About Bon Appetit

150 Marina Plaza
Dunedin, FL 34698
View Larger Map

This landmark Dunedin Restaurant offers casual waterfront dining in a sophisticated but relaxed setting; stunning waterfront views of St. Joseph Sound, Honeymoon and Caledesi Islands. Chef Stephen has created a menu to showcase weekly specials, comfort food creations, and seasonal temptations to tantalize the most sophisticated of diners, all in addittion to the regular menu. Enjoy alfresco dining at the Marina Terrace Café with the same menu and phenomenal views and sunsets. Please visit us for our All New "New Orleans Bistro Brunch." Inspired from the city that started the brunch movement. Enjoy classic New Orleans food and drinks while listening to jazz played on our baby grand piano.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Modern European, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast - Daily: 7:00am - 9:30am
Lunch - Daily: 11:30am - 4:00pm,
Dinner - Nightly: 4:00pm - 9:00pm (4:00pm - 10:00pm Friday and Saturday)
Brunch - Sunday: 11:30am - 4:00pm

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(727) 733-2151

Website:
http://www.bonappetitrestaurant.com/

Entertainment:
Thursday through Sunday: Piano 6:00pm-9:00pm
Listen to pianist Kathy Roberts play a variety of music on our baby grand piano. Requests welcome!

Parking Details:
- Private Lot
- Complimentary Valet

Executive Chef:
Stephen Farquhar

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Dancing, Entertainment, Full Bar, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Mussels
  • Fish and Chips
  • Seared Ahi Tuna
  • Burger with Tomato, Onion and Lettuce
  • Firecracker Shrimp
  • Bruschetta with Prosciutto, Arugula & Honey
  • Red Snapper
Mussels
Fish and Chips
Seared Ahi Tuna
Burger with Tomato, Onion and Lettuce
Firecracker Shrimp
Bruschetta with Prosciutto, Arugula & Honey
Red Snapper

Bon Appetit Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.6

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Scenic View
Tampa / Central Florida West
Best Ambiance
Clearwater
Best Value
Clearwater
2 More
Special Occasion
Clearwater
Most Booked
Clearwater
Best Restaurants in Dunedin ›

scenic view (127)
special occasion (101)
great for outdoor dining (73)
See All
romantic (71)
great for lunch (47)
fit for foodies (46)
neighborhood gem (40)
good for groups (38)
great for brunch (34)
notable wine list (21)
vibrant bar scene (19)
hot spot (12)
kid-friendly (7)
late-night find (6)
Sort By:
Newest
1165 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Second visit to Bob Appetit....just as m ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined 4 days ago

Second visit to Bob Appetit....just as memorable as the first! Outstanding food, beautiful setting, great staff, and the piano player was an added bonus! Thanks for the memories.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and service with a beauti ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Excellent food and service with a beautiful water view watching the sunset over the Gulf. We had the filet mignon with béarnaise sauce and the lobster spaghetti. Both prepared well and tasted good. The restaurant is busy and is fairly loud however they do have a piano player for background music. Would definitely return when in the Clearwater Beach/Dunedin area.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

What a view!! Food was great and cockta ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

What a view!! Food was great and cocktails were right on. Loved the octopus appetizer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Had a wonderful evening with friends. Go ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Had a wonderful evening with friends. Good was wonderful, service excellent .

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I don't know if they are open for lunch, ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

I don't know if they are open for lunch, it would be great!

We visit this restsurant each time we are in town.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The room was hot and a fly buzzed us all ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

The room was hot and a fly buzzed us all night

The soup and bread were very good

The dinner tasted like frozen fast food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

We had a group of 11 family members comi ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

We had a group of 11 family members coming from our patriarch's memorial service and everyone was so happy with the selection of venue and menu. We all agreed that our parents would have loved this place. Wish we would have discovered it sooner. Beautiful location. Great selection of food and drink. Efram was very attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The water view at sunset is fabulous, wi ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

The water view at sunset is fabulous, with both indoor and outdoor dining options. We had the sea scallops and filet steak entrees and both were cooked just right and delicious! The shrimp cocktail appetizer was also good, only downside was the waiter forgot to bring it before the entree. The manager brought it out after the entrees arrived with no apology given except that the waiter forgot all about it. Overall, it was a pleasant dining experience and I might try the restaurant again with a different waiter next time.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Our evening was very nice and all enjoye ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Our evening was very nice and all enjoyed our night. Service and food was very good, view is beautiful and the piano player was enjoyable. Nice touch with gift certificate to come back for champagne on them on special occasion, we will be back.

