About Bones

3130 Piedmont Road
Atlanta, GA 30305
View Larger Map

Zagat rates Bones with the highest marks for food and service over all steakhouses in America. Bones has also been awarded by Zagat Survey as the # ONE rated restaurant over all types in Atlanta. By providing the finest quality food with an acclaimed wine cellar, there is no wonder why Bones has been recognized for the last 38 years as the benchmark of style in Atlanta.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm
Dinner: Sunday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Peachtree Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(404) 237-2663

Website:
http://www.bonesrestaurant.com/

Executive Chef:
Leonard Lewis

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Filet Mignon - Bones, Atlanta, GA
Hash Browns - Bones, Atlanta, GA
Kobe Wagyu A5 New York Strip - Bones, Atlanta, GA
French Onion Soup - Bones, Atlanta, GA
Grit Fritters - Bones, Atlanta, GA
Bones Salad - Bones, Atlanta, GA
Mixed Grill - Bones, Atlanta, GA
Bone-In Filet - Bones, Atlanta, GA
Sautéed Spinach - Bones, Atlanta, GA
Cheese Coins - Bones, Atlanta, GA
Bread - Bones, Atlanta, GA
Filet With Floyd's Horsey Sauce™ - Bones, Atlanta, GA
Jumbo Lump Crabmeat Cocktail - Bones, Atlanta, GA
Dry-Aged Porterhouse For Two - Bones, Atlanta, GA
Wine - Bones, Atlanta, GA
Red Snapper - Bones, Atlanta, GA
Bones Chilled Seafood Platter - Bones, Atlanta, GA
Horseradish - Bones, Atlanta, GA
Floyd's Horsey Sauce™ - Bones, Atlanta, GA
Duck's Heart - Bones, Atlanta, GA
Cheesecake - Bones, Atlanta, GA
Lobster Bisque - Bones, Atlanta, GA
Mountain High Pie - Bones, Atlanta, GA
NY Strip - Bones, Atlanta, GA
Crab Stuffed Trout - Bones, Atlanta, GA
Lamb Lollypop - Bones, Atlanta, GA
Truffle Butter Mashed Potatoes - Bones, Atlanta, GA
New York Strip - Bones, Atlanta, GA
Crab Cocktail - Bones, Atlanta, GA
mushrooms - Bones, Atlanta, GA
Hook & Ladder - Bones, Atlanta, GA
Onion Rings - Bones, Atlanta, GA
22oz. Bone In Ribeye - Bones, Atlanta, GA
Caesar Salad - Bones, Atlanta, GA
flourless chocolate cake - Bones, Atlanta, GA
Crab Cakes - Bones, Atlanta, GA
Sauteed Mushrooms and Creamed Spinach - Bones, Atlanta, GA
Vodka Martini with Blue Cheese Stuffed Olives - Bones, Atlanta, GA
Porterhouse - Bones, Atlanta, GA
Bone-in Rib Eye - Bones, Atlanta, GA
Mile High Pie - Bones, Atlanta, GA
Ice Cream Cake Tower - Bones, Atlanta, GA
Hashb - Bones, Atlanta, GA

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Bones can accept lunch and dinner parties from 6 to 75 guests. Please contact us for details.

Bones Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Steak
Atlanta / Georgia
Best Overall
Atlanta
Best Food
Atlanta
4 More
Best Service
Atlanta
Best Ambiance
Atlanta
Special Occasion
Atlanta
Steak
Atlanta
Best Restaurants in Buckhead ›

Special Occasion (173)
Good for Anniversaries (104)
Notable Wine List (101)
See All
Romantic (97)
Business Meals (88)
Good for a Date (83)
Good for Birthdays (79)
Worth the Drive (61)
Fit for Foodies (56)
Quiet Conversation (48)
Authentic (39)
Good for Groups (37)
Neighborhood Gem (36)
Private Room (34)
Bar Seating (33)
Cozy (30)
Pre/post Theatre (26)
Great for Lunch (25)
Historic (24)
Handcrafted Cocktails (23)
Hot Spot (20)
Comfort Food (18)
Fun (18)
Vibrant Bar Scene (16)
Happy Hour (12)
Creative Cuisine (12)
Tasting Menu (10)
Outstanding Value (10)
People Watching (10)
Casual (9)
Family Style (8)
Great for Brunch (8)
Modern Decor (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Healthy (4)
Kid-friendly (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Scenic View (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Tapas (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Seasonal (2)
Open Kitchen (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Dancing (1)
Great Beer (1)
Sort By:
S
4697 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Bones was phenomenal, as always. It neve ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 2 days ago

Bones was phenomenal, as always. It never disappoints. Best steaks in ATL.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The staff was aware of our reservation a ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 3 days ago

The staff was aware of our reservation and had read the note regarding this being our first visit. We arrived early for our 6 pm reservation and were seated immediately. The atmosphere was cozy and quiet. However as we approached the 7 o'clock hour the noise level had increased. I had read a review about the Bone's Salad and Lobster Bisque. I highly recommend both. I had the bone in filet and my wife enjoyed the Alaskan Halibut. Both were fantastic. The experience for both of us was memorable. Because of the price this will be a once a year or less special occasion location for us.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Always a great meal. Never miss Bones wh ...

