About Bonaparte

443 rue St-Francois-Xavier
Montreal, QC H2Y 2T1
View Larger Map

Three delightfully decorated halls in the Empire style that dominated
the Napoleonic era give the restaurant the intimate character
that guests treasure. An exquisite cuisine, prepared with French savoir-faire
and showcasing the finest fresh regional products.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
French

Hours of Operation:
Lunch : Monday to Friday, 11h30 am to 2h00 pm
Dinner : 7 nights, 5h30 pm to 10h30 pm

Cross Street:
Notre-Dame

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa

Phone Number:
(514) 844-4368

Website:
http://www.restaurantbonaparte.com/

Parking Details:
Three private parking lots nearby

Public Transit:
Place D'Armes Metro station

Executive Chef:
Gérard Fort

Private Party Facilities:
La Verrière, for groups from 15 to 20 persons.
L'Impératrice, for groups from 26 to 40 persons.

Private Party Contact:
Martin Bédard: 514-844-4368x

Additional:
Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Private Room, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Mushroom Ravioli
Lobster Bisque
Pear And Champagne Sorbet
Creme Brule Duck Fois Gras
Beef Medalion
Cheesecake
Filet Mignon
Butter Lettuce Salad With Goat Cheese Grape Truffles
Palate Cleanser With Pear And Tarragon Sorbet
Mushroom ravioli in cream sauce
Kir Royale
Tilapia A La Sauce Au Buerre
Creme Caramel
Duo Of Fois Gras, Creme Brulee And Terrine, Sauted Apples And Brioche

Bonaparte Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Value
Montreal / Quebec
Romantic
Montreal / Quebec
French
Montreal / Quebec
7 More
Most Booked
Montreal / Quebec
Best Overall
Montreal
Best Ambiance
Montreal
Best Value
Montreal
Romantic
Montreal
French
Montreal
Most Booked
Montreal
Best Restaurants in Old Montreal ›

Special Occasion (184)
Romantic (158)
Fit for Foodies (137)
See All
Notable Wine List (104)
Neighborhood Gem (65)
Good for Anniversaries (35)
Good for a Date (32)
Good for Groups (30)
Tasting Menu (22)
Historic (19)
Creative Cuisine (19)
Quiet Conversation (18)
Great for Lunch (18)
Cozy (16)
Hot Spot (15)
Good for Birthdays (15)
Worth the Drive (14)
Scenic View (13)
Local Ingredients (13)
Business Meals (12)
Authentic (10)
Late-night Find (7)
Kid-friendly (7)
Outstanding Value (6)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Fun (3)
Private Room (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Healthy (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Great Beer (1)
People Watching (1)
Seasonal (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1572 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Absolutely amazing restaurant. Superb ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined a day ago

Absolutely amazing restaurant. Superb service, quality and ambience. Highly suggest tack of lamb and cheesecake and soufflé

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Quite a disappointment. First food on th ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 2 days ago

Quite a disappointment. First food on the table (bread) showed up 1 hour after we sat down. Entire meal lasted 3 hours. One course per hour--ridiculous. And they didn't even prepare the dessert--we brought the cake! (It was a friend's 60th birthday, so a very special occasion.) Bar tender, server, and maitre d' were all pretty much disengaged. Food: fair. Cannot recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

The food was exquisite and the service w ...

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined 3 days ago

The food was exquisite and the service was superb!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

have eaten here every time i visit Montr ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined 5 days ago

have eaten here every time i visit Montreal but this was the best meal i ever had here. Catherine is very knowledgeable about wines and was very helpful. I would always ask for her. She understand how to Judges the speed at which someone wants to eat and her timing was perfect for us.

Tags: Historic, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

We would highly recommend Bonaparte. Th ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined 6 days ago

We would highly recommend Bonaparte. The service was very reponsive and accomodating. The waiters were cheerful, conversational and fun. They increased our enjoyment of the wonderfully delicious food and lovely environment.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Afternoon Coffee, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We chose to try the tasting menu at Bona ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on September 19, 2016

We chose to try the tasting menu at Bonaparte's and it was excellent as where the suggested wine pairings. Highly recommended.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Cozy, Authentic, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall, a decent experience. I expecte ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Overall, a decent experience. I expected great based on the reviews...there were a couple of standout items, such as the mushroom ravioli and the goat cheese in phyllo; the tomatoes that came with that dish were among the ripest, freshest I've ever had. Delicious. The entrees were just ok. I ordered the scallops and my husband had the seafood linguini. The scallops had very little seasoning, but the mushroom fricassee that they were served over was very salty. The linguini was cooked well, as was the seafood in the dish, but this dish also seemed under seasoned to us, and the pasta seemed to need more sauce. The service was excellent, as was the wine list.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

We had the most delightful evening at Bo ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

We had the most delightful evening at Bonaparte. The service was friendly and efficient. We had the tasting menu and every dish was exceptional. Based on other reviews, I chose the Goose liver creme brulee that melts in your mouth - Heavenly. Also, based on reviews, I had shrimp and scallops in vanilla sauce - fabulous. The filet with peppercorn sauce was perfectly prepared and the most tender I have eaten. It is hard to surprise me with food as we eat at a lot of very fine restaurants but this was a wonderful find. All four in our party were very happy with all their choices. Highly recommended.

