About Bondir Concord

24 Walden Street
Concord, MA 01742
View Larger Map

Sustainable Modern American Cuisine

Bondir Restaurant is located in historic Concord, Massachusetts. Menus showcase the pastoral and marine bounty of our New England region and offer a finely curated selection of American and European wines and beers. Chef/Owner Jason Bond has spent more than 20 years refining his technique and style, and has developed a simple philosophy of quality and care. Our offerings–vegetables picked the same day, fish hours out of the ocean, pasture-raised meats–will change daily, and will always be tasteful in preparation and presentation.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch, Wednesday - Sunday, 11:30 am - 2:00 pm
Dinner, Friday & Saturday Evenings, 5:00 pm - 10:00 pm Monday/Wednesday/Thursday Evenings, 5:00 pm - 9:00 pm.

Closed on Tuesdays.

Cross Street:
Main Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(978) 610-6554

Website:
http://www.bondirconcord.com/

Parking Details:
Metered parking is available in front of the restaurant. There is a free municipal parking lot behind the restaurant.

Public Transit:
Commuter Rail, Fitchburg Line.

Executive Chef:
Jason Bond

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, High Tea, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Bondir Concord Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Boston Suburbs
Fit for Foodies
Boston Suburbs
Romantic
Boston Suburbs
Best Restaurants in Concord, MA ›

fit for foodies (88)
special occasion (76)
neighborhood gem (63)
See All
romantic (53)
notable wine list (36)
great for lunch (29)
good for groups (17)
vibrant bar scene (15)
hot spot (9)
great for brunch (8)
late-night find (4)
kid-friendly (1)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
695 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We took a grandson, steak, fish, and ham ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

We took a grandson, steak, fish, and hamburger. Hamburger was fine. Steak was old, tough, and just awful. Oysters were good, but absolutely ruined with some kind of sugar mess - awful. The fish just plain stank! Overall? We will never go there again. We live nearby. This place needs a zero star, not a one star.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5
value1

This was our third dinner at Bondir. The ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

This was our third dinner at Bondir. The food is exceptional and very creative, lots of local meats and vegetables, and the service was very good. We will definitely be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We always go here for birthday meals. Th ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

We always go here for birthday meals. This was the first time trying the lunch menu and it was good.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wish I could say better things about the ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Wish I could say better things about the restaurant after having read other great reviews. The space is great and the service was good, but unfortunately the breakdown during lunch was the kitchen crew. The food was under seasoned and not executed well. There were some creative items on the menu, but the presentation was not good and just didn't taste good. I would not go there for lunch again. Hopefully there dinner crew does a better job... We had some great meals in Concord this past week but this was not one of them.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

Very greasy fare, this visit. And the mi ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Very greasy fare, this visit. And the mix of ingredients in the ceviche didn't work. Food was better last time I ate at Bondir, a year ago.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Excellent cuisine and service. Not inex ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Excellent cuisine and service. Not inexpensive, but well-worth the experience.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It's the best fine dining experience in ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

It's the best fine dining experience in the Boston area that I have experienced. A bit informal which reflects the suburban location, but truly fine locally sourced, wonderfully cooked food. Great wine list (not cheap) and thoroughly trained professional wait staff. Could easily get two Michelin stars in Paris.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Never disappoints. From the service to ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Never disappoints. From the service to the food to the setting. Bondir delivers down to the smallest detail. Delicious original cocktails, premium craft beer selection and very good wine service.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a great experience. Fantastic ser ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Always a great experience. Fantastic service and amazing food and cocktails. A healthy indulgence!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had never been to their Cambridge pla ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

We had never been to their Cambridge place, so I had not known quite what to expect. I was taking a lovely lady but she is both knowledgeable and demanding about food and wine. We were both thoroughly impressed. Seems on entrance to be an intimate little place, but extends around corners and is fairly good sized. We were shown to a corner table with a view of the street by a personable very pleasant hostess. They focus on locally sourced ingredients. The chef is frankly a genius. My Martini was perfect but my first course, a halibut ceviche was better, worthy of any three star in Paris. My date loved her chilled zucchini soup with goat crème and walnut bagna cauda. I had simple but perfect home made grilled sausage. She loved her halibut with a saffron broth and various condiments. Wine list was not cheap but excellent, we blew though a bottle of Sancerre and asked for suggestions about a single glass, the wait-person was charming, attentive, knowledgable and picked perfectly. The bill was good sized but absolutely worth it. Heading back soon to try the mutton. Three Star Paris without the fanfare or the plane fare.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

