About Bones

3130 Piedmont Road
Atlanta, GA 30305
View Larger Map

Zagat rates Bones with the highest marks for food and service over all steakhouses in America. Bones has also been awarded by Zagat Survey as the # ONE rated restaurant over all types in Atlanta. By providing the finest quality food with an acclaimed wine cellar, there is no wonder why Bones has been recognized for the last 38 years as the benchmark of style in Atlanta.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm
Dinner: Sunday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Peachtree Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(404) 237-2663

Website:
http://www.bonesrestaurant.com/

Executive Chef:
Leonard Lewis

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Filet Mignon
Bones Salad
Hash Browns
Kobe Wagyu A5 New York Strip
French Onion Soup
Grit Fritters
Bone-In Filet
Sautéed Spinach
Mixed Grill
Cheese Coins
Bread
Filet With Floyd's Horsey Sauce™
Jumbo Lump Crabmeat Cocktail
Dry-Aged Porterhouse For Two
Wine
Red Snapper
Bones Chilled Seafood Platter
Horseradish
Floyd's Horsey Sauce™
Duck's Heart
Cheesecake
Lobster Bisque
Mountain High Pie
NY Strip
Crab Stuffed Trout
Lamb Lollypop
New York Strip
Crab Cocktail
Truffle Butter Mashed Potatoes
mushrooms
Hook & Ladder
Onion Rings
22oz. Bone In Ribeye
Caesar Salad
flourless chocolate cake
Crab Cakes
Sauteed Mushrooms and Creamed Spinach
Vodka Martini with Blue Cheese Stuffed Olives
Porterhouse
Bone-in Rib Eye
Mile High Pie
Ice Cream Cake Tower
Hashb

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Bones can accept lunch and dinner parties from 6 to 75 guests. Please contact us for details.

Bones Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Atlanta / Georgia
Best Food
Atlanta / Georgia
Best Service
Atlanta / Georgia
7 More
Steak
Atlanta / Georgia
Best Overall
Atlanta
Best Food
Atlanta
Best Service
Atlanta
Notable Wine List
Atlanta
Special Occasion
Atlanta
Steak
Atlanta
Best Restaurants in Buckhead ›

Special Occasion (276)
Romantic (164)
Notable Wine List (154)
See All
Fit for Foodies (109)
Good for Groups (83)
Great for Lunch (56)
Neighborhood Gem (53)
Hot Spot (42)
Good for Anniversaries (41)
Business Meals (38)
Good for Birthdays (32)
Vibrant Bar Scene (32)
Good for a Date (24)
Worth the Drive (19)
Quiet Conversation (18)
Private Room (15)
Authentic (15)
Great for Brunch (14)
Bar Seating (12)
Handcrafted Cocktails (11)
Cozy (10)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Late-night Find (8)
Historic (8)
Fun (7)
Comfort Food (7)
Kid-friendly (5)
Happy Hour (4)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Casual (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
People Watching (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Scenic View (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Seasonal (1)
Great Beer (1)
Family Style (1)
Healthy (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
4580 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The best as always. We have been going ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined 3 days ago

The best as always. We have been going to Bones for 23 years.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were visiting Atlanta and wanted a st ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined 3 days ago

We were visiting Atlanta and wanted a steak restaurant locally owned instead of a chain. That makes Bones the perfect choice. Very friendly and knowledgable wait staff. We shared the seafood appetizer and shared the spinach salad. Each was very tasty and an excellent start. Wifey had the smaller filet and I had the NY strip steak. Each were perfectly medium rare juicy and delicious. Finished with a very different Pecan pie, made with finely crushed pecans. The coffee was served with a silver service cream and sugar. Very elegant and a great finish to an outstanding dinner.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Top notch food quality. We're a bit pers ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined 4 days ago

Top notch food quality. We're a bit persnickety about our seafood, and it was fantastic. Our server Ibrahim was excellent and Mark the bartender made us a couple off-menu martinis that were to die for!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our main server was awful. He was an old ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined 4 days ago

Our main server was awful. He was an older gentleman with gray hair and a "don't give a sh*t" attitude. However, the "trainee" servers were exceptional and attentive and were the only saving grace to our meal. We ordered our steaks medium. Mine was well done and crunchy, and my associate's was medium rare. We didn't want to bother our server to send them back because we already felt like we were causing him grief even though we had not done or eaten anything so far. We agreed they were one of the worst steaks we had ever had. Our main server ignored us and was completely rude the entire dinner. We were in town on business and the night we went was our last night in Atlanta. We were looking forward to this meal all week. I would never come back and would never recommend it to anyone. My dinner companion felt the exact same way. We were prepared to have a pricy meal for good food and a good experience, but it turned out to just be extremely disappointing and bizarre.

