Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.46mi
  2. Distance: 0.64mi
  3. Distance: 0.99mi
  4. Distance: 1.30mi
  1. Distance: 0.46mi
  2. Distance: 0.64mi
  3. Distance: 0.99mi
  4. Distance: 1.30mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.46mi
  2. Distance: 0.64mi
  3. Distance: 0.99mi
  4. Distance: 1.30mi
  1. Distance: 0.46mi
  2. Distance: 0.64mi
  3. Distance: 0.99mi
  4. Distance: 1.30mi

About Bonfyre American Grille

Bonfyre features Contemporary American Cuisine in an upscale casual environment. In addition to our hand-cut, wood-fired Steaks, guests can enjoy fresh Seafood, Rotisserie Chicken, Pastas, Signature Salads and so much more from our seasonally changing menu.

To compliment the cuisine, Bonfyre’s bar features classic cocktails with a modern twist, creative new libations, domestic craft beer selections and a wine list consisting of 60 labels from both North and South America.

2601 West Beltline Hwy
Madison, WI 53713
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Everyday: 11:00pm - 4:00pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm
Saturdays open at 12 noon.
SUNDAY BRUNCH MENU from 10:00AM to 2:00PM

Cross Street:
Todd Drive

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(608) 273-3973

Website:
http://www.bonfyregrille.net/

Catering:
Bonfyre American Grille is available for both on and off premise events. Please contact our event coordinator to arrange your next party.

Parking Details:
Parking is available immediatly in front of the building, behind the restaurant in the parking garage, or across the street (behind Citgo)

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Bonfyre American Grille Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (45)
Good for a Date (42)
Great for Lunch (27)
See All
Casual (26)
Business Meals (26)
Good for Groups (25)
Wood Oven (25)
Good for Birthdays (24)
Good for Anniversaries (24)
Modern Decor (23)
Bar Seating (23)
Comfort Food (22)
Fun (22)
Romantic (22)
Creative Cuisine (20)
Cozy (19)
Fireplace (16)
Great for Brunch (16)
Handcrafted Cocktails (14)
Worth the Drive (13)
Fit for Foodies (12)
Happy Hour (11)
Pre/post Theatre (10)
Authentic (10)
Vibrant Bar Scene (10)
Open Kitchen (9)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Great Beer (9)
Hot Spot (8)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Notable Wine List (8)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Private Room (6)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Healthy (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Quick Bite (3)
Family Style (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Live Sports (2)
People Watching (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Seasonal (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Organic (1)
Scenic View (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort By:
S
1909 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Brooklyn, the hostess, and our personal wait staff person were warm. charming. and professional. Thanks for a fun brunch!

Tags: Seasonal, Fun, Comfort Food, Open Kitchen, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Casual, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Fireplace, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Good for mother's day. Not as crowded as last year.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Great food! I do not appreciate how dark the restaurant is, however. Even when it is still light outside it is dark within the restaurant making it harder to read the menu and see the people across the table. The restaurant could use some more lights!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Nice choices for different tastes (ribs, chicken, sandwiches, burgers, salads). Delicious food and great service.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Great Beer, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on May 13, 2017

I went to Bonfyre Grille for a graduation celebration. I called several days ahead to see if I could purchase a bottle of sparkling wine a head of time so it would be at the table when we arrived. The manager told me that they could not do that as there were too many reservations. I found this odd and rather rude to not accommodate.
We got to the restaurant and I felt like they rushed us in and out. We were from out of town and so were the other guests and we wanted to sit and have a decent dinner so we could talk. The food came out very quickly and there was no time between courses. I was still eating my salad when my entree came out. The server took my salad plate even though I wasn't finished with my salad. The staff was not very attentive. Everything was rushed.

The food was pretty good, there are a lot of options and everything is decently priced.

I just wish we were not so rushed and that the restaurant was more accommodating for special occasions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Food was great! Good service. Recommend the Lounge for quieter setting.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Wood Oven, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 12, 2017

We went there with our family for our son's graduation dinner, and the service was very friendly and prompt. Everyone ordered something different, and they were all excellent.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 12, 2017

The food and service were always very good. I think it's overpriced.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 10, 2017

A great lunch and dinner menu that allows the patrons to push the experience from casual to fine dining

Tags: Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 6, 2017

We attended the restaurant for prom ngith dinner and it was great. The food was delicious and our waitress was so on top of things and handled out group well. Even though we were small she still managed the group well. The decor and ambiance of the restaurant was also pleasing. Overall a very nice place to have gone for prom.

Tags: Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Family Style, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Great place to have dinner while visiting my daughter in Madison. Excellent food and service.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Very accommodating, good service and excellent food will continue to return. Especially enjoyed the outside seating and flatbread appetizer. The chicken parm came with a "to die for" fettuccine alfredo. Wish the alfredo was its own entree. The seafood pasta special was very lean on the seafood and unimpressive. This is a fun bar and restaurant worth the try. Great cocktails and friendly staff.

