About Bones

3130 Piedmont Road
Atlanta, GA 30305
View Larger Map

Zagat rates Bones with the highest marks for food and service over all steakhouses in America. Bones has also been awarded by Zagat Survey as the # ONE rated restaurant over all types in Atlanta. By providing the finest quality food with an acclaimed wine cellar, there is no wonder why Bones has been recognized for the last 38 years as the benchmark of style in Atlanta.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm
Dinner: Sunday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Peachtree Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(404) 237-2663

Website:
http://www.bonesrestaurant.com/

Executive Chef:
Leonard Lewis

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Filet Mignon
Bones Salad
Hash Browns
Kobe Wagyu A5 New York Strip
French Onion Soup
Bone-In Filet
Grit Fritters
Sautéed Spinach
Cheese Coins
Mixed Grill
Bread
Filet With Floyd's Horsey Sauce™
Jumbo Lump Crabmeat Cocktail
Dry-Aged Porterhouse For Two
Wine
Red Snapper
Bones Chilled Seafood Platter
Horseradish
Floyd's Horsey Sauce™
Duck's Heart
Cheesecake
Lobster Bisque
Mountain High Pie
NY Strip
Crab Stuffed Trout
Lamb Lollypop
New York Strip
Crab Cocktail
Truffle Butter Mashed Potatoes
mushrooms
Hook & Ladder
Onion Rings
22oz. Bone In Ribeye
Caesar Salad
flourless chocolate cake
Crab Cakes
Sauteed Mushrooms and Creamed Spinach
Vodka Martini with Blue Cheese Stuffed Olives
Porterhouse
Bone-in Rib Eye
Mile High Pie
Ice Cream Cake Tower
Hashb

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Bones can accept lunch and dinner parties from 6 to 75 guests. Please contact us for details.

Bones Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Atlanta / Georgia
Best Food
Atlanta / Georgia
Best Service
Atlanta / Georgia
5 More
Steak
Atlanta / Georgia
Best Overall
Atlanta
Best Food
Atlanta
Best Service
Atlanta
Steak
Atlanta
Best Restaurants in Buckhead ›

Special Occasion (317)
Romantic (187)
Notable Wine List (178)
See All
Fit for Foodies (139)
Good for Groups (110)
Great for Lunch (65)
Neighborhood Gem (59)
Hot Spot (55)
Vibrant Bar Scene (35)
Great for Brunch (14)
Late-night Find (8)
Kid-friendly (5)
Scenic View (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Business Meals (1)
Cozy (1)
Fun (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Sort By:
Newest
4503 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Bone's never fails to deliver - exceptio ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined 2 days ago

Bone's never fails to deliver - exceptional steak with all the sides - Bone's salad, grit fritters, hash browns, and mushrooms. Fabulous evening!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

When we arrived. We had reservation and ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined 3 days ago

When we arrived. We had reservation and was not seated t the time of checking in. The host was very rude and unhelpful be had a horrible attitude. We asked why we had to wait after making reservations and he brushed us off. After waiting 20 min, he didn't care to come get us, instead I had to seek someone else to seat us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service5
value1

Best steak I ever had in my life

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined 3 days ago

Best steak I ever had in my life

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Great service , great food, great overal ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined 3 days ago

Great service , great food, great overall evening

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was our first visit to Bones and it ...

 
 (Savannah)
·Dined 4 days ago

This was our first visit to Bones and it was every bit as wonderful as we expected.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had the steak sandwich and it lacked f ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined 5 days ago

I had the steak sandwich and it lacked flavor. It was also slightly over cooked past med rare. The service is impeccable, but I was underwhelmed by the food. Also, I would expect a far better bourbon selection from what is supposed to be Atlanta's premier steak house.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5

The food, atmosphere and service was gre ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined 5 days ago

The food, atmosphere and service was great. Great environment for a business meeting.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always, Bones did not disappoint. The ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined 6 days ago

As always, Bones did not disappoint. The service was outstanding and the bone-in filet was perfection!

