About Bones

3130 Piedmont Road
Atlanta, GA 30305
View Larger Map

Zagat rates Bones with the highest marks for food and service over all steakhouses in America. Bones has also been awarded by Zagat Survey as the # ONE rated restaurant over all types in Atlanta. By providing the finest quality food with an acclaimed wine cellar, there is no wonder why Bones has been recognized for the last 38 years as the benchmark of style in Atlanta.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm
Dinner: Sunday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Peachtree Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(404) 237-2663

Website:
http://www.bonesrestaurant.com/

Executive Chef:
Leonard Lewis

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Filet Mignon
Bones Salad
Bone-In Filet
Sautéed Spinach
Hash Browns
Kobe Wagyu A5 New York Strip
French Onion Soup
Grit Fritters
Cheese Coins
Bread
Mixed Grill
Jumbo Lump Crabmeat Cocktail
Filet With Floyd's Horsey Sauce™
Mile High Pie
Dry-Aged Porterhouse For Two
Wine
Red Snapper
Bones Chilled Seafood Platter
Horseradish
Floyd's Horsey Sauce™
Duck's Heart
Cheesecake
Lobster Bisque
Mountain High Pie
NY Strip
Crab Stuffed Trout
Lamb Lollypop
mushrooms
Crab Cocktail
Truffle Butter Mashed Potatoes
Hook & Ladder
New York Strip
Onion Rings
22oz. Bone In Ribeye
flourless chocolate cake
Caesar Salad
Crab Cakes
Vodka Martini with Blue Cheese Stuffed Olives
Sauteed Mushrooms and Creamed Spinach
Porterhouse
Bone-in Rib Eye
Ice Cream Cake Tower
Hashb

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Bones can accept lunch and dinner parties from 6 to 75 guests. Please contact us for details.

Bones Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Atlanta / Georgia
Best Food
Atlanta / Georgia
Best Service
Atlanta / Georgia
7 More
Notable Wine List
Atlanta / Georgia
Steak
Atlanta / Georgia
Best Overall
Atlanta
Best Food
Atlanta
Best Service
Atlanta
Notable Wine List
Atlanta
Steak
Atlanta
Best Restaurants in Buckhead ›

special occasion (308)
notable wine list (189)
romantic (184)
See All
fit for foodies (150)
good for groups (121)
neighborhood gem (63)
great for lunch (61)
hot spot (52)
vibrant bar scene (35)
late-night find (10)
great for brunch (9)
scenic view (5)
great for outdoor dining (3)
kid-friendly (3)
Sort By:
Newest
4384 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great ambiance and dining experience. Fo ...

Dined 4 days ago

Great ambiance and dining experience. Food was of great quality and the service outstanding.

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Food and service are consistently outsta ...

Dined 4 days ago

Food and service are consistently outstanding. Always enjoy my time dining at Bones.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was delicious and the service w ...

Dined 5 days ago

The food was delicious and the service was outstanding.

food5
ambience5
service4
value5

As always, the food was excellent both i ...

Dined 5 days ago

As always, the food was excellent both in taste and appearance.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent over all areas. Very consisten ...

Dined 5 days ago

Excellent over all areas. Very consistent quality every visit. Worth the drive from Chattanooga.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Absolutely loved this, I live in NYC and ...

vip
Dined 6 days ago

Absolutely loved this, I live in NYC and have tons of great food and everything was spectacular. The dry aged ribeye, grit cakes and pecan pie were major standouts. Also the $15 corkage policy is great. I will definitely be going back. If you think this is just another steakhouse, think again, it's a fantastic steakhouse.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our 2nd time visiting Bones. W ...

Dined on June 23, 2016

This was our 2nd time visiting Bones. We thoroughly enjoyed our meal and our server was wonderful. Bones is a great place for special occasions or if you're just in the mood for a top of the line steak.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mark made our evening very special! "Aft ...

Dined on June 22, 2016

Mark made our evening very special! "After Eight" mints 😋

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Thank you for accommodating my request f ...

vip
Dined on June 19, 2016

Thank you for accommodating my request for a quieter table to celebrate a birthday. Steaks were amazing and the service was impeccable.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent in every respect. Food, serv ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Excellent in every respect. Food, service and ambience are all top of the line.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

All of the food was outstanding with the ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

All of the food was outstanding with the exception of one main course meal. I had the smaller New York strip and it was a bit fatty. Not is good is the New York strips I have had there in the past

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Dinner was fabulous. The service was ex ...