Thank you

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great sunset views! Excellent grouper!

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Great sunset views! Excellent grouper!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Water view and sunset was like watching ...

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Water view and sunset was like watching a beautiful painting in the sky. Food was excellent as was the service. Menu would appeal to everyone. Very enjoyable experience make your reservations for 7:30 so you can watch the sunset.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The location is perfect, being next to t ...

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

The location is perfect, being next to the Gulf, the menu ambitious.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Had a good brunch at Bon Appetit. I've h ...

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Had a good brunch at Bon Appetit. I've had poor service here in the past, which put me off for a long time, but it's much better now. And the view from this restaurant is unbeatable. My husband and I both enjoyed our lunches. The service was cheerful and efficient. Would definitely go again.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

One of the best meals I've had in Florid ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

One of the best meals I've had in Florida. Very romantic and the sunset was beautiful.

Our waitress was outstanding and very attentive and timely. Highly recommend this restaurant for a romantic dinner.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Bon Appetit is a classic waterfront rest ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Bon Appetit is a classic waterfront restaurant in Dunedin, FL...a town renowned for its award-winning restaurants and downtown ambiance. Dinner with a sunset over Caladesi Isle and the Gulf of Mexico? What can one say?

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great service, ambience, view - food was ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Great service, ambience, view - food was outstanding. Only complaint would be the outside bar had a musician playing & it was really loud. Every time the sliding door to the restaurant opened for a server, you would hear it. It was not a deal breaker but that person should be positioned in a way so the music does not go directly inside.

Tags: romantic, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

one of our favorite dinning do for spec ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

one of our favorite dinning do for special occasions

Tags: romantic, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

I had out of town guests. They enjoyed ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

I had out of town guests. They enjoyed the atmosphere, the service, the food and the view of the sunset. It was a great evening enjoyed by all. Thank you so very much. Will be back very soon.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went for our anniversary. Excellent food ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

Went for our anniversary. Excellent food, service was outstanding.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

My wife took me there for Father's Day. ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

My wife took me there for Father's Day. We both had prime rib and we both feel this was the best prime rib either of us has ever had. As usual, our experience was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our service was great. The piano player ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Our service was great. The piano player came around and asked for any requests. The views are awesome. Hard to go wrong with this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

A creative cocktail selection, I tried t ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

A creative cocktail selection, I tried the Watermelon East Side, super refreshing and not too sweet. wine selection is adequate, nothing special. The wonderful waterfront location made the experience worth it, otherwise it would have been ok at best. An entirely too rigid 'no substitution' policy on their menu coupled with prices that don't reflect the level of food served made for a good meal overall, not great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

Dinner was amazing. We had one person ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Dinner was amazing. We had one person order the scallops and they were wonderful. I personally had the escargot and a grouper sandwich, both of which were fabulous. The views from our window seat were amazing. I would recommend this restaurant to anyone.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had a good experience the first time w ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

I had a good experience the first time when I went for lunch. But my dinner (shrimp and grits)was awful. I had to send it back, which is something I rarely do. They did not offer to take it off the bill. In "recompense", they gave me a free "mini-dessert", and a certificate for a bottle of "house brand" champagne, which can only be renewed by a party of four. They could have done so much more to keep a customer. I won't be back.

