About Bones

3130 Piedmont Road
Atlanta, GA 30305
View Larger Map

Zagat rates Bones with the highest marks for food and service over all steakhouses in America. Bones has also been awarded by Zagat Survey as the # ONE rated restaurant over all types in Atlanta. By providing the finest quality food with an acclaimed wine cellar, there is no wonder why Bones has been recognized for the last 38 years as the benchmark of style in Atlanta.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm
Dinner: Sunday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Peachtree Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(404) 237-2663

Website:
http://www.bonesrestaurant.com/

Executive Chef:
Leonard Lewis

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wine

Report a photo problem

Bones, Atlanta, GA
Bones, Atlanta, GA
Bones, Atlanta, GA
Bones, Atlanta, GA
Bones, Atlanta, GA
Bones, Atlanta, GA
Bones, Atlanta, GA
Bones, Atlanta, GA
Bones, Atlanta, GA
Bones, Atlanta, GA
Bones, Atlanta, GA
Bones, Atlanta, GA
Bones, Atlanta, GA
Bones, Atlanta, GA
Bones, Atlanta, GA
Bones, Atlanta, GA
Bones, Atlanta, GA
Bones, Atlanta, GA
Bones, Atlanta, GA
Bones, Atlanta, GA
Bones, Atlanta, GA
Bones, Atlanta, GA
Bones, Atlanta, GA
Bones, Atlanta, GA
Bones, Atlanta, GA
Bones, Atlanta, GA
Bones, Atlanta, GA
Bones, Atlanta, GA
Bones, Atlanta, GA
Bones, Atlanta, GA
Bones, Atlanta, GA
Bones, Atlanta, GA
Bones, Atlanta, GA
Bones, Atlanta, GA
Bones, Atlanta, GA
Bones, Atlanta, GA
Bones, Atlanta, GA
Bones, Atlanta, GA
Bones, Atlanta, GA
Bones, Atlanta, GA
Bones, Atlanta, GA
Bones, Atlanta, GA
Bones, Atlanta, GA
Bones, Atlanta, GA
Bones, Atlanta, GA
Bones, Atlanta, GA
Bones, Atlanta, GA
Bones, Atlanta, GA
Bones, Atlanta, GA
Bones, Atlanta, GA
Bones, Atlanta, GA
Bones, Atlanta, GA
Bones, Atlanta, GA
Bones, Atlanta, GA
Bones, Atlanta, GA
Bones, Atlanta, GA
Bones, Atlanta, GA
Bones, Atlanta, GA
Bones, Atlanta, GA
Bones, Atlanta, GA
Bones, Atlanta, GA
Bones, Atlanta, GA
Bones, Atlanta, GA
Bones, Atlanta, GA
Bones, Atlanta, GA
Bones, Atlanta, GA
Bones, Atlanta, GA
Bones, Atlanta, GA
Bones, Atlanta, GA
Bones, Atlanta, GA
Bones, Atlanta, GA
Bones, Atlanta, GA
Bones, Atlanta, GA
Bones, Atlanta, GA
Bones, Atlanta, GA
Bones, Atlanta, GA
Bones, Atlanta, GA
Bones, Atlanta, GA
Bones, Atlanta, GA
Bones, Atlanta, GA
Bones, Atlanta, GA
Bones, Atlanta, GA
Bones, Atlanta, GA
Bones, Atlanta, GA
Bones, Atlanta, GA
Bones, Atlanta, GA
Bones, Atlanta, GA
Bones, Atlanta, GA
Bones, Atlanta, GA
Bones, Atlanta, GA
Bones, Atlanta, GA
Bones, Atlanta, GA
Bones, Atlanta, GA
Bones, Atlanta, GA
Bones, Atlanta, GA
Bones, Atlanta, GA
Bones, Atlanta, GA
Bones, Atlanta, GA
Bones, Atlanta, GA
Bones, Atlanta, GA

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Bones can accept lunch and dinner parties from 6 to 75 guests. Please contact us for details.

Bones Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (146)
Good for Anniversaries (107)
Good for a Date (100)
See All
Business Meals (93)
Good for Birthdays (91)
Notable Wine List (84)
Romantic (80)
Worth the Drive (68)
Quiet Conversation (49)
Fit for Foodies (44)
Cozy (43)
Authentic (40)
Good for Groups (35)
Bar Seating (34)
Private Room (33)
Historic (28)
Neighborhood Gem (28)
Great for Lunch (24)
Pre/post Theatre (23)
Fun (20)
Comfort Food (20)
Handcrafted Cocktails (19)
Hot Spot (16)
People Watching (15)
Casual (13)
Vibrant Bar Scene (12)
Family Style (11)
Tasting Menu (11)
Happy Hour (10)
Outstanding Value (10)
Creative Cuisine (10)
Late-night Find (6)
Paleo Friendly (6)
Seasonal (5)
Healthy (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Modern Decor (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Tapas (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Scenic View (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Dancing (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Live Sports (1)
Spicy (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
5180 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Outstanding food and service! Overall at ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 3 days ago

Outstanding food and service! Overall atmosphere was very pleasant. Highly recommend.