Tags: Modern Decor, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

Always reliable and sure to impress a cl ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined 4 days ago

Always reliable and sure to impress a client. Bones never fails to deliver.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Bones is one of my date's favorite place ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined 5 days ago

Bones is one of my date's favorite places. I'd never been there before; this special occasion was to spend my $100 Open Table certificate. Wednesday night was very busy. This place is hopping. We had steaks. Mine was perfect. Hers was just a tad more done than she liked. Our waiter somehow intuited that it was not perfect and replaced it with a perfect one. We never raised a finger to indicate anything was wrong, but he somehow knew it was less than perfect. He helped me pick a fine bottle of wine, too. There's a reason people go there over and over.

Tags: Authentic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I met my parents in Atlanta as I returne ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined 6 days ago

I met my parents in Atlanta as I returned to the States after six months away. I found Bone's on Trip Advisor and thought it would make a great meal. It did not disappoint! My dad and I shared the huge bone-in ribeye while mom had the crab cakes. We also had spinach and mashed potatoes as sides. Everything was amazing!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Service was excellent. The Lobster Bisq ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined 6 days ago

Service was excellent. The Lobster Bisque soup was outstanding. The bone-in ribeye for two was good but undercooked. We had to send it back for additional cooking.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Great job by our waiter Lee. First class ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Great job by our waiter Lee. First class from start to finish. Thank you.

Tags: People Watching, Historic, Fit for Foodies, Private Room, Business Meals, Paleo Friendly, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

My family and I went because it is highl ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

My family and I went because it is highly recommended in Trip Advisor. we are from Mexico City and we like the good restaurants and good food. We liked it very much and if we go back to Atlanta, we will go again. Thank you very much for an excellent service and excellent food.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

For the price paid the quality of the fo ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

For the price paid the quality of the food was way off par.

My wife ordered a medium stake and the got a rare one.

My son who would normally finish his entire stake way before we did, only had half of his and left the rest in the plate.

My stake was full of cartilage that I had to totally separate from the meat and pile up in a corner of my plate.

I have never experienced such a bad stake in my hole life.

Service was good and attentive. They did not charge for my wife's stake as they realized they brought the wrong temperature stake.

The dessert was really good. So was the Malbec.

Mu hone stake from the fresh corner butcher shop is top notch compared to what we have experienced tonight.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

Excellent upscale steak house. Went here ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Excellent upscale steak house. Went here to celebrate and was not disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We went to Bone's for our 22nd Anniversa ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

We went to Bone's for our 22nd Anniversary for a first time visit. We arrived at 5:15-5:20 for a 5:30 reservation. There was no hostess at the hostess stand. We stood there for about 2 minutes and no one came forward to ask about our reservation. We were not the only couple who looked puzzled on why there was no one there to greet us. So we went to the bar. No wine list, they say due to a technical issue so we had no idea of pricing of glasses of wine. My wife was given a taste test of a Cab which she didn't like then went with a Merlot, I got a Pinot Noir. The bartender did ask our last name so I figured we were put into the system as "arrived and waiting". As I watched other couples who had come in after us be seated I had to flag down the bartender to ask, "Do I need to go to the hostess stand?" "Oh, no, they will come and get you." Well, eventually after another 5 minutes the man/host came to take us to our table. The host did pull the chair out for me wife which was nice.

Food-I had already looked at the prices on the menu so I wasn't surprised by them. This was going to be a celebration meal so price was a major concern. The bread comes in one loaf and is almost impossible to cut with butter knife so expect to tear it apart and blast crumbs everywhere. My wife got a crab/avocado salad that was delicious. I got a cup of Lobster Bisque that was flavorful but lacking any chunks of lobster, the pieces were sprinkled almost as decoration of the top. The seared Ahi Tuna in chili oil was fine but not worth remembering. She ordered the 12oz Filet Migon, cooked Med-rare, with asparagus side. I ordered the 24 once porterhouse with creamed spinach(not on menu but I had read about it). The Filet looked great to me but wife returned it as too rare. My steak was cooked correctly but wasn't amazing for the price of $59. I also had it topped with an Oscar topping that was limited in it's crab for $17.The Filet came back as medium =her happy. Dessert free-ok. Bill$275 Ouch!

Tags: Private Room, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

We had a very pleasurable dinner. Relax ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

We had a very pleasurable dinner. Relaxed with a cocktail before being seated, very pleasant. We were seated in the occasion room as it was my birthday and the staff made it a very special evening. I was advised by a friend to have a dry aged steak, ordered the bone in rib eye, WOW, fantastic. My husband enjoyed his Filet. Yes it is pricey, but worth the experience and if you just have steak and a side, affordable. Give it a try!

Tags: Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

A "must" restaurant to enjoy in Atlanta. ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

A "must" restaurant to enjoy in Atlanta. Exceptional food, service, and atmosphere. Best steakhouse in Atlanta.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Enjoyed the whole experience. Appetizer ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Enjoyed the whole experience. Appetizers to dessert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The meat was delicious. I had filet mign ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

The meat was delicious. I had filet mignon and it was one of the best steaks I have ever had.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Celebrated our 26th wedding anniversary ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Celebrated our 26th wedding anniversary Bones took care of all the details making us feel special it was a phenomenal meal and a phenomenal atmosphere

Tags: Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a wonderful experience. The food ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Always a wonderful experience. The food is simply the best and the service is top notch. We will be celebrating our anniversaries here for years to come.

