Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.46mi
  2. Distance: 0.64mi
  3. Distance: 0.99mi
  4. Distance: 1.30mi
  1. Distance: 0.46mi
  2. Distance: 0.64mi
  3. Distance: 0.99mi
  4. Distance: 1.30mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.46mi
  2. Distance: 0.64mi
  3. Distance: 0.99mi
  4. Distance: 1.30mi
  1. Distance: 0.46mi
  2. Distance: 0.64mi
  3. Distance: 0.99mi
  4. Distance: 1.30mi

About Bonfyre American Grille

Bonfyre features Contemporary American Cuisine in an upscale casual environment. In addition to our hand-cut, wood-fired Steaks, guests can enjoy fresh Seafood, Rotisserie Chicken, Pastas, Signature Salads and so much more from our seasonally changing menu.

To compliment the cuisine, Bonfyre’s bar features classic cocktails with a modern twist, creative new libations, domestic craft beer selections and a wine list consisting of 60 labels from both North and South America.

2601 West Beltline Hwy
Madison, WI 53713
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Everyday: 11:00pm - 4:00pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm
Saturdays open at 12 noon.
SUNDAY BRUNCH MENU from 10:00AM to 2:00PM

Cross Street:
Todd Drive

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(608) 273-3973

Website:
http://www.bonfyregrille.net/

Catering:
Bonfyre American Grille is available for both on and off premise events. Please contact our event coordinator to arrange your next party.

Parking Details:
Parking is available immediatly in front of the building, behind the restaurant in the parking garage, or across the street (behind Citgo)

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Bonfyre American Grille Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (47)
Special Occasion (38)
Casual (25)
See All
Modern Decor (25)
Wood Oven (24)
Bar Seating (24)
Great for Lunch (23)
Romantic (23)
Good for Birthdays (23)
Good for Groups (22)
Cozy (21)
Good for Anniversaries (21)
Creative Cuisine (20)
Business Meals (19)
Comfort Food (18)
Fun (18)
Fireplace (18)
Handcrafted Cocktails (16)
Fit for Foodies (16)
Worth the Drive (15)
Vibrant Bar Scene (14)
Happy Hour (14)
Great for Brunch (14)
Hot Spot (10)
Notable Wine List (10)
Open Kitchen (10)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Good Vegetarian Options (8)
Authentic (8)
Gluten Free Options (8)
Great Beer (7)
Healthy (6)
Disabled Access (6)
Local Ingredients (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Private Room (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Kid-friendly (3)
Late-night Find (3)
People Watching (3)
Quick Bite (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Scenic View (2)
Live Sports (2)
Family Style (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Organic (1)
Spicy (1)
Sort By:
S
1868 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined 3 days ago

Great tender steak, great cheese curds, many delicious drink options.

Tags: Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Live Sports, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Wood Oven, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined 5 days ago

Bonfyre provided another great experience for a gathering of co-workers to enjoy a tasty, reasonably priced lunch. Our waitress was very personable too.

Tags: Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Great for Brunch, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

Great salads for lunch!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 17, 2017

It was a great place. The atmosphere and food were perfect . The crab cakes were small for their price but were very good.

Tags: Fun, Bar Seating, Great Beer, Good for Groups, Modern Decor, Casual, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on March 17, 2017

This is one of my favorite restaurants for good food. Unfortunately, we were disappointed this time. The flatbreads, which usually are delicious tasted reheated and the salmon smelled extremely fishy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Great atmosphere and service. Mediocre food. Tough gristly steak. Most the food on my plate was cold.. Soup was thin and sweet. Fish tacos were good though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Overall a good dining experience. The crab cake appetizer was very good but really small. Compared to other area restaurants it is not a good value as you receive 2 bite size cakes for $15.00. the grilled caesar salad is excellent and large enough to share. The seafood pappardelle was very bland. Our steak was done perfectly and was very tender. The Lobster Ravioli was also very good. The mixed grill of chicken, steak and ribs was the big hit of the night. I recommend the Old Fashions, hand made and very tasty!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 11, 2017

We enjoyed the fish special which was tasty and just the right size portion. Great service and fun atmosphere @ 7 pm on a Friday

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Good food for casual dining or business meetings in a pleasant environment

Tags: Fun, Casual, Bar Seating, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 6, 2017

Many of the food items have generous portions. So be prepared for a filling meal. Also make sure to request the shooters for dessert. Sized for a perfectly decadent dessert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 5, 2017

What a fabulous find! I dined with my UW daughter & her roommate. The service & food were top notch and the noise level was not bad at all. For these reasons, I will return with my husband. It is nearly impossible to find a restaurant that is not noisy. I highly recommend this restaurant to foodies.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Was to dark and the birthday boy's steak was more fat than steak.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 4, 2017

I made the reservation because I thought they served Brunch on Saturdays but I was wrong. They don't serve Brunch on Saturdays. My husband and I were a disappointed in that but we still stayed and ordered lunch.

We ordered the chorizo mussels and they were delicious! I ordered the fish tacos with squash soup and my husband ordered the bacon cheese burger with the zucchini fries. They were both delicious!

So even though we didn't get Brunch, like we were hoping, the food and service were still excellent and I would recommend! We plan on coming back for Brunch!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Everything was great except the green beans. next time i'll get a different veggie.

Tags: Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Modern Decor, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Fun, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Vibrant Bar Scene, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 26, 2017

I used this restaurant for my wife's birthday party. We had about 16 people in attendance. I had heard good things and wanted to try this place out. The food was good, but the waitress we had must have been in a bad mood. She had a very unamused look on her face and must have been having a bad day. She was short with us and gave back zero positive energy, to the point where my wife (who is very easy going) commented on the poor service, as did our other guests.