80 Thoreau was closed on a Sunday evenin ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

80 Thoreau was closed on a Sunday evening and we want a great place to dine while we were in town... This place came up in my research... and wow it was delicious! Thank you for being open on Sunday evening when many other places in Concord were closed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was disappointing. Trying do too mu ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Food was disappointing. Trying do too much when simplicity would work much better. Daughter's pasta was just thrown on the plate with a couple of slices of cheese. brisket / mutton was swamped in bbq sauce, so different meats were pointless and horseradish unrecognizable. Wife's veggie dish was bizarrely flavored too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

Food was excellent. Recommend Bondir Con ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Food was excellent. Recommend Bondir Concord highly, it is still not as well known as it deserves to be. One glitch we experienced in the service, a single guy was seated right next to us in the back dining room that was otherwise empty, which made for awkward conversation.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

We had a lovely lunch. The asparagus sal ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

We had a lovely lunch. The asparagus salad and salmon plates were delicious and beautifully presented. The corn rolls were excellent and dessert was unusual and delicious. Our server was helpful and provided excellent service.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was delicious but portions sizes we ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

Food was delicious but portions sizes were minuscule! We came home hungry... Waitress had absolutely no personality and was awkward. Bread was fabulous and dining room attractive. Wish they had CA Chardonnays by the glass offered.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

I was interested to read other reviews i ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

I was interested to read other reviews in that sometimes they're dissin' the server and other times the server is heralded. We definitely ADORED our server, the taller gentleman who is BRILLIANT about the preparations and recommending conscientiously. We will always seek him out he makes it that much more delicious and entertaining. I am always intrigued by one prep or another and I love the way Jason complements the main with select other tastes. I hope this restaurant is here to stay!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

I messed up the reservation online and B ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

I messed up the reservation online and Bondir was able to sit all 6 of us in the same amount of time we were planning on waiting. The staff was friendly and inviting despite my mistake on a Friday night. We had a very important out of state guest who is a world traveler for food and she ranted and raved about the meal and service. Eating at Bondir is an experience and and lovely one at that. We all got the four course option and each plate was a piece of art for my eyes and palate. By far my favorite restaurant in Massachusetts!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our second time at Bondir Concord and th ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Our second time at Bondir Concord and there will be a third and many more. The pre fix is a great value and the food was top notch, way beyond a chain restaurant. Parsnip soup was amazing as was the duck and veal. Can't wait to see what they have next time!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

portions were ridiculously small, especi ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

portions were ridiculously small, especially the duck, which was mostly bread

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

This is a place that leaves me smiling e ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

This is a place that leaves me smiling every time I dine there. It's always memorable with pleasant service and a welcoming atmosphere. And, the food is crazy healthy. Love it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always a suprise

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Love this place and that the menu changes with the season

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had high expectations, but really did ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

We had high expectations, but really didn't like the food. My halibut came out very under cooked and was not particularly on the second go round. One of my dining pet peeves is when service people interrupt engaged conversation to deliver the specials, etc. Our server was very good otherwise, but the initial interruption was egregious and jolting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

Hostess was the mostess

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

This dining experience proved, once again, that an establishment's people can make all the difference in a customer's takeaway assessment and lasting impression. Our hostess was lovely--she had a warm, relaxed manner and was helpful, whereas our server was the opposite. The food itself was prettily presented, yet unremarkable in taste or preparation. The salads were the highlight of our meal--one featured lightly roasted asparagus, and the other was served with the house-cured salmon. As Concord was a mutually accessible locale for two longtime friends to catch up over a weekday lunch, Bondir provided a welcome venue and a promising menu.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

Exemplary Food & Service

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

We dine here every few months and have always found the food and service to be consistent and excellent. The menu changes often and always delivers an great meal.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great meal. We went for our anniversary. ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Great meal. We went for our anniversary. The waitstaff is very attentive and we were not rushed at all during our meal. The menu changes daily as they try to use locally sourced ingredients whenever possible. It was a memorable experience and I would highly recommend Bondir in Concord

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on June 1, 2016

This is one of my favorite restaurants. Either for a lovely lunch, drinks or dinner with friends or entertaining for work. The food and staff are excellent and it is so relaxing inside. Just perfect.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious innovative dishes. New tastes ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 25, 2016

Delicious innovative dishes. New tastes and textures. So many gluten free options, even homemade bread! The ambiance is cozy and warm. The service is attentive without being overbearing. What a lovely night!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A Big Surprise!!

