About Bon Appetit

150 Marina Plaza
Dunedin, FL 34698
View Larger Map

This landmark Dunedin Restaurant offers casual waterfront dining in a sophisticated but relaxed setting; stunning waterfront views of St. Joseph Sound, Honeymoon and Caledesi Islands. Chef Stephen has created a menu to showcase weekly specials, comfort food creations, and seasonal temptations to tantalize the most sophisticated of diners, all in addittion to the regular menu. Enjoy alfresco dining at the Marina Terrace Café with the same menu and phenomenal views and sunsets. Please visit us for our All New "New Orleans Bistro Brunch." Inspired from the city that started the brunch movement. Enjoy classic New Orleans food and drinks while listening to jazz played on our baby grand piano.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Modern European, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast - Daily: 7:00am - 9:30am
Lunch - Daily: 11:30am - 4:00pm,
Dinner - Nightly: 4:00pm - 9:00pm (4:00pm - 10:00pm Friday and Saturday)
Brunch - Sunday: 11:30am - 4:00pm

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(727) 733-2151

Website:
http://www.bonappetitrestaurant.com/

Entertainment:
Thursday through Sunday: Piano 6:00pm-9:00pm
Listen to pianist Kathy Roberts play a variety of music on our baby grand piano. Requests welcome!

Parking Details:
- Private Lot
- Complimentary Valet

Executive Chef:
Stephen Farquhar

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Dancing, Entertainment, Full Bar, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Bon Appetit Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Scenic View
Tampa / Central Florida West
Best Ambiance
Clearwater
Neighborhood Gem
Clearwater
3 More
Romantic
Clearwater
Special Occasion
Clearwater
Most Booked
Clearwater
Best Restaurants in Dunedin ›

scenic view (172)
special occasion (144)
romantic (97)
See All
great for outdoor dining (92)
neighborhood gem (73)
great for lunch (64)
good for groups (63)
fit for foodies (57)
great for brunch (42)
notable wine list (23)
vibrant bar scene (22)
kid-friendly (11)
hot spot (9)
late-night find (7)
Sort By:
Newest
1123 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

Great service and food. Also great view.

Dined 4 days ago

Great service and food. Also great view.

food5
ambience5
service5

The wait staff was excellent. Service i ...

Dined 6 days ago

The wait staff was excellent. Service is excellent. Food quality was excellent. My out of town guests that are well traveled the world over loved it.

food4
ambience5
service2
value3

We have been going to Bon Appetit for ye ...

Dined 6 days ago

We have been going to Bon Appetit for years and it has been really good both for two or going with several friends. The Food is good, the Atmosphere is lovely, the View of the water and the lovely sunsets is terrific. The pianist is great and she will come to the tables to take requests. The service this time out was not good the waiter seemed to be otherwise occupied . He mixed up some of the orders and didn't follow through on things that were requested while saying he would be right back with them but not doing so. This has not been the prior history with the waiters there, whom are usually knowledgable and accommodating.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was great and so was the foo ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

The service was great and so was the food. Great music inside and out.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

The portion size of my scallops and my h ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

The portion size of my scallops and my husbands lamb chops were under pare for the price. we also had the lump crab and articoke fontana cheese dip, it came out and looked like a bowl of brownish green mush very unappetizing both visual and taste. looked as if they throw it in a blender. definitely not worth $15. We were very disappointed. We have eaten there in the past and it was good.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our first time dining at Bon Ap ...

vip
Dined on May 16, 2016

This was our first time dining at Bon Appetit, but it will not be the last! Our inside table, directly on the water was terrific. The menu is outstanding. We both enjoyed the Grouper lunch sandwich, it was delicious!! Our server was very nice and most professional, as was the entire staff. We are looking forward to returning.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

YUM YUM

vip
Dined on May 14, 2016

the food, wine, and service are amazing. we are telling all our family and friends

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food2
ambience5
service3
value1

The restaurant was nice inside and the v ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

The restaurant was nice inside and the view was fantastic. The service was good but the waiter was pushy and assumed much. He shook his head and scowled when we made a choice he didn't agree with. The food came out on time but was overcooked and not worth the high price we paid for the dishes. I am used to paying thirty dollars a plate at a high end restaurant but at that cost the food is typically excellent as was not the case here. It was my sister's birthday and they were visiting from out of town, I picked Bon Appetit for its reputation and location, I thought the food would have been as good. I will be more discerning next time.

Tags: scenic view
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Took my husband here for his birthday. ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

Took my husband here for his birthday. A very nice restaurant on the water!

Tags: scenic view
food3
ambience5
service2
value1

Mothers Day Dinner

Dined on May 8, 2016

While the view is always fabulous at this restaurant, the Mothers Day dinner was disappointing. The fixed price of $65 made for a very expensive family dinner and the service was slow and inattentive. We would enjoy this restaurant more if they had a less expensive choice when you visit for a special occasion.

Tags: good for groups, scenic view
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was great and the service was outstanding.

Dined on May 8, 2016

The food is alwAys good at this restaurant. It's my moms favorite restaurant and where she wanted to go for Mother's Day. I highly recommend dinning at Bon Appetite.

