Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.18mi
  3. Distance: 0.38mi
  4. Distance: 0.94mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.18mi
  3. Distance: 0.38mi
  4. Distance: 0.94mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.18mi
  3. Distance: 0.38mi
  4. Distance: 0.94mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.18mi
  3. Distance: 0.38mi
  4. Distance: 0.94mi

About Bon Appetit

This landmark Dunedin Restaurant offers casual waterfront dining in a sophisticated but relaxed setting; stunning waterfront views of St. Joseph Sound, Honeymoon and Caledesi Islands. Chef Stephen has created a menu to showcase weekly specials, comfort food creations, and seasonal temptations to tantalize the most sophisticated of diners, all in addittion to the regular menu. Enjoy alfresco dining at the Marina Terrace Café with the same menu and phenomenal views and sunsets. Please visit us for our All New "New Orleans Bistro Brunch." Inspired from the city that started the brunch movement. Enjoy classic New Orleans food and drinks while listening to jazz played on our baby grand piano.

150 Marina Plaza
Dunedin, FL 34698
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Modern European, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch - Daily: 11:30am - 4:00pm,
Dinner - Nightly: 4:00pm - 9:00pm (4:00pm - 10:00pm Friday and Saturday)
Brunch - Sunday: 11:00am - 3:30pm

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(727) 733-2151

Website:
http://www.bonappetitrestaurant.com/

Entertainment:
Thursday through Sunday: Piano 6:00pm-9:00pm
Listen to pianist Kathy Roberts play a variety of music on our baby grand piano. Requests welcome!

Parking Details:
- Private Lot
- Complimentary Valet

Executive Chef:
Stephen Farquhar

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Dancing, Entertainment, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Easter Restaurant Specials & Reservations

Sunday, April 16, 2017

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Specials

Easter Restaurant Specials & Reservations

Sunday, April 16, 2017

Details

Easter on the Water! Join us for EITHER our brunch buffet (12:00 - 5:00pm) OR our 4 Course Dinner (12:00 - 8:00pm). Both menus are $65 per person plus tax and gratuity. Children under 12 have a special menu for $12.95.

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Details

Mother's Day on the Water! Join us for EITHER our brunch buffet (12:00 - 5:00pm) OR our 4 Course Dinner (12:00 - 8:00pm). Both menus are $65 per person plus tax and gratuity. Children under 12 have a special menu for $12.95.

Bon Appetit Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Waterfront (75)
Scenic View (65)
Special Occasion (49)
See All
Great for Outdoor Dining (46)
Good for Anniversaries (42)
Good for a Date (36)
Good for Birthdays (36)
Creative Cuisine (31)
Romantic (31)
Worth the Drive (26)
Neighborhood Gem (26)
Fit for Foodies (22)
Sunday Lunch (19)
Live Music (17)
Casual (16)
Great for Brunch (16)
Quiet Conversation (15)
Great for Lunch (14)
Seasonal (12)
Business Meals (11)
Local Ingredients (11)
Fun (10)
Good for Groups (10)
People Watching (10)
Healthy (9)
Cozy (9)
Disabled Access (8)
Hot Spot (8)
Bar Seating (8)
Authentic (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Modern Decor (6)
Notable Wine List (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Family Style (6)
Happy Hour (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Historic (1)
Vegan (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Private Room (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Tapas (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
1408 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 2 days ago

My friends and I come for an annual visit to Clearwater which always includes Bon Appetit for the past 6 years. This year the food, service, and piano was better than ever. We will surely be back again next year when we come to Clearwater!

Tags: Waterfront, Scenic View, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined 3 days ago

Whenever I have visitors that have not been here yet, I take them to Bon Appetite.
Always a delicious meal with an awesome view and one of the best sunset viewing locations!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Bar Seating, Waterfront, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined 4 days ago

2 people in ou party had the lobster tail. It was extremely tough. The Red snapper and the Lobster pasta were both excellent. The lobster tail was very disappointing for the price.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined 5 days ago

The Service is outstanding. We requested
Alessandro as our waitress. He is great.
We love to go for special ocassions.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Waterfront, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on March 21, 2017

Family dinner for my cousin visiting from Michigan. Meg was awesome!!!