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on May 23, 2016

This is a true diamond in the rough (Concord). This restaurant has a wonderful menu and cuisine, offering up to 4 courses at a nice price, a great wine selection, a full bar, and friendly attentive service. I enjoyed my dining experience here and will surely return.

Tags: special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Interesting foods combined and prepared ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Interesting foods combined and prepared in exceptionally creative ways-- each bite a pleasure to truly savor. Usually plenty of options for vegetarians.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Anniversary Dinner

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Bondir has a nice ambiance. The room is very warm and comfortable. The service was great. I had the duck breast and loved it. my wife had the monk fish and was not disappointed. The Second Spring cocktail is fantastic if you like Tequila . We were there to celebrate an occasion but there were a lot of regulars there also. Ice cream for dessert and espresso.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great experience!

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on May 18, 2016

Traveling on business but dining with my son who was visiting Lincoln. Bondir was highly recommended by a colleague but I was still blown away by the experience. The food was meticulously prepared. Although there were many elements to each dish, no ingredients was superfluous. Very satisfactory to all the senses. The service was outstanding. Our server was very knowledgeable and accommodating. We even received a free cocktail because our second course was slightly delayed. Be barely registered the delay before a server delivered an interesting prohibition favorite the Chrysanthemum. If I were staying in Boston, I would drive to Concord for a meal at Bondir.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The menu needs to be expanded. The lack ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

The menu needs to be expanded. The lack of entree choices is becoming restrictive.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Our server was very attentive, and the f ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

Our server was very attentive, and the food was generally good, although the portions were small and one of our party had to send back their entree as it was under cooked.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Doesn't live up to the hype

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

This was the second consecutive visit to Bondir that we found very disappointing. The hype would have you believe that this is gourmet-level cooking. To both of us, it was anything but, and we are not strangers to fine cooking. Some things were overly salty, others were just plain bizarre (the garlic soup). Poached eggs were under-cooked to the point of being obvious just by looking at them (the "whites" were still gray and translucent). Add to this a too-cold dining room and too-loud music and the experience hardly justified the size of the check.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Hoping next time will be like the first

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

This is the second time I've dined at Bondir. The first time was magical- excellent food, wonderful service, a treat from the chef. Perhaps Sunday nights are not taken as seriously by the staff, but the service was slow and not very friendly. The food was good, but not wonderful, the house made bread was overbaked and dry, uninspired dessert choices. I would return- but was disappointed this time.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

Food and service both on upward trend

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

We've been patrons of Bondir Concord since it opened; the food and the service have both improved. Our impression is that the food is a little less "foodie" (but very good, and small portions, which we appreciate), and the service has weeded out a little bit of a foodie attitude -- these folks are serving great food and providing a nice experience. The bar is fun; the back dining room is a little old-fashioned in its decor for our taste.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Great brunch place in center of Concord

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Very quaint restaurant in the center of Concord. The brunch menu offers the traditional staple of American cuisine with a modern twist, such as Eggs Benedict on a sweet brioche. Bondir also has a very interesting beer list.

Tags: great for brunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

It's been a long time since I've had suc ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

It's been a long time since I've had such a disappointing meal. It was surprising, because the restaurant is charming and the service was great. Just what the heck are they doing in the kitchen? My poached duck egg was gelatinous and undercooked. The duck entree was barely cooked. Kind of like duck tartar. For some reason I tried dessert, but the chocolate panna cotta was like jello, served with chili flavored sorbet. Our poor server could tell we didn't like the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service4

Bondir is a beautiful restaurant. I didn ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Bondir is a beautiful restaurant. I didn't care for the menu or the food preparation, it was too chichi for our tastes. If we're going to pay for an expensive meal, which we don't mind, I want to enjoy the food. I can't say I did.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Always excellent!

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

I have eaten here on several occasions now. I have had lunch, brunch, and dinner. All were fabulous! The place is beautiful inside. The fireplace warms up the interior, the farm table makes you feel like you're at home, and the staff is terrific! We always need some explanation, as the menu items are always really interesting and different - but all in my party were impressed and pleased as usual

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.