About Bondir Concord

24 Walden Street
Concord, MA 01742
View Larger Map

Sustainable Modern American Cuisine

Bondir Restaurant is located in historic Concord, Massachusetts. Menus showcase the pastoral and marine bounty of our New England region and offer a finely curated selection of American and European wines and beers. Chef/Owner Jason Bond has spent more than 20 years refining his technique and style, and has developed a simple philosophy of quality and care. Our offerings–vegetables picked the same day, fish hours out of the ocean, pasture-raised meats–will change daily, and will always be tasteful in preparation and presentation.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch, Wednesday - Sunday, 11:30 am - 2:00 pm
Dinner, Friday & Saturday Evenings, 5:00 pm - 10:00 pm Monday/Wednesday/Thursday Evenings, 5:00 pm - 9:00 pm.

Closed on Tuesdays.

Cross Street:
Main Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(978) 610-6554

Website:
http://www.bondirconcord.com/

Parking Details:
Metered parking is available in front of the restaurant. There is a free municipal parking lot behind the restaurant.

Public Transit:
Commuter Rail, Fitchburg Line.

Executive Chef:
Jason Bond

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, High Tea, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Details

Happy Valentine's Day! Bondir Concord will be offering a special 4-course prix fixe menu this evening with optional wine pairing. A La Carte will not be offered and our regular dinner menu will not be available. $75 per person, optional wine pairing $55
(tax and gratuity not included) Cheers!

Bondir Concord Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (39)
Fireplace (36)
Good for a Date (36)
See All
Local Ingredients (36)
Special Occasion (35)
Neighborhood Gem (32)
Creative Cuisine (31)
Good for Anniversaries (28)
Romantic (25)
Cozy (25)
Worth the Drive (23)
Quiet Conversation (21)
Bar Seating (19)
Seasonal (18)
Good for Birthdays (18)
Healthy (17)
Great for Lunch (15)
Handcrafted Cocktails (14)
Good Vegetarian Options (13)
Open Kitchen (12)
Authentic (12)
Notable Wine List (10)
Casual (10)
Organic (9)
Wood Oven (8)
People Watching (7)
Fun (7)
Modern Decor (7)
Outstanding Value (6)
Historic (5)
Business Meals (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Great Beer (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Family Style (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Vegan (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
794 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

My favorite spot from girls lunch to rom ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined 3 days ago

My favorite spot from girls lunch to romantic dinner

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen, Casual, Organic, Tasting Menu, Wood Oven, Comfort Food, Afternoon Tea, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Sigh. We have been to Bondir in Concord ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined 5 days ago

Sigh. We have been to Bondir in Concord three times and every time there has been a new way of organizing the menu. From split portions to prix fixe and now to a more traditional outline, the restaurant seems to be trying to get its footing. I eat for health and pleasure and I like a lot of vegetables. Bandir is a very meat intensive menu. The plates are beautiful, but the portion sizes vary quite a bit. A few lettuce leaves are fully composed feels disappointing for a salad, for instance. I ordered the venison sausage and it came as two large, somewhat dry discs, with a slice of purple cabbage and four very very tiny fingerling potatoes. The steak frites were more successful – the flavor was good and my husband loved the fries. The fries were he tie on the plate and I was left wondering if they had run out of fingerlings. It was just such a strange contrast. The chicken was sizeable but the vegetables surrounding it seemed more like garnishes.

Our server was lovely, the wine list is good, but I don't think we will return for dinner. Bondir I want you to survive - but you need to offer me more and they health and vegetable department.

Tags: Seasonal, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Salad was uninspired, pate was good, sca ...

 
 (New England)·Dined 5 days ago

Salad was uninspired, pate was good, scallops delicious but would have liked s more substantial starch with them. Drinks were good. Service was fine, not exceptional. Server didn't know specifics of charcuterie and that was strange considering it's not a huge menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Perfection is not a word one should use ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Perfection is not a word one should use often.

But our latest meal, like all the others, was just that

from the moment Kate welcomed us at the door

thru every delicious bite of an usual but approachable meal.

Even the little things, like the baby lettuce salad, were flavorful.

How often do I eat out to find an oversalted, overdressed salad.

Salad at Bondir speaks for itself and allows the fine flavors of the food to emerge.

As for my vegetarian entre, I wouldn't know what all the spices were

that created a memorable meal, the memory of which has made me smile days later.

What a gem!

Tags: Bar Seating, Fun, People Watching, Casual, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, , Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always, great food. The only critique ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on January 6, 2017

As always, great food. The only critique I would give is that some of the choices on the menu were not very interesting. However, both the duck and venison sausage were really good. Very friendly and helpful staff which made for a very pleasant dinner.

