About Bonaparte

443 rue St-Francois-Xavier
Montreal, QC H2Y 2T1
View Larger Map

Three delightfully decorated halls in the Empire style that dominated
the Napoleonic era give the restaurant the intimate character
that guests treasure. An exquisite cuisine, prepared with French savoir-faire
and showcasing the finest fresh regional products.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
French

Hours of Operation:
Lunch, Monday to Friday : 11h30 am to 2h00 pm
Dinner, 7 nights : 5h30 pm to 10h30 pm

Cross Street:
Notre-Dame

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa

Phone Number:
(514) 844-4368

Website:
http://www.restaurantbonaparte.com/

Parking Details:
Three private parking lots nearby

Public Transit:
Place D'Armes Metro station

Executive Chef:
Gérard Fort

Private Party Facilities:
La Verrière, for groups from 15 to 20 persons.
L'Impératrice, for groups from 26 to 40 persons.

Private Party Contact:
Martin Bédard: 514-844-4368x

Additional:
Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Private Room, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Mushroom Ravioli
Lobster Bisque
Pear And Champagne Sorbet
Creme Brule Duck Fois Gras
Beef Medalion
Cheesecake
Filet Mignon
Butter Lettuce Salad With Goat Cheese Grape Truffles
Palate Cleanser With Pear And Tarragon Sorbet
Mushroom ravioli in cream sauce
Kir Royale
Tilapia A La Sauce Au Buerre
Creme Caramel
Duo Of Fois Gras, Creme Brulee And Terrine, Sauted Apples And Brioche

Bonaparte Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Montreal / Quebec
Best Value
Montreal / Quebec
Romantic
Montreal / Quebec
8 More
French
Montreal / Quebec
Most Booked
Montreal / Quebec
Best Overall
Montreal
Best Ambiance
Montreal
Best Value
Montreal
Romantic
Montreal
French
Montreal
Most Booked
Montreal
Best Restaurants in Old Montreal ›

Special Occasion (200)
Romantic (166)
Fit for Foodies (148)
See All
Notable Wine List (118)
Neighborhood Gem (74)
Good for Groups (35)
Great for Lunch (21)
Hot Spot (16)
Scenic View (15)
Late-night Find (10)
Kid-friendly (7)
Great for Brunch (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Fun (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1524 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

This was our last dinner after being Mon ...

 
·Dined 3 days ago

This was our last dinner after being Montreal for 5 days and it was by far the best meal that we had. The service was impeccable and the bartenders were wonderful. My husband is a HUGE foodie and he still talking about the meal he had here (even though we went to several other restaurants that were far more expensive than this). The hotel looks very cute as well. If the service in the hotel is anything like the service in Bonaparte, I would love to stay there!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Good place overall, menu could be a bit ...

 
·Dined 3 days ago

Good place overall, menu could be a bit more creative

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Outstanding dinner, great service. The ...

 
·Dined 5 days ago

Outstanding dinner, great service. The staff was very attentive, and the ambiance was superb.

Tags: Fun, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Excellent quality food, very professiona ...

 
·Dined 6 days ago

Excellent quality food, very professional service, our table wasn't the best but we were a late booking. Expensive, but you get what you payed for.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

we were regulars at the Cafe de Paris /R ...

 
·Dined 6 days ago

we were regulars at the Cafe de Paris /Ritz Garden in the days of Jean Contat & Fred Laubi in the 60s'/70s' Bonapart in Montreal is a fist choice for us these days...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great service and awesome food.....

 
·Dined 7 days ago

Great service and awesome food.....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Food was outstanding. Extensive wine se ...

 
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Food was outstanding. Extensive wine selection. Beautiful ambience. Service and duration between courses slow

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

The restaurant manager was very mean to ...

 
·Dined on August 17, 2016

The restaurant manager was very mean to us.We were with a 1,5 year old baby and everytime a baby would complain he would make us a notice.Overpriced for the food you get.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value2

Fantastic! Started with the lobster bisq ...

 
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Fantastic! Started with the lobster bisque soup and goat cheese in filo. Excellent! Continued with the lobster stew and seafood and fish linguini. Presentation was excellent, tasted even better! For my son, who is a picky eater, they served grilled chicken and fries. For dessert, we shared the chocolate soufflé and cappuccinos. I cannot see returning to Montreal and not having dinner here, a true neighborhood gem.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I wanted to try everything so I opted fo ...

