About Bonfyre American Grille

2601 West Beltline Hwy
Madison, WI 53713
View Larger Map

Bonfyre features Contemporary American Cuisine in an upscale casual environment. In addition to our hand-cut, wood-fired Steaks, guests can enjoy fresh Seafood, Rotisserie Chicken, Pastas, Signature Salads and so much more from our seasonally changing menu.

To compliment the cuisine, Bonfyre’s bar features classic cocktails with a modern twist, creative new libations, domestic craft beer selections and a wine list consisting of 60 labels from both North and South America.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Everyday: 11:00pm - 4:00pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm
Saturdays open at 12 noon.
SUNDAY BRUNCH MENU from 10:00AM to 2:00PM

Cross Street:
Todd Drive

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(608) 273-3973

Website:
http://www.bonfyregrille.net/

Catering:
Bonfyre American Grille is available for both on and off premise events. Please contact our event coordinator to arrange your next party.

Parking Details:
Parking is available immediatly in front of the building, behind the restaurant in the parking garage, or across the street (behind Citgo)

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Bonfyre American Grille Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (50)
Special Occasion (35)
Wood Oven (26)
See All
Casual (25)
Good for Groups (24)
Good for Anniversaries (24)
Bar Seating (23)
Modern Decor (23)
Romantic (22)
Great for Lunch (22)
Fireplace (21)
Creative Cuisine (21)
Business Meals (21)
Good for Birthdays (20)
Cozy (20)
Fit for Foodies (19)
Comfort Food (18)
Worth the Drive (17)
Fun (16)
Handcrafted Cocktails (15)
Vibrant Bar Scene (14)
Great for Brunch (14)
Happy Hour (14)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Pre/post Theatre (11)
Gluten Free Options (11)
Open Kitchen (10)
Healthy (10)
Notable Wine List (9)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Hot Spot (8)
Authentic (8)
Great Beer (7)
Local Ingredients (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
Private Room (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Kid-friendly (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Family Style (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Scenic View (2)
Live Sports (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Seasonal (2)
Spicy (1)
People Watching (1)
Organic (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
1850 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined 3 days ago

Excellent. Favorite location in the beltline area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined 4 days ago

We had a wonderful meal. I will certainly come again!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined 4 days ago

Great food. The pot roast in wine reduction was superb!

Great service. Our server was attentive and friendly.

Ambiance was excellent for conversation.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Average/below average food. Loud. Mediocre service. Just generally blah and not worth the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 18, 2017

We've dined here on several occasions through the past ten years. Food quality is fair, we appreciate gluten free options exist, however they are too limited -- really would like to see more variety / additional gluten free options.

We were disappointed to be seated immediately adjacent to the wait-staff's station -- that table for 4 should be eliminated -- would be advantageous to the wait staff using the station, and much more pleasant for diners to not be exposed to the crowding and noise that we were exposed to as silverware was retrieved and other wait staff activity occurred.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Very good food with a diverse menu. We all enjoyed it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Outstanding food. Lots of choices. Great service. Friendly staff.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 17, 2017

This used to be my favorite place in Madison. But, the prices just keep going up and up and up. It's crazy to spend $20 for an appetizer (mussels) and iced tea. Even a luncheon salad is $ 12-$20. Sorry but the value just isn't there....

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Conveniently located with nearby parking. Great atmosphere good food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We went for the valentine's day dinner. The restaurant and the food was good. Anyone who wants to try a dessert should try their CHURROS dessert. That was the best dessert i and my wife had in years.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We went on Valentines Day at 830 and got a nice little table. Drinks were amazing. Cucumber cosmo and the old fashioned were great cocktails. I ordered the woodfyre grill trio with sirloin, chicken, and ribs. Everything was delicious!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Celebrated my 30th birthday and Valentines's day. I had their Valentine's special which was lobster tail with twice baked potato and greens. It was very well prepared and my husband steak was as well. We go there every Valentine's Day for the past 3 years and will be going there again next year!

Tags: Casual, Modern Decor, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Everything was delicious! Timing of courses was perfect! Servers were courteous and professional! Steak cooked to perfection!

