About Bondir Concord

24 Walden Street
Concord, MA 01742
View Larger Map

Sustainable Modern American Cuisine

Bondir Restaurant is located in historic Concord, Massachusetts. Menus showcase the pastoral and marine bounty of our New England region and offer a finely curated selection of American and European wines and beers. Chef/Owner Jason Bond has spent more than 20 years refining his technique and style, and has developed a simple philosophy of quality and care. Our offerings–vegetables picked the same day, fish hours out of the ocean, pasture-raised meats–will change daily, and will always be tasteful in preparation and presentation.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch, Wednesday - Sunday, 11:30 am - 2:00 pm
Dinner, Friday & Saturday Evenings, 5:00 pm - 10:00 pm Monday/Wednesday/Thursday Evenings, 5:00 pm - 9:00 pm.

Closed on Tuesdays.

Cross Street:
Main Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(978) 610-6554

Website:
http://www.bondirconcord.com/

Parking Details:
Metered parking is available in front of the restaurant. There is a free municipal parking lot behind the restaurant.

Public Transit:
Commuter Rail, Fitchburg Line.

Executive Chef:
Jason Bond

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, High Tea, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Bondir Concord Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

83% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Boston Suburbs
Best Restaurants in Concord, Massachusetts ›

Fit for Foodies (73)
Special Occasion (55)
Neighborhood Gem (54)
See All
Romantic (43)
Notable Wine List (25)
Great for Lunch (22)
Good for Groups (16)
Vibrant Bar Scene (12)
Hot Spot (8)
Late-night Find (3)
Scenic View (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
716 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Extraordinary good food, reasonable prop ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined 3 days ago

Extraordinary good food, reasonable proportions, talented and informed and very pleasant wait staff. Would get two stars from Michelin in Paris. Three if it were more formal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

What I like about Bondir is that I get t ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

What I like about Bondir is that I get to eat food that I never would never think of making myself. Experiencing creative combinations of food is one of the reasons I go to restaurants and Bondir consistently broadens my culinary horizons. I strongly recommend Bondir for anyone who understands that cooking can be a true creative endeavor.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Server essentially untrained for a place ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Server essentially untrained for a place like this. Nervous and not able to answer questions. Charcuterie was ALL different pates... Two QUITE similar. Boring. Other firsts were ok; cheese plate also somewhat unidimensional. A cheese demoted to be "like Gruyere" was, rather, like an aged cheddar. Fine. Inaccurate. Main courses striped bass in saffron etc broth: mushy, not form & NOT crisp. Broth: notably insist icy from a light vegetable broth. Little flavor. "House made sausage" (w/o other info, wouldn't you assume this is pork...& there WAS no other info given) turned out to be a VERY STRONG mutton (and otherwise not very seasoned. Whaaaaa? My grandparents forced us to eat boiled mutton & I'd NEVER choose to eat it again. Pretty sure most Americans don't even know what it is. Pretty... Awful. Wine was fine. Restaurant was quiet. EXTREMELY disappointing as the celebration last meal for our daughter before she went to college.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2

My husband and I had a great date night ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

My husband and I had a great date night at Bondir! So nice to not have to drive into Cambridge for a high-quality, seasonal menu. We will definitely go again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Tried to make a reservation for 7PM but ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Tried to make a reservation for 7PM but had to select either 6:30 or 7:30. When we arrived at 6:30 there was no one seated in the restaurant. Except for two patrons at the bar, we were the only non-employees. When we left at 7:45 the restaurant wasn't even half full. Waiter insisted appetizer and entrée had to be ordered at the same time because the Chef required this. I cautioned him that we are slow eaters (this is supposed to be a dining experience). When entrees arrived they were served luke warm. My wife opted to eat her fish. The bouillabaisse probably provided a little heat. I sent my steak back to the kitchen because it was undercooked (requested medium/rare and received a rear steak) and it was tepid at best. So, we didn't really dine together since my replacement steak arrived well after my wife finished her meal.

We ate at this restaurant once before and had a pleasurable experience. However, on this occasion everything was sub-par. I can have this kind of experience at any restaurant and for a lot less money. Sorry but we won't ever be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

We enjoyed a nice meal with friends. App ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

We enjoyed a nice meal with friends. Appetizers (cheese plate) was very well done and I enjoyed my main course of Pasta and Ragu - Only draw back was they offered no non-sweetened beverage besides water - (Diet Coke please) - Bar tender made excellent martini's and added some additional fun to the dinner !

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Quality and experience at Bondir are alw ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Quality and experience at Bondir are always exceptional. We ate there with an artist friend from New Hampshire who is a foodie and always wants to go to Bondir when he comes to Concord. He raves about food and presentation.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

New American fare. Quality, thoughtful, ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

New American fare. Quality, thoughtful, food, solid craft cocktails and attentive, but mistake prone, service.

A very good option in Central Concord, but not a must visit.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

The wine list is downgraded, no decent w ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

The wine list is downgraded, no decent wine around 50 or under 100.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Just a perfect lunch! The hostess was lo ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Just a perfect lunch!