Tags: Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Parking was a little tricky, mussels and oysters delicious. Loved the drinks

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Fun, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Nice job for a group - food served timely. Great choices-

Tags: Business Meals, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Tapas, Great Beer, Cozy, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 2, 2017

We arrived at 6:15 on a Tuesday night with a party of five. We had a great round booth in the corner, our server was attentive, prompt and very friendly. It was margarita night and we had two of our guests have them, they were very good. The Fig Flatbread is amazing and all our meals were outstanding!! I would definitely suggest dining at Bonfyre if you haven't. The only downfall is parking.

Tags: Modern Decor, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Saved my table even though my dinner companion ran 20 minutes late. Food was very good. The place was hopping, yet I don't recall a single instance of thinking the noise made conversation difficult. Our server was efficient and good. This is my second or third time here and first lunch and nothing has changed my really positive opinion of the place.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 26, 2017

Special, retirement lunch. Everything was wonderful, food was delicious, every special offered that day sounded great. Service was spot on and our only issue was too much food to finish, portions were large

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Food and server were amazing. Drove in from out of town for birthday celebration. Table was set for 3 for our party of 4. Table next to us set for 4 and party of 2 were seated there after us - didn't make sense. Seated right next to patio door, cold breeze every time door opened.

Tags: Comfort Food, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Loved the food and ambiance as usual. To be honest our server was less than pleasant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Great food! Totally recommend Bonfyre for anybody that likes good food. The mini-desserts are AMAZING!!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Open Kitchen, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 16, 2017

My family and I dined with you for Easter Sunday dinner. I ordered the 6 oz Filet Mignon, medium rare, and it was simply the most delicious steak I've ever eaten. Cooked to perfection! A job well done! The other entrees ordered were the half rack of ribs - meat so tender it literally fell off the bone, and Chicken Parmesan - the freshest taste, light and smooth!

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 16, 2017

I went to Bonfyre for Easter dinner with six others, both family and friends. We were all pleased with the food and the service. My only complaint was the table was a little small for seven adults, considering it was very quiet in the restaurant that evening. I've eaten at Bonfyre about ten times, and have always been pleased with the experience.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Easter Brunch was fantastic

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 16, 2017

I made the reservation for Easter Sunday, but did not realize it was buffet only. The selection was great but none of us were planning on eating a big meal, so it was disappointing to eat so little of what they had to offer, and it ended up costing us a lot more than it normally would have. But it was still very enjoyable and delicious; I will just pay closer attention when booking on holidays.

Tags: Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Went for Easter Sunday brunch.
It had a buffet with good variety.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Bonfyre has become a family favorite over the years! Menu offers new & creative options along with food items from the past...brunch never ceases to please every taste!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Great Beer, Casual, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We went for Easter Brunch and it was great. We had a 12:45 reservation and we arrived at 12:30 and we were seated right away. Nice selection of food. The staff was very attentive and friendly.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Our table was by an outside door and it was cold. We were glad to get out and warm up. Great buffet though.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 10, 2017

cheese curds were awesome, we were from out of state and had to try.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 9, 2017

We went for my birthday and everyone absolutely loved it

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Fireplace, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Sunday Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 8, 2017

I ordered a steak medium rare. The steak that arrived was medium well. The server took the steak but left my sides. I was almost finished with the sides by time the new steak came. Poor timing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Good food, unfortunately overpriced. This used to be much more reasonable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value1

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 3, 2017

This is one of my favorite restaurants. Food is always good. Atmosphere is very pleasant too. The noise level is too high for easy conversation though.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 2, 2017

We live approximately 45 minutes from Madison and decided to yry out Bonfyre for Sunday Brunch. As usual, the food and service was fantastic. Truthfully there are cheaper places with decent food, but you just cant go wrong with the Bonfyre where you also find unique entrée s. I had the Jumbolaya with eggs over the top. Where are you going to find that for Brunch.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Casual, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 1, 2017

We really enjoyed our late Saturday lunch at Bonfyre. The food was excellent, the service quick, and the atmosphere was friendly.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 31, 2017

We had a great meal in a wonderful atmosphere. The service was awesome too!

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Wasn't satisfied with our main course everything else was great but the food just wasn't as good as we expected it to be. They did take off our bill and were very nice and understanding about that so we do appreciate that.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 28, 2017

Great spot for a business lunch. Food was excellent, and well presented. Service was top notch. Nice ambiance. Noise level was good for business conversation. Highly recommended!

Tags: Good for Groups, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Dinner was great. Tried the prime rib. The wood fire adds a nice smoky flavor to that and the grilled Caesar salad. Added on a crab cake--- not worth the $6. Teeny, tiny and didn't taste the crab only the sauces it was served with. The shrimp add on is worth it. They were a nice size and had that great wood fired taste. Seated at an awkward table that meant sitting next to my dining partner instead of across or be constantly bumped in to by people walking by.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Great tender steak, great cheese curds, many delicious drink options.

Tags: Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Live Sports, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Wood Oven, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.