Tags: Romantic, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent dining experience, service, fo ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 4 days ago

Excellent dining experience, service, food, wine, and especially the steaks. We were celebrating my wife and sister birthday, and at the end of the meal we were surprised with a mountain ice cream cake....delicious. The ladies were impressed and happy.

The noise level overall was moderate, and did not bother us. However the next table over was very loud especially a 30 year old girl who instead of talking was shouting with a high pitch voice. I know you cannot control this. Could I suggest you designate a section on the restaurant as "quiet zone" that could be specified when making the reservation?

Thank you.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

Am from out of town and always enjoy eat ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 5 days ago

Am from out of town and always enjoy eating here when visiting. Food and Staff were excellent. I had to push my reservation back (twice) due to air and traffic issues, staff worked with me and everything was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Manny took great care of us - food and w ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 5 days ago

Manny took great care of us - food and wine were A+++

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

pros: great ambiance, great bar, great ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 5 days ago

pros: great ambiance, great bar, great drinks, excellent food and service

cons: soup was too salty, wine list too California (needs an international update), a bit pricey

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Food is as good as it was some years bac ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 6 days ago

Food is as good as it was some years back, great tasty steaks, well wort the money spent. But the decor is too old fashioned, time for an update. Can keep the "old money" attendance look, if that is what being desired, but an upgraded version where $$$ needs to be spent to create today's version of the same.

Tags: People Watching, Historic, Romantic, Cozy, Gluten Free Options, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

The food was absolutely delicious and th ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 6 days ago

The food was absolutely delicious and the service from everyone was impeccable. We made reservations and were seated almost right away. They knew it was our wedding anniversary and decorated our table which I thought was a very nice touch. It was definitely on the high end for cost but for a special occasion, it was worth the evening.

Tags: Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Best steak in ATL. A5 Wagyu and bone-in ...

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined 6 days ago

Best steak in ATL. A5 Wagyu and bone-in dry aged rib eye were excellent. Sides and service were superb as always.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time eating here and it was defini ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 14, 2017

First time eating here and it was definitely an amazing experience. Steak was delicious and so was the Mac and Cheese. The service was on point and the environment went well with the food. I highly recommend reservations since they're highly sought out for their steaks!!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife's steak was not prepared to her ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 14, 2017

My wife's steak was not prepared to her liking. Asked for MedWell and got MedRare.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value2

Great bone in filet! Cooked perfectly. S ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Great bone in filet! Cooked perfectly. Service was excellent. It got a little loud towards the end of our meal but otherwise highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Always a great and special dinner at Bon ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Always a great and special dinner at Bones!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was a really great place the food w ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 13, 2017

This was a really great place the food was incredible and the service was good. I would definitely visit again the next time I go to Atlanta

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Romantic, Casual, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

I love Bones but on our last visit they ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 12, 2017

I love Bones but on our last visit they didn't measure up to the very high standard they have set in the past. The service was friendly, but slow and not as attentive as we've come to expect. Everyone's steak was just a bit off on the temperature. Not done enough for some and ever so slightly over done on others. Very good but not the perfection that they usually achieve. I expect it was an aberration and I'll certainly be back.

Tags: Bar Seating, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

Great place to eat while in Atlanta. Qu ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Great place to eat while in Atlanta. Quite expensive but worth every penny.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Usually great service, but strange waite ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Usually great service, but strange waiter refused to repeat the specials. When asked said he already told us. When asked for recommendation really would not provide.

Tags: Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Bones is one if not the best steak house ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Bones is one if not the best steak house in atlanta. Waiter is very knowledgeable and professional.

The bread is piping hot and with the butter you can eat an entire meal.

But the steak... wow the steak is truly amazing. We had the dry aged porethouse and ribeye and on the first bite I was sold. It is the most succulent, juicy, tender piece of steak you will ever have and so flavorful.

Please make reservations in advance because it is a hot place to be.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Impeccable service, delicious food and w ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Impeccable service, delicious food and warm atmosphere and decor. Definitely recommend for dinner and birthday celebrations.

