About Bones

3130 Piedmont Road
Atlanta, GA 30305
View Larger Map

Zagat rates Bones with the highest marks for food and service over all steakhouses in America. Bones has also been awarded by Zagat Survey as the # ONE rated restaurant over all types in Atlanta. By providing the finest quality food with an acclaimed wine cellar, there is no wonder why Bones has been recognized for the last 38 years as the benchmark of style in Atlanta.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm
Dinner: Sunday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Peachtree Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(404) 237-2663

Website:
http://www.bonesrestaurant.com/

Executive Chef:
Leonard Lewis

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Bones can accept lunch and dinner parties from 6 to 75 guests. Please contact us for details.

Bones Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Atlanta / Georgia
Best Food
Atlanta / Georgia
Best Service
Atlanta / Georgia
7 More
Notable Wine List
Atlanta / Georgia
Steak
Atlanta / Georgia
Best Overall
Atlanta
Best Food
Atlanta
Best Service
Atlanta
Notable Wine List
Atlanta
Steak
Atlanta
Best Restaurants in Buckhead ›

special occasion (343)
notable wine list (227)
romantic (198)
See All
fit for foodies (164)
good for groups (151)
neighborhood gem (80)
great for lunch (70)
hot spot (55)
vibrant bar scene (46)
late-night find (18)
great for brunch (8)
scenic view (5)
great for outdoor dining (3)
kid-friendly (3)
Sort By:
Newest
4327 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Consistently the best in a city that has ...

Dined 3 days ago

Consistently the best in a city that has many other Steak restaurants. After 35 years of being a client this is my place and feel at home!!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great service, well cooked steaks with f ...

Dined 3 days ago

Great service, well cooked steaks with flavor great dining experience

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Awesome Eating

Dined 4 days ago

The food was outstanding. Service impeccable. Great place for fine dining without any drama You pay for the atmophere and food quality.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food prepared by the chef was outsta ...

Dined 5 days ago

The food prepared by the chef was outstanding and the service was great.

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Bone's is the best!

Dined 5 days ago

Bone's is the best in Atlanta. The drinks are bar scene were great, service was outstanding, and steaks were cooked perfectly. It was our client's birthday, and the staff did a great job recognizing her special day.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Bones is one of the best dining experien ...

Dined 5 days ago

Bones is one of the best dining experiences I have ever had - and this happens EVERY time I am able to visit. The atmosphere is pure steak house, so those looking for ultra modern styling or a 7 course meal will probably feel differently, but I feel the atmosphere is perfect. The food is always excellent, the service has no equal. If you want a great meal, look no further.

food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Best steak in years, period. Having to ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

Best steak in years, period. Having to say more is wasted keystrokes.

Tags: special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Great

Dined on May 18, 2016

Fantastic. Always great. Super attentive to a birthday.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Always the best!!!

vip
Dined on May 17, 2016

Always the best!!!

food2
ambience4
service5

Great service is what you'll find. We ...

vip
Dined on May 16, 2016

Great service is what you'll find. We were celebrating a birthday and they really did it right. Greeted us by name and provided a very nice cozy table. Service was above reproach. I was disappointed in the lobster. Although the presentation was excellent. The lobster was dry and over cooked. Lobster should have been moist and succulent. Not dry and chewy. The steak could have had a little more flavor. Lane was our waiter. He really went above and beyond. Ask for him!

food5
ambience4
service5
value3

This restaurant is the usual when it com ...

vip
Dined on May 15, 2016

This restaurant is the usual when it comes to steak houses...a la carte. BUT, the steak was AMAZING!! The sides delicious and plentiful and the service was outstanding! Wines tend to be, IMHO, somewhat overpriced. Their house pinot noir was $15. A bit over the top I'd say but it was good. We will return and it's convenient on top of it all! Try it if you want a good steak.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Superb service (thank you, Lane). Lovel ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Superb service (thank you, Lane). Lovely environment. GREAT food - try the mixed grill.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding dinner in every way. From r ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Outstanding dinner in every way. From reservations to ambiance to every aspect of dinner the experience was amazing. Would recommend to anyone who would listen!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was surprised. No one that I knew had ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