Tags: Waterfront, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on March 21, 2017

Meg was an outstanding waitperson & her recommendation of the lobster was right on the money. Great views. A. Lovely experience all around.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Over priced and not as great as Island Way Grill, La Caretta, OP, etc...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on March 19, 2017

A great experience from start to finish. Seated on time, great service but not over done from our waiter and supporting staff, each course delivered in a timely fashion without being rushed with each of us being very pleased with the various menu items we ordered. Plan to go again in the near future. Water view and sunset over Caladesi Island were pics to be remembered.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Waterfront, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Only reason the service rating was a 3 was because our waitress inadvertently brought the wrong entree to my dining partner, which meant we had to wait 15 minutes (at least) for her dish to arrive so we could begin eating. Otherwise a great place with great food. Love sitting on the outer rim with a view of the Gulf.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Great lunch experience. My daughter and I had a window table.Our waitress was very familiar with the ingredients of the menu which made my selections that much easier.

The food was delicious and the atmosphere, wonderful.
I'm looking forward to having dinner there in the future.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Came for my daughter-in-law's birthday. There was 6 of us altogether. Fantastic food choices even for the children. The atmosphere is so typically "Florida," with the sights and sounds of the Gulf, right down the awesome sunset! We were all more than satisfied. Amanda was very gracious and pleasant. I'd recommend this dining experience to anyone. Enjoy!!

Tags: Waterfront, Fun, Good for a Date, Casual, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Overall good time and food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on March 15, 2017

We were celebrating my birthday with friends from England and wanted to go someplace special. This was an excellent choice! Sunset dining, piano playing during dinner, excellent food, view and service.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Excellent food and service! This is our all time favorite restaurant in Dunedin. Our out of town guests love it too. Bon Appetit never disappoints!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Very impressed
Food was excellent n served beautiful.
5 stars.
Will return

Tags: Scenic View, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Excellent seafood, beautiful view, great service, nice atmosphere

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Always very good very consistent food is incredible service is impeccable

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Menu was limited which was disappointing. Service was good and being on the water was the best part of the entire experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Alway great service & food! A bit noicy this visit...difficulty with hearing guests at our table...

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Very friendly, helpful staff. Varied menu with very fair prices. Food was delicious. Wonderful location.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 9, 2017

This was our second trip here in our two week vacation and it did not disappoint! The food was very good and the view and ambiance were terrific. I would recommend valet parking on a busy evening, it's free and obviously most convenient. The menu is not extensive but what they do is done well.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Waterfront, Casual, Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining, Modern Decor, Fun, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on March 7, 2017

Our party of six unanimously raved about the restaurant's waterfront location, the lovely table assigned to us and the flawless service provided by Miguel. Several of us opted for the lobster roll or the lightly dusted grouper. Both selections were delicious. We had a splendid experience.

Tags: Seasonal, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on March 5, 2017

The food was great however I go to a restaurant to enjoy the company I'm with ... not to have a chatty waiter interrupting our conversation numerous times.

Very frustrating... never going back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Our waiter recommended the snapper and it was cooked to perfection. The view was spectacular and the service great.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Great atmosphere, great service, great food! Next time we are in a Dunedin we will for sure visit again!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Molecular Gastronomy, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Server was Csaba! Worst service from a server! He very forgetful and don't know if he is new or just does not understand. We ask for bread and he told us we cannot get it after we order. Keep in mind we were still waiting for our party to arrive. Yes, they were late for 20-30 minutes but he threaten to put myself and my friend to a smaller table not believing that the party is arriving, I have been in the restaurant industry and I have never heard of being threaten to be put to a smaller table. I ordered the pasta special with no pancetta not once but twice and still got the pasta with the pancetta. I ask him to take our pictures and he walks away. I kindly ask the hostess to take our picture. He was obnoxious and very forgetful. Not please with his service and my family who lives in Dunedin not pleased either!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 26, 2017

/if u have a window seat or outside on patio the view is great. The service this visit was very good, it is sometimes a bit spotty.
If there are larger groups, the noise level can be a bit much especially for someone wearing a hearing aid.