 
·Dined on August 13, 2016

I wanted to try everything so I opted for the 5 course tasting menu which offers their best dishes. The entire meal was delicious and I highly recommend the mushroom raviolis which was seasoned and cooked to perfection.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

most enjoyable evening to end a cruise t ...

 
·Dined on August 13, 2016

most enjoyable evening to end a cruise to Montreal

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

we took the degustation menu...wow! ever ...

 
·Dined on August 12, 2016

we took the degustation menu...wow!

everything was soooo good!

the waiter suggested us for the wine, which was perfect for what we choose.

i highly recommend!

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

French restaurant down in the old port o ...

 
·Dined on August 12, 2016

French restaurant down in the old port of Montreal. The food was excellent and tasty. The server we had was funny and helped us enjoy our dinner. I would recommend bthis restaurant to anyone. If you're looking for classic food well-done, Bonaparte is one of the best.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Bonaparte is excellent in every way, ser ...

 
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Bonaparte is excellent in every way, serving great meals with superb service. My wife has the filet mignon and thought it was among the best she ever had. Highly recommended.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We are returning diners and we love the ...

 
·Dined on August 11, 2016

We are returning diners and we love the Resturant. The wait staff are amazing. The food is excellent. Elegance at a fair price and we will be back. We recommend it to everyone who is going to Montreal. Don't miss the experience. Jason is our favorite.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I both did the tasting menu ...

 
·Dined on August 10, 2016

My wife and I both did the tasting menu which, for the most part, was extremely delicious. We both started with the Lobster Bisque, which both of us felt had too much ginger. My wife had the smoked salmon, shrimp and scallops, and filet mignon. She loved all of these courses, commenting that the filet was as good as she's ever had. I had mushroom ravioli, the goat cheese, and the duck in maple. Without any doubt, all were delicious and the duck in particular was as good as I've ever had. The service was impeccable until ... it came to a grinding halt when our server was presented with a table that sent not one, but two bottles, of wine back after tasting. The entire staff became flustered, unsure of how to deal with this couple. The maitre'd completely disappeared from sight at a time when he should have stepped in and dealt with this difficult couple. The end result was that two women sitting near us got upset after near 30 minutes of being unable to pay their bill, another table of 4 ended up getting up to pay their bill at the bar, and we had someone come by and ask us after 10-15 minutes if we wanted coffee with our included desert sampler, but no one gave us either for another 10-15 minutes. By then, all we wanted to was finish and go up to our room. I must say it was a huge disappointment to one of the most wonderful experiences ever up to that point.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

We had your restaurant recommended to us ...

 
·Dined on August 10, 2016

We had your restaurant recommended to us by a friend and we were not disappointed ! This is a lovely surprise in Old Montreal which we had not discovered when we lived in Montreal, which will now be rectified. A return visit is most likely on our next trip east from Victoria, B.C.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Fabulous French cuisine. If you can affo ...

 
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Fabulous French cuisine. If you can afford it, not to be missed. Try the tasting menu.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Read good reviews of Bonaparte an went ...

 
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Read good reviews of Bonaparte an went with my wife on my recent trip to Montreal.

Good ambiance and an older crowd. Our appetizers were the mushroom ravioli and escargot which were fabulous. Our entrees we disappointing however. My duck breast was very tough. When the waiter asked how everything was I was honest and told him the duck, although flavorful, was tough. He apologized but didn't offer to exchange it. My wife's Dover sole was underwhelming and didn't taste fresh. I had great expectations but found Bonaparte came up a little short where it counted.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Amazing classic French restaurant in the ...

 
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Amazing classic French restaurant in the middle of Vieux Montreal. Tasting menu is a steal, and the wine list has a lot of very affordable options. Service was attentive, proper and yet personal. Definitely a very enjoyable dining experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The taster menu was a real treat. Mushr ...

 
·Dined on August 8, 2016

The taster menu was a real treat. Mushroom ravioli was excellent! All the food was superbe. Attentive service. Elegant ambiance. Five stars for sure. You can't go wrong here. A very enjoyable evening. This was our third time at Bonaparte.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Outstanding service and a wonderful tast ...

 
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Outstanding service and a wonderful tasting menu. Dessert souffle was over the top.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Bonaparte is very elegant with amazing s ...

 
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Bonaparte is very elegant with amazing service. The food is wonderful!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

My boyfriend and I were looking for a mo ...

