Bonfyre American Grille

4.3
2127 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Contemporary American
Top Tags:
  • Special Occasion
  • Business Meals
  • Good for Groups
Bonfyre features Contemporary American Cuisine in an upscale casual environment. In addition to our hand-cut, wood-fired Steaks, guests can enjoy fresh Seafood, Rotisserie Chicken, Pastas, Signature Salads and so much more from our seasonally changing menu.

To compliment the cuisine, Bonfyre’s bar features classic cocktails with a modern twist, creative new libations, domestic craft beer selections and a wine list consisting of 60 labels from both North and South America.
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Contemporary American, American
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Bonfyre American Grille Hours of Operation:

Monday thru Friday – 11:00 AM – 10:00pm

Saturday – 10:00 AM- 10:00 PM

Sunday- 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM

Saturday-Sunday Brunch: 10:00 AM- 2:00 PM
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(608) 273-3973
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
Bonfyre American Grille is available for both on and off premise events. Please contact our event coordinator to arrange your next party.
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Todd Drive
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Parking is available immediatly in front of the building, behind the restaurant in the parking garage, or across the street (behind Citgo)
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 2127 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.3based on recent ratings
4.3
food
4.3
service
4.1
ambience
3.9
value
Noise · Moderate
90% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
3.0Dined 7 days ago

Some menu items are grossly overpriced. $18 for shrimp cocktail containing 5 shrimp! Otherwise, the service is good, and I like the atmosphere.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 7 days ago

Father’s Day Brunch was a 10! The lobster frittata was delicious!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 7 days ago

We went for Father's Day, Sunday Brunch. It was busy with lots of fathers. Food was exceptional. Service was excellent. Noise level was high due to It being busy. This was the first time we dined here. We will definitely go again!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 16, 2018

I had the Seafood Cobb Salad, which is gluten-free. It was wonderful and there was enough to take home. It is so nice when eating out to feel the restaurant is taking gluten-free seriously, not just as a fad.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on June 12, 2018

Although it can be difficult to find due to the lack of a high visibility sign, it's definitely worth the experience.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 10, 2018

Excellent food and great atmosphere. Our guests from out of town loved it. Everyone said their food was great!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 10, 2018

Bonfyre American Grill is our family's favorite place to dine when we are in Madison. You're greeted at the door by the smell of smoked meat. Comfy booths and a big bar area. Attentive service and good beer selection. We really enjoy the ribs.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 5, 2018

Always great!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 3, 2018

Service and food were incredible. Visiting Wisconsin for the first time and we were greeted with excellence here!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 31, 2018

Dinner with a friend

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 27, 2018

Our table was dirty I had to wipe it myself after I had the hostess wipe it. And my food wasn’t very hot

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 27, 2018

Our dinner was good but the food was brought to us very fast and we couldn't finish each course without the next course coming to our table. We felt rushed.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Took my mom here for Mother's day. It was really, really loud and difficult to have a conversation. Our waiter was very attentive and timely with everything. He was probably the best part of the experience. Food was only OK especially considering the price. Probably would pick someplace else to dine in the future.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Overall the experience was a good one. We decided on going out to eat for Mother's Day at the last moment and were glad we were able to make a reservation. The website didn't mention a Mother's Day special and we weren't given an option to order from the menu so I am assuming it was buffet only. We found out by asking that you could order a special omelet, but unfortunately it wasn't ready when we were seated (10:30). By the time my daughter asked about the slips of paper we had already gone through the line and were full. If you are going to offer that you really do need to have it ready when you begin serving.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 13, 2018

We had never dined here before but booked a table for 5 on a Sat night for a graduation celebration. Expecting to still wait with a reservation, we were pleasantly surprised to be seated immediately. Being from out of town we mentioned to the server we had a long 3 hour drive home. She was wonderful and very friendly, took our order right away and brought drinks out fairly quickly. The Acai martini was excellent. A couple of disappointments, they were out of cheese curds appetizer at 8pm on a Sat night and double baked potatoes both which we tried to order. Other than that our food came out very quickly. The ribs were excellent as was the seafood salad. The steak was just okay, a little fatty and flavorless for the price. The combo rib, chicken, steak plate was good but the steak was overcooked and not very good. I would recommend Bonfyre for a nice ambiance, fast friendly service and overall good food.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Food was better than expected. Maybe little overpriced.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Made reservations over a month ago for six. Graduation celebration. As you can imagine, if you have participated in a graduation, it can be a long day. So we were all hungry and looking forward to a full filling relaxing, no surprise dinner. WOW. The very first app we ordered (cheese curds) OUT. We all all looked at each other and shrugged it off. Then we thought, we are in WI. home of Cheese. How can this be. Then the first meal was the chefs cut. Well again, not available. Then, after we all received our first drink, there was nothing offered for a long period of time. All drinks and water, EMPTY. We realized it was not our waitress, it was your lack of staff. We did enjoy the meal. But I speak for many, how can you justify not offering a specialty (chefs cut) and run out of cheese curds (in Wi) on Grad. Weekend. Well, lesson learned. Please note, the waitress we had was very good considering her lack of support.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 12, 2018

We had 9 in our party! Very disappointed with how small the table was. We were crammed onto this table. There were bigger tables. I was annoyed as to why we were put on such a small table of 9 especially since I made the reservations 2 months in advance. The waiter was difficult to hear. Appetizers came out after soup and salad. The food was very good and the value was great. Just really disappointed by the table and the service since it was for my daughters college graduation.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 12, 2018

We went here for our son's graduation lunch/dinner. The ambience was great and our waitress was excellent, very attentive !