Outside of the above, the food this trip was excellent and our waiter very good and helpful.

Tags: Waterfront, Notable Wine List, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Had the sea scallops! They were perfect!! We made reservation a month early with open table and ended up with the perfect table right by the glass window. My friend ordered steak which was also excellent, however the one negative thing would be that she ordered a side salad -and it was just iceberg lettuce. She kind of expected more from such a nice restaurant! I will go again for sure!!!

Tags: Hot Spot, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Though our reservation was not immediately available they responded by giving a complimentary bottle of champagne...how nice!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Wonderful food, wonderful service, and beautiful setting.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 24, 2017

We are new to the area and learned about Bon Appetit through local publishings. We made a reservation for Fri evening and were seated immediately. We were awed by the gorgeous, glass enclosed dining room with FABULOUS views of the harbor and sunset, the excellent service, and especially the delicious food. We will definitely return on our next visit to Dunedin.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Live Music, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Funny you should ask. We were going there with some friends from out of town, however, they went back home because he got to feeling bad. Thank God, because I would have been embarrassed. I've been going to Bon Appetit since the 70's, my brother had his wedding reception there in '78. It's always been great.

That being said, since there were just the two of us, we sat at the bar and ordered cocktails and appies. We ordered snails ($11 - no not escargot, it says snails on the menu) that came in a small (tiny) bucket with two cold, stale baguettes. I prefer the snails served in the hot little porcelain "snail" dish. (you know, with the 6 little cups, at least that way you know you're getting 6...) they weren't bad, but the bread was sent back.

Then we ordered the Mediterranean Octopus ($15). When I've had it at other restaurants, it was always very tender and tasty. Not so on this nite...it came in bite-sized pieces that were more chewy that rubber...terrible (I even offer the bartender one (Bobby, I think) and he passed. (I guess he's had them. Lol)

Sent that back and ordered the Oysters Bienville ($14). What we got were 4 dinky shells ('bout the size of a half dollar) with frickin shrimp in them!!! When we talked to the manager, don't recall his name but sounded European (whatever that means?) He said something to the effect that the shells were too small to put oysters in, so they substituted shrimp??? WTF, Over!!!

Now folks, don't get me wrong, I very rarely send back food, but this was ridiculous! The manager (the European guy) give us a gift certificate for a complimentary bottle of "house" champagne...with a party of 4. I don't know what the expiration date is, but it will probably expire before I go back again, especially with friends.

Maybe they had an "off" nite, happens to the best of us., but I won't be back any time soon. Sorry.

Tags: Good for a Date, Waterfront, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Our second time here and both were wonderful. Service was excellent and food was very tasty!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Hi there! My husband and I had Valentine's day Dinner here. It was outstanding! The Lobster appetizer was exquisite. as was the main course of Lobster. The deserts were just as delicious!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Six of us gathered for an awesome meal at Bon Appetit for Valentines Day! Service was excellent and the food outstanding as always. Will recommend this restaurant to our friends and we will return as well!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 14, 2017

What would I recommend?
If it works don't break it!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Start to finish, they were spot on. I read some reviews saying they relied too much on there view... however I found that they were running smooth as silk on Valentine's Day with every table filled. The view was just a nice addition to the great evening. They sat us immediately, and every course came out at a perfect time. From the lobster appetizer to the sea bass & filet mignon with sweet potatoes croquette (Ok... 1 thing, I prefer asparagus grilled, but that's a personal preference) to the cheesecake; everything was cooked perfectly & delicious. Even the coffee was outstanding.. must find out the coffee they used. It was well worth the money and made a perfect 1st Valentine's date!!

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Considering it being Valentines Day, the service was outstanding.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Waterfront, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 14, 2017

My wife and I chose Bon Appetit to celebrate Valentines Day. It was our first visit to Bon Appetit and it will not be our last. Wonderful experience.

Tags: Modern Decor, Authentic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The ambiance and decor are very pleasant; the views are lovely especially at sunset. Our service was quite slow initially but improved as the meal progressed.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.