About Bondir Concord

24 Walden Street
Concord, MA 01742
View Larger Map

Sustainable Modern American Cuisine

Bondir Restaurant is located in historic Concord, Massachusetts. Menus showcase the pastoral and marine bounty of our New England region and offer a finely curated selection of American and European wines and beers. Chef/Owner Jason Bond has spent more than 20 years refining his technique and style, and has developed a simple philosophy of quality and care. Our offerings–vegetables picked the same day, fish hours out of the ocean, pasture-raised meats–will change daily, and will always be tasteful in preparation and presentation.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch, Wednesday - Sunday, 11:30 am - 2:00 pm
Dinner, Friday & Saturday Evenings, 5:00 pm - 10:00 pm Monday/Wednesday/Thursday Evenings, 5:00 pm - 9:00 pm.

Closed on Tuesdays.

Cross Street:
Main Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(978) 610-6554

Website:
http://www.bondirconcord.com/

Parking Details:
Metered parking is available in front of the restaurant. There is a free municipal parking lot behind the restaurant.

Public Transit:
Commuter Rail, Fitchburg Line.

Executive Chef:
Jason Bond

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, High Tea, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Specials

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Details

Happy New Year! Bondir in Concord will be serving a special 4 course prix fixe menu on New Year's Eve for $75 per person, not including tax, or gratuity. Our regular dinner menu will not be available that evening. Thank you!

Bondir Concord Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (39)
Fit for Foodies (36)
Special Occasion (35)
See All
Local Ingredients (33)
Good for a Date (30)
Romantic (29)
Creative Cuisine (25)
Cozy (22)
Good for Anniversaries (21)
Worth the Drive (20)
Fireplace (20)
Quiet Conversation (19)
Healthy (18)
Authentic (16)
Bar Seating (15)
Great for Lunch (15)
Good Vegetarian Options (15)
Handcrafted Cocktails (14)
Good for Birthdays (14)
Seasonal (13)
Organic (10)
Notable Wine List (9)
Open Kitchen (9)
Good for Groups (7)
Modern Decor (7)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Casual (5)
Great Beer (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Fun (4)
People Watching (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Wood Oven (4)
Historic (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Business Meals (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Happy Hour (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Family Style (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
766 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Dined here for the first time. Brought a ...

 
 (New England)·Dined 2 days ago

Dined here for the first time. Brought another couple with us. Server was very knowledgeable about the wine and beer choices and each of the menu items. Two of us ordered appetizers. When they arrived, so did complimentary mini cups of soup for the two that did not--very nice touch. We ordered four different entrees--veal prime rib, scallops, monkfish, and burger. All were declared delicious. Desserts are not to be missed--portions on the smaller side but excellent flavors. We may go back just to have more vanilla bourbon ice cream!

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Fireplace, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food has always been exceptional at ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 27, 2016

The food has always been exceptional at Bondir/Concord and the space has a cozy and sophisticated feel with a fireplace and exposed brick walls. However, until recently the menu set-up has been confusing and off-putting. Previously all the ingredients were listed in a very wordy, lengthy fashion and it was almost impossible to know what the main ingredient was or what category of food it was. Now the menu has been reorganized from what I would describe as a "Tastings" format to a more traditional appetizer and main course set-up which I find much easier to order from. Also, a highlighted word at the beginning of each menu item now makes it easier to understand what the dish actually is. With this ordering stress factor now gone, I plan to visit Bondir much more often.

Tags: Organic, Great for Lunch, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

I love Bondir Concord and am happy my fr ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 16, 2016

I love Bondir Concord and am happy my friends are also fans now. It was fairly quiet the night we were there to celebrate a birthday and catch up in the midst of our busy lives. Jocelyn is a wonderfully caring, attentive, informative waitress who set the tone from the moment we walked in. Bonus was meeting Jason who was cooking in Concord that evening. His food is amazing on all levels - variety, creativity, presentation, taste - and it was an honor to meet him personally.

Our dishes included the roasted local pasture-raised chicken, monkfish, Bondir burger and sweet potato tart. All excellent.

We had to have dessert since it was a birthday celebration. Again we were wowed, especially when we learned that Jason creates the desserts and bakes the bread in addition to cooking. No pastry chef here. We loved all the desserts. The ices and creams stood out for us though. We couldn't get enough of the pear sassafras sorbet and the garden sorel sherbet.

My friends and I will return and I will continue to bring people to Bondir.

Tags: Fireplace, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Cozy, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Absolutely beautiful restaurant. The foo ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 14, 2016

Absolutely beautiful restaurant. The food was wonderful. The service was great. I was just visiting Concord, but I wish I lived closer so I could eat there more often!

Tags: Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies, Fireplace, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Wood Oven, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Overall wonderful dining experience as a ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Overall wonderful dining experience as always. We particularly enjoy the ever changing menu that brings unique and delicious food to our table.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fireplace, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had set menu with four choices as entree ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Had set menu with four choices as entree. Food was good and imaginative. I had the fish dish which was based on salted cod, and was a little too salty and slightly burnt. Others of our party were very satisfied.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

This is the second time my friend and I ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 6, 2016

This is the second time my friend and I met for lunch at Bondir. You get exceptional quality, creative, delicious food for an afternoon Sunday lunch. Amazing.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We started our meal with two glasses of ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 6, 2016

We started our meal with two glasses of Cava. There's no better way to prepare taste buds.

