About Bonfyre American Grille

2601 West Beltline Hwy
Madison, WI 53713
View Larger Map

Bonfyre features Contemporary American Cuisine in an upscale casual environment. In addition to our hand-cut, wood-fired Steaks, guests can enjoy fresh Seafood, Rotisserie Chicken, Pastas, Signature Salads and so much more from our seasonally changing menu.

To compliment the cuisine, Bonfyre’s bar features classic cocktails with a modern twist, creative new libations, domestic craft beer selections and a wine list consisting of 60 labels from both North and South America.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Everyday: 11:00pm - 4:00pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm
Saturdays open at 12 noon.
SUNDAY BRUNCH MENU from 10:00AM to 2:00PM

Cross Street:
Todd Drive

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(608) 273-3973

Website:
http://www.bonfyregrille.net/

Catering:
Bonfyre American Grille is available for both on and off premise events. Please contact our event coordinator to arrange your next party.

Parking Details:
Parking is available immediatly in front of the building, behind the restaurant in the parking garage, or across the street (behind Citgo)

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

Bread Pudding
Tomato Bisque
Ahi Appetuzer
Herb Crusted Rotisserie Chicken
Soup
Salad
Beer
gin and tonic
chicken wrap
East Coast Seafood Rolls
East Coast Seafood Roll
Calamari
Truffle Fries
Chicken Parmesan
Rotisserie Herbed Chicken
Long Island Iced Tea
Fish Tacos!
Cioppino
Jerk Chicken Fondue
Burger
Fyre & Ice
BBQ Rotisserie Chicken
Ribeye (Wood-Fire Grilled)
Biscuits and Gravy
Chicken Tortilla Soup
Pot Roast Hash And Eggs
Lobster Cobb Salad
Seared Ahi Tuna Salad

Bonfyre American Grille Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.2

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Madison
Best Restaurants in Madison ›

special occasion (52)
good for groups (41)
fit for foodies (33)
See All
great for lunch (29)
romantic (27)
neighborhood gem (25)
hot spot (21)
vibrant bar scene (21)
great for brunch (11)
notable wine list (11)
great for outdoor dining (10)
late-night find (6)
kid-friendly (6)
Sort By:
Newest
1633 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great food and service..crab cakes overp ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 3 days ago

Great food and service..crab cakes overpriced! Shoould have gotten qty 4!

Overall i love the resturant and the menu and quality of food and service!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

A very nice place to go with a "special ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

A very nice place to go with a "special someone" . Excellent drinks and food. Quite ambiance. Will definately return!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Took a coworker for lunch for Madison Re ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Took a coworker for lunch for Madison Restaurant Week. Service was exceptional. Food was quite good as well. The mashed potatoes were perfectly whipped, and the herb chicken was juicy. The desserts were quite yummy and cute - mini-cheesecakes in a shot glass. That may have been a Restaurant Week special.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We did a family of 10 reservation after ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

We did a family of 10 reservation after an overture center event. Service and food were excellent. We had a range of ages. Most accommodating. Brought food out early for young children.

Just did a 5 person girls afternoon outing dinner. Again very pleased.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Jamie was an excellent waitress, very pe ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Jamie was an excellent waitress, very personable and friendly

Tags: good for groups, late-night find, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Nothing outstanding , family thought the ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Nothing outstanding , family thought the food was blah to okay. Service very average from the greeting at the front door, service during the meal, to our leaving. Nothing dynamic to report during our visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value3

Great place to dine. Have been there for ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Great place to dine. Have been there for first date, engagement, anniversary, birthdays. We will continue to go there in the future.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was kind of noisy. Service and food ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

It was kind of noisy. Service and food were very good. Birthday dessert was tasty!

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

This was my first time eating at the Bon ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

This was my first time eating at the Bonfyre Grill. It was great and I'll definitely return.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Food was delicious! Fish tacos, crab cak ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Food was delicious! Fish tacos, crab cakes, turkey burger with sweet potato fries!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Service was fantastic. Spring risotto i ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Service was fantastic. Spring risotto is out of this world!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was great and priced reasonably. Gr ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Food was great and priced reasonably. Great for families with older children ages 6-12.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Food is always fresh and served at the r ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Food is always fresh and served at the right temps, the servers are friendly and do not make you feel rushed.

Tags: great for lunch, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Disappointing - both for drinks and the ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

Disappointing - both for drinks and the food. Starting with drinks: the beer I wanted was sold out, the replacement was poor. Being in Wisconsin and only having one IPA on tap, which is from California, is not good. My second drink was a jalisco mule that was way too sweet.

Truffled fries were really poor - especially for that price. Short rib sandwich was ok.

They also turned down the lights so far that I could barely see my food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

Our steak was amazing and our waitress w ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Our steak was amazing and our waitress was well versed on the menu and drinks. We couldn't have had a better dining experience. Only disappointment was that they would not accept our open table gift certificate, which surprisied us, as we made our reservations through open table.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Superb condistent quality cuisine. Great ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

Superb condistent quality cuisine. Great menu choices. Outstanding service.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Great lunch! Met a friend there and it ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

Great lunch! Met a friend there and it is nice to be able to have a reservation at this busy spot.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My only complaint is that the rotisserie ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

My only complaint is that the rotisserie chicken pasta at lunch had way too much gristle. Check the chicken quality please!

