About Bondir Concord

24 Walden Street
Concord, MA 01742
View Larger Map

Sustainable Modern American Cuisine

Bondir Restaurant is located in historic Concord, Massachusetts. Menus showcase the pastoral and marine bounty of our New England region and offer a finely curated selection of American and European wines and beers. Chef/Owner Jason Bond has spent more than 20 years refining his technique and style, and has developed a simple philosophy of quality and care. Our offerings–vegetables picked the same day, fish hours out of the ocean, pasture-raised meats–will change daily, and will always be tasteful in preparation and presentation.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch, Wednesday - Sunday, 11:30 am - 2:00 pm
Dinner, Friday & Saturday Evenings, 5:00 pm - 10:00 pm Monday/Wednesday/Thursday Evenings, 5:00 pm - 9:00 pm.

Closed on Tuesdays.

Cross Street:
Main Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(978) 610-6554

Website:
http://www.bondirconcord.com/

Parking Details:
Metered parking is available in front of the restaurant. There is a free municipal parking lot behind the restaurant.

Public Transit:
Commuter Rail, Fitchburg Line.

Executive Chef:
Jason Bond

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, High Tea, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Bondir Concord Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

84% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Boston Suburbs
Fit for Foodies
Boston Suburbs
Best Restaurants in Concord, Massachusetts ›

Fit for Foodies (60)
Neighborhood Gem (51)
Special Occasion (48)
See All
Romantic (37)
Great for Lunch (21)
Notable Wine List (19)
Good for Groups (13)
Local Ingredients (10)
Hot Spot (8)
Good for a Date (8)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Authentic (6)
Worth the Drive (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Good for Anniversaries (5)
Cozy (5)
Healthy (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Organic (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Seasonal (2)
People Watching (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Fireplace (2)
Scenic View (2)
Modern Decor (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Great Beer (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Family Style (1)
Casual (1)
Sort By:
Newest
733 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

It is always a pleasure to dine at Bondi ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined 5 days ago

It is always a pleasure to dine at Bondir Concord!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Great for Brunch, Local Ingredients, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Great food! Be prepared to explore a se ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 19, 2016

Great food! Be prepared to explore a sensuous meal. They do the best they can with the air conditioning system they have, no doubt. The back room is quiet. The food is an exploration in local tastes. Ceviche with eggplant sauce, salmon, just cooked, great 1/2 btl of Chablis, buckwheat noodles with tomato dashi, aromatic dish of pork sausage, well balanced Bon voyage! cocktail if you don't object to Pernod, grapefruit took the edge off. Nice Cava & Italian red by the glass. Delightful evening eating local food prepared in a creative way. If you sometimes enjoy eating at the "99" don't eat at Bondir. It's not for you.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The food was noticeably fresh and artful ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

The food was noticeably fresh and artfully curated and crafted. The wine was spectacular. Unfortunately, it just didn't hit all those high notes we were expecting. From the unusual rhubarb mignonette on the oysters to the petite entree portions, the highlight of the meal ended up being dessert, and I don't even remember what I got... I was really excited to try Bondir based on all the rave reviews, and it seemed like it was totally in my wheelhouse, but I can't see myself going back for more than a snack and drink while shopping in the cute town center.

Tags: Organic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Surly waitstaff. Empty restaurant on a F ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Surly waitstaff. Empty restaurant on a Friday night was pretty telling. Beautiful space, but the food left s lot to be desired. Ice cold butter (made spreading difficult) thrown down on a plate with 4 butter knives under the bread. Did they forget to give them to us or was that how it was meant to be served. Salmon was way too fishy tasting, as if past when it should be served and left mainly uneaten. Steak frites were enjoyed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

Innovative and well reviewed world-class ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Innovative and well reviewed world-class chef, he is also very personable. Nice vibe.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Gluten Free Options, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

I'm afraid we were very disappointed by ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

I'm afraid we were very disappointed by the experience - a delightful restaurant, pretty good service, but the food was disappointing. The menu is improving, trying to simplify, but has not yet accomplished that feat. There is too much complexity, that unfortunately does not result in a good meal. I draw attention in particular to the house made sausage entree - far too dry, practically inedible, sadly trying too hard to deconstruct a dish which can take many delicious forms. Good food, imaginatively prepared and presented, does not have to be so complex and can be delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

We were very impressed with Bondir. The ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

We were very impressed with Bondir. The food, presentation and service were excellent. It's not only the best restauant in Concord, it may be the best restaurant to grace Concord since I was born there 52 years ago.

