About Bonaparte

443 rue St-Francois-Xavier
Montreal, QC H2Y 2T1
View Larger Map

Trois salles différentes l'une de l'autre et bien décorées,
dans la sobriété du style Empire qui a marqué l'époque napoléonienne,
donnant au restaurant un lustre d'intimité que les convives apprécient toujours.
La cuisine du Bonaparte est tout sourire, basée sur la fraîcheur des produits. /
Three delightfully decorated halls in the Empire style that dominated
the Napoleonic era give the restaurant the intimate character
that guests treasure. An exquisite cuisine, prepared with French savoir-faire
and showcasing the finest fresh regional products.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
French

Hours of Operation:
Monday through Friday, open for breakfast, lunch and dinner,
Saturdays and Sundays, open for breakfast and dinner.

Cross Street:
Notre-Dame

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(514) 844-4368

Website:
http://www.restaurantbonaparte.com/

Parking Details:
Trois stationnements privés à proximité
Three private parking lot nearby

Public Transit:
Station de métro Place d'Armes
Place D'Armers Metro station

Executive Chef:
Gérard Fort

Private Party Facilities:
Salle privée pour groupe de 15 à 20 personnes et de 50 à 70 personnes

Private room for group of 15 to 20 persons and from 50 to 70 persons

Private Party Contact:
Maryse Leblond: 514-844-3510x

Additional:
Beer, Fireplace, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Bonaparte Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Montreal / Quebec
Best Food
Montreal / Quebec
Best Service
Montreal / Quebec
11 More
Best Value
Montreal / Quebec
Romantic
Montreal / Quebec
French
Montreal / Quebec
Best Overall
Montreal
Best Food
Montreal
Best Service
Montreal
Best Ambiance
Montreal
Best Value
Montreal
Romantic
Montreal
Special Occasion
Montreal
French
Montreal
Best Restaurants in Old Montreal ›

special occasion (145)
romantic (125)
fit for foodies (101)
See All
notable wine list (83)
neighborhood gem (55)
good for groups (23)
great for lunch (14)
hot spot (11)
late-night find (9)
great for outdoor dining (8)
scenic view (5)
great for brunch (4)
kid-friendly (3)
vibrant bar scene (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1393 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Bonaparte looks small from the outside, ...

vip
Dined 4 days ago

Bonaparte looks small from the outside, next to a small hotel in the Old City of Montreal. But inside it has several rooms, each one big enough to avoid self-consciousness and small enough to seem intimate. Our waiter was enthusiastic and knowledgeable. The venison terrine was very good, even to my wife, who is not a game eater. The lamb and beef entres were excellent. We will certainly come back.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5

Service was great and they paid attentio ...

Dined 5 days ago

Service was great and they paid attention to my comments and the special occasion. Food was very good with attention paid to local vegetables. Wine was a bit less glorious.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Traditional French food done to perfecti ...

Dined 5 days ago

Traditional French food done to perfection. No complaints here! Great ambiance and one of the best dinners I've had in a long time. Mushroom ravioli was amazing and whoever came up with the idea of fois gras creme brule is a genius!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent meal

Dined 5 days ago

Food was outstanding. Very good service. Smoked Duck appetizer was delicious. Lobster stew was a big hit with us.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Tremendous restaurant in a Fabulous hotel

Dined on May 15, 2016

My wife and I both had the tasting menu, but we tried to select diferent items from a course. We then tasted each other's choices and doubled our wonderful experience. Everything was delicious and prepared to perfection. The loster bisque was loaded with flavor. The foie gras creme brulee was ss smooth as silk, and we couldn't stop raving about the mushroom ravioli. And we weren't even to the main course. The wife said the dover sole was excellent. I was equally pleased with the duck breast in maple. Finished with some tadty desserts and coffee, of course. Our best dining experience in four nights of Montreal with very attentive service as a bonus.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A real gem previous reviews were correct ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

A real gem previous reviews were correct As food was exquisite. Excellent wait staff. Meal was highlight of trip to lovely Montreal.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, great environment

Dined on May 12, 2016

I loved this restaurant. The food is great as well as the service (which is excelent) and a romantic mildly quiet environment. Can't wait to go back.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

elegant pre-theatre dining

Dined on May 10, 2016

Bonaparte was a favourite many years ago but we had not returned for some years. Arriving for a pre-theatre dinner we were pleasantly surprised by the new elegant interior which managed to preserve some of the old ambiance while being more spacious and modern and bright. The menu was interesting and varied, including a pre-theatre table d'hôte but we went a la carte after informing our waiter we were going on to the show. We were however already a little anxious as it took 20 minutes after we were given the menus (promptly) to give our order. The wait continued ... In all it was 50 minutes before we got our starters which removed the time buffer which we had built into the pre-theatre timing. The main courses arrived a bit more promptly but we had no time for dessert and only a quick coffee while the bill was organized. The food was worth waiting for, a delicious, smooth and tasty lobster bisque; a "shrimp and scallop harmony" which was indeed harmonious. A main scallop dish was very delicately flavoured with truffle oil and its accompanying mushroom fricassee was heavenly. The lobster salad had plenty of lobster and was nicely dressed but a little underwhelming in comparison with the other dishes. White wine in a 500ml format came in a carafe and needing chilling but was then a good accompaniment