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

The calamari app is the best! I love to ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

The calamari app is the best! I love to get a fire grilled lettuce wedge as well! I had the sea bass with fresh spring risotto and my husband had their steak with grilled shrimp with twice baked potato and fresh beans. It all was excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very noisy and felt pressure to eat and leave

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Our table was very close to the door. A lot going on in the entry way. Wanted a 5:30 reservation but could only get 5:15 or 5:45 yet when we arrived at 5:15 we could be seated right away. We were never asked if we wanted one or two checks. If two checks were not an option there wasn't anything that told us that. We felt some pressure to leave once we had completed eating but still had drinks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value2

Ribs were delicious

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on May 19, 2016

Food was fantastic. Service was slightly above average.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great steak prepared to perfection. Love ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

Great steak prepared to perfection. Lovely experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Meh

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

We've been here many times and our last experiences was pretty horrendous. For a combined 5 of us we had to send back food 5 separate times. I can't fault our waiter she was great but for some reason it seemed like the kitchen was really struggling.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value3

I've been to Bonfyre twice, and I haven' ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

I've been to Bonfyre twice, and I haven't been blown out of the water either times. The appetizer was so awesome! But my entree was just so-so. The ambiance is nice, too. I think part of it may had to do with th chaos of graduation weekend! Our server was attentive and our food was quick.

Tags: kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Service was great appetizers were very g ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on May 10, 2016

Service was great appetizers were very good but the entree was Burnt and butter and very flavorless and margaritas are very watery and flavorless desert was amazing would not return

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service5

Excellent food, ambiance and service as ...

 
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Excellent food, ambiance and service as always.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great experience

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on May 2, 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed our first visit to Bonfyre. Our waiter was particularly helpful and accommodating, and great to talk with. They met our dietary needs, and grilled up a great, tender sirloin. We'll be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Surprised

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

Surprised that on a Saturday night at 5:30 pm I was poured the last glass of a house wine, really? Otherwise everything was fine.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

First time and will be back!

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

Ashley was a great server, she seemed to just be around the corner if we needed anything. Loved the atmosphere. Best moscato I have had in a long time. Very impressed with the prices of food for what you get, very good quality and excellent. We will definitely be back.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Anniversary dinner

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on April 26, 2016

The food was great. The steaks were done just as we asked. Butternut Squash soup was delicious. We would definitely go there again. We would ask to be seated in the back room though because we were too close to the bar.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

2 of us ordered the special prime rib so ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

2 of us ordered the special prime rib some of the chewiest beef I have ever eaten. Our twice baked potatoes were more like twice baked green onions. Would never go back, worst $100 meal I have ever eaten.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3

Looking for a new place to try for Secial Occasion

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on April 18, 2016

Was looking kind of last minute for a new place to try to take my parents and girlfriends parents to meet for the first time. Was told good things about Bonfyre from a friend and read good reviews online. Easy to find, parking lot was a little tight for our truck but was fine. Noticed there was an outside dinning area, might have to come back to experience that. Was greeted right away, friendly service. Sat in a booth, was comfortable and felt private so no one heard our conversations nor did we hear anyone else's which was nice. Some TVs in view. Table was spacious and you didn't feel crowded or far away from one another while you ate. Food was delicious and timely. Our waitress checked on us often, but not too often to be interrupting which was nice as well. Only thing that bothered us was that the lighting was a touch too dark to read our menus well, but once those were no longer needed, the lighting was fine for conversation. We enjoyed our evening and I myself would recommend Bonfyre and will return in the future.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

What a great place!

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on April 14, 2016

Party of 5 w/online rsvp....perfect table, service, and food! Can't wait to go back.

Parking leaves a little to be desired.

Much needed place like that in that area.

We'll be back!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Rock solid restaurant

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on April 14, 2016

Every single time we go to Bonfyre we're completely happy. Nice drink menu. I had the Burrata Caprese salad and the risotto, and shared the zucchini sticks. All were really delicious. As usual can't wait to go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Meal

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on March 28, 2016

I really enjoyed my reason experience at Bonfyre! The meal was fantastic and the waitress did a great job!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love the spicy not sweet BBQ sauce on th ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on March 26, 2016

Love the spicy not sweet BBQ sauce on the baby back ribs

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Second time going. All the food I've tri ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on March 20, 2016

Second time going. All the food I've tried is great. The flatbreads are delicious and $2 mousse is always a good finish!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always a reliable experience

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on March 19, 2016

Great menu, great service. No rush. Always enjoy eating here.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazing!

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on March 13, 2016

My brothers were meeting my boyfriend for the first time and I thought dinner at Bonfyre would be a great place to bond over food and drinks. It was perfect. Great waiter, great music, and amazing food. Couldn't have asked for better.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What stood out was the noise and the pri ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on March 12, 2016

What stood out was the noise and the prices. For 26 I got 2 shrimp, 2 scallops and about a 2 ounce piece of salmon that was dry. It is a very noisy place, noisy enough to make it hard to talk to folks sitting next to you. The server was having a tough time working on more than one table which cause delays in service to ours in getting things delivered and more service to be offered. It has been a while since Ihad gone to Bonfyre. And as others have said, it was good, but not good enough to be someplace that I would go out of my way to visit. Many other places in Madison area that are just as good or better, that have more reasonable prices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.