Tags: Romantic, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Interesting menu but does not live up to ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Interesting menu but does not live up to expectations.

Portions are small and flavors are somewhat odd.

Seems like they are trying too hard.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Atmosphere was low key but elegant. Our ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Atmosphere was low key but elegant. Our waiter was attentive and had a good sense of humor. Food was delicious and just the right portion, had room for desert which was also yummy. We enjoyed our anniversary dinner to the fullest! Thanks Bondir.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Organic, Bar Seating, Afternoon Coffee, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Authentic, Fireplace, Good for a Date, Cozy, Healthy, Open Kitchen, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was good but not exceptional. Try ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Food was good but not exceptional. Trying too hard ...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

I had my anniversary there and it was a ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

I had my anniversary there and it was a wonderful meal. The food is well thought out, interesting, beautiful, and delicious. Be prepared to eat, because the feed you well. A rare treat.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

All orders were delicious, well-presente ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

All orders were delicious, well-presented and utilized a lot of local ingredients. Perfect portion size and none were too salty or over-seasoned. The flavors spoke for themselves.

My blue-fish was the best I've had this season.

Shared the ice cream medley for dessert.

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Visiting Concord for a 50th anniversary ...

 
 (Cornwall)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Visiting Concord for a 50th anniversary from UK. Everything delightful, especially our server Connor. Gluten-free diet carefully discussed and understood.

Air-con a little cold

Tags: Authentic, Modern Decor, Quiet Conversation, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Fresh, seasonal, creative, prepared perf ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Fresh, seasonal, creative, prepared perfectly and presented beautifully! We have been to Bondir Concord before, but after reading some of the recent negative reviews, I was a bit apprehensive. I am not sure what they are all about. It was wonderful and I can't say enough good things! I started with the ceviche with harissa - so unspeakably good - followed by the summer corn ravioli - heaven! My husband had the farm egg followed by the skate wing. We were both really happy with our meals. Paired with a really delicious wine and we were all set. The summer corn ravioli especially deserves a shout out - the corn bisque (?) inside the ravioli spilled out and covered the bed of smoked beef underneath to create something magical. We followed all that with the chocolate mousse and citrus tart - again totally satisfying and scrumptious. Even the coffee at the end of the meal was good.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Great Beer, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Organic, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My parents were visiting from Florida an ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

My parents were visiting from Florida and we wanted a quiet, quaint place with an upscale menu that could satisfy a range of dietary needs. Bondir was perfect. As soon as the waiter heard my mother say she was gluten free, he brought gluten-free bread and pointed out the items on the menu to avoid. My dad can't eat rich food - so he had the sea bass - perfectly done. I had the squash "canoe" filled with vegetables from their own garden and served with purple corn. My partner enjoyed two apps - caprese salad and something with lentils. We shared a half bottle of wine. Excellent.

Tags: Healthy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Extraordinary good food, reasonable prop ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Extraordinary good food, reasonable proportions, talented and informed and very pleasant wait staff. Would get two stars from Michelin in Paris. Three if it were more formal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Good food, but very expensive for the am ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Good food, but very expensive for the amount you received

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

What I like about Bondir is that I get t ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

