About Bonfyre American Grille

2601 West Beltline Hwy
Madison, WI 53713
View Larger Map

Bonfyre features Contemporary American Cuisine in an upscale casual environment. In addition to our hand-cut, wood-fired Steaks, guests can enjoy fresh Seafood, Rotisserie Chicken, Pastas, Signature Salads and so much more from our seasonally changing menu.

To compliment the cuisine, Bonfyre’s bar features classic cocktails with a modern twist, creative new libations, domestic craft beer selections and a wine list consisting of 60 labels from both North and South America.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Everyday: 11:00pm - 4:00pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm
Saturdays open at 12 noon.
SUNDAY BRUNCH MENU from 10:00AM to 2:00PM

Cross Street:
Todd Drive

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(608) 273-3973

Website:
http://www.bonfyregrille.net/

Catering:
Bonfyre American Grille is available for both on and off premise events. Please contact our event coordinator to arrange your next party.

Parking Details:
Parking is available immediatly in front of the building, behind the restaurant in the parking garage, or across the street (behind Citgo)

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Herb Crusted Rotisserie Chicken - Bonfyre American Grille
Soup - Bonfyre American Grille
Salad - Bonfyre American Grille
gin and tonic - Bonfyre American Grille
Beer - Bonfyre American Grille
East Coast Seafood Rolls  - Bonfyre American Grille
chicken wrap - Bonfyre American Grille
East Coast Seafood Roll  - Bonfyre American Grille
Tomato Bisque - Bonfyre American Grille
Truffle Fries - Bonfyre American Grille
Rotisserie Herbed Chicken - Bonfyre American Grille
Calamari - Bonfyre American Grille
Chicken Parmesan - Bonfyre American Grille
Long Island Iced Tea - Bonfyre American Grille
Fish Tacos!  - Bonfyre American Grille
Cioppino - Bonfyre American Grille
Jerk Chicken Fondue - Bonfyre American Grille
Bread Pudding - Bonfyre American Grille
Burger - Bonfyre American Grille
Fyre & Ice - Bonfyre American Grille
BBQ Rotisserie Chicken  - Bonfyre American Grille
Ribeye (Wood-Fire Grilled) - Bonfyre American Grille
Pot Roast Hash And Eggs - Bonfyre American Grille
Chicken Tortilla Soup - Bonfyre American Grille
Ahi Appetuzer - Bonfyre American Grille
Biscuits and Gravy - Bonfyre American Grille
Lobster Cobb Salad - Bonfyre American Grille
Seared Ahi Tuna Salad - Bonfyre American Grille

Bonfyre American Grille Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Madison
Best Restaurants in Madison ›

Special Occasion (51)
Good for Groups (33)
Romantic (29)
See All
Great for Lunch (28)
Fit for Foodies (21)
Neighborhood Gem (18)
Vibrant Bar Scene (15)
Hot Spot (13)
Good for a Date (12)
Notable Wine List (11)
Casual (10)
Good for Anniversaries (8)
Great for Outdoor Dining (7)
Cozy (7)
Fireplace (6)
Modern Decor (6)
Great for Brunch (6)
Wood Oven (5)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Business Meals (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Healthy (3)
Great Beer (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Seasonal (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Fun (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Authentic (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Outstanding Value (1)
People Watching (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Family Style (1)
Live Sports (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Private Room (1)
Scenic View (1)
Organic (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1657 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We were seated on the upper level thinki ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined 5 days ago

We were seated on the upper level thinking it would be somewhat private. The Music was very loud. Asked if they could turn it down as we couldn't hear what we were saying, and that was a no, no. Needless to say, it will be awhile before we come back. The food was wonderful, as always.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3
value3

Overall our experience at bonfyre was am ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on September 20, 2016

Overall our experience at bonfyre was amazing! Our server was incredible!!!

Tags: Private Room, Fireplace, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great find in Madison, broad menu that w ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Great find in Madison, broad menu that will appeal to all

Tags: Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Group of eight after a UW football game. ...

