About Bonaparte

443 rue St-Francois-Xavier
Montreal, QC H2Y 2T1
View Larger Map

Trois salles différentes l'une de l'autre et bien décorées,
dans la sobriété du style Empire qui a marqué l'époque napoléonienne,
donnant au restaurant un lustre d'intimité que les convives apprécient toujours.
La cuisine du Bonaparte est tout sourire, basée sur la fraîcheur des produits. /
Three delightfully decorated halls in the Empire style that dominated
the Napoleonic era give the restaurant the intimate character
that guests treasure. An exquisite cuisine, prepared with French savoir-faire
and showcasing the finest fresh regional products.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
French

Hours of Operation:
Monday through Friday, open for breakfast, lunch and dinner,
Saturdays and Sundays, open for breakfast and dinner.

Cross Street:
Notre-Dame

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(514) 844-4368

Website:
http://www.restaurantbonaparte.com/

Parking Details:
Trois stationnements privés à proximité
Three private parking lot nearby

Public Transit:
Station de métro Place d'Armes
Place D'Armers Metro station

Executive Chef:
Gérard Fort

Private Party Facilities:
Salle privée pour groupe de 15 à 20 personnes et de 50 à 70 personnes

Private room for group of 15 to 20 persons and from 50 to 70 persons

Private Party Contact:
Maryse Leblond: 514-844-3510x

Additional:
Beer, Fireplace, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Mushroom Ravioli
Lobster Bisque
Pear And Champagne Sorbet
Creme Brule Duck Fois Gras
Beef Medalion
Cheesecake
Filet Mignon
Palate Cleanser With Pear And Tarragon Sorbet
Butter Lettuce Salad With Goat Cheese Grape Truffles
Mushroom ravioli in cream sauce
Kir Royale
Creme Caramel
Tilapia A La Sauce Au Buerre
Duo Of Fois Gras, Creme Brulee And Terrine, Sauted Apples And Brioche

Bonaparte Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Montreal / Quebec
Best Service
Montreal / Quebec
Best Ambiance
Montreal / Quebec
12 More
Best Value
Montreal / Quebec
Romantic
Montreal / Quebec
French
Montreal / Quebec
Most Booked
Montreal / Quebec
Best Overall
Montreal
Best Service
Montreal
Best Ambiance
Montreal
Best Value
Montreal
Romantic
Montreal
Special Occasion
Montreal
French
Montreal
Most Booked
Montreal
Best Restaurants in Old Montreal ›

special occasion (179)
romantic (154)
fit for foodies (133)
See All
notable wine list (109)
neighborhood gem (61)
good for groups (31)
great for lunch (22)
hot spot (16)
scenic view (12)
late-night find (8)
kid-friendly (4)
great for outdoor dining (1)
great for brunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1472 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I had been here before many years ago an ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 3 days ago

I had been here before many years ago and loved. This time however not the same feeling. We had a 9:30 reservation cause they supposedly very booked. We got there and there was many empty tables. The staff was unbelievable slow. Took over 2 1/2 hrs. Plus half way thru or server left for the evening. We eventually said we need our check NOW! Probably would have been there way past midnight if we weren't forceful. The food was ok not worth the cost. Sad cause years ago I remember it being better and you got more food. I was actually hugry after our meal. Won't go back again.

Tags: romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value2

We each had the tasting menu which was e ...

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined 3 days ago

We each had the tasting menu which was excellent, and the service was even better, the best we've ever had. Would love to go again the next time we're in Montreal

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Beautiful experience from the start to f ...

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined 3 days ago

Beautiful experience from the start to finish. Jason was friendly, knowledgable, helpful and witty. We ordered off the Table d'hôte, which was well priced as it was unbelievably delicious. After diner was a short walk to watch the fireworks to complete the perfect evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Hidden down a side street in Old Montrea ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined 4 days ago

Hidden down a side street in Old Montreal, Bonaparte was everything I hoped it would be. Our server was friendly and helpful and made us feel welcome. You have 3 choices of menus; a tasting menu, set menu or a la carte. We chose a la carte and both started with a soup - me with the lobster bisque and her with the French onion. It was a great way to start the meal. Not too heavy, but absolutely delicious.

For our mains we stuck with the seafood theme. I had the Lobster stew which has a vanilla and wine sauce that is just incredible. 'Stew' is a bit of a stretch to describe this delicious mixture of flavours and textures but you won't be disappointed. Our other main was the scallop delight which had juicy medallions of scallops on a bed of mushrooms.

