Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.18mi
  3. Distance: 0.38mi
  4. Distance: 0.94mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.18mi
  3. Distance: 0.38mi
  4. Distance: 0.94mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.18mi
  3. Distance: 0.38mi
  4. Distance: 0.94mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.18mi
  3. Distance: 0.38mi
  4. Distance: 0.94mi

About Bon Appetit

This landmark Dunedin Restaurant offers casual waterfront dining in a sophisticated but relaxed setting; stunning waterfront views of St. Joseph Sound, Honeymoon and Caledesi Islands. Chef Stephen has created a menu to showcase weekly specials, comfort food creations, and seasonal temptations to tantalize the most sophisticated of diners, all in addittion to the regular menu. Enjoy alfresco dining at the Marina Terrace Café with the same menu and phenomenal views and sunsets. Please visit us for our All New "New Orleans Bistro Brunch." Inspired from the city that started the brunch movement. Enjoy classic New Orleans food and drinks while listening to jazz played on our baby grand piano.

150 Marina Plaza
Dunedin, FL 34698
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Modern European, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch - Daily: 11:30am - 4:00pm,
Dinner - Nightly: 4:00pm - 9:00pm (4:00pm - 10:00pm Friday and Saturday)
Brunch - Sunday: 11:00am - 3:30pm

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(727) 733-2151

Website:
http://www.bonappetitrestaurant.com/

Entertainment:
Thursday through Sunday: Piano 6:00pm-9:00pm
Listen to pianist Kathy Roberts play a variety of music on our baby grand piano. Requests welcome!

Parking Details:
- Private Lot
- Complimentary Valet

Executive Chef:
Stephen Farquhar

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Dancing, Entertainment, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Bon Appetit Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Waterfront (83)
Scenic View (70)
Special Occasion (53)
See All
Good for a Date (46)
Good for Anniversaries (43)
Great for Outdoor Dining (42)
Romantic (38)
Good for Birthdays (38)
Great for Lunch (33)
Creative Cuisine (33)
Worth the Drive (31)
Live Music (29)
Quiet Conversation (28)
Sunday Lunch (26)
Neighborhood Gem (25)
Good for Groups (21)
Casual (21)
Fit for Foodies (21)
Business Meals (18)
Great for Brunch (16)
Bar Seating (14)
Healthy (13)
Notable Wine List (13)
Fun (13)
People Watching (12)
Cozy (12)
Happy Hour (11)
Seasonal (11)
Local Ingredients (10)
Handcrafted Cocktails (10)
Disabled Access (9)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Hot Spot (8)
Authentic (8)
Afternoon Tea (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Comfort Food (5)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Kid-friendly (5)
Afternoon Coffee (4)
Quick Bite (4)
Tasting Menu (3)
Family Style (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Historic (2)
Tapas (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Organic (2)
Private Room (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Wood Oven (1)
Fireplace (1)
Sort By:
S
1529 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined 2 days ago

I have had lunch and dinner many times, first time for Sunday brunch and it was wonderful.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined 3 days ago

Overall enjoyable dining experience. Noise level is high which detracted some from the conversation.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Authentic, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

great location with spectaular sunset views. Service was very attentive. Regular wine list is a bit iffy but they do have a reserve wine list which is ok. Food was excellent and fresh.
Very enjoyable experience. Highly recommend sitting outside to view the sunset.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Casual, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined 3 days ago

Wanted to get there by 6:30PM to enjoy Happy Hour pricing on sangria & avocado, shrimp, sauce on toast. Everyone else evidently had the same plan. The place was packed (Saturday night), wedding troupe upstair, & cars backed up 15 minutes in valet parking loup.