Tags: Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

One of my favorite restaurants in the we ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on January 5, 2017

One of my favorite restaurants in the western suburbs. I like the Cambridge version as well. Creative cuisine, helpful service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was over salted. There were li ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 4, 2017

The food was over salted. There were limited choices on the menu and the food pairings were odd such a cabbage and scallops. This restaurant has potential to be better and should try to live up to the prices they are asking.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value1

Inventive cuisine, creative recipes. Jus ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Inventive cuisine, creative recipes. Just not particularly capably cooked. Rubber cabbage leaves, vinegary mushroom dish. Good burgers, though, and beautiful front room. Loud and cold back room.

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Bondir is a cozy place full of New Engla ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Bondir is a cozy place full of New England charm. The menu is creative, food is fresh and delicious, impeccable service.

Tags: Historic, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Seasonal, Great for Lunch, Fireplace, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

W e had a wonderful meal at Bondir. Eve ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 22, 2016

W e had a wonderful meal at Bondir. Everything was very fresh with unusual ingredients. We really appreciated that the chef was willing to adapt the sweet potato tart recipe to make it vegan. I have never had such flavorful roasted vegetables! Our waitress was very knowledgable and friendly. We will try to make it back before it closes.

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual, Fireplace, Healthy, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful service great food cozy lovely ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Wonderful service great food cozy lovely atmosphere reasonably priced for fabulous creative meals. Loved it!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I heard they are closing and wish they'd ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 18, 2016

I heard they are closing and wish they'd reconsider!

Tags: Healthy, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and service at Bondir are excel ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 16, 2016

The food and service at Bondir are excellent. A quiet setting in beautiful downtown Concord.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Bondir is consistently excellent. Quali ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 12, 2016

Bondir is consistently excellent. Quality, presentation, efficiency, atmosphere -- all are of a very high standard.

Tags: , Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Fireplace, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have had many good meals here until t ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 11, 2016

We have had many good meals here until today

My wife and I had the brandade and it was so salty neither of us could eat more than half(yes I know one ingredient is salted fish but this was as salty as anything I'd ever eaten) My daughter had the squash plate it was also over salted. It was Sunday so perhaps the chef was off. Server offered to bring us something else but it didn't seem worth the wait

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5
value3

Terrific meal, as always. Seems like eve ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Terrific meal, as always. Seems like every bite exploded with unexpected flavors, textures. Was very sad to read in the Boston Globe (12/11/16) that they will be closing sometime soon...

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Fireplace, Historic, Paleo Friendly, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fine restaurant. It will be missed in a ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Fine restaurant. It will be missed in a town with so little other high end food to offer.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service, great food and drinks ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Excellent service, great food and drinks and a warm, cozy environment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A perfect lunch: small, delicious and in ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 9, 2016

A perfect lunch: small, delicious and inventive starters and equally delicious and distinctive mains. Small, thoughgtfully curated wine list. My favorite place to eat in Concord.

Tags: Cozy, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

celebrated a special birthday lunch for ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 8, 2016

celebrated a special birthday lunch for a friend with the 2 course lunch, loved the ambiance, cozy feel with fireplace blazing, vintage china, well prepared and presented food. I will be back.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Fireplace, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

The special occasion was my GF's birthda ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 7, 2016

The special occasion was my GF's birthday, and the meal and service overall was superb. I especially loved the creative appetizers, which the waiter was very good at describing and recommending.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been to Bondir several times whi ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 4, 2016

We have been to Bondir several times while visiting our daughter at school. The food has been consistently outstanding (love the charcuterie plate) and the service has been very cordial and attentive. Also, very helpful for handicap people.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Disabled Access, Open Kitchen, Wood Oven, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Always outstanding! Creative cuisine, o ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Always outstanding! Creative cuisine, outstanding setting and ambiance.

Tags: Fun, Casual, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great ambiance, warm welcome, inspiring ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Great ambiance, warm welcome, inspiring menu and superb service made for a wonderful relaxed and delicious dining experience.

Tags: Seasonal, Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients, Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Dined here for the first time. Brought a ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Dined here for the first time. Brought another couple with us. Server was very knowledgeable about the wine and beer choices and each of the menu items. Two of us ordered appetizers. When they arrived, so did complimentary mini cups of soup for the two that did not--very nice touch. We ordered four different entrees--veal prime rib, scallops, monkfish, and burger. All were declared delicious. Desserts are not to be missed--portions on the smaller side but excellent flavors. We may go back just to have more vanilla bourbon ice cream!

