Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.46mi
  2. Distance: 0.64mi
  3. Distance: 0.99mi
  4. Distance: 1.30mi
  1. Distance: 0.46mi
  2. Distance: 0.64mi
  3. Distance: 0.99mi
  4. Distance: 1.30mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.46mi
  2. Distance: 0.64mi
  3. Distance: 0.99mi
  4. Distance: 1.30mi
  1. Distance: 0.46mi
  2. Distance: 0.64mi
  3. Distance: 0.99mi
  4. Distance: 1.30mi

About Bonfyre American Grille

Bonfyre features Contemporary American Cuisine in an upscale casual environment. In addition to our hand-cut, wood-fired Steaks, guests can enjoy fresh Seafood, Rotisserie Chicken, Pastas, Signature Salads and so much more from our seasonally changing menu.

To compliment the cuisine, Bonfyre’s bar features classic cocktails with a modern twist, creative new libations, domestic craft beer selections and a wine list consisting of 60 labels from both North and South America.

2601 West Beltline Hwy
Madison, WI 53713
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Everyday: 11:00pm - 4:00pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm
Saturdays open at 12 noon.
SUNDAY BRUNCH MENU from 10:00AM to 2:00PM

Cross Street:
Todd Drive

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(608) 273-3973

Website:
http://www.bonfyregrille.net/

Catering:
Bonfyre American Grille is available for both on and off premise events. Please contact our event coordinator to arrange your next party.

Parking Details:
Parking is available immediatly in front of the building, behind the restaurant in the parking garage, or across the street (behind Citgo)

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Bonfyre American Grille Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (35)
Good for a Date (27)
Business Meals (24)
See All
Bar Seating (23)
Good for Birthdays (22)
Fun (22)
Comfort Food (21)
Great for Lunch (21)
Creative Cuisine (20)
Good for Anniversaries (19)
Casual (19)
Good for Groups (18)
Romantic (16)
Modern Decor (15)
Cozy (14)
Wood Oven (12)
Great for Brunch (12)
Worth the Drive (12)
Pre/post Theatre (10)
Vibrant Bar Scene (10)
Fit for Foodies (10)
Handcrafted Cocktails (10)
Authentic (10)
Sunday Lunch (8)
Happy Hour (8)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Fireplace (7)
Notable Wine List (7)
Hot Spot (6)
Great Beer (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Live Sports (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Healthy (3)
Private Room (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
People Watching (2)
Family Style (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Tapas (2)
Seasonal (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Late-night Find (1)
Sort By:
S
1928 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 5 days ago

The service was not as good as we have had there in the past. The food is expensive, so I expect exceptional service.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined 6 days ago

Very enjoyable atmosphere with great service. The mixed drinks were quite good with excellent flavor. The wait staff were very attentive and helpful with their suggestions. Overall a very pleasant experience. We will be back!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Live Sports, Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Had a great time at the bonfyre restaurant.It is now my youngest son's favorite restaurant in Madison, Wisconsin.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Happy Hour, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Great food. The no-flour chocolate cake was like a fudge/ice cream treat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 11, 2017

I have been to BonFyre many times and can honestly say I've never had a bad experience and the food has always been good. They have even made exceptions to the menu and prepared
a personal request of mine. I would recommend them for any occasion.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Consistently good food and service. Good atmosphere.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Casual, Cozy, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Service was excellent, but restaurants are about quality food when it comes right down to it. For $100+, there should be cloth table cloths, impeccable food, superb cocktails. I ordered a lemon drop martini. Tasted like Gatorade. My husband ordered a dry, slightly dirty martini, up... it came with so much brine he couldn't drink it. He added some ice, still unpotable. Waitress offered to bring a new one. Second one arrived with *ice* in it. They just added vermouth, reshook, and returned the original drink to him. Appetizer was inedible it was burned. Entrees were bland. Best part of the meal was the veggies. Won't go back. Great service but overpriced.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5
value1

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Anniversary dinner, great food, definitely recommend!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Cozy, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Fun, Notable Wine List, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 5, 2017

I frequently take friends for special occasions. The atmosphere is nice, but most especially everyone with various palate preferences can find good food options at reasonable price points.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Casual, Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 5, 2017

Nice filling meal. Good seating, good food. Great flat bread and salads. The shrimp was very good.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Our food was all very tasty. We went for a small birthday dinner for my mom's 70th and when they knew it was her birdthay they gave her a free dessert which was so kind of them. Our waitress was awesome. Our drinks were all great too. Just a nice restaurant that's pretty mellow with a nice atmosphere

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Love this place! The food is excellent, service is professional, and we never feel rushed.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 1, 2017

We were in from out of town and needed a good place to eat. This was recommended. Food was generous to say the least and overall experience was good.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 30, 2017

Bonfyre never ceases to deliver consistently good lunch/dinner options. Tends to be more of a business crowd given location

