About Bondir Concord

24 Walden Street
Concord, MA 01742
View Larger Map

Sustainable Modern American Cuisine

Bondir Restaurant is located in historic Concord, Massachusetts. Menus showcase the pastoral and marine bounty of our New England region and offer a finely curated selection of American and European wines and beers. Chef/Owner Jason Bond has spent more than 20 years refining his technique and style, and has developed a simple philosophy of quality and care. Our offerings–vegetables picked the same day, fish hours out of the ocean, pasture-raised meats–will change daily, and will always be tasteful in preparation and presentation.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch, Wednesday - Sunday, 11:30 am - 2:00 pm
Dinner, Friday & Saturday Evenings, 5:00 pm - 10:00 pm Monday/Wednesday/Thursday Evenings, 5:00 pm - 9:00 pm.

Closed on Tuesdays.

Cross Street:
Main Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(978) 610-6554

Website:
http://www.bondirconcord.com/

Parking Details:
Metered parking is available in front of the restaurant. There is a free municipal parking lot behind the restaurant.

Public Transit:
Commuter Rail, Fitchburg Line.

Executive Chef:
Jason Bond

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, High Tea, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Bondir Concord Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Boston Suburbs
Fit for Foodies
Boston Suburbs
Best Restaurants in Concord, MA ›

fit for foodies (97)
special occasion (78)
neighborhood gem (63)
See All
romantic (60)
notable wine list (37)
great for lunch (28)
good for groups (20)
vibrant bar scene (16)
great for brunch (11)
hot spot (8)
late-night find (4)
kid-friendly (2)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
678 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I messed up the reservation online and B ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

I messed up the reservation online and Bondir was able to sit all 6 of us in the same amount of time we were planning on waiting. The staff was friendly and inviting despite my mistake on a Friday night. We had a very important out of state guest who is a world traveler for food and she ranted and raved about the meal and service. Eating at Bondir is an experience and and lovely one at that. We all got the four course option and each plate was a piece of art for my eyes and palate. By far my favorite restaurant in Massachusetts!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Our second time at Bondir Concord and th ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Our second time at Bondir Concord and there will be a third and many more. The pre fix is a great value and the food was top notch, way beyond a chain restaurant. Parsnip soup was amazing as was the duck and veal. Can't wait to see what they have next time!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

portions were ridiculously small, especi ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

portions were ridiculously small, especially the duck, which was mostly bread

food5
ambience5
service5

This is a place that leaves me smiling e ...

vip
Dined on June 11, 2016

This is a place that leaves me smiling every time I dine there. It's always memorable with pleasant service and a welcoming atmosphere. And, the food is crazy healthy. Love it!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always a suprise

Dined on June 10, 2016

Love this place and that the menu changes with the season

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience3
service3

We had high expectations, but really did ...

vip
Dined on June 9, 2016

We had high expectations, but really didn't like the food. My halibut came out very under cooked and was not particularly on the second go round. One of my dining pet peeves is when service people interrupt engaged conversation to deliver the specials, etc. Our server was very good otherwise, but the initial interruption was egregious and jolting.

food2
ambience4
service1
value2

Hostess was the mostess

Dined on June 8, 2016

This dining experience proved, once again, that an establishment's people can make all the difference in a customer's takeaway assessment and lasting impression. Our hostess was lovely--she had a warm, relaxed manner and was helpful, whereas our server was the opposite. The food itself was prettily presented, yet unremarkable in taste or preparation. The salads were the highlight of our meal--one featured lightly roasted asparagus, and the other was served with the house-cured salmon. As Concord was a mutually accessible locale for two longtime friends to catch up over a weekday lunch, Bondir provided a welcome venue and a promising menu.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Exemplary Food & Service

vip
Dined on June 5, 2016

We dine here every few months and have always found the food and service to be consistent and excellent. The menu changes often and always delivers an great meal.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great meal. We went for our anniversary. ...

Dined on June 4, 2016

Great meal. We went for our anniversary. The waitstaff is very attentive and we were not rushed at all during our meal. The menu changes daily as they try to use locally sourced ingredients whenever possible. It was a memorable experience and I would highly recommend Bondir in Concord

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect

vip
Dined on June 1, 2016

This is one of my favorite restaurants. Either for a lovely lunch, drinks or dinner with friends or entertaining for work. The food and staff are excellent and it is so relaxing inside. Just perfect.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious innovative dishes. New tastes ...

Dined on May 25, 2016

Delicious innovative dishes. New tastes and textures. So many gluten free options, even homemade bread! The ambiance is cozy and warm. The service is attentive without being overbearing. What a lovely night!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A Big Surprise!!

