About Bonfyre American Grille

2601 West Beltline Hwy
Madison, WI 53713
View Larger Map

Bonfyre features Contemporary American Cuisine in an upscale casual environment. In addition to our hand-cut, wood-fired Steaks, guests can enjoy fresh Seafood, Rotisserie Chicken, Pastas, Signature Salads and so much more from our seasonally changing menu.

To compliment the cuisine, Bonfyre’s bar features classic cocktails with a modern twist, creative new libations, domestic craft beer selections and a wine list consisting of 60 labels from both North and South America.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Everyday: 11:00pm - 4:00pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm
Saturdays open at 12 noon.
SUNDAY BRUNCH MENU from 10:00AM to 2:00PM

Cross Street:
Todd Drive

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(608) 273-3973

Website:
http://www.bonfyregrille.net/

Catering:
Bonfyre American Grille is available for both on and off premise events. Please contact our event coordinator to arrange your next party.

Parking Details:
Parking is available immediatly in front of the building, behind the restaurant in the parking garage, or across the street (behind Citgo)

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Bonfyre American Grille, Madison, WI
Herb Crusted Rotisserie Chicken - Bonfyre American Grille, Madison, WI
Soup - Bonfyre American Grille, Madison, WI
Salad - Bonfyre American Grille, Madison, WI
gin and tonic - Bonfyre American Grille, Madison, WI
Beer - Bonfyre American Grille, Madison, WI
East Coast Seafood Rolls  - Bonfyre American Grille, Madison, WI
chicken wrap - Bonfyre American Grille, Madison, WI
East Coast Seafood Roll  - Bonfyre American Grille, Madison, WI
Tomato Bisque - Bonfyre American Grille, Madison, WI
Truffle Fries - Bonfyre American Grille, Madison, WI
Rotisserie Herbed Chicken - Bonfyre American Grille, Madison, WI
Calamari - Bonfyre American Grille, Madison, WI
Chicken Parmesan - Bonfyre American Grille, Madison, WI
Long Island Iced Tea - Bonfyre American Grille, Madison, WI
Fish Tacos!  - Bonfyre American Grille, Madison, WI
Cioppino - Bonfyre American Grille, Madison, WI
Jerk Chicken Fondue - Bonfyre American Grille, Madison, WI
Bread Pudding - Bonfyre American Grille, Madison, WI
Burger - Bonfyre American Grille, Madison, WI
Fyre & Ice - Bonfyre American Grille, Madison, WI
BBQ Rotisserie Chicken  - Bonfyre American Grille, Madison, WI
Ribeye (Wood-Fire Grilled) - Bonfyre American Grille, Madison, WI
Pot Roast Hash And Eggs - Bonfyre American Grille, Madison, WI
Chicken Tortilla Soup - Bonfyre American Grille, Madison, WI
Ahi Appetuzer - Bonfyre American Grille, Madison, WI
Biscuits and Gravy - Bonfyre American Grille, Madison, WI
Lobster Cobb Salad - Bonfyre American Grille, Madison, WI
Seared Ahi Tuna Salad - Bonfyre American Grille, Madison, WI

Bonfyre American Grille Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (42)
Special Occasion (30)
Romantic (26)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (24)
Modern Decor (24)
Wood Oven (22)
Worth the Drive (20)
Good for Birthdays (20)
Business Meals (19)
Good for Groups (18)
Casual (18)
Bar Seating (17)
Cozy (17)
Creative Cuisine (17)
Fireplace (16)
Vibrant Bar Scene (16)
Great for Lunch (15)
Fit for Foodies (15)
Comfort Food (14)
Notable Wine List (13)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Fun (13)
Happy Hour (12)
Pre/post Theatre (12)
Handcrafted Cocktails (12)
Great for Brunch (11)
Hot Spot (11)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Healthy (8)
Late-night Find (7)
Authentic (7)
Gluten Free Options (7)
Great Beer (7)
Local Ingredients (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Open Kitchen (5)
Outstanding Value (4)
Family Style (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Private Room (4)
Seasonal (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
People Watching (2)
Live Sports (2)
Vegan (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Organic (1)
Scenic View (1)
Spicy (1)
Sort By:
S
1815 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Bonfyre is one of our favorite restauran ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined 2 days ago

