About Bondir Concord

24 Walden Street
Concord, MA 01742
View Larger Map

Sustainable Modern American Cuisine

Bondir Restaurant is located in historic Concord, Massachusetts. Menus showcase the pastoral and marine bounty of our New England region and offer a finely curated selection of American and European wines and beers. Chef/Owner Jason Bond has spent more than 20 years refining his technique and style, and has developed a simple philosophy of quality and care. Our offerings–vegetables picked the same day, fish hours out of the ocean, pasture-raised meats–will change daily, and will always be tasteful in preparation and presentation.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch, Wednesday - Sunday, 11:30 am - 2:00 pm
Dinner, Friday & Saturday Evenings, 5:00 pm - 10:00 pm Monday/Wednesday/Thursday Evenings, 5:00 pm - 9:00 pm.

Closed on Tuesdays.

Cross Street:
Main Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(978) 610-6554

Website:
http://www.bondirconcord.com/

Parking Details:
Metered parking is available in front of the restaurant. There is a free municipal parking lot behind the restaurant.

Public Transit:
Commuter Rail, Fitchburg Line.

Executive Chef:
Jason Bond

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, High Tea, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Bondir Concord Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.7

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (42)
Fireplace (41)
Local Ingredients (37)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (32)
Special Occasion (31)
Creative Cuisine (31)
Good for a Date (31)
Cozy (30)
Quiet Conversation (30)
Good for Anniversaries (26)
Romantic (24)
Worth the Drive (20)
Seasonal (17)
Great for Lunch (16)
Good for Birthdays (16)
Healthy (13)
Open Kitchen (13)
Bar Seating (12)
Authentic (11)
Notable Wine List (10)
Historic (9)
Casual (9)
Good Vegetarian Options (8)
Fun (8)
Wood Oven (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Comfort Food (6)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Organic (6)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Business Meals (5)
Good for Groups (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
People Watching (4)
Great Beer (4)
Disabled Access (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Kid-friendly (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Late-night Find (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Vegan (1)
Private Room (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Scenic View (1)
Sort By:
S
813 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Our taste bud's were on fire! Great!

 
 (New England)·Dined 3 days ago

Our taste bud's were on fire! Great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food. Creative use of local an ...

 
 (New England)·Dined 5 days ago

Excellent food. Creative use of local and seasonal ingredients. Nice, quiet, comfortable atmosphere. This was a great find.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Fireplace, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great place for a sit down lunch. They ...

 
 (New England)·Dined 5 days ago

Great place for a sit down lunch. They have a two course lunch menu for $22.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Fireplace, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Valentines

vip
 (New England)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Valentines

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value3

We had an amazing dinner for Valentine's ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We had an amazing dinner for Valentine's Day. It was a fixed price menu with two choices in each category. So creative. So delicious. Chocolate in the beet salad, oh my! Love the atmosphere. NO TV! Yay! How refreshing.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing Valentine's Prix dinner. Chef is ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Amazing Valentine's Prix dinner. Chef is friendly and the restaurant is clean. Outstanding ambiance and it was such a memorable night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful place! Everything was excell ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Wonderful place! Everything was excellent on a snowy night. Warm, cozy atmosphere. Great food! Highly recommend

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Authentic, Molecular Gastronomy, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Bondir never fails to deliver a great me ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Bondir never fails to deliver a great meal. We had a quiet romantic table by the window (ask fora table in the front room for the best setting). Wine, food and service were all great.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Loved it. Had a small menu, but had a di ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Loved it. Had a small menu, but had a dish for every palate. The presentation was as beautiful as the meal was tasty.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

This used to be one of my favorite local ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on February 5, 2017

This used to be one of my favorite local restaurants. Haven't been in a few months, and was hugely disappointed. Changed the format of the menu from small plates to traditional courses. Okay, bummed about that, but still would have been okay with it if quality remained the same. Unfortunately it didn't. Food was uninspired, boring, bland- opposite of what it used to be. And service was terrible to match- we sat for 25 min before waiter came to get drink orders, and that was the service we continued to receive all evening. Sad that Concord lost a great restaurant, I know I won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

I love this restaurant - the food, the s ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on February 4, 2017

I love this restaurant - the food, the service and the ambience. The staff are so warm and welcoming. The food is stellar. And the fireplace near the bar = perfection.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Open Kitchen, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was perfect: smooth red wine, ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Everything was perfect: smooth red wine, delicious choice of cheeses for an appetizer, and tender, perfectly-cooked dinners. The cozy fireplace was also a nice touch on a cold night. Felt like I was back in the French countryside. So glad we went there.

