Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.46mi
  2. Distance: 0.64mi
  3. Distance: 0.99mi
  4. Distance: 1.30mi
  1. Distance: 0.46mi
  2. Distance: 0.64mi
  3. Distance: 0.99mi
  4. Distance: 1.30mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.46mi
  2. Distance: 0.64mi
  3. Distance: 0.99mi
  4. Distance: 1.30mi
  1. Distance: 0.46mi
  2. Distance: 0.64mi
  3. Distance: 0.99mi
  4. Distance: 1.30mi

About Bonfyre American Grille

Bonfyre features Contemporary American Cuisine in an upscale casual environment. In addition to our hand-cut, wood-fired Steaks, guests can enjoy fresh Seafood, Rotisserie Chicken, Pastas, Signature Salads and so much more from our seasonally changing menu.

To compliment the cuisine, Bonfyre’s bar features classic cocktails with a modern twist, creative new libations, domestic craft beer selections and a wine list consisting of 60 labels from both North and South America.

2601 West Beltline Hwy
Madison, WI 53713
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Everyday: 11:00pm - 4:00pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm
Saturdays open at 12 noon.
SUNDAY BRUNCH MENU from 10:00AM to 2:00PM

Cross Street:
Todd Drive

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(608) 273-3973

Website:
http://www.bonfyregrille.net/

Catering:
Bonfyre American Grille is available for both on and off premise events. Please contact our event coordinator to arrange your next party.

Parking Details:
Parking is available immediatly in front of the building, behind the restaurant in the parking garage, or across the street (behind Citgo)

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Bonfyre American Grille Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (49)
Special Occasion (42)
Wood Oven (28)
See All
Casual (26)
Good for Groups (26)
Bar Seating (26)
Romantic (25)
Modern Decor (25)
Great for Lunch (24)
Good for Birthdays (24)
Good for Anniversaries (24)
Fun (22)
Business Meals (21)
Fireplace (21)
Comfort Food (20)
Cozy (20)
Creative Cuisine (19)
Great for Brunch (18)
Fit for Foodies (16)
Handcrafted Cocktails (15)
Happy Hour (14)
Worth the Drive (14)
Vibrant Bar Scene (12)
Pre/post Theatre (11)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Hot Spot (11)
Open Kitchen (10)
Authentic (10)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Notable Wine List (8)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Gluten Free Options (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Private Room (6)
Great Beer (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Healthy (5)
Tasting Menu (4)
Disabled Access (4)
People Watching (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Live Sports (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Family Style (2)
Scenic View (1)
Organic (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Sort By:
S
1890 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined 2 days ago

Loved the food and ambiance as usual. To be honest our server was less than pleasant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined 2 days ago

Great food! Totally recommend Bonfyre for anybody that likes good food. The mini-desserts are AMAZING!!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Open Kitchen, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 16, 2017

My family and I dined with you for Easter Sunday dinner. I ordered the 6 oz Filet Mignon, medium rare, and it was simply the most delicious steak I've ever eaten. Cooked to perfection! A job well done! The other entrees ordered were the half rack of ribs - meat so tender it literally fell off the bone, and Chicken Parmesan - the freshest taste, light and smooth!

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 16, 2017

I went to Bonfyre for Easter dinner with six others, both family and friends. We were all pleased with the food and the service. My only complaint was the table was a little small for seven adults, considering it was very quiet in the restaurant that evening. I've eaten at Bonfyre about ten times, and have always been pleased with the experience.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Easter Brunch was fantastic

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 16, 2017

I made the reservation for Easter Sunday, but did not realize it was buffet only. The selection was great but none of us were planning on eating a big meal, so it was disappointing to eat so little of what they had to offer, and it ended up costing us a lot more than it normally would have. But it was still very enjoyable and delicious; I will just pay closer attention when booking on holidays.

Tags: Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Went for Easter Sunday brunch.
It had a buffet with good variety.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Bonfyre has become a family favorite over the years! Menu offers new & creative options along with food items from the past...brunch never ceases to please every taste!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Great Beer, Casual, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We went for Easter Brunch and it was great. We had a 12:45 reservation and we arrived at 12:30 and we were seated right away. Nice selection of food. The staff was very attentive and friendly.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Our table was by an outside door and it was cold. We were glad to get out and warm up. Great buffet though.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 10, 2017

cheese curds were awesome, we were from out of state and had to try.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 9, 2017

We went for my birthday and everyone absolutely loved it

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Fireplace, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Sunday Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 8, 2017

I ordered a steak medium rare. The steak that arrived was medium well. The server took the steak but left my sides. I was almost finished with the sides by time the new steak came. Poor timing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Good food, unfortunately overpriced. This used to be much more reasonable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value1

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 3, 2017

This is one of my favorite restaurants. Food is always good. Atmosphere is very pleasant too. The noise level is too high for easy conversation though.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 2, 2017

We live approximately 45 minutes from Madison and decided to yry out Bonfyre for Sunday Brunch. As usual, the food and service was fantastic. Truthfully there are cheaper places with decent food, but you just cant go wrong with the Bonfyre where you also find unique entrée s. I had the Jumbolaya with eggs over the top. Where are you going to find that for Brunch.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Casual, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 1, 2017

We really enjoyed our late Saturday lunch at Bonfyre. The food was excellent, the service quick, and the atmosphere was friendly.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 31, 2017

We had a great meal in a wonderful atmosphere. The service was awesome too!