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined 4 days ago

Always a great meal. Never miss Bones when I'm in Atlanta. If you like great steak, great service and all around good service this is for you.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great bartenders and the food was excell ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

Great bartenders and the food was excellent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Took the wife to Bones for her birthday. ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 5 days ago

Took the wife to Bones for her birthday. This was a first time visit for both of us, although not a first time to a top tier steakhouse. I reserved a table via OpenTable with a note about the event. They welcomed us warmly and had a table set up for the occasion - nice touch! The Riesling wine was top notch. The dinner was superb - the filet and fish were excellent, from presentation to taste. The ice cream "cake" was very , very good. Great service all around.

Will be back again and will recommend.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Authentic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food and and service were outstandin ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 7 days ago

The food and and service were outstanding! My steak was cooked to perfection and the grit fritters were delightful. The onion rings were the best I have ever had. Honestly, everything was perfect, from the appetizers to the entree's and sides. However, keep in mind that you get what you pay for. Expect $100 per person.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Excellent food and location! Went for m ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 22, 2016

Excellent food and location! Went for my birthday and everything from the bread to dessert was top notch. Next time I'm in Atlanta, I will be returning!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Outstanding Value, Good for Birthdays, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This restaurant was so delicious. I got ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 22, 2016

This restaurant was so delicious. I got the crab stuffed trout and my boyfriend got a steak. Everything was so amazing and the staff was great!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My son and I are on a quest for the best ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 22, 2016

My son and I are on a quest for the best steak in Atlanta. I enjoyed Bones but it's still not the best. The service was beyond reproach, the wine and sides were top notch. The steak was good, but not great. I like a bone in ribeye and this one was a bit fattier than it should be. Overall a very nice restaurant though.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Bones is my favorite steakhouse hands do ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 21, 2016

Bones is my favorite steakhouse hands down. I had not been there in 18 years and it did not dissapoint! The bone in ribeye was phenomenal and a great plate to share.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was top quality from food to ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 21, 2016

Everything was top quality from food to service to ambiance, but the baked potato was only luke warm and not hot.

Tags: Business Meals, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Celebrated our anniversary and the the e ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 21, 2016

Celebrated our anniversary and the the experience was outstanding overall! Filet mignon was cooked perfectly and service was top notch!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Our servers were also handling a large p ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 21, 2016

Our servers were also handling a large party in one of the private rooms and I think it was a little much for them to handle and made service somewhat spotty and sporadic. Everyone handled my steak being overcooked with great customer service, but we did have to find someone to tell them as no one had really checked in on our food. Food was wonderful overall but I don't think any restaurant should charge $4 each for a mini-bottle of soda.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

The service is outstanding and eating do ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 20, 2016

The service is outstanding and eating downstairs has a great ambiance. The food is very good as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

My son chose Bones for his 23rd Birthday ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 20, 2016

My son chose Bones for his 23rd Birthday Celebration . We truly enjoyed the food and the service was the best.

Tags: Cozy, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

On time with reservations. Impeccable se ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on November 20, 2016

On time with reservations. Impeccable service. Only drawback was being seated by the kitchen door. Food fabulous as usual. First time I had the French onion soup and it was fantastic.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Outstanding beef, well rounded menu for ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Outstanding beef, well rounded menu for a steakhouse, highly professional but relaxed/ unpretentious service, wine list that succeeds at multiple price points, conversation friendly noise level.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Their Lobster Bisque soup was the best I ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Their Lobster Bisque soup was the best I've ever had. Very tasty, with tons of Lobster inside. The Crab and Avocado salad was decent, but nothing special. I had the dry aged Rib-Eye for a main course. It was good to very good, but not enough flavor to be outstanding, which from the reviews, and the price of $68 I was expecting. Had Asparagus as a side, and that was fine. The bread they serve is excellent. Their service was top notch. Overall a good to very good dining experience, just not outstanding as the reviews would of led me to believe.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Celebrating three birthdays! The food w ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Celebrating three birthdays! The food was fantastic and our waiters could not have been more attentive. There were only four of us, so we felt very special. Highly recommend Bones for any special occasion, or just date night!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Private Room, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Just way to expensive, $42 for a tiny fi ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Just way to expensive, $42 for a tiny filet? come on?

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

It was an amazing experience as always a ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 17, 2016

It was an amazing experience as always and the service is consistently superb.