I have been here many times and I am never disappointed, whether it be for lunch or dinner. The staff is truly special ensuring that you feel warmly welcomed. I had the monkfish and it was simply delicious, perfectly prepared. My wife had the sweet potato tart; she smiled the entire time as she consumed every bit of it.

We ended our meal with a fantastic cheese plate along with two glasses of port.

Kudos to Jason Bond, you are truly talented and we are so fortunate to have you in Concord.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The menu was a bit limited. Could be a ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 5, 2016

The menu was a bit limited. Could be a bit more expansive.

Tags: Fireplace, Fun, Notable Wine List, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Outstanding food and service. Consistent ...

 
 (Melbourne / VIC)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Outstanding food and service. Consistently good - lunch or dinner.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The service and food were outstanding. I ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 30, 2016

The service and food were outstanding. I strongly recommend Bondir for lunch or dinner. It is by far the best restaurant West of Boston.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious charcuterie with unique accomp ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Delicious charcuterie with unique accompaniments, homemade cavatelli to die for, perfect pan roasted tuna, and celestial citrus tart.

Friendly and attentive service included great wine recommendation.

Definitely a place we will return to.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It was our anniversary and we had been l ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 28, 2016

It was our anniversary and we had been looking forward to another amazing meal at Bondir. When we arrived, the menu had changed (no more prix fixe tasting option on the menu) and we were seated very close to another couple who ended up being very loud. I told the waitress that I was disappointed they didn't have the Prix Fixe any more and she let me know that they could still do a tasting-type option with smaller plates if we were interested in that. She also let the hostess know that the seating wasn't what we were hoping for for our anniversary (had put that on the reservation) and they promptly changed our table, giving us a choice of 2 other options! SO happy with staff and amazing food, as always!

Tags: Seasonal, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Fireplace, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very enjoyable and delicious meal. World ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Very enjoyable and delicious meal. World class cooking.

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Terrific lunch. Enjoyed the prix fixe se ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 26, 2016

Terrific lunch. Enjoyed the prix fixe selections very much. Ploughman's board explodes - a taste adventure. Oopsie Doosie gin cocktail started us off the right way. Very good service, a chic/cozy/comfortable setting, and not a bank breaker by any means. We highly recommend Bondir.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Historic, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Cozy, Great Beer, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Cozy and delicious on a chilly fall nigh ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Cozy and delicious on a chilly fall night!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

This is a great restaurant & the best i ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on October 21, 2016

This is a great restaurant & the best in the area. The two or three course format from a diverse menu makes it simple to create a wonderful dining experience, and with a splendid wine selection, perfect. They have a full service bar, and great after-dinner wines & cordials to compliment and conclude a fantastic evening.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great Beer, Wood Oven, People Watching, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good Vegetarian Options, Organic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love Bondir!! The ambiance, food and ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 21, 2016

We love Bondir!! The ambiance, food and service are always great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Nice table by the window on a fall day! ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Nice table by the window on a fall day! The 2 course prix fix a s a great option,, but very limited. There were only 4 options and 2 of the 4 main option were beef.

Dessert was delicious.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

I keep trying to like Bondir but I haven ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on October 16, 2016

I keep trying to like Bondir but I haven't succeeded yet. I wish I could recommend eating here but after a lunch that took 2.5 hours (and didn't need to!) and in which the food was fine but not inspiring I just can't suggest to anyone that they should eat here. I've tried three times and left disappointed each time. I have heard that hanging out at the bar at night is great so maybe we'll give that a shot some evening. For lunch or dinner there are better options around.

Tags: Fireplace, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

Would give it another try. Everything wa ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Would give it another try. Everything was great - service, ambiance, bar, noise levels, but the food was inconsistent. Some of us like what we had, others were underwhelmed. Not ready to recommend but want to give it another shot.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

So want this restaurant to suceed but I ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 14, 2016

So want this restaurant to suceed but I was disappointed. Previous a waiter had told me the burger was excellent. For 21$ should have been superb. Was almost raw and bland. Worse the staff did not seem to notice it was less than half eaten.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

Enjoyed a delicious lunch at Bondir Conc ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 13, 2016

Enjoyed a delicious lunch at Bondir Concord. The space is very quaint and perfectly decorated. My friends and I had the tasting menus for lunch. We shared and everyone loved their food. The vegetarian grain burger was the biggest hit of the meal, through it was all tasty. Great service from beginning to end. Lovely atmosphere. Excited to come back for dinner!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, People Watching, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Cozy, Healthy, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Excellent food and drink; lovely ambianc ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Excellent food and drink; lovely ambiance, not too noisy, seated immediately (with our reservation time exactly! Have been there before - come there for all special occasions.