We finished up with Blueberry Cheesecake and Bavarois. Again, both were delicious and finished the evening beautifully. Our server was part of the experience and she helped us make some great wine choices and keep us smiling throughout the meal. Well done to Bonaparte on a classic dining experience. We loved it and it will be on our must-do list whenever we come back to Montreal.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Table service was both charming and frie ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined 5 days ago

Table service was both charming and friendly. Degustation menu was OK, lacked invention/surprise but perhaps my expectations were wrong. Deserts were the highlight yet didn't match what is possible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Charming setting with outstanding food a ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined 5 days ago

Charming setting with outstanding food and service. Highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great French Canadian cuisine, classy bu ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Great French Canadian cuisine, classy but not pretentious. A real joy.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent restaurant overall. Food was ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Excellent restaurant overall. Food was superb. Ambiance perfect. Service was slow, however. It took three hours to get through dinner.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

We enjoyed a wonderful evening of excell ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

We enjoyed a wonderful evening of excellent service and delicious food at this lovely restaurant. Every course was beautifully presented and full of flavor. Our waiter, Frederic, was so gracious and helpful, and the rest of the wait staff served and cleared plates in a timely manner. We look forward to our next visit!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This ranks as one of the 5 best meals I ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

This ranks as one of the 5 best meals I have ever had. My parents raised me on fine dining and, at 65, I have dined in several high end restaurants. The restaurant is elegant with a true European feel. Service was superb. The wine list is extensive with fine wines up to $7.700 (I did not choose that one). The menu offers a prix fix, degustation, and a la carte. My wife had an excellent mushroom ravioli that was excellent as was my rustic pate. She then had a perfectly prepared filet with a peppercorn sauce. My duck breast could not have been better. Presentation was perfect. The dessert selection was extensive and, again, beautifully prepared. It is expensive but, despite this, well worth it. I would definitely return.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was fine but what really stood ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

The food was fine but what really stood out for us was the attentive wait staff. We had a lovely dinner.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great spot in Old Montreal to enjoy a sp ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Great spot in Old Montreal to enjoy a special meal. We tried the testing menu for $74 and had a chance to savor just the right portion of some of their most popular menu items. There are 6 courses included in this tasting menu and you select from 2-3 options for each course.

Next time I go I want to make sure I order off of the menu. I liked the testing menu, but I am anxious to try some of their fabulous desserts such as the grand marnier soufflé .

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

EXCELLENT FOOD, SURROUNDINGS AND STAFF. ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

EXCELLENT FOOD, SURROUNDINGS AND STAFF. BEING ENGLISH SPEAKERS IN A FRENCH RESTAURANT IN MONTREAL WE WERE PUT AT EASE BY THE FULLY BILINGUAL STAFF. GENEROUS PORTIONS FOR A FRENCH RESTAURANT. NAPOLEON HIMSELF WOULD BE PROUD. WELL DONE. I WISH YOU'D OPEN A BRANCH IN NEW YORK CITY.

Tags: romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I had a very enjoyable Fre ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

My wife and I had a very enjoyable French dining experience at Bonaparte! We could have chosen better restaurant for celebrating our first anniversary and first trip to Montreal. The food was absolutely delectable from the "Tasting Menu" which included to name a few lobster bisque with ginger, creme brule with duck froie gras with baked apples, lamb chops to the white port wine. The wait staff was very personable and I loved every moment !

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our waiter was perfect. Friendly, helpfu ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Our waiter was perfect. Friendly, helpful, but unobtrusive. The food exceeded my expectations. Duck done perfectly. Veal chop moist and flavorful. My hat's off to the chef. Enjoyed a wonderful wine that was reasonably priced. Great assortment of interesting veges - purple carrots, etc. - also done right. Always a little anxious about dining in a "tourist" area, but this is a gem. The slight on the ambiance was not under their control - construction on the street. I would not hesitate to visit the next time I'm in Montreal.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We always have lunch at Bonaparte on our ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

We always have lunch at Bonaparte on our visits to Montreal. The lunch Table d'hote is an incredible value for the food quality, service and atmosphere. The rabbit appetizer was phenomenal and the hanger steak entree was tasty and tender. The dessert add on for $3 is a no brainer.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Didn't disappoint. Would definitely come ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Didn't disappoint. Would definitely come back the next time I am in town

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Six course meal was outstanding with ver ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Six course meal was outstanding with very nice variety of choices. Quality of food and service was very good leading to an overall very positive dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

This place is superb! I travel a bit an ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

This place is superb! I travel a bit and this was one of the best meals I have had. Wine list is tremendous...service was impeccable....food was outstanding.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excelente service! Food was really good!