Tags: Historic, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great waiter. Said he was from Paris. W ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Great waiter. Said he was from Paris. Was there at 8:00 pm sept 17 th. He was very capable and handled all tables professionally

Rob Hildebrand.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Atmosphere was excellent! Could have bee ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Atmosphere was excellent! Could have been in a fine restaurant in Paris-old world charm. Waiter was superb-- attentive and aware about gluten free needs. The smoked duck salad was spectacular! Rack of lamb and veal chop were the best. A wonderful experience.

Tags: Good for a Date, Molecular Gastronomy, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The house salad that came with the table ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

The house salad that came with the table D'hote was something you would expect froma local diner/deli.... salad was a 2/10.

Vanilla scallop and shrimp leak fondue was incrediblle!

The beef tartare was average at best, lacked seasoning, flavour and presentation was poor. I expected much more for $28.50

The haddock was good but not great, would have liked to see seasonal vegetables and a better presentation.

Great atmosphere and service was top notch.

I wasnt expecting great value at a classy French restaurant, I anticipted a $200 meal for two. Sadly Im very disdapointed in the quality of the disshes and lack of creative presentation.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

Very sophisticated menu and attentive se ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Very sophisticated menu and attentive service. Some guests were put off by the construction on the street in front of the restaurant . In the evening they are not working but the view is of an excavator. Ignore it . The meal is worth it.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The table d'haute was wonderful. I reall ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

The table d'haute was wonderful. I really enjoyed the salmon mousse and the halibut. The Key lime pie for dessert was amazing as was the whipped cream. The carrots and carrot puree were so yummy. The venison terrene had a nice earthy flavour and the chocolate mousse and whipped cream were fabulous. Added sparklers to our desserts for our anniversary which was a great touch.

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Romantic, Outstanding Value, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

BONAPARTE WILL BE OUR FAVORITE AUTHENTIC ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

BONAPARTE WILL BE OUR FAVORITE AUTHENTIC FRENCH RESTAURANT. WE WERE WISHING TO FIND ONE IN OTTAWA, BOCA RATON AND MONTREAL . GREAT SERVICE!

Tags: Good for Groups, Cozy, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A most wonderful meal in Montreal. We ha ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

A most wonderful meal in Montreal. We had the Table d'hôte and it was beautifully presented and delicious. I highly recommend a dinner at Bonaparte.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious food and beautiful presentatio ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Delicious food and beautiful presentation. Top-notch service. Due to surrounding construction it was difficult to walk to and in dress shoes, it was not easy. Overall, it was all about the food and my scallops were moist, delicious and presentation stunning--very artistic.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

Excellent service and staff. they make ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Excellent service and staff. they make you feel welcome and special. our waiter recommended the duck which was outstanding with beautiful presentation and seasoning. The Lime meringue pie was refreshing and a delicious twist on an old favourite. Would recommend this restaurant for any occasion from a date to a business dinner.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Local Ingredients, Historic, Business Meals, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We enjoy our dinner at Bonaparte, althou ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

We enjoy our dinner at Bonaparte, although due to Montreal's major construction activity, it was very difficult to safely get to the restaurant. Despite the construction activity issues, we were seated fairy quickly and then waited about 10 minutes for a server to arrive. We did select the tasting menu which was a good decision. Each course was served with friendly and with good humor from the servers. Bonaparte was on of three French tasting menus we tried while in Montreal and it was the best value, but not the best.

Tags: Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

A wonderful experience. Will highly reco ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

A wonderful experience. Will highly recommend to anyone wanting an intimate dinner.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is a beautiful restaurant, an expen ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

This is a beautiful restaurant, an expensive restaurant, with well-presented but not exciting food. We ate from the tasting menu. Everything was competently done; nothing was great. For the cost, SOMETHING should have been special, memorable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Located in the Auberge Bonaparte, it was ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Located in the Auberge Bonaparte, it was a little hard to find given the significant construction in the neighbourhood. Once inside we were greeted quickly and seated promptly. Service was all around top notch - not just attentive but friendly and fun which you don’t always find in finer dining establishments like this. Elected to have the tasting menu which had options that met the needs of both a carnivore and a vegetarian. The portions were shockingly generous for a tasting menu! Neighbouring tables asked how we’d managed to finish it all to give you a sense of the size. Everything was well prepared and unhurried service allowed us to catch a breath between courses. I did expect and could have done with both a bit more richness and salt overall but perhaps with all those generous portions it’s likely better that it didn’t work out that way. Overall a lovely Old Montreal spot worth all the raves.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Wonderful Everything tasted fantastic ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Wonderful Everything tasted fantastic and the service was excellent The next time I am in Montreal I will absolutely go there.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Excellent high quality gourmet restauran ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

