About Bon Appetit

150 Marina Plaza
Dunedin, FL 34698
View Larger Map

This landmark Dunedin Restaurant offers casual waterfront dining in a sophisticated but relaxed setting; stunning waterfront views of St. Joseph Sound, Honeymoon and Caledesi Islands. Chef Stephen has created a menu to showcase weekly specials, comfort food creations, and seasonal temptations to tantalize the most sophisticated of diners, all in addittion to the regular menu. Enjoy alfresco dining at the Marina Terrace Café with the same menu and phenomenal views and sunsets. Please visit us for our All New "New Orleans Bistro Brunch." Inspired from the city that started the brunch movement. Enjoy classic New Orleans food and drinks while listening to jazz played on our baby grand piano.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Modern European, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast - Daily: 7:00am - 9:30am
Lunch - Daily: 11:30am - 4:00pm,
Dinner - Nightly: 4:00pm - 9:00pm (4:00pm - 10:00pm Friday and Saturday)
Brunch - Sunday: 11:30am - 4:00pm

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(727) 733-2151

Website:
http://www.bonappetitrestaurant.com/

Entertainment:
Thursday through Sunday: Piano 6:00pm-9:00pm
Listen to pianist Kathy Roberts play a variety of music on our baby grand piano. Requests welcome!

Parking Details:
- Private Lot
- Complimentary Valet

Executive Chef:
Stephen Farquhar

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Dancing, Entertainment, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Mussels
  • Fish and Chips
  • Seared Ahi Tuna
  • Burger with Tomato, Onion and Lettuce
  • Firecracker Shrimp
  • Bruschetta with Prosciutto, Arugula & Honey
  • Red Snapper
Mussels
Fish and Chips
Seared Ahi Tuna
Burger with Tomato, Onion and Lettuce
Firecracker Shrimp
Bruschetta with Prosciutto, Arugula & Honey
Red Snapper

Specials

Thanksgiving Dinner Special Menus & Offers

Thursday, November 24, 2016

Specials

Thanksgiving Dinner Special Menus & Offers

Thursday, November 24, 2016

Details

Thanksgiving on the Water! Please select EITHER our 4 course plated dinner (with a choice of entree) OR our buffet. Both menus will be $65 per person.

Bon Appetit Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Scenic View
Tampa / Central Florida West
Best Ambiance
Clearwater
Romantic
Clearwater
2 More
Special Occasion
Clearwater
Most Booked
Clearwater
Best Restaurants in Dunedin ›

Scenic View (79)
Special Occasion (69)
Romantic (51)
See All
Great for Outdoor Dining (43)
Fit for Foodies (31)
Neighborhood Gem (26)
Great for Lunch (26)
Good for Groups (22)
Waterfront (20)
Great for Brunch (18)
Notable Wine List (18)
Good for a Date (12)
Worth the Drive (10)
Vibrant Bar Scene (10)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Good for Anniversaries (9)
Hot Spot (8)
Live Music (5)
Late-night Find (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Kid-friendly (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Authentic (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Casual (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Fun (1)
Cozy (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Healthy (1)
Business Meals (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Family Style (1)
Historic (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1208 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

First visit. Met friends for sunset dinn ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined 3 days ago

First visit. Met friends for sunset dinner. Sunset was gorgeous and food did not disappoint. Prosciutto baguette delicious! Lots of lobster options on menu.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Disabled Access, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Waterfront, Live Music, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was my wife's birthday. I made the re ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined 4 days ago

It was my wife's birthday. I made the reservation via Open Table. I requested a good table for the occasion. It was my first time visiting Bon Appetit and I have lived in the area for over 30 years. Everything was excellent (food, service-EVERYTHING including a beautiful sunset on the water. If you haven't been then I say reserve a table 30 mins. before sunset. BON APPETIT my friends.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good Vegetarian Options, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent as always.

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Excellent as always.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I went to Bon Appetite for lunch with ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

I went to Bon Appetite for lunch with family. We had a wonderful time. The food was excellent, the atmosphere was peaceful.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was average, I would recommend othe ...

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Food was average, I would recommend other places for same price and much better food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

My wife and I had our wedding reception ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

My wife and I had our wedding reception here (under prior ownership & a different name) 45 years ago. So we came back for our Anniversary and were delighted that the waterfront view, beautiful sunset and ambiance were every bit as good as we remembered. We won't wait that long to come back! Highly recommend.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Live Music, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Disabled Access, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

We went for a special birthday celebrati ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

We went for a special birthday celebration with older parents and were not disappointed. Food was delicious - piano music quite nice - view was spectacular. Though we went early evening, it would be a fantastic locale for sunsets.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Live Music, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Disabled Access, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The location of the restaurant is great. ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

The location of the restaurant is great. The food and service was absolutely wonderful. Our waiter was very accommodating, the hostess seated us at a table with an amazing ocean view and I was very happy to have chosen this restaurant to celebrate an anniversary. The only issue that I really had was the temperature inside of the restaurant. The A/C just wasn't cutting it on this very hot Florida day and the sun beaming in made it a little extra uncomfortable. One employee adjusted the blinds to remedy the latter of the two issues. The food is quite pricey but worth it for a special occasion. We both ordered lobster dishes and were happy with our choices. I will be back again, I'm sure. Bon Appetit!