Bonfyre is one of our favorite restaurants. We try to dine there as much as possible. The menu variety and quality of food is exceptional. The service is top notch. I recommend setting a reservation online. Lunch was great and we did not have to wait for a tasty meal. Everyone in our group had a fantastic entre.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Modern Decor, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was good as usual but the ribs arri ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined 3 days ago

Food was good as usual but the ribs arrived less than warm. Sent them back and they were ok, but all they did was put hot sauce on them. Waitperson was friendly but a. It annoying at times by repeating herself. Still enjoyable overall.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Alan our server at the bonfyre was fanta ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined 5 days ago

Alan our server at the bonfyre was fantastic. His service was excellent. Fodder was excellent bar staff was excellent. Definitely will be back.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I think this restaurant would be best fo ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined 5 days ago

I think this restaurant would be best for large parties. The bar area looks fun, but I ate dinner in the dining area facing the Beltline (not a very pleasant city view).

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Everything was pleasant and nice! Only s ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Everything was pleasant and nice! Only small issue is since it was just the 2 of us, they Sat us on a little table next to a door with really cold air coming in so besides great food we were pretty cold, but overall everything was great! Woulda been better to not sit by the cold door tho!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Late-night Find, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

food is good, but pricey. nice wine list ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 6, 2017

food is good, but pricey. nice wine list. nice atmosphere.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

The food was pretty good. Nothing to ge ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 4, 2017

The food was pretty good. Nothing to get excited about.

The service was outstanding.

The noise from the bar was less than appealing.

Unfortunately, a group with small children was placed next to my wife and I. We had a night out, away from our kids. I'd suggest having an area for couples who are obviously on a date and a seperate area for "others".

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food and service. However, if you ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Great food and service. However, if you want prime rib, go as early as possible because they will run out.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The main problem is deciding on a starte ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The main problem is deciding on a starter ---between their yummy mushroom soup, delicious butternut squash soup or their Caesar salad that has quickly grilled greens. I ordered the filet oscar style and hubby had the prime rib . Both cooked to perfection , though Bernaise sauce was meager. I prefer the garlic mashed over the twice baked, but just a personal choice. Both were good. Our server was a lovely young woman who was friendly, helpful and enthusiastic.

Tags: Cozy, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

I dine here a lot and have never experie ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 1, 2017

I dine here a lot and have never experienced a bed meal until New Year's Eve I had the Miso salmon and it was over cooked and dry. My husband had steak and her ordered it med rare and it was well done. Our waitress was terrific so I didn't want to blame her but our meal should have been free!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

Very good. Great service and menu. Food ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Very good. Great service and menu. Food was excellent. Upscale/casual very accurate description

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

My wife and I have been to Bonfyre a han ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 1, 2017

My wife and I have been to Bonfyre a handful of times in the past few years. Great food but more often than not, bad luck I guess, we end up with a crappy table near the kitchen door, the water-serving area in the middle of an aisle, or wherever, resulting in a LOUD dinner. Maybe if you pay off the hostess something better happens, but it seems they try and cram people in whereas with fewer tables they could help ensure ALL diners have a better experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Our party of four really enjoyed the eve ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Our party of four really enjoyed the evening at BonFyre. The Tenderloin I had was perfectly cooked and the the other entrees ( duck, prime rib, and shrimp) were excellent. We all had one of the mousse selections for dessert and that was a perfect size to end the scrumptious meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a very enjoyable New Years Eve. d ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We had a very enjoyable New Years Eve. dinner. Excellent service, great drinks and our party of four meals were great. Everyone had a different entry and they where hot,on time and had great eye appeal. Overall we enjoyed our evening out and plan on coming again soon.

