About Bon Appetit

150 Marina Plaza
Dunedin, FL 34698
View Larger Map

This landmark Dunedin Restaurant offers casual waterfront dining in a sophisticated but relaxed setting; stunning waterfront views of St. Joseph Sound, Honeymoon and Caledesi Islands. Chef Stephen has created a menu to showcase weekly specials, comfort food creations, and seasonal temptations to tantalize the most sophisticated of diners, all in addittion to the regular menu. Enjoy alfresco dining at the Marina Terrace Café with the same menu and phenomenal views and sunsets. Please visit us for our All New "New Orleans Bistro Brunch." Inspired from the city that started the brunch movement. Enjoy classic New Orleans food and drinks while listening to jazz played on our baby grand piano.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Modern European, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast - Daily: 7:00am - 9:30am
Lunch - Daily: 11:30am - 4:00pm,
Dinner - Nightly: 4:00pm - 9:00pm (4:00pm - 10:00pm Friday and Saturday)
Brunch - Sunday: 11:30am - 4:00pm

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(727) 733-2151

Website:
http://www.bonappetitrestaurant.com/

Entertainment:
Thursday through Sunday: Piano 6:00pm-9:00pm
Listen to pianist Kathy Roberts play a variety of music on our baby grand piano. Requests welcome!

Parking Details:
- Private Lot
- Complimentary Valet

Executive Chef:
Stephen Farquhar

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Dancing, Entertainment, Full Bar, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Mussels
  • Fish and Chips
  • Seared Ahi Tuna
  • Burger with Tomato, Onion and Lettuce
  • Firecracker Shrimp
  • Bruschetta with Prosciutto, Arugula & Honey
  • Red Snapper
Mussels
Fish and Chips
Seared Ahi Tuna
Burger with Tomato, Onion and Lettuce
Firecracker Shrimp
Bruschetta with Prosciutto, Arugula & Honey
Red Snapper

Bon Appetit Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Scenic View
Tampa / Central Florida West
Best Ambiance
Clearwater
Neighborhood Gem
Clearwater
3 More
Romantic
Clearwater
Special Occasion
Clearwater
Most Booked
Clearwater
Best Restaurants in Dunedin ›

scenic view (139)
special occasion (105)
great for outdoor dining (76)
See All
romantic (70)
great for lunch (52)
good for groups (51)
neighborhood gem (50)
fit for foodies (46)
great for brunch (37)
vibrant bar scene (20)
notable wine list (19)
hot spot (10)
kid-friendly (9)
late-night find (5)
Sort By:
Newest
1147 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

one of our favorite dinning do for spec ...

Dined 3 days ago

one of our favorite dinning do for special occasions

Tags: romantic, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife took me there for Father's Day. ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

My wife took me there for Father's Day. We both had prime rib and we both feel this was the best prime rib either of us has ever had. As usual, our experience was great.

food4
ambience5
service5

Our service was great. The piano player ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Our service was great. The piano player came around and asked for any requests. The views are awesome. Hard to go wrong with this place.

food3
ambience4
service3

A creative cocktail selection, I tried t ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

A creative cocktail selection, I tried the Watermelon East Side, super refreshing and not too sweet. wine selection is adequate, nothing special. The wonderful waterfront location made the experience worth it, otherwise it would have been ok at best. An entirely too rigid 'no substitution' policy on their menu coupled with prices that don't reflect the level of food served made for a good meal overall, not great.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dinner was amazing. We had one person ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Dinner was amazing. We had one person order the scallops and they were wonderful. I personally had the escargot and a grouper sandwich, both of which were fabulous. The views from our window seat were amazing. I would recommend this restaurant to anyone.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

I had a good experience the first time w ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

I had a good experience the first time when I went for lunch. But my dinner (shrimp and grits)was awful. I had to send it back, which is something I rarely do. They did not offer to take it off the bill. In "recompense", they gave me a free "mini-dessert", and a certificate for a bottle of "house brand" champagne, which can only be renewed by a party of four. They could have done so much more to keep a customer. I won't be back.

Tags: great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was exactly what we were looking for. ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

It was exactly what we were looking for. Would absolutely go back again!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great experience

Dined on June 10, 2016

The menu has a number of special items - ours were delicious. Service was attentive and sunset lovely.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

My wife and I really enjoyed the food an ...

Dined on June 10, 2016

My wife and I really enjoyed the food and let me tell you our waiter was on top of it. We did not once have to wonder where he was or why our glasses were not full. The noise level was higher than we would have liked but that quieted down when a large party left. We went on a walk into Dunedin and came back for sunset on the dock.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Alway's the best of the best

Dined on June 4, 2016

If the secret gets out you will need to exspand. The food is to die for. The drink are outstanding My wife said you make the best Vodk gimlet in the World. The help seem like they like being there and do a wonderfdul job. the only complaint I have is our waiter seemed to be new. He had a hard time exsplaining what the soup was, he made it sound like it came from a can. He did such a bad job I finealy made him take it off my order.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Homebase

Dined on June 4, 2016

Excellent attentive service by Stuart aka Hollywood! A pleasure to dine where the service is personal.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful service!