The hostess was lovely. The food wonderful, and the restauranrt gorgeous and welcoming. The lunch prix fixe was a great value. Please bring back the tuna nicoise (the tuna)!

Wish I lived closer.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

I went back after a while; and still not ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

I went back after a while; and still not a favorite. The food is generally very good, but on the heavy/decadent side, and they're a bit challenging around substitutions (preferences, allergies, etc.). I found it very strange that they were nearly out of Tuna (for a nicoise) salad 3o minutes into lunch service; *and* that they would continue to sell the salad without it, but declined to offer another protein in its place. Portions are also very small. With an appetizer and lunch entree, I'm always hungry immediately after. And, I'm not accustomed to especially large meals... I don't dislike Bondir, but generally prefer other places, and would never make an effort to go...

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

We are frequent, high-end diners. Howev ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

We are frequent, high-end diners. However, my palate is not too foodie. I have wanted to visit this restaurant many times but the menu was too limiting for me. The Summer Bistro menu they have now if much more accessible and too my liking. I hope the chef keeps this in mind for the future. I know it may be declasse to have chicken or beef on the menu, but a great chef know what to do with these items....cast your mind back to Hamersley Bistro. You see what happens is, you have 2 or 3 couples out in the 'burbs who want to go to a nice dinner. Bondir would be a natural choice, but with a very foodie menu all it takes is a picky one like me who would be fine with a beef, chicken or pork dish and there is none, I say I do not want to go there because it's all skate wings and pig snouts. That is then 6 plates with with wine and cocktails of lost revenue. So with my infantile palate, I had the burger and it blew the doors off Woods Hill's burger.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Good charcuterie choices. Fabulous sea b ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Good charcuterie choices. Fabulous sea bass, and amazing lemon tart with anise and olive oil ice cream. Lovely meal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great service, farm fresh food (one of t ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Great service, farm fresh food (one of the farm to table restaurants), good creativity in menu and nice options for vegetarians. One can park at meters on the street or public lot behind restaurant. We'd go back to Bondir.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

There was a beautiful presentation of th ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

There was a beautiful presentation of the veal I ordered...flowers, herbs and greens on top. However, the little bit of sauce that was inside the grilled onion was very spicy, and there wasn't any other sauce, so the entire dish was too hot and dry. I also wish there was something like potato, vegetable or rice on the plate with the veal. I thought the asparagus soup was delicious, and my spouse enjoyed the hamburger and frites. I rarely tell a waiter I don't like something, but I did this time, and he brought me a beef/wine sauce to go on the veal, and a complimentary ice cream to cool my palate off. I was impressed by the rare beer list, but we didn't order any. Overall, it was pricey for a meal I didn't love.

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

We were severely disappointed with this ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

We were severely disappointed with this restaurant, namely the food. The decor itself is actually quite cute, but the food was really lacking in flavor, originality, and also portioning. I received maybe a 3oz portion of striped bass for $35, with an almost non-existent portion of vegetables to accompany in a glorified broth of warm water and maybe some paprika. I will not be eating here again, and my two guests were equally disappointed. We were actually hysterical at the vegetable portion one diner received; it was described as being plentiful, but she received a carrot that was legitimately less than an inch long, surrounded by ambiguous roasted weeds. I usually love creative cooking, but this was simply reminiscent of food that tries to be interesting and forward thinking, but is actually just bland and contrite. So not worth the hefty price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

Thought the food was Oak but not great a ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Thought the food was Oak but not great and at the price point it's at, I don't think it's a value. Nothing wrong with meal just not special

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Great Food and Great dining experience - ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Great Food and Great dining experience - so fresh, we really enjoyed it. Definitely farm to table.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

This was our second time at Bondir; we h ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

This was our second time at Bondir; we had dined shortly after they opened several years ago and were not impressed then. At the time we chalked it up to being a new place, new staff etc. I wish that I could tell you that our experience was different this time around but it was not.

Our waitress was nice but inattentive. She had a good grasp of the menu and wine pairings which was appreciated. Unfortunately she failed to bring us the soup that we ordered, when we got the bill it appears that she completely forgot it as it did not appear. Dirty plates and glasses lingered much too long. Courses came out but with significant delays.

Dinner was average; for the price there are other better places to go in Concord, some a short walk away. While others certainly rave, two "average" experiences is just one too many in my book.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value1

Not sure why 80 Thoreau is always packed ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Not sure why 80 Thoreau is always packed while this place usually has tables available. Perhaps the food here is a little less conventional, and thus not as well suited for the Concord audience. Every time I eat here, I think it's every bit 80 Thoreau's equal. Concord is lucky to have both spots. Concord: eat here more! it's delicious!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very nice; we enjoyed it. At times it w ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Very nice; we enjoyed it. At times it was very noisy - in part due to the air conditioning.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We took a grandson, steak, fish, and ham ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

We took a grandson, steak, fish, and hamburger. Hamburger was fine. Steak was old, tough, and just awful. Oysters were good, but absolutely ruined with some kind of sugar mess - awful. The fish just plain stank! Overall? We will never go there again. We live nearby. This place needs a zero star, not a one star.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5
value1