I was surprised. No one that I knew had heard of this place and we took a chance. I was completely satisfied with everything. The bill was worth it!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

Bones served a terrible steak

Dined on May 14, 2016

I made our reservation well in advance of my fiancé' birthday. When we arrived we were seated at the table right by the kitchen. The waiters whizzing by and the noise/heat from the kitchen was awful; we asked to be moved but no other table was available. We were served our salad and after some time we were moved to a better table. Then our entrees were served and my fiancé's porterhouse was full of gristle and was not cooked as he requested. I was not happy to pay the $450 bill and will never go to Bones again.

food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Awesome veal chop, great wine list at re ...

vip
Dined on May 13, 2016

Awesome veal chop, great wine list at reasonable prices. Waiter was friendly and knowledgeable about the food and wines.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

A favorite restaurant in Buckhead.

vip
Dined on May 13, 2016

A favorite restaurant in Buckhead.

food5
ambience5
service5

Consistently excellent, both service and ...

vip
Dined on May 12, 2016

Consistently excellent, both service and food. We had the crab & avocado salad, filet mignon, onion rings, grit fritters, spinach and the mountain or mile high dessert and everything was outstanding! Can't wait to go back!

food5
ambience5
service5

The experience was wonderful. Everything ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

The experience was wonderful. Everything from the ambience to the food was top notch. The steaks and sides were fabulous.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Most Special of Occasions Done Right!

Dined on May 9, 2016

We recently came to Bones for my daughter's 21st birthday. All she wanted was to come to Bones for an amazing dinner, a fantastic "first" cocktail, and a memorable evening with her boyfriend, brother, myself and her stepdad. Bones fulfilled that wish in every way. From the special confetti on the table to the immaculate wait staff to the perfection of each and every course all the way through the last bite of Mile High Pie, Britt thoroughly enjoyed her birthday celebration. The complimentary taste of an exclusive new wine and a greeting from Chef Brent Asip only made the night that much more special. Well done, Bones! Thank you for making her birthday one she will always remember!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Made a small note on our reservation sim ...

vip
Dined on May 9, 2016

Made a small note on our reservation simply stating, "Happy 35th to us!" Upon checking in, both the Maitre D' and our table host wished us a happy anniversary and thanked us for sharing it with the restaurant. Arriving at our table, we were delighted to find it tastefully decorated with confetti and more Happy Anniversary wishes. After more anniversary wishes from our waiter Brian, we settled in with a fantastic bottle of French Bordeaux and the outstanding Scotch Smoked Salmon, which was enough for four. For dinner, we both had the filet, mine being the bone-in variety, which I'd never had nor seen at a restaurant. It was perfectly cooked and, I'm not sure how it was marinated/seasoned, but it was the most flavorful beef I've ever eaten - absolutely perfect! Our sides of grilled asparagus and a mixed blend of sautéed mushrooms were delicious as well. As an added treat after dinner, the restaurant sent over a delectable seven inch tall, four layer ice-cream cake that we could barely finish. Bones made our special occasion as special as it could be - with great attention to detail. Best dining experience I've had in the Atlanta area - they really outdid themselves. It took me 13 years of living in this area to finally make it to Bones - don't let it happen to you!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Satisfied in ATL

Dined on May 9, 2016

Excellent find, as it was my 1st time, & for Mother's Day no less. Food is excellent, & the place is deceptively big inside. I'm thinking of returning for Father's Day!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mother's Day Experience

Dined on May 8, 2016

I would definitely recommend Bones to all my Friends and Family . Exceptional Staff Exceptional Food Overall Exceptional Experience! Remember ....You get what you pay for @ Bones

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mother's Day dinner that was perfect!

Dined on May 8, 2016

As usual, Bones did a fantastic job right from the moment we walked in and was greeted with "Happy Mother's Day" and then on to a cozy table where the wait staff did an outstanding job and also greeted my wife with "Happy Mother's Day" The food was the best, cooked to perfection and Manuel our waiter to excellent care of our table and made sure we had everything we needed, which included there famous desert!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best steak ever

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

The thing I love about this place is the level of consistency. I have dined at Bone's quite a few times and the meal is always perfect, service impeccable and restaurant busy. The rib eye for two is the best steak I have ever had (beats Lugers and all the Chicago spots).