Tags: Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Bar Seating, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Too many good choices to chose from! Sig ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Too many good choices to chose from! Signature loaded baked was to die for and fillet melted in your mouth. Will definitely need to go back.

Tags: Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Casual, Cozy, Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Late-night Find, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Open Kitchen, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was pretty good at Bonfyre, as ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The food was pretty good at Bonfyre, as always, though the menu selection is not quite a diverse as one might like, and if you want a burger, you won't find it there.

Tags: Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

I have been to Bonfyre many many times a ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 1, 2017

I have been to Bonfyre many many times and have nothing to bad to say about this place! The food is always delicious, my favorite being the Chicken Parmesan. My only complaint/thought is the change in size of the crab cakes. The crab cakes are my favorite appetizer but it is hard to justify ordering them when the size of the cake got smaller but the price went up. Overall, I definitely recommend eating here!

Tags: Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Fireplace, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent food and service! Great cozy ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Excellent food and service! Great cozy atmosphere!

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Just a good time with friends, outstand ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Just a good time with friends, outstanding service and the food is just as expected.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was very good. It's on the pricey s ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Food was very good. It's on the pricey side. Staff was wonderful as was the ambiance.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was fabulous! Service was amazing! ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Food was fabulous! Service was amazing! Atmosphere was perfect! Will for sure be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went for Christmas Eve Dinner. Our s ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 24, 2016

We went for Christmas Eve Dinner. Our server was Emily she made the night very enjoyable for us. Great service Great Food Great Drinks. The Duck is amazing, the prime rib nice and rare, herb chicken nice and moist. Then we had desert even though we were very full Emily convinced us that we need to have some and coffee. Great way to start Christmas.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The muscles were delicious. The best eve ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 21, 2016

The muscles were delicious. The best ever!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4

Good food but on the pricey side for a l ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Good food but on the pricey side for a lunch option. Service was decent for a very busy lunch rush.

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Great central Madison location for a gro ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 19, 2016

Great central Madison location for a group to meet. Plenty of parking behind the restaurant if the front spots are full. Large menu and very good lunch prices.

Tags: Cozy, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

when we arrived we were promptly seated. ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 10, 2016

when we arrived we were promptly seated. Our server, Morgan, was efficient, attentive and very friendly. The salmon special with rice was very flavorful with a generous portion of fish. The NY Strip was perfectly rare, flavorful and tender. the twice baked potato and the perfectly steamed green beans were both very salty. My husband had the cioppino and said he would give it 5 stars if it was less salty. the brandy old fashions were hand made and excellent. overall the experience was very good. Will give them another chance and hope the salt is sprinkled with a lighter hand. You can always add more at the table.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Some of the best food I've had in Madiso ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Some of the best food I've had in Madison has been at Bonfyre. I love their risotto and seafood!!! It's a little pricier on some things but it's well worth it (and I'm a budget watcher) especially if you have a special occasion.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Gluten Free Options, Modern Decor, Cozy, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Authentic, Comfort Food, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

My friends and I enjoyed coming to your ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 5, 2016

My friends and I enjoyed coming to your restaurant very much. The meals were all excellent!

Tags: Business Meals, Good Vegetarian Options, Private Room, Good for Groups, Spicy, Disabled Access, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely amazing food. Loved the visit ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Absolutely amazing food. Loved the visit and can't wait to go back!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Scenic View, Great for Brunch, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our first visit to Bonfyre and ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 4, 2016

This was our first visit to Bonfyre and we won't be coming back anytime soon if ever. When we arrived the staff at the host station were not welcoming and were a bit rude. Once we were seated we waited for over 10 minutes for our server to take our drink order. The Bonfyre Old fashioned was delicious and so was the Blue Cheese Chips app we ordered. It all went downhill form there. My husband ordered a bacon cheese burger that was so greasy that even the lettuce and tomatoes were inedible. I ordered the Butternut Squash Risotto and it tasted like they used instant rice to make it and I couldn't find any squash in it. We couldn't find our server to let him know our disappointment with the meal and then Bob, their event coordinator came by and saw the look on my husband's face and asked if there was something wrong. Bob made sure that our meals were removed from our bill because he wanted us to know that our experience was not up to their expectations. We really appreciated him trying to make it right by us but we won't hurry back unless it is to sit at the bar and enjoy a cocktail and an app.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value1