vip
Dined on June 19, 2016

Dinner was fabulous. The service was exceptional. Go here when you're in Atlanta / Buckhead if you want a memorable dining experience.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

This is our favorite restaurant in the A ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

This is our favorite restaurant in the Atlanta area! Highly recommended!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

Really enjoyed our visit to Bones. Every ...

vip
Dined on June 19, 2016

Really enjoyed our visit to Bones. Every time we visit Atlanta we try to eat at Bones. Food was delicious, wait staff was great. Only disappointment was our table seating. They sat us in the long hallway and its not our favorite place to sit. The walkway for everyone is between your table and the wine cabinet and its hard to enjoy your dinner with someone almost constantly walking by your table. If there is someone entering and exiting at the same time, and one doesn't stop for the other, then inevitably they brush against your table and you, as our water glasses were almost knocked off the table twice. Other than that the Crab Cocktail, Veal Chop, Truffle Mashed Potato's, Corn Pudding, and Mountain High Pie was great and we can't wait to go back

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our first time dining at Bones ...

vip
Dined on June 18, 2016

This was our first time dining at Bones and we felt pampered from the moment we entered the restaurant. We were celebrating my wife's birthday and when we checked in several of the staff were wishing her happy birthday. We were then seated and the table was decorated with birthday confetti. My wife felt like a queen with the royal treatment. Anthony was our server who was just outstanding and truly made our visit wonderful. He explained the specials and wished my wife happy birthday several times during the evening. The service was absolutely the best we have had at a fine dining restaurant. Our meal was just as impressive!! We had the steak for two and the meat was delicious and just as we requested. Our meal was topped off with a mile high piece of cake for the birthday girl. My wife was grinning ear to ear when we left and was so excited of our experience. We look forward to dining again. Big thanks again to staff for making my wife's birthday so memorable!!!

food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Going to Bones a long time....native Atl ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

Going to Bones a long time....native Atlantan. Always top shelf. But have to add that the $110 aged porterhouse for two....should be a melt in your mouth proposition. But it was not. Tenderloin side of course awesome. Rest was difficult to eat....leather. Not ready to trash my fav place....but recommend sticking to a cut that is a sure thing. Bar and cocktails were the highlight of this trip. Maybe next time. Hope so.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

Awesome! Food was fabulous! We cannot ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

Awesome! Food was fabulous! We cannot wait to go back!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great steakhouse and one of the best in ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

Great steakhouse and one of the best in the country.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Best restaurant in Atlanta for old schoo ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

Best restaurant in Atlanta for old school guys that know their way around town. Great bar, with familiar faces and steak that is perfect every time.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

My previous steaks over the years have b ...

vip
Dined on June 15, 2016

My previous steaks over the years have been fabulous but this time the filet was not tender. It it didn't look like the largest size filet even though we split it. Everything else was delicious.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Bone's is the best restaurant in Atlanta ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

Bone's is the best restaurant in Atlanta. I have been to several nice restaurants in the Metro area and all were very good. But Bones is the best. Expect to pay for the best.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

I had great time with my wife for her bi ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

I had great time with my wife for her birthday :) Thank you

food5
ambience4
service5
value3

This is definitely a high end steak hous ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

This is definitely a high end steak house. The service was excellent. We ordered a rib-eye and seafood dish, along with an a al carte side. My wife ask for a recommended white wine to compliment her dish, while I had an old fashioned. The wine was a perfect compliment to the seafood and my drink was made exactly as I wanted. My steak was perfectly cooked and the side dish (mac & cheese w/ bacon) was incredible. My wife's scallop dish was good, but a bit disappointing for the price. That's really the only true negative of Bones, it is pricey. However, if you want great service, fine dining, good food, and are willing to spend $100 - $200 on dinner for 2, then Bones is a great choice.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience2
service4

Classic old school steak house. Staff wa ...

vip
Dined on June 11, 2016

Classic old school steak house. Staff was very polite and knowledgeable. Service was great! Steak was pretty good but not the best - cooked almost perfectly. Just needed salt. The "stuffed" lobster was undercooked (it's stuffed with breadcrumbs and sundried tomatoes 😕). I hated to send it back bc typically it will be over cooked, so I sent back half of it. Sure enough it was overcooked when it came back. The grit fritters were wonderful. All else was good/ok. Nothing too inventive on the menu and food could've used more seasoning. I guess my expectations were a bit too high on the food as we've been meaning to go for so long since it's an Atlanta staple. The decor seemed basic steakhouse - nothing particularly nice or romantic. The place was very quiet - especially for a Friday night in Buckhead.

food3
ambience4
service5
value2

Pretentious

Dined on June 10, 2016

Was not seated timely.watched several people seated who had entered way after my wife and I. We had reservations and waited 37 mins at the bar. The seservice staff was excellent as was bar staff. The food is definitely over ratedarated and pretentious .mediocre cut of meat.over grown vegetables not young tender items.our daughter is a published and recognized chef.We are acquainted with quality food.The food at bones is good but not worth the cost and we had a gift certificate . .