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Fireplace, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food has always been exceptional at ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 27, 2016

The food has always been exceptional at Bondir/Concord and the space has a cozy and sophisticated feel with a fireplace and exposed brick walls. However, until recently the menu set-up has been confusing and off-putting. Previously all the ingredients were listed in a very wordy, lengthy fashion and it was almost impossible to know what the main ingredient was or what category of food it was. Now the menu has been reorganized from what I would describe as a "Tastings" format to a more traditional appetizer and main course set-up which I find much easier to order from. Also, a highlighted word at the beginning of each menu item now makes it easier to understand what the dish actually is. With this ordering stress factor now gone, I plan to visit Bondir much more often.

Tags: Organic, Great for Lunch, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

I love Bondir Concord and am happy my fr ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 16, 2016

I love Bondir Concord and am happy my friends are also fans now. It was fairly quiet the night we were there to celebrate a birthday and catch up in the midst of our busy lives. Jocelyn is a wonderfully caring, attentive, informative waitress who set the tone from the moment we walked in. Bonus was meeting Jason who was cooking in Concord that evening. His food is amazing on all levels - variety, creativity, presentation, taste - and it was an honor to meet him personally.

Our dishes included the roasted local pasture-raised chicken, monkfish, Bondir burger and sweet potato tart. All excellent.

We had to have dessert since it was a birthday celebration. Again we were wowed, especially when we learned that Jason creates the desserts and bakes the bread in addition to cooking. No pastry chef here. We loved all the desserts. The ices and creams stood out for us though. We couldn't get enough of the pear sassafras sorbet and the garden sorel sherbet.

My friends and I will return and I will continue to bring people to Bondir.

Tags: Fireplace, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Cozy, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Absolutely beautiful restaurant. The foo ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 14, 2016

Absolutely beautiful restaurant. The food was wonderful. The service was great. I was just visiting Concord, but I wish I lived closer so I could eat there more often!

Tags: Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies, Fireplace, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Wood Oven, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Overall wonderful dining experience as a ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Overall wonderful dining experience as always. We particularly enjoy the ever changing menu that brings unique and delicious food to our table.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fireplace, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had set menu with four choices as entree ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Had set menu with four choices as entree. Food was good and imaginative. I had the fish dish which was based on salted cod, and was a little too salty and slightly burnt. Others of our party were very satisfied.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

This is the second time my friend and I ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 6, 2016

This is the second time my friend and I met for lunch at Bondir. You get exceptional quality, creative, delicious food for an afternoon Sunday lunch. Amazing.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We started our meal with two glasses of ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 6, 2016

We started our meal with two glasses of Cava. There's no better way to prepare taste buds.

I have been here many times and I am never disappointed, whether it be for lunch or dinner. The staff is truly special ensuring that you feel warmly welcomed. I had the monkfish and it was simply delicious, perfectly prepared. My wife had the sweet potato tart; she smiled the entire time as she consumed every bit of it.

We ended our meal with a fantastic cheese plate along with two glasses of port.

Kudos to Jason Bond, you are truly talented and we are so fortunate to have you in Concord.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The menu was a bit limited. Could be a ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 5, 2016

The menu was a bit limited. Could be a bit more expansive.

Tags: Fireplace, Fun, Notable Wine List, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Outstanding food and service. Consistent ...

 
 (Melbourne / VIC)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Outstanding food and service. Consistently good - lunch or dinner.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The service and food were outstanding. I ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 30, 2016

The service and food were outstanding. I strongly recommend Bondir for lunch or dinner. It is by far the best restaurant West of Boston.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious charcuterie with unique accomp ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Delicious charcuterie with unique accompaniments, homemade cavatelli to die for, perfect pan roasted tuna, and celestial citrus tart.

Friendly and attentive service included great wine recommendation.

Definitely a place we will return to.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It was our anniversary and we had been l ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 28, 2016

It was our anniversary and we had been looking forward to another amazing meal at Bondir. When we arrived, the menu had changed (no more prix fixe tasting option on the menu) and we were seated very close to another couple who ended up being very loud. I told the waitress that I was disappointed they didn't have the Prix Fixe any more and she let me know that they could still do a tasting-type option with smaller plates if we were interested in that. She also let the hostess know that the seating wasn't what we were hoping for for our anniversary (had put that on the reservation) and they promptly changed our table, giving us a choice of 2 other options! SO happy with staff and amazing food, as always!

Tags: Seasonal, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Fireplace, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very enjoyable and delicious meal. World ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Very enjoyable and delicious meal. World class cooking.

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Terrific lunch. Enjoyed the prix fixe se ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 26, 2016

Terrific lunch. Enjoyed the prix fixe selections very much. Ploughman's board explodes - a taste adventure. Oopsie Doosie gin cocktail started us off the right way. Very good service, a chic/cozy/comfortable setting, and not a bank breaker by any means. We highly recommend Bondir.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Historic, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Cozy, Great Beer, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Cozy and delicious on a chilly fall nigh ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Cozy and delicious on a chilly fall night!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.