many times and our last experiences was pretty horrendous. For a combined 5 of us we had to send back food 5 separate times. I can't fault our waiter she was great but for some reason it seemed like the kitchen was really struggling.

food4
ambience5
service4
value4

I've been to Bonfyre twice, and I haven' ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

I've been to Bonfyre twice, and I haven't been blown out of the water either times. The appetizer was so awesome! But my entree was just so-so. The ambiance is nice, too. I think part of it may had to do with th chaos of graduation weekend! Our server was attentive and our food was quick.

Tags: kid-friendly
food1
ambience2
service5

Service was great appetizers were very g ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

Service was great appetizers were very good but the entree was Burnt and butter and very flavorless and margaritas are very watery and flavorless desert was amazing would not return

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great experience

Dined on May 2, 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed our first visit to Bonfyre. Our waiter was particularly helpful and accommodating, and great to talk with. They met our dietary needs, and grilled up a great, tender sirloin. We'll be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Surprised

Dined on April 30, 2016

Surprised that on a Saturday night at 5:30 pm I was poured the last glass of a house wine, really? Otherwise everything was fine.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time and will be back!

Dined on April 30, 2016

Ashley was a great server, she seemed to just be around the corner if we needed anything. Loved the atmosphere. Best moscato I have had in a long time. Very impressed with the prices of food for what you get, very good quality and excellent. We will definitely be back.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Anniversary dinner

Dined on April 26, 2016

The food was great. The steaks were done just as we asked. Butternut Squash soup was delicious. We would definitely go there again. We would ask to be seated in the back room though because we were too close to the bar.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food1
ambience4
service3

2 of us ordered the special prime rib so ...

Dined on April 23, 2016

2 of us ordered the special prime rib some of the chewiest beef I have ever eaten. Our twice baked potatoes were more like twice baked green onions. Would never go back, worst $100 meal I have ever eaten.

food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Looking for a new place to try for Secial Occasion

Dined on April 18, 2016

Was looking kind of last minute for a new place to try to take my parents and girlfriends parents to meet for the first time. Was told good things about Bonfyre from a friend and read good reviews online. Easy to find, parking lot was a little tight for our truck but was fine. Noticed there was an outside dinning area, might have to come back to experience that. Was greeted right away, friendly service. Sat in a booth, was comfortable and felt private so no one heard our conversations nor did we hear anyone else's which was nice. Some TVs in view. Table was spacious and you didn't feel crowded or far away from one another while you ate. Food was delicious and timely. Our waitress checked on us often, but not too often to be interrupting which was nice as well. Only thing that bothered us was that the lighting was a touch too dark to read our menus well, but once those were no longer needed, the lighting was fine for conversation. We enjoyed our evening and I myself would recommend Bonfyre and will return in the future.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a great place!

Dined on April 14, 2016

Party of 5 w/online rsvp....perfect table, service, and food! Can't wait to go back. Parking leaves a little to be desired. Much needed place like that in that area. We'll be back!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Rock solid restaurant

Dined on April 14, 2016

Every single time we go to Bonfyre we're completely happy. Nice drink menu. I had the Burrata Caprese salad and the risotto, and shared the zucchini sticks. All were really delicious. As usual can't wait to go back.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Meal

Dined on March 28, 2016

I really enjoyed my reason experience at Bonfyre! The meal was fantastic and the waitress did a great job!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

Love the spicy not sweet BBQ sauce on th ...

Dined on March 26, 2016

Love the spicy not sweet BBQ sauce on the baby back ribs

food5
ambience5
service5

Second time going. All the food I've tri ...

Dined on March 20, 2016

Second time going. All the food I've tried is great. The flatbreads are delicious and $2 mousse is always a good finish!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always a reliable experience

Dined on March 19, 2016

Great menu, great service. No rush. Always enjoy eating here.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing!

Dined on March 13, 2016

My brothers were meeting my boyfriend for the first time and I thought dinner at Bonfyre would be a great place to bond over food and drinks. It was perfect. Great waiter, great music, and amazing food. Couldn't have asked for better.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience1
service2

What stood out was the noise and the pri ...

Dined on March 12, 2016

What stood out was the noise and the prices. For 26 I got 2 shrimp, 2 scallops and about a 2 ounce piece of salmon that was dry. It is a very noisy place, noisy enough to make it hard to talk to folks sitting next to you. The server was having a tough time working on more than one table which cause delays in service to ours in getting things delivered and more service to be offered. It has been a while since Ihad gone to Bonfyre. And as others have said, it was good, but not good enough to be someplace that I would go out of my way to visit. Many other places in Madison area that are just as good or better, that have more reasonable prices.

food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Always enjoy the Bonfyre!

Dined on March 12, 2016

I have eaten there several times for lunch or dinner and never had a bad meal. The staff are courteous and attentive, the choices are excellent, and I like the ambiance.

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Perfect evening with family from Texas! ...

Dined on March 7, 2016

Perfect evening with family from Texas! Thank you!

food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Yummy Comfort Food

Dined on March 6, 2016

I had the pot roast with mashed potatoes and veggies. Also splurged on an appetizer -- chips with artichoke and spinach dip. Very tasty dishes. The pot roast was especially moist and tender. I know where to go for American comfort food! As for the ambience, my table faced Madison’s busy Beltline, so the visual experience was nothing to write home about. But the interior of the restaurant is new and pleasant to the eye, and there are other spots in the restaurant that don’t draw the eye to the roadway. My server was attentive and helpful -- that was the best part of my dining experience. Thank you!