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

For my birthday, my wife treated me to o ...

Dined on June 10, 2016

For my birthday, my wife treated me to one of the best dinners I've ever had. We were immediately greeted by the friendly bartender and, being a little early for our reservation, we took a table in the bar and were served drinks. Once seated in the restaurant, our server was quick to greet us and told us about the menu. We had the most delicious onion rings for an appetizer and then were extremely pleased with our filet mignon. The grilled asparagus and steamed broccoli were just the right compliments to our perfectly cooked steaks. We were quite tempted with the Bones Mountain High Pie, but knowing I had a birthday cake waiting at home, we skipped the dessert. The complimentary valet parking was appreciated and the wait staff was very attentive and made sure we were happy with our meal. We will definitely return to Bones for another great meal.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect

vip
Dined on June 8, 2016

I have been going to Bones for years. The food and service are perfect every time. Bones is great for a date or special occasion. Also good for a business dinner. There is no better service in Atlanta. It is truly is perfect.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful Dinner for clients!

Dined on June 6, 2016

We took clients here for dinner and everything was wonderful from the lobster bisque soup to the salads to the steaks to the great desserts! If you want to impress someone, go to Bones. The service was excellent also.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always Excellent

Dined on June 6, 2016

Bones always has been associated with professionalism and excellence. It certainly lived up to its reputation.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Dinner in Atlanta

Dined on June 5, 2016

They were very when our flight arrived 1hour and they honored our reservation...dealt with my well. Nice bacon mac n cheese...and aged bone in ribeye. Wild game platter was a treat!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent in all ways

Dined on June 4, 2016

Everything was perfect as always. This is now a regular spot for me for special occasions.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Bones is the best.

Dined on June 3, 2016

Bones is by far the best in Atlanta if not the country.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Reliable for great food and service

vip
Dined on June 3, 2016

Bones has the best steak in town. Especially the bone in ribeye. The difference between Bones and some of the other steakhouses in town is that you don't feel like you are in a corporate environment. While the staff is very professional, they are also casual, like friends. Also, the sides and the Bones salad put it over the top. Many of the staff have been there forever and they never miss a thing.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

BEST

vip
Dined on June 1, 2016

GREAT SERVICE, FOOD ALWAYS THE BEST FOR A BUSINESS LUNCH

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful Landmark Restaurant

Dined on May 31, 2016

My first venture here was in 1991 and it remains as good in all aspects of a fine restaurant. A must try for anyone in the Atlanta area.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

It was a last minute decision to stop in ...

Dined on May 31, 2016

It was a last minute decision to stop in for dinner and we were dressed down, but the staff did an amazing job to make us feel comfortable and valued. It was a great experience and I would highly recommend this place for dinner for your most personal and exciting celebrations.

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Bravo to Bones!

Dined on May 30, 2016

We enjoyed a wonderful dining experience at Bones. The wood was great and the service was outstanding. I will definitely recommend this restaurant to friends dining in Atlanta.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Engagement celebration

Dined on May 29, 2016

My fiancé and I celebrated our engagement with Bones and they truly made a special moment memorable. From the service, to the atmosphere, to the food, we couldn't have been more pleased. We are from out of town but will be celebrating an anniversary here soon. Thanks to Bones for all they did.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

Went to bones for anniversary...not returning

Dined on May 29, 2016

Went to bones, our first time, for our anniversary. Here is the key, No one asked if this was our first time there. No one asked our occasion. We have been to competitors for special ocassions and the care shown to us has been top notch. High note, The salad was tremendous. The wines, a merlot & cabrenet, were good as well. The food afterwards was not up to par. Ordered a dry aged bone in rib eye - absolutely flavorless. We sent it back and it came back in worse condition. Ordered the grilled scallops, these were fair. For a top rated steakhouse in atlanta, the competition has left this place in the dust. I could not rate it tops, i can rate it as pricey. At this price point, the details matter.

food5
ambience5
service5

The food was amazing! The service was im ...

Dined on May 29, 2016

The food was amazing! The service was impeccable, personalized and the most attentive I have experienced at a restaurant in years. This place was superb!

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.