Dined on May 23, 2016

This is a true diamond in the rough (Concord). This restaurant has a wonderful menu and cuisine, offering up to 4 courses at a nice price, a great wine selection, a full bar, and friendly attentive service. I enjoyed my dining experience here and will surely return.

Tags: special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Interesting foods combined and prepared ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Interesting foods combined and prepared in exceptionally creative ways-- each bite a pleasure to truly savor. Usually plenty of options for vegetarians.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Anniversary Dinner

Dined on May 21, 2016

Bondir has a nice ambiance. The room is very warm and comfortable. The service was great. I had the duck breast and loved it. my wife had the monk fish and was not disappointed. The Second Spring cocktail is fantastic if you like Tequila . We were there to celebrate an occasion but there were a lot of regulars there also. Ice cream for dessert and espresso.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great experience!

vip
Dined on May 18, 2016

Traveling on business but dining with my son who was visiting Lincoln. Bondir was highly recommended by a colleague but I was still blown away by the experience. The food was meticulously prepared. Although there were many elements to each dish, no ingredients was superfluous. Very satisfactory to all the senses. The service was outstanding. Our server was very knowledgeable and accommodating. We even received a free cocktail because our second course was slightly delayed. Be barely registered the delay before a server delivered an interesting prohibition favorite the Chrysanthemum. If I were staying in Boston, I would drive to Concord for a meal at Bondir.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

The menu needs to be expanded. The lack ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

The menu needs to be expanded. The lack of entree choices is becoming restrictive.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Our server was very attentive, and the f ...

vip
Dined on May 15, 2016

Our server was very attentive, and the food was generally good, although the portions were small and one of our party had to send back their entree as it was under cooked.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Doesn't live up to the hype

Dined on May 13, 2016

This was the second consecutive visit to Bondir that we found very disappointing. The hype would have you believe that this is gourmet-level cooking. To both of us, it was anything but, and we are not strangers to fine cooking. Some things were overly salty, others were just plain bizarre (the garlic soup). Poached eggs were under-cooked to the point of being obvious just by looking at them (the "whites" were still gray and translucent). Add to this a too-cold dining room and too-loud music and the experience hardly justified the size of the check.

food4
ambience4
service2
value4

Hoping next time will be like the first

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

This is the second time I've dined at Bondir. The first time was magical- excellent food, wonderful service, a treat from the chef. Perhaps Sunday nights are not taken as seriously by the staff, but the service was slow and not very friendly. The food was good, but not wonderful, the house made bread was overbaked and dry, uninspired dessert choices. I would return- but was disappointed this time.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Food and service both on upward trend

Dined on May 8, 2016

We've been patrons of Bondir Concord since it opened; the food and the service have both improved. Our impression is that the food is a little less "foodie" (but very good, and small portions, which we appreciate), and the service has weeded out a little bit of a foodie attitude -- these folks are serving great food and providing a nice experience. The bar is fun; the back dining room is a little old-fashioned in its decor for our taste.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great brunch place in center of Concord

Dined on May 8, 2016

Very quaint restaurant in the center of Concord. The brunch menu offers the traditional staple of American cuisine with a modern twist, such as Eggs Benedict on a sweet brioche. Bondir also has a very interesting beer list.

Tags: great for brunch, neighborhood gem
food1
ambience5
service4

It's been a long time since I've had suc ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

It's been a long time since I've had such a disappointing meal. It was surprising, because the restaurant is charming and the service was great. Just what the heck are they doing in the kitchen? My poached duck egg was gelatinous and undercooked. The duck entree was barely cooked. Kind of like duck tartar. For some reason I tried dessert, but the chocolate panna cotta was like jello, served with chili flavored sorbet. Our poor server could tell we didn't like the food.

food3
ambience4
service4

Bondir is a beautiful restaurant. I didn ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

Bondir is a beautiful restaurant. I didn't care for the menu or the food preparation, it was too chichi for our tastes. If we're going to pay for an expensive meal, which we don't mind, I want to enjoy the food. I can't say I did.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always excellent!

Dined on May 1, 2016

I have eaten here on several occasions now. I have had lunch, brunch, and dinner. All were fabulous! The place is beautiful inside. The fireplace warms up the interior, the farm table makes you feel like you're at home, and the staff is terrific! We always need some explanation, as the menu items are always really interesting and different - but all in my party were impressed and pleased as usual

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

Greg was our server, and seemed a little ...