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 29, 2017

Wonderful. Food came out quickly and fresh and hot. Very pleasant staff. Delicious, perfectly done steaks and ribs. Definitely going back!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Tapas, Fun, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 25, 2017

I thought our server Tara was excellent. Just the right amount of attention.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 25, 2017

The food and service was fine. Unfortunately, the price is just too expensive.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (Naples)·Dined on May 24, 2017

Have been to Bonfyre several times and never disappointed in anything.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 23, 2017

Love this place! I always like to go here when I am in Madison. Their zucchini fries are great. Special requests are no problem. Loved the salmon with Asian sauce! and the Decoy chardonnay was really good, too.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Bar Seating, Business Meals, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Brooklyn, the hostess, and our personal wait staff person were warm. charming. and professional. Thanks for a fun brunch!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Seasonal, Fun, Comfort Food, Open Kitchen, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Casual, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Fireplace, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Good for mother's day. Not as crowded as last year.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Great food! I do not appreciate how dark the restaurant is, however. Even when it is still light outside it is dark within the restaurant making it harder to read the menu and see the people across the table. The restaurant could use some more lights!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Nice choices for different tastes (ribs, chicken, sandwiches, burgers, salads). Delicious food and great service.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Great Beer, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on May 13, 2017

I went to Bonfyre Grille for a graduation celebration. I called several days ahead to see if I could purchase a bottle of sparkling wine a head of time so it would be at the table when we arrived. The manager told me that they could not do that as there were too many reservations. I found this odd and rather rude to not accommodate.
We got to the restaurant and I felt like they rushed us in and out. We were from out of town and so were the other guests and we wanted to sit and have a decent dinner so we could talk. The food came out very quickly and there was no time between courses. I was still eating my salad when my entree came out. The server took my salad plate even though I wasn't finished with my salad. The staff was not very attentive. Everything was rushed.

The food was pretty good, there are a lot of options and everything is decently priced.

I just wish we were not so rushed and that the restaurant was more accommodating for special occasions.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Food was great! Good service. Recommend the Lounge for quieter setting.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Wood Oven, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 12, 2017

We went there with our family for our son's graduation dinner, and the service was very friendly and prompt. Everyone ordered something different, and they were all excellent.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 12, 2017

The food and service were always very good. I think it's overpriced.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 10, 2017

A great lunch and dinner menu that allows the patrons to push the experience from casual to fine dining

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 6, 2017

We attended the restaurant for prom ngith dinner and it was great. The food was delicious and our waitress was so on top of things and handled out group well. Even though we were small she still managed the group well. The decor and ambiance of the restaurant was also pleasing. Overall a very nice place to have gone for prom.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Family Style, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Great place to have dinner while visiting my daughter in Madison. Excellent food and service.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Very accommodating, good service and excellent food will continue to return. Especially enjoyed the outside seating and flatbread appetizer. The chicken parm came with a "to die for" fettuccine alfredo. Wish the alfredo was its own entree. The seafood pasta special was very lean on the seafood and unimpressive. This is a fun bar and restaurant worth the try. Great cocktails and friendly staff.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Parking was a little tricky, mussels and oysters delicious. Loved the drinks

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Fun, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Nice job for a group - food served timely. Great choices-

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Business Meals, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Tapas, Great Beer, Cozy, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 2, 2017

We arrived at 6:15 on a Tuesday night with a party of five. We had a great round booth in the corner, our server was attentive, prompt and very friendly. It was margarita night and we had two of our guests have them, they were very good. The Fig Flatbread is amazing and all our meals were outstanding!! I would definitely suggest dining at Bonfyre if you haven't. The only downfall is parking.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Modern Decor, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Saved my table even though my dinner companion ran 20 minutes late. Food was very good. The place was hopping, yet I don't recall a single instance of thinking the noise made conversation difficult. Our server was efficient and good. This is my second or third time here and first lunch and nothing has changed my really positive opinion of the place.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 26, 2017

Special, retirement lunch. Everything was wonderful, food was delicious, every special offered that day sounded great. Service was spot on and our only issue was too much food to finish, portions were large

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Food and server were amazing. Drove in from out of town for birthday celebration. Table was set for 3 for our party of 4. Table next to us set for 4 and party of 2 were seated there after us - didn't make sense. Seated right next to patio door, cold breeze every time door opened.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Comfort Food, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Loved the food and ambiance as usual. To be honest our server was less than pleasant.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Great food! Totally recommend Bonfyre for anybody that likes good food. The mini-desserts are AMAZING!!!!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Open Kitchen, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 16, 2017

My family and I dined with you for Easter Sunday dinner. I ordered the 6 oz Filet Mignon, medium rare, and it was simply the most delicious steak I've ever eaten. Cooked to perfection! A job well done! The other entrees ordered were the half rack of ribs - meat so tender it literally fell off the bone, and Chicken Parmesan - the freshest taste, light and smooth!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.