This was our third dinner at Bondir. The ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

This was our third dinner at Bondir. The food is exceptional and very creative, lots of local meats and vegetables, and the service was very good. We will definitely be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We always go here for birthday meals. Th ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

We always go here for birthday meals. This was the first time trying the lunch menu and it was good.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wish I could say better things about the ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Wish I could say better things about the restaurant after having read other great reviews. The space is great and the service was good, but unfortunately the breakdown during lunch was the kitchen crew. The food was under seasoned and not executed well. There were some creative items on the menu, but the presentation was not good and just didn't taste good. I would not go there for lunch again. Hopefully there dinner crew does a better job... We had some great meals in Concord this past week but this was not one of them.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

Very greasy fare, this visit. And the mi ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Very greasy fare, this visit. And the mix of ingredients in the ceviche didn't work. Food was better last time I ate at Bondir, a year ago.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Excellent cuisine and service. Not inex ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Excellent cuisine and service. Not inexpensive, but well-worth the experience.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It's the best fine dining experience in ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

It's the best fine dining experience in the Boston area that I have experienced. A bit informal which reflects the suburban location, but truly fine locally sourced, wonderfully cooked food. Great wine list (not cheap) and thoroughly trained professional wait staff. Could easily get two Michelin stars in Paris.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Never disappoints. From the service to ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Never disappoints. From the service to the food to the setting. Bondir delivers down to the smallest detail. Delicious original cocktails, premium craft beer selection and very good wine service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a great experience. Fantastic ser ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Always a great experience. Fantastic service and amazing food and cocktails. A healthy indulgence!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had never been to their Cambridge pla ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

We had never been to their Cambridge place, so I had not known quite what to expect. I was taking a lovely lady but she is both knowledgeable and demanding about food and wine. We were both thoroughly impressed. Seems on entrance to be an intimate little place, but extends around corners and is fairly good sized. We were shown to a corner table with a view of the street by a personable very pleasant hostess. They focus on locally sourced ingredients. The chef is frankly a genius. My Martini was perfect but my first course, a halibut ceviche was better, worthy of any three star in Paris. My date loved her chilled zucchini soup with goat crème and walnut bagna cauda. I had simple but perfect home made grilled sausage. She loved her halibut with a saffron broth and various condiments. Wine list was not cheap but excellent, we blew though a bottle of Sancerre and asked for suggestions about a single glass, the wait-person was charming, attentive, knowledgable and picked perfectly. The bill was good sized but absolutely worth it. Heading back soon to try the mutton. Three Star Paris without the fanfare or the plane fare.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

80 Thoreau was closed on a Sunday evenin ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

80 Thoreau was closed on a Sunday evening and we want a great place to dine while we were in town... This place came up in my research... and wow it was delicious! Thank you for being open on Sunday evening when many other places in Concord were closed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was disappointing. Trying do too mu ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Food was disappointing. Trying do too much when simplicity would work much better. Daughter's pasta was just thrown on the plate with a couple of slices of cheese. brisket / mutton was swamped in bbq sauce, so different meats were pointless and horseradish unrecognizable. Wife's veggie dish was bizarrely flavored too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

Food was excellent. Recommend Bondir Con ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Food was excellent. Recommend Bondir Concord highly, it is still not as well known as it deserves to be. One glitch we experienced in the service, a single guy was seated right next to us in the back dining room that was otherwise empty, which made for awkward conversation.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

We had a lovely lunch. The asparagus sal ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

We had a lovely lunch. The asparagus salad and salmon plates were delicious and beautifully presented. The corn rolls were excellent and dessert was unusual and delicious. Our server was helpful and provided excellent service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was delicious but portions sizes we ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

Food was delicious but portions sizes were minuscule! We came home hungry... Waitress had absolutely no personality and was awkward. Bread was fabulous and dining room attractive. Wish they had CA Chardonnays by the glass offered.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

I was interested to read other reviews i ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

I was interested to read other reviews in that sometimes they're dissin' the server and other times the server is heralded. We definitely ADORED our server, the taller gentleman who is BRILLIANT about the preparations and recommending conscientiously. We will always seek him out he makes it that much more delicious and entertaining. I am always intrigued by one prep or another and I love the way Jason complements the main with select other tastes. I hope this restaurant is here to stay!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

I messed up the reservation online and B ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

I messed up the reservation online and Bondir was able to sit all 6 of us in the same amount of time we were planning on waiting. The staff was friendly and inviting despite my mistake on a Friday night. We had a very important out of state guest who is a world traveler for food and she ranted and raved about the meal and service. Eating at Bondir is an experience and and lovely one at that. We all got the four course option and each plate was a piece of art for my eyes and palate. By far my favorite restaurant in Massachusetts!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our second time at Bondir Concord and th ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Our second time at Bondir Concord and there will be a third and many more. The pre fix is a great value and the food was top notch, way beyond a chain restaurant. Parsnip soup was amazing as was the duck and veal. Can't wait to see what they have next time!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

portions were ridiculously small, especi ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

portions were ridiculously small, especially the duck, which was mostly bread

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.