Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 23 times today

Bon Appetit

4.5
1917 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Contemporary American
Top Tags:
  • Waterfront
  • Scenic View
  • Special Occasion
This landmark Dunedin Restaurant offers casual waterfront dining in a sophisticated but relaxed setting; stunning waterfront views of St. Joseph Sound, Honeymoon and Caledesi Islands. Chef Klaus Riedl has created a menu to showcase weekly specials, comfort food creations, and seasonal temptations to tantalize the most sophisticated of diners; all in addition to the regular menu. Enjoy alfresco dining at the Marina Terrace Café with the same menu and phenomenal views and sunsets.

***We gladly accept reservations for a Table for inside dining in our Lounge or Main Dining Room. Please note that every seat has a view of the water; we will provide you with the best table available at the time of your arrival.
Unfortunately we are not able to take Reservations for the Marina Terrace Cafe'. ***
Dining Style
Elegant Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Contemporary American, Modern European, Seafood
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Lunch - Daily: 11:30am - 4:00pm,
Dinner - Nightly: 4:00pm - 9:00pm (4:00pm - 10:00pm Friday and Saturday)
Brunch - Sunday: 11:00am - 3:30pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(727) 733-2151
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Smart Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Klaus Riedl
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
- Private Lot
- Complimentary Valet
icon/ic_entertainmentCreated with Sketch.
Entertainment
Thursday through Sunday: Piano 6:00pm-9:00pm
Listen to pianist Kathy Roberts play a variety of music on our baby grand piano. Requests welcome!
Additional
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 1917 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.5based on recent ratings
4.5
food
4.5
service
4.6
ambience
4.1
value
Noise · Moderate
94% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 3 days ago

Wonderful meal out on the terrace watching the sunset.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined 4 days ago

Service was horrible. Good was good buy took a long time. Waiter (who was French) didn’t introduce himself. It took him some time to get to us and even to ask what we wanted to drink. He didn’t recommend anything. I brought my father here for Father’s Day and the service was not what I anticipated it being. I have been here before where the service was better and I was totally disappointed. The valet guy didn’t even greet us from the start nor did he smile...you could tell he hated his job. My father who is 89 year old needed assistance and I had to help him out of car...valet guy didn’t even offer. Valet guy totally made me feel uncomfortable. I have grown up in the restaurant business and I am a people person. Overall I was not impressed this time. I live locally and hope that the service will improve. Thanks !

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 4 days ago

Went there for Fathers Day. Enjoyed our meals very much. Excellent wine selection. Loved the little desserts. The view, overlooking the water is great.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined 4 days ago

We went there to celebrate my husband's birthday and Father's day. First they put us in a high volume area, which was not good considering we had a 2 year old with us. We asked for a table with a nice view, all we had a view of was the lady playing the piano. The food was good, but when I got home, I was terribly ill. Must have been good poisoning. I'm still sick as I write this review. When I made the reservation on line, I also mentioned it was my husband's birthday. Needless to say, the server never did anything about that. No cake, no candle, nothing. The waiter was not very attentive the entire time. Too bad we won't be good no there again!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 4 days ago

Never disappointing! Our server, Bill, was excellent, as was the food.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 5 days ago

Dinner and service was amazing. Only complaint: Large birthday party group was overly loud clanking. glasses and yelling across tables.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 5 days ago

We took our father to dinner for Father’s Day and had a lovely evening. The fresh baked warm bread was amazing.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 11, 2018

Pricey but worth it for a special evening out
View is spectular. We loved it. A little more than we wanted to spend but enjoyed the food and view very much

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 10, 2018

Excellent food, ambiance and service. Our waiter, Mike said he wanted to make this a memorable experience and he did. It was my parent's 71st wedding anniversary. I would recommend Bon Appetit to anyone for a pleasant experience. Great view overlooking Dunedin Marina. Food was delicious, service fastidious. Quiet dinner music played by a seasoned pro (I'll Be Seeing You, Ebb Tide) was perfect for our occasion.
Tiki bar available, I'm not a fan of sitting outdoors, drinking and listening to cover songs, but the place was packed.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on June 10, 2018

My reservation was for 3:30 for brunch, w/outdoor seating. I arrived, sat at small table, all in the sun. When waitress came over, I asked about brunch, I came for the eggs Benedict. She said it was too late for the brunch menu.
I was very disappointed, ordered Caesar w/chicken. In the sun the salad got hot quickly, I ate the chicken, which was good. The mimosa, in small champagne glass was mostly champagne.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 10, 2018

Every table truly has a view of the water. Fantastic food and service. A great place for family, date, etc.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on June 9, 2018

I've eaten outside at Bon Appetite on many occasions however this was our first time inside. I was with my husband & 2 teenage children. The views are stunning! The food & service were very good. But the noise level was ridiculous! We were unable to carry on a normal conversation due to the noise! I had to ask the server repeatedly what he was asking me. And we had to shout across the table at each other to be heard. Something needs to be done about the acoustics. We go out to eat all the time & this was, by far, one of the loudest restaurant I've been to in the area. I could not go back for this reason. But I would sit outside again.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on June 9, 2018

We have always gone to Bon Appetite with the caveat that while the view is great, one of the very very few restaurants with a water view, the food is only ok... and overpriced. The same owner runs Al Fresco, a much better menu, and more reasonable prices. They should have the same chef plan the menu.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 8, 2018

I took my friends for lunch as a thank you for a birthday party they helped me with.
It was simply fabulous.
Scott our waiter was very attentive and kind.
The food was to die for and the view was amazing.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 7, 2018

Absolutely fantastic experience for my Birthday celebration!!! The food, service and view were outstanding!!!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 6, 2018