 
 (Naples)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Group of eight after a UW football game. Nice beer selections and cocktails. Menu with choices for everyone. BBQ chicken and ribs were outstanding as was the seafood trio (shrimp, salmon, & scallops on a bed of risotto). Service, food, and drinks were outstanding.

Tags: Modern Decor, Great for Lunch, Wood Oven, Fireplace, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great Beer, Healthy, Good for Groups, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

It was my birthday lunch it was terrible ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

It was my birthday lunch it was terrible! I had a special order salad. It came with something i could not eat, they said they would fix, but brought it back the same. Friend's turkey burger was raw in the middle and had mayo on it even though she asked for it on the side. They did make her something else but i had lost my appetite by then and could not stand to finish my salad. Waitress was nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

Our table was located by the door that l ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Our table was located by the door that led to outdoor dining. It was so breezy each time the door was opened that we shifted places at the table to avoid the draft. It was chilly! Make sure your table is not located next to this door! Food was good. Restaurant was very busy and the noise level was high. Not intimate at all.

Tags: Seasonal, Vibrant Bar Scene, Paleo Friendly, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Hot Spot, Fireplace, Good for Groups, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

It's our neighborhood spot. It's beautif ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

It's our neighborhood spot. It's beautiful, and the food is always very very good as is the service. It's a great place for any occasion as well as a casual dinner! Excellent!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Quick Bite, Healthy, Romantic, Wood Oven, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Casual, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing dinner. 5 of us had dinner Fri ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Amazing dinner. 5 of us had dinner Friday night. Everyone had a different meal and we all loved our food. Great drinks! We loved our server. She was very knowledgeable and fun.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Live Sports, People Watching, Casual, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I've been to Bonfyre Grille several time ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

I've been to Bonfyre Grille several times before for lunch and enjoyed the food, but this time was for dinner. The food was delicious. I can't stop thinking about the Asian Slaw that I had with my dinner. I would go back just for that!

All of the food I ate there has been delicious. The wood fired chicken, the vegetables. The people I was dining with were either picky eaters or on specific diets or both. We were allowed to substitute sides, almost encouraged to do so - hence the Asian Slaw!

Our waiter was attentive and enthusiastic, but not overly so and the ambiance was just right for a quiet evening dining with friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had an excellent meal here again and ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

We had an excellent meal here again and are always happy with the food and service.

Tags: Fireplace, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

This restaurant is consistently good, bo ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

This restaurant is consistently good, both in food and service.

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

A good go-to when you are looking for en ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

A good go-to when you are looking for enough variety but solid overall menu. Service was a bit off from usual, but was OK. So glad they went back to the old mussels appetizer! So good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

A great dinner and asking for a quiet ta ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

A great dinner and asking for a quiet table and getting one was so helpful. Filet Mignon was done to perfection as were the twice baked potatoes. Loved the green beans as did my husband who "doesn't like green beans."

Tags: Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

A very disappointing experience. I was ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

A very disappointing experience. I was surprised to find that a reservation wasn't required as the place was half empty at 7:15 on a Saturday evening. Our server was extremely slow every step of the way. While the quality of the food was good, it was cold by the time it was served. We had to flag down the server to ask him to take the entrees back as he hadn't bothered to stop by to check in with us. It again took an inordinate amount of time to get the food back and then we never saw the server again until we flagged him down to ask for our check. Twenty minutes later, we finally received it. It would have been more understandable if the restaurant was full, but it was pretty empty the entire time we were there. I might go back based on the food quality, but it won't be any time soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

1st time there was w/ a group and seatin ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

1st time there was w/ a group and seating was good, lighting, food excellent.

This time was for a romantic table for two, which was fine but lighting was bad,

ordered the pot roast again but very fatty this time and veggies not as tender.

Parking really leaves a lot to be desired. Not sure what to think.