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mothers Day Dinner

Dined on May 8, 2016

We were seated at a table for two with a spectacular view! As we caught our breath and observed the view, the wait staff were right there with pleasant smiles and offering drinks to get us started. We were not rushed at any time throughout the wonderful meal! The food was delicious and so nicely prepared and presented. And so after two hours of great conversation with my husband over a fabulous dinner we took care of the bill; a little pricey but overall our money was well spent! Bon Appetit - a success once again!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fantastic Mother's Day

Dined on May 8, 2016

Bon Appetit provides a beautiful view of the water in Dunedin. The Mother's Day menu had great variety for everyone. All of the food was delicious and perfectly prepared. The fish wasn't over cooked. Moist and flaky. The fillet was cooked exactly as ordered and melted in your mouth. Everything was wonderful. I would highly recommend Bon Appetit.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

All enjoyed their meals

Dined on May 8, 2016

After getting past the fact that there was no menu available and only price fixed menu for Mother's Day, we enjoyed our meals. We had not expected to pay $65.00 per person for a meal but in the end it was enjoyable although out of the price range we expected. It would have been nice if this was mentioned on Open Table or to me when I phoned the restaurant on Mother's Day to ask for a waterfront view from our table.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Mother's Day on the Water

Dined on May 8, 2016

We love Bon Appetit! It's our "go-to" restaurant when we want something a little special. Usually Mother's Day is a horror in a restaurant but things went smoothly and the food was tasty and the right temperature. My duck & black lentils were outstanding, and everyone else liked their dishes also. We had the same server we had last year (Dominic) and he remembered us with a big hug for the ladies and a strong handshake for the male in the group. When we have lunch there we generally sit outside and it was buzzing out there Mother's Day also. This time we preferred the A/C.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great views

Dined on May 8, 2016

The food is above average, not spectacular, not inspired. It takes a while--we both had fish, and the wait was 15-20 minutes after the soup course was finished.

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Beautiful view of the sunset

Dined on May 8, 2016

Bon Appetit was a last minute decision and at first I was disappointed to get a late reservation, however with the sun setting and a great table by the window, I could not have asked for anything better. And try the Dunedin Sunset which was a perfect drink for the night. The food and service were equally as amazing. No room left for desert, however. My only request for potential customers is to leave babys and small children at home. Its not the restaurant for children!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience1
service3
value3

Lost a good customer of 30 years.

Dined on May 7, 2016

We have been going to this restaurant for over 30 years but this may have been our last time. The menus differed because some of the changes they made were not reflected on each menu. The manager was summoned to explain the difference and he said that the person with the menu that reflected a salad or soup would be honored but that the others would only receive a soup. The other salads would be an additional charge. This was adjudicated in his favor only after an unnecessary argument. The manager was less than accommodating. The two people we were there with were visiting from Germany and it was embarrassing for them. After our dinners were ordered the waiter returned to advise us that they ran out of mashed potatoes. What the heck else could have gone wrong. In addition, the noise level being seated at a table next to six children two of whom cried for the better part of the evening was unbearable. I was disappointed to say the least after paying my bill of $204. The only comment from our visitors was that there was less noise at a Dennys.

Tags: scenic view
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Sit by the Water!

Dined on May 7, 2016

If you are not by the windows next to the water this would just be an okay place. It was a very busy night and was very loud which was a problem for my Mom with a hearing problem. One thing that always amazes me at an upscale facility is when they really don't know how to make a very dry gin martini with a premium brand.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

A solid choice in an area where there's not many:)

Dined on May 7, 2016

I've been here a handful of times and always find it pretty consistent. Consistently good. Service is always spot on and the views are very nice.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Pleasant evening

Dined on May 6, 2016

We came to Bon Appetit for a friend's birthday dinner, who wanted to eat outside because of the gorgeous weather. The weather wasn't that cooperative, but the meal, drinks and service were impeccable. We have visited many times and will continue to do so as it is consistently a great place to relax and enjoy the beautiful Florida Gulf sunset.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, scenic view
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

Are we invisible Steve!

Dined on May 6, 2016

We had Steve for our waiter who was absolutely awful. Had to "ASK" for water refill while choking and he returned to two tables next to us before ours. I took my wife and mother for a mother's day dinner and the sunset was the only thing good. Will watch from the dock next time. Wrong check and on and on and on, never again.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The lobster roll was delicious and our w ...

Dined on May 1, 2016

The lobster roll was delicious and our waiter was outstanding

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience5
service2

We were disappointed. If you order an en ...

Dined on April 29, 2016

We were disappointed. If you order an entree (or the 3 course dinner) it comes with the soup du jour. Today it was close to 90 degrees and the soup was broccoli cheese. We asked if we could substitute a house salad and were told no " they just had a big meeting about that yesterday." We also heard others ask the same question and also heard someone comment that the soup was bland. Given the temperature, we didn't want to start with soup, so opted for the grouper sandwich and a burger instead of an entree (which I would have preferred). Also, the music from the bar area was too loud to carry a conversation. We will not likely return as there are plenty of nice restaurants in the area.

food4
ambience5
service4

Enjoyed having dinner on the patio. Sang ...

vip
Dined on April 29, 2016

Enjoyed having dinner on the patio. Sangria was delicious and so was our meal. Food came out quickly. Service was good.