Now, I get that people have bad days, but then perhaps you should be put on the birthday party. Kind of put a gloom on the whole thing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 26, 2017

We were disappointed in the service even though the food was good then kitchen didn't add the eggs to a Mexican dish my wife ordered for brunch. She thought maybe they were on the bottom and when she couldn't find them she looked for the server who was nowhere to be found. He had stopped by earlier to say he had a big party so our food would be late which was nice and we understood. But when we finally did get his attention he said "you should have said something earlier". With my breakfast I ordered an English muffin and got whole wheat toast which in itself was no big deal. Coffee and water had to ask for refills. I hope

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Great food, atmosphere was very nice and private, our waitress was fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 23, 2017

Went for lunch, very good turkey burger

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 23, 2017

Excellent. Favorite location in the beltline area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 23, 2017

We had a wonderful meal. I will certainly come again!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 22, 2017

Great food. The pot roast in wine reduction was superb!
Great service. Our server was attentive and friendly.
Ambiance was excellent for conversation.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Average/below average food. Loud. Mediocre service. Just generally blah and not worth the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 18, 2017

We've dined here on several occasions through the past ten years. Food quality is fair, we appreciate gluten free options exist, however they are too limited -- really would like to see more variety / additional gluten free options.
We were disappointed to be seated immediately adjacent to the wait-staff's station -- that table for 4 should be eliminated -- would be advantageous to the wait staff using the station, and much more pleasant for diners to not be exposed to the crowding and noise that we were exposed to as silverware was retrieved and other wait staff activity occurred.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Very good food with a diverse menu. We all enjoyed it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Outstanding food. Lots of choices. Great service. Friendly staff.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 17, 2017

This used to be my favorite place in Madison. But, the prices just keep going up and up and up. It's crazy to spend $20 for an appetizer (mussels) and iced tea. Even a luncheon salad is $ 12-$20. Sorry but the value just isn't there....

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Conveniently located with nearby parking. Great atmosphere good food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We went for the valentine's day dinner. The restaurant and the food was good. Anyone who wants to try a dessert should try their CHURROS dessert. That was the best dessert i and my wife had in years.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We went on Valentines Day at 830 and got a nice little table. Drinks were amazing. Cucumber cosmo and the old fashioned were great cocktails. I ordered the woodfyre grill trio with sirloin, chicken, and ribs. Everything was delicious!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Celebrated my 30th birthday and Valentines's day. I had their Valentine's special which was lobster tail with twice baked potato and greens. It was very well prepared and my husband steak was as well. We go there every Valentine's Day for the past 3 years and will be going there again next year!

Tags: Casual, Modern Decor, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Everything was delicious! Timing of courses was perfect! Servers were courteous and professional! Steak cooked to perfection!

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Wood Oven, Modern Decor, Romantic, Cozy, Open Kitchen, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Fireplace, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Food is always great! The atmosphere is very nice for a dinner date and the lunch menu is very affordable.

Tags: Cozy, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 12, 2017

My wife and I went for a pre-Valentines day Sunday brunch. We met a friend there as well. Our friend enjoyed the Gluten free options available. I choose the Pot Roast hash and my wife had the Crab Cake Bene. Everything was great! We'll be back soon.

Tags: Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Rib eye was well overcooked. Ordered medium, received medium well to well. Also, a large amount of sediment in my wine. Not a big deal and of course there's nothing wrong with this. But from a presentation stand point, it would have been appropriate to decant it first. However service was great and atmosphere is excellent. I'd go again, but may only give them one more shot to get the steak right.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Modern Decor, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 12, 2017

I think overall it was very good and worth our trip. We live over a hour away so I was disappointed that I didn't get a confirmation email on Friday when I made the reservation. I did call on Saturday to verify but I think it would be a common courtesy to verify you received/confirm my reservation. We will be back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 5, 2017

The food and the service were bot great. Probably the best New York Strip steak I have had in quite a while. The twiced baked potato was very tasty and my glass of wine was wonderful as well! We usually go there for my birthday as a special treat. I will go back again and would go more often if it were closer to home.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 4, 2017

The prices have gone sky-high. Although the food and service are great, the prices aren't.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value2

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 1, 2017

One member of our party has special needs - we requested not to be seated near windows/doors/external walls - person has ultra-sensitivity to temperature changes - triggers pain, migraine and spasms. We reserved a table located away from external walls - preferably closer to the fireplace. Our table was given away just moments before we arrived though we were on time. That was upsetting. Why even make a reservation? The host was very apologetic - explained there was a miscommunication. Communication with wait staff needs improvement re: reservations - should never have happened.

We were seated in a room behind the fireplace closest to internal walls - perfect. Turned out, we ended up in a better spot. We realized sitting close to fireplace may have been too warm. Also had more room & less traffic - also sensitivity factors for our friend. Temperatures changed around 8pm when the dining area cleared out. There was a stronger, colder airflow w/o all the people there. Was time for us to leave anyway so timing was okay.

Another person in our group is deaf - no special treatment necessary to meet her needs but wait staff - including one in training - was kind, patient and respectful to all of us as we placed our orders in English and in sign language. They properly looked at the correct person who was placing their order regardless of the language they were using. It is frustrating when a waiter/waitress looks at the person who is interpreting rather than the person who is placing the order because it incorrectly centers the communication on the interpreter rather than on the person placing the order. Good job on that one.

Great dining experience. Thank you.

Tags: Casual, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Nice Ambience and quality food..Will go again !!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Great food and service. It is why we continue to return. Just wish there was one closer to home.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.