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent Food, Professionally Served

vip
Dined on May 6, 2016

In a city with seemingly endless high level dining choices, Bones is consistently the best. Nobody does Cow better. The best cuts, perfectly prepared to your specification and then served beautifully and professionally. A deep and thoughtful wine list and top notch cocktails help wash everything down. It's expensive, yet still a bargain.

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Incredible food and service! Highly reco ...

Dined on May 6, 2016

Incredible food and service! Highly recommend👍👍

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Another memorable experience.

Dined on May 6, 2016

Returned to Bone's to celebrate a birthday as we always first think of Bone's for special occasions with our family. Great food and awesome cocktails; couldn't be better. Attentive service ensures we'll be back soon

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great Steak

Dined on May 5, 2016

The service was impeccable and very well coordinated. The meal was top notch. When the steak is great there is no need for sauce. My dates steak was cooked exactly as he likes (well done) without having to send it back and we were both impressed. This was a great birthday dinner.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the best

Dined on May 3, 2016

Went to Atlanta for a trade show knowing that I had one night to take customer out to eat. Found review for Bones as one of, if not the best, place in town. I told some locals that I was going there and a couple said "oh you should go here, or there". I could not be happier that I didn't listen to them. There were 4 of us and all of us think it was one of the best restaurants we have ever been to in any town. I personally travel a lot and frequent many nice places. This would be in my top 3. Awesome and can't wait to go back.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Great service, waiter was attentive and ...

Dined on May 2, 2016

Great service, waiter was attentive and welcoming.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent as always!

Dined on May 2, 2016

Celebrated our anniversary with dinner at Bones, and the food, service, and setting was superb as always! I highly recommend Bones for any special occasion, you will not be disappointed.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Excellent service, but I was very disapp ...

Dined on May 1, 2016

Excellent service, but I was very disappointed in the quality of the steak. It was very tough.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great Steak

vip
Dined on April 30, 2016

This was our first time dining at Bones. We had been planning for a while. The food was prepared as we requested. The bar service was fast and the attendant made some good recommendations as well. Overall we had a great dinner.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A reason for all the rave Reviews

Dined on April 30, 2016

Staff was knowledgeable Food was great Service was impeccable.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Still the best...

Dined on April 28, 2016

The most challenging aspect of any enterprise isn't achieving #1, it is maintaining #1. I've been to Chops, Ruth's Chris, Capital Grille, Smith & Wollensky, etc...Bones still has them all beat. Still the best steak in the ATL year in and year out. You cannot go wrong. They've been in the same spot for nearly 40 years and still have servers from when they opened. How many steakhouses have you been to that can make that claim? Which is to say the service is as good as the food: the kind that you barely notice but is always there when you need it and anticipates your needs. Food? We started with the grilled octopus and shrimp cocktail which were both delicious and get you hungry for more. Then we each had the small filet grilled just the way we requested. I am also a sucker for a lobster tail which was also perfectly grilled and presented. Not only delicious, but cooked perfectly so it was easy to remove the lobster meat from the shell. The sides are too many and too good to list but you have to try the hash browns. When it's time for your special occasion, power lunch, or to satisfy your inner carnivore, Bones is the place to do so.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

I always love the experience. It is trul ...

Dined on April 28, 2016

I always love the experience. It is truly my favorite restaurant in Atlanta

food5
ambience4
service4

Steak was perfect, wine list was extensi ...

Dined on April 26, 2016

Steak was perfect, wine list was extensive

food5
ambience5
service5

It was better than the food in my dreams ...

Dined on April 26, 2016

It was better than the food in my dreams.

food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Bones was fantastic

Dined on April 25, 2016

I have had several meals at Bones and every meal is great. There is a very professional attention to detail and the food is always great. It is an old fashioned steak house and it is always a pleasure to dine there.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.