Tags: great for brunch
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Great weekend brunch

Dined on March 6, 2016

We needed a restaurant with food for children and food for a gluten free guest. Bonfyre was a great choice. We were able to make reservations and had gluten free options. My kids loved their pancakes - especially that they came with bacon! I thought the prices were reasonable and the dishes were well portioned (not massive, but plenty).

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly
food5
ambience5
service5

The service was fantastic. We loved the ...

Dined on March 6, 2016

The service was fantastic. We loved the bloody Mary's that were featured for brunch. I order the cluck and oink and it was delicious! Everyone's meal was perfect.

food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Good but not "Wow/Great!"

Dined on March 6, 2016

We had ordered the cheese plate which was probably one of my more favorite items from the night. Our dinners were pretty good, but nothing amazing. My boyfriends steak was one of the thinest he's ever gotten and it was WAY over cooked. I ordered the duck and it was good, but I kinda feel like I should have gotten more. Both of our twice baked potatoes were a great upgrade as well. This isn't a restaurant that I will be craving to go back to. We went there because its a nice place, with semi-good food and it is close to where we live (rather than uber it downtown to a place where we'd enjoy our food much more for the price)..

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Large portions, noisy dining experience

Dined on February 28, 2016

Food was good - especially the truffle fries - dinner portions really too large. Seated in bar area made conversation challenging. Love the Old Fashioned.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The staff was exceptional. I called a d ...

Dined on February 27, 2016

The staff was exceptional. I called a day ahead to arrange a birthday gathering. My questions were answered and our visit was perfect in every detail .

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

I'd try again

Dined on February 26, 2016

Conveniently located for most purposes, open long hours and with chic look and a very varied and interesting food and bev menu, there are a lot of good reasons to go back. We were here for our first time, pregame, so early before it got busy. As we were leaving we could see they draw a big happy hour crowd and I imagine the place gets louder then. We really enjoyed the selection of craft beers on tap, and our meals were tasty enough, though maybe not as great as we hoped for. With so many dishes to choose from, I suspect there are some that shine more than others. Mostly if we had a complaint, it was that entrees were on the smaller side of portion size for the price, with no bread offered.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience3
service4

Variety of menu, atmosphere

Dined on February 21, 2016

Variety of menu, atmosphere

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

exceptional!!

Dined on February 20, 2016

Absolutely the best filet I have had!! Wonderful atmosphere and great service

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome restaurant for the price

Dined on February 17, 2016

I have eaten here several times for dinner and lunch with small groups and large groups. Each time the service and food was exceptionally good. When we have had large business dinners there, they assign extra servers making the experience very pleasant. I highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience1
service5
value3

Good food but the acoustics were terrible

Dined on February 17, 2016

We had our Christmas Party there and the food was great, the wait staff was very accommodating but the acoustics were terrible. We could hear each other talk. It was very loud.

Tags: hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

work fun

Dined on February 16, 2016

Bonfyre was quite accommodating for our group of 8 at 11:45 a.m. Our waitress was very efficient and the food ordered was quite varied and all were very satisfied with the flavor and amount that they ordered.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

Valentine's Dinner

Dined on February 15, 2016

We had reservations for 6:30 pm. and already we were told there were 3 items no longer available on the Valentine's menu. My wife really wanted to have the duck, but it was not available. Next time we will also call ahead to see what might be off the menu. It was disappointing thinking we were going to have a special meal and my wife just settled for something less than spectacular. The waitress did an excellent job throughout our meal.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Way To Treat Your Sweetie

Dined on February 15, 2016

I took my wife for Valentines Day dinner. The food was very good along with the ambiance. Our waitress was attentive. We had an excellent experience.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

The bonfyre mixed grill was amazing. A l ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

The bonfyre mixed grill was amazing. A little bit of everything. Ribs, steak, and rotisserie chicken.

food3
ambience3
service2
value4

Hits and Misses

Dined on February 14, 2016

I will preface this with we went on Valentine's Day to celebrate my daughters birthday. I anticipated slow service and lesser quality food preparation. I guessed right. Server was nice but long pauses between visits to our table. Our first disappointment was the abbreviated menu. This was not noted online our in the restaurant. I guess I get it. Food was good. Just took a while to arrive. Desserts surprised me. Had to ask for adessert menu. Server stated they took some things off for the day He offered. Crime brûlée and flan. Those are basically the same thing He then offered flourless chocolate cake and chocolate cake with flour. He described the with flour cake as more fluffy. Again two of the same thing. Weird choices. Maybe reconsider what is taken off the menu on busy days the BIGGEST disappointment was I clearly noted that it was my daughter birthday and we would like to do something for her. I didn't ask for free, it was just never recognized or anything. You would think the gifts and birthday wrapping paper would have been a good clue or reminder. Not the way to end a mostly positive experience.

Tags: kid-friendly, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious/friendly

Dined on February 14, 2016

The service was excellent and very professional. The filet minon was delicious and fell apart as it was very tender.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Brunch is great!

vip
Dined on February 14, 2016

First time here for brunch and it was great! Great mimosas and nice variety of menu options.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.