Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.18mi
  3. Distance: 0.38mi
  4. Distance: 0.94mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.18mi
  3. Distance: 0.38mi
  4. Distance: 0.94mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.18mi
  3. Distance: 0.38mi
  4. Distance: 0.94mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.18mi
  3. Distance: 0.38mi
  4. Distance: 0.94mi

About Bon Appetit

This landmark Dunedin Restaurant offers casual waterfront dining in a sophisticated but relaxed setting; stunning waterfront views of St. Joseph Sound, Honeymoon and Caledesi Islands. Chef Stephen has created a menu to showcase weekly specials, comfort food creations, and seasonal temptations to tantalize the most sophisticated of diners, all in addittion to the regular menu. Enjoy alfresco dining at the Marina Terrace Café with the same menu and phenomenal views and sunsets. Please visit us for our All New "New Orleans Bistro Brunch." Inspired from the city that started the brunch movement. Enjoy classic New Orleans food and drinks while listening to jazz played on our baby grand piano.

150 Marina Plaza
Dunedin, FL 34698
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Modern European, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch - Daily: 11:30am - 4:00pm,
Dinner - Nightly: 4:00pm - 9:00pm (4:00pm - 10:00pm Friday and Saturday)
Brunch - Sunday: 11:00am - 3:30pm

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(727) 733-2151

Website:
http://www.bonappetitrestaurant.com/

Entertainment:
Thursday through Sunday: Piano 6:00pm-9:00pm
Listen to pianist Kathy Roberts play a variety of music on our baby grand piano. Requests welcome!

Parking Details:
- Private Lot
- Complimentary Valet

Executive Chef:
Stephen Farquhar

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Dancing, Entertainment, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Bon Appetit Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Waterfront (90)
Scenic View (75)
Special Occasion (52)
See All
Great for Outdoor Dining (45)
Good for Anniversaries (43)
Good for a Date (39)
Creative Cuisine (38)
Good for Birthdays (38)
Worth the Drive (33)
Romantic (32)
Great for Lunch (32)
Neighborhood Gem (27)
Fit for Foodies (25)
Sunday Lunch (24)
Live Music (24)
Great for Brunch (21)
Casual (19)
Business Meals (18)
Good for Groups (16)
Quiet Conversation (15)
People Watching (14)
Fun (13)
Seasonal (12)
Healthy (12)
Local Ingredients (12)
Notable Wine List (11)
Cozy (10)
Bar Seating (9)
Hot Spot (9)
Happy Hour (8)
Family Style (8)
Modern Decor (7)
Authentic (7)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Disabled Access (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Afternoon Tea (5)
Kid-friendly (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Comfort Food (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Private Room (3)
Tapas (3)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Historic (2)
Fireplace (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Organic (1)
Sort By:
S
1472 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined a day ago

Lazy man lobster is the best!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined 2 days ago

My friend and I decided to go to a destination restaurant. The view of the Gulf is spectacular. Our waitress kept an eye on us and met every need. The menu specials of Syrah and creme brulee were as good as advertised. The variety of the menu continues to be good. We were delighted by the live piano music and the general ambience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined 3 days ago

Terrific food and excellent service! We will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 21, 2017

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our entire experience. We heartedly recommend the Bon Appetit:

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 19, 2017

If your not looking for an amazing food and wine experience the setting could be worth the trip alone. It's a beautiful restaurant with an outside bar overlooking the Dunedin marina area with plenty of water views. Not much selection in wine but a high corkage fee. Food is O.K. but not worth a special trip. Go for the view.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Lobster was poor. Lamb Chops were not tasty

Overall food Fair.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 18, 2017

I ordered the smoked salmon on potato pancakes and the portion was greatly reduced from the last several times I had them.

