Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.46mi
  2. Distance: 0.64mi
  3. Distance: 0.99mi
  4. Distance: 1.30mi
  1. Distance: 0.46mi
  2. Distance: 0.64mi
  3. Distance: 0.99mi
  4. Distance: 1.30mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.46mi
  2. Distance: 0.64mi
  3. Distance: 0.99mi
  4. Distance: 1.30mi
  1. Distance: 0.46mi
  2. Distance: 0.64mi
  3. Distance: 0.99mi
  4. Distance: 1.30mi

About Bonfyre American Grille

Bonfyre features Contemporary American Cuisine in an upscale casual environment. In addition to our hand-cut, wood-fired Steaks, guests can enjoy fresh Seafood, Rotisserie Chicken, Pastas, Signature Salads and so much more from our seasonally changing menu.

To compliment the cuisine, Bonfyre’s bar features classic cocktails with a modern twist, creative new libations, domestic craft beer selections and a wine list consisting of 60 labels from both North and South America.

2601 West Beltline Hwy
Madison, WI 53713
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American

Hours of Operation:
Bonfyre American Grille Hours of Operation:

Monday thru Friday – 11:00 AM – 10:00pm

Saturday – 10:00 AM- 10:00 PM

Sunday- 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM

Saturday-Sunday Brunch: 10:00 AM- 2:00 PM

Cross Street:
Todd Drive

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(608) 273-3973

Website:
http://www.bonfyregrille.net/

Catering:
Bonfyre American Grille is available for both on and off premise events. Please contact our event coordinator to arrange your next party.

Parking Details:
Parking is available immediatly in front of the building, behind the restaurant in the parking garage, or across the street (behind Citgo)

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Bonfyre American Grille Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

Noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Business Meals (28)
Casual (20)
Great for Lunch (20)
See All
Good for Groups (18)
Good for a Date (18)
Creative Cuisine (17)
Special Occasion (15)
Fit for Foodies (14)
Good for Anniversaries (13)
Good for Birthdays (13)
Bar Seating (10)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Worth the Drive (10)
Comfort Food (9)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
Fun (8)
Cozy (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Happy Hour (7)
Notable Wine List (7)
Romantic (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Healthy (6)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Authentic (5)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Great for Brunch (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Paleo Friendly (4)
People Watching (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Great Beer (4)
Disabled Access (2)
Live Sports (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Organic (2)
Seasonal (2)
Spicy (2)
Vegan (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort By:
S
1978 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 2 days ago

Great experience. Great food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined 2 days ago

Fantastic! Reserved a table via OpenTable for a five person business lunch 9 days in advance and everything was as expected. I was worried but they were expecting us and we had a great lunch. Highly recommend!!! The menu is fantastic, the service is excellent, and the ambiance is awesome.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Live Sports, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Good for Groups, Afternoon Coffee, Vegan, Late-night Find, Authentic, Special Occasion, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Great Beer, Casual, Happy Hour, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Gluten Free Options, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Afternoon Tea, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 15, 2017

Very good service but seemed a bit rushed. This was a busy night at Bonfyre.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
·Dined on October 14, 2017

Excellent food, drinks and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 9, 2017

Host did not record reservation even when told that we made reservation via
Open-Table (eventually resolved). Leftover food contained a sharp piece of either ceramic or plastic dinnerware.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 7, 2017

Each person in our group of four ordered different drinks & entre and everyone was delightfully happy & satisfied. Food was excellent.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Disabled Access, Paleo Friendly, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 7, 2017

The grilled Caesar salad is fantastic as was the tomato bisque which was served with a small grilled cheese sandwich. My steak came with green beans that were tender crisp and garlicky. Very good. Every thing was good except for the crab cakes which lacked crab taste. This a favorite place and we will be back

Tags: Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on September 29, 2017

Met with a friend I haven't seen for years. This is my place of choice because 9 times out of 10 the wait staff is attentive and professional, and the food is delicious and perfectly prepared.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on September 29, 2017

I would definitely recommend this Bonfyre! I was here for dinner with a friend. The food was amazing - will definitely be back! Wish we could have tried everything! Also loved the presentation of the food.

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Paleo Friendly, Great for Outdoor Dining, Organic, Great for Lunch, Tapas, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on September 27, 2017

Went for my birthday meal and had a wonderful Vegetarian Risotto that was cooked and seasoned perfectly. I would definitely have that entree again. Service was great as well.

This is one of my favorite restaurants in the Madison area. The food is always good and very reasonably priced. It can be a bit noisy during happy hour, but it's a great place for lunches to avoid that issue.

The only problem I had this time was that the restaurant reported me to Open Table as a no show, so I got an email from Open Table before I even got home. That's the first time that's ever happened to me and I hope it will be the last time.

Tags: Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on September 27, 2017

We really enjoyed this place for dinner. We had a few cocktails and really enjoyed all of our food. The portions were great (we both had leftovers the next day), drinks were delicious (I had the red Sangria!!) We would definitely repeat.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Casual, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on September 25, 2017

Great food, good service. Pretty reasonable price

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on September 25, 2017

Always fantastic! One of my favorite restaurants in Madison! Their menu has my favorite meals AND I'm always thrilled about new menu items! Delicious!

Tags: Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Live Sports, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on September 25, 2017

I can always count on getting a great meal here at a reasonable price. Vegetables are cooked to perfection.