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We were 4 in our party. We ordered from ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

We were 4 in our party. We ordered from the "theatre" special. Each one of us enjoyed our choice, our waiter was friendly and service great.

Tags: special occasion
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

fair at best, bartender is an amateur,

Dined on May 7, 2016

service was fair at best, It was like the air was suckrd out of the room, bartender was akuard at best, unsure, untalented,

Tags: good for groups, romantic
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

classic and classy French cuisine

Dined on May 5, 2016

I selected Bonaparte from a long list of highly recommended French restaurants in Montreal, mainly because it was close to my hotel, but also, because other reviews were very good. There was no disappointment. The warm welcome and ambiance, a professional service, and most off all, the food, were very good. My choice of dishes was classically French: onion soup, duck breast and creme brulee and I enjoyed all of them. I would go back to Bonaparte on my next trip to Montreal and I highly recommend it.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

A+ Food with great hosts

Dined on May 4, 2016

We visited Bonapart as an Anniversary dinner and were greeted warmly by the hosts as well as given great service. The food was served quite fast as we arrived before the masses - but even if there is a wait - it is definitely worth it. The appetizers were great and the meet was just to die for. The list of wine will definitely have something for anyone ranging from moderate prices to outstanding depending on the tastes and interests - but that is not a bad thing. To each their own, we were able to find ourselves a suitable bottle for two without giving up an arm and a leg. Bonapart definitely feels like it should cater groups of 2-4 better than larger ones, however, I am sure they manage fine for bigger ones. Depending on the guests around - it is normally fairly quiet and the ambience is nice. Hosts check up on you regularly to see if you need anything as well as refill your drinks accordingly - both wine and water. A+ experience will definitely return. Hidden Gem in Old Montreal. Do not be deceived by it being a "Hotel" Restaurant.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Birthday dinner

Dined on May 4, 2016

Excellent experience from start to finish Booking and confirmation easy Welcome excellent as was the service throughout the meal The food was really good I would find it difficult to fault in any way

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Bonaparte

Dined on April 30, 2016

When we first visited Bonaparte in prior to their renovation in March 2015, we were not disappointed with the food and service. During our recent visit. This year we were in on a busy Saturday night. On this recent visit I found they are trying to accommodate more guess by adding extra tables very close to each other. This of course has increased the noise level significantly to the point it was difficult to hold a conversation with my wife. Having the tables closer has also made it difficult for staff to navigate their way around the guess.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Excellent from beginning to

Dined on April 30, 2016

Excellent from start to finish!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

Food & Service

Dined on April 27, 2016

I would definitely recommend this restaurant to any one visiting Montreal. I eat here every time I am in the city. However, I have an issue with their service. Waiters do not seem to have sufficient training, because they do not know how to place plates on the table. I have seen them extending their arms in order the customer's opposite side, instead of just walking a couple of steps. My believe is that this restaurant with outstanding food, does have a frequent turnover, and hire waiters with little or no experience, and this for sure is damaging Bonaparte's reputation.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Very attentive and welcoming service. Fr ...

Dined on April 26, 2016

Very attentive and welcoming service. French dining can be intimidating but we felt taken care of from the moment we walked in the door.

food5
ambience5
service5

It was really a great place for a romant ...

Dined on April 23, 2016

It was really a great place for a romantic dinner . I must say that the food was awesome but for me; as a wine person , I wanted a much older wine . The oldest wine available was 2011 wine .That I was not happy about .

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fantastic food and service!

Dined on April 22, 2016

We had never been to Montreal, and this was our first meal in the city. All of the other restaurants afterwards were compared to Bonaparte and could not meet our expectations!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food, great atmosphere and our se ...

vip
Dined on April 21, 2016

Great food, great atmosphere and our server Katherine was amazing

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Classic French

Dined on April 21, 2016

This restaurant is located right in the heart of the Montreal Old Town and is truly a traditional French classic establishment. The food, wine selection and service are excellent.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful

Dined on April 19, 2016

I have dined at this restaurant several times before, it is always excellent. Whenever I am in Canada, I try to eat here. This time I brought my niece with me and of course, she loved it too. The staff is very polite and helpful. Ambiance is very nice.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food fit for an Emperor!