Excellent high quality gourmet restaurant. Expensive but worth every dollar.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I had no expectations when booking this ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

I had no expectations when booking this restaurant. It turned out to be a wonderful find. The food and the service were excellent. My experience suggests that there are no risks involved in booking a table at Bonaparte and many rewards.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Outstanding Value, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was right on. Food was great- s ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

Service was right on. Food was great- salmon tournedos were unique and delicious. Zucchini soup was really good as was the creme brûlée. Didn't rush us at all.

Tags: Good for a Date, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great place, great staff. Food is delic ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on September 6, 2016

Great place, great staff. Food is delicious and the staff from the bar to the server can't be beat. Bon appetite!

Tags: Fun, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Romantic, Great Beer, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The service and food were delicious. Th ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

The service and food were delicious. The mushroom ravioli were heavenly. I had the lobster stew for dinner and wasn't quite sure of the sauce. It was a little strong for the lobster meat and overpowered it. Scallops were wonderful.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We had a fantastic dinner at Bonaparte. ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

We had a fantastic dinner at Bonaparte. The service was phenomenal. The food was fabulous! We highly recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We loved Bonaparte 4 days in Montreal a ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

We loved Bonaparte 4 days in Montreal and it was our favorite. I wish we had another day so we could return. The scallops were delicious and the Dover sole outstanding - worth the price

the cheese plate was very good also and a fabulous white wine - we usually don't like white. Just thinking of that night makes me smile

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Bonaparte's is the definition of Special ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Bonaparte's is the definition of Special Occasion dining. My wife and I had our anniversary dinner, like we had nearly a dozen years ago. The food is still excellent and the service was top notch. we had the tasting menu, which consisted of their greatest hits, and like a great band, a great restaurant's greatest hits are truly something to look forward to.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We enjoyed the window seats. The wine li ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

We enjoyed the window seats. The wine list was extensive but some great values under $50

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We ate here on a visit to Montreal. Eve ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

We ate here on a visit to Montreal. Everything about this restaurant is wonderful. Each of us had a different dish - fish and beef - each dish was excellent. Quiet room in an elegant setting. Service was impeccable. Will definitely dine here when we visit Montreal again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Outstanding Value, Quiet Conversation, Historic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice range of entrees as well as an exte ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

Nice range of entrees as well as an extensive wine list. Very friendly staff.

Tags: Cozy, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Nice place, good food and service. Set t ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

Nice place, good food and service. Set too close to the kitchen and a bit noise so, try to avoid that. Otherwise, whort to try.

Tags: Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We started our Montreal trip with dinner ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

We started our Montreal trip with dinner here and it was so good we ended our Montreal trip with dinner here (and we've never done that before!).

Shout out to the superbly talented service staff. The food was great too!

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

We had the tasting menu and every course ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

We had the tasting menu and every course was incredible. Highlights included the foie gras creme brulee, mushroom ravioli and Dover sole. A bit loud in the section we were in but highly, highly recomended.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed the food and the presentation ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

We enjoyed the food and the presentation - there were several outstanding dishes such as the mushroom ravioli and the goat cheese and almonds - The $75 tasting menu provided many options and the rack of lamb was good- The cocktails were good - The food was striving to be outstanding but haven't made it yet -

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We spent a very quiet and cozy evening. ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

We spent a very quiet and cozy evening. Good food, personnel really discrete, food was arriving in perfect time and possible to have a conversation without annoying noises or pushy service. Everything was just fine and we had really good time our last night in Montreal. I would certainly recommend it.

Tags: Authentic, Cozy, Romantic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

While planning our first visit to Montre ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

While planning our first visit to Montreal, we knew after reading restaurant reviews that we had to dine at Bonaparte. 5 star cuisine. every mouthful a delight to the palate! I definitely will return for another fabulous meal on my next visit.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Thought we saved best for last..What a m ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

Thought we saved best for last..What a mistake..Odered 4 soups GOT 3..Took 10 minutes before I said "cancel"..Everyone was already done. Order chops medium..Came RAW..Sent back..Another 10 minutes all others done..Mine just came..Gave each friend one chop since I would not delay them..Asked when I came in to bring a cake and some candle for friend anniversary..Never came..Coffee cold..waited over 10 minutes until hot came. Got bill and charged..At that time I also said "no anniversary cake?? Waiter then brough a ONE INCH cake with a candle !! On checking bill found out I was charged for 4 soups..Only 3 came !! Called manager..HE COULD NOT CANCEL my already approved charge..BUT he gave me some money back..OK for that.. What else could possibly go wrong?? Next time go to Moishes and Gilbys..

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.