About Bonaparte

443 rue St-Francois-Xavier
Montreal, QC H2Y 2T1
View Larger Map

Trois salles différentes l'une de l'autre et bien décorées,
dans la sobriété du style Empire qui a marqué l'époque napoléonienne,
donnant au restaurant un lustre d'intimité que les convives apprécient toujours.
La cuisine du Bonaparte est tout sourire, basée sur la fraîcheur des produits. /
Three delightfully decorated halls in the Empire style that dominated
the Napoleonic era give the restaurant the intimate character
that guests treasure. An exquisite cuisine, prepared with French savoir-faire
and showcasing the finest fresh regional products.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
French

Hours of Operation:
Monday through Friday, open for breakfast, lunch and dinner,
Saturdays and Sundays, open for breakfast and dinner.

Cross Street:
Notre-Dame

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(514) 844-4368

Website:
http://www.restaurantbonaparte.com/

Parking Details:
Trois stationnements privés à proximité
Three private parking lot nearby

Public Transit:
Station de métro Place d'Armes
Place D'Armers Metro station

Executive Chef:
Gérard Fort

Private Party Facilities:
Salle privée pour groupe de 15 à 20 personnes et de 50 à 70 personnes

Private room for group of 15 to 20 persons and from 50 to 70 persons

Private Party Contact:
Maryse Leblond: 514-844-3510x

Additional:
Beer, Fireplace, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Mushroom Ravioli
Lobster Bisque
Pear And Champagne Sorbet
Creme Brule Duck Fois Gras
Beef Medalion
Cheesecake
Filet Mignon
Palate Cleanser With Pear And Tarragon Sorbet
Butter Lettuce Salad With Goat Cheese Grape Truffles
Mushroom ravioli in cream sauce
Kir Royale
Creme Caramel
Tilapia A La Sauce Au Buerre
Duo Of Fois Gras, Creme Brulee And Terrine, Sauted Apples And Brioche

Bonaparte Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Montreal / Quebec
Best Value
Montreal / Quebec
Romantic
Montreal / Quebec
8 More
French
Montreal / Quebec
Most Booked
Montreal / Quebec
Best Overall
Montreal
Best Value
Montreal
Romantic
Montreal
Special Occasion
Montreal
French
Montreal
Most Booked
Montreal
Best Restaurants in Old Montreal ›

special occasion (153)
romantic (133)
fit for foodies (119)
See All
notable wine list (91)
neighborhood gem (53)
good for groups (31)
great for lunch (16)
hot spot (11)
late-night find (8)
scenic view (7)
kid-friendly (4)
great for brunch (3)
great for outdoor dining (3)
Sort By:
Newest
1435 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and great service. Ambian ...

vip
Dined a day ago

Excellent food and great service. Ambiance was relaxing. We loved everything we ordered. Nice wine list too. A must visit while staying in Montreal!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

the service, food quality, knowledge and ...

Dined 3 days ago

the service, food quality, knowledge and friendliness of both servers was exceptional the online reservation was handled promptly and correctly

Tags: neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

My wife ordered the cod and it was outst ...

Dined 4 days ago

My wife ordered the cod and it was outstanding. I ordered the steak and was disappointed. The steak itself was tender but lacked any great taste, if it wasn't for the sauce over the steak it would have been a bust. The chocolate mousse was delicious. Service was very good. There was quite a lot of noise which took away from the ambiance. Overall a nice evening out.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was an amazing restaurant with fant ...

Dined 5 days ago

This was an amazing restaurant with fantastic traditional French food and incredible service

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The prix fixe menu at $39.95CAD for 3 co ...

Dined 6 days ago

The prix fixe menu at $39.95CAD for 3 courses is an incredible deal. The choices are wonderful, the servings are more than adequate. The wine list even has some reasonably (for Montreal) priced wines. This is an excellent dining choice in Vieux Montreal.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was my second time dining here. The ...

