About Bones

3130 Piedmont Road
Atlanta, GA 30305
View Larger Map

Zagat rates Bones with the highest marks for food and service over all steakhouses in America. Bones has also been awarded by Zagat Survey as the # ONE rated restaurant over all types in Atlanta. By providing the finest quality food with an acclaimed wine cellar, there is no wonder why Bones has been recognized for the last 38 years as the benchmark of style in Atlanta.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm
Dinner: Sunday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Peachtree Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(404) 237-2663

Website:
http://www.bonesrestaurant.com/

Executive Chef:
Leonard Lewis

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Filet Mignon
Bones Salad
Bone-In Filet
Sautéed Spinach
Hash Browns
Kobe Wagyu A5 New York Strip
French Onion Soup
Grit Fritters
Cheese Coins
Mixed Grill
Bread
Jumbo Lump Crabmeat Cocktail
Filet With Floyd's Horsey Sauce™
Mile High Pie
Dry-Aged Porterhouse For Two
Wine
Red Snapper
Bones Chilled Seafood Platter
Horseradish
Floyd's Horsey Sauce™
Duck's Heart
Cheesecake
Lobster Bisque
Mountain High Pie
NY Strip
Crab Stuffed Trout
Lamb Lollypop
mushrooms
Crab Cocktail
Truffle Butter Mashed Potatoes
Hook & Ladder
New York Strip
Onion Rings
22oz. Bone In Ribeye
flourless chocolate cake
Caesar Salad
Crab Cakes
Vodka Martini with Blue Cheese Stuffed Olives
Sauteed Mushrooms and Creamed Spinach
Porterhouse
Bone-in Rib Eye
Ice Cream Cake Tower
Hashb

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Bones can accept lunch and dinner parties from 6 to 75 guests. Please contact us for details.

Bones Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Atlanta / Georgia
Best Food
Atlanta / Georgia
Best Service
Atlanta / Georgia
7 More
Notable Wine List
Atlanta / Georgia
Steak
Atlanta / Georgia
Best Overall
Atlanta
Best Food
Atlanta
Best Service
Atlanta
Notable Wine List
Atlanta
Steak
Atlanta
Best Restaurants in Buckhead ›

special occasion (324)
romantic (195)
notable wine list (190)
See All
fit for foodies (158)
good for groups (124)
great for lunch (62)
neighborhood gem (61)
hot spot (55)
vibrant bar scene (38)
late-night find (11)
great for brunch (10)
kid-friendly (6)
scenic view (4)
great for outdoor dining (2)
Sort By:
Newest
4448 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Perfectly cooked steak and service.

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined 3 days ago

Perfectly cooked steak and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything about this place was nice. Es ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined 3 days ago

Everything about this place was nice. Especially John, at the bar, he was awesome and engaging in conversation with my wife and I.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Bones is the standard in Atlanta for old ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined 3 days ago

Bones is the standard in Atlanta for old school steakhouse dining. Great for special occasions and expense account dinners. The waitstaff is informed and accommodating. The food is top notch and the atmosphere is definitely top of the line steakhouse. It's the kind of place you wouldn't be surprised to find Frank Sinatra and friends dining in a back room, and I mean that in the best way possible.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Less than 1% of the restaurants I commen ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined 3 days ago

Less than 1% of the restaurants I comment on receive an Outstanding rating.

The service was impeccable, but not hasty, pushy or pretentious. I and my guests fully appreciated the attention to detail and comfort that Derrick, et al, conveyed in making our evening outstanding.

This is a STEAKHOUSE, so while I would suspect that other menu items are of equal quality, the reason to go here is for the Steak.

Sides dishes are enough for two and easily shared. My French Onion Soup is quite good, but I would not hesitate to have another serving at Bone's also.

This is not a kid-friendly environment, but one that should be reserved for a quality adult evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the best steak restaurants in the ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined 3 days ago

One of the best steak restaurants in the United States.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The steaks are unparalleled throughout t ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined 3 days ago

The steaks are unparalleled throughout the country. All should try the Bones salad, the salmon and tuna appetizers, the hash browns and onion rings. Their corn and veggies are solid too. I've never had a bad experience there. I love taking new people there because it always leaves them awed.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good! But undercooked my medium-wel ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined 4 days ago

Very good! But undercooked my medium-well plus.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing anniversary dinner from beginnin ...

 
 (NW Florida)
·Dined 4 days ago

Amazing anniversary dinner from beginning to end. Great attentive service. Delicious food and wonderful atmosphere for an anniversary date night. The complimentary ice cream pie capped off a fantastic evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Consistent over the years in every respe ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined 4 days ago

Consistent over the years in every respect . Wine list could be larger. Have never been disappointed.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent... As always!

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined 4 days ago

Excellent... As always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We went for our anniversary. From the ti ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined 5 days ago

We went for our anniversary. From the time we arrived at the bar to the final interaction with our waiter, everything was superb! Best steak (filet) I have had so far in Atlanta. Great salmon appetizer and Bones salad. Deserts were also excellent! My new favorite restaurant!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The best. Simply the best. There's no po ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined 5 days ago

The best. Simply the best. There's no point in saying more. Bones is simply the best steakhouse in a city that has many great ones.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The best!!!! Great steaks....grit fitter ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined 6 days ago

The best!!!! Great steaks....grit fitters are a must....don't forget about the mountain high dessert either!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Such a wonderful experience. We made res ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Such a wonderful experience. We made reservations but sat at the bar. Wonderful wine list that are on i-pads. Grit hush puppies were creamy and one great treat. Foi gras toasts are amazing if you like duck liver. Order corn pudding if you can't eat it all - take it home. Amazing food and experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our son chose Bones for his birthday cel ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Our son chose Bones for his birthday celebration and came away thinking this is best restaurant in the USA and certainly in Georgia.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Does well in holding their reputation as ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Does well in holding their reputation as one of the best steakhouses in Atlanta. Great list of cuts. Ours was cooked perfectly, could use less salt. Staff did a great job of making our experience special and memorable.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

One of the best dinners I've ever enjoye ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

One of the best dinners I've ever enjoyed out.

