About Bon Appetit

150 Marina Plaza
Dunedin, FL 34698
View Larger Map

This landmark Dunedin Restaurant offers casual waterfront dining in a sophisticated but relaxed setting; stunning waterfront views of St. Joseph Sound, Honeymoon and Caledesi Islands. Chef Stephen has created a menu to showcase weekly specials, comfort food creations, and seasonal temptations to tantalize the most sophisticated of diners, all in addittion to the regular menu. Enjoy alfresco dining at the Marina Terrace Café with the same menu and phenomenal views and sunsets. Please visit us for our All New "New Orleans Bistro Brunch." Inspired from the city that started the brunch movement. Enjoy classic New Orleans food and drinks while listening to jazz played on our baby grand piano.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Modern European, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast - Daily: 7:00am - 9:30am
Lunch - Daily: 11:30am - 4:00pm,
Dinner - Nightly: 4:00pm - 9:00pm (4:00pm - 10:00pm Friday and Saturday)
Brunch - Sunday: 11:30am - 4:00pm

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(727) 733-2151

Website:
http://www.bonappetitrestaurant.com/

Entertainment:
Thursday through Sunday: Piano 6:00pm-9:00pm
Listen to pianist Kathy Roberts play a variety of music on our baby grand piano. Requests welcome!

Parking Details:
- Private Lot
- Complimentary Valet

Executive Chef:
Stephen Farquhar

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Dancing, Entertainment, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Mussels
  • Fish and Chips
  • Seared Ahi Tuna
  • Burger with Tomato, Onion and Lettuce
  • Firecracker Shrimp
  • Bruschetta with Prosciutto, Arugula & Honey
  • Red Snapper
Mussels
Fish and Chips
Seared Ahi Tuna
Burger with Tomato, Onion and Lettuce
Firecracker Shrimp
Bruschetta with Prosciutto, Arugula & Honey
Red Snapper

Bon Appetit Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.6

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Scenic View
Tampa / Central Florida West
Best Ambiance
Clearwater
Special Occasion
Clearwater
1 More
Most Booked
Clearwater
Best Restaurants in Dunedin ›

Scenic View (110)
Special Occasion (84)
Great for Outdoor Dining (64)
See All
Romantic (63)
Fit for Foodies (41)
Great for Lunch (34)
Neighborhood Gem (31)
Good for Groups (28)
Great for Brunch (25)
Notable Wine List (21)
Vibrant Bar Scene (16)
Hot Spot (12)
Late-night Find (7)
Kid-friendly (6)
Sort By:
Newest
1191 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Service and food are 5 star. The dining ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined 4 days ago

Service and food are 5 star. The dining rooms have a view of the bay and there is outdoor seating as well. There is an outdoor bar, casual, conveniently located in the front of the restaurant

The sunsets are phenomenal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was excellent, service was great, n ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined 7 days ago

Food was excellent, service was great, nice waterfront view, and noise level reduced as the night went on. At first it was a full house so noise level was understandable. This was my second visit and I will recommend to my friends.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great dinner! Delicious food. I ordered ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined 7 days ago

Great dinner! Delicious food. I ordered the main lobster dinner and it was awesome. Great creme brûlée and key lime pie. We will definitely be back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The Lobster Fest was great. Maine lobste ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined 7 days ago

The Lobster Fest was great. Maine lobsters at a reasonable price and can't beat the view

Tags: Worth the Drive, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Hostess did not seat us by the window,as ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Hostess did not seat us by the window,as I had requested!.. We changed to a window table as there were several available. Lobster was wonderful!

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Our meal experience was very nice. The m ...

 
 (East Tennessee)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Our meal experience was very nice. The menu is not huge but the entrees were varied enough to have something for most anyone. Seafood (of course), steaks (filet mignon), soups, salads, nice selection of appetizers and a decent wine list were all present. They had a special 3-course "package" so my wife and I choose this...she had the filet and I had a delicious salmon entree. Both were well prepared and presented nicely. Both, although not the absolute best we've ever had, certainly ranked near the top in taste and flavor. Even the locally-made rolls were great! Dessert (came with meal) consisted of a small mousse (flavor your choice) served in a cute little glass "vase". We loved 'em.

The service was adequate but not exceptional. Our server was quite busy but still handled our needs in reasonable time for the evening dinner time period. The restaurant was nearly full most of the time (Sat. evening), but they still accommodated patrons without reservations. Seating is available inside (with huge glass windows to view the water), or on an outer deck, complete with separate bar seating.