Food, happy hour pricing, service were all good. Ambiance & sunset excellent.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined 6 days ago

This is my favorite place! For lunch with the girls, special occasions, and the outside bar and
atmosphere is wonderful! The other evening the food was outstanding, Alex, our waiter
was just terrific! Everything was absolutely perfect!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Healthy, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on July 17, 2017

Food and service were great. The check had two errors and were quickly corrected but got me wondering if this goth be a part of the "business" to add charges that were not mine 😳

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Was disappointed that the snapper was taken off the menu. Waiter poured left over wine from my first glass into a new glass at the table. Not good. With higher prices and things like this maybe won't come as often.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on July 14, 2017

I ordered the petit filet and it was awful - the cut was super thin and I ordered medium rare and it was very overcooked w no flavor - it was grey - they served it w green beans and some sort of fried sweet potato cake that was a sugar bomb of cinnamon with 5 over oiled green beans for $27 - overpriced and underdelivered - my uncle had the rack of lamb which also looked quite sad and didn't look like they knew how to butcher a rack properly - in any case our bill was $150 and hardly worth it - the bright spot was the nice waiter , the pianist and the view - maybe go for a drink and appetizers but not dinner

Wouldn't go back

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 14, 2017

PERFECT FAMILY BIRTHDAY CELEBRATION. THANKS SO MUCH.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly, Live Music, Waterfront, Fun, Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Romantic, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 12, 2017

Wonderful! Starting coming to Bon Appetit in 1981 so obviously we enjoy location, food, service and, of course, the view!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 10, 2017

My friends Birthday and Everything was great. Our waiter Miguel was very attentive .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Black Pearl pricing for entrees but food is mediocre and presentation boring. Food comes out looking like a 1980 catering event. Get a a Chef and get creative for a $30 entree.

Tags: Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 8, 2017

The restaurant has been open for 40 years and the waiters are tenured providing relaxed unpretentious service. My table was out over the water with great views which is very unique. Food is very good. We ordered both the steak and sea scallops which were both nicely prepared. A friend had salmon over beans which also looked very good and reportedly tasted great. Highly recommend for a date night or gathering of friends. The crowd gets younger the later you eat, typical Pinellas County.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on July 8, 2017

As always, dining at Bon Appetit is a delight! Our table offered a view of the bay, our waiter was proficient, and the food was quite tasty.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Live Music, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Gluten Free Options, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 6, 2017

Good food and service. A little pricey but not too bad overall.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on July 5, 2017

Bon Appetit was a perfect way to have a delicious meal with incredible service from both our waitress and bartender! The view of the sunset was perfect! Perfect place for a romantic meal!

Tags: Waterfront, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 4, 2017

GREAT DINNER. GREAT VIEW. GREAT FOOD AND EXCEPTIONAL SERVICE BY WAIT STAFF.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Disabled Access, Waterfront, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 4, 2017

Great place. I would recommend this place to anyone in the area looking for good food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on July 4, 2017

One of our favorite pet friendly restaurants. Great food and service! Erwin was our server and did a great job! We'll be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 3, 2017

I went for my anniversary and it was nothing less than stellar. We were able to watch the sun set over the water as we ate our dinner which turned it into a very beautiful setting. The service was quick friendly and professional, price per plate is on the higher end but worth it. Would highly recommend a visit.

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Disabled Access, Afternoon Tea, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, People Watching, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Business Meals, Romantic, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Great location with a beautiful sunset view over the water. Service was excellent; when we told the waiter we were catching up with old friends, he gave us plenty of time and we never felt rushed. Food was very good with a nice variety on the menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 3, 2017

I've eaten here many times over many years. And I've finally concluded that it's just not that good. Our waiter was harried, which set an anxious tone for the entire evening. It was loud. And the food was ordinary. Nothing about Bon Appetit is bad. It's just not as good as it should be.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Excellent food and service. as always. Gorgeous views from our table. This is our favorite restaurant!

Tags: Quick Bite, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Notable Wine List, Comfort Food, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on June 29, 2017

Our favorite restaurant in Dunedin. Food and service are excellent. Behzad was our server and did a great job! He was very busy. The lobster cocktail and octopus are our favorites.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Adelaide)·Dined on June 28, 2017

A little disappointed in food presentation. We indicated a one year anniversary in booking reservation and nothing was acknowledged by staff. Didn't really expect much but would have appreciated a better table location. Won't be returning because service, food was mediocre and overpriced.