Tags: Wood Oven, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

There is no better dining -or "lunching" ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 17, 2016

There is no better dining -or "lunching" - experience in Atlanta than Bone's. None.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very pleasing in all aspects. Definitely ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Very pleasing in all aspects. Definitely a go to place for quiet business lunches where you can hear the other person talk.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The BEST! Perfect every time! Can't wait ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 16, 2016

The BEST! Perfect every time! Can't wait to go back. Best steak in Atlanta.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Went there for our anniversary- superb f ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 15, 2016

Went there for our anniversary- superb food, doesn't disappoint, great service. Still one of the top spots for steak in Atlanta and for celebrating memorable occasions!

Tags: Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Historic, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Private Room, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Bones is an amazing restaurant. My party ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 14, 2016

Bones is an amazing restaurant. My party and myself had a great experience. I could describe the dining experience as nothing short of outstanding. The food was extremely tasteful and the environment is great. I love the service. They were over the top nice and made sure we were taken care.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

One of my must visits when I come to Atl ...

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on November 13, 2016

One of my must visits when I come to Atlanta!!! It is one the very best restaurants in the entire city of Atlanta....service is exceptional and the food NEVER disappoints.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Fun, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Private Room, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The best word to describe the food is am ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 13, 2016

The best word to describe the food is amazing, great service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

the service was off this visit........ t ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 13, 2016

the service was off this visit........ the waiter appeared to be double sat and the table next to ours was loud and the topic of conversation was of a political nature and offensive topics....... the reservation was early 5:45 and we were put in a simi private area almost the same time with the other party. the service was somewhat slow due to havng the table sat so close together...... not the expected experience of this restaurant when compared to previous visits.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

Could not think of a better place to cel ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Could not think of a better place to celebrate our engagement. The service was fantastic and the wine and meal were amazing. I wish I lived closer to Bones so I could go more often! I will no doubt be eating there again the next time I am in Atlanta

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always one of our favorite places to go ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Always one of our favorite places to go in Atlanta. We actually sat at the bar and the service was superior!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The best service I've ever had. I sat do ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 12, 2016

The best service I've ever had. I sat down and was immediately greeted with servers one after the other

Tags: Authentic, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Dancing
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Bones is a long-time family favorite... ...

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Bones is a long-time family favorite... never disappoints!! Travelled to Atlanta to celebrate a birthday and they make a special occasion even better!! Thank you!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My husband and I had a meal here for his ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 11, 2016

My husband and I had a meal here for his birthday. Our steaks were really good and we had a very nice glass of wine each and a pre-dinner cocktail. The service was good and our waiter was knowledgeable. It was my first visit and my husband's second but we will definitely return!

Tags: Good for a Date, Private Room, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great evening! Derrick provided EXCELLE ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Great evening! Derrick provided EXCELLENT SERVICE!

I plan to return to Bones for my 31st anniversary in December.

Randy Dunn

Mickey Dunn was with me from Fredericksburg, TX.

Please tell Derrick he did an excellent job!

RD

Tags: Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Casual, Business Meals, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, People Watching, Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a great evening at Bone's . Everythi ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 9, 2016

Had a great evening at Bone's . Everything from the valet parking, total staff and food was great. Will revisit soon.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I treated myself to Bones for my birthda ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 8, 2016

I treated myself to Bones for my birthday with my two boys (13,11) listing ages is relevant because they were treated just the same as myself almost if they were the ones paying the bill. The service was great from the moment we hit the door. We had lump crabmeat app, Bones salad, filet, NY strip, porterhouse, hash brown, baked potato, spinach and mile high pie. This was like no meal I had ever had...every bite I put in my mouth I stopped and thought about how great it tasted. I have wanted to try Bones for years and let me say it lived up to the hype. Thanks for a great birthday dinner!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Went for 10th anniversary with husband a ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Went for 10th anniversary with husband and was simply amazing!! Table was decorated. The service was outstanding. Cannot forgot the steaks!! The sides mac and cheese with bacon and corn pudding the best!! For dessert would recommend the pecan pie!! We savored every bite from beginning to end!! We will definitely be back!!

Tags: Happy Hour, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Historic, Special Occasion, Cozy, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We will be back. Wewent to Bones after ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 6, 2016

We will be back.

Wewent to Bones after hearing a friend rave about it. She and her husband have great taste. From the moment we walked in, we felt that we had entered the embrace of a bygone era of fine dining....the restaurant was quiet. Not due to a lack of patrons but more likely because it not populated by millennials.

We sat downstairs and service was on-point from the moment we arrived at our table. Early curve ball in that we were not aware that the bread was supposed to be just torn apart sans knife. We ordered tuna loin, Bones salad, and crab and lobster Napoleon to start. All were delicious. Main course was the 2+ lb lobster for the birthday girl and the mixed grill and crab cakes for her parents. Again, everything was perfectly prepared. I was overruled about having desert so cannot help with that portion of the menu.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The meal was outstanding, the cold food ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 5, 2016

The meal was outstanding, the cold food was cold and crisp and the hot food was hot and delicious! The steak selections that we received were some of the best cuts of meat I've ever had. I highly recommend Bones to everyone !

Tags: Romantic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.