Tags: Private Room, Happy Hour, Authentic, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

In my opinion, THE perfect steakhouse. F ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

In my opinion, THE perfect steakhouse. Fantastic food, impeccable service.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Private Room, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Found this gem on open table and am so g ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Found this gem on open table and am so glad I did. Incredible food. Best bisque. Crab Napoleon was light and delicious. Steak was cooked to perfection. The hash browns are unique and a must have.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ours was a ladies' birthday luncheon, th ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

Ours was a ladies' birthday luncheon, therefore judging food on the salads that were ordered would not be fair. Some of us loved theirs, others were simply o.k. Request for a particular table/room was honored, which made the event very enjoyable.

Staff and service excellent.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Bones was a rest restaurant for a nice s ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Bones was a rest restaurant for a nice sit down dinner great service and food !

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time to Bones. We made a reservat ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

First time to Bones. We made a reservation for 5 (4 adults, 1 child). Valet was quick and prompt. We were sat immediately and I, as the person who made the reservation, was greeted by name by the host, waiter and assistant waiter and always treated with the utmost respect.

Our waiter was Brian and I'll be sure to always sit in his section by request on all of our future visits. And there will be many. Not only was Brian a top notch server in all regards he went above and beyond to ensure my party, my son and myself were very well taken care of.

My hand had been bandaged due to a recent burn and when I ordered my steak, he glanced at my hand and immediately offered to have the kitchen cut my steak to avoid any inconvenience on my behalf.

My son (age 5) was also treated quite well. He ordered his go to meal, chicken tenders and French fries and was delivered a meal probably larger than any adult meal elsewhere. He plate contained 14 chicken tenders and what seemed to be a never ending pile of fries that we all shared and still brought home leftovers...even my son realized the vast amount of food and exclaimed "oh wow!" When it arrived.

After dinner, although we declined dessert because we had a birthday cake at home waiting, the waiter quietly asked if my son would be allowed to have cookies. He immediately returned with a small box of fresh, packaged cookies for home. He then asked my son his favorite color, and returned with his favorite colored balloon.

Start to finish, perfect evening. Well done Bones and see you next time Brian!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The best steak in atlanta. Was an incred ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

The best steak in atlanta. Was an incredible experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding! The best restaurant in Atla ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Outstanding! The best restaurant in Atlanta in my opinion. Also, they make you feel special on your birthday!

Tags: Disabled Access, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Brunch, Happy Hour, Kid-friendly, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Romantic, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch, Business Meals, Great Beer, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Private Room, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Modern Decor, Fun, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

From greeting to treat with the check (y ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

From greeting to treat with the check (yes expensive) it was excellent. Our 50th anniversary and we felt that every detail was perfect. The food was outstanding. Filet/lobster, filet/Crab Oscar and the mushrooms (wow). Feel like splurging....GO.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a great experience and a great me ...

 
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Always a great experience and a great meal and service.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Private Room, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was impeccable, steak was top no ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Service was impeccable, steak was top notch, Caesar dressing was just a tad tart, ice cream cake to die for. We will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent again! You can always count o ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Excellent again! You can always count on great service and food! The crab cakes were outstanding, and the filet was "Melt in your mouth" good!

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

a little stuffy but very pleasant meat w ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

a little stuffy but very pleasant meat was well seasoned and lobster was delish!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Expectations were high for this one. Ki ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Expectations were high for this one. Kinda like eating @ Ruth Chris. Would not go back considering (4) of us ordered filet mignon medium and all were cooked from rare to extra done. Sides were disappointing as well.

Waiters and staff were attentive but slightly stuffy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Bones helped me make a memorable birthda ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Bones helped me make a memorable birthday for my wife.

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

For 20+ years, we have celebrated my son ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

For 20+ years, we have celebrated my son's birthday with Bones. It's amazing that the food and service has always been outstanding! Never a glitch, just outstanding!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always outstanding food and service. We ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

Always outstanding food and service. We love Ali and Manny - the servers we always ask for.

Bones is old world, old school, fantastic!

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A fabulous evening meal. Very well appoi ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

A fabulous evening meal. Very well appointed! Will be returning!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Fun, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Romantic, Modern Decor, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Historic, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

You can always count on the quality of s ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 6, 2016

You can always count on the quality of service and food . Steakhouses should follow the leader.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Most professional staff in town. Warm g ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 6, 2016

Most professional staff in town. Warm greeting, friendly and efficient service. Expensive but no effort to run up tab--reasonable corkage, fairly priced wine list. Great food. Worth the cost. A bit noisy

Tags: People Watching, Worth the Drive, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Good food and drinks. Had a problem wit ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 6, 2016

Good food and drinks. Had a problem with the bill print out but it was corrected. Can be a bit on the noisy side when restaurant is busy.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

We travel from Chattanooga and always ch ...

 
 (East Tennessee)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

We travel from Chattanooga and always choose Bones! The tuna tartare is out of this world!

Tags: Good for Groups, Authentic, Private Room, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.