Dined on June 20, 2016

This was my second time dining here. The food, staff and dining room are fantastic. I will make it a point to dine here when I in town.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

This is an excellent spot. There is no i ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

This is an excellent spot. There is no item that I could suggest for improvements. This is just a great restaurant if you like French cuisine. The service was excellent, the food outstanding , and the location is very good. If you are in old Montreal, you should check out this restaurant for dinner.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

If you enjoy fine dining, this is it -- ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

If you enjoy fine dining, this is it -- and it is pretty reasonable. My wife and I went for a traditional french chef's menu, 6 course, ~ 3-hours, ~80/person. Each course was perfect. The wine list is expansive and ranges into the crazy-expensive, but you can get an excellent bottle for ~60. Our son joined us last minute as his plans were delayed - they easily accommodated and he had the filet. It was a Sunday, so perhaps the finest cuts had already been served that weekend, and so although it was still 5-star, I've had better filet. They have not changed the menu in decades, and there is good reason -- it is superb. My highest recommendation: fine dining, without being stuff, and at a reasonable fine-dining price.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a very great experience here for my ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Had a very great experience here for my girlfriends birthday and our first time in Montreal. Service and food were impeccable.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Took my family to Bonaparte to celebrate ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Took my family to Bonaparte to celebrate two birthdays and fathers day. I had been there recently for a business dinner which is why I chose to revisit with family. The service was excellent and professional, the wine recommendation was outstanding, and the food was delicious. All six people raved about their individual choices and there was not a single complaint from anyone in our group. I would recommend Bonaparte to anyone to enjoy any occasion, from a romantic dinner for two to a business dinner. Great food, great service and great wine list.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

I was at Bonaparte with my wife. I enjoy ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

I was at Bonaparte with my wife. I enjoyed everything about the restaurant. Atmosphere, decoration, service and the food! They were delicious!

food4
ambience3
service5
value4

From the moment we arrived we were made ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

From the moment we arrived we were made to fell very welcome. We were a bit early so we sat at the bar and had a drink and perused the menu. The bar tender Max was charming and kept us entertained while we waited for our table. Once seated, the server described the menu and answered our questions. We opted for the Table d'Hote at 40.00 CAD per person which included the starter, main course and desert. The quality was excellent and portion sizes were appropriate. What impressed me the most was the enthusiasm and energy of the staff. Everyone was kind and patient and genuine. We opted for a very nice Gran Cru wine which was fairly priced. All in all, the total experience was excellent. We will return.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We felt we came a little under dressed a ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

We felt we came a little under dressed as this place looked so amazing. We ended up getting one of the best tables by the window. The service was outstanding. Wish I remembered her name but she went above and beyond for us. The food was at par with the service. Everything was very tasty and perfectly portioned. I would go back again, and tell anyone visiting Montreal to definitely check it out.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

I enjoyed our meal at the Bonaparte. se ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

I enjoyed our meal at the Bonaparte. service and food quality is always impeccable.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We both had the Tasting Menu, which was ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

We both had the Tasting Menu, which was fun and a reasonable value. We both had the Dover Sole for our main course and it was excellent. The dessert sampler was very good, as were the other four courses. The raviolis are a standout as well. Service was first class and we had a great waiter who knew his stuff. We will be back next time we are in Montreal.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We are from Calgary,were visiting beauti ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

We are from Calgary,were visiting beautiful Montreal for the race,came across this little gem! Delightful experience!👍🏻🌟😊

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of our top 5 restaurants in the worl ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

One of our top 5 restaurants in the world. We went 2 nights in a row-superb food and service.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5

Great experience. I eat here every time ...

vip
Dined on June 11, 2016

Great experience. I eat here every time I'm in Montreal and it never disappoints

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was our 2nd time at Bonaparte's. ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

This was our 2nd time at Bonaparte's. Great location in Old Montreal. You really tell that they have a great chef who pays a lot of attention to every aspect of the meal. Wines are a little pricey but it is still worth it. All of the staff were very personable and friendly. Cannot wait to go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Been enjoying dinners for romantic occas ...

Dined on June 10, 2016

Been enjoying dinners for romantic occasions, special occasions or business lunch meeting for a very long time. The quality and consistency are always top-notch. The service is very good and attentive.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Delicious restaurant for special occasion

vip
Dined on June 7, 2016

The service was exceptional, friendly and attentive. The dover sole was outstanding.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our second visit to this restau ...

Dined on June 5, 2016

This was our second visit to this restaurant. Bonaparte played a large role in planning our vacation. We had eaten there two summers ago upon the conclusion of a cruise and enjoyed it so much that we decided to visit Montreal again so we could enjoy this dining experience again! From world travelers in Mississippi this place is at the top of our list!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food with a couple of exceptional dishes

Dined on June 4, 2016

The menu, wine list and service are very good here with some inspiring dishes and one world class dish, the foie gras creme brûlée. All the dishes are well prepared and presented and the dessert soufflés are worth the wait. The tables are reasonably spaced and the service impeccable, professional and friendly. Some big groups can be noisy.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Exceptional service and good food

Dined on June 4, 2016

The restaurant is a traditional design for fine dining, we were seated at the back of the restaurant. We chose the tasting menu, $78 + tax and worked through the seven courses which ranged from lobster bisque, duck foi gras creme brûlée and rack of lamb. The food was cooked well but the flavours were not intense, which is what we expected for this quality of food however the service was exceptional.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

The service was outstanding. The food w ...