Dined on April 18, 2016

Recommended by Fodors guide to Montreal, Bonaparte is truly a dining experience. Don't go expecting to find any bargains, however. It is expensive. But the service was superb without being intrusive, the wine list was dauntingly large but had several bottles of good value, and the food (we had the full tasting menu!) was all that it was cracked up to be--outstanding. Again, not cheap so every night dining is probably not in the cards, but each time we are in Montreal, you can bet that we will be dining at Bonaparte. Even Josephine would be impressed, and she really did not like the little guy much!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

Phenomenal service, food better than average

Dined on April 17, 2016

The service here is phenomenal - friendly, genuine, attentive. The ambiance is warm but a little older style whereas I prefer more modern ( just a personal preference). Food is good but it didn't knock my socks off. Wine list is quite nice - good selection of quality wines and they offer older vintages at an affordable price (approx. 2x markup).

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place for a special dinner

Dined on April 17, 2016

Very nice restaurant with a diverse menu. I tried some items I had not tried before. I enjoyed all I tried though some items worked better than others for my tastes. We had a wonderful time and would strongly recommend for a special dinner. As for service, we were well served. Food came at an excellent pace. We were not rushed nor did we wait long times. Drinks were replenished on a timely basis. Assistance was present but not overbearing.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Extraordinary Meal - Unforgettable

Dined on April 16, 2016

My girlfriend and I took a trip to Montreal to celebrate her birthday and found this excellent French restaurant just a block from the historic Notre Dame Cathedral. From the appetizers to our entrees everything was clearly fresh and sourced locally because it was a culinary home run. The wine offerings are extensive and we drank a very fine French red that was priced right and was exceptional. The apple crisp was by far the best we have ever tasted and blew us both away. We are already planning to take another trip to this Montreal and will absolutely make Bonaparte Restaurant the first place we will dine! We stayed a the hotel and the breakfast (included with the room) was excellent and far better than what we normally get when staying in a hotel that offers it. Do yourself a favor and try Bonaparte Restaurant!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Never disappoints!

Dined on April 14, 2016

Great food, service, ambience. Perfect pairing for an evening at the Centaur Theatre.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service4

Superb tasting menu! Standout dishes inc ...

Dined on April 13, 2016

Superb tasting menu! Standout dishes include foie gras creme brulee, mushroom ravioli, and seafood with vanilla.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent experience

Dined on April 4, 2016

Food, ambiance, service and wine list was very good and our party thoroughly enjoyed our dinner. We will be pleased to recommend it and have plans to return

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful experience

Dined on April 4, 2016

I was in town for a visit and dined here. I had the menu dégustation. All the courses were delicious. The staff was very courteous and attentive. My French is horrible! Fortunately they were fluent in English. It was a great experience and look forward to returning in the future.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

This was an excellent venue! I recommend ...

Dined on April 3, 2016

This was an excellent venue! I recommend it to anyone!

food5
ambience5
service5

You really can not beat this restaurant.

vip
Dined on April 2, 2016

You really can not beat this restaurant.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Food

Dined on April 1, 2016

Excellent food with high quality service. Found this restaurant by accident during our last visit. Had an excellent lunch so this time returned for dinner which we really enjoyed as well.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

One of the best.

vip
Dined on March 31, 2016

One of the best.

food5
ambience5
service5

So good we came back a few times before ...

vip
Dined on March 31, 2016

So good we came back a few times before we left for nyc.

food5
ambience5
service5

This restaurant is amazing - one of the ...

vip
Dined on March 28, 2016

This restaurant is amazing - one of the best dining experiences that I've had in a while. The food was perfect and the service and atmosphere was absolutely lovely. Even if you are not into wines, I would recommend taking a look at the wine list because they have a list that is extremely impressive. I never write reviews but this restaurant was totally deserving of one!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent Restaurant

Dined on March 27, 2016

One of our best culinary experience ever! From the ambiance, to the service, to great food quality and reasonable cost, this restaurant is one the best we have experienced in our lifetimes. We highly recommend Bonaparte for couples and special occasions.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

The food is great!!

Dined on March 26, 2016

The whole dinner took about 3.5 hr. The waiting time between each courses is kinda long. However, their food is amazing!

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Excellent food and service. A bit on th ...

Dined on March 25, 2016

Excellent food and service. A bit on the pricey side, but well worth the money. Lobster stew was delicious as was the dover sole. 2 soups, 2:entrees, 2 desserts, 1/2 bottle wine, tax and tip was a little over 200. Canadian

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great Food!

Dined on March 25, 2016

2nd time I've been here and I'll come back my next time in Montreal. Great food and great service.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.