Tags: Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

When we first walked in, I was completel ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 7, 2017

When we first walked in, I was completely ignored and the employee walked passed me to ask about other customers. I was standing at the door because the customers he went to question were my family. I was very disappointed by that. Everything else was wonderful

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Great steak and great atmosphere! Defini ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Great steak and great atmosphere! Definitely a must try!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food is terrific. You can for a small co ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Food is terrific. You can for a small corkage fee even bring a bottle of wine (which is often overpriced at steak houses for a decent red) two small irritations, you check in and even if the restaurant is completely empty they have you wait at the bar (presumably to order a cocktail while you wait). If they were busy I would understand but when you check into an empty restaurant it feels manipulative and annoying. Small other thing is waiter pouring the water got water all over the table and into the food. So when he said are you done with this, yeah, now that my cake is water logged you can have it back. The busboys are not even remotely interested in doing decent job made all the more strange by how proper and excellent the wait staff is.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

We ate here in December and then again i ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on January 5, 2017

We ate here in December and then again in January and it was fantastic both times. The food, service and atmosphere is excellent.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Tasty dry rib-eye steak! Bones is the b ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Tasty dry rib-eye steak! Bones is the best place to eat all things steak and it also has a great selection of seafood. The food is not cheap but it's worth eating. Overall, it is a good restaurant for special occasions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It was my granddaughter's 16 th birthday ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 4, 2017

It was my granddaughter's 16 th birthday. They made her feel very special. The food was delicious , the service was fantastic. I would have loved to have lingered so we will be back. Thank you for a great evening. Teresa Crawford

Tags: Authentic, Fun, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Paleo Friendly, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always the food and service were amaz ...

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on January 1, 2017

As always the food and service were amazing. the steaks are cooked to perfection.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Steak good side dishes average waiter wa ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Steak good side dishes average waiter was average. Would probably go back ..

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

This place is absolutely amazing, you wi ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 1, 2017

This place is absolutely amazing, you will not be disappointed!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I frequent many Steak Houses in Atlanta ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 1, 2017

I frequent many Steak Houses in Atlanta and had not been to Bones in some time. I was really looking forward to it and this was a case where the anticipation was far greater than the realzation

My rib eye was cooked perfectly but the steak was tough. I didn't even take it home. My wife had the crab cakes which were much smaller then the competition and priced just as high. The crab cakes where so over seasoned my wife ate half and left the rest.

Our guests had the filet which they said was good but noting special.

There are to many great Steaks in Atlanta for me to come back

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Always outstanding, the original and bes ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Always outstanding, the original and best. Forget the other steak restaurants, this still stands tall.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

New Year's Eve dinner celebration with f ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 31, 2016

New Year's Eve dinner celebration with friends

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Bones never disappoints. It is my favori ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Bones never disappoints. It is my favorite restaurant that my family saves for important celebrations and special dining occasions. Since 1980, soon after I first arrived in Atlanta to attend divinity school at Emory, I've enjoyed this restaurant, and appreciate the fact that the owner comes from my home state of Mississippi. A special pleasure is that the Door Manager, Marty, is always so welcoming to me.

Bones is comfortably upscale without being pretentious. And the well-trained staff is warmly polite without being overly familiar. It balances well the fine lines that distinguish a restaurant.

Memories are made at special places like Bones. I'm grateful to those who make it so.

Rob Townes

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We love Bone's and have been several tim ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 30, 2016

We love Bone's and have been several times over the years. This was the first "fine dining" experience for our two boys, ages 9 and 12. They loved the food and atmosphere. The steaks were outstanding, as usual. One of the sides was not up to par, but our server took it off the bill and said he would talk to the chef (first time this has ever happened). Salad and dessert were both excellent - can't beat the mountain high! Outstanding choice for any occasion, the meal itself will make for a special occasion! Highly recommend!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great meal as we have come to expect eve ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Great meal as we have come to expect every visit you guys do a great job

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

bones salad was outstanding as was the s ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 30, 2016

bones salad was outstanding as was the service. steaks were only average compared with other premier steakhouses I have visited around the country.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

My wife and I ate at Bones prior to the ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 29, 2016

My wife and I ate at Bones prior to the College Football Playoffs. The food, service and ambiance were all outstanding. We ordered the filet and lobster and both were excellent. In particular, the lobster was the best we have ever had. Our waiter recommended the southern pecan pie for dessert and it was as good as advertised. The wine selections were spot on.

Overall, one of the best dining experiences we have had.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best steak ever. Get the Filet!!!

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Best steak ever. Get the Filet!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great meal and service as usual! We wil ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Great meal and service as usual! We will be back!

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and Service was fantastic! Perfect ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Food and Service was fantastic! Perfect venue for special occasions or Business Meals as it can get very pricey.

Tags: Private Room, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have eaten numerous times at Bones an ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 27, 2016

We have eaten numerous times at Bones and find it to be one of our favorite restaurants for its excellent food, excellent service and warm welcome each time we arrive.

Tags: Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best Steakhouse in Atlanta! Hands down t ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Best Steakhouse in Atlanta! Hands down the best service and food I've had. Can't say enough about how great they were!

Tags: Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Cozy, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.