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 12, 2018

The place was okay. We needed somewhere for a group and wanted a reservation after UW-Madison's graduation. We were seated quickly. The wait staff and service was solid. The food was uneven though, some meals excellent and others mediocre. The constant at this place was the expense. I don't mind paying for great meals, but some of our entrees disappointed us.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 12, 2018

Everything was good. Nothing great. Enjoyed my time there

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 12, 2018

We have kids at UW Madison but when in town we regularly stop at Bonfyre. The food is excellent and the atmosphere is fun. They have a wide menu that is reasonably priced, and they have fun and inexpensive desserts. Will always try to go there.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 9, 2018

Great service and excellent as ever food quality

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 6, 2018

We have experienced the quality of the food at Bonfyre has steadily declined over the past year. We have enjoyed this spot for the past few years since moving to Madison, and have noticed subtle changes this past year. The portions of inexpensive food, such as rice have increased greatly and the items like salmon have decreased in portion size and quality. The veggie grill was not served as described on the menu. We will be taking a break for the time being and check back in a few months.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 6, 2018

Our only complaint was that the chicken served with the chicken/ribs dinner was fairly dry. Our service was great and our food was prepared in a timely manner. We'll be back. Thanks

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 5, 2018

Been here a couple of times. This time my wife’s steak was way under cooked. Ordered it medium and it came rare/medium rare. Center was raw and pretty much cold.

Drinks were good. Sides were excellent.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 5, 2018

Portions small (for the price). Entrees should include salad (or soup) and bread (for the price). Bar prices unreasonably steep (we drank water)! Jambalaya was tasty.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 3, 2018

Great food. Slow service. Great location. Never a wait.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 1, 2018

The white wine was warm and they didn’t fix the problem

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 20, 2018

The service was fantastic and food was incredible!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 19, 2018

Enjoyable and relaxing

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 10, 2018

I made my reservation through Open Table and got confirmation - but upon arrival the maître d' informed me that they didn't show the reservation. If if would've been a busy night we no doubt would've gone someplace else. This place has limited seating at this time of the year. Fortunately it was a Tuesday and we got a table. Steaks were good, cheese plate confusing (in WI) and dessert sampling was unique.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 8, 2018

Been here before and it's a nice place and location. Next time we're going to ask for a booth though. Wish we would have been offered the option, but still a great brunch overall!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 8, 2018

Dined here on April 7th as a party of six. Our car was hit in the parking lot and no one came forward so we are left to deal with it. The item I picked was the flatbread pizza which they were out of and had to pick something else. The pot roast and rib dinners looked amazing, the rest of the dinners were much less in portion and appeal.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 8, 2018

Service needs work
steak was rare ordered med-rare
waitress opened my wine improperly
a few other waitress faux pas
very loud atmosphere
bartenders could not keep up

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 7, 2018

Bonfyre has been great every time we have gone. The food is outstanding. The Menu is big with lots of variety. The drinks are always fantastic. The service was great. They have lots of different types of seating options. This time around we booked a reservation day of and didn't have much of an option. It was great regardless.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 7, 2018

Have been there many times. Food was aweful for all three in the party. Come here for the steaks which normally are outstanding . This time the steaks were burnt. One had a salad with chicken, the chicken was aweful. Very disappointed with the experience.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on April 5, 2018

We were there for my husband's birthday. We were seated at a horrible table with horrible view of the traffic and bad lighting. We requested to be moved to a booth, stated none available yet 5 were open during our whole meal. Forgot to offer bread, green beans were frozen and undercooked. My salad did not have any dressing and the lettuce was wilted. The only good part of the meal was my seafood dish. But even the best food food isn't good when eating in the dark with view of the major highway, made this meal not so special. Too bad because we have enjoyed meals there before. Service was poor too.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 1, 2018

Staff is friendly and helpful. Comfortable seating and a nice atmosphere. Lots of good options on the menu and the food was delicious.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 1, 2018

Although the food was very good, it suffered from the fate that the top line items either ran out, or were sub-par. As an example, while they did offer raw oysters, they were the size of nickels. Another example was that they had Creme Brulee , but they ran out (on a 2:00 Easter reservation) and wouldn't cook more. Another small, but unnecessary, negative was that the wait staff did not make it clear that all drinks (even juice & coffee) were a la carte. When they say "help your self to juice & coffee", and it is right next to the Buffet, most people assume it is included in the Buffet price.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
54