Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.46mi
  2. Distance: 0.64mi
  3. Distance: 0.99mi
  4. Distance: 1.30mi
  1. Distance: 0.46mi
  2. Distance: 0.64mi
  3. Distance: 0.99mi
  4. Distance: 1.30mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.46mi
  2. Distance: 0.64mi
  3. Distance: 0.99mi
  4. Distance: 1.30mi
  1. Distance: 0.46mi
  2. Distance: 0.64mi
  3. Distance: 0.99mi
  4. Distance: 1.30mi

About Bonfyre American Grille

Bonfyre features Contemporary American Cuisine in an upscale casual environment. In addition to our hand-cut, wood-fired Steaks, guests can enjoy fresh Seafood, Rotisserie Chicken, Pastas, Signature Salads and so much more from our seasonally changing menu.

To compliment the cuisine, Bonfyre’s bar features classic cocktails with a modern twist, creative new libations, domestic craft beer selections and a wine list consisting of 60 labels from both North and South America.

2601 West Beltline Hwy
Madison, WI 53713
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Everyday: 11:00pm - 4:00pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm
Saturdays open at 12 noon.
SUNDAY BRUNCH MENU from 10:00AM to 2:00PM

Cross Street:
Todd Drive

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(608) 273-3973

Website:
http://www.bonfyregrille.net/

Catering:
Bonfyre American Grille is available for both on and off premise events. Please contact our event coordinator to arrange your next party.

Parking Details:
Parking is available immediatly in front of the building, behind the restaurant in the parking garage, or across the street (behind Citgo)

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Bonfyre American Grille Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Business Meals (33)
Special Occasion (24)
Great for Lunch (22)
See All
Creative Cuisine (20)
Good for a Date (20)
Casual (18)
Good for Groups (18)
Bar Seating (17)
Fun (17)
Good for Anniversaries (15)
Good for Birthdays (14)
Worth the Drive (13)
Fit for Foodies (13)
Comfort Food (13)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Cozy (9)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Happy Hour (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Authentic (8)
Romantic (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Notable Wine List (7)
Great Beer (6)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Modern Decor (6)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Great for Brunch (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Seasonal (3)
Wood Oven (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Quick Bite (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Tapas (2)
Live Sports (2)
Hot Spot (2)
People Watching (2)
Spicy (2)
Family Style (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Vegan (1)
Fireplace (1)
Private Room (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Sort By:
S
1952 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined a day ago

Always a good meal- well prepared, nicely presented, and delicious

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 2 days ago

We really wanted to rate a 3.5 but could only do a 3 or 4. I rate a 4 with restaurants that I can't wait to go back.

Unfortunately, Bonfyre was good but not impressive. The chicken was a little dry in the kale salad. Besides that the salad was good. The seafood Cobb salad was good but the shrimp was a bit dry and there were only 3 shrimp ( the salad had Ahi tuna and crab but not an over generous amount). The staff was pleasant, yet not overly attentive.

The Bonfyre is a nice restaurant but with so many choices in the area, it will be a while before we go back. Not a bad restaurant and not outstanding either.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined 3 days ago

Bonfyre is a diamond in the rough! Great brunch, beautiful patio, lovely ambiance and friendly staff. Love this place!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Paleo Friendly, Notable Wine List, Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 14, 2017

Old Fashioned mixed drink was not a made in the traditional manner. Ceviche and Ahi Tuna apps were delish but much-hyped Pot Roast was fatty and flavorless. Overall, not worth the high prices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on August 10, 2017

The fish special was fantastic! It was by far the best entree we've had from any restaurant in Madison. Once again the food and service was exceptional.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fun, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Casual, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on August 5, 2017

I've eaten here many times and service was not up to par. A bit disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Have not had a bad meal here - flatbreads are excellent

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Groups, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on July 28, 2017

Very enjoyable lunch for Restaurant Week. I have been there for brunch, lunch and dinner in the pat and the food was always very good with great service.

Tags: Casual, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 28, 2017

Everything tasted great and very beautiful inside. Server was wonderful!

Tags: Fun, Good for a Date, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 28, 2017

Restaurant week lunch was very good. We both had the fish tacos. One tried the salad, one tried the soup, both also good. The cheesecake shooters were fine, just average. Service was excellent, we sat outside on the little patio because it was a very nice weather day.

Tags: Spicy, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on July 27, 2017

We came for Madison's Summer Restaurant Week to enjoy some specials at a great price. For the reasonable price, portions were not small at all! The food was well-prepared and very tasty. We were pleased by the friendly and efficient staff, especially our server Samantha. Nice job, Bonfyre! We'll be back.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 24, 2017

Two in my party loved the Pot Roast (I wish I would have ordered it). The Walley and the Salmon were severely overcooked.