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Wood Oven, Modern Decor, Romantic, Cozy, Open Kitchen, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Fireplace, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Food is always great! The atmosphere is very nice for a dinner date and the lunch menu is very affordable.

Tags: Cozy, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 12, 2017

My wife and I went for a pre-Valentines day Sunday brunch. We met a friend there as well. Our friend enjoyed the Gluten free options available. I choose the Pot Roast hash and my wife had the Crab Cake Bene. Everything was great! We'll be back soon.

Tags: Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Rib eye was well overcooked. Ordered medium, received medium well to well. Also, a large amount of sediment in my wine. Not a big deal and of course there's nothing wrong with this. But from a presentation stand point, it would have been appropriate to decant it first. However service was great and atmosphere is excellent. I'd go again, but may only give them one more shot to get the steak right.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Modern Decor, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 12, 2017

I think overall it was very good and worth our trip. We live over a hour away so I was disappointed that I didn't get a confirmation email on Friday when I made the reservation. I did call on Saturday to verify but I think it would be a common courtesy to verify you received/confirm my reservation. We will be back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 5, 2017

The food and the service were bot great. Probably the best New York Strip steak I have had in quite a while. The twiced baked potato was very tasty and my glass of wine was wonderful as well! We usually go there for my birthday as a special treat. I will go back again and would go more often if it were closer to home.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 4, 2017

The prices have gone sky-high. Although the food and service are great, the prices aren't.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value2

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 1, 2017

One member of our party has special needs - we requested not to be seated near windows/doors/external walls - person has ultra-sensitivity to temperature changes - triggers pain, migraine and spasms. We reserved a table located away from external walls - preferably closer to the fireplace. Our table was given away just moments before we arrived though we were on time. That was upsetting. Why even make a reservation? The host was very apologetic - explained there was a miscommunication. Communication with wait staff needs improvement re: reservations - should never have happened.

We were seated in a room behind the fireplace closest to internal walls - perfect. Turned out, we ended up in a better spot. We realized sitting close to fireplace may have been too warm. Also had more room & less traffic - also sensitivity factors for our friend. Temperatures changed around 8pm when the dining area cleared out. There was a stronger, colder airflow w/o all the people there. Was time for us to leave anyway so timing was okay.

Another person in our group is deaf - no special treatment necessary to meet her needs but wait staff - including one in training - was kind, patient and respectful to all of us as we placed our orders in English and in sign language. They properly looked at the correct person who was placing their order regardless of the language they were using. It is frustrating when a waiter/waitress looks at the person who is interpreting rather than the person who is placing the order because it incorrectly centers the communication on the interpreter rather than on the person placing the order. Good job on that one.

Great dining experience. Thank you.

Tags: Casual, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Nice Ambience and quality food..Will go again !!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Great food and service. It is why we continue to return. Just wish there was one closer to home.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 29, 2017

We have never had a bad meal or service here. Excellent place to eat

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 28, 2017

The lobster ravioli was marvelous. Our waitress was very kind and attentive.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Everyone in our party of 8 thought their meal was great. Good appetizers. Very good wait staff.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Once again we had a very enjoyable and tasty meal at the Bonfyre. Their menu items are unique and very nicely presented. Their drink menu is very good whether you like wine or beer. And the staff were pleasant and attentive.

Tags: Fun, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 28, 2017

The Sea bass was so good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 28, 2017

We enjoyed all aspects of our dining experience. The apps. were very good, the meals and service were very good as well. We will return.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Disabled Access, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 27, 2017

I always chose Bonfyre for great food and special occasions. It's reliably good.

Tags: Special Occasion, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 27, 2017

The food was good. Our waiter was not very experienced or didn't care - kind of hard to tell. We had to repeat requests about several simple things. When asked for extra napkins during dinner he brought two cocktail napkins over. My son chocked to the point that I ended up giving him the Heimlich and screaming "Help, help us!" And no one came. Luckily he did spit up the piece of meat. When we mentioned it to the waiter later ( when requesting he quickly box the entire rest of my son's meal) he did not even acknowledge us. We weren't joking!! The place was dark and very noisy. It was my second time there. Not sure I will return with my whole family again. Our bill was over $230. And we had come for a birthday celebration that was not acknowledged either, although I had put it in the reservation and mentioned it when we sat down. Presents were obvious too.