Tags: Scenic View, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The beef consumme was excellent, superbly clear in appearance. The house salad was a good mix of garden greens with a sweet dressing which accented the salty green olives. The rack of lamb was gamy and an excessive amount of fat. The filet was an excellent cut, however, unseasoned and needed butter while it was being seared to prevent its dryness. The filet was cooked to a perfect medium rare. The chocolate mousse was pleasant, however, the cheesecake was very sweet. Great views, older restaurant. Appeared to be under staffed as our waiter made it to the table on occasion. For the overall experience, I would recommend another restaurant.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Had only a pricey set menu for the evening. Was not worth it!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on May 14, 2017

As always the service, ambience, and food were incredible!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Wonderful early dinner. Valet parking window view. My daughter came in from Nyc to be with me for mothers day and it was fabulous.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Mother's Day

Tags: Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We took my mother in law here for her 70th birthday...the service was exceptional, the food was fantastic and the piano player took requests. The picturesque sunset view was wonderful as well! They made a memorable occasion stand out as extraordinary!

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on May 13, 2017

This was my first time dining here, unfortunately I was not impressed. The food was mediocre, the waiter did not check on us during the meal, and one of my courses never came.

Tags: Romantic, Waterfront, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on May 11, 2017

On every occasion we have had to dine at Bon Appetit, we have been very happy. The service is impeccable, and the staff bends over backwards to make certain customers are very pleased with their meals. The sunset view is incredible! This restaurant is a must when we visit the area!

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Waterfront, Pre/post Theatre, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Afternoon Tea, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Family Style, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Great restaurant! Love the food, service and the setting

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 7, 2017

French toast was amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Great food & Great service love the view & sunsets seeing the Dolphins swim by great place.

Tags: Live Music, Family Style, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Disappointing. Very busy which possibly made the service slower than normal. Food was okay except one of our party ordered medium/rare steak and it was well done, whilst they offered to replace it everyone else would have finished eating by the time it arrived.

Tags: Waterfront, Local Ingredients, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Just plain excellent food , service , location and waitstaff

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Our wedding anniversary

Tags: Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Live Music, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Excellent preparation of snapper and grouper. Our waiter Alessandro was a true professional from start to finish. Perhaps a little bit pricey but well worth it.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Worth the time and money.
From casual to fine dinning. Great for a special event or celebration.
Have to visit.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Fantastic view with perfect service from seasoned and charming staff. Foie gras was spectacular, as was the lobster salad.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on April 29, 2017

The staff could not have been more helpful from confirming that we would enjoy the table, to providing excellent service, to wishing us a Happy Anniversary. The food was delicious, and we will definitely be back.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 29, 2017

we went to celebrate an early Mother's Day. Our waiter, Steve, was excellent. He knew the menu very well and made great recommendations. Food was very fresh and excellent portions- meaning- not too much or too little with diverse options.

Tags: Healthy, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Coming in from out of town (2.5hr drive) and arrived an hour earlier. This oceanfront (marina) restaurant is attached to the Best Western (which I thought of staying in but the lady in front-desk was so rude I left the lobby) and there's limited but free parking available. When you make a reservation thru OpenTables even if you request the patio you're table will be ready inside regardless, so you must physically place your name outside and be ready to be texted. The host, manager and bartender Bobby inside were excellent, they treated me well and with respect. However, I had to give service 3stars because of the host outside in the patio taking reservations/names. I think she RUINED the BIRTHDAY SURPRISE on purpose and that was not cool. It got to the point that I'm blaming the owners for allowing for this person to be hired to begin with, for that position. I pulled her aside and said, "I need a table for 4 but please do NOT mention "4" because we are celebrating a bday & the rest of the party is coming as a bday surprise so just seat us by name." The hostess (I counted) made sure she mentioned, "party of 4, table for 4, there are 4 people to be seated at the table, there are 4 and for 4 it'll be ready, etc.." She mentioned it a good eight times (8x) really loud so the bday girl could hear and know there were more people coming to celebrate with her. I even stood directly in front of the hostess w/my hands in prayer position & whispered, "please stop saying 4" and she announced it even louder - felt disrespected and that was just wrong. Food was great, however, our server forgot to bring my dessert as they were closing (I had ordered a 3 course meal) but at least he put a candle on the bday girls mini-dessert which was so happy to see old friends though the surprise was ruined. At the end they gave the bday girl a certificate for a bottle of champagne, don't know if its worth the drive. The view is awesome but to capture a sunset this place is not needed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 23, 2017