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Wasn't satisfied with our main course everything else was great but the food just wasn't as good as we expected it to be. They did take off our bill and were very nice and understanding about that so we do appreciate that.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 28, 2017

Great spot for a business lunch. Food was excellent, and well presented. Service was top notch. Nice ambiance. Noise level was good for business conversation. Highly recommended!

Tags: Good for Groups, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Dinner was great. Tried the prime rib. The wood fire adds a nice smoky flavor to that and the grilled Caesar salad. Added on a crab cake--- not worth the $6. Teeny, tiny and didn't taste the crab only the sauces it was served with. The shrimp add on is worth it. They were a nice size and had that great wood fired taste. Seated at an awkward table that meant sitting next to my dining partner instead of across or be constantly bumped in to by people walking by.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Great tender steak, great cheese curds, many delicious drink options.

Tags: Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Live Sports, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Wood Oven, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 22, 2017

Bonfyre provided another great experience for a gathering of co-workers to enjoy a tasty, reasonably priced lunch. Our waitress was very personable too.

Tags: Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Great for Brunch, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 22, 2017

Great salads for lunch!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 17, 2017

It was a great place. The atmosphere and food were perfect . The crab cakes were small for their price but were very good.

Tags: Fun, Bar Seating, Great Beer, Good for Groups, Modern Decor, Casual, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on March 17, 2017

This is one of my favorite restaurants for good food. Unfortunately, we were disappointed this time. The flatbreads, which usually are delicious tasted reheated and the salmon smelled extremely fishy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Great atmosphere and service. Mediocre food. Tough gristly steak. Most the food on my plate was cold.. Soup was thin and sweet. Fish tacos were good though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Overall a good dining experience. The crab cake appetizer was very good but really small. Compared to other area restaurants it is not a good value as you receive 2 bite size cakes for $15.00. the grilled caesar salad is excellent and large enough to share. The seafood pappardelle was very bland. Our steak was done perfectly and was very tender. The Lobster Ravioli was also very good. The mixed grill of chicken, steak and ribs was the big hit of the night. I recommend the Old Fashions, hand made and very tasty!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 11, 2017

We enjoyed the fish special which was tasty and just the right size portion. Great service and fun atmosphere @ 7 pm on a Friday

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Good food for casual dining or business meetings in a pleasant environment

Tags: Fun, Casual, Bar Seating, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 6, 2017

Many of the food items have generous portions. So be prepared for a filling meal. Also make sure to request the shooters for dessert. Sized for a perfectly decadent dessert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 5, 2017

What a fabulous find! I dined with my UW daughter & her roommate. The service & food were top notch and the noise level was not bad at all. For these reasons, I will return with my husband. It is nearly impossible to find a restaurant that is not noisy. I highly recommend this restaurant to foodies.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Was to dark and the birthday boy's steak was more fat than steak.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 4, 2017

I made the reservation because I thought they served Brunch on Saturdays but I was wrong. They don't serve Brunch on Saturdays. My husband and I were a disappointed in that but we still stayed and ordered lunch.

We ordered the chorizo mussels and they were delicious! I ordered the fish tacos with squash soup and my husband ordered the bacon cheese burger with the zucchini fries. They were both delicious!

So even though we didn't get Brunch, like we were hoping, the food and service were still excellent and I would recommend! We plan on coming back for Brunch!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Everything was great except the green beans. next time i'll get a different veggie.

Tags: Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Modern Decor, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Fun, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Vibrant Bar Scene, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 26, 2017

I used this restaurant for my wife's birthday party. We had about 16 people in attendance. I had heard good things and wanted to try this place out. The food was good, but the waitress we had must have been in a bad mood. She had a very unamused look on her face and must have been having a bad day. She was short with us and gave back zero positive energy, to the point where my wife (who is very easy going) commented on the poor service, as did our other guests.

Now, I get that people have bad days, but then perhaps you should be put on the birthday party. Kind of put a gloom on the whole thing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 26, 2017

We were disappointed in the service even though the food was good then kitchen didn't add the eggs to a Mexican dish my wife ordered for brunch. She thought maybe they were on the bottom and when she couldn't find them she looked for the server who was nowhere to be found. He had stopped by earlier to say he had a big party so our food would be late which was nice and we understood. But when we finally did get his attention he said "you should have said something earlier". With my breakfast I ordered an English muffin and got whole wheat toast which in itself was no big deal. Coffee and water had to ask for refills. I hope

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Great food, atmosphere was very nice and private, our waitress was fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 23, 2017

Went for lunch, very good turkey burger

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 23, 2017

Excellent. Favorite location in the beltline area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.