Tags: Late-night Find, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Very good drinks. The ribs were truly fall off the bone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 24, 2017

We truely enjoyed our meals. Great food and service.

Tags: Happy Hour, Fireplace, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 23, 2017

Got in and out quickly which is a plus for a business meal.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 22, 2017

My husband and I tried Bonfyre Grill for Madison Restaurant Week. We'd driven by dozens of times but never tried the restaurant until now. This is an excellent way to view the menus ahead of time so my picky eater partner would be assured he'd enjoy the entrees, salads and dessert options. We loved the atmosphere and decor and very much had a lovely "date" and would go again.

Tags: Romantic, Fun, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 22, 2017

The garlic green beans were amazing. Filet mignon was adequate. Twice-baked potato was dry and hard. We ordered an appetizer that never came.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 19, 2017

Bonfyre is one of our favorite restaurants. We try to dine there as much as possible. The menu variety and quality of food is exceptional. The service is top notch. I recommend setting a reservation online. Lunch was great and we did not have to wait for a tasty meal. Everyone in our group had a fantastic entre.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Modern Decor, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 19, 2017

Food was good as usual but the ribs arrived less than warm. Sent them back and they were ok, but all they did was put hot sauce on them. Waitperson was friendly but a. It annoying at times by repeating herself. Still enjoyable overall.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Alan our server at the bonfyre was fantastic. His service was excellent. Fodder was excellent bar staff was excellent. Definitely will be back.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 16, 2017

I think this restaurant would be best for large parties. The bar area looks fun, but I ate dinner in the dining area facing the Beltline (not a very pleasant city view).

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Everything was pleasant and nice! Only small issue is since it was just the 2 of us, they Sat us on a little table next to a door with really cold air coming in so besides great food we were pretty cold, but overall everything was great! Woulda been better to not sit by the cold door tho!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Late-night Find, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 6, 2017

food is good, but pricey. nice wine list. nice atmosphere.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 4, 2017

The food was pretty good. Nothing to get excited about.

The service was outstanding.

The noise from the bar was less than appealing.

Unfortunately, a group with small children was placed next to my wife and I. We had a night out, away from our kids. I'd suggest having an area for couples who are obviously on a date and a seperate area for "others".

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Great food and service. However, if you want prime rib, go as early as possible because they will run out.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The main problem is deciding on a starter ---between their yummy mushroom soup, delicious butternut squash soup or their Caesar salad that has quickly grilled greens. I ordered the filet oscar style and hubby had the prime rib . Both cooked to perfection , though Bernaise sauce was meager. I prefer the garlic mashed over the twice baked, but just a personal choice. Both were good. Our server was a lovely young woman who was friendly, helpful and enthusiastic.

Tags: Cozy, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 1, 2017

I dine here a lot and have never experienced a bed meal until New Year's Eve I had the Miso salmon and it was over cooked and dry. My husband had steak and her ordered it med rare and it was well done. Our waitress was terrific so I didn't want to blame her but our meal should have been free!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Very good. Great service and menu. Food was excellent. Upscale/casual very accurate description

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 1, 2017

My wife and I have been to Bonfyre a handful of times in the past few years. Great food but more often than not, bad luck I guess, we end up with a crappy table near the kitchen door, the water-serving area in the middle of an aisle, or wherever, resulting in a LOUD dinner. Maybe if you pay off the hostess something better happens, but it seems they try and cram people in whereas with fewer tables they could help ensure ALL diners have a better experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Our party of four really enjoyed the evening at BonFyre. The Tenderloin I had was perfectly cooked and the the other entrees ( duck, prime rib, and shrimp) were excellent. We all had one of the mousse selections for dessert and that was a perfect size to end the scrumptious meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We had a very enjoyable New Years Eve. dinner. Excellent service, great drinks and our party of four meals were great. Everyone had a different entry and they where hot,on time and had great eye appeal. Overall we enjoyed our evening out and plan on coming again soon.

Tags: Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Bar Seating, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Too many good choices to chose from! Signature loaded baked was to die for and fillet melted in your mouth. Will definitely need to go back.

Tags: Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Casual, Cozy, Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Late-night Find, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Open Kitchen, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.