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always great food. Wait staff always acc ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Always great food. Wait staff always accommodating. This time food took a while. My client was nervous about being late back to work.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

This is one of my favorite places to din ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

This is one of my favorite places to dine when I am in Atlanta. Thankfully I have clients who love it as well. It is always a special meal and excellent service. The staff at Bones definitely know customer service and they do it well, time and time again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Phenomenal, fantastic, above and beyond ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Phenomenal, fantastic, above and beyond expectations. Chicago has Maple & Ash, the Southeast has Bones. Best steakhouse I have been to. Cant wait to go back.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went for a birthday dinner and had su ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

We went for a birthday dinner and had such a wonderful experience. The service was superb and the food was excellent . They had decorated the table for us and surprised us at the end of the meal with a mile high ice cream cake. Our steaks , bread and sides were all excellent. They even sent us home with a few goodies. Thanks Bones for a fun birthday celebration.

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food with an outstanding servi ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Excellent food with an outstanding service; a great place to celebrate my wife's birthday!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

we had our 38th wedding anniversary dinn ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

we had our 38th wedding anniversary dinner date night and was very very please with service,servers and food all together made it a special occasion one to remember

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall the food was good, however, we c ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Overall the food was good, however, we came for the steaks and the steaks were not impressive at all. Both my Husband and I received very charred steaks and by the time our server got back around to our table there was really no point in sending them back as we had finished our sides by that time. Our salad, soup and three sides were good. We weren't a fan of their signature dessert, way too many conflicting flavors. Between the sub-par service (due to the server having way too many tables for a fine dining restaurant and our charred steaks we won't be returning or recommending which is such a shame because we had looked forward to this evening for several weeks! Certainly not worth the $200+ plus check.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

wine was delish salmon app was on point ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

wine was delish

salmon app was on point

crab cakes were the best

my ny strip was good not great

service was stellar.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent plus overall. Nothing --even t ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Excellent plus overall.

Nothing --even the smallest details-- was wrong!

We SHALL return and bring friends.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Business dinner with a client. Made an a ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Business dinner with a client. Made an advance reservation for 4, arrived and changed it to 2. We were given absolutely the worst table in the restaurant! Table at the bottom of the downstairs stairs, literally. High traffic area when I requested a business setting table with some quiet. Rude and insensitive to an advance reservation and request, I won't be back and will make sure I tell others traveling to Atlanta to avoid Bones like the plague.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

Bone's, there is no place like it in the ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Bone's, there is no place like it in the world. Great food, great service, great valet service, great bar service ... Great. I enjoy going to Bone's every time. Never had a bad meal. Never had bad service. I feel at home from the moment I hand my keys to the valet guys. Then the bar service while I wait (for my friends, not Bone's). The greeting at the desk. The waiters at the table. The goodbyes as I head out the door and pick up my car. If you don't go to Bone's you've missed one of life's true delights. If you don't love Bone's there's got to be something wrong wit you.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service Excellent. A real enjoyable expe ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Service Excellent. A real enjoyable experience. A great place to dine.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Continues to be the best steak place in ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Continues to be the best steak place in Atlanta. Great food and excellent service.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Great for Brunch, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Have ordered the same items at Bones man ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Have ordered the same items at Bones many times and this is the first time I have been disappointed. The dressing on the Bones' salad tasted almost like pure vinegar, the steak was charred so much on the outside that it affected the flavor (large filet ordered cooked medium), and the key lime pie was just average. Mushrooms were excellent as always. This meal was for a 46th wedding anniversary and Bones did not see that on the reservation so our table was not decorated as the one next to us but they did give us a free dessert after I mentioned this occasion after we received the check. Overall, not up to their usually quality which is normally excellent.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Without a doubt they serve the best stea ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Without a doubt they serve the best steaks in the United States, The service is impeccable, the wait staff is the best I have ever experienced and the decor is first class elegant.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service for our anniversary wi ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Excellent service for our anniversary with complimentary champagne and a wonderful meal. The steak was perfectly prepared and the lobster more than one could finish.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service, wonderful food prepar ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Excellent service, wonderful food prepared exactly the way we requested, great table. We loved it!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My Husband and I love dining out. Alway ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