Dined on June 4, 2016

Loved the setting, and the food was delicious! We were able to book a table online and we had a beautiful view of the water!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

We enjoyed the meal. I wish there were c ...

Dined on June 3, 2016

We enjoyed the meal. I wish there were choices for sides like a baked potato. Waiter was very nice and helpful, although stretched a little thin. We will be back and maybe eat outside.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

Service was slow, the menu a little all ...

Dined on May 30, 2016

Service was slow, the menu a little all over the place and the food average

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely Great Fine Dinning

Dined on May 30, 2016

We have dinned here in special occasions in the past. We keep coming back because it is such a joy. Service, ambiance, view and food quality are simple outstanding. Don't miss the place ... you will not regret your choice.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service4

Food was very good. I had red snapper th ...

Dined on May 29, 2016

Food was very good. I had red snapper that was on lobster potatoes-excellent. Grouper sandwich my husband had was good. Would eat there again but a little pricey.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

An absolute delight

Dined on May 28, 2016

Bon Appetit was recommended to us for the view of the sunset. While the view lived up to the recommendation, the quality of the food and the service was an unanticipated surprise. Although the restaurant was crowded with tables close together, there was no noise or overheard conversations. We plan to return.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Exceeded expectations

Dined on May 28, 2016

We are fairly frequent diners at lunch time but we had not been there for dinner for a couple of years. We had friends from Texas with us and all I can say is that the whole evening exceeded our expectations. Delicious food, beautifully presented and really courteous service. The wine selection is average/good but the wine needed to be chilled at the table as it was on the warm side. Do hope the wine is not stored at such a high ambient temperature! Overall excellent menu and a great experience. We will go again soon.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Spectacular Sunset Dinner

Dined on May 28, 2016

Had dinner with another couple and could not have had a better table. Our table was right beside the window looking right over the water at the sunset. The view of the sunset during the dessert course of our dinner was outstanding. Staff was very responsive and very courteous. Absolutely a must for a special occasions.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

The service was terrible. The server "St ...

Dined on May 27, 2016

The service was terrible. The server "Steven" seemed flustered right from the start and he only had 4 tables of 2 people each. He never introduced himself. He forgot my wine and then said he already gave it to me after I asked for it again. The table next to us ordered a large salad to split and he just brought a large bowl of salad to the table. They had to ask for him to split it in the back. Any truly caring, experienced server would have already done that. For the price of the food, I expect way better service. The food was okay. I ordered the grouper medallions and they were tasty. It came with a cucumber salad which was an odd pairing to me, but it tasted better than I expected. My meal also came with the soup of the day "cream of mushroom". That is a pathetic, basic soup to offer in an upscale restaurant. My husband ordered the lobster pasta. It had great flavor but the lobster was overcooked and very chewy. With hundreds of choices in the Tampa Bay area, we chose to drive 45 minutes to check this place out, but we will not be back.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything. The food was great as well ...

Dined on May 26, 2016

Everything. The food was great as well as the service . Location on the water. Great views.

food3
ambience5
service5
value4

The restaurant and atmosphere are amazin ...

Dined on May 26, 2016

The restaurant and atmosphere are amazing as is the service. I was not impressed with the food. although we both had the Grouper medallions so I cannot speak to anything else on the menu, but this dish lacked flavor and was not well presented for the price. Not what I would have expected from such a lavish restaurant. I believe I would go back for the outdoor dining but I don't believe I would do indoor dining again. It was very enjoyable for our special occasion dinner.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, scenic view, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My friend and I were first-time visitors ...

Dined on May 26, 2016

My friend and I were first-time visitors. We chose the restaurant because of excellent on line reviews and we were not disappointed. It was easy to make a reservation on line, there is plenty of parking, great service, and excellent food. We went for lunch on a weekday, were seated immediately, and provided a great view of the intercoastal.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience2
service4
value2

Food was good and attractively presented ...

Dined on May 25, 2016

Food was good and attractively presented. Scallops fabulous, grouper medallions delicious. Roasted potatoes unremarkable, vegetable of the day (turnip, carrots, asparagus) good except for asparagus which, though teeny, was stringy, tough and inedible. Service was very nice, well paced, waiter around soon enough when you wanted him but not too much, and very friendly. Woman at piano offered a repertoire straight out of a 1970s piano bar (nothing newer added since then, it seemed), much too loud for background dinner music -- and we weren't seated near her. For the price, I think we can get as nice a dinner (mostly $25-$35, no salad) where we can talk more easily, and should maybe stick to the daily $17 (only one offering a day each weekday) specials here in late afternoon, before the piano lady comes in.

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Great service and food. Also great view.