Tags: Scenic View, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on June 25, 2017

Great sunset view.
Nice cheese tray.
Did not appreciate the $25.00 corking fee.
Their wine list was ok...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Very nice. Somewhat elegant

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on June 22, 2017

Pleasant evening with well prepared meals and great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on June 21, 2017

Alex was an outstanding server! I will ask for him again

Tags: Kid-friendly, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Fun, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Waterfront, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Live Music, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Great for Brunch, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on June 19, 2017

We went here to celebrate our 46th wedding anniversary. The food was plentiful and delicious. I ordered the petite filet and it was perfect! My husband ordered the pasta dish with the 3 types of mushrooms ... and on our next visit, I will be ordering that!. We were seated with a beautiful view ... the weather was pretty overcast, but it was nice to see the sea birds and some of the anchored boats just lazily drifting back and forth. We LOVED that the dinner music was at a low volume ... we actually had a conversation -- :)
I have recommended Bon Appetite to several couples in my community who want to celebrate something special in very pleasant surroundings.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Scenic View, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Fathers Day

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on June 18, 2017

I took my dad for Father's Day and we sat right by the window facing the water. We had the prime rib special and our waiter was able to get us the end cut which was fabulous. My dirty martini was great. The scenery was great. The food was delicious and my dad said it's the best time he's had in a long time. Thank you very much to our waiter I can't remember his name but he was fabulous. I'm sure if you looked us up under Whalen the one with the Walker you would know who our waiter was and give him thanks and praise for a wonderful Father's Day. Thank you Lisa Whalen

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Live Music, Cozy, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on June 18, 2017

I had requested a window table as it was my husband's birthday as well as Father's Day. They couldn't guarantee, but when we got there they had a nice table for us at the window with a great view. It took a little while to get our food and it was a bit warm in the room (perhaps because we were by the window) but our server was fairly attentive considering how busy it was and it was pleasant listening to the live piano entertainment. The courses started arriving and each was better than the last, all of the food was extremely good.

Tags: Waterfront, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on June 18, 2017

We dine there often - We prefer the patio - Food and service is consistently good - We would love to see some kind of fans installed that would move the air and create a breeze on on hot summer days (and nights).

Tags: Disabled Access, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on June 18, 2017

The view is beautiful. Nice selection of meats and seafood. Wait staff is attentive and axxomodating. Piano music is delightful. Valet parking.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on June 17, 2017

We had dinner to celebrate our anniversary on a Saturday night. We had a reservation and were seated immediately. There was a little bit of a wait for the server and our drinks to arrive. The wait for our food was reasonable after our order was taken. I had surf and turf and my wife had the lobster roll. My wife loved her selection and my steak was excellent. The lobster was a little overdone and not as full of flavor as I expected but the side dishes and dinner rolls were perfect. Creme brulee and key lime pie desserts were excellent. Overall great dinner and out the door for just over $100. Will definitely go again!

Tags: Waterfront, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on June 17, 2017

This restaurant was a great find. Didn't know about it because of the Best Western Hotel right there, so we never looked further. Gorgeous view of the water, outside bar and eating with live entertainment. They have been here for 40 years. I had the Lobster Roll and it was terrific, thick hunks of lobster meat with just a touch of mayo and celery to keep it together served open faced. We had the Serrano Ham carved tableside and it was incredibly delicious. My friends had the scallops, delicious and one of us wanted the pasta and a filet and they accommodated him. Our waitress, Shotze from Hungary, was wonderful. Then, the desserts, mini's, maxi's or all of them. Delicious. We had the apple strudel a la mode. We will surely be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Organic, Romantic, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Seasonal, Quick Bite, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Live Music, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Inside was very dated and the sun set made the entire front dinning area very hot. Food was not presented well. 3 course meal salad was odd, mix of things that didn't go together. Dessert was a 2oz serving, kind of a joke.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Food and ambiance were excellent. We will definitely go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on June 13, 2017

Wonderful lunch where we sat outside at the waters edge. The French onion soup was wonderful and I really enjoyed The 1943 salad - especially the dressing

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.