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Excelente service! Food was really good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Food was excellent, service was very go ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Food was excellent, service was very good , but the kitchen was slow again. We go to this restaurant once a year in July, we live in the US. This is the second year when their timing was slow. 30 minutes from appetizer to the main course is too long.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

The experience was wonderful and the foo ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

The experience was wonderful and the food very good. In my opinion the tables were a little close and the prices a touch high.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Absolutely delicious! Highly attentive a ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Absolutely delicious! Highly attentive and knowledgable staff. Server Fredrick was tremendous! Can't wait to get back to this long-standing gem in Old Town Montreal.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazing. The only word to describe the r ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Amazing. The only word to describe the restaurant. The food was impeccable, our waiter, Frederic, was warm, knowledgeable, funny and made us feel quite welcome, the restaurant itself is in an adorable location and beautiful inside and out. The next time we go to Montreal we will definitely be visiting again.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely one of the best meals we have ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Absolutely one of the best meals we have ever had-- and we have had many good ones. Ordered from the Menu Degustation and it was superb.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our server Catherine was AMAZING. Such a ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Our server Catherine was AMAZING. Such a great night out on the town. Thank you!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Decent food out there, a little bit expe ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Decent food out there, a little bit expensive. However you get what you pay for it.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We celebrated an anniversary at Bonapart ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

We celebrated an anniversary at Bonapart's and it was perfect! Our server, Catherine, was absolutely wonderful providing us with amazing service. We each had the tasting menu which we paired with several of the wines sold by the glass to get the best experience. The mushroom ravioli was magnificent, delicate but with great flavour. I had the duck breast and my partner had the filet mignon both of which were cooked to perfection. We would absolutely return to Bonapart's and have already recommended it to friends and family.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was quite good. The only prob ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Everything was quite good. The only problem that I had was that I ordered the fish over pasta and felt it was quite skimpy. For $35, there was 1 scallop, 2 shrimp, and two tiny pieces of fish. Mostly pasta which of course is filling. Would not recommend. Other than that, the meal was lovely.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

The food was spectacular for what the re ...

vip
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

The food was spectacular for what the restaurant was advertised to be. I had the best scallop of my life there, as part of the tasting menu, and some excellent desserts. I recommend the tasting menu for sure! If you are looking for a French restaurant experience, this is it! It was not as pretentious as we first feared, and in fact turned out to be a bit of a fun experiment. Would we go back? Probably not, but that's only because we like more exciting flavour profiles. And there are so many other restaurants in Montreal to try when you're an out-of-towner.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

I had requested a private table for my f ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

I had requested a private table for my fiancées birthday, my request was met with the perfect table with great street view of old Montreal. The service was impeccable and food great.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

We eat from the taster menu with matched ...

 
 (Kent)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

We eat from the taster menu with matched wines, which was excellent, with very good service and a delightful atmosphere.

Tags: fit for foodies, romance, neighbourhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Visited Bonaparte's for lunch with frien ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Visited Bonaparte's for lunch with friends to celebrate a birthday. First time going for lunch, since I always have gone for dinner. Both the service and food were excellent. While there are many other Montreal restaurants to visit during the summer, with outdoor dining, Bonaparte's didn't disappoint. We had a delightful window seat and enjoyed the quiet ambience indoors.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and great service. Ambian ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Excellent food and great service. Ambiance was relaxing. We loved everything we ordered. Nice wine list too. A must visit while staying in Montreal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was great, wine was exceptional. Wi ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Food was great, wine was exceptional. Will definitely go back next time we are in Montreal.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent dinner and service. Creme bru ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Excellent dinner and service. Creme brulee/foie gras and game terrine appetizers and duck confit & lamb really good, lobster salad ok, creme brulee dessert superior. Went back for breakfast the next morning which was also excellent - fruit dish somewhat small. Bonaparte has an excellent gluten free sliced bread - best I have ever had.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

the service, food quality, knowledge and ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

the service, food quality, knowledge and friendliness of both servers was exceptional

the online reservation was handled promptly and correctly

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife ordered the cod and it was outst ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

My wife ordered the cod and it was outstanding. I ordered the steak and was disappointed. The steak itself was tender but lacked any great taste, if it wasn't for the sauce over the steak it would have been a bust. The chocolate mousse was delicious. Service was very good. There was quite a lot of noise which took away from the ambiance. Overall a nice evening out.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

This was an amazing restaurant with fant ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

This was an amazing restaurant with fantastic traditional French food and incredible service

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The prix fixe menu at $39.95CAD for 3 co ...

 
 (Southwest FL)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

The prix fixe menu at $39.95CAD for 3 courses is an incredible deal. The choices are wonderful, the servings are more than adequate. The wine list even has some reasonably (for Montreal) priced wines. This is an excellent dining choice in Vieux Montreal.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.