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

It was exactly what we were looking for. ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

It was exactly what we were looking for. Would absolutely go back again!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great experience

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

The menu has a number of special items - ours were delicious. Service was attentive and sunset lovely.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

My wife and I really enjoyed the food an ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

My wife and I really enjoyed the food and let me tell you our waiter was on top of it. We did not once have to wonder where he was or why our glasses were not full. The noise level was higher than we would have liked but that quieted down when a large party left. We went on a walk into Dunedin and came back for sunset on the dock.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Alway's the best of the best

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

If the secret gets out you will need to exspand. The food is to die for. The drink are outstanding My wife said you make the best Vodk gimlet in the World. The help seem like they like being there and do a wonderfdul job. the only complaint I have is our waiter seemed to be new. He had a hard time exsplaining what the soup was, he made it sound like it came from a can. He did such a bad job I finealy made him take it off my order.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Homebase

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Excellent attentive service by Stuart aka Hollywood! A pleasure to dine where the service is personal.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful service!

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Loved the setting, and the food was delicious! We were able to book a table online and we had a beautiful view of the water!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed the meal. I wish there were c ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

We enjoyed the meal. I wish there were choices for sides like a baked potato. Waiter was very nice and helpful, although stretched a little thin. We will be back and maybe eat outside.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Service was slow, the menu a little all ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

Service was slow, the menu a little all over the place and the food average

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

Absolutely Great Fine Dinning

 
 (Caribbean)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

We have dinned here in special occasions in the past. We keep coming back because it is such a joy. Service, ambiance, view and food quality are simple outstanding.

Don't miss the place ... you will not regret your choice.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was very good. I had red snapper th ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Food was very good. I had red snapper that was on lobster potatoes-excellent. Grouper sandwich my husband had was good. Would eat there again but a little pricey.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

An absolute delight

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Bon Appetit was recommended to us for the view of the sunset. While the view lived up to the recommendation, the quality of the food and the service was an unanticipated surprise. Although the restaurant was crowded with tables close together, there was no noise or overheard conversations. We plan to return.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Exceeded expectations

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

We are fairly frequent diners at lunch time but we had not been there for dinner for a couple of years. We had friends from Texas with us and all I can say is that the whole evening exceeded our expectations.

Delicious food, beautifully presented and really courteous service.

The wine selection is average/good but the wine needed to be chilled at the table as it was on the warm side. Do hope the wine is not stored at such a high ambient temperature!

Overall excellent menu and a great experience. We will go again soon.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Spectacular Sunset Dinner

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Had dinner with another couple and could not have had a better table. Our table was right beside the window looking right over the water at the sunset. The view of the sunset during the dessert course of our dinner was outstanding. Staff was very responsive and very courteous. Absolutely a must for a special occasions.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was terrible. The server "St ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

The service was terrible. The server "Steven" seemed flustered right from the start and he only had 4 tables of 2 people each. He never introduced himself. He forgot my wine and then said he already gave it to me after I asked for it again. The table next to us ordered a large salad to split and he just brought a large bowl of salad to the table. They had to ask for him to split it in the back. Any truly caring, experienced server would have already done that. For the price of the food, I expect way better service. The food was okay. I ordered the grouper medallions and they were tasty. It came with a cucumber salad which was an odd pairing to me, but it tasted better than I expected. My meal also came with the soup of the day "cream of mushroom". That is a pathetic, basic soup to offer in an upscale restaurant. My husband ordered the lobster pasta. It had great flavor but the lobster was overcooked and very chewy. With hundreds of choices in the Tampa Bay area, we chose to drive 45 minutes to check this place out, but we will not be back.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

Everything. The food was great as well ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

Everything. The food was great as well as the service . Location on the water. Great views.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The restaurant and atmosphere are amazin ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

The restaurant and atmosphere are amazing as is the service. I was not impressed with the food. although we both had the Grouper medallions so I cannot speak to anything else on the menu, but this dish lacked flavor and was not well presented for the price. Not what I would have expected from such a lavish restaurant. I believe I would go back for the outdoor dining but I don't believe I would do indoor dining again. It was very enjoyable for our special occasion dinner.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, scenic view, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.