Tags: Authentic, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Great Beer, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Our server, Alyssa, was spot on and very helpful. One time, there was a bit of a lag in service, but overall, very good. Food was tasty; a bit more salt on my salmon than necessary, but flavors were delicious. Will be back!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on July 21, 2017

Great service and food! I would recommend going there. The mango martini was delicious! My husband got the mixed grill and it was all good but loved the ribs the best.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 18, 2017

Chicken was great. One of the best places in town for ribs. Shoestring potatoes (French fries) were very tasty though a bit too salty. Good value for the food. Cocktails were so-so and probably not worth the price. Service was very good. Will definitely go back for the food and service.

Tags: Casual, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Great food and Brian was an awesome server! Will definitely go back!

Tags: Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Fun, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Food was great. Steak was cooked perfectly. I asked for medium/medium rare and it was just what I wanted.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 29, 2017

Bonfyre is a pretty solid destination. Last night was pretty good, with the exception of a slightly overdone steak and a waitress who began the evening with a bit of attitude. Food was still very tasty.

Tags: Business Meals, Great Beer, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Great for Outdoor Dining, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on June 28, 2017

Food was delicious and our server, Brian was great !

Tags: Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Fun, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 24, 2017

The ribs were excellent, as usual. Nice and hearty house salad. They ran out of my preferred draft beer but I still enjoyed the meal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Easy access off the Beltline. Good food always. Try the butternut squash soup!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 18, 2017

The service was not as good as we have had there in the past. The food is expensive, so I expect exceptional service.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Very enjoyable atmosphere with great service. The mixed drinks were quite good with excellent flavor. The wait staff were very attentive and helpful with their suggestions. Overall a very pleasant experience. We will be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Live Sports, Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Had a great time at the bonfyre restaurant.It is now my youngest son's favorite restaurant in Madison, Wisconsin.

Tags: Happy Hour, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Great food. The no-flour chocolate cake was like a fudge/ice cream treat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 11, 2017

I have been to BonFyre many times and can honestly say I've never had a bad experience and the food has always been good. They have even made exceptions to the menu and prepared
a personal request of mine. I would recommend them for any occasion.

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Consistently good food and service. Good atmosphere.

Tags: Casual, Cozy, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Service was excellent, but restaurants are about quality food when it comes right down to it. For $100+, there should be cloth table cloths, impeccable food, superb cocktails. I ordered a lemon drop martini. Tasted like Gatorade. My husband ordered a dry, slightly dirty martini, up... it came with so much brine he couldn't drink it. He added some ice, still unpotable. Waitress offered to bring a new one. Second one arrived with *ice* in it. They just added vermouth, reshook, and returned the original drink to him. Appetizer was inedible it was burned. Entrees were bland. Best part of the meal was the veggies. Won't go back. Great service but overpriced.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5
value1

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Anniversary dinner, great food, definitely recommend!

Tags: Cozy, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Fun, Notable Wine List, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 5, 2017

I frequently take friends for special occasions. The atmosphere is nice, but most especially everyone with various palate preferences can find good food options at reasonable price points.

Tags: Casual, Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Nice filling meal. Good seating, good food. Great flat bread and salads. The shrimp was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Our food was all very tasty. We went for a small birthday dinner for my mom's 70th and when they knew it was her birdthay they gave her a free dessert which was so kind of them. Our waitress was awesome. Our drinks were all great too. Just a nice restaurant that's pretty mellow with a nice atmosphere

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Love this place! The food is excellent, service is professional, and we never feel rushed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 1, 2017

We were in from out of town and needed a good place to eat. This was recommended. Food was generous to say the least and overall experience was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 31, 2017

The food was excellent and cocktails were good. I highly recommend the Lobster Ravioli, best I have ever had. The service was outstanding!! Great location for those who want to miss the downtown Madison traffic.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 30, 2017

Bonfyre never ceases to deliver consistently good lunch/dinner options. Tends to be more of a business crowd given location

Tags: Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Wonderful. Food came out quickly and fresh and hot. Very pleasant staff. Delicious, perfectly done steaks and ribs. Definitely going back!

Tags: Tapas, Fun, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 25, 2017

I thought our server Tara was excellent. Just the right amount of attention.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 25, 2017

The food and service was fine. Unfortunately, the price is just too expensive.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (Naples)·Dined on May 24, 2017

Have been to Bonfyre several times and never disappointed in anything.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.