Tags: Comfort Food, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Fireplace, Good Vegetarian Options, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Authentic, Organic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I eat here often for lunch and dinner. I ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 9, 2016

I eat here often for lunch and dinner. I love the creativity of chef/owner Jason Bond and the tastiness of his food. You can always see him working in the open bar. Friendly service. Great ambience. I love the fireplace which has just been stoked up for the season. Terrific bar with Inventive cocktails. Desserts to die for. Whether eating with friends or alone at the bar, I have never been disappointed.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Fireplace, Disabled Access, Fit for Foodies, Wood Oven, Worth the Drive, Open Kitchen, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our recent dinner at Bondir was wonderfu ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Our recent dinner at Bondir was wonderful. Our third time there and will return again. The seating was cozy, the food outstanding as always, and impeccable service. Special kudos to Connor for his attentiveness, warmth and knowledgeable service.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was average, I took the pasta a ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 7, 2016

The food was average, I took the pasta and it was very heavy. Way too noisy, we could barely hear each other the waitress had to yell at us and we had to yell back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

I was extremely happy with my dinner and ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 7, 2016

I was extremely happy with my dinner and consider Bondir to my favorite restaurant in Concord. The food was delicious and interesting and the ambience was very classy and modern cozy. I like the choice of rooms for dining - from casual bar, to a warm fireplace room to a more formal room. I would highly recommend Bondir. So happy they came to Concord.

Tags: Organic, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Beautiful local veggies, very creative a ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Beautiful local veggies, very creative and light treatment; fish uniquely prepared, and best home baked bread ever tasted. Server helpful, responsive, and fun to deal with. Beautiful rustic room.

Tags: Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Unfortunately on my first visit to Bondi ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Unfortunately on my first visit to Bondir I appeared to have gotten a form of food poisoning from something I ate there

I felt ill immediately after leaving the restaurant and it continued into the night

Wish I had a better experience to share

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value2

Bondir Concord is one of the most pleasa ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 28, 2016

Bondir Concord is one of the most pleasant, "adult" dining experiences in Greater Boston. The room is beautiful, the menu thoughtful, and the service professional. It's also quite pricey and the portions tend to be small so it is more of a special occasion experience than one I'd visit frequently.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

Food is delicious, although the portions ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 28, 2016

Food is delicious, although the portions are small. My only menu suggestion would be that they add a couple of dishes that aren't so fancy-dancy. There was nothing simple to select for an entree.

Tags: Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

It is always a pleasure to dine at Bondi ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 24, 2016

It is always a pleasure to dine at Bondir Concord!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Great for Brunch, Local Ingredients, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Great food! Be prepared to explore a se ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 19, 2016

Great food! Be prepared to explore a sensuous meal. They do the best they can with the air conditioning system they have, no doubt. The back room is quiet. The food is an exploration in local tastes. Ceviche with eggplant sauce, salmon, just cooked, great 1/2 btl of Chablis, buckwheat noodles with tomato dashi, aromatic dish of pork sausage, well balanced Bon voyage! cocktail if you don't object to Pernod, grapefruit took the edge off. Nice Cava & Italian red by the glass. Delightful evening eating local food prepared in a creative way. If you sometimes enjoy eating at the "99" don't eat at Bondir. It's not for you.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The food was noticeably fresh and artful ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 17, 2016

The food was noticeably fresh and artfully curated and crafted. The wine was spectacular. Unfortunately, it just didn't hit all those high notes we were expecting. From the unusual rhubarb mignonette on the oysters to the petite entree portions, the highlight of the meal ended up being dessert, and I don't even remember what I got... I was really excited to try Bondir based on all the rave reviews, and it seemed like it was totally in my wheelhouse, but I can't see myself going back for more than a snack and drink while shopping in the cute town center.

Tags: Organic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Surly waitstaff. Empty restaurant on a F ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 16, 2016

Surly waitstaff. Empty restaurant on a Friday night was pretty telling. Beautiful space, but the food left s lot to be desired. Ice cold butter (made spreading difficult) thrown down on a plate with 4 butter knives under the bread. Did they forget to give them to us or was that how it was meant to be served. Salmon was way too fishy tasting, as if past when it should be served and left mainly uneaten. Steak frites were enjoyed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

Innovative and well reviewed world-class ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 16, 2016

Innovative and well reviewed world-class chef, he is also very personable. Nice vibe.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Gluten Free Options, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

I'm afraid we were very disappointed by ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 14, 2016

I'm afraid we were very disappointed by the experience - a delightful restaurant, pretty good service, but the food was disappointing. The menu is improving, trying to simplify, but has not yet accomplished that feat. There is too much complexity, that unfortunately does not result in a good meal. I draw attention in particular to the house made sausage entree - far too dry, practically inedible, sadly trying too hard to deconstruct a dish which can take many delicious forms. Good food, imaginatively prepared and presented, does not have to be so complex and can be delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

We were very impressed with Bondir. The ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 10, 2016

We were very impressed with Bondir. The food, presentation and service were excellent. It's not only the best restauant in Concord, it may be the best restaurant to grace Concord since I was born there 52 years ago.

Tags: Romantic, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Interesting menu but does not live up to ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 9, 2016

Interesting menu but does not live up to expectations.

Portions are small and flavors are somewhat odd.

Seems like they are trying too hard.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.