Dined on April 30, 2016

Greg was our server, and seemed a little green. The service was a little spotty, but the cocktail program and food were excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food2
ambience5
service2
value1

High priced small portions

Dined on April 27, 2016

I saw the restaurant while walking around concord and thought it was a cute place to meet a friend. The interior was very nice. When I met my friend and had lunch both of us thought the food was fine but over priced and the portions were very small. I've been there, tried it and will look for some place else next time.

food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Very nice time for a special birthday

Dined on April 24, 2016

We celebrated my mother's birthday here, a group of 6 plus two children (1 was 18 months, 1 was 1 month). We stated in our reservation we had two small children with us and the placed us at a table at the back, which was perfect. The children are very well behaved but we knew it was a nice restaurant, having been there before, so we were a little worried they wouldn't be happy about the children. However, everyone treated us very well and they even provided a cup of milk and an exquisite grilled cheese (we were all jealous of niece!). For the adults, the food was all very good and the condensed menu is a nice change. We each went for the prix fixe and the portion sizes were perfect so that we left full but not feeling like we had to roll out of the restaurant. The cocktails were also good. Overall, a lovely and elegant place with great service and a wonderful atmosphere.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Bondire uneven

Dined on April 24, 2016

First, we love this restaurant. Our previous lunches have been excellent, and a great value. This time the meal was off. 3 of us got the brandad after we were told it was changed to sauteed halibut. It turned out it was still brandad (fishcake) not sauteed halibut. Small cake, as much potatoe as fish. Hamburger was just a burger. Services was impeccable and its a lovely restaurant in the heart of historic Concord. Need to work abit on consistency and taste. I will try again. I like her; just a bad date

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best Food in Concord

Dined on April 23, 2016

Whenever I come Back East, I make sure I have at least one evening planned for dinner at Bondir. I live in San Francisco, that mecca for foodies, which tells one really all one needs to know! This place is excellent for people with food allergies. And they make such delicious gluten-free bread that my friends (who can eat wheat) all steal it! The staff is amazingly friendly, and all seem to really enjoy working at Bondir, which adds a great deal to the mood of a place.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service2

Waiter was either loud and intrusive or ...

vip
Dined on April 16, 2016

Waiter was either loud and intrusive or curt and evasive! He concentrated on nearby table where he had family connections. Service by him was slow. Food was 14$ asparagus salad with 4 quarters of sliced spear. There were a few mixed greens. Pork was fine but nothing out of ordinary. portions very small. We are not likely to return. Two dinners , one alcoholic drink, $166.including tip.

food4
ambience5
service5

Service and ambiance were lovely. All fo ...

Dined on April 16, 2016

Service and ambiance were lovely. All food items were very good and a great fit for an adventurous diner.

food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Creative and distinctive

Dined on April 13, 2016

Truly creative combinations in each of the four course meal options. Limited selections suggest great care in preparation. On premises bakery meant the bread was fresh, crispy crusted, and delicious. Breadth of wine selections seemed somewhat limited, but the quality is high, and it is certain that you can find a high quality wine to go with the meal. Delectable. Very good service. A fair price for what's offered. Enjoy!

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Great food and friendly service

Dined on April 9, 2016

A great neighborhood find - good, seasonal food, great wine. Try to leave room for one of the wonderful desserts. An ideal place to get together to catch up.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

first time

vip
Dined on April 8, 2016

Wonderful meal, terrific service and a lovely atmosphere! Will go back for sure

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

Beautiful Renovation -Food Too Pretentious

Dined on April 7, 2016

This is the second time we have visited this restaurant. What they have done with the space is magnificent. They are trying too hard with the food, however. Sometimes simpler is better. The prices are also high. There are better alternatives for fine quinine in Concord at much better value points.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious tasting menu

vip
Dined on April 6, 2016

We had the tasting menu special from Gilt and loved every last bite!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

1ST time and loved it!

vip
Dined on March 30, 2016

We finally were able to experience all that Bondir Concord has to offer. The exquisitely prepared entrees enticed our taste buds. A unique culinary experience and one to be enjoyed. We cannot wait to return!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5

There was a lot of fire-roasting invoked ...

Dined on March 27, 2016

There was a lot of fire-roasting invoked in the meal which was a little odd. However the food was artistically prepared and presented and very tasty.

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Good food, nice setting

Dined on March 18, 2016

We had heard that Bondir was a little overpriced for what you get, but wanted to see for ourselves. My wife and I had a very nice meal, with excellent service. Drinks before dinner were imaginative and really good. In-house bread might have been the highlight of the night. Apple salad was tasty. The bronzino entree was rubbery, but tasted good. Not sure if it was meant to be crispy or not. The turnip risotto was complex without being fussy, and flavors were fantastic. Chocolate panna cotta was wonderful. Waitstaff was pleasant and attentive. A nice night out.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Generally outstanding

Dined on March 13, 2016

The food, service, and ambience were great. The only complaint was that the gap between the first and second course was noticeably too long.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.