Tags: Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

Great meals and wonderful to be able to ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Great meals and wonderful to be able to sit and talk for awhile.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Bonfyre lived up to the hype in all resp ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Bonfyre lived up to the hype in all respects axcept one. When I made the reservation I said it was my wife's birthday. That was never acknowledged by the staff. However, by the time we had finished the main course we were so stuffed that dessert was out of the question and I didn't think to ask about a birthday treat.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

The food is always great at Bonfyre but ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

The food is always great at Bonfyre but the service can be spotty - nothing horrible but this time our waitress had the table next to us that appeared to be eating in shifts. Her attention was primarily focused with them. And speaking of the table next to us. The group was large and very noisy making it difficult for my friend and I to have a conversation with out raising out voices. Seeing there were plenty of other tables and booths away from the larger group - it would have been nice to have been sat somewhere else.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

This was a good experience with good foo ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

This was a good experience with good foods. We tried the pork ribs and it was so juicy and soft that was falling apart the bones. We liked it a lot.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We were from out of town and used the op ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

We were from out of town and used the open table app for a dinner location. The food was amazing, from the phenomenal calamari appetizer, to the bone in rib eye; even the green beans were great!

If we are ever in the area again - this will be on our list to return!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

The food was average, and overpriced for ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

The food was average, and overpriced for the Madison Market. Service was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Had a lovely seafood Cobb salad & delici ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Had a lovely seafood Cobb salad & delicious margarita. Will definitely eat here again.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

great food, the Truffle fries are the be ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

great food, the Truffle fries are the best, and deserts can't be beat

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Consistency stands strong here. Always ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Consistency stands strong here. Always a delicious meal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Great food and service..crab cakes overp ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Great food and service..crab cakes overpriced! Shoould have gotten qty 4!

Overall i love the resturant and the menu and quality of food and service!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

A very nice place to go with a "special ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

A very nice place to go with a "special someone" . Excellent drinks and food. Quite ambiance. Will definately return!

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Took a coworker for lunch for Madison Re ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Took a coworker for lunch for Madison Restaurant Week. Service was exceptional. Food was quite good as well. The mashed potatoes were perfectly whipped, and the herb chicken was juicy. The desserts were quite yummy and cute - mini-cheesecakes in a shot glass. That may have been a Restaurant Week special.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We did a family of 10 reservation after ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

We did a family of 10 reservation after an overture center event. Service and food were excellent. We had a range of ages. Most accommodating. Brought food out early for young children.

Just did a 5 person girls afternoon outing dinner. Again very pleased.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Jamie was an excellent waitress, very pe ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Jamie was an excellent waitress, very personable and friendly

Tags: Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Nothing outstanding , family thought the ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Nothing outstanding , family thought the food was blah to okay. Service very average from the greeting at the front door, service during the meal, to our leaving. Nothing dynamic to report during our visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value3

Great place to dine. Have been there for ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Great place to dine. Have been there for first date, engagement, anniversary, birthdays. We will continue to go there in the future.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was kind of noisy. Service and food ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

It was kind of noisy. Service and food were very good. Birthday dessert was tasty!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

This was my first time eating at the Bon ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

This was my first time eating at the Bonfyre Grill. It was great and I'll definitely return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Food was delicious! Fish tacos, crab cak ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Food was delicious! Fish tacos, crab cakes, turkey burger with sweet potato fries!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Service was fantastic. Spring risotto i ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Service was fantastic. Spring risotto is out of this world!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was great and priced reasonably. Gr ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Food was great and priced reasonably. Great for families with older children ages 6-12.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Food is always fresh and served at the r ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Food is always fresh and served at the right temps, the servers are friendly and do not make you feel rushed.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Disappointing - both for drinks and the ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

Disappointing - both for drinks and the food. Starting with drinks: the beer I wanted was sold out, the replacement was poor. Being in Wisconsin and only having one IPA on tap, which is from California, is not good. My second drink was a jalisco mule that was way too sweet.

Truffled fries were really poor - especially for that price. Short rib sandwich was ok.

They also turned down the lights so far that I could barely see my food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

Our steak was amazing and our waitress w ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Our steak was amazing and our waitress was well versed on the menu and drinks. We couldn't have had a better dining experience. Only disappointment was that they would not accept our open table gift certificate, which surprisied us, as we made our reservations through open table.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Superb condistent quality cuisine. Great ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

Superb condistent quality cuisine. Great menu choices. Outstanding service.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.