Dined on May 23, 2016

Great service and food. Also great view.

food5
ambience5
service5

The wait staff was excellent. Service i ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

The wait staff was excellent. Service is excellent. Food quality was excellent. My out of town guests that are well traveled the world over loved it.

food4
ambience5
service2
value3

We have been going to Bon Appetit for ye ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

We have been going to Bon Appetit for years and it has been really good both for two or going with several friends. The Food is good, the Atmosphere is lovely, the View of the water and the lovely sunsets is terrific. The pianist is great and she will come to the tables to take requests. The service this time out was not good the waiter seemed to be otherwise occupied . He mixed up some of the orders and didn't follow through on things that were requested while saying he would be right back with them but not doing so. This has not been the prior history with the waiters there, whom are usually knowledgable and accommodating.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was great and so was the foo ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

The service was great and so was the food. Great music inside and out.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

The portion size of my scallops and my h ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

The portion size of my scallops and my husbands lamb chops were under pare for the price. we also had the lump crab and articoke fontana cheese dip, it came out and looked like a bowl of brownish green mush very unappetizing both visual and taste. looked as if they throw it in a blender. definitely not worth $15. We were very disappointed. We have eaten there in the past and it was good.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our first time dining at Bon Ap ...

vip
Dined on May 16, 2016

This was our first time dining at Bon Appetit, but it will not be the last! Our inside table, directly on the water was terrific. The menu is outstanding. We both enjoyed the Grouper lunch sandwich, it was delicious!! Our server was very nice and most professional, as was the entire staff. We are looking forward to returning.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

YUM YUM

vip
Dined on May 14, 2016

the food, wine, and service are amazing. we are telling all our family and friends

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food2
ambience5
service3
value1

The restaurant was nice inside and the v ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

The restaurant was nice inside and the view was fantastic. The service was good but the waiter was pushy and assumed much. He shook his head and scowled when we made a choice he didn't agree with. The food came out on time but was overcooked and not worth the high price we paid for the dishes. I am used to paying thirty dollars a plate at a high end restaurant but at that cost the food is typically excellent as was not the case here. It was my sister's birthday and they were visiting from out of town, I picked Bon Appetit for its reputation and location, I thought the food would have been as good. I will be more discerning next time.

Tags: scenic view
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Took my husband here for his birthday. ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

Took my husband here for his birthday. A very nice restaurant on the water!

Tags: scenic view
food3
ambience5
service2
value1

Mothers Day Dinner

Dined on May 8, 2016

While the view is always fabulous at this restaurant, the Mothers Day dinner was disappointing. The fixed price of $65 made for a very expensive family dinner and the service was slow and inattentive. We would enjoy this restaurant more if they had a less expensive choice when you visit for a special occasion.

Tags: good for groups, scenic view
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was great and the service was outstanding.

Dined on May 8, 2016

The food is alwAys good at this restaurant. It's my moms favorite restaurant and where she wanted to go for Mother's Day. I highly recommend dinning at Bon Appetite.

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mothers Day Dinner

Dined on May 8, 2016

We were seated at a table for two with a spectacular view! As we caught our breath and observed the view, the wait staff were right there with pleasant smiles and offering drinks to get us started. We were not rushed at any time throughout the wonderful meal! The food was delicious and so nicely prepared and presented. And so after two hours of great conversation with my husband over a fabulous dinner we took care of the bill; a little pricey but overall our money was well spent! Bon Appetit - a success once again!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fantastic Mother's Day

Dined on May 8, 2016

Bon Appetit provides a beautiful view of the water in Dunedin. The Mother's Day menu had great variety for everyone. All of the food was delicious and perfectly prepared. The fish wasn't over cooked. Moist and flaky. The fillet was cooked exactly as ordered and melted in your mouth. Everything was wonderful. I would highly recommend Bon Appetit.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

All enjoyed their meals

Dined on May 8, 2016

After getting past the fact that there was no menu available and only price fixed menu for Mother's Day, we enjoyed our meals. We had not expected to pay $65.00 per person for a meal but in the end it was enjoyable although out of the price range we expected. It would have been nice if this was mentioned on Open Table or to me when I phoned the restaurant on Mother's Day to ask for a waterfront view from our table.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Mother's Day on the Water

Dined on May 8, 2016

We love Bon Appetit! It's our "go-to" restaurant when we want something a little special. Usually Mother's Day is a horror in a restaurant but things went smoothly and the food was tasty and the right temperature. My duck & black lentils were outstanding, and everyone else liked their dishes also. We had the same server we had last year (Dominic) and he remembered us with a big hug for the ladies and a strong handshake for the male in the group. When we have lunch there we generally sit outside and it was buzzing out there Mother's Day also. This time we preferred the A/C.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great views

Dined on May 8, 2016

The food is above average, not spectacular, not inspired. It takes a while--we both had fish, and the wait was 15-20 minutes after the soup course was finished.

Tags: scenic view

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.