What I like about Bondir is that I get to eat food that I never would never think of making myself. Experiencing creative combinations of food is one of the reasons I go to restaurants and Bondir consistently broadens my culinary horizons. I strongly recommend Bondir for anyone who understands that cooking can be a true creative endeavor.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Server essentially untrained for a place ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Server essentially untrained for a place like this. Nervous and not able to answer questions. Charcuterie was ALL different pates... Two QUITE similar. Boring. Other firsts were ok; cheese plate also somewhat unidimensional. A cheese demoted to be "like Gruyere" was, rather, like an aged cheddar. Fine. Inaccurate. Main courses striped bass in saffron etc broth: mushy, not form & NOT crisp. Broth: notably insist icy from a light vegetable broth. Little flavor. "House made sausage" (w/o other info, wouldn't you assume this is pork...& there WAS no other info given) turned out to be a VERY STRONG mutton (and otherwise not very seasoned. Whaaaaa? My grandparents forced us to eat boiled mutton & I'd NEVER choose to eat it again. Pretty sure most Americans don't even know what it is. Pretty... Awful. Wine was fine. Restaurant was quiet. EXTREMELY disappointing as the celebration last meal for our daughter before she went to college.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2

My husband and I had a great date night ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

My husband and I had a great date night at Bondir! So nice to not have to drive into Cambridge for a high-quality, seasonal menu. We will definitely go again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Tried to make a reservation for 7PM but ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Tried to make a reservation for 7PM but had to select either 6:30 or 7:30. When we arrived at 6:30 there was no one seated in the restaurant. Except for two patrons at the bar, we were the only non-employees. When we left at 7:45 the restaurant wasn't even half full. Waiter insisted appetizer and entrée had to be ordered at the same time because the Chef required this. I cautioned him that we are slow eaters (this is supposed to be a dining experience). When entrees arrived they were served luke warm. My wife opted to eat her fish. The bouillabaisse probably provided a little heat. I sent my steak back to the kitchen because it was undercooked (requested medium/rare and received a rear steak) and it was tepid at best. So, we didn't really dine together since my replacement steak arrived well after my wife finished her meal.

We ate at this restaurant once before and had a pleasurable experience. However, on this occasion everything was sub-par. I can have this kind of experience at any restaurant and for a lot less money. Sorry but we won't ever be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

We enjoyed a nice meal with friends. App ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

We enjoyed a nice meal with friends. Appetizers (cheese plate) was very well done and I enjoyed my main course of Pasta and Ragu - Only draw back was they offered no non-sweetened beverage besides water - (Diet Coke please) - Bar tender made excellent martini's and added some additional fun to the dinner !

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Quality and experience at Bondir are alw ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Quality and experience at Bondir are always exceptional. We ate there with an artist friend from New Hampshire who is a foodie and always wants to go to Bondir when he comes to Concord. He raves about food and presentation.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

New American fare. Quality, thoughtful, ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

New American fare. Quality, thoughtful, food, solid craft cocktails and attentive, but mistake prone, service.

A very good option in Central Concord, but not a must visit.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

The wine list is downgraded, no decent w ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

The wine list is downgraded, no decent wine around 50 or under 100.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Just a perfect lunch! The hostess was lo ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Just a perfect lunch!

The hostess was lovely. The food wonderful, and the restauranrt gorgeous and welcoming. The lunch prix fixe was a great value. Please bring back the tuna nicoise (the tuna)!

Wish I lived closer.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

I went back after a while; and still not ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

I went back after a while; and still not a favorite. The food is generally very good, but on the heavy/decadent side, and they're a bit challenging around substitutions (preferences, allergies, etc.). I found it very strange that they were nearly out of Tuna (for a nicoise) salad 3o minutes into lunch service; *and* that they would continue to sell the salad without it, but declined to offer another protein in its place. Portions are also very small. With an appetizer and lunch entree, I'm always hungry immediately after. And, I'm not accustomed to especially large meals... I don't dislike Bondir, but generally prefer other places, and would never make an effort to go...