Tags: Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

The service was impeccable and you can't ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

The service was impeccable and you can't beat the ambiance with the sunset views over the gulf and piano player in the background. I would like to see more vegan options on the menu rather than just grilled veggies.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Ate inside next to window so had a nice ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Ate inside next to window so had a nice view of the patio and boats. The bearnaise sauce was flavorless and watery. We liked the french onion soup however it had too many herbs. Three tables away a child would scream occasionally at the top of his lungs. He wasn't crying but screaming! We should have dined outside on the patio but we thought it would be too warm.

Tags: Historic, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

Love it here Stuart is awesome very rela ...

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Love it here Stuart is awesome very relaxed the best

Dover sole in the Tampa Bay Area

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We dine here fairly often mostly for fam ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

We dine here fairly often mostly for family groups and special occasions. We have always received great service, great food and we really enjoy the outside patio. Our family also enjoys the experience.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Family Style, Scenic View, Handcrafted Cocktails, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Disappointed that there was no choice of ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Disappointed that there was no choice of starch on the plate. The potato croquet was very dry and had a strange taste.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

This wasn't our first visit to Bon Apeti ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

This wasn't our first visit to Bon Apetit but surely the first with such a bad experience. We were celebrating my wife birthdaybirthday, we mentioned to our waiter and he totally ignored the sign.. At the dessert time he brought everyone's dessert and I had to called him back request a birthday candle to stick it in my wife's tiramisu, he definitely forgot to mentioned to the chef for a happy birthday to written on her plate something that even the most cheapest restaurant would have done, we were a party of 4 and our check was over $300.00 plus tip. The lobster bisque was watery, not creamy at all, we ordered surf and turf and filet waswasn't good seasoned, my daughter ordered salmon and it wasn't good either.. The piano player left before we finish eating as welI as the rest of people.. In fact.. This was worst service that we have had at this restaurant.... 😪😪

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

We had a wonderful evening at Bon Appeti ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

We had a wonderful evening at Bon Appetit. The service was outstanding and the food was delicious. The water views were an added bonus.m, making our special occasion even more special.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Pre/post Theatre, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Healthy, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Waterfront, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The view is incredible. The service was ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

The view is incredible. The service was very good and the food was as well. Recommended!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Our friend took us there and we had no i ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Our friend took us there and we had no idea this restaurant even existed. A welcome surprise.

Tags: Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service and food are 5 star. The dining ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

Service and food are 5 star. The dining rooms have a view of the bay and there is outdoor seating as well. There is an outdoor bar, casual, conveniently located in the front of the restaurant

The sunsets are phenomenal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was excellent, service was great, n ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Food was excellent, service was great, nice waterfront view, and noise level reduced as the night went on. At first it was a full house so noise level was understandable. This was my second visit and I will recommend to my friends.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great dinner! Delicious food. I ordered ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Great dinner! Delicious food. I ordered the main lobster dinner and it was awesome. Great creme brûlée and key lime pie. We will definitely be back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The Lobster Fest was great. Maine lobste ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

The Lobster Fest was great. Maine lobsters at a reasonable price and can't beat the view

Tags: Worth the Drive, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Hostess did not seat us by the window,as ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Hostess did not seat us by the window,as I had requested!.. We changed to a window table as there were several available. Lobster was wonderful!

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Our meal experience was very nice. The m ...

 
 (East Tennessee)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Our meal experience was very nice. The menu is not huge but the entrees were varied enough to have something for most anyone. Seafood (of course), steaks (filet mignon), soups, salads, nice selection of appetizers and a decent wine list were all present. They had a special 3-course "package" so my wife and I choose this...she had the filet and I had a delicious salmon entree. Both were well prepared and presented nicely. Both, although not the absolute best we've ever had, certainly ranked near the top in taste and flavor. Even the locally-made rolls were great! Dessert (came with meal) consisted of a small mousse (flavor your choice) served in a cute little glass "vase". We loved 'em.

The service was adequate but not exceptional. Our server was quite busy but still handled our needs in reasonable time for the evening dinner time period. The restaurant was nearly full most of the time (Sat. evening), but they still accommodated patrons without reservations. Seating is available inside (with huge glass windows to view the water), or on an outer deck, complete with separate bar seating.