Wonderful waterfront location with outside bar and dining deck as well as inside - all with water views. Food very good as well as service in relaxed, upscale setting.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 6, 2018

Dover sole hard to find absolutely delicious
Beautiful dinning views.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 5, 2018

Everything was good, ex pet the service was slow.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 3, 2018

You honored my request for a window table with a water view. Michael was the best as our server. The food was delicious and plentiful. The wine we choose could not have been better. All in all a perfect way to celebrate my wife's birthday. She loves lobster rolls.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 3, 2018

As always,the food was delicious and the service wonderful. We had the Grouper with lemon sauce Tomatoes and feta cheese. We also had the snapper which was also the special of the day and was very tasty as well. We were able to watch the sunset fro our table.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 2, 2018

The quality of food for the price is not there - our service was excellent

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 1, 2018

Our daughter was visiting from the Chicago area and we will make Bon Appetit a regular stop in the future. Everything was GREAT!!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 1, 2018

The atmosphere and view spectacular. The food was very good served hot good flavor. Server somewhat disappointing and non attentive. Celebration went without acknowledgement even though noted when reservation made

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 31, 2018

Excellent food and great service. Our waiter was very knowledgeable and very attentive

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 31, 2018

Our waitress Carrie was phenomenal! Very pleasant and without interrupting kept close tabs on us. Food was very good and the alcoholic beverages were as well. We went shopping after lunch and then we came back to the outside bar for one last drink. Everyone was very personable. Would definitely recommend it and would go back again.

Patrise

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 31, 2018

My friend and I were over from Lakeland, Fl, and decided to have lunch at Bon Appetit. I enjoyed the steak tartar accompanied with a glass of Williamette Pinot Noir. My friend loved the gumbo. The creme brulee was good as creme brulees go. We enjoyed sitting outside and watching the pelicans and the boats. Dominic, our server, was very helpful. The only slight hiccup was when he ran my credit card and brought me someone's else's bill which was more expensive than ours! However, he fixed the problem quickly and with profuse apologies. Definitely worth a return visit.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 28, 2018

The view is amazing and the food and service are always very good. It is our favorite place in Dunedin both the outside deck and inside restaurant.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 27, 2018

I have been coming here for several years and I don’t recall ever having a disappointing experience. The service is always great and the food was just phenomenal. I highly recommend Bon Appetit to anyone who comes to visit the Dunedin area. Great restaurant with a view you can’t beat.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 26, 2018

We were seated at a small table by the window and the view was very relaxing while we ate. The food was very delicious and hot, which my wife and I enjoy instead of getting it warm . We will be back for sure!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 26, 2018

The building could use some modernization. It looked and felt very tired since the last time we were there. The vinyl seats must go unless female guests do not mind sticking to them if wearing a dress. This restaurant also appears to be geared towards (and attracts) the much older, retired folks, even the outside bar. We definitely felt out of place. Unfortunately will not return as we look for a more classy,modernistic vibe. Sad, because the food was quite tasty...

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 25, 2018

Great food and service. Will definitely be back when I am in town.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 24, 2018

My ever picky husband raved about this restaurant! The wait staff, he called old pros. The piano player, another old pro, was friendly and asked for requests. The food was excellent and not overly expensive. Top everything off with a view of the setting sun over the Gulf and one couldn't ask for much more.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 24, 2018

Food was good and fresh with the exception of the Cream of mushroom soup, which even though it was tasty it was too salty

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 22, 2018

What a great find!!! We live in The Villages and wanted day trip to St. Pete, found Bon Appetit and booked it. Thank goodness we did. Great place had a great meal, a little bit of class by the waterfront. Can't wait to go back!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 22, 2018

Booked a room and a table for my bride's birthday. We stayed at the Best Western Yacht Harbor Inn in Dunedin with dinner reservations at the Bon Appetit Restaurant and Bar.

Robert was our charming server providing us with celebratory food and drink. We started with a couple of cocktails, and moved on to a Mediterranean Octopus Salad for me and a dandy blue cheese salad for she.

My octopus salad consisted of artichokes, pancetta, tomatoes, roasted garlic and kale. The octopus was very tender to the tooth and while big enough to be a main dish my buds of taste clamored for the excellent Half Rack of New Zealand Lamb.

For her entree my birthday bride reveled in the tasty Pan Seared Salmon. Both the salmon and the lamb were perfectly prepared.

Next up were the dessert shooters. The diner has a choice of six of these sweet delights. I chose the raspberry shooter and my bride had the chocolate peanut butter shooter with a little something extra thanks to Robert.

After dinner we wandered over to the adjoining outdoor bar for more celebration and conversation with neighboring patrons. We closed down the bar and made our way home - room 111 about 50 feet away.

The Yacht Harbor Inn isn't real fancy but it is clean, comfortable and convenient with a dandy bar, restaurant and view.

Dinner with cocktails and a bottle of rose' wine came to a pleasing $128.67.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 21, 2018

Table was in a great place. Excelllent service. Food was delicious and cooked to our satisfactions. Portions were very good.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 20, 2018

We celebrated my husbands birthday on May 20th with friends from California. Everything was perfect! We could not have asked for a better experience.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 19, 2018

Value for what was served was not there. Grouper $33 for a piece smaller than the palm of my hand and sea scallops medium size but only 6 on plate for over $30 with a few spinach leaves and a few fingerling potato’s.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 19, 2018

Food was delicious, price is right and the service was excellent. Beautiful water views, the outside seating looked great, however we dined inside that evening. I will return, my husband and I enjoyed this hidden gem on the water!

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on May 19, 2018

I requested an outside table for our group of 6. I was given a table barely under cover in an obscure corner. We were seated for 10 minutes with no service. We left and went up to another restaurant. DO NOT GO HERE!!! Why use Open Table if you can't get decent service???????

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
48