Tags: Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good restaurant, like mites menu and a b ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Good restaurant, like mites menu and a bit pricy. Service was very good and ambience excellent

Tags: Local Ingredients, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

amazing. I love this place. What a find

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 2, 2017

amazing. I love this place. What a find

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fine dining at it's best in Concord! You ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Fine dining at it's best in Concord! You won't be disappointed...and if you are, check your palate!

We first went for their annual Robert Burns supper event which was fabulous. The most gourmet traditional Scottish supper we'll ever have. Lovely music, dance and poetry. Very tastefully done and a fun evening!

This time we had Sunday brunch. We chose the Prix Fixe menu however they also have a la carte.

To begin the corn flour dinner rolls were light and flavorful. He had for first course, Ploughman’s Lunch with Robinson Farm’s A Barndance, cornmeal Cracker, Preserves and Relishes from their Pantry - it was a feast to the eyes and a delight with every bite. My French Butter Pear Salad with Herbs, Vinaigrette, Petite Greens, Chèvre was crisp, nicely chilled and had a very light vinaigrette.

His second course, Pulled Smoked Beef Shank Sandwich with Swiss Cheese, House Dill Pickles, Dijon, Hand Cut Fries was moist and very tender. My Pan Seared Brandade with Roasted Celery Root, Broccoli and Shishito Peppers, Charred Corn Purée was amazing. A lightly seared cod with potato was so light and the colors on the plate made if even more appetizing.

We HAD to try a dessert...and OMG the Dark Chocolate Mousse House Made Chocolate Bark, Honey Graham Cracker, Strawberry-Red Wine Sorbet was AMAZing!

For anyone who cooks and likes to watch fine chefs on the Food Network...this is the type of food one would expect from a top chef. And that's exactly what, in my mind, Chef Jason Bond is, a TOP chef.

Yes, the rumors were verified by him that he will most likely close this location in a few months and he will continue on in the Cambridge location. So GO now and then go later to Cambridge...make a reservation its going to be packed!

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Seasonal, Fireplace, Great for Brunch, Historic, Private Room, Special Occasion, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Sunday Lunch, Cozy, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very disappointing. The steak frite was ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 19, 2017

Very disappointing. The steak frite was not cooked as ordered, the fries did not taste good, the cheese plate was a strange grouping of things piled on a plate that didn't go together. I have heard many good things about this restaurant so was surprised - perhaps they were having an off night. The atmosphere is nice; the fire in winter is cozy. I am unlikely to go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

I had a lovely dinner experience at Bond ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 18, 2017

I had a lovely dinner experience at Bondir -- the ambience was wonderfully cozy, with a fire blazing. The service was great, and the food was delicious.

Tags: Authentic, Casual, Good for a Date, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Historic, Fireplace, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

My favorite spot from girls lunch to rom ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on January 14, 2017

My favorite spot from girls lunch to romantic dinner

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen, Casual, Organic, Tasting Menu, Wood Oven, Comfort Food, Afternoon Tea, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Sigh. We have been to Bondir in Concord ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Sigh. We have been to Bondir in Concord three times and every time there has been a new way of organizing the menu. From split portions to prix fixe and now to a more traditional outline, the restaurant seems to be trying to get its footing. I eat for health and pleasure and I like a lot of vegetables. Bandir is a very meat intensive menu. The plates are beautiful, but the portion sizes vary quite a bit. A few lettuce leaves are fully composed feels disappointing for a salad, for instance. I ordered the venison sausage and it came as two large, somewhat dry discs, with a slice of purple cabbage and four very very tiny fingerling potatoes. The steak frites were more successful – the flavor was good and my husband loved the fries. The fries were he tie on the plate and I was left wondering if they had run out of fingerlings. It was just such a strange contrast. The chicken was sizeable but the vegetables surrounding it seemed more like garnishes.

Our server was lovely, the wine list is good, but I don't think we will return for dinner. Bondir I want you to survive - but you need to offer me more and they health and vegetable department.

Tags: Seasonal, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Salad was uninspired, pate was good, sca ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Salad was uninspired, pate was good, scallops delicious but would have liked s more substantial starch with them. Drinks were good. Service was fine, not exceptional. Server didn't know specifics of charcuterie and that was strange considering it's not a huge menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Perfection is not a word one should use ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Perfection is not a word one should use often.

But our latest meal, like all the others, was just that

from the moment Kate welcomed us at the door

thru every delicious bite of an usual but approachable meal.