10 out of 10 on every level.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was great, service was about on par ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Food was great, service was about on par with your local Chili's

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

As usual, a tremendous dining experience ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

As usual, a tremendous dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My experience at bone was very good, com ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

My experience at bone was very good, coming from fine dining service's i was pleased to see everyone helping each other out. I was also surprised and very happy to see that out table had been decorated accordingly to the occasion. I will definitely will be coming back. Food was perfect and the wife left a satified and inpressed woman. Thankyou all for making that night a great night. Let your pastry chef know the cake is very delicious will be looking foward to it next occasion

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We loved it! The food and service were o ...

vip
 (Louisville)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

We loved it! The food and service were outstanding as usual!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Sorry print to small for iPhone. Our ex ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Sorry print to small for iPhone. Our experience was wonderful. Service and food -- fabulous!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Best steak I have ever had. Staff was ve ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Best steak I have ever had. Staff was very friendly and performed at an optimal level.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I love the restaurant and it is one of o ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

I love the restaurant and it is one of our favorites.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The service was outstanding. Dry aged po ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

The service was outstanding. Dry aged porterhouse was delicious. Truffle mashed potatoes were not good. Lobster bisque was superb.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

The bone in ribeye was amazing. One of ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

The bone in ribeye was amazing. One of the best old-school steakhouses I have ever eaten at and I have dined at many over the years.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The best-never disappoints. Highly recom ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

The best-never disappoints. Highly recommend for any occasion .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We always go to Bones and celebrate our ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

We always go to Bones and celebrate our Anniversary. We were celebrating 20yrs. I brought a special bottle of wine (and dropped it off ahead of time so it could be decanted) and it was presented beautifully on the table when we arrived. Food was wonderful but the service was not as good as usual. We had also asked to sit in the wine room, where we always request for our anniversary, but were seated back by the service area, which really killed the romantic atmosphere I was looking for - was just really busy with servers rushing back and forth. They did apologize for not seating us in the wine room (we made our reservation over a week in advance). Not the best experience from a service standpoint but the food was wonderful.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value4

I took my son to Bone's for his 18th-bir ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

I took my son to Bone's for his 18th-birthday and some Father/Son time - it was a memorable evening. They thoughtfully wished him Happy Birthday upon arrival, had some Happy Birthday confetti on the table, and brought a big piece of cake for dessert.

Bone's is an Atlanta legend for a reason - great, attentive, subtle service and outstanding beef and sides. Consistently an excellent meal and great experience. Thanks, Bones!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Could not -- as usual -- have been any b ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Could not -- as usual -- have been any better. And a great occasion for my son's birthday.

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I took my bride of four years to Bones f ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

I took my bride of four years to Bones for our wedding anniversary. Although she has lived in Atlanta her entire life, she had never been to Bones. Her expectations were exceeded in every respect: front of the house service; service at our table; food; and the special attention provided for our anniversary: the romantic setting of our table; the Happy Anniversary decorations on our table; and the complimentary huge slice of ice cream cake with a candle to end our meal. Her filet was perfect; my veal chop was the best I've had at any of the famous steak houses in the country. Something unusual that we have never seen "pulled-off" anywhere else was the variety of clientele. There were the usual businessmen talking serious deals; there were very stylish young couples on a date; there were tables of friends; there were small groups of women for a girl's night out; and there were families with elementary school age children. All were accommodated with aplomb and none seemed to bother the others. Unique, especially for such a Five Star restaurant.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The restaurant was beyond our expectatio ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

The restaurant was beyond our expectations. Unfortunately The open table reservation did not come through

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful food and experienced servers! ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Wonderful food and experienced servers! Could not have been a better dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great service. Great Food and Wine list ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Great service. Great Food and Wine list. My favorite steakhouse in Atlanta. I try and have dinner here every time I am in town.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A must stop when I travel to Atlanta. E ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

A must stop when I travel to Atlanta. Everything is good. Everything.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Have eaten here a nber of times and food ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Have eaten here a nber of times and food, service & ambience meets or exceeds my n expectations every time.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Personal attention and service were impe ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Personal attention and service were impeccable. Steaks were perfectly prepared and because we were celebrating a special occasion, we were honored with a fantastic ice cream "tower" as a finishing touch. First class all the way, as usual.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I can always count on a very pleasurable ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

I can always count on a very pleasurable experience at Bones. Restaurant is quiet & well appointed. Service is OUTSTANDING AND THE FOOD EVEN BETTER !! Can't say it is cheap, but you get what you pay for.

Absolutely my favorite restaurant in Metro Atlanta and I live 35 miles north of City in Woodstock, GA.

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I don't think the Maitre D wasn't ready ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

I don't think the Maitre D wasn't ready for us when we arrived a little early. He asked us to be seated. Nearly ten minutes went by and I had to return with my entire family as I saw others being seated. We had a 5:30pm reservation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

The service was great, it was an enjoyab ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

The service was great, it was an enjoyable evening!

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.