Tags: Cozy, Comfort Food, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on September 20, 2017

Meat portion was modest, at best. I had the pan-fried walleye (1 long, skinny slice) and my friend had the steak sandwich (4 thin medallion slices that fit on the brat-size bun).
All accompaniments and sides were scrumptious, and the meat quality was great. Just the size of the entrée was under par. Ambiance is always wonderful.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined on September 18, 2017

This was my second visit. The first time was at least a year ago (maybe two). I remember the food to be good. My entree this time (maybe because I splurged for my birthday) was excellent! My husband said his was excellent also. My daughter let me try her squash soup which was delicious. I was also given a complimentary dessert for my birthday, which I enjoyed tremendously! The only complaint my son had was he didn't get an orange in his Blue Moon.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on September 3, 2017

Whether it's a special occasion or a casual lunch, we've never been disappointed at Bon Fyre.

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 2, 2017

I loved my food. It was so delicious and cozy. It was great service and great drinks. Went for a date night and didn't regret it!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Tasting Menu, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Cozy, Good Vegetarian Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on September 1, 2017

Had the walleye. Delicious. Two generous filets, roasted rosemary potatoes and garlic buttered green beans. All so good. Was enough for leftovers!
Our waitress was friendly and knowledgeable as I made my selection .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Overpriced, noisy and the service was slow. Why come here when I can get a top notch meal at Tornado Club downtown? Save your money. I truly can't believe how expensive this place is for a restaurant in a strip mall.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on August 26, 2017

We were seated quickly. Service and food were great. However, half way through our meal the lights were dimmed extremely low so we could not see each other much less the food we were eating. After many polite complaints to staff nothing was changed. All said it was up to the manager and they would address my concerns. My guests were bothered also, but I decided not to make a scene with the arrogant manager. We may look for other dining options in the future.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 25, 2017

Food was awesome! Our waitress emily was even better! We willl definitely be going back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on August 25, 2017

Very good service and food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tucson)·Dined on August 25, 2017

Outstanding food. We have eaten there several times & my wife says the walleye is the best ever. The ribs are as tender & tasty as you will find anywhere.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on August 22, 2017

Always a good meal- well prepared, nicely presented, and delicious

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 21, 2017

We really wanted to rate a 3.5 but could only do a 3 or 4. I rate a 4 with restaurants that I can't wait to go back.

Unfortunately, Bonfyre was good but not impressive. The chicken was a little dry in the kale salad. Besides that the salad was good. The seafood Cobb salad was good but the shrimp was a bit dry and there were only 3 shrimp ( the salad had Ahi tuna and crab but not an over generous amount). The staff was pleasant, yet not overly attentive.

The Bonfyre is a nice restaurant but with so many choices in the area, it will be a while before we go back. Not a bad restaurant and not outstanding either.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
·Dined on August 21, 2017

I have eaten here a number of times and have never had a bad meal. Fish tacos are great and vegetables are always cooked perfectly.

Tags: Comfort Food, Casual, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Bonfyre is a diamond in the rough! Great brunch, beautiful patio, lovely ambiance and friendly staff. Love this place!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Paleo Friendly, Notable Wine List, Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 14, 2017

Old Fashioned mixed drink was not a made in the traditional manner. Ceviche and Ahi Tuna apps were delish but much-hyped Pot Roast was fatty and flavorless. Overall, not worth the high prices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on August 10, 2017

The fish special was fantastic! It was by far the best entree we've had from any restaurant in Madison. Once again the food and service was exceptional.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fun, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Casual, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on August 5, 2017

I've eaten here many times and service was not up to par. A bit disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Have not had a bad meal here - flatbreads are excellent

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Groups, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on July 28, 2017

Very enjoyable lunch for Restaurant Week. I have been there for brunch, lunch and dinner in the pat and the food was always very good with great service.

Tags: Casual, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 28, 2017

Everything tasted great and very beautiful inside. Server was wonderful!

Tags: Fun, Good for a Date, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 28, 2017

Restaurant week lunch was very good. We both had the fish tacos. One tried the salad, one tried the soup, both also good. The cheesecake shooters were fine, just average. Service was excellent, we sat outside on the little patio because it was a very nice weather day.

Tags: Spicy, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on July 27, 2017

We came for Madison's Summer Restaurant Week to enjoy some specials at a great price. For the reasonable price, portions were not small at all! The food was well-prepared and very tasty. We were pleased by the friendly and efficient staff, especially our server Samantha. Nice job, Bonfyre! We'll be back.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 24, 2017

Two in my party loved the Pot Roast (I wish I would have ordered it). The Walley and the Salmon were severely overcooked.

Tags: Authentic, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Great Beer, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Our server, Alyssa, was spot on and very helpful. One time, there was a bit of a lag in service, but overall, very good. Food was tasty; a bit more salt on my salmon than necessary, but flavors were delicious. Will be back!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on July 21, 2017

Great service and food! I would recommend going there. The mango martini was delicious! My husband got the mixed grill and it was all good but loved the ribs the best.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 18, 2017

Chicken was great. One of the best places in town for ribs. Shoestring potatoes (French fries) were very tasty though a bit too salty. Good value for the food. Cocktails were so-so and probably not worth the price. Service was very good. Will definitely go back for the food and service.

Tags: Casual, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.