Excellent food and service! We will defi ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Excellent food and service! We will definitely return. Highly recommend

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The service from Maddie was terrific in ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 28, 2016

The service from Maddie was terrific in that she paid attention to the fact that we had a concert to go to and needed top be on time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Nice place to take family visiting for t ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Nice place to take family visiting for the holiday weekend. Restaurant was busy, but our reservation was honored right on time. Food and drink did not disappoint...the ribs melted in my mouth. We didn't have room for dessert, but when we do, we love the mini parfaits!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Our table was next to the bar and people ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Our table was next to the bar and people standing at the bar made our dinner uncomfortable because they were practically standing on top of us. Food was okay but service was slow.

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value3

Great food and reliable service as a rel ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Great food and reliable service as a relaxing dinner. We have come here dozens of times and keep coming back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

I have visited BonFyre several times ove ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 22, 2016

I have visited BonFyre several times over the past few years. I feel there has been a decline in the quality of food the last couple times I have been there. I am a huge fan of the fish tacos, and I stopped in one Sunday afternoon for a bite and the quality of the food was not nearly as good as it has been. The fish did not have the flavor it had in the times before, and they were filled with soggy coleslaw drenched in dressing. My last dining experience was 11/22 and I ordered the Ahi Tuna Salad. Again, I was quite disappointed. The salad was soggy and overloaded with dressing. It lacked the typical crunch it had in the past. I really like BonFyre, and would hope these are not a sign of things to come. I really enjoy the venue, bar, drink selection and service is typically very good and my only concern is the declining quality of food. I left my last two experiences there feeling that I paid way too much for what I received.

Tags: Fireplace, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

I couldn't decide what to have so I deci ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 20, 2016

I couldn't decide what to have so I decided I would get the mixed grill, with Mai Mai steak and chicken. two out of three is better than one out of one? The fish was overcooked and a few bites were bad. The steak was awesome and so was the chicken. The only other issue was very DULL cutting knifes for the steak. My husband had the Prime rib and had a hard time cutting it.....was it the cut of meat and or the knife? He did say it was good once he got it cut.

Tags: Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

We came after the Badgers game and it wa ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 13, 2016

We came after the Badgers game and it was hoppin'! The guys had sat in the bar till the gals could meet them, and the bar scene was so much fun (TV's showing more football, great "bonfire" smells coming from the kitchen, etc.), the guys kept the bar table and the 4 of us very happily had dinner there. The guys notified the host to go ahead and give our 6:15 table reservation away.

Meanwhile, the food was great! 2 of us had the cioppino and raved about how much seafood was in the dish-- more than one would expect! Our other companion loves your roasted chicken-- and was so happy they could give him his requested BBQ sauce. Your fries are wonderful! And a GREAT beet salad! No room for dessert! But we've had those little parfait style desserts before and LOVE them!

We loved the electric atmosphere after the Badger game and will definitely come again after a game-- and by the way, we are all in our 50's.

Tags: Hot Spot, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Gluten Free Options, Comfort Food, Live Sports, Fireplace, Wood Oven, , Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene, Business Meals, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Family Style, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful evening at BonFyre, as always! ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Wonderful evening at BonFyre, as always! Requested a specific table and, even though they were busy (as always), they were very accommodating. Great food, great service. Can't beat it.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My date ended up working late. I called ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 12, 2016

My date ended up working late. I called to see if I could change my reservations to a later time. Bonfyre was willing to accommodate except they couldn't guarantee seating in the restaurant. Upon arrival we were placed in beacon lounge, which actually worked out since it was really quiet then the restaurant was. I have and would continue to recommend this restaurant to everyone.

Tags: Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.