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Good food, beautiful sunset, very good service

Dined on April 28, 2016

This place is located right overlooking the inter-coastal waterway. Brilliant sunset. Food was excellent. Service was very attentive.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, scenic view
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

sunset view

Dined on April 25, 2016

Had a wonderful dinner with a beautiful view of the sunset. Our server was very nice and friendly. Great person. Overall great experience. If we are ever in the area again we would dine again at Bon Appetit. Highly recommend

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

18th Birthday Was a Success

Dined on April 24, 2016

The view from the outdoor area was superb but when we were led inside the big windows and mirrors made me feel like I was surrounded by the sunset everywhere I looked - absolutely beautiful. The lighting and soft live piano music made everything even more perfect! The food was amazing, I had Red Snapper and I loved it. Service was very good and I had a great time! Will definitely return!

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

Disappointing family dinner with great views

Dined on April 23, 2016

Having family in town for only one night we chose Bon Appetite for our only meal. We made reservations and were seated promptly. The dining room has great sunset views and the ambiance is nice. Highlights of our evening. The piano player was fantastic. Our waiter was kind but not very attentive, forgot several things and wasn't around when we looked for him. Most of the food was fine, okay, but not great. Two members of our dinner party ordered 8oz filets medium. The steaks were unedibly rare and by the time the waiter came back around for us to say anything the rest of our party was done eating so putting them back on the grill seemed dumb. And nothing else was done to compensate. We came home from our $300 dinner hungry and disappointed.

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

very pleased

Dined on April 23, 2016

waiter was very attentive and not intrusive food arrived hot and on time

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

Avoid the Lobster

Dined on April 23, 2016

I was looking forward to going to Bon Appetit for my birthday dinner. Plus, l was bringing special friends from out of town and wanted to impress them with great food and a beautiful view. All we got was the view. Three of us ordered the lobster linguini. It seemed appropriate for a special occasion, especially when I asked our waiter, Scott, if it was wonderful, and he confirmed that it was. It was not. In hindsight, I should have sent it back, but I kept hoping it would get better. It did not. The lobster was dry and had no flavor. The asparagus was the end pieces which is usually what we would throw away. It was chewy and tasteless. For the price, one would expect the tasty front of the asparagus. The linguini was supposed to be in a sherry sauce. Believe me, Sherry was not there. We should have gotten just the lobster tail and hoped for the best, but Scott said the linguini option was better. He must have had it on a different night. All in all, I was very disappointed, and embarrassed for bragging about Bon Appetit to my friends. I guess if I want lobster, I will go to Maine.

Tags: scenic view
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Over-rated

Dined on April 23, 2016

Researched online to find a great outdoor dining spot. We thought we would make the 45 mile drive to try it out. Did not feel it was worth the drive or the steep costs.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A special occasion or because it's Wednesday

Dined on April 22, 2016

Wonderful food, gorgeous sunset views, delightful waitstaff, marvelous piano background make Bon Appetit a very special place. The options on the menu ranged from snack to light to full gourmet dinners. Service could not have been better. We love this place.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Other

Dined on April 16, 2016

Other than having no parking and didn't seat us until 30 minutes past our reservation it was great.

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Once Again......

vip
Dined on April 13, 2016

Bon Appetit came through with a wonderful luncheon celebration for my daughter's 30th Birthday. The food was great as always and the service was outstanding. Views to die for overlooking the water!!!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

Breathtaking view

Dined on April 10, 2016

We brought friends with us and they were absolutely wowed by the view-it's incredibly beautiful. The restaurant is also very attractive and we were please with the service. Most of our party ordered the daily special (lamb shanks). According to them, the seasoning overpowered the taste of the lamb. That's certainly an individual taste thing. I had the french onion soup and a Caesar salad. Both were good. My husband was disappointed that not a single fried dish was available. Again, an individual taste thing. The ambiance is so special that it's well worth the visit and we'll be back.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wait for 8pm Res. was over 20 min...

Dined on April 10, 2016

Loved the cherry in my "Manhattan Up"! Dinner was delicious. Server was very attentive.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Mona Petit is one of my favorite restaur ...

vip
Dined on April 3, 2016

Mona Petit is one of my favorite restaurants to dine for sunset views that's not to say how excellent the food the service the staff everything it's a perfect place to dine

food3
ambience5
service5
value3

service is always great

Dined on April 3, 2016

Menu needs updating and for the love of God get a better beer on tap selection. No Guinness. It is a disgrace. Complaints aside this is my go to place when I have company in from overseas or out of state. Great atmosphere, excellent service, lovely view, great pianist.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Enjoyable dinner

Dined on March 30, 2016

Really enjoyed dinner at Bon Appétit view, food and wine list were very nice Try the Grouper Nuggets they were excellent My new favorite fine dining restaurant.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.