 
·Dined on August 7, 2016

My boyfriend and I were looking for a more upscale, romantic restaurant to have dinner and we are so glad we found Bonaparte. We opted for the tasting menu and were in absolute heaven. Very affordable and delicious, not to mention the staff was very friendly, especially for non-French speakers/visitors. Could not recommend enough.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We did the chef's tasting menu, as we we ...

 
·Dined on August 6, 2016

We did the chef's tasting menu, as we were dining there for our honeymoon. Our server was scarce, but the food was very good. The only course we didn't care for was the lobster bisque; everything else was delicious. I had made note it was our honeymoon, but the restaurant did not acknowledge that - little extras like that are what separate a good place from a great place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

Great French menu in Old Montreal. Frie ...

 
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Great French menu in Old Montreal. Friendly wait staff. Wonderful tasting menu.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely dinner, every course was deliciou ...

 
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Lovely dinner, every course was delicious. And the bartender was awesome too!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We returned here after staying at the ho ...

 
·Dined on August 5, 2016

We returned here after staying at the hotel 8 years ago. It didn't fail to impress years later. Everything was delicious and the service is attentive without being annoying. The prix fix is one of the best deals in Montreal. Excellent all around. And please try the chocolate mousse and lime tart meringue. Delicious with crisp pastry, not soggy with just enough tartness to sweetness ratio. I don't usually love chocolate mousse, but this was unreal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent cuisine with extensive menu. T ...

 
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Excellent cuisine with extensive menu. The service is wonderful,decor elegant.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Noise level very low, great. Pleasent s ...

 
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Noise level very low, great. Pleasent staff good food. Very enjoyable evening.

Gary Duff

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Bonaparte gave one of the best restauran ...

 
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Bonaparte gave one of the best restaurant food and service experiences I've had in my world travels. The restaurant is located in old Montreal not far from the tourist sites. Walking by you see the historic building, buy may not be aware of the wonderful food experience waiting inside. The polite staff spoke English and French and provided excellent service. My wife and I ordered from the prix fixe 7-course "tasting" menu. The food was delicious with top quality ingredients in all of the dishes (fresh seafood and fork tender steak). Each dish was beautifully presented. There was a short delay between each course and we were able to savor each one without being rushed. I was impressed with the servers refilling drinks without asking if we wanted more and whisked the table service out from completed courses and set up the next. They were attentive without being too close. Bonaparte is a must experience while visiting Montreal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of my favorite French restaurants in ...

 
·Dined on August 3, 2016

One of my favorite French restaurants in Montreal. They never disappoint. Always exceptional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I took my wife here for our one year ann ...

 
·Dined on August 1, 2016

I took my wife here for our one year anniversary and it was an excellent experience. We had a table underneath the moonlight window. The place was nice and quiet. Our waiter was quite helpful with the menu, the wine and overall provided us with great service. A must go place for dinner.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We had a memorable evening dining at Bon ...

 
·Dined on August 1, 2016

We had a memorable evening dining at Bonaparte's. The food was excellent. The smoked salmon plate was especially memorable. The service equaled the food in terms of quality, plus the servers made it fun without compromising the ambience. A place we would definitely come back to.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was great except for the cup ...

 
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Everything was great except for the cup of the at the end that was dirty...

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Lovely, romantic French restaurant in th ...

 
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Lovely, romantic French restaurant in the heart of the old city of Montreal. Food, ambience, and service were outstanding. Went while on vacation in Montreal. We will be back!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

This is a tourist trap. Great, friendly ...

 
·Dined on July 29, 2016

This is a tourist trap. Great, friendly service. Good experience. Quiet. However, the food, albeit it cooked well, is plain and boring. A basic meat and potatoes approach. Extremely overpriced for what you are getting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5

Many visits from ny, always a pleasure i ...

 
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Many visits from ny, always a pleasure in old Montreal scene!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We researched restaurants for a special ...

 
·Dined on July 29, 2016

We researched restaurants for a special occasion dinner and decided the Bonaparte. We were not disappointed. The service was excellent as was the food. We had the tasting menu which we all enjoyed. Everyone really enjoyed the scallop and prawns. Highly recommended.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Our server was a little standoffish init ...

 
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Our server was a little standoffish initially, but he did improve as the night went on. The food is unforgettable, and the tasting menu is a must. There isn't an accompanying wine list for the tasting menu, but our server offered some nice suggestions. The foie gras creme brûlée, duck breast, smoked salmon, and shrimp and scallops were all delightful.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.