Overall, it was a nice evening. No surprises and our expectations were definitely met. The place should also be a nice setting for a casual lunch with friends or family and we'll probably go back sometime to give that a try.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

The bar is outside, not in the restauran ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

The bar is outside, not in the restaurant, so it isn't that noisy in the restaurant. We had a great waiter, fantastic food and a beautiful view.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had an overall enjoyable evening - wi ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

We had an overall enjoyable evening - with a beautiful sunset through the windows -

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The view is absolutely spectacular! If y ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

The view is absolutely spectacular! If you go at dinner time you can see the sunset.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Bon Appetit at the marina in Dunedin, FL ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Bon Appetit at the marina in Dunedin, FL is one of the very best restaurants we have visited, the food was cooked and presented perfectly, the staff were friendly and engaged in interesting conversation, a superb pianist and to top it all - what a view!!

It really was a memorable highlight of our holiday, so good in fact that on the way out we booked again for our last night, when we were given a waterfront table and the evening was every bit as good as our first visit.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I arrived early with my Family to the re ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

I arrived early with my Family to the restaurant, even thought was after I construction site, it was not difficult to reach the place. Once there we mention our reservation number and we were direct it to our table near to a sea side view on a gorgeous blue sky day. The personnnel include it the manager were very friendly and helpful and we enjoyed every meal and time we spent there for my birthday.

I will definetly come back there and recommend it to a Family members and friends.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our favorite for special ocassions. 5 st ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Our favorite for special ocassions. 5 star in every area. Keep up the good work.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I took my niece and her husband ( from C ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

I took my niece and her husband ( from Canada) for a dinner. We truly enjoyed our evening. The food was perfectly done and delightfully delicious. The waiter was very attentive, knowledgeable and extremely courteous. The ambiance was just perfect, nice music from a young men playing the piano, a glorious scenery of the ocean. My guests loved the dining experience. My husband and I discovered this gem years ago and we go once a month.

Tags: Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful view, great food. Groupper was ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Wonderful view, great food. Groupper was excellent. Great service! Will go back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

They were not busy but the waiter was te ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

They were not busy but the waiter was terrible. Forgot my drink and long delay in food delivery. Other tables got their food before us and they ordered after. Pricey but food was pretty good. I'd recommend the black pearl if the view is not as important.

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value2

Spectacular food

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Spectacular food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

Excellent service , food and atmosphere ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

Excellent service , food and atmosphere , our experience was a pleasure and will return .

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were next to the piano . So it was ha ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

We were next to the piano . So it was hard to have a Conversation the food was good the service was good the maître d' that sat us needed to work on his personality We had put in reservations early so we actually expected a better table

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Overall pretty good experience. We celeb ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Overall pretty good experience. We celebrated a 90th birthday and had requested a table by a window, which wasn't met, sadly. Appetizers included scallops, French onion soup, shrimp cocktail, and chicken liver. All were well received. Lobster Roll was a hit. Lobster linguine is a pass - too "basic" of a dish - definitely get something else. Wish I had tried the smoked salmon with potato pancakes and apple coleslaw. Desserts were okay. They serve mini desserts in double shot glass type things. I had the peanut butter chocolate which was too much peanut butter and the chocolate cake/bread inside was very dry.

Drinks - 5 stars - good spicy Bloody Mary and chocolate martinis. If you want a Bellini ask for peach schnapps with champagne.

Service was pretty good; it was not a busy day yet - only a few tables - yet our waiter seemed to be forgetful at times. Very nice though and made up for it.

Would definitely go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Love the food, service is always great a ...

 
 (Switzerland)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Love the food, service is always great and the setting is wonderful! We always enjoy our visits at Bon Appetit!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Worst food we've ever had! My fillet Min ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Worst food we've ever had!

My fillet Minon tasted as if it had been boiled.

Apparently they don't believe in grilling fillet Minion, they actually cooked it on a flat bed grill. Asked for it grilled the second time and it was still horrible plus, the pasta Alfredo that came with it was recoiled in a frying pan so as not to waste it in their opinion,...instead of making it fresh. It was crispy from being fried!!! Can you believe that they're so cheap they had to fry my pasta instead of just doing a fresh new plate of food. My husband ordered the Veal chop medium. It came bloody, full of fat and nerve and veal shoul never look like that unless it's beef and no longer a young Veal. Even if it were beef St veal prices,... It should never look and taste that horrible.

The the new erregant Maitre D asked me how the meal was just as it was being set down on the table in front of me and when I responded, I don't know yet, he immediately lashed back at me with,... "What do you mean you don't know yet?" I explained that, one must first taste their food before they can give an opinion or tell you if it's ok .

That was just harassment as far as I was concerned.

No we will NEVER GO THERE AGAIN!

$150.00 for the worst food ever!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

We enjoyed the ambiance, the view and th ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

We enjoyed the ambiance, the view and the service. You will too.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We were a table of 5 on 7/23/16. There ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

We were a table of 5 on 7/23/16. There were two weddings that evening we did not know about. Restaurant was loud. Service was slow, as they were probably overwhelmed in back. Waiter made several mistakes, but probably couldn't hear us. Food was good, but nothing special. View is outstanding and the best attribute of Bon Appetit.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Server Eric was fantastic. Very polite ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Server Eric was fantastic. Very polite and friendly .