Even the little things, like the baby lettuce salad, were flavorful.

How often do I eat out to find an oversalted, overdressed salad.

Salad at Bondir speaks for itself and allows the fine flavors of the food to emerge.

As for my vegetarian entre, I wouldn't know what all the spices were

that created a memorable meal, the memory of which has made me smile days later.

What a gem!

Tags: Bar Seating, Fun, People Watching, Casual, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, , Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always, great food. The only critique ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on January 6, 2017

As always, great food. The only critique I would give is that some of the choices on the menu were not very interesting. However, both the duck and venison sausage were really good. Very friendly and helpful staff which made for a very pleasant dinner.

Tags: Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

One of my favorite restaurants in the we ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on January 5, 2017

One of my favorite restaurants in the western suburbs. I like the Cambridge version as well. Creative cuisine, helpful service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was over salted. There were li ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 4, 2017

The food was over salted. There were limited choices on the menu and the food pairings were odd such a cabbage and scallops. This restaurant has potential to be better and should try to live up to the prices they are asking.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value1

Inventive cuisine, creative recipes. Jus ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Inventive cuisine, creative recipes. Just not particularly capably cooked. Rubber cabbage leaves, vinegary mushroom dish. Good burgers, though, and beautiful front room. Loud and cold back room.

Tags: People Watching
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Love the food and the atmosphere

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Love the food and the atmosphere

Tags: Fireplace, Good for Birthdays, Open Kitchen, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Bondir is a cozy place full of New Engla ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Bondir is a cozy place full of New England charm. The menu is creative, food is fresh and delicious, impeccable service.

Tags: Historic, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Seasonal, Great for Lunch, Fireplace, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

W e had a wonderful meal at Bondir. Eve ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 22, 2016

W e had a wonderful meal at Bondir. Everything was very fresh with unusual ingredients. We really appreciated that the chef was willing to adapt the sweet potato tart recipe to make it vegan. I have never had such flavorful roasted vegetables! Our waitress was very knowledgable and friendly. We will try to make it back before it closes.

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual, Fireplace, Healthy, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful service great food cozy lovely ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Wonderful service great food cozy lovely atmosphere reasonably priced for fabulous creative meals. Loved it!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I heard they are closing and wish they'd ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 18, 2016

I heard they are closing and wish they'd reconsider!

Tags: Healthy, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and service at Bondir are excel ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 16, 2016

The food and service at Bondir are excellent. A quiet setting in beautiful downtown Concord.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Bondir is consistently excellent. Quali ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 12, 2016

Bondir is consistently excellent. Quality, presentation, efficiency, atmosphere -- all are of a very high standard.

Tags: , Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Fireplace, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have had many good meals here until t ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 11, 2016

We have had many good meals here until today

My wife and I had the brandade and it was so salty neither of us could eat more than half(yes I know one ingredient is salted fish but this was as salty as anything I'd ever eaten) My daughter had the squash plate it was also over salted. It was Sunday so perhaps the chef was off. Server offered to bring us something else but it didn't seem worth the wait

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5
value3

Terrific meal, as always. Seems like eve ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Terrific meal, as always. Seems like every bite exploded with unexpected flavors, textures. Was very sad to read in the Boston Globe (12/11/16) that they will be closing sometime soon...

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Fireplace, Historic, Paleo Friendly, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fine restaurant. It will be missed in a ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Fine restaurant. It will be missed in a town with so little other high end food to offer.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service, great food and drinks ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Excellent service, great food and drinks and a warm, cozy environment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A perfect lunch: small, delicious and in ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 9, 2016

A perfect lunch: small, delicious and inventive starters and equally delicious and distinctive mains. Small, thoughgtfully curated wine list. My favorite place to eat in Concord.

Tags: Cozy, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

celebrated a special birthday lunch for ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 8, 2016

celebrated a special birthday lunch for a friend with the 2 course lunch, loved the ambiance, cozy feel with fireplace blazing, vintage china, well prepared and presented food. I will be back.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Fireplace, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

The special occasion was my GF's birthda ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 7, 2016

The special occasion was my GF's birthday, and the meal and service overall was superb. I especially loved the creative appetizers, which the waiter was very good at describing and recommending.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been to Bondir several times whi ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 4, 2016

We have been to Bondir several times while visiting our daughter at school. The food has been consistently outstanding (love the charcuterie plate) and the service has been very cordial and attentive. Also, very helpful for handicap people.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Disabled Access, Open Kitchen, Wood Oven, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.