My Husband and I love dining out. Always looking for new and exciting places to dine. Bones exceeded our expectations. The Baby Octopus was amazing and so was the foie gra. This is our new favorite place to dine.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We came to celebrate our son's 21st birt ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

We came to celebrate our son's 21st birthday. It was far more wonderful than our expectations. While the food was truly wonderful, I have to say the service was so incredible we never wanted to leave. And the amazing birthday ice cream cake was so much fun!! My daughter in law comes from a family who owns several bars and restaurants and she is very critical of poor service. She had the highest praise for our servers. Thank you for making our evening such a lovely and memorable event.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

If you want a steak cooked to perfection ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

If you want a steak cooked to perfection, eat here. Amazing service with a wonderful wine list.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Boring is the first thing that comes to ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Boring is the first thing that comes to mind and that is a sarcastic answer, Bones is absolutely the best at all levels and if you go enough you come to expect that from the staff and chefs so when you keep coming it seems to never change hence the boring comment. That being said they do a superb job from the Maitre D' through the table bussers. The food is spot on with temperature and the Lump Crabmeat Appetizer is the best I have ever had. Give it all the stars but do yourself a favor and eat there

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

An Atlanta institution that is just star ...

 
 (Yorkshire)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

An Atlanta institution that is just starting to look a little bit tired around the edges. The steak was great but over-seasoned. The wine list complex to read and difficult to follow from the iPad but had some good wines at reasonable prices. The service was old style excellent and can't be beaten. If you like old fashioned Peter Luger styled steakhouses you can do much worse than come here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Great service, fantastic food. One of th ...

 
 (München)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Great service, fantastic food.

One of the best in town! Love the steaks!

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed our meal and service . The pe ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

We enjoyed our meal and service . The people got loud as they drank. We thought that the restaurant need to be up dated. Would we go again,yes. would we recommend Bones, yes. All in all we enjoyed ourselves.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Celebrated my birthday here recently, an ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

Celebrated my birthday here recently, and it was exactly what I wanted. When I made the reservation I noted that it was my birthday; when we were greeted by the maitre d', he knew this and said "happy birthday, we're glad you chose to celebrate with us!" I really appreciate this, not every open table restaurant seems to bother reading the notes added to your reservation. Our table had a sprinkling of confetti in the middle which made it fun and festive. The drinks, steaks and sides were spot on, as was the attentive and professional service. They surprised me with a slice of the insanely good mile high pie at the end. Loved Bones, will definitely be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We came here for our anniversary and Bon ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

We came here for our anniversary and Bone's really made it special. This will be our favorite special occasion restaurant for good.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Old School steakhouse, worthy of ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

Great Old School steakhouse, worthy of a trip to Atlanta! We had a chance to convene a business dinner at Bones and man we were not disappointed. The classic steakhouse look, feel, and execution is superb. Great job!

The professionalism from greeting us at the front door and offering us a pre-dinner cocktail, to bringing everyone a fork to share an enjoyable dessert, everything was terrific.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

They usually write happy birthday on you ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

They usually write happy birthday on your plate with your cake but they didn't over all the experience for my 16 year old was great she loved it

Tags: Great for Brunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

It was great getting together with frien ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

It was great getting together with friends to celebrate a birthday at such a great restaurant. The food was awesome and the service was spectacular. The staff was very attentive and friendly.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very nice and friendly atmosphere . The ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Very nice and friendly atmosphere . The staff was great and made sure we had everything we needed.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

The food was excellent and we particular ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

The food was excellent and we particularly enjoyed their preparation of hash browns. Our main courses of filet and crab cakes were great. The service was impeccable and truly appreciated by everyone in our party.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lived up to its reputation as one of the ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Lived up to its reputation as one of the best steak restsurants in the country. Excellent food and attentive, experienced, sophisticated service. Pricey, but they make you feel special.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.