I had the lobster wedge salad. The lobster was chewy, the iceberg lettuce still had the core, bacon was not crumbled. Not a good salad. Also had the French onion soup. Lacked the rich beef stock taste. Seemed like they were stretching the soup with water and corn starch. Soup came out in minutes so I knew it was presented cheese topping.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Sat outside this time and it was fantastic. Would always recommend this gem as an anytime place or a special place. Love the seafood and atmosphere.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Handcrafted Cocktails, Late-night Find, Waterfront, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on April 22, 2017

We have visited this restaurant on several occasions, our first was in 1974. Its a delightful and pleasant experience every time we go. Its a special place for us to have dinner with a
fantastic view of Clearwater water-way. The food is always superb and the service
is fantastic. I highly recommend it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Disabled Access, Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch, Healthy, Organic, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on April 20, 2017

great ambience. patio was very crowded hence" only" very good service

Tags: Happy Hour, Tapas, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 19, 2017

Our dinner at Bon Appit was very good...and was enjoyed by all in our party.
As is the case in most US restaurants these days, the portions are huge! You won't go away hungry! We arrived early enough to get a window seat and be able to watch the Sunset!
As the restaurant filled up, the noise level increased to an uncomfortable level. We were almost shouting at each other to be heard over the din. Tables of 6-8 nearby where we were seated caused the decibel level to really go up! We will plan to try eat outside the next time we go there!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Waterfront, Casual, Live Music, Sunday Lunch, People Watching, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 17, 2017

Very satisfied with the service and the food and the ambiance. Had just gotten back from a hurried trip to D.C. and since it was our 41st anniversary decided to go out and randomly chose Bon Appetite, how well it turned out. In fact it is now two days later and we just took a guest there for lunch and found it just as delightful the second time around.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Waterfront, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on April 17, 2017

We've been going there for years and always enjoy it. The food, service and view were all excellent.

Tags: Special Occasion, Healthy, Waterfront, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on April 16, 2017

The view is absolutely outstanding! The food is good but over priced. Our service on this occasion was excellent. I would not recommend going on a holiday. The menu is significantly reduced to accommodate a holiday dinner package. The overall price was still too high. One of the beauties of Bon Appetit is the wide variety of entree items prepared culturally. Actually, I prefer going there for lunch as I have always enjoyed my lunchtime visits.

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Historic, Waterfront, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Had our annual Easter dinner with my sisters again this year at Bob Appetit. While their regular menu is always nice, the selections on the prix fixed holiday dinner are outstanding. Great cocktail selections and they don't skimp on anything here. Highly recommend dining at this beautiful waterfront restaurant whenever possible.

Tags: Business Meals, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on April 16, 2017

All the hot food was cold on the buffet they didn't have any dietary Provisions for people with diabetes like any sugar free desserts Sat for extended period of time before somebody even waited on us and we had a reservation needed to have better assortment of Easter holiday type food too expensive for what was offered.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Bon Appetit is a favorite of ours, but this was the first time we tried a holiday (Easter Sunday) dinner. Happy to say, this restaurant did not disappoint! Excellent service, impressive menu choices and, as always, stunning views!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Always impressed with the great gem this restaurant is. Either for lunch or dinner, food and ambiance is second to none. Easter lunch was spectacular, service was great and a great time was had by my guests, several of whom had never been there before. All commented they would be back. Thank you and congrats on 40 years in business.
James D.

Tags: Good for Groups, Waterfront, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We enjoyed a very special Easter luncheon. The restaurant was jam packed and the vehicles were grid locked but after a while things got moving again. We were escorted to the best table in the restaurant which was perfect for scenic viewing of the water. My guests were two 85 year old ladies and they could not have enjoyed it more. The restaurant was very noisy for the first half of our dinner but quieted down for the last. We ordered the filet mignon, Easter ham, and the veal chop. Very nice and the steaks were cooked to perfection. For dessert our choices were chocolate mousse or banana fosters cheesecake. The cheesecake was so good. We kept remarking how special our table felt and it made the luncheon magical. Our waiter was very attentive and our tea glasses were never allowed to empty. I was very pleased with the food, the table, and the service which made for a wonderful holiday luncheon.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Waterfront, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.