Overall, it was a nice evening. No surprises and our expectations were definitely met. The place should also be a nice setting for a casual lunch with friends or family and we'll probably go back sometime to give that a try.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

The bar is outside, not in the restauran ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

The bar is outside, not in the restaurant, so it isn't that noisy in the restaurant. We had a great waiter, fantastic food and a beautiful view.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had an overall enjoyable evening - wi ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

We had an overall enjoyable evening - with a beautiful sunset through the windows -

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The view is absolutely spectacular! If y ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

The view is absolutely spectacular! If you go at dinner time you can see the sunset.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Bon Appetit at the marina in Dunedin, FL ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Bon Appetit at the marina in Dunedin, FL is one of the very best restaurants we have visited, the food was cooked and presented perfectly, the staff were friendly and engaged in interesting conversation, a superb pianist and to top it all - what a view!!

It really was a memorable highlight of our holiday, so good in fact that on the way out we booked again for our last night, when we were given a waterfront table and the evening was every bit as good as our first visit.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I arrived early with my Family to the re ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

I arrived early with my Family to the restaurant, even thought was after I construction site, it was not difficult to reach the place. Once there we mention our reservation number and we were direct it to our table near to a sea side view on a gorgeous blue sky day. The personnnel include it the manager were very friendly and helpful and we enjoyed every meal and time we spent there for my birthday.

I will definetly come back there and recommend it to a Family members and friends.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our favorite for special ocassions. 5 st ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Our favorite for special ocassions. 5 star in every area. Keep up the good work.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I took my niece and her husband ( from C ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

I took my niece and her husband ( from Canada) for a dinner. We truly enjoyed our evening. The food was perfectly done and delightfully delicious. The waiter was very attentive, knowledgeable and extremely courteous. The ambiance was just perfect, nice music from a young men playing the piano, a glorious scenery of the ocean. My guests loved the dining experience. My husband and I discovered this gem years ago and we go once a month.

Tags: Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful view, great food. Groupper was ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Wonderful view, great food. Groupper was excellent. Great service! Will go back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

They were not busy but the waiter was te ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

They were not busy but the waiter was terrible. Forgot my drink and long delay in food delivery. Other tables got their food before us and they ordered after. Pricey but food was pretty good. I'd recommend the black pearl if the view is not as important.

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value2

Spectacular food

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Spectacular food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

Excellent service , food and atmosphere ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

Excellent service , food and atmosphere , our experience was a pleasure and will return .

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were next to the piano . So it was ha ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

We were next to the piano . So it was hard to have a Conversation the food was good the service was good the maître d' that sat us needed to work on his personality We had put in reservations early so we actually expected a better table

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Overall pretty good experience. We celeb ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Overall pretty good experience. We celebrated a 90th birthday and had requested a table by a window, which wasn't met, sadly. Appetizers included scallops, French onion soup, shrimp cocktail, and chicken liver. All were well received. Lobster Roll was a hit. Lobster linguine is a pass - too "basic" of a dish - definitely get something else. Wish I had tried the smoked salmon with potato pancakes and apple coleslaw. Desserts were okay. They serve mini desserts in double shot glass type things. I had the peanut butter chocolate which was too much peanut butter and the chocolate cake/bread inside was very dry.

Drinks - 5 stars - good spicy Bloody Mary and chocolate martinis. If you want a Bellini ask for peach schnapps with champagne.

Service was pretty good; it was not a busy day yet - only a few tables - yet our waiter seemed to be forgetful at times. Very nice though and made up for it.

Would definitely go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Love the food, service is always great a ...

 
 (Switzerland)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Love the food, service is always great and the setting is wonderful! We always enjoy our visits at Bon Appetit!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Worst food we've ever had! My fillet Min ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Worst food we've ever had!

My fillet Minon tasted as if it had been boiled.

Apparently they don't believe in grilling fillet Minion, they actually cooked it on a flat bed grill. Asked for it grilled the second time and it was still horrible plus, the pasta Alfredo that came with it was recoiled in a frying pan so as not to waste it in their opinion,...instead of making it fresh. It was crispy from being fried!!! Can you believe that they're so cheap they had to fry my pasta instead of just doing a fresh new plate of food. My husband ordered the Veal chop medium. It came bloody, full of fat and nerve and veal shoul never look like that unless it's beef and no longer a young Veal. Even if it were beef St veal prices,... It should never look and taste that horrible.

The the new erregant Maitre D asked me how the meal was just as it was being set down on the table in front of me and when I responded, I don't know yet, he immediately lashed back at me with,... "What do you mean you don't know yet?" I explained that, one must first taste their food before they can give an opinion or tell you if it's ok .

That was just harassment as far as I was concerned.

No we will NEVER GO THERE AGAIN!

$150.00 for the worst food ever!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

We enjoyed the ambiance, the view and th ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

We enjoyed the ambiance, the view and the service. You will too.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We were a table of 5 on 7/23/16. There ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

We were a table of 5 on 7/23/16. There were two weddings that evening we did not know about. Restaurant was loud. Service was slow, as they were probably overwhelmed in back. Waiter made several mistakes, but probably couldn't hear us. Food was good, but nothing special. View is outstanding and the best attribute of Bon Appetit.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.