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

We are frequent, high-end diners. Howev ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

We are frequent, high-end diners. However, my palate is not too foodie. I have wanted to visit this restaurant many times but the menu was too limiting for me. The Summer Bistro menu they have now if much more accessible and too my liking. I hope the chef keeps this in mind for the future. I know it may be declasse to have chicken or beef on the menu, but a great chef know what to do with these items....cast your mind back to Hamersley Bistro. You see what happens is, you have 2 or 3 couples out in the 'burbs who want to go to a nice dinner. Bondir would be a natural choice, but with a very foodie menu all it takes is a picky one like me who would be fine with a beef, chicken or pork dish and there is none, I say I do not want to go there because it's all skate wings and pig snouts. That is then 6 plates with with wine and cocktails of lost revenue. So with my infantile palate, I had the burger and it blew the doors off Woods Hill's burger.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Good charcuterie choices. Fabulous sea b ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Good charcuterie choices. Fabulous sea bass, and amazing lemon tart with anise and olive oil ice cream. Lovely meal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great service, farm fresh food (one of t ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Great service, farm fresh food (one of the farm to table restaurants), good creativity in menu and nice options for vegetarians. One can park at meters on the street or public lot behind restaurant. We'd go back to Bondir.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

There was a beautiful presentation of th ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

There was a beautiful presentation of the veal I ordered...flowers, herbs and greens on top. However, the little bit of sauce that was inside the grilled onion was very spicy, and there wasn't any other sauce, so the entire dish was too hot and dry. I also wish there was something like potato, vegetable or rice on the plate with the veal. I thought the asparagus soup was delicious, and my spouse enjoyed the hamburger and frites. I rarely tell a waiter I don't like something, but I did this time, and he brought me a beef/wine sauce to go on the veal, and a complimentary ice cream to cool my palate off. I was impressed by the rare beer list, but we didn't order any. Overall, it was pricey for a meal I didn't love.

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

We were severely disappointed with this ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

We were severely disappointed with this restaurant, namely the food. The decor itself is actually quite cute, but the food was really lacking in flavor, originality, and also portioning. I received maybe a 3oz portion of striped bass for $35, with an almost non-existent portion of vegetables to accompany in a glorified broth of warm water and maybe some paprika. I will not be eating here again, and my two guests were equally disappointed. We were actually hysterical at the vegetable portion one diner received; it was described as being plentiful, but she received a carrot that was legitimately less than an inch long, surrounded by ambiguous roasted weeds. I usually love creative cooking, but this was simply reminiscent of food that tries to be interesting and forward thinking, but is actually just bland and contrite. So not worth the hefty price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

Thought the food was Oak but not great a ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Thought the food was Oak but not great and at the price point it's at, I don't think it's a value. Nothing wrong with meal just not special

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Great Food and Great dining experience - ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Great Food and Great dining experience - so fresh, we really enjoyed it. Definitely farm to table.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

This was our second time at Bondir; we h ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

This was our second time at Bondir; we had dined shortly after they opened several years ago and were not impressed then. At the time we chalked it up to being a new place, new staff etc. I wish that I could tell you that our experience was different this time around but it was not.

Our waitress was nice but inattentive. She had a good grasp of the menu and wine pairings which was appreciated. Unfortunately she failed to bring us the soup that we ordered, when we got the bill it appears that she completely forgot it as it did not appear. Dirty plates and glasses lingered much too long. Courses came out but with significant delays.

Dinner was average; for the price there are other better places to go in Concord, some a short walk away. While others certainly rave, two "average" experiences is just one too many in my book.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value1

Not sure why 80 Thoreau is always packed ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Not sure why 80 Thoreau is always packed while this place usually has tables available. Perhaps the food here is a little less conventional, and thus not as well suited for the Concord audience. Every time I eat here, I think it's every bit 80 Thoreau's equal. Concord is lucky to have both spots. Concord: eat here more! it's delicious!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very nice; we enjoyed it. At times it w ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Very nice; we enjoyed it. At times it was very noisy - in part due to the air conditioning.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We took a grandson, steak, fish, and ham ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

We took a grandson, steak, fish, and hamburger. Hamburger was fine. Steak was old, tough, and just awful. Oysters were good, but absolutely ruined with some kind of sugar mess - awful. The fish just plain stank! Overall? We will never go there again. We live nearby. This place needs a zero star, not a one star.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5
value1

This was our third dinner at Bondir. The ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

This was our third dinner at Bondir. The food is exceptional and very creative, lots of local meats and vegetables, and the service was very good. We will definitely be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We always go here for birthday meals. Th ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

We always go here for birthday meals. This was the first time trying the lunch menu and it was good.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.