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was the fourth time that we've dine ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

This was the fourth time that we've dined at Bon Appetit & yet we haven't come across a waiter that we could rave about. My Dad & Husband ordered from the Three Course Menu and got the Portobello Mushroom Ravioli. The dish came out in a bowl of water. Apparently the Raviolis went from the pot to plate. Unacceptable in an Italians eyes (my Dad is Italian). My mom also ordered from the Three Course Special, however she didn't like the choice of soup they offered & wanted the French Onion. Needless to say there wasn't an upcharge, instead we were charged FULL PRICE ($7.50). Unacceptable. The establishment SHOULD upcharge for this, perhaps $3 or so not $7.50!!! As for me, due to my dietary restrictions, I ordered the Ahi Tuna Starter & a House Salad. I was the only one that seemed to enjoy the meal. Would LOVE to see a bigger Ahi Tuna Salad on the menu though. My Dad thought that the waiter was rude at first until the waiter overheard my husband talking and asked where we were from. Then he got a little nicer. Refills of my water glass (only thing I was drinking) were hard to come by. An establishment of this nature, with these prices, should be on top of their game. They weren't the night we dined there. AND we were sitting right near the bussing station! Thankfully, I got another waiters attention and he refilled my glass. And even when I got our waiters attention, he appologized! Yet, each time it was empty, I waited. He was at the bussing station, looking somewhere else and not attentive. We will reconsider patronizing this establishment in the future which is a shame, becuase it has a great view of the sunset and is the place to take out of town guests!!!! A good thing about this establishement is the host. TWICE we've had the same host (male) and he was very pleasant. Unfortunately, I don't remember his name, but I do know the face!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

Everything about this restaurant was awe ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Everything about this restaurant was awesome. The food was outstanding and so was the service. This really made our night special.

This was my first time here as I am out of town guest. I will be back.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Second visit to Bob Appetit....just as m ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Second visit to Bob Appetit....just as memorable as the first! Outstanding food, beautiful setting, great staff, and the piano player was an added bonus! Thanks for the memories.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and service with a beauti ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Excellent food and service with a beautiful water view watching the sunset over the Gulf. We had the filet mignon with béarnaise sauce and the lobster spaghetti. Both prepared well and tasted good. The restaurant is busy and is fairly loud however they do have a piano player for background music. Would definitely return when in the Clearwater Beach/Dunedin area.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

What a view!! Food was great and cockta ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

What a view!! Food was great and cocktails were right on. Loved the octopus appetizer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Had a wonderful evening with friends. Go ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Had a wonderful evening with friends. Good was wonderful, service excellent .

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I don't know if they are open for lunch, ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

I don't know if they are open for lunch, it would be great!

We visit this restsurant each time we are in town.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The room was hot and a fly buzzed us all ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

The room was hot and a fly buzzed us all night

The soup and bread were very good

The dinner tasted like frozen fast food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

We had a group of 11 family members comi ...

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

We had a group of 11 family members coming from our patriarch's memorial service and everyone was so happy with the selection of venue and menu. We all agreed that our parents would have loved this place. Wish we would have discovered it sooner. Beautiful location. Great selection of food and drink. Efram was very attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The water view at sunset is fabulous, wi ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

The water view at sunset is fabulous, with both indoor and outdoor dining options. We had the sea scallops and filet steak entrees and both were cooked just right and delicious! The shrimp cocktail appetizer was also good, only downside was the waiter forgot to bring it before the entree. The manager brought it out after the entrees arrived with no apology given except that the waiter forgot all about it. Overall, it was a pleasant dining experience and I might try the restaurant again with a different waiter next time.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Our evening was very nice and all enjoye ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Our evening was very nice and all enjoyed our night. Service and food was very good, view is beautiful and the piano player was enjoyable. Nice touch with gift certificate to come back for champagne on them on special occasion, we will be back.

Thank you

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great sunset views! Excellent grouper!

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Great sunset views! Excellent grouper!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Water view and sunset was like watching ...

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Water view and sunset was like watching a beautiful painting in the sky. Food was excellent as was the service. Menu would appeal to everyone. Very enjoyable experience make your reservations for 7:30 so you can watch the sunset.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The location is perfect, being next to t ...

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

The location is perfect, being next to the Gulf, the menu ambitious.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Had a good brunch at Bon Appetit. I've h ...

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Had a good brunch at Bon Appetit. I've had poor service here in the past, which put me off for a long time, but it's much better now. And the view from this restaurant is unbeatable. My husband and I both enjoyed our lunches. The service was cheerful and efficient. Would definitely go again.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

One of the best meals I've had in Florid ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

One of the best meals I've had in Florida. Very romantic and the sunset was beautiful.

Our waitress was outstanding and very attentive and timely. Highly recommend this restaurant for a romantic dinner.

Tags: Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.