Dined on June 3, 2016

The service was outstanding. The food was just as good. Overall was perfect.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Charm in old Monteal

Dined on June 3, 2016

A lovely evening. We did the tasting menu and had a lovely six course dinner. Presentation was fantastic, choice was very good for a tasting menu, and the flavours were wonderful.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Exceptional dinner, helpful and attentiv ...

Dined on June 3, 2016

Exceptional dinner, helpful and attentive staff. Meals well prepared and exceeded expectations. Profiteroles area must!

food5
ambience5
service5

The experience, food and service was wel ...

Dined on June 2, 2016

The experience, food and service was well worth the cost. Highly recommend this restaurant.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Montreal dinner

vip
Dined on June 2, 2016

Great restaurant we dined there twice while we were in Montreal, have recommended It to friends.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Romantic evening

Dined on June 2, 2016

Went to Bonaparte to celebrate our anniversary. We were seated in a romantic table set by the window with a beautiful view of the cobblestone streets. The waiters were so amazing - very friendly, attentive, and informative of the menu selections. We went with the Tasting Menu and everything was delicious! At the end of our dinner, they brought us an assortment of desserts (which was part of the tasting menu), but what made it special were the sparklers they added to them. Each waiter came up to us individually to wish us a happy anniversary :) I would highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful and memorable experience

Dined on May 31, 2016

After being shut out of another restaurant, we somewhat reluctantly went here to celebrate our 20th anniversary. We sat at a window table looking out over the romantic, European-like streets of Old Montreal, and relaxed into the experience. The servers were attentive and good-natured and the food was just perfect, from the first course to the last. Highly recommend Bonaparte.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Great!! Thank you!

Dined on May 31, 2016

Great!! Thank you!

food5
ambience5
service5

Always an excellent and enjoyable dining ...

Dined on May 29, 2016

Always an excellent and enjoyable dining experience.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

TAKING THE CLASSICS TO NEW LEVELS OF TASTES

Dined on May 27, 2016

We had the tasting menu experience and some cocktails. Lobster Bisque, Foie Gras, Raviolli, Lamb and a selection of desserts were all on the menu. Although they may sound like simple classics, they were absolutely delicious and really raise the bar. Definitely try this place.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service2

This was my second time dining here. The ...

Dined on May 26, 2016

This was my second time dining here. The first time was fabulous and I was excited about returning. What a letdown! We were seated at a table for 2, even though there were 3 of us. There were parties of 2 at tables for 4, so I majorly confused. The waiter came over with water, but did not return for a cocktail order for over 15 minutes. Finally we ordered and then waited 20 minutes for those cocktails. We had to request water refills and the food that we ordered was mediocre at best. It was tasty, but nothing special. We ordered chocolate soufflés. Rather than being creamy and rich, we were served soufflés that could at best be considered chocolate chip. All in all, it was a major letdown and I am not likely to return. Go to the Keg for a much tastier meal.

food5
ambience5
service5

Exceptional food & service. If you want ...

vip
Dined on May 24, 2016

Exceptional food & service. If you want a French experience while visiting Montreal, go to Bonaparte.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Impressive

Dined on May 24, 2016

Interesting and innovative menu, attentive service. Good value. Need to book well in advance.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful way to celebrate wedding anniv ...

Dined on May 24, 2016

Wonderful way to celebrate wedding anniversary. Always a must go when visiting Montreal

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Enjoyable evening

Dined on May 23, 2016

HAd dinner with my girlfriend and we both had the tasting menu.. All the courses were excellent except for the starters. The salad was very plain and the dressing was nothing to write home about. The Lobster and Ginger bisque tasted like it was made from cod stock, not lobster and there was no meat which provides a nice texture to the creamy soup. The wait staff were very attentive without being too chatty.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Bonaparte looks small from the outside, ...

vip
Dined on May 22, 2016

Bonaparte looks small from the outside, next to a small hotel in the Old City of Montreal. But inside it has several rooms, each one big enough to avoid self-consciousness and small enough to seem intimate. Our waiter was enthusiastic and knowledgeable. The venison terrine was very good, even to my wife, who is not a game eater. The lamb and beef entres were excellent. We will certainly come back.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.